View Full Version : Sportscene 22/23

Pages : 1 2 3 [4] 5

05-02-2023, 08:39 AM
They freezed the picture for their equalizer and Shankland is the closest player to the goal and he's just offside. Not much in it at all but looks to be marginally off. No lines up, just the comment 'you can see he's not offside'.

It's crazy to think we have been awful and they have been good in the league yet there's 8 points between us. VAR robbed us of 2 at Ross County and clear penalty St Mirren at Tynecastle in last minute 1 nil down - 2 obvious VAR decisions and it could easily have been 4 points.

I think, not just VAR, but wrong VAR has cost us more - handball at ibrox and at least draw the match. Soft penalty for Killie and VAR offside against us less than Shankland off last night.

If it wasn't solely for bad VAR calls we could have been level or there about with them. Not to say we have been as good or we are better than them - we are not. The 2 derbies proved that. In terms of where we are in the league though it's fine margins, with those margins being corrupt

Really annoyed me was well they said Shankland's goal has taken a 'slight nick'. Went from being a routine save to unstoppable.

The choice of language and focus on certain incidents does tend to be very kind to them.

05-02-2023, 08:56 AM
Describing Youan's excellent goal as a 'toe poke'. Phuds.

It was... and it was intentional. Don't see the issue

BS44
05-02-2023, 09:05 AM
Yogi Hughes had a wee family tiff with Alan Preston on Sportsound yesterday, didn't hear full conversation but Hughes wasn't happy that his cousin Preston hadn't mentioned him as one of the candidates for the Aberdeen manager!

05-02-2023, 09:15 AM
It was... and it was intentional. Don't see the issue
It wasn’t a toe poke.

05-02-2023, 09:25 AM
It wasn’t a toe poke.

100% was a toe poke

05-02-2023, 09:28 AM
Yogi Hughes had a wee family tiff with Alan Preston on Sportsound yesterday, didn't hear full conversation but Hughes wasn't happy that his cousin Preston hadn't mentioned him as one of the candidates for the Aberdeen manager!

He was miffed because Preston and Miller had been asked to mention candidates they rated and thought might be considered. Hughes was continually bigging himself up at every opportunity. He was quite embarrassing.

05-02-2023, 09:37 AM
He was miffed because Preston and Miller had been asked to mention candidates they rated and thought might be considered. Hughes was continually bigging himself up at every opportunity. He was quite embarrassing.

Why would Yogi think his recent record would make him a candidate?

05-02-2023, 09:40 AM
He did use his toe but that wasn't a poke. More like toe-power.

05-02-2023, 09:41 AM
I am amazed that they didn't focus on Campbell's booking yesterday. Thought it might have been a red rather than yellow.
Usually the type of thing both them and VAR hang us out to dry for.

Cat Stanton
05-02-2023, 11:30 AM
The Hearts producer and his control room team there getting themselves in a fanlkle and playing Hibs game by mistake as second last instead of their usual last place slot.:greengrin

Was on first last week...

05-02-2023, 11:44 AM
It was!!

Outside of his right foot - not a toe poke. Not that it matters greatly as it ended up in the net!

05-02-2023, 12:00 PM
I am amazed that they didn't focus on Campbell's booking yesterday. Thought it might have been a red rather than yellow.

Yeah it looked a bad one but can only assume from another angle it wasn’t nearly as bad as it looked on first viewing.

05-02-2023, 12:34 PM
They freezed the picture for their equalizer and Shankland is the closest player to the goal and he's just offside. Not much in it at all but looks to be marginally off. No lines up, just the comment 'you can see he's not offside'.

It's crazy to think we have been awful and they have been good in the league yet there's 8 points between us. VAR robbed us of 2 at Ross County and clear penalty St Mirren at Tynecastle in last minute 1 nil down - 2 obvious VAR decisions and it could easily have been 4 points.

I think, not just VAR, but wrong VAR has cost us more - handball at ibrox and at least draw the match. Soft penalty for Killie and VAR offside against us less than Shankland off last night.

If it wasn't solely for bad VAR calls we could have been level or there about with them. Not to say we have been as good or we are better than them - we are not. The 2 derbies proved that. In terms of where we are in the league though it's fine margins, with those margins being corrupt
Watched it this morning. When the ball is crossed Shankland is definitely offside so how VAR ruled him onside I don't know.

05-02-2023, 12:57 PM
Describing Youan's excellent goal as a 'toe poke'. Phuds.

BBC Said the same about Dave Narey vs Brasil in 1982. Still a beautiful goal though.

05-02-2023, 01:05 PM
BBC Said the same about Dave Narey vs Brasil in 1982. Still a beautiful goal though.

Yeah, that’s what it reminded me of. I’m old enough to remember watching that game as well!

A toe poke to me suggests a lack of technique but I’m not going to argue if people think otherwise.

05-02-2023, 01:15 PM
Yeah, that’s what it reminded me of. I’m old enough to remember watching that game as well!

A toe poke to me suggests a lack of technique but I’m not going to argue if people think otherwise.

I think it is used to suggest a lack of technique often. In this case you can turn it round to mock who says it, in this case Jimmy Hill, as being a bit of a graceless dick :greengrin A goals a goal, no matter how you bunches up your toes to make the connection with the ball.

My favourite toe poke;
https://m.youtube.com/watch?v=iCbmPFP9J4k

05-02-2023, 01:23 PM
I think it is used to suggest a lack of technique often. In this case you can turn it round to mock who says it, in this case Jimmy Hill, as being a bit of a graceless dick :greengrin A goals a goal, no matter how you bunches up your toes to make the connection with the ball.

My favourite toe poke;

I raise you Ronaldinho's toe poke vs Chelsea

05-02-2023, 01:27 PM

My favourite toe poke;

A toe poke is the type of kick you would see a youngster without any skill perform. The Youan and Narey goals displayed outstanding technique for type of kick that was called for in the respective situations.

05-02-2023, 01:30 PM
I raise you Ronaldinho's toe poke vs Chelsea

Ooo yeah. Just watched that, almost a soft toe-poke, very unusual.

05-02-2023, 01:34 PM
If any youngsters looking in are wondering what we’re talking about, here is Scotland vs one of the greatest teams of all time in 1982. Nareys goal 0:59 in. I wonder what ‘toe poke’ is in Portuguese…

https://youtu.be/x-lgJhIa8WA

05-02-2023, 01:41 PM
If any youngsters looking in are wondering what we’re talking about, here is Scotland vs one of the greatest teams of all time in 1982. Nareys goal 0:59 in. I wonder what ‘toe poke’ is in Portuguese…

https://youtu.be/x-lgJhIa8WA

And a proper celebration from Narey. :wink:

05-02-2023, 01:43 PM

He looks like he’s putting up some shelves.

05-02-2023, 01:45 PM

That goal just pissed them off lol. What a team, Socrates and Falcao were just magnificent footballers.

05-02-2023, 01:53 PM
Outside of his right foot - not a toe poke. Not that it matters greatly as it ended up in the net!

Was pretty much right in front of me, was a toe poke, agree it doesn't really matter but not sure why folk take exception to players scoring and calling it a toe poke

05-02-2023, 02:06 PM
He looks like he’s putting up some shelves.

Reaching for the Hobnobs.

05-02-2023, 02:49 PM
Yeah it looked a bad one but can only assume from another angle it wasn’t nearly as bad as it looked on first viewing.

its hard to tell as there wasn’t much made of it or rshown, but I thought it looked like Campbell’s thigh makes contact rather than his boot/foot/studs, and it’s Watt’s momentum that causes him to tumble over. Would have been interesting to see other angles

05-02-2023, 03:04 PM

The commentator got a bit excited about it, almost shouting 'that was reckless surely' ( I paraphrase). His clear inference was that it should have been a red but given reckless = a yellow, all it did was confirm our commentators are as incompetent as our refs!

hibeejeebies
05-02-2023, 05:40 PM
Why is a toe poke considered an inferior action? Genuine question 🤷🏻

05-02-2023, 05:49 PM

That’s the point I was making above. There are situations where there is no room or time or in the right position to hit the ball conventionally with the top of the foot. In the case of Narey and Youan, they cleverly realised the ‘toe poke’ was the best option. The clowns on Sportscene, (professionals :rolleyes:) should have had the saavy to realise that.

05-02-2023, 06:06 PM
Watched it this morning. When the ball is crossed Shankland is definitely offside so how VAR ruled him onside I don't know.

