View Full Version : Sportscene 22/23

Pages : 1 [2] 3 4 5

19-09-2022, 10:06 AM
I dunno how the second clear hand ball penalty we should’ve had yesterday didn’t make it onto the highlights?

https://twitter.com/hibsnews1875/status/1571493022927396867?s=46&t=dZN-D9n9sDMW4HNvTT0BjQ

At the time it looked blatant, seeing it again I’m absolutely convinced that’s a penalty. Absolutely nae foul from Bojang, refs **** the bed and gave them a freekick for nowt.

If that’s not a penalty for deliberate handball, nothing is.
Can you imagine if The Rangers were denied that decision? There would be a diplomatic incident, statement bingo, 4 days of the Daily Record losing their minds.

19-09-2022, 10:07 AM
I dunno how the second clear hand ball penalty we should’ve had yesterday didn’t make it onto the highlights?

https://twitter.com/hibsnews1875/status/1571493022927396867?s=46&t=dZN-D9n9sDMW4HNvTT0BjQ

At the time it looked blatant, seeing it again I’m absolutely convinced that’s a penalty. Absolutely nae foul from Bojang, refs **** the bed and gave them a freekick for nowt.

What is they say? These incidents level out over the season? So Jimmy Badwin, on according to you we shouldn't have had the penalty we got, but instead we should have had two for handballs.

19-09-2022, 10:08 AM

He’s done exactly what Jim Goodwin was accusing Porteous of 😂 Should’ve had three penalties.

19-09-2022, 10:09 AM
While it might be nice to get some fawning from the media it certainly doesn’t put points on the board.

Look at their early love in with Ross at United for how positive spin means nothing.

I’m actually quite happy for us to be the team no one likes this season..prove them wrong and make them eat their words and it will be all the better.

That is actually a good point in terms of the media, although what’s happening with Porto is negatively affecting us in terms of how he’s portrayed by refs, which is a problem.

linlithgowhibbie
19-09-2022, 10:18 AM

I was almost right behind that linesman (can't call him an assistant ref) I gave him pelters about not using his mike to advise the ref.
The same linesman never once indicated any shy/corner until the referee gave it. He was a total dud.

19-09-2022, 10:27 AM
That is actually a good point in terms of the media, although what’s happening with Porto is negatively affecting us in terms of how he’s portrayed by refs, which is a problem.

At least it takes their eye off of diving Martin Boyle for a while 😁

LeithMike
19-09-2022, 10:41 AM
Michael Stewart does.I don't think Mike Stewart does favour Hearts over Hibs. I think he's fairly neutral but once he has something I his head he is very slow to change his view. I found him overly positive Hibs when JR was there and he has been a but anti-Hibs since. He was anti-Hearts for a long time when Levein was in charge.

I definitely think there is a bias overall on the BBC towards Hearts. Its up for Hibs to change that by showing we can win games away from home and when opposition have 11 men.

Sent from my SM-N960F using Tapatalk

19-09-2022, 10:41 AM
Have they ever commented on the huge number of penalties awarded to Hearts?

19-09-2022, 10:42 AM
I don't think Mike Stewart does favour Hearts over Hibs. I think he's fairly neutral but once he has something I his head he is very slow to change his view. I found him overly positive Hibs when JR was there and he has been a but anti-Hibs since. He was anti-Hearts for a long time when Levein was in charge.

I definitely think there is a bias overall on the BBC towards Hearts. Its up for Hibs to change that by showing we can win games away from home and when opposition have 11 men.

Which shows it's personal for all these mouthpieces! He is mates with Jack and hates Levein, no ability to look at a game from a distance with some perspective without it going through his own prejudices and preference

19-09-2022, 10:43 AM
I don't think Mike Stewart does favour Hearts over Hibs. I think he's fairly neutral but once he has something I his head he is very slow to change his view. I found him overly positive Hibs when JR was there and he has been a but anti-Hibs since. He was anti-Hearts for a long time when Levein was in charge.

Stewart is literally a hearts fan, isn’t he?

19-09-2022, 10:45 AM
Sure Stewart was captioned with former Hearts captain.

19-09-2022, 10:56 AM
Sure Stewart was captioned with former Hearts captain.

It was, his name came up with former Hearts captain as the caption, I was surprised when I seen that.

scm70nyd1973
19-09-2022, 11:01 AM
It's a half baked, smug, amateur programme with a whole bunch of lickspittles and empty vessels ejaculating whatever little thought comes out of their tiny narrow minds. Its jobs for the boys and girls and there is no attempt to analyze or consider the game from a neutral and holistic point of view without them returning to their own corners, views and bias.

It's rabid and full of bile and should be put down.

And also a bunch of cockwombles 😁

loanheadhibby
19-09-2022, 11:10 AM
Yep ridiculous two blatant penalties turned down but they only concentrate on the one given. The commentator for the mccrorie one was suggesting it hit his head then arm only to correct itself when it clearly didn't. Definitely an agenda imo

I remember the hand ball which I agree was a blatant pen.
What was the other as I can't remember us claiming for another that was turned down.

19-09-2022, 11:16 AM
And also a bunch of cockwombles 😁

Underground, overground, cockwombling free,
The cockwombles of BBC Scotland are we,
Making no sense of the things that we see,
Bigging up Yams while we have a go at Hibees...

That kinda thing?

Cat Stanton
19-09-2022, 11:17 AM
It's a half baked, smug, amateur programme with a whole bunch of lickspittles and empty vessels ejaculating whatever little thought comes out of their tiny narrow minds. Its jobs for the boys and girls and there is no attempt to analyze or consider the game from a neutral and holistic point of view without them returning to their own corners, views and bias.

What do you really think though?

19-09-2022, 11:30 AM

Absolutely ridiculous. Could see from the far end of the East that it was a blatant pen. We should have had at least 2 but all the focus is on whether we should have had one. Stinking

Manxhibs
19-09-2022, 11:45 AM
Anyone gone as far as writing a complaint to the BBC? I started typing one up but decided it’s a pointless venture.

angus hibby
19-09-2022, 11:45 AM
The lack of actual analysis of the game on Saturday was terrible. Because of the fuss that’s been made it’s been totally lost that Hibs played as well as they’ve played, probably for the best part of a year IMO. Even at 11v11 we were totally dominating the game.

Lee Johnson isn’t one of the boys. He’s not Jack or Derek or whoever and the Scottish football media hate someone that isn’t in their wee circle.

The last paragraph is spot on. I remember when we appointed Heckingbottom the Sportsound "pundits" were flabbergasted that we had looked down south for a manager when they were so many good Scottish managers....

19-09-2022, 11:52 AM
The last paragraph is spot on. I remember when we appointed Heckingbottom the Sportsound "pundits" were flabbergasted that we had looked down south for a manager when they were so many good Scottish managers....

And Hecky is now doing a very good job! Maybe just not the right fit for us.

scm70nyd1973
19-09-2022, 12:05 PM

That kinda thing?

Brilliant and yes 😁

19-09-2022, 12:43 PM
I suppose the show would be a lot duller than it already is without our games provoking the reactions. I only watch the highlights and fast forward through the comments.

19-09-2022, 01:21 PM
The problem is that people who haven’t attended the game only get to see 5 minutes of highlights on this show. The way it’s edited and analysed forms an opinion of the way the game is played, the injustices, bad fouls, good moves, balance of play etc. The way they edit Hibs games and only analyse and negatively comment on things we do shows us on a bad light. The fact they had no analysis on the blatant handball on Saturday just highlights the ongoing bias against us, it’s very deliberate.

They almost always show us last on the programme despite having to show nil nil draws in front of low crowds before us and even the opening credits have us last mentioned on their VT.

It’s fine to say don’t watch it but everyone else in the country get a completely warped opinion of our club and it really needs to be called out. I’m not holding my breath on that though.

19-09-2022, 01:38 PM
The problem is that people who haven’t attended the game only get to see 5 minutes of highlights on this show. The way it’s edited and analysed forms an opinion of the way the game is played, the injustices, bad fouls, good moves, balance of play etc. The way they edit Hibs games and only analyse and negatively comment on things we do shows us on a bad light. The fact they had no analysis on the blatant handball on Saturday just highlights the ongoing bias against us, it’s very deliberate.

They almost always show us last on the programme despite having to show nil nil draws in front of low crowds before us and even the opening credits have us last mentioned on their VT.

