View Full Version : Energy crisis

Pages : [1] 2 3 4 5 6 7

20-09-2021, 03:06 PM
Is the looming energy crisis brexit related?

https://news.sky.com/story/energy-crisis-how-long-will-it-last-and-what-happens-if-your-supplier-goes-bust-12412648?dcmp=snt-sf-twitter

20-09-2021, 03:22 PM
Is the looming energy crisis brexit related?

https://news.sky.com/story/energy-crisis-how-long-will-it-last-and-what-happens-if-your-supplier-goes-bust-12412648?dcmp=snt-sf-twitter

Sent from my iPhone using TapatalkNot if you are a brexit consequences denier [emoji6]

It'll be down to Jeremy Corbyn, foreigners or the youth of today.....

https://uploads.tapatalk-cdn.com/20210920/e103361c97531b0cd1cd495a8d0161b9.jpg

20-09-2021, 03:24 PM
With labour shortages, food shortages, supply chain issues across multiple sectors, dodgy deals with medieval regimes, increased taxation that disproportionately impacts low and middle income workers, unprecedented corruption and now a looming energy crisis I'm sure glad we got the strong and stable Tories rather than a commie like Corbyn.

20-09-2021, 03:31 PM
Do the EU have some sort of energy agreement that guarantees their supply and prices.

Shame we're no longer part of it. Or is it because we're no longer part of it we're being thumped?

20-09-2021, 03:33 PM
With labour shortages, food shortages, supply chain issues across multiple sectors, dodgy deals with medieval regimes, increased taxation that disproportionately impacts low and middle income workers, unprecedented corruption and now a looming energy crisis I'm sure glad we got the strong and stable Tories rather than a commie like Corbyn.
In France the unions would be on the streets, blockades, setting fire to things etc. This country sees the Tories extend leads in the polls. And by this country I mean England!! **** knows what they have to do to people to make them fight back.
But at least the weight of nothing on the shelves will be an imperial nothing rather than that metric crap we've had to put up with for years. Perhaps the electricity issue will go away when we stop using volts, ohms, amps etc. Bloody foreign nonsense. Just use Watts. Not kilo Watts either, kilo - more foreign rubbish.

20-09-2021, 03:52 PM
I'm thinking these poor energy firms who are now looking for taxpayers money to maintain their profits could maybe do with some lobbying help from someone like dodgy Dave Cameron.

20-09-2021, 04:12 PM
The Daily Mail and Bozo called it firsthttps://uploads.tapatalk-cdn.com/20210920/a659c24e78a1bec73982b47e945539bb.jpg

20-09-2021, 04:30 PM

You missed the key component in that we should all be proud because these are British labour shortages, food shortages, supply chain issues across multiple sectors, dodgy deals with medieval regimes, increased taxation that disproportionately impacts low and middle income workers, unprecedented corruption and looming energy crisis.

20-09-2021, 05:02 PM
https://bylinetimes.com/2021/09/20/the-brexit-tax-how-boris-johnson-broke-his-promise-on-energy-prices/

20-09-2021, 05:13 PM
https://bylinetimes.com/2021/09/20/the-brexit-tax-how-boris-johnson-broke-his-promise-on-energy-prices/

BBC reporting it's post-Covid demand and those pesky Russians putting the price up. The fact that the Govt is saying there is no need to panic should act as a warning that things could get much, much worse.

The Lords report echoes evidence produced by peers three years ago, in 2018, advising that the UK faced the prospect of energy shortages and increased energy bills, if the Brexit transition was not managed effectively.

Has there been anything related to Brexit which has been managed effectively? (Outwith Blue passports, the return of imperial measures and scaring off some furrenurs from jobs Brits won't do.)

20-09-2021, 05:14 PM
In France the unions would be on the streets, blockades, setting fire to things etc. This country sees the Tories extend leads in the polls. And by this country I mean England!! **** knows what they have to do to people to make them fight back.
But at least the weight of nothing on the shelves will be an imperial nothing rather than that metric crap we've had to put up with for years. Perhaps the electricity issue will go away when we stop using volts, ohms, amps etc. Bloody foreign nonsense. Just use Watts. Not kilo Watts either, kilo - more foreign rubbish.

😀

20-09-2021, 05:21 PM
Was there not a fire that damaged a cable from France that supplies a large amount of electricity?

20-09-2021, 05:22 PM
Was there not a fire that damaged a cable from France that supplies a large amount of electricity?

That was last weeks tale, didn't stick so they are making up some other rubbish.

Santa Cruz
20-09-2021, 05:31 PM
That was last weeks tale, didn't stick so they are making up some other rubbish.

By "they" would I be correct in saying this would be the Tories? It's just I was reading the energy crisis is a problem for all of Europe, or is that not the case?

20-09-2021, 05:33 PM
By "they" would I be correct in saying this would be the Tories? It's just I was reading the energy crisis is a problem for all of Europe, or is that not the case?

Read Ozys link to the bylinetimes a few posts above. It's having an impact elsewhere but guess who is getting it twice as hard?

20-09-2021, 05:43 PM

https://uploads.tapatalk-cdn.com/20210920/7b886f5f2e52bdaafa33b86ed41c0362.jpg

EU countries don’t seem to be getting as badly affected by this global problem as much as the UK?
And now that we are out of the EU, if supplies run short over winter, they can now cut supply to the UK to protect their own consumers.

20-09-2021, 06:20 PM

EU countries don’t seem to be getting as badly affected by this global problem as much as the UK?
And now that we are out of the EU, if supplies run short over winter, they can now cut supply to the UK to protect their own consumers.

Sent from my iPhone using TapatalkTop of the league in Europe again. Where's the beaming photo of Bozo giving it the thumbs up?

Prof. Shaggy
20-09-2021, 11:53 PM

I suspect that has more to do with the way the gas supply market was privatised under Thatcher.

21-09-2021, 12:59 PM
https://news.stv.tv/world/food-could-disappear-from-shops-over-co2-shortage-within-days?top

Food next, stock up on your loaves

21-09-2021, 01:02 PM
https://news.stv.tv/world/food-could-disappear-from-shops-over-co2-shortage-within-days?top

Could be another ‘Winter of discontent’ on the way.

21-09-2021, 01:03 PM

It’s perishables that will be the problem

21-09-2021, 02:21 PM
https://twitter.com/PhantomPower14/status/1440217798974730248

A wee reminder for the BBC Journo.

21-09-2021, 02:30 PM
https://twitter.com/PhantomPower14/status/1440217798974730248

A wee reminder for the BBC Journo.

It’s surely beyond belief that a professional political journalist in Scotland could not know that?

21-09-2021, 02:57 PM
It’s surely beyond belief that a professional political journalist in Scotland could not know that?

Sent from my iPhone using TapatalkMaybe hoping the interviewee didnt know and was tripped up, or, more probably, interviewer/producer completely ignorant with zero research and asking dumb questions.

Sent from my SM-A405FN using Tapatalk

21-09-2021, 03:11 PM

This was predicted back in 2017 when Centrica closed, the Rough facility in Yorkshire. Rather than refurbishing or renewing it, they decided to import from Qatar. The Tories would have been happy to see the dividends going to shareholders rather than building infrastructure to protect the future supply.

https://www.theguardian.com/business/2017/jun/20/uk-gas-storage-prices-rough-british-gas-centrica

"The closure of the UK’s largest gas storage plant has prompted warnings that the country faces more volatile winter gas prices and is becoming too dependent on energy imports."

"Analysts at Barclays said the closure would increase the volatility of winter gas prices, a view shared by other industry-watchers. Matt Osborne, a risk manager at energy consultancy Inenco, said: “We anticipate that the decision to close Rough will create uncertainty in terms of energy pricing."

21-09-2021, 03:41 PM

I even saw an empty shelves photo on a BBC article. Someone better tell crunchie asap so he can slap these news outlets down...

21-09-2021, 03:57 PM

Worth listening to the whole interview and not just the highly selective and somewhat misleading edit posted...

21-09-2021, 04:00 PM
This gives a broader perspective on why the UK has serious supply issues right now. https://www.newstatesman.com/politics/2021/09/gas-price-crisis-is-brexit-russia-or-covid-19-to-blame

Of course building one or two additional nuclear power stations to complement the drive for renewables would help supply stability too.

21-09-2021, 04:05 PM
Did everybody else give up on the Thorium reactors that the Chinese reckon they've just about mastered?

21-09-2021, 04:14 PM
Did everybody else give up on the Thorium reactors that the Chinese reckon they've just about mastered?

I think the US is still pursuing it. China is about to go live with their first demonstrator.

21-09-2021, 04:17 PM
Of course building one or two additional nuclear power stations to complement the drive for renewables would help supply stability too.

That would only happen if we are updating our nuclear weapons. Those plants are built to enrich uranium into weapons grade material, electricity is a happy but sporadic by-product.

21-09-2021, 04:17 PM
Could someone give me some advice on suppliers please?

I'm just about to come off a fixed rate for gas and electricity combined, which I realise is going to be painful. I can't remember who it was I had it from - green something, somebody small - but the supplier was taken over by EDF at some point over the past year, and I am soon to go on to their standard tariff.

When I try to transfer, because of the current price high it's hard to make out whether there are just no offers out there, or what is going on.

What am I best to do? Suck up the standard variable for a few months until this spell looks like it has settled down (what I'm probably going to do)? I only have a 2 bedroom new build flat which doesn't cost a bomb to heat so we can be fairly frugal.

Surely now is far from the best time to shop around and to commit to something?

Then try to get something fixed when (if) the current volatility is over?

21-09-2021, 04:40 PM

I'm just about to come off a fixed rate for gas and electricity combined, which I realise is going to be painful. I can't remember who it was I had it from - green something, somebody small - but the supplier was taken over by EDF at some point over the past year, and I am soon to go on to their standard tariff.

When I try to transfer, because of the current price high it's hard to make out whether there are just no offers out there, or what is going on.

What am I best to do? Suck up the standard variable for a few months until this spell looks like it has settled down (what I'm probably going to do)? I only have a 2 bedroom new build flat which doesn't cost a bomb to heat so we can be fairly frugal.

Martin Lewis was on the radio today saying that comparison websites have filters that only show quotes from suppliers that will generate money for the site, but will have a function that allows you to see all the quotes available. Try and see if you can do a comparison and find a button somewhere?

21-09-2021, 04:42 PM
That would only happen if we are updating our nuclear weapons. Those plants are built to enrich uranium into weapons grade material, electricity is a happy but sporadic by-product.

Not sure that's entirely accurate and certainly not of some of the latest nuclear technologies under development - like Thorium mentioned above.

When we're over dependent on gas for both our gas supply and electricity generation (and generally gas tends to come from regions which are either inherently unstable or hostile to UK interests), at risk of the wind not blowing sufficiently and under the hammer on climate chaos then nuclear looks worth more than a little consideration.

patch1875
21-09-2021, 04:43 PM
There’s pretty much no offers at all just now.

I’m with Bulb who look the most likely of the big guns to go pop.

Will just have to see who we get passed off to if it happens.

21-09-2021, 04:44 PM

These Thorium reactors produce low level radioactive material that is no use for weapons.

