View Full Version : Match Updates Celtc v Hibs
17-01-2022, 08:29 PM
Not sure why Bradley has got on the park tonight when we still had 15 mins to salvage something. Looks lost.
Because Joe Newell told him to
:faf: That did make me laugh.
hibee316
17-01-2022, 08:30 PM
In your opinion. We’ve barely troubled them
We have not laid a glove on them.
Not the first team this season. Definitely not the last.
EVENTUALLY
Because Joe Newell told him to
you sure?
Thought is was JDH
:faf: That did make me laugh.
Just trying to lighten the mood…
What have we been working on the last two weeks?
Steve88
17-01-2022, 08:31 PM
In order to suit my narrative??? :greengrin Is that no what anyone does when they are trying to put forward a point, give some reasoning?
So are you saying he must be crap in training but the managers picking him anyway?
If its open to interpretation its subjective....
He's terrible. He's added nothing to Hibs over the course of his career here and you (and a number of others) seem content with him putting in barely pass marks over the course of 2 games.
As I said, if we want to be winning cups and reaching the group stage of EUROPA (which is our clubs objective) "fine" players won't get us there.
So don't come crying on here at the end of the season when we don't make our objectives :cb
Correct but to be fair Doig should never play in a back three, is best attribute is his energy up and down the pitch
I have a horrible feeling we'll never have players good enough to play the way Maloney wants us to.
We'll be too open and lose crap goals all the time.
We’ve just accepted defeat here.
Bradley looks a year away from being ready imo
Not sure why Bradley has got on the park tonight when we still had 15 mins to salvage something. Looks lost.
He's a left footer but generally plays wide right, as you say he looks lost, I'd have Murphy wide left before him.
Berwickhibby
Team was far to submissive…especially in first half….Nisbet’s early miss sums up his attitude
sellick only beaten four times in their last 111 league games at parkhead :shocked:
i'm sure that's what the dude on the radio said
When I have wee shot of fifa now and again I play Lewie LB and Doig LM 😂
Does it work?
Zambernardi1875
17-01-2022, 08:32 PM
I still don't get why we haven't tried Doig in front of Stevenson, it doesn't have to be one or the other.
been saying this for last 2 seasons
Torto7
Strangely we have actually had more possession than Celtic according to the stats on bbc.
Useless possession. The great All Blacks team that won two world cups in a row in rugby did it averaging 31% of possession.
Celtic will never have an easier game of football. Gifted two goals and they've not needed to get out of 1st gear since half hour in. Pitfall performance.
Different style but still leaving with that bored and frustrated feeling that we could be so much better. If nothing else Maloney should take a lot from this. Up front is a massive problem for us. If Boyle leaves I can confidently say we won't be climbing the table.
Reckon Rocky, Porteous and Hanlon will be the 3 going forward.
Our passing in the final third’s been really poor too
17-01-2022, 08:33 PM
I can imagine the shouts at Easter Road whne we get a free kick 15 yards inside the opponents half and we don't GET IT IN THE BOX!
Sent from my VOG-L29 using Tapatalk
Steve88
Liked the look of him in the Arsenal friendly (along with the boy McKay)
Thought they two might have forced there way into the team this season but as you say, maybe not quite yet..
Useless possession. The great All Blacks team that won two world cups in a row in rugby did it averaging 31% of possession.
Is that not because they kept scoring when they had the ball?
And he's playing out of position too.
I have a horrible feeling we'll never have players good enough to play the way Maloney wants us to.
Aberdeen and Dundee Utd both barely created anything against us.
We were poor today but I'm not worried overall.
Celtic play is very open but have better players who work their socks off for the team, we have players who jog around posing half the time.
DIXIHIBS
17-01-2022, 08:34 PM
sellick only beaten four times in their last 111 league games at parkhead :shocked:
i'm sure that's what the dude on the radio said
He did say that. Rangers twice aberdeen and st mirren.
We're trying to play a COMPLETELY style of football. People need to wrap their head round this fact. When have you last seen a Hibs team try to play their way out of our penalty area at Celtic Park? I've never seen it.
We'll see plenty more of these performances against better sides.
We need to be patient because our squad needs gutted to play this way.
No shots on target. I'd say so.
If Nisbet had shown more conviction and desire we would have been 1 up in this game. Would still have lost but zero shots on target doesn't tell the full story.
The team that is finishing the match is telling a story. We need 5-6 more changes to this team and I think it will happen in the summer.
Greenfly
That was mince withoot the tatties. Glad it's over at just 2 - 0 - could have been a great deal more.
Think Rocky has been one of the very few positives tonight
FT thankfully
17-01-2022, 08:35 PM
Looking for positives from tonight is difficult to say the least. I suppose it could've been far more than 2 and our goal difference and confidence could've taken a real doing. There's also the fact nobody else got injured and Rocky came on to a game in the second half. Piss poor overall though really.
Full time thank ****.
It'll be interesting to hear how Maloney explains away this embarrassing performance ...
I roasted him in the first 10 mins but he really came onto a game
ads913
man of the match A Tattie.says it all
Torto7
And he's playing out of position too.
That happened a lot today. Campbell on the left was bizarre. Allan playing deeper. Doig. Pretty naive stuff.
Thankfully we won't be playing Celtic every week. That's twice they've utterly strolled it against us. On a whole other level to us.
Did he touch the ball?🤔
Lots of possession but Celtic downed tools Celtic half
17-01-2022, 08:36 PM
It'll be interesting to hear how Maloney explains away this embarrassing performance ...
Can you explain away this embarrassing post?
The Captain....
Very comfortable night for Celtic. Not unexpected given the team we were able to put out.
It's going to take a while to get the right players in to play the way Maloney wants imo. He needs first team ready players not just youngsters with potential. We need a leader to dictate the game in midfield desperately and who plays at a quicker tempo than the current bunch of average joes.
Sent from my SM-G996B using Tapatalk
Catch breath, dust ourselves down, forget what happened tonight and on to Thursday.
GGTTH.
He did say that. Rangers twice aberdeen and st mirren.
ta :aok:
Like the look of Rocky. Strange subs but we were always up against it tonight with the missing players. Its a defeat at Celtic Park, we move on.
