View Full Version : Roy Keane Apparently Interested
26-04-2022, 03:14 PM
They've been talking about it on TalkSport.
Jim White this morning and Gordon Smart this afternoon.
They were talking up Hibs and Edinburgh in general.
:agree: just listened to the Gordon Smart show - we got talked about for quite a bit, far longer than Hibs ever would normally. Shame talksport have Stewart Weir as their Scottish expert though as he is a slavering hun bellend.
26-04-2022, 03:16 PM
:agree: just listened to the Gordon Smart show - we got talked about for quite a bit, far longer than Hibs ever would normally. Shame talksport have Stewart Weir as their Scottish expert though as he is a slavering hun bellend.
What was the overall consensus?
26-04-2022, 03:24 PM
What was the overall consensus?
Weir started by saying Keane was having a mid life crisis why would he be interested in Hibs (there's the slavering Hun patter I alluded to) .
Smart's co star ( comedian Charlie Baker) said that Hibs are a big club though and Edinburgh is a great place to live/work.- to be fair to Weir he agreed and said Hibs have a fantastic history that some other clubs could only dream of ( maybe he is an expert?!l)
Smart asked him about how Porto might get on under Keane - he said that he thought Keane would be good for him.
Weir also said that whilst there is a pereception of Keane as a madman the truth is quite different from that.
They were talking as if it could happen, rather than ruling it out as pie in the sky.
Can listen again here, last 10 minutes of the 13:30-14:00 segment on the drop down.
https://talksport.com/radio/listen-again/1650974400/1650976200/
chookyembra
26-04-2022, 03:30 PM
But it is Roy Keane though.
Obviously it’s Roy Keane ffs.
My point is if it was anyone else with that track record in management we would all be going mental.
Do you think a manager who is a proven failure and who lasted 5 months in his latest 2 club roles, last managed 11 years ago, but has a high media profile is what we really need right now?
AltheHibby
26-04-2022, 03:34 PM
RK has said that he'd build a team around Lewis Stevenson.
Some posters are having a stroke....
And others are having a stroke.:greengrin
Don't make me explain!
Chorley Hibee
26-04-2022, 03:36 PM
My point is if it was anyone else with that track record in management we would all be going mental.
Do you think a manager who is a proven failure and who lasted 5 months in his latest 2 club roles, last managed 11 years ago, but has a high media profile is what we really need right now?
There's managers out there who have failed time and time again, still being offered jobs - Keane himself touched upon this in his interview with Neville and how it's all about who you know etc.
Keane had a successful/average stint (depending on your view) at Sunderland, and a disappointing time at Ipswich. Should that really have seen him consigned to the managerial scrapheap, without a chance to manage again?
Let's look at what Sunderland and Ipswich have achieved since he left, I'd venture to say they've actually got worse!
TheSouthMoroccan
26-04-2022, 03:40 PM
Absolutely the last thing we need right now. It would be utter madness. If Ron goes with Roy, I'm out, that will be two less season tickets from me.
badabing67
26-04-2022, 03:40 PM
RK has said that he'd build a team around Lewis Stevenson.
Some posters are having a stroke....
Well if we built one around Kyle Magennis there might be a piece missing out the team. So good early observation i'd say
26-04-2022, 03:42 PM
Well if we built one around Kyle Magennis there might be a piece missing out the team. So good early observation i'd say
He's building the treatment room around KM.
26-04-2022, 03:42 PM
Absolutely the last thing we need right now. It would be utter madness. If Ron goes with Roy, I'm out, that will be two less season tickets from me.
If Hibs get Keane there would be far more people jumping on the bandwagon than deciding now was the time to get off.
26-04-2022, 03:43 PM
There's managers out there who have failed time and time again, still being offered jobs - Keane himself touched upon this in his interview with Neville and how it's all about who you know etc.
Keane had a successful/average stint (depending on your view) at Sunderland, and a disappointing time at Ipswich. Should that really have seen him consigned to the managerial scrapheap, without a chance to manage again?
Let's look at what Sunderland and Ipswich have achieved since he left, I'd venture to say they've actually got worse!
:agree: Failure is a bruise, not a tattoo.:greengrin
26-04-2022, 03:44 PM
He certainly didn’t fail at Sunderland. Picked them up bottom of the Championship, got them promoted to and kept them in the Premier League. I get that it was a long time ago, but he wasn’t a failure. Last time we hired an ex Sunderland manager he’d failed to get them out of League One, and nobody was talking about him being a proven failure.
badabing67
26-04-2022, 03:45 PM
He's building the treatment room around KM.
Why what was wrong with the one we built around Thomas Agepong and Sean Mackie ???
26-04-2022, 03:45 PM
I think there would be far more people opting in than out if he’s appointed.
26-04-2022, 03:46 PM
Just how low is this fruit hanging??
Has to be pretty low...Ron's only about 4ft15in
Why what was wrong with the one we built around Thomas Agepong and Sean Mackie ???
Yesterday's men.
We're moving forward as a club. We need a better standard of crocks.
There's been a lot of emphasis put on the "he's done nothing for years" part too.
What he's done since he last managed a club - been assistant 3 times, worked as a pundit watching and analysing games, hopefully reflected on what has gone well and badly before, and worked up an appetite to get back into the game. And that's only the stuff we know about (he may have worked on aspects of coaching etc).
He wouldn't be being linked with us if his cv was perfect. I'm content with some of his imperfections and we have to accept that it might go tits up whoever we appoint.
badabing67
26-04-2022, 03:49 PM
I think there would be far more people opting in than out if he’s appointed.
I was wondering wheather to renew or not with the cost of living crisis coming etc. But if we appoint him i am defo in for a renewal
26-04-2022, 03:49 PM
At least if we fail it won’t be boring!
I’d far rather we were ambitious, if we do appoint Keane then the quality of the team around him is huge. Allow him to operate as the figurehead and others do the coaching work in the background. Similar to Gerrard with McAllister and Beale.
26-04-2022, 03:54 PM
Anyone down in London able to follow Ben and Ian around and see who they're meeting? 👀
Who said they are in London?🇲🇫
26-04-2022, 03:58 PM
Who said they are in London?🇲🇫
Ben was at Easter Rd yesterday
26-04-2022, 03:58 PM
Roy Keane odds are now 1/1
It's interesting seeing Hibs fans turn their nose up at someone like Roy Keane and equally be outraged at Charlie Nicholas for actually being right and talking like a fan.
Hope Keane gets it and has a massive clear out.
I'm tired of meandering along aimlessly with the same old nice guys leading us not achieving very much.
You are deluded if you seriously think we will have a massive clear out
OldEast
26-04-2022, 04:01 PM
Ah well, 2 extra seats for the plenty extra fans he would attract.
26-04-2022, 04:01 PM
And others are having a stroke.:greengrin
Don't make me explain!
oooh! Matron! he says in his Kenneth Williams voice !!
I was a bit wary at 1st as I thought is was silly season gossip but now that I hear more and that Roy himself may be up for it, bring it on. He is exactly what we need right now, after listening to him talk to Gary Neville, I can see a thoughtful wise man there who acknowledges his mistakes and feels he's left management for too long, unfinished business so to speak. Fairly successful at Sunderland and not so much at Ipswich, coached Ireland not that long ago and still has his finger on the pulse football wise. I can't see wages being a problem and if he does well here it may be a stepping stone back to bigger clubs down south, add in Edinburgh's lifestyle. C'mon Ron get it done.
j'adorehibs
26-04-2022, 04:12 PM
Really? How many years have you had a season ticket, have you always agreed with the new managers installed? did you give up your season tickets then if not?
How a manager suddenly makes you decide im not going back i'll never know and ive sat through some god awful managers !
26-04-2022, 04:20 PM
Roy Keane would be box office for us, like Gerrard going to Rangers. That said, I wouldn't be confident of things working out. Keane speaks his mind and doesn't worry about upsetting people. He was a brilliant player, but his man-management skills are a worry. Anyway, it's all speculation.
26-04-2022, 04:30 PM
Really? How many years have you had a season ticket, have you always agreed with the new managers installed? did you give up your season tickets then if not?
How a manager suddenly makes you decide im not going back i'll never know and ive sat through some god awful managers !
It is getting ridiculous now, whoever we appoint will have someone say they wont be buying a season ticket, it so funny watching folk trying to outdo each other in their reasoning. 😂😂😂
26-04-2022, 04:34 PM
That’s the spirit, deary me. Like most managerial appointments there are risks and the potential that things may not work out but I can pretty much guarantee you that if Roy Keane is in the dug out for the start of the season his appointment will have shifted more season tickets than we lose……..including your 2!
OldEast
26-04-2022, 04:35 PM
It is getting ridiculous now, whoever we appoint will have someone say they wont be buying a season ticket, it so funny watching folk trying to outdo each other in their reasoning. 😂😂😂
Attention seeking pearl clutchers.
26-04-2022, 04:38 PM
At least if we fail it won’t be boring!
I’d far rather we were ambitious, if we do appoint Keane then the quality of the team around him is huge. Allow him to operate as the figurehead and others do the coaching work in the background. Similar to Gerrard with McAllister and Beale.
Exactly right. Nothing to lose really.
This could be just the shot in the arm our cub needs to kick on.
If he turns out to be rank, we will just get get rid and go for a nice wee safe option next time around!
Roy Keane would be box office for us, like Gerrard going to Rangers. That said, I wouldn't be confident of things working out. Keane speaks his mind and doesn't worry about upsetting people. He was a brilliant player, but his man-management skills are a worry. Anyway, it's all speculation.
Where is it documented that his man management skills are a worry? did well at Sunderland but not so much at Ipswich, I never heard anything about behind the scenes problems. I think people remember his playing style and assume he's always like that.
Chorley Hibee
26-04-2022, 04:45 PM
What I found particularly interesting about his interview with Neville was his focus upon the basics.
Unlike many current managers, he isn't welded to a footballing ideology - one which inevitably becomes a noose around your neck (see Maloney).
He understands the primary importance of winning, as well as applying yourself correctly and to the best of your ability.
That is the foundation for success.
