View Full Version : maloney new gaffer
20-12-2021, 05:15 PM
Actually I agree with you but be prepared for plenty of flack. I did find it a bit strange that he stood out from the other candidates that presumably applied for this job, as nice, intelligent guy as he seems, he doesn't really stand out at all IMO.He seems to be trying to say all the right things, but as it is his first managerial job he'll be relying on those around him, probably most of all the assistant manager, Caldwell. Hmm. Anyway, like you I hope I'm totally wrong and he goes on to prove himself a really good manager. We've had a mixed bag in the last 20 years, some good, some bad, some really rotten, it'll be interesting to see how this one works out.
Listening to his Sky interview I think he was sounded out for the job. Don't think he applied.
20-12-2021, 05:17 PM
I hope he gets some slack until January. His cards will be marked by some if we lose the derby.
20-12-2021, 05:21 PM
Is it no an idea to actually see how his team sets up and plays before deciding if he offers more than JR or not?
I know, I get it, I was prepared for the responses seen so far.
I'm just giving an honest, first impression opinion. Can't help how i feel and I'm not going to pretend i'm excited by it.
I'm not spitting feathers or shouting about it. I'm not blaming anyone for anything. I jut don't see what you guys see.
As usual on here, I've been called a Hearts fan and some feel the need to have wee digs.
At least you and a couple of others didn't feel the need for that, so thanks. :aok:
20-12-2021, 05:23 PM
I'm just giving an honest, first impression opinion. Can't help how i feel and I'm not going to pretend i'm excited by it.
I'm not spitting feathers or shouting about it. I'm not blaming anyone for anything. I jut don't see what you guys see.
As usual on here, I've been called a Hearts fan and some feel the need to have wee digs.
At least you and a couple of others didn't feel the need for that, so thanks. :aok:
“If you’ve got nothing positive to say…”
20-12-2021, 05:24 PM
I'm just gonna go ahead and put on ignore anyone who is rubbishing this right from the start, or makes the lazy Cathro comparison - saves lots of bother and energy. The hysteria over Ross was bad enough but to moan about a new manager before his first game is beyond parody.
Just admit you use Hibs and hibs.net as cathartic release and we'll all respect you more.
You might not see this if you're ignoring me, but this just does not apply to me.
I'm rarely critical of the club.
Maybe show some tolerance for people with a different take on things and you'll not get so stressed? It's only chat on a forum, not worth getting worked up about at all.
I hope he gets some slack until January. His cards will be marked by some if we lose the derby.
The derby? We better win on Wednesday or there'll be complaints that 'we can't even beat a poor Aberdeen'.
“If you’ve got nothing positive to say…”
Yeah, maybe you missed my previous post :wink:
20-12-2021, 05:27 PM
Always laugh when someone spews a load of baseless, negativity then says they hope they are wrong.
Always glad to humour you MW.
You never get bored up there?
20-12-2021, 05:27 PM
Im happy to be optimistic. Its not like we dont need a bit of hope at the moment.
His head sits on his neck at a weird angle. I cant put it any better than that. He looks like hes got a bad back and is trying hard not to aggravate it. But im not holding it against him, im sure he could poke faults at my posture as well.
Good luck gaffer:aok:
20-12-2021, 05:28 PM
Maloney has a clean slate from me. Nothing says either way to me he’ll either succeed or bomb. Only time will tell. I think most of the negativity is around that the whole episode was so unnecessary. Will we be any better off with an educated gamble or the tried and tested that actually worked. As I said only time will tell. I wish him nothing but good luck.
20-12-2021, 05:28 PM
This is really good news for the SMSM, who will continually refer to him as 'Ex-Celt Shaun Maloney'
Something like this
BBC Interviewer
Welcome back to Scotland,Shaun.
The last time i interviewed you was after you had won another league medal with Celtic.
A club you played for ,left and then returned for a second stint to play and take up a coaching role
You go to Celtic Park shortly with emm Hibs
I guess you will look forward to meeting up with old pals and a warm welcome from the stands
Rumble de Thump
20-12-2021, 05:29 PM
You haven't acknowledged anything postitive about him. Not a single thing. Even though people have already mentioned plenty of positives on this very thread. It's very strange.
20-12-2021, 05:30 PM
Come on admins, give our new Manager a wee bit respect and change his name to "MALONEY" in the thread title.
😄👍
20-12-2021, 05:30 PM
You haven't acknowledged anything postitive about him. Not a single thing. Even though people have already mentioned plenty of positives on this very thread. It's very strange.
They’re only positive if you think they are.
20-12-2021, 05:32 PM
Im happy to be optimistic. Its not like we dont need a bit of hope at the moment.
His head sits on his neck at a weird angle. I cant put it any better than that. He looks like hes got a bad back and is trying hard not to aggravate it. But im not holding it against him, im sure he could poke faults at my posture as well.
When I first seen / heard him pundit on Sportscene a while back I do have to say I found him a bit odd. Not rubbishing him at all and don’t remember him looking quite as odd when he played, he was a very good player indeed, but it’s interesting you mention his neck as I couldn’t see one. He’s going to need one.
20-12-2021, 05:32 PM
Not a hertz fan but most certainly a Lennonite.!
20-12-2021, 05:35 PM
Strange in what way?
20-12-2021, 05:37 PM
Not a hertz fan but most certainly a Lennonite.!
Ha, i'd have gone for Lennon before Maloney for sure!!
I'm not hating on Maloney or anything, I've been pretty careful not to say anything controversial.
It's like when Heckingbottom got the job, more just bemused than anything else.
It would be nice to be able to chat about it without folk jumping to 'strange' conclusions or saying i've got an agenda or whatever.
Why's everyone so tetchy about it?
Alan62
20-12-2021, 05:37 PM
Yeah ok, I can't stay silent on this, don't shoot me!!
He comes across a lovely lad, talks nicely but by God he sounds so naive.
His interview on Hibs TV was pure say what the fans want to hear. "We want to attack and it's important we all work together". We hear that from every single manager up and down the land.
I've seen nothing to suggest that he offers anything more than JR. I hope he has some magical powers that he' kept hidden that he can use with the payers. Not a chance in Hell that they are sitting thinking can't wait to play for this guy.
I just don't get it. I know i'm hugely in the minority here and don't mean to piss on your chips but this just seems disastrous. If Aberdeen had gone for him we'd be slating Cormack, just like we did with Stephen Glass.
