View Full Version : Match Updates Hibs v Hearts
JamesHFC
01-02-2022, 09:22 PM
Happy with that performance tonight. When shots like that get blocked off the line it’s just not your day. We can take a lot more positives than negatives from that. Give Maloney time and we will do well. Couple more injuries is frustrating.
Martin Boyle would have had a field day tonight btw.
01-02-2022, 09:24 PM
We needed this tonight to get the fans happier again.
If we can fix the middle to front we will start winning more games - hopefully we will see improvements and a win Saturday would help.
01-02-2022, 09:25 PM
Porteous holding his heid to disguise stevensons hand ball was the best bit of cheating *****housery I've ever seen. GIRUY
Well done to all. Club really stood up a bit tonight. Dabrowski did superb and Newell was like a man possessed.
Need to keep those effort and intensity levels up and gel then we'll be just fine.
Listening it In the car on the way home. From the free kick in the box near the end Porteous handles the ball should have been a penalty but Porteous conned the referee making out the ball hit him in the face. Couldn't see that from the Famous Five upper but Gordon having a right go. And English having a pop at Maloney for saying it was a good game and that we had chances.
So much media is anti Hibs.
Not sure why they are all so bitter. Obviously Boyd and McCann don’t like us.
NC1875
01-02-2022, 09:26 PM
Porteous holding his heid to disguise stevensons hand ball was the best bit of cheating *****housery I've ever seen. GIRUY
Exactly. If it was Sibbick at the other end they’d be saying it was “clever”
Witch hunt against Porteous from the usual Jambo/hun pundits. Disgusting
01-02-2022, 09:26 PM
I enjoyed that a lot more than I thought I would, I can see a way of playing developing. No more comments, I'm away to get even more pissed than I am. 🍺
01-02-2022, 09:27 PM
I thought we'd get scudded tonight. My Jambo mates did too. They're raging haha. Sub keeper in goals and a team getting used to a completely new system. Poor Hearts.
01-02-2022, 09:27 PM
Need to find a way to play at that tempo every week and against the smaller clubs. Easier said than done , but thats what gets the fans backing you every week
tonyrougier123
01-02-2022, 09:29 PM
Newell was superb.real leadership qualities.grabbed midfield bt scruff of the neck and in about it.composure of him porteous and Bushiri really steadied the team.
percy veer
01-02-2022, 09:29 PM
Exactly. If it was Sibbick at the other end they’d be saying it was “clever”
Witch hunt against Porteous from the usual Jambo/hun pundits. Disgusting
Watched presley do this for years , loved it when porto done it back , as for the media get it up them about time we called it out
Hopefully injury not to bad.
🤞
01-02-2022, 09:30 PM
A much much better performance from us tonight than we've had of late. We were afraid to be a little bit more direct and run the channels, which made a big difference for us. We were much more positive with the players trying to play forward much more often.
Few thoughts on the players:
Kev dabrowski was very good. Derby clean sheet on debut and his post game interview is compelling, delighted for him.
Rocky was solid and had a good battle with Sims, who was a handful at times.
Porteous was great, really impressed tonight. Great on the ball, drove us forward at times and imperious in the air.
Stevenson played very well especially after an early yellow, great in the air and good distribution. Lucky not to give away a pen, looked it at the time from my seat but I gather we should have had one from Rocky's header in their box.
Cadden worked halliday well and puts in some amount of effort. Under Ross I didn't think he offered too much at times other than being a workhorse but Maloney is bringing his game to another level.
Josh doig played very well and I hope his injury isn't a bad one.
JDH was a warrior in the middle of the park tonight and good on the ball. Want to see that from him every week.
Newell, superb. Was so up for it, cajoling teammates throughout and winning tackle after tackle. Again, hope it's not a serious injury.
Mueller was decent, tidy on the ball and tried to create and drive at them. Once he gets his first goal, it'll be a big help to him but I like what I've seen so far.
Nisbet, carried off where he finished against livi, lost the ball occasionally but generally very good and a goal will come. Impressed.
Doidge, I feel bad as I'm constantly criticising him but he was far and away our worst player tonight for me. He's a couple yards slow of the play and although he worked hard, we need more quality from him.
Henderson and Mitchell impressed when they came on. Wright tried to out himself about but it just hasn't worked for him here. Campbell, not great, and massive chance to win the game, it is good positioning from sibbick, but I can't help but think there's a big gap that Campbell should place it into.
Ahwell, the performance generally was good. Full of heart and grit, every player worked hard and, for me, makes me think we might be moving in the right direction.
01-02-2022, 09:31 PM
A much much better performance from us tonight than we've had of late. We were afraid to be a little bit more direct and run the channels, which made a big difference for us. We were much more positive with the players trying to play forward much more often.