It’s fine to say don’t watch it but everyone else in the country get a completely warped opinion of our club and it really needs to be called out. I’m not holding my breath on that though.

Yep last two home wins have been characterised as unlucky Killie and unlucky Aberdeen when both were the opposite. Deliberate policy imo.

DIXIHIBS
19-09-2022, 01:48 PM

That kinda thing?

Thats not bad actually.

19-09-2022, 02:04 PM
Watched it at lunchtime. The most ridiculous one-sided view of the Hibs performance from Stewart. I usually quite like what he has to say but that was nonsense. Quite obvious Lee Johnson isn’t one of the gang. Ridiculous not to analyse the handball and no footage of the second one. Amateurish.

19-09-2022, 02:39 PM
Stewart is clearly still upset that we sacked Jack Ross. Just can't bring himself to admit that we are starting to click under LJ. I stand by what i've been saying for the last few weeks. We are going to seriously batter someone very soon. Aberdeen got away lightly with a 1-3.

19-09-2022, 03:06 PM
The lack of actual analysis of the game on Saturday was terrible. Because of the fuss that’s been made it’s been totally lost that Hibs played as well as they’ve played, probably for the best part of a year IMO. Even at 11v11 we were totally dominating the game.

Lee Johnson isn’t one of the boys. He’s not Jack or Derek or whoever and the Scottish football media hate someone that isn’t in their wee circle.

Excellent post! The Largs Mafia still rules whether it's in coaching, broadcasting or refereeing in Scotland. The last high profile ref I remember from Edinburgh was Calum Murray who I rated highly despite being a Jambo from a Rangers family!

19-09-2022, 03:35 PM
It's such an amateur production, from the filming, editing, commentating and the so called analysis from supposedly knowledge pundits. Not worth watching.

19-09-2022, 07:22 PM
Yep ridiculous two blatant penalties turned down but they only concentrate on the one given. The commentator for the mccrorie one was suggesting it hit his head then arm only to correct itself when it clearly didn't. Definitely an agenda imo

the commentator actually said that the referee indicated he thought it had come off the head onto the arm, then went on to say they (the commentator) didn’t think that was the case after the replay

19-09-2022, 07:37 PM
the commentator actually said that the referee indicated he thought it had come off the head onto the arm, then went on to say they (the commentator) didn’t think that was the case after the replay

Incredible decision if that was the case

19-09-2022, 08:05 PM
The continual argument here, whether Sportsound and Sportscene are anti Hibs or not, is tiresome. I think there is more than enough evidence to indicate that, given the slightest opportunity, they will denegrate us. Occasionally, when we have played well and haven’t provided evidence for them to ‘have a go at us’ , they have to grudgingly approve. There are, unbelievably, quite a few on here who scoff at this accusation and say it’s paranoia, but it is so prevalent week in week out, that their attitude towards Hibs is negative. Is it a coincidence that high numbers of their ‘in front of’ and ‘behind’ camera have been or possibly still are Hearts biased?

19-09-2022, 08:11 PM
We should ignore them. We don't need Sportscene We can watch our highlights on our club's platforms. Of course,as we pay for it we should be able to watch a fair Sportscene, but despite being a supposed public broadcaster they've chosen to go all Wegie redtop. It's wrong, but it won't improve. Just dinnae watch it.

19-09-2022, 08:34 PM
The continual argument here, whether Sportsound and Sportscene are anti Hibs or not, is tiresome. I think there is more than enough evidence to indicate that, given the slightest opportunity, they will denegrate us. Occasionally, when we have played well and haven’t provided evidence for them to ‘have a go at us’ , they have to grudgingly approve. There are, unbelievably, quite a few on here who scoff at this accusation and say it’s paranoia, but it is so prevalent week in week out, that their attitude towards Hibs is negative. Is it a coincidence that high numbers of their ‘in front of’ and ‘behind’ camera have been or possibly still are Hearts biased?

:agree: There’s clearly an anti Hibs agenda at the BBC. It’s probably nothing more than a few idiots in production and key positions than any organisational BBC bias or anything, but it’s still annoying. I think if you deny it you’re just not watching or listening to it very often. And I’m going to be joining you in doing so.

19-09-2022, 08:51 PM
:agree: There’s clearly an anti Hibs agenda at the BBC. It’s probably nothing more than a few idiots in production and key positions than any organisational BBC bias or anything, but it’s still annoying. I think if you deny it you’re just not watching or listening to it very often. And I’m going to be joining you in doing so.

I expect we're on the same page here but an august, unimpeachable institution such as our beloved BBC surely won't allow anything but exemplary public service to be broadcast from any of its outputs?

19-09-2022, 09:02 PM
Incredible decision if that was the case

Really worrying if the ref actually thought that seeing as it hasn't been part of the rules for a couple of years now

GreenGray
19-09-2022, 09:12 PM

I couldn’t have said it better myself.

cameronw-hfc
19-09-2022, 11:02 PM
Who are they ? Sounds like they are open about it - so not secret

Won't name names, as two of them are actually good blokes and the other I know his daughter very well. The one that "hides it" use to say he was a Clyde fan, maybe partick? I can't remember who he use to pretend to support but know for a fact he now doesn't hide the fact he's a current bun, but he did whilst he was active.

Edit- only hint I'll give is the one I know the daughter of, rangers season ticket holder, essentially vanished after overruling a pen decision at Ibrox vs them. Best pals with the infamous Charlie Richmond as well, otherwise, im an aspiring young journo with no degree, and it's hard enough to get anywhere in Scottish football media so im not willing to name names of refs that I know personally, especially with the jobs for boys mentality up here. Sorry

19-09-2022, 11:06 PM

Couldn't have put it better myself. But it's been poor quality for years and it's not going to change, and like plenty of others, I stopped listening and watching quite a while ago.

Gloucester Hibs
19-09-2022, 11:58 PM
The best bit about it was the retro theme music and they’ve even got shot of that this season 😞

20-09-2022, 10:16 AM
Bring back Scotsport

20-09-2022, 10:17 AM
Bring back Scotsport

Steady!

20-09-2022, 11:10 AM
Bring back Scotsporthttps://images.app.goo.gl/bMkVb6yAX7w9x8CE8
Hear Hear. Pity they destroyed the Napoli game footage.

Sent from my SM-A127F using Tapatalk

20-09-2022, 07:46 PM
We should ignore them. We don't need Sportscene We can watch our highlights on our club's platforms. Of course,as we pay for it we should be able to watch a fair Sportscene, but despite being a supposed public broadcaster they've chosen to go all Wegie redtop. It's wrong, but it won't improve. Just dinnae watch it.

Totally agree. I bet most fans of other clubs dont watch it it either. Dont need any poor commentator to tell us what we can see with our own eyes. Match of the day would have a least discussed all 3 penalty shouts. Even my jambo aquaintances think its garbage and dont watch it.

20-09-2022, 07:52 PM
Bring back Scotsport

What's Sarah O up to these days? 🤣

21-09-2022, 07:21 AM

The OF always go for Scottish managers.......oh wait.

Renfrew_Hibby
21-09-2022, 07:29 AM
Totally agree. I bet most fans of other clubs dont watch it it either. Dont need any poor commentator to tell us what we can see with our own eyes. Match of the day would have a least discussed all 3 penalty shouts. Even my jambo aquaintances think its garbage and dont watch it.

In this day of club TV channels and YouTube ect. There's no need to watch sportscene, I know I don't. I get the same highlights but minus the studio ramblings of the 'experts' which often goes on for longer than the actual highlights.

21-09-2022, 08:16 AM
In this day of club TV channels and YouTube ect. There's no need to watch sportscene, I know I don't. I get the same highlights but minus the studio ramblings of the 'experts' which often goes on for longer than the actual highlights.

It’s a real shame what’s happened to free to air sport. I used to like the BBC’s content, both on tv and when I was in the car or on the garden with the radio on. Now Five live seems to be hours and hours of hours of pundits like Jermaine Jenas talking about football and the sportsound idiots shouting and interrupting each other on open all mics.

01-10-2022, 04:03 PM
Canny wait for this.

If the general opinion is still negative then 100% there is a BBC agenda against us.

01-10-2022, 04:16 PM
Canny wait for this.

If the general opinion is still negative then 100% there is a BBC agenda against us.

