View Full Version : Derby match in doubt
What are the chances of my train tickets and hotel saying GTF no refunds?
Booking nothing now until re-opens.
Exactly … that’s what annoys me more , if it’s so serious it should start straight away
Should have started last Friday
21-12-2021, 01:44 PM
Sturgeon LOVES this stuff. Loves the limelight and power over peoples lives. Stay at home, don't meet people, hold your breath, get your 3rd doze, Hogmanay is cancelled.
Well that’s just a load of *****.
Pubs are limited to table service only so wont be rammed but get your point.
When from?
Exactly … that’s what annoys me more , if it’s so serious it should start straight away
In fairness, without the appropriate financial compensation, one of the main complaints has been zero warning for businesses before closures and new restrictions. This prevents loss of earnings from tickets/catering etc for the one fixture.
Know it makes zero health sense, but there's generally a wave of opposition to any policy change and this is the one that would apply here in a wider business sense.
When from?
Boxing day
21-12-2021, 01:45 PM
Sturgeon LOVES this stuff. Loves the limelight and power over peoples lives. Stay at home, don't meet people, hold your breath, get your 3rd doze, Hugmany is cancelled.
Pish
Helensburghhibs
21-12-2021, 01:46 PM
I think you will find it's not sickness that's causing staff shortages, it's the ridiculous self isolating rules . Double vaccinated, booster, negative test but you still have to isolate.
It's crazy.
Exactly locking up perfectly healthy people is the biggest issue here
Sent from my iPhone using Tapatalk Nothing has changed in terms of what politicians are saying about Omicron. If is is so serious then why did they not make changes 3-4 weeks ago
At least we know masks and passports worked a treat. ****ing shambles. End this nonsense now. Our country is grinding to a halt due to the absolutely horrendous isolation rules. Triple jabbed, passport, negative test but still in the house for ten days.
Orchard_Hibs
No it’s not, cult of the personality
Helensburghhibs
21-12-2021, 01:47 PM
Also why are we still listening to the same experts who from what I can see haven't done a very good job so far. Why don't we give some alternative experts the opportunity to use their opinions .
Pish
Rumble de Thump
Sturgeon LOVES this stuff. Loves the limelight and power over peoples lives. Stay at home, don't meet people, hold your breath, get your 3rd doze, Hugmany is cancelled.
Nah.
21-12-2021, 01:48 PM
What is the point of restricting crowds at football matches to 500? Be just as well either postponing the matches altogether or having no spectators at all. How does the club choose 500 fans who are allowed to attend? Is the virus having a day off tomorrow when a full crowd is permitted? Crazy.
happiehibbie
No Logic just playing politics Using the NHS as a political football the figures don't stand up.
"Once you lose your civil liberties its very difficult to get them back"
The first game at home we should all turn up at ER and protest 2 jabs and a Booster and still cant live my life the way I want. People taken in by the media hype plain and simple
No it really is. It’s absolute nonsense. I disagree with what she’s doing but to suggest she gets off on this is pish.
21-12-2021, 01:49 PM
When from?
27th.
BegbieHSC
With the greatest respect: grow up!
This is ****. We're heading straight back to where were were before vaccinations - lockdown by stealth. As soon as Sturgeon gets some money, she'll lock us all up.
Hibeesforever
I think you will find it's not sickness that's causing staff shortages, it's the ridiculous self isolating rules . Double vaccinated, booster, negative test but you still have to isolate.
It's crazy.
Totally right, First Minister should be called out on that, only 515 in hospital, how many are unvaccinated ? The stats that we never hear from a despicable SNP government. Fans should be allowed to choose if they want to go to matches...
happiehibbie
21-12-2021, 01:51 PM
Nah I agree showing her true colours now
Benny Brazil
Should just postpone the Derby in that case
27th.
Is it not from boxing day?
London has the worst vaccine takeup in the country by a fair distance. Scotland has the best.
We have less people in hospital now than we've had for about 4 months.
That's great, but again, if we lose essential staff to 10 days of isolation, then even those numbers will be unsustainable, and other treatments and diagnoses will be impacted. I'm celebrating this Christmas with one less kidney this year because Covid made getting the appropriate appointments so difficult in 2020 and early 2021, I feel I can testify to the impact.
The good news is that shows the vaccines are working, and there is the theory that a limited, drip spread within a vaccinated will make future variants less transmissible.
The vaccines we are taking will also continue to improve to catch more varients by identifying common factors, and we are already seeing production of effective antivirals.
I am far more confident in 2022 than i was in 2021.
21-12-2021, 01:52 PM
Which are what exactly?
21-12-2021, 01:53 PM
Wow, I've read some crap on here and that is right up there.
I disagree with the decision but the vitriol should be directed at these selfish barstewards who refuse to get vaccinated.
well said :agree:
happiehibbie
this is ****. We're heading straight back to where were were before vaccinations - lockdown by stealth. As soon as sturgeon gets some money, she'll lock us all up.
this
There is nothing positive for Sturgeon in these announcements…I wish people would separate their own political views with these moments . It’s so unhelpful
Everyone’s gutted - she will be as devastated as anyone
That's great, but again, if we lose essential staff to 10 days of isolation, then even those numbers will be unsustainable, and other treatments and diagnoses will be impacted. I'm celebrating this Christmas with one less kidney this year because Covid made getting the appropriate appointments so difficult in 2020 and early 2021, I feel I can testify to the impact.
The good news is that shows the vaccines are working, and there is the theory that a limited, drip spread within a vaccinated will make future variants less transmissible.
The vaccines we are taking will also continue to improve to catch more varients by identifying common factors, and we are already seeing production of effective antivirals.
I am far more confident in 2022 than i was in 2021.
Well why are we asking boosted people who test negative to isolate? It's bonkers!
Which are what exactly?
Apparently she just wants to randomly piss everyone off and be deeply unpopular. :dunno:
Hibernianinc
While very disappointing, does anyone really think this is about more than following scientific advice.
Large parts of Europe are in lockdown again. Are their leaders all on a power trip or part of the Illuminati conspiracy.
21-12-2021, 01:54 PM
Bizarrely there are two separate dates. 26th for football and other large events and 27th for other things. Here is a blow for blow
https://www.thenational.scot/news/19799427.covid-scotland-live-nicola-sturgeon-gives-omicron-restrictions-update/
26th for football fans getting shafted but I'm sure she said from the 27th for indoor hospitality. I could be wrong though.
This is ****. We're heading straight back to where were were before vaccinations - lockdown by stealth. As soon as Sturgeon gets some money, she'll lock us all up.
Have a word
douglashibs
If I thought for one second it would be limited to three weeks I’d suggest postponing the derby. But we all know it won’t.
If it's LNER, you can get a refund. I'm not sure about other companies policies.
You might be able to claim your hotel on your travel insurance.
Totally right, First Minister should be called out on that, only 515 in hospital, how many are unvaccinated ? The stats that we never hear from a despicable SNP government. Fans should be allowed to choose if they want to go to matches...
my goodness
happiehibbie
21-12-2021, 01:55 PM
Which are what exactly?
Playing politics with our lives
21-12-2021, 01:56 PM
That despicable the overwhelming majority of Scotland voted them in again.
Get a grip.
This will undoubtedly inflict serious political damage on her.
Why would she be revelling in that?
The flip side is that bell end in Downing Street - couldn’t give a **** about bodies piling high, just as long as he doesn’t have to make an unpopular decision.
My take - they should be moving heaven and Earth to bring the winter break forward. Omicron will have been and gone in 3 weeks and we can pick football back up again then.
davidbee1875
I’ve always voted for them but can’t anymore.
Myself included mate. She’s lost my support and numerous other people I know
bringbackbenny
I disagree with the decision but the vitriol should be directed at these selfish barstewards who refuse to get vaccinated.
This. It's a shan deal for us all but better venting (justifiable) anger at the fools who willfully refuse to do their bit alongside the rest of our society.
are you ok ?
I’ll second that.
Some of the absolute guff coming out of grown adults just now is ridiculous. A lot of folk need to pick up their toys from around their prams.
