View Full Version : Hibs v Arsenal
13-07-2021, 05:02 PM
After all that messing about with the ticket office.no ID checked!!
13-07-2021, 05:06 PM
Got a years sub, and logged in?
Is it this you're logged into?
https://ppv.hibernianfc.co.uk/events
If not then that's your problem.
You won't get anything other than audio on here https://hibstv.hibernianfc.co.uk/matchday unless you live overseas.
13-07-2021, 05:07 PM
Some superb work from Hanlon there...wow
13-07-2021, 05:08 PM
That is a shocker from Hanlon.
Well that should see the anti-Hanlon brigade grabbing the pitch forks and torches lol....
Hanlon makes a big mistake but fortunately the Arsenal boy missed it. Macey stood up well.
Hanlon just getting that one out the way in a friendly...
Poor stuff from him though.
Very poor.
13-07-2021, 05:09 PM
Well that should see the anti-Hanlon brigade grabbing the pitch forks and torches lol....
Na, just another stupid error to add to the growing list from one of our CB’s
WillowbraeHibby
13-07-2021, 05:10 PM
Is it this you're logged into?
https://ppv.hibernianfc.co.uk/events
If not then that's your problem.
You won't get anything other than audio on here https://hibstv.hibernianfc.co.uk/matchday unless you live overseas.
Thank you very much for this... Yep, I'm on the audio only... Ye live and learn as the saying goes... Thanks again buddy... :aok:
13-07-2021, 05:10 PM
Na, just another stupid error to add to the growing list from one of our CB’s
Well that only took 6 minutes into the new season
13-07-2021, 05:11 PM
Well that only took 6 minutes into the new season
Aw it’s not a new list, it’s carried over from last season 😁
Mikey_1875
13-07-2021, 05:13 PM
Arsenal GK doesn’t look up to much at all
13-07-2021, 05:15 PM
Arsenal GK doesn’t look up to much at all
If Macey had made the mistake the Arsenal keeper just did Andy would have his hands in his drawers...... :greengrin
Hibiza
13-07-2021, 05:20 PM
Available on Curtis Sport website mate.
Feels so good being back at Easter Road.
13-07-2021, 05:21 PM
Still not sure I like us going with 1 up top. Nisbet very isolated up there
13-07-2021, 05:23 PM
This goalie lol
Jesus their goalie
woohoo just blow for FT now :greengrin
1-0 Hibs, howler from the keeper
Mikey_1875
Wow, Boyle 1-0.
Shocking 😂
13-07-2021, 05:24 PM
Whoops a daisy :faf:
13-07-2021, 05:25 PM
That's a howler and a half😁
13-07-2021, 05:25 PM
That keeper :not worth
13-07-2021, 05:26 PM
We’re winning the quadruple this year :hyper
ShadesLongThrow
13-07-2021, 05:27 PM
Don’t think this keeper has a long career ahead at Arsenal.
13-07-2021, 05:27 PM
I’ve never seen a keeper so nervy before and it’s just a friendly.
13-07-2021, 05:28 PM
I cannot express how much I love seeing Scott Allan play for Hibs.
13-07-2021, 05:29 PM
Paul McGinn dispossessing Willian, what a time to be alive.
13-07-2021, 05:29 PM
lovely cross from allan to nisbet
13-07-2021, 05:30 PM
Obviously they're very rusty but this is decent from Hibs.
Good pressure setting up a chance for Nisbet there.Goalie done well to hold that one😉
I hope we show this kind of belief against the Glesga manks.....
13-07-2021, 05:32 PM
Martin Boyle flicking it round their former Euro winning right back a few minutes ago was very, very enjoyable.
13-07-2021, 05:39 PM
Arsenal might swap us macey for this goalie
13-07-2021, 05:39 PM
Tbf to their keeper that was a horrific pass back. Defender could have used his knee so the keeper could pick it up.
Mikey_1875
13-07-2021, 05:42 PM
Great ball Scott Allan, great to see that again
Porteous, Allan, and Bradley impressing me.
Lovely move there, off the post from Bradley.
Off the post unlucky from Bradley
13-07-2021, 05:44 PM
Sounds like Bradley is playing well. Thought he looked really bright in his few appearances last year, I hope he gets a lot more first team game time this year to show what he's about
13-07-2021, 05:45 PM
That Arsenal keeper has recently signed a new deal apparently lol
13-07-2021, 05:45 PM
https://scontent.fman1-1.fna.fbcdn.net/v/t39.30808-6/218244393_10224541283022624_4607133735902285332_n. jpg?_nc_cat=111&ccb=1-3&_nc_sid=825194&_nc_ohc=ppnAhLHRkL4AX-dS-jR&_nc_ht=scontent.fman1-1.fna&oh=bb0e11d5c936ecd2dc565e4a607eb67c&oe=60F3B95F
Sioux
13-07-2021, 05:47 PM
Scott Allan is the link that's been missing.
