View Full Version : Is there a chance the League Cup final will be played behind closed doors?
14-12-2021, 10:22 AM
I'm starting to think the cup final is going to be the last "big" event before we shut down over the new year.
Yes I think it will be the new year that even tighter restrictions will come into play
14-12-2021, 10:24 AM
It's outdoors so you would be really unlucky to pick anything up.
Even if you go straight to the game then home you've still got to get to the toilet and back. Toilets at Hampden during finals are a nightmare, you're basically crammed in like sardines.
14-12-2021, 10:29 AM
Even if you go straight to the game then home you've still got to get to the toilet and back. Toilets at Hampden during finals are a nightmare, you're basically crammed in like sardines.
And you can't even take in a plastic bottle.
14-12-2021, 10:30 AM
Aye true. Hopefully you get there and stay safe.
Weegreenman
14-12-2021, 10:52 AM
Listening to the politicians on the tele this morning and reading between the lines, I now think it’s highly unlikely the final will be called off or cancelled and played behind closed doors.
I think it’s going to be a case for vaccine passports and mask wearing being mandatory.
14-12-2021, 11:08 AM
There’ll probably be another variant on the go by then.
I know folk have different feelings about it but, for me, need to try and get on with things best we can. And those that don’t think it’s worth the risk won’t take it.
Whilst the govement continue to tell people to self isolate if you have been in contact then we can’t just get on with it. There will be nobody left to run anything. 😂
14-12-2021, 11:15 AM
It’s the getting there that’s the issue. Teams are already using multiple buses and cars now whilst we will all go through packed into seats / standing with no social distancing. This thing is spreading like mad. I’m currently self isolating due to contact (negative test).
Are you a household contact? If you are non household contact then you can stop islolation with a negative PCR.
14-12-2021, 11:18 AM
Are you a household contact? If you are non household contact then you can stop islolation with a negative PCR.
Household.
14-12-2021, 11:19 AM
Household.
Nightmare.
14-12-2021, 11:20 AM
Celtic a lot of players injured they probably want it off till later date
That is my worry they influence the decision in a way we cannot.
14-12-2021, 11:21 AM
Whilst the govement continue to tell people to self isolate if you have been in contact then we can’t just get on with it. There will be nobody left to run anything. 😂
Until I’m actually asked to isolate, I can.
DIXIHIBS
14-12-2021, 11:23 AM
Even if the cup final is effected I don’t see why they can’t just move it to March time when it was played before.
If they move the cup final then they would probably have to move new year derby, old firm etc etc. Before you know it theres a huge backlog of games. There is no easy answers.
14-12-2021, 11:37 AM
The only way it would be cancelled is if either camp has outbreak of new variant as is the case down south with around 49 players testing positive I think they said
Steven79
14-12-2021, 11:43 AM
The only way it would be cancelled is if either camp has outbreak of new variant as is the case down south with around 49 players testing positive I think they said
Celtic will be faking a few positive tests as we speak...
AugustaHibs
14-12-2021, 11:44 AM
Celtic will be faking a few positive tests as we speak...
They’ve flown to Dubai to make sure
Steven79
14-12-2021, 11:46 AM
They’ve flown to Dubai to make sure
Probably went to South Africa...
14-12-2021, 01:35 PM
We're home and dry now I think.. bring on Sunday
14-12-2021, 01:36 PM
We're home and dry now I think.. bring on Sunday
Yeah the game will definitely go ahead with a full capacity.
He's here!
14-12-2021, 01:40 PM
Yeah the game will definitely go ahead with a full capacity.
Minus a few hundred unsold Hibs tickets and those who've decided not to go due to health concerns.
h1bs4life
14-12-2021, 01:41 PM
Yup brilliant news , bring on the Celtic :flag::flag:
14-12-2021, 01:41 PM
Canni wait :hyper
chippy
14-12-2021, 01:53 PM
Minus a few hundred unsold Hibs tickets and those who've decided not to go due to health concerns.
Sales picking up now over 100 gone today via HSL and donations to disadvantaged families
tmb1875
14-12-2021, 01:55 PM
Unbelievable gesture can I still donate to this or too late?
14-12-2021, 01:57 PM
Can donate until 5 pm tomorrow, details here: https://www.hibs.net/showthread.php?355370-League-Cup-Final-Ticket-Drive
tmb1875
14-12-2021, 02:00 PM
Thanks bud donated now [emoji1531]
14-12-2021, 02:05 PM
Game going ahead is the main thing but am I right in saying that’ll be social clubs etc before hand a no go?
14-12-2021, 02:11 PM
Game going ahead is the main thing but am I right in saying that’ll be social clubs etc before hand a no go?
Not necessarily, my understanding was it was more of an emphasis on passports/hygiene and distancing rather than actually closing.
Restricted numbers will mean most places are booked up by now I would imagine.
14-12-2021, 02:14 PM
Not necessarily, my understanding was it was more of an emphasis on passports/hygiene and distancing rather than actually closing.
But will social distancing not reduce numbers dramatically
Also it’s to be table service only, so I presume no standing at the bar
14-12-2021, 02:14 PM
So I’m going to have to start washing my hands again after I go for a pish?
Ridiculous, when will this madness end?
14-12-2021, 02:15 PM
Surely you’ve always done that!
14-12-2021, 02:16 PM
Nippy is so power hungry
14-12-2021, 02:16 PM
Nah, your own pish is sterile - it's just if you touch anyone else. In fact it's probably better to get a wee bit of pish on your hands.
Hope the bogs at Hampden have got hot water. ****ing disgrace/21st century/etc etc
14-12-2021, 02:17 PM
To think they say sarcasm doesn’t work on forums as well eh 😂
DIXIHIBS
14-12-2021, 02:23 PM
Nippy is so power hungry
Aye whats she like, trying to save people lives.
14-12-2021, 02:24 PM
But will social distancing not reduce numbers dramatically
Also it’s to be table service only, so I presume no standing at the bar
We had already been told our booking was returned before the announcement and have had to find another pub. All pub will have reduced numbers now (if they follow the guidelines).
14-12-2021, 02:26 PM
Is it too late to vote No?
14-12-2021, 02:26 PM
Yeah you washed you’re hands in the toilets on the old terracing. :greengrin
The only running water there was the pee.
14-12-2021, 02:29 PM
Aye whats she like, trying to save people lives.
and make them clean their hands after a pish
14-12-2021, 02:41 PM
Nippy is so power hungry
Hibs are an internationalist club
It would help if you had a grasp on what's going on beyond the shoreline here before regurgiatating such keech
In Italy (for example) you lose your job tomorrow (immediately and without pay) if you are a public sector worker who is unvaxxed.
https://twitter.com/NickWhithorn/status/1470763164056838148
Have a word with yourself eh? Scotland is just keeping going as best it can in the face of a pandemic - there's a lot of countries (including some just a few miles south of here) who would give their eye teeth to have our approach to this.
Anyway, that's a link to the conditions in Italy. Sure it won't change your ill informed opinion, but at least it gives decent folk the facts.
LunasBoots
14-12-2021, 03:07 PM
We had already been told our booking was returned before the announcement and have had to find another pub. All pub will have reduced numbers now (if they follow the guidelines).
That'll be interesting on Derby day.
Stokesy's on fire
14-12-2021, 03:08 PM
Nippy is so power hungry
Yup
14-12-2021, 03:47 PM
It would help if you had a grasp on what's going on beyond the shoreline here before regurgiatating such keech
In Italy (for example) you lose your job tomorrow (immediately and without pay) if you are a public sector worker who is unvaxxed.
Have a word with yourself eh? Scotland is just keeping going as best it can in the face of a pandemic - there's a lot of countries (including some just a few miles south of here) who would give their eye teeth to have our approach to this.
Anyway, that's a link to the conditions in Italy. Sure it won't change your ill informed opinion, but at least it gives decent folk the facts.
I think Callum was being a tad sarcastic - he's def on the same side as you.
14-12-2021, 03:50 PM
Listening to Chris McLaughlin on BBC Scotland just now, saying no changes today in getting into football, but this is a day to day thing, and changes can happen at short notice
14-12-2021, 03:58 PM
There is no evidence to suggest recent football matches in Scotland have caused deaths. Sound like you would like us all to be locked down again.
🙄 Sounds like you are being very ignorant and presumptuous.
Ronnie asked what the point in being triple jabbed is if he can’t get to the hibs game. I was simply stating that I think the main point of being vaccinated is to help prevent us from dying.
But if that equates to me wanting football cancelled and everyone locked in their hooses then I stand corrected.
14-12-2021, 04:00 PM
Yes UK and Scotland are very loose with their restrictions. Most health experts are amazed with cases running at nearly 60,000 a day. Politicians of all stripes putting the economy first and think people here can't put up with any more restrictions. Our delta peak has never really come down while other countries have managed to crush it. US looks to be in the same boat. In the Philippines we were up to 20,000+ cases a day now down to 200. But masks are still mandatory and you need to be doubly vaccinated to go into a restaurant, mall or bar. No mass events and borders were only just going to open before omricon. But everybody entering still needs to be quarantined.
14-12-2021, 04:02 PM
If your triple jabbed you would need to be really unlucky to end up seriously I’ll never mind dying Article on the news tonight from South Africa saying the new variant is not as severe as previous variants
That might change but we have to live with this People will make their own choices but having just started goi g back to the football and concerts am not going to give that up unless there is clear evidence it’s needed
I agree. You would have to be very unlucky and triple vaccinations are the way forward.
My point is the vaccinations are to prevent deaths and serious illness and we should all be getting them asap. That doesn’t mean that events are invincible to cancellations and precautions, particularly while we’re still in a rush to get loads of us (including me and almost everyone my age) boosted.
15-12-2021, 06:53 PM
Watching the figures today and it's hard to believe this match is going ahead.