21-09-2021, 04:46 PM

I think you have to wait for the current shake out of energy companies to stabilise. With a number of them likely to go bust the others will not be offering sweet deals just now because there's a fair chance they will pick up desperate switchers at a high premium. And companies being companies - whether telecomms or energy :wink: - they will try to rip it out of the consumer.

21-09-2021, 04:49 PM
Not sure that's entirely accurate and certainly not of some of the latest nuclear technologies under development - like Thorium mentioned above.

When we're over dependent on gas for both our gas supply and electricity generation (and generally gas tends to come from regions which are either inherently unstable or hostile to UK interests), at risk of the wind not blowing sufficiently and under the hammer on climate chaos then nuclear looks worth more than a little consideration.

My only problem with Nuclear is cost. It’s the safest and cleanest way to generate electricity and it should def be part of the mix in Scotland. Politically it is not going to happen though.

LunasBoots
21-09-2021, 04:53 PM

Already happening has been for months, media etc havnt been reporting the empty shelves for months that have been regualey seen, the joys of Brex****.

LunasBoots
21-09-2021, 04:55 PM

Energy deals as part of the EU now gone and this is where we are, energy poverty and third world Britain on the way again.

21-09-2021, 05:04 PM
This story is not a story elsewhere in Europe. Nothing in Le Monde about it, even in the economic bit. I thought it was a issue that was affecting all of Europe?

21-09-2021, 05:07 PM
My only problem with Nuclear is cost. It’s the safest and cleanest way to generate electricity and it should def be part of the mix in Scotland. Politically it is not going to happen though.

I agree and disagree.

It's not clean - it still produces radioactive waste, although it's (arguably) cleaner than burning hydrocarbons and all that comes with that.

I accept that it might still be a necessary evil as we move towards all our energy being renewable though. As far as I'm aware it does generate an awful lot of energy when compared to other methods (disclaimer here is that my reference is doing experiments at Standard Grade physics - roughly 1991 - 1993, so maybe a wee bit out of date).

It's one of those things that is politically unpalatable but possibly a reasonable idea.

21-09-2021, 05:12 PM
I agree and disagree.

It's not clean - it still produces radioactive waste, although it's (arguably) cleaner than burning hydrocarbons and all that comes with that.

I accept that it might still be a necessary evil as we move towards all our energy being renewable though. As far as I'm aware it does generate an awful lot of energy when compared to other methods (disclaimer here is that my reference is doing experiments at Standard Grade physics - roughly 1991 - 1993, so maybe a wee bit out of date).

It's one of those things that is politically unpalatable but possibly a reasonable idea.

Times have changed and we need carbon free energy. Nuclear is incredibly safe and we have the capability in Scotland. All that is really missing is someone to start making the case for it in Scotland again. I think a lot of environmentalists will be a lot more accepting of it these days so long as there are plans in place to minimise and store waste.

Santa Cruz
21-09-2021, 05:32 PM
This story is not a story elsewhere in Europe. Nothing in Le Monde about it, even in the economic bit. I thought it was a issue that was affecting all of Europe?

https://www.theguardian.com/business/2021/sep/21/energy-crisis-eu-ministers-debate-reliance-gas-russia

21-09-2021, 05:33 PM
Worth listening to the whole interview and not just the highly selective and somewhat misleading edit posted...

I listened to the interview in which Laura didn't lay a glove on Stephen Flynn. 7 minutes into the interview and she has to bring up the SNP being in power for 14 years, knowing full well the situation on Energy.

21-09-2021, 05:38 PM
These Thorium reactors produce low level radioactive material that is no use for weapons.

Interesting did not know that. Still they are non-existent in this country.

For the current crisis? Not really, for the future those Thorium ones might be useful but the technology that exists in the UK at the moment produces stuff that is in no way worth it, we don't know what we are doing dabbling with it. Bomb making factories with some electricity, if and when they are working.

21-09-2021, 05:49 PM

For the current crisis? Not really, for the future those Thorium ones might be useful but the technology that exists in the UK at the moment produces stuff that is in no way worth it, we don't know what we are doing dabbling with it. Bomb making factories with some electricity, if and when they are working.

If the rest of the world doesn't catch up it will be another step towards Chinese dominance.

21-09-2021, 05:55 PM

Is it really worth it?

21-09-2021, 06:06 PM
Is it really worth it?

Only if you have an open mind and aren't automatically just looking for the SNP/Westminster baaad sheeple lines. We had an energy and climate crisis before the current particularly acute crisis and nobody's hands are clean on that as the sainted Greta recently made clear.

21-09-2021, 06:08 PM

That's obvious, you don't build nuclear reactors overnight. If we want stability of supply long term though then new generation nuclear power should be part of the mix.

21-09-2021, 06:10 PM
https://www.theguardian.com/business/2021/sep/21/energy-crisis-eu-ministers-debate-reliance-gas-russia

Long overdue. Russia isn't exactly a benevolent player here but we've nobody to blame but ourselves, it's not like we didn't have alternatives.

21-09-2021, 06:11 PM
Times have changed and we need carbon free energy. Nuclear is incredibly safe and we have the capability in Scotland. All that is really missing is someone to start making the case for it in Scotland again. I think a lot of environmentalists will be a lot more accepting of it these days so long as there are plans in place to minimise and store waste.

You're right of course but our politics means there's not a cat's chance in hell of this being argued for let alone actually happening.

21-09-2021, 07:02 PM
So I read up a wee bit on the Thorium reactors, ten years away from the experimental versions being up and running, commercially untried, politically sidelined as they don't produce weapons grade materials and expensive to build and run.

Can't see it happening in this country.

Nuclear is far from being carbon free (mining and transportation) and far from safe unless we can guarantee all the measures required are in place more or less in perpetuity.

I'd rather chuck money at pushing the boffins to make renewables more and more efficient.

21-09-2021, 07:49 PM

Thank you, that’s very interesting:aok: I hadn’t been following what European economies were up to.

21-09-2021, 07:58 PM
So I read up a wee bit on the Thorium reactors, ten years away from the experimental versions being up and running, commercially untried, politically sidelined as they don't produce weapons grade materials and expensive to build and run.

Can't see it happening in this country.

Nuclear is far from being carbon free (mining and transportation) and far from safe unless we can guarantee all the measures required are in place more or less in perpetuity.

I'd rather chuck money at pushing the boffins to make renewables more and more efficient.
https://www.nature.com/articles/d41586-021-02459-w

Happening now and has been considered by many to be the holy grail since I heard about the possibility at school. Research started in US late 60's.

21-09-2021, 08:01 PM
Martin Lewis was on the radio today saying that comparison websites have filters that only show quotes from suppliers that will generate money for the site, but will have a function that allows you to see all the quotes available.

https://twitter.com/i/status/1440278885606694924

21-09-2021, 08:57 PM
This thread fills me with dread. We were told decades ago that something like this could happen if we didn't switch away from fossils but as always doing what was right for the long term was never going to be the choice against the usual short term political considerations. Fingers in ears, la la la. And here we are.

22-09-2021, 08:02 AM
CO2 crisis over (for 3 weeks) as bucket loads of taxpayer money is shovelled into the pockets of rich businessmen to restart production.

https://www.thesun.co.uk/news/16204909/britain-pay-millions-restart-co2-production-food-shortages/amp/?__twitter_impression=true

There is a message in this for the SG who are thinking of introducing rent controls as well. The govt only introduced price controls on energy two years ago and we are now facing the first energy shortage in 40 years. The SG would do very well to make sure they know the full implications of trying to rig the market for housing instead of doing the far more sensible thing of supplying more of it.

G15 Hibs
22-09-2021, 08:03 AM
From a purely Hibs point of view, I wonder how this will affect the sponsorship deal with Utilita. They way things are with suppliers dropping like flies I'm guessing there's a chance they could go under. Even if they don't I'd imagine they'd have to weigh up the benefits of sponsorship/advertising against the cost.

22-09-2021, 08:08 AM
CO2 crisis over (for 3 weeks) as bucket loads of taxpayer money is shovelled into the pockets of rich businessmen to restart production.

https://www.thesun.co.uk/news/16204909/britain-pay-millions-restart-co2-production-food-shortages/amp/?__twitter_impression=true

There is a message in this for the SG who are thinking of introducing rent controls as well. The govt only introduced price controls on energy two years ago and we are now facing the first energy shortage in 40 years. The SG would do very well to make sure they know the full implications of trying to rig the market for housing instead of doing the far more sensible thing of supplying more of it.

On the news this morning about Ineos at Grangemouth capturing CO2 and pumping it all the way back up to the Fergus field in the North Sea for underground storage.

Why is it not being made available to all the industries that need it.?

22-09-2021, 08:12 AM
On the news this morning about Ineos at Grangemouth capturing CO2 and pumping it all the way back up to the Fergus field in the North Sea for underground storage.

Why is it not being made available to all the industries that need it.?

I’m pretty sure I heard on radio yesterday that this CO2 is not clean enough for use in food industry and it is not economical to clean it up. It was all beyond my scientific understanding but that was the jist of it.

22-09-2021, 08:21 AM
I’m pretty sure I heard on radio yesterday that this CO2 is not clean enough for use in food industry and it is not economical to clean it up. It was all beyond my scientific understanding but that was the jist of it.

More than the food industry needs CO2.

https://www.britannica.com/science/carbon-dioxide

Use the dirty CO2 in other industries to free up the clean gas for where it is needed.

22-09-2021, 08:43 AM
This thread fills me with dread. We were told decades ago that something like this could happen if we didn't switch away from fossils but as always doing what was right for the long term was never going to be the choice against the usual short term political considerations. Fingers in ears, la la la. And here we are.

Exactly.

22-09-2021, 09:26 AM
https://twitter.com/i/status/1440278885606694924

Braw, I’m not on Twitter so couldn’t see that.

22-09-2021, 06:31 PM
You did not need to be Einstein to see what would be the outcome of Brexit. There was no proper planning for leaving. Boris said to Laura Kuensberg only yesterday on the energy crisis not to worry the market will sort it out, as usual he could not give a sh#t he seems to live in a parallel universe.

22-09-2021, 06:42 PM
he seems to live in a parallel universe.

Not to me. He lives very much in this country, one which is happy to be ruled by entitled idiots and a lot of the population seem proud of it.

It's been the reality for decades. They just need to wave a flag, sing a patriotic song and invoke the Queen's name and the peasants will put up with it. Mark E Smith of The Fall called it a "hex" the ruling classes had put on the lower orders. Paul Weller said "What chance have you got against a tie and a crest?" Point it out and your being anti-British.

They could steal the sugar out yer tea and there would be a queue of working class idiots ready to defend them for it.

Sent from my SM-A405FN using Tapatalk

22-09-2021, 06:42 PM
but but boris said

22-09-2021, 06:51 PM
Still completely bare shelves in the sparkling water aisle. #first world problems

I cant remember whose fault this is anymore in this dystopian universe; Covid? Brexit? gas supply? environmental protestors? Corbyn sold all the evian to Syrian asylum seekers?

