View Full Version : Roy Keane Apparently Interested

Pages : [1] 2 3 4 5

hibby rae
24-04-2022, 09:22 AM
*According to Sunday Times

Tbh I don't hate the idea. The Hermitage gets a new labrador.

Hibs reach Hampden

"That's the basics"

24-04-2022, 09:23 AM
Would be a disaster. Please nooooooooo

24-04-2022, 09:24 AM
What has he ever done… management wise…

24-04-2022, 09:27 AM
He managed to get into the Man Utd side!!!
Does that count????

#2 Double Tap
24-04-2022, 09:27 AM

https://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Roy_Keane

Bronson
24-04-2022, 09:29 AM

Did he not take sunderland from the relegation zone in the championship to winning the league in the same season?

24-04-2022, 09:33 AM
Keane is a bit of a narcissist. The way he spoke about John Walters, who had just lost his brother and child in a short space of time was really poor and quite revealing IMO. He probably does have unwavering standards, which made him the captain he was, but he’s not shown anything as a manager. An entertaining pundit but I lost a lot of respect for him the way he spoke about Jon Walters and also not willing to show any compassion for Ferguson when he had his stroke (think that’s what it was, but when he was ill)

hibby rae
24-04-2022, 09:33 AM
Did he not take sunderland from the relegation zone in the championship to winning the league in the same season?

Yep, and I think Ipswich might be a **** show for most folk.

Plus, if nothing else it'd be funny

24-04-2022, 09:36 AM
Out of the two Irish radges being linked, he’d probably be my marginal preference.

But still not convinced.

24-04-2022, 09:37 AM
I'm not keen

24-04-2022, 09:41 AM
Mark Hughes applied to manage league 2 Bradford after 4 years out so Keane to Hibs is maybe not as unlikely as it might first seem.

I'd like him to get the job just for the fireworks when he's eventually sacked! :greengrin

hibby rae
24-04-2022, 09:41 AM
Out of the two Irish radges being linked, he’d probably be my marginal preference.

But still not convinced.

Phenomenal first season, so so second (the basics), chins Neilson, 8 match ban, leaves.

Not against it 😂

24-04-2022, 09:44 AM

Yes he did. The fans love him at Sunderland and were gutted he didnt get the gig recently when talks fell through.

If he is interested we have to talk to him. Ron would be interested in the profile raising that Keane would bring for the club as well I think.

Mike Berry
24-04-2022, 09:45 AM
Would be absolute carnage, but great fun. In some ways Id love it, but objectively it's not what we need just now.

24-04-2022, 09:46 AM
Would be absolute carnage, but great fun. In some ways Id love it, but objectively it's not what we need just now.

It's now or never, you only live once, lets get it done :greengrin

hibee1875
24-04-2022, 09:46 AM
Why not. Sure he’d weed out the soft touch element of our play.

FRes Hibbie
24-04-2022, 09:49 AM

With just about the biggest budget in Sunderland’s history. They’re still paying for it now.

Anywhere he’s actually had to rely on managing people he’s been a disaster.

24-04-2022, 09:51 AM
Why not. Sure he’d weed out the soft touch element of our play.

He really wouldn't. He's not some master motivator, he's just a dick.

Bronson
24-04-2022, 10:04 AM
With just about the biggest budget in Sunderland’s history. They’re still paying for it now.

Anywhere he’s actually had to rely on managing people he’s been a disaster.

I think you’re about 10 years out of date with that one. If sunderland are still struggling due to overpaying players, it was from 2016-17 when they were forking out ridiculous wages on wabhi khazri, didier ndong, jack rodwell etc.

Their 06/07 team under keane wasn’t full of many big stars

24-04-2022, 10:05 AM
He really wouldn't. He's not some master motivator, he's just a dick.

Spot on. Motivation doesn’t mean being a tosser all the time, sometimes it’s an arm around the shoulder too.

We should have learned that from Terry Butcher.

24-04-2022, 10:08 AM
I think you’re about 10 years out of date with that one. If sunderland are still struggling due to overpaying players, it was from 2016-17 when they were forking out ridiculous wages on wabhi khazri, didier ndong, jack rodwell etc.

Also, a team (and manager) that gets you promoted to the premier league demonstrates some sort of return on investment even if they are expensive.

Unlike a 70k per week midfielder who refuses to play, calls in sick and remains at the club through back to back relegations.

#2 Double Tap
24-04-2022, 10:08 AM
Spot on. Motivation doesn’t mean being a tosser all the time, sometimes it’s an arm around the shoulder too.

We should have learned that from Terry Butcher.

sounds like you need a boot up the arse :greengrin:greengrin

24-04-2022, 10:17 AM
Could he afford the drop on wages ?

24-04-2022, 10:19 AM
Could he afford the drop on wages ?

Undoubtedly. He's a multi millionaire.

He'd also be guaranteed to get his punditry job back if it all went tits up.

24-04-2022, 10:23 AM
Not for me.

30 years ago someone like Roy Keane would probably be deemed a good manager but players nowadays wouldn't respond to his style of management and would be off to see the Chief Executive to complain at the first sign of any hint of threatening behaviour.

FRes Hibbie
24-04-2022, 10:24 AM

Perhaps a slight exaggeration but Sunderland broke the UK transfer record for a keeper under Keane. They threw a lot of money around for a EPL/Championship yo-yo team.

Clearly their later big contracts (typical of a post-Allardyce club) were an issue too but they burned a lot of useless transfer fees under Keane. As soon as Niall Quinn’s consortium’s cash dried up Keane was a busted flush and has gone on to be utterly useless and pretty destructive everywhere else he’s been.

24-04-2022, 10:24 AM

Spent about 130m.

24-04-2022, 10:25 AM
He would not be interested in doing for the money, he dont need it, he would weed out the boy band, bring a different mentality such as that of a winner into Easter Road, he could have Scott Brown as assistant, no soft touches at Hibs anymore. sell more season tickets and be a real statement of intent. Go get him Ron.

24-04-2022, 10:25 AM
Perhaps a slight exaggeration but Sunderland broke the UK transfer record for a keeper under Keane. They threw a lot of money around for a EPL/Championship yo-yo team.

Clearly their later big contracts (typical of a post-Allardyce club) were an issue too but they burned a lot of useless transfer fees under Keane. As soon as Niall Quinn’s consortium’s cash dried up Keane was a busted flush and has gone on to be utterly useless everywhere else he’s been.

Everywhere else is one place.

Is there any evidence that Roy Keane is a bully shouty manager, or is it just assumed?

24-04-2022, 10:32 AM
Keane can't manage. Please no.

24-04-2022, 10:33 AM
Everywhere else is on place.

Is there any evidence that Roy Keane is a bully shouty manager, or is it just assumed?

There's plenty evidence of him being a shouty hothead.

His tantrums during Ireland's world cup campaign are legendary. He called Mick McCarthy an English C***, iirc. :faf:

FRes Hibbie
24-04-2022, 10:33 AM
Everywhere else is on place.

“Everywhere else is on place.”

Sorry, you lost me.

24-04-2022, 10:34 AM

Sorry, you lost me.

In place, I assume.

andrew70
24-04-2022, 10:34 AM

His tantrums during Ireland's world cup campaign are legendary. He called Mick McCarthy and English C***, iirc. :faf:

So he’s a factually correct hothead

Chorley Hibee
24-04-2022, 10:35 AM

But still not convinced.

Let's go the whole hog and get them both!

Now that would be entertainment! 🤣

24-04-2022, 10:36 AM

His tantrums during Ireland's world cup campaign are legendary. He called Mick McCarthy and English C***, iirc. :faf:

Aye, but as a manager?

Chorley Hibee
24-04-2022, 10:37 AM

Was more him criticising the amateur aspect of Ireland's World Cup preparations wasn't it?

Hothead no doubt, but often right in his assertion.

FRes Hibbie
24-04-2022, 10:37 AM
In place, I assume.

If you’re right I still have no idea what the point of the sentence was.

24-04-2022, 10:39 AM
So he’s a factually correct hothead

Sorry, you lost me.

Edited

One place.

You said he’s been crap everywhere else he’s been, but he’s only managed one other club.

If you’re right I still have no idea what the point of the sentence was.

I wasn't! 😁

FRes Hibbie
24-04-2022, 10:40 AM
Was more him criticising the amateur aspect of Ireland's World Cup preparations wasn't it?

If you’re a confrontational bloke who rubs people up the wrong way, annoys or intimidates and your job is to manage a group of people it doesn’t really matter if you’re right.

Musselbound
24-04-2022, 10:41 AM
Yes he did. The fans love him at Sunderland and were gutted he didnt get the gig recently when talks fell through.

If he is interested we have to talk to him. Ron would be interested in the profile raising that Keane would bring for the club as well I think.

I had the same thought as you about what our owner's reaction might be. Remains to be seen if it is financially viable though. Seems like a while since he actually managed. Keane is a very volatile character and personally I wouldn't fancy being managed by him.

