View Full Version : Operation London bridge

Pages : 1 2 3 [4] 5 6

12-09-2022, 04:39 PM
Under normal circumstances, I would accept Andrew is fair game and deserves whatever is thrown at him, but not at his mothers funeral where thousands of people have gathered to show respect.

It's his mum. Give him a break.

12-09-2022, 04:51 PM
There's lots of discussion about the police attitude towards protesters both here and in London.
And while I think there's a time and a place for protests, a number of legal folk are getting wound up about what's going on.
Steve Peers, an EU legal professor and someone whose views I generally find interesting, said this about context:

I think the reason I'm seeing red here - and it seems I'm not alone - is the broader context: a highly illiberal govt cracking down on public protest; a Home Secretary that loathes the ECHR; a compliant media; contempt for the rule of law. A line needs to be drawn.

12-09-2022, 04:54 PM
Did I spy Rod at the parliament there?

hibee
12-09-2022, 04:57 PM
Did I spy Rod at the parliament there?

Yes I thought I seen him there too.

12-09-2022, 05:05 PM
Shouting at funeral cortège is asking for bother…equivalent of singing Follow Follow in the East Stand. Disrespectful little ****wit imho

He could have been shouted down, and the nonce prince would have passed in seconds. No need for the physical stuff.

"Asking for it" 😠 good old British justice Polis style

12-09-2022, 05:06 PM
TIL - nonce is an acronym. "Not on normal courtyard exercise". Prison term, apparently.

12-09-2022, 05:20 PM
TIL - nonce is an acronym. "Not on normal courtyard exercise". Prison term, apparently.

Yup.

He isn't. Should be though.

12-09-2022, 05:25 PM
Why did he have to go and be abusive at a funeral… classless idiot

It's not a funeral.

12-09-2022, 05:29 PM
Why did he have to go and be abusive at a funeral… classless idiot

Pedant alert, the funeral is on Monday.

Chorley Hibee
12-09-2022, 05:31 PM
It's not a funeral.

Exactly, it was just the usual sycophantic pomp and ceremony that surrounds the whole archaic institution.

He'd supposedly given up all ceremonial duties remember.

No better time to keep the light shining on him and his crimes.

Chorley Hibee
12-09-2022, 05:35 PM
FFS, did anyone just see the Hun (Rangers top and all) the BBC interviewed on the Royal Mile?

Mumbling some incoherent ***** about her being the last of the patriots in Scotland. 🤣

hibee
12-09-2022, 05:41 PM
FFS, did anyone just see the Hun (Rangers top and all) the BBC interviewed on the Royal Mile?

Mumbling some incoherent ***** about her being the last of the patriots in Scotland. [emoji1787]

Of all the thousands of people they chose him for an interview, no idea what he was saying!

12-09-2022, 05:46 PM
What? It's very clearly an additional day on top of any allowances anyone receives.

I can see why some places might say that employees have an extra day they can take whenever they wish and that the can/should work Monday but saying it's a part of their current leave structure is just wrong.

I also had next Monday off anyway regardless as an ‘Autumn Holiday’; my employer has now also given me an extra day off as a result of the succession, I think it’s not uncommon.

12-09-2022, 06:07 PM
Today has been a disaster at work with cancellations, folk running late after bother getting through Edinburgh, folk deciding they didn't want to come into Edinburgh etc so I could only imagine what next Monday would be like.

I felt a bit staunch insisting that we close when there's definitely a republican undercurrent to most of the staff I have recruited, but they'd probably all pull sickies next Monday anyway if we didn't close because they'll all inevitably get pished on the Sunday now.

Decision made.

He's here!
12-09-2022, 06:26 PM
I also had next Monday off anyway regardless as an ‘Autumn Holiday’; my employer has now also given me an extra day off as a result of the succession, I think it’s not uncommon.

That seems to be on the cards for Edinburgh City Council employees too as they'd be missing out on a day's holiday compared to other council areas whose next public holiday doesn't fall until the next Monday.

He's here!
12-09-2022, 06:28 PM
First Minister on the last few days

https://mobile.twitter.com/ImSophieAdams/status/1569302156301275136

@ImSophieAdams
🗣 "I was so proud of Scotland yesterday - thousands lining the streets, utterly respectfully, with a real dignity"

First Minister
@NicolaSturgeon
speaks to
@GinaDavidsonLBC
after the Queen's cortege made a 175-mile journey from Balmoral to Edinburgh yesterday.

I thought she spoke very well in the Scottish Parliament this evening.

12-09-2022, 06:50 PM
Very moving the vigil of the Princes and Princess.

James310
12-09-2022, 06:55 PM

It is, I was there yesterday to be part of history more than anything else but I would love to be passing through St Giles at the moment with the Queen lying in state flanked by the King and the Princes and Princess. Great for Edinburgh to be the center of the world right now as well, it's doing Scotland proud.

12-09-2022, 06:57 PM

It is. I don’t know they’ve got the strength to stand there as the public walk past for a look.

12-09-2022, 07:01 PM
I was listening to someone who obviously knew their stuff and they were explaining that lots of these traditions are nowhere near as old as you think and that George V implemented lots of them when he went on the PR excercise of changing the Royal families name, downsizing the royal family and realising that you need to put on a bit of a show, this was all around the time of WW1

But you would think they are all hundreds of years old, marketing bit of genius really

12-09-2022, 07:05 PM
It is. I don’t know they’ve got the strength to stand there as the public walk past for a look.

It is, I was there yesterday to be part of history more than anything else but I would love to be passing through St Giles at the moment with the Queen lying in state flanked by the King and the Princes and Princess. Great for Edinburgh to be the center of the world right now as well, it's doing Scotland proud.
They must be absolutely exhausted, the grief etched on their faces is heartbreaking to watch.

Stairway 2 7
12-09-2022, 07:06 PM
How long do they do it for, some amount of people filling past

12-09-2022, 07:07 PM
I was listening to someone who obviously knew their stuff and they were explaining that lots of these traditions are nowhere near as old as you think and that George V implemented lots of them when he went on the PR excercise of changing the Royal families name, downsizing the royal family and realising that you need to put on a bit of a show, this was all around the time of WW1

But you would think they are all hundreds of years old, marketing bit of genius really

Yep. The oldest part of the whole events will be the anointing with oils, which is one of the few parts the public is unlikely to see.

The weddings, funerals and the like are, relatively speaking, very recent inventions, as you say largely because a show had to be put on. Much of it barely predates Victoria and was borne out of frustration that the French and Germans did it better.

It's worth considering that the United British Kingdom is not that ancient really. 400 years with a fair bit of battling after that is the blink of an eye really.

12-09-2022, 07:10 PM

The royals did 20 minutes, then bodyguards after that.

Edit: they cut it to 10 mins as Charles was delayed. I was surprised they let the public in at that point though.

12-09-2022, 07:12 PM
It's going on through the night

Stairway 2 7
12-09-2022, 07:13 PM
The royals did 20 minutes, then bodyguards after that.

Ta mental stuff. Charles looked exhausted. At 73 I would be too, some day for him

12-09-2022, 07:15 PM

Sky News’ coverage this evening is fantastic.

Edinburgh and Scotland being shown in a wonderful way around the Globe.

It’s been a brilliant few days.

12-09-2022, 07:17 PM
Yep. The oldest part of the whole events will be the anointing with oils, which is one of the few parts the public is unlikely to see.

The weddings, funerals and the like are, relatively speaking, very recent inventions, as you say largely because a show had to be put on. Much of it barely predates Victoria and was borne out of frustration that the French and Germans did it better.

It's worth considering that the United British Kingdom is not that ancient really. 400 years with a fair bit of battling after that is the blink of an eye really.

The kingdoms were still separate until 1707. James 6/1 tried to get the idea of a UK off the ground earlier but no takers.

James310
12-09-2022, 07:21 PM
It's going on through the night

Police estimate 20,000 in the queue. Almost 2 miles long according to a STV reporter.

Stairway 2 7
12-09-2022, 07:24 PM
Police estimate 20,000 in the queue. Almost 2 miles long according to a STV reporter.

God that will take hours, glad I'm not me

12-09-2022, 07:29 PM
The kingdoms were still separate until 1707. James 6/1 tried to get the idea of a UK off the ground earlier but no takers.

Of course. I meant to say a united/union of the crowns which was never a complete union.

The points stands that in comparison to Japan, a few middle Eastern and Gulf states and even the Scandinavian countries it's relatively short term. Even taking it back to 1066 or more contentiously the 9th century it doesn't really compete and there is barely a tradition existing today that can be dated as far back as that.

