View Full Version : maloney new gaffer

Pages : 1 [2] 3 4 5

14-12-2021, 06:44 PM
I’m just surprised that Ron Gordon, who repeatedly says there’s a big footballing world we need to explore, would hire Maloney and Caldwell.

I get it will mainly be Kensell but I thought Knutsen would be more similar to what we would go for, albeit at a lower standard maybe.

Scary to think Maloney is similar ages to Alex Neil considering how much experience the latter has, including getting Norwich promoted to the Prem.

14-12-2021, 06:46 PM
I’m just surprised that Ron Gordon, who repeatedly says there’s a big footballing world we need to explore, would hire Maloney and Caldwell.

I get it will mainly be Kensell but I thought Knutsen would be more similar to what we would go for, albeit at a lower standard maybe.

Scary to think Maloney is similar ages to Alex Neil considering how much experience the latter has, including getting Norwich promoted to the Prem.Was knutsen actually doable?

If not then it's totally irrelevant

Sent from my VOG-L29 using Tapatalk

14-12-2021, 06:47 PM
Was knutsen actually doable?

If not then it's totally irrelevant

No idea, hence why I said someone like him albeit maybe a lower level. Would be huge to get someone of his calibre but I’m sure there’s lesser known coaches in those leagues doing well.

14-12-2021, 06:48 PM
That's true. As much as we would be a dream team JC I don't think we would justify sacking Jack Ross for either.

We accept that one reason for the sacking was results but there was rumours of Ross and Ron falling out a couple of months back, which probably might explain the main reason for letting him go, unless someone states the exact reason we'll never really know for sure.

14-12-2021, 06:50 PM
What would you think if Hearts appointed Maloney?
You would be laughing your socks off.

We're a strange bunch, football fans.

If we were rumoured to be signing the Argentina assistant manager, folk would be ectoplasmic with excitement.

But, because it's a young Scottish player who we know, there's scepticism and anger.

To answer your post, I couldn't care less what our biggest opponents think about our appointments, but if they were signing Maloney, I'd have exactly the same thoughts about him as I do now. I have no idea if he'll be a success or not.

The only difference is that if he signs for us, I hope he's a genuis. If he'd signed for them, I'd be wishing him abject failure!

14-12-2021, 06:52 PM

Pretty much all jambos in my work , they cant believe he is coming to Hibs… And i mean that in a complimentary manner

14-12-2021, 06:54 PM

Cheers!

14-12-2021, 06:57 PM
Is Maloney a tracksuit, business suit, or sweater and slacks man?

I’ll certainly miss JRs sartorial standards

Davy Mac
14-12-2021, 07:13 PM
Succession Planning maybe, he was shown around EM around Christmas/New Year last year, mind, he randomly appeared on Sportscene and talked about Hibs in great detail.

14-12-2021, 08:08 PM
Is Maloney a tracksuit, business suit, or sweater and slacks man?

gnome suit?

Oranje39
14-12-2021, 08:31 PM
Where has the Maloney chat came from? Is it genuine or just rumours?

Only reason I'm asking, is Maloney isn't the name I have been hearing. I've heard it's down to Neil Warnock or Ronny Deila.

14-12-2021, 08:36 PM

Only reason I'm asking, is Maloney isn't the name I have been hearing. I've heard it's down to Neil Warnock or Ronny Deila.

Warnock? Worrying if there’s any truth in that.

14-12-2021, 08:40 PM

Only reason I'm asking, is Maloney isn't the name I have been hearing. I've heard it's down to Neil Warnock or Ronny Deila.So ronny Delia then [emoji23][emoji23]

HendoDelivered
14-12-2021, 08:41 PM

14-12-2021, 08:43 PM
gnome suit?

Has to be a suit as others have mentioned in a track suit he could be mistaken for a ball boy.

14-12-2021, 08:45 PM

It's not going to be Neil Warnock that's for sure.

14-12-2021, 08:46 PM
Oh well if it's Maloney good luck to him.

14-12-2021, 08:47 PM

Okay.

14-12-2021, 09:20 PM

Think someone is pulling your pisser.

14-12-2021, 09:24 PM
If maloney was foreign and we were appointing the assistant manager / coach of Belgium folk would be thinking what a coup. Because he’s Scottish it’s different, strange bunch some folk

Rumble de Thump
14-12-2021, 09:25 PM
Hearts couldn't attract someone of Shaun Maloney's calibre. Nobody decent would even consider joining that circus.

14-12-2021, 09:28 PM
If maloney was foreign and we were appointing the assistant manager / coach of Belgium folk would be thinking what a coup. Because he’s Scottish it’s different, strange bunch some folk

Don't think that is true. I wouldn't be enthused by Thierry Henry. I'm concerned by lack of experience of club management. Day to day management at a club is clearly not the same as coach at international level.

If it proves to be Maloney, he has clearly impressed club in interview or been headhunted by club. So like any I'm willing to give a chance.

14-12-2021, 09:33 PM

Think you’re spot on.

If he played for some Norwegian/German/Dutch team at a high level all his playing career and then managed the 19s of them before being taken to be assistant manager at Belgium folk would be loving it.

I think listening to Open Goal podcasts etc is what makes me a bit more excited as so many have said good things about him.

Don’t get me wrong I’m nervous as it’s a huge gamble, but what if maybe it comes off?

There’s no divine right in football that you hire a comfortable manager and he does well. How about one hungry to succeed with lots of fresh ideas and a board with 100% trust and faith in him and willing to invest?

That’s what Ron will do in January. I’m expecting a lot of movement in and out and for the better.

14-12-2021, 09:34 PM
Don't think that is true. I wouldn't be enthused by Thierry Henry. I'm concerned by lack of experience of club management. Day to day management at a club is clearly not the same as coach at international level.

If it proves to be Maloney, he has clearly impressed club in interview or been headhunted by club. So like any I'm willing to give a chance.

I think the difference is the role of a head coach now. He won’t be in ok Ed too much in the day to day running of a club. Yes he’ll have added responsibilities but he will have a lot of support around him.

The thing he needs to focus on is training and making sure people understand how he wants them to play.

14-12-2021, 09:36 PM

14-12-2021, 09:42 PM
I think the difference is the role of a head coach now. He won’t be in ok Ed too much in the day to day running of a club. Yes he’ll have added responsibilities but he will have a lot of support around him.

The thing he needs to focus on is training and making sure people understand how he wants them to play.

Managing the dressing room, making the right subs, keeping players on side while not playing etc. Quite a bit he won't have had in international game. Especially since Martinez will have been doing most of the talking I imagine.

Doesn't mean he can't so it, just different being Head Coach/Manager of Hibs. He'll be the one asking an assistant for opinion before calling the shots. Not the other way anymore.

14-12-2021, 10:06 PM

14-12-2021, 10:11 PM

Let’s see what others think as so far your in the minority

14-12-2021, 10:12 PM

Funny thing after reflection is Maloney is technically foreign. If it goes ahead, first Malaysian manager? What a coup!

Seriously though, concerned about him having to manage a dressing room at Hibs. Have crowds booing etc. Expectations are high and it's quite different from being a coach in international football. Same could be said for Thierry Henry. Being number 1 is a big step up. Mid season is a strange time for Hibs to make this change. Jack Ross with decent experience to someone with virtually no experience being number 1.

14-12-2021, 10:15 PM
Funny thing after reflection is Maloney is technically foreign. If it goes ahead, first Malaysian manager? What a coup!

Take it your not keen?

14-12-2021, 10:18 PM
Take it your not keen?

I've edited the post. I'm unsure more than anything. Strange timing from Hibs to move to a guy with no experience being the head. I could understand if a top experienced coach was almost out of contract and Hibs thought "we need to move now". Jack Ross to Maloney mid-season is just a bit strange.

14-12-2021, 10:22 PM

I'd be pretty enthused by TH can we have him instead.

14-12-2021, 10:23 PM

Seriously though, concerned about him having to manage a dressing room at Hibs. Have crowds booing etc. Expectations are high and it's quite different from being a coach in international football. Same could be said for Thierry Henry. Being number 1 is a big step up. Mid season is a strange time for Hibs to make this change. Jack Ross with decent experience to someone with virtually no experience being number 1.

While the lack of managing experience is true you could argue that Maloney has more experience playing and working with a higher calibre of player than Ross. You could also say these world class players don’t really need much coaching.

Maloney has won trophies as a player too.

Chances are it will be a 2 year experience for him…good or bad only time will tell. This season he will get the January window and let’s see how he does. Then a full pre-season to make any changes and he will need to start next season well and maintain it - something we did with Ross but it was the more recent form (plus past results) that put Ross out of a job.