FRes Hibbie
24-04-2022, 10:41 AM
Edited

One place.

You said he’s been crap everywhere else he’s been, but he’s only managed one other club.

Correct. He’s not exactly been hiding, why has no-one else been interested?

24-04-2022, 10:42 AM

Has no-one else been interested?

24-04-2022, 10:43 AM

It was.

You can be right and still be a shouty, aggressive bam.

It's all in the delivery!

Paulie Walnuts
24-04-2022, 10:44 AM
No thanks.

Not all that great a record anyway but also hasn’t managed for 11 years.

24-04-2022, 10:44 AM

He's only just decided he wants back into management. Sunderland wanted him just a few months ago.

24-04-2022, 10:45 AM
I loved his book, but we’ll need to have moved on from John Collins’ time if it were to work.

Asking “Do you think Jimmy Floyd Hasselbaink is in there eating f*****g cheese sandwiches?” is another way of stripping to your waist and comparing six packs with the players.

Green_one
24-04-2022, 10:45 AM
Dying to see the manager Hibs are going to sign who is clearly better than Roy Keane

Apparently it is not going to be an inexperienced manager or one with some history of failure

Whoever we get will be a gamble. Keane is a big name and has been through the furnace of failure. He knows little of Scottish football but if that is a deal killer then we are just left with the usual managerial merry go round.

In my opinion he would at least be worth speaking to. If it’s a straight no then I really wonder about expectations. Especially when a third of respondents are voting for Lennon!

Personally I hope he continues to do the media gig as I find him entertaining. Doubt Hibs can match his probable demands

24-04-2022, 10:48 AM

The season was only 5 games old when he took over and he spent £5m before the window closed and another £3m in January - big sums for Championship at the time.

FRes Hibbie
Has no-one else been interested?

I mean, all of this entire site is speculation/opinion but I suspect if clubs were interested he’d have had more jobs than Ipswich and ROI assistant in the last 15 years.

If he’s interested in the hibs job he’d probably have been interested in about 40 clubs in England over the years if they’d had the slightest inclination of employing him.

hibby rae
On his man management, the vibe I get is he doesn't suffer those that don't put effort in, but he looks after his own.

I could be wrong, but that's what I thought.

24-04-2022, 10:51 AM
Said on the other thread but could be a perfect fit. Hibs needing a much needed boost that Keane would immediately bring. Create a bit of buzz around the place. Keane looking to kick start his managerial career at one of the biggest clubs in Scotland with huge ambition and standards and who love a bit of glitz. Think it would be a great move for both parties.

MikeyS
24-04-2022, 10:51 AM
Everywhere else is one place.

People can't see past the character he plays up to now on the TV, Andy. I'd doubt many on here have even watched a Keane side live. The main concern with Keane should be the amount or time away from a job he has had. 11 years is a long time without being the top man at a club!

24-04-2022, 10:53 AM
I mean, all of this entire site is speculation/opinion but I suspect if clubs were interested he’d have had more jobs than Ipswich and ROI assistant in the last 15 years.

If he’s interested in the hibs job he’d probably have been interested in about 40 clubs in England over the years if they’d had the slightest inclination of employing him.

Again, he's only just decided he wants to be a manager again.

Hibs are a big name in Scotland and Edinburgh is a brilliant city with easy transport links to rest of UK. Timing could just be right for this one.

I get the concerns about him as well, but who else out of the realistic names banded about is a better and/or more exciting shout?

24-04-2022, 10:54 AM
Yes please.

24-04-2022, 10:57 AM
This thread suggests that Keane would not be a unifying force.

Some players might take to him, but others would clash or at least be unhappy.

Collins was hated by a lot of players because of his style and his intolerance of what he deemed not to be professional, and I think Roy Keane's approach would likely engender similar feelings.

24-04-2022, 10:58 AM
Said on the other thread but could be a perfect fit. Hibs needing a much needed boost that Keane would immediately bring. Create a bit of buzz around the place. Keane looking to kick start his managerial career at one of the biggest clubs in Scotland with huge ambition and standards and who love a bit of glitz. Think it would be a great move for both parties.

Yes, if it worked on the field.

24-04-2022, 10:58 AM
Bring in Roy with Broony as his assistant, only problem I can see is who would play the "good cop" to many snowflakes around. I would love to see this real winner at Hibs. Season tickets sold no problem.

churchie16
24-04-2022, 11:01 AM

Collins was hated by a lot of players because of his style and his intolerance of what he deemed not to be professional, and I think Roy Keane's approach would likely engender similar feelings.

Ah well that’s that then don’t appoint him cause some of the players don’t want him,annoying that let’s get someone like the previous guys where they run about half arsed and there standards are in the floor.

FRes Hibbie
24-04-2022, 11:01 AM
Again, he's only just decided he wants to be a manager again.

Hibs are a big name in Scotland and Edinburgh is a brilliant city with easy transport links to rest of UK. Timing could just be right for this one.

I get the concerns about him as well, but who else out of the realistic names banded about is a better and/or more exciting shout?

I don’t buy it. Hibs are a big name to us but it’s hard to convey just how little today’s Scottish football registers in the mind of your typical English EPL follower - the sort of person that will be very familiar with Roy Keane.

I don’t know who I want as manager really, the people we’re linked with typically don’t have very high profiles and I’m not knowledgeable enough to really know about them. That’s not their fault, it’s mine. Hopefully there is someone out there that can do a good job.

Roy Keane is high profile though and with what I know of that profile I cannot see how it would be anything other than an angry failure.

24-04-2022, 11:02 AM

I reckon there’s some players in that squad that need weeded out. They’ve had an arm round the shoulder approach from the last two managers and we’ve seen how it’s ended for them. Some of them are far too soft mentality wise.

churchie16
24-04-2022, 11:07 AM
I reckon there’s some players in that squad that need weeded out. They’ve had an arm round the shoulder approach from the last two managers and we’ve seen how it’s ended for them. Some of them are far too soft mentality wise.

Spot on, let’s just keep the guys that have constantly let us down over a number of years and appoint someone that they want cause they want an easy ride, must not be any players out there that would want to work hard and play for a manger like Roy Keane nowadays

FRes Hibbie
24-04-2022, 11:10 AM
Spot on, let’s just keep the guys that have constantly let us down over a number of years and appoint someone that they want cause they want an easy ride, must not be any players out there that would want to work hard and play for a manger like Roy Keane nowadays

And if you’re right and all the players out there nowadays are too soft to have Roy Keane as a manager why would hiring Roy Keane as a manger be a good idea?

24-04-2022, 11:12 AM
Ah well that’s that then don’t appoint him cause some of the players don’t want him,annoying that let’s get someone like the previous guys where they run about half arsed and there standards are in the floor.

I didn't say that the players don't want him. I said that they'll end up hating him like they did Collins.

Lennon was booted because of his "exchanges" with players and we all saw the effect his "style" was having on the team before he left.

If that happens again with Keane, the only place the players will run to is the CEO or another club, and it won't be half arsed.

Screaming and shouting players becomes self defeating very quickly.

GreenGray
24-04-2022, 11:14 AM
I’ve listened to interviews from players who’ve played under him and apparently he isn’t like the guy you see on the tv, which is 100% him playing up to a character.

Even if you watch his interview with Neville and things he’s done with other pundits he does seem like he’s changed and realised football has changed as well.

The more I think about it the more i think it makes sense. Creates a buzz and the players would respect him.

He would need a tactically aware assistant with him however.

buktapurple79
24-04-2022, 11:14 AM
We’re fantasising to think Keane would come here. However, he will like Ron’s lack of toleration of failure, and the Yams would hate us being managed by someone who wouldn’t tolerate soft touches in our team.

24-04-2022, 11:15 AM
I didn't say that the players don't want him. I said that they'll end up hating him like they did Collins.

Lennon was booted because of his "exchanges" with players and we all saw the effect his "style" was having on the team before he left.

If that happens again with Keane, the only place the players will run to is the CEO or another club, and it won't be half arsed.

Which is strange because when you speak to the players who’re still here that wee here during lennons time they still regard him as the best manager they’ve played under

24-04-2022, 11:15 AM

tough. They don’t like it they can clear off. Most of them have forfeited the right to get angry about anything given their crap performances this season and wouldn’t be missed anyway.

24-04-2022, 11:18 AM
Still nobody saying they’d not renew or return their season ticket.

Roy could be the man to unite the fans again.

Promising.

24-04-2022, 11:19 AM

Any manager can change the personnel. We don't need an aggressive, confrontational hothead to do that.

From what I hear, I don't think Maloney can be accused of using the arm around shoulder approach.

Ferguson is always linked with the hair dryer treatment, but that's exaggerated.

He may well have used anger occasionally, but if he had consistently behaved like that, he wouldn't have come close to achieving what he did.