21-12-2021, 01:57 PM
It’s got **** all to do with politics and is everything to do with stopping people from getting sick and dying.
What’s so difficult to grasp?
Does that apply in Wales too? And all the countries around the world with restrictions? :dunno:
How?
Nobody anywhere wants restrictions. They will not make her more popular. If she was playing politics she would be softer, not harder.
happiehibbie
Bizarrely there are two separate dates. 26th for football and other large events and 27th for other things. Here is a blow for blow
https://www.thenational.scot/news/19799427.covid-scotland-live-nicola-sturgeon-gives-omicron-restrictions-update/
The National now there is level paper :)
Disappointing but understandable. Public safety comes first.
Hibs should be doing everything they can to get this postponed.
While very disappointing, does anyone really think this is about more than following scientific advice.
Large parts of Europe are in lockdown again. Are their leaders all on a power trip or part of the Illuminati conspiracy.
The scientist were making the same warnings as Sturgeon mentioned weeks ago. This is all about not cancelling Christmas. Johnson hasn't so the SNP feel they can't. This is about balancing power, health and the economy with Power by far the most important factor imo
21-12-2021, 01:58 PM
Myself included mate. She’s lost my support and numerous other people I know
Because you cannae go to the football?
must say it's actually quite heartening reading some of the younger generation showing up some of the older ones
OstKurve Hibs
No Logic just playing politics Using the NHS as a political football the figures don't stand up.
"Once you lose your civil liberties its very difficult to get them back"
The first game at home we should all turn up at ER and protest 2 jabs and a Booster and still cant live my life the way I want. People taken in by the media hype plain and simple
This 100%. People have no freedom now, we have privileges from the government which they give and take from us as they please !
BegbieHSC
No offence - we’re all Hibees n that, but there’s some absolute moon howling, conspiracy theorists on this thread, with bizarre takes.
I get some people don’t like the SNP, but insinuating that the restrictions are out of a bid for authoritarianism is just deranged frankly. The ScotGov have the experts and the scientists, who know a lot more than you and me on their side with this one.
It’s absolutely gutting, but if you’re blowing the top, red in the face declaring fascism, take a wee walk and calm down, before breaking your keyboard.
Hibs have two choices now
A) liaise with SPFL and get this game cancelled until fans can attend (i hope hearts are in agreement but reality is no fans benefit them more than us)
B) Stage a wedding either pre match or at HT as it appears they're not impacted. so if you're looking to get married, reach out to the club :greengrin
21-12-2021, 01:59 PM
Well why are we asking boosted people who test negative to isolate? It's bonkers!
Incubation period possibly. :confused: Decisions being made now are focussing on Omicron - Delta is still here.
Can't say I'm overly surprised by the announcement. Hope the SPFL can come to arrangement with SKY with regards to the Derby and postpone it until later in the season. If the SPFL were sensible, they'd move the winter break forward and have it coincide with the lockdown period, but this is the SPFL we are talking about and sensibility has never been their strong suit.
No offence - we’re all Hibees n that, but there’s some absolute moon howling, conspiracy theorists on this thread, with bizarre takes.
I get some people don’t like the SNP, but insinuating that the restrictions are out of a bid for authoritarianism is just deranged frankly. The ScotGov have the experts and the scientists, who know a lot more than you and me on their side with this one.
It’s absolutely gutting, but if you’re blowing the top, red in the face declaring fascism, take a wee walk and calm down, before breaking your keyboard.
It's a great barometer for who to put on ignore. Makes life a lot less stressful.
hibeenicol
No football at all over Christmas won't be good but they should be looking at bringing the winter break forward to allow us to have fans back in for these games in 3 weeks' time.
What is the point of restricting crowds at football matches to 500? Be just as well either postponing the matches altogether or having no spectators at all. How does the club choose 500 fans who are allowed to attend? Is the virus having a day off tomorrow when a full crowd is permitted? Crazy.
Shambles of a decision.
If it’s so serious why no restrictions already.
Do they not realise that folk socialising on Christmas Day is way more dangerous than attending an outdoor event.
Young and Old will be sitting indoors for a few hours on Xmas day.
Why can’t we spread fans out in the stadium or even make folk wear masks if you are that worried.
Going from a full stadium to 500 is a joke. Hibs and Celtic missing out the most here.
England keeping football going but Scotland stopping it. No sense at all.
The so called experts have been looking at the South Africa data and yes there is a 4th wave of infections but deaths are low and that is linked to high vaccination rates.
Scotland is similar and the vaccination rates are good. 4 out of 5 people who are in ICU are unvaccinated and have under lying health conditions.
The vaccinated and healthy are getting punished - it’s getting beyond a joke. Let folk live their lives and make own decisions.
21-12-2021, 02:00 PM
This 100%. People have no freedom now, we have privileges from the government which they give and take from us as they please !
No freedom 😂😂😂😂
21-12-2021, 02:00 PM
What about those out and about all the time who are vaccinated and spreading the virus. Are they not selfish as their actions are protected by being vaccinated.
21-12-2021, 02:01 PM
This. It's a shan deal for us all but better venting (justifiable) anger at the fools who willfully refuse to do their bit alongside the rest of our society.
Bang on the money.
This will undoubtedly inflict serious political damage on her.
Why would she be revelling in that?
The flip side is that bell end in Downing Street - couldn’t give a **** about bodies piling high, just as long as he doesn’t have to make an unpopular decision.
My take - they should be moving heaven and Earth to bring the winter break forward. Omicron will have been and gone in 3 weeks and we can pick football back up again then.
There is no bodies piling up. And she’s trying to score points based on the funding. It’s clear! Certainly not skewing my opinion as I’ve voted her lot every election for years, so folk can drop that pish tae.
This is really depressing but there is no Sturgeon agenda for me. Other countries are already basically in lockdown. Is that her fault too?
You dropped your tinfoil hat
Its almost as if you can't catch the Omricon variant before Boxing Day....
21-12-2021, 02:03 PM
Regardless of your views on Sturgeon or the merits of today’s news I really fail to understand the blanket attendance of 500. That makes absolutely no sense to me.
21-12-2021, 02:04 PM
No football at all over Christmas won't be good but they should be looking at bringing the winter break forward to allow us to have fans back in for these games in 3 weeks' time.
No brainer
If you are genuinely saying 500 in at Dumbarton and 500 in Celtic park is listening to scientists and advisors then your genuinely barking mad.
douglashibs
Could Hibs just invite 20,000 fans to a wine and cheese business meeting?
OstKurve Hibs
No freedom 😂😂😂😂
Domt hear the Austrians n germans laughing aswell as countless other nations.
Will be the same here soon
There is no bodies piling up. And she’s trying to score points based on the funding. It’s clear! Certainly not skewing my opinion as I’ve voted her lot every election for years, so folk can drop that pish tae.
Is that what's happening in Wales too?
21-12-2021, 02:05 PM
Not currently.
But there have been rather a few over the past couple of years, a total that could have been much smaller.
I don’t like the decision - but can’t fathom why anyone would think that Sturgeon would be happy doing something that was always going to go down this badly.
What about those out and about all the time who are vaccinated and spreading the virus. Are they not selfish as their actions are protected by being vaccinated.
Don't disagree, but I think the point is that it's the unvaccinated who are more likely to become infected and spread the virus further.
I've just applied for train refunds through Avanti and TP Express. Might only be an e-voucher, but better than nowt.
Domt hear the Austrians n germans laughing aswell as countless other nations.
Will be the same here soon
So..our restrictions don’t go as far as theirs, yet we have no freedom?
Steve88
21-12-2021, 02:06 PM
This is really depressing but there is no Sturgeon agenda for me. Other countries are already basically in lockdown. Is that her fault too?
Herd mentality + irrational thought
The narrative of "protect the NHS" is almost unarguable . You should of spent the last 2 years scaling up the NHS infrastructure + fast tracking resourcing to reflect potential spikes - Otherwise, the NHS will never be fit for purpose and round and round we go
21-12-2021, 02:07 PM
Not currently.
But there have been rather a few over the past couple of years, a total that could have been much smaller.
I don’t like the decision - but can’t fathom why anyone would think that Sturgeon would be happy doing something that was always going to go down this badly.