14-12-2021, 10:24 PM
If anybody is in any doubt why we had to replace Jack Ross as manager they only need to look at tonight’s attendance. (Not the one we declared, the actual number of bums on seats).

If we didn’t sack him, that’s what was coming next season

Well done to Ron Gordon for acting so quickly, there’s still time to save this season because he did so.

14-12-2021, 10:37 PM
If anybody is in any doubt why we had to replace Jack Ross as manager they only need to look at tonight’s attendance. (Not the one we declared, the actual number of bums on seats).

Well done to Ron Gordon for acting so quickly, there’s still time to save this season because he did so.

Jack Ross getting the blame for attendances after he’s gone ….that’s an interesting take.

the club are not doing much to positively connect with the fan base. I’d say there is a danger of a lack of connection between the ownership of our club and the fans in a way that hasn’t existed for some time. no Programmes , working together group binned, HSL not supported, most club roles seem to have been sacked or changed, premium prices everywhere, walk up prices a major barrier, poor communication. Jack Ross going is not going to fix that.

14-12-2021, 10:39 PM

What about John Collins? Had no experience as a manager and won as a cup. What about Stubbs? Had no experience and won us a cup. What about Mogga? Had no experience and was the best Hibs team to watch in 20 years.

14-12-2021, 10:40 PM
What about John Collins? Had no experience as a manager and won as a cup. What about Stubbs? Had no experience and won us a cup. What about Mogga? Had no experience and was the best Hibs team to watch in 20 years.

Tommy Craig with Collins, John Doolan and Taff with Stubbs….those are the reasons these guys did OK early on….

14-12-2021, 10:44 PM
Not that I see it happening, but would anyone want to continue with SDG and Eddie May in charge for the rest of the season, after seeing them in action in the last two games ?

14-12-2021, 10:46 PM
Tommy Craig with Collins, John Doolan and Taff with Stubbs….those are the reasons these guys did OK early on….

So they only done ok as they had good number 2s? 🤣
Who is to say Caldwell might not be a great number 2. He is working at Man City after all.

14-12-2021, 10:47 PM
Not that I see it happening, but would anyone want to continue with SDG and Eddie May in charge for the rest of the season, after seeing them in action in the last two games ?

In a word 'no'

14-12-2021, 10:50 PM
So they only done ok as they had good number 2s? [emoji1787]
Who is to say Caldwell might not be a great number 2. He is working at Man City after all.

you don’t think experienced quality back room staff were a factor in those young managers performances?

Crunchie
14-12-2021, 10:52 PM

Sorry mate, but that is absolute garbage.

14-12-2021, 10:59 PM

Have to agree

14-12-2021, 10:59 PM

You honestly think those fans we had packing ER for a year or 2 are coming back?

Most of them were only here fleetingly.

14-12-2021, 11:00 PM
You honestly think those fans we had packing ER for a year or 2 are coming back?

If we play entertaining football they will.

14-12-2021, 11:03 PM

Hmmm, I didn't want JR to be sacked, but what part of Bingo's post is absolute garbage?

Our attendances have been dropping and folk were disgruntled with the performances, never mind the results

I'd have given JR another few months and the January window, but we all saw what happened when we kept faith with Butcher.

How long should an employee be allowed to fail? :dunno:

14-12-2021, 11:05 PM
Hmmm, I didn't want JR to be sacked, but what part of Bingo's post is absolute garbage?

Our attendances have been dropping and folk were disgruntled with the performances, never mind the results

I'd have given JR another few months, but we all saw what happened when we kept faith with Butcher.

So by that logic surly now he’s away those attendances would go back up to go and support a legend managing the Hibs side? There are far more factors contributing to the reduced crowd rightly or wrongly than JR I’d be confident to say that.

14-12-2021, 11:05 PM
you don’t think experienced quality back room staff were a factor in those young managers performances?

I dont like the word experience in football. You're either good or your not.

davym7062
14-12-2021, 11:06 PM
If we play entertaining football they will.

14-12-2021, 11:07 PM

Disagree (obviously, or I wouldn’t have posted it 😂)

I’m surprised at the reaction to my post as I don’t see what’s to dispute.

People aren’t wanting to come and watch this Hibs team, even people that have bought and paid for their season tickets aren’t going. The fact Jack Ross has gone was never going to get folk rushing back tk the ground in their masses but if we didn’t act they definitely wouldn’t be coming back any time soon, let alone finding new people to buy season tickets on top of them.

I don’t see whats wrong with what I’m saying there? There were literally thousands of empty seats in areas where season ticket holders would normally sit. I know people blame covid and firesticks but I’m pretty sure Hearts aren’t having that issue just now, probably because they’re doing well and their fans want tk go and watch them.

Crunchie
14-12-2021, 11:09 PM

I'd have given JR another few months and the January window, but we all saw what happened when we kept faith with Butcher.

So the missing fans during Jack's reign got their wish, where were they tonight?

14-12-2021, 11:09 PM
I dont like the word experience in football. You're either good or your not.

Do you have the same aversion to the word quality ? You get the point I made - if you think a head coach gets results by themselves, then you are well wide of the mark.. there is no question those managers had success because they brought a good team with them.

14-12-2021, 11:13 PM
So the missing fans during Jack's reign got their wish, where were they tonight?

Because it wasn’t a personal thing, people just want to enjoy their trips to Easter Road.

Nobody in their right mind would think we’d go from being as ***** as we were under Ross to start enjoying how we play in the space of a week because he left.

It will take time to turn around our style of football and start attracting fans back again.

I’m pretty amazed you thought it would change like a light switch because Ross left.

Crunchie
14-12-2021, 11:13 PM
Disagree (obviously, or I wouldn’t have posted it 😂)

I’m surprised at the reaction to my post as I don’t see what’s to dispute.

People aren’t wanting to come and watch this Hibs team, even people that have bought and paid for their season tickets aren’t going. The fact Jack Ross has gone was never going to get folk rushing back tk the ground in their masses but if we didn’t act they definitely wouldn’t be coming back any time soon, let alone finding new people to buy season tickets on top of them.

I don’t see whats wrong with what I’m saying there? There were literally thousands of empty seats in areas where season ticket holders would normally sit. I know people blame covid and firesticks but I’m pretty sure Hearts aren’t having that issue just now, probably because they’re doing well and their fans want tk go and watch them.
Aye ok mate, it's Jack's fault.

14-12-2021, 11:14 PM
So by that logic surly now he’s away those attendances would go back up to go and support a legend managing the Hibs side? There are far more factors contributing to the reduced crowd rightly or wrongly than JR I’d be confident to say that.

Yes there are other factors at play, but folk will follow an attractive, winning team.

The results have been pants for months. Performances have also been pants.

I'm pretty sure that if we put a winning team on the park, playing entertaining football, we'll have a full stadium.

14-12-2021, 11:15 PM

Yeah - there’s more to it than JR (which would have been ludicrous in any case). If the fan base was so against him there would have been some kind of positive affect on the crowd tonight instead of the paltry amount who did attend.

I’m not sure what’s going to count as “entertaining footbal” in the eyes of our non hard-core fans. Having a decent win ratio and regular trips to Hampden isn’t enough …. are we expecting that AND brushing teams aside with attacking flair? We’re going to need a much bigger budget if so… and who funds that?

Crunchie
Because it wasn’t a personal thing, people just want to enjoy their trips to Easter Road.

Nobody in their right mind would think we’d go from being as ***** as we were under Ross to start enjoying how we play in the space of a week because he left.

It will take time to turn around our style of football and start attracting fans back again.

I’m pretty amazed you thought it would change like a light switch because Ross left.
It's probably too much to ask you just go along and support your team regardless. Us dinosaurs are surely in a minority.

Aye ok mate, it's Jack's fault.

Erm yes, he was the manager and that’s why he was sacked?

The style of football that has seen our attendances plummet is directly his fault as that was his job.

14-12-2021, 11:17 PM

They were missing because we losing and dull, not specifically because of Jack Ross.

They'll be back when we're winning and good to watch.

14-12-2021, 11:17 PM
It's probably too much to ask you just go along and support your team regardless. Us dinosaurs are surely in a minority.

I was there tonight so you’re preaching to the converted.

It’s the thousands of others who had decided not to go despite already paying for the privilege you need to convince.

14-12-2021, 11:21 PM

There can’t be another club anywhere where the fans have so many stipulations about what’s required to get them to attend.

Clubs like Newcastle must be thanking their lucky stars that they’re not followed predominantly by football connoisseurs. What on earth makes 50,000 Geordies pack that ground out every week? Do they just love their team or something daft like that?

14-12-2021, 11:21 PM
Do you have the same aversion to the word quality ? You get the point I made - if you think a head coach gets results by themselves, then you are well wide of the mark.. there is no question those managers had success because they brought a good team with them.