Pretty glad I've ditched the bus and doing a straight drive there and back now. Seems to me that buses could end up being superspeaders.
15-12-2021, 06:55 PM
Pretty glad I've ditched the bus and doing a straight drive there and back now. Seems to me that buses could end up being superspeaders.
Jason Leitch on BBC Scotland tonight was saying, he’d be happy being at the game, but travelling on buses trains and cars will be the main problem
15-12-2021, 07:02 PM
Whole thing is a Nationalist plot according to an utter fruit loop I was discussing the pandemic with recently, and when, I as calmly as I could explained what's happening elsewhere in the world - I was the odd one out in the company. The pandemic really has brought out the most illogical, intolerant, idiotic side of people.
15-12-2021, 07:14 PM
Jason Leitch on BBC Scotland tonight was saying, he’d be happy being at the game, but travelling on buses trains and cars will be the main problem
So what's his magic solution? Should everyone walk to the game on their own? If it's a risk, call it off. The inconsistency is a pain in the arse.
King Cosell
15-12-2021, 07:14 PM
"Hibs are an internationalist club."
:faf::faf::faf::faf:
15-12-2021, 07:16 PM
So what's his magic solution? Should everyone walk to the game on their own? If it's a risk, call it off. The inconsistency is a pain in the arse.
Dave 100% agree, but as it stands they can’t cancel the event, politics and all that
15-12-2021, 07:38 PM
https://news.sky.com/story/covid-19-britons-advised-not-to-attend-football-matches-in-stadiums-and-to-prioritise-events-that-matter-to-them-12496650
Here we go
15-12-2021, 07:41 PM
Anyway, that's a link to the conditions in Italy. Sure it won't change your ill informed opinion, but at least it gives decent folk the facts.[emoji57][emoji54]
Sent from my VOG-L29 using Tapatalk
15-12-2021, 07:46 PM
https://news.sky.com/story/covid-19-britons-advised-not-to-attend-football-matches-in-stadiums-and-to-prioritise-events-that-matter-to-them-12496650
Here we go
Told to prioritise events that really matter - I imagine that will be football then!
15-12-2021, 07:47 PM
So what's his magic solution? Should everyone walk to the game on their own? If it's a risk, call it off. The inconsistency is a pain in the arse.To be fair I don't think there's any inconsistencies in that... we/they have said all along since day one that being outside when meeting people reduces transmission... that's why we were so hacked off about the games being cancelled or behind closed doors previously.
It's all about meeting in pubs, being on buses etc ... that's where its hard to social distance or have decent ventilation.
15-12-2021, 07:47 PM
Told to prioritise events that really matter - I imagine that will be football then!Ha ha, my thoughts too!
15-12-2021, 07:50 PM
To be fair I don't think there's any inconsistencies in that... we/they have said all along since day one that being outside when meeting people reduces transmission... that's why we were so hacked off about the games being cancelled or behind closed doors previously.
It's all about meeting in pubs, being on buses etc ... that's where its hard to social distance or have decent ventilation.
Yes, but to get to a game in Glasgow I have to travel. Be it by car, bus or train. If he's warning about that but not the game itself how does that square up?
15-12-2021, 07:50 PM
Ckin he'll. Not to get political but are we just going to keep doing this ad infinitum. Are we just to stop doing anything worthwhile and just wait till the next variant comes along. I'd be amazed if clubs didn't face bankruptcy if the gates are shut again.
15-12-2021, 07:51 PM
To be fair I don't think there's any inconsistencies in that... we/they have said all along since day one that being outside when meeting people reduces transmission... that's why we were so hacked off about the games being cancelled or behind closed doors previously.
Anyone watching the darts from the Ally Pally? :dunno:
Stokesy's on fire
15-12-2021, 07:57 PM
Anyone watching the darts from the Ally Pally? :dunno:
Aye Ricky Evans played well and the fans are having a great time
We just got our tickets today and tonight have paid for the bus. On the back of recent covid figures, and with the english chief medical officer now 'advising' people NOT to attend football games in large stadiums, I am feeling extremely uneasy at going on Sunday.
I genuinely would be delighted of the Scottish government stepped in and postponed the cup final until next year.
We are seriously considering forfeiting our bus and ticket costs and watching it at home. :worried::worried::worried:
15-12-2021, 08:08 PM
Glad the game is going ahead but the political messaging from both sides of the border is crazy. Choose your water based metaphor whether tsunami or tidal wave of cases yet they are quite happy for massive events to go ahead. Adviser on radio saying he would go to the game but not on the bus yet thousands if not 10s of thousands will go on Sunday by public transport. Our club will run quite a few buses. The economy trumps public health in the UK and always will. I'm going by car and it will be straight to the game and back. I really feel for fans who are debating whether to go, having spent a fortune on tickets and transport. and the government give them the most confused of messages and advice.
15-12-2021, 08:09 PM
Ckin he'll. Not to get political but are we just going to keep doing this ad infinitum. Are we just to stop doing anything worthwhile and just wait till the next variant comes along. I'd be amazed if clubs didn't face bankruptcy if the gates are shut again.
It'll be the same with the next variant. Then the variant after that and the one after that. Fully understand why people are apprehensive about going but I'll be there until they tell me I can't.
15-12-2021, 08:11 PM
I have a ticket and a seat on a bus booked into a club prematch.
With my mum in a care home and other family members who really don't need covid I am torn.
Would rather the game was put back until after the year.
LunasBoots
15-12-2021, 08:15 PM
It'll be the same with the next variant. Then the variant after that and the one after that. Fully understand why people are apprehensive about going but I'll be there until they tell me I can't.
Exactly what a top scientist was saying the other day, it's a endemic, it's here forever. There was actually more people in hospitals in September than now.
15-12-2021, 08:16 PM
With my mum in a care home and other family members who really don't need covid I am torn.
I’d rather the game was put back too.
I don’t have the same considerations as you however I just think the cup final should be a big family day out, a good sing song in a club before the game being a big part of that.
When there’s the whole second half of the season ahead of us, I don’t see the rush to play it now. I suppose it may be the case that if we can get it okayed this weekend then at least fans will be there, that’s maybe not guaranteed if we push it back.
I still think there’s a big chance the game will be off because of one of the squads getting hit with covid. Think it’s a matter of time until the season has to take a break for that reason. Hopefully I’m wrong though.
NthCarolinaHibs
15-12-2021, 08:17 PM
Would rather the game was put back until after the year. I'm in similar position..ticket and bus paid,booked into The Shed before the game,but going on holiday on Wednesday,for two weeks. With the increase in daily figures of infection,and despite having the booster,I'm swaying towards watching at home on Sunday 😢
15-12-2021, 08:20 PM
Glad the game is going ahead but the political messaging from both sides of the border is crazy. Choose your water based metaphor whether tsunami or tidal wave of cases yet they are quite happy for massive events to go ahead. Adviser on radio saying he would go to the game but not on the bus yet thousands if not 10s of thousands will go on Sunday by public transport. Our club will run quite a few buses. The economy trumps public health in the UK and always will. I'm going by car and it will be straight to the game and back. I really feel for fans who are debating whether to go, having spent a fortune on tickets and transport. and the government give them the most confused of messages and advice.
100% correct. Too much misguided language being used scaring the he'll our of people.
15-12-2021, 08:20 PM
I’ll give everyone a tip. If you want to feel less stressed about the whole thing, stop watching or listening to the News.
15-12-2021, 08:22 PM
Here we go
The problem now is there is a lot of mixed messaging and saying it’s guidelines So a certain percentage of people will never comply with that and ant vaccine won’t comply
It shouldn’t be public health people making these announcements it needs to be the Government But they clearly don’t trust Boris down south
Renfrew_Hibby
15-12-2021, 08:23 PM
I’ll give everyone a tip. If you want to feel less stressed about the whole thing, stop watching or listening to the News.
I can't imagine many celtic fans giving a toss about this but I can now imagine there will be gaps all over our end.
15-12-2021, 08:26 PM
Here we go
They only speak to England, I don't think anything has been said other than consider deferring of Christmas parties by the first minister.
Chorley Hibee
15-12-2021, 08:34 PM
This is just a brief excerpt from the interview, but David Nabbaro from the WHO painted an apocalyptic view of the coming weeks.
https://twitter.com/SkyNews/status/1...JC7rUCI7A&s=19
15-12-2021, 08:42 PM
Exactly what a top scientist was saying the other day, it's a endemic, it's here forever. There was actually more people in hospitals in September than now.
There is two week between infection and hospitalizations. They will rocket in the coming weeks. We need preventive action not reacting when it is too late.
Stairway 2 7
15-12-2021, 08:44 PM
There is two week between infection and hospitalizations. They will rocket in the coming weeks. We need preventive action not reacting when it is too late.
We can only hope we match South Africa who are 4 weeks ahead of us, cases are now dropping and especially in Gauteng the epicentre. Hospitalisations have bumped up only a tiny bit
Gordy M
15-12-2021, 08:45 PM
Well thats not what happened in South Africa where this variant was first discovered. They are seeimg more cases and less in hospital. Yes folk will end up in hospital but fingers crossed its not as bad as feared.
inglisavhibs
15-12-2021, 08:46 PM
So you want us all locked down again ?That means concerts, Christmas markets, pubs, restaurants, all sport, schools etc etc. What happens with the next variant, then the next? Any further measures will depend on hospital entries and numbers in IC units.
Stairway 2 7
15-12-2021, 08:48 PM
Plus hospitalisations usually day 7 after symptoms, positive test about day 4, icu day 12. But that is delta , it seems to be much quicker with Omicron
I read an article today on the microsoft Edge news feeds that a group of researchers in Cambridge are starting trial a new vaccine that will not only control covid but stop it altogether. They are also making confident noises that this will also stop all future variants of it, so everything crossed for this to be successful.
