View Full Version : Match Updates Scotland V Czech Republic

Pages : [1] 2 3 4

14-06-2021, 07:58 AM
22 years, 11 months and 22 days since Scotland last kicked a ball at a major tournament we are back.

I walked into work this morning and it was great to see people flying flags from windows, guys who either had tickets or were making an early start in the pub kilted up. It's crazy to think that for a huge chunk of the population this is the 1st time they will have experienced Scotland competing at a major tournament.

I think the team will be largely sticking with the tried and tested, the middle of the park is really where the biggest decision has to be made. Stick with the out of form Mcgreggor or change it up?

I'm sticking my neck out and saying we'll get a result today. 2-1 Scotland.

:saltireflag:saltireflag:saltireflag

14-06-2021, 08:10 AM
Agree think we will nick it but very tight game I think. Czech are decent technical team and have some real threats and will be better than when we beat them at Hampden in nations league. Defensively they can be got at so will be very interesting to see how Clarke plays it whether play Adams or how I think we will start with Christie off Dykes. Think he likes Hanley and Hendry however we need to be decent defensively at set pieces as they are a big team. As for midfield think he will stick with McGregor McTominay and McGinn. Very good bench options.

14-06-2021, 08:18 AM
Never thought I'd say this but I am way way more excited for this than I was for the Cup Final!

:saltireflag

14-06-2021, 08:21 AM
Anyone on here going today?
Enjoy it

14-06-2021, 08:23 AM
Enjoy it

Just set off now for the game. A bit nervous as it's the first real thing I've done since COVID kicked off but the excitement is building. Feeling pretty confident actually. Someone else said 2-1 Scotland - I like that prediction. Would love to see Nisbet getting some minutes.

14-06-2021, 08:30 AM
Weird, I also fancy 2-1 us.

My boy has maths at 2 but the teachers letting them watch it in the class. It’s that kind of thing that makes major international tournaments special and just a bigger ‘collective’ vibe for me than club football. That Brazil game in 98 seems a long time ago.

14-06-2021, 08:46 AM
I think it will be 1-0 either way.

14-06-2021, 08:50 AM
Enjoy it

well there’s at least two other Hibees other than me - that’s not me BTW

14-06-2021, 08:54 AM
All the kids at our school were asked to come in with Scotland colours on and will be watching the game. Buzzing for it. Also fancy Scotland to win 2-1.

14-06-2021, 09:02 AM
All the kids at our school were asked to come in with Scotland colours on and will be watching the game. Buzzing for it. Also fancy Scotland to win 2-1.

I've gone for 2-1 Scotland in my work predicition league thing.

I'll be watching at work - either on my phone or maybe a laptop if there's one vacant. I even remembered to bring earphones :aok:

14-06-2021, 09:09 AM
I am fortunately WFH today. So will be able to watch it. A lucky coincidence! My boss has put a zoom meeting in for 3 o'clock though so will need to have the sound down on tv and may have to turn my camera off as well. Scotland to win!

14-06-2021, 09:40 AM
Need a win today to stand a chance imo.

14-06-2021, 10:01 AM
Good luck fellas from the Auld Enemy, well this particular Auld Enemy at least. Hope its a cracker. I think this game is the key for Scotland and qualifying to the knock out but I would imagine the Czechs will be thinking exactly the same.

Will this be the biggest event crowd wise since Covid in Scotland? Is it 12,000?

14-06-2021, 10:10 AM
Really curious to see the starting 11

14-06-2021, 10:16 AM
Anyone else nervous?

14-06-2021, 10:20 AM
My boss has just arranged online training meeting for half 2.

Welt.

14-06-2021, 10:22 AM

Welt.

That's a shocker no chance to rearrange?

14-06-2021, 10:23 AM
That's a shocker no chance to rearrange?

None. It's a global thing.

Brummie_Hibs
14-06-2021, 10:31 AM
Enjoy it
Been in pub since 8am..

14-06-2021, 10:32 AM
Good luck fellas from the Auld Enemy, well this particular Auld Enemy at least. Hope its a cracker. I think this game is the key for Scotland and qualifying to the knock out but I would imagine the Czechs will be thinking exactly the same.

Will this be the biggest event crowd wise since Covid in Scotland? Is it 12,000?