It is just a delight to watch Scott Allan playing for Hibs.
We have to build a team round that lad, his ability to weight a killer ball is just not something a club can have but pass up on.
Porteous also having a really good evening.
https://scontent.fman1-1.fna.fbcdn.net/v/t39.30808-6/218244393_10224541283022624_4607133735902285332_n. jpg?_nc_cat=111&ccb=1-3&_nc_sid=825194&_nc_ohc=ppnAhLHRkL4AX-dS-jR&_nc_ht=scontent.fman1-1.fna&oh=bb0e11d5c936ecd2dc565e4a607eb67c&oe=60F3B95FGood loan move that, heard he's a good prospect.
Odd that they gave him Magennis's number, must have been part of the loan agreement...
13-07-2021, 05:48 PM
Ht 1-0
13-07-2021, 05:48 PM
Scott Allan is the man
Decent first half. Enjoyed it.
13-07-2021, 05:50 PM
https://scontent.fman1-1.fna.fbcdn.net/v/t39.30808-6/218244393_10224541283022624_4607133735902285332_n. jpg?_nc_cat=111&ccb=1-3&_nc_sid=825194&_nc_ohc=ppnAhLHRkL4AX-dS-jR&_nc_ht=scontent.fman1-1.fna&oh=bb0e11d5c936ecd2dc565e4a607eb67c&oe=60F3B95F
Nice touch.
13-07-2021, 05:51 PM
is anyone ordering a HT pizza
13-07-2021, 05:52 PM
Arsenal aren’t great at all. The Newcastle side we played the other season were much better than this.
Bangkok Hibby
13-07-2021, 05:52 PM
Good movement off the ball and good to see Hibs picking a pass rather than the punt upfield. Hope it's a sign of things to come.
Wonderful to see Scott Allan back, how we've missed him.
13-07-2021, 05:53 PM
Arsenal TV is a hoot at halftime, they are acting like that's our best 11 and we are halfway through our season compared to them
13-07-2021, 05:54 PM
I like Bradley. Cracking prospect. Looks very comfy on the ball
13-07-2021, 05:55 PM
Scott Allan oozes class, Jackson Irvine couldn’t lace his boots.
If Porteous would play and concentrate like that every week he wouldn’t be at Hibs long.
Arsenal aren’t great at all. The Newcastle side we played the other season were much better than this.
It looks like their first game of the season.
There are clearly players of great quality in there but as a team they're a bit disjointed and individually a few are very rusty.
The Hibs squad really looks thin. Only the 6 (?) on the bench and I hope the players who play the full 90 are up to it and we don't pick up any more injuries.
13-07-2021, 05:56 PM
Arsenal TV is a hoot at halftime, they are acting like that's our best 11 and we are halfway through our season compared to them
Tbf, it is very close to our best 11. Only the Doig and Doidge missing really.
13-07-2021, 05:57 PM
If Porteous would play and concentrate like that every week he wouldn’t be at Hibs long.
He looks like he fancies it tonight.
Porteous has been superb, as has Allan.
Happy with Macey so far as well.
13-07-2021, 05:57 PM
It looks like their first game of the season.
There are clearly players of great quality in there but as a team they're a bit disjointed and individually a few are very rusty.
The Hibs squad really looks thin. Only the 6 (?) on the bench and I hope the players who play the full 90 are up to it and we don't pick up any more injuries.
Of course, even just on paper though they’re nothing like the team of old. You’d be gutted if you were an Arsenal fan and these were the players you’d be watching next year!
13-07-2021, 05:58 PM
Wasn't that toward the end of pre season vs Newcastles first choice side, though.
Arsenal have been poor, but its hard to compare. Think Hibs have also been really good.
13-07-2021, 05:59 PM
Scott Allan oozes class, Jackson Irvine couldn’t lace his boots.
When Allan is good he's different gravy. Really hope this is a great season for him. He deserves it.
13-07-2021, 05:59 PM
Wasn't that toward the end of pre season vs Newcastles first choice side, though.
Arsenal have been poor, but its hard to compare. Think Hibs have also been really good.
We’ve certainly played well :agree:
13-07-2021, 06:00 PM
It’s also his full debut.
13-07-2021, 06:02 PM
Classy touch :flag:
MagicSwirlingShip
13-07-2021, 06:03 PM
He won’t be at Hibs long anyway.
13-07-2021, 06:03 PM
Hoping we give magennis a decent chance tonight. Wouldn’t mind seeing Mackay either.
13-07-2021, 06:05 PM
Arsenal got their big guns on now, was good whilst it lasted
13-07-2021, 06:06 PM
Hammer on there he too, although he’s not on the team line
Stack of changes for Arsenal at ht, Dabrowoski on for Macey
13-07-2021, 06:09 PM
Very good save from Kevin.