15-12-2021, 08:57 PM
So you want us all locked down again ?That means concerts, Christmas markets, pubs, restaurants, all sport, schools etc etc. What happens with the next variant, then the next? Any further measures will depend on hospital entries and numbers in IC units.
I was merely talking about my own personal circumstances but you rant away regardless.
15-12-2021, 09:00 PM
I read an article today on the microsoft Edge news feeds that a group of researchers in Cambridge are starting trial a new vaccine that will not only control covid but stop it altogether. They are also making confident noises that this will also stop all future variants of it, so everything crossed for this to be successful.
Wow can’t come quick enough MB. Everyone’s life has been affected in some way shape or form with this pandemic.
Can remember one of the first Downing Street briefings and the Chief Medical Officer said we’ll be lucky to keep deaths under 20,000 and laughing at him. How wrong was I but some people I know still say it’s still all a load of bollocks. :rolleyes:
15-12-2021, 09:02 PM
Do you just reply to posters, regardless of what they’ve said, accusing them of wanting everyone to be locked down every time you contribute on here?! Honestly, what’s wrong with you?
The guy simply said he’s feeling a bit uneasy about his personal attendance at the game because of his circumstances.
15-12-2021, 09:02 PM
We can only hope we match South Africa who are 4 weeks ahead of us, cases are now dropping and especially in Gauteng the epicentre. Hospitalisations have bumped up only a tiny bit
The difference with South Africa and other southern Africa countries is that they have a much younger population than European countries. A direct comparison to our statistics is therefore not entirely accurate.
The introduction of restrictions is an attempt to stop hospitals getting overloaded.
Remember the hospitals getting emptied into nursing homes and how getting that wrong caused countless deaths.
Just glad that I am not making the rules just now.
Gordy M
15-12-2021, 09:09 PM
The difference with South Africa and other southern Africa countries is that they have a much younger population than European countries. A direct comparison to our statistics is therefore not entirely accurate.
The introduction of restrictions is an attempt to stop hospitals getting overloaded.
Remember the hospitals getting emptied into nursing homes and how getting that wrong caused countless deaths.
Yes thats very true about the age gap, however i think South Africa had around only 35% of people vaccinated as well. If it was a very strong variant you would expect more folk in hospital? But as you say, wouldnt like to be making any decisions at the moment.
Stairway 2 7
15-12-2021, 09:10 PM
No there deaths are miniscule to the same point on their previous waves, so we're comparing SA to SA. It's immunity from past infection and vaccination, plus it's looking around 30% milder on top of that
15-12-2021, 09:22 PM
Yes thats very true about the age gap, however i think South Africa had around only 35% of people vaccinated as well. If it was a very strong variant you would expect more folk in hospital? But as you say, wouldnt like to be making any decisions at the moment.
Certainly wouldnt take much notice of data coming out of SA. I was engaged to a girl in SA and we still keep in contact. As you say vaccination levels are pretty low. Popular belief in SA is that because an increase in infections occurred at the same time as they rolled out their vaccination programme many people (my ex included) blame the vaccination for the increase. They simply dont get it.
15-12-2021, 09:28 PM
Also the middle of summer in SA at present, which will help.
15-12-2021, 09:29 PM
I have reservations as well and really torn about how irresponsible attending might be.
Love football, love a cup final day out but just a nagging feeling that this is the wrong time for a big crowd event. Almost wish the authorities would take the decision out of our hands. I will ponder everything and decide on the day.
15-12-2021, 09:30 PM
I have reservations as well and really torn about how irresponsible attending might be.
Love football, love a cup final day out but just a nagging feeling that this is the wrong time for a big crowd event. Almost wish the authorities would take the decision out of our hands. I will ponder everything and decide on the day.
I am the same. Head says no, heart says yes
inglisavhibs
15-12-2021, 09:31 PM
I was merely talking about my own personal circumstances but you rant away regardless.
Apologise if it sounded like a rant. Just don’t think delaying the game is going to help as covid in some form will be with us for a while yet. Sorry again.
davhibby
15-12-2021, 09:32 PM
If you’re worried the best way of attending on Sunday is to go by car. There’s very little chance of infection in the open.
15-12-2021, 09:34 PM
Apologise if it sounded like a rant. Just don’t think delaying the game is going to help as covid in some form will be with us for a while yet. Sorry again.
Think the whole point of restrictions is to slow the spread at this time until people are vaccinated.
15-12-2021, 09:37 PM
No worries it's a crap time for everybody.
inglisavhibs
15-12-2021, 09:40 PM
Think the whole point of restrictions is to slow the spread at this time until people are vaccinated.
I understand that and think further restrictions will depend on numbers going to hospitals, which will become clearer in a couple of weeks. Fingers crossed that this variant really is a milder version.
15-12-2021, 09:43 PM
I understand that and think further restrictions will depend on numbers going to hospitals, which will become clearer in a couple of weeks. Fingers crossed that this variant really is a milder version.
They can't wait until the hospitals are full before they take action.
15-12-2021, 09:44 PM
We have started to get some cancellations on our buses which is not unexpected, Both my sons and me are all going to the game but my wife isn't to pleased as she's convinced atleast 1 of us will come home with covid, it's hard to give a rational argument for us going as she may well be right, chances are that none of us will be seriously unwell as we are all vaccinated but xmas would be cancelled. I know it's an unnecessary risk but i can't help take it
He's here!
15-12-2021, 09:45 PM
If you’re worried the best way of attending on Sunday is to go by car. There’s very little chance of infection in the open.
Is this really true? I can see the logic if we're talking about being out for a walk where it's easy to keep other people at a distance (or if you're rattling about Easter Road where there are plenty of empty seats at present :wink:), but in a 50,000 capacity football stadium where you're sitting a matter of inches from other fans/mingling in the concourses, toilets etc for a couple of hours? It's not what I'd call 'in the open'.
I think it's realistic to say that if you're going to be in the stadium on Sunday you're putting yourself in a compromising position if you're worried about infection.
15-12-2021, 09:45 PM
Fingers crossed…pretty sure that’s the policy we’re going for.
Potty78
15-12-2021, 09:46 PM
U guys wont be the only ones, have a feeling a lot more wont attend either. I'm on a bus then booked into a bowling club with hundreds more then need to go back to school on the monday for 4 days work. It's all personal choice now and people can only do what's right for them. 👍
Gordy M
15-12-2021, 09:49 PM
I think the numbers isolatimg at one time will be another huge concern for the govt. At the rate this is spreading, folk having to isolate for 10 days, could leave a lot of frontline jobs with little staff, including the NHS.
15-12-2021, 10:02 PM
They also have more people with antibodies due to previous infection.
As they were too poor to roll out vaccines.
Stairway 2 7
15-12-2021, 10:05 PM
They also have more people with antibodies due to previous infection.
As they were too poor to roll out vaccines.
96% of adults in the uk have antibodies just now, probably the highest in the world. Plus its a myth about vaccines being unavailable. Pre Omicron SA asked pfizer and j and j to stop sending millions of vaccines as uptake had went to a crawl
https://www.bloomberg.com/news/articles/2021-11-24/s-africa-wants-j-j-pfizer-vaccine-delivery-delay-news24-says
itslegaltender
15-12-2021, 10:08 PM
I’m really conflicted. Cancelled our annual boys night for Friday. Sunday is getting hard to justify the risk. It maybe outside but Hampden has you close together . Travelling by car. Which is a plus. The buses are a much bigger risk
15-12-2021, 10:22 PM
I am 64 never missed a cup final since I was 15 and ain’t missing this one If the government were really concerned they would cancel it Am double jabbed snd boosted Can wear a mask and take hand gell
All the info so far indicates it’s not causing people to become more Unwell and it’s milder than Delta
15-12-2021, 10:26 PM
I want to go to the game but I’m terrified of getting a sore throat or a runny nose for a couple of days in the winter as this has never happened to me before and I’m not sure I’d psychologically be able to cope.
Then there’s the possibility I might give other people who have been double and triple vaccinated this - I wouldn’t be able to live with myself if that was the case.
Sorry Hibs - but there are more important things than football and bed wetting is up there amongst them.
Stokesy's on fire
15-12-2021, 10:29 PM
I would not be shocked if the game gets Postponed. Dundee United reporting an outbreak as well now.
Moody Blues
15-12-2021, 10:32 PM
Dashing bob, you are spot on with your post.
What a bunch of bed wetters we have become.
If you dont want to go to the final, then stay at home.
If you want to go, wear your mask and follow the guidelines.
15-12-2021, 10:36 PM
Exactly this has partly been hyped up out of all proportion to boost the booster programme It’s worked but it’s time to live with this after two years ffs
skankomcphee
15-12-2021, 10:40 PM
I want to go to the game but I’m terrified of getting a sore throat or a runny nose for a couple of days in the winter as this has never happened to me before and I’m not sure I’d psychologically be able to cope.
Then there’s the possibility I might give other people who have been double and triple vaccinated this - I wouldn’t be able to live with myself if that was the case.
Sorry Hibs - but there are more important things than football and bed wetting is up there amongst them.
That's all well and good for you to say Irvine when you're sat there in Miami enjoying the sunshine and we're dealing with this running rife back in Scotland. Watch you don't get sunburnt.
15-12-2021, 10:49 PM
Exactly this has partly been hyped up out of all proportion to boost the booster programme It’s worked but it’s time to live with this after two years ffs
The general view from health experts are that the UK restrictions are light compared what is needed for this new variant. As usual the UK government is slow to react. Cases in the UK in the last two days have gone from 50,000 to 60,000 to 80,000. Doubling time is now less than 2 days. People are being reinfected after being infected by Delta and Alpha and it is bypassing double vaccinations. While the symptoms are generally less severe but because the high numbers who are being infected, the hospitalizations and deaths will rise. Eventually the government will have to put stricter measures in place. They have learnt nothing from last year. We are already seeing games being called off in England because of infections in clubs. That will happen in Scotland as the new variant spreads. The cup final might just escape being postponed but numbers over the next few days will be horrific. The doubters will sadly be eating their words.