The majority of his players loved and respected him because he cared for and respected them.

24-04-2022, 11:20 AM
Still nobody saying they’d not renew or return their season ticket.

Roy could be the man to unite the fans again.

Promising.

To be fair, that's nearly a full half day since the rumour started so you might have a point.

churchie16
24-04-2022, 11:21 AM

Get rid of the guys that don’t want his standards then exactly what sir Alex done, klopp done, pep does, standards at the club are an absolute joke from everyone should have changed a good few number of years ago

24-04-2022, 11:27 AM

You are probably right but how much does it matter? Maloney ( despite apparently being a nice guy) certainly wasn't universally popular in the changing room. Jack Ross was from what I've heard.

With Collins the major problem was he lost respect early on with players. Maloney likewise. Would Keane?

Stick
Whenever I watched Ted Lasso, and saw the Roy Kent character, I pictured Roy Kean. Couldn’t have been a coincidence surely?

tough. They don’t like it they can clear off. Most of them have forfeited the right to get angry about anything given their crap performances this season and wouldn’t be missed anyway.

I'm not sure Ron Gordon would appreciate the high turnover of players every window.

Plus, where do we go to find players who thrive on being shouted at and being bullied?

24-04-2022, 11:28 AM
What a load of bollocks 😂😂

Hibs distracting the media from our real targets 😎

24-04-2022, 11:29 AM
Whenever I watched Ted Lasso, and saw the Roy Kent character, I pictured Roy Kean. Couldn’t have been a coincidence surely?

I'm certain he was modelled on a cross between him and Sounness.

24-04-2022, 11:30 AM
What a load of bollocks 😂😂

Hibs distracting the media from our real targets 😎

Its not Hibs distracting anybody. The noises have come from Keane.:confused:

MikeyS
24-04-2022, 11:30 AM
I'm not sure Ron Gordon would appreciate the high turnover of players every window.

Plus, where do we go to find players who thrive on being shouted at and being bullied?

Which specific player(s) has Roy Keane been accused of bullying before?

24-04-2022, 11:32 AM
Its not Hibs distracting anybody. The noises have come from Keane.:confused:

You've actually heard him say he would be interested in managing Hibs aye?

24-04-2022, 11:38 AM
You've actually heard him say he would be interested in managing Hibs aye?

No I've read the reports like everyone else. Apart from you obviously - because you claimed it was a distraction from Hibs, which makes no sense, as Hibs have said nothing about Keane.

24-04-2022, 11:38 AM
You are probably right but how much does it matter? Maloney ( despite apparently being a nice guy) certainly wasn't universally popular in the changing room. Jack Ross was from what I've heard.

With Collins the major problem was he lost respect early on with players. Maloney likewise. Would Keane?

I don't know. I understand why people might be keen to see him at Hibs. He's a big name, admires professionalism and sometimes talks a good game having seen countless replays of incidents on telly.

Our recent experience of managers with similar views to Keane; Collins, Butcher, Lennon and as you suggest, Maloney, have all ended in disaster.

What's the expression about doing the same thing and expecting different results?

I wouldn't employ Roy Keane. Others would. Our opinions won't be sought, however, and I doubt that he's actually in the frame anyway.

24-04-2022, 11:42 AM
No I've read the reports like everyone else. Apart from you obviously - because you claimed it was a distraction from Hibs, which makes no sense, as Hibs have said nothing about Keane.

This is a tactic to make the Hibs managerial vacancy sound 'high profile' to maybe entice other managers to sit up and pay attention and think WOW! if someone as high profile as Roy Keane is interested it must be a big job.

Edit- just messaged Keane on his Instagram asking if he is really interested in the Hibs job. I'll let you know if he answers 😂

24-04-2022, 11:43 AM
I don't know. I understand why people might be keen to see him at Hibs. He's a big name, admires professionalism and sometimes talks a good game having seen countless replays of incidents on telly.

Our recent experience of managers with similar views to Keane; Collins, Butcher, Lennon and as you suggest, Maloney, have all ended in disaster.

What's the expression about doing the same thing and expecting different results?

I wouldn't employ Roy Keane. Others would. Our opinions won't be sought, however, and I doubt that he's actually in the frame anyway.

Agree with most of that although I think Maloney and Collins are completely different characters from Keane. Keane is a brilliant communicator, something which Maloney def inst.

Could just be his agent getting his name out there I suppose.

24-04-2022, 11:44 AM
This is a tactic to make the Hibs managerial vacancy sound 'high profile' to maybe entice other managers to sit up and pay attention and think WOW! if someone as high profile as Roy Keane is interested it must be a big job.

Edit- just messaged Keane on his Instagram asking if he is really interested in the Hibs job. I'll let you know if he answers ��

:greengrin I've never heard of that happening, but it doesn't sound outwith the realms of possibility.

More likely his agent getting his name out there? Or he could actually be interested!

24-04-2022, 11:46 AM
:greengrin I've never heard of that happening, but it doesn't sound outwith the realms of possibility.

More likely his agent getting his name out there? Or he could actually be interested!

I'll just keep my £20 on Ronnie Deila for now 😉

24-04-2022, 11:47 AM
Just don’t fancy him as a manager for us at all. Firstly, I don’t think he has the temperament. Secondly, he’d want a huge chequebook, beyond what we can do. I also don’t want someone who doesn’t have a decent track record, which he doesn’t have, not to mention a decade plus away from the dugout.

I don’t know who I want yet, but for me I’d like them to have a solid record of managing already, with a demonstrated attacking style of play, and with an adaptability to accommodate their own players and where necessary, the opposition too. If they come with a decent high profile and recognisability, great, but that’s much less important than the previous points, for me anyway.

id love someone to come in lay down a marker in terms of sensible but aspirational expectations for the players, academy, club and fans, be positive, and openly commit to being here for a decent time (I don’t think a successful manager will be with us for decades, but more than 18-24 months would be a good start), and be successful with those expectations.

no mean feat I know

24-04-2022, 11:49 AM

But still not convinced.

You think Michael O'Neill is a radge? :greengrin

FRes Hibbie
24-04-2022, 11:52 AM
Agree with most of that although I think Maloney and Collins are completely different characters from Keane. Keane is a brilliant communicator, something which Maloney def inst.

Could just be his agent getting his name out there I suppose.

Brilliant communicator? What makes you say that?

24-04-2022, 11:53 AM

This article cites some players who loved working under him: https://www.manchestereveningnews.co.uk/sport/football/football-news/keane-verdict-sunderland-manager-interview-22973895

The former Ipswich player David Norris added: "Honestly, I loved him. He made me his captain. He had this aura. It is still an amazing feeling inside to know Roy Keane chose me as his captain."

Carlos Edwards, Sunderland - "Most players will have been intimidated to go and speak to him, because they were thinking they would get an 'eff off'. But he always told me; 'Family comes first' and I loved that about him. He always said; 'Make sure the home is taken care of. If you are happy at home, you can be happy at training'. That was one thing he had good eyes for. There were confidential things you could say - whether it was football or not football-related. He has that sentimental side."

24-04-2022, 11:54 AM
Brilliant communicator? What makes you say that?

I've heard him speak and that's my view.:greengrin

BegbieHSC
24-04-2022, 11:58 AM
Roy Keane with Scott Brown as assistant. I say Brown as he’ll know Keane, but he also obviously knows Hibs so would act as a good link.

I’m all for it! Would be an exciting, box office appointment.

24-04-2022, 11:58 AM
https://youtu.be/_1FqQwgMZtg

Apologies if already posted but my opinion of Keane changes when I watched this excellent interview with Gary Neville. Even forgetting about his Hibs link a second I would recommend people watch it as it’s absolutely superb IMO.

There’s a few reservations I have about him as a manager but overall my gut feeling would be one of excitement if we got him.

24-04-2022, 11:59 AM
Roy Keane with Scott Brown as assistant. I say Brown as he’ll know Keane, but he also obviously knows Hibs so would act as a good link.

Why are so many folk wanting Brown as assistant? If there's anyone who should be assistant and knows Hibs it's David Gray.

FRes Hibbie
24-04-2022, 12:00 PM
I've heard him speak and that's my view.:greengrin

Haha fair enough. You might not be surprised to hear I’m not so sure.

Not sure those quotes work either. 2 players that liked him, one was promoted to captain and the other admits “most players” would be too intimidated to even speak to him!

BegbieHSC
24-04-2022, 12:05 PM
Why are so many folk wanting Brown as assistant? If there's anyone who should be assistant and knows Hibs it's David Gray.

I’d also be happy with Gray as an assistant.

In the case of Roy Keane coming in as manager, I’d just be happy with Brown purely because of the fact they know each other and have worked together before, with Brown also knowing Hibs very well.

24-04-2022, 12:07 PM

Apologies if already posted but my opinion of Keane changes when I watched this excellent interview with Gary Neville. Even forgetting about his Hibs link a second I would recommend people watch it as it’s absolutely superb IMO.