And it could’ve been up here as well, our decisions were just as bad as theirs. Just a month ago she was asking us to welcome randoms into our homes and have 30k randoms wandering about our country. No restrictions until Boxing Day. Covid on furlough until then?
Steven79
Its almost as if you can't catch the Omricon variant before Boxing Day....
It's clear that the event that needs cancelled is Christmas as that's the real super spreader event...
my goodness
He has a point.
The SNP record in government is patchy at best. The horrendously low bar they are judged against makes their record read better.
I won't vote for them again anytime soon and it has nothing to do with covid response. It's ongoing incidents in my local area that attack and disadvantage those with the least in society and is facilitated by the local SNP councillors and defended by both my MP and MSP.
They have made promises on wealth redistribution, that might have made their socialist (no laughing at the back) pretensions stand up to some kind of scrutiny, that have never been fulfilled or are running years behind schedule. Land reform, council tax reform..... The latest delay is the expansion of free school meals to primary school children. The masters of the 'quietly dropped'.
I want independence but proper independence. Not some bull**** led by these neoliberal centre ground, foot in both camp talentless charlatans.
DIXIHIBS
21-12-2021, 02:08 PM
For all those ripping sturgeon remember she knows these decisions are unpopular but makes them anyway for the greater good. Would you rather she wasnt prepared to do this and just make 'popular' decisions? Probably wrong forum for this but sometimes people need to look beyond fitba!
21-12-2021, 02:09 PM
at last, a touch of humour :hilarious
21-12-2021, 02:10 PM
The Welsh and Scottish governments, and many others around the world, are following the advice of scientists and health experts.
Boris Johnson is following the advice of self interested politicians.
The last time we were told to ignore the experts, we ended up with Brexit.
DIXIHIBS
It's clear that the event that needs cancelled is Christmas as that's the real super spreader event...
Your welcome to cancel your christmas if you want. Your choice.
For all those ripping sturgeon remember she knows these decisions are unpopular but makes them anyway for the greater good. Would you rather she wasnt prepared to do this and just make 'popular' decisions? Probably wrong forum for this but sometimes people need to look beyond fitba!
don't think you realise just how serious missing a game of football is to some grown men
Green-Hibee-7
He has a point.
The SNP record in government is patchy at best. The horrendously low bar they are judged against makes their record read better.
I won't vote for them again anytime soon and it has nothing to do with covid response. It's ongoing incidents in my local area that attack and disadvantage those with the least in society and is facilitated by the local SNP councillors and defended by both my MP and MSP.
They have made promises on wealth redistribution, that might have made their socialist (no laughing at the back) pretensions stand up to some kind of scrutiny, that have never been fulfilled or are running years behind schedule. Land reform, council tax reform..... The latsst delay is the expansion of free school meals to primary school children. The masters of the 'quietly dropped'.
I want independence but proper independence. Not some bull**** read by these neoliberal centre ground, foot in both camp talentless charlatans.
Top post.
Spot-on.
Helensburghhibs
21-12-2021, 02:11 PM
The only bit I disagree with is the experts bit. Why have they chosen to use the Same few experts opinions all the way through even though it's questionable their advice has worked at any point? My time is split between Portsmouth and here, Scotland have had more restrictions all the way through thus pandemic but are now having to take more drastic measures again. Why don't the govt try different experts?
21-12-2021, 02:11 PM
It's not just about football, it's about people's livelihoods and how they actually pay the mortgage and pay to feed themselves and family.
Helensburghhibs
21-12-2021, 02:12 PM
All events should be our choice , that I'd the point. Why should the govt decide what is important to people ?
Herd mentality + irrational thought
The narrative of "protect the NHS" is almost unarguable . You should of spent the last 2 years scaling up the NHS infrastructure + fast tracking resourcing to reflect potential spikes - Otherwise, the NHS will never be fit for purpose and round and round we go
Exactly this.
The NHS needs sorted to it improve capacity and staff are better valued.
Many staff are under paid and over worked in poor facilities.
loanheadhibby
On the flip side, it’s acknowledged that virtually no chance of catching Covid in the open but surely the people who would go to game will now go indoors (houses/pubs) to watch game so actually more chance of catching it?
You can see why there is cynicism?
And funnily enough when delta was the dominant variant, the FM had no issues hot footing it to an indoor cop 26 event and help spread it? Surely she should have said she would not attend an event for fear of spreading it?
Steven79
If you are genuinely saying 500 in at Dumbarton and 500 in Celtic park is listening to scientists and advisors then your genuinely barking mad.
It's utter bull****!
It's not based on the reality of the situation.
Are shopping malls going to be limited to 500 at a time?
Helensburghhibs
He has a point.
They have made promises on wealth redistribution, that might have made their socialist (no laughing at the back) pretensions stand up to some kind of scrutiny, that have never been fulfilled or are running years behind schedule. Land reform, council tax reform..... The latsst delay is the expansion of free school meals to primary school children. The masters of the 'quietly dropped'.
I want independence but proper independence. Not some bull**** read by these neoliberal centre ground, foot in both camp talentless charlatans.
👍
21-12-2021, 02:13 PM
Yip.
The Welsh and Scottish governments, and many others around the world, are following the advice of scientists and health experts.
She literally just stood and said she has no idea how it’s going to be going forward. She has no idea the severity of it. She’s guessing. This guess will cost lives through mental health, it will cost business owners and employees their livelihoods at the worst time of year. If it’s wrong she should resign immediately.
Green Badger
Can anyone explain why they can’t announce a percentage capacity for football.
As things stand, for example a Spartans game could have an almost 100% full stand but we’ve got a 2.5% capacity limit?
DIXIHIBS
21-12-2021, 02:14 PM
don't think you realise just how serious missing a game of football is to some grown men
The way our crowds have been going recently it wont make much difference....
21-12-2021, 02:15 PM
All events should be our choice , that I'd the point. Why should the govt decide what is important to people ?
Should we legalise class A drugs and drink driving?
loanheadhibby
So what happens next Christmas with the next variant? Is this lockdown now an annual event? According to scientists it will continuously mutate.
They have a point though.
If they were that worried then Christmas should be cancelled.
You can’t allow the whole U.K. to have a Christmas Day and then wonder why cases increase. The restrictions are so inconsistent. It would be easier to accept if it was a blanket ban but like most of the pandemic lots of the restrictions make no sense.
3 households at Christmas ? That could be 18 people or 3 people.
Hibernianinc
The scientist were making the same warnings as Sturgeon mentioned weeks ago. This is all about not cancelling Christmas. Johnson hasn't so the SNP feel they can't. This is about balancing power, health and the economy with Power by far the most important factor imo
While I totally agree this is a balancing act, and that involves making tough decisions, only a loon thinks this is a self-elected choice.
Something has to give, Sturgeon has gone for large events (as Wales).
She could have gone hospitality, Xmas…..
UK, US, Brazil all conflated politics with health policy. There are plenty of graphs available that show how that panned out.
So what happens next Christmas with the next variant? Is this lockdown now an annual event? According to scientists it will continuously mutate.
Should they just let people die?
Should we legalise class A drugs and drink driving?
Jeeeez.
21-12-2021, 02:17 PM
On the flip side, it’s acknowledged that virtually no chance of catching Covid in the open but surely the people who would go to game will now go indoors (houses/pubs) to watch game so actually more chance of catching it?
And funnily enough when delta was the dominant variant, the FM had no issues hot footing it to an indoor cop 26 event and help spread it? Surely she should have said she would not attend an event for fear of spreading it?
Omicron appeared a month ago.
Torto7
21-12-2021, 02:17 PM
When it has a knock on effect on the whole of society.
21-12-2021, 02:18 PM
She literally just stood and said she has no idea how it’s going to be going forward. She has no idea the severity of it. She’s guessing. This guess will cost lives through mental health, it will cost business owners and employees their livelihoods at the worst time of year. If it’s wrong she should resign immediately.
People are going to suffer mentally because they have to watch a few matches on the telly?
Will need to wear a work suit as well but...!