12-09-2022, 07:36 PM

Mumbling some incoherent ***** about her being the last of the patriots in Scotland. ��

Since she died av not watched much UK news.
But tuned in to see the helicopter flying over some great landscapes on the way down from Balmoral.
Remarkable when the reporter pointed out the queen officially opened two bridges over the Forth.
In 1964 and 2017.
So many years apart and a lot of water under the bridge in that time
As a 12 year old i walked over the bridge the day she opened it.
I was off school for two weeks recovering from surgery.
Took me back that did.58 years,jeez !

The hun interview
As soon as i saw the top he had on, i thought, Oh dear dont give your opinion, you will put progress back 300 years

"no whit ah mean, dead staunch in awe that" "we arra queens people, lang live the king noo an gnat "
im ah oan the tellynews noo.dead pure quality,so it is !!

Those down in the English shires and south east would have had a real difficult time understanding whatever foriegn language that guy was uttering. Straight out of some Still Game/Rab C sketches.

BBCs Clare Baldwin was doing the rounds randomly speaking to folk.
She would have needed some Scottish collegues to gie her a hand if she interviewed that bluenose.

12-09-2022, 08:08 PM

Stairway 2 7
12-09-2022, 08:10 PM

Confused identity ha. Both of me agree, we're glad it's not us 😆

12-09-2022, 08:16 PM
Aldi have apparently said their closing all their stores on Monday.

12-09-2022, 08:19 PM
Confused identity ha. Both of me agree, we're glad it's not us 😆That makes three of us!

12-09-2022, 08:21 PM

Sainsburys, Primark, Argos, also closing.

beensaidbefore
12-09-2022, 08:36 PM
Under normal circumstances, I would accept Andrew is fair game and deserves whatever is thrown at him, but not at his mothers funeral where thousands of people have gathered to show respect.

He's here!
12-09-2022, 08:39 PM

Queue looks about eight deep and stretches from St Giles to the Meadows. You can visit until 6.30am but surely the princes and princess are only there for a shortish while. As someone else said Charles in particular must feel dead on his feet. He was speaking at Westminster first thing this morning.

He's here!
12-09-2022, 08:43 PM
Sky News’ coverage this evening is fantastic.

Edinburgh and Scotland being shown in a wonderful way around the Globe.

It’s been a brilliant few days.

Agreed. From the beautiful Deeside scenery to Edinburgh's steepling Old Town packed with crowds Scotland has rarely looked better.

My mother in law is convinced the Queen planned it that way :-)

beensaidbefore
12-09-2022, 08:45 PM
Queue looks about eight deep and stretches from St Giles to the Meadows. You can visit until 6.30am but surely the princes and princess are only there for a shortish while. As someone else said Charles in particular must feel dead on his feet. He was speaking at Westminster first thing this morning.

Fair play to them

12-09-2022, 08:47 PM
Watched the procession up the mile today, a few members of the general public were interviewed, so far never heard one person actually from Edinburgh/Scotland, there was Welsh, Liverpudlians, other parts of England but zero Scottish interviewed on the BBC.

12-09-2022, 09:13 PM
Watched the procession up the mile today, a few members of the general public were interviewed, so far never heard one person actually from Edinburgh/Scotland, there was Welsh, Liverpudlians, other parts of England but zero Scottish interviewed on the BBC.

You didn't see the Hun in his The Rangers shirt on the news? "The monarchy is aboot being a patriot, man. No enough patriots in this country the noo, man". :lolrangers:

12-09-2022, 09:16 PM

I'm also glad I'm not you 🤣🤣🤣

12-09-2022, 09:18 PM

major supermarkets and DIY stores will be closed on Monday.

John Lewis, Waitrose, Primark, Homebase, WHSmith, B&Q, Aldi, Lidl, Poundland, Sainsbury’s and Argos to name a few

12-09-2022, 09:22 PM
Agreed. From the beautiful Deeside scenery to Edinburgh's steepling Old Town packed with crowds Scotland has rarely looked better.

My mother in law is convinced the Queen planned it that way :-)

Your mother in law might be onto something. There have been various hints through the year that the Queen’s health was failing. Maybe she knew her time was coming to an end? By all accounts she was at her happiest at Balmoral.

Stairway 2 7
12-09-2022, 09:25 PM
I'm also glad I'm not you 🤣🤣🤣

Don't fancy adding many decades to be yourself either

Stairway 2 7
12-09-2022, 09:28 PM
My Mrs pal just went up to join the queue, she thought she would go late and miss the worst.

Been told its over a 10 hour wait and she'll be in just before 9. Its zig zaging the meadows just now, ouch **** that

12-09-2022, 09:29 PM
Standards in the Church of Scotland must be slipping. Candles, flowers, a Catholic Archbishop giving a reading, what looks very much like veneration of the dead........They'll be whipping out the Holy Water and statues of Our Lady before the week is out.

John Knox will be turning in his grave.

12-09-2022, 09:34 PM
We have a winner on Follow Follow from Jardine 72: 'I’m struggling badly with this. Every day since Her Majesty passed is becoming worse than the last. Don’t even want to leave the house at this point.'

Fellow 'Bears' offering links to counselling services.

WTF?? :greengrin:greengrin:lolrangers:

12-09-2022, 09:35 PM
Standards in the Church of Scotland must be slipping. Candles, flowers, a Catholic Archbishop giving a reading, what looks very much like veneration of the dead........They'll be whipping out the Holy Water and statues of Our Lady before the week is out.

Anglicans aren't real Protestestants at all. Unstaunch and reported :fuming:

LunasBoots
12-09-2022, 09:49 PM
My Mrs pal just went up to join the queue, she thought she would go late and miss the worst.

Been told its over a 10 hour wait and she'll be in just before 9. Its zig zaging the meadows just now, ouch **** that

Misus was going to head up until I told her that, she had the same idea

12-09-2022, 09:58 PM
Ta mental stuff. Charles looked exhausted. At 73 I would be too, some day for him

He needs to be retiring, not starting a new job.

12-09-2022, 10:00 PM
major supermarkets and DIY stores will be closed on Monday.

John Lewis, Waitrose, Primark, Homebase, WHSmith, B&Q, Aldi, Lidl, Poundland, Sainsbury’s and Argos to name a few

Wow! This is a proper Bank Holiday, like Christmas Day. Not the pretend May Bank Holidays where everything is normal except Sainsburys closes at 1600.

12-09-2022, 10:01 PM
Standards in the Church of Scotland must be slipping. Candles, flowers, a Catholic Archbishop giving a reading, what looks very much like veneration of the dead........They'll be whipping out the Holy Water and statues of Our Lady before the week is out..

Didn't they announce a hope for closer ties a couple of years ago?

Good.

Sent from my SM-A528B using Tapatalk

cameronw-hfc
12-09-2022, 10:11 PM
Andrew is fair game. Paedophile victims don't get a break from the trauma caused, absolutely no reason Andrew shouldn't be fair game, especially since the family he's part of and "showing support" for is the family responsible for keeping him away from any punishment for his abhorrent actions.

If they don't want abuse thrown at folk during a funeral, don't bring a Paedophile out to meet the crowd, simple. Do non-royals that have been done for the same crimes get sympathy when their mum dies? Andrew deserves to rot in jail, and as long as he's on the streets and walking free, he's fair game. Mum died or not.

Royalists are all into telling folk to show respect towards the royals at this time, but what about the respect for republican views? If you want the royal procession to be respected you need to respect opposing views, otherwise it's just forced on the public, like it is currently.

12-09-2022, 10:35 PM

Royalists are all into telling folk to show respect towards the royals at this time, but what about the respect for republican views? If you want the royal procession to be respected you need to respect opposing views, otherwise it's just forced on the public, like it is currently.

Andrew Marr said exactly the same this morning.

12-09-2022, 10:47 PM
Andrew Marr said exactly the same this morning.

coincidently i've just finished reading about that

Andrew Marr says arresting monarchy protesters is 'outrageous' | The National (https://www.thenational.scot/news/21321996.andrew-marr-says-arresting-monarchy-protesters-outrageous/?fbclid=IwAR1swmAxBjb53OUy8LIVBS-jR16qKXbfIM3DttJBuZlphld-Xfd13cs5AgI)

also the comments re kaffliks BBC slammed over John Knox 'cleared Catholics out of Scotland' comment | The National (https://www.thenational.scot/news/21322803.bbc-slammed-john-knox-cleared-catholics-scotland-comment/?ref=nuo)

The Tubs
13-09-2022, 12:16 AM
Andrew is fair game. Paedophile victims don't get a break from the trauma caused, absolutely no reason Andrew shouldn't be fair game, especially since the family he's part of and "showing support" for is the family responsible for keeping him away from any punishment for his abhorrent actions.