Yeah I’ve yet to seen any photos with the lines drawn. A system administered by people who regularly show themselves to be incompetent but we’re meant to accept that offsides are factual

05-02-2023, 06:26 PM
Of course they've also muddied the waters re offside with the daft ruling that if a defender touches the ball when not sure if a player is offside it plays him onside. The defender is supposed to let the ball past him and trust he's got it right.

05-02-2023, 06:31 PM

Messi or Ronaldo does it and it’s genius, a player in Scotland does it and it’s a different story.

05-02-2023, 06:46 PM
Motherwell, jeez they’re really in the ****.

05-02-2023, 06:50 PM
Motherwell, jeez they’re really in the ****.

Wouldn't mind seeing them relegated , Or Killie again , Don't think Motherwell have been down in my lifetime ! Punching for years

05-02-2023, 06:53 PM
Wouldn't mind seeing them relegated , Or Killie again , Don't think Motherwell have been down in my lifetime ! Punching for years

Couldn’t give a **** about Killie, don’t mind Motherwell as a club though.

05-02-2023, 06:56 PM

Other than the OF, Hearts and Aberdeen there are no teams in the league that I want to go down. It's a shame I'll be disappointed!

05-02-2023, 06:59 PM

Last time they were in the 2nd tier was 1985-86. About time they had a wee adventure :greengrin

05-02-2023, 07:34 PM

Any team with a plastic pitch can **** off down to the championship as far as I'm concerned.

05-02-2023, 08:37 PM
I've not read comments yesterday on this thread and am just watching Sportscene now, so sure this has been said but if so it deserves to be said many times - Livi v Killie????? Amateur hour. BBC just dialing in their Scottish fitba coverage.

And who is McGaedie?

05-02-2023, 09:01 PM
Like the boy who did the comms for the Livi game though.

05-02-2023, 09:08 PM
Any team with a plastic pitch can **** off down to the championship as far as I'm concerned.

Absolutely. Diddy club stuff.

Should be a requirement of a professional club.

HarpOnHibee
05-02-2023, 09:10 PM

A professional club should be able to play on a plastic pitch, instead of using it as an excuse for a piss poor performance.

05-02-2023, 10:13 PM
‘Great to see Lewis beat Pat Stanton’s record’

Neil McCann

It was Arthur Duncan’s record of most League appearances for the club

They are not really interested in Hibs are they?

No due diligence or even a wee bit research

No respect

I suppose he did beat Pat Stanton as well ��

05-02-2023, 10:14 PM

If Killie go down this season, then the rest of the clubs have to take the chance to implement a ban on plastic pitches in the Top Flight, the pitches at Rugby Park and Almondvale are not conducive to good-looking football

05-02-2023, 10:18 PM
‘Great to see Lewis beat Pat Stanton’s record’

Neil McCann

It was Arthur Duncan’s record of most League appearances for the club

They are not really interested in Hibs are they?

No due diligence or even a wee bit research

No respect

I suppose he did beat Pat Stanton as well ��

Aye. Another shocker in one show.

Arth@talk
06-02-2023, 10:34 PM
And Michael Stewart yesterday. 'Hearts have been in the last three SC finals but did not win it.' He must have known that St J and Hibs contested the final in that time frame and StJ won it.
Maybe is's a wind-up with a deliberate mistake and I've fallen for it.

06-02-2023, 11:16 PM

I was thinking the same the other day - Motherwell's record of Premier League survival has been impressive over my years on this Earth too. I started watching football in the late 70s and in all that time I'm pretty sure Motherwell have been the only team to have remained in the top flight outwith Aberdeen and Celtic - quite an achievement then! They have probably been in Europe almost as often as us over that time FFS - despite being a smaller club. I'm sure that period has included at least one bankrupcy event though - and if I'm not mistaken they were saved by reconstruction once(?). So Yes - a genuine bunch of flukey *******s and woud be greatly amused to see them go down :cb

Broxburn Greens
07-02-2023, 07:10 AM
If Killie go down this season, then the rest of the clubs have to take the chance to implement a ban on plastic pitches in the Top Flight, the pitches at Rugby Park and Almondvale are not conducive to good-looking football

Don’t think it’s as easy as that now since the creation of the SPFL which merged the SPL & SFL so I’m pretty sure the lower leagues get a vote on it as well.

I’m also sure that it was tried before but the Owner of Hamilton managed to “bully” some of the smaller clubs into supporting plastic pitches.

That’s a pretty vague recollection mind so could be wrong.

07-02-2023, 07:36 AM
A professional club should be able to play on a plastic pitch, instead of using it as an excuse for a piss poor performance.

Disagree entirely. Plastic pitches change games, bounce off the ball and are a bigger injury risk for players.

Teams with plastic pitches can learn their pitch and train on it regularly to give them an unfair advantage.

And they’re terrible for the environment.

07-02-2023, 08:43 AM

While you can say people may use the plastic pitch as an excuse for a poor performance, it has to be acknowledged that there are rarely any good games of football on one. Certainly on the any of the ones we’ve had in Scotland at least.

hibby rae
07-02-2023, 08:51 AM
While you can say people may use the plastic pitch as an excuse for a poor performance, it has to be acknowledged that there are rarely any good games of football on one. Certainly on the any of the ones we’ve had in Scotland at least.

Best game I've seen all season was Edinburgh vs Alloa 4-3!

It had everything.

HarpOnHibee
07-02-2023, 09:03 AM
Disagree entirely. Plastic pitches change games, bounce off the ball and are a bigger injury risk for players.

Teams with plastic pitches can learn their pitch and train on it regularly to give them an unfair advantage.

But if a team is training on a plastic pitch regularly, would that not then disadvantage them on a non-plastic pitch when playing away from home? Also, what is to prevent other clubs from adopting some plastic pitch training into their program?

I'm personally not a fan of plastic pitches either. But a professional club should be able to deal with them when necessary in my opinion. We may not like the rules that allow these pitches, but they are the rules.

Musselbound
07-02-2023, 09:31 AM
I've not read comments yesterday on this thread and am just watching Sportscene now, so sure this has been said but if so it deserves to be said many times - Livi v Killie????? Amateur hour. BBC just dialing in their Scottish fitba coverage.

And who is McGaedie?

I've also heard John Collins pronouncing McGeady that way. But as he still thinks we have a "Nesbit" in our team I wouldn't trust his insider knowledge.

07-02-2023, 04:45 PM
And Michael Stewart yesterday. 'Hearts have been in the last three SC finals but did not win it.' He must have known that St J and Hibs contested the final in that time frame and StJ won it.

He also hertz need a couple of midfielders . Obviously 12 ain't enough

07-02-2023, 06:36 PM

I agree that they should be dumped but there have been several investigations into the risk factor and they found no cause for concern on that front.

Arth@talk
07-02-2023, 08:13 PM

Sorry. Went over this again on iplayer. He was accurate after all -
To be fair to him, he presented favourable stats about Hibs and recent LC and SC semi and finals on last year's programme (unlike one of his co-pundits who got it all wrong).
'Hearts have been in 3 of the last 4 SC finals' is what he said on Sunday night's show.

08-02-2023, 08:42 AM
I know this isn’t a Sportscene production but it’s BBC Jambo fawning over Doctor Budge again.

https://www.bbc.co.uk/sport/football/64554917

Do you know she spent £2.5 million of her own money buy HoMFC out of administration and then signed her shares over to Foundation of Hearts ?

No mention that FoH repaid the £2.5 million plus 6% or something interest on top.

The Budge love in continues , never mind the new stand shambles, relegation, suing the Scottish League etc.

08-02-2023, 09:08 AM
But if a team is training on a plastic pitch regularly, would that not then disadvantage them on a non-plastic pitch when playing away from home? Also, what is to prevent other clubs from adopting some plastic pitch training into their program?

I'm personally not a fan of plastic pitches either. But a professional club should be able to deal with them when necessary in my opinion. We may not like the rules that allow these pitches, but they are the rules.

Not really because they can play on grass and on astro, but the astro they play on is their own and its not very often they come across another astro pitch they're not used to. For example, Livingston play Kilmarnock 4 times, twice on their own and twice on Kilmarnocks. 2 games on a pitch they aren't "used" to. We play both teams 8 times, 4 times on pitches we aren't "used" to. So 4 games a season we have to play at a disadvantage, whereas Livi and Kilmarnock play ALL their home games on pitches they are "used" to, that other teams are not.

I think with grass there are fewer variables and there's less opportunities for home clubs to "learn" their pitch because they can't train on as it will wear it down quicker. Most pitches will be worn in the winter and in far better nick at the start and towards the end of the season and that's a pattern that repeats across top flight stadiums. Top flight is relevant because generally the stadiums are a lot bigger and the pitches get less light.

