View Full Version : Rangers Europa League Final
Imagine getting all the way to a European final, the players going all the way to penalties in the searing heat then the fans just ****ing off before the the medal presentation. That game could easily have gone either way. Penalties is a lottery. What a massive kick in the balls for those hun players. Terrible "support".
Was saying the same last night to my mate, all that excitement and great results to even get to that stage just to throw up the fingers at the end like it’s all forgotten about, awful showing of support was huge numbers as well
19-05-2022, 08:07 AM
They will go on about 100,000 or whatever made up number they want to try outdo Celtic but that was poor not staying around to clap the players and opposition for the presentation.
To all those saying the Huns had great support well they didn’t have the decency to stay and support their team at the end. Glory hunters !
Sioux
19-05-2022, 08:13 AM
They will go on about 100,000 or whatever made up number they want to try outdo Celtic but that was poor not staying around to clap the players and opposition for the presentation.
To all those saying the Huns had great support well they didn’t have the decency to stay and support their team at the end. Glory hunters !
The 100,000 was peddled around a few weeks ago wasn't it, and that was going to be the 'actual' figure no matter how many eventually arrived in Seville. Totally made up arbitrary number.
19-05-2022, 08:18 AM
I've yet to see any images which suggest they had anything like 100,000 fans in Seville. When you compare the scenes from when Celtic were there there's no comparison.
https://twitter.com/i/status/1527051996246720521
Anyone else think McCoist is looking ever more like Diego Maradona is his less healthy days. (Not comparing them as players).
Just saw a picture of the boy Rode who took the boot to the head early on…
https://twitter.com/sebastianrode20/status/1527077186750058497?s=21&t=MPbJPjwLI4UoYuBiGovdzQ
Wasn’t a booking…
19-05-2022, 08:32 AM
Oh dear oh dear. Yeh that’s right. Well the way I see it, unless they change the rules, just to save your despair, there are only two teams in the final, one from Edinburgh and one from Glasgow. We are left with a very narrow and undesirable field of choice so what’s your preference? No sitting on the fence now, what’s your choice? 🤨
Huns, it's quite straightforward.
19-05-2022, 08:46 AM
Queen Liz, Stephen Craigan, Ally McCoist, Kevin Thomson, Douglas Ross, Murray Ross, John Beaton, Bobby Madden, Andy Halliday, Kris Boyd, the Daily Record, the orange order, your boys took one helluva beating.......
After seeing the McCoist /Miller tearfest, I’d like to add Miller to that list.:greengrin
He's here!
19-05-2022, 08:54 AM
At the moment, The Rangers have won precisely the same as we have this season. Zip.
Still a good season compared to our dreadful one. Fingers crossed they win on Saturday.
19-05-2022, 08:57 AM
My, my what a real shame, the actual real huns knock sheite out of the imitation huns, what a lovely way to win a final.
Tears and snot running like rivers all through Govan and beyond this morning, the bbc still going on about the miricle journey after 12 years, forget it they only spent around 150 mill of other peoples money just to get to that final.
Could not have happened to a finer institution.
Sure a few on here (undercover) will be real disappointed as well, along with quite a few sympathisers on here as well.
**** the huns
He's here!
19-05-2022, 08:57 AM
Oh dear oh dear. Yeh that’s right. Well the way I see it, unless they change the rules, just to save your despair, there are only two teams in the final, one from Edinburgh and one from Glasgow. We are left with a very narrow and undesirable field of choice so what’s your preference? No sitting on the fence now, what’s your choice? 🤨
There's no two ways about it. Huns to win.
19-05-2022, 09:03 AM
I've yet to see any images which suggest they had anything like 100,000 fans in Seville. When you compare the scenes from when Celtic were there there's no comparison.
All the decent media reports claim there was 10s of thousands of Rangers fans in Seville.
19-05-2022, 09:06 AM
After seeing the McCoist /Miller tearfest, I’d like to add Miller to that list.:greengrinJust realised that I missed off Nick Walsh and that drag artist guy on the white horse, wullie king, or something like that.
19-05-2022, 09:09 AM
After seeing the McCoist /Miller tearfest, I’d like to add Miller to that list.:greengrin
If it's the video I'm thinking of that's a filter by the way
19-05-2022, 09:13 AM
If it's the video I'm thinking of that's a filter by the waythey had to doctor it as in the original they were apparently singing the Billy Boys with Thomson playing his flute in the background[emoji6]
19-05-2022, 09:18 AM
Still a good season compared to our dreadful one. Fingers crossed they win on Saturday.
Still won ****** all and we were in a final as well.
I think Hearts will beat this lot. I would fancy our chances.
19-05-2022, 09:18 AM
Rangers yet to win a major trophy in front of fans. Such a shame the banter has to end on Saturday.
19-05-2022, 09:19 AM
What noise does mince make?No idea. I wrote mice
Sent from my SM-G973F using Tapatalk
Just_Jimmy
19-05-2022, 09:22 AM
Imagine getting all the way to a European final, the players going all the way to penalties in the searing heat then the fans just ****ing off before the the medal presentation. That game could easily have gone either way. Penalties is a lottery. What a massive kick in the balls for those hun players. Terrible "support".Could say they 'walked away'?
Sent from my SM-G991B using Tapatalk
19-05-2022, 09:23 AM
Do sevco get some more stars for their tops now that they are the first "Scottish" based team to win two coin tosses in a Europa league final?
19-05-2022, 09:35 AM
https://spanishnewstoday.com/videos-show-huge-fights-between-rangers-and-eintracht-fans-at-the-europa-league-final-in-seville-spain_1778570-a.html??region=7
19-05-2022, 09:43 AM
Just realised that I missed off Nick Walsh and that drag artist guy on the white horse, wullie king, or something like that.
Older fans here will mind the chant from Celtic fans in the 60s/70s to their legendary player,captain,then manager.
There is only one King Billy, thats McNeill.
I recall being in Billy's pub in Bellshill one time.
Gave us all a free dram ,as it was his Mothers birthday that day.
19-05-2022, 09:44 AM
Fighting with themselves in Glasgow, hope they are a little happier Saturday 5pm then I hope they suffer next season.
19-05-2022, 09:45 AM
If it's the video I'm thinking of that's a filter by the way
I didn’t realise it in the euphoria of their defeat ….. still very funny.:greengrin
ClermistonGreen
19-05-2022, 09:50 AM
Older fans here will mind the chant from Celtic fans in the 60s/70s to their legendary player,captain,then manager.
There is only one King Billy, thats McNeill.
I recall being in Billy's pub in Bellshill one time.
Gave us all a free dram ,as it was his Mothers birthday that day.
Your always in the right place for the free bevvy Michael !
Keep it going son
YCJ + GGTTH
19-05-2022, 09:50 AM
https://spanishnewstoday.com/videos-show-huge-fights-between-rangers-and-eintracht-fans-at-the-europa-league-final-in-seville-spain_1778570-a.html??region=7
Neds.
Embarrassment to the majority of decent Scottish and German fans.
19-05-2022, 09:52 AM
Just when I thought I couldn’t be happier about the result last night. Thanks Katie, ya greeting faced wee hun ****.
Never misses an opportunity to sook up to the Hun, it seems.
19-05-2022, 09:52 AM
Fighting with themselves in Glasgow, hope they are a little happier Saturday 5pm then I hope they suffer next season.
Hope their pain continues at 5 pm on Saturday.
My faith makes it a mortal sin to wish them any success.
Hope this 10 year old club dies,as did a previous club with similar name.
Hope they are up to their knees in tears come Saturday night.
19-05-2022, 09:57 AM
Your always in the right place for the free bevvy Michael !
Keep it going son
YCJ + GGTTH
:cb:greengrin
19-05-2022, 10:02 AM
I feel relief this morning. The Rangers and their sycophants in the media would have been utterly insufferable had they won last night. It would have been endless. Now we can enjoy their abject misery :greengrin
19-05-2022, 10:06 AM
You would have thought after all the travel and expense of getting there ,that they could find at least another half hour of their time to salute their team .
They clearly still ignore super duper Ally's advice.
Recall one saying he would climb mountains to be in Seville stadium on the night.
They clearly then climbed over each other to get out of the stadium on the night.
Consistant,if nothing else :greengrin
19-05-2022, 10:09 AM
Presumably they all left at the final penalty as they know what "Exuberance coming their way" can look like:flag:
Fuzzywuzzy
19-05-2022, 10:14 AM
There's a couple of videos on AgentScotland twitter. From inside the bar the rangers fans are in. Rangers fan starts it by lobbing a bottle then it all kicks off
19-05-2022, 10:14 AM
Huge?
About 10 of them :rolleyes:
19-05-2022, 10:15 AM
I feel relief this morning. The Rangers and their sycophants in the media would have been utterly insufferable had they won last night. It would have been endless. Now we can enjoy their abject misery :greengrin
It passed off mostly peacefully and "our" Huns got beat. Happy days. :aok:
19-05-2022, 10:18 AM
Neds.
Embarrassment to the majority of decent Scottish and German fans.