If they don't want abuse thrown at folk during a funeral, don't bring a Paedophile out to meet the crowd, simple. Do non-royals that have been done for the same crimes get sympathy when their mum dies? Andrew deserves to rot in jail, and as long as he's on the streets and walking free, he's fair game. Mum died or not.

100%. How can you talk about decency but allow a beast to parade up the Royal Mile with the world watching?

The UK’s a joke.

13-09-2022, 05:55 AM
100%. How can you talk about decency but allow a beast to parade up the Royal Mile with the world watching?

The UK’s a joke.

Even the BBC is picking up on this:

https://www.bbc.com/news/uk-62883713.amp

13-09-2022, 06:34 AM
We should keep the queen here.
This is the country that she loved!

He's here!
13-09-2022, 06:41 AM

I see the cut-off for viewing the coffin has been extended to 3pm due the numbers continuing to queue...does nobody have work to go to?

13-09-2022, 06:59 AM

I agree. Keep that Corpse! Hold them back at Gretna just like Mel Gibson. See this is why we need our own armed forces, but England has just defeated Russia singlehandedly, we wouldn't stand a chance.

13-09-2022, 07:06 AM
The Queen's death has shown up how many of these political grandees are still around to pay their respects on otherwise underworked political TV programmes. Ming Campbell? I was sure he must have popped his clogs by now. And David Steel? How on earth is he still alive??

He's here!
13-09-2022, 07:21 AM
The Queen's death has shown up how many of these political grandees are still around to pay their respects on otherwise underworked political TV programmes. Ming Campbell? I was sure he must have popped his clogs by now. And David Steel? How on earth is he still alive??

David Steel...most certainly one of those you feel certain you remember passing away. Guess I must just be getting on a bit myself :-(

13-09-2022, 07:27 AM

Scone Palace tends to be where we keep these sort of things! 😀

13-09-2022, 07:29 AM
David Steel...most certainly one of those you feel certain you remember passing away. Guess I must just be getting on a bit myself :-(

I’m sure he was passing abortion legislation in the 1960s, before I was born :dunno:

13-09-2022, 08:01 AM

Maybe lie alongside the stone of destiny in Perth. 😉

Stairway 2 7
13-09-2022, 08:55 AM
Jeez some bounce in popularity Charles has has. They do it well him succeeding during his time of grief

https://mobile.twitter.com/JohnRentoul/status/1569607557727092736

13-09-2022, 09:00 AM
Jeez some bounce in popularity Charles has has. They do it well him succeeding during his time of grief

https://mobile.twitter.com/JohnRentoul/status/1569607557727092736

What's the point of this? 4 days after his ma has died, was anyone expecting anything different?

13-09-2022, 09:10 AM
I’m sure he was passing abortion legislation in the 1960s, before I was born :dunno:

1967 I think?

He certainly should've died of embarrassment over the Cyril Smith cover up. :rolleyes:

13-09-2022, 09:13 AM
1967 I think?

He certainly should've died of embarrassment over the Cyril Smith cover up. :rolleyes:

:agree: I always thought the Smith scandal gets weirdly little focus compared to Jimmy Saville Rolf Harris and similar beastfests. Unquestionably must have been protected by powerful people.

13-09-2022, 09:49 AM
The new king has just waved at me :faf: his cars currently on George street if anyones interested.

13-09-2022, 10:05 AM
The new king has just waved at me :faf: his ears currently on George street if anyones interested.

Ftfy

13-09-2022, 10:26 AM
One thing of note from the mourning in Scotland has been the distinct lack of flags flown by the public. You get the odd one or two here and there, but in general most folk have just turned up and watched as things pass them by.

13-09-2022, 10:37 AM
The new king has just waved at me :faf: his cars currently on George street if anyones interested.
Are you sure he was waving and not just angrily telling you to move something!!

13-09-2022, 10:39 AM
Are you sure he was waving and not just angrily telling you to move something!!

‘Move that ink pot, now, peasant!!’
No, I was on the #24. But I did detect a bit of a connection between us, like he realised that I, too, was of high birth.

13-09-2022, 11:18 AM
No, I was on the #24. But I did detect a bit of a connection between us, like he realised that I, too, was of high birth.
High birth or just on the top deck of the bus?

13-09-2022, 11:21 AM
the new king has just waved at me :faf: His cars currently on george street if anyones interested.

bff ❤️

13-09-2022, 11:37 AM

Was he going for a session at tiger lily?

13-09-2022, 11:43 AM

More of a Standing Order man I’d say.

13-09-2022, 11:47 AM

Well he was certainly going the wrong direction for Scorpio Leisure.

The motorbike cops held all the north south traffic for a good 3 or 4 minutes on Hanover/Frederick/Castle streets, then a single mounted cop came bombing east to west on George St at literally 100mph, it was something to see, obviously ensure the road was completely clear, then the 8 car procession went past.

13-09-2022, 11:48 AM
bff ❤️

Those ears. Gives you something to hang onto, I’m told.

13-09-2022, 01:04 PM
Those ears. Gives you something to hang onto, I’m told.

Who told you? ....Camilla?

13-09-2022, 01:08 PM

Were you born on the top deck of a double decker bus as well?

He's here!
13-09-2022, 01:49 PM
One thing of note from the mourning in Scotland has been the distinct lack of flags flown by the public. You get the odd one or two here and there, but in general most folk have just turned up and watched as things pass them by.

It's a sombre event, not a coronation or jubilee. What's most striking is the quiet respect shown by such large numbers.

13-09-2022, 01:51 PM

It's the inbreeding within the aristocracy. You all look the same :greengrin

13-09-2022, 01:53 PM
It5s the inbreeding within the aristocracy. You all look the same :greengrin

It’s true. My kids look like me too, the resemblance is there for all to see. You can’t disguise it. I DEMAND THE SCEPTRE

He's here!
13-09-2022, 02:01 PM

Agreed. It's all been beautifully done and Scotland has risen to the occasion.

I know the King is also touring Wales and NI this week, but where I think they may have missed a trick is by not taking the coffin south on a slow-paced Royal train so other parts of the nation can see it pass by.

13-09-2022, 02:03 PM
Agreed. It's all been beautifully done and Scotland has risen to the occasion.

I know the King is also touring Wales and NI this week, but where I think they may have missed a trick is by not taking the coffin south on a slow-paced Royal train so other parts of the nation can see it pass by.

You sound like Hew Edwards.

13-09-2022, 02:08 PM
Preston fan banned for life because of comments made about the Royal Family and the Queen.

https://twitter.com/faircop_/status/1569674236838428673?s=21&t=yX5rtszjdErjRkeL8gDuoQ

13-09-2022, 02:20 PM

13-09-2022, 02:39 PM

Maybe he thought you were the poster, Hibzbollah. An easy mistake now there’s two of you posting at the moment. Top trolling 😀

13-09-2022, 02:45 PM

13-09-2022, 02:48 PM
Am I the only one that thinks doing this in NI maybe isn't the best idea ever?

13-09-2022, 02:52 PM
Maybe he thought you were the poster, Hibzbollah. An easy mistake now there’s two of you posting at the moment. Top trolling 😀

Well, imitation is the greatest form of flattery they say:greengrin

13-09-2022, 03:09 PM
https://twitter.com/WimbledonFB/status/1569662058454568960?s=20&t=FhI9DqS2AVPg0G_gW_8pVg

Our condolences go out to the Royal family at this sad time. All food bank hubs will be closed on Monday 19th September due to funeral. We will reopen from Tuesday 20th Sept.

Disgraceful.

13-09-2022, 03:14 PM
https://twitter.com/WimbledonFB/status/1569662058454568960?s=20&t=FhI9DqS2AVPg0G_gW_8pVg

Our condolences go out to the Royal family at this sad time. All food bank hubs will be closed on Monday 19th September due to funeral. We will reopen from Tuesday 20th Sept.

Disgraceful.

Meanwhile…£6BILLION in inheritance tax unpaid.

https://www.theguardian.com/uk-news/2022/sep/13/king-charles-will-not-pay-tax-on-inheritance-from-the-queen

13-09-2022, 03:14 PM

Disgraceful.

Subjects going hungry. It's what the queen would have wanted.

13-09-2022, 03:16 PM
Now this is getting ridiculous!

Foodbanks closed and saw this about your family holiday at centre Parc

Following the announcement of the date of the funeral of Queen Elizabeth II, we have made the decision to close all our UK villages on Monday 19 September at 10am as a mark of respect and to allow as many of our colleagues as possible to be part of this historic moment. 1/2
Guests who were due to arrive on Monday 19 September should not travel, we will reopen on Tuesday 20 September to welcome guests. All impacted guests will receive an email from us today. Please visit our website for additional information centerparcs.co.uk/village-news/g… 2/2

13-09-2022, 03:18 PM
It's a sombre event, not a coronation or jubilee. What's most striking is the quiet respect shown by such large numbers.