Am not disagreeing. Maloney might bring in a 'quality' team (assuming he gets the job).

The poster I responded to said he was concerned as it was his first job. I stated a fact that our most successfull managers in recent years took the Hibs job as there first.

14-12-2021, 11:24 PM

Are you misinterpreting people's posts on purpose?

I'm probably even more of a dinosaur than you, but I can still see things as they really are.

I rarely criticise Hibs, regardless of what they do, so I'm not going to start now. I thought a lot of JR and I think we should have continued with him, but he's gone.

I still support Hibs.

14-12-2021, 11:31 PM
Are you misinterpreting people's posts on purpose?

I'm probably even more of a dinosaur than you, but I can still see things as they really are.

I rarely criticise Hibs, regardless of what they do, so I'm not going to start now. I thought a lot of JR and I think we should have continued with him, but he's gone.

I still support Hibs.

Well if it helps I’m interpreting things the same way as the poster you quote.

You’ve said quite clearly that we can only expect a sizeable amount of Hibs fans to start reappearing under certain circumstances. He’s simply saying - why don’t they just come along and support the club….

14-12-2021, 11:33 PM
Erm yes, he was the manager and that’s why he was sacked?

The style of football that has seen our attendances plummet is directly his fault as that was his job.

Think this quote from Ben’s statement this morning is fairly telling for me.

“ We want to acquire a manager who has an attacking mentality and is progressive and hungry for the opportunity to build something special here at a big club in Hibs”

I don’t doubt Ross was desperate to build something but the specific mention of an attacking mentality (obviously his critics would point to what they believed was a cautious mentality). I don’t think we were building towards that attacking mentality under him, look at the team tonight and we have such a lack of attacking threat in that squad. People weren’t just moaning about it on here, they were showing their dissatisfaction by not attending and I think your point about those empty seats it totally fair. If the new man improves it, folk will come back and if he doesn’t he’ll be chased as well.

14-12-2021, 11:34 PM
It would be interesting to know how many ST holders are logging in and watching from home.

I’ve come round to thinking that that is the biggest factor, it certainly has been for me. I very nearly stayed at home tonight and was only lured out by my wee brother enthusiastically babbling about the game when he called me up a couple of hours pre-match. He was working at it tonight and he’d suggested we meet up (which in the end we never did).

December is a pretty pish month for watching lots of football. Whilst games under the lights do have an appeal, December always seems to mean - freezing cold, dark, lower crowds, poorer atmospheres and just a duller experience all round.

Tonight’s football wasn’t bad. We were very good in spells at either end of the first half. Middle of the first half it seemed to be collapsing into a familiar pattern. Second half was scrappy, but in the end it was a hard fought Hibs win. A hard fought Hibs win is always watchable.

Whilst there may be warnings that should be heeded, I’m still just a wee bit anxious about Ron Gordon and the use of the panic button.

Put it this way - it’ll need to be one hell of a product on the park to attract a much bigger paying crowd than that for a Tuesday night game v Dundee in any other December.

14-12-2021, 11:35 PM
There can’t be another club anywhere where the fans have so many stipulations about what’s required to get them to attend.

Clubs like Newcastle must be thanking their lucky stars that they’re not followed predominantly by football connoisseurs. What on earth makes 50,000 Geordies pack that ground out every week? Do they just love their team or something daft like that?

50,000 Geordies hadn’t been packing that ground for some time. There was a big change, it gave them hope, they came back.

14-12-2021, 11:39 PM
50,000 Geordies hadn’t been packing that ground for some time. They made a change, it gave them hope, they came back.

So ‘hope’ wasn’t enough for our crew tonight then?

Think Newcastle’s crowds would at least be 90 percent of capacity even with a few staying away … to watch a boring God awful team fight relegation.

14-12-2021, 11:47 PM
So ‘hope’ wasn’t enough for our crew tonight then?

Think Newcastle’s crowds would at least be 90 percent of capacity even with a few staying away … to watch a boring God awful team fight relegation.

Na, they were totally disconnected before that takeover happened. I don’t think people outwith Newcastle realise how monumental it was for them. We’ve not had a change on that scale, but making the change was the start of the process of getting folk back.

It’s not rocket science. When folk deem the football to be decent, they go. When they don’t, they don’t go. Don’t get the constant digs at our support. They’re not the issue, what they’ve been served up with is (and I say that as someone who hasn’t missed a game home or away this season).

15-12-2021, 12:45 AM
Wonder who Andy Halliday was talking about a left field candidate he knew was having an interview...... Wouldn't name him on open goal

15-12-2021, 01:57 AM
Wonder who Andy Halliday was talking about a left field candidate he knew was having an interview...... Wouldn't name him on open goal

Ah, the peerless Andy Halliday. I heard he scored a winner in a cup final once.....

15-12-2021, 05:13 AM
Bit meh if it is SM, only because he has never managed or even coached a senior professional club team, he may well be the next stubbs or mowbray but i think we really needed an experienced head coach or manager just now to come in and steady the team, not a very inexperienced coach, but again time will tell and he may well bring a lot to the table that most werent expecting

15-12-2021, 05:15 AM
Gary Caldwell being back is off putting I will admit… Meh get behind the new Gaffer I s’pose ?!

15-12-2021, 05:33 AM

We are back to our historical average. The attendances were up because of a combination of winning the Scottish cup and a promotion bounce after 3 years in the Championship all in a short space of time. It may have taken a few seasons longer to get back to where we are now but Covid has accelerated it.

ElginHibbie
15-12-2021, 05:36 AM
When I have seen Maloney as a pundit on TV thought he came across very well and his knowledge was clearly head and shoulders above anyone else he was on with.

How that transfers into being a manager though is anyone's guess, and while I get the concern some have I'd feel pretty optimistic if he's who we end up with

15-12-2021, 06:23 AM

He's not Malaysian he was born there as his English dad was a Helicopter pilot. His mum is Scottish and he was brought up in Aberdeen.

allmodcons
15-12-2021, 06:29 AM
It would be interesting to know how many ST holders are logging in and watching from home.

I’ve come round to thinking that that is the biggest factor, it certainly has been for me. I very nearly stayed at home tonight and was only lured out by my wee brother enthusiastically babbling about the game when he called me up a couple of hours pre-match. He was working at it tonight and he’d suggested we meet up (which in the end we never did).

December is a pretty pish month for watching lots of football. Whilst games under the lights do have an appeal, December always seems to mean - freezing cold, dark, lower crowds, poorer atmospheres and just a duller experience all round.

Tonight’s football wasn’t bad. We were very good in spells at either end of the first half. Middle of the first half it seemed to be collapsing into a familiar pattern. Second half was scrappy, but in the end it was a hard fought Hibs win. A hard fought Hibs win is always watchable.

Whilst there may be warnings that should be heeded, I’m still just a wee bit anxious about Ron Gordon and the use of the panic button.

Put it this way - it’ll need to be one hell of a product on the park to attract a much bigger paying crowd than that for a Tuesday night game v Dundee in any other December.

This 100%. If the Club stop showing the game on Hibs TV more season ticket holders (and others) would attend.

15-12-2021, 06:32 AM
He's not Malaysian he was born there as his English dad was a Helicopter pilot. His mum is Scottish and he was brought up in Aberdeen.

So he's Malaysian.

15-12-2021, 06:35 AM
So he's Malaysian.

Depends what he sees himself as he lived there for 5 years. I wouldn't personally.

15-12-2021, 06:39 AM
50,000 Geordies hadn’t been packing that ground for some time. There was a big change, it gave them hope, they came back.

Average attendance at St James Park has been constant at around 50,000 for the last10 seasons, including a season in the second tier. A particularly obsessed city where normal rules of attendance don’t seem to apply.

15-12-2021, 07:09 AM
You also have to factor in Covid and how close it is to Christmas!

Folk not wanting the risk of having to isolate in lead up or even at Christmas!

15-12-2021, 07:22 AM
Average attendance at St James Park has been constant at around 50,000 for the last10 seasons, including a season in the second tier. A particularly obsessed city where normal rules of attendance don’t seem to apply.

We know as well as anyone that attendance and folk in attendance are two different things. They had thousands of empty seats and 10k unsold season tickets (which was unheard of). As soon as that takeover happened their ticket site crashed, they were sold and you now can’t get a ticket

Anyway, I’ll no derail the thread anymore. Fair to say our managerial change isn’t going to see an upturn on attendance of that scale. But the number of folk turning up was only going in one direction so hopefully the change is the start of that turning. A cup win would probably help as well.

Broxburn Greens
15-12-2021, 07:30 AM

Inclined to agree with this, I’ve skipped a couple of home games (there are genuine reasons other than “can’t be bothered” in my case) because of the access to HTV.