Few thoughts on the players:
Kev dabrowski was very good. Derby clean sheet on debut and his post game interview is compelling, delighted for him.
Rocky was solid and had a good battle with Sims, who was a handful at times.
Porteous was great, really impressed tonight. Great on the ball, drove us forward at times and imperious in the air.
Stevenson played very well especially after an early yellow, great in the air and good distribution. Lucky not to give away a pen, looked it at the time from my seat but I gather we should have had one from Rocky's header in their box.
Cadden worked halliday well and puts in some amount of effort. Under Ross I didn't think he offered too much at times other than being a workhorse but Maloney is bringing his game to another level.
Josh doig played very well and I hope his injury isn't a bad one.
JDH was a warrior in the middle of the park tonight and good on the ball. Want to see that from him every week.
Newell, superb. Was so up for it, cajoling teammates throughout and winning tackle after tackle. Again, hope it's not a serious injury.
Mueller was decent, tidy on the ball and tried to create and drive at them. Once he gets his first goal, it'll be a big help to him but I like what I've seen so far.
Nisbet, carried off where he finished against livi, lost the ball occasionally but generally very good and a goal will come. Impressed.
Doidge, I feel bad as I'm constantly criticising him but he was far and away our worst player tonight for me. He's a couple yards slow of the play and although he worked hard, we need more quality from him.
Henderson and Mitchell impressed when they came on. Wright tried to out himself about but it just hasn't worked for him here. Campbell, not great, and massive chance to win the game, it is good positioning from sibbick, but I can't help but think there's a big gap that Campbell should place it into.
Ahwell, the performance generally was good. Full of heart and grit, every player worked hard and, for me, makes me think we might be moving in the right direction.I thought Campbell done well to control his shot on seeing the replay
Sent from my VOG-L29 using Tapatalk
01-02-2022, 09:37 PM
I’m not listening but anyone wanting to have a go at Porteous after his performance tonight needs their head examined. He was the best player on the park.
Ryan just got his big summer move tonight.
01-02-2022, 09:40 PM
You got next Saturdays lottery numbers?
Best way to win the lottery is to buy a ticket.
01-02-2022, 09:40 PM
What was the carry on with Maloney and Neilson at the end ? Handshake was odd.
Porto outstanding and excellent from Kev D.
Our midfield and lack of forward passing can be so frustrating at times - looks like Newell could miss a game or so if he’s done something to his knee.
Great fight though from Hibs and team spirit looked solid - we just need more quality.
Think Maloney needed a pish.
01-02-2022, 09:42 PM
That was much more like it, but Maloney has his work cut out for him for the rest of this season.
I am absolutely staggered by how far off fitness some of the new guys and Doidge are
Muller is nowhere near ready for a full game, Mitchell was toling after 20 minutes, Bushiri got progressively more dodgy as the game went on and Doidge is so far of it it is scary.
I would bet that some of the existing players are playing through injuries, the haphazard team selection indicates this
I am not for one moment saying they are poor players but they are IMO a long long way from being match fit, wtf have they been doing at their old clubs
I personally won't be making any judgments on Maloney until next season, come what may.
NC1875
01-02-2022, 09:47 PM
You got next Saturdays lottery numbers?
Nope but if you think Doidge will be here beyond the summer if he plays like that every week you’ll be disappointed. Wouldn’t get a game for a Junior side on that showing
01-02-2022, 09:49 PM
That was much more like it, but Maloney has his work cut out for him for the rest of this season.
I am absolutely staggered by how far off fitness some of the new guys and Doidge are
Muller is nowhere near ready for a full game, Mitchell was toling after 20 minutes, Bushiri got progressively more dodgy as the game went on and Doidge is so far of it it is scary.
I would bet that some of the existing players are playing through injuries, the haphazard team selection indicates this
I am not for one moment saying they are poor players but they are IMO a long long way from being match fit, wtf have they been doing at their old clubs
I personally won't be making any judgments on Maloney until next season, come what may.
It's all through returning from injury or not having much game time the past few months though surely? That will come naturally over the next few weeks. It's the main reason each player hasn't started back to back matches when possible.
1875Sean
01-02-2022, 09:50 PM
Nope but if you think Doidge will be here beyond the summer if he plays like that every week you’ll be disappointed. Wouldn’t get a game for a Junior side on that showing
But harsh, he will still be getting over a serious injury, few more games and he will be back up to speed
01-02-2022, 09:50 PM
83rd minute till a shot on target from us.
Meh...
Several of the new players have not played much and in Mueller's case it's effectily the beginning of a new season (having finished a full season 9 weeks ago) where he's only had one bounce game compared to the usual 3 or 4 players would normally get, to get up to batch fitness. Plus some of the new guys will need to get used to the fast pace of Scottish football.