Brunswickbill
11-02-2023, 04:15 PM
Sportsound before the kick off. Do you see any shock results today? Pundits -No I don’t think so.

11-02-2023, 04:47 PM
Sportsound before the kick off. Do you see any shock results today? Pundits -No I don’t think so.

You could replace them all with sacks of spuds with faces drawn on them and would get better insight a d analysis!

It's a race to the bottom as to who looks and sounds the most glaikit and inbred of the bunch

11-02-2023, 06:44 PM
You could replace them all with sacks of spuds with faces drawn on them and would get better insight a d analysis!

It's a race to the bottom as to who looks and sounds the most glaikit and inbred of the bunchhttps://images.app.goo.gl/E3xnLnmiQqppWeMQ7

Sent from my SM-A127F using Tapatalk

12-02-2023, 01:21 PM

It's a race to the bottom as to who looks and sounds the most glaikit and inbred of the bunch
Ignorant shower of berks.

12-02-2023, 02:14 PM
Noticed on the highlights of the Livvie game their top scorer Bruce Anderson went down injured with no one else near him?
Could be twisted himself on their turf, but had to go off and was replaced!
Maybe that will help change their minds about their pitch!!!!

12-02-2023, 03:09 PM
John Beaton showing what a poor Ref he truly is giving a pen for an innocuous shove that no one else saw at Somerset Park

Welcome to our world

12-02-2023, 03:17 PM
How does Simon Donnelly get a gig as a pundit?

12-02-2023, 03:27 PM

The goblin that is Alex Rae did so I suppose anything is possible

12-02-2023, 05:21 PM

He is part of the ***** BBC Weegie clique

14-02-2023, 06:20 PM

Easy , He played for celtic , He can have the input and the personality of a slug but he's played for one of the Bigots

18-02-2023, 07:57 PM
The Killie red was a bit harsh, I don’t think the lad had any intent at all, but quite how McFadden manages to make it sound like cabraja is somehow the one to the blame is beyond me

whatever way you slice it, no player expects to get kicked in the head/neck when going for a header at head height

TheCabbage
18-02-2023, 08:09 PM
Noticed on the highlights of the Livvie game their top scorer Bruce Anderson went down injured with no one else near him?

No chance. Claim they can’t afford a grass pitch

winker
19-02-2023, 08:39 AM

19-02-2023, 08:42 AM

Rubbish.

GreenGray
19-02-2023, 08:48 AM
Sportscene managed to make our game look even some how

19-02-2023, 08:49 AM
The Killie red was a bit harsh, I don’t think the lad had any intent at all, but quite how McFadden manages to make it sound like cabraja is somehow the one to the blame is beyond me

whatever way you slice it, no player expects to get kicked in the head/neck when going for a header at head height

Yeah, he said Cabraja moved his head towards the Killie guys boot and no mention that the boot should have been nowhere near head height.

Probs get the red card rescinded on appeal as the BBC pundits have deemed it a mistake.

OstKurve Hibs
19-02-2023, 08:53 AM
James McFadden, lol, another biased bbc tart !

19-02-2023, 09:02 AM
I didn’t even think it was a yellow at the game. Seeing the footage, it probably was a red card. No idea how you could blame Cabraja though.

19-02-2023, 09:23 AM

Yep, Killie had 3 shots on target and they showed them all plus one which was deflected yards wide. :confused:

Rumble de Thump
19-02-2023, 09:26 AM
If you stick your boot in someone's face at head height with studs up don't be surprised if you get a red card.

Victor
19-02-2023, 09:36 AM

Don’t watch Sportscene very often and now I know why. The lead presenter introduced our game with all the enthusiasm of a turkey at a Christmas dinner and it all went downhill after that. The ‘analysis’ consisted of an in depth look at the red card finishing with the insightful conclusion that it had a major impact on the outcome of the game (despite the fact that Hibs were 2 goals up with 22 minutes to play). There was no mention of how well Hibs had played and everything was downbeat. Desperately amateur show and an embarrassment. The analysis on Hibs.net is less biased.

19-02-2023, 09:39 AM
If you stick your boot in someone's face at head height with studs up don't be surprised if you get a red card.

Not really what happened though was it

Rumble de Thump
19-02-2023, 09:39 AM
Not really what happened though was it

Exactly what happened.

19-02-2023, 09:42 AM
Exactly what happened.

Not what you typed out that's for sure, but I'm sure you know that already

19-02-2023, 09:45 AM
Seeing it back I think the Killie boy is unlucky as he is definitely just trying to control the ball. That being said I can see why it was given as a red. I think the reactions from both players says a lot. Cabraja didn't really complain about the challenge and Vassell didn't really complain about the red card

19-02-2023, 10:03 AM
It was a high boot and reckless, challenging for the ball or not. It’s lucky Cabraja wasn’t caught in the face. I think a yellow would have been sufficient but can also understand why it’s a red.

DM’s comments were bizarre.

19-02-2023, 10:12 AM

They can’t afford a grass pitch.

19-02-2023, 10:12 AM
So the ‘analysis’ involved both hun pundits mentioning we were ‘lucky’ or ‘luck went Hibs way’ and the sending off with 20 mins to go when we were 2-0 up, had a ‘massive impact’ on the game.

vuefrom1875
19-02-2023, 10:20 AM

He's a fan##!

19-02-2023, 10:37 AM

Must be a Sky sports tart too.

19-02-2023, 10:56 AM
So there must be a rule that if the ball is head height a Hibs must stand back and not header it in case his opponent chooses to have his foot in the way.

Sent from my SM-A528B using Tapatalk

19-02-2023, 11:04 AM
So there must be a rule that if the ball is head height a Hibs must stand back and not header it in case his opponent chooses to have his foot in the way.

Sent from my SM-A528B using Tapatalk

Mental eh?

The responsibility is on the Killie player to understand that a ball that high would likely be contested by sometime trying to head out and therefore he shouldn't put his boot that high.

I said it wasn't even a booking at the time, but could understand why the ref gave the yellow, so wouldn't have complained too much about it had it been us.

When I watched it on Sportscene, I can see why the ref has given the red card but again if he'd decided it was a yellow , I don't think I would have complained either.

Basically I find myself being able to see why the referee could have decided to have given just the foul, the yellow card, or the red card based on how the wording of the rule can be interpreted.

GreenGray
19-02-2023, 11:29 AM
Don’t watch Sportscene very often and now I know why. The lead presenter introduced our game with all the enthusiasm of a turkey at a Christmas dinner and it all went downhill after that. The ‘analysis’ consisted of an in depth look at the red card finishing with the insightful conclusion that it had a major impact on the outcome of the game (despite the fact that Hibs were 2 goals up with 22 minutes to play). There was no mention of how well Hibs had played and everything was downbeat. Desperately amateur show and an embarrassment. The analysis on Hibs.net is less biased.

It’s very poor, going from match of the day to that is something else. The production quality is night and day.

Doesn’t even sound like the commentators are actually at the games on sportscene, so unenthusiastic as well.

19-02-2023, 12:32 PM
Why are we surprised at this. Do we expect anything else from that mob? You could write down what they will say about us before the programme even starts

We could go out and win 5-0 with every playing being superb but they’d still find the negatives.

19-02-2023, 12:39 PM
How can you watch a show on a subject you are massively enthusiastic about, a show that in it's own interest should show that subject in the best light possible and promote it as a sport and still feel downbeat after watching it :dunno:

Thomson couldn't be more wooden if he was made out of MDF and the show just looks so cobbled together, you see better production values on Tik Tok. The whole thing needs a massive shake up, it's so bloody poor and projects such a lack of enthusiasm and positivity that far from promoting Scottish football it near enough causes it damage.

It's biggest fault is it's pandering to the Ugly Sisters support ..... In a weekend where Hibs and Dundee United might have produced a thriller won by the odd goal in 5 the first games up would still be Celtic 4 Ross County 0 followed by Aberdeen 0 Rangers 1 and the first two games would share 25 minutes of highlights followed by 10 minutes of analysis each with the Hibs match getting 7 minutes ............. can you imagine that happening on Match of the day?

As for our game, as another poster pointed out the highlights were edited in such a way as to make it look like an end to end thriller, which I sort of get because for the neutral it probably made the highlights more entertaining if they didn't know the score. But it was the analysis afterwards that was so utterly poor, that is the point where viewers should get a true picture of the game .... IE a game that in reality Hibs utterly dominated with some excellent play in the first half and where the sending off perversely probably saved Killie from a bigger loss as Hibs much to my annoyance took their foot off the gas.