Maloney said not fit enough yet but puts him on bench
Worrying if he ain’t fit enough to play some part having just finished a season and been training for 3/4 weeks
17-01-2022, 08:37 PM
i was lip-reading the japanese players asking if all games will be as easy as tonight :devil:
Would love to know why Doidge isn't starting never mind why is he not getting on
Different style but still leaving with that bored and frustrated feeling that we could be so much better. If nothing else Maloney should take a lot from this. Up front is a massive problem for us. If Boyle leaves I can confidently say we won't be climbing the table.
Disagree actually. If we going to play this way where everyone needs to make good decisions and be good on the ball - i'd say he's expendable.
Please don’t play Newell and Doyle Hayes together ever ever again ! Two traffic cones would have been more effective in there !
Celtic will never have an easier game of football. Gifted two goals and they've not needed to get out of 1st gear since half hour in. Pitfall performance.
One for the auld yins
man of the match A Tattie.says it all
:faf::faf:
17-01-2022, 08:38 PM
Behave yourself.
Still insure if we played better the 2nd half or just Celtic took their foot right off the pedal.
Still very toothless up top and that midfield 3 just doesn't work, also a few players out of position not helping. I know we'll not get them but I'd like another 3-4 players on top of the ones we've already signed.
#2 Double Tap
What have we been working on the last two weeks?
triangle passes between the defence, back to the keeper, hoof ;)
Rocky looks like he could put a few dents in the Huns and Hertz.
17-01-2022, 08:39 PM
I roasted him in the first 10 mins but he really came onto a game
Be interesting to see where clarke plays when fit. Thought cadden also was one of the better players tonight
Jesus😂
I dread to see your posts during the latter days of jack Ross days. Wow.
Still insure if we played better the 2nd half or just Celtic took their foot right off the pedal. Still very toothless up top and that midfield 3 just doesn't work, also a few players out of position not helping. I know we'll not get them but I'd like another 3-4 players on top of the ones we've already signed.
John Collins we this we that GTF
We're trying to play a COMPLETELY style of football. People need to wrap their head round this fact. When have you last seen a Hibs team try to play their way out of our penalty area at Celtic Park? I've never seen it.
100% agree. But will fans have patience? Going by this thread I doubt it!
You must be very easily embarrassed. What a bizarre comment.
hibee1875
I fear for this team without Boyle. There’s a total lack of creativity from anyone else
hhibs
17-01-2022, 08:40 PM
He's a left footer but generally plays wide right, as you say he looks lost, I'd have Murphy wide left before him.
FFS shows how awful those choices are...Murphy shesh !
Knives are out already 😂
HIBEETILLIDIE
Another 4 or 5 players required too many passengers in that team!
Tonight wasn’t great but the result matches our typical result away to Celtic.
I don’t really get all the stuff suggesting we need to gut the squad to play passing football. We’ll dominate possession against most teams in the league and finish 4th at worst IMO. Not many teams are going to Celtic park and doing much better. Disappointed in tonight’s performance but not downbeat on our prospects for rest of the season.
Silky
Like the look of Rocky. Strange subs but we were always up against it tonight with the missing players. Its a defeat at Celtic Park, we move on.
Strange subs was a charge also levelled at Jack Ross! Do we ever learn?
He was a Celtic fan as a lad and played for them for 6 years.
Had half the team missing and couldn’t even field a back three like we would have wanted to. Not a good performance but not terrible.
Having said that, I’d accept literally any offer for that lazy, huffy erse up front.
Rocky looks like he could put a few dents in the Huns and Hertz.
Him and porteous in the same defence will be interesting to say the least
17-01-2022, 08:41 PM
He’s a Celtic fan who gives a sxxx🤷🏼
NC1875
I fear for this team without Boyle. There’s a total lack of creativity from anyone else
Boyle really isn’t the messiah some people make him out to be. If we can get 3 million and sign a couple of good players we’ll be a better team.
Rocky did really well after a shaky first 20 mins. Other than that it was at least as bad as any Jack Ross performance against Celtic. They never even got out of neutral in the second half. It will be fascinating to see how we do under Maloney. With the players we know he is trying to force a square peg in a round whole. The signings need to do what the Celtic signing did tonight.
Steve88
17-01-2022, 08:42 PM
I dread to see your posts during the latter days of jack Ross days. Wow.
lol
To be fair, he could just have PTSD from Jack Ross days...
triangle passes between the defence, back to the keeper, hoof ;)
Other than Boyle nobody looked interested in getting the ball forward. Free kick inside their half with 6 minutes to go and we pass it backwards. It was away at Celtic, I'm going to try to forget this, but really that was a poor, poor performance.
Very poor performance lots of the ball but never looked liked doing anything. JDH is a liability he just never wants to pass the ball forward. Nesbit doesn’t look interested. I’m still not sure what the formation was meant to be and the subs were baffling. Thursday night could very intersections if we play like that again.
Think he was pretty good
Caddens had a an absolute shocker
Arguably our best player.
He's been good, considering the fact his football has been limited. One of the successes tonight
17-01-2022, 08:43 PM
Eh?
If we don’t have the squad to play a certain way why the hell are we trying to play that way?
That’s mental. Play to your strengths. We just don’t have any just now.
Mrimbetween
Disappointing for sure, some positives
Now for cove as who really gets a result through there
Him and porteous in the same defence will be interesting to say the least
We certainly won't be intimidated in defense come the derby. It's a pitty the rest of team look void of any footballing confidence.
JDH and Newell aren’t a good midfield pair. They weren’t when JR was here and they still aren’t with Maloney. Hopefully he sees that soon.
Pretty much sums it up. Celtic must love playing against us. That's the last 3 games against them we've played with no belief, drive or positivity.
Celtic are massively better than us and they could skelp us even if we were playing well, but what's the point in turning up if all your trying to do is pass the ball across the park or backwards.
mcfly
I think we can guarantee that a lot of the players that played tonight will be emptied in the summer.
Our midfield needs some real steel as we are so powderpuff
Far too lightweight as a team and too many non triers.
Again v disappointing
Terrible first half but some positives. Kept possession well and who knows what might have happened had Nisbet not missed that sitter.