13-07-2021, 06:14 PM
Fantastic by McGinn there.
13-07-2021, 06:15 PM
Dabrowski is loud!
13-07-2021, 06:15 PM
Scott Allan is the man.
13-07-2021, 06:23 PM
campbell and wright for allan and bradley
13-07-2021, 06:24 PM
Is it unlimited subs? I never knew Omar Rekik was at Arsenal
13-07-2021, 06:26 PM
mackay/Magennis for boyle/newell
Decent from Nisbet that
Missed the 1st half but so far in the 2nd Dabrowski looks very decent, Allan and Bradley looking very sharp, Arsenal are starting to shift through the gears and looking very dangerous now.
Did Josh Campbell get an extended deal? I thought his contract ran out this season.
Do yellow cards here carry over to league matches?
Mikey_1875
13-07-2021, 06:27 PM
Goal Mackay!
13-07-2021, 06:27 PM
2-0 :greengrin
13-07-2021, 06:28 PM
Yaaaaaaaas!
Get in . Mackay scores
Cracking goal, great cross by Magennis.
good corner, good header from hanlon
Mikey_1875
13-07-2021, 06:29 PM
Only been on a couple of minutes but Mackay looks really lively
13-07-2021, 06:30 PM
Wow.
66 years ago we were 2-0 up against arsenal before they scored twice in the last 15 minutes, 20 mins remaining now
backs to the wall now hibs :greengrin
edit: 1955
Dr_Regal
Who the hell is this team and what have they done with my Hibs?
Not an overly weak arsenal side either.
We’ve played very well
55 years ago we were 2-0 up against arsenal before they scored twice in the last 15 minutes, 20 mins remaining now
We didn't have Drey Wright 55 years ago, it's cool
Not complaining, but that goal looked well offside. :greengrin
13-07-2021, 06:31 PM
Good goal...offside?
Mikey_1875
Penalty Arsenal
McGinn gives away a penalty
was their really a lot in that ?
Poor tackle.
King Kev
Mikey_1875
What a save
13-07-2021, 06:32 PM
saved :thumbsup:
Yee haw Paw...... :greengrin:greengrin
England and penalties eh...
Marvelous save, wisnae a pen
13-07-2021, 06:33 PM
That was never a penalty anyway
Great save Dabrowski from the non pen.
Pepe taking penalty lessons from Saka. :greengrin
I think it's clear we have outgrown the Scottish Premiership and on this evidence even mid table EPL sides.
Time to put pressure on the relevant bodies to allow us to move south.
Who the hell is this team and what have they done with my Hibs?
Change of shape with more emphasis on creativity, Allan being back fit, Bradley, Mackay etc all young sharp and raring to go.
bringbackbenny
Marvelous save, wisnae a pen
yup very soft
We look sharp going forward
CloudSquall
13-07-2021, 06:34 PM
Stop the season!
On this showing, there should be no question of Dabrowski starting the season as our number 2 and challenging macey for the starting spot.
What's the deal with Belarin's tache, like a 70's porn star.
It's only Arsenal. Wait until we get a real test
13-07-2021, 06:35 PM
I think it's clear we have outgrown the Scottish Premiership and on this evidence even mid table EPL sides.
Time to put pressure on the relevant bodies to allow us to move south.
Move over Arsenal, euro super league beckons
13-07-2021, 06:36 PM
Forgot this was on . Only 2-0 . Ross oot
13-07-2021, 06:38 PM
gullan for nisbet
13-07-2021, 06:38 PM
Magennis looks sharp, fast
13-07-2021, 06:39 PM
good to see so many of the fans wearing their masks as asked to
9+ mins 2-1
13-07-2021, 06:39 PM
What's the deal with Belarin's tache, like a 70's porn star.
He looks nothing like Dirk Lehmann.
13-07-2021, 06:40 PM
game on
13-07-2021, 06:40 PM
Baws.
13-07-2021, 06:41 PM
Rank defending there
picture freezes :(
Thought Drey Wright could’ve been back helping oot
Rank defending there
Wright just let him stroll in an score.
13-07-2021, 06:43 PM
Lacazette is superb
13-07-2021, 06:44 PM
mom lewis stevenson
13-07-2021, 06:45 PM
Lacazette is superb
Him and Pepe have looked really good
13-07-2021, 06:46 PM
they're not letting us get a touch now, very rude
13-07-2021, 06:47 PM
att: 1,8*2
13-07-2021, 06:48 PM
How long to go? Hibs twitter updates are very few and far between.
att: 1,8*2
Blink.
89:20
How long to go? Hibs twitter updates are very few and far between.