Now, of course I hope i'm wrong and that he goes on to be a huge success but i think we'll be back having this chat before the season is out, or this time next year at the latest.
Absolutely mental appointment.
Can't really agree with much of your post here. I just watched the interview and thought he came across as an articulate and thoughtful coach who knows exactly what he's getting into. He has clearly spent time with both the Chairman and our CEO and understands their vision for the club. He also quite clearly has worked hard to develop his coaching abilities and has strong ideas of how he wants his team to play. Of course, time will tell whether he can actually achieve his aims at Hibernian but I am excited about his appointment.
20-12-2021, 05:42 PM
I'm not hating on Maloney or anything, I've been pretty careful not to say anything controversial.
Oh that’s good I’m glad you’re not going to say anything controversial!
Oh... never mind :greengrin
20-12-2021, 05:48 PM
It would be nice to be able to chat about it without folk jumping to 'strange' conclusions or saying i've got an agenda or whatever.
If you’re wanting an open minded conversation about him then surely you need to at least acknowledge the positives though.
He might not be everyone’s first choice but there’s pros and cons to every potential manager and Maloney is no different.
Can I ask who you would have preferred? I’m not meaning that to sound nippy or a loaded question, however regardless of who you say, there’ll be as many negatives as there is for Maloney.
20-12-2021, 05:49 PM
Have u forgotten just how rank we were when lennon left out of interest?? 8th and sinking fast with a disengaged squad and changing room, it was that bad even Hecky made a difference when he first arrived.
Fwiw I am glad we've went out the box and not appointed a Lennon or a MCInnes here...lets get right behind the new gaffer and give him a chance vefore slating him shall we??
Silky
20-12-2021, 05:49 PM
They will. For some fans, and some I know, that's the be all and end all. I reckon this time next season we'll have people calling for his head. He'll get 18 months tops. That's how it is.
He's here!
20-12-2021, 05:50 PM
I think it's a long neck coupled with a wide jaw that makes that part of his anatomy seem a wee bit out of kilter.
As Iggy has mentioned, he was different to how I expected him to be when I first saw him speak on Sportscene a few months back (more scholarly). I don't recall seeing him interviewed as a player but I guess I assumed he'd have a Glasgow accent.
Aside from all that irrelevant drivel, I too am happy to be optimistic. Best of luck to him.
20-12-2021, 05:52 PM
Always laugh when someone spews a load of baseless, negativity then says they hope they are wrong.
Of course he hopes he is wrong though.
Nobody would want any Hibs manager to fail just to be proven correct.
The Jack Ross ship has sailed and it doesn't really matter if it was the right or incorrect choice now. For me, it's done and it's time to back the new management set up to be as successful as possible. I'm not going to belittle an opinion from a passionate fan though because it doesn't tow the party line.
There's as much chance Maloney will be a success as a failure. Both are based on guesswork. He has my full support though :aok:
cameronw-hfc
20-12-2021, 05:53 PM
I would have been worried if it wasn't for Caldwell. Not done class as a manager, but think the good cop/bad cop dynamic with the two should go quite well. Mahoney being more intelligent and quiet, Caldwell more of a sh*thouse
20-12-2021, 05:55 PM
Yes, there is part of me that wants to say ‘Maloney- baloney, not my choice’ etc etc but it’s time to put ego, personal preferences and nonsense aside and get right behind THE NEW MANAGER OF HIBERNIAN, the club we should all be madly, dementedly, in sheer hopeless unrequited love with.
Welcome Shaun.
20-12-2021, 06:00 PM
Yes, there is part of me that wants to say ‘Maloney- baloney, not my choice’ etc etc but it’s time to put ego, personal preferences and nonsense aside and get right behind THE NEW MANAGER OF HIBERNIAN, the club we should all be madly, dementedly, in sheer hopeless unrequited love with.
Welcome Shaun.
Pretty much this :aok:
20-12-2021, 06:02 PM
I would have been worried if it wasn't for Caldwell. Not done class as a manager, but think the good cop/bad cop dynamic with the two should go quite well. Mahoney being more intelligent and quiet, Caldwell more of a sh*thouse
Without wanting this to come over as a Butcherism - I'm happy to have someone in there with a bit of experience of what DOESN'T work.
Maloney will make mistakes, that's fine. Having an assistant who has already made a few will hopefully be of use.
20-12-2021, 06:05 PM
I'm liking the fact we will have a manager who historically was an attacker and an assistant who was a defender. Always prefer a mix.
Hopefully it comes good.
20-12-2021, 06:08 PM
The change from Blobby to Mowbray was almost instantaneous in terms of formation and style.
The current system is not working so why stick with it for another 4 games?
Mowbray had a pre season to instil his ideas. Maloney has a game every 3 days for the next fortnight. He’s not going to have a lot of time on the training ground to make massive changes.
Hopefully we see an instant impact but he’ll need a bit of time to change the style. The winter break will help.
heid the baw
20-12-2021, 06:08 PM
My thoughts watching the Sky interview is that this guy is out of his depth. I hope I'm wrong but it was difficult to see him as an inspiring leader. He was clearly approached by the club rather than applying for the gig driven by any ambition/ hunger.
It's his first day so obviously he deserves time to get going, so I will back him like I would any Hibs manager. Really hope he proves me wrong.
I did like the fact that he mentioned the academy though
20-12-2021, 06:10 PM
Shaun Maloney will get my support. Bit of a gamble but it’s about time one paid off. Lead us to cup glory and Europe and become a Hibs hero 🇳🇬🇳🇬🇳🇬🇳🇬🇳🇬
20-12-2021, 06:11 PM
Hope everyone going Wednesday can give him a good reception and get behind the boys for the new era.
20-12-2021, 06:14 PM
They will. For some fans, and some I know, that's the be all and end all. I reckon this time next season we'll have people calling for his head. He'll get 18 months tops. That's how it is.
SM is a victim of the way Ron Gordon has gone about firing and hiring the Hibs manager - many accusing RG of knee-jerking and then not having a clear plan of succession. It does feel to many like a rushed, poorly thought through appointment with Maloney coming from left field. Yes, we all hope he has the impact of a Tony Mowbray, but we've zero to work with, so his early performance in the job will be scrutinised to death.