01-02-2022, 09:52 PM
Yet he starts for 5th in the spl????
Guy is quality. Just back from a brutal injury. Hope he's here for years.
01-02-2022, 09:52 PM
It's all through returning from injury or not having much game time the past few months though surely? That will come naturally over the next few weeks. It's the main reason each player hasn't started back to back matches when possible.
We have got to hope so and I think so, but IMO they are very far off it at present, far further than I would have expected, far worse than I am used to seeing in pre-season and afaik only Doidge is recovering from long term injury, the other just not playing so much
NC1875
01-02-2022, 09:54 PM
Yet he starts for 5th in the spl????
Guy is quality. Just back from a brutal injury. Hope he's here for years.
You thought Doidge was quality tonight ? Dearie me!
percy veer
01-02-2022, 09:57 PM
Meh...
Just watched the highlights on BBC?
No, I don't. Wasn't his night. Boyce was also utterly gash but he's a good player too.
Doidge will get a goal and go on a run again soon. Proved himself enough now.
What is the rule with passbacks? I thought if it's a shanked pass forcing a save its not given?
If it’s a shanked clearance that ends up going towards goal then it can be saved, if the defender is sliding in attempting to block it and the ball goes towards goal off of him it can be saved.
If it’s a deliberate pass back it can’t be picked up, even if it’s sliced or not.
I thought he was OK
Nisbet needs benched. May as well play without a striker.
Great for Dabrowski to get a clean sheet on his debut. Hopefully he gets a run of games.
Nisbet was playing off scraps all night. Decent battling performance, his shooting was disappointing but he did ok imo.
01-02-2022, 09:59 PM
Only on a Derby day thread….have a quick look back at this thread, there’s a fellah has us all over them on 20 mins but by the half hour mark we’ve lost the midfield! Hysteria. Folk would be better just going to the odd game. And tonight’s was very entertaining.
01-02-2022, 10:00 PM
Just watched the highlights on BBC?
I was at the game.
01-02-2022, 10:02 PM
Only on a Derby day thread….have a quick look back at this thread, there’s a fellah has us all over them on 20 mins but by the half hour mark we’ve lost the midfield! Hysteria. Folk would be better just going to the odd game. And tonight’s was very entertaining.
I pretty much agree with you although I would argue that the example you’ve given is entirely possible 😁
Saint Hibee
01-02-2022, 10:02 PM
Porteous and Newell both immense. Also thought Nisbet actually played really well, despite some posters having it in for him.
Great atmosphere, too, although I could’ve done without the Rudi Skacel song…
01-02-2022, 10:04 PM
I pretty much agree with you although I would argue that the example you’ve given is entirely possible 😁
Can’t say I’ve seen it happen in my puff.
01-02-2022, 10:06 PM
Can’t say I’ve seen it happen in my puff.
You’ve never seen a team be all over the opposition at 20 minutes and then be losing the midfield battle ten minutes later? Fair enough - as I say I agree with your overall point in any case
01-02-2022, 10:07 PM
Anyone know what injury Paul Hanlon has got and how long he may be out ?
01-02-2022, 10:09 PM
Anyone know what injury Paul Hanson has got and how long he may be out ?
Just a wee mmbop to the leg I think.
01-02-2022, 10:10 PM
Just a wee mmbop to the leg I think.Underrated
Saint Hibee
01-02-2022, 10:10 PM
10/10
hibee62
01-02-2022, 10:11 PM
Meh...
This stuff really annoys me. Off the top of my head I can think of 3 times we came close to scoring, in a first half we dominated:
Doidge sclaffed header.
Point blank block on Rocky’s header.
Desperate deflection on Mueller’s cross taking it away from Doidge.
None resulted in shots on target though so we didn’t play well…?
01-02-2022, 10:12 PM
You’ve never seen a team be all over the opposition at 20 minutes and then be losing the midfield battle ten minutes later? Fair enough - as I say I agree with your overall point in any case
I’ve never seen it lost in that 10 minute spell, no. That’s what I said. Yes, I think that’s about that.
01-02-2022, 10:12 PM
Outstanding
01-02-2022, 10:14 PM
Highlights are infuriating at the end - if Henderson shouts that the ball's his, or Nisbet doesn't ignore it and stays still instead of aimlessly making a beeline for him, he's got an absolute tap-in.
hfc-1875
01-02-2022, 10:14 PM
Porto different class tonight, as was newell. Big rocky was decent although I feel like he’s got a touch of the efe Ambrose about him,
A bit too cool at times 😂
I felt we had absolutely nothing up front today nisbet not too bad had a few decent touches etc but I thought doidge was honking, usually a fan of the big man.
