View Full Version : Match Updates Scotland V Czech Republic

Pages : 1 2 3 [4]

15-06-2021, 09:20 AM
The modern day sweeper keeper plays high up the pitch, was he too far, I don't know tbh but it was a hell of a shot with technique that beat him, at that pace he'd be lucky to do that 3 out of 10 times.

15-06-2021, 09:23 AM
I see the 2nd goal is now a highlight on American morning TV. I'm afraid it's probably now going to be the defining moment of big Marshall's career, the photo of him tangled in the back of the nets is not a good look.Ripping the pish in France too

https://uploads.tapatalk-cdn.com/20210615/56b547f95dec625532a4da1ee7809fd4.jpg

15-06-2021, 09:25 AM
Thought it was incredibly impressive until I seen how far out Marshall was.

Most professional footballers could do that.

Aye, but not always on one attempt. It’s a great strike.

Marshall is an idiot. Keepers job is to protect the goal, get your angles right. If you cannae get back to your line if someone gets a shot away then you’re too far out. It’s simple. No fannying about.

15-06-2021, 09:25 AM
The modern day sweeper keeper plays high up the pitch, was he too far, I don't know tbh but it was a hell of a shot with technique that beat him, at that pace he'd be lucky to do that 3 out of 10 times.

And I think this is in a simplistic way, why I don’t see it as that great a finish.

If something can be done 30 or 40% of the time then I’m not sure it’s worthy of superlatives. A keeper saves a penalty at a similar rate. An NBA player scores a 3 pointer at a similar rate. It’s being hyped up because it’s an opportunity that doesn’t present itself to a footballer very often hence why I said earlier in the thread I’d describe it as more of a novelty goal rather than a truly great goal like Bale in the Champions League final etc.

If the stars aligned to see that opportunity present itself regularly in football then there’d be loads of those goals. It’s purely the fact that so many things need to come together at once to allow the opportunity, making it such a rarity, that makes it hugely exciting. Not the actual ability to take the chance when it does present itself.

15-06-2021, 09:34 AM
And I think this is in a simplistic way, why I don’t see it as that great a finish.

If something can be done 30 or 40% of the time then I’m not sure it’s worthy of superlatives. A keeper saves a penalty at a similar rate. An NBA player scores a 3 pointer at a similar rate. It’s being hyped up because it’s an opportunity that doesn’t present itself to a footballer very often hence why I said earlier in the thread I’d describe it as more of a novelty goal rather than a truly great goal like Bale in the Champions League final etc.

If the stars aligned to see that opportunity present itself regularly in football then there’d be loads of those goals. It’s purely the fact that so many things need to come together at once to allow the opportunity, making it such a rarity, that makes it hugely exciting. Not the actual ability to take the chance when it does present itself.

You've seen the exact opposite of what I was saying, the fact he'd only do that 30% of the time makes it more special, if he could do that 10 out of 10 then you'd say it was bog standard easy peasy stuff. Almost everyone I've heard on tv said it was an exceptional strike goal of the tournament already.

15-06-2021, 09:36 AM
Both goals were impressive - but they were both preventable.
Dykes works hard but he's not a finisher.
With Tierney out, a back four might have made more sense, giving us an extra body in midfield.
McGinn was snuffed out, McTominay kept giving the ball away.
O'Donnell looked spooked by the occasion, amazed that he wasn't hooked at half-time.
Christie starting instead of Adams was a huge mistake.
Saying all that, Scotland did create a fair few chances. More than they would in most games. That's why the word 'clinical' was used over and over again in the aftermath.

15-06-2021, 09:39 AM
How is the expected goals thing measured?

I seen somewhere on here that it’s something to do with angles and distance?

It’s a metric used to measure the likelihood of goals based on assist type (how it was created), Distance from goal, angle from goal, header, which foot, big chance(subjective view of the analyst’) then you add them up. and use it to alter the base equation which is EG=number of shots x10.

It’s far from perfect but if the gap between teams is any wider than 3.0 x 1.0 you’ve battered them in general play in terms of the last thirds of the pitch :greengrin.

Sergio sledge
15-06-2021, 09:44 AM
Aye, but not always on one attempt. It’s a great strike.