If SM fails to hit the ground running, he'll not last 12 months - and RG will be blamed. If SM can bring attractive winning football (and a few decent players) to the club, he'll quickly be lauded and then just as quickly touted as the next Celtic Manager :greengrin
20-12-2021, 06:18 PM
My thoughts watching the Sky interview is that this guy is out of his depth. I hope I'm wrong but it was difficult to see him as an inspiring leader. He was clearly approached by the club rather than applying for the gig driven by any ambition/ hunger.
It's his first day so obviously he deserves time to get going, so I will back him like I would any Hibs manager. Really hope he proves me wrong.
Out of his depths after 1 interview but he has your backing, OK then...
20-12-2021, 06:20 PM
He definitely applied for the job.
20-12-2021, 06:21 PM
SM is a victim of the way Ron Gordon has gone about firing and hiring the Hibs manager - many accusing RG of knee-jerking and then not having a clear plan of succession. It does feel to many like a rushed, poorly thought through appointment with Maloney coming from left field. Yes, we all hope he has the impact of a Tony Mowbray, but we've zero to work with, so his early performance in the job will be scrutinised to death.
If SM fails to hit the ground running, he'll not last 12 months - and RG will be blamed. If SM can bring attractive winning football (and a few decent players) to the club, he'll quickly be lauded and then just as quickly touted as the next Celtic Manager :greengrin
One thing it definitely doesn’t seem, to me, is rushed or poorly thought out. From his interview it seems pretty clear that we’ve identified him, approached him, and got it done.
It might not work out but for some reason there was a train of thought, for some, that we didn’t have any plan around what to do when we got rid of JR, it just really doesn’t look like that to me.
20-12-2021, 06:21 PM
Mowbray had a pre season to instil his ideas. Maloney has a game every 3 days for the next fortnight. He’s not going to have a lot of time on the training ground to make massive changes.
Hopefully we see an instant impact but he’ll need a bit of time to change the style. The winter break will help.
You could see the change in the pre-season games. We were changed overnight when Tony came in.
20-12-2021, 06:22 PM
I'm liking the fact we will have a manager who historically was an attacker and an assistant who was a defender. Always prefer a mix.
Hopefully it comes good.Yup, I liked that as well :agree
While the chief……..Puts fog over Leith
20-12-2021, 06:31 PM
As Iggy has mentioned, he was different to how I expected him to be when I first saw him speak on Sportscene a few months back (more scholarly). I don't recall seeing him interviewed as a player but I guess I assumed he'd have a Glasgow accent.
His family moved from Malaysia when he was five and he spent the rest of his childhood in Aberdeen.
Which is the reason he didn't start the interview with the phrase, "awrite, troops!"
20-12-2021, 06:38 PM
he spent the rest of his childhood in Aberdeen. "[/I]
That’s his nickname sorted then, welcome to the club Shaun the sheep!
1875Sean
20-12-2021, 06:43 PM
After hearing his interview he is in no doubt top 4 or 3 is the target for this season and a minimum moving forward
20-12-2021, 06:44 PM
That’s his nickname sorted then, welcome to the club Shaun the sheep!
Perfect!
20-12-2021, 06:46 PM
Video up on social now in training. He looks as if he’s very high energy which is great.
20-12-2021, 06:57 PM
Video up on social now in training. He looks as if he’s very high energy which is great.
Doesn't half...looks fit enough to play.
HendoDelivered
20-12-2021, 07:00 PM
Where about can I watch this mate?
20-12-2021, 07:02 PM
Haha I think we both know the answer to that. He’ll get some slack up until the derby, but he’ll be expected to get us a win in that game.
20-12-2021, 07:03 PM
Yeah ok, I can't stay silent on this, don't shoot me!!
He comes across a lovely lad, talks nicely but by God he sounds so naive.
His interview on Hibs TV was pure say what the fans want to hear. "We want to attack and it's important we all work together". We hear that from every single manager up and down the land.
I've seen nothing to suggest that he offers anything more than JR. I hope he has some magical powers that he' kept hidden that he can use with the payers. Not a chance in Hell that they are sitting thinking can't wait to play for this guy.
I just don't get it. I know i'm hugely in the minority here and don't mean to piss on your chips but this just seems disastrous. If Aberdeen had gone for him we'd be slating Cormack, just like we did with Stephen Glass.
Now, of course I hope i'm wrong and that he goes on to be a huge success but i think we'll be back having this chat before the season is out, or this time next year at the latest.
Absolutely mental appointment.
We would be slating Cormack for securing the services of Belgiums No 2, I would see it as a coup and think what a great bit of business he has done there.
Get behind him & his new coaching team and we can come back to it at a later date, for what, I wouldn’t know.
andrew70
20-12-2021, 07:09 PM
What’s this on?
HibeeSince85
20-12-2021, 07:10 PM
Look at the picture of Josh Doig shaking hands with Maloney on Twitter. That's the face of a player meeting someone he has watched and admired. We may find the players having watched Maloney growing up or have played against him will want to try and impress him more than say a McInnes or Neil et al as let's face it, Maloney could play.
Can't really agree with much of your post here. I just watched the interview and thought he came across as an articulate and thoughtful coach who knows exactly what he's getting into. He has clearly spent time with both the Chairman and our CEO and understands their vision for the club. He also quite clearly has worked hard to develop his coaching abilities and has strong ideas of how he wants his team to play. Of course, time will tell whether he can actually achieve his aims at Hibernian but I am excited about his appointment.
Have to agree with you, doesn't seem timid or nieve or immature, but a thoughtful well spoken young man with his own ideas. Perhaps he's too articulate and well spoken for some.
20-12-2021, 07:12 PM
What’s this on?
Facebook.
20-12-2021, 07:13 PM
We would be slating Cormack for securing the services of Belgiums No 2, I would see it as a coup and think what a great bit of business he has done there.
Get behind him & his new coaching team and we can come back to it at a later date, for what, I wouldn’t know.
Totally agree.
I don’t actually remember Aberdeen getting much stick for appointing Glass. The only criticism I read was that it was jobs for the boys as Cormack and Glass are mates.
I’ve just watched the video hibs put up on Facebook of Maloney at training earlier and I’m even happier now. I know that’s totally irrational after a 30 second promotional video but I don’t care.