I had my bro in law warned they aren’t representative of the majority of the country. I just warned him not to go to town centre. Still waiting on the mrs to forward the videos he sent her (he’s no clue about football so may even be german fans)
19-05-2022, 10:18 AM
If you need something to fill your day with joy, Follow Follow is a goldmine of delight. They are completely broken :greengrin
https://www.followfollow.com/forum/threads/how-do-you-get-over-it.208254/
19-05-2022, 10:33 AM
If you need something to fill your day with joy, Follow Follow is a goldmine of delight. They are completely broken :greengrin
One wrote
"Life goes on mate. I know it sounds simplistic but you gain nothing from living in the past."
1872 and 55 titles !?
Not living in the past,then?
19-05-2022, 10:33 AM
https://elpais.com/deportes/2022-05-18/batalla-campal-entre-los-hinchas-del-eintracht-y-el-rangers-antes-de-la-final-de-la-liga-europa-en-sevilla.html
First hand report from seville.
19-05-2022, 10:38 AM
One wrote
"Life goes on mate. I know it sounds simplistic but you gain nothing from living in the past."
1872 and 55 titles !?
Not living in the past,then?
It's carnage over there. I saw square goes being offered on their forum last night :lolrangers:
He's here!
19-05-2022, 10:47 AM
Still won ****** all and we were in a final as well.
I think Hearts will beat this lot. I would fancy our chances.
Sorry but it's clutching at straws to suggest the seasons both clubs have had are remotely comparable. If it's only a successful season when you win trophies then about 90% of Hibs' seasons have been a failure.
The yams will certainly be confident of cashing in on hun fatigue.
Lester B
19-05-2022, 10:47 AM
Post #6 is a particular delight "going to absorb myself in a masonic degree i need to learn sharpish"
What. The. Actual. ****
19-05-2022, 10:50 AM
Post #6 is a particular delight "going to absorb myself in a masonic degree i need to learn sharpish"
What. The. Actual. ****
Hun mindset, there is always one type of ludge or another to join. They are the people, after all :greengrin
sadtom
19-05-2022, 12:49 PM
https://twitter.com/_ct1967/status/1527057054543843330?s=21&t=LNFVvTtuzhoR6q9NY7H-uA
One of the tweets…’not my easiest w***, but I got there in the end’. :faf:
19-05-2022, 12:49 PM
Here's a wee message from a German friend of mine to all fans of The Rangers....
Get it right roond ye, ya disgusting bunch of smelly, bigoted, royalist, racist pr1cks!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!
19-05-2022, 01:06 PM
Here's a wee message from a German friend of mine to all fans of The Rangers....
Get it right roond ye, ya disgusting bunch of smelly, bigoted, royalist, racist pr1cks!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!
A German friend via the east end of Glesga is seems.....:greengrin
JamesHFC
19-05-2022, 01:16 PM
I work with a guy from Seville and he was showing me this morning videos that his friends and family back home sent him. There were a lot of brawls, mostly people just drunk and coked up.
19-05-2022, 01:18 PM
I work with a guy from Seville and he was showing me this morning videos that his friends and family back home sent him. There were a lot of brawls, mostly people just drunk and coked up.
There will always be trouble abroad when tens of thousands congregate, but we didn't see a repeat of the disgraceful events of Manchester, which is great. I did fear what might happen if they lost, but large scale lunacy was avoided, thankfully.
19-05-2022, 01:18 PM
It's the next morning and I'm still laughing about the result. F*** 'em and the white horse they rode in on......
19-05-2022, 01:20 PM
A few talking about winning the SC on saturday.
Agree.
Go and win the SC on Saturday lads. Do us all a favour
19-05-2022, 01:33 PM
A few talking about winning the SC on saturday.
Agree.
Go and win the SC on Saturday lads. Do us all a favour
I'd love them to win **** all, but I don't care now; them not winning a European trophy was the priority. Many of them saying winning the SC won't compensate for last night. They are bereft. :lolrangers:
Stairway 2 7
19-05-2022, 01:39 PM
Them winning the Scottish is the priority, f they tramps having a parade round our beautiful city on Sunday. Europa defeat is an added bonus
19-05-2022, 01:42 PM
Them winning the Scottish is the priority, f they tramps having a parade round our beautiful city on Sunday. Europa defeat is an added bonus
I won't be watching; might have the Ramsay penalty on a loop all afternoon :greengrin
1959 Hibby
19-05-2022, 01:43 PM
I know it goes against the grain to want the jambos to win on Saturday, but the thought of the horrible huns having to suck up two final defeats in the same week is a very appealing one
19-05-2022, 01:44 PM
I know it goes against the grain to want the jambos to win on Saturday, but the thought of the horrible huns having to suck up two final defeats in the same week is a very appealing one
I'm the same. No doubt it's a minority view, but it would be delicious :agree:. Don't really care, in all honesty.
Stairway 2 7
19-05-2022, 01:52 PM
Living in the city having to have them parade on Sunday. Having hearts fans at work and unfortunately jambos mates who will milk it for years in person and on social media. It really doesn't compare. If I lived up north or something I'd probably not care. Hopefully the huns pump them
19-05-2022, 01:53 PM
I can't go as far as to say I want either team to win but I certainly hear what you are saying.
2 cup final defeats in a few days for the Sevco franchise would be agonising and I can definitely get on board with that.
19-05-2022, 01:54 PM
Any other team and if he with you. Can’t have Hearts having any glory, especially as we could have stopped it from happening.
19-05-2022, 01:57 PM
Regardless of who wins on Saturday it will forever sully the date of 21st of May.
Stairway 2 7
19-05-2022, 01:59 PM
Regardless of who wins on Saturday it will forever sully the date of 21st of May.
It definitely won't
19-05-2022, 02:01 PM
Living in the city having to have them parade on Sunday. Having hearts fans at work and unfortunately jambos mates who will milk it for years in person and on social media. It really doesn't compare. If I lived up north or something I'd probably not care. Hopefully the huns pump them
**** the Hearts, mate. Our 2016 win permanently shut them up. They can't throw it in our faces any longer. I have a few Hearts pals who sent me messages of congratulations in 2016, but would Rangers fans have done the same? Not a chance.
Anyway, I won't be watching. I'll be grudgingly pleased for those same Hearts pals, if they win, but don't care strongly either way.
19-05-2022, 02:02 PM
It's the next morning and I'm still laughing about the result. F*** 'em and the white horse they rode in on......
Aye an the donkey they ride back oot on.
:partyhibb
19-05-2022, 02:02 PM
Not at all. Why would it? It's irrelevant to us.
19-05-2022, 02:13 PM
Total sliding door moment for the huns last night.
Win it and - €8.6mil and auto entry into next seasons Champions league, meaning at least another €30mil, then theres the Supercup €5mil for the winner and €3.8mil for the losers. Total of around €42.5mil assuming they'd lose the Supercup, that along with the €30mil they've earned getting to the final is a fair chunk of cash for them and would fill in part of the £100mil hole they've dug for themselves over the last 10 years.
But they lost so - €4.2mil for runners up, Champ League qualification but only though the league and only at 3rd Qual round, they would drop down to Europa and Conference playoffs if they lose, so not guarantee like Celtc. But that should see them earn a anything between €5-30mil, so even at best it will barely hit their pile of debt.
This cheers my soul up no end and I think that the huns deserve to win the Scottish Cup for the first time in their history on Saturday just to ease the pain of getting Frankfurtered last night :greengrin
19-05-2022, 02:18 PM
Kinda of get that but any win in the SC will still not make up for the loss last night. It will p/o all the Jambos. It's a close to a win/win we get.
19-05-2022, 02:18 PM
Win it and - €8.6mil and auto entry into next seasons Champions league, meaning at least another €30mil, then theres the Supercup €5mil for the winner and €3.8mil for the losers. Total of around €42.5mil assuming they'd lose the Supercup, that along with the €30mil they've earned getting to the final is a fair chunk of cash for them and would fill in part of the £100mil hole they've dug for themselves over the last 10 years.
But they lost so - €4.2mil for runners up, Champ League qualification but only though the league and only at 3rd Qual round, they would drop down to Europa and Conference playoffs if they lose, so not guarantee like Celtc. But that should see them earn a anything between €5-30mil, so even at best it will barely hit their pile of debt.
This cheers my soul up no end and I think that the huns deserve to win the Scottish Cup for the first time in their history on Saturday just to ease the pain of getting Frankfurtered last night :greengrin
An excellent description, sir. Those numbers do indeed warm the cockles of the heart. Fingers crossed they get a terrible draw in the CL qualifiers. That said, they must have made big money along the way to the EL final.
19-05-2022, 02:35 PM
Absolutley fantastic
19-05-2022, 02:42 PM
A German friend via the east end of Glesga is seems.....:greengrin
How did you know?
Mantis Toboggan
19-05-2022, 03:18 PM
Not the first time I've read this on here. Equally bewildered every time that this can actually be someones thought process.
19-05-2022, 03:23 PM
Not the first time I've read this on here. Equally bewildered every time that this can actually be someones thought process.
Madness like, nothing could spoil that day for me, it was perfect in every way. Just thinking about it makes me smile still 6 years later.
19-05-2022, 03:30 PM
Madness like, nothing could spoil that day for me, it was perfect in every way. Just thinking about it makes me smile still 6 years later.
Unless we somehow achieve the near impossible and become the team to break the duopoly and win the league then it will be the best day we will ever experience in football. With the baggage that was attached to the Scottish Cup even winning the league might fall just short for many.