Personally, i think this is the kind of outlook the club, and the support to an extent (myself included) need right now.
Alongside the right coaching staff and the correct structure within the club, I can see this succeeding.
Inevitably it's only going to be short term, win or lose, but it may be the return to basics, and the foundation to build upon, the we need right now.
AltheHibby
26-04-2022, 04:48 PM
oooh! Matron! he says in his Kenneth Williams voice !!
I have been in hospital for the last week. That is the first thing I have read to make me laugh out loud in that time.
Thank you.
26-04-2022, 04:48 PM
What I found particularly interesting about his interview with Neville was his focus upon the basics.
Unlike many current managers, he isn't welded to an footballing ideology - one which inevitably becomes a noose around your neck (see Maloney).
He understands the primary importance of winning, as well as applying yourself correctly and to the best of your ability.
That is the foundation for success.
Personally, i think this is the kind of outlook the club, and the support to an extent (myself included) need right now.
Alongside the right coaching staff and the correct structure within the club, I can see this succeeding.
Inevitably it's only going to be short term, win or lose, but it may be the return to basics, and the foundation to build upon, the we need right now.
Totally agree. Right man. Right time.
GreenPJ
26-04-2022, 04:50 PM
Having watched the interview I think he would certainly be an interesting appointment - I do think that it would be imperative to determine who his coaching team would be. He admitted that he sees himself more as a manager than a coach and so the assistant and coaching team would be key.
Chorley Hibee
26-04-2022, 04:50 PM
Where is it documented that his man management skills are a worry? did well at Sunderland but not so much at Ipswich, I never heard anything about behind the scenes problems. I think people remember his playing style and assume he's always like that.
He strikes me as a very quiet, humble, personal man who enjoys nothing more than his family time and football.
He's out of sync with the current age, he's not interested in sycophants, social media, new age coaching methods etc, and I admire him greatly for it.
I would go as far as to say his behind the scenes persona probably couldn't be any further from how he is portrayed.
Perception - as he frequently said.
cameronw-hfc
26-04-2022, 04:58 PM
Has anyone actually read the many, many Ipswich players opinions of him? He told a one boy he'd be back in London doing drive by shootings if he kept up his performances, admitted himself in his book that he spoke to some Ipswich players like they were nothing and a few have spoken out about how he was basically a bully.
He then excuses it by saying he hates team's that play in blue and Ipswich play in blue, so I guess it all depends on if he's grown up a little or if he's still going to have a chip on his shoulder.
But the past comments from former players look honestly worrying.
26-04-2022, 04:59 PM
I have been in hospital for the last week. That is the first thing I have read to make me laugh out loud in that time.
Thank you.
Awe Get well very soon
All the best!
Look out for Hattie !! Nurse ,bedpan !!
Chorley Hibee
26-04-2022, 04:59 PM
Has anyone actually read the many, many Ipswich players opinions of him? He told a one boy he'd be back in London doing drive by shootings if he kept up his performances, admitted himself in his book that he spoke to some Ipswich players like they were nothing and a few have spoken out about how he was basically a bully.
He then excuses it by saying he hates team's that play in blue and Ipswich play in blue, so I guess it all depends on if he's grown up a little or if he's still going to have a chip on his shoulder.
Hates teams that play in blue you say?
Get this deal done Ron!
26-04-2022, 05:03 PM
Any chance of a link to some of that?
I quite liked this one.
https://www.eadt.co.uk/sport/ipswich-town/roy-keane-on-his-ipswich-players-chasing-women-1987162
My preference would be Sean Dyche. EPL experience etc.
Whilst there is little or no chance with potentially other teams in England looking, if I was RG or BK I’d be giving him a call!
26-04-2022, 05:04 PM
If he turns out to be rank, we will just get get rid and go for a nice wee safe option next time around!
If only. You make it seem to simple. There is a lot to lose by having another dreadful season. Our SPL status for example.
Post bookmarked. Can I have your seats (if they are any good)?
cameronw-hfc
26-04-2022, 05:19 PM
Any chance of a link to some of that?
I quite liked this one.
https://www.eadt.co.uk/sport/ipswich-town/roy-keane-on-his-ipswich-players-chasing-women-1987162
Here's the drive by one- https://punditarena.com/football/thepateam/roy-keane-ipswich-town-brian-murphy-championship/
Here's Delaney talking about the constant barrage of abuse he received
https://www.mirror.co.uk/sport/football/news/roy-keanes-management-style-ipswich-22013942
supersauzee
26-04-2022, 05:34 PM
Guys a serial winner, will suffer no fools and instill a mentality in the players that are severely lacking since lennon left. Would love keano at hibs
big gogs
26-04-2022, 05:59 PM
Guys a serial winner, will suffer no fools and instill a mentality in the players that are severely lacking since lennon left. Would love keano at hibs
I once read that Roy Keane has a pathological hatred of losing,and it was he that threw the boot at David beckham,and not Alex Ferguson.
Kavinho
26-04-2022, 06:01 PM
Maybe as a player, don't think he can back that up as a manager
26-04-2022, 06:12 PM
Unless he has us doing well and you come running back tail between the legs?
Discussing on Superscoreboard sometime between now and 8pm. Will be looking for Hibs fans to call in, if anyone fancies it. 😀
https://planetradio.co.uk/clyde/shows/clyde-1-superscoreboard/
GreenGray
26-04-2022, 06:15 PM
Here's the drive by one- https://punditarena.com/football/thepateam/roy-keane-ipswich-town-brian-murphy-championship/
https://www.mirror.co.uk/sport/football/news/roy-keanes-management-style-ipswich-22013942
Not condoning that behaviour but I could find you Interviews of ex players who talk about how much they loved him. I could also find interviews of players who used to play for Pep, Klopp etc, the best managers in the world, and who have bad words to say about them.
26-04-2022, 06:16 PM
I think both he and Ron will be of similar mindset.
26-04-2022, 06:16 PM
Seen another poster mention this but do we really think Roy Keane has less about him than Tam Courts? Robbie Neilson who didn’t have a great spell with MK Dons down south?
Don’t get me wrong it’s a risk because he’s been out the game so long but really any manager we’re able to bring in will always be a risk because we’re hibs and we can only attract a certain pedigree of managers.
The last time we appointed box office, Lennon, it didn’t go too badly for a period of time. I’m more than willing to give Keane a chance if it ends up being him. If not it’ll be someone else and they’ll get my support as well.
To give it the “I’ll be handing back my ST” is over the top/over dramatic pish and that’s coming from someone who’s often over dramatic on here
badabing67
26-04-2022, 06:17 PM
If there is anything in that. That would be awesome
https://www.edinburghnews.scotsman.com/sport/football/hibs/hibs-next-manager-keane-double-act-predicted-as-bookies-price-up-assistant-boss-3669781
26-04-2022, 06:19 PM
Seen another poster mention this but do we really think Roy Keane has less about him than Tam Courts? Robbie Neilson who didn’t have a great spell with MK Dons down south?
Don’t get me wrong it’s a risk because he’s been out the game so long but really any manager we’re able to bring in will always be a risk because we’re hibs and we can only attract a certain pedigree of managers.
The last time we appointed box office, Lennon, it didn’t go too badly for a period of time. I’m more than willing to give Keane a chance if it ends up being him. If not it’ll be someone else and they’ll get my support as well.
To give it the “I’ll be handing back my ST” is over the top/over dramatic pish and that’s coming from someone who’s often over dramatic on here
Very good point regarding Neilson. Third in the league and in a cup final but an utter failure at MK Dons. He's at a club that suits him. I think Roy would be the same at Hibs.
26-04-2022, 06:19 PM
The idea Lennon installed some great mentality cracks me up. Ross and Stubbs achieved more at Hibs.
26-04-2022, 06:20 PM
I'd like to know whether or not he plans to bring every man back to defend corners before deciding whether or not to contribute further season ticket histrionics.
26-04-2022, 06:23 PM
Nothing to lose? Really?
Presumably that applies to any candidate so why do folk take such an interest in our appointments if it doesn't really matter?
26-04-2022, 06:24 PM
Very good point regarding Neilson. Third in the league and in a cup final but an utter failure at MK Dons. He's at a club that suits him. I think Roy would be the same at Hibs.
Aye, basically my point was because they’ve had a tough time of it down south doesn’t really mean they’ll be a disaster up here and vice versa. As I said the other day no-one really knows how it would turn out but to suggest you’d hand your ST back if he was appointed is toys out of the pram stuff
26-04-2022, 06:33 PM
Jeezo.
AltheHibby
26-04-2022, 06:34 PM
Awe Get well very soon
All the best!
Look out for Hattie !! Nurse ,bedpan !!
26-04-2022, 06:40 PM
Nothing to lose? Really?
Presumably that applies to any candidate so why do folk take such an interest in our appointments if it doesn't really matter?
If only. You make it seem to simple. There is a lot to lose by having another dreadful season. Our SPL status for example.
I’ve been bored with Hibs for well over a year.
This rumour, and I appreciate it is only a rumour just now, has got me excited about my club again. That’s a 100% improvement straight away.
We might not get him, we probably won’t, but I’m going to enjoy this wee spell.
This might also seem completely irrational to you guys, but right now, I just want to feel something for our club. I found myself drifting away under Maloney, but listening to RG, I’m delighted that he sees our club the same way as I do.
I’ve stated many times on here the type of person I wanted as manager. Keane ticks all of these boxes. I really don’t care about stats or records when we’re talking about someone who has done so much in the game.
I’ll bet the players are way more excited about the prospect of playing under Keane than they ever would have been under Maloney.
We might not win more, but I’ll bet it will be a damn sight more exciting ride. That’ll do for me just now.
If you want slow, steady progress, go get McInnes. ER will remain like a library.
Chorley Hibee
26-04-2022, 06:42 PM
This rumour, and I appreciate it is only a rumour just now, has got me excited about my club again. That’s a 100% improvement straight away.
This might also seem completely irrational to you guys, but right now, I just want to feel something for our club. I found myself drifting away under Maloney, but listening to RG, I’m delighted that he sees our club the same way as I do.