Enthusiasm breeds enthusiasm and that goes a long way in football. Having an enthusiastic coaching team full of energy will be good for this group I think.
20-12-2021, 07:19 PM
If you’re wanting an open minded conversation about him then surely you need to at least acknowledge the positives though.
He might not be everyone’s first choice but there’s pros and cons to every potential manager and Maloney is no different.
Can I ask who you would have preferred? I’m not meaning that to sound nippy or a loaded question, however regardless of who you say, there’ll be as many negatives as there is for Maloney.
I don’t have a name in mind but I would have preferred someone with experience and preferably someone who had won something as a manager.
I’m struggling to see the positives here. Assistant to a national team just doesn’t seem much.
Listening to Steve Clarke for example, he regularly bemoans the lack of time with the squad. Something most international managers have commented on.
How much time or work does an assistant at international level actually do?
Anyways, I’m only one wee dissenting voice amongst 1000s, no biggy really, I’m sure I’ll warm to him!
20-12-2021, 07:23 PM
Have to agree with you, doesn't seem timid or nieve or immature, but a thoughtful well spoken young man with his own ideas. Perhaps he's too articulate and well spoken for some.
Yeah, we shoulda gone for Yogi :rolleyes:
What do you actually mean by that? You think I don’t like him because of the tone of his voice? Or are you just having a weird dig?
20-12-2021, 07:28 PM
If he doesn’t last 12 months he will be back assisting Martínez at the WC and probs his assistant again when he quits Belgium.
My gut is he will do an okay job if not spectacular, RM will be offered the Barca job or somewhere like that next winter and Maloney will decide he wants to go and an assistant suits him better. We get compensated richly instead of the bag of sweeties ***** under Calderwood and the process begins again. It’s probably a worry for us it will happen anyway hence the long contract to be compensated more.
20-12-2021, 07:29 PM
The Jack Ross ship has sailed and it doesn't really matter if it was the right or incorrect choice now. For me, it's done and it's time to back the new management set up to be as successful as possible. I'm not going to belittle an opinion from a passionate fan though because it doesn't tow the party line.
There's as much chance Maloney will be a success as a failure. Both are based on guesswork. He has my full support though :aok:
Just saw this, thanks.
He likes having digs at everyone but it’s ridiculous to think that I hope Maloney fails.
20-12-2021, 07:31 PM
Look at the picture of Josh Doig shaking hands with Maloney on Twitter. That's the face of a player meeting someone he has watched and admired. We may find the players having watched Maloney growing up or have played against him will want to try and impress him more than say a McInnes or Neil et al as let's face it, Maloney could play.
It's of little relevance in the grand scheme of things - As Mikey Stewart says players don't give a **** how good a new manager was as a player if he can't manage.
( I'm not saying SM can't manage - only time will tell us that).
20-12-2021, 07:34 PM
Just saw this, thanks.
He likes having digs at everyone but it’s ridiculous to think that I hope Maloney fails.
Nae probs 👍
20-12-2021, 07:34 PM
Just saw this, thanks.
I think you are entitled to your view and there is nothing wrong with posting how you feel. If I was forced to take a guess at how he'll fare then I'd be leaning towards your view as well.
But I'm usually wrong on these things ( ie happy with Butcher appointment, unhappy with Stubbs appointment). So basically none of us really have any idea on how it will pan out and we just will all have to wait and see.:greengrin
20-12-2021, 07:42 PM
While the chief……..Puts fog over Leith
Sorrrrryyyy :greengrin
20-12-2021, 07:46 PM
I don’t have a name in mind but I would have preferred someone with experience and preferably someone who had won something as a manager.
I’m struggling to see the positives here. Assistant to a national team just doesn’t seem much.
Listening to Steve Clarke for example, he regularly bemoans the lack of time with the squad. Something most international managers have commented on.
Anyways, I’m only one wee dissenting voice amongst 1000s, no biggy really, I’m sure I’ll warm to him!
Cool, thanks for the reply, I’ve no problem with someone having concerns about an appointment and this is the place to discuss them.
In terms of the positives you can’t see, below are the things that I think I am excited about:-
He wants to play attacking football.
How much he does at Belgium I don’t know, what I do know is that these guys will have incredibly high standards. He wouldn’t last 5 minutes in that environment unless he was good at what he did.
Similar to the above, He’ll have learned a lot from Martinez, who again wouldn’t allow him to hang around unless he was very good at his job.
It would have been easy for him to go down the usual ‘largs mafia’ route but he’s pushed and challenged himself to go and learn his trade at the Cruyff University (is that what it’s called? Think it is)
He wants to do things differently from the usual Scottish managers.
Any experienced manager would have failed elsewhere or they would be out of our reach, if they failed elsewhere why would they be a safer bet than someone starting out?
Some of The best managers we’ve had in my time Have been rookie managers, Mowbrey, Stubbs and Collins.
He knows Scottish football and the difficulties and uniqueness of it.
If he was the Belgium assistant manager but was from Belgium and we hadn’t heard of him before, I don’t think anybody would question his credentials, the fact he’s Scottish and knows our game inside out shouldn’t count against him.
Bigger clubs than Hibs appoint managers with no managerial experience, the manager of the champions last year was a rookie manager when appointed. By giving someone a chance is probably the only way we will ever get a brilliant manager, whether that’s Maloney or someone else.
Time will tell and you might end up being right, I think it’s an excitement appointment though.
20-12-2021, 07:48 PM
Really excited at this appointment now.
20-12-2021, 07:49 PM
Only seems like yesterday Jonathan Watson was making him out to be a young bairn doing interviews..
Welcome Shaun and here’s to a new era 👍🇳🇬
20-12-2021, 07:54 PM
‘Time will tell’ seems to be one of the popular phrases being used - that’s hardly a ringing endorsement!
I’ll be there on Wednesday night and will happily join in with the chorus of “One Shaun Maloney” :thumbsup:
20-12-2021, 07:55 PM
One thing it definitely doesn’t seem, to me, is rushed or poorly thought out. From his interview it seems pretty clear that we’ve identified him, approached him, and got it done.
It might not work out but for some reason there was a train of thought, for some, that we didn’t have any plan around what to do when we got rid of JR, it just really doesn’t look like that to me.
No problem, didn't suggest everyone thinks it was rushed. To some, it might feel like a master-plan of genius. Just not fair to dump on those who who have concerns that it doesn't look like a great piece of business.