15-12-2021, 11:26 PM
No he’s not. But you indicating that you found his moronic post remotely amusing will probably be enough encouragement for another shortly. Something for us all to look forward to.
I think that’s kind of what people are discussing here - whether or not they are going to choose to attend the game or whether they will make the trip and how they’re going about it. But I’m sure they’ll appreciate you pointing out that’s how it works all the same.
15-12-2021, 11:32 PM
The general view from health experts are that the UK restrictions are light compared what is needed for this new variant. As usual the UK government is slow to react. Cases in the UK in the last two days have gone from 50,000 to 60,000 to 80,000. Doubling time is now less than 2 days. People are being reinfected after being infected by Delta and Alpha and it is bypassing double vaccinations. While the symptoms are generally less severe but because the high numbers who are being infected, the hospitalizations and deaths will rise. Eventually the government will have to put stricter measures in place. They have learnt nothing from last year. We are already seeing games being called off in England because of infections in clubs. That will happen in Scotland as the new variant spreads. The cup final might just escape being postponed but numbers over the next few days will be horrific. The doubters will sadly be eating their words.
I know all that but cases are just that cases We may well get locked down in January but all the more reason to get on with life till then
I know lots of unjabbed friends who just carry on as normal and have never been I’ll
I am jabbed and boosted so am as protected as I can be
15-12-2021, 11:41 PM
Surely if it has went from 50,000 to 60,000 to 80,000 that is more than 2 days to double. Saying that I am taking a doubling time literally and it may have a different meaning when used for this purpose. Certainly spreading fast but it would given there isn't much being done to try and stop that
16-12-2021, 12:00 AM
Surely if it has went from 50,000 to 60,000 to 80,000 that is more than 2 days to double. Saying that I am taking a doubling time literally and it may have a different meaning when used for this purpose. Certainly spreading fast but it would given there isn't much being done to try and stop that
The total number of cases we are seeing just now isn't solely down to the Omicron variant, it includes others like Delta which is less transmissible.
It's specifically Omicron cases which are doubling roughly every two days just now.
LunasBoots
16-12-2021, 12:49 AM
Shall we just cancel the whole season now then?
OstKurve Hibs
16-12-2021, 12:58 AM
Nailed it !
16-12-2021, 01:06 AM
Shall we just cancel the whole season now then?
I thought most of our fans have already done that?
16-12-2021, 05:21 AM
For me personally it's more the risk of me and the wife having to self isolate and my young daughter having her Christmas ruined.
If that makes me a bed wetter so be it but my daughter is more important than any football match.
16-12-2021, 05:34 AM
I am 64 never missed a cup final since I was 15 and ain’t missing this one If the government were really concerned they would cancel it Am double jabbed snd boosted Can wear a mask and take hand gell
All the info so far indicates it’s not causing people to become more Unwell and it’s milder than Delta
This is where I am. I was in a very low place last year with all this so I'm going to enjoy every second I can until I'm told otherwise. Mental health needs to be considered too. Really looking forward to Sunday.
16-12-2021, 06:08 AM
You have been trolling for years on here but this is probably a new low.
If I pick covid up and pass it on to either my mum in a care home or my pregnant daughter I will get you to explain to them that it's "just a sore throat."
Lee Marvin
16-12-2021, 06:22 AM
If I pick covid up and pass it on to either my mum in a care home or my pregnant daughter I will get you to explain to them that it's "just a sore throat."
Sad little attention seekers are best ignored, mate
16-12-2021, 06:26 AM
Sad little attention seekers are best ignored, mate
Is it possible to put him on Ignore using the mobile version? Would gladly do so.
Steven79
16-12-2021, 06:54 AM
Is it possible to put him on Ignore using the mobile version? Would gladly do so.Click on their name to go to their profile then top right to ignore/block.
Sent from my SM-G960F using Tapatalk
16-12-2021, 06:56 AM
Don't go then.
Why people feel the need to justify themselves and share everything with strangers on the internet is beyond me.
Go - great. Don't go - great. No-one really cares TBH.
16-12-2021, 07:02 AM
Did you used to be funny or am I making that up?
16-12-2021, 07:04 AM
Don't go then.
Why people feel the need to justify themselves and share everything with strangers on the internet is beyond me.
I'm pretty sure your last line is 100 percent horse manure
Lots of people care (thankfully)
16-12-2021, 07:08 AM
Why do you care if a stranger you've never met is going or not going to a football match?
Genuine question
16-12-2021, 07:09 AM
Another poster best ignored. Seems perma raged that one.
16-12-2021, 07:11 AM
Why do you care if a stranger you've never met is going or not going to a football match?
Genuine questionI'm guessing the pandemic we are currently enduring that has killed millions worldwide might come into peoples thinking
16-12-2021, 07:14 AM
I'm guessing the pandemic we are currently enduring that has killed millions worldwide might come into peoples thinking
So you don't care if a stranger you've never met from the other side of the world goes or doesn't goto a game then? You've proven my point.
If you're worried about covid don't go. If you're not bothered about it then go. I just find it very strange people need to share their reasons and justifications to internet strangers.
16-12-2021, 07:15 AM
Don't go then.
Stay classy. Imagine me talking about whether its safe to attend a fitba match on a fitba forum on a thread about that very subject.
16-12-2021, 07:15 AM
New restrictions at the start of next week. Lockdowns at the start of January :
https://www.scotsman.com/health/covid-scotland-meeting-with-three-households-not-safe-expert-warns-as-omicron-spreads-to-all-health-boards-3496329
16-12-2021, 07:16 AM
Genuine question
It’s not necessarily about caring, but it’s a forum where people share their opinions. It’s interesting to hear and debate each other’s opinions on different issues. You have some pretty strong opinions yourself, most people won’t really care about those, but they might have a different point of view to you.
16-12-2021, 07:19 AM
It’s not necessarily about caring, but it’s a forum where people share their opinions. It’s interesting to hear and debate each other’s opinions on different issues. You have some pretty strong opinions yourself, most people won’t really care about those, but they might have a different point of view to you.
Don't care.
[emoji23]
16-12-2021, 07:20 AM
New restrictions at the start of next week. Lockdowns at the start of January :
https://www.scotsman.com/health/covid-scotland-meeting-with-three-households-not-safe-expert-warns-as-omicron-spreads-to-all-health-boards-3496329
I watched the Bundesliga last night on Sky Sports and noticed their capacities are heavily reduced again.
Anyone know if this is because of Omicron or was it before this?
Wonder if the New Year derby is at risk? Christmas, Hogmanay then New Years day before a full fixture card consisting of an Old Firm derby on the 2nd then us on the 3rd.... Plenty mixing going in pubs, clubs and houses.
16-12-2021, 07:20 AM
So you don't care if a stranger you've never met from the other side of the world goes or doesn't goto a game then? You've proven my point.
If you're worried about covid don't go. If you're not bothered about it then go. I just find it very strange people need to share their reasons and justifications to internet strangers.How do you get don't care from that?
Strange logic.
16-12-2021, 07:24 AM
Don't care.
[emoji23]
Touché :greengrin
I have decided to go. I will go in the car with family and will not go to any indoor setting either before ore after. I think the outdoor risk in the ground is low.
I need to hope my family are all clear but I do at least broadly know their movements, know they are vaccinated. However there is still a risk there.
16-12-2021, 07:29 AM
Genuine question
Because I want as many hibs fans there supporting the team as possible
Lee Marvin
16-12-2021, 07:56 AM
I watched the Bundesliga last night on Sky Sports and noticed their capacities are heavily reduced again.
Anyone know if this is because of Omicron or was it before this?
Wonder if the New Year derby is at risk? Christmas, Hogmanay then New Years day before a full fixture card consisting of an Old Firm derby on the 2nd then us on the 3rd.... Plenty mixing going in pubs, clubs and houses.
Who cares, tbh.
Genuine question; why do you care whether a virus has lower d capacity in a country thousands of miles away?
LeithMike
16-12-2021, 07:57 AM
It's this sort of attitude showing no care for fellow fans that probably contributes to spread of Covid. You just know that some people will probably have symptoms and go regardless and contribute to the spread.
What's wrong with showing concern for fellow fans? Hampden will be a far better and safer place if fans are looking out for each other.
Sent from my SM-N960F using Tapatalk
16-12-2021, 07:58 AM
Who cares, tbh.
Genuine question; why do you care whether a virus has lower d capacity in a country thousands of miles away?
#Bantz
Because it might have an impact on government decisions here :nerd:
16-12-2021, 08:41 AM
If Christmas wasn’t round the corner I would possibly be more inclined to agree with some of the more controversial posts on this, even if I wouldn’t agree with the insensitive way they’ve been out across.
We can’t hide from a virus forever, it’s not sustainable to keep locking us up and after this variant, there’ll clearly be other variants formed on the back of it, all this has got to stop at some point.
I also don’t think it’s right to be killing livelihoods by giving guidance not to spend money in peoples businesses as it’s dangerous without compensating that business. I dare say the likes of Wetherspoons will survive but will the smaller businesses, the cleaners, the suppliers, the bar staff etc….. the governments doing it this way is brutal for them and underhand IMO. I sort of think there’s a morale responsibility to keep spending money if they’re not going to be supported elsewhere. (Not just pubs by the way 😂)
In terms of not justifying it, I also get that point. Everybody’s circumstances are different, everyone just needs to make their own call. I also think that all these scare stories are putting the fear of god into people who really in all likelihood don’t need to be scared. It really is nobody’s business if anyone decides they don’t want to go to the game or not. If I was going on holiday next week for example there’s no danger I’d be going, I wouldn’t care if AntifaHibs gave his blessing or not in the same way me not being there won’t effect his enjoyment one bit.