Yes 12,000 and yes biggest crowd at an event since March 2020 I think.

14-06-2021, 10:33 AM
Really curious to see the starting 11

Yeah

3 main issues

1. Centre half - Hendry gives me fear about not being robust enough with forwards and giving away free kicks in dangerous positions. Clarke likes the guy because he is good on the ball and I suspect he may go for him. I would prefer someone stronger.

2. Midfield - think he will go for tried and trusted and might bring Gilmour on if we are behind or hunting a goal after an hour. Makes sense to me.

3 Forward - Start with Dykes on his own or have Adams alongside him. Can see Clarke starting with Dykes working hard on his own for an hour to seventy minutes with the likes of McGinn trying to get close to him when we are going forward. Substituted by Adams and latterly Nisbet coming on later if we need to score.

We need points today.
I think 3 points in the group will be enough for a qualifying 3rd in group. Today is our best chance to get them so hope we play positively.

14-06-2021, 10:36 AM

Welt.

are you starting to feel ill now or will training be hurried through to finish in time for the 2nd half?

14-06-2021, 10:49 AM
here we go

14-06-2021, 10:56 AM
here we go

Is that the team? Or have you done that yourself?

14-06-2021, 10:56 AM
here we go

You should probably add that it’s your team, not THE team!

14-06-2021, 11:01 AM
here we go

I really can’t see that being the team, just my opinion though

14-06-2021, 11:13 AM
Is that the team? Or have you done that yourself?

You should probably add that it’s your team, not THE team!

I really can’t see that being the team, just my opinion though
Its on the BBC Sport website :agree:

14-06-2021, 11:16 AM
Does any overseas type person have a decent free VPN for watching the BBC?

14-06-2021, 11:23 AM
That's the most popular fans team not the actual one.

14-06-2021, 11:27 AM
That's the most popular fans team not the actual one.

I’d be gobsmacked if Paterson started. Think he’s only played 45 mins football since late April
I’m hoping Steve can use all the 5 subs at some stage today, gets 16 players some game time

Andy Bee
14-06-2021, 11:31 AM
Does any overseas type person have a decent free VPN for watching the BBC?

You have a pm

14-06-2021, 11:33 AM
You have a pm

14-06-2021, 11:41 AM
Ms Coull on Twitter: "@dennyprimsch @nurserydennyps @ScotlandNT Thank you to P6B for all the work they put in to their video to persuade me to let them watch the Scotland game on Monday. Here’s your answer. 🏴󠁧󠁢󠁳󠁣󠁴󠁿❤️ https://t.co/xFUs4LTLcJ" / Twitter (https://twitter.com/CoullMs/status/1403414374254002186?s=19&fbclid=IwAR23-OYQbRi6oKlrZbAdAaV63SxsK5rZ2Cuf7ZauYEfKHEXOZ-eZVf47Psc)

:saltireflag:saltireflag

14-06-2021, 11:46 AM
Tierney out. Baws.

Scotland: Marshall; Hendry, Hanley, Cooper; O'Donnell, McTominay, McGinn, Armstrong, Robertson (c); Christie, Dykes

Tierney out. Baws.

That’s bad news

14-06-2021, 11:48 AM
I can’t believe he’s not starting dykes and Adams together.

14-06-2021, 11:50 AM
That team is a joke.

14-06-2021, 11:51 AM
Really surprised by that team.

14-06-2021, 11:52 AM
I can’t believe he’s not starting dykes and Adams together.

Someone said Adams carrying a slight knock

14-06-2021, 11:52 AM
Baffling team! Let's see how it goes

14-06-2021, 11:53 AM
i do hope we get a good performance from ryan christie

his purple patch appears to have came to an end of late for club and country

Tierney rested for the final good move

Really surprised by that team.

Other than Tierney being out it is pretty much what I expected him to play.

14-06-2021, 11:54 AM
Marshall; Hendry, Hanley, Cooper
O'Donnell, McTominay, Armstrong, Robertson
McGinn
Christie, Dykes

Think we’ll set up like this, or will Armstrong play further forward than McGinn?

14-06-2021, 11:54 AM
That's a real *****bag of a team in the most winnable game.

14-06-2021, 11:57 AM

Adams for Christie and i would agree.