I’ve stated many times on here the type of person I wanted as manager. Keane ticks all of these boxes. I really don’t care about stats or records when we’re talking about someone who has done so much in the game.
I’ll bet the players are way more excited about the prospect of playing under Keane than they ever would have been under Maloney.
We might not win more, but I’ll bet it will be a damn sight more exciting ride. That’ll do for me just now.
If you want slow, steady progress, go get McInnes. ER will remain like a library.
Yes, that's my view on it too.
I'd rather give Keane a go than the usual boring, uninspiring pish being bandied about.
26-04-2022, 06:44 PM
Yes, that's my view on it too.
I'd rather give Keane a go than the usual boring, uninspiring pish being banded about.
Mine too. Let’s take the risk and enjoy the ride
26-04-2022, 06:45 PM
100%. The last few days have been superb. Lost count of the times I've Google searched Keane for an update. Makes a change from the usual dullness around the club this season.
26-04-2022, 06:54 PM
Love this post.
I’ve been watching loads of Roy Keane videos as I just enjoy listening to the guy. Our last two managers were so well media trained they’d perfected the art of saying nothing. I couldn’t listen to them as I couldn’t help but just switch off. IMO both managers teams reflected that dull personality.
Under Ross I made a big deal about us being boring and wanting attacking football but I’m not bothered about us playing like Brazil 70, I just want us to play with a bit passion and fire in our belly. That’s why i enjoyed the second half of our semi final display.
Picking a new manager isn’t an exact science, hopefully under Keane though the team would reflect his personality.
26-04-2022, 06:59 PM
Not condoning that behaviour but I could find you Interviews of ex players who talk about how much they loved him. I could also find interviews of players who used to play for Pep, Klopp etc, the best managers in the world, and who have bad words to say about them.
Those managers have been hugely successful though so regardless of what people have said it’s difficult to argue that their methods don’t work.
26-04-2022, 07:01 PM
100%. The last few days have been superb. Lost count of the times I've Google searched Keane for an update. Makes a change from the usual dullness around the club this season.
It’s funny, I feel the same way and no matter how much I see/hear about his poor managerial record my thoughts on appointing him are completely irrational
26-04-2022, 07:06 PM
https://www.edinburghnews.scotsman.com/sport/football/hibs/hibs-next-manager-keane-double-act-predicted-as-bookies-price-up-assistant-boss-3669781
I thought they hated each other?
26-04-2022, 07:12 PM
This bit does sound a bit irrational to me. He was a great player and a bang average manager. He is a great pundit but hasnt managed for a decade. If its him coming in that can make you feel something for the club are those feelings not more about him than who he might manage? Not knocking you by the way just think its going for personality & standing in the game against anything to do with getting a decent manager.
Butcher was a personality, revered by the country he captained, not afraid to call things as he saw them or throw folk under a bus if required. Look how that finished. P.S. I get the boak mentioning Butcher
Chorley Hibee
26-04-2022, 07:12 PM
Another thing that I've learnt from his interview with Neville:
Don't approach him for an autograph or a selfie. 🤣
26-04-2022, 07:19 PM
Why do I get pictures in my minds eye of him doing a cantona v Crystal Palace fan, on the first Hibs fan within Kicking reach that slags him /tactics etc off.
For this reason alone I want him in.
But seriously whoever comes in, I wish them all the success.
26-04-2022, 07:24 PM
He said something in the interview which I found interesting and probably accurate that some players will use his name to say they’ve had a row with him etc as it sounds good or interesting.
I imagine other managers give out plenty stick that doesn’t get mentioned.
But the main thing with him would be his motivation I think. Even if we were 1-0 down at half time I’d half faith he’d get stuck into them at half time and we’d come out flying or we’d have the belief to get back in the game.
Under Maloney I had no faith we’d win a game after conceding.
26-04-2022, 07:27 PM
So you don't actually care if he's any good?
If this is what gets you excited about Hibs then fair enough. Think it's utterly bonkers personally. Winning gets me happy, that's what matters. I'd imagine Roy thinks so too. He wouldn't be happy with a big name for the sake of it.
26-04-2022, 07:28 PM
Brilliant post. Agree entirely! The past few days I've been looking for a 'Keane Hibs' update frequently and going by social media I'm certainly not the only Hibee doing this!
This appointment would be a big big signing for us.
26-04-2022, 07:30 PM
He said something in the interview which I found interesting and probably accurate that some players will use his name to say they’ve had a row with him etc as it sounds good or interesting.
I imagine other managers give out plenty stick that doesn’t get mentioned.
But the main thing with him would be his motivation I think. Even if we were 1-0 down at half time I’d half faith he’d get stuck into them at half time and we’d come out flying or we’d have the belief to get back in the game.
Under Maloney I had no faith we’d win a game after conceding.
So say Keane is getting utterly outclassed tactically. Would he just "get stuck into them" and it would be fixed? Or would he calmly instruct them how to fix things?
You cannot just yell like a child whenever you're losing.
26-04-2022, 07:32 PM
This bit does sound a bit irrational to me. He was a great player and a bang average manager. He is a great pundit but hasnt managed for a decade. If its him coming in that can make you feel something for the club are those feelings not more about him than who he might manage? Not knocking you by the way just think its going for personality & standing in the game against anything to do with getting a decent manager.
Butcher was a personality, revered by the country he captained, not afraid to call things as he saw them or throw folk under a bus if required. Look how that finished. P.S. I get the boak mentioning Butcher
Butcher was an ******** and his big personality was nothing like Keanes IMO.
26-04-2022, 07:35 PM
So say Keane is getting utterly outclassed tactically. Would he just "get stuck into them" and it would be fixed? Or would he calmly instruct them how to fix things?
He doesn't actually yell very much according to players that played under him. It's his calmness that is scary.
26-04-2022, 07:38 PM
He’s not an idiot. He’s been involved in football the last 30 years, yes even the last 11 years. Just because he hasn’t been to a fancy football university or done a masterclass video on how to complicate a simple game, doesn’t mean the only attribute he’s got is to shout at people.
26-04-2022, 07:39 PM
Assuming his tactical awareness is a bit more than get stuck in. :greengrin
26-04-2022, 07:41 PM
Butcher was an ******** and his big personality was nothing like Keanes IMO.
I agree with you views on Butcher...Half the support Ive seen for Keane is that he will take no ****, get stuck into to under performers, motivate etc Exactly the same was said by lots of folk when he who should never be named was named manager.
I like Keane as a player and pundit and personality. Just don't see the appeal as a manager.
26-04-2022, 07:43 PM
Anything else now will just be deflating!
Apart from Shelley Kerr!
26-04-2022, 07:44 PM
He’s not an idiot. He’s been involved in football the last 30 years, yes even the last 11 years. Just because he hasn’t been to a fancy football university or done a masterclass video on how to complicate a simple game, doesn’t mean the only attribute he’s got is to shout at people.
I never said he was an idiot. He's just not a good manager. It just won't work. Interesting appointment, probably win the first few games before getting found out.
I'd very much back him as I do all managers, but my opinion right now is hard avoid and there hasn't been anything close to a compelling argument for him.
26-04-2022, 07:46 PM
Anything else now will just be deflating!
Apart from Shelley Kerr!
26-04-2022, 07:48 PM
I agree with you views on Butcher...Half the support Ive seen for Keane is that he will take no ****, get stuck into to under performers, motivate etc Exactly the same was said by lots of folk when he who should never be named was named manager.
I like Keane as a player and pundit and personality. Just don't see the appeal as a manager.
Sums it up for me, particularly your last paragraph.
26-04-2022, 07:51 PM
Was on the local radio news every hour that he is in talks down here in south east of england, would never get that with someone else.
Definitely will raise our profile as a club and I understand why some people wouldn't want him in charge with fears for the club.
26-04-2022, 07:54 PM
I never said he was an idiot. He's just not a good manager. It just won't work. Interesting appointment, probably win the first few games before getting found out.
I'd very much back him as I do all managers, but my opinion right now is hard avoid and there hasn't been anything close to a compelling argument for him.
You have no idea if he’s a good manager or if it will work
26-04-2022, 07:55 PM
I mean I think we need to give him a bit more respect than yell like a child. He’s been a manager and coach at top clubs and played at the highest level for years.
He will know plenty from a tactical point of view for the Scottish game which I think is behind the other top leagues in the world. I think having someone like Lennon who gets that extra bit out of players and gets them playing with intensity is every bit as important in the Scottish league.
chookyembra
26-04-2022, 07:55 PM
https://www.football365.com/news/full-transcript-of-shthouse-keane-v-arter-and-walters
26-04-2022, 07:58 PM
100% agree. Great post.
26-04-2022, 08:01 PM
“It just won’t work”
What an incredibly arrogant stance to take. You’re looking for a safe bet but there isn’t such a thing.
You’ve clearly not got an open mind about him so even if there was a compelling argument put to you, you wouldn’t listen to it anyway.
I understand the concerns about him but there are positives going for him too.
He’s had 2 managerial jobs, he did a fantastic job in one of them. The other one has been a notoriously difficult club to manage.
During the last 11 years out of managements he’s still be learning the job working under other coaches.
He’s had a long period of self reflection and he talks openly about the things he got wrong. If he’d jumped straight into a job after the Ipswich one would he have been able to do that?
I can’t speak for anybody else but just from listening to him I think he is somebody I think the players will want to work with and learn from. I think he seems like a knowledgeable, serious individual who will demand the highest of standards. He comes across as someone very different to the guy that was around managing 10-11 years ago.
I think his personality will be infectious around the place and it’s the wee boost the club could be needing to get us going again.
Out of interest, who would you like as manager?
26-04-2022, 08:02 PM
https://www.football365.com/news/full-transcript-of-shthouse-keane-v-arter-and-walters
Doesn’t make for great reading.
26-04-2022, 08:03 PM
I don’t disagree.
Keane’s managerial career was done by age 40 though. That’s younger than most get into it.
At 50, he’s older and wiser, we all are. He’s not been out of the game at all and it appears that he has the desire to give management another go.
I think one thing that can be said about Keane is that he always gave 100% so I’d imagine he’d be fully committed to it. His own reputation would be at stake.