1 min of normal
Lewis Stevenson is class man.
Blink.
missed the 3rd digit, think it was 6
13-07-2021, 06:50 PM
Full time. Decent work for a pre season game.
13-07-2021, 06:51 PM
FT woohoo :greengrin
Hahahahahaha who had 2-1 Hibs.
Magpie
😂😂😂😂😂😂😂😂😂
Pre season or not, Hibs have just beat Arsenal haha
Good performance and always nice to get a win
13-07-2021, 06:52 PM
Held on like grim death at the end but a good run out.
Mikey_1875
Great run out and result. Won’t get too carried away but that certainly whet the appetite for the season ahead!
Well, anyone who predicted that is either a witch/wizard or World Cup Winning manager 😂
Aye good win that
Let’s get the league wrapped up now
Magpie
Pre season or not, Hibs have just beat Arsenal haha
To be fair they were up against a team playing European football this season, they are pants.
Herbert Chapman Bertie Mee Frank McLintock George Graham Charlie George Maggie Thatcher Winston Churchill Arsene Wenger Thierry Henry Pat Jennings Mickel Arteta
We gave your boys a helluva beating !
Thought everyone gave all they had in that much, great result!
Check some aftv out later.
13-07-2021, 06:53 PM
Defo worth 26 quid to see Hibs winning against a top half EPL team...GGTTH :flag:
13-07-2021, 06:53 PM
Brilliant. Great result.
Very decent run out against a top Arsenal team full of star players, liking the shape and still look dangerous with just the 1 striker.
13-07-2021, 06:54 PM
We should ask to join the Premier League. I think we would do OK. 😁
Worked hard for that win despite it being a friendly. Well done team. GGTTH.
Great win, well done everyone.
13-07-2021, 06:55 PM
I saw about 65 of the 90 minutes and I thoroughly enjoyed that (I normally can't be bothered with friendlies).
Me. :-)
hibee316
Held on like grim death at the end but a good run out.
Not really, they had a lot of the ball, but we defended well.
Fairly obvious really. We’ve been told we have to and i am sure we’d all quite fancy getting home safely. If they’re all exempt - fair play… but I’d put money on them not being!
That’s the point you have no idea who is and who isn’t exempt and neither does anyone else.
tynehibs
13-07-2021, 06:56 PM
Me 😀
13-07-2021, 06:57 PM
Hard not to be impressed by that, well played lads! 😀
Well I enjoyed that. Nice one Hibs.
13-07-2021, 06:57 PM
Just like the Accrington Stanley game the result doesn't matter. Good run out and good to see the young keeper play.
13-07-2021, 06:58 PM
Scott Allan is the man
hibee316
13-07-2021, 06:59 PM
Just like the Accrington Stanley game the result doesn't matter. Good run out and good to see the young keeper play.
Stuff that. We tore Arsenal a new one. They were lucky we never scored 4 or 5... 😁
13-07-2021, 07:01 PM
Tut, nonsense. Accrington Stanley game meant nothing. Tonight’s game meant everything and is absolutely how our season will go
Magpie
13-07-2021, 07:02 PM
I fancy us to get an invite to the European Super League after that.
13-07-2021, 07:02 PM
Loved that, what an excellent result. Pub league etc etc.
13-07-2021, 07:03 PM
I was watching on Arsenal TV and was good to hear an outsider's view of us, they were really complimentary and singled out Hanlon and McGinn
13-07-2021, 07:06 PM
Herbert Chapman Bertie Mee Frank McLintock George Graham Charlie George Maggie Thatcher Winston Churchill Arsene Wenger Thierry Henry Pat Jennings Mickel Arteta
😀😀😀
13-07-2021, 07:07 PM
Aye good win that
Let’s get the league wrapped up now
Yep, just beat the top of the English Premiership. :greengrin
https://www.bbc.co.uk/sport/football/premier-league/table
Watched the second half. Good competitive game where we held our own. All about the first league game but the performance and result won’t do the players any harm. Pepe cost £72m :bitchy:
London Hibs FC
Plucky performance from the mid-table English side, worked hard for their late consolation.
13-07-2021, 07:08 PM
Does this mean we now have a "special relationship" with Arsenal? :greengrin
13-07-2021, 07:08 PM
English football morale must be at an all time low ........ the 3 Lions tuffed out by the Azzurros and now one of their top teams cuffed by a Jock pub team. :greengrin
crash
13-07-2021, 07:09 PM
[QUOTE=Mon Dieu4;6618780]I was watching on Arsenal TV and was good to hear an outsider's view of us, they were really complimentary and singled out Hanlon and McGinn[l
No wonder they singled out Hanlon, he gave us them their best 2 chances of the game.