Marshall is an idiot. Keepers job is to protect the goal, get your angles right. If you cannae get back to your line if someone gets a shot away then you’re too far out. It’s simple. No fannying about.I posted an article earlier in the thread written by a former goalie explaining why he was in that position. Rio Ferdinand (I think) said on TV last night, when the other pundits were saying that Marshall was to far forward, that keepers are told to position themselves like that now.

Protecting the goal starts much further up the pitch now than it used to and teams analyse positioning and play percentages much more now. I have no doubt Marshall was told to be in that position.

Most of the time Marshall is positioned to pick up any clearance and keep the pressure on the defending team, keeping them hemmed in in their own half.

The reality is that 99 times or of 100 the ball doesn't break that quickly or perfectly to the forward and he can't attempt that strike or Marshall has time to get back to stop any opportunistic shot.

Of course we only remember the times where it goes wrong, not the other 99 times where it works perfectly and snuffs out a potential attack before it gets going out keeps pressure building on a defending team.

15-06-2021, 09:45 AM
I am not an international footballer but I would have thought a ball coming across you would be easier to hit accurately than one running away from you. But that's just my opinion.

Yesterday was a perfect storm of coincidences, the shot from Hendry could have ricocheted anywhere, it fell perfectly for schick, schick hit an accurate shot at an unguarded target, Marshall could have been 10m further back and he would have saved it. Just my opinion.

Pretty much sums it up quite a bizarre thing to happen the way it came about landing perfectly for him. Especially given we were pressing at that time a huge turnaround in fortune. Thought a lot of the game we were ok however no doubt how clinical Shick was while we were pretty wasteful especially the Robertson and Dykes chances imo.

15-06-2021, 09:45 AM
Ripping the pish in France too

https://uploads.tapatalk-cdn.com/20210615/56b547f95dec625532a4da1ee7809fd4.jpg
Oh dear, sometimes I think that a glorious campaign but one in which Scotland fails to qualify is preferable to this.

15-06-2021, 09:52 AM
You've seen the exact opposite of what I was saying, the fact he'd only do that 30% of the time makes it more special, if he could do that 10 out of 10 then you'd say it was bog standard easy peasy stuff. Almost everyone I've heard on tv said it was an exceptional strike goal of the tournament already.

Nothing in football will be done 10 times out of 10. Teams score from a corner I’d imagine about 1 in 30 times. That’s not special.

I know I’m reading the opposite of what you’re saying but for the same reasons as you’ve mentioned I’ve come to the opposite conclusion :greengrin I don’t see why something which I’d expect people to score about 30 or 40% of the time that they take it on to be special.

15-06-2021, 09:53 AM
I posted an article earlier in the thread written by a former goalie explaining why he was in that position. Rio Ferdinand (I think) said on TV last night, when the other pundits were saying that Marshall was to far forward, that keepers are told to position themselves like that now.

Protecting the goal starts much further up the pitch now than it used to and teams analyse positioning and play percentages much more now. I have no doubt Marshall was told to be in that position.

Most of the time Marshall is positioned to pick up any clearance and keep the pressure on the defending team, keeping them hemmed in in their own half.

The reality is that 99 times or of 100 the ball doesn't break that quickly or perfectly to the forward and he can't attempt that strike or Marshall has time to get back to stop any opportunistic shot.

Of course we only remember the times where it goes wrong, not the other 99 times where it works perfectly and snuffs out a potential attack before it gets going out keeps pressure building on a defending team.

As Alan Shearer said, an opportunity like that never fell to him once in his career.

I’d imagine for alot of goalkeepers that they’ll never play in a game where a player will end up getting that sort of opportunity. For the once in a blue moon that it goes wrong it’s more than worth the amount of through balls they’ll intercept that would leave a striker through one on one with the goalkeeper if they weren’t there.

I do think that Marshall contributed to it going wrong yesterday though.

15-06-2021, 09:58 AM
I posted an article earlier in the thread written by a former goalie explaining why he was in that position. Rio Ferdinand (I think) said on TV last night, when the other pundits were saying that Marshall was to far forward, that keepers are told to position themselves like that now.

If being up the park can cost you a goal 1% of the time then don’t be that far up the park. The defence weren’t that far away from him.

If he was 10 yards back, he can get back in time, and he’s still capable of playing as a sweeper.