There’s a few reservations I have about him as a manager but overall my gut feeling would be one of excitement if we got him.

Watched it a while back. Really good watch and Keane seems like a good guy.

24-04-2022, 12:09 PM
I’d also be happy with Gray as an assistant.

In the case of Roy Keane coming in as manager, I’d just be happy with Brown purely because of the fact they know each other and have worked together before, with Brown also knowing Hibs very well.

Sorry, wasn't having a go or anything at you directly. Just seen quite a few folk saying they'd want Brown in.

Is Brown actually over in Cyprus with Lennon?

24-04-2022, 12:10 PM

well whoever’s in charge Ron better be willing to splash some cash on a high turnover this coming window because that team needs to be gutted

24-04-2022, 12:13 PM
FFS no.....

Sent from my SM-G965F using Tapatalk

24-04-2022, 12:13 PM

David can be good cop to Keane’s inevitable bad cop.

Let’s get it done.

MikeyS
24-04-2022, 12:14 PM

Not sure those quotes work either. 2 players that liked him, one was promoted to captain and the other admits “most players” would be too intimidated to even speak to him!

So thats fair enough to just dismiss them seeing as they don't fit in with your view of him?

From what I can remember there was a few high profile fall outs with players.

Haaland which was on field aggro, Shearer, again onfield aggro, McAteer, an onfield clash where McAteer actually waited til Keane was sent off and far enough away from him before he started acting the big man giving hand gestures and then Jon Walters. Now, what Keane said about an emotional interview Walters gave was over the line but I've read about 3 different versions of their fall out this morning all from Walters. Seems Jon is quite the self publicist when he needs to be.

He actually started it by asking for a move and RK said not til the value is met. JW didn't like that and kicked off.

24-04-2022, 12:21 PM
Would Keane and Gray maybe know each other from their Man United days? I know Gray was out on loan a lot.

FRes Hibbie
24-04-2022, 12:24 PM
So thats fair enough to just dismiss them seeing as they don't fit in with your view of him?

From what I can remember there was a few high profile fall outs with players.

Haaland which was on field aggro, Shearer, again onfield aggro, McAteer, an onfield clash where McAteer actually waited til Keane was sent off and far enough away from him before he started acting the big man giving hand gestures and then Jon Walters. Now, what Keane said about an emotional interview Walters gave was over the line but I've read about 3 different versions of their fall out this morning all from Walters. Seems Jon is quite the self publicist when he needs to be.

He actually started it by asking for a move and RK said not til the value is met. JW didn't like that and kicked off.

Thing is, I haven’t dismissed them, I think they actually do fit my view. There might be a few players who take to RK, I suspect the majority wouldn’t. To me that doesn’t seem like a good fit for a person you want to manage a group of people.

Would Keane and Gray maybe know each other from their Man United days? I know Gray was out on loan a lot.

Keane left before Gray joined
No idea why he’s throwing his name into the mix, maybe his pal Mikey Stewart put him up to it😀

MikeyS

Overlapped for just a year mate, would depend if Keane had anything to do with the youths.

24-04-2022, 12:25 PM

Haha i did think that too. What about Dwight Yorkes quote from 2 years ago ( He played under him at Sunderland).

"When he took the job he had the respect of all the players. He had the character to be a manager, and the respect. He has everything you want in a manager. Then in his first year he was very successful and got us promoted."

“For me, when I look back, I think that Keane should be in a big managerial position today, I.e. someone like Manchester United.”

sahpaton
24-04-2022, 12:25 PM
Angry shouty man isn’t the answer, appoint a good football manager ffs

MikeyS
24-04-2022, 12:28 PM
Angry shouty man isn’t the answer, appoint a good football manager ffs

It's possible to be both! Not that am comparing abilities obviously but it doesn't seem to do Simeone or Pep any harm being angry and shouty.

on-the-level
24-04-2022, 12:30 PM
Can someone put up a vote
YES or NO for RMK?
I Haven't been able to vote in the
last polls for some reason!
Make it for EVERYONE to vote on pls
👍

24-04-2022, 12:33 PM
Fs..I’d rather have Maloney back …no thank you !!

24-04-2022, 12:33 PM
It would be an exciting appointment.
The media interest and profile of the club would go through the roof.

Would rather a more "stable" manager but i thought the same about Lennon and that was a great few months 😀

I would imagine it would add plenty season tickets too.

Cant see it though.

24-04-2022, 12:45 PM
I'm on the Roy Keane bandwagon, with David Gray as his no. 2.

OldEast
24-04-2022, 12:54 PM

That was a good watch thanks. Go get him Hibs 👍🏻

MikeyS
24-04-2022, 12:54 PM

I'd be happy with him, my favourite ever footballer. However, I'd still like us to sound out guys like Diela, F*arke & Garry Monk. We need someone with recent experiences I feel.

24-04-2022, 12:57 PM
This article cites some players who loved working under him: https://www.manchestereveningnews.co.uk/sport/football/football-news/keane-verdict-sunderland-manager-interview-22973895

The former Ipswich player David Norris added: "Honestly, I loved him. He made me his captain. He had this aura. It is still an amazing feeling inside to know Roy Keane chose me as his captain."

Carlos Edwards, Sunderland - "Most players will have been intimidated to go and speak to him, because they were thinking they would get an 'eff off'. But he always told me; 'Family comes first' and I loved that about him. He always said; 'Make sure the home is taken care of. If you are happy at home, you can be happy at training'. That was one thing he had good eyes for. There were confidential things you could say - whether it was football or not football-related. He has that sentimental side."

Some players liked John Collins and Terry Butcher so the same would apply with Keane. The problems would arise with the players he didn't make captain and the ones who were scared to speak to him.

Anyway, we'll find out soon enough.

hibby rae
24-04-2022, 01:05 PM
One takeaway from the posted interview with Roy Keane is he's not out of our league, what is it he says? Being realistic for his next job it would be Championship or high League One. Which is pretty much Hibs' level.

24-04-2022, 01:06 PM

Leadership, mentality, and no doubt he could be a player coach for a season - he's still fit as a fiddle. Good in the dressing room, character and pantomine villain versus them :greengrin

24-04-2022, 01:07 PM
One takeaway from the posted interview with Roy Keane is he's not out of our league, what is it he says? Being realistic for his next job it would be Championship or high League One. Which is pretty much Hibs' level.

I don't think we're that level, sadly, certainly not championship.

24-04-2022, 01:08 PM
Management record isn’t great. He’s been coaching but that’s different as we found out with Shaun Maloney. I’ll bet his leadership qualities and winning mentality is up there but is it enough?
can’t see it in any case.

24-04-2022, 01:09 PM
That was a good watch thanks. Go get him Hibs 👍🏻

Yeah I thought it was excellent.

Also get the impression he’s had time to reflect on what he did and didn’t do well. Seems almost more at peace with himself now compared to the perception of him back then.

I totally get the reservations about him but it would certainly be an intriguing one and I just think it could work. Also think he is the polar opposite of Maloney who spoke like he swallowed a coaching manual where as Keane speaks from the heart.

24-04-2022, 01:10 PM

I guess the point is that he’s not just going to stroll into Man Utd.

Therefore is it not worth asking the question?

It’s not going to be about money for him, it’s going to be something he’ll enjoy and give him a chance to rebuild his managerial career.

He’d probably be more concerned that we have started to look like a manager’s graveyard. And we hung our last couple out to dry.

hibby rae
24-04-2022, 01:12 PM

In terms of fanbase etc. we are.

And he might look at how managers have done after being with us.

Mowbray ended up in the Championship then Premiership, Heckingbottom was crap for us but certainly hasn't damaged his career, even Lennon went back to Celtic.

24-04-2022, 01:15 PM
In terms of fanbase etc. we are.

And he might look at how managers have done after being with us.

Mowbray ended up in the Championship then Premiership, Heckingbottom was crap for us but certainly hasn't damaged his career, even Lennon went back to Celtic.

As much as I hate saying it Hibs are a very appealing stepping stone. Club is set up to challenge. If someone gets it right here they'll be noticed.

24-04-2022, 01:17 PM
As much as I hate saying it Hibs are a very appealing stepping stone. Club is set up to challenge. If someone gets it right here they'll be noticed.

Agree with that - but just can’t see what Kean (other than profile ) brings to Hibs ….has got disaster and another transition written all over it ….

tonyrougier123
24-04-2022, 01:20 PM
Bring it on and everything that would come with it I say!!
Pretty sure the support could get a decent wee tune from the band Keanes song somewhere only we know to welcome him.

For what it’s worth I think the board will appoint a yes man.
No a tell like it is guy like Roy Keane.

24-04-2022, 01:21 PM
Certainly would be quite an exciting candidate. Raise the profile of the club. Good chance of respect in the dressing room as well.