14-06-2021, 11:57 AM
That's a real *****bag of a team in the most winnable game.

It’s an attacking team though

14-06-2021, 11:59 AM
It’s an attacking team though

I agree. Pity about Tierney but Christie is due a big game. On his day he’s a right good, clever wee player so hopefully today

14-06-2021, 12:00 PM
Can't argue with that team although I worry about Dykes, hasn't done a thing in recent internationals.

Tierney's surely going to be ok for Friday...please!

I don't get the backlash on twitter etc, some folk are so bloody negative when it comes to the Scotland national team. It's a massive game let's just get behind the team, other than Tierney out (I assume injured) there are no shocks in that side to me.

Buzzing for kick off now let's get this done

I would probably have had Adams instead of Christie and of course Tierney in but I dont think that's a bad side. Armstrong instead of McGregor makes total sense to me. Cmon Scotland, make it happen!!

14-06-2021, 12:01 PM
Would’ve went 2 up top, don’t think dykes is effective unless he’s got someone playing off him. Armstrong and Christie need to get up the park and help him

14-06-2021, 12:05 PM

Snap re your post re team.
No Tierney and Robertson combo is a big attacking miss.
Our only World class player out.

However, we are where we are.
Need to get on with it.

Mcpakeisgod
You have a pm

Could you send me one as well mate ?

Tierney out. Baws.

Ouch.

14-06-2021, 12:07 PM
This is our best chance of a win. Thats a team I would pick if we need a draw in the last game.

14-06-2021, 12:07 PM
Czech Republic: Vaclik, Coufal, Boril, Celustka, Kalas, Soucek, Kral, Mosopust, Darida, Jankto, Schick.

Substitutes: Mandous, Kaderabek, Brabec, Barak, Holes, Krmencik, Sevcik, Zima, Hlozek, Vydra, Meteju, Pekhart.

Names don’t mean anything to me, is this their strongest team?

14-06-2021, 12:08 PM
This is our best chance of a win. Thats a team I would pick if we need a draw in the last game.

We can make 5 subs to change however the game is going though

Magpie
14-06-2021, 12:08 PM
Tierney surely not injured again.

14-06-2021, 12:09 PM

Thought Adams would play with this being the most winnable game we have. And, not that I would play him, I thought Callum McGregor would play.

14-06-2021, 12:09 PM

My thoughts exactly.

4 or 5 big decisions - he’s taken the cautious option every time.

What is it about the Czech Republic that makes our managers **** their pants?

Maybe we should be grateful that at least we’ve evolved to playing one striker?

Sergio sledge
14-06-2021, 12:19 PM
What team were you expecting? Other than Hanley in for Tierney, and maybe Christie in for Adams it is pretty much the team everyone thought would play.

I'm surprised he's dropped MacGregor, but I think Armstrong has been in better form so seems like a fair call.

My teenagers secondary school didn't communicate anything to the parents about whether they were going to let kids watch the game and the teachers he had refused to say, so he's coming home at lunch time to watch it. Pretty frustrating that we have to allow him to bunk off when schools all over the country have allowed kids to take time off to watch it.

14-06-2021, 12:23 PM
Crowd looks decent tbh

14-06-2021, 12:24 PM
I am suprised at Gilmour not starting.

Not sure if its a 3-5-2 with Christie or Armstrong filling in or a 5-4-1.

14-06-2021, 12:24 PM
If Christie is to take the role of playing off Dykes why on earth do you not play an actual goal scorer to do it? If he’s packing the midfield hopefully McGinn will be pushed further forward as he is the one most likely to score. We must not lose this game so this looks like a set up to achieve that.Unfortunately I think it’s the one we have the best chance of winning.

Green Man
14-06-2021, 12:34 PM
Czech Republic: Vaclik, Coufal, Boril, Celustka, Kalas, Soucek, Kral, Mosopust, Darida, Jankto, Schick.

Substitutes: Mandous, Kaderabek, Brabec, Barak, Holes, Krmencik, Sevcik, Zima, Hlozek, Vydra, Meteju, Pekhart.

Names don’t mean anything to me, is this their strongest team?

There are some players in there who have had very good seasons, it’s a strong team.