I may have given last night a miss if it wasn’t for my laddie coming in from school clearly keen to go along and to be fair the drive in wasn’t as bad as usual for a midweek game, it was mild enough for December and a decent evening to watch the game, we played well by and large and got a win so it was worthwhile in the end and pleased we went.

Didn’t think there was anymore than 10-11k in the ground but can understand people giving it a miss at this time of year.

Sadly the atmosphere was very flat but it was a home game against Dundee and I don’t generally expect those game to generate raucous atmosphere to be fair.

The fire stick thing is more concerning regarding walk ups this season but could become a factor if and when the club remove the free streaming of games for ST holders. In principle the HTV access is a good idea and a decent service to provide but it does make staying away a bit easier to do.

Winning on Sunday and a new manager may provide a short term bounce in crowds. Not winning the LC will probably not have any adverse effect on where we are now.

15-12-2021, 07:44 AM
We know as well as anyone that attendance and folk in attendance are two different things. They had thousands of empty seats and 10k unsold season tickets (which was unheard of). As soon as that takeover happened their ticket site crashed, they were sold and you now can’t get a ticket

Anyway, I’ll no derail the thread anymore. Fair to say our managerial change isn’t going to see an upturn on attendance of that scale. But the number of folk turning up was only going in one direction so hopefully the change is the start of that turning. A cup win would probably help as well.

My ST holding friend says there’s never been thousands of empty seats except for an occasional cup tie against lower league opponents. Geordies aren’t good at boycotts. I’m fairly sure they count actual attendees as well for fire certification reasons.

But agree, I’ve no wish no derail the thread!

hibeerealist
15-12-2021, 08:23 AM

Have to disagree

15-12-2021, 08:45 AM
Well if it helps I’m interpreting things the same way as the poster you quote.

You’ve said quite clearly that we can only expect a sizeable amount of Hibs fans to start reappearing under certain circumstances. He’s simply saying - why don’t they just come along and support the club….

Before moving to York, I had a season ticket for 25 years and I'd been attending home and away every week as a walk up for about 15+ years before getting one. I've been to games at ER with 45000 in attendance and when there's been around 1000.

My commitment to Hibs was extremely high, but not everyone has the same devotion and priorities. When the results are poor and the football is dull, it's less enjoyable. Attractive football does just that. It attracts.

It's obvious why crowds go up and down.

15-12-2021, 08:46 AM

Well maybe. Assistant coach to Belgium or not, he’s a known quantity in Scotland so people have their opinions.

I’m much less enamoured with the prospect of Gary Caldwell on our staff. He treated our club disrespectfully as a player imo.

15-12-2021, 08:49 AM
Well maybe. Assistant coach to Belgium or not, he’s a known quantity in Scotland so people have their opinions.

I’m much less enamoured with the prospect of Gary Caldwell on our staff. He treated our club disrespectfully as a player imo.

I’ve been trying to remember what he did that was so bad.

Was it just that he signed a pre-contract?

15-12-2021, 08:53 AM

was open about moving - took dogs abuse and gave a bit back

Think thats about the sum of it?

15-12-2021, 08:55 AM

That’s what I thought.

Not enough to warrant holding a grudge what 20 years later?

15-12-2021, 08:57 AM

I agree. The guy continued to produce professional performances for Hibs and didn't deserve the flack he took.

It's called life - it was career step up for him and a vast increase in his pay packet. I don't blame him at all.

15-12-2021, 09:02 AM
I agree. The guy continued to produce professional performances for Hibs and didn't deserve the flack he took.

It's called life - it was career step up for him and a vast increase in his pay packet. I don't blame him at all.

He never let us down as a player, equally He never connected with Hibs during his two stints with us . Always seemed to be looking to move elsewhere . He viewed us simply as a wage. I’m Sure he’ll do the same again . Fair enough I suppose - but it doesn’t surprise me he isn’t held in high regard, even ignoring his pre contract move.

Perhaps more importantly now, Not convinced by his managing / coaching career so far …so hoping he is not part of the team (anyone recall the story of him putting his Thistle players through an SAS training experience ??).

15-12-2021, 09:03 AM
He never let us down as a player, equally He never connected with Hibs during his two stints with us . Always seemed to be looking to move elsewhere . He viewed us simply as a wage. I’m Sure he’ll do the same again . Fair enough I suppose - but it doesn’t surprise me he isn’t held in high regard, even ignoring his pre contract move.

Perhaps more importantly now, Not convinced by his managing / coaching career so far …so hoping he is not part of the team (anyone recall the story of him putting his Thistle players through an SAS training experience ??).

He did a really good job as manager of Wigan I thought.

15-12-2021, 09:11 AM
He did a really good job as manager of Wigan I thought.

He got relegated early in his stint. then had a good season - promoted out of league one , left them second bottom of the championship …

Relegated in his one year with Chesterfield . Kept on only to be booted for being near the foot of league two

Booted from Thistle, leaving them near the bottom of the championship , the same position he took them over in - they ended up getting relegated .

Not a great CV .

K-Zazu
15-12-2021, 09:31 AM
Maloney and Caldwell ever worked together before? Sounds like a bit like Calderwood and Derek Adams

15-12-2021, 09:33 AM
Maloney and Caldwell ever worked together before? Sounds like a bit like Calderwood and Derek Adams

Not sure if they played together at Celtic and/or Wigan?

et_hibby
15-12-2021, 09:36 AM

I agree with you 100%, GB!

15-12-2021, 09:49 AM
Not sure if they played together at Celtic and/or Wigan?

Both I think.

15-12-2021, 09:51 AM
That’s what I thought.

Not enough to warrant holding a grudge what 20 years later?

Absolutely not. Apparently scored against Hibs and gave the east stand the cupped ears thing the majority of who were abusing him the whole game. Seemed reasonable to me to be honest. :greengrin

15-12-2021, 09:52 AM
Was Shaun at the game last night?

15-12-2021, 09:53 AM
Just thinking I actually hope they don’t announce a manager till after the final.

It could end up being a distraction and cause uncertainty to those involved.

Would rather they just announce it Monday.

Also supposedly around 1500 season ticket holders aren’t turning up to each home game at ER. Not sure what the normal number is but seems pretty high.

15-12-2021, 09:57 AM
This story about Caldwell using the SAS at Partick Thistle always has me laughing when I recall it

https://www.bbc.com/sport/football/46405477

15-12-2021, 10:19 AM

Listen to any interview he did whilst managing Partick Thistle.

Always someone else's fault and threw the players under a bus most weeks.

There's absolutely nothing about him to suggest he's the best man, out of the thousands available, for the job.

This whole thing has disaster written all over it if it comes to pass.

15-12-2021, 10:29 AM

There's absolutely nothing about him to suggest he's the best man, out of the thousands available, for the job.

Is it not a bit hypocritical to throw that at him yet your keen for Lennon to return. The bit in bold is applicable to Lennons final season IMO.

15-12-2021, 10:42 AM
SSN still running with Maloney but saying might not be done until friday

GreenPJ
15-12-2021, 11:03 AM

If the rumours are correct then he would be coming in as assistant to Maloney - a different role to the manager position

15-12-2021, 11:06 AM
Is it not a bit hypocritical to throw that at him yet your keen for Lennon to return. The bit in bold is applicable to Lennons final season IMO.

Maybe, but Lennon had at least kinda earned the right to have a go at his players. They'd performed to a higher level before and he wanted to get them back to it.

What has Caldwell done to deserve a crack at the Hibs job?

He was a manager for 5 mins where he failed spectacularly.

How is he more qualified than SDG for example?

He's at it. Another one trying to take advantage of us, knowing full well that he's not nearly qualified enough for the gig. He'll get a nice payout though.

15-12-2021, 11:07 AM
Welcome to Hibs, Shaun.

I wonder how much input he'll have for the Cup Final

If the rumours are correct then he would be coming in as assistant to Maloney - a different role to the manager position

I know. Point still stands.

Maybe, but Lennon had at least kinda earned the right to have a go at his players. They'd performed to a higher level before and he wanted to get them back to it.

He's at it. Another one trying to take advantage of us, knowing full well that he's not nearly qualified enough for the gig. He'll get a nice payout though.

You do know that Caldwell isn’t being lined up for the head coach job aye?

15-12-2021, 11:09 AM
You do know that Caldwell isn’t being lined up for the head coach job aye?

Erm, yup.

mal
15-12-2021, 11:09 AM

Lennon purposely weakened the team on the field by playing the completely out-of-his-depth Lewis Allan in order to try to humiliate the strikers he was in the huff with. It's one of the worst pieces of management I've ever seen.

15-12-2021, 11:13 AM
Erm, yup.