The more I think about it, it’s a no brainer. How the hell can Hibs fans turn their noses up at someone with his stature in the game. Who do we think we are?!
It would be a monumentally positive appointment and make the news around the footballing world.
As for Butcher, I thought he was a great appointment at the time, so I’m probably best ignored on this 😂🤮🤮🤮
Sioux
26-04-2022, 08:06 PM
There's plenty of posters who do exactly that! We keep hearing that's because they care, or something equally ridiculous.
No one knows how RK will manage players in this league. I doubt very much that his only tactic would be to yell like a child. The football in Scotland isn't a rare species of the game where only the most technical of coaches or managers could survive. I'd say it is quite the opposite.
Paulie Walnuts
26-04-2022, 08:06 PM
Ludicrous.
Honestly couldn’t see this appointment being successful.
If it is Keane then good luck to him but he’ll need to have done a complete 180 in terms of his personality to be a success imo which then really negates the reason anybody wants him in the first place.
26-04-2022, 08:07 PM
It’s good that he can shout though and call people names - sounds a wonderful leader. [emoji102]
cameronw-hfc
26-04-2022, 08:08 PM
Yeah, most likely. I'm not sure on if I'd take him, just thought these were slightly if not massively worrying and most won't have seen it so posted the links for people to decide themselves.
26-04-2022, 08:09 PM
So you don't actually care if he's any good?
If this is what gets you excited about Hibs then fair enough. Think it's utterly bonkers personally. Winning gets me happy, that's what matters. I'd imagine Roy thinks so too. He wouldn't be happy with a big name for the sake of it.
I wouldn’t go that far!
If he only wins 2 in the first 15 games or so then I’ll prob be saying it was a bonkers appointment and saying we made a huge mistake. That’s my fickle fan’s right, right?!
More than happy to take the chance though. Aren’t you even slightly excited by the prospect of it? You’re missing out on a genuine buzz these last few days.
cam75
26-04-2022, 08:10 PM
What about Scott Brown as his assistant,the 2 would have total respect of the dressing room👍
26-04-2022, 08:14 PM
I don’t disagree.
Keane’s managerial career was done by age 40 though. That’s younger than most get into it.
At 50, he’s older and wiser, we all are. He’s not been out of the game at all and it appears that he has the desire to give management another go.
I think one thing that can be said about Keane is that he always gave 100% so I’d imagine he’d be fully committed to it. His own reputation would be at stake.
The more I think about it, it’s a no brainer. How the hell can Hibs fans turn their noses up at someone with his stature in the game. Who do we think we are?!
It would be a monumentally positive appointment and make the news around the footballing world.
As for Butcher, I thought he was a great appointment at the time, so I’m probably best ignored on this 😂🤮🤮🤮
Some decent points also from Bingo…I suppose no one knows how any managers gonna do (I was excited with the Maloney appointment).
I’ll wait and see who else is mentioned before i start to panic 😉
26-04-2022, 08:14 PM
What about Scott Brown as his assistant,the 2 would have total respect of the dressing room👍
Is he a decent coach?
26-04-2022, 08:15 PM
Ludicrous.
Honestly couldn’t see this appointment being successful.
If it is Keane then good luck to him but he’ll need to have done a complete 180 in terms of his personality to be a success imo which then really negates the reason anybody wants him in the first place.
Do you not think that version of events sounds a little one sided?
Three sides to every story, im not saying Keane was innocent, I wasn’t there. I’m just taking all that with a pinch of salt.
26-04-2022, 08:17 PM
Three sides to every story, im not saying Keane was innocent, I wasn’t there. I’m just taking all that with a pinch of salt.https://www.mirror.co.uk/sport/football/news/harry-arter-forest-notts-county-26488855
Must've had a massive impact on Arter
Sent from my VOG-L29 using Tapatalk
huggie1875
26-04-2022, 08:22 PM
https://www.mirror.co.uk/sport/football/news/harry-arter-forest-notts-county-26488855
how?
LunasBoots
26-04-2022, 08:25 PM
Your never going to get universal agreement on an appointment, whoever it is and if it is Keane/whoever the fans and club will back him/whoever to take us forward.
26-04-2022, 08:33 PM
https://www.mirror.co.uk/sport/football/news/harry-arter-forest-notts-county-26488855
"To accept that was tough and with a move abroad falling through quite suddenly towards the end of the (transfer) window, that didn't leave me many options.
"It's frustrating, obviously. I spoke to Steve (Cooper) and he gave me his opinion and you have to accept it.“
In what way has Keane contributed to Arter’s downfall? That’s clutching
26-04-2022, 08:36 PM
"To accept that was tough and with a move abroad falling through quite suddenly towards the end of the (transfer) window, that didn't leave me many options.
"It's frustrating, obviously. I spoke to Steve (Cooper) and he gave me his opinion and you have to accept it.“
In what way has Keane contributed to Arter’s downfall? That’s clutching
I thought Callum was being ironic to prove the point that maybe the guy in question maybe isn’t the model pro he was making out in that article.
Maybe giving Callum too much credit though 😂
26-04-2022, 08:38 PM
I thought Callum was being ironic to prove the point that maybe the guy in question maybe isn’t the model pro he was making out in that article.
Maybe giving Callum too much credit though 😂
Oh, potentially. I’ve maybe missed that then. Surely.
26-04-2022, 08:38 PM
Maybe giving Callum too much credit though [emoji23]A year later the boys in non league
Either that clash totally destroyed him or he had a shocker of an attitude
I guess folk will decide what might be the case based on there thoughts on Roy Keane
26-04-2022, 09:01 PM
Jeezo.
26-04-2022, 09:09 PM
Three sides to every story, im not saying Keane was innocent, I wasn’t there. I’m just taking all that with a pinch of salt.
You're taking it with a pinch of salt because you don't want it to be true, Bingo. His reputation is not good and he's been employed by Sky because of his fiery temperament and unpredictably.
The people who want Keane appointed are ignoring anything that suggests he's not going to cut it, and making excuses for his lack of managerial experience and the fact that the he was sacked from his second and last job over 11 years ago.
JamesHFC
26-04-2022, 09:18 PM
Managers fall out with players all the time but you rarely hear about it unless they are a big name like Mourinho, Conte or Ferguson.
26-04-2022, 09:19 PM
You're taking it with a pinch of salt because you don't want it to be true, Bingo. His reputation is not good and he's been employed by Sky because of his fiery temperament and unpredictably.
The people who want Keane appointed are ignoring anything that suggests he's not going to cut it, and making excuses for his lack of managerial experience and the fact that the he was sacked from his second and last job over 11 years ago.
Not at all.
I take it with a pinch of salt because I’m absolutely certain if Roy Keane was asked for his version of events he would tell a different story.
I wasn’t there so no idea what really happened, truth probably somewhere in the middle.
I really felt that article was almost a bit funny with how one sided it all was.
JamesHFC
26-04-2022, 09:21 PM
Not at all.
I take it with a pinch of salt because I’m absolutely certain if Roy Keane was asked for his version of events he would tell a different story.
I wasn’t there so no idea what really happened, truth probably somewhere in the middle.
I really felt that article was almost a bit funny with how one sided it all was.
I honestly don’t think Martin O’Neill would have had Keane as his right hand man if his relationship with players or coaching skills weren’t good enough.
26-04-2022, 09:30 PM
Micah Richards speaking about Keane. He also speaks about Mancini and how volatile he could be with players. It’s a few months old ( I think). Good to hear a footballers insight into some of the issues being talked about and good to hear Richards speaking about Keane as a colleague and his knowledge of the game.
https://youtu.be/1AfTW7D5PhY
26-04-2022, 09:30 PM
I understand why people don’t want him, but what if he brings in a top quality team behind him? That’s what I want. The more I think about it, the more I think YES.
I echo a lot of what has been said, on both sides. His past record, his time out the game. I think that can be mitigated against by having a top quality team with him.
On the other hand, it has me extremely excited and interested in the club for the first time in a long while. I check this page a silly amount of times a day, whereas prior to about a week ago I hadn’t been on in about a month.
It’s all perked my interest, and this has taken it up another level.
I think he could be a success.
I also think there are other really good managers out there that we should look to, I just don’t think they would come here, though I wouldn’t be disappointed in the slightest if they did.
If we don’t get Keane, I’d love us to stay away from all the usual suspects
26-04-2022, 09:38 PM
We are set to hold more talks with Roy Keane’s agents.
New flash for those that think Keane would “make sure the boys hated Hearts and were right up for it”…..the reason we lost two games against them recently is they have better players, better organized, consistent formation and looked fitter.
Nothing to do with being “more up for it”.
26-04-2022, 09:41 PM
STIFF COMPETITION Roy Keane facing stronger field of candidates for Hibs job than Shaun Maloney did as reps set to hold further talks
https://www.thescottishsun.co.uk/sport/football/8766651/roy-keane-candidates-hibs-job-shaun-maloney-further-talks/?utm_medium=Social&utm_campaign=ScottishSunSportTwitter&utm_source=Twitter#Echobox=1651007621-1
GreenGray
26-04-2022, 09:44 PM
STIFF COMPETITION Roy Keane facing stronger field of candidates for Hibs job than Shaun Maloney did as reps set to hold further talks
https://www.thescottishsun.co.uk/sport/football/8766651/roy-keane-candidates-hibs-job-shaun-maloney-further-talks/?utm_medium=Social&utm_campaign=ScottishSunSportTwitter&utm_source=Twitter#Echobox=1651007621-1
Positive sounding article that, I still don’t think It’ll be Keane so I wonder who the other candidates are if Kensell is meeting them down in London.
hibby rae
26-04-2022, 09:49 PM
Micah Richards speaking about Keane. He also speaks about Mancini and how volatile he could be with players. It’s a few months old ( I think). Good to hear a footballers insight into some of the issues being talked about and good to hear Richards speaking about Keane as a colleague and his knowledge of the game.
https://youtu.be/1AfTW7D5PhY
On the BBC Sounds MOTD pod, Richards said Mancini would get very nasty and personal e.g. insulting player's mums and stuff.