**** the bbc and **** the hertz

MartinfaePorty
01-10-2022, 04:16 PM
Mikey Stewart will still be saying he's not sure what Johnson is trying to do!

Sent from my SM-S901B using Tapatalk

01-10-2022, 04:20 PM

I think he'll see we're now starting to see it. That's 3 wins in a row so the longer he keeps saying he can't see it while we're winning games then the dafter he's going to look.

Scotty Leither
01-10-2022, 04:25 PM

I hope Mike/ Mikey Stewart/Stuart has got his identity crisis sorted out by the time the programme airs tonight.

01-10-2022, 04:29 PM
Wonder if we've moved up the bill from last to 2nd last.

RMQ1967
01-10-2022, 04:29 PM
Couldn't care less what they have to say as long as Hibs are winning.

In fact, I'll be happy if they're still not convinced by Hibs - might provide motivation for the team to keep proving them wrong.

01-10-2022, 07:23 PM

2 games to go and we still haven’t been shown

hibee1875
01-10-2022, 07:26 PM
2 games to go and we still haven’t been shown

It’s on now? My tv guide says it’s on after motd at the back of 11

01-10-2022, 07:29 PM
Just flashed up that the next highlights are Hibernian v Aberdeen, it's amateur hour again!! 🤣

01-10-2022, 07:30 PM

Nope. Last again.

01-10-2022, 07:30 PM
I just can’t see what Lee Johnson is trying to do…
Ok pal, you’re boring now.

Argylehibby
01-10-2022, 07:33 PM
Goodwin not mentioning his player diving (cheating) for a penalty there and Stewart and Millar not dwelling on it like they did with Porto. Surprised.. of course not.

01-10-2022, 07:34 PM
Wow…last

01-10-2022, 07:35 PM

How are you seeing this already? DUFC and St J has just started for me.

01-10-2022, 07:35 PM
Last again 😂

01-10-2022, 07:40 PM

I’m childish and won’t watch the programme. Did Stewart really say this H?

3 wins
2 clean sheets
6 scored
1 against.

What a ****ing plum

01-10-2022, 07:42 PM

Sent from my SM-S901B using TapatalkWhereas I bet Johnson knows exactly what Mikey's trying to do. Best thing to do is keep winning and boycott BBC Heartsound/scene.

01-10-2022, 07:43 PM

Win a few games I think. On a run at the moment given away 1 goal in three difficult games to be honest. Listened to the 10 mins on the radio before Hearts Rangers game and some bizarre messaging about Hearts going well everything ok and we can be second. No context in that they have been poor recently and the win at Motherwell was hugely flattering. Fat jambo interviewer asking Gio yes he did call him that how great the atmosphere would be. Absolutely weird.

01-10-2022, 07:56 PM
Just the five mentions of concentration from Michael Stewart there when talking about Porteous.

01-10-2022, 07:57 PM
Just the five mentions of concentration from Michael Stewart there when talking about Porteous.

He knows what he is doing

Torto7
01-10-2022, 07:57 PM
Stewart cant let it go.

Cardinal G
01-10-2022, 07:59 PM

He's really got it in for Porto, plus the usual identity line.

01-10-2022, 07:59 PM
and an identity in there for good measure. :greengrin

01-10-2022, 08:06 PM
and an identity in there for good measure. :greengrin

What the **** does he actually mean??

01-10-2022, 08:07 PM
He's really got it in for Porto, plus the usual identity line.

Cut and paste from the ginge minge

01-10-2022, 08:08 PM
I hope Foster's no on it, he's ***** and seems to hate Hibs.

01-10-2022, 08:14 PM

He seems to have got worse since he married the Sevco loving singer.

01-10-2022, 08:15 PM
What the **** does he actually mean??

He means he can't think of anything else to criticise us about so has to come up with some made up p*sh.

They hate us winning.

He's left. Think he went to the US.

01-10-2022, 08:31 PM
He means he can't think of anything else to criticise us about so has to come up with some made up p*sh.

Ah right so a complete ****ing plum

RMQ1967
01-10-2022, 08:36 PM

The thing is he's spot on. No-one can deny Porto has had more than his fair share of stray passes (under little pressure) & drifting out of position at times.

The stray passes are the one area of Porto's game he really needs to tidy up and to be fair I can't remember any in the past few games.

Constructive criticism from MS and i agree - sort out his concentration issues and he's a top top defender.

01-10-2022, 11:49 PM
The thing is he's spot on. No-one can deny Porto has had more than his fair share of stray passes (under little pressure) & drifting out of position at times.

The stray passes are the one area of Porto's game he really needs to tidy up and to be fair I can't remember any in the past few games.

Constructive criticism from MS and i agree - sort out his concentration issues and he's a top top defender.
That’s fine but there is no need to keep mentioning it especially after yet another fine game. It’s repetitive and lazy at best. Bordering on obsession at worse.

02-10-2022, 12:03 AM

Was there not a social from the club during the week quoting stats to the effect that he's got either the best, or second best, connected passes of any Premiership centre backs?

02-10-2022, 12:05 AM

Does he really do any of that more than others? I’d wager his pass completion rate will stand up to scrutiny no bother at all.

And he’s IS top defender has been for ages. A few over analysed incidents has created a totally false narrative around him.

HTD1875
02-10-2022, 12:30 AM

Shut it Mikey.

02-10-2022, 05:38 AM
Why are we always on last unless we're playing the OF or Hearts?

02-10-2022, 06:12 AM

Was just about to post absolute disgrace happens every week

02-10-2022, 06:27 AM

The stats don’t back up the constant negative narrative that MS is spouting each week.

02-10-2022, 06:47 AM

It’s not constructive criticism when he’s just rolling out the same criticism every week. How long does he have to go before any decent performance is not anaylised with such undercurrent of doubt?

Let’s face it, none of them probably saw the game and it was just a bit of time filler while squeezed in at the end of a programme that like Sportsound on the radio. feels like it’s on its last legs.

WestCoastHibby
02-10-2022, 07:05 AM
Won't name names, as two of them are actually good blokes and the other I know his daughter very well. The one that "hides it" use to say he was a Clyde fan, maybe partick? I can't remember who he use to pretend to support but know for a fact he now doesn't hide the fact he's a current bun, but he did whilst he was active.

Edit- only hint I'll give is the one I know the daughter of, rangers season ticket holder, essentially vanished after overruling a pen decision at Ibrox vs them. Best pals with the infamous Charlie Richmond as well, otherwise, im an aspiring young journo with no degree, and it's hard enough to get anywhere in Scottish football media so im not willing to name names of refs that I know personally, especially with the jobs for boys mentality up here. Sorry
That was a very long winded way of demonstrating no bottle or substance

02-10-2022, 07:05 AM

Didn't really disagree with anything he said last night.

NC1875
02-10-2022, 07:18 AM
Just watched the Aberdeen highlights. Jim Goodwin must be furious with Miovski the cheat. Was never a penalty in a million years.

02-10-2022, 07:22 AM
Nice goal from Hallberg

02-10-2022, 07:41 AM
I listened to Sportsound in the car from the full time whistles through to 6PM. Hibs County was the only game we didn't hear from the managers.

Not even a 'sorry we never had time to get to County, not even a mention. We got a two minute interview from Porteus during the week with a focus on moving to the premier league.

Thanks guys great input again for the fans on the way home after a fantastic win a third on the bounce.

The number of times I get home before hearing from the Hibs manager is unreal.

02-10-2022, 07:52 AM
Was there not a social from the club during the week quoting stats to the effect that he's got either the best, or second best, connected passes of any Premiership centre backs?

Yes there was he simply is being analysed to a different standard than other players. Just give the guy credit for a brilliant week rather than every compliment having a caveat attached.

02-10-2022, 07:54 AM
That’s fine but there is no need to keep mentioning it especially after yet another fine game. It’s repetitive and lazy at best. Bordering on obsession at worse.

Agree totally

02-10-2022, 08:01 AM
I listened to Sportsound in the car from the full time whistles through to 6PM. Hibs County was the only game we didn't hear from the managers.

Not even a 'sorry we never had time to get to County, not even a mention. We got a two minute interview from Porteus during the week with a focus on moving to the premier league.

Thanks guys great input again for the fans on the way home after a fantastic win a third on the bounce.