16-12-2021, 08:50 AM
If we end up effectively shutting things down again , then there is no chance i will be going back for more jabs. The only reason i got both jabs in the first place was to help move things on. Not going to be getting jabbed every few months to end up not being able to go anywhere anyway
I've seen some pretty low posts on this forum in the past but this hits rock bottom. I hope if you do catch it it's no more than a runny nose and a sore throat despite the vitriol aimed at people with genuine concerns and thousands dead in this country . Remember if you do get that runny nose you won't be able to spend Xmas with anybody because you'll be isolating. By all means make your decision on your own health but to type something like that aimed at others is vile. Shame on you.
16-12-2021, 09:16 AM
If we end up effectively shutting things down again , then there is no chance i will be going back for more jabs. The only reason i got both jabs in the first place was to help move things on. Not going to be getting jabbed every few months to end up not being able to go anywhere anyway
Thats completely counter productive? You've had the 2 jabs and presumably you'll get the booster. Just go and get the jabs and the protection it will offer. It's free, doesn't take long and helps everyone as well as protecting you.
HNA11
16-12-2021, 09:19 AM
The current escalation around covid is worrying for all of us. For various reasons this is a stressful time for a everyone and with something so emotive it is perfectly understandable that emotions are running high. We are all living in a weird limbo at the moment, awaiting further restrictions and somewhat unsure of what we should and shouldn't be doing. This has dragged on for a long time and people are tired, scared, fed up, anxious, concerned and whole host of other descriptors.
With that in mind can the collective admin team on Hibs.net please appeal to people to think twice about what they post, before they post. Robust debate, differing opinions and frank discussion is absolutely fine. Childish name calling and nasty sarcasm is most definitely not.
We have tried to allow conversations around covid to flow as much as possible. However at such a difficult time we simply can't sit by and allow the above behaviours. Consider this a friendly warning that we will be taking a tougher line on posts playing the man rather than the ball from now on.
16-12-2021, 09:23 AM
Thats completely counter productive? You've had the 2 jabs and presumably you'll get the booster. Just go and get the jabs and the protection it will offer. It's free, doesn't take long and helps everyone as well as protecting you.
The motivation for a lot of people to get the jabs wasn’t anything to do with keeping people safe. It was our way out of this.
If the jabs aren’t seen as a route out of this then the uptakes will become less and less and therefore make them even less effective.
16-12-2021, 09:24 AM
I have decided to go. I will go in the car with family and will not go to any indoor setting either before ore after. I think the outdoor risk in the ground is low.
I need to hope my family are all clear but I do at least broadly know their movements, know they are vaccinated. However there is still a risk there.
Me too in the car, with my sun roof open for fresh air, hope it’s a sunny day😀
16-12-2021, 09:25 AM
The motivation for a lot of people to get the jabs wasn’t anything to do with keeping people safe. It was our way out of this.
If the jabs aren’t seen as a route out of this then the uptakes will become less and less and therefore make them even less effective.
The vaccines are the way out this. If we didn't have vaccines and we had 80,000 cases a day which we currently do with no vaccine immunity we'd be living in a full on complete lockdown to avoid the total collapse of the healthcare system.
16-12-2021, 09:29 AM
Me too in the car, with my sun roof open for fresh air, hope it’s a sunny day[emoji3]
It is today Billy
davhibby
16-12-2021, 09:34 AM
The vaccines are the way out this. If we didn't have vaccines and we had 80,000 cases a day which we currently do with no vaccine immunity we'd be living in a full on complete lockdown to avoid the total collapse of the healthcare system.
I think the point being made was that it’s being suggested we should be heading back towards that level of restrictions which will make a lot of people see getting their vaccine pointless as it won’t have stopped it happening.
16-12-2021, 09:35 AM
Its patently obvious they still are, even in the light of Omicron.
This is a disease, its not predictable and people are going to have to make their peace with the fact that when new variants come along people are going to have to deal with things closing down or restrictions coming in until the variant is assessed properly.
16-12-2021, 09:43 AM
If Christmas wasn’t round the corner I would possibly be more inclined to agree with some of the more controversial posts on this, even if I wouldn’t agree with the insensitive way they’ve been out across.
We can’t hide from a virus forever, it’s not sustainable to keep locking us up and after this variant, there’ll clearly be other variants formed on the back of it, all this has got to stop at some point.
I also don’t think it’s right to be killing livelihoods by giving guidance not to spend money in peoples businesses as it’s dangerous without compensating that business. I dare say the likes of Wetherspoons will survive but will the smaller businesses, the cleaners, the suppliers, the bar staff etc….. the governments doing it this way is brutal for them and underhand IMO. I sort of think there’s a morale responsibility to keep spending money if they’re not going to be supported elsewhere. (Not just pubs by the way 😂)
In terms of not justifying it, I also get that point. Everybody’s circumstances are different, everyone just needs to make their own call. I also think that all these scare stories are putting the fear of god into people who really in all likelihood don’t need to be scared. It really is nobody’s business if anyone decides they don’t want to go to the game or not. If I was going on holiday next week for example there’s no danger I’d be going, I wouldn’t care if AntifaHibs gave his blessing or not in the same way me not being there won’t effect his enjoyment one bit.
I think that’s the thing that most people are weighing up. It’s not necessarily that they’re worried about their health it’s that they might have to self isolate over Christmas. For me personally I’m going with the family and that’s who I’ll be spending Christmas with anyway. I think it’s awful the way the government have handled this outbreak, advising us not to go out while doing nothing to help the businesses affected.
16-12-2021, 09:48 AM
I think that’s the thing that most people are weighing up. It’s not necessarily that they’re worried about their health it’s that they might have to self isolate over Christmas. For me personally I’m going with the family and that’s who I’ll be spending Christmas with anyway. I think it’s awful the way the government have handled this outbreak, advising us not to go out while doing nothing to help the businesses affected.
I agree with most of your post LB. I was thinking about the whole family and isolating thing (as I won’t be going far for Christmas either) and the thing is.. if you were to catch it and the rest of your squad don’t (as unlikely as that may be), you’re still looking at Christmas isolated in a room yourself to stop family members catching it from you?
That’s not me trying to change your mind 😂 just another dynamic in a complicated decision that none of us should have to make.
16-12-2021, 09:59 AM
The last point is key.
If there was a full on lockdown imposed for 3 or 4 weeks I truly believe a majority, and a significant one at that, would still comply.
Instead we seem to have teleported back to early March 2020 with warnings about not doing this, that or the other whilst no support is in place for those worst impacted by said advice. It suddenly pitches this as a battle between health and economy when it really doesn't have to be.
I work in an industry inextricably linked to hospitality. For week ending 10th December my sales were £67K, following the PHS advice re Christmas parties and the follow ups from the UK and Scottish Governments around Christmas parties and social gatherings that has collapsed. For the week ending 17th December, usually my busiest week of the year as people double order for the Christmas and New Year period, up to today my sales are £11K and will top out at around £13 or £14K. In 2019 the figure was £74K on the comparable week.
If the government continue down this path then make no mistake there will be job losses on a huge scale in hospitality and the many and varied linked industries and that brings health and social problems of it's own. On a wider level surely everyone wants to see a vibrant leisure economy with busy pubs, restaurant, cafes, theatres, football stadiums, cinemas etc. If no support is forthcoming, and right now that looks remote, then we all lose out.
16-12-2021, 10:06 AM
As i said previously, i got both vaccinations against what i actually wanted to do. I certainly won’t be getting the booster until i see what restrictions are going to be coming next. I was happy to take my chances without a vaccine to be honest , you take your chances everyday in life , if you didnt you would never leave the house.
One thing for sure , I certainly wont be getting a jab every time they tell me if its still going to end up with me not being able to go about life
16-12-2021, 10:09 AM
The last point is key.
If there was a full on lockdown imposed for 3 or 4 weeks I truly believe a majority, and a significant one at that, would still comply.
Instead we seem to have teleported back to early March 2020 with warnings about not doing this, that or the other whilst no support is in place for those worst impacted by said advice. It suddenly pitches this as a battle between health and economy when it really doesn't have to be.
I work in an industry inextricably linked to hospitality. For week ending 10th December my sales were £67K, following the PHS advice re Christmas parties and the follow ups from the UK and Scottish Governments around Christmas parties and social gatherings that has collapsed. For the week ending 17th December, usually my busiest week of the year as people double order for the Christmas and New Year period, up to today my sales are £11K and will top out at around £13 or £14K. In 2019 the figure was £74K on the comparable week.
If the government continue down this path then make no mistake there will be job losses on a huge scale in hospitality and the many and varied linked industries and that brings health and social problems of it's own. On a wider level surely everyone wants to see a vibrant leisure economy with busy pubs, restaurant, cafes, theatres, football stadiums, cinemas etc. If no support is forthcoming, and right now that looks remote, then we all lose out.
It's affecting us in Electrical Wholesale too. Access to houses is becoming a nightmare and our profitability is down by a third on P12 2020, even though we were in a state of lockdown then too.
People are afraid again.
16-12-2021, 10:18 AM
As i said previously, i got both vaccinations against what i actually wanted to do. I certainly won’t be getting the booster until i see what restrictions are going to be coming next. I was happy to take my chances without a vaccine to be honest , you take your chances everyday in life , if you didnt you would never leave the house.
One thing for sure , I certainly wont be getting a jab every time they tell me if its still going to end up with me not being able to go about life
But why?
Seriously, why on earth would you ‘take a chance’ when the vaccination takes less than an hour from your day and is free?
Thats a genuine question. As you choosing not to take the vaccine doesn’t serve as some ‘get it up you’ to the authorities for not opening the world up.
16-12-2021, 10:27 AM
But why?
Seriously, why on earth would you ‘take a chance’ when the vaccination takes less than an hour from your day and is free?
Thats a genuine question. As you choosing not to take the vaccine doesn’t serve as some ‘get it up you’ to the authorities for not opening the world up.