I honestly think it's part of the reason I feel a bit more disinterested in football these days. I know I'll never experience anything like that again, everything from now on is chasing a high that just doesn't exist. Whoever wins on Saturday will have no bearing on my feelings about that day and weekend. I felt like a weight had been lifted from my shoulders and was buzzing for months afterwards.
He's here!
19-05-2022, 03:37 PM
**** the Hearts, mate. Our 2016 win permanently shut them up. They can't throw it in our faces any longer. I have a few Hearts pals who sent me messages of congratulations in 2016, but would Rangers fans have done the same? Not a chance.
Anyway, I won't be watching. I'll be grudgingly pleased for those same Hearts pals, if they win, but don't care strongly either way.
How many Rangers pals do you have? I lived and worked in Glasgow for a lot of years so inevitably got to know plenty of Rangers and Celtic fans and the vast majority were just like any other fans, passionate about their teams and (in my presence at least) bereft of the sectarian **** that blights those clubs. They may have expressed different sentiments in private but the Rangers fans I worked with all said well done to me after the cup final win.
Luckily I wasn't living in Edinburgh the last 2 times they won the cup in 2006 & 2012. As I'm due to be visiting family near Gorgie on Sunday the last thing I want is to stumble across their parade! Sevco lose yesterday but win Saturday is the best of a bad situation, halfway there.
Fuzzywuzzy
19-05-2022, 03:40 PM
Can we change Andy Halliday to Ryan Kent in the song??
He's here!
19-05-2022, 03:44 PM
Unless we somehow achieve the near impossible and become the team to break the duopoly and win the league then it will be the best day we will ever experience in football. With the baggage that was attached to the Scottish Cup even winning the league might fall just short for many.
I honestly think it's part of the reason I feel a bit more disinterested in football these days. I know I'll never experience anything like that again, everything from now on is chasing a high that just doesn't exist. Whoever wins on Saturday will have no bearing on my feelings about that day and weekend. I felt like a weight had been lifted from my shoulders and was buzzing for months afterwards.
Very much my sentiments too. We'll never be a consistently successful club. Our history makes that clear but it took the unforgettable and unbeatable high of 2016 to help me come to terms with that fact. I can now shrug off results which would once have eaten away at me and I also feel far less compulsion to go to games through blind loyalty.
I still want to see Hearts stuffed on Saturday but I won't be watching it and even if they win I know it will largely pass me by in a way their previous cup wins didn't.
19-05-2022, 03:49 PM
How many Rangers pals do you have? I lived and worked in Glasgow for a lot of years so inevitably got to know plenty of Rangers and Celtic fans and the vast majority were just like any other fans, passionate about their teams and (in my presence at least) bereft of the sectarian **** that blights those clubs. They may have expressed different sentiments in private but the Rangers fans I worked with all said well done to me after the cup final win.
I have one Rangers friend, and, to be fair, she's the nicest person you could hope to meet. Yet I know she's the exception to the rule: I've had far worse abuse at Ibrox than Tynecastle. The The Rangers fans are just a different breed.
19-05-2022, 03:50 PM
It's completely bizarre.
19-05-2022, 03:58 PM
One hundred percent, nothing could detract from it. Being there with loved ones and thinking of loved ones who didn't get to see it is something money can't buy. After that day other results are much less important.
19-05-2022, 04:01 PM
It's completely bizarre.
Certainly is. Never even noticed the date until I read this. And wouldn't have given a monkey's if I had. It's like saying that you are sullied as a Hibs supporter if you share a birthday with a Hearts or Rangers supporter. Very odd.
Chorley Hibee
19-05-2022, 04:15 PM
The excuses for how subdued the hun support was have started in earnest, and their early departure too.
They had no water to drink, it was too hot, there was no food, the stadium was a death trap, they left immediately because they'd have missed their buses, flights etc.
Incredible that none of this seemed to affect Frankfurt fans in the same stadium isn't it.
Walking away it's the Rangers way.
19-05-2022, 04:20 PM
The excuses for how subdued the hun support was have started in earnest, and their early departure too.
They had no water to drink, it was too hot, there was no food, the stadium was a death trap, they left immediately because they'd have missed their buses, flights etc.
Incredible that none of this seemed to affect Frankfurt fans in the same stadium isn't it.
Walking away it's the Rangers way.Some of them had a long drive back to Madeira to check their hire car in before their flight home.
https://uploads.tapatalk-cdn.com/20220519/2b1db5a724bc0bdb49fddf8f6889e9b5.jpg
19-05-2022, 04:32 PM
Som of them had a long drive back to Madeira to check their hire car in before their flight home.
https://uploads.tapatalk-cdn.com/20220519/2b1db5a724bc0bdb49fddf8f6889e9b5.jpg
Aye,and they are singing.too :greengrin
:singing: Rule brittania,brittania rules the waves:singing:
19-05-2022, 04:33 PM
Aye and they are singing.too :greengrin
:singing: Rule brittania,brittania rules the waves:singing:[emoji16]
19-05-2022, 04:36 PM
Admins, can we have the thread title changed, no such team exists, the longer we allow this name to be used the more sevco will believe they are a few hundred years old instead of the 10 or so that they have been around.
19-05-2022, 04:39 PM
Admins, can we have the thread title changed, no such team exists, the longer we allow this name to be used the more sevco will believe they are a few hundred years old instead of the 10 or so that they have been around.
Yes, I second the motion.
Sevco 2012 or The rAngers International 2012
19-05-2022, 04:40 PM
Spot on. The same Huns who bolted at full time, in order to catch flights etc, wouldn't have been in such a hurry had they won. I didn't watch it, but, apparently, their fans were very quiet......due to the heat etc. That will be the same heat the Frankfurt fans experienced.....
Topographic Hibby
19-05-2022, 05:23 PM
I didn't watch it, but, apparently, their fans were very quiet......
I watched it and The The's were very very quiet given that they appeared to have around 75% of the ground. Given their supporters songbook, I'd imagine the BT sound-mixer wouldn't be turning the volume up much past 1 or 2.
19-05-2022, 08:10 PM
Here's a funny stat, Peterhead are the only club to have lost a cup final to Rangers. :greengrin
19-05-2022, 08:17 PM
Here's a funny stat, Peterhead are the only club to have lost a cup final to Rangers. :greengrin
Hopefully hearts join that list
19-05-2022, 08:23 PM
:agree: Praying for a 5 or 6-0 to Sevco on Saturday.
19-05-2022, 08:37 PM
A Hibs supporter "praying" for a rAngers win:confused:
I once remember a young Hearts supporter getting smashed over the head with a large beer bottle,which cut his head open.
A grown Rangers guy calling the laddie a wee Papish B as he hit him.
My younger brother Billy witnessed that outside Tynecastle after Hearts won a cup replay 1-0
My Brother was only a young schoolboy at the time ,but neither he or i forgot that cowardly attack.
I want that institution and its anti catholic hordes to win nought on Saturday.
19-05-2022, 09:16 PM
I hope Sevco smash them. Hearts are our biggest rivals, I want them to win nowt.
19-05-2022, 09:16 PM
I once remember a young Hearts supporter getting smashed over the head with a large beer bottle,which cut his head open.
My younger brother Billy witnessed that outside Tynecastle after Hearts won a cup replay 1-0
My Brother was only a young schoolboy at the time ,but neither he or i forgot that cowardly attack.
:agree: Yep you better believe it.
Don't even want Hearts to win the pre-match coin toss on Saturday.
The Veteran
19-05-2022, 09:35 PM
You’re a bitter man, Davey.
19-05-2022, 09:37 PM
yes we all know (and have seen) stories like that. Rangers are an infinitely more detestable institution than Heart of Midlothian FC. No doubt about it.
still want hearts to lose more.
no one ever claimed football makes sense.
19-05-2022, 10:08 PM
Yes, Sevco are the worst of the worst, especially in relation to intolerant ignorance, but I don't criticise any Hibs fans who want Hearts to lose the final; it's fully understandable. I will just avoid it, same as the Europa Final , and **** them both. I don't really care, though a Sevco meltdoon would be lovely :greengrin
JoeT_WasTheBest
19-05-2022, 10:13 PM
A classic I heard today was ‘all the microphones were up the other end’ [emoji23][emoji23][emoji23]
leith lynx
19-05-2022, 10:17 PM
Tough ask, Hearts are quite good at tossing..
19-05-2022, 10:18 PM
A classic I heard today was ‘all the microphones were up the other end’ [emoji23][emoji23][emoji23]
Kafflik Spaniards playing dirty tricks :faf::lolrangers:
Stairway 2 7
19-05-2022, 10:28 PM
The happy 19th of May texts and social media posts reinforces my wanting them pumped
darwenhibby
19-05-2022, 10:38 PM
Nil nil after extra time
Huns win 2-1 after crap penalties from each side
That should even dilute a hun victory and no parade in Edinburgh
19-05-2022, 11:50 PM
Nil nil after extra time
Huns win 2-1 after crap penalties from each side
That should even dilute a hun victory and no parade in Edinburgh
hun victory has already been diluted by Wednesday night. Winning the Scottish cup will be nothing more than a poor consolation prize compared to the one they really wanted.
I’ll go for a scrappy 1-0 rangers victory.
20-05-2022, 06:22 AM
Agree with this.