Drey wright and Campbell wouldnt play for any other team in the spl how they get on before Scott Allan I’ll never know absolutely woeful
01-02-2022, 10:15 PM
😂😂 Fantastic
Argylehibby
01-02-2022, 10:16 PM
Meh...
Rocky had a header in the first half net bound but hits the defender and goes over. It doesn’t count as a shot on target yet if it doesn’t hit the defender it’s a goal. Campbell has one kicked off the line in closing minutes and that counts. How does that work?
01-02-2022, 10:20 PM
I’ve never seen it lost in that 10 minute spell, no. That’s what I said. Yes, I think that’s about that.
👍 hibs must have been decent tonight - even the good ol’ Iggy Smarminess isn’t irritating this evening
01-02-2022, 10:21 PM
If you weren’t entertained by that you should knock it on the head. Excellent hard working performance from Hibs. No negatives from any of the starting 11. We lost the midfield a bit when Newell went off as he was outstanding tonight.
01-02-2022, 10:28 PM
Rocky had a header in the first half net bound but hits the defender and goes over. It doesn’t count as a shot on target yet if it doesn’t hit the defender it’s a goal. Campbell has one kicked off the line in closing minutes and that counts. How does that work?
Cos it's not on target.
If yer Auntie had baws... 😏
01-02-2022, 10:30 PM
If we play like that against Arbroath, we should handle that game with something to spare. The guys, who have marked that game as a real test, which, if conditions are against us, we could easily lose, might want to reconsider. I’m not underestimating Arbroath, but I don’t think we have anything to fear from them
01-02-2022, 10:31 PM
If you weren’t entertained by that you should knock it on the head. Excellent hard working performance from Hibs. No negatives from any of the starting 11. We lost the midfield a bit when Newell went off as he was outstanding tonight.
Said much the same earlier. It was just an entertaining game of football.
Don't think there's a single player who played poorly for us tonight and already buzzing for Saturday.
01-02-2022, 10:33 PM
Wouldn’t say no negatives (without trying to be negative). Lack of quality in the final third. Didn’t think we lost anything after Newell went off either, were better in the latter part of the second half than the early part.
We need someone who can spark us in the final third because we won’t play with the intensity we did in a game like tonight every week.
Hibsred
01-02-2022, 10:36 PM
Enjoyed the match, thought most of our players performed well. Doidge and Nisbet both did a job of sorts, but neither
look particularly sharp, though in fairness there wasn’t
much to get sharp about up top.
01-02-2022, 10:36 PM
How annoying was that wee Australian prick for them tonight. Serious small man syndrome. Like a mini Ian Black.
Criswell
01-02-2022, 10:39 PM
Don't think I have ever seen a game played at such a blistering pace for 90 mins.
Was the chance at the end a brilliant block or a bad miss?
Campbell took it first time on his left foot so maybe just really unlucky
01-02-2022, 10:42 PM
He was unlucky. Keeps it down, beats the keeper. Hit it clean, would have probably scored if he’d scuffed it.
01-02-2022, 10:42 PM
Good defending in my opinion. Campbell did everything right. Got to the ball, beat the keeper and got the shot on target. Can't fault him for that.
01-02-2022, 10:43 PM
Campbell took it first time on his left foot so maybe just really unluckyI think Sibbick done well but got lucky
Campbell also done well to control his shot which wasn't an easy chance and got a bit unlucky
01-02-2022, 10:51 PM
No, I don't. Wasn't his night. Boyce was also utterly gash but he's a good player too.
Doidge will get a goal and go on a run again soon. Proved himself enough now.
He isn’t yet back to form he was in prior to his injury and looks a bit thinner to me was losing 50 / 50 s and tiring but stamina will come the more he plays and as you say when he gets one he will go on a wee scoring run again
01-02-2022, 10:51 PM
Anyone seen the highlights back off Rockys header which was cleared and our offside goal?
Mentioned on the way home by some it was the wrong decision for both with suggestion of a pen?
Don’t know if this is clutching to try and even out hearts decisions
01-02-2022, 10:52 PM
Anyone seen the highlights back off Rockys header which was cleared and our offside goal?
Mentioned on the way home by some it was the wrong decision for both with suggestion of a pen?
Saw the offside goal and thought Porteous was just off when the ball was played in.
gaz1875
01-02-2022, 10:56 PM
I thought Porteous was in line when he headed across the goal. Maybe green tinted glasses but I think it should have been given.
01-02-2022, 11:01 PM
He was unlucky. Keeps it down, beats the keeper. Hit it clean, would have probably scored if he’d scuffed it.
Beat Gordon but the ball then just cannons off the guy on the line.
Campbell did fine tonight.
This was a big, big match for our manager too, the atmosphere clearly made a huge impression on him.
I’ll be honest, Hearts could have had two penalties tonight and we couldn’t have complained about either. We had less possession, little control and often couldn’t keep the ball. Very little composure in attack.