AugustaHibs
26-04-2022, 09:53 PM
I’m gonna be seriously disappointed when it’s not Keane🤣
26-04-2022, 09:54 PM
You’re doing the exact same but with every bit of information that creates a case against Keane getting it.
26-04-2022, 10:00 PM
New flash for those that think Keane would “make sure the boys hated Hearts and were right up for it”…..the reason we lost two games against them recently is they have better players, better organized, consistent formation and looked fitter.
What’s about all the other times?
26-04-2022, 10:09 PM
I’m gonna be seriously disappointed when it’s not Keane🤣
Missing out on Keane and getting Shelley Kerr will probably still not be as disappointing as it was for the jambos that time they thought they were getting Nevio Scala but ended up with Graham Rix.
What’s about all the other times?
The other time (singular) was Hampden senior in lockdown. We were ***** but we were a missed penalty away from a likely victory.
To be clear I have no doubt Keane has motivational skills Maloney and Ross didn’t have but it only take you so far. It’s all about the player recruitment and coaching.
26-04-2022, 10:19 PM
Hopefully another big name will be leaked soon and we can do this all over again!
MikeyS
26-04-2022, 10:20 PM
You’re doing the exact same but with every bit of information that creates a case against Keane getting it.
👍🏻
JamesHFC
26-04-2022, 10:20 PM
Hopefully another big name will be leaked soon and we can do this all over again!
Will any other name get over 900 comments in 2 days 😅
26-04-2022, 10:25 PM
There's nothing tangible to suggest he'd be a good manager.
It's all ifs, and maybes, a hopefullys.
He's well known and he'll generate interest in the media and possibly the stands. He had some success at Sunderland 14 years ago but was sacked from his second and last job. He hasn't been a manager for over 11 years and he freely admits that he doesn't like coaching.
He assisted Paul Lambert at Aston Villa for 5 months in 2014 and had a similar period at Nottingham Forest in 2019.
He helped Martin O'Neil with the Ireland side which is an entirely different kettle of fish to day to day involvement as manager at a club.
Is there anything I'm ignoring there?
He was complaining that he couldn't get a job but some people got 6 & 7 chances. There must be reasons a high profile individual who was a great player and captained his side to win the Champions League, can't get a job.
mcohibs
26-04-2022, 10:26 PM
You don't think passion and desire are important in derby fixtures? Keane would instill that, which would help. May not be the only thing needed to bridge the gap but surely it's a positive? We didn't lay a glove on Hearts in the second half at Tynie. Definitely lacked a bit of desire and willingness to fight for the badge.
26-04-2022, 10:47 PM
Can’t be just me that read this and shrugged?
Roy Keane is radge but there must be thousands of stories like this from all levels of football.
He’s not threatening or bullying people, he’s just telling them he doesn’t think they are giving their all, and they get a bit upset.
badabing67
26-04-2022, 10:47 PM
To honest I didn't think they were the better team the last time we played them.
Not at all.
He does somewhere within this. https://youtu.be/6_yckmKqazE
My take on it is that he has high standards and expects others to also give 100% at all times and he believed (whether rightly or wrongly) that they weren't. Can't really defend his comments about Jon Walters on TV but if someone was to judge Jon Walters by purely taking Roy Keane's comments as gospel (which it seems some have done with the transcript from Whatsapp), then he doesn't across particularly great.
26-04-2022, 11:01 PM
Can’t be just me that read this and shrugged?
Roy Keane is radge but there must be thousands of stories like this from all levels of football.
He’s not threatening or bullying people, he’s just telling them he doesn’t think they are giving their all, and they get a bit upset.
Here's another couple.
https://punditarena.com/football/thepateam/roy-keane-ipswich-town-brian-murphy-championship/
26-04-2022, 11:09 PM
Thing is, respect doesn’t actually work based on what someone’s past is. Sure, it might make some players more open or interested at first if a manager arrives who played at a high level, or won trophies at their previous club, but ultimately that respect will fly out the window if the guy doesn’t actually do a good job. Hell we’ve already seen a few of our more recent managers with ‘glittering’ pasts lose the dressing room through their actions.
There’s no cast iron guarantee that just because Keane won things at a high level (before some of our current squad were around to see it) and is well known for being shouty and forthright, that he’s due some extra amount of respect just for coming through the door, and certainly not that he would get to keep any ‘bonus’ his past exploits did get him.
Ongoing respect is earned. Klopp didn’t play at any sort of high level, yet his players would run through walls for him. Knutsen started his career in the Norwegian 5th tier, with no rep as a pundit to speak of, and still managed to get his ‘little’ team to the latter stages of European competition. Ultimately, it’s about being able to do the job, with todays players, in todays game. That a bunch of the comments seem to be hoping for Keane to return us to the days when ‘men were men, shouting in players faces and none of this modern nonsense’ shows exactly why that approach is doomed before it even begins.
Maybe Keane has what it takes, but it’s been 10 years since his last job. What’s he been doing to prep for a return to the dugout, besides maybe saying he fancies it to friends and fellow pundits? Coaching classes? Study? Or just commentating on Man Utd games?
Roy Keane will most likely be able to attract better players than any of the other potential candidates, will most likely bring a top assistant who'll be able to organise us better and he will drive standards such that our players will be fitter.
26-04-2022, 11:16 PM
I'd sooner have Sean Dyche if you want someone to toughen the boys up.
AugustaHibs
26-04-2022, 11:21 PM
Yeah if we want to toughen them up then let’s get Sir Alex out of retirement or better yet dig up Brian clough.
sunshinejim
26-04-2022, 11:22 PM
Thing is, respect doesn’t actually work based on what someone’s past is. Sure, it might make some players more open or interested at first if a manager arrives who played at a high level, or won trophies at their previous club, but ultimately that respect will fly out the window if the guy doesn’t actually do a good job. Hell we’ve already seen a few of our more recent managers with ‘glittering’ pasts lose the dressing room through their actions.
There’s no cast iron guarantee that just because Keane won things at a high level (before some of our current squad were around to see it) and is well known for being shouty and forthright, that he’s due some extra amount of respect just for coming through the door, and certainly not that he would get to keep any ‘bonus’ his past exploits did get him.
Ongoing respect is earned. Klopp didn’t play at any sort of high level, yet his players would run through walls for him. Knutsen started his career in the Norwegian 5th tier, with no rep as a pundit to speak of, and still managed to get his ‘little’ team to the latter stages of European competition. Ultimately, it’s about being able to do the job, with todays players, in todays game. That a bunch of the comments seem to be hoping for Keane to return us to the days when ‘men were men, shouting in players faces and none of this modern nonsense’ shows exactly why that approach is doomed before it even begins.
Maybe Keane has what it takes, but it’s been 10 years since his last job. What’s he been doing to prep for a return to the dugout, besides maybe saying he fancies it to friends and fellow pundits? Coaching classes? Study? Or just commentating on Man Utd games?
Roy Keane is a rock star in the world of football. He's been quoted as putting his name forward for managing Hibernian so he's obviously up for the challenge and will give it his best shot. Not only might we employ a successful manager he'll also skyrocket the club's profile and interest in our club. It'll be some coup if we can acquire his services. Buzzing about the prospect of it.
26-04-2022, 11:22 PM
Eloquently put, sir.
26-04-2022, 11:24 PM
Roy Keane will most likely be able to attract better players than any of the other potential candidates, will most likely bring a top assistant who'll be able to organise us better and he will drive standards such that our players will be fitter.
Most likely and most likely.
Aka mibbe.
sunshinejim
26-04-2022, 11:35 PM
To honest I didn't think they were the better team the last time we played them.
I can see Col2's point but also agree with you. If Joe Newell hadn't had a rush of blood to the head and hadn't made that rash challenge there was every chance we would have went on to not only equalise but win the match. It was stupid from big Joe but i rate him as a player and he is probably our best midfielder.
26-04-2022, 11:39 PM
https://www.thescottishsun.co.uk/sport/football/8766651/roy-keane-candidates-hibs-job-shaun-maloney-further-talks/
27-04-2022, 04:32 AM
“It just won’t work”
What an incredibly arrogant stance to take. You’re looking for a safe bet but there isn’t such a thing.
You’ve clearly not got an open mind about him so even if there was a compelling argument put to you, you wouldn’t listen to it anyway.
I understand the concerns about him but there are positives going for him too.
He’s had 2 managerial jobs, he did a fantastic job in one of them. The other one has been a notoriously difficult club to manage.
During the last 11 years out of managements he’s still be learning the job working under other coaches.
He’s had a long period of self reflection and he talks openly about the things he got wrong. If he’d jumped straight into a job after the Ipswich one would he have been able to do that?
I can’t speak for anybody else but just from listening to him I think he is somebody I think the players will want to work with and learn from. I think he seems like a knowledgeable, serious individual who will demand the highest of standards. He comes across as someone very different to the guy that was around managing 10-11 years ago.
I think his personality will be infectious around the place and it’s the wee boost the club could be needing to get us going again.
Out of interest, who would you like as manager?
I'm not looking for a safe bet, I'm just looking for us not to appoint the most famous person because they were a good player.
I absolutely do have an open mind about him. A compelling argument hasn't been made, its largely baseless rubbish based on him motivating teammates 20 years ago. He done a decent job at Sunderland. This isn't Sunderland of now, this was Sunderland when they were a club who really should get promoted and were spending good money. Promotion was a good job, but about what they should've achieved. It seems quite a few on here have turned immediately into Roy Keane supporters rather than Hibs supporters.
As I've already said, he would get my full backing if appointed. Judging purely on his career as a manager, I think he is a very poor candidate, though.
OldEast
27-04-2022, 04:39 AM
I'm not looking for a safe bet, I'm just looking for us not to appoint the most famous person because they were a good player.
I absolutely do have an open mind about him. A compelling argument hasn't been made, its largely baseless rubbish based on him motivating teammates 20 years ago. He done a decent job at Sunderland. This isn't Sunderland of now, this was Sunderland when they were a club who really should get promoted and were spending good money. Promotion was a good job, but about what they should've achieved. It seems quite a few on here have turned immediately into Roy Keane supporters rather than Hibs supporters.