We do all share the same goals and ideals - success for Hibs. We're also all reliant on those who make key decisions at the club and they need to be held to account, successful or otherwise. Ron Gordon is on the hook for this. His job is to get the big calls right. Lets' hope he's up to the job,
20-12-2021, 07:57 PM
‘Time will tell’ seems to be one of the popular phrases being used - that’s hardly a ringing endorsement!
I’ll be there on Wednesday night and will happily join in with the chorus of “One Shaun Maloney” :thumbsup:
Time will tell though, it’s a factual statement :greengrin
Every manager we could realistically appoint would have an element of risk involved. No guarantees at our level.
20-12-2021, 08:02 PM
https://twitter.com/scotlandsky/status/1472985459722801152?s=21
Time will always tell with football though - he'll succeed or fail. We don't know it upfront. However, this isn't unique to Maloney, any managerial appointment is a risk.
A thing you need to give Shaun Maloney and Gary Caldwell credit for - by all accounts they had comfortable jobs doing what they were doing. They've taken a risk and put their credentials (especially Maloney) on the line. This shows guts and drive to be more than they were.
cameronw-hfc
Without wanting this to come over as a Butcherism - I'm happy to have someone in there with a bit of experience of what DOESN'T work.
Maloney will make mistakes, that's fine. Having an assistant who has already made a few will hopefully be of use.
I agree, Caldwell has done alright and poor at multiple jobs in a manager role, it'll be good to have that experience next to him.
20-12-2021, 08:10 PM
What kind of appointment wouldn’t have you bemused then? Can you give some examples that would meet your approval?
20-12-2021, 08:23 PM
What kind of appointment wouldn’t have you bemused then? Can you give some examples that would meet your approval?
It’s not about meeting my approval.
I’m out, use your snidey comments on someone else.
20-12-2021, 08:28 PM
Getting sacked by Hibs before is hardly a ringing endorsement either, but you still wanted Lennon.
20-12-2021, 08:35 PM
He talks exactly like Jack. An articulate educated coach. How long until a few more on here suddenly claim he’s a bit aloof and lacking in the passion. Fingers crossed he gets the time required.
🤞
20-12-2021, 08:39 PM
Some football fans / Hibs fans are really hard to please at times.
What happened to giving someone a chance ?
Anyway the Facebook video..couple things noticed..looks like he held meetings with players and the staff at HTC - obviously to try get everyone on same page. Surprised he was straight in doing the coaching - thought he may sit back and let his assistants do it but nice to see hands on. Gerrard for example didn’t do much coaching at Rangers - more Michael Beale and others.
Also you notice he is trying to make the group press - I have a feeling we are going to play higher up and possibly a front 3 - who knows but can’t see him coming in to park the bus and win games 1-0.
20-12-2021, 08:40 PM
I don’t think he does speak like Ross at all.
Even then though, if his team doesn’t lack passion then it won’t be a criticism thrown at him.
20-12-2021, 08:43 PM
Some football fans / Hibs fans are really hard to please at times.
What happened to giving someone a chance ?
Anyway the Facebook video..couple things noticed..looks like he held meetings with players and the staff at HTC - obviously to try get everyone on same page. Surprised he was straight in doing the coaching - thought he may sit back and let his assistants do it but nice to see hands on. Gerrard for example didn’t do much coaching at Rangers - more Michael Beale and others.
Also you notice he is trying to make the group press - I have a feeling we are going to play higher up and possibly a front 3 - who knows but can’t see him coming in to park the bus and win games 1-0.
I think before it grows arms and legs it should be remembered that almost everybody seems really supportive of this appointment. There’s one or two not convinced but no appointment would have pleased everyone.
Wakeyhibee
20-12-2021, 08:45 PM
Maloney is definately a risk as his first time in this position, however, he's learnt under an excellent manager. I'm optinistic to getting back to a more exciting way of playing and hoping his tenure is Mowbray-esque.
20-12-2021, 08:48 PM
Excited about the new team. RG recognises that we want to be entertained. Last two managers were safety first bores.
Jeezo mate, you've been a right bundle of joy since they appointed Maloney, you have absolutely no idea how good or bad he can be. Remember Ross had just been emptied from the Sunderland job and we signed him, so he never actually came here as a success in his last job. If after a period of time Maloney is crap, then start moaning.
20-12-2021, 08:54 PM
Time will tell seems the safer one to go with but I’ll give it the ‘he’ll definitely win us the treble next season’ if that’s of any interest 😎🇳🇬
I don’t think he does speak like Ross at all.
Even then though, if his team doesn’t lack passion then it won’t be a criticism thrown at him.
I agree.
20-12-2021, 09:27 PM
It’s maybe my age and the number of managers I’ve seen come and go over the years but I can’t say I’ve got the usual buzz that comes with a new managerial appointment. I have serious doubts about thus but I hope I’m wrong and it works out for him, only time will tell. Following yesterdays disappointment his first job is to lift the players for four difficult games in a row which certainly won’t be an easy task, especially for a rookie manager.
Unfortunately things could turn sour very quickly.
20-12-2021, 09:31 PM
It's definitely a risk..
But a warm Welcome Sir. Here we go!!!
20-12-2021, 09:59 PM
Jeezo mate, you've been a right bundle of joy since they appointed Maloney, you have absolutely no idea how good or bad he can be. Remember Ross had just been emptied from the Sunderland job and we signed him, so he never actually came here as a success in his last job. If after a period of time Maloney is crap, then start moaning.
Think back through all the manager we've appointed.
Have you ever felt less than impressed? Well, that's how I feel now, that's all!!
Wait till we've had a few bad results. I'l guarantee you there will be posters on here using far stronger language than I've been using.
20-12-2021, 10:19 PM
Maybe you missed the part when he said he wished Maloney all the best and hoped that he was proved wrong? Your comment is a bit strange too.
20-12-2021, 10:22 PM
Best comment on the topic by far, totally agree.
Rumble de Thump
20-12-2021, 10:24 PM
Maybe you missed the part when he said he wished Maloney all the best and hoped that he was proved wrong? Your comment is a bit strange too.
Thanks for the comment but it isn't relevant to what I said.
uwxm07
20-12-2021, 10:33 PM
Welcome Shaun, you’ve get my backing 100%.