Crunchie
14-06-2021, 12:38 PM
My thoughts exactly.

Let's wait and see if he's picked a winning team or not before slating him eh. Christ you people think you know better than a guy who's been in the game all his life.
C'mon Scotland.

14-06-2021, 12:49 PM
Crowd looks decent tbh

Does indeed. Thought it was supposed to be 4 seats between each person? Clearly not happening. Also looks like everyone is drinking coke, how's that happening if everywhere inside is shut?

Is Adams injured as well? Should be starting IMO.

Santa Cruz
14-06-2021, 12:50 PM
Does indeed. Thought it was supposed to be 4 seats between each person? Clearly not happening. Also looks like everyone is drinking coke, how's that happening if everywhere inside is shut?

Is Adams injured as well? Should be starting IMO.

Probably get coca cola free if they're the sponsor. I did at an event they sponsored.

14-06-2021, 12:53 PM
hope the fans there are having a great time :cool2:

14-06-2021, 12:54 PM
Is the criteria to be a BBC pundit to be as boring as humanly possible?

14-06-2021, 12:54 PM
How many times does Barbour have to keep pretending that the 12,000 fans are the noisiest there has ever been? Give it a ****ing break man.

14-06-2021, 12:55 PM
I’ve switched to five live audio. I’m watching this with Pat Nevin.

Just ****ing do it.

14-06-2021, 12:55 PM
Robertson looks fired up.

14-06-2021, 12:56 PM
All those that complained about commentary for the England game, well we have Shelly Kerr for us today, she must have something on some one at the BBC:greengrin

My thoughts exactly.

Typically, cautious is the way to go at these tournaments.

Take a drubbing today and our campiaign will be almost over. I don’t blame Clarke for being cautious - it’s in his nature.

Well done Scotland fans for respecting the Czech anthem.

14-06-2021, 12:58 PM
Well done Scotland fans for respecting the Czech anthem.

14-06-2021, 12:58 PM

Take a drubbing today and our campiaign will be almost over. I don’t blame Clarke for being cautious - it’s in his nature.

Totally agree. There’s some good options on the bench for later.

14-06-2021, 12:59 PM
Crazy there has to be three keepers.

14-06-2021, 12:59 PM
I cant remember the last time i've seen our players so pumped up for a match.

14-06-2021, 01:01 PM
shooting towards the Hibs end 1st half

14-06-2021, 01:11 PM

Yeah, fair enough.

And whilst it might appear cautious, it’s not 460 cautious.

But whilst I get your point about what a drubbing today, I wouldn’t want to be in the position where, with hindsight, that later on we might regret being overly cautious early on.

Been a decent enough start anyway, we’re hardly parked on the edge of our own box.

ODonnell needs to calm down. That could have been a booking, needless.

Good start. Lots of energy.

14-06-2021, 01:13 PM
Stuart Armstrong is having a nightmare. Nothing seems to be working for him.

14-06-2021, 01:14 PM
Ha ha Grant Hanley’s touch there…

14-06-2021, 01:16 PM
good save marshall

14-06-2021, 01:17 PM
McGinn needs to learn he wont always get the foul just because he sticks his erse into an opposition player, nearly cost us a goal there.:rolleyes:

14-06-2021, 01:18 PM
Yeah, fair enough.

And whilst it might appear cautious, it’s not 460 cautious.

But whilst I get your point about what a drubbing today, I wouldn’t want to be in the position where, with hindsight, that later on we might regret being overly cautious early on.

Been a decent enough start anyway, we’re hardly parked on the edge of our own box.

The Netherlands almost proved both sides of the argument last night.

Far too open and let Ukraine back in, but this morning they have 3 points and are looking good.

Lots of nervous performances so far. Odonnel in particular.

Great move

14-06-2021, 01:21 PM
Dykes unlucky there

Great move

McTominay and Robertson linking up well, great ball.

O’Donnell is in that position when you are one on one chatting to an absolute stunner at the bar and you know you’ve no chance at all - looks totally out of his depth.

14-06-2021, 01:22 PM
O donnell is honking. Totally out his depth

14-06-2021, 01:22 PM
O’Donnell isn’t good enough

14-06-2021, 01:23 PM
O’Donnell is in that position when you are one on one chatting to an absolute stunner at the bar and you know you’ve no chance at all - looks totally out of his depth.

