View Full Version : Operation London bridge

Pages : 1 2 [3] 4 5 6

10-09-2022, 11:31 AM
Have the funeral on Tuesday 20th, problem solved.

We could have got lucky and Funeral homes could have been out on strike that day. mind you the Unions have bottled going on strike, despite a mandate from members, including my own.

Berwickhibby
10-09-2022, 11:34 AM
It was nice to see Charlie swear an oath of allegiance to the church of Scotland's independence in line with the claim of right that upholds the sovereignty of the people of Scotland.

Im sure we might see that used in the coming months.

Nice to see the FM sign a document proclaiming Defender of the Faith and the Union

10-09-2022, 11:34 AM
No. The protocol specifically says that if the funeral is on a weekend day or an existing PH, another day will not be granted.

So basically Edinburgh gets shafted despite having to put up with all this disruption?

10-09-2022, 11:37 AM
Here is what I found. https://www.gov.scot/publications/land-reform-review-group-final-report-land-scotland-common-good/pages/26/#:~:text=The%20Crown's%20ownership%20of%20Scotland 's%20seabed%20and%20much%20of%20its,of%20Scotland% 20as%20ancient%20possessions.

Udal Law if far superior to Feudal

Interesting. The rights to the seabed are incredibly strategically and environmentally important and financially invaluable. Which I’m sure is why the Crown retained them. I was involved in some work on it about 15 years ago when I was a civil servant and the Blair government was changing the land ownership system. But how Scotland was treated differently im not sure, stuff to do with the Crown are reserved matters if I recall correctly?

10-09-2022, 11:40 AM
https://twitter.com/kieomusic/status/1568194309144416259?s=48&t=h2uPbGLQ6012gc0wJhuvjA

10-09-2022, 11:42 AM
Really? It wont affect me, but I'd have thought if you have a contractual annual holiday entitlement and an additional public holiday is declared which falls on one of those days you have a case for an additional day?

Can't imagine that it'll go down well with employers that have people in Edinburgh due to be off on 19th already as a public holiday, and those in Glasgow getting their usual Sept weekend day a week later as well as the new public holiday on 19th.

10-09-2022, 11:52 AM
So basically Edinburgh gets shafted despite having to put up with all this disruption?

I'm sure I read that the Queen brings millions of pounds into the economy, look on it as a bonus 😁

James310
10-09-2022, 11:54 AM
It was nice to see Charlie swear an oath of allegiance to the church of Scotland's independence in line with the claim of right that upholds the sovereignty of the people of Scotland.

I see that's a big Alba push this morning, saying the exact same as you.

https://twitter.com/AlexSalmond/status/1568494539970646017?t=40tfDsAOcXIDOwJhK-El3Q&s=19

It belongs in the history books in my opinion due to its anti catholic rhetoric.

https://twitter.com/AlexSalmond/status/1568494548242014209?t=Q_Ku2IJ-NPXRTN0es8ML0g&s=19

"The Claim of Right of 1689 is not the bee’s knees in many quarters because of its 17th century anti-Catholicism, and very understandably so. But the idea of a contractual monarchy was first introduced into Scottish thought in the 14th century appeals to the Avignon Papacy"

10-09-2022, 11:54 AM
https://twitter.com/kieomusic/status/1568194309144416259?s=48&t=h2uPbGLQ6012gc0wJhuvjA

The butt of that joke was Walter Annenberg. Who was white which isn't the implication the tweet is meant to give.

There's so much mud to throw at the royals I really don't see why someone would go to the time of throwing that tweet out, it's just misinformation and does nothing to support a viewpoint.

10-09-2022, 12:00 PM
Monday 19th declared as a public holiday.

This should be optional to give Republicans, the chance to work that day.

Skol
10-09-2022, 12:01 PM

https://twitter.com/AlexSalmond/status/1568494539970646017?t=40tfDsAOcXIDOwJhK-El3Q&s=19

It belongs in the history books in my opinion due to its anti catholic rhetoric.

https://twitter.com/AlexSalmond/status/1568494548242014209?t=Q_Ku2IJ-NPXRTN0es8ML0g&s=19

"The Claim of Right of 1689 is not the bee’s knees in many quarters because of its 17th century anti-Catholicism, and very understandably so. But the idea of a contractual monarchy was first introduced into Scottish thought in the 14th century appeals to the Avignon Papacy"

It is just straw clutching. The best way to gain independence is to build a significant majority. Why not focus on that instead of trying to find feats around things v

James310
10-09-2022, 12:08 PM
It is just straw clutching. The best way to gain independence is to build a significant majority. Why not focus on that instead of trying to find feats around things v

Agree, it would never find support in the majority of people in Scotland but Alba seem to think it's the route to Independence.

10-09-2022, 12:11 PM

My comment was more to do with the "up to date" monarchy which we are all ruled under. Imagine proclaiming something which happened over 300 years ago to swear in a new King. A more modern democracy would do away with this heraldic pish, and vote someone in by the people.

Modernism eh. :wink:

I don't seem to get those links from the Alba fraternity. I'm sure you'll keep us up to date though. :aok:

10-09-2022, 12:13 PM
Nice to see the FM sign a document proclaiming Defender of the Faith and the Union

We're keeping the monarchy (for a while). We've to play by the rules as they pertain just now. :aok:

James310
10-09-2022, 12:14 PM
My comment was more to do with the "up to date" monarchy which we are all ruled under. Imagine proclaiming something which happened over 300 years ago to swear in a new King. A more modern democracy would do away with this heraldic pish, and vote someone in by the people.

Modernism eh. :wink:

I don't seem to get those links from the Alba fraternity. I'm sure you'll keep us up to date though. :aok:

Weren't you the one saying we will see more in the coming months of a document that's hundreds of years old?

He's here!
10-09-2022, 12:17 PM
Can't imagine that it'll go down well with employers that have people in Edinburgh due to be off on 19th already as a public holiday, and those in Glasgow getting their usual Sept weekend day a week later as well as the new public holiday on 19th.

Indeed. I haven't seen this apparent protocol which states that employees will not receive an additional day's holiday if the funeral falls on a weekend or public holiday but I can't see this not being a bone of contention if that's the case.

There will also, presumably, be an additional public holiday to co-ordinate for the day of King Charles's coronation.

10-09-2022, 12:18 PM
Weren't you the one saying we will see more in the coming months of a document that's hundreds of years old?

I'm sure we will. You don't think so?

He's here!
10-09-2022, 12:19 PM

Well, that would indeed solve the problem but if it's just an Edinburgh public holiday on the Monday rather than nationwide I'd imagine it's unlikely to sway the thinking of organisers who will likely deem the most practical way of doing things will be to give the majority of people a long weekend rather than a day back at work followed by a day off.

He's here!
10-09-2022, 12:20 PM
My union won a similar argument over the Jubilee(part time workers) and will hope that is followed for this public holiday.

Interesting. So there's a precedent.

James310
10-09-2022, 12:21 PM
I'm sure we will. You don't think so?

I have no idea, why? Is it part of the SNPs evidence to the Supreme Court?

10-09-2022, 12:22 PM
Normal.

The royal beekeeper - in an arcane tradition thought to date back centuries - has informed the hives kept in the grounds of Buckingham Palace and Clarence House of the Queen’s death.

And the bees have also been told, in hushed tones, that their new master is now King Charles III

10-09-2022, 12:23 PM
I have no idea, why? Is it part of the SNPs evidence to the Supreme Court?

No idea, you'd have to ask them. When you get the answer you can get back to us. Good lad. :aok:

James310
10-09-2022, 12:26 PM
No idea, you'd have to ask them. When you get the answer you can get back to us. Good lad. :aok:

You are the one that said it will be used more in the coming months, I asked why, but you don't know either? So we both don't know. 🤣

10-09-2022, 12:30 PM
I've been fascinated by the amount of different fancy dress on show over the last few days. The tv cameras went round the different countries to see people shooting guns with different attire. The guy on the BBC this morning saying we'd been transported back the days of Dick Whittington, as the guys were wearing high length boots best seen on the catwalk.

It's been better than I thought. :greengrin

10-09-2022, 12:34 PM
You are the one that said it will be used more in the coming months, I asked why, but you don't know either? So we both don't know. 🤣

This is what I said.

Not that it will be used more. :rules:

I'll let you get back to the Alba threads now.

Have a nice day.

10-09-2022, 12:36 PM
Normal.

The royal beekeeper - in an arcane tradition thought to date back centuries - has informed the hives kept in the grounds of Buckingham Palace and Clarence House of the Queen’s death.

And the bees have also been told, in hushed tones, that their new master is now King Charles III

Would the High-Bees get told first :greengrin

10-09-2022, 12:39 PM
The butt of that joke was Walter Annenberg. Who was white which isn't the implication the tweet is meant to give.

There's so much mud to throw at the royals I really don't see why someone would go to the time of throwing that tweet out, it's just misinformation and does nothing to support a viewpoint.Fair comment, should have dug a bit deeper as the implication in the replies simply isn't fair and are Ill thought out / baseless.

10-09-2022, 12:46 PM
This should be optional to give Republicans, the chance to work that day.

Not sure they have the balls to do it and wouldn't be allowed under employment law. I like my annual leave but if they opened my office on teh funeral day I would choose to work from teh office as a mark of my disdain for the monarchy(not the queen). It won't and can't happen so don't blame republicans for not having the opportunity, much like we have never had the opportunity to choose a Monarchy

10-09-2022, 12:52 PM
Interesting. So there's a precedent. It isn't quite apples to apples and our part time leave is aggregated. We had good arguments in terms of teh Jubilee and a good solution was found. Not the place for discussing here but PM if you want

10-09-2022, 12:56 PM
Indeed. I haven't seen this apparent protocol which states that employees will not receive an additional day's holiday if the funeral falls on a weekend or public holiday but I can't see this not being a bone of contention if that's the case.

There will also, presumably, be an additional public holiday to co-ordinate for the day of King Charles's coronation.

It will depend as much on what your leave arrangements are. Is it a public holiday in your contract, does your workplace close, are public holidays floating etc. I'd be fighting for a day off regardless especially as Edinburgh is taking a hit with the part it is playing and it would be grossly unfair if we take a hit both ways. It says much about this country though that even when giving a public holiday they will do their best to word it so as many miss out as possible.

10-09-2022, 12:59 PM
Would the High-Bees get told first :greengrin

Brentford have first dibs.

Stairway 2 7
10-09-2022, 01:38 PM
Normal.

That's a tradition all over the world to tell the bees if the owner has dies, too many stings to the heed for these people I think

10-09-2022, 01:57 PM

It's not up to me.

10-09-2022, 02:01 PM
What's going to happen to the wee corgis?

10-09-2022, 02:04 PM

Someone else will take them walkies.

10-09-2022, 02:16 PM

This is a passage from the document BristolHibby posted on the first page of this thread (13th post);

"The prime minister and the queen have agreed that the day of the state funeral will be a “Day of National Mourning.” This has also led to planning issues. The day will effectively be a bank holiday, although it will not be named as such.

If the funeral falls on the weekend or an existing bank holiday, an extra bank holiday will not be granted. If the funeral falls on a weekday, the government does not plan to order employers to give employees the day off — the documents say that is a matter between employees and their staff."

Things may have changed slightly, but that's what I referred to. It's also the case that the 19th isn't a bank holiday so that may change things.

10-09-2022, 02:27 PM
Perhaps those claiming to be so enraged by the disruption caused to their day-to-day lives by the Queen's passing should volunteer to work that day :wink:

Or, perhaps we shouldn't have had any disruption, including an extra public holiday?

10-09-2022, 02:41 PM

I wonder if Paddington is available.

10-09-2022, 02:49 PM
Leith Walk and it's pubs are rammed, not much mourning going on

Stairway 2 7
10-09-2022, 02:54 PM

Been out and about all day if it wasn't for this thread I wouldn't know. Will be different Monday Tuesday when all the events are in town

10-09-2022, 02:55 PM
That's a tradition all over the world to tell the bees if the owner has dies, too many stings to the heed for these people I

think

Poor bees, they don't know whether they're coming or going. One minute the Queen, the next day the Bee keeper. :greengrin

10-09-2022, 03:05 PM

Leith is hardly a hotbed of monarchist feeling :greengrin

10-09-2022, 03:09 PM
Leith is hardly a hotbed of monarchist feeling :greengrin

The ‘I love Leith’ Facebook page had a suggestion that flowers be laid at the Queen Vic statue as a mark of respect for the last queens passing, there was utter carnage :greengrin Worth a look.