Marshall will be blaming himself. It’s not his fault we lost the game, but definitely his fault we lost the second goal.

15-06-2021, 10:00 AM
I honestly don't know how many Scotland fans genuinely think we're that good.

Getting to these finals papered over a lot the failings and inadequacies that we've seen around Clarke's teams and setups. He's been exposed big-time yesterday by (as you say) a vastly superior organised unit in the Czechs.

We might have a bunch of Premier League players who have performed well individually this year, but Clarke doesn't know how to put them together into a useful side - against lower level opposition, he's gotten away with that but on this stage, he's going to see those sides struggle.

His persistent reliance on 'tried and tested' players is going to be our downfall - we should have seen the likes of Patterson, Gilmour, Turnbull, Adams (from the start), who are form players, given the chance to go and do something. Instead, Clarke sent out a team to 'hold our own' and try and steal a goal.

I look around our squad and see a LOT of individual talent being wasted in a petrified system that doesn't know how to adapt. Final 15 minutes, we actually looked potent as a team chasing the game - we need to start games with the shackles off like that.

We've maybe got 1 or 2 players that could be considered world class but on the world stage most of them are just place fillers. The Czechs are similar, just better organised. After the opening game it was obvious that Scotland are out of their depth, teams like Italy have quality all over the park and there's no way we can seriously compete at this level. The law of averages will ensure we get the odd surprise result, but we don't have the quality on and off the field to seriously challenge at international level.

15-06-2021, 10:02 AM

Rios just wrong there, as many outfield pundits tend to be about what is in many ways a totally different sport:agree:

You are coached to play that high in teams that play a system like Bielsas or Guardiolias or Stendels (:greengrin). He’s got no business being that far up the pitch in OUR system, when the defenders aren’t even that high, you don’t have great pace and athleticism to get back and the added benefit you get from being high (better depth of field vision) isn’t as important as guarding your net. If he’s got a habit of doing that it should have been picked up by analytics people.

15-06-2021, 10:06 AM
Nothing in football will be done 10 times out of 10. Teams score from a corner I’d imagine about 1 in 30 times. That’s not special.

I know I’m reading the opposite of what you’re saying but for the same reasons as you’ve mentioned I’ve come to the opposite conclusion :greengrin I don’t see why something which I’d expect people to score about 30 or 40% of the time that they take it on to be special.

Surely the lower the odds means its harder to score, if it was so bloody easy why don't we see it every week in the EPL. I'm not doing a back and forth post with you Callum, I disagree with you as do many others, we'll leave it at that.

Allez Hibs
15-06-2021, 10:08 AM
Some thread.

1. Marshall was far too far off his line.

2. Schick gained the awareness it was on from noticing Marshall was coming off his line in first half.

3. All factors came together to allow it to happen. Schick having time and space, Marshall off his line and execution of thought to try it.

All equates to an outstanding finish and goal.

15-06-2021, 10:09 AM
Rios just wrong there, as many outfield pundits tend to be about what is in many ways a totally different sport:agree:

You are coached to play that high in teams that play a system like Bielsas or Guardiolias or Stendels (:greengrin). He’s got no business being that far up the pitch in OUR system, when the defenders aren’t even that high, you don’t have great pace and athleticism to get back and the added benefit you get from being high (better depth of field vision) isn’t as important as guarding your net. If he’s got a habit of doing that it should have been picked up by analytics people.

Don't understand you saying "our defenders aren't even that high" when they were actually in the other half with one of them taking a stupid shot at goal when he had two players outside him.

Allez Hibs
15-06-2021, 10:11 AM
I dont know if it was previous tournament experience but I thought the Czechs managed the game better. Couldnt fault Scotland for endevour but then you'd expect that. The Czechs just looked a bit more savvy to me and Scotland almost naive but maybe you would expect that as Scotland had a lot of tournament rust to shake off. On another day and bit of luck Scotland could have scored one or two today, controlling the game in midfield is vital at the top level and I thought the Czechs did a number on Scotland there. Defensively need to get smarter especially on the right, England in particularly have some very skilful wide players. Against Croatia cant afford to lose the midfield battle or Modric is still very capable of taking a team apart. Theres still hope one win presents possibility of qualifying. Thought Robertson was very good in the first half, faded a bit in the second. SJM very much in Souceks pocket.