He now body checks his own player. Hope he sorts himself out

Poor from O'Donnel so far

O'donnell making everyone nervous.

Captain telling the team to calm doon.

Should be nowhere near the Scotland squad. Patterson is a way better option.

O'Donnell blocks Christie after a great wee bit of play

14-06-2021, 01:24 PM
:singing: all we are saaaaying

is give us a goal

or three

Saint Hibee
Great tackle on Christie by O’Donnell ....

Who is it that wants O'Donnell playing for us? ***** sake....

Get the f*** out out of the way O'Donnell...

14-06-2021, 01:25 PM
Pretty poor stuff from both sides so far.

14-06-2021, 01:27 PM

Agreed, it's dire. Too many passes between the back three and then back to the keeper, followed by the hoof.

14-06-2021, 01:28 PM
Certainly not inspiring

14-06-2021, 01:29 PM

Without a doubt the worst game so far in the tournament so far. Couldn’t give a monkeys if it sclaffs off dykes erchie and we get the three points.

14-06-2021, 01:31 PM
We are doing nothing when we have the ball. Just lumping it forward. Dire.

Awful defending, a better team scores from that overlap.

Scots defence a bit tentative.

While it is safe to say the winners aint coming from these two teams, we have enough here and on the bench to win this game if we can just step things up a little.

14-06-2021, 01:33 PM
Robertson should have buried that . Playing some good stuff had Hough . We can win this

14-06-2021, 01:33 PM
Great save, shot out of nothing

14-06-2021, 01:34 PM
O'donnell gives us a good attacking option when the defence are pressed, I think he's settling in to the game.

14-06-2021, 01:34 PM
Hanley has been immense so far. McGregor-esque.

14-06-2021, 01:35 PM
Pretty poor stuff from both sides so far.<br>
Certainly not inspiring&nbsp;

14-06-2021, 01:35 PM
This game is gash so far such an anti climax. England will thrash us if we play like we are today

14-06-2021, 01:36 PM

I was thinking that myself. Sometimes you just need the guy that sticks to the basics of defending.

14-06-2021, 01:37 PM
This ref is letting a lot go for both sides.

14-06-2021, 01:37 PM
O'donnell gives us a good attacking option when the defence are pressed, I think he's settling in to the game.

:agree: Both are doing well, anyone would think we were Brazil the way they think we should play. :top marks

14-06-2021, 01:39 PM

Every throw in he’s taken we’ve lost possession.

14-06-2021, 01:41 PM
John McGinn has been honking all game. :confused:

14-06-2021, 01:42 PM
**** right off

1-0 Czechs

welp

Mr Grieves
Baws

Abysmal performance so far. Steve Clarke is a *****bag

**** off

Good header to be fair.

14-06-2021, 01:43 PM
we aint scoring two goals here

Magpie
Great header.

Pish so far tbqh

Nervy looking game, O'Donnell tries hard but his lack of quality shows at times, Christie and Armstrong are tidy enough but are far too easily pushed off the ball, unlike McGinn who's is strong as an ox.

Czech getting too much of the ball and loads of crosses, and the goal was coming, poor defending and unable to get the ball cleared properly.

Every throw in he’s taken we’ve lost possession.

He's offering an outlet for the goalkeeper and is winning the vast majority of his headers. And the last 2 throws I've seen from him have been forward, risky throws. They come off sometimes, most of the time they don't. At least they're being brave with them.

Unsurprising sadly. No control of the game with this team

14-06-2021, 01:44 PM
We've nothing in the final 3rd. Got to be better,

Ah pish

Ffs

cannastar
game is crying out for billy gilmour now nobody in blue seems to be able to make anything happen apart from robertson. poor goal to lose and at a poor time.

still, we're playing for a draw so hopefully we get one at least

Too many bang average players to compete at this level.

14-06-2021, 01:45 PM
i've missed some of the game has Armstrong actually done anything of note

14-06-2021, 01:46 PM
Great header.

It was, no blame to the defenders. If you watch Marshall he dives backwards, he could have done better there.

14-06-2021, 01:46 PM
i've missed some of the game has Armstrong actually done anything of note

Gilmour would be the better option.