I'll take a wee look to see how it's done in South Britain, and get back to you. 😉

13-09-2022, 03:20 PM

Disgraceful.

Maybe read whole twitter thread before describing the good people who run that food bank as disgraceful.

13-09-2022, 03:23 PM
That's them leaving St Giles.
Be interesting to see how many folk in the crowds in London will be waving flags and stuff once they get there.

13-09-2022, 03:24 PM
Maybe read whole twitter thread before describing the good people who run that food bank as disgraceful.

I read some of it. They shut on bank holidays is the reason and I make this the 3rd additional bank holiday due to the monarchy this year. Even if they had volunteers, the place is closed. Even a partial opening would be a decent compromise.

13-09-2022, 03:32 PM

I suspect with the supermarkets also closed for the day the foobanks won't be getting as much in as they normally would.

13-09-2022, 03:36 PM
I read some of it. They shut on bank holidays is the reason and I make this the 3rd additional bank holiday due to the monarchy this year. Even if they had volunteers, the place is closed. Even a partial opening would be a decent compromise.

A classic case of people who can't win then. They run the food bank all year round, they've explained their reasoning for closing and that they have made provision for the people in need in Wimbledon that they obviously care about. Yet Dave fae West Lothian still thinks they are a disgrace. :greengrin

13-09-2022, 03:42 PM

Following the announcement of the date of the funeral of Queen Elizabeth II, we have made the decision to close all our UK villages on Monday 19 September at 10am as a mark of respect and to allow as many of our colleagues as possible to be part of this historic moment. 1/2
Guests who were due to arrive on Monday 19 September should not travel, we will reopen on Tuesday 20 September to welcome guests. All impacted guests will receive an email from us today. Please visit our website for additional information centerparcs.co.uk/village-news/g… 2/2

Can you only arrive on a Monday? What if you arrived on th Saturday or Sunday for a week?

Stairway 2 7
13-09-2022, 03:48 PM

People are entitled to a holiday regardless of their job. Staff would have had a hard year with the economy down the toilet. I'd bet they are good people and not the Tories they are being made out. Its a disgrace foodbanks are essential but don't attack the Staff.

I think it's great so many places are coming forward as being closed. Not because the funeral that I couldn't give two hoots about, but hopefully it will shame more places that are considering giving their staff an extra holiday. Hopefully the supermarket workers enjoy it in particular, as they barely get anything at Christmas and work weekends as standard often

G15 Hibs
13-09-2022, 03:56 PM
Can you only arrive on a Monday? What if you arrived on th Saturday or Sunday for a week?

If you're staying there already you're getting chucked out at 10am on Monday and can't get back in until Tuesday. Incredible.

13-09-2022, 03:57 PM
A classic case of people who can't win then. They run the food bank all year round, they've explained their reasoning for closing and that they have made provision for the people in need in Wimbledon that they obviously care about. Yet Dave fae West Lothian still thinks they are a disgrace. :greengrin

I didn't say they were a disgrace so I accept your apology.

I'm also only in West Lothian because I can't get out (yet) 🙂

Stairway 2 7
13-09-2022, 04:00 PM
If you're staying there already you're getting chucked out at 10am on Monday and can't get back in until Tuesday. Incredible.

I think it's good most businesses closing. But exception for places like this where there is already bookings. They should have gave staff an extra day in their allowance and respected bookings

13-09-2022, 04:04 PM

I read it too. This isn't a bank holiday with loads of notice and many who work won't be able to just take a day off to get a food parcel. It is hard to criticise those who put the work in to run foodbanks though but it does show where priorities lie.

13-09-2022, 04:05 PM

Is he perhaps saying it’s a disgrace they are closing?

It’s also a disgrace they are needed in the first place. A spot of that inheritance tax would help fill the bellies.

13-09-2022, 04:06 PM
Is he perhaps saying it’s a disgrace they are closing?

It’s also a disgrace they are needed in the first place. A spot of that inheritance tax would help fill the bellies.

I totally agree, the real disgrace is that they are needed.

13-09-2022, 04:09 PM

I'm taking the bairns to Haggerston Castle for the September weekend.

Haven parks remain open but venues and leisure facilities are closing for 2 hours on Monday to allow the staff who want to watch the funeral to do so.

Seems a decent compromise in a day and age in which compromise seems wholly unattractive to a lot of people.

13-09-2022, 04:09 PM
I didn't say they were a disgrace so I accept your apology.

I'm also only in West Lothian because I can't get out (yet) ��

I was responding to a post which did call it a disgrace. As you jumped in to point out how wrong I was I can only assume you were backing the original posters view. Thank’s for clarifying though. :greengrin

13-09-2022, 04:12 PM

My mate photographed the event. He took a shot from the top of the Royal Mile looking down to St Giles and when you look at the crowd on the left it looks like a full Nazi salute is taking place. The file is small so lacking detail but it actually showed a huge proportion of the crowd holding up mobile phones. Perhaps the phones had Union Jacks on the screen or perhaps the crowds were there for the spectacle and to say, I was there aren't I a caring person. It certainly wouldn't be my idea of showing respect but I didn't see many getting dragged from the crowd, assaulted and lifted for being disrespectful and doing it at the wrong time and place.

13-09-2022, 04:13 PM
I was responding to a post which did call it a disgrace. As you jumped in to point out how wrong I was I can only assume you were backing the original posters view. Thank’s for clarifying though. :greengrin

Jumped in? I posted a reply after reading 🙄

And you are old enough to never assume because...well you know the rest.

13-09-2022, 04:18 PM
Jumped in? I posted a reply after reading 🙄

It’s opening as usual now following a large number of people coming forward to volunteer. Good outcome, people coming together for the greater good.

13-09-2022, 04:22 PM

Traditionally it's Friday and Monday at Center Parcs

13-09-2022, 04:29 PM
It’s true. My kids look like me too, the resemblance is there for all to see. You can’t disguise it. I DEMAND THE SCEPTRE

Wasn't that a James Bnod film?

13-09-2022, 04:31 PM
Hats off to the Council also really stepped up to the plate.

Zambernardi1875
13-09-2022, 04:32 PM
I think it's good most businesses closing. But exception for places like this where there is already bookings. They should have gave staff an extra day in their allowance and respected bookings

It’s not good when you’re self employed

13-09-2022, 04:32 PM

Tremendous mixed metaphor Betty :aok:

13-09-2022, 04:43 PM
Preston fan banned for life because of comments made about the Royal Family and the Queen.

https://twitter.com/faircop_/status/1569674236838428673?s=21&t=yX5rtszjdErjRkeL8gDuoQ

What an utterly bizarre decision and if Hibs adopt a similarly aggressive attitude there will be lots of good ST seats available next year. Perhaps the most bizarre decision of the week among many. Here is the story (https://twitter.com/_The72/status/1569694431732809728?ref_src=twsrc%5Etfw%7Ctwcamp%5 Etweetembed%7Ctwterm%5E1569694431732809728%7Ctwgr% 5Ef8eb6c1e941d7b4cec836d490fb4f8e358e8680a%7Ctwcon %5Es1_&ref_url=https%3A%2F%2Fwww.dailymail.co.uk%2Fsport% 2Fsportsnews%2Farticle-11206381%2FPreston-defend-decision-issue-lifetime-ban-supporter-comments-Queen.html)as the tweet has gone.

Trinity Hibee
13-09-2022, 04:56 PM
Some incredible footage of Edinburgh airport. Silence, sun and the hills.

City has done itself proud these last few days

13-09-2022, 04:57 PM

Have seen my wife for about 2 1/2 hours since Friday. The dishes arnae half stacking up!!!

Stairway 2 7
13-09-2022, 05:05 PM
It’s not good when you’re self employed

That's the nature of the game, same with all holidays taken. Risk and reward with self employment

13-09-2022, 05:19 PM
Have seen my wife for about 2 1/2 hours since Friday. The dishes arnae h
alf stacking up!!!
I can imagine :greengrin

13-09-2022, 05:20 PM
Some incredible footage of Edinburgh airport. Silence, sun and the hills.

City has done itself proud these last few days

We went out along the Turnhouse Road by the golf course. Hardly anyone around.