22-09-2021, 07:12 PM
Still completely bare shelves in the sparkling water aisle. #first world problems

I cant remember whose fault this is anymore in this dystopian universe; Covid? Brexit? gas supply? environmental protestors? Corbyn sold all the evian to Syrian asylum seekers?

File under Tory ****.

22-09-2021, 09:38 PM
Looks like Bulb might be the next ones to go, which is who we’re with. Would it make any sense at all to try and find a big six company with a fixed tariff - if they are even offering such a thing - in case we get shunted on and out on to a higher tariff?

22-09-2021, 10:00 PM
I’ve been with the same company for years so I don’t know how this will affect me. I wonder how all these so called experts that have been telling everyone to shop around for the best deal that in reality saved people a negligible amount per month feel now. There’s a fair amount of smugness and oneupmanship surrounding a lot of these comparison websites and the deals they offer, but a situation like we are facing now maybe shows that these experts and websites don’t really have our best interests at heart.

22-09-2021, 10:05 PM
Looks like Bulb might be the next ones to go, which is who we’re with. Would it make any sense at all to try and find a big six company with a fixed tariff - if they are even offering such a thing - in case we get shunted on and out on to a higher tariff?

I don’t think there are any fixed deals on the market now.
I’m with Bulb as well and will be gutted if they go because I’ve always found their customer service excellent.

Santa Cruz
22-09-2021, 10:08 PM

The fixed tariff has increased with my provider, a good bit more than what I'm currently paying with the variable tariff, I realise that will also increase. If you have any credit on your account with your current provider, I'd personally stay put to avoid any potential problems when switching.

This link gives the most up to date position I can find with which energy suppliers are/could go bust.

https://www.energy-review.co.uk/guides/which-energy-suppliers-are-going-bust/

23-09-2021, 06:29 AM
The fixed tariff has increased with my provider, a good bit more than what I'm currently paying with the variable tariff, I realise that will also increase. If you have any credit on your account with your current provider, I'd personally stay put to avoid any potential problems when switching.

This link gives the most up to date position I can find with which energy suppliers are/could go bust.

https://www.energy-review.co.uk/guides/which-energy-suppliers-are-going-bust/Yeah I've noticed the same on octopus

Fixing is way more expensive

Sent from my VOG-L29 using Tapatalk

23-09-2021, 08:15 AM

Believe it or not but Bulb is one of the top 6!!

23-09-2021, 08:17 AM

https://www.energy-review.co.uk/guides/which-energy-suppliers-are-going-bust/

Thanks for that, and everyone else for the replies 👍🏻👍🏻

Skol
23-09-2021, 08:20 AM
I have a fixed deal that ends 31/10 with one of the bigger firms. I think that I had secured a pretty god deal and even with a reduced payment I have built up some credit.

A few weeks ago when talk of this crisis was circulating I looked at a new fix with current supplier, but it was too early and they wouldnt quote me. Last week they did quote me and I was looking at £23pm increase for 1 year fix and £28pm for a 2 year fix. The standard variable rate looked best option and also I didnt want to commit to anything starting before 31/10 when my current good deal ends.

I checked again this morning and only a 2 year fix which is now £67pm extra and even the variable rate has increased and is now above either of the fixes I could have taken last week at £38pm extra

I am regretting not fixing last week now but think I just need to sit tight

I have also been wondering about this whole situation and if/how it would have been different under independence. It feels like there have been some poor policy decisions in the past by the UK government. Brexit has also increased the issues as have the global supply problems and also unfortunate events like the fire.

If we had been independent or do become so in the future, we presumably would have different policy decisions. Ofgem though would not exist and we would need our own equivalent and also suppliers presumably would have different offers in each nation

Does anyone have any insight into how this may unfold if we were independent ?

Santa Cruz
23-09-2021, 09:00 AM
Believe it or not but Bulb is one of the top 6!!

It's not listed in either of these sources.

https://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Big_Six_energy_suppliers

https://www.uswitch.com/gas-electricity/guides/big-six-energy-suppliers-guide/

23-09-2021, 09:15 AM
I have a fixed deal that ends 31/10 with one of the bigger firms. I think that I had secured a pretty god deal and even with a reduced payment I have built up some credit.

A few weeks ago when talk of this crisis was circulating I looked at a new fix with current supplier, but it was too early and they wouldnt quote me. Last week they did quote me and I was looking at £23pm increase for 1 year fix and £28pm for a 2 year fix. The standard variable rate looked best option and also I didnt want to commit to anything starting before 31/10 when my current good deal ends.

I checked again this morning and only a 2 year fix which is now £67pm extra and even the variable rate has increased and is now above either of the fixes I could have taken last week at £38pm extra

I have also been wondering about this whole situation and if/how it would have been different under independence. It feels like there have been some poor policy decisions in the past by the UK government. Brexit has also increased the issues as have the global supply problems and also unfortunate events like the fire.

If we had been independent or do become so in the future, we presumably would have different policy decisions. Ofgem though would not exist and we would need our own equivalent and also suppliers presumably would have different offers in each nation

Nobody could say if we would make a better job of it or a worse job of it. It would depend on the decisions we take here in Scotland after independence.
Maybe we could do what the Danes do?

https://www.lexology.com/library/detail.aspx?g=24bd641f-b6f7-4101-b23e-4f22b14a17e9

Or maybe we will just do exactly what rUK does? It’s really up to us.
What we can say is that we will have a system that we vote for ourselves.

Keyser Sauzee
23-09-2021, 09:34 AM
I’m with SSE and have been for years, anybody any idea if they are a big energy supplier or if they could be vulnerable?

23-09-2021, 09:49 AM
I’m with SSE and have been for years, anybody any idea if they are a big energy supplier or if they could be vulnerable?

I think they are all vulnerable just now and it will depend on their cash reserves and how many of their customers are on good deals that they can’t honour. The only thing making the big companies a bit safer is most of their customers have been paying over the odds for years.

23-09-2021, 09:51 AM
Nobody could say if we would make a better job of it or a worse job of it. It would depend on the decisions we take here in Scotland after independence.
Maybe we could do what the Danes do?

https://www.lexology.com/library/detail.aspx?g=24bd641f-b6f7-4101-b23e-4f22b14a17e9

Or maybe we will just do exactly what rUK does? It’s really up to us.
What we can say is that we will have a system that we vote for ourselves.

If it means we get rid of decision making by the ******* Tory **** then we’re quids in. Allowing storage to be shut down for the benefit of shareholders should be absolutely criminal.

For a government minister to say that some households will face a choice of heating or eating and not following that with how they will help - whilst cutting £20 a week from hundreds of thousands income is just plain evil.

23-09-2021, 10:32 AM

Yes. Initially for a period of years we would be in exactly the same boat. Eventually it might be different. That's as much certainty as there is.

G15 Hibs
23-09-2021, 10:33 AM

SSE have been owned by Ovo Energy for a couple of years. Given the number of customers they have I'd be surprised if they went, but Ovo only bought the retail side so they don't have the generation business to fall back on anymore should they get into bother.

G15 Hibs
23-09-2021, 10:37 AM

Those are both a bit out of date now. The historical Big Six doesn't exist anymore - both these sources mention npower, which was bought over by E.On a couple of years ago. SSE were bought over by Ovo, although they still use the SSE branding.

Santa Cruz
23-09-2021, 10:52 AM
Those are both a bit out of date now. The historical Big Six doesn't exist anymore - both these sources mention npower, which was bought over by E.On a couple of years ago. SSE were bought over by Ovo, although they still use the SSE branding.

In the wiki page there is a column headed "parent" next to the 2 top 6 you mention, the parent is the companies that bought them. (that's how I understood it anyway :greengrin) I'll take your word there is no longer a top 6, I know very little about it.

23-09-2021, 11:55 AM

https://www.independent.co.uk/news/business/uk-bulb-funding-gas-price-b1923195.html?amp

My article is this week, your links are last decade 😂

23-09-2021, 12:22 PM
In the wiki page there is a column headed "parent" next to the 2 top 6 you mention, the parent is the companies that bought them. (that's how I understood it anyway :greengrin) I'll take your word there is no longer a top 6, I know very little about it.

The 'big 6' is now the 'big 5' (NPower is now part of EOn).

Bulb is 6th biggest in the market, so the biggest outside what is now the big 5.

...so Bulb is in the top 6, but not the 'big 5/6' :greengrin

Santa Cruz
23-09-2021, 12:30 PM
The 'big 6' is now the 'big 5' (NPower is now part of EOn).

Bulb is 6th biggest in the market, so the biggest outside what is now the big 5.

...so Bulb is in the top 6, but not the 'big 5/6' :greengrin

skyehibee
13-10-2021, 05:36 PM
That’s my supplier Pure Planet gone bust now too. Can’t wait to get shafted on the highest rate going when ofgem move me…

Keyser Sauzee
22-01-2022, 01:25 PM
Just seen Ovo group which my supplier SSE is part of are now in crisis, when does this end? I’m not going to do anything just now and wait to see what comes in the next few weeks as it seems no supplier is safe just now so what’s the point in moving yet.

Paul1642
22-01-2022, 03:19 PM
Just seen Ovo group which my supplier SSE is part of are now in crisis, when does this end? I’m not going to do anything just now and wait to see what comes in the next few weeks as it seems no supplier is safe just now so what’s the point in moving yet.

Even if you move no supplier Is offering much other than the variable tarrifs right now.

22-01-2022, 10:41 PM
My direct debit is £148 a month, the direct debit manager is saying I need to up it to £255 a month! WTF?!?

An extra £107 a month just to break even.

Mental!

hibeg
22-01-2022, 11:03 PM

I’m also with Ovo and knew about the job cuts. I don’t think they would go under as they are one of the top 5 suppliers in the UK
Certainly hope not as I got a decent 2 year fixed price deal back in October. :rolleyes:

22-01-2022, 11:24 PM
My direct debit is £148 a month, the direct debit manager is saying I need to up it to £255 a month! WTF?!?

Mental!

We’ve had 2 increases to our DD in the last 4 months and will probably get another one soon. This is absolutely mental and is a long way from ending. Some families are going to have massive decisions to make soon regarding food and power.

23-01-2022, 01:13 AM
That’s my supplier Pure Planet gone bust now too. Can’t wait to get shafted on the highest rate going when ofgem move me…

My supplier PFP Energy went bust in September last year. Since moving to British Gas my monthly bills have gone up ~50%, and that's on their variable price cap tariff.

By all accounts the price cap will be increased in April and there will be a further 50% increase on my bill. To add to that I was ~£500 in credit with my bust supplier which still hasn't been paid to me by British Gas 4 months on. Been going nuts at British Gas and OFGEM to try and get my credits back but apparently British Gas have a queue of 85000 customers to get through.

The energy market in the UK is a total shambles and loads of vulnerable folk aint going to be able to pay. Energy needs nationalised pronto.

23-01-2022, 01:47 AM

Mental!