ALBA do a better job on half the money in a language I can't even speak.

Victor
19-02-2023, 01:26 PM
How can you watch a show on a subject you are massively enthusiastic about, a show that in it's own interest should show that subject in the best light possible and promote it as a sport and still feel downbeat after watching it :dunno:

Thomson couldn't be more wooden if he was made out of MDF and the show just looks so cobbled together, you see better production values on Tik Tok. The whole thing needs a massive shake up, it's so bloody poor and projects such a lack of enthusiasm and positivity that far from promoting Scottish football it near enough causes it damage.

It's biggest fault is it's pandering to the Ugly Sisters support ..... In a weekend where Hibs and Dundee United might have produced a thriller won by the odd goal in 5 the first games up would still be Celtic 4 Ross County 0 followed by Aberdeen 0 Rangers 1 and the first two games would share 25 minutes of highlights followed by 10 minutes of analysis each with the Hibs match getting 7 minutes ............. can you imagine that happening on Match of the day?

As for our game, as another poster pointed out the highlights were edited in such a way as to make it look like an end to end thriller, which I sort of get because for the neutral it probably made the highlights more entertaining if they didn't know the score. But it was the analysis afterwards that was so utterly poor, that is the point where viewers should get a true picture of the game .... IE a game that in reality Hibs utterly dominated with some excellent play in the first half and where the sending off perversely probably saved Killie from a bigger loss as Hibs much to my annoyance took their foot off the gas.

ALBA do a better job on half the money in a language I can't even speak.

Couldn’t agree more. The main problem is that the ‘presenters’ cannot see beyond their own allegiances and Hearts. Although everyone knows where the likes of Ian Wright, Alan Shearer and Gary Lineker’s allegiances lie, they don’t allow this to colour their analysis of other clubs performances. Compare this with the biased drivel that the Sportscene ‘experts’ spout and you can see where the problem is rooted. In addition they all seem to have an innate hatred of Hibs!

19-02-2023, 01:45 PM
It’s very poor, going from match of the day to that is something else. The production quality is night and day.

Doesn’t even sound like the commentators are actually at the games on sportscene, so unenthusiastic as well.

they probably aren’t. Highlights packages are often ‘re-commentated’ on, it provides (allegedly :greengrin) a coherent narrative, rather than comments made that refer to things not shown or in-match discussions amongst the commentary team. It’s often not even the same commentator. Same applies during live broadcast games then highlights shown later

19-02-2023, 01:52 PM

That's some first post after all these years. :greengrin

19-02-2023, 01:57 PM
Watched it last night and more than half the show is taken up by the OF, that leaves 25 mins to show highlights from the other 3 games with analysis inbetween. On our game it looked like it was fairly even but it was seemingly anything but going by the stats and what the boys on here were saying, shows you what editing can do.

Nutmegged
19-02-2023, 03:37 PM
There was important games all through the division yesterday, the Livi/Rangers game should've went on last.

I get Celtic/Aberdeen starting the show, highest attended game in Britain amd in Scottish terms two big names so got no issue with that, the fact Celtic are top of the League just makes it more relevent, but then tou have us and a Killie and Dundee Utd/St Johnstone, given where United are and the fact its a derby of somesorts plus the way the game developed I could agree with that going on second, then us chasing 4th and then St Mirren/County before ending with Rangers.

Plus it makes sense if you want as many viewers as possible leave one of the biggest fantases to the end and they'll more than likely watch it all.

Match of the Day usually don't decide on their running order until the games are finished, if both Celtic and Rangers play on the Saturday you can practically guarantee they'll be first and second regardless of how their games go.

19-02-2023, 05:15 PM
Andrew Smith previewing the league cup final in Scotland on Sunday says that a downside of the 50/50 attendance split is it allows both sets of supporters full rein for their sectarian filth/songbook.He finds it dispiriting that this is woven into one of Scotland’s supposed sporting spectacles.
When I hear that one of the numpties on Sportscene has spoken out in the same way then I may watch it again.I won’t hold my breath.

Trinity Hibee
19-02-2023, 06:56 PM
Anyone see omeonga’s 2 yellow cards? You can’t tell me an old firm player would be sent off for those? Just downright shocking. Ref couldn’t wait to get the cards out.

Not convinced other teams would have got the penalty rangers got either

19-02-2023, 07:11 PM
Robbie looks like he has just been let out of Saughton for the weekend.

19-02-2023, 07:16 PM
Anyone see omeonga’s 2 yellow cards? You can’t tell me an old firm player would be sent off for those? Just downright shocking. Ref couldn’t wait to get the cards out.

Agree
VAR is becoming a nonsense.

19-02-2023, 07:24 PM

Very similar situation in the Utd vs St Johnstone match where Fletcher is getting his shirt pulled as he goes for a header. No penalty after a second look by VAR. Not discussed in their analysis segment funnily enough.

19-02-2023, 08:09 PM
Why did United have the 83 team on yesterday? They didn't win the league in February that year. Is there a better explanation than, if they waited until the proper anniversary there'd be no home crowd?

19-02-2023, 08:30 PM
Robbie looks like he has just been let out of Saughton for the weekend.

All that money and can't get a decent haircut, he looks like a jakey everytime I see him.

19-02-2023, 09:27 PM
If a foul is committed in the run up to a goal, hell if a player's backside is an inch offside in the build up to a goal, VAR kills the goal. How come the Hearts boy didn't get sent off for denying a goal scoring opportunity before Well scored their second?

19-02-2023, 09:47 PM
If a foul is committed in the run up to a goal, hell if a player's backside is an inch offside in the build up to a goal, VAR kills the goal. How come the Hearts boy didn't get sent off for denying a goal scoring opportunity before Well scored their second?
I guess advantage is played and they scored. Ironically If they hadn’t then the penalty would have been given and he would have walked.

19-02-2023, 09:57 PM
I guess advantage is played and they scored. Ironically If they hadn’t then the penalty would have been given and he would have walked.

Playing advantage doesn't let the player off with the foul. Hearts, as always, got lucky there

19-02-2023, 10:04 PM
Playing advantage doesn't let the player off with the foul. Hearts, as always, got lucky there
Yes but the goal was scored so he didn’t stop it. It just became a run of the mill foul in the build up.

19-02-2023, 10:22 PM
Yes but the goal was scored so he didn’t stop it. It just became a run of the mill foul in the build up.

Boooooooooooo

19-02-2023, 10:23 PM
Boooooooooooo
Agreed:greengrin

Cat Stanton
19-02-2023, 10:32 PM
To say something positive about sportscene (just for the hell of it), I'm quite impressed with Amy Irons (no, not in a sleezy fashion): she's very natural at presenting, and seems to do it without any notes. For marked contrast, see any episode of the programme with Stephen Thomson at the helm.

I remember her Dad playing for various clubs - chiefly Clydebank, for some weird reason.

CropleyisGod
20-02-2023, 01:15 AM
To say something positive about sportscene (just for the hell of it), I'm quite impressed with Amy Irons (no, not in a sleezy fashion): she's very natural at presenting, and seems to do it without any notes. For marked contrast, see any episode of the programme with Stephen Thomson at the helm.

I remember her Dad playing for various clubs - chiefly Clydebank, for some weird reason.

Agree, she’s pretty slick and has a pop at Michael Stewart from time to time. But…why are Hibs almost always on at the end?

plhibs
20-02-2023, 05:18 AM

Three terrible decisions all in favor of them, the game in Scotland is getting worse now and they don't even try to hide it.

20-02-2023, 05:50 AM

Because a goal was then scored would have been pen and a red if no goal scored. Wouldn't be fair to punish them twice in that tnstance as goal was scored.

20-02-2023, 07:57 AM
Agree, she’s pretty slick and has a pop at Michael Stewart from time to time. But…why are Hibs almost always on at the end?

Could it be so they keep their audience to the end of the show😏
Probably not 🙄

20-02-2023, 07:08 PM
Could it be so they keep their audience to the end of the show😏
Probably not 🙄

Doesn't make me watch the entire show.

I wait until the next day and use iPlayer so I can jump straight to our game.

20-02-2023, 07:45 PM
Doesn't make me watch the entire show.

I wait until the next day and use iPlayer so I can jump straight to our game.