CyberSauzee
13-09-2022, 05:21 PM
What an utterly bizarre decision and if Hibs adopt a similarly aggressive attitude there will be lots of good ST seats available next year. Perhaps the most bizarre decision of the week among many. Here is the story (https://twitter.com/_The72/status/1569694431732809728?ref_src=twsrc%5Etfw%7Ctwcamp%5 Etweetembed%7Ctwterm%5E1569694431732809728%7Ctwgr% 5Ef8eb6c1e941d7b4cec836d490fb4f8e358e8680a%7Ctwcon %5Es1_&ref_url=https%3A%2F%2Fwww.dailymail.co.uk%2Fsport% 2Fsportsnews%2Farticle-11206381%2FPreston-defend-decision-issue-lifetime-ban-supporter-comments-Queen.html)as the tweet has gone.

Thanks for posting, PNE should have just ignored it.

13-09-2022, 05:21 PM
I can imagine :greengrin

Well, when I say dishes, I mean cutlery. Sick of takeaways 😂

13-09-2022, 05:31 PM
Nice touch!

https://www.theguardian.com/uk-news/2022/sep/13/king-charles-staff-given-redundancy-notice-during-church-service-for-queen?CMP=Share_AndroidApp_Other

CyberSauzee
13-09-2022, 05:35 PM
Nice touch!

https://www.theguardian.com/uk-news/2022/sep/13/king-charles-staff-given-redundancy-notice-during-church-service-for-queen?CMP=Share_AndroidApp_Other

That's what happens when one serf can't move the ink pots quick enough. Everyone suffers!

I've never been, but arrivals are either Friday or Monday, so what happens for people who are already there? Can the staff not watch on telly on the sites?

Zambernardi1875
That's the nature of the game, same with all holidays taken. Risk and reward with self employment

Eye, suck it up old boy, the royals are more important than you plebs

CyberSauzee
13-09-2022, 05:37 PM
I've never been, but arrivals are either Friday or Monday, <b>so what happens for people who are already there?</b> Can the staff not watch on telly on the sites?

You can checkout anytime, but you can never leave.

Zambernardi1875
13-09-2022, 05:37 PM
Nice touch!

Another “nature of the game” says stairway

13-09-2022, 05:44 PM
Some of the abuse aimed at the Wimbledon Foodbank on Twitter is the the real disgrace in all this.

Bunch of volunteers providing a vital community service to the people who need it most getting absolutely vilified for closing for a day. As they do every bank holiday and most weekends. I wonder how many of the virtuous souls aiming the abuse at them are giving their time on a regular basis to volunteer at foodbanks and the like.

Stairway 2 7
13-09-2022, 05:46 PM
Another “nature of the game” says stairway

What are you on about how is paying people off the same as self employed people having to take a hit if they take a day off. My wife is self employed and if she wants Monday off she takes the hit. It's the same for Christmas or if we want to go away for the weekend, it's the way it is being self employed.

Stairway 2 7
13-09-2022, 05:48 PM
Some of the abuse aimed at the Wimbledon Foodbank on Twitter is the the real disgrace in all this.

Bunch of volunteers providing a vital community service to the people who need it most getting absolutely vilified for closing for a day. As they do every bank holiday and most weekends. I wonder how many of the virtuous souls aiming the abuse at them are giving their time on a regular basis to volunteer at foodbanks and the like.

Both extremes in this debate have really shown themselves up.

13-09-2022, 06:05 PM
As the RAF flight carrying the coffin lands at RAF Northolt from Turnhouse , the ITV commentator says, and i paraphrase

"Finally, the Queen arrives on home soil"

Maybe i read too much into that statement,but it is an example of the Londoncentric types on national telly.

Zambernardi1875
13-09-2022, 06:05 PM
What are you on about how is paying people off the same as self employed people having to take a hit if they take a day off. My wife is self employed and if she wants Monday off she takes the hit. It's the same for Christmas or if we want to go away for the weekend, it's the way it is being self employed.

We aren’t choosing to lose money from all this

Stairway 2 7
13-09-2022, 06:21 PM
We aren’t choosing to lose money from all this

Self employed are basically a business. Businesses have the option to take and give staff the holiday, many won't bother because they don't want to or can't afford to.

It's unfortunate for the few who want to but now can't. Although if they have staff and can afford to they should give them it

13-09-2022, 06:46 PM
Nice touch!

I’m wondering if those employees are protected under TUPE legislation. You can’t just get rid of someone then hire someone else doing the exact same job.

Zambernardi1875
13-09-2022, 06:52 PM
Self employed are basically a business. Businesses have the option to take and give staff the holiday, many won't bother because they don't want to or can't afford to.

It's unfortunate for the few who want to but now can't. Although if they have staff and can afford to they should give them it

In my line of work, other companies closing on Monday is detrimental to my income. And over the last week I should add.

Stairway 2 7
13-09-2022, 07:01 PM
I’m wondering if those employees are protected under TUPE legislation. You can’t just get rid of someone then hire someone else doing the exact same job.

I would say its probably separate sites and contracts. They couldn't bring more in at the same site. Brutal regardless when he's come into billions

13-09-2022, 07:25 PM
Nice touch!

I feel it only right to post a quote from that article, for the benefit of our (admittedly small) band of royalists.

Up to 100 employees at the King’s former official residence, including some who have worked there for decades, received notification that they could lose their jobs just as they were working round the clock to smooth his elevation to the throne.

Private secretaries, the finance office, the communications team and household staff are among those who received notice during the thanksgiving service for the Queen, at St Giles’ Cathedral in Edinburgh on Monday, that their posts were on the line.

Many staff had assumed they would be amalgamated into the King’s new household, claiming they were given no indication of what was coming until the letter from Sir Clive Alderton, the King’s top aide, arrived. One source said: “Everybody is absolutely livid, including private secretaries and the senior team. All the staff have been working late every night since Thursday, to be met with this. People were visibly shaken by it.”

Lovely!

13-09-2022, 07:27 PM
I feel it only right to post a quote from that article, for the benefit of our (admittedly small) band of royalists.

Lovely!

Although absolutely deplorable I’m pretty sure they won’t get the government minimum.

13-09-2022, 07:29 PM

They were likely employed by Charles Windsor, Prince of Wales. Since that entity no longer exists, it's redundancy.

They have a good shout at getting jobs with Billy Windsor, Prince of Wales, though. That and a pay-off from Charlie.

13-09-2022, 07:39 PM

It is about the priorities though. They are only open the odd hour here and there according to their website across various sites, some of which don't open Mondays. as they say these days the optics are terrible. Feed people who are hungry or take the day off because one of the richest women in the world has sadly died. I've given up loads of time over the years volunteering in the community and there is no danger I would have taken the day off for such a vital service.

Morally, I have a really hard time with food banks. I actually disagree with them as it allows the Government to neglect their duty by law. They end up distanced from the problem they have created. I have wrestled with it and still struggle but the Trussle Trust closing a few centres and the Independent food banks closing says to me my gut was right. It is humanitarian aid and it should be provided by the Government. I'm aware that probably sounds heartless but these foodbanks usually supply food to citizens that are often referred to them by government services.

He's here!
13-09-2022, 09:07 PM
My mate photographed the event. He took a shot from the top of the Royal Mile looking down to St Giles and when you look at the crowd on the left it looks like a full Nazi salute is taking place. The file is small so lacking detail but it actually showed a huge proportion of the crowd holding up mobile phones. Perhaps the phones had Union Jacks on the screen or perhaps the crowds were there for the spectacle and to say, I was there aren't I a caring person. It certainly wouldn't be my idea of showing respect but I didn't see many getting dragged from the crowd, assaulted and lifted for being disrespectful and doing it at the wrong time and place.

Why would anyone get dragged from the crowd for taking a picture? People wanted to be there because it's a moment in history and many would have been keen to record it (I took pics of Lawrie Reilly's coffin passing ER and of well kent football faces filing into Gordon Smith's memorial service). My kids all took pics of the cortege passing on Sunday because it was exciting to them to be there, while folk behind us were holding up their phones to take pics because they couldn't see properly over the heads in front. The prevailing mood was one of respect and I don't think it's remotely surprising that in an age where phones are pretty much and extension of many people's arms that some chose to take pics. There was more solemnity in St Giles, where no pictures were permitted.

13-09-2022, 09:14 PM
https://www.bbc.co.uk/news/uk-scotland-edinburgh-east-fife-62889396

Sorry if already posted. The others that grabbed the guy not arrested.

He's here!
13-09-2022, 09:14 PM
That's them leaving St Giles.
Be interesting to see how many folk in the crowds in London will be waving flags and stuff once they get there.

I get the impression that those raising this are those peeved by the fact there's been such an outpouring of affection and respect for the Queen in Scotland and are hoping to claim that if more folk are waving flags in London it underlines that Scotland's not as pro-Royal as England? Otherwise I'm unclear why this would be an issue of any particular interest.