He has a point.
does he, a despicable SNP government ? well lets look forward to a labour/tory coalition government next then, then you'll see what a despicable SG will really look like, meanwhile i will continue voting for the present despicable government
the outbursts on here from some adults because they can't go to a football game is absolutely astonishing
21-12-2021, 02:19 PM
People are going to suffer mentally because they have to watch a few matches on the telly?
It shouldn’t be underestimated how important going to games abd meeting friends is for a lot of people.
If it's LNER, you can get a refund. I'm not sure about other companies policies.
You might be able to claim your hotel on your travel insurance.
Booked it through trainpal leeds to Edinburgh and they seem to be saying non refundable.
Hotel chain usually good at moving dates so happy for them to do that if worst comes to worst.
Noticed you said wasn't at the final but was chatting to a guy from York heading up to it on Sunday. Thought it may have been you until I seen you didn't make it.
Steven79
So ban Christmas as it's clearly going to have a knock on effect on the whole of society...
does he, a despicable SNP government ? well lets look forward to a labour/tory coalition government next then, then you'll see what a despicable SG will really look like, meanwhile i will continue voting for the present despicable government
the outbursts on here from some adults because they can't go to a football game is absolutely astonishing
If I'm reading it right on the 3rd of January I can, if I chose to do so, get a bus into town, go to a pub and watch the derby (table service only), go to a restaurant to line the stomach, back to another pub then onto a nightclub until 3am then pile on a night bus home.
But I can't go to the game because it's too risky?
Torto7
Time for Summer football.
21-12-2021, 02:20 PM
She guesses the other way it could be worse. Surely better to guess cautiously. I know we are pissed about it but folk need to actually think rationally about what they’re saying. She’s a politician. They hate being unpopular. They would literally lie to be popular. It’s not a game.
Helensburghhibs
Outdoor events do that do they? Yet to see the evidence. Football stadiums must be all built from the same covid housing materials
It’s not just about not being able to go to the football. It’s the fact it doesn’t make any sense.
I think we would all accept it if it did but to only allow 500 people at an outside arena and then let indoor weddings (for example) go ahead with as many numbers as they like just doesn’t make sense.
Torto7
21-12-2021, 02:21 PM
So ban Christmas as it's clearly going to have a knock on effect on the whole of society...
No complaints from me on that point. They should.
Hibernianinc
If I'm reading it right on the 3rd of January I can, if I chose to do so, get a bus into town, go to a pub and watch the derby (table service only), go to a restaurant to line the stomach, back to another pub then onto a nightclub until 3am then pile on a night bus home.
No, we can’t do both things because that’s too risky.
It’s not either/or, it’s cumulative.
Jeeeez.
What's your point?
Helensburghhibs
21-12-2021, 02:22 PM
Don't look for sense in any of this mate , I've been fully compliant all the way through but I'm done with it now
Yes. Because they are now stuck in rather than socialise. Football is everything to some. Boxing Day/Hogmanay all things that are huge events for some. It’s just another boot in the balls for the general public who have followed every rule for nearly two years. Is there a way out? Told we are in a better place than last year but under the same restrictions.
Torto7
Outdoor events do that do they? Yet to see the evidence. Football stadiums must be all built from the same covid housing materials
How many emergency service personal need to be available for say a 50000 crowd?
Steven79
It's not just about the footballl it's the whole inconsistency of it all.
I can attend on Wednesday but from the 26th only 500 can sit inside a 600 seater ground or a 50,000 seater ground.
Is that based on common sense? Will shopping malls be restricted to a set number?
Also hospitality is dying on it's arse and today will kill it off for many...
21-12-2021, 02:23 PM
It’s not the outdoor stadiums.
It’s the fans congregating before and post match.
21-12-2021, 02:23 PM
Yes a pretty despicable government all things considered.
I've argued against the direction of the SNP for years so nothing to do with a football game being cancelled really. If people think this is the best Scotland can do then fine, 5 SNP councillors voted to close a community outreach project in my local area, it took a Tory voting against the closure to save it. Despicable just about covers it.
'Would you prefer Labour or the Tories' is the 'who would you appoint as manager instead' defence in the sense that it isn't really a defence at all.
Helensburghhibs
21-12-2021, 02:24 PM
The same amount as pre covid. Stop getting these fit healthy people needlessly isolating and it would be covered.
Also the same amount on the 26th as on the 22nd? So what changes?
rotherhamrob
🤣🤣🤣🤣 aye.
Like everything else,just doesnt make sense.
If the games go ahead then Sevco & mini-Sevco will have had an unfair advantage, having had a full crowd for their derby home games earlier in the season.
It shouldn’t be underestimated how important going to games abd meeting friends is for a lot of people.
A lot fewer people than will die from Omicron.
Plus, pubs and restaurants and outdoor spaces aren't being closed
Forget politics, forget personalities and try to park your prejudices, at least for a moment.
Imagine you are the leading decision maker in your country and a required decision lands on your desk. You have a virus which is apolitical, is spreading faster than previous variations and the true severity of it’s effects are still relatively unknown.
You can make restictions to numbers in crowds, in hospitality, in workplaces, in households etc to limit interaction that you know are extremely unpopular and affect peple’s livlihoods and mental wellbeing OR you can do nothing, let people do as they please, rely on people’s common sense, let the virus spread through the population and run the risk of overwhelming the NHS and having thousands of needless deaths.
The data is changing every day, decisions have to be fluid and you need to respond to what your scientists are telling you.
What do YOU do?
I am disappointed the football is affected along with everything else, I hate this bloody virus, but I am grateful I can still see family this Christmas and every day I thank the lord I don’t have to make these thankless decisions.
Torto7
Yes. Because they are now stuck in rather than socialise. Football is everything to some. Boxing Day/Hogmanay all things that are huge events for some. It’s just another boot in the balls for the general public who have followed every rule for nearly two years. Is there a way out? Told we are in a better place than last year but under the same restrictions.
Thats the point though the anti vax havent followed anything. Mandate the vaccine stop pussy footing around. If the no government Libertarians want that then get on a plane to the Sahara for all I care.
21-12-2021, 02:25 PM
It’s got **** all to do with politics and is everything to do with stopping people from getting sick and dying.
So much so that I can go to ER tomorrow but not as of Sunday. It’s either safe to go or it’s not. Maybe Covid is having a wee night off tomorrow, I don’t know? Or maybe, just maybe, it would be less (or even less) politically popular to start bringing things in this side of Christmas. Where politicians are involved, any decision will have something to do with politics.
She guesses the other way it could be worse. Surely better to guess cautiously. I know we are pissed about it but folk need to actually think rationally about what they’re saying. She’s a politician. They hate being unpopular. They would literally lie to be popular. It’s not a game.
You can’t say you are following science when that’s not the case though. stopping football matches wont save thousands of lives if this turns out to be a deadly strain (unlikely).
Steven79
It’s not just about not being able to go to the football. It’s the fact it doesn’t make any sense.
I think we would all accept it if it did but to only allow 500 people at an outside arena and then let indoor weddings (for example) go ahead with as many numbers as they like just doesn’t make sense.
It's utter bull**** mate!
Have you seen people at weddings? Lots of drunk people indoors all getting together and far from socialy distanced from each other yeah?
It's far worse more likely to spread covid than being outside at a football ground.
21-12-2021, 02:26 PM
Why are they stuck in?
Helensburghhibs
It’s not the outdoor stadiums.
It’s the fans congregating before and post match.
Not true, none of that is banned?
Bothar Casca
legally you could, but it would be unwise to do so
21-12-2021, 02:27 PM
hibs are not sure yet if dundee utd and celtic games will be postponed or played behind closed doors
The issue is having thousands of folk all heading to, and being in the same place at the same time, causing overcrowding. Whether that be in a bus, train, pub, stadium, stadium bogs, etc.
Whether you agree with that decision or not, it will be based on the advice of medics.
So much so that I can go to ER tomorrow but not as of Sunday. It’s either safe to go or it’s not. Maybe Covid is having a wee night off tomorrow, I don’t know? Or maybe, just maybe, it would be less (or even less) politically popular to start bringing things in this side of Christmas. Where politicians are involved, any decision will have something to do with politics.