My deal is up on the 31st of March and I want tied in again before April, currently on a fixed deal and pay £50 a month, they are offering me deals of £113 a month, the KW per hour is going from 17p to around 34 and the daily standing charge is around the same, It's a 126% increase, I've tried to go on the usual comparison sites but they are either not on the go just now due to the spiraling costs or say there are now deals available, this is mental, luckily I'm in the position that I will be ok but feel so so sorry for people this is about to royally **** over

23-01-2022, 04:44 AM
I’m going to admit that I’ve been pretty clueless about this whole thing. I watched the news and read on here that the prices were likely to rise significantly. A few months ago I switched to a fixed rate deal, but I’m still not sure if I’m immune to the price rises.

23-01-2022, 05:17 AM
I renewed with Scottish Power before all this kicked off.

They had reduced my DD by around 20.00. A few months (November) later they put it up by 17.00.

I did meter reading a few days back and was 97.00 in credit and the day after they took another payment so I will be close to 200.00 in credit as of now.

Given 3 month period covered Nov, Dec and Jan and it's usually the worst months, I can't see why they put the payment up.

hibeg
23-01-2022, 08:49 AM
I’m going to admit that I’ve been pretty clueless about this whole thing. I watched the news and read on here that the prices were likely to rise significantly. A few months ago I switched to a fixed rate deal, but I’m still not sure if I’m immune to the price rises.

If you are on a fixed rate then your monthly payment will not increase LB.
Hopefully by the time your 1/2 year deal ends, prices will have stabilised

23-01-2022, 10:15 AM
My fixed tariff ended in November, I've been in credit of over £400 dual tariff (whilst still paying £160 a month) but that credit is evaporating rapidly

Really nervous about the coming months and bills doubling as things can be tight financially at best of times with mortgage, 2 kids and another on the way

Does anyone have any thoughts on when things might calm down?

23-01-2022, 10:35 AM
My fixed tariff ended in November, I've been in credit of over £400 dual tariff (whilst still paying £160 a month) but that credit is evaporating rapidly

Really nervous about the coming months and bills doubling as things can be tight financially at best of times with mortgage, 2 kids and another on the way

Does anyone have any thoughts on when things might calm down?

It'll get worse in April and likely worse again in October before it gets better. At which point some people could be paying 3 times what they were a year ago.

Andy Bee
23-01-2022, 12:26 PM
I used to pay £80 a month for duel fuel with Bulb and was in credit, that increased to £104 a few months ago and was borderline, it then increased again to £134 which I'm on at the moment but my latest monthly usage has came in at £182 from smart meter readings so I'm expecting another hike. My petrol has risen from £65 to fill the tank to £90 a week. I really don't get how people on low/medium incomes are going to cope with this coupled with impending tax rises, the April enrgy rises and increasing food prices.

Keyser Sauzee
23-01-2022, 02:46 PM
I phoned up SSE yesterday and found out that I’m currently £275 in credit for my electricity and £350 in credit for my gas, I’m not using any credit just now as it’s manageable and I’d like to keep that for when this get worse in the year. However, if SSE do go pop am I likely to lose out on that credit?

patch1875
23-01-2022, 02:51 PM
I phoned up SSE yesterday and found out that I’m currently £275 in credit for my electricity and £350 in credit for my gas, I’m not using any credit just now as it’s manageable and I’d like to keep that for when this get worse in the year. However, if SSE do go pop am I likely to lose out on that credit?

No all credit balances are safe

Skol
23-01-2022, 05:36 PM
I had £300 credit when my deal ended on 31/10 and I went to the variable rate. I expected much of that to be gone but was surprised to find in the almost three months since then I have only use£ £50 of the credit.

24-01-2022, 07:02 AM
I wonder if anyone can help on this.

Apparently, Scotland generates 97% of its electricity needs from renewables (mostly wind power). I’m guessing when you add nuclear, the non-carbon electricity supply is in surplus. Good stuff.

But what about gas? The UK imports 50% of its gas but how much gas does Scotland use and how much does it bring in from the North Sea?

On current projections (given the trend to de-carbonise). How long before Scotland could meet its own requirements for electricity and gas?

24-01-2022, 07:44 AM
Our monthly payments were increased by 80% this month and then they had the cheek to tell me my meter readings were wrong.

Sergio sledge
24-01-2022, 03:38 PM
I had £300 credit when my deal ended on 31/10 and I went to the variable rate. I expected much of that to be gone but was surprised to find in the almost three months since then I have only use£ £50 of the credit.

We were in a similar position to you at the end of October when our fixed rate ended, £200 credit and I think most of it is gone now, however that could just be because the winter months are higher usage than summer and the direct debit evens it out over the year.

By the looks of current prices our rate will have more than doubled since going onto the standard variable rate and all they'll offer me is a 3 year fixed rate at 33p/kWh, which is mental. Not sure I can face signing up to that sort of price for 3 years.

hibeg
24-01-2022, 04:49 PM
We were in a similar position to you at the end of October when our fixed rate ended, £200 credit and I think most of it is gone now, however that could just be because the winter months are higher usage than summer and the direct debit evens it out over the year.

By the looks of current prices our rate will have more than doubled since going onto the standard variable rate and all they'll offer me is a 3 year fixed rate at 33p/kWh, which is mental. Not sure I can face signing up to that sort of price for 3 years.

33p per KWh ??? Jeez that is unreal, especially for a 3 year fix.
That price is not sustainable long term, although I appreciate it will probably go higher in April. Who knows for how long though !

24-01-2022, 06:02 PM
That price is not sustainable long term, although I appreciate it will probably go higher in April. Who knows for how long though !

How much is 33p per kWh for an average 2 bedroom house roughly?

Sergio sledge
24-01-2022, 06:12 PM
That price is not sustainable long term, although I appreciate it will probably go higher in April. Who knows for how long though !47p per day standing charge as well.

It surely can't stay above that level, so I'm not going to sign up for it. It would be typical that it stays above that for the next 3 years and I'll regret not signing up... https://uploads.tapatalk-cdn.com/20220124/5a53ee18e0e776e3fd54c80a17acf283.jpg

Skol
24-01-2022, 07:06 PM

Got an email today though saying my energy bills are £56 more than I pay at current rates and so they want to up my payment by that amount which seems fair enough but doesn’t equate to me only using £50 of credit in the last three months

I was minded to query it but kind of thinking I might as well let it go as my payments will rise at some stage and better to let it go up now

hibeg
24-01-2022, 07:24 PM
How much is 33p per kWh for an average 2 bedroom house roughly?

All depends on how much electricity you use
Average price about 4 months ago was around 20p per kWh I would reckon

24-01-2022, 07:25 PM
My partner and I have just bought our own place and move in May.

This whole stuff about soaring energy prices has me really anxious. Can anyone provide some guidance on how much we can expect to be paying per month for gas and electricity in a two bedroom new build flat?

I realise there's a lot of variables and it's not possible to be definite but some ballpark figures would be appreciated so we can prepare!

hibeg
24-01-2022, 07:38 PM
47p per day standing charge as well.

It surely can't stay above that level, so I'm not going to sign up for it. It would be typical that it stays above that for the next 3 years and I'll regret not signing up... https://uploads.tapatalk-cdn.com/20220124/5a53ee18e0e776e3fd54c80a17acf283.jpg

I’ve just checked for comparison as I’m also with ovo
In October the quote was 18.5p with s/c 22.3p for 2 year fix !!!!
The increase in price is horrendous

24-01-2022, 09:26 PM
My current variable tariff

Gas

3.78p per kWh
23.85p standing charge

Elec
25p standing charge
14p kwh peak
5p kwh 00.30 to 4.30am

Current annual estimation £440

To fix for 12 months

Gas
8.34p per kwh
26.1p standing charge

Elec
24.95p standing charge
37p kmw peak
25p night kwh

Annual estimation - £2314

[emoji44][emoji44][emoji44]

24-01-2022, 09:51 PM
My current variable tariff

Gas

3.78p per kWh
23.85p standing charge

Elec
25p standing charge
14p kwh peak
5p kwh 00.30 to 4.30am

Current annual estimation £440

To fix for 12 months

Gas
8.34p per kwh
26.1p standing charge

Elec
24.95p standing charge
37p kmw peak
25p night kwh

Annual estimation - £2314

[emoji44][emoji44][emoji44]

That can’t be right, can it?
It’s shocking how little discussion there is out there if this is actually the representative increase.
Boris having 9 lockdown parties instead of the previously reported 8 isn’t as relevant to me anymore.

24-01-2022, 10:02 PM
It’s shocking how little discussion there is out there if this is actually the representative increase.
Boris having 9 lockdown parties instead of the previously reported 8 isn’t as relevant to me anymore.The 400 quid seems too low... Should be up around 700 hundred I reckon

I got an email from them today saying the average user will see there bill rise about 60quid per month

That's still 720quid per annum

https://uploads.tapatalk-cdn.com/20220124/b987536c5b938267d1b75b744d7d9026.jpghttps://uploads.tapatalk-cdn.com/20220124/20077a6a1df7e2ba7aa73fbf040c1eec.jpg

24-01-2022, 10:08 PM
Looks my dual fuel contract is up in April this year. Suspect I’m going to get seriously bent over when renewing.

24-01-2022, 10:10 PM
The 400 quid seems too low... Should be up around 700 hundred I reckon

I got an email from them today saying the average user will see there bill rise about 60quid per month

That's still 720quid per annum

https://uploads.tapatalk-cdn.com/20220124/b987536c5b938267d1b75b744d7d9026.jpghttps://uploads.tapatalk-cdn.com/20220124/20077a6a1df7e2ba7aa73fbf040c1eec.jpg

OK. Still pretty bad viewing.

24-01-2022, 10:17 PM
I’ve turned the thermostat down and invested in jumpers

I might be glad to get back to the office

25-01-2022, 01:30 AM
My partner and I have just bought our own place and move in May.

This whole stuff about soaring energy prices has me really anxious. Can anyone provide some guidance on how much we can expect to be paying per month for gas and electricity in a two bedroom new build flat?

I realise there's a lot of variables and it's not possible to be definite but some ballpark figures would be appreciated so we can prepare!

There is only 2 of us living in a new build house and we currently pay £96.00 a month for both.

I have always stuck to Scottish Power in every house as seem the cheapest.

I work from home and the wife is back in the office so I'm home most days using both.

25-01-2022, 07:05 AM
There is only 2 of us living in a new build house and we currently pay £96.00 a month for both.

I work from home and the wife is back in the office so I'm home most days using both.

Thanks that's really helpful, I take it you're expecting that to go up quite drastically over the coming months?

25-01-2022, 07:20 AM
Thanks that's really helpful, I take it you're expecting that to go up quite drastically over the coming months?

I don't think so as I did a meter reading other day and I'm up to date and almost 200 quid in credit as of today.

I'm on a variable rate too not a fixed. They have already put it up in November time and I'm still way ahead.

Not sure who you are planning on going with but as I say Scottish Power bills always seem fair when I see what others are paying.

25-01-2022, 07:51 AM
I don't think so as I did a meter reading other day and I'm up to date and almost 200 quid in credit as of today.

I'm on a variable rate too not a fixed. They have already put it up in November time and I'm still way ahead.

Not sure who you are planning on going with but as I say Scottish Power bills always seem fair when I see what others are paying.

Thanks again, honestly no idea to be honest but whoever is the cheapest!