Its hardly a get it up you to anyone , but please remember its my choice what i put in my body as i said i have already had both shots , i thought that would be that , i just dont see the point in getting jab after jab , chances are we wont able to go anywhere or do anything anyway and as i said if my health suffers it ll be my choice.
Your absolutely right it's your choice. I saw one woman talk this morning and she was saying the difference with covid at the moment is that we don't have it under control, once we do it'll be an annual booster for a few years but maybe no more than that. Right now we have to try and control it and stem the flow by keeping the wall of antibodies up and we need boosters to do that. It's not the same as flu because it's not seasonal so the whole world is affected at the same time. If people don't get boosted a lot of people will be back to square one with very little antibodies and we go backwards in the fight for normality again.
16-12-2021, 10:41 AM
I agree with most of your post LB. I was thinking about the whole family and isolating thing (as I won’t be going far for Christmas either) and the thing is.. if you were to catch it and the rest of your squad don’t (as unlikely as that may be), you’re still looking at Christmas isolated in a room yourself to stop family members catching it from you?
That’s not me trying to change your mind 😂 just another dynamic in a complicated decision that none of us should have to make.
Yeah I had thought of that, but we’re all happy to go and take the chance. I’m driving through and not going to the pub so hopefully that should see us ok.
16-12-2021, 10:47 AM
The last point is key.
:agree: I’m in exactly the same boat. Other than the festival this is normally the busiest time of the year for me, up until the announcement was made about parties everything was going as normal, but now it’s nowhere near as busy. We’ve not seen as much of a drop off as you have but it’s definitely noticeable, normally I’d be looking to put a bit of money away to cover the really quiet month of January but that won’t be happening this year. For me it’s the end of the road in my current line of work, I can’t continue with this level of uncertainty, I had my medical for my pcv license yesterday so hopefully I’ll not be in this position much longer.
16-12-2021, 10:51 AM
Given the current situation, this game should be made available to watch free to air on Hibs TV. Gives another option for those concerned about the infection rate and as everyone’s paid for a ticket they should at least have the option to watch at home.
Hibs won't be allowed to do that as premier sports holds the rights to the game.
16-12-2021, 11:16 AM
Your absolutely right it's your choice. I saw one woman talk this morning and she was saying the difference with covid at the moment is that we don't have it under control, once we do it'll be an annual booster for a few years but maybe no more than that. Right now we have to try and control it and stem the flow by keeping the wall of antibodies up and we need boosters to do that. It's not the same as flu because it's not seasonal so the whole world is affected at the same time. If people don't get boosted a lot of people will be back to square one with very little antibodies and we go backwards in the fight for normality again.
Your right it is all about it getting it under control. A careful phased approached rather than flip flopping between lockdown and don"t worry we are back to normal. If each country does not act responsibly then it will take a long time to go from pandemic to epidemic.
Weegreenman
16-12-2021, 11:47 AM
DEACON BLUE
Cancel remaining gigs. COVID 19 Omicron
“Folks: We're disappointed authorities didn't make any decision regarding live concerts in the wake of Omicron spread. However it's clear to us Deacon Blue should not be playing and people shouldn't be asked to attend gigs just now. We're postponing our last two shows.”
All details about rescheduled shows will be posted on our socmed channels today by 4p.m. Sorry to bring you this news, but we had to make the right decision for the good of everyone. We think we have.
Weegreenman
16-12-2021, 11:51 AM
As things stand I’m still going to be in attendance but was kinda hoping the authorities would take the decision out of my hands.
This is a real tough one for everyone. Ye it’s a cup final but nothing comes before the health of you and your family!
Take care fellow Hibees! See ye’s behind the goal.
WestEndHibee
16-12-2021, 12:11 PM
That's exactly it for me. If they even postponed it 3 weeks and it was in January and I could go home after and stick my feet up for 10 days and not feel I was going to miss anything then I'd be at the game in a shot and feel the risk of bad health for me was pretty minimal. But I've missed 5 christmases in a row with the folks and its looking likely any unnecessary interaction could cause me to miss it again so I'm now not going to the final or doing much else prior to christmas.
Likewise I can see why people are still going and totally think its a fine decision for them!
16-12-2021, 12:20 PM
And if they bring in a scheme whereby you could go out if you got vaccines/boosters where will you be then?
Surely getting the booster is going to mean fewer restrictions will come in, so it makes sense to get it?
16-12-2021, 12:38 PM
It is of course your choice. I wouldn’t dispute that for a second. That’s why I’m asking why on earth you would make the choice not to get it when it gives you no advantage at all?
You do see the point in it as you make reference to your health suffering through your own choice. It’s not like choosing to smoke and your health suffering. It’s taking half an hour to pop down and get an injection.
16-12-2021, 12:38 PM
That's all well and good for you to say Irvine when you're sat there in Miami enjoying the sunshine and we're dealing with this running rife back in Scotland. Watch you don't get sunburnt.
It was a tough decision Dougray, but I’ve decided to come to yours in Hollywood Hills to watch it. Thankfully there is no covid or ‘global’ pandemic in America, so we should be fine! Mines a Tennents and green fleeces all round!
16-12-2021, 12:45 PM
I think this is what most people are struggling with. They fear a government sponsored ruination of extended family Christmas and collapse of their livelihood of business more than the effects of this particular variation of the virus, which seem minimal. I was due to be at the in-laws so isolating for Christmas would personally suit.
Lee Marvin
16-12-2021, 12:46 PM
Brentford manager and Martindale from Livi have both called on authorities to shut football down from this weekend due to Covid. I'd imagine they will not be the last over the next 24 hours.
16-12-2021, 12:50 PM
https://uploads.tapatalk-cdn.com/20211216/bdff999692f449c39e9a249b9d6d9fc1.png
Deacon Blue cancel last two shows
HibsGW
16-12-2021, 01:05 PM
Brentford manager and Martindale from Livi have both called on authorities to shut football down from this weekend due to Covid. I'd imagine they will not be the last over the next 24 hours.
This is the kind of thing that I think might force the SFA into making a decision, worrying that there’s still a couple of days to go because that leaves time for others to say the same, I reckon if you end up with a few managers calling for it the SFA probably don’t have much option.
16-12-2021, 01:05 PM
It was a tough decision Dougray, but I’ve decided to come to yours in Hollywood Hills to watch it. Thankfully there is no covid or ‘global’ pandemic in America, so we should be fine! Mines a Tennents and green fleeces all round!
Didn't realise you'd finally come out on here. (Not in a gay way)
I knew from the start. And that's how good I am at not being a grass :greengrin
Spooky
16-12-2021, 01:06 PM
Me too in the car, with my sun roof open for fresh air, hope it’s a sunny day😀
Sunny day on the M8 ???
Hopefully "Really SUNNY" on the way home :thumbsup:
Enjoy!
16-12-2021, 01:10 PM
I think this is what most people are struggling with. They fear a government sponsored ruination of extended family Christmas and collapse of their livelihood of business more than the effects of this particular variation of the virus, which seem minimal. I was due to be at the in-laws so isolating for Christmas would personally suit.
We can't stay in forever. Covid is never going away but at least it seems to be mutating into a less serious variant.
In the meantime i'm hoping to go on Sunday but also would be quite happy to watch it in the house as well.
16-12-2021, 01:11 PM
This is the kind of thing that I think might force the SFA into making a decision, worrying that there’s still a couple of days to go because that leaves time for others to say the same, I reckon if you end up with a few managers calling for it the SFA probably don’t have much option.
Just as well it's the spfl and not the sfa then 😉
16-12-2021, 01:12 PM
The total number of cases we are seeing just now isn't solely down to the Omicron variant, it includes others like Delta which is less transmissible.
It's specifically Omicron cases which are doubling roughly every two days just now.
There was only 500 odd Omicron cases confirmed in Scotland yesterday so if the 30 to 50 to 80K cases is correct then Delta isn't a kick in the bum off doubling too. That is far more a worry but hardly surprising with football, clubs and parties all in full swing. In my view the Government is quite happy for it to run through the community. Very little is being done or has been done to stop it entering the country and then moving across the UK.
The Government response, north and south of the border, is all about the vaccine so it is completely understandable that some fans are happy to do anything as long as they are triple or double jagged. The Government has also stopped leading and has advisers giving mixed messages about attending games but not on the bus. They have absolved themselves of leadership and left it up to citizens to make personal choices. Some are choosing to miss a final because they don't want to take the risk and that is fine too.
I'll be going as fat 53 year old asthmatic who is triple jagged. The only time I have been ill since this started is after the jags. I'm happy the science tells me it will help protect me from serious illness but I take the view that the Government have stopped trying to halt any spread so I'm happy to do what I want to do and go out when I fancy. I won't feel any anger if I catch Covid from someone at the final and I won't feel any guilt if I unknowingly pass it on. The government aren't fussed so why should fans be bothered. Herd immunity is what they want and they have done from the start. Let's hope Omicron being less potent in terms of harm done is the start of the policy starting to pay off after 10s of thousands died unnecessarily. C'mon the cabbage
HibsGW
16-12-2021, 01:13 PM
just as well it's the spfl and not the sfa then 😉
….spfl*
16-12-2021, 01:15 PM
Just as well it's the spfl and not the sfa then 😉
The SFA have the power to stop all football, no?
16-12-2021, 01:16 PM
Ricky Ross for FM
Fuzzywuzzy
16-12-2021, 01:21 PM
I'm assuming I've had the Delta variant as they told me there was no marker to suggest Omicron while other folk I know have been told theyve had Omicron🤷
16-12-2021, 01:23 PM
The SFA have the power to stop all football, no?
I think the SFA should seriously consider halting football and the SPFL should think hard about the final. Football showed it was more responsible than Government at the start of the pandemic and it may need to lead now as the Governments yet again dither and fail to give clear direction.