I want them to turn up second to the stadium as well.
20-05-2022, 06:27 AM
yes we all know (and have seen) stories like that. Rangers are an infinitely more detestable institution than Heart of Midlothian FC. No doubt about it.
still want hearts to lose more.
no one ever claimed football makes sense.
Was chatting to my Dad about this. We agreed we can’t hate them any more. So whatever they do, just backs up our opinion, it doesn’t add to it, because it can’t. That are already at full 100% contempt.
20-05-2022, 06:28 AM
hun victory has already been diluted by Wednesday night. Winning the Scottish cup will be nothing more than a poor consolation prize compared to the one they really wanted.
I’ll go for a scrappy 1-0 rangers victory.
Exactly, it would make it even worse for Hearts in that Rangers don’t really want the Cup, but they’ll take it to prevent the season as being as successful as ours.
20-05-2022, 07:23 AM
I hope Sevco smash them. Hearts are our biggest rivals, I want them to win nowt.
Ditto last thing we need at present is Hearts winning the cup. Think Rangers will have too much for them even if they will obviously be feeling the effects from Wednesday. They have a big enough squad to freshen it up as last Saturday showed.
20-05-2022, 07:30 AM
Tomorrow is like deciding which vet to have your perfectly healthy dog put down at.
20-05-2022, 07:49 AM
Tomorrow is like deciding which vet to have your perfectly healthy dog put down at.
Wednesday was Auf Wiedersehen,Pet .
Tomorrow could be the daschunds at the vet :greengrin
Hibs07p
20-05-2022, 07:55 AM
21st of May would forever be a tainted date for me if the 'tarts were to win on Saturay. I don't want any of them to win, but as a Hibbie, it's a no win situation. I'm related to jambos, in law, and they're good people. As much as I detest the 10 year old incarnation of the previous team playing out of Ibrox, I hope they give the poppy thieves a good slapping, unless some unprecedented event occurs that means the final can't take place with no winners, or has to be played on a different date. I'd still prefer the "good slapping" option.
Scottish Cup Winners
21/05/2016
adam middlemass
20-05-2022, 08:02 AM
I’m sorry guys, but it has to be Hearts for me. I have a grandson & daughter going to the final with their dad, and I would love them to feel the same as their mother felt on that glorious day- 21-5-16 along with me and my son, never to be forgotten. Dislike goes out the window on Saturday I’m afraid, mon the tarts 👍😍
20-05-2022, 08:04 AM
I’m sorry guys, but it has to be Hearts for me. I have a grandson & daughter going to the final with their dad, and I would love them to feel the same as their mother felt on that glorious day- 21-5-16 along with me and my son, never to be forgotten. Dislike goes out the window on Saturday I’m afraid, mon the tarts 👍😍
:faf: I hope they are as miserable as the huns were on wednesday night.
20-05-2022, 08:10 AM
They will never, ever feel like we did on 21/5/16. Don't think anyone else ever will.
20-05-2022, 08:17 AM
How does being a Hibee skip a generation?
20-05-2022, 08:19 AM
The dad in question being the son in law ?
20-05-2022, 08:27 AM
It'll be 1996 all over again
Hearts 1 Rangers 5
It'll be 1996 all over again
Hearts 1 Rangers 5
Hopefully Gordon does a Rousset and lets a pea roller trickle through his legs :cb
20-05-2022, 08:50 AM
The dad in question being the son in law ?
Oh the mum is going to the game as a Hibs fan?
Better her than me! :greengrin
20-05-2022, 09:00 AM
Oh the mum is going to the game as a Hibs fan?
Better her than me! :greengrin
Maybe its just dad and the kids.
I was at the 1968 cup final :greengrin
My reasons for wanting a sevco defeat have nothing to do with football.
That may be a Holy Ground debate,though :cb
20-05-2022, 09:26 AM
Hopefully Gordon does a Rousset and lets a pea roller trickle through his legs :cb
were you the bully in this guys school?
https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=OVyzIUNf82o
OldEast
20-05-2022, 09:31 AM
Whilst I can't quite bring myself to say "mon the tarts" and I really don't care too much how their fans feel on any given day, I too want a Rangers defeat 👍🏻
20-05-2022, 09:33 AM
Whilst I can't quite bring myself to say "mon the tarts" and I really don't care too much how their fans feel on any given day, I too want a Rangers defeat 👍🏻
This is also where i am. I will not be getting any 'cmon the JTs' merchandise, plastic owl memorabilia or face tattoo, but i want them to beat Rangers.
20-05-2022, 09:34 AM
https://www.dailyrecord.co.uk/sport/football/football-news/frankfurt-president-taunts-rangers-fans-27013482?int_source=nba
As per a certain semi final.[emoji2958][emoji2958][emoji2958]
Sent from my SM-A127F using Tapatalk
20-05-2022, 09:38 AM
Rangers could score 10 and their fans will still be too devastated to notice.
20-05-2022, 09:47 AM
Rangers could score 10 and their fans will still be too devastated to notice.
I disagree.
They’re craving trophies.
It would be delicious for them to miss out again.
The travesty is, we have the moral dilemma regarding wanting Hearts to inflict it. I understand that many won’t.
20-05-2022, 09:57 AM
I want Hearts totally destroyed tomorrow.
A result that will cause them anguish and embarrassment for a very long time.
20-05-2022, 10:06 AM
:top marks best result from a really terrible dilemma as far as football goes, both teams are full o gunts.
adam middlemass
20-05-2022, 10:11 AM
My daughter fell in love, “ how could she”, with a chap who had some affection for the boys in maroon. The rest, as they say speaks for itself- haha 😂
20-05-2022, 10:16 AM
Quite fancy a 0-0 draw with plenty of red cards and the sort of eye-bleeding hoofball that would get football banned. Then the Gunts lose on pens.
20-05-2022, 10:17 AM
Won't be fully satisfied with anything less than 5-0 to Rangers.
20-05-2022, 10:48 AM
I could not give a damm who wins tomorrow its not my team involved. Good time to go for a game of golf though.
20-05-2022, 11:02 AM
This is also where i am. I will not be getting any 'cmon the JTs' merchandise, plastic owl memorabilia or face tattoo, but i want them to beat Rangers.
I am a bit perplexed to note here that many want a sevco win.
Its a conundrum for me,too.I could say the Hearts are the lesser of two evils �� by the distance from here to Mars!
I dont relish the thought of the hearts parading the cup,but my loathing of what the ibrox institution has represented in my long life.
It was worse in my parents/grandparents days .And our relatives,the Flynns Devlin's,Donnolly's.McCraw, Cairn's,and Italians through marriage
The Orange Order and other anti catholic gangs of the day marching through their Grassmarket/Cowgate for one purpose.
To intimidate Irish and Italian Catholic families who mostly lived there,then. And Jews.
Between the Parishes of The Sacred Heart at Lauriston Street down to St Patrick's in the Cowgate.
And a good community it was too, if very poor and certainly.tough..
I spent my early childhood there at my Granny's hoose, 17 Grassmarket,next stair to the vennel
Attended local primary in Glen Street school and The Sacred Heart.
So here they come,Granny!
The flutes playing, drums banging.Drunks abusing the locals.
Keep yer place,papes "we arra peepul".
The Irish working men would descend out of the lodging houses in the Market and West Port to defend us all from the Satanists, !!
And they did not mess about .No silly pavement dancing on those battles.
Chased them up the West Bow and The Blackie.Not a fitba in sight !
So there you go.Until the next time.
The morns game is not about football for me .Just some childhood memories that left scars till this day.
(av not even mentioned the Ibrox/Hampden visits in my youth when facing the bigots)
Am 70 now, I wont of course celebrate a hearts win.
Am always though a bit happier when the self appointed supremacists win nothing, zero,nada, hole in the doughnut
That is when the incandescent rage rears up and gives them drunken courage (normally ruby/tawny wine and buckfast led) to be destructive and show little or no care for anyone bar themselves.
I had hoped when that club died all those years ago, we were going to see a new fresh era in football and civil society bloom.
But how naive was i too think the establishment and rooted institutions would allow their beloved bigots go to the wall.
I had hoped that this bigotry would have diminished in Scotland in my lifetime.
It has in many areas of society,but stiil it hangs over our nation. Like The Sword of Damocles,some might say .
20-05-2022, 11:10 AM
Its a conundrum for me,too.I could say the Hearts are the lesser of two evils �� by the distance from here to Mars!
I dont relish the thought of the hearts parading the cup,but my loathing of what the ibrox institution has represented in my long life.
It was worse in my parents/grandparents days .And our relatives,the Flynns Devlin's,Donnolly's.McCraw, Cairn's,and Italians through marriage
The Orange Order and other anti catholic gangs of the day marching through their Grassmarket/Cowgate for one purpose.
To intimidate Irish and Italian Catholic families who mostly lived there,then. And Jews.
Between the Parishes of The Sacred Heart at Lauriston Street down to St Patrick's in the Cowgate.
I spent my early childhood there at my Granny's hoose, 17 Grassmarket,next stair to the vennel
The Irish working men would descend out of the lodging houses in the Market and West Port to defend us all from the Satanists, !!
The morns game is not about football for me .Just some childhood memories that left scars till this day.