Meet the new boss -100% backing from me , or get off the bus
……..until the new boss comes along ……oo oo oo 2b
he can kiss ma erse
" A good place to START" i'll give him "start"....prik
immediately don't want him now. What a stupid attitude to have. He's clearly looking right past us to the next lower half premiership club in a season or two
and as for caldwell, he can do one aswell!!
Magpie
21-12-2021, 03:06 AM
he can kiss ma erse
immediately don't want him now. What a stupid attitude to have. He's clearly looking right past us to the next lower half premiership club in a season or two
21-12-2021, 05:08 AM
I’ve just watched his first Hibs interview and I’m absolutely buzzing. Sounds like his methods and philosophy will be a breath of fresh air in the SPL and I’m excited to see who he brings in during the January window and how quickly he can impose his ideas on to the squad. There will be winners and losers..it will be fascinating to see what the team sheet looks like by mid February.
I think we’re going to have to be a little bit patient, but I really feel this could be the start of an exciting new era.
if you haven’t watched the interview ( not the press conference..normal stupid Scottish Journo questions) then watch it.. brilliant to hear a Hibs manager sounding articulate, intelligent and enthusiastic and explaining that he is not part of the Largs mafia and did his coaching badges at the Johann Cruyff institute.
also a very interesting article from a couple of years ago here - Shaun Maloney: Belgium's elite brain on his journey from Celtic academy to Cruyff Institute
https://www.bbc.co.uk/sport/football/49944760
i suspect the pitches at East Mains will be re-marked like below very soon. Exciting times for those of us frustrated by the teams inability to pass the ball and press the ball equally effectively.
https://com.spielverlagerung.de/wp-content/uploads/sites/2/2014/11/Aufteilung-Guardiola.png
21-12-2021, 05:27 AM
All about opinions but I just don't understand why you'd rather have had Lennon than Maloney. It's almost as if Lennon's final six months has been erased from memory. You could even look more recently at his second spell at Celtic.
I'm happy we've tried something a bit different.
andyf5
21-12-2021, 05:32 AM
I was underwhelmed at first but now see the thinking. It's a clever move, there is a risk, but with the different modern ideas he brings could be a big success. Interview is good https://hibstv.hibernianfc.co.uk/video/7757
21-12-2021, 05:56 AM
he can kiss ma erse
I’ve just watched his first Hibs interview and I’m absolutely buzzing. Sounds like his methods and philosophy will be a breath of fresh air in the SPL and I’m excited to see who he brings in during the January window and how quickly he can impose his ideas on to the squad. There will be winners and losers..it will be fascinating to see what the team sheet looks like by mid February.
I think we’re going to have to be a little bit patient, but I really feel this could be the start of an exciting new era.
if you haven’t watched the interview ( not the press conference..normal stupid Scottish Journo questions) then watch it.. brilliant to hear a Hibs manager sounding articulate, intelligent and enthusiastic and explaining that he is not part of the Largs mafia and did his coaching badges at the Johann Cruyff institute.
also a very interesting article from a couple of years ago here - Shaun Maloney: Belgium's elite brain on his journey from Celtic academy to Cruyff Institute
i suspect the pitches at East Mains will be re-marked like below very soon. Exciting times for those of us frustrated by the teams inability to pass the ball and press the ball equally effectively.
https://com.spielverlagerung.de/wp-content/uploads/sites/2/2014/11/Aufteilung-Guardiola.png
Patience will be key, I’m not sure he’ll be afforded as much as will be needed, I’m a fan of German football and reading a little on nagelsmann to Bayern they where saying that they don’t think the full effect of his methods will be seen u till after the winter break, 6months after going into an elite team that’s not long won absolutely everything on offer, does maloney get 6months? we’re already in a poor league position to start from there’s a number of supporters already peeved JR didn’t get time to turn it around they’ll be screaming for the axe early doors and the media ‘shocked and appalled’ about Ross they’ll make it difficult as well going to be a tough gig for him.
I hope he gets time and I’m onside straight away an exciting appointment imo the club and the game itself need to move forward as we’re getting left further and further behind, at club level anyway, maloney sounds as though he’s going to give it his best to make it happen for us
21-12-2021, 06:35 AM
Patience will be key, I’m not sure he’ll be afforded as much as will be needed, I’m a fan of German football and reading a little on nagelsmann to Bayern they where saying that they don’t think the full effect of his methods will be seen u till after the winter break, 6months after going into an elite team that’s not long won absolutely everything on offer, does maloney get 6months? we’re already in a poor league position to start from there’s a number of supporters already peeved JR didn’t get time to turn it around they’ll be screaming for the axe early doors and the media ‘shocked and appalled’ about Ross they’ll make it difficult as well going to be a tough gig for him.
I hope he gets time and I’m onside straight away an exciting appointment imo the club and the game itself need to move forward as we’re getting left further and further behind, at club level anyway, maloney sounds as though he’s going to give it his best to make it happen for us
I think it’s up to Ron to “keep the Heid” if he gives him time and supports him and backs him then the media can go and raffle themselves. Our league position isn’t that bad either. If we can find a way to win against Aberdeen and Dundee Utd we will find ourselves in 5th and within touching distance of Motherwell. If Maloney can deliver just a bit of new manager bounce then we would be set up to challenge for 3rd.
A fair point, onwards and upward we go!
21-12-2021, 07:25 AM
Ross and Heck used to do similar practices with areas marked out with “flatties”. Overloads are what most coaches try and create, and it’s even talked about on kids football courses. You see it happening in our games all the time. We just don’t have 11 players that can do it like Peps Munich team.
21-12-2021, 07:29 AM
If we beat them both we could very much be ahead of Motherwell.
Lets see how we go
21-12-2021, 07:44 AM
But is there really only one person in the world called Shaun Maloney?
If there's others with the same name, then it's just another let down from our new owner, Ron the Con!
Ron Out!!!
21-12-2021, 07:46 AM
Not just Ron the fans as well.
Think back through all the manager we've appointed.
Have you ever felt less than impressed? Well, that's how I feel now, that's all!!
Wait till we've had a few bad results. I'l guarantee you there will be posters on here using far stronger language than I've been using.
Yes, less impressed by Fenlon, Butcher, Heckingbottom and Ross. Loved the out of blue ones like Stubbs, Mowbray, Collins etc, something different to the run of the mill bog standard coaches, ones that want to play football on the deck and attack.