13-07-2021, 07:13 PM
Watched the second half. Good competitive game where we held our own. All about the first league game but the performance and result won’t do the players any harm. Pepe cost £72m :bitchy:
I think plenty of Arsenal fans agree with you.
There should surely be a hefty GIRUY in there for Piers Morgan, surely?
Davy Mac
Have a look at some of the Arsenal fans forums its hilarious.
13-07-2021, 07:14 PM
Real Madrid and Barca have offered us Arsenals place in the next edition of the European Superleague.
Friendly or not its a great result and must have been a great night for the fans who attended.
13-07-2021, 07:19 PM
Have a look at some of the Arsenal fans forums its hilarious.
The first post yesterday on the Arsenal forum I’ve just looked at:
Good to see The Arsenal return tomorrow, can get back to the football that matters.
Going for a disappointing 2-1 defeat to Hibs. :greengrin
Davy Mac
13-07-2021, 07:21 PM
Good to see The Arsenal return tomorrow, can get back to the football that matters.
Hahahaha.
Maybe we should remind them we were the first British team in Europe and all that...lol, that might make feel better although I see they keep saying Hibbs! lol
AliboyFC
13-07-2021, 07:23 PM
Knew we were winning against them 😂💚🇳🇬
Dabrovski looked good in goals. High hopes for the lad, glad he signed an extension
13-07-2021, 07:27 PM
Enjoyed the match. Both teams attacking. Arsenal obviously well off fitness, only a few days into pre season but they were poor, no obvious plan. Smith Rowe was very good when he came on, though.
For Hibs, very impressed. Both goalies done well. Looked good going forward, solid in the middle. Hanlon very good after an early mistake
13-07-2021, 07:28 PM
Dabrovski looked good in goals. High hopes for the lad, glad he signed an extension
Him and Bradley look good.
I like Bradley. Cracking prospect. Looks very comfy on the ball
Big things from him this season I see!
MagicSwirlingShip
13-07-2021, 07:40 PM
He is a total dumplin
13-07-2021, 07:48 PM
Can anyone give some info on the new shape and how we played it?
Is it a 4-2-3-1?
In the past we've struggled with 1 up top but I'm really keen for us to play that type of formation well to give us more balance across the park
13-07-2021, 07:50 PM
That's me heading home and all I can say is...
Wow!
😁
13-07-2021, 07:57 PM
Don't bother too much about friendlies. Good result but the European games is what matters. Remember the days that we would expect to beat mid table English teams.
13-07-2021, 08:02 PM
He is a total dumplin
He really isn't. Daft to judge anyone on a game after 4 days pre season. He was really good for Arsenal last season.
Does that put him tied with Just Alf at the top of the prediction league?
13-07-2021, 08:04 PM
Great to be back. Good hard working performance. Definitely surprised arsenal by how much we pressed them. Loads to like about that.
13-07-2021, 08:06 PM
A look on Twitter and the Arsenal forum shows just how clueless (or ignorant) some English fans are. Hibbs, Hibernians. Jeezo. I know nothing about Irish football but I still know how to spell Shamrock Rovers.
Who are incidentally winning in the Champions League!
13-07-2021, 08:07 PM
Can anyone give some info on the new shape and how we played it?
Is it a 4-2-3-1?
In the past we've struggled with 1 up top but I'm really keen for us to play that type of formation well to give us more balance across the park
I paid more attention first half, was otherwise engaged 2nd, but it looked 4231 to me first half.
Nisbet did well in the lone striker role, we had Bradley and Boyle as inverted wingers on the opposite side and Allan in the middle.
TBH it looked good and fairly balanced. I was going to say before we scored that we didn't look like we had all that much going forward, it can be tough to get enough bodies up the park when you play that way but I thought we did fine.
Hibs have never really convinced me with one up front, the only players who have made a decent fist of being the lone striker for me have been Griffiths and Killen, although Nisbet was excellent tonight.
It would be useful string to have to our bow, and it also gets Scott Allan into the position where he can do most damage, although you'd probably want to have greater numbers in attacking positions for the more run of the mill league games, especially at home. Looks a good formation to have against the OF, maybe for derbies or Aberdeen, for tougher away games and maybe against better teams in Europe.
We looked solid defensively again though, against some very good players (acknowledging how rusty a few of them were).
Transfer business from here should be all about hanging onto who we have and if anyone has to go then replacing them well. That, plus adding a bit of depth as we're struggling to get a full squad out.
13-07-2021, 08:15 PM
First time in our history that we have beaten Arsenal
13-07-2021, 08:15 PM
He’s one of their most highly rated prospects. He reminded me a bit of Maka tonight. Hopefully just a nervy one off for the boy’s sake.
13-07-2021, 08:20 PM
A look on Twitter and the Arsenal forum shows just how clueless (or ignorant) some English fans are. Hibbs, Hibernians. Jeezo. I know nothing about Irish football but I still know how to spell Shamrock Rovers.