However, this is balanced by a battling team performance and some outstanding individual displays. Reasons for optimism, definitely.
01-02-2022, 11:02 PM
How annoying was that wee Australian prick for them tonight. Serious small man syndrome. Like a mini Ian Black.
Really is an annoying wee git. I hadn’t realised he was Australian til you said. Noticed him being a prick against other teams on the tv… didn’t let us down tonigh.
Posted this earlier on. Might be able to get better screen grab when the match is available on Hibs TV.
Rocky's header was actually blocked by defender's arm but it happened so quickly you can hardly see it. Can't even freeze frame it when the ball makes contact because 1 frame is just before it and the next is just after. Under current rules it is a clear penalty, arm is up and it blocked a shot on target. Doesn't matter that it was accidental.
Picture quality is poor as I don't have Sky Sports in HD. Someone with HD and a better camera than mine could probably get better quality.
https://i.ibb.co/9tWNnvN/20220201-202551.jpg (https://ibb.co/BNBtLPt)
https://i.ibb.co/4j8PNXL/20220201-202556-012.jpg (https://ibb.co/ZhBWTFr)
https://i.ibb.co/PhwbtLv/20220201-202606.jpg (https://ibb.co/mq6YSjV)
01-02-2022, 11:03 PM
This was a big, big match for our manager too, the atmosphere clearly made a huge impression on him.
I’ll be honest, Hearts could have had two penalties tonight and we couldn’t have complained about either. We had less possession, little control and often couldn’t keep the ball. Very little composure in attack.
However, this is balanced by a battling team performance and some outstanding individual displays. Reasons for optimism, definitely.
Stevenson one early doors was in front of me and I thought he did well but haven’t seen any replays. What was second one again?
01-02-2022, 11:05 PM
Stevenson one early doors was in front of me and I thought he did well but haven’t seen any replays. What was second one again?
Stevenson hand ball after their free kick in our box. Both pens in my opinion. But so was Rocky's header
JamesHFC
01-02-2022, 11:06 PM
I’m glad that other results went our way tonight. Motherwell and Hearts got the Old Firm this weekend so a win against St Mirren is huge to get us back into the top four and cut the gap on Hearts.
01-02-2022, 11:07 PM
Stevenson hand ball after their free kick in our box. Both pens in my opinion. But so was Rocky's header
Was that in second half? Or maybe during me having a single fish. Can’t recall the incident.. maybe will when see the highlights 👍
Amount of folk conceding they both looked like pens probably tells the story right enough..
01-02-2022, 11:08 PM
Campbell did do all right when he came on. I think it did show that we should pretty much never see him, Newell and JDH on the park at the same time though.
I’m not sure it’s composure we’re lacking in attack, just quality and we have been all season. We need one of the new boys to come in and give us a bit of spark.
Hope Doig and Newell are both OK, thought both were really good. Doig is showing signs of getting some form back.
01-02-2022, 11:13 PM
First half we played quick, got it out wide early and were the better side. Hearts never allowed us to play short bye kicks etc and that helped us imo. Second half we were far slower in possession and that meant Cadden was hardly involved and we ended up playing most of the half in our own half. Last 10 mins we finished strongly. Good game to watch and fair result
WYHibbees
01-02-2022, 11:16 PM
Very fun for a nil-niller. Can't be complaining about a draw but it would have been great to take all three points. Shocking another first XI midfielder wasn't added to the team this window - great games from both Newell and JDH, but Drey Wright subbing in the 60th minute vs Hearts on February 1 no less, screams "tell me how you had a bad transfer window without telling me you had a bad transfer window". Campbell over Allan tells me they should have just shipped Allan out, and again - Campbell coming into an early February derby at all isn't exactly a good sign.
Step in the right direction - let's get all three against St. Mirren and get on with it.
01-02-2022, 11:20 PM
Very fun for a nil-niller. Can't be complaining about a draw but it would have been great to take all three points. Shocking another first XI midfielder wasn't added to the team this window - great games from both Newell and JDH, but Drey Wright subbing in the 60th minute vs Hearts on February 1 no less, screams "tell me how you had a bad transfer window without telling me you had a bad transfer window". Campbell over Allan tells me they should have just shipped Allan out, and again - Campbell coming into an early February derby at all isn't exactly a good sign.
Step in the right direction - let's get all three against St. Mirren and get on with it.
Wright worries me, he looked really fatigued at the end for a 30 min performance.
01-02-2022, 11:21 PM
Battled really well, most fight I’ve seen from us for a while.
Probably a point a piece was fair in the end but we could’ve and maybe should’ve snatched it. I’m not going to over do it & celebrate a draw though.
He needs to stop persisting with Drey Wright. The guys just not got it, he does more bad than good.