14-06-2021, 01:47 PM
Too many bang average players to compete at this level.Would help if the clown in the dugout started his strongest team inside of this eye bleeding "lets nick a goal" pish. Gilmour, Adams and paterson on for Armstrong, Christie and O'Donnell

If we're playing 352 then get Christie off and get Adams on and make it a proper 2 up top and non of this pish false nine in behind the striker nonsense.

Ht 0-1

I think both teams are equally poor. We could've won this but that team looks poor. Gilmour for Armstrong please

Too many slack passes, no grip in midfield and too many long balls to Dykes.

14-06-2021, 01:48 PM
Free kick ten yards into their half, goes sideways followed by three or four sideway passes. Hendry tries to play it up the line, out for a throw about ten yards into their half.

Maybe we could spare all that and just launch the ****ing ball into their box?

14-06-2021, 01:48 PM

Gilmour would be the better option.

i should have added Christie as well :greengrin

14-06-2021, 01:49 PM
I'd get McGinn off, he's done nothing except stick his erse out, Gilmour for him and Adams for Christie.

Would help if the clown in the dugout started his strongest team inside of this eye bleeding "lets nick a goal" pish. Gilmour, Adams and paterson on for Armstrong, Christie and O'Donnell

Inclined to agree tbh. I don’t see what dykes brings either

That’s a penalty for me. No idea how that wasn’t at least checked.

If we're playing 352 then get Christie off and get Adams on and make it a proper 2 up top and non of this pish false nine in behind the striker nonsense.

Christie's been the only one who's threatened them. Armstrong will be off at some point you'd have to think. Let's try to be positive,the Czechs are not that good.

It's pretty scrappy but quite exciting. Should be an all action second half. I predict a draw.

14-06-2021, 01:50 PM
McTominay and Armstrong have done nothing, Christie far too easily knocked off the ball.

Bring on Gilmour and Adams at least to shake things up.

Christie a waste of a jersey. Get Adams on. Equally, Armstrong totally ineffective, get Gilmour on

Totally agree. No intent to play ball.

Sickener to lose a goal so late in the half, especially given they hadn't really threatened.

Adams on please, we need far more movement ahead of the ball. Liked the pressure we applied right at the end of the half, need to start the second with the same intensity.

14-06-2021, 01:51 PM

It was checked. Everything is checked.

O'Donnell has been dreadful

I'd get McGinn off, he's done nothing except stick his erse out, Gilmour for him and Adams for Christie.

I would get new glasses.

14-06-2021, 01:52 PM
Pretty much a standard Scotland performance, have to accept that Scotland just don't have outstanding players.

14-06-2021, 01:52 PM

It's certainly not subtle that he's our weakest link.

14-06-2021, 01:53 PM
It was checked. Everything is checked.

I can’t believe that was, because the only sensible decision seeing it is “penalty”. Anyone saying otherwise doesn’t know the rules.

Get Adams on for Christie and Gilmour on for Armstrong.

Dykes is an absolute carthorse.

Has a first touch worse than Kamberi. Get him off ffs

Christie's been the only one who's threatened them. Armstrong will be off at some point you'd have to think. Let's try to be positive,the Czechs are not that good.

He's got good footwork and fairly tricky but pushed off the ball too easily and the play breaks up.

TBH it looks like Armstrong has froze on the big stage.

There is very little between the teams but losing such a sloppy goal is criminal. A ball into the box, a header and we face a huge task.

Hendry looks the weak link at the back. The Czechs are quite content to let Scotland knock it about but whenever it goes near him they are very keen to press him. He's let the ball slip under his foot or taken a heavy touch 4 or 5 times in that 1st half and the more he does it the more they will pressure him.

Magpie
14-06-2021, 01:54 PM
I can’t believe that was, because the only sensible decision seeing it is “penalty”. Anyone saying otherwise doesn’t know the rules.

I thought McTominay just ran into him tbh.

I thought he was clearly losing the ball so not a penalty, although he was able to ensure there was heavy contact and make it look like something it wasn’t.

Chorley Hibee
Scotland way out of their depth at this level unfortunately - especially with a lot of these guys playing.

The gushing over this team, and Clarke, has been way over the top, and results/performances haven't been impressive either.