Watching the footage from London earlier I get the sense that by next Monday the mood will have steadily shifted to more of a celebration of the Queen's life so we may well see a bit more colour among the crowds. And why not?

13-09-2022, 09:17 PM
And why not?

Flag waving and celebration while Chas and co embark on a period of 7 further days mourning after the funeral?

Not very respectful.

He's here!
13-09-2022, 09:25 PM
Flag waving and celebration while Chas and co embark on a period of 7 further days mourning after the funeral?

Not very respectful.

I think if her life had been cut short like, say, Princess Diana's, then it would hugely disrespectful and nobody would even think of lightening the moment, but a very long life well lived is not necessarily something to grieve but to celebrate.

I may be completely wrong and next Monday will see similarly poignant scenes to Scotland.

13-09-2022, 09:30 PM
Why would anyone get dragged from the crowd for taking a picture? People wanted to be there because it's a moment in history and many would have been keen to record it (I took pics of Lawrie Reilly's coffin passing ER and of well kent football faces filing into Gordon Smith's memorial service). My kids all took pics of the cortege passing on Sunday because it was exciting to them to be there, while folk behind us were taking holding up their phones to take pics because they couldn't see properly over the heads in front. The prevailing mood was one of respect and I don't think it's remotely surprising that in an age where phones are pretty much and extension of many people's arms that some chose to take pics. There was more solemnity in St Giles, where no pictures were permitted.

I'm probably just old fashioned. I still stand at the side of teh road and bow my head when a hearse drives by.

I was tempted to go to take photos as that is my main hobby and also one of my jobs. I ruled it out as it felt disrespectful and not really practical in a large crowd blocking others view etc. Kind of like people holding phones up at gigs. Respect hasn't got a handbook but holding phones up so you can see doesn't make it sound like the main reason for being there was support and respect. Nothing wrong with rubber necking or watching something interesting or exciting, as you say, and I suspect that is why many were there or just to say they were there to pay respect and fit in with what society seems to want.

St Giles charges for photography so it might have been tricky collecting, some wouldn't have had cash on them. Joking apart St Giles probably never allowed photography because it is disrespectful in such a situation.

He's here!
13-09-2022, 09:30 PM
https://www.bbc.co.uk/news/uk-scotland-edinburgh-east-fife-62889396

Sorry if already posted. The others that grabbed the guy not arrested.

Arguably common sense. I hadn't realised the guy was pushing his way up the street and following the cortege to continue shouting abuse. Had he hurled a few derogatory words from one spot I'd have suggested he be ignored rather than arrested, but folk were entitled to become hacked off by his behaviour when the day was about the Queen, not Andrew.

13-09-2022, 09:41 PM
Arguably common sense. I hadn't realised the guy was pushing his way up the street and following the cortege to continue shouting abuse. Had he hurled a few derogatory words from one spot I'd have suggested he be ignored rather than arrested, but folk were entitled to become hacked off by his behaviour when the day was about the Queen, not Andrew.

I think you need to re read the article. It was Andrew who was following the coffin up the street, not the heckler. He was in the same spot, so according your earlier comment, he should just be ignored and not arrested. 👍

He's here!
13-09-2022, 09:41 PM
I'm probably just old fashioned. I still stand at the side of teh road and bow my head when a hearse drives by.

I was tempted to go to take photos as that is my main hobby and also one of my jobs. I ruled it out as it felt disrespectful and not really practical in a large crowd blocking others view etc. Kind of like people holding phones up at gigs. Respect hasn't got a handbook but holding phones up so you can see doesn't make it sound like the main reason for being there was support and respect. Nothing wrong with rubber necking or watching something interesting or exciting, as you say, and I suspect that is why many were there or just to say they were there to pay respect and fit in with what society seems to want.

St Giles charges for photography so it might have been tricky collecting, some wouldn't have had cash on them. Joking apart St Giles probably never allowed photography because it is disrespectful in such a situation.

I'm with you there. The pics I took re Reilly/Smith were taken with an actual camera and I rarely take pics with my phone. I'm just pretty acceptant that these days it's the norm for many to see doing so as the norm, almost irrespective of the occasion.

13-09-2022, 09:53 PM

St Giles charges for photography so it might have been tricky collecting, some wouldn't have had cash on them. Joking apart St Giles probably never allowed photography because it is disrespectful in such a situation.It might just be the amount of phones in the air is indicative of how many tourists or plain nosey ***** were there. They are paying their respects but the event itself is more important than that to them.

My wife, who is a total royalist, was up there and when I asked if she took any snaps she said that's not why she went.

13-09-2022, 10:10 PM
Watching some of the BBC coverage earlier tonight when Hew Edwards took his fawning obsequiousness stratospheric. He was asking some talking head about why the queen was so popular, and in one question mentioned 'magical', 'stardust', 'charisma', 'beauty', 'grace' and perhaps a couple of other phrases. There couldn't have been a dry eye on Follow Follow, and it was just so uncomfortable.

13-09-2022, 10:22 PM
It might just be the amount of phones in the air is indicative of how many tourists or plain nosey ***** were there. They are paying their respects but the event itself is more important than that to them.

My wife, who is a total royalist, was up there and when I asked if she took any snaps she said that's not why she went.

I'm with your wife. You are either paying your respects or there for you.

13-09-2022, 10:26 PM
It might just be the amount of phones in the air is indicative of how many tourists or plain nosey ***** were there. They are paying their respects but the event itself is more important than that to them.

Respect to her for that, I was at my mates funeral at St Pats last Tuesday and there were folk taking pictures of the hearse, seemed quite disrespectful to me.

13-09-2022, 10:40 PM
Watching some of the BBC coverage earlier tonight when Hew Edwards took his fawning obsequiousness stratospheric. He was asking some talking head about why the queen was so popular, and in one question mentioned 'magical', 'stardust', 'charisma', 'beauty', 'grace' and perhaps a couple of other phrases. There couldn't have been a dry eye on Follow Follow, and it was just so uncomfortable.

Him and Witchell are the pits.

13-09-2022, 10:43 PM
Him and Witchell are the pits.They should be made to wear hose, pointy shoes, tabards and heavy velvety headgear with way too much material. More realistic and adds to the "pageantry".

14-09-2022, 04:07 AM

There's nothing worse than an "in the know name dropper" on Hibs Net.

14-09-2022, 07:54 AM

Where do you get that the protester was pushing his way up the street. The clip I've seen he is standing by the barrier shouting for almost a minute before being violently pulled back. My impression was that the person who grabbed him was plain clothes police or special branch because he wasn't stopped by those around him earlier.

14-09-2022, 08:11 AM
Where do you get that the protester was pushing his way up the street. The clip I've seen he is standing by the barrier shouting for almost a minute before being violently pulled back. My impression was that the person who grabbed him was plain clothes police or special branch because he wasn't stopped by those around him earlier.

He made it up. Read the article all wrong. The two guys who grabbed the laddie looked like workies to me. Polis let them walk away.

14-09-2022, 08:16 AM

If we take what happened in context; Prince Andrew, a man who paid millions of pounds in hush money to a woman who he had used for sex as a minor, was shouted at in the street by another man, who called the Prince a ‘dirty old man’. This man was then attacked by two men openly, filmed broadcast and then widely circulated. The victim of this attack was then arrested, and no chargers were brought against the assailants, and unusually the police released a statement saying no charges would be brought for the assault.

The only natural conclusion is that criticism of a Royal family member, or expressing Republican sentiment at certain times is actually illegal, or at least you will not receive full protection from the law if you do so. It’s really irrelevant whether one thinks the victim of the assault was ‘classless’.

14-09-2022, 08:23 AM
There's nothing worse than an "in the know name dropper" on Hibs Net.

At least he didn't say "A good source waved at me".

14-09-2022, 08:23 AM
We got confirmation we’re off on Monday and will still get paid for it, credit where it’s due. I’ll not pretend that given the option I’d choose to still work, but would also have been happy to have worked the day as normal.

14-09-2022, 08:25 AM
I suspect that the 2 guys were undercover police.

14-09-2022, 08:25 AM
Surely to **** somebody in the Royal family must have thought putting Andrew out infront of thousands of people was a recipe for disaster . He’s a ****ing pervert and most folk take a dim view of that sort of thing

14-09-2022, 08:27 AM
I suspect that the 2 guys were undercover police.If so, you've got to wonder how they would have reacted if someone had expressed vehemently held anti Republican views, in our liberal democracy............

14-09-2022, 08:40 AM
Surely to **** somebody in the Royal family must have thought putting Andrew out infront of thousands of people was a recipe for disaster . He’s a ****ing pervert and most folk take a dim view of that sort of thing

5 councillors of state will stand in for Charlie if he's unwell or out of the country. Andrew is one of them.