I don’t often listen to Sportsound but when I do it always appears rather unorganised.

You would think that post the final whistles they would want to cover ALL the top league matches and manager interviews as quickly and effectively as they could.

Then once through that section pick out the talking points of the day and go from there.

But you can put it on just after the full times and they will drone on about one game or one manager or whatever for ages. Surely they know that the hour after the games is the time a lot of fans from the stadiums will be tuning in and looking for some initial reaction and manager inputs?!?

02-10-2022, 08:02 AM

Had there been anything controversial occurred in yesterdays match,ie, red card,disputed penalty,ranting post match interview blasting Hibs or one of our players, or any "incident" that involved Ryan,you can bet the game would not have been shown last in Sportscene last night (7.30pm showing)
After having a poor season last term,signs this term are looking good .
Those pundits who show a severe lack of impartiality regarding Hibs,both on Sportsound and Sportscene,appear somewhat frustrated Hibs are doing ok.
They know who they are and the bosses at both programmes,if they know football at all,need to sort this.

Coach Jon
02-10-2022, 08:08 AM

Sportscene Results had a live interview with Lee Johnson after the game.

02-10-2022, 08:26 AM
Do folk really get worked up that we are on last on a TV programme

OldEast
02-10-2022, 09:04 AM

Just another thing in the ever increasing list of things that annoy people.

02-10-2022, 09:07 AM

One game has to be last each week but the issue is how often that is our game regardless of the performance or score.

I only watch on the iPlayer if I wasn't at the game and it wasn't on Sky or Alba so it doesn't affect me in the same way it does those sitting through the entire programme waiting for us to be on.

02-10-2022, 09:10 AM

Not sure worked up is accurate however it does seem a little odd if happening every week. Allied to what appears to be let's say a little negative view towards our club.

02-10-2022, 09:11 AM

Isn't it conventional to leave the best to last 😉

02-10-2022, 09:27 AM
Seems that's Michael Stewarts narrative with regards to Ryan has changed.

02-10-2022, 09:28 AM

A bit when you’re waiting on it, thinking it’s only an hour long, checking, realising it’s 90 minutes and having delayed your dinner going hungry for longer.

smack
02-10-2022, 09:30 AM
How are you seeing this already? DUFC and St J has just started for me.

Think it’s shown at 7pm on bbc Scotland

02-10-2022, 10:36 AM
Sportscene really is an amateur production, from Thomson hosting the programme to Kenny Miller and Mikey Stewart, poor quality production

Victor
02-10-2022, 11:43 AM
I don’t watch Sportscene, primarily because it is an amateur hour s**t show, so I don’t quite grasp what Michael Stewart is going on about when he questions Hibs’ ‘identity’? Does he define what he means by informing the viewer about the ‘identity’ of others Clubs i.e. does he identify Hearts as a freestyle freefalling Club?

Clarence
02-10-2022, 12:06 PM
The stats don’t back up the constant negative narrative that MS is spouting each week.

The BBC’s constant negging and gaslighting of Porto is bordering on abuse. They can’t give him a compliment without qualifying it with some sort of criticism. They are a sad, sad, envious bunch.

02-10-2022, 12:12 PM
Porteous would have been crucified if he had made Devlin's tackle, not even worth a booking according to the yams.

02-10-2022, 12:13 PM
I don’t watch Sportscene, primarily because it is an amateur hour s**t show, so I don’t quite grasp what Michael Stewart is going on about when he questions Hibs’ ‘identity’? Does he define what he means by informing the viewer about the ‘identity’ of others Clubs i.e. does he identify Hearts as a freestyle freefalling Club?

I’m guessing it’s a convoluted way of saying that we maybe didn’t have a settled starting line up?

Is it an identity for the supporters to forge with a raft of new signings? Needing to play a good few games together before feeling like “Hibs”?

Maybe a bit of both.

Victor
02-10-2022, 12:16 PM
I’m guessing it’s a convoluted way of saying that we maybe didn’t have a settled starting line up?

Is it an identity for the supporters to forge with a raft of new signings? Needing to play a good few games together before feeling like “Hibs”?

Maybe a bit of both.

Thanks. All sounds a bit desperate. Criticism for criticism’s sake.

02-10-2022, 12:44 PM
Thanks. All sounds a bit desperate. Criticism for criticism’s sake.

Think that Mikey is also trying to find his identity. A bit like Rugby Tom, but actually been a professional player.

BlackSheep
02-10-2022, 12:50 PM
When he talks about identity I think he is looking for a defined way of playing… ie high pressing or counter attacking or long ball specialists, etc etc.

I think what he is missing is that we are slowly starting to fit what Johnson said in the summer and that’s a pacey attacking team.

All the way down to the GKs quick distribution to the ball boys getting the ball to the throwers quickly… speed is our identity right now.

Stewart is like a dog with a bone at times… just look at how often he talks about Porto’s concentration levels… he has that wrong too… Porto never has lapses in concentration, it’s when he loses any level headedness that he suffers and makes a silly tackle or gets involved with a player… other than that Porto hasn’t shown very many consistent flaws that have held him back whatsoever.

02-10-2022, 01:03 PM

Never let the facts get in the way of a Michael Stewart opinion. The narrative about a lack of concentration is just a new diversionary tactic to avoid saying I was wrong. IMO, and those on Sky, The Rangers were denied a clear 3rd goal when Gordon flapped at the ball. Stewart was only one who said it was a foul and he wouldn't even debate it. I used to like him as a pundit but now he's like a spoilt kid who knows he's wrong but won't admit it and instead just double downs.

02-10-2022, 01:12 PM
Perhaps going against the crowd here, but I didn't think he said anything too bad.

It felt like he was suggesting that, if he concentrates 100% on the game and plays like he did for Scotland, that Porteous will become a real top class defender at a much higher level.

I think he's right.

02-10-2022, 05:41 PM
Never let the facts get in the way of a Michael Stewart opinion. The narrative about a lack of concentration is just a new diversionary tactic to avoid saying I was wrong. IMO, and those on Sky, The Rangers were denied a clear 3rd goal when Gordon flapped at the ball. Stewart was only one who said it was a foul and he wouldn't even debate it. I used to like him as a pundit but now he's like a spoilt kid who knows he's wrong but won't admit it and instead just double downs.

That is the politician in him, but interesting to see on the bbc website they cannot get enough of our new sensation, Porto the Dalkeith Baresi.
They would sell their own Granny for a headline, lowlifes that they are, never done a real days work in their lives.

02-10-2022, 05:47 PM
Perhaps going against the crowd here, but I didn't think he said anything too bad.

It felt like he was suggesting that, if he concentrates 100% on the game and plays like he did for Scotland, that Porteous will become a real top class defender at a much higher level.

I think he's right.

Pische, like most young centre halfs he will not reach his peak as a defender till he is around 28 years old, his concentration levels are fine and he is in my humble the best young centre half we have produced going back over 60 years. He is better than Steven tweed and Craig Paterson at young age. he is a top class defender now who will get even better.

02-10-2022, 05:59 PM
he is a top class defender now who will get even better.

Isn't that what I said?

And, I think you mean "pish"......

GRA
02-10-2022, 06:26 PM
Lost all respect for this programme with their highlights and 'analysis' after the Dons game. The fixation with Porto's pen & Goodwins comments rather than focussing on how we bossed the game (especially Porto) was atrocious. Didn't even balance it with debating the 2 stonewall pens, one act of blatant cheating by the Dons defence didn't even make the highlights reel!

02-10-2022, 07:50 PM
Good to see the manager having a dig in an interview in the Sunday Times today.

02-10-2022, 07:56 PM
Good to see the manager having a dig in an interview in the Sunday Times today.

Any chance of a copy and paste of the interview?

Hibs4185
02-10-2022, 08:26 PM
Is it just me or is the tiny super duper hybrid pitch looking a bit bare in places? Only a few weeks into the season and it’s struggling already

02-10-2022, 08:50 PM
Any chance of a copy and paste of the interview?

It’s a blessing and a curse. The passion and opinion that comes with it is a blessing, but if you lose your focus it’s a curse. You can feel mini vendettas because of the intensity of playing each other so many times plus the media exposure. You can get sucked into that.”