I've found some of the news on this over recent weeks really worrying with regards to what we might be facing. I've been hearing about bills up to £2k per year which concerns me.

25-01-2022, 08:09 AM
My provider (PurePlanet) went bust in October - the new provider (Shell) took over and told me to just not do anything with regards to the direct debit.

The same monthly direct debit went to PP until December (despite the bankruptcy meaning a switch from a fixed to variable tariff) and I've just noticed hasn't processed in January.

I suspect at some point soon I'm going to get hit quite hard with a bill for all my winter use that I've underpaid/not paid since October.

Sounds like the situation is still the same in that there's nothing to be gained in searching the market for a good fixed rate and just need to wait it out and hope things stabilise.

25-01-2022, 08:16 AM
Thanks again, honestly no idea to be honest but whoever is the cheapest!

I've found some of the news on this over recent weeks really worrying with regards to what we might be facing. I've been hearing about bills up to £2k per year which concerns me.

You'll be fine mate. The problem with the people who post the 2k bills etc it doesn't show if they had previous arrears, size of property, over usage etc.

My last house was 3 bedroom property and this is 4 and that was only slightly cheaper.

25-01-2022, 09:15 AM
You'll be fine mate. The problem with the people who post the 2k bills etc it doesn't show if they had previous arrears, size of property, over usage etc.

My last house was 3 bedroom property and this is 4 and that was only slightly cheaper.

Thanks again, much appreciated. That's helped calm my nerves a bit!

Sergio sledge
25-01-2022, 09:21 AM
I have to admit I didn't know much about the domestic energy cap until all this started kicking off.

We're on a variable rate just now and so our energy is covered by the cap meaning that, at the minute, it can't go above around 21p/kWh for electricity. Our last bill we were charged 19.92p/kWh, so it could go up again slightly. The cap is reviewed in April so it could be raised which would mean our energy could cost a lot more at that point.

As I understand it, fixed rate deals are not covered by the energy cap, so that's why fixed rate deals are coming out so much higher than the variable rate at the minute.

I'm going to stick it out on the variable rate and see what happens, starting to plan for our DD to double in April though just in case. Might have to convince my wife to start wearing thicker socks around the house....

25-01-2022, 09:21 AM
Boris having 9 lockdown parties instead of the previously reported 8 isn’t as relevant to me anymore.

Martin Lewis has been doing his nut about it for months. Johnson's slow motion implosion is masking all this stuff.

Inflation, NI increases and energy rises (big Council Tax rises will be next) all need to be addressed urgently and they aren't getting to it. We need to quickly get to a position where he's either out or safe in post so that focus returns to what matters.

Paul1642
27-01-2022, 05:39 PM
This should be front page stuff. Instead I hardly knew they price cap changes were about to hit me so hard until I read it here.

Government intervention is 100% needed.

27-01-2022, 08:15 PM
This might be helpful to some (I know it's The Sun)!

https://www.thesun.co.uk/money/17448849/martin-lewis-explains-energy-bills-price-cap-increase/

27-01-2022, 08:53 PM

I'd be asking for a wage rise.
Can employees claim for home office tax relief the same as self-employed?

Paul1642
27-01-2022, 09:08 PM

Think the company’s response to the wage rise would be that you save money on the commute. I reckon my monthly commute costs me about £85 in fuel. No way would I spend that extra on utilities by working from home. Obviously this could vary massively depending on how the employee gets to work.

As for tax relief, no idea. Probably.

28-01-2022, 07:02 AM
https://twitter.com/_richardblack/status/1486721893277134849?t=hqv9_44A9GaMg5vlTTDc-A&s=19

28-01-2022, 09:00 AM
https://twitter.com/_richardblack/status/1486721893277134849?t=hqv9_44A9GaMg5vlTTDc-A&s=19

So...we could and should be self sufficient (or at least way more reliant) on our own reserves of gas - and I imagine most of it would be taken out of scottish ground than english - but private companies are instead drilling it and exporting it to the highest bidder.

Someone remind me of the reasons privitisation was a good thing again?

28-01-2022, 09:08 AM

Yes: https://www.gov.uk/tax-relief-for-employees/working-at-home

If you take the standard relief on £6 per week (i.e. £1.20 per week if you're in the 20% tax band) then you don't have to prove your expenses, you just fill in a quick online form saying that you work from home and you want to claim it.

You can claim relief on a higher amount if you can demonstrate the extra cost with bills etc, but then I assume there will be more significant paperwork in addition to digging out the bills. May be worthwhile if it's costing you significantly more.

That said, I saw a headline yesterday that the treasury wants to kill off this tax relief (not sure if it meant all of it or just the 'easy' £6 per week) as it's costing them too much…

28-01-2022, 10:31 AM

Yes I get tax relief, think its 6 quid a week so comes in handy.

I want to be at home to be fair so I wouldn't rock the boat. Less time travelling to office so instead I exercise during them times.

Works out well for me.

28-01-2022, 11:13 AM
On a separate note, is anyone who was with SSE and now transferred over to an actual OVO account constantly getting pinged by SSE about final bills every day? You can’t see them on the SSE app and although there is a bill on the OVO app, you’ve no idea whether they actually tally up to the ones the emails from SSE are referring to.

Andy Bee
28-01-2022, 11:16 AM
I used to pay £80 a month for duel fuel with Bulb and was in credit, that increased to £104 a few months ago and was borderline, it then increased again to £134 which I'm on at the moment but my latest monthly usage has came in at £182 from smart meter readings so I'm expecting another hike. My petrol has risen from £65 to fill the tank to £90 a week. I really don't get how people on low/medium incomes are going to cope with this coupled with impending tax rises, the April enrgy rises and increasing food prices.

As expected a hike up to £165.38 a month and with April rises looming, mental.

28-01-2022, 10:57 PM
The price cap.
Why is there a price cap,why is it being removed,who decides it's being removed.Can/will it be in place again?

29-01-2022, 12:50 AM
On a separate note, is anyone who was with SSE and now transferred over to an actual OVO account constantly getting pinged by SSE about final bills every day? You can’t see them on the SSE app and although there is a bill on the OVO app, you’ve no idea whether they actually tally up to the ones the emails from SSE are referring to.

Not me, my only complaint is that SSE had said they would fit smart meter in but cancelled both times and now OVO saying I’m not eligible to get it fitted, tried phoning OVO today but was a nightmare trying to get through.

Paul1642
29-01-2022, 05:53 AM
Not me, my only complaint is that SSE had said they would fit smart meter in but cancelled both times and now OVO saying I’m not eligible to get it fitted, tried phoning OVO today but was a nightmare trying to get through.

The smart meter idea is a shambles.

29-01-2022, 06:15 AM
The price cap.
Why is there a price cap,why is it being removed,who decides it's being removed.Can/will it be in place again?

the price cap is administered by ofgem, the regulator for the energy industry (how well they do that is a separate question). It exists to stop energy companies just upping prices to suit themselves, and therefore protect consumers. Energy providers cannot charge customers more than the the price cap.

it’s not being removed, it is reassessed every 6 months by ofgem, which is due imminently. Currently, wholesale prices are higher than the price cap, ergo it costs companies money to sell someone gas or electricity, as they have to sell at a loss. This is why 20+ energy companies have gone under.

it will be reassessed and likely increased again later in the year.

29-01-2022, 07:11 AM
the price cap is administered by ofgem, the regulator for the energy industry (how well they do that is a separate question). It exists to stop energy companies just upping prices to suit themselves, and therefore protect consumers. Energy providers cannot charge customers more than the the price cap.

it’s not being removed, it is reassessed every 6 months by ofgem, which is due imminently. Currently, wholesale prices are higher than the price cap, ergo it costs companies money to sell someone gas or electricity, as they have to sell at a loss. This is why 20+ energy companies have gone under.

it will be reassessed and likely increased again later in the year.

Thanks for explaining.

29-01-2022, 07:34 AM
I wonder if they'll decide to re-nationalise the energy suppliers.

Maybe after they renationalise the public transport system, which has also been a disaster in private hands.

29-01-2022, 05:10 PM
https://twitter.com/jon_trickett/status/1487391072020017154

A break down of shareholders would be illuminating.

29-01-2022, 05:59 PM
Thanks for explaining.

no probs :aok:

03-02-2022, 10:10 PM

Maybe after they renationalise the public transport system, which has also been a disaster in private hands.

I doubt they will but I'd vote for it.

Chorley Hibee
03-02-2022, 10:13 PM
https://twitter.com/jon_trickett/status/1487391072020017154

A break down of shareholders would be illuminating.

The threshold for rioting on this island is incredibly high.

Chorley Hibee
03-02-2022, 10:18 PM
That said, I saw a headline yesterday that the treasury wants to kill off this tax relief (not sure if it meant all of it or just the 'easy' £6 per week) as it's costing them too much…[/QUOTE]

UK Government happy to write of £8bn on unusable PPE though.

03-02-2022, 10:28 PM

Never going to happen under a Tory government.

03-02-2022, 10:33 PM
Never going to happen under a Tory government.

Might have to if Russia invade Ukraine.

04-02-2022, 01:13 AM
Would this be a good time to put solar panels on your house? Apart from covering you’re own energy costs, would the excess you sell back to the grid be worth more, or is it just gas that’s going up in price?

04-02-2022, 07:04 AM
Would this be a good time to put solar panels on your house? Apart from covering you’re own energy costs, would the excess you sell back to the grid be worth more, or is it just gas that’s going up in price?I don't think you get money anymore for unused solar

Use it, store it or lose it I believe?

04-02-2022, 07:13 AM
I don't think you get money anymore for unused solar

I think it depends on when you installed it. Some people have great deals but people installing today will need a good battery.

04-02-2022, 07:31 AM
From The Daily Politik:

As Rishi Sunak tells Parliament it’s impossible to “artificially” hold down energy prices, Shell announces a FOURFOLD INCREASE IN PROFITS TO $19 BILLION, and pays shareholders an additional $8.5 Billion.

That’s your energy price increases going straight into the pockets of energy company investors. Why couldn’t they just pay normal dividends and keep prices down?

If energy was a state owned industry that money would support consumers.

The French government is taxing EDF energy 8.4 Bn Euros to cover price rises. In the UK this week the Tories refused to vote for a similar windfall tax on fossil fuel companies to help tackle fuel poverty. Instead they will issue LOANS to ‘get us through the energy crisis’ which we will have to pay back.

The time is right for the Labour Party to advocate for their previous manifesto policy of bringing energy back into public ownership and to push through a home insulation policy to reduce energy use.

But new blue Labour won’t because they were Corbyn’s policies and they’re scared of being accused by our centre-right media of turning the UK into Venezuela.

04-02-2022, 07:36 AM
The threshold for rioting on this island is incredibly high.

Unlike the French which is why their government limited rises to 4%.

Unfortunately, the English voter will happily take it up the trademan’s with a spiked pole as long as the person doing it says “please” and “thank you” in a posh accent.

04-02-2022, 09:33 AM
Unlike the French which is why their government limited rises to 4%.

Unfortunately, the English voter will happily take it up the trademan’s with a spiked pole as long as the person doing it says “please” and “thank you” in a posh accent.