10-09-2022, 03:38 PM
The ‘I love Leith’ Facebook page had a suggestion that flowers be laid at the Queen Vic statue as a mark of respect for the last queens passing, there was utter carnage :greengrin Worth a look.

I avoided that thread. I note the thread starter chose anonymity - probably knowing they were chucking a grenade in.

10-09-2022, 03:39 PM
:Ummm:

https://scontent.fman1-1.fna.fbcdn.net/v/t39.30808-6/305897655_5513864868670299_4762731907936641328_n.j pg?_nc_cat=111&ccb=1-7&_nc_sid=5cd70e&_nc_ohc=_tCBLHNo734AX_YLM-5&_nc_ht=scontent.fman1-1.fna&oh=00_AT8p4bfAqkbNkB6Q26hZt3HoxwRTA0YzK9j_eWonnGP3 Tw&oe=63213534

:Ummm::Ummm:

https://scontent.fman1-2.fna.fbcdn.net/v/t39.30808-6/305806746_10160175171140420_1486338137494862412_n. jpg?_nc_cat=105&ccb=1-7&_nc_sid=8bfeb9&_nc_ohc=RDIfmR4t9S8AX-Ryc_K&_nc_ht=scontent.fman1-2.fna&oh=00_AT8j2djk5RWij55kQdBeIq7OE4GzEGxzO0E6NmmjSh_0-A&oe=63210390

10-09-2022, 03:44 PM
:Ummm:

https://scontent.fman1-1.fna.fbcdn.net/v/t39.30808-6/305897655_5513864868670299_4762731907936641328_n.j pg?_nc_cat=111&ccb=1-7&_nc_sid=5cd70e&_nc_ohc=_tCBLHNo734AX_YLM-5&_nc_ht=scontent.fman1-1.fna&oh=00_AT8p4bfAqkbNkB6Q26hZt3HoxwRTA0YzK9j_eWonnGP3 Tw&oe=63213534

:Ummm::Ummm:

https://scontent.fman1-2.fna.fbcdn.net/v/t39.30808-6/305806746_10160175171140420_1486338137494862412_n. jpg?_nc_cat=105&ccb=1-7&_nc_sid=8bfeb9&_nc_ohc=RDIfmR4t9S8AX-Ryc_K&_nc_ht=scontent.fman1-2.fna&oh=00_AT8j2djk5RWij55kQdBeIq7OE4GzEGxzO0E6NmmjSh_0-A&oe=63210390

Corgis aren’t any old dogs you know. It’s in the bloodline.

10-09-2022, 03:51 PM

Asked to join that group. It is fascinating seeing the different reactions

10-09-2022, 04:08 PM
See funeral is confirmed 19 September at 11am.

Bet our game is off Saturday.

10-09-2022, 04:24 PM

Sashfest in some Blackpool pubs that weekend.(or use to be)

I use to go the weekend before.
Rainbow Lounge ran a bus for a few years as did Jimmy's old boozer, The Gylemuir.

I was doing some work there during one Glesca Sept.Weekend.
Me and a workmate spent the evenings in Lytham that weekend
Bouncers shipped in from Glasgow to do the doors cos the Manchester guys needed interpreters !!

He's here!
10-09-2022, 04:24 PM
This is a passage from the document BristolHibby posted on the first page of this thread (13th post);

"The prime minister and the queen have agreed that the day of the state funeral will be a “Day of National Mourning.” This has also led to planning issues. The day will effectively be a bank holiday, although it will not be named as such.

If the funeral falls on the weekend or an existing bank holiday, an extra bank holiday will not be granted. If the funeral falls on a weekday, the government does not plan to order employers to give employees the day off — the documents say that is a matter between employees and their staff."

Things may have changed slightly, but that's what I referred to. It's also the case that the 19th isn't a bank holiday so that may change things.

Thanks. Clearly this was agreed prior to the Quuen's passing and Truss becoming PM so as you say there may be some flexibility.

My cousin's a teacher and she says there's a feeling among staff that if this is in effect an extra bank holiday it should mean an additional day off for those who already have the Edinburgh public holiday on the 19th.

10-09-2022, 04:29 PM

I think the football card that weekend will also be off.
I know the Govt says its down to Associations,etc.
But our fitba beaks wont chance minutes silence being disrupted,as at some grounds,it is most certainly a nap.

10-09-2022, 04:38 PM

Next game will be Ross County away in 3 weeks time.

10-09-2022, 04:44 PM
Thanks. Clearly this was agreed prior to the Quuen's passing and Truss becoming PM so as you say there may be some flexibility.

My cousin's a teacher and she says there's a feeling among staff that if this is in effect an extra bank holiday it should mean an additional day off for those who already have the Edinburgh public holiday on the 19th.

Of course staff would think that it's hardly an insightful revelation 😅

10-09-2022, 05:02 PM
Next game will be Ross County away in 3 weeks time.

Hope not, bringing one of my nephews to his first game next weekend.

Glad never booked hotel in Edinburgh though and went for Newcastle as if it is off least don't have to travel 4 hours, just 2.

Just_Jimmy
10-09-2022, 05:15 PM
I'm wholly sick of the whole thing now. I went out, it was on the radio, I came home and watched the golf and they're milking it there too.

I expect it on the BBC (not to the ridiculous extent that is now) but I do. When I watch the golf channel I expect to see golf and hear about golf. I'm not arsed what McIroys thoughts on the passing of the Queen are in the slightest.

Sent from my SM-G991B using Tapatalk

10-09-2022, 05:18 PM

YLT know the score haha, I've been out in Leith all day and it's no been mentioned once

10-09-2022, 05:47 PM
I'm wholly sick of the whole thing now. I went out, it was on the radio, I came home and watched the golf and they're milking it there too.

I expect it on the BBC (not to the ridiculous extent that is now) but I do. When I watch the golf channel I expect to see golf and hear about golf. I'm not arsed what McIroys thoughts on the passing of the Queen are in the slightest.

Sent from my SM-G991B using Tapatalk

BBC scottish football website had the first 4 stories about some over privileged woman dying!! Go figure!

10-09-2022, 05:52 PM
BBC scottish football website had the first 4 stories about some over privileged woman dying!! Go figure!

On the plus side the Hearts defeat has remained on the main football page far longer than it would have had there been a full round of fixtures today.

Stairway 2 7
10-09-2022, 05:56 PM
On the plus side the Hearts defeat has remained on the main football page far longer than it would have had there been a full round of fixtures today.

3 wins and 10 defeats in 15 games. 6 defeats in 7 games. Let them wallow until October, hearts are pish

10-09-2022, 06:02 PM
3 wins and 10 defeats in 15 games. 6 defeats in 7 games. Let them wallow until October, hearts are pish

Startling stats.
Hibs managers get sacked for less.

10-09-2022, 06:16 PM

Some of those defeats were as good as a win though it’s not as bad as it looks on paper

10-09-2022, 06:26 PM

My gran's birthday, she would have been 105. A lifelong socialist who raised twelve children with hardly any money; problems auld Lizzie never dreamed of. I will be thinking of her that day.

Stairway 2 7
10-09-2022, 06:27 PM
https://www.gov.scot/publications/ceremonial-and-events-guidance-following-the-death-of-her-majesty-the-queen/

Plans for events on Sunday, Monday and Tuesday

10-09-2022, 06:27 PM
I'm away for a long weekend next week. Travelling home on the Monday, should mean the roads will be quiet.

10-09-2022, 06:31 PM
Believe it or not I will be in London all weekend, moving my daughter into uni digs. Quite looking forward to seeing the death throe chaos, although I’m not sure I’ll feel that way when I’m stuck in my hired transit van on the north circular…

10-09-2022, 06:32 PM
My gran's birthday, she would have been 105. A lifelong socialist who raised twelve children with hardly any money; problems auld Lizzie never dreamed of. I will be thinking of her that day.

:cheers: to her.

Stairway 2 7
10-09-2022, 06:38 PM
https://www.gov.scot/publications/ceremonial-and-events-guidance-following-the-death-of-her-majesty-the-queen/

Plans for events on Sunday, Monday and Tuesday

From what I can see. A wee ceremony thing down the mile tomorrow although with no queen there, she arrives in Edinburgh tomorrow evening. Coffin will go up the mile Monday in a procession, ceremony with Charlie boom boom at St giles at 3, she will lay in St giles from 5pm Monday to Tuesday afternoon, then flown to London.

Queues expected from St giles, along George the 4th, through Bristo Square, past George sq

10-09-2022, 06:41 PM
:cheers: to her.

Cheer, mate. Aye, she was the strongest person I've ever known. She had a hard life, like many others of her generation, and it just shows how accident of birth was and remains a huge determinant of the life we will each have.

He's here!
10-09-2022, 06:42 PM
Of course staff would think that it's hardly an insightful revelation 😅

Not meant as a 'revelation', let alone an insightful one. It's a valid point though IMHO.

10-09-2022, 06:48 PM

Rightly so. She sounds a great lady and much like my nan. 👍

10-09-2022, 06:53 PM
It's bad enough having to avoid the BBC news just now but, for the second day in a row, the first ten minutes or so of Tagesschau (the main German news show) has been all about the Queen, Charles, etc.

Maybe they still feel an affinity to the UK Monarchy because they're actually German (their surname was Saxe-Coburg & Gotha, before they changed it to Windsor)

10-09-2022, 06:55 PM
It's bad enough having to avoid the BBC news just now but, for the second day in a row, the first ten minutes or so of Tagesschau (the main German news show) has been all about the Queen, Charles, etc.

Maybe they still feel an affinity to the UK Mpnarchy because they're actually German (their surname was Saxe-Coburg & Gotha, before they changed it to Windsor)

Would any other monarchy receive the same coverage e.g. Spanish or Swedish? Not getting an outside perspective, is the British monarchy covered a great deal in non-Commonwealth countries?

10-09-2022, 06:58 PM
Would any other monarchy receive the same coverage e.g. Spanish or Swedish? Not getting an outside perspective, is the British monarchy covered a great deal in non-Commonwealth countries?

Not in Germany, no.

They refer to other monarchies by the name of their country, e.g. The King of Sweden, but the UK monarchy are just The Queen and The King

Incidentally, they used to do that in Austria as well when I lived over there.

LunasBoots
10-09-2022, 07:00 PM

Not likely the only other country that would get the same coverage is Thailand probably, not the most popular person over there either scammed alot of money if the state and did a runner or something not so long ago, above any kind of law as you would imagine.

Wife's had the BBC on the day, don't know how much they can go on about the same *****, bored already and only a day into this nonsense, great king incoming a thousand times, so in touch blah blah.

Mr Grieves
10-09-2022, 07:05 PM
YLT know the score haha, I've been out in Leith all day and it's no been mentioned once

The people's republic

Stairway 2 7
10-09-2022, 07:12 PM
Not likely the only other country that would get the same coverage is Thailand probably, not the most popular person over there either scammed alot of money if the state and did a runner or something not so long ago.

Thailand would be far far madder if there. On certain days to celebrate him you can't get a beer in the shops or pub .his picture is everywhere, in restaurants billboards. If you're caught saying something negative about him in public its the tin pail. Youngsters use social media aliases to criticise him, as he is a bit nuts and a party boy.