(av not even mentioned the Ibrox/Hampden visits in my youth when facing the bigots)
Am always though a bit happier when the self appointed supremacists win nothing, zero,nada, hole in the doughnut
That is when the incandescednt rage rears up and gives them drunken courage (normally ruby/tawny wine and buckfast led) to be destructive and show little or no care for anyone bar themselves.
I had hoped when that club died all those years ago, we were going to see a new fresh era in football and civil society bloom.
But how naive was i too think the establishment and rooted institutions would allow their beloved bigots go to the wall.
It has in many areas of society,but stiil it hangs over our nation. Like The Sword of Damocles,some might say .
Some of us just want to focus on the actual football side of things and hope our biggest rivals get beat. Not sure what’s so difficult to understand.
20-05-2022, 11:12 AM
Both clubs shafted their creditors through mismanagement,let's not forget that.
OldEast
20-05-2022, 11:13 AM
That is when the incandescednt rage rears up and gives them drunken courage (normally ruby/tawny wine and buckfast led) to be destructive and show little or no care for anyone bar themselves.
Excellent post. Hearts are our nearest and biggest rivals, the hun are a poison infecting Scottish society.
We regularly ridicule Hearts fans for their obsession with beating us. I'm happy that we live in their heads. They'll never be in mine.
20-05-2022, 11:15 AM
That is when the incandescent rage rears up and gives them drunken courage (normally ruby/tawny wine and buckfast led) to be destructive and show little or no care for anyone bar themselves.
Youve got a nice way with words, poetic:aok:
20-05-2022, 11:18 AM
Some of us just want to focus on the actual football side of things and hope our biggest rivals get beat. Not sure what’s so difficult to understand.
I have no issue understanding it all.
I just gave my reasons for not supporting rangers as some Hibs supporters seem keen to do
Each to their own preference.Orange or Maroon.
Who am i to say that some of you cant support the anti catholic bigots?
However difficult that is to understand.
20-05-2022, 11:21 AM
Rangers to win for me. The scars of that defeat in Seville will be with them for a long time and a Scottish cup win won't remove that.
We've won both cups more recently than Hearts. I'd prefer to keep it that way.
20-05-2022, 11:23 AM
I just gave my reasons for not supporting rangers as some Hibs supporters seem keen to do
The gangs you are describing abusing locals in the Grassnarket were probably more likely to have been Hearts fans than Rangers fans.
20-05-2022, 11:29 AM
This is the difference between Hearts and Hibs for me. Could you imagine Hearts fans wanting us to beat Celtic or Rangers in a Scottish Cup Final? They want us crushed at every opportunity. Runs through their entire support and their whole club which is why they constantly win derbies.
I hope Hearts are beaten tomorrow but i'd be delighted if they are embarrassed.
20-05-2022, 11:31 AM
Rangers ending up with nothing would be quite amusing tbf
OldEast
20-05-2022, 11:33 AM
The gangs you are describing abusing locals in the Grassnarket were probably more likely to have been Hearts fans than Rangers fans.
Pretty sure Mick knows what he's talking about.
20-05-2022, 11:39 AM
[QUOTE=Since90+2;6968494]The gangs you are describing abusing locals in the Grassnarket were probably more likely to have been Hearts fans than Ranges.rs fan[/QUOT
They were Orangeman in those parades and the vast majority of those follow rAngers.
There was a lot Hearts families lived in the Market Area.
I went to Catholic School with some of them.Primary and Secondary
One of them was an alter boy at Sacred Heart. .Lived in Guthrie Street for years.
They where practising Catholics .So no chance they had flutes and drums.
More likely also chasing gthe orange cavemen up the road as was the usual outcome.
20-05-2022, 11:41 AM
I could not give a damm who wins tomorrow its not my team involved. Good time to go for a game of golf though.
Where I am at (sort of..)
Playing golf myself tomorrow at 1pm with two Celtic fans and we’ll maybe just catch the end of final in clubhouse afterwards.
I’ll be giving it the “not interested who wins” chat but privately I’ll be hoping for a Rangers win, and a win with plenty of goals to spare.
When Hearts played Gretna in the final I was similarly on the golf course, and when casually putting clubs away afterwards and assuming Hearts had won, I got engaged in some football chat with another member. Gave it the “couldn’t care less” stuff but did ask what the score was anyway. When he said it was all square and penalties were about to start, I’ve never packed up my locker as quick and was up the stairs into bar in a flash :hilarious
20-05-2022, 12:20 PM
https://www.dailyrecord.co.uk/sport/football/football-news/frankfurt-president-taunts-rangers-fans-27013482?int_source=nba
As per a certain semi final.[emoji2958][emoji2958][emoji2958]
Sent from my SM-A127F using Tapatalk
The guy is spot on.
Thr German fans came with a plan
Wonderful flags/display and their baritone section out sung sevco by miles.
20-05-2022, 12:23 PM
The guy is spot on.
The Germans are usually pretty well organised, it's in the DNA, just very pleased that the real huns won.
20-05-2022, 12:27 PM
Yeah, that's one of the worst things about the whole Sevco saga. The new club had the opportunity to put the cancerous tradition of the old one to bed but since they were so pish on the park, they have shamelessly used it as a tool to rally their old support behind the new club. The rest of Scottish football (including a leading role from our own custodians of the time) bears some responsibility too, since they were complicit in speedily ensuring the newly created "Rangers" was fast tracked into the gap left by the old one, purely for short term financial purposes.
Sadly, that opportunity is long gone and the football authorities have completely *******ised their own rules so they and Sevco can maintain the "continuity" myth. I absolutely detest them whereas I only dislike the lovely neighbours.
Still want the New Huns to win though. It means **** all to them to win a Scottish cup, it's the be all and end all for Hearts.
20-05-2022, 12:32 PM
My niece is a jambo, I have good friends who are jambos despite that I want their team to lose on Saturday.
Winning trophies for the new huns will become routine for them like it was for the old huns, there is no stopping that, it won't mean much to them given their exploits on Wednesday.
If hearts win it, it will mean a hell of a lot more to them and it will give them more ammo to hit Hibs with.
So while I want the huns, celtc and hearts to lose every game they play, there is less pain in it for me if the glagow bigots win a cup. I will not be watching the game, I will look for the result and I will be happiest if the new huns win it even though I hate them the most out the three.
20-05-2022, 12:35 PM
The guy is spot on.
Could you imagine the seethe if Ron or Ben came out with that statement. Their often outsung by Frankfurt/Hibees fans surrender of you'll die. I think that how the song goes.
He's here!
20-05-2022, 12:39 PM
I had my bro in law warned they aren’t representative of the majority of the country. I just warned him not to go to town centre. Still waiting on the mrs to forward the videos he sent her (he’s no clue about football so may even be german fans)
According to Spanish police not a single Rangers fan was arrested in Seville and just six Frankfurt fans.
20-05-2022, 12:54 PM
According to Spanish police not a single Rangers fan was arrested in Seville and just six Frankfurt fans.
Must be the first time in the history of that club that there was no arrests. 🤔
20-05-2022, 12:59 PM
In any game other than a cup final I'd want Hearts to beat Rangers.
Hearts winning stuff is just not good
20-05-2022, 02:04 PM
Mon The Gers!
Stairway 2 7
20-05-2022, 02:13 PM
Is it a generation thing. Younger people are less likely to care about religion and want hearts hammered for football reasons. Wanting your main rivals to win is ****ing bizarre to me. Honestly hope hearts get smashed. Don't really care which side of the arse cheeks wins the cups as they don't really care and I'm not into sectarianism
20-05-2022, 02:15 PM
:faf: I hope they are as miserable as the huns were on wednesday night.Can you imagine an exuberant invasion by the thieves?
Be like the used underwear section at a jumble sale, all standing around with their hands in their pockets waiting their turn......
20-05-2022, 02:22 PM
Is it a generation thing. Younger people are less likely to care about religion and want hearts hammered for football reasons. Wanting your main rivals to win is ****ing bizarre to me. Honestly hope hearts get smashed. Don't really care which side of the arse cheeks wins the cups as they don't really care and I'm not into sectarianism
Me too.
When clubs have a main rival the biggest thing the two sets of fans will compare against each other and really care about (apart from the head to head) are the trophy cabinet stats.
Neither Hibs or Hearts win very many trophies these days, thanks to the duopoly that is Celtic and Rangers. Both of these clubs live on a different planet financially to the rest of us and therefore when Hibs or Hearts win something it really matters to the supporters and will be used as a huge stick to beat the other side with.
That's before you mention the issue of how much of a financial advantage winning tomorrow would give to Hearts and would only help to pull them further ahead of us.
For the reasons noted above I also find it extremely bizarre that Hibs fans want Hearts to win tomorrow.
20-05-2022, 02:27 PM
Me too.
When clubs have a main rival the biggest thing the two sets of fans will compare against each other and really care about (apart from the head to head) are the trophy cabinet stats.
Neither Hibs or Hearts win very many trophies these days, thanks to the duopoly that is Celtic and Rangers. Both of these clubs live on a different planet financially to the rest of us and therefore when Hibs or Hearts win something it really matters to the supporters and will be used as a huge stick to beat the other side with.
That's before you mention the issue of how much of a financial advantage winning tomorrow would give to Hearts and would only help to pull them further ahead of us.