Because before businesses complained they had no notice to prepare. Now they have notice.
No politician on earth would deliberately go out to make themselves unpopular.
21-12-2021, 02:28 PM
Wonder how many football fans will now be dragged to the boxing day sales in indoor shopping centres instead? I can accept restrictions as much as i don't like them but there needs to be consistency. Personally, i wouldn't have been attending games over the Christmas period but that's my own choice and until things are consistent i think people deserve to be able to make that choice themselves.
Time for Summer football.
Like the Euros when some countries had a decent percentage capacity at the stadium except Hampden.
Denmark and Wembley especially.
Forget politics, forget personalities and try to park your prejudices, at least for a moment.
Imagine you are the leading decision maker in your country and a required decision lands on your desk. You have a virus which is apolitical, is spreading faster than previous variations and the true severity of it’s effects are still relatively unknown.
You can make restictions to numbers in crowds, in hospitality, in workplaces, in households etc to limit interaction that you know are extremely unpopular and affect peple’s livlihoods and mental wellbeing OR you can do nothing, let people do as they please, rely on people’s common sense, let the virus spread through the population and run the risk of overwhelming the NHS and having thousands of needless deaths.
The data is changing every day, decisions have to be fluid and you need to respond to what your scientists are telling you.
What do YOU do?
I am disappointed the football is affected along with everything else, I hate this bloody virus, but I am grateful I can still see family this Christmas and every day I thank the lord I don’t have to make these thankless decisions.
I think the problem is that the actual decisions that have been made have been targeted at the lower risk events while leaving higher risk ones to go ahead. AT the same time we have the impact on hospitality without it being an actual locldown.
If a big decision was required it should have been effective immediately and it should have impacted much more. If things are so bad, then cancel Christmas.
The issue is having thousands of folk all heading to, and being in the same place at the same time, causing overcrowding. Whether that be in a bus, train, pub, stadium, stadium bogs, etc.
Whether you agree with that decision or not, it will be based on the advice of medics.
Exactly. So many people failing to see this.
JGS56
21-12-2021, 02:29 PM
They say we should protect the NHS.
The latest figures show approx. 80% of covid admissions to hospitals have NOT been vaccinated.
If more people were vaccinated the NHS would not be quite as stretched.
So, please point all comments to these b******s that won't get vaccinated through choice.
21-12-2021, 02:29 PM
What do YOU do?
Exactly :agree:
Helensburghhibs
21-12-2021, 02:30 PM
How many people actually experience this? I go to games by train or by car followed by foot. At no poi t have I felt overcrowded and I'd guess (which most of this policy is based on anyway) that the majority of people are the same
Why are they stuck in?
Do you know a boozer that is showing Dundee United tv or Celtic tv? Boxing Day events being cancelled as we speak, games behind closed doors, Hogmanay cancelled. Table service, no standing, maybe not seeing a tele due to this.
Liam978
You most definitely are .
Helensburghhibs
21-12-2021, 02:31 PM
Exactly. So many people failing to see this.
Failing to accept this. A busy bus is a busy bus regardless of its destination or reason. Have you seen the busses going into town this morning ? Rammed
You can’t say you are following science when that’s not the case though. stopping football matches wont save thousands of lives if this turns out to be a deadly strain (unlikely).
They're trying to have a balance between what people want and need, and what health officials recommend.
Doing nothing would be utter negligence.
Don't disagree, but I think the point is that it's the unvaccinated who are more likely to become infected and spread the virus further.
Is that all proven for Omicron, not doubting you just not read anything. It is far harder to find info on transmission. Seems to be that the booster etc is still very good to protect against serious illness but not seen much on transmission. My point was more around the finger pointing and language towards citizens that choose not to be vaccinated for a large number of reasons and not all to do with 5G and Bill Gates. I watched a documentary about the Opioid crisis in the US. Big Pharma buying off Health Authority MDs and craziness such as those showing signs of addiction being given higher doses to solve the problem. It is very difficult to trust any establishment figure now and there is plenty documentation to prove that we have been lied to on countless occasions.
Rick Rude
Like the Euros when nearly every country had a full stadium except Hampden.
Think you watched a different Euros as only Budapest didn't have restrictions on capacity.
BegbieHSC
21-12-2021, 02:32 PM
I can understand the frustration, but I’ve seen the COP26 point made before, which is a bit flawed.
Cases were significantly lower then - Omicron didn’t exist, which is far more transmissible than Delta. There is also evidence that COP26 saw no increase in cases at all. In fact, cases went down further after COP26. A wee side point - I know how important football is to us, but summits like COP26 are important for everyone given the precarious position our planet is in with climate change, so frankly, it’s more important.
Now? Every theatre in town has closed because of Omicron - some restaurants are shut, trains are being cancelled because infections are so high. Several of my pals are now spending Christmas on their own because they’ve picked up the virus. Edinburgh is one of the worst hit areas in Europe right now. Over 1,000 cases per 100,000.
Things like the Christmas market should probably be closed too if the football is being restricted. While transmission outdoors is much lower, I think the idea of 10k-60k people crammed together at the time when a very infectious variant is taking hold is just too risky.
I’m absolutely gutted, but I do think it’s the right decision.
Because before businesses complained they had no notice to prepare. Now they have notice.
No politician on earth would deliberately go out to make themselves unpopular.
They have notice? They have as little as they did before (Wednesday for the following Monday before - Tuesday for Sunday for football clubs)
No but the sound of bloody music has played havoc with my brain every christmas for the best part of 50 years.
Steven79
21-12-2021, 02:33 PM
They're trying to have a balance between what people want and need, and what health officials recommend.
Do people really need to have Christmas and cause Covid to spread far and wide?
Do people really need to go shopping on boxing day to pick up bargains?
If the games go ahead then Sevco & mini-Sevco will have had an unfair advantage, having had a full crowd for their derby home games earlier in the season.
It will be the tv companies making that call.
They pay our league to have games at times and dates which they in turn have sold to their advertisers.
If the game goes ahead without crowds the payments will still be made, if no game league income will be cut.
Steve88
What do YOU do?
COVID isn't a leading cause of death so I would say the response we have is way over the top.
Infact, with heart disease being significantly above COVID, perhaps the UK should invest money in educating peoples health (diet + exercise) which in turn would reduce COVID deaths.
Perhaps we should lock up all the overweight people and force them to eat healthy? force them to exercise? Sounds pretty horrible doesn't it.. but some on here have the same opinion about people who haven't had a booster jab..
2021 UK Causes of death below:
Source: https://www.ons.gov.uk/peoplepopulationandcommunity/birthsdeathsandmarriages/deaths/bulletins/monthlymortalityanalysisenglandandwales/october2021
Leading cause
5-year average
Nov-21
Dementia and Alzheimer’s disease
Ischaemic heart diseases
COVID-19
:
Chronic lower respiratory diseases
Cerebrovascular diseases
Malignant neoplasm of trachea bronchus and lung
Influenza and pneumonia
Symptoms signs and ill-defined conditions
Malignant neoplasm of colon sigmoid rectum and anus
Malignant neoplasms stated or presumed to be primary of lymphoid haematopoietic and related tissue
Prove that it would be negligent. Facts are they can’t prove it yet as there is no proof.
21-12-2021, 02:34 PM
Wonder how many football fans will now be dragged to the boxing day sales in indoor shopping centres instead? I can accept restrictions as much as i don't like them but there needs to be consistency. Personally, i wouldn't have been attending games over the Christmas period but that's my own choice and until things are consistent i think people deserve to be able to make that choice themselves.
I guess most would have the ability to say no to being dragged to the *****ty boxing day sales!
I think the problem is that the actual decisions that have been made have been targeted at the lower risk events while leaving higher risk ones to go ahead. AT the same time we have the impact on hospitality without it being an actual locldown.
If a big decision was required it should have been effective immediately and it should have impacted much more. If things are so bad, then cancel Christmas.
Yup - why didn’t they stop games sooner and then surely we would be in the clear later?
Why such a delay till 26th ? What does that even achieve apart from letting folk spread it on Christmas Day.