From report of last Kings death mental stuff

The government declared a year-long mourning period for Bhumibol. Citizens were asked to refrain from participating in "joyful events" and entertainment for 30 days following his death; as a result, a number of events, including sports (such as the Thai League football season, which ended entirely),[75] were cancelled or postponed. Entertainment outlets such as cinemas, nightclubs and theatres announced that they would shut down or operate under reduced hours during this period.[76][77][78] The mourning period prompted concerns from Thailand's tourism industry, which felt that the mood of the country, as well as the cancelled events, would reduce interest in visiting Thailand

Upon the announcement of his death, all television channels suspended regular programming and simulcast special programmes from the television pool of Thailand, which consisted of videos and photos of Bhumibol, and coverage of royal events. International channels were blacked out and replaced by this programming, and all programming during this time was carried exclusively in monochrome. Following the funeral procession on 14 October 2016, the channels continued to air the pooled tribute content until midnight local time, after which they were allowed to resume regular programming in colour. However, for the remainder of the 30-day mourning period, all broadcasters were forbidden from broadcasting programmes that featured "any element of entertainment, dancing, joy, violence, impoliteness or overly expressed emotion

Most Thai media outlets and websites switched to greyscale colour schemes as well.[79][80] After a brief return to monochrome for the King's 1st death anniversary on 13 October 2017, colour television broadcasts, with the same restrictions are before, resumed on 19 October the same year.[81]

Out of respect for the mourning, many Thai malls, including all Central Pattana and The Mall Group properties, chose not to install extensive Christmas displays and decorations for the holiday season. Some installed memorials to Bhumibol instead

Since the death of the king, ultra-royalists in Thailand have criticized and harassed those who did not wear mourning black.[83] They also subjected to witch-hunts people whom they accused of disrespecting the deceased monarch. On 14 October 2016, angry ultra-royalist groups in ****et Province thronged the residence of a man who posted on social media a number of comments which they thought offensive to the late king and violated the lèse-majesté law,

In November 2016, Nangrong School in Buriram Province seized colourful winter jackets from students and required them to wear those in mourning colours only. The students were reportedly distressed to lose their jackets due to the cold weather, and many did not own multiple warm articles of clothing.[86]

On 28 November, the director of a public school in Ranong Province was removed from office for not wearing mourning black on her first day at work.[87]

The National Council for Peace and Order, the junta ruling Thailand, also announced after the death of Bhumibol that it will hunt down lèse-majesté fugitives.[88]

10-09-2022, 07:19 PM
Believe it or not I will be in London all weekend, moving my daughter into uni digs. Quite looking forward to seeing the death throe chaos, although I’m not sure I’ll feel that way when I’m stuck in my hired transit van on the north circular…

I was down there for work thurs/fri so I took a walk past Buck house. They were queuing right back up past hyde park corner to lay flowers. That’s about half a mile. Mentalists. :rolleyes:

10-09-2022, 07:25 PM
I was down there for work thurs/fri so I took a walk past Buck house. They were queuing right back up past hyde park corner to lay flowers. That’s about half a mile. Mentalists. :rolleyes:

I’ve queued overnight for tickets to see Hibs in the past. On that basis I can’t judge anyone, each to their own. :greengrin

10-09-2022, 07:27 PM
I’ve queued overnight for tickets to see Hibs in the past. On that basis I can’t judge anyone, each to their own. :greengrin

Yeah, but you got 90 minutes of grief, they only got a few seconds.

10-09-2022, 07:30 PM
Yeah, but you got 90 minutes of grief, they only got a few seconds.

Hibs do give us value for money on the grief front. :greengrin

LunasBoots
10-09-2022, 07:41 PM
Thailand would be far far madder if there. On certain days to celebrate him you can't get a beer in the shops or pub .his picture is everywhere, in restaurants billboards. If you're caught saying something negative about him in public its the tin pail. Youngsters use social media aliases to criticise him, as he is a bit nuts and a party boy.

From report of last Kings death mental stuff

The government declared a year-long mourning period for Bhumibol. Citizens were asked to refrain from participating in "joyful events" and entertainment for 30 days following his death; as a result, a number of events, including sports (such as the Thai League football season, which ended entirely),[75] were cancelled or postponed. Entertainment outlets such as cinemas, nightclubs and theatres announced that they would shut down or operate under reduced hours during this period.[76][77][78] The mourning period prompted concerns from Thailand's tourism industry, which felt that the mood of the country, as well as the cancelled events, would reduce interest in visiting Thailand

Upon the announcement of his death, all television channels suspended regular programming and simulcast special programmes from the television pool of Thailand, which consisted of videos and photos of Bhumibol, and coverage of royal events. International channels were blacked out and replaced by this programming, and all programming during this time was carried exclusively in monochrome. Following the funeral procession on 14 October 2016, the channels continued to air the pooled tribute content until midnight local time, after which they were allowed to resume regular programming in colour. However, for the remainder of the 30-day mourning period, all broadcasters were forbidden from broadcasting programmes that featured "any element of entertainment, dancing, joy, violence, impoliteness or overly expressed emotion

Most Thai media outlets and websites switched to greyscale colour schemes as well.[79][80] After a brief return to monochrome for the King's 1st death anniversary on 13 October 2017, colour television broadcasts, with the same restrictions are before, resumed on 19 October the same year.[81]

Out of respect for the mourning, many Thai malls, including all Central Pattana and The Mall Group properties, chose not to install extensive Christmas displays and decorations for the holiday season. Some installed memorials to Bhumibol instead

Since the death of the king, ultra-royalists in Thailand have criticized and harassed those who did not wear mourning black.[83] They also subjected to witch-hunts people whom they accused of disrespecting the deceased monarch. On 14 October 2016, angry ultra-royalist groups in ****et Province thronged the residence of a man who posted on social media a number of comments which they thought offensive to the late king and violated the lèse-majesté law,

In November 2016, Nangrong School in Buriram Province seized colourful winter jackets from students and required them to wear those in mourning colours only. The students were reportedly distressed to lose their jackets due to the cold weather, and many did not own multiple warm articles of clothing.[86]

On 28 November, the director of a public school in Ranong Province was removed from office for not wearing mourning black on her first day at work.[87]

The National Council for Peace and Order, the junta ruling Thailand, also announced after the death of Bhumibol that it will hunt down lèse-majesté fugitives.[88]

Far worse then 👍

He's here!
10-09-2022, 08:57 PM

The Queen's passing clearly meant enough for those queuing to spend their time that way. If it didn't mean much to you yet you went out of your way to go there and scoff at them it's arguable who is the bigger mentalist here.

There will be longer queues in Edinburgh on Monday to see the Queen lying in state. Presumably all bampots.

10-09-2022, 09:30 PM
The Queen's passing clearly meant enough for those queuing to spend their time that way. If it didn't mean much to you yet you went out of your way to go there and scoff at them it's arguable who is the bigger mentalist here.

There will be longer queues in Edinburgh on Monday to see the Queen lying in state. Presumably all bampots.

By no means all will be bampots. The weirdos are those sobbing in public etc; that's crazy stuff.

10-09-2022, 09:33 PM
I’m going down to watch the whole shenanigans on Monday, going to take an extended lunch hour. It’s an historic moment and as a citizen of Edinburgh I don’t want to miss the fun :agree: I celebrate Christmas despite not being a Christian after all…

10-09-2022, 09:38 PM
I was interviewed outside my work at 8am this morning by Japanese news. This was after having to hurriedly hire a van and go to the cash and carry at 7am (after finishing work at 2am) to buy several kegs since my beer delivery couldn’t get to us due to the road closures. Not sure they were expecting the response they got. Pretty sure I’ll not make the cut 🤣

10-09-2022, 09:49 PM

I didn’t know they’d be there. Actually, I doubt the people going to lay flowers expected an hours long queue?

11-09-2022, 06:27 AM
I was interviewed outside my work at 8am this morning by Japanese news. This was after having to hurriedly hire a van and go to the cash and carry at 7am (after finishing work at 2am) to buy several kegs since my beer delivery couldn’t get to us due to the road closures. Not sure they were expecting the response they got. Pretty sure I’ll not make the cut 🤣Hope you do make the cut.The media should be there to report not spin

11-09-2022, 06:41 AM
I was interviewed outside my work at 8am this morning by Japanese news. This was after having to hurriedly hire a van and go to the cash and carry at 7am (after finishing work at 2am) to buy several kegs since my beer delivery couldn’t get to us due to the road closures. Not sure they were expecting the response they got. Pretty sure I’ll not make the cut 🤣

:greengrin Although not making the cut might be a blessing in disguise after seeing what happened to the chip shop lady.

11-09-2022, 07:02 AM

You'll make the cut. Whether what you said will be what the subtitles say is another matter!

What you said: All these bloody roads are shut is ****ing inconvenient to say the least. Why couldn't they have just flown the old bugger straight to London. Gets right on ma tits all the royalty pish.

What the subtitles say: It's a very sad day for us all, we're all deeply saddened. I once met one of the corgis when it was out walkies when her Majesty was in Edinburgh 50 years ago so I have a very special relationship with the whole family.

11-09-2022, 08:26 AM

I'll be quite far out of the city centre and st Paul's, I would have thought the suburbs will probably be not unlike a normal weekend. I'd imagine driving around won't be easy.

I will however be donning the union jack underpants tomorrow and have a look at the cortege/procession in Edinburgh.

Lendo
11-09-2022, 09:13 AM
Seems like every police officer in Scotland is kicking about Holyrood this morning. Were officers from down south being shipped up for today? If not it’s a good day to go on the chore if you live elsewhere.

He's here!
11-09-2022, 09:19 AM
Scotttish tourist industry will be loving the live footage of the funeral cortege making its way through Deeside. Countryside looks stunning.

James310
11-09-2022, 09:21 AM
Getting the bus into town and a swarm of police motorcycles escorting a bus down through past Craiglockhart, assume they must be the top brass staying at the barracks making their way into town.

11-09-2022, 09:23 AM
Seems like every police officer in Scotland is kicking about Holyrood this morning. Were officers from down south being shipped up for today? If not it’s a good day to go on the chore if you live elsewhere.

Right now she is touring Aberdeenshire so there will be a big police presence there and all the way down to Dundee, Perth and Edinburgh. It's 6 hours before she is due to be at Holyrood.

He's here!
11-09-2022, 09:26 AM
I didn’t know they’d be there. Actually, I doubt the people going to lay flowers expected an hours long queue?

Fair enough, although bearing in mind the scenes of people camping at Balmoral and the crowds greeting Charles, William, Kate etc over the last few days it would probably be fair to assume there would be a lot of folk there? The scenes when Diana died were a pretty good barometer.

These people aren't mental. The Queen was a reassuring presence for many, a thread of continuity down the decades and I don't see why the coming together of folk of all ages and from all walks of life to reflect and pay their respects is something to scoff at. I won't subject the kids to the queues at St Giles tomorrow but it looks like a lovely day in Edinburgh so we'll be meeting up with a few other families to watch the cortege pass through the city later on.

11-09-2022, 09:29 AM
Good advertising for William Purves Funeral Directors

https://ichef.bbci.co.uk/live-experience/cps/624/cpsprodpb/vivo/live/images/2022/9/11/c455fc13-eef7-437d-a381-df880b90704a.jpg

11-09-2022, 09:51 AM
From Bella caledonia

Many commentators have made play of the fact that she came to the throne at a time when their was still rationing in place. It’s a neat but unrecognised symmetry that there will be rationing again this winter in many households.

11-09-2022, 09:58 AM
Good advertising for William Purves Funeral Directors

https://ichef.bbci.co.uk/live-experience/cps/624/cpsprodpb/vivo/live/images/2022/9/11/c455fc13-eef7-437d-a381-df880b90704a.jpg

Indeed. I notice a spare car behind in case of breakdown.
What amounts to a triumph in business terms for Purves could easily turn to huge embarrassment.

James310
11-09-2022, 10:09 AM
Police sniper and spotter on roof of St Giles.

Stairway 2 7
11-09-2022, 10:35 AM
https://mobile.twitter.com/Cathal1798/status/1568888052298436610

Andrew is handsy

11-09-2022, 10:54 AM
Fair enough, although bearing in mind the scenes of people camping at Balmoral and the crowds greeting Charles, William, Kate etc over the last few days it would probably be fair to assume there would be a lot of folk there? The scenes when Diana died were a pretty good barometer.

These people aren't mental. The Queen was a reassuring presence for many, a thread of continuity down the decades and I don't see why the coming together of folk of all ages and from all walks of life to reflect and pay their respects is something to scoff at. I won't subject the kids to the queues at St Giles tomorrow but it looks like a lovely day in Edinburgh so we'll be meeting up with a few other families to watch the cortege pass through the city later on.