For the reasons noted above I also find it extremely bizarre that Hibs fans want Hearts to win tomorrow.
Ditto.
Yorkshire HFC
20-05-2022, 02:44 PM
When I was 16, I might have been bothered - I'm now 56 and I'm not fussed who wins. Whatever happens, it's not going to affect me. I've got Hearts supporting friends and Rangers supporting friends - I'm sure they'll enjoy the day. I just wish it was Hibs that were in the final.
OldEast
20-05-2022, 02:47 PM
Me too.
As far as I can see only one Hibs fan wants Hearts to win and that's for family reasons. The rest of us are far from wanting a Hearts win but want a hun defeat more. Doesn't make us weird. As someone said there will be a generational element to it.
20-05-2022, 02:56 PM
A 24 hour Covid lockdown meaning the game is cancelled and never played would be fine with me...
I don't 'want' either team to win but I want Hearts to lose more than I don't want Rangers to win.
**** them both as far as I'm concerned, but **** Hearts just a wee bit more.
20-05-2022, 03:00 PM
As far as I can see only one Hibs fan wants Hearts to win and that's for family reasons. The rest of us are far from wanting a Hearts win but want a hun defeat more. Doesn't make us weird. As someone said there will be a generational element to it.
I had to answer the door whilst writing that post so actually hit submit reply before I was finished.
I meant to add "or are ambivalent about it" to the end of my post.
20-05-2022, 03:55 PM
I had to answer the door whilst writing that post so actually hit submit reply before I was finished.
I meant to add "or are ambivalent about it" to the end of my post.
Next time just tell the Bailiffs to bolt.....
20-05-2022, 04:14 PM
[QUOTE=HUTCHYHIBBY;6968639]Mon The Gers![/QUOTE
Mon The Hibs !
Have a nice weekend all ...
This thread has been quite revealing .
20-05-2022, 04:46 PM
Mon The Hibs !
Have a nice weekend all .....and you hunlovinhibby's !
Calm down man, we're going to need a bigger boat. Still want The Huns to win though, or Hearts to lose, whichever suits you better.
wallpaperman
20-05-2022, 04:51 PM
Was thinking of starting a thread dedicated to the magnificence of it, but will just post here, but has anyone seen Ryanair’s trolling of Rangers in the last couple of hours?
Check out Ryanair’s Twitter, it is superb, and the seethe is off the scale.
20-05-2022, 04:53 PM
Calm down man, we're going to need a bigger boat. Still want The Huns to win though, or Hearts to lose, whichever suits you better.
I think we’re agreed that it’s OK to have your own personal reasons for wanting either one of these despicable teams to lose the cup final more, and your opinion is no more or less valid (or weird) than any other Hibs fan who might have the opposite view.
Whew. Glad we can put that to bed.
20-05-2022, 05:06 PM
I’m reading Hearts have planned a parade😎
20-05-2022, 05:07 PM
I think we’re agreed that it’s OK to have your own personal reasons for wanting either one of these despicable teams to lose the cup final more, and your opinion is no more or less valid (or weird) than any other Hibs fan who might have the opposite view.
Whew. Glad we can put that to bed.
That's me told eh?
20-05-2022, 05:12 PM
https://twitter.com/Ryanair/status/1527619804642811904?s=20&t=MSXuuCP-EN0Hgx167Cwk-w
Read through this thread on twitter and look out for the Ryanair replies :faf:
20-05-2022, 05:25 PM
https://twitter.com/Ryanair/status/1527619804642811904?s=20&t=MSXuuCP-EN0Hgx167Cwk-w
I have only gotten so far down and had to stop from laughing so hard, whoever is in charge of Ryanair’s Twitter deserves a trophy themselves!
20-05-2022, 05:39 PM
Love it. :greengrin
20-05-2022, 05:49 PM
I'll take no joy at all at The Rangers winning, but a lot of joy at Hearts losing.
I go where the joy is.
21-05-2022, 06:29 AM
Mon The Hibs !
We're all Hibs supporters here, allegedly.
Quite revealing - what, the vast majority of Hibs fans want to see their closest city rivals gubbed in a final. That's not a surprise is.
You bring religion into this - I'd say that if the religious side of things means so much to you, maybe you should consider supporting the Lesser Greens.
Gloucester Hibs
21-05-2022, 06:36 AM
[QUOTE=HUTCHYHIBBY;6968639]Mon The Gers![/QUOTE
Mon The Hibs !
Revealing? You couldn't have grown up in Edinburgh? Or been exposed to many Hearts fans in your life?
21-05-2022, 06:40 AM
My daughter fell in love, “ how could she”, with a chap who had some affection for the boys in maroon. The rest, as they say speaks for itself- haha 😂
I’ve got 2 daughters and the thought of that truly terrifies me, getting a sweat on even thinking about it🙈😂
Crunchie
21-05-2022, 06:45 AM
When I was 16, I might have been bothered - I'm now 56 and I'm not fussed who wins. Whatever happens, it's not going to affect me. I've got Hearts supporting friends and Rangers supporting friends - I'm sure they'll enjoy the day. I just wish it was Hibs that were in the final.
Me too, but the thought of Edinburgh turning maroon on Sunday sways it for me. Mon Ra Teddy Bears :flag:
Crunchie
21-05-2022, 06:57 AM
Those of us wanting Rangers to win aren't actually supporting them, it's a game of football where someone has to win.
I can assure you the VAST majority of Hibby's won't be wanting our rivals to win which leaves only one option, is that difficult to understand?
He's here!
21-05-2022, 07:11 AM
Interesting recollections. I was only wee back then but my recollection of visits to ER by Celtic were every bit as unpleasant as when the huns came through. Irrespective of the 'Catholic' connection there seemed little love lost between the fans. Trips to Hampden to play Celtic were also not for the faint hearted.
21-05-2022, 07:36 AM
Interesting recollections. I was only wee back then but my recollection of visits to ER by Celtic were every bit as unpleasant as when the huns came through. Irrespective of the 'Catholic' connection there seemed little love lost between the fans. Trips to Hampden to play Celtic were also not for the faint hearted.
Agree, the worst I felt was the CS Gas cannister game and the Celtic fans signing "We're Celtic supporters" as Hibs fans went onto the pitch to escape from the gas. The worlds best football supporters, allegedly.
21-05-2022, 07:45 AM
What is it they sing? Surrender, surrender you'd better surrender or die, die, die! Come on you cuddly bears. The famous queens eleven. Just looked outside and the bluebells are blue. It's a sign.
21-05-2022, 07:52 AM
Pro hun massively today, the only circumstances in which I could ever say that
21-05-2022, 07:56 AM
Couldn't agree more Mick. The prospect of the Sevco racists losing another major Cup Final (I think that would be 0 out of 4) is a very attractive one. So a cup win for our neighbours today just shades it for me.
21-05-2022, 07:57 AM
Couldn't agree more Mick. The prospect of the Sevco racists losing another major Cup Final (I think that would be 0 out of 4) is a very attractive one. So a cup win for our neighbours today just shades it for me.
Rangers losing on penalties would be just delicious :greengrin. They would never get over it.
21-05-2022, 08:01 AM
If Rangers don't win it today they'll win it next season, or the season after that. It's going to happen. The old firm are back to being miles ahead of the rest. Hearts? Their next win will probably be years and years away. Cup wins are like gold dust for the rest of us. Look at Aberdeen, 30 years is it? Hearts will sing songs about it and cherish today if they do it. If Rangers win I'll have forgotten about it tomorrow. Hope Rangers smash them.
21-05-2022, 08:06 AM
If Rangers don't win it today they'll win it next season, or the season after that. It's going to happen. The old firm are back to being miles ahead of the rest. Hearts? Their next win will probably be years and years away. Cup wins are like gold dust for the rest of us. Look at Aberdeen, 30 years is it? Hearts will sing songs about it and cherish today if they do it. If Rangers win I'll have forgotten about it tomorrow. Hope Rangers smash them.
Yes there is nothing good for Hibs in Hearts winnng today especially given where we currently are.
21-05-2022, 08:21 AM
Pro hun massively today, the only circumstances in which I could ever say that
Ditto
21-05-2022, 08:30 AM
[QUOTE=Mick O'Rourke;6968717]
Revealing? You couldn't have grown up in Edinburgh? Or been exposed to many Hearts fans in your life?
Read what you want to read,Son.And make up stuff if it helps you.
Born 70 yrs ago in the Grassmarket.Been here ever since.
21-05-2022, 08:36 AM
Agree, the worst I felt was the CS Gas cannister game and the Celtic fans signing "We're Celtic supporters" as Hibs fans went onto the pitch to escape from the gas. The worlds best football supporters, allegedly.
I remember the CS gas game well, but I’m not sure why you’re highlighting the ‘we’re Celtic supporters’ chant. Call me dense but I’m not sure the wording really equates to being up to the knees in dead Catholics or rosary beads or whatever other disgusting nonsense the Huns sing every game.
21-05-2022, 08:39 AM
We're all Hibs supporters here, allegedly.
Quite revealing - what, the vast majority of Hibs fans want to see their closest city rivals gubbed in a final. That's not a surprise is.
You bring religion into this - I'd say that if the religious side of things means so much to you, maybe you should consider supporting the Lesser Greens.