That’s why he’s consciously stayed out of the sequels to five red cards being dished out to opposition players this season. What he won’t accept is that it’s fortune favouring Hibs. “I haven’t watched Soccerscene [Sportscene, the BBC’s highlights show], apart from once — after the Aberdeen game — and now I know why I don’t watch it.

“I was listening to [pundit] Mikey Stewart, I haven’t got a problem with him, but he was like ‘What is the identity? Hibs have played against teams that have had a man sent off’.

“I’d say that our good play creates the sending-offs. When you play the ball over the top and [Martin] Boyle gets in behind against a slowish defender and he pulls him down, that’s worked on. When [Liam] Scales takes down Josh Campbell when he does a little trick with quick feet, that’s skill, when we isolate for the [Ryan] Porteous one-on-one with a defender ...

“I’d say a lot of those sending-offs have been down to skill, fitness, tactics and not just because somebody has turned round and smacked someone like the [Alfredo] Morelos one [against Rangers]. You try and create threats and problems for the opponent and do a lot of work on isolating your strengths versus their weaknesses, whether that’s a set play or a ball over the top because you have elongated the pitch and made penetrative runs.

“That’s my point. It’s not fluke that’s happened. We are not telling players to cheat at all, but we are working on these things.”

02-10-2022, 08:52 PM
Can admins please change this thread title to ’Soccerscene’ just for the bants.

02-10-2022, 09:17 PM
I’ll second that.:thumbsup:

02-10-2022, 09:34 PM

Came on to post this. Simply has to happen.

02-10-2022, 09:52 PM

Totally agree with this, it must be nearly time for his contract renewal and I wouldn't be surprised if the likes of Levein was waiting in the wings to replace him. Used to like him but he's well and truly jumped on the BBC bandwagon.

02-10-2022, 09:56 PM
It’s a blessing and a curse. The passion and opinion that comes with it is a blessing, but if you lose your focus it’s a curse. You can feel mini vendettas because of the intensity of playing each other so many times plus the media exposure. You can get sucked into that.”

That’s why he’s consciously stayed out of the sequels to five red cards being dished out to opposition players this season. What he won’t accept is that it’s fortune favouring Hibs. “I haven’t watched Soccerscene [Sportscene, the BBC’s highlights show], apart from once — after the Aberdeen game — and now I know why I don’t watch it.

“I was listening to [pundit] Mikey Stewart, I haven’t got a problem with him, but he was like ‘What is the identity? Hibs have played against teams that have had a man sent off’.

“I’d say that our good play creates the sending-offs. When you play the ball over the top and [Martin] Boyle gets in behind against a slowish defender and he pulls him down, that’s worked on. When [Liam] Scales takes down Josh Campbell when he does a little trick with quick feet, that’s skill, when we isolate for the [Ryan] Porteous one-on-one with a defender ...

“I’d say a lot of those sending-offs have been down to skill, fitness, tactics and not just because somebody has turned round and smacked someone like the [Alfredo] Morelos one [against Rangers]. You try and create threats and problems for the opponent and do a lot of work on isolating your strengths versus their weaknesses, whether that’s a set play or a ball over the top because you have elongated the pitch and made penetrative runs.

“That’s my point. It’s not fluke that’s happened. We are not telling players to cheat at all, but we are working on these things.”Brilliant

Sent from my SM-A528B using Tapatalk

He's here!
02-10-2022, 10:01 PM

“That’s my point. It’s not fluke that’s happened. We are not telling players to cheat at all, but we are working on these things.”

Great stuff.

02-10-2022, 10:39 PM

This has surely got to happen :cb

03-10-2022, 12:36 AM

How he can read that as a foul I'll never know, Gordon ( great keeper ) came out and got a hand to the ball and his momentum took him into the Gers player, if anything it was Gordon that fouled him
Don't have a clue how MS says it was a foul on the keeper

Maybe he should ' concentrate ' a bit more

Stairway 2 7
03-10-2022, 05:39 AM

Brilliant and that's why he's a manager and Stewart is only on soccerscene

03-10-2022, 06:16 AM
So how WAS Soccerscene this weekend? I must have missed it.

03-10-2022, 07:04 AM

You obviously aren’t concentrating enough!

03-10-2022, 07:15 AM
You obviously aren’t concentrating enough!

The Daily Record has learned that Hibernian manager Lee Johnson is under fire from furious football fans up and down the country for deliberately misnaming BBC Scotland’s well respected flagship sports programme.

03-10-2022, 08:46 AM
I was the OP for this thread so admins please change the title. Anybody from now on must never call the programme S####scene.

03-10-2022, 09:06 AM

“That’s my point. It’s not fluke that’s happened. We are not telling players to cheat at all, but we are working on these things.”Well thought out post,I agree every word. Surely a career with Sportscene beckons? Or running a few training courses in analysis and objectivity or at least how not to be biased, superficial and intransigent.

hibbydog
03-10-2022, 09:14 AM

Standing up for his team in a controlled and classy way.

Hibs class

03-10-2022, 01:07 PM
The Daily Record has learned that Hibernian manager Lee Johnson is under fire from furious football fans up and down the country for deliberately misnaming BBC Scotland’s well respected flagship sports programme.

Furious fans must arse. Total non story yet sensationalised by the west coast media!

03-10-2022, 01:26 PM
Furious fans must arse. Total non story yet sensationalised by the west coast media!

Is this a whoosh moment or is there an actual link to the article?

03-10-2022, 01:36 PM
Can we change the thread title to Soccerscene 22/23 ? 😂

03-10-2022, 01:47 PM

Whoosh! :tee hee:

03-10-2022, 02:07 PM

Apologies Aldo, should have inserted the :greengrin smiley. I was just imagining the headline they wanted to write!

03-10-2022, 02:19 PM
Is this a whoosh moment or is there an actual link to the article?

Apologies Aldo, should have inserted the :greengrin smiley. I was just imagining the headline they wanted to write!

Whoosh! :tee hee:

Whoosh indeed!

No Hibsollah! Should have checked myself. Me being lazy. Mind you it wouldn’t surprise me it it made the news as they all do love a negative Hibs story [emoji2957]

03-10-2022, 02:29 PM
How he can read that as a foul I'll never know, Gordon ( great keeper ) came out and got a hand to the ball and his momentum took him into the Gers player, if anything it was Gordon that fouled him
Don't have a clue how MS says it was a foul on the keeper

Maybe he should ' concentrate ' a bit more

Great post! I suspect the rest of the Soccerscene team have had about enough of Stewart's Tiny Tears!

03-10-2022, 04:09 PM

Well respected flagship 🤣🤣🤣

03-10-2022, 04:56 PM
Well respected flagship 🤣🤣🤣

That alone I thought was a bit of a giveaway :greengrin

More of a boaty mcboatface than a flagship.

03-10-2022, 07:28 PM

I’ll second that.:thumbsup:

Came on to post this. Simply has to happen.

This has surely got to happen :cb

Brilliant and that's why he's a manager and Stewart is only on soccerscene

I was the OP for this thread so admins please change the title. Anybody from now on must never call the programme S####scene.

Can we change the thread title to Soccerscene 22/23 ? 😂

Dear Admins

Please make this happen.

03-10-2022, 10:13 PM
Well thought out post,I agree every word. Surely a career with Sportscene beckons? Or running a few training courses in analysis and objectivity or at least how not to be biased, superficial and intransigent.

Sportscene is dead! Long live Soccerscene!

15-10-2022, 03:43 PM
Soccerscene Results still to start because of England rugby league game. Final score on red button though. Pathetic.

15-10-2022, 04:24 PM
I will be missing soccerscene once more as I just dont like to listen to the phanneys that are overpaid on this to spout mince.
Even worse it will be when we get pumped like we have today right in their own backyard as well.

24-10-2022, 12:21 AM
I fell asleep, were we last on again and was the panel made up of mainly Hearts and Rangers fans? Just wondering!

24-10-2022, 06:02 AM
I fell asleep, were we last on again and was the panel made up of mainly Hearts and Rangers fans? Just wondering!

Yep the ever inciteful Shelly Kerr and Mr I'm never wrong Michael Stewart.

24-10-2022, 07:13 AM
I wouldn't call it highlights, it was more or less just the goals.
No second look at the Boyle booking, no comment on the offside/penalty, no comment about the size of the crowd.
It was if it had been reluctantly tagged on at the end .