Campbell on the left was as strange a decision as you'll get, thought Maloney would have sorted that problem in the first half as we were getting ripped to bits down our left. Nisbet was a waste of a jersey. It's hard to get back in the game when your international striker couldn't trap a bag of cement.
hhibs
Please don’t play Newell and Doyle Hayes together ever ever again ! Two traffic cones would have been more effective in there
!
Do our players train to never look for a forward pass ?
HIBEETILLIDIE
17-01-2022, 08:44 PM
Very poor performance lots of the ball but never looked liked doing anything. JDH is a liability he just never wants to pass the ball forward. Nesbit doesn’t look interested. I’m still not sure what the formation was meant to be and the subs were baffling. Thursday night could very intersections if we play like that again.
Cove are 14/1 on Thursday!
Reading your posts certainly won't be interesting.
We’ve beat Aberdeen at home
Smashed United away
Lost to potential champions in my eyes away.
Had more possession
Maloneys third, THIRD game in charge
Settle doon
hibee1875
Boyle really isn’t the messiah some people make him out to be. If we can get 3 million and sign a couple of good players we’ll be a better team.
Not the messiah but the only player who creates chances.
Nowhere near as bad as some are making out. An even second half, albeit with the game already lost by that point. After a very 'Rocky' start, Bushiri looks a very good acquisition.
He was my mom.
Okay in the first half and a shining light come the second. At least he played with his head up, got stuck in and looked to make a pass.
Tonight wasn’t great but the result matches our typical result away to Celtic.
I don’t really get all the stuff suggesting we need to gut the squad to play passing football. We’ll dominate possession against most teams in the league and finish 4th at worst IMO. Not many teams are going to Celtic park and doing much better. Disappointed in tonight’s performance but not downbeat on our prospects for rest of the season.
We had more possession than celtic tonight. The problem is where we are going with it. All season long we play newell and doyle hayes in the same midfield, all season long we struggle to pass the ball out from the back quickly enough. Desperately needing a player who can take the ball on the turn and move possession forwards..
skyehibee
17-01-2022, 08:45 PM
Rocky and Cadden best pick of the bunch.
Thought Rocky looked decent for sure.
Eh?
If we don’t have the squad to play a certain way why the hell are we trying to play that way?
That’s mental. Play to your strengths. We just don’t have any just now.We don't have any strengths?
A few positives from tonight:
- crowds back
- Cadden played quite well
- it wasn't the 5 or 6 Judas Collins wanted
- the Celtic TV presenter was quite easy on the eye.
17-01-2022, 08:46 PM
Smashed United away
Had more possession
Settle doon
Just because it's his third game doesn't mean fans cent be gutted by that performance! It was a terrible watch.
Mrimbetween
Heard the gadge on radio sayin these ****s have only lost 4 in the last 111 at home , sorty sums it up
Smash Cove and back in the game
Stanton Spence
It'll be interesting to hear how Maloney explains away this embarrassing performance ...Are you for real?? What will you find interesting??
Sent from my G3121 using Tapatalk
Rocky let his man drift off him at the goal. Didn’t do much wrong after that mind. Cadden passmarks , Macey and Hanlon too.
17-01-2022, 08:47 PM
He would have been my MOTM. Did OK at the back and by far our most dangerous player tonight
17-01-2022, 08:48 PM
We don't have any strengths?
I’m not seeing any.
This was the same sort of performance as every other game we’ve played against Celtic the last few years.
I thought we were pretty well covered in the middle of the park, and it might well prove we are when younger Hendo can play and Magennis is back. But Newell and JDH are so negative! The annoying thing is JDH started turning on the ball and playing some decent passes later on in the game. So he's clearly capable! Just needs to trust himself and do it more often
Hulk1875
Keep on replying to posts like this best trying the new way to play against one of the best in league, next season we’ll see the difference
HIBEETILLIDIE
Rocky let his man drift off him at the goal. Didn’t do much wrong after that mind. Cadden passmarks , Macey and Hanlon too.
Campbell gave the hall away cheaply and caught the defence on the hop, 3 mins in I think the defence were not expecting that type of casual rubbish after 3 minutes
Eh?
That’s mental. Play to your strengths. We just don’t have any just now.
Maloney has the luxury of time on his side - why would he park the bus? Also find it hilariousl that we have the players who could put up more of a fight playing ANY other way.
He's trying to implement a style of play which will be effective for years to come. The players will learn more tonight than if they lose 2-0 playing long ball. I thought we were brave playing the ball out and we didn't resort to hitting and hoping as the game wore on. There was a lot to be hopeful for if folk use their eyes and watch what we were trying to achieve tonight.
DIXIHIBS
17-01-2022, 08:49 PM
Radio was saying doidge possible loan to dundee?? Thats not a good idea.
Hulk1875
17-01-2022, 08:50 PM
Smashed United away
Had more possession
Settle doon
👏🏻
Just because it's his third game doesn't mean fans cent be gutted by that performance! It was a terrible watch.
Terrible watch?
Behave
Definitely
Smashed United away
Had more possession
Settle doon
More possession doesn't count for an awful lot when you have 0 shots on target. We will regroup and see what needs tweaking. I thought we seen a group of players trying to follow the managers instructions to the letter, rigid and uncomfortable, scared to try anything on the turn. He will need to look possibly at what he expects from them.
Good chance to expect to get back to winning ways on Thursday and see a few more new faces before an important run for us.
17-01-2022, 08:51 PM
Terrible watch?
Behave
That wasn't a terrible watch? Come on!
If that's the case he will be surplus under Maloney.
Who said that mate. Chic young exclusive or just rumours?
Tough watch tried to pass the ball. Celtic are very good but was disappointing we didnt give them more to do. The number of injuries we had wasnt a bad performance. Alot to improve but we will be better when more space against worse teams.
Do our players train to never look for a forward pass ?
totally agree, casually passing it around when we needed to do something incisive.
17-01-2022, 08:52 PM
- crowds back
she was indeed, i was annoyed when the footy came back on
17-01-2022, 08:53 PM
I thought we did pretty well second half, and, barring a complete disaster, we shouldn't judge a Hibs team by away games against the Old Firm. We should have been ahead in the first couple of minutes, then had the double whammy of going behind. The rest of first half was tough as Celtic went on the attack, but we didn't fold after the penalty. Second half we did alright.