So because i was abused and bullied by sectarian bigots as child for the crime of being a Roman Catholic.,you suggest i should not support Hibs.
Away and bile yer heed, you dont have a clue what my post was about.
Bit late now at 70yrs of age to bother about bus fare:wink:
Have a nice day :greengrin
21-05-2022, 08:48 AM
[QUOTE=Mick O'Rourke;6968717]
There's maybe something in the "growing up in Edinburgh" thing. I didn't grow up in Edinburgh and I want Rangers to lose today more than I want Hearts to lose.
When it comes to Hearts, I'd never really say I hate them. I hate losing to them more than I hate losing to any other team. They've got their absolute plums amongst their support (a lot of them) but they've also got the odd salt of the Earth fan who I'm happy to be really good mates with.
Rangers on the other hand - I've just got a problem with everything that institution stands for and I just can't imagine any circumstances when I'd wish any success for them. A cup final against Hearts is probably as close as it gets but now we're here - nah, I hope they lose. On penalties again, as painful as possible.
Success for them can wait a bit longer.
21-05-2022, 08:58 AM
[QUOTE=Gloucester Hibs;6969183]
There's maybe something in the "growing up in Edinburgh" thing. I didn't grow up in Edinburgh and I want Rangers to lose today more than I want Hearts to lose.
When it comes to Hearts, I'd never really say I hate them. I hate losing to them more than I hate losing to any other team. They've got their absolute plums amongst their support (a lot of them) but they've also got the odd salt of the Earth fan who I'm happy to be really good mates with.
Rangers on the other hand - I've just got a problem with everything that institution stands for and I just can't imagine any circumstances when I'd wish any success for them. A cup final against Hearts is probably as close as it gets but now we're here - nah, I hope they lose. On penalties again, as painful as possible.
Success for them can wait a bit longer.
And that has been the theme in many of my comments .Not a love for hearts.
My lifelong abhorrence of that institution and its mostly bigoted following is not going to be put on hold for the duration of a football match,just because the opponents are our city rivals.
Hypocrisy !
Looks it could be a day for the garden and radio, and i wish Lee's old team all the best today .. Sunderland that is :greengrin
21-05-2022, 09:01 AM
[QUOTE=Smartie;6969307]
My lifelong abhorrence of that institution and its mostly bigoted following is not going to be put on hold for the duration of a football match,just because the opponents are our city rivals.
Hypocrisy !
I want the huns to win even though i hate them, and have also been on the end of their abuse and violence, but not once has their club tried to kill mine.
21-05-2022, 09:07 AM
Without doing a head count, it appears quite a few would prefer a Hearts win to a Rangers.
Perhaps an example of our falling short of a “win at all costs” mentality in the Edinburgh derby.
Can’t really think of too many big city rivalries where opposing fans hope their rivals win.
21-05-2022, 09:17 AM
If I wanted to get rid of one club from Scottish football it would be Rangers.
If I want one team to win today it’s Rangers though as Hearts are our rivals who we compare trophies against etc.
Would prefer Hearts as a club to be around more than the Huns.
I just can’t take the jambos too seriously - they have given us quite a few hilarious moments the last few years and they need us as they are obsessed with us.
21-05-2022, 09:18 AM
That was an awful day and one I remember clearly. Was in the old east at the time near where the casuals used to gather, when the CS canister exploded, we all ended up on the pitch and more tragically, an old fella died in the tunnel. Glasgow press blamed Hibs fans for it until the Police charged the two Celtic fans. Horrible day and certainly exposed the then Celtic fans for exactly what they could be.
OldEast
21-05-2022, 09:21 AM
Without doing a head count, it appears quite a few would prefer a Hearts win to a Rangers.
Perhaps an example of our falling short of a “win at all costs” mentality in the Edinburgh derby.
Can’t really think of too many big city rivalries where opposing fans hope their rivals win.
Massively missing the point.
21-05-2022, 09:21 AM
Genuinely hope hearts get hammered today, most of my mates are hearts fans along with a lot of work colleagues so dont want them gloating
21-05-2022, 09:24 AM
It's a fairly unique situation - where your city rivals are coming up against one of the most despicable, bigoted institutions in the country.
Someone the other day said it was like choosing which vet to have your perfectly healthy pet put down at. I don't think we should be reading too much into anyone's answer to this one tbh.
There's a guy I know - a jambo - whose Dad was a hibby. His Dad was into his 90s and every year he wanted Hibs to win the cup because he wanted his Dad to live to see it, and he finally got his wish. This hasn't really impacted on Hearts' desire to win derbies so I'm fairly comfortable that my most marginal preference this afternoon isn't part of any kind of collective weakness.
21-05-2022, 09:29 AM
[QUOTE=Mick O'Rourke;6969315]
I want the huns to win even though i hate them, and have also been on the end of their abuse and violence, but not once has their club tried to kill mine.
That’s one thing hearts have in common with Celtic.
f*** the three of them.
21-05-2022, 09:30 AM
The abuse i was subjected to was not solely at football games.
More systematic at where i stayed.(and later in workplace)
Anyway
Mercer as hertz owner failed to gain a majority shareholding in Hibs.
Yes, he wanted to kill us for personal profit in land sales/development,etc
Not sure many jambos had any say in his intentions.
He didnt consult them.
I knew guys who worked for him.
Narcassist about summed him up.
21-05-2022, 09:34 AM
It’s really very simple.
i hate Rangers for social and political reasons and for what the club stands for. I hate hearts in a football sense. This is a football match.
as others have said a Rangers win will be forgotten after a day or two, probably even by most of their own support. What’s one more domestic cup when added to the scores they’ve won already (liquidation and second incarnation notwithstanding).
hearts win, and it’s an unbearable weekend, summer, year, and probably several years for Hibs fans.
easy decision.
He's here!
21-05-2022, 09:53 AM
That game was a bit after the days in the 70s I'm talking about. Despicable as that incident was, it came after the alcohol ban which made visits from the Old Firm marginally less unpleasant/downright dangerous.
21-05-2022, 10:00 AM
Won’t watch it, won’t listen to it, won’t read about it.
A few days from now it will be like it never happened.
Wromg thread, shows how much attention I’m paying to the Hearts Rangers game!
21-05-2022, 10:27 AM
That game was a bit after the days in the 70s I'm talking about. Despicable as that incident was, it came after the alcohol ban which made visits from the Old Firm marginally less unpleasant/downright dangerous.
The CS gas incident was around 87/88 if memory serves.
21-05-2022, 10:54 AM
[QUOTE=Gloucester Hibs;6969183]
Read what you want to read,Son.And make up stuff if it helps you.
Born 70 yrs ago in the Grassmarket.Been here ever since.
Now that’s as good a reply as anyone could hope for. And even if the recipient is over half a century old they can’t argue about being called “Son”
I think people need to show a little, maybe even a lot, more empathy and consideration for others these days. My wife was born at 3 Grassmarket ten years later than yiu mind, ya auld git. She too remembers the cheery flute tunes come through also many of your relatives
Well said. And just to add cream on top, your brother was my absolute all time hero in a Hibs strip. Can’t thank him and the other Tornadoes fir those glory days.
[QUOTE=Smartie;6969307]
Hypocrisy !
Looks it could be a day for the garden and radio, and i wish Lee's old team all the best today .. Sunderland that is :greengrin
absolutely take your point across your posts Mick
you have however made comments like ‘hun loving hibbies’, which is a bit snide when you’re asking (quite rightly) that others accept your reasons for choosing to hope rangers lose. Everyone’s entitled to their own reasons for which outcome they would prefer, you do seem to be getting quite frustrated at other people seeing things differently from you
21-05-2022, 11:28 AM
absolutely take your point across your posts Mick
you have however made comments like ‘hun loving hibbies’, which is a bit snide when you’re asking (quite rightly) that others accept your reasons for choosing to hope rangers lose. Everyone’s entitled to their own reasons for which outcome they would prefer, you do seem to be getting quite frustrated at other people seeing things differently from you
It wisnae meant as being snide. I did add an emoji and ! mark.
Just a response i guess to a couple of posts winding me up.:greengrin
Am usually good mannered on here. Old age !!
Anyway,my views have been made.
If the weather stays fair,will sit in my garden on my Green garden chair with matching Green table and large Green and White brolly, do a couple of crosswords and let the debate continue on here.
"
The result wont affect my daily routine after the dust has settled.
More excited about the latest chapter Hibs are about to write.
I deleted that quote,but its in replies.
Just stunned initially at a Hibby saying "mon the gers!" Sacriligeous !!:greengrin
GGTTH :aok:
[QUOTE=McD;6969431]
If the weather stays fair,will sit in my garden on my Green garden chair with matching Green table and large Green and White brolly, do a couple of crosswords and let the debate continue on here.
I deleted that quote
fair do’s Mick, and I agree, you’re usually very well mannered :aok:
have a brilliant day, regardless of the game :greengrin
WeAreHibs
21-05-2022, 11:36 AM
I'm ever so slightly erring towards being more content with a Yam win. Sure, I hate them, bit I detest The Rangers. My 2 best mates are jambos and I'd rather see them happy than how many thousand blue nose bigots getting a little joy after Wednesday. I want them humiliated. Jambos, whatever, we'll move on from it.
Don't plan to watch it.