They continue to take the piss.

14-09-2022, 09:07 AM

Under the circumstances, the number of people who have chosen the occasion to make a point about Andrew's actions has been staggeringly small.

(Even allowing for the fact that I don't agree that his mother's funeral is an appropriate place to make any sort of statement.)

14-09-2022, 09:24 AM
We got confirmation we’re off on Monday and will still get paid for it, credit where it’s due. I’ll not pretend that given the option I’d choose to still work, but would also have been happy to have worked the day as normal.

We're apparently going to be given the choice. Dilemma.

Lendo
14-09-2022, 09:28 AM
Under the circumstances, the number of people who have chosen the occasion to make a point about Andrew's actions has been staggeringly small.

(Even allowing for the fact that I don't agree that his mother's funeral is an appropriate place to make any sort of statement.)

I’m noticing that the Huns on Twitter are finding it very hard to simultaneously defend Prince Nonce whilst continuing to make the same insults to Celtic fans. It’s got to be hurting their simple bigot brains.

14-09-2022, 09:36 AM

Nope, definitely some workies who assaulted the lad then allowed to go about their business with not one word from the Police.

14-09-2022, 09:37 AM
If we take what happened in context; Prince Andrew, a man who paid millions of pounds in hush money to a woman who he had used for sex as a minor, was shouted at in the street by another man, who called the Prince a ‘dirty old man’. This man was then attacked by two men openly, filmed broadcast and then widely circulated. The victim of this attack was then arrested, and no chargers were brought against the assailants, and unusually the police released a statement saying no charges would be brought for the assault.

The only natural conclusion is that criticism of a Royal family member, or expressing Republican sentiment at certain times is actually illegal, or at least you will not receive full protection from the law if you do so. It’s really irrelevant whether one thinks the victim of the assault was ‘classless’.

14-09-2022, 09:38 AM
5 councillors of state will stand in for Charlie if he's unwell or out of the country. Andrew is one of them.

And Anne isn’t. Sexist.

But Camilla is - only sexist if it’s your sister apparently.

14-09-2022, 09:39 AM
We're apparently going to be given the choice. Dilemma.

I work for a Central Government Department.

Day off for us!

Hope the weather is nice, the dog will need walking at some point.

14-09-2022, 09:41 AM
I work for a Central Government Department.

Day off for us!

Hope the weather is nice, the dog will need walking at some point.

11 o'clock looks like a good time to walk the dog 😉

Make it a long one.

Sergio sledge
14-09-2022, 09:49 AM

It's madness that they have kept him on in that role. Surely Anne or Edward would be a much better option.

14-09-2022, 10:33 AM

No chance were they Police. One was with his partner. They were two civilians who decided to "remove" the laddie as the Nonce got to within earshot.

14-09-2022, 11:11 AM
I’m noticing that the Huns on Twitter are finding it very hard to simultaneously defend Prince Nonce whilst continuing to make the same insults to Celtic fans. It’s got to be hurting their simple bigot brains.

What a confusing, multifaceted society we live in!

14-09-2022, 11:27 AM

Nah, I'm not having that Radge. Imagine these guys trying to do the bleep test that our Imperial forces for good have to pass to stay fit. :greengrin

https://twitter.com/andysloane5/status/1569399715598401538

14-09-2022, 11:47 AM
Nah, I'm not having that Radge. Imagine these guys trying to do the bleep test that our Imperial forces for good have to pass to stay fit. :greengrin

I hadn't seen the footage. I now suspect that you're right! 😃

14-09-2022, 11:49 AM

https://twitter.com/andysloane5/status/1569399715598401538If he's an undercover copper he has really gone beyond the call of duty.

14-09-2022, 12:02 PM

Sorry Ron but he is already in police custody there. I watched a video from further up the high St and the Young guy was at the barrier, he is behind the crowd there.

Best clip I have seen.

https://news-sky-com.cdn.ampproject.org/v/s/news.sky.com/story/amp/man-arrested-after-heckling-prince-andrew-during-royal-procession-12695924?amp_gsa=1&amp_js_v=a9&usqp=mq331AQKKAFQArABIIACAw%3D%3D#amp_tf=From%20%2 51%24s&aoh=16631569953867&referrer=https%3A%2F%2Fwww.google.com&ampshare=https%3A%2F%2Fnews.sky.com%2Fstory%2Fman-arrested-after-heckling-prince-andrew-during-royal-procession-12695924

14-09-2022, 12:07 PM
Far from silencing protest news broadcasts continue to mention the events on the Royal Mile despite the tiny number of dissenters involved.
Job done I'd say.

14-09-2022, 12:08 PM

Only the second additional bank holiday due to the monarchy. In June the Thursday was the usual last Monday in May BH put back three days and the Friday was the additional day, all done to make a 4 day weekend.

WestStandWillie
14-09-2022, 12:19 PM
Feel sorry for genuine folk who want to pay their respects. There's loads of ghouls who are there for a photo.

A lot of fake grief just for a few likes on those bloody social media sites.

14-09-2022, 12:29 PM
It's madness that they have kept him on in that role. Surely Anne or Edward would be a much better option.

Seemingly they had no choice due to the 1937 Regency Act. It would be up to parliament to pass a new act changing the rules.

https://twitter.com/WromanticHistry/status/1568629099479941121

14-09-2022, 12:38 PM
Why was the young guy wearing a daft jersey with a St George's Cross on it? A few folk saying he is connected to some right wing, EDL type, patriot group (he's clearly Scottish

Here's another tweet which shows him from the other side of the street.

14-09-2022, 12:43 PM
Seemingly they had no choice due to the 1937 Regency Act. It would be up to parliament to pass a new act changing the rules.
And that's not going to happen because we don't have a functioning parliament right now. Between July 22 and October 17, when Parliament had been expected to return, it will only have sat for between 5 and 7 ‘normal’ days in total.

14-09-2022, 12:45 PM
Why was the young guy wearing a daft jersey with a St George's Cross on it? A few folk saying he is connected to some right wing, EDL type, patriot group (he's clearly Scottish

That’s the dude that was shouting yer a dirty old man at Andrew

14-09-2022, 12:46 PM
And that's not going to happen because we don't have functioning parliament right now. Between July 22 and October 17, when Parliament had been expected to return, it will only have sat for between 5 and 7 ‘normal’ days in total.

Imagine. With the exception of 5 days work, you’re given three months off in the summer, then as the nights start to draw in you’re back on your £85k salary making decisions about cutting benefits and disabled living allowances:aok:

14-09-2022, 12:56 PM
I hadn't seen the footage. I now suspect that you're right! [emoji2]Yep, they look more like government minister material, possibly Deputy PM level?

That sort of thing

14-09-2022, 01:36 PM
The horses don’t look too chuffed

He's here!
14-09-2022, 01:47 PM
I think you need to re read the article. It was Andrew who was following the coffin up the street, not the heckler. He was in the same spot, so according your earlier comment, he should just be ignored and not arrested. 👍

Yep, misread it. He should have just been ignored, though if his language was obscene (especially if there were kids around) a word from the police would hopefully have shut him up.

He's here!
14-09-2022, 01:51 PM

Not very respectful.

I was clearly wrong in thinking today's procession up the Mall might see some in the crowd doing so. Not a flag waver in sight, just quiet respect.

14-09-2022, 01:53 PM
The horses don’t look too chuffed

Anti-monarchy protestors that should be arrested!!

14-09-2022, 02:26 PM
Why isn't Harry allowed to wear military uniform? He has served and done more than most of them.

14-09-2022, 02:26 PM
Whoever is commentating right now sounds like he's doing the snooker

14-09-2022, 02:47 PM
Why isn't Harry allowed to wear military uniform? He has served and done more than most of them.

Apparently it's because he's a "non-working royal" :dunno:

I see they're in RAF clobber today. I wonder how they decide? Did they have a ring round last night?

14-09-2022, 03:00 PM
Sorry Ron but he is already in police custody there. I watched a video from further up the high St and the Young guy was at the barrier, he is behind the crowd there.

Best clip I have seen.

https://news-sky-com.cdn.ampproject.org/v/s/news.sky.com/story/amp/man-arrested-after-heckling-prince-andrew-during-royal-procession-12695924?amp_gsa=1&amp_js_v=a9&usqp=mq331AQKKAFQArABIIACAw%3D%3D#amp_tf=From%20%2 51%24s&aoh=16631569953867&referrer=https%3A%2F%2Fwww.google.com&ampshare=https%3A%2F%2Fnews.sky.com%2Fstory%2Fman-arrested-after-heckling-prince-andrew-during-royal-procession-12695924

Yes, I saw the original clip. My post was in response to radges suggestion that they were undercover cops.