16-12-2021, 01:29 PM
It's too late in the day to postpone any weekend football now. If it was going to happen it would have happened earlier this week. 50k at Ibrox last night and not one eyebrow was raised.
16-12-2021, 01:30 PM
It's too late in the day to postpone any weekend football now. If it was going to happen it would have happened earlier this week. 50k at Ibrox last night and not one eyelid was raised.
They cancelled all football the afternoon before the first lockdown.
16-12-2021, 01:32 PM
It's too late in the day to postpone any weekend football now. If it was going to happen it would have happened earlier this week. 50k at Ibrox last night and not one eyebrow was raised.
Agree. Play the games this weekend and I can see a 2-3 week break.
Or play all the fixtures up to the winter break and extend that to the end of January
16-12-2021, 01:36 PM
Yep.
I was with someone who was partially involved in that decision as it was happening. Holyrood had ordered football to be stopped after the games that weekend, including the OF game, but the SFA and SPFL made the decision themselves to close down sooner.
A rare occasion when they got a decision spot on. A bad situation could have been a hell of a lot worse when you consider how much mixing would have taken place before, during and after that fixture. It could have been our Cheltenham or Anfield.
Stokesy's on fire
16-12-2021, 01:53 PM
Disagree games have been called off for snow and so on with less notice.
16-12-2021, 01:55 PM
Wales v Scotland, due to be played in Cardiff in March 2020 in the Six Nations, was called off with circa 24 hours' notice, so there's still time
16-12-2021, 01:55 PM
I’ve been standing waiting to get in when a games been postponed.
He's here!
16-12-2021, 01:58 PM
I think the SFA should seriously consider halting football and the SPFL should think hard about the final. Football showed it was more responsible than Government at the start of the pandemic and it may need to lead now as the Governments yet again dither and fail to give clear direction.
Not much responsibility in evidence from Celtic players and fans last night:
https://www.bbc.co.uk/sport/av/football/59672162
On that evidence I wonder how many Celtic fans are worrying about attending the final. Not many if last night's away support is indicative of the prevailing attitude.
16-12-2021, 01:58 PM
ditto Del Amitri and Goodbye Mr Mackenzie.
I was due at the Mackenzies gig tomorrow. Didn't have much of an appetite for it, so kinda glad someone else has taken the decision for me. :agree:
16-12-2021, 02:00 PM
But we aren’t going into a lockdown at present or over the weekend
That might come after x mass
16-12-2021, 02:01 PM
This might sound crazy, as I am really looking forward to going to the Cup Final, but I'd actually prefer it if it was postponed until March.
There's so many people just now saying they're worried about travelling, or meeting up with mates before the game, so they've changed their plans entirely. It appears that a lot of people aren't willing to take the risk and have decided not go at all, even though they've already bought tickets.
A Cup Final should be a great day out, with socialising part of the experience, and they should get that chance.
16-12-2021, 02:02 PM
Thus might sound crazy, as I am really looking forward to going to a Cup Final, but I'd actually prefer it if it was postponed until March.
There's so many people just now saying they're worried about travelling, or meeting up with mates before the game, so they've changed their plans entirely. It appears that a lot of people aren't willing to take the risk and have decided not go at all, even though they've already bought tickets.
A Cup Final should be a great day out, with socialising part of the experience, and they should get that chance.
Totally agree with this.
LunasBoots
16-12-2021, 02:04 PM
Plenty games have gone on with 50,000 plus in the UK, ours will be no different.
yonder1875
16-12-2021, 02:08 PM
This might sound crazy, as I am really looking forward to going to the Cup Final, but I'd actually prefer it if it was postponed until March.
This is how I’m feeling about it too.
You know it’s not right when people are having to alter their travel and pre match plans. People also don’t want to sacrifice Christmas incase they get the virus at the game.
I live alone and am scared that if I get covid on Sunday then I’ll be spending Christmas alone.
16-12-2021, 02:16 PM
What benefit is there to not getting it?
16-12-2021, 02:17 PM
Not much responsibility in evidence from Celtic players and fans last night:
https://www.bbc.co.uk/sport/av/football/59672162
On that evidence I wonder how many Celtic fans are worrying about attending the final. Not many if last night's away support is indicative of the prevailing attitude.
It is a football match with a late goal and a very predictable response from players and fans. We had our own very small pitch invader on Wednesday. If the government allows events to go on as usual then I don't think it is surprising that the events will be similar to pre covid. Given mask wearing is not policed and rarely adhered to at grounds and passport rules have not really been implemented that is an entirely predictable event. If the Government want to stop it then they have the power to do so.
The big surprise is that none of the squads in the final or the league appears to have picked up this strain. Lots of players with kids at school, mixing with large groups regularly etc and being tested regularly too so asymptomatic cases would be picked up. Players and clubs should be applauded with how well they have avoided Covid becoming a huge factor in the scheduling of games
Broxburn Greens
16-12-2021, 02:18 PM
There was only 500 odd Omicron cases confirmed in Scotland yesterday so if the 30 to 50 to 80K cases is correct then Delta isn't a kick in the bum off doubling too. That is far more a worry but hardly surprising with football, clubs and parties all in full swing. In my view the Government is quite happy for it to run through the community. Very little is being done or has been done to stop it entering the country and then moving across the UK.
The Government response, north and south of the border, is all about the vaccine so it is completely understandable that some fans are happy to do anything as long as they are triple or double jagged. The Government has also stopped leading and has advisers giving mixed messages about attending games but not on the bus. They have absolved themselves of leadership and left it up to citizens to make personal choices. Some are choosing to miss a final because they don't want to take the risk and that is fine too.
I'll be going as fat 53 year old asthmatic who is triple jagged. The only time I have been ill since this started is after the jags. I'm happy the science tells me it will help protect me from serious illness but I take the view that the Government have stopped trying to halt any spread so I'm happy to do what I want to do and go out when I fancy. I won't feel any anger if I catch Covid from someone at the final and I won't feel any guilt if I unknowingly pass it on. The government aren't fussed so why should fans be bothered. Herd immunity is what they want and they have done from the start. Let's hope Omicron being less potent in terms of harm done is the start of the policy starting to pay off after 10s of thousands died unnecessarily. C'mon the cabbage
So you’ll be going to the final then mate?
Yorkshire HFC
16-12-2021, 02:26 PM
The government have really let us down on this - how can they sit and tell us how serious the situation is and then leave it to us to make up our minds on what we do. This way, they can just absolve themselves of blame if it all goes wrong. Chris Whitty would shut everything down today if he had the powers - and he knows more about it than anyone.
If it's serious, then have the balls to shut everything down.
And if it's not serious, then don't try and scare us for no good reason.
I doubt very many people on here are qualified to say what is best to do - we are all going to make a decision based on emotion. And regarding a Cup Final, for a football fan, emotion is going to drive the decision rather than the brain - it's natural.
I've spent all week worrying about whether my tickets will even turn up - now that they have, I don't know what I'm going to do.
Gordy M
16-12-2021, 02:29 PM
The government have really let us down on this - how can they sit and tell us how serious the situation is and then leave it to us to make up our minds on what we do. This way, they can just absolve themselves of blame if it all goes wrong. Chris Whitty would shut everything down today if he had the powers - and he knows more about it than anyone.
If it's serious, then have the balls to shut everything down.
And if it's not serious, then don't try and scare us for no good reason.
I doubt very many people on here are qualified to say what is best to do - we are all going to make a decision based on emotion. And regarding a Cup Final, for a football fan, emotion is going to drive the decision rather than the brain - it's natural.
I've spent all week worrying about whether my tickets will even turn up - now that they have, I don't know what I'm going to do.
They dont have the money mate, simple as that. Its quite clear thats why they arent shutting anything down. Its obvious that the devolved govts want a lockdown of sorts but dont have the cash unless Westminster funds them.
DIXIHIBS
16-12-2021, 03:15 PM
Just announced over 88,000 cases today. I think they might pull the plug tmrow.
16-12-2021, 03:28 PM
Bojo says no locking down, and make your own Xmas decisions. No way Sturgeon can lock us down and plunge more people into furlough because we don't have the money.
16-12-2021, 03:30 PM
So you’ll be going to the final then mate? I've not missed one since I was 12 so barring any symptoms, or positive tests in my house, I'll be there. You are a long time deid and who knows when we will get to another final. Football is about the only time I am in a crowd barring a rare visit to the shops. Apart from being forced to work from home I would hardly know there was a pandemic on for the last year or so
Brummie_Hibs
16-12-2021, 03:32 PM
There was probably at least. 88,000 Covid cases a fortnight ago when Omicron was largely unknown, the main difference was that nobody was testing themselves a fortnight ago.
More tests = more cases.
Less tests = less cases
But more cases makes very good panic news headlines and means increased booster sales!
Lee Marvin
16-12-2021, 03:36 PM
There was probably at least. 88,000 Covid cases a fortnight ago when Omicron was largely unknown, the main difference was that nobody was testing themselves a fortnight ago.
More tests = more cases.
Less tests = less cases
But more cases makes very good panic news headlines and means increased booster sales!
Donald, is that you?
DIXIHIBS
16-12-2021, 03:38 PM
More tests = more cases.
Less tests = less cases
More positive tests = more cases.
16-12-2021, 03:39 PM
They dont have the money mate, simple as that. Its quite clear thats why they arent shutting anything down. Its obvious that the devolved govts want a lockdown of sorts but dont have the cash unless Westminster funds them.
That depends on what theory of economics you subscribe to. I'm an MMT man myself and printing money is something we should be doing more of. We are still due teh Bank of England the £1.2 Million we borrow in 1694 so making it more won't make much difference.
16-12-2021, 03:44 PM
More tests = more cases.
Less tests = less cases
The percentage of those testing positive now is less than it was a couple of weeks back. 10.8% now and 11.5% on 30/11. It was 14.9% on 31/8.
shetlandhibee
16-12-2021, 03:55 PM
More tests = more cases.