Judgement has been clouded by two victories, on penalties, against mediocre opposition in the Nations League farce.

14-06-2021, 01:55 PM

Yep, lost control of the ball and his momentum carried him into the defender. I liked his drive though.

O'Donnell is a lower Premier league player and it's showing, I'd rather see the young Rangers lad on.

hhibs
Rank,just cannot see how this team was selected and set up to win a game.

Defense shaky,midfield not much happening there.

Dykes,get him off, just not good enough and contributing nothing anywhere on the park

Armstrong off for me. Get Adams on and go two up. Drop Christie back into Armstrong's position.

I don't like Christie, but think he's actually been decent the first half. Armstrong has done absolutely nothing.

14-06-2021, 01:56 PM

It looked a lot worse slowed down. UEFA seem to have a much higher bar for using VAR than the English prem. Which is probably fair enough, tbh.

It's like watching Hibs

oxymoron
I would get new glasses.

To be fair McGinn has been very poor, but with him a bit of magic is still likely so I'd keep him on. I think O'Donnell is out of his league, so I'd hook him, and we need some creativity in midfield so I'm also for Billy Gilmour (for Armstrong) and ultimately Adams on for Christie (tho to be fair he's looked lively when he has been involved, but too lightweight)

14-06-2021, 01:57 PM

He ran into him, check the rules that’s not a penalty.

14-06-2021, 01:57 PM

Moves the ball to the side of the defender and is subsequently clattered by a defender who was nowhere near getting the ball.

Would he have caught up with the ball, maybe not, but I’ve seen plenty of VAR decisions this year where that doesn’t matter.

14-06-2021, 01:58 PM
Definitely our most winnable game and we've been pretty ineffective, especially in attack. Manager has big job to do in this 45.

There is very little between the teams but losing such a sloppy goal is criminal. A ball into the box, a header and we face a huge task.

Hendry looks the weak link at the back. The Czechs are quite content to let Scotland knock it about but whenever it goes near him they are very keen to press him. He's let the ball slip under his foot or taken a heavy touch 4 or 5 times in that 1st half and the more he does it the more they will pressure him.

As an ex keeper, don’t you think Marshall gets his form all wrong there? Arms backwards and no power in the jump. Great header but I thought it was saveable.

Adams coming on

14-06-2021, 02:00 PM
O'Donnell is a big problem, he's much poorer then his team mates ability wise but in because of his height and experience and because there's nobody else. I'd like to see Patterson on for him at some point.

Scotland way out of their depth at this level unfortunately - especially with a lot of these guys playing.

The gushing over this team, and Clarke, has been way over the top, and results/performances haven't been impressive either.

Judgement has been clouded by two victories, on penalties, against mediocre opposition in the Nations League farce.

Cheer up

We’re missing 4 or 5 of our better players here though, only one of them enforced.

I just don’t think we have the players to play pragmatically.

Adams, Gilmour, Tierney, Patterson - would drag this team up several levels imo.

Even Fraser and Turnbull.

He better not put f’ing McGregor on and expect it to improve as well.

After a bright start it’s been pretty poor.

14-06-2021, 02:02 PM
Christie off

Good news

It's like watching Hibs

Just what I thought tbh.

This “keep it tight, see how it goes and try to nick it 2nd half” stuff seems popular.

Need a rousing second half. Come on Scotland.

[QUOTE=blackpoolhibs;6593963]I'd get McGinn off, he's done nothing except stick his erse out, Gilmour for him and Adams for Christie.[/

14-06-2021, 02:03 PM
Armstrong gets another chance to improve

save Marshall

Absolutely baffling how Dykes stays on the park.

14-06-2021, 02:04 PM
and again Marshall

14-06-2021, 02:04 PM
Armstrong and O’Donnell both poor for me.

I’d bring on Turnbull for the former as he’s more creative than Gilmour.

14-06-2021, 02:05 PM
**** sake czechs come out on fire

off the bar scotland

Mr Grieves
Unlucky Hendry

14-06-2021, 02:06 PM
great save their keeper

14-06-2021, 02:06 PM
Nearly a freak OG.

14-06-2021, 02:07 PM
Crazy start

****ing hell. No luck at all

I would get new glasses.