The young guy was at the barrier all the time until swiftly pulled to the ground by the workies.

stu in nottingham
14-09-2022, 03:06 PM
Imagine. With the exception of 5 days work, you’re given three months off in the summer, then as the nights start to draw in you’re back on your £85k salary making decisions about cutting benefits and disabled living allowances:aok:

'Living the dream'.

Berwickhibby
14-09-2022, 03:22 PM

Only serving personal or working Royals can wear military uniform, The Royals wearing uniform are Colonel in Chief of Regiments or other Services. Personally I think should be allowed to wear uniform if he chooses.

14-09-2022, 03:24 PM
I was clearly wrong in thinking today's procession up the Mall might see some in the crowd doing so. Not a flag waver in sight, just quiet respect.

It's been pretty impressive to be honest the last few days.
Edinburgh and London are both complete knockouts bathed in September sunshine.

14-09-2022, 03:25 PM
Only serving personal or working Royals can wear military uniform, The Royals wearing uniform are Colonel in Chief of Regiments or other Services. Personally I think should be allowed to wear uniform if he chooses.

Laugh of it is he (and Andrew TBF but let's not go there) have actually served for a decent stretch of time unlike the likes of Edward.

Edit: maybe "serve" and "stretch of time" is unfortunate wording in Andrew's case

14-09-2022, 03:28 PM

Andrew has been given the ok to wear it for a while the day of the funeral, Harry hasn't, says all you need to know

14-09-2022, 03:29 PM
Andrew has been given the ok to wear it for a while the day of the funeral, Harry hasn't, says all you need to know

Seems an odd decision. The length of the mourning period is frankly ridiculous

14-09-2022, 03:32 PM

It's just staunch!

Seemingly he can wear it as a "special mark of respect to the queen" can't remember if it's the vigil or funeral but it's been given the ok

Didn't know you could only wear it while serving. Thought if you had served you could dtill wear it on certain occasions.

14-09-2022, 03:33 PM
It's just staunch!

Indeed

14-09-2022, 03:34 PM
Seemingly he can wear it as a "special mark of respect to the queen" can't remember if it's the vigil or funeral but it's been given the ok

Special mark of respect to the Queen sounds like could be a catch all for anything

14-09-2022, 03:37 PM
Didn't know you could only wear it while serving. Thought if you had served you could dtill wear it on certain occasions.

No, that's why you see the old codgers wearing blazers with their military headdress on remembrance day for example.

Stairway 2 7
14-09-2022, 03:46 PM
Pageantry of it is OK if they admit it's ridiculous and a bit of nonsensical fun, like Morris dancing or kilts and ceilidhs. When they take it seriously its a nonsense a bit like the church.

Most hilarious thing is catholics I know taking the piss out of it, then on a Sunday drinking the blood of christ from a celibate man in daft clothes and jewellery.

People need to get into this century and stop arguing about daft things

14-09-2022, 03:54 PM
Special mark of respect to the Queen sounds like could be a catch all for anything

Or if the King just says so.

14-09-2022, 03:58 PM

Melbourne City FC isn’t it?

https://images.app.goo.gl/4VZbuETXSqswR1Gq8

14-09-2022, 04:03 PM

I'm pleased for you.

14-09-2022, 04:12 PM
Pageantry of it is OK if they admit it's ridiculous and a bit of nonsensical fun, like Morris dancing or kilts and ceilidhs. When they take it seriously its a nonsense a bit like the church.

Most hilarious thing is catholics I know taking the piss out of it, then on a Sunday drinking the blood of christ from a celibate man in daft clothes and jewellery.

People need to get into this century and stop arguing about daft things

Actually, it's the eucharist. Only the priest imbibes the wine :na na:

Stairway 2 7
14-09-2022, 04:20 PM
Actually, it's the eucharist. Only the priest imbibes the wine :na na:

Even sillier then. Body of christ aye no bother ha

14-09-2022, 04:25 PM
Even sillier then. Body of christ aye no bother ha

Anybody who doesn't believe a wafer can turn into God must be extremely cynical. I suppose you're one of those scientific types :greengrin

Berwickhibby
14-09-2022, 04:51 PM

Nah, if you look at armistice events etc, ex Service personnel wear blazer, with regimental badge, regimental tie, beret/headress and medals

He's here!
14-09-2022, 07:04 PM
No, that's why you see the old codgers wearing blazers with their military headdress on remembrance day for example.

The tailcoats the non serving family members wore looked odd. A standard suit would be better.

14-09-2022, 07:26 PM
God Save The Queue

14-09-2022, 11:09 PM
Owning the lunatic with the haircut of a ten-year-old:

https://youtu.be/BnvXWuAZATM

CyberSauzee
15-09-2022, 08:08 AM
God Save The Queue

And the facist portaloo

15-09-2022, 08:43 AM
I pay for regular treatment for a (previous job related) back problem, as I can't get this on the NHS.

It's now more of a preventative measure and if I miss an appointment it doesn't have any repercussions until around a week later, from which point I usually have to take extremely strong painkillers.

I got a phone call from the clinic yesterday, as my appointment was scheduled for... you've guessed it... Monday 19th. At this point they're unsure as to when they'll be able to reschedule, as they're very busy.

Oh well, I'll just spend the next few weeks popping painkillers, mourning the loss of our wonderful sovereign and remember my place in our glorious class system.

15-09-2022, 09:41 AM
I pay for regular treatment for a (previous job related) back problem, as I can't get this on the NHS.

It's now more of a preventative measure and if I miss an appointment it doesn't have any repercussions until around a week later, from which point I usually have to take extremely strong painkillers.

I got a phone call from the clinic yesterday, as my appointment was scheduled for... you've guessed it... Monday 19th. At this point they're unsure as to when they'll be able to reschedule, as they're very busy.

Oh well, I'll just spend the next few weeks popping painkillers, mourning the loss of our wonderful sovereign and remember my place in our glorious class system.

These kind of closures make no sense to me. In most cases are the management staunch monarchists, or is there a fear of being out of step with the prevailing ‘National mood’? I can’t believe it’s just simply because they fancy giving their staff some time off and lose income at a time when millions are worrying about how to pay their bills.

15-09-2022, 09:43 AM
And the facist portaloo

😂😂😂

15-09-2022, 09:45 AM
These kind of closures make no sense to me. In most cases are the management staunch monarchists, or is there a fear of being out of step with the prevailing ‘National mood’? I can’t believe it’s just simply because they fancy giving their staff some time off and lose income at a time when millions are worrying about how to pay their bills.
I was surprised to get an email from my opticians - who I see once every two years - telling me they would be closed on Monday.

15-09-2022, 10:00 AM
These kind of closures make no sense to me. In most cases are the management staunch monarchists, or is there a fear of being out of step with the prevailing ‘National mood’? I can’t believe it’s just simply because they fancy giving their staff some time off and lose income at a time when millions are worrying about how to pay their bills.I guess a lot of them just fancy the holiday, or are wary of appearing not to toe the line when a very large group are more overt and vocal.

15-09-2022, 10:08 AM
Don't they usually close on bank holidays?

15-09-2022, 10:28 AM
And the facist portaloo[emoji6]

15-09-2022, 10:39 AM
I was surprised to get an email from my opticians - who I see once every two years

But how often do you go? :greengrin

15-09-2022, 10:43 AM
But how often do you go? :greengrin:rolleyes:

15-09-2022, 11:21 AM
Just read the whole of this thread ... I now know my place :greengrin

15-09-2022, 01:40 PM

15-09-2022, 02:08 PM

15-09-2022, 02:13 PM
I was surprised to get an email from my opticians - who I see once every two years - telling me they would be closed on Monday.

Bet you never saw that coming.

15-09-2022, 02:13 PM
Just had a terrible thought. Should one be so disposed, what does one go off to Dublin in now? Some bling? :dunno:

OldEast
15-09-2022, 02:16 PM
Just had a terrible thought. Should one be so disposed, what does one go off to Dublin in now? Some bling? :dunno:

In the spring?

15-09-2022, 02:20 PM
In the spring?

Yeah, that works! :aok:

Meanwhile, it's nice to have your prejudices symmetrically reinforced - https://twitter.com/Nigel_Farage/status/1570171571280437249?s=20&t=dZX1U5nf4wrWyDW_ghxmbQ

15-09-2022, 03:26 PM
Bet you never saw that coming.

Stairway 2 7
15-09-2022, 03:57 PM
13% of nutters say its OK to kick out guests

@YouGov
·
6h
% saying it is right to do in reaction to the Queen's death

Close schools: 77%