Everything is primed for someone to be a success. Just need a strong manager, a good assistant and some good summer signings.

sahpaton
24-04-2022, 01:25 PM
It's possible to be both! Not that am comparing abilities obviously but it doesn't seem to do Simeone or Pep any harm being angry and shouty.

It’s certainly possible, Keane is only one of those things though.

Green Reaper
24-04-2022, 01:26 PM

Thanks for that link, great watch and makes you see Roy in a way maybe not seen before. I am on the fence with regards to appointing as our manager due to being out of management for so long but veering towards wanting that to happen, even though it is highly unlikely.

24-04-2022, 01:29 PM
Don’t think he’s as daft as some on here seem to think and I also think he’s calmed down quite a bit.

I think he’d be a lot more approachable to players now whilst still keeping the respect of the players and having the fear factor.

I think at a club in the SPFL having someone like Keane would attract a lot of interest and players might decide to come to us instead of others.

I think he’d bring a real competitiveness and intensity to our games, especially at home.

I also think he’d manage to get that bit extra out of players similar to Lennon.

I can see Ron loving him being Hibs manager, well known worldwide and would be exciting for the club.

24-04-2022, 01:30 PM
Certainly would be quite an exciting candidate. Raise the profile of the club. Good chance of respect in the dressing room as well.

Everything is primed for someone to be a success. Just need a strong manager, a good assistant and some good summer signings.

I think that's the key MH, need someone with stature and reputation not only for the players to look up to but to really challenge the authorities, particularly the referees. Hibs have been on the end of some terrible ref performances and neither Ross or Maloney were overly keen (pardon the pun) to ruffle feathers.

Refs were intimidated by Neil Lennon, and we need someone with that kind of character to get into referees heads too in my opinion.

tonyrougier123
24-04-2022, 01:33 PM

☝🏻This everyday of the week,with gray still in there.

24-04-2022, 01:55 PM
Agree with that - but just can’t see what Kean (other than profile ) brings to Hibs ….has got disaster and another transition written all over it ….

I would hope he'd toughen us up a bit and that his profile would help attract a higher calibre of player but yes there is a risk it would end in disaster. However, as others have suggested, he's maybe mellowed a bit. It might end up being an inspirational appointment.

For me Lennon's tenure was a bit of a rollercoaster. If Keane hasn't mellowed he could end up being Lennon¹⁰ and I'd happily go along for the ride. I can imagine Keane getting the job would help with season ticket sales more than most (if not all) other likely candidates.

24-04-2022, 02:09 PM
Keane, Brown and Gray. Like the sound of that!

24-04-2022, 02:10 PM

**** it, I'm on board as well now. Let's do it.

24-04-2022, 02:14 PM
Whoever the manager may be I 100 percent want him to chose his own assistant

Sent from my VOG-L29 using Tapatalk

24-04-2022, 02:15 PM
I think that's the key MH, need someone with stature and reputation not only for the players to look up to but to really challenge the authorities, particularly the referees. Hibs have been on the end of some terrible ref performances and neither Ross or Maloney were overly keen (pardon the pun) to ruffle feathers.

Refs were intimidated by Neil Lennon, and we need someone with that kind of character to get into referees heads too in my opinion.

Yeah, so intimidated they continued to **** us over. Refs were arguably worse when Lennon was here.

Shaw goal, penalty at killie, penalty not given vs rangers, games vs Aberdeen (stevie may on ambrose as bad a tackle as you'll see)

Have a manager who yells a bit doesn't make refs suddenly good. And it certainly doesn't make players motivated.

24-04-2022, 02:16 PM
I’m not bothered about Brown at all. I don’t see what he has done to deserve it over others and be ultimately failed at Aberdeen.

We have Gray and McGregor who were signed on with the view of becoming coaches and now Gray has been care taker twice.

24-04-2022, 02:17 PM
Easter Road has been dull and boring for a while now. Keane would raise the club's profile instantly and bring a bit of buzz around the place again. It would also have a positive impact on ST sales.

It would be a gamble, but so is every new managerial appointment. If this is possible, Hibs should do it.

24-04-2022, 02:18 PM
I’m not bothered about Brown at all. I don’t see what he has done to deserve it over others and be ultimately failed at Aberdeen.

We have Gray and McGregor who were signed on with the view of becoming coaches and now Gray has been care taker twice.

Wholeheartedly agree.

Victor
24-04-2022, 02:27 PM
Dismissed it at first, but the more I think about it, I think it might work. If he was interested then why not?

24-04-2022, 02:33 PM
Yeah, so intimidated they continued to **** us over. Refs were arguably worse when Lennon was here.

Shaw goal, penalty at killie, penalty not given vs rangers, games vs Aberdeen (stevie may on ambrose as bad a tackle as you'll see)

Have a manager who yells a bit doesn't make refs suddenly good. And it certainly doesn't make players motivated.

And did he not get sent off 4 (?) times with us? Maybe when he was at Celtic it worked. I never felt that was the case when he was here.

24-04-2022, 02:36 PM
And did he not get sent off 4 (?) times with us? Maybe when he was at Celtic it worked. I never felt that was the case when he was here.

Think we had something like a 90% win rate when Lennon was in the stand. (Probably an exaggeration but it seemed like we almost always won the league games when he was banned from the dugout).

24-04-2022, 02:40 PM
Don’t understand the Brown knows Hibs line that I’ve read a few times. How many years since he left?
What we need is someone who can get the players playing. Something most of them have not done this season.

24-04-2022, 02:46 PM
I thought we were after a head coach, not a manager. Keane doesn't fit the bill and once he realises its the recruitment team that picks the transfer targets and not the manager he wont be interested.

24-04-2022, 02:52 PM

Agree with all of that. Would take Keane every day of the week ahead of some Largs-mafia type candidate.

24-04-2022, 02:53 PM
I thought we were after a head coach, not a manager. Keane doesn't fit the bill and once he realises its the recruitment team that picks the transfer targets and not the manager he wont be interested.

They recommend players, nothing more. He has final say and could go after players of his own.

Hes a welt anyway. Do not want.

24-04-2022, 02:56 PM
It would be interesting if he was to bring his own backroom team with him, as you would expect of him, but who would he bring, (The Neville's, Scholes, Fletcher, etc, etc.) he is also now close to his ex-arch enemy at Palace so who would, Vieira want to send to Hibs on loan, the potential is endless, along with the increased media and ticket sales, it has to be looked at.
i would be very keen to see Keane at Hibs, in the dug out at tincastle with the tramp fi gorgie opposite, what a mismatch the jambos would be lost.
It is on every media feed on the internet, fantastic publicity that would only get more.

24-04-2022, 02:58 PM
Agree with all of that. Would take Keane every day of the week ahead of some Largs-mafia type candidate.

When did we last appoint someone like that?

24-04-2022, 03:14 PM
When did we last appoint someone like that?

Was JR not a graduate of that fine coaching camp, on the west coast.

24-04-2022, 03:23 PM
He would be like Lennon but starting from a Bottom Six team rather than one full of Scottish Cup winners and with possibly an even higher opinion of himself. Lennon always reminded me of my kids, it is never their fault either and I think Keane is exactly the same type of character. It was great in the era he played football but will not work nowadays as a manager

24-04-2022, 03:25 PM
He would be like Lennon but starting from a Bottom Six team rather than one full of Scottish Cup winners and with possibly an even higher opinion of himself. Lennon always reminded me of my kids, it is never their fault either and I think Keane is exactly the same type of character. It was great in the era he played football but will not work nowadays as a manager

Except less experienced , never managed for years , never managed in our league …or at our level …has almost nothing we would want in a manager

Key West
24-04-2022, 03:26 PM
Roy Keane would have to be backed by someone who knows the Scottish game, Scott Brown would be an obvious candidate. I wouldn't be unhappy if he got the job, he's certainly experienced.

Alvin
24-04-2022, 03:26 PM
As someone said, he'd sell loads of season tickets. I mean we all know it would end with him crashing and burning Lennon style, but it would be a fun ride!

Yorkshire HFC
24-04-2022, 03:30 PM
Who have been the most successful clubs in Scotland over the last 10 years, and how have they done it?

You could say that noone's been very successful, but Aberdeen, St Johnstone, Livingston(?), Hamilton(?), Arbroath(!) have all had more good seasons than bad - and none of them seem to have gone for a big spending maverick manager.

Why can Hibs not find their own Callum Davidson, McInnes or Martindale? Try and build a system with a Hibs figurehead that will last. It's early days at Tynecastle, but I think Hearts have the right idea - with Levein and Neilson you can see what Budge is trying to do.

Or maybe that's too much work for the owner - the easy option is to think short term, take a risk and appoint someone the media will like and that will excite a section of the fans for a little while - someone who will spend all the cash with no return and we'll be back to square one in 6 months time.

