View Full Version : Operation London bridge
20-09-2022, 09:24 AM
Must be nice to be left wing when you’ve got tens of millions in the bank and your crown estate will get topped upped by taxpayers when, heaven forbid, profits were to drop. Especially after a pandemic and during a cost of living crisis.
Bizarre comment.
I must have missed this at the time (or maybe it went unreported by much of the press) but there is no way the Queens choice of outfit at the opening of parliament immediately post the Brexit vote was a coincidence:
https://www.google.com/search?q=queen+brexit&source=lnms&tbm=isch&sa=X&ved=2ahUKEwik_rSs_aL6AhXGS0EAHcieAKIQ_AUoAnoECAEQB A&biw=1920&bih=969&dpr=1#imgrc=BxGLMAaQk-UYVM
'Doing politics' and then some.https://twitter.com/CornishSkipper/status/1572119273010778115?t=f4rfOGSxgG2eb6n1kqOdVQ&s=19
Sent from my SM-A528B using Tapatalk
20-09-2022, 09:33 AM
Bizarre comment.
I just see it a bit of a contradiction to be a millionaire for life by virtue of birth, and where your income will be topped up by taxpayers should it ever fall, and also be left wing. It’s more a comment against the monarchy than the queen herself. However not intending to cause arguments so I’ll leave it there.
20-09-2022, 09:42 AM
I just see it a bit of a contradiction to be a millionaire for life by virtue of birth, and where your income will be topped up by taxpayers should it ever fall, and also be left wing. It’s more a comment against the monarchy than the queen herself. However not intending to cause arguments so I’ll leave it there.
I guess it depends on your definition of "left wing", but the reason for my comment was that it seemed to me that you were implying that anyone with inherited wealth could not also be concerned for the welfare of the rest of the population, which I don't see as being necessarily the case.
20-09-2022, 09:44 AM
Don't you think that it's possible she might have a totally unique perspective on the nonsensical unfairness of it all?
The next question would then be "if she did, then why didn't she do anything about it" which is a bit unfair as it isn't always easy. A bit like when those of a right wing persuasion seem to think that if only poor people got better jobs, tried harder at school or worked a bit harder then they might improve their chances in life - it isn't that simple.
Most of us will only ever have known Tory or neoliberal Labour governments in our lifetimes. The queen happened to live through other times. I think she's entitled to hold an opinion on what she thinks is best for the country, just the same as the guy begging outside Scotmid is entitled to an opinion, as it the workie on the building site etc etc.
20-09-2022, 09:49 AM
It’s not a contradiction at all.
20-09-2022, 09:59 AM
I guess it depends on your definition of "left wing", but the reason for my comment was that it seemed to me that you were implying that anyone with inherited wealth could not also be concerned for the welfare of the rest of the population, which I don't see as being necessarily the case.
That’s fair. She is an individual in an institution I suppose. We weren’t discussing the institution being left wing but an individual. My point was more aimed at the the monarchy, so unfair to call out the Queen individually on any contradictions
20-09-2022, 11:25 AM
I never really saw Auld Betty as Left Wing, more of a long serving Centre Half... kinda like Paul Hanlon
20-09-2022, 11:40 AM
Minute’s applause for the Queen at the Scotland game tomorrow night.
20-09-2022, 11:48 AM
For "Queen Elizabeth II".
This from the Scottish FA .
For "Queen Elizabeth II".
This from the Scottish FA .A huge insult to Scottish monarchists and for those who "love all that tradition".
Queen Victoria was due to be names as Queen Elizabeth and intervened so that the name wasn't used so as "not to insult the Scots", although she said it in German.
20-09-2022, 02:48 PM
So a Hibs and Scotland fan have to do 2 x minutes applause, 1 silence on Sunday night and another yesterday
Stairway 2 7
20-09-2022, 03:04 PM
So a Hibs and Scotland fan have to do 2 x minutes applause, 1 silence on Sunday night and another yesterday
They don't have to. I just found out about the Sunday night one this second and no idea what time yesterday's was but i didn't do one. For the applause can just sit on your phone eat a pie or whatever I suppose
Berwickhibby
20-09-2022, 03:06 PM
They don't have to. I just found out about the Sunday night one this second and no idea what time yesterday's was but i didn't do one. For the applause can just sit on your phone eat a pie or whatever I suppose
As long as the fans don’t embarrass themselves with booing and chanting….
20-09-2022, 03:17 PM
As long as the fans don’t embarrass themselves with booing and chanting….
There won't be many Celtic fans there I doubt.
20-09-2022, 03:41 PM
I'm going tomorrow with the wee man. We sat on our seats on Saturday saying and doing nothing. Same again tomorrow, but I really don't see the need for it all. She was lowered into the vault yesterday. It's time to move on, has been for a few days now. A few renditions of Lizzie's in a box tomorrow I think.
20-09-2022, 03:41 PM
There won't be many Celtic fans there I doubt.
You'd be surprised.