21-12-2021, 09:11 AM
he can kiss ma erse
21-12-2021, 09:15 AM
But is there really only one person in the world called Shaun Maloney?
If there's others with the same name, then it's just another let down from our new owner, Ron the Con!
Ron Out!!!
All Shaun Maloneys out!
21-12-2021, 09:17 AM
If i think about some of the managers we've appointed and how i felt at the time it would probably be like this.
Calderwood - Underwhelmed.
Fenlon - Excited. Something a bit different.
Butcher - Delighted.
Stubbs - Very underwhelmed.
Lennon - Annoyed and surprised.
Hecky - Didn't excite me but was willing to go with it.
Ross - Very pleased. Obvious choice.
With Maloney i'm edging towards being excited but as my list would suggest my first reactions don't count for a lot!
21-12-2021, 11:05 AM
I think before it grows arms and legs it should be remembered that almost everybody seems really supportive of this appointment. There’s one or two not convinced but no appointment would have pleased everyone.
We’ve just lost a cup final having binned our manager. No wonder some supporters are feeing a bit raw.
What would be good is if people could accept that there will be mixed feelings at the moment and that’s ok, rather than harangue anyone who doesn’t agree with them.
21-12-2021, 12:11 PM
An ambitious and out-the-box appointment - clubs like Hibs need to take risks every so often to achieve something special, particularly when the financial gap Vs the OF is so large. It is absolutely crucial we as a fanbase give him time to implement what will be a very technical philosophy - in a nutshell, if you have been loudly booing past 9 months, you can shut the **** up for the next 9 please :aok:.
21-12-2021, 12:31 PM
I have come from listening to his interview on Hibs Tv. Going by that interview, it sounded to me like Hibs made the approach and not the other way around, can anyone confirm that? The other point I found curious is that he seemed to be saying that he is focusing on one game at a time. That, at first hand might sound obvious to some of us, however it might be worth remembering that Alex McLeish for example, looked at the next three or four games ahead and treated them like a mini tournament. Meaning he had ideas of how he was going to approach those games and with which personnel. Should we take Shaun literally when he says that he's not yet thinking about the derby for example which is less than a fortnight away, or does anyone think he already has an idea of how to approach the Dundee Utd, Celtic and Hearts game with the personnel he has available to him, whether that means anyone coming back into contention or current availability, of course accepting that he can't predict red cards and subsequent suspensions nor injuries.
21-12-2021, 12:41 PM
That, at first hand might sound obvious to some of us, however it might be worth remembering that Alex McLeish for example, looked at the next three or four games ahead and treated them like a mini tournament. Meaning he had ideas of how he was going to approach those games and with which personnel.
I dont think he did.
I know he spoke about doing it once over the festive period.
I remember the interview. Im sure its on one the DVD's.
21-12-2021, 12:42 PM
I have come from listening to his interview on Hibs Tv. Going by that interview, it sounded to me like Hibs made the approach and not the other way around, can anyone confirm that? The other point I found curious is that he seemed to be saying that he is focusing on one game at a time. That, at first hand might sound obvious to some of us, however it might be worth remembering that Alex McLeish for example, looked at the next three or four games ahead and treated them like a mini tournament. Meaning he had ideas of how he was going to approach those games and with which personnel. Should we take Shaun literally when he says that he's not yet thinking about the derby for example which is less than a fortnight away, or does anyone think he already has an idea of how to approach the Dundee Utd, Celtic and Hearts game with the personnel he has available to him, whether that means anyone coming back into contention or current availability, of course accepting that he can't predict red cards and subsequent suspensions nor injuries.
Said on Sky he didn't apply. Ben Kensell approached him.
21-12-2021, 12:47 PM
Has a bit of a Mowbray appointment about it. First management gig, impressive coaching background. Only difference is that TM had a squad full of young, impressionable and talented players to mould into what he wanted, so the change in style was very evident very quickly.
Not sure we will see that with Maloney initially, although wasn’t surprised the academy was mentioned straight off the bat.
21-12-2021, 01:12 PM
I dont think he did.
I know he spoke about doing it once over the festive period.
I remember the interview. Im sure its on one the DVD's.
So he did over the festive season then, so he did. I got the impression he continued with it but due to injuries of course he changed. As Belgium like all international teams mostly played in tournament frameworks I would be surprised if he doesnt approach things that way even if he isnt conscious about it, could be part of his DNA.
21-12-2021, 01:15 PM
Said on Sky he didn't apply. Ben Kensell approached him.
Thanks. We approached Colin Calderwood too all those years ago but I think that will be the only comparison, as Shaun comes over much more enthusiastic and who wouldnt be when its not RP he has to work with.
21-12-2021, 01:21 PM
If i think about some of the managers we've appointed and how i felt at the time it would probably be like this.
Calderwood - Underwhelmed.
Fenlon - Excited. Something a bit different.
Butcher - Delighted.
Stubbs - Very underwhelmed.
Lennon - Annoyed and surprised.
Hecky - Didn't excite me but was willing to go with it.
Ross - Very pleased. Obvious choice.
With Maloney i'm edging towards being excited but as my list would suggest my first reactions don't count for a lot!
Calderwood - excited
Fenlon - gutted / furious
Butcher - delighted
Stubbs - bemused / confused
Lennon - delighted, over the moon, best appointment we ever made
Hecky - board rules prohibit me from saying what i thnk
Ross - pleased, seemed like the obvious candidate
Maloney - see Stubbs
Caldwell - see Hecky
21-12-2021, 02:47 PM
He doesn’t want to get drawn into derby chat on his first day, and I don’t blame him. I wouldn’t read any more into than that.
Mind you, Belgium’s tournament record under Martinez isn’t all that great, given the personnel at their disposal, so maybe looking ahead to the next few games really is an alien concept!
21-12-2021, 03:10 PM
Calderwood - Disappointed
Fenlon - Excited
Butcher - Very excited
Stubbs - Cautiously optimistic
Lennon - Pleasantly surprised
Hecky - Neither up nor down but probably cautiously optimistic
Ross - Disappointed
Maloney - really excited.
21-12-2021, 03:21 PM
He doesn’t want to get drawn into derby chat on his first day, and I don’t blame him. I wouldn’t read any more into than that.