It's history in the making.
We won't be joining the throngs in the city centre.
The Queen goes past us on Tuesday I gather. We had the Pope a few years ago going the other way.
The great and good all come through Corstorphine eventually.

11-09-2022, 10:57 AM

Think you’re overreacting. Yes, it was obvious there’d be plenty of crowds. It was probably about 50/50 “mourners” v regular tourists and passers by. Very, very few were visibly upset. All I was questioning was why anyone would want to join a queue for hours to leave flowers outside?

Enjoy your day out.

Stairway 2 7
11-09-2022, 11:00 AM
MichaelG1875
·
35m
Since heart of midlothian have last won a football match the UK has had

A king
A Queen
2 prime ministers
and Chelsea have had two managers.

let that sink in

Lendo
11-09-2022, 11:04 AM
Was that some booing during the Proclamation on the Royal Mile?

11-09-2022, 11:05 AM
Was that some booing during the Proclamation on the Royal Mile?

I thought the same.

11-09-2022, 11:05 AM
Police sniper and spotter on roof of St Giles.

Somebody should inform any would be assassins that they are too late.

11-09-2022, 11:08 AM
I thought the same.

Yep twice. Once at the proclamation and then again at GSTK

11-09-2022, 11:09 AM
Yep twice. Once at the proclamation and then again at GSTKJambos, eh. No respect.

Sent from my SM-A528B using Tapatalk

11-09-2022, 11:10 AM
Yep twice. Once at the proclamation and then again at GSTK

These jambos get everywhere. 🤔

11-09-2022, 11:10 AM
Watching the stuff on tv just really emphasises how out of date a monarchy is. All this pomp and ceremony is absolutely pointless and also costing a fortune when the money could be far better spent on other things.

11-09-2022, 11:11 AM
“GSTK” doesn’t look right. Makes me think more of Glaxo Smith Kline than God Save the King

11-09-2022, 11:13 AM
“GSTK” doesn’t look right. Makes me think more of Glaxo Smith Kline than God Save the King

I think I will always see an 'F' in the middle of KC when the post boxes appear.

11-09-2022, 11:14 AM
Watching the stuff on tv just really emphasises how out of date a monarchy is. All this pomp and ceremony is absolutely pointless and also costing a fortune when the money could be far better spent on other things.

Spot on and one of the reasons I’d have the institution abolished. Not just the monarchy but the HoL too.

I suppose on the flip side, a fortune is probably spent on the ceremonial nonsense associated with the President of the United States.

11-09-2022, 11:27 AM
What’s with the goat at Wales?

11-09-2022, 11:33 AM
What’s with the goat at Wales?The fantastic, fascinating and not at all weird tradition of the Royal Welsh, who have a goat as their mascot.

Only a grand a year to keep. Gets you thinking, why have a human as King?

11-09-2022, 11:34 AM
Well said
Thats the reality of life.
Even now,child poverty is rising.
My wife was one of 10 .
Wooden fruit boxes for chairs in old Leith Sreet Terrace. And they didnt see al ot of fruit.!
Going to bakers back door at 6 in the morning to get old bread and buns from days before.

To see that royal clan ever increasing and Harry the defector going on about his entitlement,gies me the boak.

He's here!
11-09-2022, 11:40 AM

All the pomp and circumstance is a colourful and unique selling point which pays its way via the tourist industry and is what so many folk around the world love about the UK, antiquated as it may be. Take a look at the coverage in other countries. They can't get enough of it, particularly the US.

11-09-2022, 11:44 AM
All the pomp and circumstance is a colourful and unique selling point which pays its way via the tourist industry and is what so many folk around the world love about the UK, antiquated as it may be. Take a look at the coverage in other countries. They can't get enough of it, particularly the US.

You are right, but it doesn’t stop it baffling me. It’s the leading story in Le Monde, China daily, all the US and German outlets.

He's here!
11-09-2022, 11:47 AM
Think you’re overreacting. Yes, it was obvious there’d be plenty of crowds. It was probably about 50/50 “mourners” v regular tourists and passers by. Very, very few were visibly upset. All I was questioning was why anyone would want to join a queue for hours to leave flowers outside?

Enjoy your day out.

Thanks.

As I said folk react in different ways depending on how much something means to them. No more mental than some of the things I've done to get to Hibs games down the years.

11-09-2022, 11:51 AM
All the pomp and circumstance is a colourful and unique selling point which pays its way via the tourist industry and is what so many folk around the world love about the UK, antiquated as it may be. Take a look at the coverage in other countries. They can't get enough of it, particularly the US.Cashing in on an old lady's death.

11-09-2022, 11:52 AM
I think I will always see an 'F' in the middle of KC when the post boxes appear.

So from now the royal family will be known as

KC and the Sunshine Band :greengrin

He's here!
11-09-2022, 11:53 AM
You are right, but it doesn’t stop it baffling me. It’s the leading story in Le Monde, China daily, all the US and German outlets.

Folk like the slight fantasy element of it all. It's escapism of a sort. I've kept loosely in touch with some French friends who worked in the UK many years ago. Hadn't heard from them in a long time but they texted their condolences the other day, despite the fact I can't recall ever discussing the monarchy with them! I imagine the idea of a nation in mourning for their beloved Queen appeals to them.

Stairway 2 7
11-09-2022, 11:58 AM
Cashing in on an old lady's death.

Too right, may as well get done use of the ridiculous monarchy. Edinburgh is going to get advertising its probably never had before. The commonwealth games weren't shown in China so I think this beats it. Another big advert is the tattoo which is seen by hundreds of millions in China and India. We could keep that post getting rid of monarchy though

11-09-2022, 11:58 AM
What’s with the goat at Wales?

Because the unicorn was already taken 😉

11-09-2022, 12:06 PM
Folk like the slight fantasy element of it all. It's escapism of a sort. I've kept loosely in touch with some French friends who worked in the UK many years ago. Hadn't heard from them in a long time but they texted their condolences the other day, despite the fact I can't recall ever discussing the monarchy with them! I imagine the idea of a nation in mourning for their beloved Queen appeals to them.

Same here. My response was possibly different though, ‘I’m a Republican so it doesn’t affect me particularly!’

Although it had affected me, I met my mum on her allotment this morning, and she was reflecting on how different life was like for her growing up in the 50s, when rationing was still fresh in memories or still continuing in some cases and a streamer or a balloon was considered a treat. What she is grieving is the death of a generation, not the monarch herself. And then I read a piece by Billy Bragg a moment ago which said almost the same thing.

“It is reputedly the longest train journey in Germany - from Munich to Hamburg via Leipzig and Berlin, over seven hours travel time. That’s where I found myself on Thursday as news came through that the Queen’s doctors were ‘concerned about her health’. I was in Germany to give a couple of talks about my most recent book ‘The Three Dimensions of Freedom’ which had originally been planned for 2020. As I was explaining to my travelling companion from my Munich based publisher that the Queen had been becoming visibly frail for some time, I saw a screenshot of Huw Edwards, the BBC newscaster, wearing a black tie.

“I think we have to assume the Queen is already dead” I told my German friend. It seemed unthinkable to me that the BBC would go into mourning by mistake. The outrage that would descend on the corporation should they be seen to jump the gun on such a sensitive issue would be more damaging than any of the scandals that have beset them over the past decade.

It would be several more hours until I saw confirmation of her death, while travelling to the event in a taxi. It was interesting to be in a foreign country when the news broke. People seemed genuinely surprised, unaware that the Queen’s health recently been in decline. The taxi driver, a middle aged man, was visibly moved and spoke about how he felt when his father had died a year after the death of his mother. When I mentioned the news to the audience, there was an audible gasp of shock. Later, in my hotel room, I found that a number of German tv channels were covering the news live.

The Queen clearly meant something to these people, beyond her being the head of state of a neighbouring country.

Personally, I’ve never had strong feelings about the monarchy and the cosmetic role they play in our constitution. My concerns have always been about the way the powers which were once the sole preserve of the monarch have been conferred onto the prime minister, allowing the holder of that office to declare war and sign treaties without recourse to parliamentary debate. Hopefully the ascension of Charles III will initiate a debate about the role of the monarchy in a modern democracy, perhaps helping to kick start reforms such as the abolition of the House of Lords and a written constitution.

Having said that, I do want to take a moment to reflect on the passing of a person who has played a role in our national life over the past seven decades that is unrivalled in its significance. The importance of the Queen as a figurehead was made clear to me in 2007 when I saw a news report of the dedication of the Armed Forces Memorial, remembering those who lost their lives in conflicts since the Second World War. Watching the Queen walk along a line of ex-service personnel who had fought in every war from Korea to Afghanistan, I was struck by the thought that there is no one in British public life whose presence at an event could be equally meaningful to an 80 year old veteran as well as one in their 20s.

Obviously this is a product of the record-breaking longevity of her reign. Very few of us alive today can recall anyone else sitting on the British throne. That fact alone is what makes the notion of a King Charles III so strange and unfamiliar.

As a child, I had a great aunt who lived around the corner from us. Aunt Hannah was born in 1887 and lived in an upstairs flat that was lit by gaslight. She cooked on a coal-fired range and had neither tv nor telephone. Her only real concession to modernity was the fact that she would walk the two streets to our house to watch Sunday Night at the London Palladium. Like the Queen, she represented a living link with the past, a sense that all the things that had happened in her life could be summoned into the room by her memories. She died in 1972. By the time Elizabeth II was crowned, Aunt Hannah had lived through the reigns of six different monarchs in her 66 years. I’ve managed to rack up almost as many years without witnessing a single coronation.

For people around my age, there is another dimension that gives this moment in our history a poignancy that defies the rational concerns about crown and constitution.

Like the Queen, my parents were born in the 1920s and their formative years were shaped by the Second World War. Her father, George VI, had been Emperor of India and as a child had sat on the knee of Queen Victoria. Yet Elizabeth II represented a break with the Victorian idea of monarchy and empire. Her coronation in 1953 held the promise of a new beginning, of a world without colonies where the state supported each citizen from the cradle to the grave.

My parents were married that same year and, as part of that Elizabethan cohort, they aged along with the Queen, the great markers in their lives falling in the same span of years. They were in uniform together, they met their partners together, had children and later grandchildren together. With both my parents gone, the Queen endured as a reminder of who they were and who they became. She was their last representative, still visible in the life of our nation.

So when they bury her next week, I too will mourn - not so much for the passing of a monarch, but for the passing of a generation.”

11-09-2022, 12:10 PM

That's funny, I had a couple of Americans from Centennial, Colorado, in the studio yesterday, must have been there for a couple of hours as we chatted about lots of things over coffee and shortbread. I even mentioned the highland games were still on, and continue up past me you would get to Balmoral. Not once was the Royal family mentioned. They did love that my house is older than any building in centennial. More interested in the history than the hysteria.

11-09-2022, 12:17 PM
Same here. My response was possibly different though, ‘I’m a Republican so it doesn’t affect me particularly!’

Although it had affected me, I met my mum on her allotment this morning, and she was reflecting on how different life was like for her growing up in the 50s, when rationing was still fresh in memories or still continuing in some cases and a streamer or a balloon was considered a treat. What she is grieving is the death of a generation, not the monarch herself. And then I read a piece by Billy Bragg a moment ago which said almost the same thing.

“It is reputedly the longest train journey in Germany - from Munich to Hamburg via Leipzig and Berlin, over seven hours travel time. That’s where I found myself on Thursday as news came through that the Queen’s doctors were ‘concerned about her health’. I was in Germany to give a couple of talks about my most recent book ‘The Three Dimensions of Freedom’ which had originally been planned for 2020. As I was explaining to my travelling companion from my Munich based publisher that the Queen had been becoming visibly frail for some time, I saw a screenshot of Huw Edwards, the BBC newscaster, wearing a black tie.

“I think we have to assume the Queen is already dead” I told my German friend. It seemed unthinkable to me that the BBC would go into mourning by mistake. The outrage that would descend on the corporation should they be seen to jump the gun on such a sensitive issue would be more damaging than any of the scandals that have beset them over the past decade.