Where did it all go wrong? A good indication of the public psychy is to be found in contemporary music, oh how I long for the days of "White Riot" and "Eton Rifles" rather than the placable meaningless mince we have today.

04-02-2022, 09:39 AM
Where did it all go wrong? A good indication of the public psychy is to be found in contemporary music, oh how I long for the days of "White Riot" and "Eton Rifles" rather than the placable meaningless mince we have today.

Were people your age listening to Eton Rifles and White Riot back then? Could be just a case that the stuff you are listening to now is the crap they put on the radio.
I know I’m def not in touch because I listen to absolute radio 90’s and 80’s.

04-02-2022, 10:03 AM
Were people your age listening to Eton Rifles and White Riot back then? Could be just a case that the stuff you are listening to now is the crap they put on the radio.
I know I’m def not in touch because I listen to absolute radio 90’s and 80’s.

Yes they were and there definitely was a culture of political protest in the contemporary music scene back then. There was a fire in the belly of the UK's youth back then that had its roots in a desire for political change. It was of course all ruthlessly crushed by the Thatcher government a few years later. With a few exceptions UK society has moved into a stasis of docile acceptance and any resistance receives more criticism than support.

Berwickhibby
04-02-2022, 10:31 AM
Yes they were and there definitely was a culture of political protest in the contemporary music scene back then. There was a fire in the belly of the UK's youth back then that had its roots in a desire for political change. It was of course all ruthlessly crushed by the Thatcher government a few years later. With a few exceptions UK society has moved into a stasis of docile acceptance and any resistance receives more criticism than support.

Hang on to your hat Hibrandenburg….. I agree with your 100% :thumbsup:

04-02-2022, 10:50 AM

You always had the disco scene and the likes of Blondie if you wanted feel good escapism in the late 70s early 80s. It wasn’t all post-punk revolutionary angst :greengrin

Stairway 2 7
04-02-2022, 10:52 AM
You always had the disco scene and the likes of Blondie if you wanted feel good escapism in the late 70s early 80s. It wasn’t all post-punk revolutionary angst :greengrin
Nostalgia is not what it used to be

04-02-2022, 11:22 AM

You're right of course, but unlike today, protest was part of the mainstream.

Stairway 2 7
04-02-2022, 11:49 AM

The mainstream is stormzy, dave and kendrick lamar ect now and most of it is protest. Stormzy kept shouting **** the government **** boris at his o2 gig, fairly protest. If its only rock that counts idles, Fontaines, 1975s all have anti government austerity songs

04-02-2022, 11:53 AM
The mainstream is stormzy, dave and kendrick lamar ect now and most of it is protest. Stormzy kept shouting **** the government **** boris at his o2 gig, fairly protest. If its only rock that counts idles, Fontaines, 1975s all have anti government austerity songs

https://youtu.be/HTYST8N7PU0 (http://https://youtu.be/HTYST8N7PU0)

04-02-2022, 12:00 PM
Where did it all go wrong? A good indication of the public psychy is to be found in contemporary music, oh how I long for the days of "White Riot" and "Eton Rifles" rather than the placable meaningless mince we have today.And they were tame compared to stuff like Crass [emoji16]

04-02-2022, 03:12 PM

Is it not just that the people doing the protesting then got old and slipped into wistful nostalgia so are less aware of current political counter culture?

There's plenty protest through the arts going on among young (and old) people and plenty people taking to the streets to make their point. Witness the BLM protests and the toppling of the Coulson statue, the tuition fee 'riots', the various vigils for women's rights and women's safety, Extinction Rebellion and Insulate Britain, protests in multiple cities against the recent Police and Crime Bill..... Indeed data from the link below suggests we have lived through a decade of unprecedented protest and 2015 saw the largest number of protests since the author began collating the figures in the mid 80s:

https://theconversation.com/decade-of-dissent-how-protest-is-shaking-the-uk-and-why-its-likely-to-continue-125843

04-02-2022, 03:26 PM

I tend to agree with this. Defining mainstream is probably a bit subjective, but in my teenage heyday in the late 70's music seemed capable of being commercial, yet radical. You had The Jam, Clash, Specials and many more capable of scaling the charts, but singing about subjects that were challenging the establishment. I remember reading an interview with Paul |Weller in NME c 1979 and he was speaking about politics, George Orwell and unemployment. I could totally identify with what he said and his music.

Nowadays all I see is homogenised music, kids who all dress the same and no mainstream alternative to the greeting faced bland pop. Of course there's always been pish, but there always seemed to be an antidote to it

04-02-2022, 03:51 PM
I tend to agree with this. Defining mainstream is probably a bit subjective, but in my teenage heyday in the late 70's music seemed capable of being commercial, yet radical. You had The Jam, Clash, Specials and many more capable of scaling the charts, but singing about subjects that were challenging the establishment. I remember reading an interview with Paul |Weller in NME c 1979 and he was speaking about politics, George Orwell and unemployment. I could totally identify with what he said and his music.

Nowadays all I see is homogenised music, kids who all dress the same and no mainstream alternative to the greeting faced bland pop. Of course there's always been pish, but there always seemed to be an antidote to itThere seems to be a complete lack of youth subcultures these days, certainly no new ones anyway. Unless I am so out of touch these days I just haven't noticed.

Stairway 2 7
04-02-2022, 04:08 PM
Is it not just that the people doing the protesting then got old and slipped into wistful nostalgia so are less aware of current political counter culture?

There's plenty protest through the arts going on among young (and old) people and plenty people taking to the streets to make their point. Witness the BLM protests and the toppling of the Coulson statue, the tuition fee 'riots', the various vigils for women's rights and women's safety, Extinction Rebellion and Insulate Britain, protests in multiple cities against the recent Police and Crime Bill..... Indeed data from the link below suggests we have lived through a decade of unprecedented protest and 2015 saw the largest number of protests since the author began collating the figures in the mid 80s:

https://theconversation.com/decade-of-dissent-how-protest-is-shaking-the-uk-and-why-its-likely-to-continue-125843

Mic drop

04-02-2022, 04:32 PM

100% agree. Young people are doing plenty protesting today.

Stairway 2 7
04-02-2022, 04:34 PM

Nowadays all I see is homogenised music, kids who all dress the same and no mainstream alternative to the greeting faced bland pop. Of course there's always been pish, but there always seemed to be an antidote to it

As I said before mainstream youth culture now is probably grime hip hop. Stormzy whilst no my cup of tea is the biggest and more in your face political than the legends you quoted.

David Cameron didn't understand the meaning of Eton riffles when he said it was one of his favourite songs.

Stormzy headlined Glastonbury with only a union jack stab vest to highlight knife crime. At the brits he rapped "Theresa May, where’s the money for Grenfell? What you think we just forgot about Grenfell", which she replied days later too. His video for vossy bop had people in boris wigs when he sung about inequality. And as I said at the 02 sung **** boris **** the government.

There's loads of other uk hip hop artists that are that are the same with anti government songs like dave and sloithai.

04-02-2022, 05:46 PM
As I said before mainstream youth culture now is probably grime hip hop. Stormzy whilst no my cup of tea is the biggest and more in your face political than the legends you quoted.

David Cameron didn't understand the meaning of Eton riffles when he said it was one of his favourite songs.

Stormzy headlined Glastonbury with only a union jack stab vest to highlight knife crime. At the brits he rapped "Theresa May, where’s the money for Grenfell? What you think we just forgot about Grenfell", which she replied days later too. His video for vossy bop had people in boris wigs when he sung about inequality. And as I said at the 02 sung **** boris **** the government.

There's loads of other uk hip hop artists that are that are the same with anti government songs like dave and sloithai.

You're right it's there for those listening. There might not be any new youth tribes but protest is still there.

Music youth tribes just stopped still and any new 'genres'.

04-02-2022, 05:56 PM
I don't think you get money anymore for unused solar

My understanding of this from my Hibs ST holding mate in the oil/power industry is that the national grid simply wasn’t made for ‘uploading’ power. Gross simplification but it would need a lot of investment to change this.

04-02-2022, 07:15 PM

Again I don't really disagree with any of that but my point is that the contemporary music scene back in the late 70's and early 80's was all about rebellion and rejection of mainstream, corporate mass culture and its values with strong overtones of anti-racism. Bands like the Jam, Sex Pistols and the Clash managed to bring that message to the wider mainstream and began an age of enlightenment that rejected Bernard Manning type overt racism and made it less socially acceptable, something that is now being undone by the surviving first half baby boomer generation who were already too old and set in their ways to understand what was happening. Late Boomers get unfairly tarred with the same brush as their own older sibling generational compatriots. I don't think we've slipped into wistful nostalgic sentimentality, more we've just realised we were fighting a losing battle where the cards were stacked against us.

04-02-2022, 10:20 PM
Whilst I’m sure there are protests going in in certain places, I agree with the sentiment regarding the threshold for civil disobedience being high.

We’re being taken for mugs by our rulers. The problem we have is that in the era of cctv it is pretty easy, if you step out of line, to find your future life chances tarnished by getting into bother. We have laws which apply to the little people but not to the rich or the powerful.

Rather than debating lyrics in songs and half-arsed protests, on a certain level I’m surprised there isn’t more visceral anger being shown. On another level, I understand that those with little to lose might have been browbeaten into compliance by believing otherwise.

Personally, I reckon we might have an interesting few years ahead. I’d be surprised if the threshold for rioting wasn’t breached at some point.

Stairway 2 7
04-02-2022, 10:58 PM
Whilst I’m sure there are protests going in in certain places, I agree with the sentiment regarding the threshold for civil disobedience being high.

We’re being taken for mugs by our rulers. The problem we have is that in the era of cctv it is pretty easy, if you step out of line, to find your future life chances tarnished by getting into bother. We have laws which apply to the little people but not to the rich or the powerful.

Rather than debating lyrics in songs and half-arsed protests, on a certain level I’m surprised there isn’t more visceral anger being shown. On another level, I understand that those with little to lose might have been browbeaten into compliance by believing otherwise.

Personally, I reckon we might have an interesting few years ahead. I’d be surprised if the threshold for rioting wasn’t breached at some point.

You missed the massive world wide blm riots during a pandemic of course the 80s had blackand white minsterels as the biggest show. Or if its about size I think anti Iraq was the biggest protest and that was in the 2000s

04-02-2022, 11:16 PM
Everyone thinks their generation was the best. [emoji849][emoji23]

Stairway 2 7
04-02-2022, 11:35 PM
Everyone thinks their generation was the best. [emoji849][emoji23]

Remember watching a BBC documentary and it had an opinion piece from the Times, it said youngsters nowadays are so much more disrespectful from when he was young, kids ran wild and attitudes had changed. It was dated like 1870

Paul1642
05-02-2022, 08:04 AM
Remember watching a BBC documentary and it had an opinion piece from the Times, it said youngsters nowadays are so much more disrespectful from when he was young, kids ran wild and attitudes had changed. It was dated like 1870

I remember a similar quote being read out by Steven Fry on the tv show QI and the panel had to guess who had said it.

Answer was some guy in Ancient Greece.

Stairway 2 7
05-02-2022, 08:16 AM
I remember a similar quote being read out by Steven Fry on the tv show QI and the panel had to guess who had said it.