If you've not seen St. Johnstone's second goal on Saturday, I can wholeheartedly recommend making an exception and watching that one too. Absolute belter :greengrin

20-02-2023, 08:15 PM
If you've not seen St. Johnstone's second goal on Saturday, I can wholeheartedly recommend making an exception and watching that one too. Absolute belter :greengrin

https://youtu.be/MvsLECoV290?t=206

20-02-2023, 08:21 PM
https://youtu.be/MvsLECoV290?t=206

The fact it's literally seconds after a beautiful equaliser from outside the box makes it all the funnier :greengrin

20-02-2023, 09:37 PM

Nice! And the follow through was even better :greengrin

20-02-2023, 09:47 PM

I’ve seen us lose some bad goals over the years but from a defensive point of view I think that’s up there with the very worst I’ve ever seen.

I’d absolutely do my nut if Hibs lost a goal like that, it’s woeful.

A point I tactfully made in a group chat I’m in that has a couple of United fans it it who were through at the game.

20-02-2023, 10:38 PM
Nice! And the follow through was even better :greengrin

Think the keeper is out for the rest of the season.

21-02-2023, 05:43 AM
Least there are some positives for Dundee United fans.

21-02-2023, 08:54 AM
Decided to take a look at the Hibs highlights. Just fast forwarded to our game and watched what was barely a minute of “highlights”.

Didn’t bother with the punditry as what exactly would there have been to say about that?

Total waste of everyone’s time. In a country where a large chunk of the population is passionate about football, it should be impossible to fail at making a decent programme about football. To do so in the manner that the BBC has done with not only Sportscene, but Sportsound as well, it really is quite an achievement.

hibstag
21-02-2023, 04:06 PM

What with? Embarrassment

04-03-2023, 07:23 PM
Sportscene just moved on from the Hibs highlights. Didn't show the third or fourth goal.

Neil McCann started off a sentence by saying he didn't think Fitzwater was the last man and that the red card was harsh, before saying it was accidental but the referee probably got it right. He's away with it.

Trinity Hibee
04-03-2023, 07:25 PM
Sportscene just moved on from the Hibs highlights. Didn't show the third or fourth goal.

Neil McCann started off a sentence by saying he didn't think Fitzwater was the last man and that the red card was harsh, before saying it was accidental but the referee probably got it right. He's away with it.

Amateur production. How can you miss 2 goals of the analysis? And not mention Martindale getting sent off.

04-03-2023, 07:29 PM

Really poor from the BBC - obviously running behind and so had to cut analysis short, probably because they spent nearly 30 minutes on the Huns game. Also regardless of whether it was accidental or deliberate, he's last man, denying a goal-scoring opportunity, it's a red.

04-03-2023, 09:03 PM
Imagine another country in which the national broadcaster’s one hour long flagship football show fails to show two of the goals in one out of just FIVE games they have to cover.

JamesHFC
04-03-2023, 09:06 PM

Embarrassing.

Chorley Hibee
04-03-2023, 09:09 PM
Some of the folk on YouTube put together a more professional show than these clowns.

Absolutely embarrassing show.

GreenGray
04-03-2023, 09:20 PM
Some of the folk on YouTube put together a more professional show than these clowns.

I think a group of students could put together a better show. Compare it to match of the day it’s night and day. Genuinely shameless.

04-03-2023, 09:23 PM

Brutal viewing - amateur hour

04-03-2023, 09:24 PM

BBC Scotland have a limited budget for the show obviously, but one has to wonder how much of the budget goes towards paying the pundits, and if a better product might be had by ditching these pundits?

One thing I'd like to see would be a former referee on the show, someone who knows the game, and someone who can take a look at these "controversial" incidents that get highlighted and give an opinion from a ref's standpoint rather than having pundits attempting to cover their backside by saying they don't think it's a red, before saying the ref made the right decision.

I'd like to hope that the BBC might consider looking at these youtubers to see if they could learn a thing or two, but that would require them to actually realise that the program needs improving.

Mutu
04-03-2023, 09:27 PM
The audio editing for the Aberdeen Dundee United game was unbelievable.

GreenGray
04-03-2023, 09:30 PM
BBC Scotland have a limited budget for the show obviously, but one has to wonder how much of the budget goes towards paying the pundits, and if a better product might be had by ditching these pundits?

One thing I'd like to see would be a former referee on the show, someone who knows the game, and someone who can take a look at these "controversial" incidents that get highlighted and give an opinion from a ref's standpoint rather than having pundits attempting to cover their backside by saying they don't think it's a red, before saying the ref made the right decision.

I'd like to hope that the BBC might consider looking at these youtubers to see if they could learn a thing or two, but that would require them to actually realise that the program needs improving.

There would be no point having a ref on at all. You ever heard when they get one on sportscene? They would never admit that ref has made a mistake.

I’d agree on your point on pundits though, they’re pointless.

04-03-2023, 10:07 PM
Having any sort of debate around one of the most obvious red cards ever was just weird. All of our goals were just due to bad defending. Would it kill them to say we are playing well?

04-03-2023, 10:14 PM
Having any sort of debate around one of the most obvious red cards ever was just weird. All of our goals were just due to bad defending. Would it kill them to say we are playing well?

Noticed that too. Nothing positive to say about Hibs play, just analysing the part played by Livi which led to our goals. It's really getting beyond a joke now - more fool me for watching this dross.

Keepthefaith
04-03-2023, 10:16 PM

exactly! that managed to fawn over hearts and say how great they are instead of highlighting how lucky they were with the deflection and cross which went in...they took plenty of time to slate us when we were doing badly, highlighting lack of identity / club in crisis etc etc but nothing substantial on how well we've played recently. think they even got the length of the unbeaten run wrong!

it is incredible just how bad it is in comparison to MOTD but then I guess it also shows symmetry with the money differential between the EPL and SPFL!

HarpOnHibee
04-03-2023, 10:26 PM
Would it kill them to say we are playing well?

They really don't like us. Which makes our run even more delightful.

04-03-2023, 10:33 PM
Imagine another country in which the national broadcaster’s one hour long flagship football show fails to show two of the goals in one out of just FIVE games they have to cover.

Am I reading this right? Sportscene didn’t didn’t show our 3rd and 4th goals? Or was it just omitted from the “analysis”?

HarpOnHibee
04-03-2023, 10:35 PM
Am I reading this right? Sportscene didn’t didn’t show our 3rd and 4th goals? Or was it just omitted from the “analysis”?

The goals were shown in the highlights, but there was no discussion about them with Thompson smugly saying "moving on".

04-03-2023, 10:41 PM
The goals were shown in the highlights, but there was no discussion about them with Thompson smugly saying "moving on".

We will be expected to be grateful for what we get.

Sportscene’s not produced for our benefit. We’re merely filler.

04-03-2023, 11:01 PM
Don't worry, it's not like we're forced to pay for it or anything.

The BBC doesn't give a fig for Scottish football. It knows Sky, BT and Viacom are hoovering up the gruesome twosome so sees no point in wasting cash on good coverage if it's only the diddies that watch it.

Not sure how that squares with being a "public service broadcaster", but there you go.

GreenGray
04-03-2023, 11:05 PM
If they spent less time analysing Rangers goals or refereeing decisions inside out they might have time to show other teams goals [emoji2371]

05-03-2023, 12:04 AM
It’s easier not to watch it! Once the license fee is done away with, they are finished.

05-03-2023, 08:22 AM
Towards the end of the Hearts v St Johnston game the Saints had a shot stopped on the line by a defender . In real time it looked like it hit an arm but no slow motion replay or analysis on Sportscene which suggests to me it must have hit an arm.

Has anyone seen a clip to clarify the incident.

05-03-2023, 08:54 AM

Just watched it on BBC I player. Can't believe (well I can actually) they didn't do any analysis of the 3rd and 4th goals. Very amateurish.

LewysGot2
05-03-2023, 09:35 AM

Yup,it definitely felt like it was making excuses for Livingston and not praising Hibs. Probably because some of their favoured teams have struggled there, too.

Broxburn Greens
05-03-2023, 11:17 AM
Raving about how good a finish Nuble’s was (which it was) but then failing to give any credit to a team from coming back from a goal down to thump the home side 1-4 sums it up for me really.

05-03-2023, 11:20 AM
Also no thought in their pathetic non analysis that Hibs had targeted Livi with balls over the top. Sure they defended poorly but I don’t think it was a coincidence that we tried to get in behind early. A tactic that paid off

05-03-2023, 11:24 AM
Also no thought in their pathetic non analysis that Hibs had targeted Livi with balls over the top. Sure they defended poorly but I don’t think it was a coincidence that we tried to get in behind early. A tactic that paid off

Yup. Can't stand the pitch as it stifles play somewhat and whilst it was frustrating too watch us play hoofball initially it was obviously a tactic deployed to put Youan on the front foot since ball was always going to hold up when it landed.