The comments on the forum Arsenal Mania are a hoot:
People don't realise how bad Hibs actually are - they're a Scottish team that Scottish people don't take seriously.
Going to be hilarious if we get torn apart by Rangers next
13-07-2021, 08:23 PM
55 years ago
Hibs 2 Arsenal 2.... arsenal scored twice in last 15 mins...not good enough hibs
Turnbull
Reilly
It was 65 years ago- I was there.
13-07-2021, 08:25 PM
People don't realise how bad Hibs actually are - they're a Scottish team that Scottish people don't take seriously.
🤣🤣🤣🤣
13-07-2021, 08:25 PM
I paid more attention first half, was otherwise engaged 2nd, but it looked 4231 to me first half.
Nisbet did well in the lone striker role, we had Bradley and Boyle as inverted wingers on the opposite side and Allan in the middle.
TBH it looked good and fairly balanced. I was going to say before we scored that we didn't look like we had all that much going forward, it can be tough to get enough bodies up the park when you play that way but I thought we did fine.
Hibs have never really convinced me with one up front, the only players who have made a decent fist of being the lone striker for me have been Griffiths and Killen, although Nisbet was excellent tonight.
It would be useful string to have to our bow, and it also gets Scott Allan into the position where he can do most damage, although you'd probably want to have greater numbers in attacking positions for the more run of the mill league games, especially at home. Looks a good formation to have against the OF, maybe for derbies or Aberdeen, for tougher away games and maybe against better teams in Europe.
We looked solid defensively again though, against some very good players (acknowledging how rusty a few of them were).
Transfer business from here should be all about hanging onto who we have and if anyone has to go then replacing them well. That, plus adding a bit of depth as we're struggling to get a full squad out.Cheers!
Sounds promising, I like the idea of having a few different formations/styles we can play well depending on the opposition.
I wonder what Ross has up his sleeve for the Home games where we're expected to have more of the ball and take the game to the opposition. Those were the games we struggled in last year which resulted in our poor home record, no doubt an area Ross is looking to improve
1875Sean
13-07-2021, 08:30 PM
Arteta: "I think we conceded the first goal, an accident, and the second goal was clearly offside. We created many, many chances but we didn't score. That's what pre-season is for, to take the things that we haven't done well into a training session and then improve."
Thinking about it the second goal did look way offside 😂
JoeTortolanoFanClub
13-07-2021, 08:30 PM
I enjoyed that. It was good to be back. We looked well-organised on and off the pitch. Bradley played well.
13-07-2021, 08:36 PM
Apparently there is a Sunderland style documentary being filmed about Arsenal for Netflix. Cameras were there tonight.
13-07-2021, 08:37 PM
He really isn't. Daft to judge anyone on a game after 4 days pre season. He was really good for Arsenal last season.
Thought Pepe was easily their best player. Price tag isn't his fault.
13-07-2021, 08:41 PM
Most Arsenal fans couldn't tell you a team north of the Watford gap.
Apparently there is a Sunderland style documentary being filmed about Arsenal for Netflix. Cameras were there tonight.
Hope they've taken the opportunity whilst in Edinburgh to pop round to Budge's place to learn how it's done.
He was good in the latter half of the season for sure was MOTM in a few games I remember. Still overpriced but that’s not his fault [emoji4] agents do a great job [emoji122] [emoji20]
13-07-2021, 08:46 PM
Most Arsenal fans couldn't tell you a team north of the Watford gap.Most arsenal fans are having to watch arsenal slipping further down the league and further behind the EPL big teams.
He’s one of their most highly rated prospects. He reminded me a bit of Maka tonight. Hopefully just a nervy one off for the boy’s sake.
Why not just catch it instead of trying the kick [emoji2371][emoji85]
MagicSwirlingShip
13-07-2021, 08:50 PM
You’ll be glad to know I’ve seen plenty of him for Arsenal. Flatters to deceive.
EI255
13-07-2021, 08:58 PM
[emoji1787][emoji1787][emoji1787][emoji1787]I watched the game on Gunners TV and even they had a pop at Hibs.
[emoji848]
EI255
13-07-2021, 08:59 PM
First time in our history that we have beaten ArsenalThat'll do me.
Sent from my LG-H870 using Tapatalk
13-07-2021, 09:00 PM
Pre season or not that’s a brilliant result.
Playing against guys like Aubamayang, Lacszette, Pepe, Partey etc can only make you grow in confidence.
Young Bradley making his debut from the start, playing well and almost scoring will be buzzing after that.
Dabrowski saving a pen off someone that cost 70 odd million
Porteous handling two of the best strikers in the EPL.
Now whilst Arsenal will hardly have been trying their hardest, it will be some boost for the boys.