As I've already said, he would get my full backing if appointed. Judging purely on his career as a manager, I think he is a very poor candidate, though.
Those who want Roy Keane want him because they think he'll be good for Hibs, the team they support. Ridiculous to say Roy Keane supporters rather than Hibs supporters. They have a different opinion than you that's all.
27-04-2022, 05:10 AM
Those who want Roy Keane want him because they think he'll be good for Hibs, the team they support. Ridiculous to say Roy Keane supporters rather than Hibs supporters. They have a different opinion than you that's all.
Have you seen the posts saying they hadn't felt anything for Hibs for ages until we were linked with Keane?
27-04-2022, 05:45 AM
901 posts on my Tapatalk thread on a rumor started 2 days ago
Malky McKay sitting at 300 from a 6 day old thread
No doubt who's gets the 'interests hibs support' award
27-04-2022, 05:46 AM
Here's another couple.
https://punditarena.com/football/thepateam/roy-keane-ipswich-town-brian-murphy-championship/
This stuff is what fills me with dread….it’s the worst of old school management…so now we have three articles of real life examples of terrible man management from Keane. Is this three articles that people will take with a “pitch of salt”. The likelihood of him being good at leading our team is really low for me. He will likely crash and burn. There seems to be no credible case for him.
27-04-2022, 05:53 AM
Have you seen the posts saying they hadn't felt anything for Hibs for ages until we were linked with Keane?That the point he made tho isn't it?
Folk who want him think he will be good for hibs
That has many facets to it but ultimately they think he might help get hibs mojo back
Is that being a Roy Keane fan or is that wanting (who they think) are the right person for the hibs job?
JamesHFC
27-04-2022, 05:53 AM
This stuff is what fills me with dread….it’s the worst of old school management…so now we have three articles of real life examples of terrible man management from Keane. Is this three articles that people will take with a “pitch of salt”. The likelihood of him being good at leading our team is really low for me. He will likely crash and burn. There seems to be no credible case for him.
He took Sunderland from 23rd in the Championship to winning the league in his first job in management so he’s obviously got something going for him. I mentioned it earlier but I don’t think Martin O’Neill would have had Keane as his assistant for six years if he thought his man management or coaching skills weren’t good enough.
JamesHFC
27-04-2022, 05:58 AM
The truth is we don’t really know how anyone is going to get on until they come in and get stuck into it.
Heckingbottom came in and had a good few months but was then sacked after one transfer window. If he had no previous connection to us and we were to appoint him from Sheffield United right now I’m sure a lot of people would be delighted by the appointment.
27-04-2022, 06:07 AM
Keane, Keane and Kean. Not sure I’d be keen on that…
JamesHFC
27-04-2022, 06:51 AM
https://www.dailyrecord.co.uk/sport/football/football-news/roy-keane-would-want-smash-26804919
Daryl Horgan has had his say.
Crunchie
27-04-2022, 06:54 AM
https://www.dailyrecord.co.uk/sport/football/football-news/roy-keane-would-want-smash-26804919
Daryl Horgan has had his say.
It's Keano for me, would get the place buzzing again that's for sure.
Paulie Walnuts
27-04-2022, 06:55 AM
Here's another couple.
There’ll no doubt be people reading these articles and rubbing there hands together at how fired up we’re going to be but this sort of thing makes the potential appointment have disaster written all over it imo.
Most likely and most likely.
Aka mibbe.
On a scale with "will" at one end and "won't" at the other, if you need things kept simple then "mibbe" covers everything in between, in which case "most likely" would be aka "mibbe". Personally I would put "mibbe" bang in the middle of the scale and have "most likely" quite far along towards "will", just short of "highly probable".
OldEast
27-04-2022, 07:36 AM
That the point he made tho isn't it?
Folk who want him think he will be good for hibs
That has many facets to it but ultimately they think he might help get hibs mojo back
Is that being a Roy Keane fan or is that wanting (who they think) are the right person for the hibs job?
You put that every bit as well as I could. Saves me jumping back in and pointing out the obvious, thanks.
27-04-2022, 07:37 AM
Have you seen the posts saying they hadn't felt anything for Hibs for ages until we were linked with Keane?
You really are on a different level of nippy-sweetie-wifeyness.
Don't take things so literally. If Keane doesn't get the job I'll go straight back to not giving a damn about him, so you can drop the Keane fan BS crap.
Stay out of this thread if it's not for you and let some of us have a ****ing bit of enjoyment for a few days.
Crunchie
27-04-2022, 07:43 AM
Don't take things so literally. If Keane doesn't get the job I'll go straight back to not giving a damn about him, so you can drop the Keane fan BS crap.
Stay out of this thread if it's not for you and let some of us have a ****ing bit of enjoyment for a few days.
:top marks:faf:
Caversham Green
27-04-2022, 07:46 AM
He took Sunderland from 23rd in the Championship to winning the league in his first job in management so he’s obviously got something going for him. I mentioned it earlier but I don’t think Martin O’Neill would have had Keane as his assistant for six years if he thought his man management or coaching skills weren’t good enough.
TBF that's not really as great a turnaround as it sounds. The season had only just started when he was appointed and Sunderland had started it without a manager. They had been a yoyo club for about a decade prior to that and everyone expected them to go straight back up. Keane brought in a shed load of expensive players in the last few days of August and they duly won the league but they very much bought their way out of trouble.
Steve Coppell and Brian McDermott both won that league on much lower budgets and they have managed clubs more recently than Keane. I can't say I'd be particularly enthusiastic about either of them coming to Hibs though.
Stairway 2 7
27-04-2022, 07:48 AM
I'd usually want to stay clear if we were well run and doing well. But I believe we are so soft and needing a severe shake that it might work.
27-04-2022, 07:53 AM
He doesn't like coaching and he won't be doing it if he gets the Hibs job.
Loads of the folk who are desperate for Keane were arguing that being assistant at an international team wasn't a good enough CV for Maloney. Now it's rock solid evidence?
Paulie Walnuts
27-04-2022, 07:54 AM
I'd usually want to stay clear if we were well run and doing well. But I believe we are so soft and needing a severe shake that it might work.
This is about the only positive I can see but imo it’s a bit of a Hail Mary type appointment because of that.
27-04-2022, 07:58 AM
I dont know what to think any more....Ive moved from totally no to if it is it is...There must be something in it as all these links cant just be coming from Keanes camp. Id be surprised if there arent another couple of names linked in the next few days. I find it strange the Sun saying who we are looking at is a stronger group that the previous selection without naming any of these managers Hibs are supposedly meeting down south. That sounds more like something thats hinted at by Hibs.
Clarence
Did Keane’s teams have a certain style of play? Defensive, attacking passing? I don’t recall.
Loads of the folk who are desperate for Keane were arguing that being assistant at an international team wasn't a good enough CV for Maloney. Now it's rock solid evidence?
But it’s backed with management experience in the EPL and Championship as well as assistant manager experience at club level. The fact is Maloney was our Cathro and the club realised they got it wrong and moved on quickly.
Has anyone said that?
You don't see the difference between Maloney and Keane?
Ach, between you and MW you've convinced me he'll be crap.
Next.....
JamesHFC
27-04-2022, 08:00 AM
I find the first part hard to believe, why on earth would he have done his coaching badges, become a manager then assistant manager for almost a decade and now seek a return to management if he doesn’t like coaching?
I think the people who think that are also taking into account he has actually been a manager at Premier League level.
27-04-2022, 08:01 AM
I find the first part hard to believe, why on earth would he have done his coaching badges, become a manager then assistant manager for almost a decade and now seek a return to management if he doesn’t like coaching?
I think the people who think that are also taking into account he has actually been a manager at Premier League level.
Pretty sure he said as much in his YouTube interview with Gary Neville
JamesHFC
27-04-2022, 08:03 AM
Pretty sure he said as much in his YouTube interview with Gary Neville
His comment has probably been taken out of context, why would someone want to be involved in coaching a football team if they don’t like coaching 😂😂
27-04-2022, 08:05 AM
On a scale with "will" at one end and "won't" at the other, if you need things kept simple then "mibbe" covers everything in between, in which case "most likely" would be aka "mibbe". Personally I would put "mibbe" bang in the middle of the scale and have "most likely" quite far along towards "will", just short of "highly probable".
I put it down as wishful thinking.
27-04-2022, 08:11 AM
But it’s backed with management experience in the EPL and Championship as well as assistant manager experience at club level. The fact is Maloney was our Cathro and the club realised they got it wrong and moved on quickly.
His experience is 14 years old. He hasn't had a manager's job for 11 years.
He was assistant at Villa and Forest for 5 months each.
In what world is that a good enough CV for the Hibs job?
I understand it, but folk have got stars in their eyes.
False.
27-04-2022, 08:13 AM
He said it in the recent video with Neville that everyone is gushing about. Scroll back and you'll find a link.
27-04-2022, 08:14 AM
His comment has probably been taken out of context, why would someone want to be involved in coaching a football team if they don’t like coaching 😂😂
He said he doesn't like it and he won't be doing it.
JamesHFC
The man who won us the Scottish Cup came in with the only experience of being Everton U21 manager.
False.
Which bit?
G15 Hibs
I'm beginning to get the feeling you don't want Roy Keane as Hibs manager.
JamesHFC
27-04-2022, 08:16 AM
He said he doesn't like it and he won't be doing it.
Fair enough, if he becomes manager I look forward to going along to one of the evenings put on to ask him if he actually enjoys coaching, already worried by the look he will give me.
27-04-2022, 08:16 AM
Finally, someone who gets it.
It’s all about the memes and the socials.
I’m off to find out what my favoured influencers have to say about it all.
27-04-2022, 08:17 AM
The man who won us the Scottish Cup came in with the only experience of being Everton U21 manager.
True. He did that for 6 years, not 5 months.
Paulie Walnuts
27-04-2022, 08:18 AM
It hasn’t been taken out of context at all.
If he comes in then unless there’s been a change in his attitude the last few months he won’t be taking the training.
27-04-2022, 08:19 AM
I'm beginning to get the feeling you don't want Roy Keane as Hibs manager.
Who?