Answer was some guy in Ancient Greece.

Brilliant 😆

05-02-2022, 08:28 AM
These generational arguments come around all the time in various settings. As said above it's in built in a lot of people to believe their generation was the best. Be that the best music, best fashion, most polite or most politically aware. I know guys who absolutely stand by their belief that every summer in the 70s saw glorious sunshine every day and Hibs won every week. There's little acknowledgment that our memories are clouded because we remember the good things and downplay the bad. It's a big part of why people run more than one marathon or have more than one child.

The younger generations now can't really win because many are desperate to highlight their failings and downplay their achievements. Record number of exam passes every year = exams are easier than in our day. Record numbers going into higher education = they do courses in basket weaving these days and I'm bloody paying for it. Increasingly turning away from alcohol = it's because they are all on bloody cocaine. Mass protests often in record breaking numbers = it's not proper protests like we used to have though.

I know a few people in their teens and early 20s and tbh I'm totally confused by them but that's as it should be. I'm approaching 40 so I'm not meant to understand teenagers and I almost remember what I thought of people who were the age I am now who criticised our music or dress sense. The biggest red flag when it comes to realising someone has forgotten what it is to be young is when they don't acknowledge they have essentially forgotten what it is to be young.

Anyway if we are talking about an energy crisis it's unlikely it's going to directly impact too many 14 and 15 years olds whether they are listening to Taylor Swift or Rage Against The Machine. Maybe all the rebels from the 70s and 80s who actually have mortgages and pay the bills could show them how it's done.

05-02-2022, 04:44 PM
These generational arguments come around all the time in various settings. As said above it's in built in a lot of people to believe their generation was the best. Be that the best music, best fashion, most polite or most politically aware. I know guys who absolutely stand by their belief that every summer in the 70s saw glorious sunshine every day and Hibs won every week. There's little acknowledgment that our memories are clouded because we remember the good things and downplay the bad. It's a big part of why people run more than one marathon or have more than one child.

The younger generations now can't really win because many are desperate to highlight their failings and downplay their achievements. Record number of exam passes every year = exams are easier than in our day. Record numbers going into higher education = they do courses in basket weaving these days and I'm bloody paying for it. Increasingly turning away from alcohol = it's because they are all on bloody cocaine. Mass protests often in record breaking numbers = it's not proper protests like we used to have though.

I know a few people in their teens and early 20s and tbh I'm totally confused by them but that's as it should be. I'm approaching 40 so I'm not meant to understand teenagers and I almost remember what I thought of people who were the age I am now who criticised our music or dress sense. The biggest red flag when it comes to realising someone has forgotten what it is to be young is when they don't acknowledge they have essentially forgotten what it is to be young.

Anyway if we are talking about an energy crisis it's unlikely it's going to directly impact too many 14 and 15 years olds whether they are listening to Taylor Swift or Rage Against The Machine. Maybe all the rebels from the 70s and 80s who actually have mortgages and pay the bills could show them how it's done.

Excellent post.

05-02-2022, 06:11 PM

https://i.ibb.co/jM3JTjz/FKi-PWo1-WQAc-Ng-d.jpg (https://ibb.co/VSMwtkx)

16-02-2022, 08:15 PM
OVO not even bothering with meter readings, tried phoning but they are a nightmare to get through to.

16-02-2022, 08:25 PM
OVO not even bothering with meter readings, tried phoning but they are a nightmare to get through to.

i'm with Boost, had nothing but bother since they installed a smart meter, it's just not connecting to their server(whatever) it was THEM that finally convinced me to get one of the damn things as well, i was quite happy with the electricity meter being pre-paid, not paid anything for at least 3 months now, but the ****s are still due me £70 compensation for cancelled appointments just hours before they were due to come install the damn not-so-smart meter, left me without any electricity for approx 14 hours overnight several weeks ago and it was freakin freezing, that episode was supposed to get me £25 compo, i hate the gits now and i seriously regret allowing that damn meter to get installed.

one of the engineers told me the customer service is in South Africa :rolleyes:

16-02-2022, 09:03 PM
i'm with Boost, had nothing but bother since they installed a smart meter, it's just not connecting to their server(whatever) it was THEM that finally convinced me to get one of the damn things as well, i was quite happy with the electricity meter being pre-paid, not paid anything for at least 3 months now, but the ****s are still due me £70 compensation for cancelled appointments just hours before they were due to come install the damn not-so-smart meter, left me without any electricity for approx 14 hours overnight several weeks ago and it was freakin freezing, that episode was supposed to get me £25 compo, i hate the gits now and i seriously regret allowing that damn meter to get installed.

one of the engineers told me the customer service is in South Africa :rolleyes:

I was with SSE who assured me they would fit smart meters but cancelled 3 times and OVO took over and they say I’m not eligible for smart meters, think all these companies are just taking the pish nowadays as they know you will pay the direct debit and that’s all they are happy with, getting the dosh, f*** the customer.

17-02-2022, 09:53 AM
I was with SSE who assured me they would fit smart meters but cancelled 3 times and OVO took over and they say I’m not eligible for smart meters, think all these companies are just taking the pish nowadays as they know you will pay the direct debit and that’s all they are happy with, getting the dosh, f*** the customer.

When we went with SSE when we moved in here in July/August, they said the existing smart meters weren’t compatible with them so we’d need to get their ones installed (it was a condition of the tariff). They never did anything about making an appointment.

Now that we’ve been moved to OVO, suddenly our electricity smart meter is compatible and we can see that it’s readings are reflected on our account. No sign of the gas smart meter working though.

As an aside, is it not ridiculous that you potentially have to get a new meter installed each time you move supplier. It’s as if they’ve realised that it could be used as a barrier to people comparing deals and switching.

17-02-2022, 10:25 AM
The smart meter thing is ridiculous, the government set such stupid arbitrary time lines that they took whatever tech was available at the time. Surely a meter is a meter and it reads the reading and thats it?

17-02-2022, 12:31 PM
As an aside, is it not ridiculous that you potentially have to get a new meter installed each time you move supplier. It’s as if they’ve realised that it could be used as a barrier to people comparing deals and switching.

Under what circumstances does this happen? I've never had to do it in multiple moves.

Sergio sledge
17-02-2022, 02:37 PM
Under what circumstances does this happen? I've never had to do it in multiple moves.

It shouldn't happen, but as part of the smart meter rollout some energy companies were installing meters which weren't able to be transferred over to other suppliers. Absolutely ridiculous situation really.

We kept getting SSE chasing us to install a smart meter in our house and finally succumbed last month, only to find when the guy came to install it that they have an issue with smart meters in our area in that they can't communicate because of a lack of mobile hone signal. The simple thing to do would be for them to set up an agreement with EE as we have really strong 4G with EE, but no signal with anyone else, seems that's too much to ask though....

Paul1642
17-02-2022, 06:37 PM

I have never been forced to replace it but my NPower smart meter went “dumb” when I moved to EDF the following year and has never went smart again since, even when I moved to Npower Select for a year. Manual metre readings don’t bother me but the whole scheme has been a farce form the word go.

17-02-2022, 09:03 PM
When we went with SSE when we moved in here in July/August, they said the existing smart meters weren’t compatible with them so we’d need to get their ones installed (it was a condition of the tariff). They never did anything about making an appointment.

Now that we’ve been moved to OVO, suddenly our electricity smart meter is compatible and we can see that it’s readings are reflected on our account. No sign of the gas smart meter working though.

It shouldn't happen, but as part of the smart meter rollout some energy companies were installing meters which weren't able to be transferred over to other suppliers. Absolutely ridiculous situation really.

We kept getting SSE chasing us to install a smart meter in our house and finally succumbed last month, only to find when the guy came to install it that they have an issue with smart meters in our area in that they can't communicate because of a lack of mobile hone signal. The simple thing to do would be for them to set up an agreement with EE as we have really strong 4G with EE, but no signal with anyone else, seems that's too much to ask though....

I have never been forced to replace it but my NPower smart meter went “dumb” when I moved to EDF the following year and has never went smart again since, even when I moved to Npower Select for a year. Manual metre readings don’t bother me but the whole scheme has been a farce form the word go.

1st generation smart meters only work with the company that initially installed them. 2nd gen ones will work with any company, but most companies will charge you a hefty whack to change a gen 1 to gen 2, as the govt only provide a free install for a property’s first smart meter. Covid also slowed down the install process, with installers and public not wanting to be working in enclosed spaces around other people/strangers coming into the home.

there was a project working on firmware upgrades for gen 1 smart meters to be able to talk to all suppliers, however I don’t know what the state of play with that is now.

speedy_gonzales
17-02-2022, 09:14 PM
1st generation smart meters only work with the company that initially installed them. 2nd gen ones will work with any company, but most companies will charge you a hefty whack to change a gen 1 to gen 2, as the govt only provide a free install for a property’s first smart meter. Covid also slowed down the install process, with installers and public not wanting to be working in enclosed spaces around other people/strangers coming into the home.

there was a project working on firmware upgrades for gen 1 smart meters to be able to talk to all suppliers, however I don’t know what the state of play with that is now.

How can you tell the difference between 1st & 2nd gens?
The house I've moved in to has what I think is a smart meter as the previous supplier (Scottish/British gas) could get remote readings. Unfortunately my new supplier, EDF, can't access it remotely and to compound matters, the display in the meter only displays ********'s (that's not the swear filter but actual asterisks).
I'm now in a situation where u don't know how much leccy in using and EDF, for the reasons you listed, are dragging their heels in replacing.

17-02-2022, 09:25 PM
How can you tell the difference between 1st & 2nd gens?
The house I've moved in to has what I think is a smart meter as the previous supplier (Scottish/British gas) could get remote readings. Unfortunately my new supplier, EDF, can't access it remotely and to compound matters, the display in the meter only displays ********'s (that's not the swear filter but actual asterisks).
I'm now in a situation where u don't know how much leccy in using and EDF, for the reasons you listed, are dragging their heels in replacing.

im not sure how to tell the difference by looking, or even if there is a way to tell, however every supplier has access to a national database that tells them what kind of meter you’ll have. They should be able to look it up by getting some info from you and tell you pretty quickly.

chances are it’s a 1st gen if EDF can’t access it, although not guaranteed (nothing moves fast in that industry).

all I can suggest is to keep pestering them and press them on why you can’t see any readings, which in turn means you could end up in financial hardship due to escalating energy bills (even if that’s not true, use it as a reason to lean on them)

23-02-2022, 01:40 PM
That's the email come through from SEE confirming price increases

Extra £919 a year. Bills going front £155 a month to £240. To be expected I suppose, but painful nonetheless

24-02-2022, 09:04 PM
That's the email come through from SEE confirming price increases

Extra £919 a year. Bills going front £155 a month to £240. To be expected I suppose, but painful nonetheless

About the same from Shell, 2 grand going up to 3. Don't suppose there will be much point in looking for a deal

Paul1642
25-02-2022, 03:37 PM
Must have been the day for the price rise emails. Mine came through at £700 a year extra. Electricity was a big rise but Gas was not far from doubling. Glad is switched from a gas hob to an induction one recently.