Why wait till the 26th ?
Why not travel bans earlier ?
i do absolutely agree 100% with that point, i think only yourself and another handful have made this point, the others are the same group that have harked on and on and on, some since lockdown LAST MARCH, some grown men are actually sitting with froth coming out their mouths just because of this announcement, but anyway back to your point, i'm stumped myself but i'd rather wait and get an explanation from someone in authority to explain it, their must be a logical reason, i think :greengrin
mixumatosis
Thats the point though the anti vax havent followed anything. Mandate the vaccine stop pussy footing around. If the no government Libertarians want that then get on a plane to the Sahara for all I care.
Heard a good line about "libertarians" the other day. Kid says to his mum "I want to be a libertarian when I'm a grown up", his mum replies "pick one or the other, you can't be both".
Like the Euros when nearly every country had a full stadium except Hampden.
I might be wrong but was it not only Hungary that had a full stadium in the Euro's? Wembley restrictions were lifted for the final?
I’ll second that.
Some of the absolute guff coming out of grown adults just now is ridiculous. A lot of folk need to pick up their toys from around their prams.
This times 10
Kind of like the Boxing Day up at the new St James centre. There’ll be more people pass through there that day than there would be at Tynecastle. All getting there on buses, trains etc. With quite a few going for some refreshments in the surrounding pubs, restaurants etc.
21-12-2021, 02:36 PM
Failing to accept this. A busy bus is a busy bus regardless of its destination or reason. Have you seen the busses going into town this morning ? Rammed
Yup they will be. So if you take the rammed buses as they are just now, then add onto that the additional footfall from thousands attending football games then that increases the risks by a bucket load.
Whether we like it or not, football isn’t a necessity.
The latest figures show approx. 80% of covid admissions to hospitals have NOT been vaccinated.
So, please point all comments to these b******s that won't get vaccinated through choice.
Exactly, have a complete shutdown for the unvaccinated, make them stay indoors and not leave the house, then see how quickly they get jabbed.
COVID isn't a leading cause of death so I would say the response we have is way over the top.
Infact, with heart disease being significantly above COVID, perhaps the UK should invest money in educating peoples health (diet + exercise) which in turn would reduce COVID deaths.
Source: https://www.ons.gov.uk/peoplepopulationandcommunity/birthsdeathsandmarriages/deaths/bulletins/monthlymortalityanalysisenglandandwales/october2021
Leading cause
5-year average
Nov-21
Ischaemic heart diseases
COVID-19
:
Cerebrovascular diseases
Influenza and pneumonia
Malignant neoplasms stated or presumed to be primary of lymphoid haematopoietic and related tissue
Wow, is there a vaccine for heart disease and Alzheimer’s? Did they just appear in the last two years? Are they airborne viruses too?
This comparison is completely unhelpful.
Sturgeon has consistently made tough decisions in this. Much more consistent messaging than others who have swayed to where the political wind is going.
I’m genuinely gutted about this, and the other restrictions. Not sure it’s the right thing to do at all. And yes, there are some holes we can pick in some of it. But I absolutely trust that there is no agenda behind this other than protecting services and saving lives.
She has led us through the toughest period since WW2. I’d trust her as a leader more than most political alternatives.
21-12-2021, 02:37 PM
Do you know a boozer that is showing Dundee United tv or Celtic tv? Boxing Day events being cancelled as we speak, games behind closed doors, Hogmanay cancelled. Table service, no standing, maybe not seeing a tele due to this.
In what way is Hogmanay cancelled? I'm pretty sure it'll happen as it always has. Apart for those who die before it comes along.
The street party has been cancelled. That's all. The tourists will be disappointed.
JGS56
21-12-2021, 02:38 PM
Perhaps we should lock up all the overweight people and force them to eat healthy? force them to exercise? Sounds pretty horrible doesn't it.. but some on here have the same opinion about people who haven't had a booster jab..
Leading cause
5-year average
Nov-21
Ischaemic heart diseases
COVID-19
:
Cerebrovascular diseases
Influenza and pneumonia
Also, the COVID deaths are for any cause within 28 days of a positive death. So there will be a lot of deaths that are a combination of other factors as well as COVID.
Prove that it would be negligent. Facts are they can’t prove it yet as there is no proof.
Look at the data for countries who done nothing then look at the amount of deaths those countries have and come back to me.
making mask wearing mandatory in shopping centres would be a start, though that may upset the ones that are too thick to understand the reasons behind wearing a mask
ah cannae get it so ah dinnae need tae wear wan
BegbieHSC
Leading cause
5-year average
Nov-21
Ischaemic heart diseases
COVID-19
:
Cerebrovascular diseases
Influenza and pneumonia
Covid can still lead to hospitalisation for many people, which puts pressure on the health service, and diverts doctors, nurses and other health care professionals away from the most life threatening conditions like the ones you’ve mentioned.
21-12-2021, 02:39 PM
Do people really need to have Christmas and cause Covid to spread far and wide?
Do people really need to go shopping on boxing day to pick up bargains?
No but our capitalist country needs it!
Steven79
i do absolutely agree 100% with that point, i think only yourself and another handful have made this point, the others are the same group that have harked on and on and on, some since lockdown LAST MARCH, some grown men are actually sitting with froth coming out their mouths just because of this announcement, but anyway back to your point, i'm stumped myself but i'd rather wait and get an explanation from someone in authority to explain it, their must be a logical reason, i think :greengrin
Apparently hugging family indoors while drunk is much safer than hugging random strangers outdoors...
Helensburghhibs
Yup they will be. So if you take the rammed buses as they are just now, then add onto that the additional footfall from thousands attending football games then that increases the risks by a bucket load.
Whether we like it or not, football isn’t a necessity.
Neither is Christmas shopping. Nothing in town is not available online.
https://uploads.tapatalk-cdn.com/20211221/d315a890de0dbcc4047f0dc12a427db1.png
… just when I was thinking that I could agree with TE, Montrose FC popped up.
Not sure how the 500 crowd limits will impact the Championship
21-12-2021, 02:40 PM
Think you watched a different Euros as only Budapest didn't have restrictions on capacity.
Ok - Denmark and Wembley definitely had a higher percentage that most stadiums. While not full - they looked pretty full and with limited social distancing etc in summer.
JGS56
21-12-2021, 02:41 PM
making mask wearing mandatory in shopping centres would be a start, though that may upset the ones that are too thick to understand the reasons behind wearing a mask
ah cannae get it so ah dinnae need tae wear wan
Totally agree, no mask (worn properly) - no entry.
Hibernianinc
21-12-2021, 02:41 PM
Leading cause
5-year average
Nov-21
Ischaemic heart diseases
COVID-19
:
Cerebrovascular diseases
Influenza and pneumonia
None of the others (bar flu) are contagious, which is exactly why we have the response we have.
21-12-2021, 02:42 PM
Neither is Christmas shopping. Nothing in town is not available online.
Inclined to agree with that. But then those businesses suffer. You can’t please everyone.
So what would you have done instead?
Bothar Casca
Leading cause
5-year average
Nov-21
Ischaemic heart diseases
COVID-19
:
Cerebrovascular diseases
Influenza and pneumonia
Car crashes aren’t on that list and yet we still wear seatbelts
Acts of terror aren’t on that list yet we still don’t take liquids on planes
Typhoid isn’t on that list but I still wipe my arse and wash my hands after I’ve been for a *****.
Just because something isn’t the number one killer doesn’t mean we shouldn’t be taking the precautions available to us (for free at the point of use).
Steve88
Wow, is there a vaccine for heart disease and Alzheimer’s? Did they just appear in the last two years? Are they airborne viruses too?
This comparison is completely unhelpful.
It highlight's the reaction of policy makers vs actual impact of COVID (deaths) in comparison to other leading causes of deaths - It's very relevant in response to the original post.
Perhaps you lack the intellect here
21-12-2021, 02:43 PM
None of the others (bar flu) are contagious, which is exactly why we have the response we have.
Wrong.