27-04-2022, 08:20 AM
It's all ifs, and maybes, and hopefullys.
There is nothing tangible to suggest anyone would be a good manager for Hibs though. Every appointment comes with ifs, maybes and hopefullys.
If anything Keane is the manager that comes with the MOST guarantees of any name mentioned which are that he will significantly raise the profile of the club and we will shift more season tickets than we otherwise would have. (the second point you might say is a maybe, but I think it is certain).
JamesHFC
27-04-2022, 08:20 AM
It hasn’t been taken out of context at all.
If he comes in then unless there’s been a change in his attitude the last few months he won’t be taking the training.
Won’t expect to see any images of him in training then.
27-04-2022, 08:21 AM
Go and watch the video instead of making smart comments.
I think he actually said he hated coaching.
Paulie Walnuts
27-04-2022, 08:22 AM
He might well be there but from his comments you’d have to imagine the sessions will be planned and delivered by his backroom staff after hearing his comments in the Gary Neville interview.
27-04-2022, 08:22 AM
There is nothing tangible to suggest anyone would be a good manager for Hibs though. Every appointment comes with ifs, maybes and hopefullys.
If anything Keane is the manager that comes with the MOST guarantees of any name mentioned which are that he will significantly raise the profile of the club and we will shift more season tickets than we otherwise would have. (the second point you might say is a maybe, but I think it is certain).
He did all that at Ipswich too.
AugustaHibs
27-04-2022, 08:23 AM
We get it, you don’t want Keane.
Half of the posts on this thread must be you regurgitating the same points over and over.
27-04-2022, 08:26 AM
We get it, you don’t want Keane.
Half of the posts on this thread must be you regurgitating the same points over and over.
Makes a change, eh?
Sioux
:faf::faf:
Give it a rest.
You don't want RK because he's shouted at people. OK we've got that, but stop dredging the internet for tit-a-tat as if the WWW is some sort of bastion of truth. Only an idiot could believe everything they read on there. You have absolutely no idea how things will pan out for him, same as any other manager who might be in the frame.
You're acting like the internet bully where your opinion counts and all others don't matter a damn. Its often said that those with most words have nothing of interest to say.
For the record, I'm not in the so called RK fan club, similarly I'm not banging drums to get him removed from the process, but I do think there is an opportunity for the club to hear what RK has in mind, and if that suits............the ball's rolling.
One thing is for certain, in that whoever we do get is 10/1 on to get sacked within a coupe or three years, if he lasts that long, and will be deemed a failure. Such is the way of social media.
JamesHFC
If I hated painting I wouldn’t go to do a painting and decorating course to gain qualifications to then paint for a decade.
If that’s what he said he probably said it in a light hearted manner like he usually does with most things he says, he won’t literally hate it.
Which bit?
The bit I put in bold.
You've either taken note at the time who said that about Maloney and have noticed they are "desperate" for Keane or have gone back to check on what those who are "desperate" for Keane have said about Maloney. Either way, I reckon you'd have directly called out anyone rather than just stating "loads" have said that.
Or you could just be making it up.
Mcbizz1998
27-04-2022, 08:27 AM
Exactly.
What was Tony Mowbray’s experience before coming to Hibs? A really short stint as Ipswich boss on an interim basis if I remember correctly.
John Collins who also won us silverware? Never managed anywhere before coming to ER.
JamesHFC
27-04-2022, 08:28 AM
Exactly.
What was Tony Mowbray’s experience before coming to Hibs? A really short stint as Ipswich boss on an interim basis if I remember correctly.
John Collins who also won us silverware? Never managed anywhere before coming to ER.
Yep. Spot on.
:faf::faf:
Give it a rest.
You don't want RK because he's shouted at people. OK we've got that, but stop dredging the internet for tit-a-tat as if the WWW is some sort of bastion of truth. Only an idiot could believe everything they read on there. You have absolutely no idea how things will pan out for him, same as any other manager who might be in the frame.
You're acting like the internet bully where your opinion counts and all others don't matter a damn. Its often said that those with most words have nothing of interest to say.
For the record, I'm not in the so called RK fan club, similarly I'm not banging drums to get him removed from the process, but I do think there is an opportunity for the club to hear what RK has in mind, and if that suits............the ball's rolling.
One thing is for certain, in that whoever we do get is 10/1 on to get sacked within a coupe or three years, if he lasts that long, and will be deemed a failure. Such is the way of social media.
I'll post as often as I like.
He did all that at Ipswich too.
But Ipswich have had 6 full time managers in post since Keane left. One of whom has just started and 5 of whom got the bullet after leaving them in a worse position than Keane did.
At least Keane guaranteed them some increased profile and more tickets sold.
27-04-2022, 08:30 AM
I can honestly understand why people are excited at the prospect of Keane. His stature and profile in the game will definitely bring a skip back to our step and raise the amount of season tickets we sell . It would give us a bounce in a way most other appointments wouldn’t . It’s easy to understand why that would be most welcome at such a low time for us .
Every other indicator suggests he is not
Likely to do a good job . Although, Horgan was positive about him - so interesting to read that. We, the fans, have a terrible track record of wanting the right person for the job . Almost all our successful managers have come from left field . The ones we’ve clamoured for have rarely done anything decent . I want the best appointment for us as a club , not the most popular . I’m hoping they ignore the fans view and do some proper research and get the right person .
One point I would add is the commercial focus of our club just now , would suggest to me it’s more likely than not . The money men will love the thought of a Keane at our club .
27-04-2022, 08:30 AM
The bit I put in bold.
You've either taken note at the time who said that about Maloney and have noticed they are "desperate" for Keane or have gone back to check on what those who are "desperate" for Keane have said about Maloney. Either way, I reckon you'd have directly called out anyone rather than just stating "loads" have said that.
Or you could just be making it up.
Lol.
Maloney's job as an assistant with Belgium was deemed by many, not to be sufficient experience as to warrant the Hibs manager's job.
Better?
27-04-2022, 08:31 AM
But Ipswich have had 6 full time managers in post since Keane left. One of whom has just started and 5 of whom got the bullet after leaving them in a worse position than Keane did.
At least Keane guaranteed them some increased profile and more tickets sold.
True. But none of them had the squad and funding that Keane had . They were favourites for promotion when he took them over . Most recent ones have been downsizing dramatically .
27-04-2022, 08:37 AM
Lol.
Maloney's job as an assistant with Belgium was deemed by many, not to be sufficient experience as to warrant the Hibs manager's job.
Better?
The problem was that his Belgium experience was all he had as a feather in his cap.
He couldn't communicate well, put on poor training sessions ( according to some of the senior players), made bizaare subs and starting 11's.
The Belgium experience was fine, but not enough on it's own to tell us he could manage. As the evidence unfolded, its clear he couldn't.
Lol.
Better?
Maybe more accurate but definitely confirmation that statements you make cannot be taken at face value therefore undermining pretty much everything else you've said on this subject.
27-04-2022, 08:38 AM
The problem was that his Belgium experience was all he had as a feather in his cap.
He couldn't communicate well, put on poor training sessions ( according to some of the senior players), made bizaare subs and starting 11's.
The Belgium experience was fine, but not enough on it's own to tell us he could manage. As the evidence unfolded, its clear he couldn't.
In hindsight, I agree.
I hope you're not agreeing in hindsight with me about Keane in a few months.
27-04-2022, 08:39 AM
True. But none of them had the squad and funding that Keane had . They were favourites for promotion when he took them over . Most recent ones have been downsizing dramatically .
That's a fair point.
Maybe more accurate but definitely confirmation that statements you make cannot be taken at face value therefore undermining pretty much everything else you've said on this subject.
Lol
147lothian
Has he raised a scarf in the stand yet?
32 pages now.
it reminds me of the Neil Lennon thread that just rolled and rolled for two years after he left hibs/was sacked/was definitely not sacked/was mutually consented.
A lot of people don’t like lennon or Keane but they sure as hell want to talk about them. Over and over again. And I think that’s what’s attracts people to the idea of having RK as manager, certainly more than his mediocre managerial record. For the last year or even longer it’s been said on here by many that they’ve rarely been so bored as a Hibs fan. Even when we were doing ok. That was never the case under lennon. I doubt very much whether it would be the case under Keane.
27-04-2022, 08:40 AM
In hindsight, I agree.
I hope you're not agreeing in hindsight with me about Keane in a few months.
We'll just have to wait and see :greengrin
27-04-2022, 08:42 AM
32 pages now.
it reminds me of the Neil Lennon thread that just rolled and rolled for two years after he left hibs/was sacked/was definitely not sacked/was mutually consented.
A lot of people don’t like lennon or Keane but they sure as hell want to talk about them. Over and over again. And I think that’s what’s attracts people to the idea of having RK as manager, certainly more than his mediocre managerial record. For the last year or even longer it’s been said on here by many that they’ve rarely been so bored as a Hibs fan. Even when we were doing ok. That was never the case under lennon. I doubt very much whether it would be the case under Keane.
If we were about to appoint Craig Levein, there would be countless pages too.
Paulie Walnuts
27-04-2022, 08:43 AM
32 pages now.
People only want to talk about Keane because there’s a link to us.
We wouldn’t want to talk about him if he wasn’t linked with us and we wouldn’t be talking about him if he was linked with anyone else either, hence why there’s never (or as good as never as I’m sure there’ll have been one once upon a time about something) a Roy Keane thread on this forum until now. It’s not a desperation to talk about Roy Keane as such, it’s wanting to talk about the next Hibernian manager which Keane seems to be the front runner to be.
JamesHFC
27-04-2022, 08:46 AM
32 pages now.
I agree.
The Lennon days were some of my favourite as a Hibs fan. Really felt connected with the club during that time, you knew we would go against the big teams and put in a shift and likely come out with a result. Teams would hate playing us and would want to beat us to get one over our manager. If Keane was to become manager I think it would very much be the same. Life’s too short, let’s get some grit back into the club.
I don’t think we will appoint him but I think it could be an exciting appointment nevertheless.