02-02-2022, 12:09 AM
With regards to the penalty crap, the first was just a " coming together" between 5'6" Lewis & 8 '10" Simms who went down like he had been shot by a sniper in the stands.
Second claim is ridiculous, after the free kick given for our keeper handling the Rocky pass back the ball broke to one of them & he hammered a shot for goal. Stevenson looked like he was stretching to try & block the shot from about 3 years away. Yes it hit his right arm but considering he was in the position he was, his arm was "in a natural position" for the movement he was making, No penalty as he wasn't deliberately making his body bigger.
Tom English is a fudd.
02-02-2022, 12:43 AM
With regards to the penalty crap, the first was just a " coming together" between 5'6" Lewis & 8 '10" Simms who went down like he had been shot by a sniper in the stands.
Second claim is ridiculous, after the free kick given for our keeper handling the Rocky pass back the ball broke to one of them & he hammered a shot for goal. Stevenson looked like he was stretching to try & block the shot from about 3 years away. Yes it hit his right arm but considering he was in the position he was, his arm was "in a natural position" for the movement he was making, No penalty as he wasn't deliberately making his body bigger.
Tom English is a fudd.
10/10
02-02-2022, 04:02 AM
Stevensons block def no penalty. Too close to him. The other challenge was squeaky but time. Draw was about right.
hibeg
02-02-2022, 04:03 AM
Tom English is a fudd.
Agree with you on the second claim but the first was a penalty all day long IMO. Anywhere else on the pitch it’s a free kick. It’s not a coming together, Lewis charges into the guy.
02-02-2022, 04:40 AM
Very optimistic after this game. There are good options on the bench too.
We have pace on the flanks. I can't see Boyle would have improved us except perhaps his fear factor.
He would probably have been missing anyway as he was on WC duty yesterday.
02-02-2022, 06:34 AM
👍 hibs must have been decent tonight - even the good ol’ Iggy Smarminess isn’t irritating this evening
I can think of one or two that would take that personally, lucky I’m not one of them.
02-02-2022, 06:37 AM
I can think of one or two that would take that personally, lucky I’m not one of them.
Everyone needs smarm from time to time. It’s probably a complement :agree:
Rocky seemed to be excellent for 55 mins then fell off a cliff. Looked out on his feet. Once he gets fully up to speed he will be an excellent singing.
Pretty Green
02-02-2022, 06:38 AM
BBC commentators were seething haha funny as f##k
02-02-2022, 06:40 AM
Everyone needs smarm from time to time. It’s probably a complement :agree:
I doubt it. :wink:
02-02-2022, 08:09 AM
I loved that game last night. We could have lost and we could have won. Crackling derby atmosphere. Hibs fans, despite a nervy second half, generally on top form.
Strangely coinciding with our improved results at tynecastle, it’s now 5 home derbys without a win. That needs to be put right.
Crunchie
02-02-2022, 08:13 AM
Midfield needs to use the ball better.
Newell was great, Porteous brilliant.
We’ve just not got a good enough midfield.
Both JDH and Newell were great last night, JDH man of the match for me.
Crunchie
02-02-2022, 08:32 AM
Do you stand by this opinion?
He looked very nervous in the first half and got away with one when he sclaffed it out to the boy who headed it over, understandable being his debut and it being a derby, second half he made some great saves but I'd still prefer Macey.
Crunchie
02-02-2022, 08:38 AM
The desire and passion from Lewis and Porto at the freekick by the way speaks volumes.
Kind of gutted Campbell didn’t put that chance away at the end.
Lewis deserves a statue, the commitment and desire from the wee man every game is something I hope the youngsters at the club are taking on board.
He took it up a notch last night for me especially after his early booking.
Crunchie
02-02-2022, 08:47 AM
It was my first game for a couple of years, I must be getting old I thought it was a throwback to the drab 0-0's of the late 80's.
Then again maybe it's because I was in with the prawn sandwich brigade and there wasn't the atmosphere of the east :confused:
02-02-2022, 09:11 AM
Lewis deserves a statue, the commitment and desire from the wee man every game is something I hope the youngsters at the club are taking on board.
He took it up a notch last night for me especially after his early booking.
I thought he wasn’t at his best tbh, opinions, eh.
02-02-2022, 09:13 AM
It was my first game for a couple of years, I must be getting old I thought it was a throwback to the drab 0-0's of the late 80's.
Then again maybe it's because I was in with the prawn sandwich brigade and there wasn't the atmosphere of the east :confused:
Drab!?!
It was end to end stuff. A brilliant 0-0.
Annoying we didn’t win it, but it wasn’t drab.
02-02-2022, 09:16 AM
Both JDH and Newell were great last night, JDH man of the match for me.