It would be several more hours until I saw confirmation of her death, while travelling to the event in a taxi. It was interesting to be in a foreign country when the news broke. People seemed genuinely surprised, unaware that the Queen’s health recently been in decline. The taxi driver, a middle aged man, was visibly moved and spoke about how he felt when his father had died a year after the death of his mother. When I mentioned the news to the audience, there was an audible gasp of shock. Later, in my hotel room, I found that a number of German tv channels were covering the news live.

The Queen clearly meant something to these people, beyond her being the head of state of a neighbouring country.

Personally, I’ve never had strong feelings about the monarchy and the cosmetic role they play in our constitution. My concerns have always been about the way the powers which were once the sole preserve of the monarch have been conferred onto the prime minister, allowing the holder of that office to declare war and sign treaties without recourse to parliamentary debate. Hopefully the ascension of Charles III will initiate a debate about the role of the monarchy in a modern democracy, perhaps helping to kick start reforms such as the abolition of the House of Lords and a written constitution.

Having said that, I do want to take a moment to reflect on the passing of a person who has played a role in our national life over the past seven decades that is unrivalled in its significance. The importance of the Queen as a figurehead was made clear to me in 2007 when I saw a news report of the dedication of the Armed Forces Memorial, remembering those who lost their lives in conflicts since the Second World War. Watching the Queen walk along a line of ex-service personnel who had fought in every war from Korea to Afghanistan, I was struck by the thought that there is no one in British public life whose presence at an event could be equally meaningful to an 80 year old veteran as well as one in their 20s.

Obviously this is a product of the record-breaking longevity of her reign. Very few of us alive today can recall anyone else sitting on the British throne. That fact alone is what makes the notion of a King Charles III so strange and unfamiliar.

As a child, I had a great aunt who lived around the corner from us. Aunt Hannah was born in 1887 and lived in an upstairs flat that was lit by gaslight. She cooked on a coal-fired range and had neither tv nor telephone. Her only real concession to modernity was the fact that she would walk the two streets to our house to watch Sunday Night at the London Palladium. Like the Queen, she represented a living link with the past, a sense that all the things that had happened in her life could be summoned into the room by her memories. She died in 1972. By the time Elizabeth II was crowned, Aunt Hannah had lived through the reigns of six different monarchs in her 66 years. I’ve managed to rack up almost as many years without witnessing a single coronation.

For people around my age, there is another dimension that gives this moment in our history a poignancy that defies the rational concerns about crown and constitution.

Like the Queen, my parents were born in the 1920s and their formative years were shaped by the Second World War. Her father, George VI, had been Emperor of India and as a child had sat on the knee of Queen Victoria. Yet Elizabeth II represented a break with the Victorian idea of monarchy and empire. Her coronation in 1953 held the promise of a new beginning, of a world without colonies where the state supported each citizen from the cradle to the grave.

My parents were married that same year and, as part of that Elizabethan cohort, they aged along with the Queen, the great markers in their lives falling in the same span of years. They were in uniform together, they met their partners together, had children and later grandchildren together. With both my parents gone, the Queen endured as a reminder of who they were and who they became. She was their last representative, still visible in the life of our nation.

So when they bury her next week, I too will mourn - not so much for the passing of a monarch, but for the passing of a generation.”

The Queen means a lot to Germans because she helped them get back in the fold after WW2. Germans still see England as a kind of long lost cousin and historically there's an element of truth in that. Outwith the 2 world wars, England and Germany have had a close relationship for centuries.

He's here!
11-09-2022, 12:18 PM

That is a beautifully written piece by Billy Bragg. Really brings home the aspect of all this that I think a lot of folk are missing. Thanks for posting.

11-09-2022, 12:26 PM
And then I read a piece by Billy Bragg a moment ago which said almost the same thing.
Thanks for posting. He has put a number of my thought into words.

11-09-2022, 12:32 PM
So from now the royal family will be known as

KC and the Sunshine Band :greengrin

Those Shamrock Rovers fans were ahead of this curve with their singing the other night.

11-09-2022, 12:38 PM

I had Radio Scotland on this morning.

There was a French journo on talking about the impact in France. I found her baffling. 'We don't much care for aristocrats, we got rid of most of them'. Followed by 'we just love the pomp and ceremony of these occasions. We do it very well but you do it better'.

Fuzzywuzzy
11-09-2022, 12:59 PM
I was watching a thing about Billy Connolly and I'm going to be more upset at his passing than the queen's. At least he did something for me

11-09-2022, 01:03 PM

I didn't want to quote the entire post but wanted to reply to you so I left that part.

It's a very thought provoking piece from Bragg and it's very generous of him, and you, to take that position. Much respect to you.

I don't suppose I will mourn her passing, but of course I'll allow others to do so if they wish.

What's the actual point of disrupting a minute's silence, anyway? It's attention seeking behaviour and utterly selfish. The deceased won't care or be affected so all it does is offend, insult and criticise the people next to them who are being respectful.

People can, and are allowed to, show their opposition to the Monarchy 365 days a year. That it's too much to ask people to hold their tongues for 60 seconds is a sad reflection on those individuals.

Skol
11-09-2022, 01:08 PM
I didn't want to quote the entire post but wanted to reply to you so I left that part.

It's a very thought provoking piece from Bragg and it's very generous of him, and you, to take that position. Much respect to you.

I don't suppose I will mourn her passing, but of course I'll allow others to do so if they wish.

What's the actual point of disrupting a minute's silence, anyway? It's attention seeking behaviour and utterly selfish. The deceased won't care or be affected so all it does is offend, insult and criticise the people next to them who are being respectful.

People can, and are allowed to, show their opposition to the Monarchy 365 days a year. That it's too much to ask people to hold their tongues for 60 seconds is a sad reflection on those individuals.

That’s it in a nutshell for me. I even observed the silence for mercer despite my feelings. It would have been wr8ng to do anything else. The guy beside me turned his back and made his young son do so as well. Didn’t disrupt the silence but I felt it was not the right thing to do.

11-09-2022, 01:39 PM
BBC doing a good job of making it seem like everyone lining the streets is pro monarchy and not just having a nosey to see something that doesn't happen that often

11-09-2022, 02:58 PM
BBC doing a good job of making it seem like everyone lining the streets is pro monarchy and not just having a nosey to see something that doesn't happen that often

Yes, some folk will be having a nosey, other mightn't be monarchists but want to pay respects anyway. The TV stations are using it as a propaganda push for the monarchy, but that's to be expected. Any hint of questioning whether the monarchy should now continue would be screamed down as treason.

11-09-2022, 03:03 PM

https://twitter.com/MyNowRadio/status/1568970395860205568?t=GVZ2vB0XGScCg-LJMcyTOg&s=19

Rubbernecking?!

Driving below the speed limit and hogging the outside lane?!

11-09-2022, 03:04 PM

My wife just wandered through to tell me she was taking a half day tomorrow as she is going into town to pay her respects. She's no monarchy loving person, just someone who is too nosey to let it pass. And she watched the crown 🙂

11-09-2022, 03:05 PM

Likewise, I have a Polish girl working for me and she messaged the group chat to offer her condolences to us and the country. Nice of her. I daren't speak of my Independence supporting Republicanism.

11-09-2022, 03:06 PM
Try saying this on British telly just now:

https://youtu.be/JT7U598Qju8

11-09-2022, 03:15 PM
Try saying this on British telly just now:

https://youtu.be/JT7U598Qju8Yeah but, tourists, pomp, pageantry...

Zambernardi1875
11-09-2022, 03:17 PM
Streets lined with ambulance chasers so they can tell everyone they meet that they made the effort to go see the cars.

11-09-2022, 03:20 PM
Yeah but, tourists, pomp, pageantry...

I agree with him that a yearning for hereditary privilege in this era represents a weakness of character. I just don't understand deference based upon accident of birth; we should be beyond the class system at this point.

Lendo
11-09-2022, 03:34 PM
I’ll show you some real crowds on the streets of Edinburgh

11-09-2022, 03:35 PM
Yes, seem folk will be having a nosey, other mightn't be monarchists but want to pay respects anyway. The TV stations are using it as a propaganda push for the monarchy, but that's to be expected. Any hint of questioning whether the monarchy should now continue would be screamed down as treason.

Now's not the time for that discussion, to be fair.

I think the push for independence will be strengthened because Charles is not even close to the queen in terms of popularity, but let's not behave like vultures.

I'm not sure that's the right analogy but I hope you get my intended meaning.

11-09-2022, 03:44 PM
Now's not the time for that discussion, to be fair.

I think the push for independence will be strengthened because Charles is not even close to the queen in terms of popularity, but let's not behave like vultures.

I'm not sure that's the right analogy but I hope you get my intended meaning.

I disagree. When the country has round the clock coverage of the monarchy at the moment, I think it's entirely fair that a deeper conversation is had at some point during the endless hours of coverage. Why are we doing this, and how long should it continue? This is the death of someone whom we have zero say about their position. Nobody gave their assent to the monarch, but we are told we must mourn, and we must welcome her successor. Are we children? There is nothing disrespectful about making space for other opinions during such a significant moment. TV at the moment is like the USSR, such is the controlling of the narrative.

Skol
11-09-2022, 03:51 PM
I think it is fair to have those discussions, but they should not start until after the funeral and arguably some period afterwards as after all a family are grieving a significant loss

11-09-2022, 03:53 PM
I think it is fair to have those discussions, but they should not start until after the funeral and arguably some period afterwards as after all a family are grieving a significant loss

As we all do at different times in our lives.

11-09-2022, 03:55 PM
I disagree. When the country has round the clock coverage of the monarchy at the moment, I think it's entirely fair that a deeper conversation is had at some point during the endless hours of coverage. Why are we doing this, and how long should it continue? This is the death of someone whom we have zero say about their position. Nobody gave their assent to the monarch, but we are told we must mourn, and we must welcome her successor. Are we children? There is nothing disrespectful about making space for other opinions during such a significant moment. TV at the moment is like the USSR, such is the controlling of the narrative.
I don't disagree with you. But I fear you'll be in for a lengthy wait. This UK Government and this Tory run media don't do "deep conversations". We haven't had a deep conversation about Brexit, or Covid, or immigration, or climate concerns, or Scottish independence. It's not in their interests for these things to be debated too publicly because it would highlight their evidence-free arguments and ideologies. So the Government hides, doesn't debate, doesn't discuss, and they carry on their fascist agenda unseen and unheard.

11-09-2022, 03:57 PM

I understand, but the private grief and the public role are separate. The death of a loved one is always traumatic; I liked the old queen personally, though I'm not a monarchist. However, in America, for example, they are having conversations about the relevance of monarchy on their TV channels, but we are not allowed to mention it. I think the death of one monarch before the coronation of another is the perfect time to have the conversation. It isn't 1952, the country and the world have changed, but we have to know our place and speak only when the BBC, ITV etc say we can talk about it. They decide when it's okay and we must go with the script.

11-09-2022, 04:03 PM
Because of the royal period of mourning, you can’t lock your bike to a cycle rack in Norwich.

https://pbs.twimg.com/media/FcX5nZGWQAE1Tyb?format=jpg&name=large

Stairway 2 7
11-09-2022, 04:04 PM
When Scots are asked most Scots have said they want to retain the monarchy so it will stay for a while. I'd say it will increase for a bit after this. But I can see it dropping with Charles and a new generation coming through

11-09-2022, 04:14 PM
When Scots are asked most Scots have said they want to retain the monarchy so it will stay for a while. I'd say it will increase for a bit after this. But I can see it dropping with Charles and a new generation coming through

https://www.theguardian.com/uk-news/2022/may/15/scottish-support-for-monarchy-falls-to-45-poll-reveals

11-09-2022, 04:21 PM
I wonder at what point there would be a compromise that kept everyone satisfied if not happy when it comes to the monarchy.

In terms of democracies it's only really ourselves and Japan that have monarchies that are almost omnipresent in our everyday lives. Possibly Spain as well but even then it's not on the same scale. Would republicans settle for something comparable to The Netherlands or Scandinavian countries where the position of figureheads was reflective in the publicity and indeed spend around the monarchy?
Would royalists go for that?