Less tests = less cases
But more cases makes very good panic news headlines and means increased booster sales! :top marksyes and the government have spent billions on vaccines (all with a sell by date)IMO that will be punted every six months everytime a milder form of variant appears? thats allways !! "3" times more transmissable than the last strain so this strain has to be 9 times more transmissable than the Kent variant??
16-12-2021, 03:58 PM
Starting to get a sinking feeling about this weekend.
I’m meant to be seeing Amy MacDonald at the Hydro tomorrow night then the final on Sunday.
Del amitri have cancelled gigs at the Usher hall and the Barrowlands in the next couple of nights and Deacon Blue have postponed their gig at the Hydro on Sunday night.
Football matches down south are being postponed left right and centre.
Not looking good.
Bothar Casca
16-12-2021, 03:58 PM
:top marksyes and the government have spent billions on vaccines (all with a sell by date)IMO that will be punted every six months everytime a milder form of variant appears? thats allways !! "3" times more transmissable than the last strain so this strain has to be 9 times more transmissable than the Kent variant??
Yes. It is. We’ve gone from 8 cases in Scotland to over 2500 in 2 weeks.
Brummie_Hibs
16-12-2021, 04:00 PM
Donald, is that you?
Mibbie aye, mibbie nah! Depends on who is asking.... :cool2:
16-12-2021, 04:04 PM
I’m meant to be seeing Amy MacDonald at the Hydro tomorrow night then the final on Sunday.
Del amitri have cancelled gigs at the Usher hall and the Barrowlands in the next couple of nights and Deacon Blue have postponed their gig at the Hydro on Sunday night.
Not looking good.
Cancellations are horrible and I have to say that it would be absolutely terrible luck to have tickets for Amy MacDonald.
16-12-2021, 04:09 PM
Not looking good.
Thank god its only affected crap music :greengrin
Cancellations are horrible and I have to say that it would be absolutely terrible luck to have tickets for Amy MacDonald.
Lol chuck in Del Amitri and it's like a nightmare of the bland 😉
1 8 7 5
16-12-2021, 04:18 PM
Not looking good.
Amy cancelled as there was only 6 tickets sold. Del Amitri and Deacon Blue cancelled as theyve got the bus back to the 1980s. The games down south have been cancelled because of the number of players in the squads catching covid.
It will be fine. Mon the cabbage
MikeyS
16-12-2021, 04:33 PM
Not looking good.
Fingers crossed that gig gets cancelled for you! 😉🤞🏻
16-12-2021, 04:39 PM
I don't think there's a chance of it being called off now.
That's us now until at least after Christmas and we'll see how we're fixed in the New Year. If things are deteriorating I would expect things like crowds at football to be banned but not before January.
16-12-2021, 04:41 PM
Thank god its only affected crap music :greengrin
Goodbye Mr Mackenzie were Barrowlands gig of the year in 2019.
So, with all due respect, GIRUY 😋😋
16-12-2021, 04:47 PM
Bojo says no locking down, and make your own Xmas decisions. No way Sturgeon can lock us down and plunge more people into furlough because we don't have the money.
'Bojo' sounds almost playful and underplays that you're referring to a Grade A ersewipe who is a serial liar, utterly untrustworthy.
I still intend going to the Final but won't be going on a coach now, I'll be driving so no drinking before it either, I believe that's where the
covid super-spreading is going to happen.
16-12-2021, 04:50 PM
Not looking good.
There's nothing from Government in the pipeline tomorrow that will stop the game going ahead.
Only way it wouldn't is if there is a covid outbreak at either club.
Broxburn Greens
16-12-2021, 04:55 PM
I've not missed one since I was 12 so barring any symptoms, or positive tests in my house, I'll be there. You are a long time deid and who knows when we will get to another final. Football is about the only time I am in a crowd barring a rare visit to the shops. Apart from being forced to work from home I would hardly know there was a pandemic on for the last year or so
Haha, I was pulling your leg mate… I’m 99% of who you are in real life…
Let’s just say Hibs is about the only thing you and I see eye to eye on and frequently cross swords on another platform…
16-12-2021, 05:09 PM
Not looking good.
In case you haven't seen it yet Amy MacDonald's concert has just been cancelled in the last half an hour.
https://twitter.com/Amy__Macdonald/status/1471534586916130821?t=mtI2PBWjmvn-NFnb-UEndA&s=19
16-12-2021, 05:18 PM
Not looking good.
All indoor gatherings.
Hibs game will go ahead.
Who knows when Hibs will be next in a cup final !
16-12-2021, 05:19 PM
They told us a while back cases mean nothing it’s hospitalisations and intensive care beds and deaths that count That’s not happened much in South Africa and it’s already levelled off there re case numbers
It’s creating panic to ensure people get boosters which they are
Weather is still mild
Everyone needs to do what’s comfortable for them But I will be going on my own and avoiding pubs and crowded places until the game and will wear a mask something I wouldn’t normally do outside
Chorley Hibee
16-12-2021, 05:19 PM
A temporary “circuit breaker” lockdown is the only way to save Christmas and protect the NHS, Nicola Sturgeon’s scientific advisers have said https://t.co/EW6g4nvucR
16-12-2021, 05:21 PM
Amy cancelled as there was only 6 tickets sold. Del Amitri and Deacon Blue cancelled as theyve got the bus back to the 1980s. The games down south have been cancelled because of the number of players in the squads catching covid.
It will be fine. Mon the cabbage
6 tickets? Am I missing a private joke here?
16-12-2021, 05:23 PM
6 tickets? Am I missing a private joke here?
I think it's a reference to how much the poster dislikes Amy MacDonald.
The gig was a sell out.
16-12-2021, 05:29 PM
I think it's a reference to how much the poster dislikes Amy MacDonald.
The gig was a sell out.
Cheers, I thought it must’ve been a joke.
16-12-2021, 05:31 PM
Cheers, I thought it must’ve been a joke.
She’d only sold 4.
inglisavhibs
16-12-2021, 05:34 PM
There's nothing from Government in the pipeline tomorrow that will stop the game going ahead.
Only way it wouldn't is if there is a covid outbreak at either club.
Interesting that 25% of English League footballers are not vaccinated. Little wonder there are outbreaks at the clubs and surprised there are not more. Wonder what the Scottish numbers are?
16-12-2021, 05:37 PM
Come to the conclusion that they should probably postpone Sunday’s game myself now too. Won’t be going radge about it either way, and assuming it does go ahead, hope everyone has a great day and it goes without any real incident or repercussions.. just seems the sensible thing would be to hold off for now given the guidance right now.
This is where I am. They need to come to their senses and postpone it. It's a game of fitba that can be played at anytime
16-12-2021, 06:04 PM
This is where I am. They need to come to their senses and postpone it. It's a game of fitba that can be played at anytime
I agree. partly coz I can’t go due to isolation but it just seems a bit daft having 10’s of thousand packing into buses and pubs six days before Christmas and the implications of that. In my opinion a postponement to the spring would be sensible but I understand everyone is excited for Sunday.
16-12-2021, 06:05 PM
https://www.skysports.com/football/news/11792/12497593/covid-19-scottish-footballs-joint-response-group-to-consult-with-clubs-over-strengthening-existing-protocols
No plans to postpone as it stands
I agree. partly coz I can’t go due to isolation but it just seems a bit daft having 10’s of thousand packing into buses and pubs six days before Christmas and the implications of that. In my opinion a postponement to the spring would be sensible but I understand everyone is excited for Sunday.
I think it's terrible it's been left to the fans to decide whether to go or not after we have shelled out for tickets and buses. Everyone knows we shouldn't be going . Heart ruling the head for many. The SFA and/or govt need to do the right thing for us.
Play the game. Life is too short to worry about things that might not happen.
Laid in hospital 21 months ago watching people dying from covid made me think, take each day as it comes and live the dream.
Let's win the cup. Mon Hibs.
Play the game. Life is too short to worry about things that might not happen.
Laid in hospital 21 months ago watching people dying from covid made me think, take each day as it comes and live the dream.
Let's win the cup. Mon Hibs.
Life could be much shorter than planned for some who do go or their families. There are absolutely no reasons it can't be played in a couple of months
16-12-2021, 06:09 PM
I think it's terrible it's been left to the fans to decide whether to go or not after we have shelled out for tickets and buses. Everyone knows we shouldn't be going . Heart ruling the head for many. The SFA and/or govt need to do the right thing for us.
Completely agree with this. It’s ****ing embarrassing that we’ve got the leaders of devolved parliaments screaming out for backing to do the right thing and we’ve got the leaders of this island more interested in petty infighting and gaslighting.
Life could be much shorter than planned for some who do go or their families. There are absolutely no reasons it can't be played in a couple of months
This is the best chance to win it now.
Their next trip to the supermarket/work/pub or walk could cause them to catch it.
Be sensible and take few risks as possible.
This is the best chance to win it now.
Their next trip to the supermarket/work/pub or walk could cause them to catch it.
Be sensible and take few risks as possible.
I'll never put a game of football over my health. Best chance to win it will never come before my family.
16-12-2021, 06:14 PM
We’ve shelled out £120 for tickets and the coach which I won’t get back. It was always a terrible date for a cup final with everything that normally goes on at Christmas, especially financially. The fact we’re now facing the worst point in the pandemic so far (not my words) would make this sort of event utter madness. You only have to watch the World darts on TV to see how people are taking advise and acting responsibly, not.
LunasBoots
16-12-2021, 06:15 PM
Lots of English teams suffering now with COVID, think this stresses the need certainly not just fans to be vaccinated across football
I'll never put a game of football over my health. Best chance to win it will never come before my family.
That's a choice only you can make.
I always thought laid there will I ever get back to Cougar Park or Easter road again. Then when out I hid away for months and months.
As soon as they opened stadiums I just had to take the step to get back. So glad I did and now I can live again.