Campbell gave the hall away cheaply and caught the defence on the hop, 3 mins in I think the defence were not expecting that type of casual rubbish after 3 minutes
Probably an unpopular opinion, but i really struggle to see what others have seen in his performances so far. I see that he carries energy, but im not seeing much more. Maybe im being harsh , or am I missing something else?
DIXIHIBS
Who said that mate. Chic young exclusive or just rumours?
Not sure who actually said it but stewart, bonnar and english were talking about it. Hopefully rumour.
More possession doesn't count for an awful lot when you have 0 shots on target. We will regroup and see what needs tweaking. I thought we seen a group of players trying to follow the managers instructions to the letter, rigid and uncomfortable, scared to try anything on the turn. He will need to look possibly at what he expects from them.
Good chance to expect to get back to winning ways on Thursday and see a few more new faces before an important run for us.
Rome wasn’t built in a day. Our players are being asked to do quite the opposite of Ross methods in my eyes.
Total football, macey included. It’s brave and I love it already.
How football should be played. Sadly we lost to a team who will go close for the league. No disgrace
Nisbet hits that like any other player would were 1-0 up.
All of and buts - however maloney will make us a real competitor in the league for third I’m convinced.
Tough watch tried to pass the ball. Celtic are very good but was disappointing we didnt give them more to do. The number of injuries we had wasnt a bad performance. Alot to improve but we will be better when more space against worse teams.
No excuses on Thursday then.
The problem being Cove will come full of confidence, work hard and be hard to break down and have a Hibs hating rat in the dugout.
17-01-2022, 08:54 PM
she was indeed, i was annoyed when the footy came back on
Wee stoater
Hulk1875
- crowds back
I’m glad there’s some hibbys that can make light of tonight honestly the doom and gloom is depressing,
Not sure who actually said it but stewart, bonnar and english were talking about it. Hopefully rumour.
I’d certainly start him or Scott ahead of Nisbet on Thursday anyway. Nisbet has to score that shot that hit the post
17-01-2022, 08:55 PM
Rome wasn’t built in a day. Our players are being asked to do quite the opposite of Ross methods in my eyes.
Total football, macey included. It’s brave and I love it already.
How football should be played. Sadly we lost to a team who will go close for the league. No disgrace
Nisbet hits that like any other player would were 1-0 up.
All of and buts - however maloney will make us a real competitor in the league for third I’m convinced.
Our central midfielders, the guys we should be looking at to create chances are anything but forward thinking, ball playing or brave. New defender does though and I'm happy with that. It was slow and ponderous until give the ball to Boyle and goes 100mph. It was a very weird performance.
17-01-2022, 08:56 PM
Smashed United away
Had more possession
Settle doon
So true 🤣. Settle doon ffs.
shetlandhibee
Radio was saying doidge possible loan to dundee?? Thats not a good idea. he should have started in front of Nisbet all day long IMO:agree:
Hulk1875
Cove are 14/1 on Thursday!
Come on eh!!!
17-01-2022, 08:57 PM
Our central midfielders, the guys we should be looking at to create chances are anything but forward thinking, ball playing or brave. New defender does though and I'm happy with that. It was slow and ponderous until give the ball to Boyle and goes 100mph. It was a very weird performance.
It’ll come good.
The Captain....
Rocky and Cadden best pick of the bunch.Would agree with that. Cadden put in 2 superb balls , one each half a nd plugged away.
Rocky settled down and had a decent game..think he'll prove to be a good signing.
Sent from my SM-G996B using Tapatalk
FS, I’m away to the Covid thread to cheer masel up.
It’ll come good.
Hope so. Just have to see what happens. :aok:
CLASS OF 72 -73
Terrible watch?
Behave
It really was!
hhibs
17-01-2022, 08:58 PM
Can you explain away this embarrassing post?
It was an embarrassing performance ,as in I was personally affronted by the complete lack of bottle and ability,if you don't see that then I despair.
CLASS OF 72 -73
17-01-2022, 08:58 PM
Agree
hfc-1875
17-01-2022, 08:59 PM
I said on a post last week I didn’t expect Rocky to do much for us but fair play to him he was probably our best player tonight (goal aside) and looked comfy playing out from the back.
Hulk1875
17-01-2022, 08:59 PM
FS, I’m away to the Covid thread to cheer masel up.
The who got positive LFT after final 🙌🏻 Thread barrel laughs compared to this
17-01-2022, 09:00 PM
It was an embarrassing performance ,as in I was personally affronted by the complete lack of bottle and ability,if you don't see that then I despair.
I don't think it was close to embarrassing. Just my opinion.
17-01-2022, 09:00 PM
I said on a post last week I didn’t expect Rocky to do much for us but fair play to him he was probably our best player tonight (goal aside) and looked comfy playing out from the back.
Definitely. Think a back three of Hanlon, Porto and Rocky will really work. Think we have an option to make it permanent in the summer as well.
17-01-2022, 09:02 PM
Drivel
I suppose the positive is that we already know the capability and limitations of the current squad , so good to see the first of the new signings looking like an immediate improvement. Hopefully the trend continues with the other signings and we can build on that in the summer with another window of signings in , and still time this window and obviously summer we can move the nit good enough players on
So the general view is that as we’re trying to play a whole new system we just need to be patient and suck it up? That’s not gonna win the fans back to ER.
We were weaker tonight than we were against Aberdeen, despite signing a few players.
We need players in that can make an impact now.
17-01-2022, 09:03 PM
Will be interesting to see him play with Porteous and Clarke.
17-01-2022, 09:03 PM
Well that comment tops the lot!
Despair away, it took a lot of bottle to play the way we did.
17-01-2022, 09:04 PM
No excuses on Thursday then.
The problem being Cove will come full of confidence, work hard and be hard to break down and have a Hibs hating rat in the dugout.
Yes we will win on Thursday. Hope to see Henderson in as think he will be good for us. Could do with Melkerson getting work permit.
17-01-2022, 09:05 PM
We needed January to get some new players in. No good to us if they’re not available. Celtic make their signings at the same time. One scores and another is MOTM.
17-01-2022, 09:06 PM
So the general view is that as we’re trying to play a whole new system we just need to be patient and suck it up? That’s not gonna win the fans back to ER.