I think hoping for a complete removal of the monarchy in the coming years, probably decades, is wishful thinking. With Charles already talking about 'slimming down' is there a compromise to be found with a lot fo the hangers on being removed and a core family kept around for ceremonial purposes. Perhaps as part of a revamp of the upper house of parliament (which plays an important role but needs reformed).

Stairway 2 7
11-09-2022, 04:27 PM
https://www.theguardian.com/uk-news/2022/may/15/scottish-support-for-monarchy-falls-to-45-poll-reveals

Yep most said retain

11-09-2022, 04:30 PM
I wonder at what point there would be a compromise that kept everyone satisfied if not happy when it comes to the monarchy.

In terms of democracies it's only really ourselves and Japan that have monarchies that are almost omnipresent in our everyday lives. Possibly Spain as well but even then it's not on the same scale. Would republicans settle for something comparable to The Netherlands or Scandinavian countries where the position of figureheads was reflective in the publicity and indeed spend around the monarchy?
Would royalists go for that?

I think hoping for a complete removal of the monarchy in the coming years, probably decades, is wishful thinking. With Charles already talking about 'slimming down' is there a compromise to be found with a lot fo the hangers on being removed and a core family kept around for ceremonial purposes. Perhaps as part of a revamp of the upper house of parliament (which plays an important role but needs reformed).

I will settle for nothing less than a socialist republic. I look to the words of James Connolly, not King Charles :greengrin

He's here!
11-09-2022, 04:50 PM
Streets lined with ambulance chasers so they can tell everyone they meet that they made the effort to go see the cars.

Nonsense. Everyone there today will have have their own reasons for going. I was there with my family to pay my respects and found it quite a moving moment as the cortege went by.

It presumably irritates you that so many (of all ages and from all walks of life) lined the streets to do likewise but your scorn for the way they chose to spend their afternoon is uncalled for.

11-09-2022, 04:52 PM
Nonsense. Everyone there today will have have their own reasons for going. I was there with my family to pay my respects and found it quite a moving moment as the cortege went by.

It presumably irritates you that so many (of all ages and from all walks of life) lined the streets to do likewise but your scorn for the way they chose to spend their afternoon is uncalled for.

Were you the guy looking particularly staunch in full Union Jack suit a la wee Frank Maloney? :greengrin

11-09-2022, 04:59 PM

Behave 🙃

11-09-2022, 05:16 PM

There’s a lot of looking down on people going on unfortunately. Maybe not so much here but certainly on social media. If people want to go and line then streets then I won’t be judging them, I’ve no idea of what motivates others to do different from me. I’m guessing there are a multitude of different reasons.
Be kind. :greengrin

Berwickhibby
11-09-2022, 05:17 PM
I had to drive into Edinburgh down the M90 this afternoon, I was impressed at the numbers who lined the bridges, bus stops and grass verges to show their respect. Yes there was Union Flags, Saltires and at least one Lion Rampant… I felt enormous pride at the respect being shown.

11-09-2022, 05:19 PM
Democracy Now, left wing American programme. An interesting analysis which we won't find on British TV just now, though it isn't merely ranting condemnation of monarchy. The last five minutes, concerning what is currently deemed acceptable to say, relates to my posts above:

https://youtu.be/UD8eMpmlkhI

Stairway 2 7
11-09-2022, 05:21 PM
There’s a lot of looking down on people going on unfortunately. Maybe not so much here but certainly on social media. If people want to go and line then streets then I won’t be judging them, I’ve no idea of what motivates others to do different from me. I’m guessing there are a multitude of different reasons.

It's the way nowadays. In one post type about mental health and being there for people, the next taking the piss out of people and looking down on them, classy. If you don't have the same opinion of belief you're an idiot and must be told.

11-09-2022, 05:33 PM
It's the way nowadays. In one post type about mental health and being there for people, the next taking the piss out of people and looking down on them, classy. If you don't have the same opinion of belief you're an idiot and must be told.

Aye, there are ways of disagreeing with others. There is no need for condescension; honest differences of opinion and a plurality of analyses is always a good thing. I don't do social media, for example, but I've heard the horror stories.

Stairway 2 7
11-09-2022, 05:40 PM
Aye, there are ways of disagreeing with others. There is no need for condescension; honest differences of opinion and a plurality of analyses is always a good thing. I don't do social media, for example, but I've heard the horror stories.

I'm sure most would get on in the boozer, well no with a racist ect but you get my drift. It'll hopefully all be over soon until Charlie pops his clogs, hopefully monarchy is gone before personally but can't see it

11-09-2022, 06:38 PM

I was there, pure noseyness on my part, on my way back from seeing some friends. I saw 8 black cars go past and 20 seconds later that was that. A girl next to me was crying. I’m sure there were a few like me who were there because it was an historic event and it’s kind of enjoyable to be in a place that the whole world is watching.

11-09-2022, 06:38 PM
I'm sure most would get on in the boozer, well no with a racist ect but you get my drift. It'll hopefully all be over soon until Charlie pops his clogs, hopefully monarchy is gone before personally but can't see it

When Charles goes the reaction won't be comparable (I know you are being flippant but it's a point worth making).

I visited my Grandad today, he's 89 and said he could barely recall the death of George VI and the subsequent coronation. For a huge number of people alive today this is a once in a lifetime moment. It's something that hasn't happened in the modern age, there hasn't been a state funeral for 57 years albeit a few have come close in terms of pageantry. No one was really sure what the reaction would be and whilst it's not for me I can see why people want to be part of it. I wouldn't have gone out my way to see the cortege today but had it passed closer to my house, I'd have stuck my head out the door.

Charles won't have anything like the longevity. He'll never be a patriarchal figure in the way his mother was something of a matriarch. He's not a direct link to another age, he's not a link to the national obsession that is WWII and thanks to modern technology we are all aware of his indiscretions.

Of course there will still be a fuss made but the events taking place right now are unprecedented and it's evidently a big deal for a lot of people, even those you could hardly call dyed in the wool royalists (see the piece by Billy Bragg posted earlier as an example).

11-09-2022, 07:34 PM
I was there, pure noseyness on my part, on my way back from seeing some friends. I saw 8 black cars go past and 20 seconds later that was that. A girl next to me was crying. I’m sure there were a few like me who were there because it was an historic event and it’s kind of enjoyable to be in a place that the whole world is watching.

My sister went today. We used to live on the horse wynd, and she used to tell her pals the queen was her neebs, and those horses make an awfy noise in the mornings. She went into the Canongate Kirk where she was christened. She was re-living her old memories.

11-09-2022, 07:44 PM
I don't disagree with you. But I fear you'll be in for a lengthy wait. This UK Government and this Tory run media don't do "deep conversations". We haven't had a deep conversation about Brexit, or Covid, or immigration, or climate concerns, or Scottish independence. It's not in their interests for these things to be debated too publicly because it would highlight their evidence-free arguments and ideologies. So the Government hides, doesn't debate, doesn't discuss, and they carry on their fascist agenda unseen and unheard.Exactly. "Now is not the time" because there is never a time as far as they are concerned. A dozen or so homeless people will have died since the Queen. No airtime for them ever, no "conversation" because might embarras the nation. It doesn't embarrass them that it is happening but heaven help there be a conversation about it.

The Pointer
11-09-2022, 07:57 PM

Drove through from the West for a couple of nights so I could pay my respects. It's a seismic event in this country's history and was greatly impressed with the turnout along the route to support the family of the Head of State who loved this country and talking to a few folk that support was genuine.

We're not a s****y wee republic despite those who'd wish to make us some kind of North Venezuela.

Skol
11-09-2022, 08:06 PM
Exactly. "Now is not the time" because there is never a time as far as they are concerned. A dozen or so homeless people will have died since the Queen. No airtime for them ever, no "conversation" because might embarras the nation. It doesn't embarrass them that it is happening but heaven help there be a conversation about it.

Your dislike of the monarchy has clouded your judgement. There is a debate to be had on the monarchy, but now is quite clearly not the time. Even the Aussie PM who is a republican realises that.

11-09-2022, 08:13 PM
Your dislike of the monarchy has clouded your judgement. There is a debate to be had on the monarchy, but now is quite clearly not the time. Even the Aussie PM who is a republican realises that.Not clouded my judgement at all. I agree now is not the time, but I can see, and said if you read it properly, there never will be a time. As the poster above said this Govt doesn't do "deep" conversations about anything. I can also accept that if the majority of people enjoy having a monarchy then that is how it is.

Stairway 2 7
11-09-2022, 08:27 PM
Not clouded my judgement at all. I agree now is not the time, but I can see, and said if you read it properly, there never will be a time. As the poster above said this Govt doesn't do "deep" conversations about anything. I can also accept that if the majority of people enjoy having a monarchy then that is how it is.

More say they want it when polled that will have to change before there is a big discussion, I don't think it will be too far off.

11-09-2022, 08:44 PM
My sister went today. We used to live on the horse wynd, and she used to tell her pals the queen was her neebs, and those horses make an awfy noise in the mornings. She went into the Canongate Kirk where she was christened. She was re-living her old memories.

My great, great……….great grandfather lived on Croft-an-Righ.

Zambernardi1875
11-09-2022, 09:23 PM

yes exactly, ive a different opinion to hes here yet he got very emotional and personal about my post, its a shame people are so blinkered.

glad he mentioned he went though, everyone who went today will be desperate to :greengrin

12-09-2022, 06:33 AM
It’s time. Abolish the monarchy.

He's here!
12-09-2022, 06:42 AM
I had to drive into Edinburgh down the M90 this afternoon, I was impressed at the numbers who lined the bridges, bus stops and grass verges to show their respect. Yes there was Union Flags, Saltires and at least one Lion Rampant… I felt enormous pride at the respect being shown.

It was a poignant day. Very respectful as you say. I was glad we made the effort to be there. Today's procession to St Giles will also be something to remember.

12-09-2022, 06:51 AM
It was a poignant day. Very respectful as you say. I was glad we made the effort to be there. Today's procession to St Giles will also be something to remember.

I have 1430 in my head for that, but not sure if it's been confirmed. Do you know if it's been confirmed when that will happen?

I'm going to brave the potential crowds and not WFH today so I can have a nosey at what's going on in town.

James310
12-09-2022, 07:14 AM
I have 1430 in my head for that, but not sure if it's been confirmed. Do you know if it's been confirmed when that will happen?

I'm going to brave the potential crowds and not WFH today so I can have a nosey at what's going on in town.

2.25pm I believe.

12-09-2022, 08:47 AM
England went down the republic route in 1649, when they executed their King Charles I and coincidentally murdered our King Charles I. The subsequent actions of Oliver Cromwell and his army, effectively brought a republic to Scotland, Ireland and Wales, despite our crowning Charles II in 1651. What ultimately brought that period of republicanism to an end was the way that Cromwell began to behave just like a monarch prior to his death ten years later. Left with the option of Cromwell’s son falling heir to his position, the English parliament decided they were as well just having the monarchy returned.

I’m of a mind that we are better with the devil we know rather than the alternative and ask myself, what happens if we abolish the monarchy? Basically another group of over privileged people buy up the lands and properties currently being held by the country in the name of the crown. The monies raised by the country from those sales would soon be spent. We then get a bunch of landowners without the dignity or restraint that out method of governance gives us. Added to that, some American, Russian, or whatever, land owner is not about to give a toss about the general public around and will simply grab land and keep it away from view. It may not be perfect but I would argue that the current crazy setup really does beat the alternative.
The presence of the Royal Family gives us a unique position where tens of thousands of people are drawn to this country, in large part, by the twee characteristics of people parading about in very expensive hats. The tourism industry is worth £10bn to the Scottish economy and there can be no denying that the royal connection contributes substantially to the draw, alongside our fabulous countryside and old traditions in manufacture and dress. People love the history of our place and like it or not, that includes our royalty.

Essentially, I believe we benefit hugely from having a royal family because we exploit them to the full and they allow themselves to be exploited.

Looking at the alternatives, where monarchy has been removed. Would we be better of with the Russian model? Or perhaps the Chinese? Maybe the French or German model would be more palatable but never beings us close to where we are. Our monarchy have no power whatsoever, they are only a figurehead. With reservation, I see no benefit in changing that.