He's was pish in that 1st half.

Sergio sledge
He ran into him, check the rules that’s not a penalty.He did run into him, but for me the defender makes a move across to block his run. If the defender had just stayed still then it would have been as you say, but I think the defender makes a clear step across McTominay to block his run.

Been pretty even so far. For all I defended the selections before the game, I don't think it has worked and I think that Steve Clarke has got to change it somehow.

We miss Tierney's drive, one of the key things about a back three is that at least one of the CB's should be comfortable driving forward into midfield to create space for other players. At the minute the Czechs know that none of our CB's are going to do that so they have been able to snuff out our midfield 3 pretty effectively. I'd be tempted to sub Hendry off and move McTominay back.

14-06-2021, 02:08 PM
nawty czech player

14-06-2021, 02:08 PM
Great response to an awful start.

14-06-2021, 02:09 PM
0-2 game over

****ing hell

JXM73
Thats a belter... baws

He did run into him, but for me the defender makes a move across to block his run. If the defender had just stayed still then it would have been as you say, but I think the defender makes a clear step across McTominay to block his run.

Been pretty even so far. For all I defended the selections before the game, I don't think it has worked and I think that Steve Clarke has got to change it somehow.

We miss Tierney's drive, one of the key things about a back three is that at least one of the CB's should be comfortable driving forward into midfield to create space for other players. At the minute the Czechs know that none of our CB's are going to do that so they have been able to snuff out our midfield 3 pretty effectively. I'd be tempted to sub Hendry off and move McTominay back.

If none of the back 3 are going to drive into midfield then go a back 4.

Mr Grieves
That's some finish to be fair

Magpie
14-06-2021, 02:10 PM
What a goal man

Hahaha

dear o dear Marshall

Absolutely *****.

Yeah good one. Clarke has to go. This is entirely on him with his pathetic selection

Scotland finding new ways to lose games.

Hendry suicide. Goalkeeper -posted missing.

That's that then, poor performance all round.

Bye bye Euro's been nice knowing you, typical Scotland love to raise the hopes and kick you in the balls.

14-06-2021, 02:11 PM
Wtf was Marshall doing

Brilliant goal

As Arthur Montford would say: Disaster for Scotland.

Yeah good one. Clarke has to go. This is entirely on him with his pathetic selection

FFS aye lets sack everyone every time we lose a game. :rolleyes:

EI255
Get Nisbet on. Now

Sent from my LG-H870 using Tapatalk

Swallowed up and spat out.

Sent from my SM-A405FN using Tapatalk

Magpie
Could be in for a hammering on Friday.

Back to not really caring about Scotland for another couple of decades then and back to ‘ABE’ 😅

14-06-2021, 02:12 PM
Poor decision making. Why did Scotland think a shot there was the best option?

EI255
Wtf was Marshall doingShocking goalkeeping.

One game and let’s sack him 😂

Could get really embarrassing. 😬

I can see another 2-3 goals by this lot, Scotland have collapsed, defence is all over the place.

FFS aye lets sack everyone every time we lose a game. :rolleyes:We are out now. All down to him. We got to the finals in spite of him and his decision making in Serbia nearly cost us too. England and Croatia will smash us.

That was a special goal.

EI255
Could be in for a hammering on Friday.Czechs are a right decent team

FFS aye lets sack everyone every time we lose a game. :rolleyes:

Ignore him, it's his/her usual trolling...

14-06-2021, 02:13 PM
Gordon in for the England game

Some finish but Hendry taking the shot on was madness when you look at the players Scotland had available. He was always leaving us vulnerable if it was blocked or saved and released quickly.

Ach well the dream was fun whilst it lasted, a group stage exit beckons again.

Wtf was Marshall doing

Pretty much what any other keeper would be doing, positioning to be out for a through ball. It's a class finish.

We are out now. All down to him. We got to the finals in spite of him and his decision making in Serbia nearly cost us too. England and Croatia will smash us.

I dont remember my first pint either.

14-06-2021, 02:14 PM
Ignore him, it's his/her usual trolling...Im not trolling pal. But thanks for reminding me why i dont post on here much these days. Place is dying on its arse.

14-06-2021, 02:14 PM
All on Jack Hendry for me. Ridiculous decision to shoot.