24-10-2022, 10:36 AM
I wouldn't call it highlights, it was more or less just the goals.
No second look at the Boyle booking, no comment on the offside/penalty, no comment about the size of the crowd.
It was if it had been reluctantly tagged on at the end .

If it was Hearts they'd have been all over the attendance.

24-10-2022, 11:17 AM
If it was Hearts they'd have been all over the attendance.

Couldn’t be though since their ground doesn’t hold as much as 20,000 😊

24-10-2022, 11:21 AM
Couldn’t be though since their ground doesn’t hold as much as 20,000 😊
Now that’s just a lie and you know that , there ground holds easy 20000 or above as they keep telling us it does.

24-10-2022, 11:35 AM
Now that’s just a lie and you know that , there ground holds easy 20000 or above as they keep telling us it does.

It will do when they add in the hotel occupancy to their capacity :greengrin

24-10-2022, 11:48 AM
Bbc running an article saying are Aberdeen the third force?

Have they been waiting to print that for a while.

As soon as they move into third we get articles like that on a national outlet.

Just confirms to me how much bbc are pro Aberdeen

Rant over.

29-10-2022, 05:37 PM
Wonder if we're on last again tonight seeing as we won.

29-10-2022, 06:32 PM
Second on the bill tonight

29-10-2022, 06:38 PM
Soccerscene not live on the iPlayer is it? Takes you to bbc England?

29-10-2022, 06:41 PM
I think I count 3 Rangers efforts cleared off the line plus a penalty hit the post.

29-10-2022, 06:48 PM
Why’s Foster back? That’s an unpleasant surprise.

29-10-2022, 06:48 PM
Thought that Dick Foster had moved to the States. He better give us some credit today.

29-10-2022, 06:50 PM
McFadden looks he’s ready for his hallowe’en night out already, vampirish.

29-10-2022, 06:52 PM
Refuse to watch that soccerscene program, all weedgie spin, or any team but Hibs, **** them.

29-10-2022, 06:54 PM
How the **** did the referee not spot the handball? And how was Henderson not given a penalty?

29-10-2022, 06:54 PM
McFadden looks he’s ready for his hallowe’en night out already, vampirish.

Did he check himself in the mirror oh wait he. Can’t

29-10-2022, 06:57 PM
That’s not an official club tie is it?

29-10-2022, 07:04 PM
What the **** has Fletcher got in his heid??

29-10-2022, 07:14 PM
Thought that Dick Foster had moved to the States. He better give us some credit today.

He's just come back the other day.

29-10-2022, 07:15 PM
Soccerscene not live on the iPlayer is it? Takes you to bbc England?

All BBC channels can be watched live via the iPlayer.

29-10-2022, 07:18 PM
How the **** did the referee not spot the handball? And how was Henderson not given a penalty?

Officials have stopped making any calls on the pitch, instead leaving it to the VAR guys. Should just ref the game remotely and be done with it.

29-10-2022, 07:34 PM

Probably because he’s not seeing it from on high on a TVscreen and I’m not sure the Henderson one was a pen.

29-10-2022, 08:02 PM
All BBC channels can be watched live via the iPlayer.
It's on the BBC Scotland channel you need to change you region settings on iplayer to Scotland.

29-10-2022, 08:02 PM
Never a red for Tony Watt but he’s a prick so he can GIRU him. Goodwin too.

Craig Levein three, even though he’s nothing to do with todays games.

29-10-2022, 08:13 PM

Craig Levein three, even though he’s nothing to do with todays games.Yep, really harsh

The killie disallowed goal had about as much contact on it than Porto last week - poor onfield decision and poor var didn't intervene

Sent from my VOG-L29 using Tapatalk

29-10-2022, 08:43 PM

Brilliant NH!

Last bit made me chuckle! [emoji1303]

Orchard_Hibs
29-10-2022, 08:58 PM
Officials have stopped making any calls on the pitch, instead leaving it to the VAR guys. Should just ref the game remotely and be done with it.

I said the exact same at the game, we will end up with all the worst aspects of VAR and refs who just won’t make a decision anymore.

29-10-2022, 09:11 PM
Yep, really harsh

The killie disallowed goal had about as much contact on it that Porto last week - poor onfield decision and poor var didn't intervene

Agree, red on Watt was harsh but as NorthernHibee says, he's a pr**k so I've no sympathy for him. Thought the angles they showed for the VAR review and the slowing it down and freezing it on the contact made it look worse. You could see from the tv replay at normal speed there was barely any contact and he was trying to pull out of it.

Thought there was even less contact on Stevie May than there was on Porteous.

29-10-2022, 09:12 PM

When did Potter lose first place 😝

29-10-2022, 09:44 PM
MOTD have kicked off Poppy season already. I didn’t see any on Soccerscene.

29-10-2022, 09:46 PM
I

The two pundits both wore poppies this evening.

29-10-2022, 09:52 PM

The Poppy Appeal started on Thursday.

30-10-2022, 09:10 AM
The Poppy Appeal started on Thursday.

And the BBC presenters started wearing the poppy on Saturday.

30-10-2022, 09:17 AM
And the BBC presenters started wearing the poppy on Saturday.

Yes happens every year like that.

30-10-2022, 09:19 AM
Here we go again with the poppy debate on here :rolleyes:

30-10-2022, 09:23 AM

They had some but one of their Hearts supporting pundits stole them 😉

30-10-2022, 09:35 AM
Agree, red on Watt was harsh but as NorthernHibee says, he's a pr**k so I've no sympathy for him. Thought the angles they showed for the VAR review and the slowing it down and freezing it on the contact made it look worse. You could see from the tv replay at normal speed there was barely any contact and he was trying to pull out of it.

Thought there was even less contact on Stevie May than there was on Porteous.

I was photographing that game and the image I took makes it look like it was a shocking tackle. They had my image on the BBC and they were talking about how a still image can paint the wrong picture on Sportsound. Having been a supporter of VAR I'm not convinced now as much of the decision will depend on the angle of the cameras and the speed the replay is shown. The way they toggle the impact on VAR might also influence decisions. At the game and watching Sportscene I'm not sure it was a foul and never a red card. Watt also played the ball and got a touch on it and it was a fraction of a second after that the impact with Goss happened.

30-10-2022, 09:39 AM
I was photographing that game and the image I took makes it look like it was a shocking tackle. They had my image on the BBC and they were talking about how a still image can paint the wrong picture on Sportsound. Having been a supporter of VAR I'm not convinced now as much of the decision will depend on the angle of the cameras and the speed the replay is shown. The way they toggle the impact on VAR might also influence decisions. At the game and watching Sportscene I'm not sure it was a foul and never a red card. Watt also played the ball and got a touch on it and it was a fraction of a second after that the impact with Goss happened.

Interesting insight. Also heard Mcinnes saying a potential red card for St Johnstone took 4 mins for the ref to decide and he only appeared to be seeing the video of one angle rather than the different angles the teams were promised LJ also made a very good point that it would be interesting to be able to hear the conversation between ref and var person like happens in rugby which makes complete sense to me

Broxburn Greens
30-10-2022, 09:39 AM

Aye mate, one of the ones you put up on FB makes it look like he’s caught him just below the knee and dragging his boot down his leg and from that angle you’d think it was a red. Quality images btw 👍

30-10-2022, 09:51 AM
Aye mate, one of the ones you put up on FB makes it look like he’s caught him just below the knee and dragging his boot down his leg and from that angle you’d think it was a red. Quality images btw 👍 Leg breaker looking at my image but never even thought it was a foul at the game

30-10-2022, 10:16 AM
Must pay more attention before attempting to slag off the BBC.

3/10.

30-10-2022, 06:28 PM
VAR and John Beaton have had some amount of stick from pundits and fans alike for the Tony Watt red card with people saying it should never have been one. This clip proves that a red card was 100% correct :cb

https://twitter.com/pieandbov/status/1586735780852031489

30-10-2022, 06:33 PM
VAR and John Beaton have had some amount of stick from pundits and fans alike for the Tony Watt red card with people saying it should never have been one. This clip proves that a red card was 100% correct :cb

Still don't think it's a red card.

30-10-2022, 06:57 PM

Was he not sent off just for being Tony Watt ? 😂

Maybe karma for the amount of dives he takes to get fellow players booked 👍

30-10-2022, 07:05 PM

Just shows how much difference a camera angle makes. Looks like hardly any contact at all from the other angle but looks like a red was correct from this one.