"In transition" and "rebuild season" define Hibs - the Board need to find a Hibs way of doing things - that's why they get paid the big bucks. I'm sure they will have been thinking about this and haven't just sacked another manager without having any idea what they're going to do next.......................

24-04-2022, 03:31 PM
From the press 4 days ago

'Roy Keane has admitted he feels like his days in management ‘are over’ after turning down the chance to return to Sunderland in February. Keane was the front runner to replace Lee Johnson at the Black Cats but opted against taking the job after extensive talks with the club'
https://www.chroniclelive.co.uk/sport/football/football-news/roy-keane-makes-management-admission-23729897

24-04-2022, 03:35 PM
Except less experienced , never managed for years , never managed in our league …or at our level …has almost nothing we would want in a manager

ahhh lets just go for Tommy Wright then......

24-04-2022, 03:38 PM
Was JR not a graduate of that fine coaching camp, on the west coast.

Hardly GFA Mafia was he.

24-04-2022, 03:39 PM
Media sideshow appointment that, in the unlikely event he was any good, would immediately swing to ‘so when you taking over at Celtic Park Roy?’

Shouting is no longer a viable management style, if it ever was. We’ve already tried an ex pro from a high level who thought he could change players based on his own example, too.

If we were linked with a manager with his record that wasn’t regularly given a Sky platform / was a good player, it’d be rightly laughed out.

24-04-2022, 03:40 PM
ahhh lets just go for Tommy Wright then......

Aye cause it’s a binary choice between those two right enough. What do these sorts of posts actually bring to the debate, they are just juvenile responses because someone has the temerity to have a different opinion to you.

24-04-2022, 03:42 PM
Aye cause it’s a binary choice between those two right enough. What do these sorts of posts actually bring to the debate, they are just juvenile responses because someone has the temerity to have a different opinion to you.

Hahaha lighten up pal, life's not that serious sometimes:aok:

24-04-2022, 03:43 PM

He's managed at a higher level than Hibs.

24-04-2022, 03:46 PM
It would never work, IMO. Keane would quickly get frustrated at working with limited players and would fall out with everybody. Great PR for the club, but not suitable for me.

24-04-2022, 03:49 PM
It would never work, IMO. Keane would quickly get frustrated at working with limited players and would fall out with everybody. Great PR for the club, but not suitable for me.

I actually think the players would quickly get frustrated with the limited manager. The fans certainly would.

24-04-2022, 03:51 PM
Hardly GFA Mafia was he.

True enough, he seemed an o.k. guy.

JamesHFC
24-04-2022, 03:53 PM
I’ll back any manager.

24-04-2022, 04:04 PM
The interview with Gary Neville does show a lighter and perhaps more reflective side to Keane but it doesn't mean much. That was a chat between him and a guy he knew well and can easily respect as a fellow pro who also had a long career at the highest level. I doubt you would see that side of him after he had watched a few clips of James Scott in action :greengrin

It can't be denied that Keane becoming manager here would probably put Hibs firmly front and centre on the football map, no doubt within weeks there would be a 10 minute segment about us on Football Focus, the Scottish papers would be frothing at the mouth and yes we probably would sell a good few more season tickets on the back of his appointment over any other choice.

Even so appointing him would be just as much of a risk as Maloney was, the difference being that with Maloney it was because he was an unknown quantity but with Keane it would be a case of dismissing what we already know about him in the hope that he would work out. He has managed twice and neither attempt worked out long term, certainly not to the extent of him being snapped up by a bigger club. Could he see past his anger at professional players who can't pass a ball 10 yards accurately and actually coach them to be better rather than berate and humiliate them in the hope that will work, anybody can shout at players, not everybody can make them better? Would he be able to accept that our budget would be considerably less than any club side he has ever worked for either as manager or assistant?

Don't get me wrong, it's not guaranteed he would fail here, maybe he is just what this club needs to boot some of the softness out of it and even if I am pretty well in the no camp I can't say I'm not just a bit curious to see what would happen if he did get the job.

24-04-2022, 04:06 PM

What players has Keane bullied. :confused:

24-04-2022, 04:09 PM
I actually think the players would quickly get frustrated with the limited manager. The fans certainly would.

They certainly did with Maloney.

The fans would only get frustrated with Keane if he wasn't winning enough games - I think most fans would love him.

24-04-2022, 04:10 PM
If the club wants to go down the Roy Keane line they would be better off with Lennon.

24-04-2022, 04:10 PM

Excellent clip by the way. Actually very much as I suspected. I've seen a lot of interviews with Roy Keane, not always football related. He's a genuinely honest kind of guy in real life, the kind of guy I'd love to have a pint with and chat football. A very different animal from the one that played for Man U and Ireland. He was slightly different at Forest before that. I was never a Man U fan, but if I was comparing him to any player in Scotland I would compare him to Scott Brown when he was at Celtic (and up to an extent when he was at Hibs), except Keane was even harder. If he was in your team he would, without a doubt, be the first name on the teamsheet. He's been out of management for a while, but it looks, on the face of it, that he's a more thoughtful, reflective character, again different from when he was at Sunderland and Ipswich. I'd be totally amazed if he was really interested in the Hibs job, but if Brown was to come in as assistant, that could turn out to be a really good management team. But let's face it, it's all just speculation at the moment.

Clarence
24-04-2022, 04:27 PM
Roy Keane’s all about Roy Keane. He walked out on Ireland at the 2002 World Cup because conditions weren’t to his liking. What happens when he does get his way at Hibs? Will he knuckle down and take on the challenge with poise and stoicism or is he going to throw the toys out the pram and go back to his Micah Richard’s bromance at Sky?

mcohibs
24-04-2022, 04:27 PM
From the press 4 days ago

'Roy Keane has admitted he feels like his days in management ‘are over’ after turning down the chance to return to Sunderland in February. Keane was the front runner to replace Lee Johnson at the Black Cats but opted against taking the job after extensive talks with the club'
https://www.chroniclelive.co.uk/sport/football/football-news/roy-keane-makes-management-admission-23729897

Bit of an ambiguous headline. He's saying he doesn't see a club giving him a chance at getting back into management rather than stating that he doesn't want to.

24-04-2022, 04:29 PM
Thread has doubled in size since I last looked, has anyone said they won’t renew ST yet? This has to be our new measure of who is acceptable?

24-04-2022, 04:31 PM
This has to happen, think of the banter

24-04-2022, 04:32 PM
Thread has doubled in size since I last looked, has anyone said they won’t renew ST yet? This has to be our new measure of who is acceptable?If anything we could get record sales as I'm going to buy one just so I can send it back if Keane gets the job.

24-04-2022, 04:33 PM
Roy Keane’s all about Roy Keane. He walked out on Ireland at the 2002 World Cup because conditions weren’t to his liking. What happens when he does get his way at Hibs? Will he knuckle down and take on the challenge with poise and stoicism or is he going to throw the toys out the pram and go back to his Micah Richard’s bromance at Sky?

not true.

24-04-2022, 04:35 PM
Only if he brought in Lennon as his assistant, we'd need someone like him to calm Roy down now and again, good cop bad cop type of thing.

hibbydog
24-04-2022, 04:35 PM

That is also my concern.

Box office appointment. Would be great to have a strict motivator in charge and I’ve long wanted Hibs to be a nasty team.

But I fear that he doesn’t really need it and the first sign of trouble and he’d be off

LustForLeith
24-04-2022, 04:38 PM
I can’t see him doing it. He’s got a great gig at Sky and he won’t want to move from Altringham where he stays

But I’d take him in a minute

24-04-2022, 04:38 PM
That is also my concern.

Box office appointment. Would be great to have a strict motivator in charge and I’ve long wanted Hibs to be a nasty team.

But I fear that he doesn’t really need it and the first sign of trouble and he’d be off

No problem with your opinion but the 2002 World Cup thing isn’t true.

They went to a World Cup and were stationed on an island with no football pitches or football equipment. He was absolutely right tk demand higher standards than that.

He clarifies that in the interview I posted earlier.

24-04-2022, 04:42 PM
No problem with your opinion but the 2002 World Cup thing isn’t true.

They went to a World Cup and were stationed on an island with no football pitches or football equipment. He was absolutely right tk demand higher standards than that.

He clarifies that in the interview I posted earlier.

correct. Nor did he walk out. Mick McCarthy unwisely picked a fight with him publicly in front of the whole team and got his arse handed to him. Consequently Keane was sent home.

24-04-2022, 04:42 PM
Just wondering, if Keane wants to get back into management, as he sees his old mate/adversary Patrick Vieira enjoying his time at Palace. What with his natural competitive nature he may be thinking, I want some of that and Hibs would be a great team to do this with.

Mrimbetween
24-04-2022, 04:47 PM
His Ego alone puts me off

Certainly get the best out of players but if it doesnt go his way like NL out comes the baggage

No rush plenty top drawer managers out there who would love the Hibs gig

24-04-2022, 04:51 PM
His Ego alone puts me off

Certainly get the best out of players but if it doesnt go his way like NL out comes the baggage

No rush plenty top drawer managers out there who would love the Hibs gig

Does he have a big ego?