27-04-2022, 08:50 AM
:greengrin you don’t think wee craigy no medals has charisma?
you’re probably right about the countless pages but I’m guessing it would be a very different looking thread to this one and unanimous in its disgust. Not the same as this at all. Many people are excited at the prospect of Keane.
Yip it's been a dull depressing season let's have a bit of speculation and fun, down with the doom and gloomers 😅
27-04-2022, 08:54 AM
:greengrin you don’t think wee craigy no medals has charisma?
you’re probably right about the countless pages but I’m guessing it would be a very different looking thread to this one and unanimous in its disgust. Not the same as this at all. Many people are excited at the prospect of Keane.
Levein has got a better CV. :duck:
GreenGray
27-04-2022, 08:55 AM
You do realise it’s common for head coaches or managers not to coach? And it’s often their assistants who do it?
Doesn't mean he's not good at it.
JamesHFC
27-04-2022, 08:58 AM
You must be trolling 😂
Levein left Leicester third bottom of the Championship, Keane won the Championship. Levein went on to manage for a decade after Keane’s last job as manager and still failed to win as many trophies 😂
27-04-2022, 08:59 AM
If a guy says he’s doesn’t like coaching it’s normally due to not understanding it. We cannot afford a manager who is just going to be the guy that shouts on the sidelines. We need to be coaching this squad how to win any type of game. Waving arms around just doesn’t work.
You must be trolling [emoji23]
Levein left Leicester third bottom of the Championship, Keane won the Championship. Levein went on to manage for a decade after Keane’s last job as manager and still failed to win as many trophies [emoji23]
Keane left Ipswich 4th bottom of the championship …
You do realise it’s common for head coaches or managers not to coach? And it’s often their assistants who do it?
27-04-2022, 09:00 AM
People only want to talk about Keane because there’s a link to us.
We wouldn’t want to talk about him if he wasn’t linked with us and we wouldn’t be talking about him if he was linked with anyone else either, hence why there’s never (or as good as never as I’m sure there’ll have been one once upon a time about something) a Roy Keane thread on this forum until now. It’s not a desperation to talk about Roy Keane as such, it’s wanting to talk about the next Hibernian manager which Keane seems to be the front runner to be.
that’s true but that’s not the point. The point is that it has reached 33 pages now in the space of 3 days and that’s down to the Roy Keane factor.
For perspective, because I’m off work today and sad enough to do it, I had a look back to autumn 2019 and the equivalent Jack Ross thread. It took 11 days to reach 31 pages and he was actually appointed. And a lot of the posts were expressing complete indifference.
keane animates people one way or another.
JamesHFC
27-04-2022, 09:01 AM
Keane left Ipswich 4th bottom of the championship …
Levein left Hearts bottom of the Premiership.
27-04-2022, 09:02 AM
You must be trolling 😂
Levein left Leicester third bottom of the Championship, Keane won the Championship. Levein went on to manage for a decade after Keane’s last job as manager and still failed to win as many trophies 😂
Ffs it was a joke
27-04-2022, 09:03 AM
But then all of the 'sh*thouse' chat would refer to a Dens Park convenience.
he was entrusted with several different jobs at hearts and made a pigs ear of every one of them.
not a terrible pundit though. A bit like Keane in that respect
edit: ah you were joking. Apologies
JamesHFC
Ffs it was a joke
I’m starting to understand that everything you have said has been a joke.
27-04-2022, 09:04 AM
I’m starting to understand that everything you have said has been a joke.
Oh please.
badabing67
27-04-2022, 09:10 AM
There are loads of interviews out there where Keane talks about Clough and Ferguson. Both these managers were never hands on coaches. Keane describes Ferguson as being clever about who he appointed as the coaches at Man U, such as Steve MacLaren etc. Ferguson overviewed the operation and made sure the sum of the parts worked for him. I think Keane is more than capable of doing the same. Imo we have had a couple of managers recently that have probably been to involved in the coaching. That would be Maloney and Heckingbottom. It looks like Hecky has learned from his time at Hibs. I would love to hear or read a interview with him about his time at Hibs and how his time here has impacted on him.
You don't need to be a good coach to be a good manager, but a good manager needs good coaches round him.
27-04-2022, 09:12 AM
Oh do me a favour. Those of you that don't want him must be living in cloud cuckoo land. We can talk about this till the cows come home but it needs to happen :greengrin
27-04-2022, 09:13 AM
Lets hope Keane only loses the play off them
100% this. Tried and trusted top manager.
Mcbizz1998
27-04-2022, 09:18 AM
100% this. Tried and trusted top manager.
Yes he is, and that’s why he won’t be coming to Hibs.
27-04-2022, 09:19 AM
Keane spotted on a bus to Easter Road, he’s sitting behind Jordi Cruyff😏
JamesHFC
27-04-2022, 09:19 AM
Lets hope Keane only loses the play off them
Why would we hope for that?
Paulie Walnuts
27-04-2022, 09:26 AM
I actually just heard him refer to football as soccer so for that reason alone he needs to go in the bin.
27-04-2022, 09:30 AM
No, I'll continue to post my opinion, thanks.
27-04-2022, 09:30 AM
I actually just heard him refer to football as soccer so for that reason alone he needs to go in the bin.
You'll be binning a lot of Irish people in that case!
Paulie Walnuts
27-04-2022, 09:32 AM
You'll be binning a lot of Irish people in that case!
Victor
27-04-2022, 09:45 AM
Does anyone seriously know how a Club goes about looking for a new manager? Do they place an advert in some trade journal? Do they then receive lots of applications from Football Manager playing wannabees and out of work people like Neil Warnock? Or do they pursue targets from a short-list like Sean Dyche, knowing that they have no chance, or someone like Malky Mackay who is currently doing alright at another Club? Just asking because if and I mean if, someone like Roy Keane applies and they interview him and because of his job in the media and previous experience will interview well, does that make the job just that bit easier? Or do you turn him down because he is controversial and might upset someone? Just makes me realise what a difficult job it is to pick a manager and glad that I am not tasked with doing it. Whoever the Club picks I am sure they will believe that he is the best person for the job, but as we know, only too well, that sometimes just isn’t enough.
27-04-2022, 09:50 AM
If I hated painting I wouldn’t go to do a painting and decorating course to gain qualifications to then paint for a decade.
If that’s what he said he probably said it in a light hearted manner like he usually does with most things he says, he won’t literally hate it.
There’s a lot of tradesmen that done their time, done the job for a while then decided it’s not for them. I know a mechanic that jacked it to go and work for BT a painter that works in a supermarket bakery and I’m sure there are many more.
Anyway I reckon the “hates coaching” stuff means he wants to do the O’Neil role of turning up to watch training and put the fear in players or have a quiet word in someone’s ear - basically doing the man management stuff and let the coaches coach.
27-04-2022, 09:55 AM
It's all ifs, and maybes, a hopefullys.
He's well known and he'll generate interest in the media and possibly the stands. He had some success at Sunderland 14 years ago but was sacked from his second and last job. He hasn't been a manager for over 11 years and he freely admits that he doesn't like coaching.
He assisted Paul Lambert at Aston Villa for 5 months in 2014 and had a similar period at Nottingham Forest in 2019.
He helped Martin O'Neil with the Ireland side which is an entirely different kettle of fish to day to day involvement as manager at a club.
Is there anything I'm ignoring there?
He was complaining that he couldn't get a job but some people got 6 & 7 chances. There must be reasons a high profile individual who was a great player and captained his side to win the Champions League, can't get a job.
Is that not the case with anyone we appoint?
Anyway, i,m hoping it's Keane with Malky as his assistant, should make for some fun here. :greengrin
27-04-2022, 09:55 AM
Keane with Brown as his assistant could potentially be a great partnership IMO. It allows succession planning too because inevitably when Keane was to move on Brown would be the natural successor.
Literally no appointment of a football club manager is guaranteed to work out. Some of the biggest football clubs in the world have made mistakes in appointing managers.
Of course Keane and Brown could be a disaster, but I also think the upside is potentially very high and that's what makes it exciting. That's what footballs meant to be about isn't it?
JamesHFC
27-04-2022, 09:56 AM
Does anyone seriously know how a Club goes about looking for a new manager? Do they place an advert in some trade journal? Do they then receive lots of applications from Football Manager playing wannabees and out of work people like Neil Warnock? Or do they pursue targets from a short-list like Sean Dyche, knowing that they have no chance, or someone like Malky Mackay who is currently doing alright at another Club? Just asking because if and I mean if, someone like Roy Keane applies and they interview him and because of his job in the media and previous experience will interview well, does that make the job just that bit easier? Or do you turn him down because he is controversial and might upset someone? Just makes me realise what a difficult job it is to pick a manager and glad that I am not tasked with doing it. Whoever the Club picks I am sure they will believe that he is the best person for the job, but as we know, only too well, that sometimes just isn’t enough.
I’m sure some clubs are always looking into succession planning so they are prepared for when their manager moves on for whatever reason. So they will already have a name in mind of who they want to bring in quickly.
Just_Jimmy
27-04-2022, 10:09 AM
I've met Roy Keane a few times. I've found him to be humble, very interesting, intelligent, very quick witted with a really dry sense of humour and he cares deeply about his family, and the clubs he's dealt with in the past. His standards are high and he refuses to make apologies for that. He's nothing like his TV personality, in person.
None of that means he'd be a good manager for hibs but nothing ever does. I'd be willing to see how it goes.
Sent from my SM-G991B using Tapatalk
I've met Roy Keane a few times. I've found him to be humble, very interesting, intelligent, very quick witted with a really dry sense of humour and he cares deeply about his family, and the clubs he's dealt with in the past. His standards are high and he refuses to make apologies for that. He's nothing like his TV personality, in person.
None of that means he'd be a good manager for hibs but nothing ever does. I'd be willing to see how it goes.
👌
Mr. Wonderful
27-04-2022, 10:16 AM
Was he surprisingly down to earth and very funny?
27-04-2022, 10:31 AM
[emoji1][emoji106]
27-04-2022, 10:32 AM
Roy Keane? Are we in showbiz or what? Can't we just get a man in who knows the SPL?
27-04-2022, 10:34 AM
Another day goes by I'll actually be disappointed now if he's not in by the weekend.