Everything you have posted is about how poor a manager he has been. That doesn’t mean he can’t be a decent enough assistant

15-12-2021, 11:15 AM

Geordies are just daft...

15-12-2021, 11:17 AM

Also supposedly around 1500 season ticket holders aren’t turning up to each home game at ER. Not sure what the normal number is but seems pretty high.

Leean Dempster said about four years ago that around 15% were missing on average.

I would have thought it was much higher than that just now

15-12-2021, 11:18 AM

Tommy Craig's main 'achievement' with JC was buying AOB and the invisible man, Brian Kerr. Those 2 signings defined a lot of the negativity around Collins' tenure.

15-12-2021, 11:21 AM
Tommy Craig's main 'achievement' with JC was buying AOB and the invisible man, Brian Kerr. Those 2 signings defined a lot of the negativity around Collins' tenure.

Don’t remind me !! :).

I know those live long in our memory - but his role was obviously much more than that as assistant to Collins ..

My main point tbh is that it is the back room staff that come with inexperienced coaches that can make a big difference on how likely they are to succeed.

15-12-2021, 11:35 AM
Just thinking I actually hope they don’t announce a manager till after the final.

It could end up being a distraction and cause uncertainty to those involved.

Would rather they just announce it Monday.

I think the being able to watch at home allied to Covid reluctance allied to poor run allied to December games probably covers it all

15-12-2021, 11:38 AM
Don’t remind me !! :).

I know those live long in our memory - but his role was obviously much more than that as assistant to Collins ..

My main point tbh is that it is the back room staff that come with inexperienced coaches that can make a big difference on how likely they are to succeed.

I still shudder at the memory of that press conference where Collins was Craig's ventriloquist's dummy.

15-12-2021, 11:50 AM
https://twitter.com/HFCTalk/status/1471099225962430473?t=Nom_ZIy5_M9byAIwkdpYHg&s=19

LunasBoots
15-12-2021, 11:55 AM
https://twitter.com/HFCTalk/status/1471099225962430473?t=Nom_ZIy5_M9byAIwkdpYHg&s=19

Maloney imminent

15-12-2021, 11:56 AM
Maloney imminent

Think it’s cup final press day

LunasBoots
15-12-2021, 12:00 PM

Cheers, saw them running the Maloney story on SSN this morning....

Maybe a bit early.

15-12-2021, 12:00 PM

That's probably all there is to it now you mention it. False alarm!

15-12-2021, 12:01 PM
Everything you have posted is about how poor a manager he has been. That doesn’t mean he can’t be a decent enough assistant

I've posted about how much of a tube I think he is.

I don't believe for one second that there isn't somebody better out there to be our ASSISTANT manager.

15-12-2021, 12:11 PM
SDG in charge for cup final.

15-12-2021, 12:12 PM
I've posted about how much of a tube I think he is.

I don't believe for one second that there isn't somebody better out there to be our ASSISTANT manager.

It will be up to the new manager who he wants in. If he thinks Caldwell is the one for him then so be it

15-12-2021, 12:13 PM
David Gray will be in charge of Hibernian against Celtic in Sunday's League Cup final as the Easter Road club continue to pursue Shaun Maloney.

https://www.bbc.co.uk/sport/football/59665342

15-12-2021, 12:20 PM
Whoever it is what a run of games to start they have

Can't believe we didn't get someone in for the final though

15-12-2021, 12:21 PM

Thank goodness for that, makes 100% sense

15-12-2021, 12:46 PM

While giving his all for Hibs while he played for us, had a good footballing career and has plenty of experience from the game, FFS we brought in “been places done things” and that was okay, got no problems if it is a combo of Maloney and Caldwell taking the club forward.

15-12-2021, 12:48 PM
It will be up to the new manager who he wants in charge. If he thinks Caldwell is the one for him then so be itSomeone privy to Man Citys passing drills. Yes please.

Sent from my SM-A405FN using Tapatalk

15-12-2021, 12:51 PM
https://lm.facebook.com/l.php?u=https%3A%2F%2Fwww.edinburghnews.scotsman.c om%2Fsport%2Ffootball%2Fhibs%2Fhibs-manager-latest-kenny-miller-says-shaun-maloney-and-gary-caldwell-would-be-brilliant-appointment-3495150&h=AT0ZQaQFepcNAsaqbvICDFalR4N3u1TavsLyTCAHkzvHUciE tZGrAxdMb9WeEFrdYpj6ucNwFj8VratGCPeMeFBuDBzQtMLBUr tLqC5xz1eaWCOveKfOtJugLaYzxHmLtxScXOyYe6u6gx5bcw

hibsforeurope
15-12-2021, 12:57 PM
Scott Brown was suited and booted in the Directors box next to/ just behind Kensell last night. Strange place to be scouting out their next opponents from.

LunasBoots
15-12-2021, 12:57 PM
Think Maloney and Caldwell may do well together, Caldwell being the more vocal type may help if Maloney is the 'quiet guy', some Hibs fans will never forgive and forget what Caldwell did but that was years ago time to move on football is a buisness after all.

15-12-2021, 01:04 PM
Think Maloney and Caldwell may do well together, Caldwell being the more vocal type may help if Maloney is the 'quiet guy', some Hibs fans will never forgive and forget what Caldwell did but that was years ago time to move on football is a buisness after all.

Hardly anyone remembers though, he wasn't that important to us.

Some of us aren't happy because we don't see what he offers.

15-12-2021, 01:08 PM
Scott Brown was suited and booted in the Directors box next to/ just behind Kensell last night. Strange place to be scouting out their next opponents from.

We play Aberdeen soon, probably nothing in it.

15-12-2021, 01:39 PM
Maloney deal stalled?

15-12-2021, 01:47 PM
Maloney deal stalled?

I wouldn't want to take charge of the team directly before a cup final, particularly one we're favourites to lose.

If we do win, he won't get any credit because it's JR's team.

If we lose, he'll be off to a terrible start and there will be people happy to criticise his lack of tactical nous or his failure to make substitutions early enough etc etc.

15-12-2021, 01:52 PM
We play Aberdeen soon, probably nothing in it.
:agree: Their next two fixtures are Hibs and Dundee.

hibsforeurope
15-12-2021, 02:01 PM
:agree: Their next two fixtures are Hibs and Dundee.

just a strange place to be scouting from.

15-12-2021, 02:04 PM
I wouldn't want to take charge of the team directly before a cup final, particularly one we're favourites to lose.

If we lose, he'll be off to a terrible start and there will be people happy to criticise his lack of tactical nous or his failure to make substitutions early enough etc etc.

Yes. Having a manager come in and first game to be a cup final is a bad idea.

15-12-2021, 02:06 PM

He could be this years Dave Beaumont ….

15-12-2021, 02:07 PM

Didn’t work out great for Rangers in the Semi final leaving the new manager in the stand and having some academy staff take the team.

GreenPJ
15-12-2021, 02:10 PM
I know. Point still stands.

The role and responsibilities of an assistant are different of the manager/head coach. This includes relationship with players as well as interaction with media.

He's here!
15-12-2021, 02:11 PM
I still shudder at the memory of that press conference where Collins was Craig's ventriloquist's dummy.

Eating a pear/apple while he muttered the answers to Collins. Bizarre and embarrassing.

Spudster
15-12-2021, 02:13 PM

i read the reports on that but was there ever any footage? Would love to see how weird it was!

He's here!
15-12-2021, 02:14 PM

Maybe just came along to support Hibs? Pretty sure he's still Edinburgh-based.

I'm Spartacus
15-12-2021, 02:22 PM
A well respected coach but with no management experience…..

Cough, Cathro, Cough

You might want to do a PCR with a cough as bad as that!

15-12-2021, 02:24 PM
This really isn't important but it's been bugging me for the last two days that the thread title is all in lower case. Could someone give "maloney" the capital M it deserves?

15-12-2021, 02:35 PM

So why aren't Hibs doing it?

15-12-2021, 02:35 PM
This lazy comparison with Cathro is bull****.

Cathro had no professional playing experience and was 30 when he took charge of Hearts. Maloney is 38, a former international and has nine trophies. Aye because this is his first job it's the exact same. A more apt comparison would be Mowbray, Collins or Stubbs.

Just be honest and say Maloney is like that bad ex-Hearts manager because you don't like the appointment, rather than trying to come up with some false equivalence theory.

Andymac85
15-12-2021, 02:44 PM

I’d argue it’s a no lose situation for him. We are expected to lose, anything other than that would be seen as a big shock. If he comes in and we lose, easy excuse of playing Celtic and not enough time with players. If we win, then the story will be he’s had an immediate impact.

tmb1875
15-12-2021, 02:53 PM
If hibs wanted me as the manager in the week leading up to a cup final, I would’ve been at training the next day and instructed my agent to sort out the contract situ etc. And get the team organised as best I could into a coherent unit, to give my all to try win a cup. This pissing about trying to sort out contracts or being a coward and waiting till the final is over before taking charge is dug*****. What a sorry state of affairs.