We were weaker tonight than we were against Aberdeen, despite signing a few players.
As per my post above , we will be a lot better after the summer window. Unfortunately we really do need to be patient and realistic in what can be achieved remainder if this season. Far more important for me that we make the right changes now for the gains longer term. A lot of players we need to move on , as well as bedding 6 new guys in. Im confident we will be a good side next season
17-01-2022, 09:07 PM
Probably an unpopular opinion, but i really struggle to see what others have seen in his performances so far. I see that he carries energy, but im not seeing much more. Maybe im being harsh , or am I missing something else?
Nope you ain’t missing anything he is a Danny handling clone .
Hulk1875
Yeah against a team that’s much better than them, can’t compare game against sheep at home to
Celtic away
Said earlier in the thread that this would be a 30 page thread once the hysterical's and bampot's arrived. Fair play to them, they went above and beyond and I was wrong......
Seriously, this place is mental :faf::faf:
17-01-2022, 09:08 PM
Smashed United away
Had more possession
Settle doon
No shots on target tonight.
‘Personally affronted’ :faf:
You do know how ridiculous this sounds? I can actually see you waving your handbag around in front of you.
hhibs
Drivel
You are talking nonsense,that was awful IMO.
SiinDubai
- crowds back
Definitely agree with your last point
We get stuck with Tanner
Don't really see the fuss either. I'm not sure what position he actually plays and maybe that isn't actually the laddie's fault.
Smashed United away
Had more possession
Settle doon
Worst limerick ever.
Hulk1875
17-01-2022, 09:09 PM
It’s all about next season, yes we wanna do as best we can but under Ross close to falling into bottom six
Or worse couple wins under maloney looking more comfortable. Not the best tonight but Scottish cup game we’ll win Thursday. Two league games with possible 3 points then into most important
Game
Of the season
We needed January to get some new players in. No good to us if they’re not available. Celtic make their signings at the same time. One scores and another is MOTM.
They also spent millions on them
17-01-2022, 09:10 PM
Hopefully Dylan Tait will be an improvement and hopefully he gets a chance early on. Midfield is pretty pedestrian right now and lack ms creativity and drive
17-01-2022, 09:11 PM
You are talking nonsense,that was awful IMO.
What did you expect exactly? If Nisbet scores this a completely different game.
Hulk1875
17-01-2022, 09:11 PM
Said earlier in the thread that this would be a 30 page thread once the hysterical's and bampot's arrived. Fair play to them, they went above and beyond and I was wrong......
It’s madness usually I’ll just look at what’s said but today really annoying how people going on
hhibs
17-01-2022, 09:12 PM
Well that comment tops the lot!
Despair away, it took a lot of bottle to play the way we did.
Sure it did, failure always finds me in a contented and fuzzy mood.
Capt Mainwaring
17-01-2022, 09:13 PM
I think I’ll hold back losing my **** until Maloney gets a chance to play a team which includes Melkersen, Clarke, Porteous, Henderson, Magennis, Mueller and perhaps Tait
A very poor performance tonight, no question - but games away at Celtic Park with so many missing isn’t the time to best assess the way forward
They also spent millions on them
Don’t really see the relevance in that. Wasn’t talking about quality, just availability.
GreenGray
Smashed United away
Had more possession
Settle doon
Spot on, especially considering the injuries, suspensions and missing signings.
Hopefully Dylan Tait will be an improvement and hopefully he gets a chance early on. Midfield is pretty pedestrian right now and lack ms creativity and drive
Agreed I think it’s JDH or Newell I don’t think it fits them both playing far too similar if we had someone along side either one of them with a bit energy and drive I think we’d see an improvement no idea if that’s taits game
hhibs
17-01-2022, 09:14 PM
What did you expect exactly? If Nisbet scores this a completely different game.
Unfortunatly we do not live in an alternative Universe
17-01-2022, 09:14 PM
Sure it did, failure always finds me in a contented and fuzzy mood.
I was pure black affronted (https://www.urbandictionary.com/define.php?term=black%20affronted) so ah (https://www.urbandictionary.com/define.php?term=so%20ah) wiz
17-01-2022, 09:15 PM
Was a pretty poor performance but it’s still early doors and we were playing against the best footballing team in the country. I was more disappointed by the lack of intensity in our play as there was a notable step up in intensity in SM first 2 games. The players kept trying to knock it about although it looked pretty clear they were struggling a bit with the system and our attacking players seemed too far away from the rest of the team. Quick turnaround to the next match. Cadden, Rocky and Macey were best for me. KN looks really low on confidence. Thought James Scott looked very trim so maybe time for him to make an impact.
17-01-2022, 09:15 PM
Maloney said in his IV that at this level it's these fine margins that change games
I await the 3846389238 replies.
17-01-2022, 09:17 PM
Maloney said in his IV that at this level it's these fine margins that change games
I’d be more interested in hearing him review his own contribution tonight ..think he made some strange decisions , from starting tactics through to not changing things early enough .
17-01-2022, 09:17 PM
Worst limerick ever.
Cat Stanton
17-01-2022, 09:18 PM
Just saw that. Like waving a red rag at the hibs.net bull.
17-01-2022, 09:18 PM
Unfortunatly we do not live in an alternative Universe
So what did you expect then? We haven’t won there since 2010, have several players missing through injuries or suspensions, brand new back line, new style of play, striker miles off it.
17-01-2022, 09:20 PM
Fine margins?!??! :fuming::fuming: If I could drive I'd chauffeur him down Liverpool myself.
Don’t really see the relevance in that. Wasn’t talking about quality, just availability.
Of course your talking about quality u mention a goal scorer and a MOTM, One guys torn a hammy and another doesn’t have a work permit do you think we’ve planned that? we’ve not intentionally gone out to Sign people we can’t pick
Coach Jon
17-01-2022, 09:23 PM
Dont think I would describe it as a whole new system, very similar to how we have been all season, ball gets passed across the defence, then a forward pass into midfield, the midfielder (JDH/ Newell/Campbell etc)gives it back to the player who has just given him the ball, then repeat, repeat time and again. Eventually the opponent will press, and the ball will be chipped forward to the opposition by Hanlon or Macey and possession is lost. That happened constantly tonight.