12-09-2022, 09:05 AM
It may not be perfect but I would argue that the current crazy setup really does beat the alternative.

Interesting & thoughtful post, thank you.

12-09-2022, 09:16 AM
2.25pm: A procession leaves Holyrood, taking the Queen’s coffin up the Royal Mile to St Giles Cathedral – the King and other members of the Royal family will walk behind the hearse.

3pm: A service at St Giles Cathedral will celebrate the life of the Queen and her connections with Scotland.

5pm: Members of the public will be allowed to start filing past the coffin as the Queen lies at rest in the cathedral.

5.30pm: The King will attend the Scottish Parliament, where party leaders will speak in support of a motion of condolence and the King will respond.

7.20pm: The King and the Queen's other children will take part in the “Vigil of the Princes” around the coffin at St Giles Cathedral.

Saying on the radio just now, they expect the queue to get into St Giles once it opens to the public, could go back into the meadows. Thats going to be at least a couple of hours of queuing.

Berwickhibby
12-09-2022, 09:16 AM
England went down the republic route in 1649, when they executed their King Charles I and coincidentally murdered our King Charles I. The subsequent actions of Oliver Cromwell and his army, effectively brought a republic to Scotland, Ireland and Wales, despite our crowning Charles II in 1651. What ultimately brought that period of republicanism to an end was the way that Cromwell began to behave just like a monarch prior to his death ten years later. Left with the option of Cromwell’s son falling heir to his position, the English parliament decided they were as well just having the monarchy returned.

I’m of a mind that we are better with the devil we know rather than the alternative and ask myself, what happens if we abolish the monarchy? Basically another group of over privileged people buy up the lands and properties currently being held by the country in the name of the crown. The monies raised by the country from those sales would soon be spent. We then get a bunch of landowners without the dignity or restraint that out method of governance gives us. Added to that, some American, Russian, or whatever, land owner is not about to give a toss about the general public around and will simply grab land and keep it away from view. It may not be perfect but I would argue that the current crazy setup really does beat the alternative.
The presence of the Royal Family gives us a unique position where tens of thousands of people are drawn to this country, in large part, by the twee characteristics of people parading about in very expensive hats. The tourism industry is worth £10bn to the Scottish economy and there can be no denying that the royal connection contributes substantially to the draw, alongside our fabulous countryside and old traditions in manufacture and dress. People love the history of our place and like it or not, that includes our royalty.

Essentially, I believe we benefit hugely from having a royal family because we exploit them to the full and they allow themselves to be exploited.

Looking at the alternatives, where monarchy has been removed. Would we be better of with the Russian model? Or perhaps the Chinese? Maybe the French or German model would be more palatable but never beings us close to where we are. Our monarchy have no power whatsoever, they are only a figurehead. With reservation, I see no benefit in changing that.

Great post

12-09-2022, 09:18 AM
2.25pm: A procession leaves Holyrood, taking the Queen’s coffin up the Royal Mile to St Giles Cathedral – the King and other members of the Royal family will walk behind the hearse.

3pm: A service at St Giles Cathedral will celebrate the life of the Queen and her connections with Scotland.

5pm: Members of the public will be allowed to start filing past the coffin as the Queen lies at rest in the cathedral.

5.30pm: The King will attend the Scottish Parliament, where party leaders will speak in support of a motion of condolence and the King will respond.

7.20pm: The King and the Queen's other children will take part in the “Vigil of the Princes” around the coffin at St Giles Cathedral.

Saying on the radio just now, they expect the queue to get into St Giles once it opens to the public, could go back into the meadows. Thats going to be at least a couple of hours of queuing.

I think it's to start near the meadows, you get a wristband there and then walk up to st Giles.

12-09-2022, 09:53 AM
Democracy Now, left wing American programme. An interesting analysis which we won't find on British TV just now, though it isn't merely ranting condemnation of monarchy. The last five minutes, concerning what is currently deemed acceptable to say, relates to my posts above:

https://youtu.be/UD8eMpmlkhI

I watched the last 5 minutes and Ash spoke very well. She is representing the views of Millions of British subjects none of whom will be represented on our state broadcaster.

12-09-2022, 10:01 AM

I'm not convinced by the amount of tourist coming because of the Royal Family. Their history and buildings wouldn't cease to exist if we became a republic. If the Royal Family has no power then let's right that into our constitution, having a fully written one would be a good start. They can keep their palaces and lands and do what they want with them. If they want to sell tickets for Trooping of teh Colour then they can crack on, they would have to pay for policing and stewarding though.

12-09-2022, 10:11 AM
I watched the last 5 minutes and Ash spoke very well. She is representing the views of Millions of British subjects none of whom will be represented on our state broadcaster.

I went to see her at the festival, I really like her stuff. The commonwealth was land acquired by conquest and mass murder, which as a result made us rich and why we still are materially privileged, it really shouldn’t be controversial to say that. It shouldn’t be controversial for the BBC to say that either. None of that should detract from genuine mourning for the sovereign herself, and you can only really find that disrespectful as an opinion if you’re looking for culture wars. But we are in the world of state propaganda for the next 6 days, and there won’t be room for subtleties or grey areas.

12-09-2022, 10:13 AM
I'm not convinced by the amount of tourist coming because of the Royal Family. Their history and buildings wouldn't cease to exist if we became a republic. If the Royal Family has no power then let's right that into our constitution, having a fully written one would be a good start. They can keep their palaces and lands and do what they want with them. If they want to sell tickets for Trooping of teh Colour then they can crack on, they would have to pay for policing and stewarding though.

The Palace of Versailles seems to be doing fine as a tourist attraction without a monarchy in that country. Tourism can exist without monarchy.

12-09-2022, 10:51 AM
The Palace of Versailles seems to be doing fine as a tourist attraction without a monarchy in that country. Tourism can exist without monarchy.

You may get more tourists if you evict the Royals from Buck palace and open up access. As to your other point it isn't just the land of teh Commonwealth that was stolen by force. Many of us probably live on land that was the same in Scotland.

Stairway 2 7
12-09-2022, 10:56 AM
You may get more tourists if you evict the Royals from Buck palace and open up access. As to your other point it isn't just the land of teh Commonwealth that was stolen by force. Many of us probably live on land that was the same in Scotland.

Every nation was built on force. Unless we go back to villages and tribes. Nationalism is pretty daft really just an accident of birth. Shame we're out the EU as collectives are a start

Stairway 2 7
12-09-2022, 11:00 AM
Games going ahead this weekend

12-09-2022, 11:03 AM

It is such an ugly building as well. A big grey rectangle. 775 rooms I’m reading, I’d imagine it must cost a fair bit to heat. Although in amongst the fascinating details we’ve been treated to this week I read that She liked to use the old fashioned 2 bar electric fires from the 1970s.

12-09-2022, 11:04 AM
Went for a pre-lunch walk down the royal mile. It was rather busy for still having 3 hours to go. Stream of people heading up towards it too and suspect it'll be packed soon.

I'll wonder back up closer to the time, although I suspect I'll be at the back of the queue several bodies deep and not actually see anything.

12-09-2022, 11:18 AM
Went for a pre-lunch walk down the royal mile. It was rather busy for still having 3 hours to go. Stream of people heading up towards it too and suspect it'll be packed soon.

I'll wonder back up closer to the time, although I suspect I'll be at the back of the queue several bodies deep and not actually see anything.

Bus timetables all over the place, I had to walk most of the way to work, just like Thursday. To be expected of course.

12-09-2022, 11:41 AM
I’m getting Monday off. Will be a nice chill day. Hopefully my local will be open. My wife isn’t getting it. Her work says it is included in the 8 days public holidays she’s entitled to.

12-09-2022, 11:49 AM
I’m getting Monday off. Will be a nice chill day. Hopefully my local will be open. My wife isn’t getting it. Her work says it is included in the 8 days public holidays she’s entitled to.

What? It's very clearly an additional day on top of any allowances anyone receives.

I can see why some places might say that employees have an extra day they can take whenever they wish and that the can/should work Monday but saying it's a part of their current leave structure is just wrong.

12-09-2022, 12:06 PM
What? It's very clearly an additional day on top of any allowances anyone receives.

I can see why some places might say that employees have an extra day they can take whenever they wish and that the can/should work Monday but saying it's a part of their current leave structure is just wrong.

Saying it's part of existing leave is daft but it's completely at employer's discretion whether to honour the holiday or not.

Does this bank holiday mean individuals can have the day off work?

This is a matter for discussion between individuals and their employer. There is no statutory entitlement to time off for bank holidays, but employers may include bank holidays as part of a worker’s leave entitlement.

The government cannot interfere in existing contractual arrangements between employers and workers. However, we would expect that many workers will be able to take the day off on the bank holiday. We also expect employers to respond sensitively to requests from workers who wish to take the day of the funeral off work.

https://www.gov.uk/government/news/bank-holiday-announced-for-her-majesty-queen-elizabeth-iis-state-funeral-on-monday-19-september

12-09-2022, 12:08 PM
Saying it's part of existing leave is daft but it's completely at employer's discretion whether to honour the holiday or not.

https://www.gov.uk/government/news/bank-holiday-announced-for-her-majesty-queen-elizabeth-iis-state-funeral-on-monday-19-september

That makes sense I guess.

I would expect most employers to give it anyway, but I suppose there will be businesses/industries where it's more likely they won't.

12-09-2022, 12:35 PM

I think the scenes and respect being shown has been amazing.

Proud to be Scottish and British.

12-09-2022, 12:43 PM

Agreed, amazing scenes. The popularity and affection of the Queen as a person is amazing.

James310
12-09-2022, 12:48 PM

Yep, really great to see people being so united.

12-09-2022, 12:50 PM

Hear Hear!

12-09-2022, 12:55 PM
Listening to James O'Brien this morning, and he gets a caller on saying her mother's funeral which has been scheduled for Monday September 19th has been cancelled due to it being deemed a bank holiday. The crematorium will be closed. The woman has people coming from all over. She was rather disappointed although very calm about it.

12-09-2022, 01:04 PM
It is such an ugly building as well. A big grey rectangle. 775 rooms I’m reading, I’d imagine it must cost a fair bit to heat. Although in amongst the fascinating details we’ve been treated to this week I read that She liked to use the old fashioned 2 bar electric fires from the 1970s.

My eldest grandson in his early years stayed for a time in the Canongate and Dumbiedykes and went to Royal Mile primary.
Then St Tams !

The year Lizzie opened the parly,his class did the guard of honour and they got a peek inside.
No mention of the 2 bar fire.
But he recognised a copy of the peoples friend magazine,bourbon biscuits,some knitting needles and a ball of blue wool :greengrin

Royal Mile and Abbeyhill Primary Schools both got today and the morn off .Security reasons supposedly.
Maybe in case the bairns burst into Proclaimers songs about Independance or Hibs songs !!
Some parents having to juggle work/child care.
Very short notice for them

I and another parent took the fitba team at the school back then.
Wee Scott Robinson was in the side.He was also training with Celtic East youth set up at the time.

So the day of the opening of the Parliament we were asked helped Dougie the jannie.
Cops had asked that no one connected with the school was to be allowed in the back playground where good photo opportunities overlooking the parly were possible.
Not very professional asking 2 Hibbys,one a republican to help the polis stop baddies getting into playground!!

Joking apart,,
It was an interesting day,counting the police riflemen we saw that morning shuffling about various roof tops along the route.
When the crowds had mostly dispersed,i slunk over to Jenny Ha's for a wee livener and the bold George Foulkes had been holding court, but not holding his drink very well.
He was eventually poured into a taxi.
True story. i knew him slightly from my LP days
I shouted to him " Dode and you had the cheek to criticise my old pal Ron Brown and his boozing "
Amazed he got in that state that day with all the media lurking about.
Muttered and slavered away and took off in the cab..... An eventful day
Our man in the Bahamas even gave us a wave.... Edinburgh's own James Bond

Am getting on now ,But that all seems like yesterday. I recalllarge parts of it
See what you can remeber when sober!
Unlike vasts amount of games i attended in my youth.
Lost Weekends and some

12-09-2022, 01:24 PM
My eldest grandson in his early years stayed for a time in the Canongate and Dumbiedykes and went to Royal Mile primary.
Then St Tams !