15-12-2021, 03:03 PM

The disappearing apple sketch. Incredible :greengrin

15-12-2021, 03:07 PM
This lazy comparison with Cathro is bull****.

Cathro had no professional playing experience and was 30 when he took charge of Hearts. Maloney is 38, a former international and has nine trophies. Aye because this is his first job it's the exact same. A more apt comparison would be Mowbray, Collins or Stubbs.

Just be honest and say Maloney is like that bad ex-Hearts manager because you don't like the appointment, rather than trying to come up with some false equivalence theory.

Yep, it’s tiring.

15-12-2021, 03:07 PM
If hibs wanted me as the manager in the week leading up to a cup final, I would’ve been at training the next day and instructed my agent to sort out the contract situ etc. And get the team organised as best I could into a coherent unit, to give my all to try win a cup. This pissing about trying to sort out contracts or being a coward and waiting till the final is over before taking charge is dug*****. What a sorry state of affairs.

😂😂

15-12-2021, 03:08 PM
While giving his all for Hibs while he played for us, had a good footballing career and has plenty of experience from the game, FFS we brought in “been places done things” and that was okay, got no problems if it is a combo of Maloney and Caldwell taking the club forward.

Absolutely. Personally don't mind Caldwell thought he was a decent player for Hibs. Had no issue with how he left. 99per cent if players would have done the same.

15-12-2021, 03:12 PM

Or just let the current guys and legend SDG just prepare the team like he has the last couple games without the distractions of a new manager and staff announcement.

Hibs will have had a recovery day today. Train tomorrow and possibly set pieces Saturday if that.

Not much time to prepare - the final is a free hit for us. Massive underdogs.

SDG can go into changing room and say last game for me boys give it your all and see what happens.

15-12-2021, 03:22 PM
If Maloney is appointed before the final I want him in the dugout.

I thought it was poor for Van Bronchorst watching his team get pumped when he was manager whilst he was in the stand doing nothing.

Sergio sledge
15-12-2021, 03:25 PM

I'm not a fan of Caldwell and I'm not particularly enthused at the thought of him returning here as assistant manager. However, if we are basing someone's qualifications as a coach or a manager on their playing career, he's won league titles with Celtic and played and captained in the EPL with Wigan winning the FA cup with them. If we are basing it on coaching experience, he's coached at Wigan and managed Wigan to the League One title. He's also had 2 failed managerial appointments.

Now again, I'm not a fan, and I agree with you that there are thousands of people out there who may be a better choice, but if he is the guy Shaun Maloney wants alongside him in his first managerial post then that's the way it'll have to be I guess. To say he has no qualifications or experience for the job isn't right though.

hibeejeebies
15-12-2021, 03:30 PM

I want you as the next manager.

15-12-2021, 03:32 PM

I thought it was poor for Van Bronchorst watching his team get pumped when he was manager whilst he was in the stand doing nothing.

He wasn’t allowed too as he didn’t get a work permit in time for the game

TheHibernator
15-12-2021, 03:39 PM
i read the reports on that but was there ever any footage? Would love to see how weird it was!

I second this, any sort of link would be appreciated

15-12-2021, 03:40 PM

No sure about that he doesn’t know the players won’t have any time to influence the game IMO. Leave the guys to it don’t step on their toes they know what they are doing let them get on with it. Personally I’d feel a bit of a fraud celebrating winning it just being in the door so think leaving it as is and starting once it’s over is best for everyone concerned.

15-12-2021, 03:41 PM

Fair point👍

mal
15-12-2021, 03:47 PM
If hibs wanted me as the manager in the week leading up to a cup final, I would’ve been at training the next day and instructed my agent to sort out the contract situ etc. And get the team organised as best I could into a coherent unit, to give my all to try win a cup. This pissing about trying to sort out contracts or being a coward and waiting till the final is over before taking charge is dug*****. What a sorry state of affairs. Sent from my iPhone using Tapatalk

Imagine a former Celtic player takes charge of a Hibs team against Celtic, loses the match, then the contract offer falls through ... Now imagine that it was a former Hearts player we were after and we were in a final against Hearts ...

15-12-2021, 03:51 PM

And when you end up losing 6-0 because the players weren't used to playing the way you wanted?

15-12-2021, 03:54 PM

That is where I am at but we are fans.

tmb1875
15-12-2021, 03:56 PM
Your not going to go in and change everything straight away are you! But you give the players reassurance and leadership change the dynamic, increase the tempo try get a good feeling and buzz about the boys. Clean slate and all that. This uncertainty at present helps no one.

15-12-2021, 03:59 PM
Your not going to go in and change everything straight away are you! But you give the players reassurance and leadership change the dynamic, increase the tempo try get a good feeling and buzz about the boys. Clean slate and all that. This uncertainty at present helps no one.

I'm fairly certain that SDG will be able to do all of that. Probably more so than someone they don't know and have never worked with.

tmb1875
15-12-2021, 04:12 PM
Love the guy to bits and hope he can do it for us but he’s not a manager yet. Saying that neither is maloney! [emoji23]

Bay Area Hibees
15-12-2021, 04:23 PM
Absolutely. Personally don't mind Caldwell thought he was a decent player for Hibs. Had no issue with how he left. 99per cent if players would have done the same.

Agree was very good player and influence for us, don't understand the negativity.

scott_hfc1875
15-12-2021, 04:37 PM
Few people forget Caldwell won league 1 with Wigan so not exactly done nothing

15-12-2021, 04:38 PM

Contracts are important [emoji2369] and whose pissing about! Do we just hire the first person to apply?? Whose being a coward?? Why is it a sorry state of affairs?

I am bemused!

15-12-2021, 04:38 PM
I'm fairly certain that SDG will be able to do all of that. Probably more so than someone they don't know and have never worked with.

Just a personal opinion but SDG has done nothing in his two games in charge that would sway me toward wanting him managing the side for the final.

I'm not saying he's done badly, but I don't see much of an improvement over what we were doing under Ross.

Personally, I would have been happy enough giving somebody else a chance. GVB had an immediate impact after taking over Der Hun, so it's not beyond the realms of possibility that a new manager would do the same for us.

15-12-2021, 04:39 PM

This is where I’m at.

15-12-2021, 04:49 PM
No manager (potential) would wish to walk into a team with a cup final in a couple of days, would stink a wee bit of glory hunting.
Better he waits in the wings and lets the present team get on with it.

15-12-2021, 04:53 PM
Just a personal opinion but SDG has done nothing in his two games in charge that would sway me toward wanting him managing the side for the final.

I'm not saying he's done badly, but I don't see much of an improvement over what we were doing under Ross.

Personally, I would have been happy enough giving somebody else a chance. GVB had an immediate impact after taking over Der Hun, so it's not beyond the realms of possibility that a new manager would do the same for us.

And what were you expecting him to do with the squad of players we have? Was he suddenly going to get them playing high press, fast passing intricate football ala Man C...or maybe just asked to steady the ship and prepare the players until a new man is in place.

Neily1982
15-12-2021, 04:54 PM
Anyone else heard this has fallen through

15-12-2021, 04:56 PM
Anyone else heard this has fallen through

Do we even know if this is on, or are you in the know, nudge, nudge wink, etc.

15-12-2021, 05:18 PM

Disagree thought we had more about us. We were alot better off the ball snapping into tackles, limited the opposition to nothing (can't even remember any dreaded cross balls) a win and first clean sheet in 11 games :agree:. The man to lead us on Sunday now.

15-12-2021, 05:28 PM
Disagree thought we had more about us. We were alot better off the ball snapping into tackles, limited the opposition to nothing (can't even remember any dreaded cross balls) a win and first clean sheet in 11 games :agree:. The man to lead us on Sunday now.

Was St Mirrens equaliser not from a cross?

Irrespective of that, would Maloney even have enough time to assess the players, find a formation against Celtc and get them to play to a system in a matter of days? Doubtful. Nothing stopping him from being appointed though. I doubt the players will be too distracted. Hi f anything, it might give them a bit of an incentive to show the new manager what they’re capable of.

Neily1982
15-12-2021, 05:29 PM
[QUOTE=A Hi-Bee;6786317]Do we even know if this is on, or are you in the know, nudge, nudge wink, etc.
:greengrin[/QUOTE
Just heard from someone with decent links to Hibs that it was looking a done deal but for some reason Hibs have cooled there interest, just wondering if anyone else heard anything

15-12-2021, 05:32 PM
[QUOTE=A Hi-Bee;6786317]Do we even know if this is on, or are you in the know, nudge, nudge wink, etc.
Just heard from someone with decent links to Hibs that it was looking a done deal but for some reason Hibs have cooled there interest, just wondering if anyone else heard anythingBig duncs threatened us.