Not any difference from how we played under Ross. If Maloney wants to change the system he will have to change the whole Midfield because although they are fit and give us running, they bring nothing to the table football wise.
17-01-2022, 09:23 PM
Thought would have just stayed away as you knew what to expect.
Of course folk are going to have their say. Would you rather the thread was closed at the final whistle like they tried doing before? Or maybe just let people you agree with post?
17-01-2022, 09:25 PM
Agreed I think it’s JDH or Newell I don’t think it fits them both playing far too similar if we had someone along side either one of them with a bit energy and drive I think we’d see an improvement no idea if that’s taits game
Apparently box to box , combative, eye for a pass .. Basically everything lacking right now. Im not saying he comes in and is a world beater , but lets give him a chance and hopefully theres room for him and macgennis to play alongside one of newell or doyle hayes. Could be exciting midfield with them both in there if he is as good as reported. Both young and Scottish , next season could be exciting in my opinion
17-01-2022, 09:26 PM
Can’t be bothered scrolling through the thread but I’m guessing you’re talking about Campbell, if so, I agree.
Apparently box to box , combative, eye for a pass .. Basically everything lacking right now. Im not saying he comes in and is a world beater , but lets give him a chance and hopefully theres room for him and macgennis to play alongside one of newell or doyle hayes. Could be exciting midfield with them both in there if he is as good as reported. Both young and Scottish , next season could be exciting in my opinion
A lot to look forward to no doubt 👍
17-01-2022, 09:29 PM
The comms team should really have briefed him on that🙈😂
17-01-2022, 09:30 PM
Poorest performance in Glasgow for a while. Mitigating circumstances with injuries and annoyingly, suspensions.
17-01-2022, 09:30 PM
Can’t be bothered scrolling through the thread but I’m guessing you’re talking about Campbell, if so, I agree.
👍
17-01-2022, 09:31 PM
Ok, I've calmed down after being frustrated by watching that.
Positives:
I liked the look of Rocky...very hard to come in for your first game against Celtic at Parkhead and he really worked his way into the game and looked more than decent.
Boyler was positive as ever and didn't act like his mind was elsewhere
I can see what we are trying to do, sort of. We just weren't good enough to do it against Celtic.
We have 4 positive, attack minded new players that still haven't pulled on the jersey yet.
Negatives:
Possesion doesn't win you football games, goals do. Passing it across the back four, making some angles and space and then finding a way to feed the midfield is all well and good, but if the midfielder then passes it straight back to the defence without even looking up to see if they can play the ball forward, we will never succeed.
Other than MB we seem absolutely allergic to driving forward with the ball unless we are hugging the touchline and even then we very, very rarely even try to get a cross in, we generally get to the 12 yard line then pass it back inside, pass it back to a defender and start again. Against Dundee Utd, we kept possesion doing this, against Celtic we were unable to and just constantly gave it back to them.
Kevin Nisbet
17-01-2022, 09:32 PM
A lot to look forward to no doubt 👍
At least we can see what the club are trying to build. For too long that has not been the case.
17-01-2022, 09:36 PM
I’d be more interested in hearing him review his own contribution tonight ..think he made some strange decisions , from starting tactics through to not changing things early enough .
And so it begins aa several posters put down markers so they can give us the old "I told you so" if Maloney doesn't work out.
17-01-2022, 09:39 PM
And so it begins aa several posters put down markers so they can give us the old "I told you so" if Maloney doesn't work out.
Nothing to do with that….you won’t find any posts from me in the past doing stuff like that. So don’t match me with any of that nonsense. I think he made some bad calls tonight. Are we not allowed to raise those things ? And wonder what his post match thoughts really are….
17-01-2022, 09:39 PM
Ok, I've calmed down after being frustrated by watching that.
Positives:
I liked the look of Rocky...very hard to come in for your first game against Celtic at Parkhead and he really worked his way into the game and looked more than decent.
Boyler was positive as ever and didn't act like his mind was elsewhere
I can see what we are trying to do, sort of. We just weren't good enough to do it against Celtic.
We have 4 positive, attack minded new players that still haven't pulled on the jersey yet.
Negatives:
Possesion doesn't win you football games, goals do. Passing it across the back four, making some angles and space and then finding a way to feed the midfield is all well and good, but if the midfielder then passes it straight back to the defence without even looking up to see if they can play the ball forward, we will never succeed.
Other than MB we seem absolutely allergic to driving forward with the ball unless we are hugging the touchline and even then we very, very rarely even try to get a cross in, we generally get to the 12 yard line then pass it back inside, pass it back to a defender and start again. Against Dundee Utd, we kept possesion doing this, against Celtic we were unable to and just constantly gave it back to them.
Kevin Nisbet
And Celtic can do it against us but not against Leverkusen. Just different levels as a result of financials. Just need to accept that and build a team for third place.
17-01-2022, 09:40 PM
People are allowed to critique the managers performance no?
I also found his subs quite strange.
hibeejeebies
17-01-2022, 09:41 PM
He was written off after a couple of minutes into his first game by some people.
Arguably his best comeback since losing to Thunderlips.
LunasBoots
17-01-2022, 09:47 PM
Shaun Maloney thinks Nisbet played all right 😳
17-01-2022, 09:49 PM
I'm hoping it's just that Maloney isn't the kind of manager to slate a player publicly and he doesn't actually think that. Really hope we start Doidge on Thursday but don't think we will.
17-01-2022, 09:49 PM
Shaun Maloney thinks Nisbet played all right [emoji15]
We. have no idea what Maloney thinks of Nisbet’s performance, because like any good manager, he will support him in public and only criticise him in private…
17-01-2022, 09:53 PM
We. have no idea what Maloney thinks of Nisbet’s performance, because like any good manager, he will support him in public and only criticise him in private…
Exactly, he’s hardly going to come out and publicly slate him. The fact he got hooked just after an hour doesn’t indicate the manager thought he was doing very well at all.
17-01-2022, 09:55 PM
I'm hoping it's just that Maloney isn't the kind of manager to slate a player publicly and he doesn't actually think that. Really hope we start Doidge on Thursday but don't think we will.
The Doidge thing is a bit strange - perhaps there is more to the loan stories than meets the eye.