I agree. I think JDH is a very good player but has suffered in recent games because we do not have the right blend in midfield yet.
Both him and Newell worked their socks off last night and drove us forward.
Crunchie
02-02-2022, 09:22 AM
I thought he wasn’t at his best tbh, opinions, eh.
I don't think he was at his best either, and tbh I think we've seen his best, but boy does he put a shift in epitomised by that block for their free kick in the box.
02-02-2022, 11:26 AM
Loving the whinging coming from across the city, very sweet to have decisions go our way for a change after some that have gone against us in years gone by.
02-02-2022, 11:49 AM
https://twitter.com/BushiriRocky/status/1488640427569856528?t=gfN98dTSmVeAPDqV_nGPMw&s=19
Maybe explains rockys last 20-30 [emoji23][emoji23]
02-02-2022, 01:10 PM
Game on sky sports again just now.
andudare2
02-02-2022, 05:36 PM
Quick visit over keekback ,now referring to themselves as part of the big three,Dabrowski should have been sent off for handling the passback🤣😍 ,Newalls a thug who Maloney took of after he was booked nothing to do with injury he recieved . Oh aye and there was nowt wrong with Devlins stamp on Muller 🤣🤣🤣🤣
02-02-2022, 05:38 PM
Quick visit over keekback ,now referring to themselves as part of the big three,Dabrowski should have been sent off for handling the passback🤣😍 ,Newalls a thug who Maloney took of after he was booked nothing to do with injury he recieved . Oh aye and there was nowt wrong with Devlins stamp on Muller 🤣🤣🤣🤣
The big three hahaha. They were in the Championship last season being knocked out cups by Highland league teams. They must be due another relegation soon.
02-02-2022, 05:41 PM
Drab!?!
It was end to end stuff. A brilliant 0-0.
Annoying we didn’t win it, but it wasn’t drab.
180 minutes without a goal in derbies this season but both have been cracking games.
02-02-2022, 05:45 PM
They really really are alarmingly delusional. I've never known of folk so obsessed with how big they are or where their standing in the game is.
Reality is there is very little between us, Aberdeen and them and even then, who really cares? If you support a team just because they are part of 'the big three' then there's something wrong.
02-02-2022, 05:47 PM
Quick visit over keekback ,now referring to themselves as part of the big three,Dabrowski should have been sent off for handling the passback[emoji1787][emoji7] ,Newalls a thug who Maloney took of after he was booked nothing to do with injury he recieved . Oh aye and there was nowt wrong with Devlins stamp on Muller [emoji1787][emoji1787][emoji1787][emoji1787]I know it's not the rules but I do think if the keeper does that so blatently there is argument to make it a sending off
02-02-2022, 05:47 PM
They really really are alarmingly delusional. I've never known of folk so obsessed with how big they are or where their standing in the game is.
Reality is there is very little between us, Aberdeen and them and even then, who really cares? If you support a team just because they are part of 'the big three' then there's something wrong.
Hearts a little piece of jobbie on Rantics shoe just like the rest of us. The big three hahaha.
02-02-2022, 05:48 PM
I know it's not the rules but I do think if the keeper does that so blatently there is argument to make it a sending off
Why is there an argument for it? Its a free kick, nothing more
Hibees1973
02-02-2022, 05:50 PM
Loving the whinging coming from across the city, very sweet to have decisions go our way for a change after some that have gone against us in years gone by.
Correct...ignoring the fact that 'goals' we scored against them over the years were chalked off. VAR would have sorted these as well.
andudare2
02-02-2022, 05:52 PM
I know it's not the rules but I do think if the keeper does that so blatently there is argument to make it a sending off
Sent from my VOG-L29 using TapatalkThats another argument/point all together,as you say yourself at this moment in time it's not in the rules however the zoomers over the road are demanding to know why Dabrowski wasn't sent of last night probably just because it was v them.
Hibees1973
02-02-2022, 05:54 PM
Yes...their last 3 cup wins were won on a mountain of debt which should have liquidated them. In reality they've not won anything legitimately for nearly 60 years. Big 3. Astonishing.
02-02-2022, 05:56 PM
A GK can’t even be booked, never mind sent off, for handling a back pass inside his own box. Even if it was going in the goal. It’s defined as a handling offence which is why the opposition get an indirect free kick.
Outside the box is a different matter because then it would be a direct free kick and in most cases a red.
andudare2
02-02-2022, 05:59 PM
A GK can’t even be booked, never mind sent off, for handling a back pass inside his own box. Even if it was going in the goal. It’s defined as a handling offence which is why the opposition get an indirect free kick.
Outside the box is a different matter because then it would be a direct free kick and in most cases a red.