[emoji23]

Maybe cooled our interest after Ron read this thread

15-12-2021, 05:36 PM
Was St Mirrens equaliser not from a cross?

Irrespective of that, would Maloney even have enough time to assess the players, find a formation against Celtc and get them to play to a system in a matter of days? Doubtful. Nothing stopping him from being appointed though. I doubt the players will be too distracted. Hi f anything, it might give them a bit of an incentive to show the new manager what they’re capable of.
Last night I meant. Point is I think SDG and the players have steadied the ship abit since the news and shown enough to say he is the right man to lead us out on Sunday., agreed I'm not sure I see the merits of a new man getting involved on the touchline in the days leading up.

Just heard from someone with decent links to Hibs that it was looking a done deal but for some reason Hibs have cooled there interest, just wondering if anyone else heard anything

Ron’s probably read this thread🙈😂

Maybe a better candidate has shown interest 😉

15-12-2021, 05:45 PM
Just heard that Big Ron has flown over to Norway, don't know why could just be a fishing or skiing trip?

15-12-2021, 05:46 PM
Craziest run up to a cup final we’ll ever experience.

WillowbraeHibby
15-12-2021, 05:53 PM
Just heard that Big Ron has flown over to Norway, don't know why could just be a fishing or skiing trip?

:hyper

15-12-2021, 05:55 PM

[emoji1787][emoji23]

15-12-2021, 05:57 PM

https://media3.giphy.com/media/osncBSthuV9fWCHg7B/giphy.gif

15-12-2021, 05:58 PM

He'll have sore arms. Oslo must be about 4000 miles from Ron's hoos!

15-12-2021, 05:59 PM

Says he will be back soon!

15-12-2021, 05:59 PM
He'll have sore arms. Oslo must be about 4000 miles from Ron's hoos!

He is in Scotland

15-12-2021, 06:01 PM
He is in Scotland

You said he was in Norway! :na na:

15-12-2021, 06:04 PM

Should be "Ron Fishin'" 😁

15-12-2021, 06:04 PM
I think we'll take a leaf out of hertz book like what they did with Potter.

An extensive search will take place over several weeks only for Ben to discover that the best candidate was already in the house, Steve Kean!

15-12-2021, 06:06 PM

An extensive search will take place over several weeks only for Ben to discover that the best candidate was already in the house, Steve Kean!

You’ve taken that too far ! 🙈

15-12-2021, 06:06 PM

We should have just moved Ross into the vacant head of recruitment role and had him passing notes to the new manager during games.

15-12-2021, 06:07 PM
We should have just moved Ross into the vacant head of recruitment role and had him passing notes to the new manager during games.

Good point. Missed opportunity.

15-12-2021, 06:08 PM

Reported [emoji23]

15-12-2021, 06:08 PM
You said he was in Norway! :na na:

You know well what I meant, he is back in Scotland for the final, along with a certain staff appointment and he had to last min fly to Norway for something, his staff never told me the reason so he could have gone fishing or Skiing, I cannot think of any other reason to visit at this time of the year.

15-12-2021, 06:10 PM
And what were you expecting him to do with the squad of players we have? Was he suddenly going to get them playing high press, fast passing intricate football ala Man C...or maybe just asked to steady the ship and prepare the players until a new man is in place.

I find your reaction to what I actually posted to be a bit strange.

It's as if you've read something into it so you could feel offended

15-12-2021, 06:11 PM
You know well what I meant, he is back in Scotland for the final, along with a certain staff appointment and he had to last min fly to Norway for something, his staff never told me the reason so he could have gone fishing or Skiing, I cannot think of any other reason to visit at this time of the year.

Are you being serious?

Or is this the fishing trip?

15-12-2021, 06:18 PM
Please welcome your new Hibs Head Coach… Ross Jack!

15-12-2021, 06:23 PM

What are you trying to say?

Who is he appointing?

Knutsen?

15-12-2021, 06:27 PM
Please welcome your new Hibs Head Coach… Ross Jack!

No it's Joss Rack, German manager in charge of FC Fjord Sierra in Norway 😁

Skol
15-12-2021, 06:33 PM
If we had t lost a late goal at paisley the new manager would find himself with a team in fourth place in the league and a cup final. Not a bad place to start. As it is we are only two points from fourth and a cup final.

15-12-2021, 06:36 PM

Maybe picking up his tree.

15-12-2021, 07:56 PM

I find your reaction to what I actually posted to be a bit strange.

It's as if you've read something into it so you could feel offended

The bit in bold, what exactly were you expecting from the 2 recent games Gray was in charge?

15-12-2021, 08:05 PM
The bit in bold, what exactly were you expecting from the 2 recent games Gray was in charge?

Free flowing tiki taka high press a la Stendel. How could he not manage that with 1 days training before St Mirren?

15-12-2021, 08:15 PM
Free flowing tiki taka high press a la Stendel. How could he not manage that with 1 days training before St Mirren?

Haha

15-12-2021, 10:05 PM
Although I did think it was only a matter of time before Ross was sacked given our current form, I thought that they would have had somebody ready to take over the reins, but it seems a pretty strange choice to me. Maloney was a good player and quite an intelligent guy too, but he's never managed before and Caldwell is a long way from being a fans' favourite at Hibs as well as having a very mixed managerial record. They sacked Ross to bring in these two? IMO it's a gamble, but let's hope it does pay off. If indeed they had already decided on Maloney and Caldwell, it seems to be taking quite a while to cross the line, and I have to wonder what other candidates they decided against. Guess we'll never know. Anyway, I'll back whoever it is.

15-12-2021, 10:07 PM
Although I did think it was only a matter of time before Ross was sacked given our current form, I thought that they would have had somebody ready to take over the reins, but it seems a pretty strange choice to me. Maloney was a good player and quite an intelligent guy too, but he's never managed before and Caldwell is a long way from being a fans' favourite at Hibs as well as having a very mixed managerial record. They sacked Ross to bring in these two? IMO it's a gamble, but let's hope it does pay off. If indeed they had already decided on Maloney and Caldwell, it seems to be taking quite a while to cross the line, and I have to wonder what other candidates they decided against. Guess we'll never know. Anyway, I'll back whoever it is.

Scott Brown and Kevin Thompson included?

15-12-2021, 10:42 PM
https://www.thescottishsun.co.uk/sport/football/8160539/shaun-maloney-hibs-after-celtic-backroom-staff/

Three and a half year deal with Caldwell as his assistant.

Maloney to bring in one other coach but Gray and Samson likely to stay.

15-12-2021, 11:02 PM
Looks like that's that then. Hoping for the best! For me it has a bit of everything....excitement & uncertainty, but one thing is I'm convinced we're going to see a noticeable difference in the attacking approach in the weeks/months ahead!

15-12-2021, 11:10 PM
Maloney was my dear old granny's maiden name, so I'm for it. A fine Hibs name :greengrin

Dazzjw1875
16-12-2021, 12:25 AM
I'll wait until official announcement but I'm excited I think he will try play good attacking football. As for GC I know folks thoughts on him but I reckon we could maybe get a few gems from man City through his contacts in Jan to boost us.

cameronw-hfc
16-12-2021, 02:50 AM
I like it. A quiet intelligent manager with less experience with a more vocal assistant that's at least has manager experience. Don't rate Martinez as a manager but by all accounts experienced so Maloney will have picked up a lot, especially working with that group of players.

16-12-2021, 05:23 AM
I said after Ross left that I'd like a Mowbray type appointment. Well I've got it. None of us have a clue what he'll be like as a manager. I'm excited and concerned in equal measure! Will get my full support like every Hibs manager does.

16-12-2021, 06:24 AM
https://m.youtube.com/watch?v=8p7H7FYwbSQ

Interesting insight into our likely new gaffer in this interview with Graham Hunter. Sounds like over a year ago but good listen nonetheless

16-12-2021, 08:31 AM
https://www.thescottishsun.co.uk/sport/football/8160539/shaun-maloney-hibs-after-celtic-backroom-staff/

Three and a half year deal with Caldwell as his assistant.

Maloney to bring in one other coach but Gray and Samson likely to stay.

Grudging credit to Caldwell if he’s realised he’s not a no.1 I suppose. Calderwood, Cathro and many others are highly rated as coaches but no good as manager.

At least our training should be at a high level - Caldwell slagged us off for that when we left us for Celtc, so I’m sure he wouldn’t want the same thing to happen again.