17-01-2022, 09:57 PM
The Two Japanese players making thier debut both played there part We have in the main brought in younger players with potential so we are going to be a work in progress for the next period
If we are t going to bring in a couple of experienced players that can improve us immediately then we are going to have to be patient
17-01-2022, 10:00 PM
The Two Japanese players making thier debut both played there part We have in the main brought in younger players with potential so we are going to be a work in progress for the next period
If we are t going to bring in a couple of experienced players that can improve us immediately then we are going to have to be patient
The Japanese guys more than played their part Hot Tattie or whatever his name was looked fantastic! And it was a great finish for their first goal. Celtic have a real chance of winning the league now, they have such good depth.
17-01-2022, 10:00 PM
I thought that Hatate was absolutely brilliant tonight.
I have hope that Mueller, Melkersen and Henderson will give us a bit more attacking intent.
17-01-2022, 10:02 PM
The Japanese guys more than played their part Hot Tattie or whatever his name was looked fantastic! And it was a great finish for their first goal. Celtic have a real chance of winning the league now, they have such good depth.
They looked quality for sure…some value they are getting from that market. didn’t think it was much of a finish though. Don’t think he caught it cleanly, and it went in off Macey’s foot/leg.
Hulk1875
17-01-2022, 10:03 PM
Unlike Lennon hahaha
17-01-2022, 10:04 PM
Unlike Lennon hahaha
Aye true…he seemed to do the opposite at times….wonder why that didn’t work for him ..[emoji3]
17-01-2022, 10:05 PM
I have hope that Mueller, Melkersen and Henderson will give us a bit more attacking intent.
We all need Hope
They looked quality for sure…some value they are getting from that market. didn’t think it was much of a finish though. Don’t think he caught it cleanly, and it went in off Macey’s foot/leg.
Probably should have said smart finish more than a great one, you're right.
We all need Hope
Hope Solo? That would be some signing as back up to Macey 😁
17-01-2022, 10:09 PM
I’ll tell you what though, if you told me that Maloney’s first three games would be Aberdeen at home, Dundee United away and Celtic away and we’d have six points and a positive goal difference from them despite injury and suspension problems I’d be over the moon.
17-01-2022, 10:12 PM
I thought we would have done better but we know our preferred starting eleven are not available. Also KN isnt a centre forward. Away from home against potential champs. JDH not played well under SM so far, so perhaps I expected too much.
17-01-2022, 10:13 PM
I’ll tell you what though, if you told me that Maloney’s first three games would be Aberdeen at home, Dundee United away and Celtic away and we’d have six points and a positive goal difference from them despite injury and suspension problems I’d be over the moon.
Definitely! Especially on the back of a truly awful run of form in the league. Don't think any sane person would suggest otherwise. Next four league games are winnable as well before our trip to Ibrox.
17-01-2022, 10:13 PM
BBC commentators saying their penalty should not have been given .
Not heard art much about it here tonight :confused:
17-01-2022, 10:15 PM
Celtic have signed very well and now have much better depth.
Hatate is quality and was amazed they signed him. Just a different class midfielder.
They were missing players like Kyogo tonight also. If they don’t win the league I will be surprised.
Think they have about 6 or 7 centre backs compare to us !!
Sadly it’s all relative. Hibs need to make sure we are ready for Cove. Our next 5 games are all winnable - a derby win would be a massive boost for the team and club
17-01-2022, 10:16 PM
Think their player controls it with his arm first, can't believe more isn't been made out of it!
17-01-2022, 10:17 PM
I’ve lost track of what the precise laws of the game are now on handball in the box. Didn’t look like Doig could do much about it from such close range.
17-01-2022, 10:24 PM
I’ve lost track of what the precise laws of the game are now on handball in the box. Didn’t look like Doig could do much about it from such close range.
If the ball strikes an arm or hand from another part of the player's body it isn't a penalty. The ball struck Doig's chest and then struck his hand, so wasn't a penalty.
With Doig's back to Gollum though, all he saw was the ball striking Doig's outstretched arm. VAR would have reversed the decision.
I actually thought the Celtic player handled the ball before Doig did.
17-01-2022, 10:24 PM
It hit him on chest first and then hit his hand accidentally
If he had deliberately put his arm in an unnatural position to deliberately touch the ball it would be a penalty But he didn’t so not sure why it’s given myself
17-01-2022, 10:26 PM
Hope Solo? That would be some signing as back up to Macey 😁
Back up? More likely to break your back methinks....
17-01-2022, 10:26 PM
Nothing to do with that….you won’t find any posts from me in the past doing stuff like that. So don’t match me with any of that nonsense. I think he made some bad calls tonight. Are we not allowed to raise those things ? And wonder what his post match thoughts really
Fair enough. I apologise for jumping to the wrong conclusion not for the first time.
17-01-2022, 10:31 PM
Fair enough. I apologise for jumping to the wrong conclusion not for the first time.
Cheers Flash, appreciate that - we’ve all done that at times by the way…but we don’t all hold our hands up. Fair play [emoji119] and all the best [emoji106]
HFC93
17-01-2022, 10:36 PM
Well he isn't going to say he was poor publicly. That would just be horrendous management.
17-01-2022, 10:37 PM
Will say it again, the celtc player used his arm to bring the ball under control, ref never gave penalty it was the linesman who flagged it, it defo comes of Doigs hand but should have been a foul for us before it hits his hand.
17-01-2022, 10:37 PM
Think their player controls it with his arm first, can't believe more isn't been made out of it!
17-01-2022, 11:12 PM
I still don't get why we haven't tried Doig in front of Stevenson, it doesn't have to be one or the other.
THIS - the obvious way to set out tonight. Doig is an exciting player running forward on the left flank but Stevenson's defensive instincts are much stronger. Playing Doig as part of a back three with Campbell wide left in midfield was a baffling move from Maloney.
18-01-2022, 12:01 AM
https://twitter.com/HibernianFC/status/1483206273302728711?t=kpXsIXoZ-n45n2Ocn7opmg&s=19
18-01-2022, 12:03 AM
THIS - the obvious way to set out tonight. Doig is an exciting player running forward on the left flank but Stevenson's defensive instincts are much stronger. Playing Doig as part of a back three with Campbell wide left in midfield was a baffling move from Maloney.I'm sure that's how we played at tannadice?