BegbieHSC
Leading cause
5-year average
Nov-21
Ischaemic heart diseases
COVID-19
:
Cerebrovascular diseases
Influenza and pneumonia
Covid can lead to hospitalisation. If Covid is out of control, and the hospital wards are full of Covid patients, there is less capacity and resources to manage the more life threatening conditions like the ones you’ve mentioned. If a ward is full of Covid patients, a hospital has less space and doctors for someone who’s had a heart attack or been in a car accident.
That’s one of the reasons why we’ve had lockdowns and restrictions.
Folk can’t see the wood for the trees.
Hibeesforever
Where do you get these figures ? I haven't been able to find them and they are the key argument here.
Stokesy's on fire
21-12-2021, 02:44 PM
Indoor shopping malls are fine but outdoor football grounds are covid hotspots apparently...
Sent from my SM-G960F using Tapatalk
Plus the Virus isnt contagious until boxing day. Surely the people have had enough of the poor leadership in Scotland and in England.
JGS56
21-12-2021, 02:45 PM
Where do you get these figures ? I haven't been able to find them and they are the key argument here.
Have heard them stated on news bulletins. In fact it may be higher than 80%.
Hibernianinc
21-12-2021, 02:46 PM
Wrong.
Best not sit next to someone with colon cancer then 🙄
Steve88
21-12-2021, 02:46 PM
Covid can still lead to hospitalisation for many people, which puts pressure on the health service, and diverts doctors, nurses and other health care professionals away from the most life threatening conditions like the ones you’ve mentioned.
Again to my earlier point, then why haven't governments invested in NHS infrastructure + fast tracked staff training over the last 2 years so that any potential covid spike becomes relative to NHS resources...
Instead, we go round in circles. Spike? Lockdown.. Spike ? Lockdown Print money via the treasury and pass on the debt to future generations to pay off as well as tax rises.
We're not treating the root of the problem here, the NHS capacity
21-12-2021, 02:47 PM
It highlight's the reaction of policy makers vs actual impact of COVID (deaths) in comparison to other leading causes of deaths - It's very relevant in response to the original post.
Perhaps you lack the intellect here
Nice, in with the insults!
So should we just ignore the actual impact on key workers that Covid is having (putting deaths to one side)
21-12-2021, 02:48 PM
Totally agree, no mask (worn properly) - no entry.
as for the ones that wear it over their mouth but not the nose...i can't work out if they are half sensible, or half thick
i tend to opt for the latter
loanheadhibby
21-12-2021, 02:48 PM
Omicron appeared a month ago.
That why I used the delta variant which was dominant at time of cop26 and apparently as bad.
Helensburghhibs
21-12-2021, 02:49 PM
Inclined to agree with that. But then those businesses suffer. You can’t please everyone.
So what would you have done instead?
Vaccine passports / negative test for entry. If the vaccines aren't suitable then tell people that and go negative test results only
21-12-2021, 02:50 PM
Again to my earlier point, then why haven't governments invested in NHS infrastructure + fast tracked staff training over the last 2 years so that any potential covid spike becomes relative to NHS resources...
Instead, we go round in circles. Spike? Lockdown.. Spike ? Lockdown Print money via the treasury and pass on the debt to future generations to pay off as well as tax rises.
We're not treating the root of the problem here, the NHS capacity
You can’t essentially fast track a doctor or a nurse or other specialists through training, then you’d end up with healthcare workers who are grossly incompetent.
21-12-2021, 02:51 PM
Vaccine passports / negative test for entry. If the vaccines aren't suitable then tell people that and go negative test results only
That won’t stop fans adding additional footfall on public transport or in pubs etc before and after games though.
Steven79
21-12-2021, 02:52 PM
Plus the Virus isnt contagious until boxing day. Surely the people have had enough of the poor leadership in Scotland and in England.
Covid is having the day off tomorrow night at Easter Road along with Christmas day thankfully!
loanheadhibby
21-12-2021, 02:52 PM
Should they just let people die?
So that’s it for civilisation then? Every new variant, it’s back to lockdown?
We’ve tried lockdown, doesn’t work. Tried circuit breakers, not much success. I don’t have the answers but continually doing the same thing with same outcome, something different has to be tried.
21-12-2021, 02:53 PM
I don’t think people should be dismissive of the positive effect getting to go to the football has on a lot of peoples mental health.
People maybe are acting irrationally just now and in the cold light of day when things settle down people may see it differently but for now i get the anger. People just want to live their normal lives, this isn’t sustainable any more I don’t think.
I’m no expert on the matter but If anybody is struggling with this set back today, I hope you’re ok, speak to likeminded people and vent away. Even if it is irrational.
Steven79
We’ve tried lockdown, doesn’t work. Tried circuit breakers, not much success. I don’t have the answers but continually doing the same thing with same outcome, something different has to be tried.
This!
We can't lockdown every year after Christmas...
declan macmanus
It's clear though, that Scotland would have far tougher restrictions NOW if the money was there to compensate businesses that should be closed. The UK Govt are dithering because the Tory party is in uproar. They will eventually have to fall in line and the delayed restrictions will be longer and more severe as a consequence.
Steve88
21-12-2021, 02:54 PM
You can’t essentially fast track a doctor or a nurse or other specialists through training, then you’d end up with healthcare workers who are grossly incompetent.
Yes you can.. You have training for COVID related illnesses prioritised therefore scaling up healthcare professionals with the ability to treat covid impacted patients; as part of Doctor/Nurse placements which are a pre-requisite
They are then able to continue with their studies.
Student nurses were being used in 2020 to bolster NHS capacity
Helensburghhibs
21-12-2021, 02:55 PM
That won’t stop fans adding additional footfall on public transport or in pubs etc before and after games though.
You asked me what I would do. I wouldn't target fans to drop footfall for one. We are no less important than Christmas shoppers or people going up town for meals
21-12-2021, 02:55 PM
Why is football treated differently? There will be thousands more people on public transport going non essential shopping in Edinburgh on Sunday than there would have been going to a game of football. A lot of them will even go for something to eat or a drink before and/or after as well.
Bothar Casca
21-12-2021, 02:56 PM
Sadly it’s very easy to fake a negative LFT. Dropping tap water on the sample hole will return a negative test (conversely dropping lemon juice or Coca Cola will return a false positive).
And when you scan the QR code it asks you if the test was positive of negative.
if you say negative you then get a text saying “You returned a negative lateral flow test”.
Hibeesforever
21-12-2021, 02:56 PM
Have heard them stated on news bulletins. In fact it may be higher than 80%.
In that case, it is the unvaccinated that need locked down. Hospital cases are only 515 and we don't know how many people had pre-existing illnesses...again the statistics that the SNP government do not want to share.
21-12-2021, 03:00 PM
It's not every new variant, though. There have been many variants (8 or 9?) since Delta that have been managed by the measures we've been using.
Helensburghhibs
Sadly it’s very easy to fake a negative LFT. Dropping tap water on the sample hole will return a negative test (conversely dropping lemon juice or Coca Cola will return a false positive).
And when you scan the QR code it asks you if the test was positive of negative.
if you say negative you then get a text saying “You returned a negative lateral flow test”.
Yeah but it's the best the government have came up with so far so that's what they should use. At work we have to take supervised lfts which follow the same process but someone witnessed the test and submits the results
https://twitter.com/ee_sport/status/1473320599153958912?s=21
Bothar Casca
21-12-2021, 03:01 PM
In that case, it is the unvaccinated that need locked down. Hospital cases are only 515 and we don't know how many people had pre-existing illnesses...again the statistics that the SNP government do not want to share.
Are all the other UK governments sharing this information?
21-12-2021, 03:01 PM
Hospital cases are hospital cases. It’s irrevelvant how pre exsisting conditions are recorded. If they’ve got covid they have covid. Covid exacerbates pre existing conditions. They might not be hospitalised with the pre existing condition and there’s a fair chance without covid they wouldn’t be. I agree about restricting the unvaccinated.
Helensburghhibs
21-12-2021, 03:03 PM
Seeing those pictures of fans spaces out like that is depressing in itself
21-12-2021, 03:08 PM
They’ve got 2 home games on the 26th and 29th, one is against Rangers
21-12-2021, 03:10 PM
What do YOU do?
I’ll second that.