I guess my issue is that both these guys are Celtc-minded… I’d prefer people who were invested heart and soul.

16-12-2021, 08:40 AM
How does the Sun get a hold of these stories and all the detail?

16-12-2021, 08:49 AM
I can see how the appointment ticks a lot of boxes, young and ambitious, experience coaching top players and both have top level experience in playing careers. Both have current in depth knowledge of the Scottish game watching regularly, hopefully GC brings a bit of knowledge of the English Market that means we can avoid any last minute loan signings that think its a cake walk and can't hack it.

Bit of an unknown clearly but coming round to the idea the more I think of it in those sort of terms.

16-12-2021, 08:55 AM
I’m quite positive about it now but was dead against it before.

No point dwelling on the negatives, he’ll hopefully be all about wanting to play attacking high energy football.

Everybody entitled to their opinion and this is the place to voice those concerns but it’s not an exact science and nobody knows how it’s going to go. Might as well look at the positive and hope for the best.

Really excited about the transfer window now.

16-12-2021, 09:05 AM
Grudging credit to Caldwell if he’s realised he’s not a no.1 I suppose. Calderwood, Cathro and many others are highly rated as coaches but no good as manager.

At least our training should be at a high level - Caldwell slagged us off for that when we left us for Celtc, so I’m sure he wouldn’t want the same thing to happen again.

I guess my issue is that both these guys are Celtc-minded… I’d prefer people who were invested heart and soul.

Very hard to come by. Who would we go for? Yogi or Ian Murray? If Maloney and Caldewell jump ship for Celtic it will mean they have done a very good job at Hibs.

16-12-2021, 09:10 AM
Caldwell slagged us off for that when we left us for Celtc

I don't remember that. What did he say?

Edinburgh Green
16-12-2021, 09:32 AM

No point dwelling on the negatives, he’ll hopefully be all about wanting to play attacking high energy football.

Everybody entitled to their opinion and this is the place to voice those concerns but it’s not an exact science and nobody knows how it’s going to go. Might as well look at the positive and hope for the best.

TBH I'm really not sold on the idea of Maloney and Caldwell and hope that I'm proved wrong!

However, the bit in bold is how I generally feel about managers. It either works or it doesn't and I try not to get too hung up on it, especially before they've had a chance to prove themselves.

16-12-2021, 09:39 AM
I don't remember that. What did he say?

ISTR it was along the lines of training at Celtic being more professional and players more dedicated to fitness, practice etc.

16-12-2021, 09:53 AM
ISTR it was along the lines of training at Celtic being more professional and players more dedicated to fitness, practice etc.

Is that something the fans should get upset about? I'm inclined to think that Tony Mowbray might, but surely fans would be concerned about the situation at Hibs, not Caldwell's words. :dunno:

16-12-2021, 09:56 AM
Is that something the fans should get upset about? I'm inclined to think that Tony Mowbray might, but surely fans would be concerned about the situation at Hibs, not Caldwell's words. :dunno:

I wasn't upset about it, but a lot of people on here were.

I agreed with Lennon that previous Hibs teams were too much like a "boy band", playing against the Old Firm but not turning up for games against other teams.

16-12-2021, 09:57 AM

Whilst hurtful to hear …I suspect the level of players and competition, would make training and approaches there more intense than most other clubs

16-12-2021, 10:21 AM
TBH I'm really not sold on the idea of Maloney and Caldwell and hope that I'm proved wrong!

However, the bit in bold is how I generally feel about managers. It either works or it doesn't and I try not to get too hung up on it, especially before they've had a chance to prove themselves.

The fact that Maloney is unwilling to start work until after the cup final doesn’t sit well with me.

He either backs himself or he doesn’t. That would be an incredible opportunity to make his mark as a manager.

Ah well, it’s time for SDG to be a hero once again.

16-12-2021, 10:25 AM
The fact that Maloney is unwilling to start work until after the cup final doesn’t sit well with me.

He either backs himself or he doesn’t. That would be an incredible opportunity to make his mark as a manager.

Do we know that’s the case ? Maybe they are still negotiating..with him and his staff?

16-12-2021, 10:27 AM

This is where I am now. The general view from this board and also me personally , is rarely a good barometer of how a manager will do for us ..when he’s announced I’ll get excited about what he brings and get right behind him …

16-12-2021, 10:27 AM

Come on he hasn't even signed yet. Makes complete sense for continuity for SDG for Sunday. Would make no sense a new guy coming in and giving different messages a day before the game.

16-12-2021, 10:30 AM

Probably just the honest reality

16-12-2021, 10:34 AM

Each tk their own but I’m the opposite.

If he came in a couple of days before the cup final and acted as a distraction then for me he would be making it all about him.

He potentially had the opportunity to win silverware as a manager however he’s out the team first and let them have the most normal week of training they could get.

Just my opinion but I think if he was to take over today and then sit on the bench on Sunday I would see him as an egotistical idiot. I suspect the players would also think he was being a cheeky ****.

He’s absolutely doing the right thing IMO.

Rumble de Thump
16-12-2021, 10:34 AM

Fact :greengrin

16-12-2021, 10:36 AM
My, we're a happy bunch.

🙄

16-12-2021, 10:43 AM

If he came in a couple of days before the cup final and acted as a distraction then for me he would be making it all about him.

He potentially had the opportunity to win silverware as a manager however he’s out the team first and let them have the most normal week of training they could get.

Just my opinion but I think if he was to take over today and then sit on the bench on Sunday I would see him as an egotistical idiot. I suspect the players would also think he was being a cheeky ****.

Spot on

16-12-2021, 10:47 AM

Agree totally

16-12-2021, 10:48 AM

Wish I felt like this, I'm still completely and utterly confused / gobsmacked / in denial!!

I don't see anything positive about this in the slightest and think it will be one of the biggest mistakes we have ever made.

Jack Ross must be having the biggest wtf moment ever.

Even reading this forum the last week, it's like we're all scrambling around for reasons this is a good thing when in reality we're all scratching our heads but too afraid to say it!!

Anyways, I guess i need to leave the denial behind and get behind it :greengrin

16-12-2021, 10:52 AM

16-12-2021, 10:54 AM
Whilst hurtful to hear …I suspect the level of players and competition, would make training and approaches there more intense than most other clubs

Players have some responsibility. John MCGinn spoke about changing his diet and other lifestyle changes when he moved to Villa. I guess a shift from £3000/week to £30,000/week (guessing the salaries here) focussed his mind on the job in hand and helped him up his professionalism and commitment.

16-12-2021, 10:57 AM
Players have some responsibility. John MCGinn spoke about changing his diet and other lifestyle changes when he moved to Villa. I guess a shift from £3000/week to £30,000/week (guessing the salaries here) focussed his mind on the job in hand and helped him up his professionalism and commitment.

Yes agreed ..I’m also guessing though the intensity of his training and expectations increased . I recall years ago when I moved from playing amateur football to east of Scotland league - the training was better, and harder …because the players were better …

16-12-2021, 11:00 AM

Interesting appointment if it comes true and has the potential to be left-field success like Mowbray and Stubbs. Not impressed at all with the Caldwell half of the duo, not because of anything he's said specifically about us, more because he strikes me as a really unpleasant, arrogant character. Maybe thats what our squad of underperformers need ?

16-12-2021, 11:05 AM
Wish I felt like this, I'm still completely and utterly confused / gobsmacked / in denial!!

I don't see anything positive about this in the slightest and think it will be one of the biggest mistakes we have ever made.

Jack Ross must be having the biggest wtf moment ever.

Even reading this forum the last week, it's like we're all scrambling around for reasons this is a good thing when in reality we're all scratching our heads but too afraid to say it!!

Anyways, I guess i need to leave the denial behind and get behind it :greengrin

From my perspective i felt we had very little to lose from replacing Ross, I was completely losing my Hibs mojo, I couldn’t even be arsed watching us on the tele. I just absolutely hated the way we played, the fact his stats and record looked good on Wikipedia meant nothing to me.

It sounds to me, one of the key things we’ve looked for is someone who will bring a different approach to how we play. We’re bringing in someone who is clearly very intelligent, a good coach and apparently wants us to play attacking football.

Experience doesn’t interest me, calderwood, Butcher, Fenlon, even Ross and others all had experience and were *****. The periods I’ve enjoyed most watching Hibs have been when we’ve given young ambitious guys with a fresh approach a chance, Mowbrey, Stubbs and Collins being the obvious ones.

Any experienced manager we could attract would have failed somewhere before so who’s to say they wouldn’t fail with us again?

I would rather take our chances on someone who has fresh ideas and might just be brilliant than someone that’s only every likely to be alright.

Also think gut feeling plays a part. It’s hard to explain it and it’s probably irrational, I just think he’ll be good.