13-07-2021, 09:23 PM
"Who the **** are Woolwich Arsenal, and the Hibs go marching on, on, on!!" :greengrin
13-07-2021, 09:26 PM
Arteta: "I think we conceded the first goal, an accident, and the second goal was clearly offside. We created many, many chances but we didn't score. That's what pre-season is for, to take the things that we haven't done well into a training session and then improve."
Thinking about it the second goal did look way offside 😂
It was miles offside.
13-07-2021, 09:31 PM
Why not just catch it instead of trying the kick [emoji2371][emoji85]
It was a passback
CloudSquall
13-07-2021, 09:55 PM
"People don't realise how bad Arsenal actually are - they're an English team that English people don't take seriously.
Going to be hilarious if we get torn apart by Tottenham next"
13-07-2021, 09:58 PM
It was a passback
I think he was caught in two minds wondering if he should handle it or not and just ended up making an erse of it. I felt sorry for the boy.
13-07-2021, 09:58 PM
Good result tonight. How did Bradley play? Did he look like he’ll threaten the starting 11 next season?
13-07-2021, 10:00 PM
Good result tonight. How did Bradley play? Did he look like he’ll threaten the starting 11 next season?
Played well two or three really good moments including hitting the post. Looks a prospect
13-07-2021, 10:10 PM
Can be happy with his performance. Worked hard, good on the ball…didn’t impact the game too much, but shows he has a lot to offer. I’d expect him to get some decent game time this season.
13-07-2021, 10:19 PM
Can be happy with his performance. Worked hard, good on the ball…didn’t impact the game too much, but shows he has a lot to offer. I’d expect him to get some decent game time this season.
I think he’ll be loaned out when we sign a few more players. He could do with a season in championship imo.
13-07-2021, 10:26 PM
I think he’ll be loaned out when we sign a few more players. He could do with a season in championship imo.
I think you’re doing him a dis-service. I was really impressed by him tonight and think he’ll be a regular in the first team squad.
Arsenal made the schoolboy error of not fielding a team of their fans nans.
13-07-2021, 10:29 PM
I think you’re doing him a dis-service. I was really impressed by him tonight and think he’ll be a regular in the first team squad.
Showed a really good side of his game defensively tonight which i didnt see as one of his strengths and also looked confident on the ball. Hope he does well
13-07-2021, 10:29 PM
I hope you're right, he's shown a lot of quality during his brief stints around the first team.
FWIW I agree with you, think this will be his breakout season.
He's here!
13-07-2021, 10:33 PM
Goals and penalty save here:
https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=SuxU0dEsOQU
13-07-2021, 11:04 PM
Thinking about it the second goal did look way offside 😂I'm not t convinced he was offside. It was very close and looking at freeze frames impossible to tell from the angle of the camera
13-07-2021, 11:10 PM
I certainly didn’t mean to. He’s a young guy with little experience and in his position that means sporadic game time and little chance to put a run of games together. A loan spell at Raith or Dunfermline would let us see what we’ve got on our hands. Recently we’ve had Gullan and Shaw warm the bench and fail to make the breakthrough, Bradley and Shanley look like real prospects, get them playing every week at a decent level.
Allez Hibs
13-07-2021, 11:19 PM
Arsenal Fan TV always a laugh after they lose.
https://youtu.be/FprF75q0PFY
13-07-2021, 11:37 PM
One of their You Tube channels was the same, they all thought it was hilarious that one of the presenters couldn't say Hibernian.
Why the hell is it that every time we play an EPL team I come away wishing them nothing but the worst for the following season .... before the game it's usually a team I have nothing against ( Arsenal being a case in point ) but practically every time after the game fans of these teams display the usual ignorance, condescension and just downright arrogance that seems to typify their attitude to Scottish clubs and our football in general you cant help but wish ill on them.
And they wonder why we take such delight in watching their national team crash and burn :bitchy:
14-07-2021, 01:02 AM
I'm not t convinced he was offside. It was very close and looking at freeze frames impossible to tell from the angle of the camera
Looked a good yard offside to me, not even borderline, but happy to take it though.
My worry is that when we are told that things even themselves out over a season that it’s going to even out in a crucial game.
Also thought Dabrowski stole a couple of feet from his line for the penalty save, and that’s something that they are meant to be clamping down on.
Either way, the Arsenal fans that can moan all they want a wins a win :wink:
14-07-2021, 01:27 AM
Looked a good yard offside to me, not even borderline, but happy to take it though.
My worry is that when we are told that things even themselves out over a season that it’s going to even out in a crucial game.
Also thought Dabrowski stole a couple of feet from his line for the penalty save, and that’s something that they are meant to be clamping down on.
I think Dabrowski kept one foot on the line, which is the rule now. Gosh looked well offside though.