I’ve never met the man so I’ve no idea.

FRes Hibbie
24-04-2022, 04:54 PM
Certainly get the best out of players

It’s far from certain.

Clarence
24-04-2022, 05:05 PM
not true.

He was sent home after complaining about conditions, verbally abusing the manager and telling him to stick his World Cup up his arse.

24-04-2022, 05:09 PM
I’ve not read a single post on this thread so am only reacting to its title.

No. No. No.

24-04-2022, 05:13 PM
Roy Keane ………..I’d rather have Maloney back

mcohibs
24-04-2022, 05:15 PM

It was Mcarthy who sent Keane home from Saipan. Keane's grievances about the facilities etc. that Ireland were using were well founded. Regardless, I'm not sure an incident 20 years ago as a player has much relevance when considering someone for a management role.

24-04-2022, 05:17 PM

Come aboard there’s plenty of room!

24-04-2022, 05:18 PM
He was sent home after complaining about conditions, verbally abusing the manager and telling him to stick his World Cup up his arse.

that’s better.

24-04-2022, 05:34 PM
After match interviews wouldn't be boring for sure! I rather like Roy and find myself agreeing with him via YouTube.

24-04-2022, 05:53 PM
What players has Keane bullied. :confused:

Shouting and screaming at people is bullying.

Edit: You have a point though. I actually don't know if that's how he deals with players, but it's certainly the impression he gives or has given.

GreenGray
24-04-2022, 05:59 PM
I can’t see him doing it. He’s got a great gig at Sky and he won’t want to move from Altringham where he stays

But I’d take him in a minute

He seems really keen to get into management though. He’s probably made more than enough money, if he’s as keen to get into management as much as he says he is then Hibs is the perfect place imo.

cameronw-hfc
24-04-2022, 06:01 PM
Keep seeing the "winner" or "will get the best out of the players" comments, can absolutely anyone reference one thing he's won as a coach or even one occasion he has done a semi-respectable job? As far as im aware both Ipswich and Sunderland fans think he's total and utter guff.

Just because someones "hard" and was a good player, doesn't mean they'll make a good coach. Keane isn't a good manager, never has been and 10 years out of the game won't make him better. Not sure what folk are thinking of here.

24-04-2022, 06:08 PM
He’s certainly worth a punt, he’s got experience and is desperate to get back to managing

24-04-2022, 06:09 PM
Keep seeing the "winner" or "will get the best out of the players" comments, can absolutely anyone reference one thing he's won as a coach or even one occasion he has done a semi-respectable job? As far as im aware both Ipswich and Sunderland fans think he's total and utter guff.

Just because someones "hard" and was a good player, doesn't mean they'll make a good coach. Keane isn't a good manager, never has been and 10 years out of the game won't make him better. Not sure what folk are thinking of here.

I don’t want him ..think he’s is well out of modern experience to be the right appointment - but his Sunderland record was decent. They were second bottom when he got the job and he got them promoted to the premier..then kept them in it …his Ipswich story was the reverse . Picked them up as promotion favourites , and left them 21st in the league ..

cameronw-hfc
24-04-2022, 06:10 PM
He’s certainly worth a punt, he’s got experience and is desperate to get back to managing

Whys he worth a punt though? That's what I don't get. He's a terrible manager, always has been and 10 years out of management isn't going to improve him. He's literally never done a good job as a manager, ever, so why is he worth a punt?

cameronw-hfc
24-04-2022, 06:10 PM
I don’t want him ..think he’s is well out of modern experience to be the right appointment - but his Sunderland record was decent. They were second bottom when he got the job and he got them promoted to the premier..then kept them in it …his Ipswich story was the reverse . Picked them up as promotion favourites , and left them 21st in the league ..

Couple of my Sunderland supporting pals literally replied with "lol, good luck" when I texted them the news..

24-04-2022, 06:11 PM

He yelled a bit as a player and yells a bit as a pundit. Thats all. That apparently means you are a motivator.

24-04-2022, 06:11 PM
Couple of my Sunderland supporting pals literally replied with "lol, good luck" when I texted them the news..

By any analysis he did a very good job for two seasons at Sunderland

cameronw-hfc
24-04-2022, 06:14 PM
By any analysis he did a very good job for two seasons at Sunderland

Not my pals that live there and go weekly to games. But I'll take your word for it👍

cameronw-hfc
24-04-2022, 06:15 PM
He yelled a bit as a player and yells a bit as a pundit. Thats all. That apparently means you are a motivator.

That's how I see it. Folk not actually thinking this one through before giving their opinion.

24-04-2022, 06:19 PM
Not my pals that live there and go weekly to games. But I'll take your word for it[emoji106]

Have a look at his record and form your own view …as I say I don’t want him ..been out of management too long for me , and never worked as a manager in our league or our level …but lots of Sunderland fans were excited at the prospect of him coming back earlier this year ..so there are a range of opinions from their fan base on him ..he got them promoted in his first season - a remarkable achievement after picking them up in second bottom place . Keeping them in the top division can only be a dream
For Sunderland now ..again , decent achievement …

andrew70
24-04-2022, 06:24 PM
That's how I see it. Folk not actually thinking this one through before giving their opinion.

Aye there’s plenty like that I mean why wouldn’t you want a tactically astute, clever manager with a winning mentality and strong values that epitomises such a legend of the game.

Oh I forgot though he’s previously shouted too loud for some. Tell me one manager that we can realistically attract and I’ll tell you a negative.

It’s very easy to slate a forthright guy like Keane without thinking about what he can bring. He’s driven to succeed as a manager having been out the game for a while and to be honest we aren’t going to attract any bigger.

Whether or not he’d be a success is open to many variables but for me the values and the discipline he’d bring is enough for me to want him in.

Shouting isn’t always a negative, especially when you speak sense more often than not.

Silky
24-04-2022, 06:24 PM

We just had Maloney who was "modern". Perhaps modern doesn't always cut it.

24-04-2022, 06:28 PM

He also had no experience - I’d say that was a bigger factor ..the game has changed , how you motivate players have changed, tactics have changed - those things have happened ..going back to old coaching approaches is not the solution here .

Daily Hibs
24-04-2022, 06:29 PM
I'd take him in a heartbeat.

He'd get rid of all the deadwood!

cameronw-hfc
24-04-2022, 06:29 PM
Have a look at his record and form your own view …as I say I don’t want him ..been out of management too long for me , and never worked as a manager in our league or our level …but lots of Sunderland fans were excited at the prospect of him coming back earlier this year ..so there are a range of opinions from their fan base on him ..he got them promoted in his first season - a remarkable achievement after picking them up in second bottom place . Keeping them in the top division can only be a dream
For Sunderland now ..again , decent achievement …

That's why I said I'll take your word for it, I don't support or even have any interest in Sunderland, but from what I've been told, he wasn't worth much there. I wouldn't know, so I'll take your word for it.

cameronw-hfc
24-04-2022, 06:31 PM

Just because we got one rubbish " modern" manager doesn't mean modern doesn't cut it. Maloney had his own weird football views, there's plenty modern coaches that actually know what they're doing

24-04-2022, 06:31 PM
Being out of a job for a while doesn't really bother me. He's paid to study players and games on a weekly basis. I've watched a few interviews with him and he lives and breathes the game. The time away from the dugout has probably benefited him. He seems hungry to get back into management and leave a lucrative cushy number as a pundit. Sometimes you need the right person and the right club for something to click. I think this could be a really good fit.

Daily Hibs
24-04-2022, 06:32 PM
Roy Keane ………..I’d rather have Maloney back
This is why I think an element of our support is happy to accept mediocrity.

24-04-2022, 06:33 PM
My wife (she’s Irish) has just informed me if we get Keane she will be getting a season ticket along with our youngest as well as the rest of us.

Hibs might be into something with him.

mcohibs
24-04-2022, 06:36 PM
Not my pals that live there and go weekly to games. But I'll take your word for it👍

I'd suggest your pals might need to reassess their expectations. Sunderland have had 21 managers since Roy Keane was in charge. Only two of them have bettered his 42% win rate.

He's also the last manager to win silverware with the club when they won the championship. They were great in that season. Last manager to get them promoted. If I was a Sunderland fan at the moment in league one I'd be looking back on those days fondly 😂

24-04-2022, 06:38 PM

I’m wary of putting to much stock into promotions when a team is returning to a league they were recently demoted from. I’d also be wary that the only time he’s had any tangible success has been when he’s been given the means to outspend his competitors.

There’s been little discussion on this thread about his tactical ability or his skill in coaching players.

Is he tactically astute?
Does he have a preferred style of play?
Does he have a track record of improving players he works with?