:agree::agree::agree:
21-12-2021, 03:11 PM
I am looking for those too. The only one I found suggested a third of those in hospital with Covid were unvaccinated. It was a month or so ago though. No doubt by percentage there are far more in hospital who are unvaccinated though compared to their peer group who have been vaccinated. So many of the figures you want to see are difficult to find but to be fair the big ones like cases and deaths have been very openly shared by Government. I have always been interested in natural antibodies against vaccine and how the spread compares from event to event. Is outdoor safe if excluding public transport etc for instance. I'm also interested in how people's behaviours change when vaccinated and particularly so when it comes to guidelines rather than laws but also mask wearing etc. I feel the social contract is important and I think all UK Governments are starting to lose their way with that and particularly so in case of the young who don't trust the establishment. Rightly so in my opinion.
21-12-2021, 03:12 PM
Yes you can.. You have training for COVID related illnesses prioritised therefore scaling up healthcare professionals with the ability to treat covid impacted patients; as part of Doctor/Nurse placements which are a pre-requisite
They are then able to continue with their studies.
Student nurses were being used in 2020 to bolster NHS capacity
Yeah that is true, but they weren't paid appropriately IMO. :agree:
Why is football treated differently? There will be thousands more people on public transport going non essential shopping in Edinburgh on Sunday than there would have been going to a game of football. A lot of them will even go for something to eat or a drink before and/or after as well.
You asked me what I would do. I wouldn't target fans to drop footfall for one. We are no less important than Christmas shoppers or people going up town for meals
I don't disagree, but I don't know why football is treated differently. I don't have those answers.
TheHibernator
21-12-2021, 03:14 PM
Because she hates football and it’s fans, hit with the hardest restrictions every time during this nonsense with nothing to back it up. Destroying people’s mental health
21-12-2021, 03:15 PM
Nail on the head.
21-12-2021, 03:17 PM
Because she hates football and it’s fans, hit with the hardest restrictions every time during this nonsense with nothing to back it up.
It's not being at your seat in the ground that is the problem. It's the additional footfall on transport, in bars etc pre and post match. Why can't people see this? :confused:
21-12-2021, 03:21 PM
It's not being at your seat in the ground that is the problem. It's the additional footfall on transport, in bars etc pre and post match. Why can't people see this? :confused:
I reckon it’s as much to do with resources being used at football matches as transmission. If ambulance and police are having the same sickness as everywhere else and it’s not really necessary then why stretch the services. That and infection transmission. Two birds with one stone. It’s an easy thing that can be done.
Helensburghhibs
21-12-2021, 03:22 PM
Why can't you see the counter argument that more people travel into Edinburgh for shopping on busses than Easter road. But that's not been stopped ?
21-12-2021, 03:23 PM
Why can't you see the counter argument that more people travel into Edinburgh for shopping on busses than Easter road. But that's not been stopped ?
Shops do have measures/restrictions on their business too.
Green Badger
21-12-2021, 03:24 PM
The additional footfall from all the day trippers and shoppers into Edinburgh on the 26th will be significantly greater than the attendance at Easter Road. Surely you can see that?
Rumble de Thump
21-12-2021, 03:24 PM
They're not traveling to congregate at the same pub, restaurant, cafe, shop etc at the same time.
21-12-2021, 03:25 PM
The additional footfall from all the day trippers and shoppers into Edinburgh on the 26th will be significantly greater than the attendance at Easter Road. Surely you can see that?
Do people still do that stuff ?
Islington Hibs
21-12-2021, 03:25 PM
Isn't London the place where a major incident was declared due to a surge in Omicron cases?
Sadiq Khan runs Sturgeon close to being the worst grandstanding politician in the UK. London has functioned just fine- it’s the foolish politicians who are ruining our society with mad lockdowns and track and trace nonsense resulting in absenteeism . There is no emergency here outside the imagination of politicians - just back from a splendid luncheon at the splendid Fredricks N1 - rammed and some fine wine. Very upset that my young son will miss his first ever derby. Insane
Wearing a mask ? We could do that at the football
Edit - maybe 1m distancing as well ?
21-12-2021, 03:26 PM
I’ve yet to see anything change from last weeks announcement
Was in the Gyle today, everything as normal. Loads not wearing masks either, security guards should he throwing them out, unless they are exempt
Football fans need to do their bit too, I always wear my mask where I’m told told to in the grounds, far too many don’t know unfortunately
Bothar Casca
21-12-2021, 03:27 PM
Because she hates football and it’s fans, hit with the hardest restrictions every time during this nonsense with nothing to back it up. Destroying people’s mental health
Does Nicola Sturgeon also hate New Year?
Rugby fans?
Concert-goers?
Children with panto tickets?
Stand Up Comedians?
Maybe she’s good pals with Jackie Bird and wants to get her back on the telly?
The government didn’t cancel football. They cancelled mass gatherings of people over 200 indoors and 500 outdoors. Plenty of other events fall into those categories. Football is just one of them.
Helensburghhibs
21-12-2021, 03:27 PM
They're not traveling to congregate at the same pub, restaurant, cafe, shop etc at the same time.
Eh? The point was people using public transport. People going shopping will all descend around pricess Street all throughout the day
21-12-2021, 03:28 PM
Wearing a mask ? We could do that at the football
Edit - maybe 1m distancing as well ?
Masks, distancing, limited number of people in store at any time, hand sanitizer, direct flow of traffic through stores..
Whether all of that is being followed is another thing.
21-12-2021, 03:28 PM
Will non season ticket holders who purchased a ticket get a refund?
21-12-2021, 03:29 PM
Rumble de Thump
21-12-2021, 03:30 PM
Sadiq Khan runs Sturgeon close to being the worst grandstanding politician in the UK. London has functioned just fine- it’s the foolish politicians who are ruining our society with mad lockdowns and track and trace nonsense resulting in absenteeism . There is no emergency here outside the imagination of politicians - just back from a splendid luncheon at the splendid Fredricks N1 - rammed and some fine wine. Very upset that my young son will miss his first ever derby. Insane
The health experts imagined the sharp increase in Omicron infections in London recently? Yesterday the London Evening Standard reported it as being up by 500% from the previous week among young people in the city.
21-12-2021, 03:31 PM
Will non season ticket holders who purchased a ticket get a refund?
If the game goes ahead as planned then yes.
If it's rescheduled then no as your ticket will be valid.
21-12-2021, 03:33 PM
Has anyone seen any mention anywhere of the notion of postponing the games rather than closed doors? No fans will be a huge loss in revenue particularly with an Edinburgh Derby and OF Derby being in the mix.
Jeez, outside of the clubs even the bus fare intake is going to take a hammering :wink:
the tornadoe
21-12-2021, 03:33 PM
Rugby fans?
Concert-goers?
Stand Up Comedians?
The government didn’t cancel football. They cancelled mass gatherings of people over 200 indoors and 500 outdoors. Plenty of other events fall into those categories. Football is just one of them.
There will be mass gatherings of well over 200 people INDOORS at the big shopping malls in Edinburgh Glasgow Dundee etc... that doesn't count ??
Bothar Casca
21-12-2021, 03:34 PM
Do people still do that stuff ?
Footfall in the UK high street and retail sector has been falling dramatically for the last few years even before COVID. When covid hit that caused an acceleration that it is very unlikely to recover from.
No UK retailer is expecting large crowds in their stores post Xmas. In fact, many announce months ago they were closing voluntarily on Boxing Day.
21-12-2021, 03:35 PM
Will non season ticket holders who purchased a ticket get a refund? They certainly deserve one if they want one
21-12-2021, 03:36 PM
That why I used the delta variant which was dominant at time of cop26 and apparently as bad.
It was dominant but not in its pomp. Cases were dropping and Omicron is much more contagious.
The dalmeny
21-12-2021, 03:36 PM
Rugby fans?
Concert-goers?
Stand Up Comedians?
100% with you here, this 'nippy hates football' (and I don't like her) does my head in
21-12-2021, 03:37 PM
Covid is having the day off tomorrow night at Easter Road along with Christmas day thankfully!
Presumably you'd be giving it the day off for ever?