Also if that's the type of analysis and non-analysis that's Sportscene is going to give us then we shouldn't bother at all. Pitiful to not analyse the other two goals even briefly.

05-03-2023, 11:48 AM
I just can’t believe, well actually I can, what I watched with the post match analysis in the Hibs game.

That is shocking.

In recent weeks, we are the team that deserves the most discussion but yet again we are let down with this programme.

11-03-2023, 09:39 PM
Bet Sportscene is more watchable with the pundits on. Refreshing not to hear the drivel from McCann and Thompson and co

12-03-2023, 12:43 PM
The highlights of the "Big Tie" was very watchable, but have to say the incident with Hart in the first half was incredible!
He pushes the ball away and the Hertz player goes for it, he manages to push the ball away for a corner and he squirms around injured until he realises he's not getting a foul.
He then jumps to his feet and shouts and points into the refs face?
After his histrionics, instead of booking or red carding him, the ref fist bumps him and gets on with the game???
Just last week the Livvie manager was red carded against us for fingering to Marshall 50 yards away???
Must be different standards at play when its the old firm!!!

12-03-2023, 12:47 PM
Must be different standards at play when it's the old firm!!!Think you might be onto something here.

12-03-2023, 01:01 PM
The highlights of the "Big Tie" was very watchable, but have to say the incident with Hart in the first half was incredible!
He pushes the ball away and the Hertz player goes for it, he manages to push the ball away for a corner and he squirms around injured until he realises he's not getting a foul.
He then jumps to his feet and shouts and points into the refs face?
After his histrionics, instead of booking or red carding him, the ref fist bumps him and gets on with the game???
Just last week the Livvie manager was red carded against us for fingering to Marshall 50 yards away???
Must be different standards at play when its the old firm!!!

Noticed that as well, what a tube

Also best Sportscene for ages not having to listen to thon panel

18-03-2023, 08:51 PM
3 of them in the studio agree it wasn't a sending off and Celtic's penalty was very soft, what's happened that they're on our side tonight?

18-03-2023, 09:01 PM
3 of them in the studio agree it wasn't a sending off and Celtic's penalty was very soft, what's happened that they're on our side tonight?

Because it’s so obvious that any contrary opinion would just be laughed out the room- and they know it.

18-03-2023, 09:04 PM

They probably all support Rangers didn’t see it so don’t know who was on

18-03-2023, 09:07 PM

It's a pity they didn't also mention that Hanlon was booked for the non penalty yet the Celtic player inexplicably wasn't for ours.

18-03-2023, 09:12 PM
How do Livi survive, there's only about 2-3000 in their stadium, 3 empty stands.

May21/05/216
18-03-2023, 09:15 PM
I've just watched the highlights of today's game and the referees and var are totally inept and hopeless

Sent from my SM-A908B using Tapatalk

18-03-2023, 09:18 PM
How do Livi survive, there's only about 2-3000 in their stadium, 3 empty stands.

Noticed that too. Was their crowd so embarrassingly low that BBC didn’t even show it with the match stats and it’s not on the website either.

Chorley Hibee
18-03-2023, 09:27 PM
I've just watched the highlights of today's game and the referees and var are totally inept and hopeless

It's corruption.

King Cosell
18-03-2023, 09:36 PM

Closer to 1,000, there was 2,115 at their game last week and half of those were Dundee Utd fans.

May21/05/216
18-03-2023, 09:48 PM
It's corruption.I don't think it's corruption
But youhan is never a sending off and celtics penalty isn't but the kilmarnock not getting pen and st mirrens pen are the worst decisions I've seen in years

18-03-2023, 10:02 PM
I don't think it's corruption
But youhan is never a sending off and celtics penalty isn't but the kilmarnock not getting pen and st mirrens pen are the worst decisions I've seen in years

I’ll see you worst and raise you handball in our first game at Ibrox this season 🤨

18-03-2023, 11:00 PM

VAR did its job, no?

JammyDoidger
18-03-2023, 11:13 PM
It's corruption.

100% corruption, when there is that many blatant errors in particular games involving a certain 2 teams, it has to be called into question, they don't even themself out. We've been shafted by wrong decisions this season to the tune of millions of pounds worth of European money, that's exactly how Hibs should be viewing this.

18-03-2023, 11:46 PM
100% corruption, when there is that many blatant errors in particular games involving a certain 2 teams, it has to be called into question, they don't even themself out. We've been shafted by wrong decisions this season to the tune of millions of pounds worth of European money, that's exactly how Hibs should be viewing this.

Just saw the Rangers goal where VAR checked offside, had the blue line ahead of the claret one, so it’s offside. Goal given. Obviously.

18-03-2023, 11:55 PM
VAR did its job, no?

If it wasn't for var hibs would have been beat 4-0

No pen to hibs which ref never gave and the most pathetic pen for Celtic that the ref did give against Marshall.

18-03-2023, 11:57 PM
Just saw the Rangers gosh where VAR checked offside, had the blue line ahead of the claret one, so it’s offside. Goal given. Obviously.

I think VAR is now proving that the officiating in Scotland is corrupt. It's not provided a solution to that problem, but it has highlighted the corruption without doubt.

The Rangers are the main beneficiaries, but Celticic are not far behind.

It really is getting to the stage now that there's little point turning up to games away at the Rangers and Celtic.

The only solution is to exclusively bring in non-Scottish refs.

19-03-2023, 05:31 AM
Don’t normally like Richard Foster but calls it correct Cantwell ( Huns ) getting Slattery sent off for a tap to the neck falls down rolling around holding his pus as if shot by a sniper from the Stand suckering the gullible Ref

Serious simulation

The man is a disgrace

Foster also said Celtic pen never a pen

Just read he no longer supports The Rangers

Starting to like him

Wow ! Some strike by Drey Wright

19-03-2023, 07:14 AM
Don’t normally like Richard Foster but calls it correct Cantwell ( Huns ) getting Slattery sent off for a tap to the neck falls down rolling around holding his pus as if shot by a sniper from the Stand suckering the gullible Ref

Serious simulation

The man is a disgrace

Starting to like him

Thought Foster was really good on sportscene last night and McCann was ok as well. What struck me is that in nearly every game yesterday, the referee and / or VAR made a bad call. That is a shocking indictment of our top league

Chorley Hibee
19-03-2023, 07:19 AM

It's not just the major decisions either.

I lost count yesterday how many times a Hibs player was fouled, yet it was ignored, only for every slightest contact on a Celtic player to result in an immediate decision in their favour.

Add on every debatable corner/throw in going their way too and it's a catalogue of decisions designed to make sure there will only be one winner.

He gave Celtic a corner in the first half that hit off 2 Celtic players before going out for what should have been a goal kick! I couldn't help but laugh that it's become so blatant.

JammyDoidger
19-03-2023, 07:46 AM
It's not just the major decisions either.

I lost count yesterday how many times a Hibs player was fouled, yet it was ignored, only for every slightest contact on a Celtic player to result in an immediate decision in their favour.

Add on every debatable corner/throw in going their way too and it's a catalogue of decisions designed to make sure there will only be one winner.

He gave Celtic a corner in the first half that hit off 2 Celtic players before going out for what should have been a goal kick! I couldn't help but laugh that it's become so blatant.

We need to start making more noise about it, any social media platform, football phone in(super scoreboard for example) whatever it is non old firm fans need to start making more noise and taking a stand as it's went on too long. Let's start shouting louder than them for a change, also for the next game at ibrox or parkhead I wonder if we could arrange some sort of boycott.

19-03-2023, 08:35 AM

Serious simulation

The man is a disgrace

Starting to like him

Yea he kept mentioning Motherwell throughout the programme, maybe trying to disassociate himself with Rangers.

19-03-2023, 09:47 AM
Thought Foster was really good on sportscene last night and McCann was ok as well. What struck me is that in nearly every game yesterday, the referee and / or VAR made a bad call. That is a shocking indictment of our top leagueThe considine handball for the potential penalty was Killie was incredible it wasn't given

Also the St mirren penalty is laughable

I get refs making errors love but I can't for life me understand how someone is watchibg replays of these key moments and deciding the ref got it right

Same at Celtics penalty - CCV pulls handing by trapping his arm - it's clear as day of the replay behind the goals

Sent from my VOG-L29 using Tapatalk

19-03-2023, 10:55 AM
Yea he kept mentioning Motherwell throughout the programme, maybe trying to disassociate himself with Rangers.

He's part of Kettlewell's backroom team

19-03-2023, 01:54 PM
He's part of Kettlewell's backroom team

Ah, didn't know that, cheers.