30-10-2022, 07:31 PM

If someone did that to one of our players, we'd be screaming murder and saying it's a stick-on red.

30-10-2022, 07:32 PM
If someone did that to one of our players, we'd be screaming murder and saying it's a stick-on red.

At the time, of course.

But watching back I honestly wouldn't. Don't think there's a lot of contact or force at all. I know it doesn't need to be a leg breaker or crunchcing tackle to be a red card, just don't think Watt’s challenge merited a red.

30-10-2022, 07:33 PM
Just shows how much difference a camera angle makes. Looks like hardly any contact at all from the other angle but looks like a red was correct from this one.
I wonder if Beaton saw that angle. From what the TV showed it didn't look a red but I guess that is the club video and it looks a certain red

30-10-2022, 07:35 PM

Stonewaller for me. If that's happens v us we are all screaming for a red.

NC1875
30-10-2022, 08:21 PM
Watts a little prick anyway so no sympathy for him.

30-10-2022, 08:40 PM
I wonder if Beaton saw that angle. From what the TV showed it didn't look a red but I guess that is the club video and it looks a certain red

Dundee Utd manager said he hadn’t seen that angle on radio yesterday. He said that he had seen that angle and felt it could be red but stressed the ref had not seen that angle.

30-10-2022, 08:46 PM

Never a red. Absolutely no force in that challenge whatsoever

30-10-2022, 08:57 PM
Personally think Watt's challenge was a stick on red card and can't understand the controversy around it.

30-10-2022, 08:59 PM

Agree. They say the camera doesn't lie but in this case it did. In the freeze frame that the ref is shown it looks like a straight studs up assault but that isn't what happened.

30-10-2022, 09:05 PM

Actually can't believe after seeing that angle of the challenge anyone could seriously claim it was never a red. If you lunge at a player at that height and make contact with them then its Serious Foul Play and a red card, regardless of force.

30-10-2022, 09:06 PM
Agree. They say the camera doesn't lie but in this case it did. In the freeze frame that the ref is shown it looks like a straight studs up assault but that isn't what happened.

Did you actually watch the video from the other angle, this one?

30-10-2022, 09:08 PM
I don't think it's a red, although I'm unsure what the rules are.

It doesn't look clever because the "studs are up" and it looks like it's going to be a bad challenge. He totally pulls out of it though, meaning that in the end it isn't all that reckless. Or as the rules as far as I am aware are, in pulling out he ends up not using "excessive force".

Not sure though.

30-10-2022, 09:10 PM
I don't think it's a red, although I'm unsure what the rules are.

It doesn't look clever because the "studs are up" and it looks like it's going to be a bad challenge. He totally pulls out of it though, meaning that in the end it isn't all that reckless. Or as the rules as far as I am aware are, in pulling out he ends up not using "excessive force".

Not sure though.

Put it this way there is no chance Dundee United would win an appeal on that. I'm actually amazed people don't think that's a red after seeing the most recent video footage of it, that type of challenge has been a red for years. Watt is a wee bit unlucky because it isn't a malicious challenge, but that's all irrelevant if you catch an opponent's leg at that height.

30-10-2022, 09:15 PM
Put it this way there is no chance Dundee United would win an appeal on that. I'm actually amazed people don't think that's a red after seeing the most recent video footage of it, that type of challenge has been a red for years. Watt is a wee bit unlucky, but that's all irrelevant if you catch an opponent's leg at that height.

It looks milliseconds away from being an absolute shocker and I agree that when you make contact at that kind of height with a sort of stampy action then you're asking for trouble.

It also probably looked horrendous in real time.

By the time he pulls out there's very little force in it though and it's up to the Motherwell player to make it look like a horror tackle, and I think it's the force that determines the seriousness of the foul.

I have to hold my hands up and say that I find it harder than ever to know what is actually anything from no foul to red card these days, and referees seem to have similar difficulties.

30-10-2022, 09:23 PM
It looks milliseconds away from being an absolute shocker and I agree that when you make contact at that kind of height with a sort of stampy action then you're asking for trouble.

It also probably looked horrendous in real time.

By the time he pulls out there's very little force in it though and it's up to the Motherwell player to make it look like a horror tackle, and I think it's the force that determines the seriousness of the foul.

I have to hold my hands up and say that I find it harder than ever to know what is actually anything from no foul to red card these days, and referees seem to have similar difficulties.

Force can be one aspect, but it doesn't have to be down to excessive force for a Serious Foul play red card - just endangering the safety of an opponent is also worthy of a red.

"Any player who lunges at an opponent in challenging for the ball from the front, from the side or from behind using one or both legs, with excessive force or endangers the safety of an opponent is guilty of serious foul play."

https://www.theifab.com/laws/latest/fouls-and-misconduct/#disciplinary-action

In this situation he is endangering the safety of the opponent by lunging from the front. The Motherwell player wasn't that badly injured, but he could have been - which is the point of that rule.

31-10-2022, 03:31 PM
Did you actually watch the video from the other angle, this one?

That angle is damning, first time I have seen it from there. You can see the foot make contact just under the knee and the leg move violently away from the studs up boot. Stick on red any day of the week, just makes it better that it is Watt who'll suffer the suspension!!

31-10-2022, 04:01 PM
Do people still watch this soccerscene program its pish, and as for that gimp Watt getting sent off who in the heck cares, he is deserving of every poor decision possible.

31-10-2022, 05:31 PM
Force can be one aspect, but it doesn't have to be down to excessive force for a Serious Foul play red card - just endangering the safety of an opponent is also worthy of a red.

"Any player who lunges at an opponent in challenging for the ball from the front, from the side or from behind using one or both legs, with excessive force or endangers the safety of an opponent is guilty of serious foul play."

https://www.theifab.com/laws/latest/fouls-and-misconduct/#disciplinary-action

In this situation he is endangering the safety of the opponent by lunging from the front. The Motherwell player wasn't that badly injured, but he could have been - which is the point of that rule.

Endangering the safety of an opponent is pretty ambiguous though. Any slide tackle can result in injury even if the defender wins the ball fairly? I'm not sure Watt 'endangers' Goss as he really doesn't make a lot of contact. I'd give a yellow for careless play

02-11-2022, 03:34 PM
That angle is damning, first time I have seen it from there. You can see the foot make contact just under the knee and the leg move violently away from the studs up boot. Stick on red any day of the week, just makes it better that it is Watt who'll suffer the suspension!!

So it has been reduced to a yellow, shows what I know about football :greengrin

https://www.bbc.co.uk/sport/football/63460498

02-11-2022, 04:09 PM

It’s a bit of a farce that 2 refs view it at the weekend and decide it’s a red. Only for that to be over turned 3 days later using the same footage.

You’d think that even if they thought it was an error, they’d have upheld the original call just to avoid the embarrassment.

02-11-2022, 04:10 PM
It’s a bit of a farce that 2 refs view it at the weekend and decide it’s a red. Only for that to be over turned 3 days later using the same footage.

You’d think that even if they thought it was an error, they’d have upheld the original call just to avoid the embarrassment.

The United manager suggested after the game they only showed one angle to the ref during the match..and therefore VAR didn’t fully help him

02-11-2022, 04:11 PM
The United manager suggested after the game they only showed one angle to the ref during the match..and therefore VAR didn’t fully help him

Which raises many other questions! It really shouldn’t be so difficult

02-11-2022, 04:20 PM

What's the point of VAR if the authorities look at the same footage and overturn it, surely Var is there to make sure mistakes don't happen in the first place.

03-11-2022, 05:21 AM
What's the point of VAR if the authorities look at the same footage and overturn it, surely Var is there to make sure mistakes don't happen in the first place.

Is this a first for VAR? Not that I pay that much attention to what goes on outside of Scotland but I cannot think of any instance where a decision made using VAR has been overturned later.

03-11-2022, 05:56 AM

It really does seem absurd, and genuinely does call into question the competency of the referee (or the appeal panel).

You can understand a referee getting a love decision wrong, no replays, only have the angle they see at the time etc and so if a decision is overturned on appeal then that's fair enough.

With VAR though, and in Watt's case, the referee and the VAR have watched it over and over to reach a decision. What's the excuse for getting that wrong?

03-11-2022, 05:58 AM
It really does seem absurd, and genuinely does call into question the competency of the referee (or the appeal panel).