Mind you, Belgium’s tournament record under Martinez isn’t all that great, given the personnel at their disposal, so maybe looking ahead to the next few games really is an alien concept!
Yes, that all makes sense.
21-12-2021, 03:26 PM
Calderwood - Disappointed
Fenlon - Excited
Butcher - Very excited
Stubbs - Cautiously optimistic
Lennon - Pleasantly surprised
Hecky - Neither up nor down but probably cautiously optimistic
Ross - Disappointed
Maloney - really excited.
Calderwood-cant remember, i think i was drinking a lot during this period.
Fenlon-amused, hungover
Butcher-impressed
Stubbs-disappointed
Lennon-disappointed
Heckinbotham-disappointed
Ross-neutral
Maloney-positive
So apparently i've never been more optimistic about a Hibs manager since Terry Butcher.
This is clear evidence I have no clue about football management.
I'll just happily let Shaunyboy get on with it with my blessing.
21-12-2021, 03:27 PM
Thanks. We approached Colin Calderwood too all those years ago but I think that will be the only comparison, as Shaun comes over much more enthusiastic and who wouldnt be when its not RP he has to work with.
All we needed in our armoury to talk to Colin Calderwood was a bag of sweeties wasn’t it?
21-12-2021, 03:51 PM
Calderwood-cant remember, i think i was drinking a lot during this period.
Fenlon-amused, hungover
Butcher-impressed
Stubbs-disappointed
Lennon-disappointed
Heckinbotham-disappointed
Ross-neutral
Maloney-positive
So apparently i've never been more optimistic about a Hibs manager since Terry Butcher.
This is clear evidence I have no clue about football management.
I'll just happily let Shaunyboy get on with it with my blessing.
I remember thinking Butcher would take us to the next level. 'suppose he did in his own way.
21-12-2021, 04:14 PM
I think this may be a really good appointment, fresh new ideas although he needs to be given the time to build a team that will play the game the way it should be.
I back Maloney.
21-12-2021, 05:05 PM
https://youtu.be/Sw56eH5oWzo
Ferry and Slaney singing Maloney’s praises here and saying if he fails it won’t be for the lack of trying or being underprepared.
Says he has an aura about him and despite being quieter than most players when he says something you listen.
Also said he won’t take any rubbish and if you’re not committed you’ll be out the door.
To finish it off Slaney reckons it will be the best football we’ve seen.
Skip to 30 minutes in for the Maloney chat.
21-12-2021, 05:35 PM
Ferry and Slaney singing Maloney’s praises here and saying if he fails it won’t be for the lack of trying or being underprepared.
Says he has an aura about him and despite being quieter than most players when he says something you listen.
Also said he won’t take any rubbish and if you’re not committed you’ll be out the door.
Big Kevin Kyle iterated that 😉
21-12-2021, 06:04 PM
This type of insight from pros that have played with him is reassuring.
Contrast that with the views of pros who had been on courses with Cathro and were in the press stating they thought players wouldn't respect him and he wasn't cut out for management - of course they were right.:cool2:
21-12-2021, 07:18 PM
Our management team have some amount of winners medals between them. That can only be a positive.
This type of insight from pros that have played with him is reassuring.
Contrast that with the views of pros who had been on courses with Cathro and were in the press stating they thought players wouldn't respect him and he wasn't cut out for management - of course they were right.:cool2:
Anyone saying there are similarities to Cathro are either nuts or at it (not referring to you btw). Cathro was a coach who wasn't a professional footballer, that went into management. Maloney played for Celtic, Villa, Wigan, Hull and got 47 caps for Scotland and has coached some of the best players in the world.
Almost every football fan in Scotland had heard of Maloney before he got the Hibs job because of what he has done in the game whereas about the same number of people hadn't heard of Cathro before he got the Hearts job.
It's just wishful thinking by Jambos hoping they can do to Maloney what Kris Boyd did to Cathro i.e. say things like he'll fail and that he's a laptop manager so they can claim later that they "called it".
30-12-2021, 06:50 AM
I remember thinking Butcher would take us to the next level. 'suppose he did in his own way.
yep another level rather than next level though so did I :greengrin
30-12-2021, 09:35 AM
https://news.stv.tv/sport/martinez-backs-former-assistant-maloney-to-thrive-in-scotland
Have to say that reads really impressively.
30-12-2021, 09:55 AM
https://news.stv.tv/sport/martinez-backs-former-assistant-maloney-to-thrive-in-scotland
the quote “There are really great times coming to Hibs, his vision will be very contagious”
is already true, I haven’t thought so much about Hibs for months, im excited, really looking forward to what the future holds, it’s so good to have a real feeling of positivity.
30-12-2021, 10:01 AM
the quote “There are really great times coming to Hibs, his vision will be very contagious”
is already true, I haven’t thought so much about Hibs for months, im excited, really looking forward to what the future holds, it’s so good to have a real feeling of positivity.
Same here, feel so much more positive. If we’d been stopped from getting to games a few months ago I wouldn’t have cared. Desperate to get back and watch is now, hope these restrictions aren’t in place too long.
PPZPOL
30-12-2021, 10:09 AM
In his Graham Hunter interview on YouTube he is asked how he went about creating relationships with the biggest names in world football at Belgium. Very simple answer I know but said he is himself, will always be softly spoken as that’s who he is and doesn’t pretend to be anything else. Liked it.
30-12-2021, 11:06 AM
The late great Tommy Docherty recalled when being interviewed for yet another managerial job (he had 13 or so)
He said : "I promised I would take Rotherham out of the Second Division – and I took them into the Third.
The old chairman said 'Doc, you’re a man of your word!'"
30-12-2021, 11:15 AM
Drey Wright talks a little about Maloney here
https://www.footballscotland.co.uk/spfl/scottish-premiership/drey-wright-admits-hibs-exit-22601587
31-12-2021, 02:10 PM
Just read that in the Herald, hadn’t realised they just lifted it from PA wholesale!
As you say, good to hear Bobby Martinez joining the love in. Of course, if Shaun really does believe in ‘the project’ then we can expect him to resist the first club that tries to poach him from us.
Interesting to see a Celtic blog quoting Hugh Keevins saying Maloney has appointed an Opposition Analyst.
https://celtic.vitalfootball.co.uk/im-told-hugh-keevins-surprising-warning-for-celtic-fans/