20-03-2023, 02:44 PM

Serious simulation

The man is a disgrace

Starting to like him

His wife Amy McDonald is a life long Rangers fan.

20-03-2023, 03:32 PM
His wife Amy McDonald is a life long Rangers fan.

Yip I remember he used to dress like a pop star 😀

20-03-2023, 04:01 PM
I’m going that RF wants to disassociate himself with Rangers for whatever reason but he still supports them.

20-03-2023, 04:56 PM
I thought Foster was disowned by Rangers cos he said he was an independence supporter and that’s where the fall out happened?

20-03-2023, 04:59 PM
Yip I remember he used to dress like a pop star 😀

20-03-2023, 09:19 PM
The thing is that we don't need to bring in foreign referees for matches just for VAR. They don't even need to be in Glasgow just anywhere in the world that has an internet connection.
Look at the difference foreign players and coaches have made to our game. Surely we could improve our game by making that change?

08-04-2023, 08:59 PM
Caught some of the highlights, brilliant seeing Gogic celebrating in front of the Hearts fans after his goal :greengrin

Cat Stanton
08-04-2023, 10:16 PM
Not Sportscene, but did anyone else notice than on the BBC national (UK) news, they managed to misspell out neighbours' name when showing the results ("Heart of Medlothian")? Fine journalism.

08-04-2023, 10:53 PM
Not Sportcene, but did anyone else notice than on the BBC national (UK) news, they managed to misspell out neighbours' name when showing the results ("Heart of Medlothian")? Fine journalism.
Maybe they’ve not heard of them either

09-04-2023, 12:48 AM
Caught some of the highlights, brilliant seeing Gogic celebrating in front of the Hearts fans after his goal :greengrin

Was having a chuckle at that myself.

I was actually a little disappointed to learn it took a deflection and became his goal. I thought he was just choosing to run-off and go radge in front of that lot for someone else’s goal!

09-04-2023, 05:06 AM
Dear Sportscene, Are Hearts still ‘BYFAR’ the 3rd best team in Scotland?

09-04-2023, 06:01 AM

Ha Ha !

A goal and an assist from Alex Gogic against them

Brilliant!!

What was Robbie Replay doing at the end of the match out on the pitch to be met by boos from any Jambo’s that were still there ?

BlackSheep
15-04-2023, 06:41 PM
Derby highlights finished at 75 mins…. Poor again from BBC!!!

GreenGray
15-04-2023, 06:43 PM
Derby highlights finished at 75 mins…. Poor again from BBC!!!

They just cut to the final whistle eh? Bizzare.

Coverage is so bad as is the commentary, you’d think it was a pre season friendly they way they commentate and fail to pick up the atmosphere it’s really weird.

15-04-2023, 09:46 PM

Coverage is so bad as is the commentary, you’d think it was a pre season friendly they way they commentate and fail to pick up the atmosphere it’s really weird.

Simply awful coverage of what was the game of the day. Obviously the Jambo influence that seems to be prevalent at BBC Scotland decided to show as little of the match as possible.

16-04-2023, 02:22 AM
Read the information on Sky that said extended highlights... So much of the game was missing. The scuffle at the end, Kuch's 3v1 (not that I wanted to see it again mind), Egan-Rileys early booking, Youan's other chance etc.

Extended my arse. The highlights lasted about as long as the Rangers game and the post match 'analysis' probably less so. Quicker the TV license is done away with the better. Shambles of a highlights show with bear minimum done to produce it.

16-04-2023, 04:11 AM
Read the information on Sky that said extended highlights... So much of the game was missing. The scuffle at the end, Kuch's 3v1 (not that I wanted to see it again mind), Egan-Rileys early booking, Youan's other chance etc.

Extended my arse. The highlights lasted about as long as the Rangers game and the post match 'analysis' probably less so. Quicker the TV license is done away with the better. Shambles of a highlights show with bear minimum done to produce it.

The whole game was replayed on Alba.

16-04-2023, 05:33 AM
The whole game was replayed on Alba.

It was, but that doesn’t make up for the joke of a main highlights programme in this country.

I rewatched the game on alba because I wanted to check some of the key moments and get a better view than the pitch side view I had during the game, but my son who’d come through to watch was just disbelieving that I was going to watch ‘the whole game’ :dunno: In these days of instant media lots of the young team aren’t used to watching a full 90 min game, that’s one reason why a good highlights programme is vital if you want to develop the sport.

Cat Stanton
16-04-2023, 06:32 AM

Licence fee is a completely different issue/discussion, but totally agree about how bad the highlights were - the stuffed they missed out was astonishing. Everything you mentioned, plus other Hibs chances, and the tension of the last minute free kick - and more. Really crap.

16-04-2023, 09:27 AM
Was it just me or was there a wee smirk on Jack's face just as Thompson was introducing the Hibs Hearts highlights? Anyway looking smart as always.

McCann looked a bit down and at one point thought hearts had Nathaniel Clyne.

16-04-2023, 12:16 PM
Whole game is still on Alba, just remind to 6pm last night

16-04-2023, 06:19 PM
Even the titles are just **** and unimaginative.

They were so much better when it was an Avril Levine song.

16-04-2023, 06:21 PM
That first Killie goal was a ****ing disgrace. Not one Killie player can say they did anything right but Murray was clearly looking for support and an out ball and was given nothing.

17-04-2023, 09:24 AM

Will be cause they are BBC jambo, that guy doing the commentary is a Jambo, Paul Mitchell.

patlowe
17-04-2023, 12:39 PM
Maybe someone technically minded can inform me but I've never understood why the sound mix is so poor on Sportscene - they somehow manage to suck out all the atmosphere and make every top flight game in this country sound like a non-league match. Was so noticeable on Saturday when you compare it with something like our All Access coverage.

17-04-2023, 01:32 PM
Maybe someone technically minded can inform me but I've never understood why the sound mix is so poor on Sportscene - they somehow manage to suck out all the atmosphere and make every top flight game in this country sound like a non-league match. Was so noticeable on Saturday when you compare it with something like our All Access coverage.

It'll be because the commentary will be added to the pictures in a studio not an at-game commentary.

19-04-2023, 06:44 PM
I’m just watching the pre match on BT sport with Rio Ferdinand and others analysing John Stones play. It’s actually quite funny doing a compare and contrast with Sportscene, both in terms of intelligent comments and technical stuff. We are amateur.

Cat Stanton
19-04-2023, 07:02 PM
I’m just watching the pre match on BT sport with Rio Ferdinand and others analysing John Stones play. It’s actually quite funny doing a compare and contrast with Sportscene, both in terms of intelligent comments and technical stuff. We are amateur.

I wouldn't necessarily defend Sportscene - especially after Saturday - but in terms of comparisons of "technical stuff", I would assume size of budget will play a massive part.

23-04-2023, 09:43 AM
Chris- making the unmissable missable- Iwelumo and Michael Stewart both put forward good cases citing why Jeggo’s tackle wasn’t even a foul never mind a sending off

Maybes Hibs should use the VT in their case to increase the growing heat on the SFA and their administration of VAR

Worth an appeal

23-04-2023, 11:55 AM
Chris- making the unmissable missable- Iwelumo and Michael Stewart both put forward good cases citing why Jeggo’s tackle wasn’t even a foul never mind a sending off

Maybes Hibs should use the VT in their case to increase the growing heat on the SFA and their administration of VAR

Worth an appeal

Quite simply have to appeal that red card. It was astonishingly bad refereeing

23-04-2023, 11:59 AM
I wouldn't necessarily defend Sportscene - especially after Saturday - but in terms of comparisons of "technical stuff", I would assume size of budget will play a massive part.

The BBC pay more money to their Match of the Day lead presenter than they do to the entirety of Scottish football. In any other country this would be an outrage.

Scotty Leither
23-04-2023, 02:26 PM
Quite simply have to appeal that red card. It was astonishingly bad refereeing

It’s the same ref who only booked the St Johnstone player for going in studs up in the game last season at Easter Road. It might seem petty too, but Hibs should also ask what he found so amusing as he walked off and laughed.

It’s cheating, pure and simple and Hibs should be asking him to account for his actions at the end of the match, via his supervisor.

If players get banned. refs should too…apparently he’s never been appointed to ref an OF game, but it’s alright for him to blunder his way through ours?

archie
23-04-2023, 02:39 PM
The BBC pay more money to their Match of the Day lead presenter than they do to the entirety of Scottish football. In any other country this would be an outrage.

Why? Do you think the BBC should pay an artificially high rate for the show? Paying above the market value would be poor value for the BBC and possibly actionable.