I thought we played really well, i was impressed with the work that we’d put in but also that when we got on the ball we didn’t just shell it and hope for the best.
14-07-2021, 01:29 AM
one web site saying Arsenal have offered the boy that missed the one on one with Macey(Nketiah) has been offered back to Leeds for £20m, i mind Leeds had the boy on a season long loan from Arsenal the season before last, was quite highly thought of
14-07-2021, 01:40 AM
I think Dabrowski kept one foot on the line, which is the rule now. Gosh looked well offside though.
I thought we played really well, i was impressed with the work that we’d put in but also that when we got on the ball we didn’t just shell it and hope for the best.
Pretty much what I said to my Aberdeen supporting family back home. They'll be watching us from below if we can play this season with anything like the football and belief we showed today.
14-07-2021, 02:45 AM
His heel might have been on the line, not a great photo, but I'm not so sure. Looks more like his right (standing) foot is already over the line, and his left foot is off the ground and moving forward to give him the momentum to dive to his left.
14-07-2021, 05:29 AM
One of their You Tube channels was the same, they all thought it was hilarious that one of the presenters couldn't say Hibernian.
Why the hell is it that every time we play an EPL team I come away wishing them nothing but the worst for the following season .... before the game it's usually a team I have nothing against ( Arsenal being a case in point ) but practically every time after the game fans of these teams display the usual ignorance, condescension and just downright arrogance that seems to typify their attitude to Scottish clubs and our football in general you cant help but wish ill on them.
And they wonder why we take such delight in watching their national team crash and burn :bitchy:
Birmingham fans were another when trying to sign Nisbet. Put me right off them and spent the next few weeks delighting at their defeats. Was completely indifferent to them beforehand The small club/farmers league patter is chronic. Don't know what they get out of it.
14-07-2021, 06:33 AM
I'm not t convinced he was offside. It was very close and looking at freeze frames impossible to tell from the angle of the camera
He was about a yard offside when Hanlon heads the ball, if you try freeze framing the video.
https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=SuxU0dEsOQU
The player by the goalie was about two yards offside, who is probably the player that Arteta was referring too.
Re the penalty, our goalies foot is on the line until Pepe is probably a nano second away from striking the ball. Kevin takes a step forward and is probably just off his line when the ball is struck.
14-07-2021, 06:42 AM
Think the guy speaks really well. From an Arsenal perspective, the guy is right there was no change from the poor performances from last season. Many of those players shouldn't be at Arsenal.
14-07-2021, 06:44 AM
I think in the case of the Arsenal TV guy it was nothing malicious, he's just your average uneducated Essex boy simpleton.
14-07-2021, 06:46 AM
Extended highlights Arsenal vs Hibernian 1−2 - All Gоals & Extеndеd Hіghlіghts - 2021 - YouTube (https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=ErRIS4TTcp4)
Although a hard watch due to the editing!!
14-07-2021, 07:10 AM
Think the guy speaks really well. From an Arsenal perspective, the guy is right there was no change from the poor performances from last season. Many of those players shouldn't be at Arsenal.
The inarticulate muppet with the microphone was having a laugh at not knowing how to pronounce Hibernian but would have no bother getting his tongue round a multitude of their foreign players. :greengrin
14-07-2021, 07:26 AM
That was good from Hibs yesterday, we managed to pass the ball round well, also building up from the back looked solid, great to get back to ER, Arsenal have only just got back to training, but a wins a win. Onwards and upwards.
14-07-2021, 07:31 AM
Agree clearly offside in saying that never a pen in a million years imo so justice done by the save.
14-07-2021, 07:36 AM
His heel might have been on the line, not a great photo, but I'm not so sure. Looks more like his right (standing) foot is already over the line, and his left foot is off the ground and moving forward to give him the momentum to dive to his left.
Think he was ahead of the line when shot came in :agree:
14-07-2021, 07:59 AM
I do think that it was great PR for Hibs yesterday.
The Saka jersey was a nice touch before the game and also beating Arsenal while maybe a friendly had a lot of social talking from Arsenal fans and rival fans if you look at the comments.
They have 17.6 million followers on Twitter! That’s quite a reach for Hibs around the world.
Think Hibs increased their Twitter numbers also and I’ve been liking the new social media content we are putting out - definitely better interactions and getting a closer look at the club.
I do think that it was great PR for Hibs yesterday.
The Saka jersey was a nice touch before the game and also beating Arsenal while maybe a friendly had a lot of social talking from Arsenal fans and rival fans if you look at the comments.
They have 17.6 million followers on Twitter! That’s quite a reach for Hibs around the world.
Think Huns increased their Twitter numbers also and I’ve been liking the new social media content we are putting out - definitely better interactions and getting a closer look at the club.
Assume huns was an autocorrect and you meant hibs!