The year Lizzie opened the parly,his class did the guard of honour and they got a peek inside.
No mention of the 2 bar fire.
But he recognised a copy of the peoples friend magazine,bourbon biscuits,some knitting needles and a ball of blue wool :greengrin

Royal Mile and Abbeyhill Primary Schools both got today and the morn off .Security reasons supposedly.
Maybe in case the bairns burst into Proclaimers songs about Independance or Hibs songs !!
Some parents having to juggle work/child care.
Very short notice for them

I and another parent took the fitba team at the school back then.
Wee Scott Robinson was in the side.He was also training with Celtic East youth set up at the time.

So the day of the opening of the Parliament we were asked helped Dougie the jannie.
Cops had asked that no one connected with the school was to be allowed in the back playground where good photo opportunities overlooking the parly were possible.
Not very professional asking 2 Hibbys,one a republican to help the polis stop baddies getting into playground!!

Joking apart,,
It was an interesting day,counting the snipers we saw that morning shuffling about various roof tops along the route.
When the crowds had mostly dispersed,i slunk over to Jenny Ha's for a wee livener and the bold George Foulkes had been holding court, but not holding his drink very well.
He was eventually poured into a taxi.
True story. i knew him slightly from my LP days
I shouted to him " Dode and you had the cheek to criticise my old pal Ron Brown and his boozing "
Amazed he got in that state that day with all the media lurking about.
Muttered and slavered away and took off in the cab..... An eventful day
Our man in the Bahamas even gave us a wave.... Edinburgh's own James Bond

Am getting on now ,But that all seems like yesterday. I recalllarge parts of it
See what you can remeber when sober!
Unlike vasts amount of games i attended in my youth.
Lost Weekends and some

No snipers were present just Police marksman for show. You don’t see snipers!

12-09-2022, 01:31 PM
It's possible to watch this whole thing without commentary on freeview RB1 channel. Blessed relief from all the nonsense.

CyberSauzee
12-09-2022, 01:49 PM

Exactly right - this "royalty is good for tourism" nonsense has got to stop. The facts don't add up - most visited tourist attractions in the UK are the Tower of London followed by Edinburgh Castle. They have the history but no royal residents.

12-09-2022, 01:52 PM
Just watched a guy hurling abuse then disappearing at high speed

Couldn't make out what he was shouting but looked like it was aimed at an individual - Andrew perhaps

12-09-2022, 01:59 PM

Couldn't make out what he was shouting but looked like it was aimed at an individual - Andrew perhaps

Maybe he found the missing Pizza express proof of purchase?

12-09-2022, 02:00 PM
This is boring, should have livened it up with the pipe band marching behind them

Sioux
12-09-2022, 02:09 PM
This is boring, should have livened it up with the pipe band marching behind them

Its no the tattoo you're watching.

12-09-2022, 02:13 PM
Its no the tattoo you're watching.

Folk die, it's a part of life, should be a celebration of life and not forcing everyone else to be torn faced as well

12-09-2022, 02:19 PM
Maybe he found the missing Pizza express proof of purchase?

It was buy one get one free. He left with two teenage blondes.

12-09-2022, 02:29 PM

The guy shouted Andrews name, then a garbled message on the tv, but he was then man handled, and pulled backwards from the front. Couldn't see who was doing the pulling, but he went quite swiftly.

12-09-2022, 02:30 PM

I hope to god nobody shoots HRH.

I really couldn't be bothered going through all this again with the added hysteria of a shooting!

12-09-2022, 02:38 PM
The guy shouted Andrews name, then a garbled message on the tv, but he was then man handled, and pulled backwards from the front. Couldn't see who was doing the pulling, but he went quite swiftly.

https://twitter.com/chrismarshll/status/1569323294716829700?s=20&t=UkaTL7N0xFr3kRkGfHIlAA

Was a police officer who pulled him away.

12-09-2022, 02:41 PM
https://twitter.com/chrismarshll/status/1569323294716829700?s=20&t=UkaTL7N0xFr3kRkGfHIlAA

Looks like he could get two people done with assualt

12-09-2022, 02:48 PM

The guy with the white t shirt is on a sticky.

12-09-2022, 02:53 PM

He basically got assaulted by a member of Joe Public and the copper nearby huckled the guy shouting at Andrew for liking young girls or something like that.

No idea why the guy in grey who assulted the lad didn’t get huckled either.

Have a look at the video from behind.

https://twitter.com/chrismarshll/status/1569323294716829700?s=46&t=FoGtixVxx97SPniHqZaAmg

12-09-2022, 02:54 PM
Willie purves sign removed from the hearse. He got a good run at it yesterday.

12-09-2022, 02:56 PM
He basically got assaulted by a member of Joe Public and the copper nearby huckled the guy shouting at Andrew for liking young girls or something like that.

Have a look at the video from behind.

https://twitter.com/chrismarshll/status/1569323294716829700?s=46&t=FoGtixVxx97SPniHqZaAmg

Police Scotland will have the 2016 Cup final squad working on it as we type. The two workies will have their puss all over the record tomorrow morning.

12-09-2022, 03:01 PM

"Andrew, you're a sick old man"

https://twitter.com/Phil_Lewis_/status/1569334401095303169

Paulie Walnuts
12-09-2022, 03:02 PM
Safe to say the two fat workies are Huns.

12-09-2022, 03:06 PM

The hun will have considered the protestor fair game, a free hit. Could have sustained serious damage hitting the street at that pace.

12-09-2022, 03:06 PM
Typical BBC, turn the mics down at any sign of trouble. 🙈

12-09-2022, 03:09 PM

Same in sky, definitely turned down. Basically propaganda. The news is the news. We are all grown up enough to deal with peaceful protest in this country. At least I thought we were.

12-09-2022, 03:09 PM
Keep it in your pants for Her Maj!

https://pbs.twimg.com/media/FcZ-hw4XEAISg8k?format=jpg&name=medium

12-09-2022, 03:18 PM

Was it the huns breaking into a verse of ‘up to our knees’?

12-09-2022, 03:18 PM

Or just do without the condom and breed for Her Maj!

12-09-2022, 03:21 PM

What the hell is that?? :confused:

12-09-2022, 03:23 PM
What the hell is that?? :confused:

Happily (and sadly at the same time :greengrin), it's a fake.

https://twitter.com/mollyblackall/status/1569278032392912896

12-09-2022, 03:24 PM

A bit overscrupulous:greengrin
But just for you i changed my wording !
Choices were Riflemen, Snipers,Marksmen

Guys with guns!! And they wont be there only for show.
Plain clothes guys would have been on the route armed
There are cops from all over the UK in town today.
If that heckler went further and tried to assault Andrew with a weapon,he may have been shot

Berwickhibby
12-09-2022, 03:35 PM
Same in sky, definitely turned down. Basically propaganda. The news is the news. We are all grown up enough to deal with peaceful protest in this country. At least I thought we were.

Shouting at funeral cortège is asking for bother…equivalent of singing Follow Follow in the East Stand. Disrespectful little ****wit imho

12-09-2022, 03:42 PM
Andrew will have been sweating after his trek up the Royal Mile..............or was he?

12-09-2022, 03:49 PM
Shouting at funeral cortège is asking for bother…equivalent of singing Follow Follow in the East Stand. Disrespectful little ****wit imho

Why should he have respect for someone who shelled out £12m of "her" money to protect her deviant favourite son?

12-09-2022, 03:49 PM
A bit overscrupulous:greengrin
But just for you i changed my wording !
Choices were Riflemen, Snipers,Marksmen

Guys with guns!! And they wont be there only for show.
Plain clothes guys would have been on the route armed
There are cops from all over the UK in town today.
If that heckler went further and tried to assault Andrew with a weapon,he may have been shot

Sorry for being pedantic 😀
Just meant they are never going to fire into a crowded area from an elevated position,far too risky. Yeah plenty of armed cops on duty, the protection guys in suits wear the enamel lapel badge to indicate to other cops they are carrying. Used to be red and blue triangles, different colour for met cp guys and Scottish cp guys. Got to learn a lot when I was Security manager at the Caley.

Berwickhibby
12-09-2022, 03:54 PM
Why should he have respect for someone who shelled out £12m of "her" money to protect her deviant favourite son?

Why did he have to go and be abusive at a funeral… classless idiot

Berwickhibby
12-09-2022, 03:55 PM
Just meant they are never going to fire into a crowded area from an elevated position,far too risky. Yeah plenty of armed cops on duty, the protection guys in suits wear the enamel lapel badge to indicate to other cops they are carrying. Used to be red and blue triangles, different colour for met cp guys and Scottish cp guys. Got to learn a lot when I was Security manager at the Caley.

:agree: The Guys on roofs would be spotters

LunasBoots
12-09-2022, 03:56 PM
Why did he have to go and be abusive at a funeral… classless idiot

Andrew has no place to hide. The media are already working overtime to make what he did disappear. Shouldn't have appeared in any public setting.

12-09-2022, 03:59 PM
Andrew has no place to hide. The media are already working overtime to make what he did disappear. Shouldn't have appeared in any public setting.
His mother's funeral? The Queen's funeral?

Berwickhibby
12-09-2022, 04:01 PM

Under normal circumstances, I would accept Andrew is fair game and deserves whatever is thrown at him, but not at his mothers funeral where thousands of people have gathered to show respect.

Stairway 2 7
12-09-2022, 04:03 PM
First Minister on the last few days

https://mobile.twitter.com/ImSophieAdams/status/1569302156301275136

@ImSophieAdams
🗣 "I was so proud of Scotland yesterday - thousands lining the streets, utterly respectfully, with a real dignity"

First Minister
@NicolaSturgeon
speaks to
@GinaDavidsonLBC
after the Queen's cortege made a 175-mile journey from Balmoral to Edinburgh yesterday.

12-09-2022, 04:06 PM
Under normal circumstances, I would accept Andrew is fair game and deserves whatever is thrown at him, but not at his mothers funeral where thousands of people have gathered to show respect.Agreed. :agree:

12-09-2022, 04:08 PM

12-09-2022, 04:14 PM

It’s not against the law to be a tw@. Certainly didn’t warrant getting thrown around by some randoms.

Let be clear, it’s not something I’d do, but I think the Police are way overstepping the mark.

Disrespectful yes, illegal no.

Berwickhibby
12-09-2022, 04:20 PM
It’s not against the law to be a tw@. Certainly didn’t warrant getting thrown around by some randoms.

Let be clear, it’s not something I’d do, but I think the Police are way overstepping the mark.

Disrespectful yes, illegal no.

Actually illegal, contrary to section 5 of public order Act 1986, using words or behaviour that could cause Alarm, Harassment or distress … some of the public could easily felt Alarm and feared for his safety

12-09-2022, 04:31 PM
Actually illegal, contrary to section 5 of public order Act 1986, using words or behaviour that could cause Alarm, Harassment or distress … some of the public could easily felt Alarm and feared for his safety

English Law again. You should really swot up a bit on the Scottish legal system to become relevant.

12-09-2022, 04:32 PM

Could have felt alarm. I feel alarm if I can’t remember locking my door. This is all very Orwellian. Is that not English Law?

And the guys who actually assaulted the guy in front of the police. Like an actual crime.

12-09-2022, 04:33 PM
This is being noticed.

https://twitter.com/politicsjoe_uk/status/1569286487245754369?s=46&t=OpSIeU0K3gdEsuOW3d7FWg

12-09-2022, 04:35 PM

And yet assaulting someone twice in clear sight is thought to be less of an issue. Attempting to harm is surely a bigger threat than a few words. Of the three descriptors I can only image distress is applicable and even then only to those the other side of the barrier who have seen it all before in bold type in the papers. Have any of the journalists or TV producers had their collar felt. We don't see the whole story but I hope the guy who assaulted him is charged, he looks a pretty dangerous individual. I also hope the boy that was manhandled three times, once by the Police Officer got a word in his ear and told to head home.