Scotty Leither
23-04-2023, 02:40 PM
Why? Do you think the BBC should pay an artificially high rate for the show? Paying above the market value would be poor value for the BBC and possibly actionable.

Is the licence fee lower in Scotland?

23-04-2023, 02:41 PM

It’s a fair point but compare the “market value” with the same product from other parts of the uk and there is certainly a disparity that should be addressed.

23-04-2023, 02:44 PM

Didn't think that was the case anymore but the fact it's even up for debate is a disgrace. I do think its only a matter of time until they put more money into the Women's game in England than into Scottish football.

23-04-2023, 02:45 PM

But we are the same country……

archie
23-04-2023, 02:46 PM
It’s a fair point but compare the “market value” with the same product from other parts of the uk and there is certainly a disparity that should be addressed.

Perhaps. But isn't the issue how football is marketed and presented. If it was more attractive there would be more bidders. The cost of buying highlight rights to the EPL is irrelevant. It's the lack of interest in rights for Scottish football. Why doesn't STV bid?

archie
23-04-2023, 02:46 PM
But we are the same country……

And?

archie
23-04-2023, 02:48 PM
Is the licence fee lower in Scotland?

HarpOnHibee
23-04-2023, 02:49 PM

It would seem that people in Scotland are "paying above the market value" for their TV licences.

archie
23-04-2023, 02:51 PM
It would seem that people in Scotland are "paying above the market value" for their TV licences.

How?

HarpOnHibee
23-04-2023, 02:53 PM
How?

Because they're getting less in return for the same price.

23-04-2023, 02:55 PM
How?
We get the amateur pish that is Sportscene whilst the rest get Match of the day hosted by one of the best paid presenters that the bbc pay for the same money. Chuck in live Internationals involving England and I’d have thought that was the obvious argument but I think you know that.

23-04-2023, 02:56 PM

I get Match of the Day and Sportscene, what extra are English viewers getting? Do they even get Sportscene?

23-04-2023, 02:59 PM

You could argue we are getting more, all of the UK content plus a couple of extra channels of Scottish content. :greengrin

archie
23-04-2023, 03:02 PM

No we're not. I get Sportscene. How would the BBC paying more get me any more?

Steven79
23-04-2023, 03:03 PM
But we are the same country……England is a different country...

Sent from my SM-G973F using Tapatalk

archie
23-04-2023, 03:04 PM
We get the amateur pish that is Sportscene whilst the rest get Match of the day hosted by one of the best paid presenters that the bbc pay for the same money. Chuck in live Internationals involving England and I’d have thought that was the obvious argument but I think you know that.

But how would BBC paying more make that better? I thought the England internationals were on ITV? Surely the approach should be to increase interest and increase bidders?

archie
23-04-2023, 03:04 PM
England is a different country...

Don't be silly.

Scotty Leither
23-04-2023, 03:11 PM
But how would BBC paying more make that better? I thought the England internationals were on ITV? Surely the approach should be to increase interest and increase bidders?

Scotland doesn’t have a “national” broadcaster, it’s a reserved matter. It’s also how you can’t see your national team playing its most popular sport on “national” telly.

Who knows, if the BBC put a more proportional share of revenue back into Scottish football you wouldn’t get amateur hour presenters; there might also be enough money left over to employ full-time refs instead of wee Willie winkie that we had foisted on us yesterday.

23-04-2023, 03:14 PM
I think the argument is Scottish viewers paying the same money whilst the bbc pump more money into the English game whilst getting the crap we do.

23-04-2023, 03:18 PM
Scotland doesn’t have a “national” broadcaster, it’s a reserved matter. It’s also how you can’t see your national team playing its most popular sport on “national” telly.

Who knows, if the BBC put a more proportional share of revenue back into Scottish football you wouldn’t get amateur hour presenters; there might also be enough money left over to employ full-time refs instead of wee Willie winkie that we had foisted on us yesterday.

It’s not the job of the BBC to subsidise Scottish Football. It’s Scottish Footballs job to maximise its TV revenue, something I can only assume they feel they have done by going with Sky for league football and ViaPlay for Internationals.

Steven79
23-04-2023, 03:19 PM
I think the argument is Scottish viewers paying the same money whilst the bbc pump more money into the English game whilst getting the crap we do.Like everything else in this one sided "union" that many in Scotland embrace...

Steven79
23-04-2023, 03:20 PM
Don't be silly.Why have individual national teams and leagues if we are all just one big country?

23-04-2023, 03:25 PM
I think the argument is Scottish viewers paying the same money whilst the bbc pump more money into the English game whilst getting the crap we do.

That's because no-one apart from the BBC wants to show Scottish football highlights.

The only option would be to stop paying for match of the day and hand it over to to Sky, BT or Viaplay.

archie
23-04-2023, 04:33 PM
Why have individual national teams and leagues if we are all just one big country?

Roots of international football. It's not popular with a number of FIFA members.

archie
23-04-2023, 04:35 PM

OK. What you want is for a public body (the BBC) to pay over the odds to a private body (the SPFL)? If viaplay bid more would you be happy with that?

HarpOnHibee
23-04-2023, 04:36 PM
I get Match of the Day and Sportscene, what extra are English viewers getting? Do they even get Sportscene?

We also have the privilege of getting England national games. I don't think England get subjected to Sportscene. But if somebody in England really wanted to torture themselves, they could simply open up their BBC iPlayer app and change their geographic location to Scotland.

Scotty Leither
23-04-2023, 04:41 PM
It’s not the job of the BBC to subsidise Scottish Football. It’s Scottish Footballs job to maximise its TV revenue, something I can only assume they feel they have done by going with Sky for league football and ViaPlay for Internationals.

Nor is it “viewers in Scotland “ (copyright BBC) job to “subsidise”Match of the Day by that rationale?

We pay the same license fee; unless you can afford to pay for a subscription channel, you cannot watch your national team live on terrestrial TV. On that same terrestrial channel (and ITV) you can watch all of England’s matches (I.e. NOT) your own country.

“Tough ****” seems to be the prevailing response to that from certain posters on here.

archie
23-04-2023, 04:49 PM
We also have the privilege of getting England national games. I don't think England get subjected to Sportscene. But if somebody in England really wanted to torture themselves, they could simply open up their BBC iPlayer app and change their geographic location to Scotland.

England games aren't on BBC.

archie
23-04-2023, 04:52 PM
Nor is it “viewers in Scotland “ (copyright BBC) job to “subsidise”Match of the Day by that rationale?

We pay the same license fee; unless you can afford to pay for a subscription channel, you cannot watch your national team live on terrestrial TV. On that same terrestrial channel (and ITV) you can watch all of England’s matches (I.e. NOT) your own country.

“Tough ****” seems to be the prevailing response to that from certain posters on here.

Commercial channels wanted England games. SFA went with Viaplay. I like watching Match of thr Day. What's the problem? Why can't I have that choice?

bringbackbenny
23-04-2023, 04:52 PM

Bang on. We should meekly accept national team games not being free to air plus a highlights package that's beyond amateurish. Got to know our place in the hierarchy 😒

23-04-2023, 04:54 PM
Commercial channels wanted England games. SFA went with Viaplay. I like watching Match of thr Day. What's the problem? Why can't I have that choice?I'm sorry, is this a five minute argument, or the full half hour?

23-04-2023, 05:00 PM
OK. What you want is for a public body (the BBC) to pay over the odds to a private body (the SPFL)? If viaplay bid more would you be happy with that?
No I want a publicly funded body to treat its public on an equal basis no matter where they are. We get well presented programmes on English football including the FA Cup and England internationals (AFAIK) with well paid presenters aimed at English viewers whilst as Scot’s we get absolute tripe aimed at us.
It’s not difficult to understand if you get your union specs off. You can surely see Scots in this case are not equally catered for by a publicly funded body. Or can you?

23-04-2023, 05:04 PM
Bang on. We should meekly accept national team games not being free to air plus a highlights package that's beyond amateurish. Got to know our place in the hierarchy 😒

You want to be asking the SFA why that is, not the BBC.

23-04-2023, 05:05 PM
No I want a publicly funded body to treat its public on an equal basis no matter where they are. We get well presented programmes on English football including the FA Cup and England internationals (AFAIK) with well paid presenters aimed at English viewers whilst as Scot’s we get absolute tripe aimed at us.
It’s not difficult to understand if you get your union specs off. You can surely see Scots in this case are not equally catered for by a publicly funded body. Or can you?

I actually like Sportscene. Keeping it real. :greengrin

23-04-2023, 05:08 PM

Correct.