The Premier League is obviously a very difficult league but there is a lot of concerning results during his time at Sunderland. 7-1 defeats to Everton, home defeats to the likes of Bolton and Wigan where 4 goals were conceded.

24-04-2022, 06:43 PM

He'd get rid of all the deadwood!

Why would he be more likely to do this than anyone else?

Tommy75
24-04-2022, 06:51 PM
I'd take him. The club (and Scottish football in general) is lacking any real characters so would be good entertainment.

I do think he would come in with incredibly high standards though which I think would eventually lead to his downfall. If nothing else, we could use someone like Keane to lead us in to derbys.

24-04-2022, 06:53 PM
Yes I remember when he last came to Scotland to revitalise Celtic. Promptly got knocked out of the cup by Clyde.

FRes Hibbie
24-04-2022, 06:58 PM
This is why I think an element of our support is happy to accept mediocrity.

His managerial/coaching record is mediocre. Does that make you one of them?

24-04-2022, 06:59 PM
I'd take him. The club (and Scottish football in general) is lacking any real characters so would be good entertainment.

I do think he would come in with incredibly high standards though which I think would eventually lead to his downfall. If nothing else, we could use someone like Keane to lead us in to derbys.

With the owner we have now, I think we need a manager who is going to put demands on people. Whether he’s the right person to balance that of against doing his own job is a different question, but he’s the type of character we need IMO. I think this appointment is more about getting that type of person in rather than some top level coach. It’s the Scottish Premiership, it’s not rocket science. We need to get someone in that can help us to start signing some decent players then motivate them to play to their potential.

mcohibs
24-04-2022, 07:00 PM
I'd take him in the midfield at the moment to be honest 😂

Seriously though, I do think an appointment like that would galvanise the club and supporters at a time where it is much needed. Something very stale about Hibs at the moment. Stubbs and Lennon era there was a certain feel about the club that's been missing since, can't quite put my finger on it.

With any appointment there's a certain level of unknown. Would he be a guaranteed success? Of course not but no one is. Would he fancy another roll of the dice in management with us? Very possibly. I think it's the type of appointment that Ron would be all about.

Mrimbetween
24-04-2022, 07:00 PM
Can we no mergre these threads ??

MikeyS
24-04-2022, 07:03 PM

Edit: You have a point though. I actually don't know if that's how he deals with players, but it's certainly the impression he gives or has given.

I saw Klopp bullying a few of his players earlier, I do hope they are OK.

Mrimbetween
24-04-2022, 07:13 PM
I saw Klopp bullying a few of his players earlier, I do hope they are OK.

Manager demanding the best out of the best (some of) highly paid players in the world, god forbid as they chase that Title just not on eh :wink:

GreenGray
24-04-2022, 07:24 PM
I’m wary of putting to much stock into promotions when a team is returning to a league they were recently demoted from. I’d also be wary that the only time he’s had any tangible success has been when he’s been given the means to outspend his competitors.

There’s been little discussion on this thread about his tactical ability or his skill in coaching players.

Is he tactically astute?
Does he have a preferred style of play?
Does he have a track record of improving players he works with?

The Premier League is obviously a very difficult league but there is a lot of concerning results during his time at Sunderland. 7-1 defeats to Everton, home defeats to the likes of Bolton and Wigan where 4 goals were conceded.

Listening to players who have played for him previously it’s sound like he would need a tactically aware assistant alongside him. I don’t think this should put us off him though, if we can find the right number two it might just work.

24-04-2022, 07:24 PM
Aye there’s plenty like that I mean why wouldn’t you want a tactically astute, clever manager with a winning mentality and strong values that epitomises such a legend of the game.

Oh I forgot though he’s previously shouted too loud for some. Tell me one manager that we can realistically attract and I’ll tell you a negative.

It’s very easy to slate a forthright guy like Keane without thinking about what he can bring. He’s driven to succeed as a manager having been out the game for a while and to be honest we aren’t going to attract any bigger.

Whether or not he’d be a success is open to many variables but for me the values and the discipline he’d bring is enough for me to want him in.

Shouting isn’t always a negative, especially when you speak sense more often than not.

tactically astute? He’s managed 2 clubs in total, one started well after he flung loads of money about but nose dived, the other was a burning wreck. And they were both a decade ago, when he’s not managed at all in between. We have absolutely no idea if he’s tactically astute or not.

FRes Hibbie
24-04-2022, 07:30 PM
tactically astute? He’s managed 2 clubs in total, one started well after he flung loads of money about but nose dived, the other was a burning wreck. And they were both a decade ago, when he’s not managed at all in between. We have absolutely no idea if he’s tactically astute or not.

Don’t forget the horrific spell as ROI assistant manager.

ErinGoBraghHFC
24-04-2022, 07:48 PM
More than happy with Keano if it was to happen, wouldn’t accept second best. Especially against hertz and der hun

24-04-2022, 07:50 PM

He'd get rid of all the deadwood! can you explain how he would get rid o guys on 3 or 4 year deals , cause that’s all I seem to hear they will bin this guy and a few others .

24-04-2022, 07:59 PM
More than happy with Keano if it was to happen, wouldn’t accept second best. Especially against hertz and der hun

Whether he would accept it or not is irrelevant if he doesn’t have the tactical nous necessary to set up a team to get a result against them.

ErinGoBraghHFC
24-04-2022, 08:03 PM
Whether he would accept it or not is irrelevant if he doesn’t have the tactical nous necessary to set up a team to get a result against them.

That’s correct, I reckon he does though. Desire fight and intensity is 90% the battle in games like that

24-04-2022, 08:25 PM

All managers scream and shout at players, even the best managers.

24-04-2022, 08:29 PM
Roy Keane derby record as manager:

Sunderland (v Newcastle): W1 D1 L1
Ipswich (v Norwich): W0 D0 L1

ErinGoBraghHFC
24-04-2022, 08:32 PM
Roy Keane derby record as manager:

Sunderland (v Newcastle): W1 D1 L1
Ipswich (v Norwich): W0 D0 L1

Not bad considering the gulf in quality between some of the top performers at Sunlun and Newcastle at that time. Ross Wallace vs Obafemi Martins, non contest. Ipswich is was and will be a basket case for a long time now

24-04-2022, 08:34 PM
That’s correct, I reckon he does though. Desire fight and intensity is 90% the battle in games like that

He has managed 4 local derbies, 3 v Newcastle and 1 v Norwich. He won 1, drew 1 and lost 2. His Ipswich team got pumped 4-1 by Norwich.

His cup record is also atrocious.

24-04-2022, 08:40 PM
The last time he was a manager…Yogi was leading us - that’s how long ago it was…

24-04-2022, 08:42 PM
Don’t forget the horrific spell as ROI assistant manager.

ROI have got worse since him and O'Neill left.

24-04-2022, 08:57 PM
He has managed 4 local derbies, 3 v Newcastle and 1 v Norwich. He won 1, drew 1 and lost 2. His Ipswich team got pumped 4-1 by Norwich.

His cup record is also atrocious.

He was also the first Sunderland Manager to win a home derby V Newcastle for 28 years, a result that played as pivotal part in Newcastle's relegation.

24-04-2022, 09:21 PM
He was also the first Sunderland Manager to win a home derby V Newcastle for 28 years, a result that played as pivotal part in Newcastle's relegation.

Yup, his solitary derby victory came against statically the worst Newcastle team in the Premier League era.

Silky
24-04-2022, 09:24 PM
Just because we got one rubbish " modern" manager doesn't mean modern doesn't cut it. Maloney had his own weird football views, there's plenty modern coaches that actually know what they're doing

That's very true. And can also be applied the other way round to the older, less modern coaches. Not all are dinosaurs or relics of the past.

24-04-2022, 09:25 PM
Still not read any of this thread, but I am still so solidly no no no that it hurts.

And if it was to come to pass I'd be gutted at having renewed my ST.

24-04-2022, 09:30 PM
Would love us to get Roy Keane just to annoy Glory Lurker.

24-04-2022, 09:30 PM
Was he on Sky today?

24-04-2022, 09:32 PM
It appears it doesn’t matter who we appoint there’s people handing back their ST’s. Is that the in thing to do now when you don’t agree with a decision/appointment?

24-04-2022, 09:38 PM
Yup, his solitary derby victory came against statically the worst Newcastle team in the Premier League era.

You really are a mood hoover.:hilarious

GreenGray
24-04-2022, 09:39 PM
Still not read any of this thread, but I am still so solidly no no no that it hurts.

And if it was to come to pass I'd be gutted at having renewed my ST.

You’d be gutted you renewed? Can I ask why? Seems incredibly dramatic

24-04-2022, 09:40 PM
Not sure there is much in this but 👀

Roy Keane 'on verge' of Hibs talks with Easter Road chiefs 'to convince' Manchester United legend to replace Maloney

https://www.footballscotland.co.uk/spfl/scottish-premiership/roy-keane-on-verge-hibs-23772593