02-10-2022, 11:04 AM
https://www.thescottishsun.co.uk/news/9542412/two-charged-prince-andrew-heckler-assault-edinburgh/
Lendo
02-10-2022, 11:59 AM
https://www.thescottishsun.co.uk/news/9542412/two-charged-prince-andrew-heckler-assault-edinburgh/
That’s good news. Thought they looked like Hun thugs at the time.
Stairway 2 7
05-10-2022, 07:27 PM
Couldn't give 2 ##### about it, but what does this mean for an extra bank holiday 😆
_Circular
·
3h
NEW: Reports are emerging that King Charles's III's Coronation will take place on Saturday 3rd June 2023.
05-10-2022, 07:30 PM
NEW: Reports are emerging that King Charles's III's Coronation will take place on Saturday 3rd June 2023.
Same day that Roger Waters plays Glasgow OVO Arena ...
Stairway 2 7
05-10-2022, 07:38 PM
Same day that Roger Waters plays Glasgow OVO Arena ...
Good musician total ********, particularly his views on Syria and the White helmets
Rolling stone magazine
He has also accused the Syrian rescue group the White Helmets of being “fake,” against all evidence to the contrary; said the Syrian opposition faked chemical attacks by Bashar al-Assad, a contention no credible independent expert agrees with; and recently wrote an open letter to the Ukrainian first lady, Olena Zelenska, calling on her to encourage her husband to sue for peace with Russia — a move that would be tantamount to acquiescing to Putin. (In our interview, he dismisses well-documented accounts of Russian war crimes in Ukraine as “lies, lies, lies.”)
05-10-2022, 07:40 PM
Good musician total ********, particularly his views on Syria and the White helmets
Agree.
Stairway 2 7
05-10-2022, 07:44 PM
Agree.
Another one for the separate artist from the person thread i suppose, John lennon was a bit of an arse too but I'm looking forward to seeing the bootleg beatles again
Stairway 2 7
11-10-2022, 05:25 PM
Would this make 3 bank holidays in May, or are they going to use one of the May ones for this pish. If its the latter then off with his head now
@SkyNewsBreak
Buckingham Palace has announced that the King's coronation will be held on Saturday 6 May next year at Westminster Abbey, with the Queen Consort also being crowned during the ceremony
11-10-2022, 05:40 PM
Would this make 3 bank holidays in May, or are they going to use one of the May ones for this pish. If its the latter then off with his head now
@SkyNewsBreak
Buckingham Palace has announced that the King's coronation will be held on Saturday 6 May next year at Westminster Abbey, with the Queen Consort also being crowned during the ceremony
I'll be at the fitba, ta.
Stairway 2 7
11-10-2022, 05:41 PM
We hope
11-10-2022, 05:45 PM
We hope
Nope, I'm going. Even if I have to play myself.
Miss coronation AND play for Hibs? Carlsberg don't make Saturdays....
Wouldn't be surprised if the footy is canned on that day. And I'd be amazed if there isn't a bank holiday on the Friday or Monday.
@SkyNewsBreak
Buckingham Palace has announced that the King's coronation will be held on Saturday 6 May next year at Westminster Abbey, with the Queen Consort also being crowned during the ceremonyYou are not to call her Queen Consort any more. She's Queen Camilla. She must be going to sit beside Chuck at the do, wearing her own metal hat. Like an 80's HipHop album cover with a rapper and his "hoe", as they call them. Philip didnt get a go on one of them - the metal hat, not a "hoe".
I wonder she gets the whole "anointy" version or just him. The wizards get jiggy.
11-10-2022, 06:00 PM
Nope, I'm going. Even if I have to play myself.
Miss coronation AND play for Hibs? Carlsberg don't make Saturdays....
Can I play in goals?
11-10-2022, 06:01 PM
Wouldn't be surprised if the footy is canned on that day. And I'd be amazed if there isn't a bank holiday on the Friday or Monday.
Football will definitely be off that weekend.
11-10-2022, 06:04 PM
That would be shocking. At the absolute worst they should move kick off times but hopefully the Stone of Destiny will have reluctantly done its bit early enough in the day that there's no question of it.
11-10-2022, 06:06 PM
Can I play in goals?
No, I've seen you play.
He's here!
11-10-2022, 06:08 PM
I think it's more likely just to get shifted to the Sunday.
Hopefully another bank holiday on the way.
Just_Jimmy
11-10-2022, 09:31 PM
Can I play in goals?Nah, unless you're in the top 35 hibs keepers, I'm ahead of you.
Blackpool hibs is the manager.
Sent from my SM-G991B using Tapatalk
11-10-2022, 09:50 PM
Bring back Terry Butcher
11-10-2022, 09:56 PM
@SkyNewsBreak
They can announce whatever they like - let's just wait and see if old sausage hands lasts that long...
21-10-2022, 09:58 AM
Nah, unless you're in the top 35 hibs keepers, I'm ahead of you.
Sent from my SM-G991B using Tapatalk
Bring back Terry Butcher