Spot on😁👍
02-02-2022, 06:11 PM
Why is there an argument for it? Its a free kick, nothing moreBecause its about as clear as denying a goal scoring opportunity as you can get
Obviosuly that isn't the rules now but I think it should be looked at
https://twitter.com/BushiriRocky/status/1488640427569856528?t=gfN98dTSmVeAPDqV_nGPMw&s=19
Maybe explains rockys last 20-30 [emoji23][emoji23]
Surprised Mueller's boot isn't the same after the dirty rat Devlin's stamp on him. He wasn't anywhere near the ball, should have been a red.
https://i.ibb.co/5hXcVgb/Screenshot-20220202-191540-Chrome.jpg (https://ibb.co/0ypJ3RH)
02-02-2022, 06:19 PM
You must be. I enjoyed it, first game I’ve enjoyed in a while, probably since the LC semi.
02-02-2022, 06:21 PM
Because its about as clear as denying a goal scoring opportunity as you can get
Obviosuly that isn't the rules now but I think it should be looked at
Last night yes it saved a goal but not every time it happens so where is the line drawn
02-02-2022, 06:22 PM
Nonsense. Although to be fair to the cardigan wearing, florid faced, Rover driving buffoons, Newell committed a good 4 or 5 fouls before he was booked, some of them worthy of a booking as well. With a different ref he could have been sent off. Absolutely delighted he bullied them.
02-02-2022, 06:23 PM
Surprised Mueller's boot isn't the same after the dirty rat Devlin's stamp on him. He wasn't anywhere near the ball, should have been a red.
https://i.ibb.co/5hXcVgb/Screenshot-20220202-191540-Chrome.jpg (https://ibb.co/0ypJ3RH)
Alloa player got a retrospective 2 match ban for very similar after the recent cup game v celtic. Porto got a 3 game ban for a wee flick out to the spuds v Aberdeen. Both if those were trial by TV. What's happening to this disgusting wee rat? Diddly squat would be my guess at its the jambos darlings of the media
02-02-2022, 06:28 PM
Last night yes it saved a goal but not every time it happens so where is the line drawnWe have likes and judgements on every foul. I'm sure it could be worked out
Still lived seeing them livid [emoji106][emoji106][emoji23]
02-02-2022, 06:32 PM
Tell your dad 😂. He thought it was a red card offence
02-02-2022, 06:33 PM
Why is there an argument for it? Its a free kick, nothing more
Thinking about it. If the rule states a goalkeeper can’t handle the ball from a passbavk maybe Fifa should consider treating it like any other handball inside the 18 yard box and make it a penalty. Just a thought. Wouldn’t have benefited us last night thankfully but would maybe be a better award than those stupid indirect free kicks inside the box that hardly ever result in a goal.
02-02-2022, 06:36 PM
Tell your dad 😂. He thought it was a red card offence
It’s not like him to get the rules wrong, I’m always having to correct him :duck: 🤣
02-02-2022, 06:40 PM
Thinking about it. If the rule states a goalkeeper can’t handle the ball from a passbavk maybe Fifa should consider treating it like any other handball inside the 18 yard box and make it a penalty. Just a thought. Wouldn’t have benefited us last night thankfully but would maybe be a better award than those stupid indirect free kicks inside the box that hardly ever result in a goal.
You sir, are an eejit!
02-02-2022, 06:44 PM
Dirty *******.
02-02-2022, 06:46 PM
You sir, are an eejit!
Thinking outside the (18 yd)box neebur.:greengrin
02-02-2022, 07:26 PM
Dirty *******.
That picture should be all over social media, perhaps also sent to Lee the grass so he could promote it better. he should have been off never mind the tramps whinging about debatable penalties, no debate about that tackle it was and is a red card.
:cb
02-02-2022, 07:42 PM
It’s not like him to get the rules wrong, I’m always having to correct him :duck: 🤣
😂😂
02-02-2022, 07:45 PM
That would be a better solution i think, makes sense though so cant see uefa or fifa going for it
I'm Spartacus
02-02-2022, 07:58 PM
Our 2 offside calls were very very close, one a goal the other off the post. Their chances could easily have been scored. The pens were pens unfortunately. All that aside, i thought we had some great passages of play, closing down was ideal, balls down the wing were giving us success and i really hope we keep that intensity against everyone else as we will pick up a shed load of points.
Far more positive than I feared!
02-02-2022, 10:01 PM
I’ll take that.
02-02-2022, 11:04 PM
Campbell did do all right when he came on. I think it did show that we should pretty much never see him, Newell and JDH on the park at the same time though.
I’m not sure it’s composure we’re lacking in attack, just quality and we have been all season. We need one of the new boys to come in and give us a bit of spark.
Hope Doig and Newell are both OK, thought both were really good. Doig is showing signs of getting some form back.
I like Doidge, Nisbet and Mueller. I can see them doing well together. And we’ve got new options too.