Stairway 2 7
21-05-2022, 12:00 PM
Couple of my best mates and relatives are jambos I hope them and their kids have a horrible day. They are our rivals, we want them to lose every game.
Leave the sectarianism out of hibs, thankfully its getting less every decade.
21-05-2022, 12:02 PM
Mon the full fat huns.
21-05-2022, 12:27 PM
Couple of my best mates and relatives are jambos I hope them and their kids have a horrible day. They are our rivals, we want them to lose every game.
Leave the sectarianism out of hibs, thankfully its getting less every decade.
JXM73
21-05-2022, 12:33 PM
Rangers win all day long.. hearts are our rival, rangers are an irrelevance...
21-05-2022, 12:37 PM
Rangers win all day long.. hearts are our rival, rangers are an irrelevance...
Big chance for our dear neighbours today. Sevco have the emotional and physical toll of Wednesday to deal with. It won't be easy for them.
21-05-2022, 12:47 PM
Rangers are the people. They'll win no problem.
21-05-2022, 12:49 PM
Big chance for our dear neighbours today. Sevco have the emotional and physical toll of Wednesday to deal with. It won't be easy for them.Poor wee lambs, if only Kent had tucked that simple chance away[emoji23][emoji23]
Anyone but the thieves today will do for me unfortunately.
JamesHFC
21-05-2022, 12:52 PM
I can’t see anything other than a Rangers win.
21-05-2022, 12:57 PM
I can’t see anything other than a Rangers win.
If I was playing Rangers today, I would want 0-0 for as long as possible, making them run all over that big Hampden pitch. Fatigue will become a factor later on; they've just played 120 minutes in 35 degrees.
Corstorphine Hibby
21-05-2022, 12:59 PM
There are plenty Manchester United fans wanting City to win the league tomorrow rather than Liverpool
Tourist league though.
Me :greengrin
21-05-2022, 01:05 PM
Tourist league though.
My family in Manchester are all United fans and they want City to win the league. Different dynamic: the historic rivalry/antipathy between United and Liverpool is more fierce than that between the clubs within each city.
21-05-2022, 01:07 PM
Strong huns starting lineup
21-05-2022, 01:14 PM
Me :greengrin
My family in Manchester are all United fans and they want City to win the league. Different dynamic: the historic rivalry/antipathy between United and Liverpool is more fierce than that between the clubs within each city.
Anyone but Liverpool, it’s a generation thing. ****in hate them :agree: :thumbsup:
Oh ‘And **** the Hearts’ hope they get pumped today.
JamesHFC
21-05-2022, 01:16 PM
I want Hearts to concede a 90th minute winner, I want young children and their parents in tears, distraught.
21-05-2022, 01:23 PM
I want Hearts to concede a 90th minute winner, I want young children and their parents in tears, distraught.
Yorkshire HFC
21-05-2022, 01:29 PM
[QUOTE=McD;6969431]
"
I deleted that quote,but its in replies.
Just stunned initially at a Hibby saying "mon the gers!" Sacriligeous !!:greengrin
It's only a game of football. It's not worth getting het up about.
21-05-2022, 01:38 PM
Go Bears Go must have every chance in the 1510 @ Haydock. 😉
Inconsequential
21-05-2022, 01:53 PM
I'll be controversial here as I want Hearts to win. I'm not a resident in Edinburgh (I'm in the west) so I don't have the experience of the city rivalry thing. The superior, condescending attitudes of Sevco supporters towards the club I support annoys me. Therefore it's the lesser of two evils to win for me. The ideal scenario of course would be both sides to lose. :agree:
21-05-2022, 01:55 PM
I'll be controversial here as I want Hearts to win. I'm not a resident in Edinburgh (I'm in the west) so I don't have the experience of the city rivalry thing. The superior, condescending attitudes of Sevco supporters towards the club I support annoys me. Therefore it's the lesser of two evils to win for me. The ideal scenario of course would be both sides to lose. :agree:
You never spoken to a hearts fan? You could apply all those terms to them as well.
Inconsequential
21-05-2022, 02:01 PM
You never spoken to a hearts fan? You could apply all those terms to them as well. Not many here but plenty Sevco unfortunately.
Newhaven
21-05-2022, 02:42 PM
Incredible to read that and reflective of our attitude in derby matches.
21-05-2022, 02:47 PM
Same.
A Kent dive for a Rangers pen would be delightful.
OldEast
21-05-2022, 02:50 PM
Incredible to read that and reflective of our attitude in derby matches.
Absolute nonsense. Wanting Rangers to lose a cup final albeit against Hearts has got zero to do with anyone's attitude in relation to a derby.
21-05-2022, 02:51 PM
Go Bears Go must have every chance in the 1510 @ Haydock. 😉
4th.
McGruber
21-05-2022, 02:55 PM
Bad feeling about this - was hoping Rangers got an earlyish goal, the extra time and exertion midweek could be telling 2nd half. Hope Roofe comes on, they need more up top
McHibby
21-05-2022, 04:30 PM
I just checked the score on the BBC website and the first comment I read was Pat Nevin, "This will help Rangers heal".
He's normally such a sensible pundit. I'm glad to say in this instance he's talking nonsense. They'll kid on that it's a been a great season, but inside their hearts are breaking. And I love it. 😈
21-05-2022, 05:17 PM
I just checked the score on the BBC website and the first comment I read was Pat Nevin, "This will help Rangers heal".
He's normally such a sensible pundit. I'm glad to say in this instance he's talking nonsense. They'll kid on that it's a been a great season, but inside their hearts are breaking. And I love it. 😈
Retaining the league title was their top priority after winning it by 25 points last season. Instead they let Celtic straight into the group stages of the Champions League.
Winning the Europa League would have been a hundred times bigger than winning the SC. Getting to the final was a superb achievement, but they lost.
A cup win is a cup win, but, in the grand scheme of things, they would have hoped for more.
21-05-2022, 06:02 PM
**** the Hearts
21-05-2022, 06:19 PM
The last 6 days has been a decent end to a horrific season. A 4-0 win on the last day. Hun tears on Wednesday and a pathetic Jambo performance and defeat today. We can now put this season in the bin and look forward to a new chapter.
LewysGot2
21-05-2022, 06:34 PM
Tin pot mentality :confused:
21-05-2022, 07:35 PM
I'd rather Jack than Fleetwood Mac! 🍺 🎤🍺
21-05-2022, 07:38 PM
Tin pot mentality :confused:
Absolutely not. A United fan can never say they want Liverpool to win anything ever. When you have to pick your poison, it has to be City. I'm sure every single Liverpool fan would cheer on Everton against United in the same situation.
21-05-2022, 07:48 PM
I'd rather Jack than Fleetwood Mac! 🍺 🎤🍺
Are you on the karaoke? :greengrin
LewysGot2
21-05-2022, 07:53 PM
Absolutely not. A United fan can never say they want Liverpool to win anything ever. When you have to pick your poison, it has to be City. I'm sure every single Liverpool fan would cheer on Everton against United in the same situation.
your local rivals are the Champions, outplaying and outperforming your club and it’s not a problem?
21-05-2022, 07:57 PM
your local rivals are the Champions, outplaying and outperforming your club and it’s not a problem?
It's very much like today's situation, but more intense. I have a lot of family who support United and not one of them are hoping Liverpool win the league. It's unthinkable. The animosity between the the two Manchester clubs, and between the two Liverpool clubs, is nothing compared to United-Liverpool.
LewysGot2
21-05-2022, 08:01 PM
It's very much like today's situation, but more intense. I have a lot of family who support United and not one of them are hoping Liverpool win the league. It's unthinkable. The animosity between the the two Manchester clubs, and between the two Liverpool clubs, is nothing compared to United-Liverpool.
So how many titles for City will it take for them to decide that being second class in their own city might matter more?
21-05-2022, 08:06 PM
So how many titles for City will it take for them to decide that being second class in their own city might matter more?
A lot. United and Liverpool rivalry is intense.
21-05-2022, 08:06 PM
I dunno. I suppose that could change things, but United-Liverpool has been toxic for decades. It can go to crazy and unacceptable behaviour, as with all intense rivalries. There has always been a respect between United and Liverpool, however, as two great traditional clubs. City with their new oil money simply haven't earned their stripes. They are more like Chelsea in that respect.
21-05-2022, 08:12 PM
A lot. United and Liverpool rivalry is intense.
Yes, I would say it's like the Real Madrid/Barcelona rivalry is much more intense than the Real Madrid/Atletico Madrid rivalry. Two giants from different cities which have both experienced periods of dominance, and neither gives an inch to the other. It doesn't have the political baggage of Madrid/Barca or the Old Firm, thankfully, but it's hardcore rivalry.
I dunno. I suppose that could change things, but United-Liverpool has been toxic for decades. It can go to crazy and unacceptable behaviour, as with all intense rivalries. There has always been a respect between United and Liverpool, however, as two great traditional clubs. City with their new oil money simply haven't earned their stripes. They are more like Chelsea in that respect.
as someone on the other side of the Liverpool - Man Utd divide from yourself, I agree. The real rivalry is and has been for decades between Liverpool and Utd. City are simply flash, Johnny-come-lately’s. Games against Utd matter more (regardless of which team is having the better season of the 2), trophies between the 2 matter more, which is why utd’s fans would rather city win the title.