You can understand a referee getting a love decision wrong, no replays, only have the angle they see at the time etc and so if a decision is overturned on appeal then that's fair enough.

With VAR though, and in Watt's case, the referee and the VAR have watched it over and over to reach a decision. What's the excuse for getting that wrong?

It’s because the ref wasn’t showed all the footage…they apparently only showed it from one angle….was mentioned by the United manager after the game

03-11-2022, 06:03 AM
From memory, Beaton was 10 yards away and had a clear view. He made a decision at the time. VAR step in, show different angles but not all angles and Beaton changes his mind which now turns out to be wrong.

Why should VAR step in? It was not clear and obvious as Beaton seen it and waved play on? Once VAR called the ref over to have a look, was Beaton under pressure to send Watt off as if he didn’t, I think he would’ve been the 1st ref to stick by his on field decision, ever but now to have it overturned post match, that’s just lunacy and shows the frailty of our video refs. Who was the VAR official for that match?

I like VAR but what’s the point if even they get it wrong?

03-11-2022, 06:06 AM
It’s because the ref wasn’t showed all the footage…they apparently only showed it from one angle….was mentioned by the United manager after the game

That's worse, who's choosing what angle the referee gets to see then? There are several angles available so if VAR are only showing the ref the angle that looks like a red card then does that not call into question the intention of the VAR?

03-11-2022, 06:11 AM
That's worse, who's choosing what angle the referee gets to see then? There are several angles available so if VAR are only showing the ref the angle that looks like a red card then does that not call into question the intention of the VAR?

Mcinnes said the same about a decision to change a red card for a St Johnstone player. He said the ref took 4 mins watching the same view over and over again before changing his mind. He said that they were told var would allow for any incident to be reviewed using different angles.

An interesting aside the ref was Craig Napier who initially gave the red then didn't in the Saints Kille match was the same guy who didn't give a red for a much clearer decision at ER last season for an obvious red card tackle on JDH

03-11-2022, 06:27 AM

I heard this yesterday from someone and assumed they must have been mistaken.

This raises several points for me, none more so than what is the point of VAR if clubs can not only still appeal red card decisions but actually win them?

I assumed with the introduction of VAR clubs would no longer be allowed to appeal straight red card decisions as it has already been reviewed by the match referee and a VAR who has clearly told the match referee to come over and look at the incident as it may be worthy of a red card.

It also raises serious questions regarding the competency of the match referee, on this occasion John Beaton. If I was him I wouldn't be happy with this situation as it makes him look weak and out of his depth as a referee.

I don't claim to be an expert so perhaps someone will correct me if I'm wrong but this seems to me to be a really unprecedented situation as I'm not aware of red card decisions being overturned by VAR in other countries.

It really does make me wonder what the whole point of VAR actually is if situations like this are still going to arise. We've had it in place for less than 2 weeks and already there's crazy decisions being made.

foxy
03-11-2022, 07:08 AM

This raises several points for me, none more so than what is the point of VAR if clubs can not only still appeal red card decisions but actually win them?

I assumed with the introduction of VAR clubs would no longer be allowed to appeal straight red card decisions as it has already been reviewed by the match referee and a VAR who has clearly told the match referee to come over and look at the incident as it may be worthy of a red card.

It also raises serious questions regarding the competency of the match referee, on this occasion John Beaton. If I was him I wouldn't be happy with this situation as it makes him look weak and out of his depth as a referee.

I don't claim to be an expert so perhaps someone will correct me if I'm wrong but this seems to me to be a really unprecedented situation as I'm not aware of red card decisions being overturned by VAR in other countries.

It really does make me wonder what the whole point of VAR actually is if situations like this are still going to arise. We've had it in place for less than 2 weeks and already there's crazy decisions being made.

West Ham had 2 red cards overturned on appeal in 2020/21 season after VAR had got the referee to send the players off - Fabian Balbuena against Chelsea and Thomas Soucek against Fulham.

03-11-2022, 07:10 AM

Liam Fox said post match that there was an angle that he’d seen of the incident that the referee wasn’t shown at the time of the review.

While it’s not great, we are indeed only 2 weeks in and there was bound to be some teething issues. Hopefully the referees association are able to use this for training to make sure all angles are shown to the referee going forward.

03-11-2022, 07:31 AM
Liam Fox said post match that there was an angle that he’d seen of the incident that the referee wasn’t shown at the time of the review.

While it’s not great, we are indeed only 2 weeks in and there was bound to be some teething issues. Hopefully the referees association are able to use this for training to make sure all angles are shown to the referee going forward.

The other angles that became available only seemed to make it look more of a red card…..

Let’s see how they do tomorrow night 😬

03-11-2022, 07:39 AM
West Ham had 2 red cards overturned on appeal in 2020/21 season after VAR had got the referee to send the players off - Fabian Balbuena against Chelsea and Thomas Soucek against Fulham.

Thanks I assumed there must have been instances of this happening elsewhere.

Seems farcical to me.

03-11-2022, 07:41 AM

Yeah I heard his comments although it would be helpful if these angles could have reached the public domain.

03-11-2022, 09:13 AM
VAR should be technology only, not human intervention.

Did the ball cross the line? Was he offside? These have definitive answers that technology can answer.

Everything else is just moving the decision from the pitch to an office, meaning the same old issues remain.

03-11-2022, 09:27 AM

Did the ball cross the line? Was he offside? These have definitive answers that technology can answer.

Everything else is just moving the decision from the pitch to an office, meaning the same old issues remain.

Well not quite, VAR can see things that the referee is blocked from seeing

03-11-2022, 10:42 AM

Fair point these …suggests that VAR has some quick growing up to do in Scotland

03-11-2022, 10:52 AM

That would be corrupt.

03-11-2022, 10:55 AM

Definitely.

I've made plenty wrong love decisions in my time. Never had the opportunity to overturn them on appeal either.

Got the last one right, though.

03-11-2022, 10:58 AM
Absolutely astonishing they've overturned that Red Card where Watt actually connects with the player with his studs just below the knee, but when Ryan Porteous got a Red Card at Ibrox for winning the ball and not being close to connecting with Aribo, that the appeal was thrown out.:rolleyes:

03-11-2022, 11:08 AM
Brings it back to the issue of football rules largely being administered on interpretation and matter of opinion.

Officials use VAR to award a red card, then another group of officials use VAR to rescind it. So who’s opinion is actually right here?

A circus.

03-11-2022, 08:22 PM

Agree 100%. The refs in scotland will just let var decide any difficult decisions rather than being in charge. Var has been more of a hindrance than help imho.

03-11-2022, 09:28 PM
Agree 100%. The refs in scotland will just let var decide any difficult decisions rather than being in charge. Var has been more of a hindrance than help imho. yet it's already made multiple decisions to correctly award or chop off a goal

Its already been a winner on that alone

dchibs
04-11-2022, 09:41 PM
Can't wait to hear what the experts give their thoughts on that penalty tonight.

04-11-2022, 09:43 PM
Can't wait to hear what the experts give their thoughts on that penalty tonight.

Dont give a monkeys what they say, dont change his 10 out of 10 from the top board.

13-11-2022, 11:32 PM
Well I watched Sportscene tonight for the first time in ages, thinking that the 'experts' would at least have something to say about Cochrane's tackle in the Livvie game, instead of which Stewart spent the whole time babbling on about the penalties he thought Hearts should've got. As a lot of other posters have pointed out, Stewart is nowhere near as fair minded as he was, and he's taken the safe option with all his fellow Hearts fans on Sportsound to back him up. Maybe Preston had a word with him, they all seem to be scared of him. Thank God I hardly ever watch or listen to either Sportscene or Sportsound these days.

Criswell
14-11-2022, 12:27 AM
I noticed that they all chumilly agreed that VAR had got Hibs disallowed goal decision correct. Video evidence no way proves that to be definitely the case. If Melkerson is offside we are going down to the molecular level!

14-11-2022, 07:55 AM
I noticed that they all chumilly agreed that VAR had got Hibs disallowed goal decision correct. Video evidence no way proves that to be definitely the case. If Melkerson is offside we are going down to the molecular level!

Which is why I find it unwatchable. I'm starting to find football itself unwatchable to be honest.

14-11-2022, 08:10 AM
Both decisions were correct.