JamesHFC
18-01-2022, 12:16 AM
Celtic have signed very well and now have much better depth.
Hatate is quality and was amazed they signed him. Just a different class midfielder.
They were missing players like Kyogo tonight also. If they don’t win the league I will be surprised.
Think they have about 6 or 7 centre backs compare to us !!
Sadly it’s all relative. Hibs need to make sure we are ready for Cove. Our next 5 games are all winnable - a derby win would be a massive boost for the team and club
Although they have conceded the least amount of goals this season I still think that because of the way they play, they are still a bit vulnerable at the back at times (teams with attacking quality like in the Europa League prove this). They have so much pace and quality going forward though, I think they will edge the title but it be tight. Home advantage in the split will help them.
18-01-2022, 12:20 AM
https://twitter.com/HibernianFC/status/1483206273302728711?t=kpXsIXoZ-n45n2Ocn7opmg&s=19
I Like Sean Maloney :flag:
18-01-2022, 05:44 AM
He was a Celtic fan as a lad and played for them for 6 years.
And was on Celtic tv.
18-01-2022, 05:56 AM
I Like Sean Maloney :flag:
I think he seems quite nervous in front of the camera. I know that isn't the important bit. Probably unfairly comparing him to Ross as the media was one of his strongest parts.
18-01-2022, 06:03 AM
I’m not so sure he does. He is left with two men to mark after Campbell gives the ball away. Hanlon is miles out of position as we try and pass it out from the back. Rocky tries to get across to the scorer but Celtic passed the ball really quickly.
18-01-2022, 06:07 AM
I’m not so sure he does. He is left with two men to mark after Campbell gives the ball away. Hanlon is miles out of position as we try and pass it out from the back. Rocky tries to get across to the scorer but Celtic passed the ball really quickly.
He needs to be quicker to get back in imo. Campbell lost the ball there are a few seconds to cover the scorer and didnt get anywhere near. That apart thought he was very promising hopefully keeps that up.
18-01-2022, 06:20 AM
He needs to be quicker to get back in imo. Campbell lost the ball there are a few seconds to cover the scorer and didnt get anywhere near. That apart thought he was very promising hopefully keeps that up.
Not sure about the goal as the telly didn't make it clear exactly where he was to start with but, other than the odd moment, i thought it was a pretty decent debut.
He can clearly play a wee bit with the ball at his feet as you would expect from a Belgian player nowadays.
18-01-2022, 06:22 AM
Arguably his best comeback since losing to Thunderlips.
I think you'll find that was a draw 😜
18-01-2022, 06:37 AM
I think he seems quite nervous in front of the camera. I know that isn't the important bit. Probably unfairly comparing him to Ross as the media was one of his strongest parts.Agree. While he's no Cathro I'm in sure it will be an area he tries to improve as time passes
18-01-2022, 06:54 AM
Neither CB is out of position. We were playing a back 4 at that time and the CB split our wide when we have possession. We then stupidly gave the ball away. Our DMs are supposed to provide central cover when the CBs split. No one covered the run of the Celtic player. Once we changed to a back 3 we didn’t have those gaps. If Shaun wants to play a back 4 again he really needs to figure out who is going to be the DM.
18-01-2022, 06:57 AM
Not sure about the goal as the telly didn't make it clear exactly where he was to start with but, other than the odd moment, i thought it was a pretty decent debut.
He can clearly play a wee bit with the ball at his feet as you would expect from a Belgian player nowadays.
Rocky was at the opposite side of the box. Mirroring Hanlon. The correct position for how we where set up. Rocky shouldn’t be taking the blame for that goal.
hibeejeebies
18-01-2022, 07:33 AM
I think you'll find that was a draw 😜
I stand corrected 😁
Liked the look of Rocky in what was a tough game to have a debut in got away with one with the goal chopped off as he lost the guy who scored at the corner but I’m sure those things will sharpen up with game time
18-01-2022, 07:45 AM
Yup, he didn't need time to get used to the league, get fit, get up to speed or anything else. He just came in and performed.
That's the type of signing we should be going for before the end of the month.
18-01-2022, 07:47 AM
Neither CB is out of position. We were playing a back 4 at that time and the CB split our wide when we have possession. We then stupidly gave the ball away. Our DMs are supposed to provide central cover when the CBs split. No one covered the run of the Celtic player. Once we changed to a back 3 we didn’t have those gaps. If Shaun wants to play a back 4 again he really needs to figure out who is going to be the DM.
I don’t think we played a back 4 last night
18-01-2022, 07:53 AM
Are you for real?? What will you find interesting??
Sent from my G3121 using Tapatalk
His explanation why we played so poorly throughout the entire game and why he was unable to change anything? I'd find that "interesting" ...
18-01-2022, 08:11 AM
It’s all about next season, yes we wanna do as best we can but under Ross close to falling into bottom six
Or worse couple wins under maloney looking more comfortable. Not the best tonight but Scottish cup game we’ll win Thursday. Two league games with possible 3 points then into most important
Game
Of the season
I'm not hitting panic stations about one loss to Celtic, we'll likely lose to worse teams than they are before the season is out, however I can't agree it's all about next season.
Ross had as much chance of taking us to third as he did of getting us related, we'll never know what would have happened, however the reason to get rid of him was to save this season.
Dundee Utd game gave me belief that the management and team are on the right track but they need to be a bit smarter than they were last night.
18-01-2022, 08:15 AM
His explanation why we played so poorly throughout the entire game and why he was unable to change anything? I'd find that "interesting" ...
He made several changes both in shape and personnel.
18-01-2022, 08:17 AM
He made several changes both in shape and personnel.
The shape didn’t really change much, if at all. I felt the subs he made could have been done a bit earlier. We were so exposed down our left hand side most of the game which I felt should have been changed at half time at the latest
18-01-2022, 08:21 AM
The shape didn’t really change much, if at all. I felt the subs he made could have been done a bit earlier. We were so exposed down our left hand side most of the game which I felt should have been changed at half time at the latest
Stevenson should have been on at halftime for Campbell meaning 3 at the back with Doig going to left wing back.