25-02-2022, 08:05 PM
Up £900 for us. Bulb.

It’s seems to be the standing charge that’s doubled for us, so there’s **** all we can do to try and use less.

25-02-2022, 08:16 PM
Up £900 for us. Bulb.

It’s seems to be the standing charge that’s doubled for us, so there’s **** all we can do to try and use less.

Standing charge doubled on my SSE Tariff as well, 24.87p to 49.65p daily on electricity. That does ‘only’ work out to about an extra £90 a year. Bulk of any additional cost will still be in the usage (and energy companies are good at over estimating how much you’ll use).

28-02-2022, 03:00 PM
Got my email in from Eon. Going from £120 per month to £680 A MONTH. Tried Uswitch and Go compare and both saying no deals available. Just done compare the market and the Eon deal is the cheapest. Some companies are quoting over £1K a month. How us this even possible.

28-02-2022, 03:18 PM
Got my email in from Eon. Going from £120 per month to £680 A MONTH. Tried Uswitch and Go compare and both saying no deals available. Just done compare the market and the Eon deal is the cheapest. Some companies are quoting over £1K a month. How us this even possible.

You paying for half the street?

28-02-2022, 03:27 PM

Are you sure your usage for quotes is correct?

28-02-2022, 04:09 PM
You paying for half the street?

Duck knows whats going on. Will need to try and phone someone on my next day off.

28-02-2022, 04:37 PM
Duck knows whats going on. Will need to try and phone someone on my next day off.

Definitely needs double checked.
As long as you weren't on a very low loss making tariff I don't see how your payments would be much more than double the old one.

28-02-2022, 07:20 PM
Got my increase letter through today.

£479 for the year starting 1st April. £40 a month isn't ideal but I expected worse.

Santa Cruz
28-02-2022, 07:56 PM

I pay just slightly less than you a month and my annual increase is just slightly higher than yours. Maybe it was an error and they entered the word monthly instead of annual in your email.

28-02-2022, 08:15 PM
Got my increase letter through today.

£479 for the year starting 1st April. £40 a month isn't ideal but I expected worse.

Which company you with?

Mine with Scottish Power expected any day soon.

28-02-2022, 08:21 PM
Mine up £780 with EON

01-03-2022, 01:10 AM
Which company you with?

Mine with Scottish Power expected any day soon.

Shell Energy.

Incidentally one of the reasons I went with them is because they advertise that all their electricity comes from renewables yet their justification for hiking my electricity tariff is an 'unprecedented rise in wholesale gas prices'. Go figure.

01-03-2022, 04:33 AM
Crazy how amounts are so different on here.

I actually put my DD up by £20.00 month in January and give meter reading a few weeks back. In large credit balance today so hopefully the impact will be less.

01-03-2022, 06:12 AM
Mine up £780 with EON

Any idea why? I'm in the same boat and dont have a clue. Folk on here saying their paying under £100 a month and im hit with this crap. No one is even in my house during the day to be using all this gas and electricity.

Paulie Walnuts
01-03-2022, 07:31 AM
Mine up £780 with EON

£837 with eon for me.

£126 currently. Now I’m going up to £200.

01-03-2022, 08:00 AM
Becoming clear that despite the rise in the price of fuels and the like that the energy companies are able to rip the piss with this.

01-03-2022, 09:38 AM
Any idea why? I'm in the same boat and dont have a clue. Folk on here saying their paying under £100 a month and im hit with this crap. No one is even in my house during the day to be using all this gas and electricity.

I’d take a look at your actual usage over the last year (based on your actual reads). Multiply it by the new usage rate they’ve given and you’ll have a fair idea if the usage figure they’re quoting going forward is accurate. The estimates they put in are never worth the paper they’re written on, much better looking at the actual unit costs.

For example, my fixed charge on electricity has doubled which sounds horrific. But it’s ‘only’ a daily increase of 25p and increase which works out to about £90 a year.

01-03-2022, 10:46 AM
I'm £163 a month, going up to £235. Bulb.

01-03-2022, 10:48 AM
British gas are currently not showing any deals for me to switch to, my fixed rate ends on the 31st of this month so looks like the waiting game for me

On the plus side managed to get £14 a month knocked of my virgin media bill by pleading poverty as a result of increasing costs of living which was a bonus

patch1875
01-03-2022, 12:36 PM
Surprisingly my email from Bulb is we are staying the same with a review in 3 months.

We pay around £130 a month currently about £250 in credit.

01-03-2022, 01:23 PM
Heard nothing from OVO, don’t understand that folk have heard from SSE as I thought they had been taken over by OVO.?

ACLeith
01-03-2022, 02:04 PM
I was with Igloo, was switched to EON when they went bust. I only have bills from October from EON as a result.

Going up by around 60%, but good advice from BHFC to check past usage and calculate on new rates. My estimate from them is reasonable, given that the bills I have are over the winter.

Plan to stick with what I am on and review after a few months but the key is I think to monitor closely and check the market

Sergio sledge
01-03-2022, 03:29 PM
Just got my email from SSE, £373.93 a year rise, which is less than I expected. We're in a brand new build though, so I'm hoping they haven't underestimated our usage by too much.

Andy Bee
02-03-2022, 10:05 PM
I listened to Martin Lewis tonight on R4, he thinks the 54% rise coming in April will be followed by another 47% on top of that in October, that's going to hit very hard.

Paul1642
03-03-2022, 08:19 AM
I listened to Martin Lewis tonight on R4, he thinks the 54% rise coming in April will be followed by another 47% on top of that in October, that's going to hit very hard.

I really don’t see how some people can cope with that.

03-03-2022, 01:54 PM
I really don’t see how some people can cope with that.

They won’t, it’s that simple.

06-03-2022, 08:55 PM
Just got my increase...

627 year.

Lucky I increased mine after reading this thread while back so not going up that much.

06-03-2022, 08:56 PM
Sent my meter readings in today, bumped the figures up so that the following bill will have less at the new increased costs.

07-03-2022, 10:44 AM
Shell Energy.

Incidentally one of the reasons I went with them is because they advertise that all their electricity comes from renewables yet their justification for hiking my electricity tariff is an 'unprecedented rise in wholesale gas prices'. Go figure.

The whole energy market is interconnected: https://www.goodenergy.co.uk/why-does-the-price-of-gas-drive-electricity-prices-including-renewables/

I've no doubt some suppliers are taking the piss, but it's true that a rising gas price will also push up renewable electricity prices. The email I got from my supplier (Octopus) said "This is outdated and we are pushing for change but, for now, it's just the way things work" – I don't know enough about it to know what an alternative setup would look like.

Paul1642
07-03-2022, 10:57 AM
Sent my meter readings in today, bumped the figures up so that the following bill will have less at the new increased costs.

I was thinking of doing this also. Wonder if the energy companies will be wise and send people out to check a few metres?

pollution
07-03-2022, 11:39 AM
When energy prices eventually decrease, will these firms then reduce their prices ??

Watch this space....

Paul1642
07-03-2022, 02:33 PM
When energy prices eventually decrease, will these firms then reduce their prices ??

Watch this space....

Probably not. Best we could hope for is probably a lengthy price freeze.

07-03-2022, 04:41 PM

Watch this space....

I guess from the perspective of them currently being capped at a maximum that is based off the wholesale price then when the wholesale price drops the next cap will also be lowered and so prices will go down.

Being able to get fixed rate deals that are lower than the cap like what was previously available might not be the case though.

08-03-2022, 09:13 PM
£155 a month just now, going up to £210 but we're going to make the DD £225 so we keep ahead of the game. We're with OVO.

I was also 155.9 a litre for petrol today.

08-03-2022, 09:54 PM
Coal up to £11 for 25 kilos, used to be £8. To be expected though and not as bad as I thought it would be.

09-03-2022, 04:04 PM
Octopus gas

Standing charge 23.84 to 27.21p

Unit rate 3.78 to 7.32p

Ive seen much worse!

Nothing through for electricity yet

Paul1642
09-03-2022, 04:07 PM
Why is the standing charge going up so much. Not sure I understand that part of things. Of the cost of fuel is going up why should I be charged more on days when I use minimal?

09-03-2022, 04:15 PM
Why is the standing charge going up so much. Not sure I understand that part of things. Of the cost of fuel is going up why should I be charged more on days when I use minimal?

Does the price cap split out the mix that companies aren't allowed to charge over, or just the total?

I don't know the mechanics of how it works, but the impact would appear to be that you're limited over how much impact you can have yourself by tailoring your usage.

Fuzzywuzzy
09-03-2022, 04:40 PM
Shell Energy.

I haven't heard from shell yet. We are locked until June so not sure if it will be closer to then.

I checked the app this morning to see if there was anything on that and put my payment up by £40 pm until I hear something from them

James310
09-03-2022, 06:50 PM
I haven't heard from shell yet. We are locked until June so not sure if it will be closer to then.

I checked the app this morning to see if there was anything on that and put my payment up by £40 pm until I hear something from them

I am with Shell and my tariff ends at the end of this month and I only got the email last night, so you will probably get something beginning of June.

09-03-2022, 08:32 PM
I got punted to Shell after PurePlanet went bust, 50% increase at the time and same again to come in April.

They won't let me input meter readings because I have a smart meter, but the meter doesn't seem to be working so they're just using estimates for electricity (gas seems to work). Weird.

12-03-2022, 03:05 PM
https://twitter.com/RichardJMurphy/status/1502671588604399626?t=5a4H4h81kQZ4W9URR2pJ5g&s=09

A breakdown of the elements of price rises.

Sent from my SM-A528B using Tapatalk

14-03-2022, 09:10 AM
Just been told mine is going up from £700 a year to £1122, around what I expected but still a boot in the baws

Paulie Walnuts
14-03-2022, 09:45 AM
£2640 a year. This time a year ago I was about £1000.

That’s a weekend away in Europe of an increase, ridiculous.

Stairway 2 7
14-03-2022, 09:55 AM
With another 50% increase in October expected get cambo drilling started now. Will take a few years and greens won't be happy but needs must

14-03-2022, 09:57 AM
With another 50% increase in October expected get cambo drilling started now. Will take a few years and greens won't be happy but needs mustOr just ask the oil companies for some money back?

Stairway 2 7
14-03-2022, 10:00 AM
Or just ask the oil companies for some money back?

Should be privatised but the gas and oil prices have exploded also, which there is no going around. We should have invested hugely on nuclear like France did 30 years ago.

14-03-2022, 10:02 AM
With another 50% increase in October expected get cambo drilling started now. Will take a few years and greens won't be happy but needs must

That's just enabling the petrochemical industry. Oh, and quite literally destroying the Earth, but we'll leave that bit out and just focus on the first bit to begin with.

Stairway 2 7
14-03-2022, 10:06 AM
That's just enabling the petrochemical industry. Oh, and quite literally destroying the Earth, but we'll leave that bit out and just focus on the first bit to begin with.

Need to pick a side stop buying Russian oil and lower crippling prices or net zero quicker on the other side, can't be both. You need another source but renewable.

British gas made 118 million profit last year and is expecting similar this year, that's less than a tenner per customer per year so not making a dent