I agree with this. Czech Republic weren't to be taken lightly. Reached the final in 96 and have reached every tournament since then.

15-06-2021, 10:14 AM
Don't understand you saying "our defenders aren't even that high" when they were actually in the other half with one of them taking a stupid shot at goal when he had two players outside him.

Whether we should be playing that way or not is a different story but the defenders were high up the pitch at that point in time. As such, Marshall also needs to be, although not quite as inexplicably high as he was.

Allez Hibs
15-06-2021, 10:16 AM
That ball broke absolutely perfectly to the Czech player yesterday.

100%

Sergio sledge
15-06-2021, 10:19 AM

In open play I agree with you about our system, but was this not the second/third phase from a Scotland corner?

If being up the park can cost you a goal 1% of the time then don’t be that far up the park. The defence weren’t that far away from him.

If he was 10 yards back, he can get back in time, and he’s still capable of playing as a sweeper.

Marshall will be blaming himself. It’s not his fault we lost the game, but definitely his fault we lost the second goal.

So you ignore the benefit that you get 99% of the time in order to prevent the 1% where it goes against you? That's daft IMHO, you have to play the way that gives you the best chance to win the majority of the time even if it might lead to the odd setback.

Defenders were 20 yards or so in front of him, ready to collect any clearances that fell inside the Czech half. Marshall was there to collect clearances which went further and keep the pressure on.

15-06-2021, 10:24 AM
In open play I agree with you about our system, but was this not the second/third phase from a Scotland corner?

So you ignore the benefit that you get 99% of the time in order to prevent the 1% where it goes against you? That's daft IMHO, you have to play the way that gives you the best chance to win the majority of the time even if it might lead to the odd setback.

Defenders were 20 yards or so in front of him, ready to collect any clearances that fell inside the Czech half. Marshall was there to collect clearances which went further and keep the pressure on.

The benefit of being up there is so small, that aye, I’d have him only as far up the park as he’s capable of getting back in time. If he was quicker, he could be further her the park.

I don’t think the phase should matter. In fact, from a corner that’s about to be flung in, when retaining possession is far from guaranteed, even less than if we have simple possession in midfield, he doesn’t need to be that high. I agree there IS a balance to be struck, a risk-benefit analysis if you work in financial services) and Yes there is Always an advantage from increased visibility, but to me that seemed an unnecessary risk too far.

Argylehibby
The ball is more often than not moving away from a player. Unless you’re doing something first time then that’s exactly the way the ball will be moving.

As I said above, Olmo sent a 50 yard switch the width of the pitch bang onto Torres’ knee without him moving. A significantly smaller target and the ball was moving away from him then as well. Nothing was made of it because it’s really not all that impressive.

CF was of course referring to a ball moving away from the player at pace not as the result of a pass played in front of him by a teammate.

15-06-2021, 10:28 AM

What I mean is, in our SYSTEM they’re not asked to play that high. Obviously in that exact moment they were high up the pitch.

highland hibbee
15-06-2021, 12:21 PM
Some thread.

1. Marshall was far too far off his line.

2. Schick gained the awareness it was on from noticing Marshall was coming off his line in first half.

3. All factors came together to allow it to happen. Schick having time and space, Marshall off his line and execution of thought to try it.

All equates to an outstanding finish and goal.

Agreed on all 3 points, what i dont understand is, if Schick noted Marshall coming off his line in the first half, why didn't our management team ?

15-06-2021, 12:52 PM
The scorer has said he'd seen Marshall that far out his area a couple of times before the goal, which leads me to believe Marshall has been instructed to do this.

If so, the blame is squarely on Clarke, then Hendry for bloody shooting when the pass was wide to O'Donnel and Marshall is blameless as he was only carrying out orders from the coach.

By the way, what a finish, world class. :top marks

15-06-2021, 01:01 PM
Cesc Fabregas said it was an extremely difficult shot, made harder by the ball traveling away from him. All I need to know. Brilliant goal. Certainly not easy for any level of footballer.

15-06-2021, 01:12 PM
The dafties on here who think it was an easy finish have maybe got it into their heads that it was a free hit from the halfway line with no opposition players in evidence, Soccer AM challenge style. It was a high speed, high pressure situation in a European championship game in which a split second decision had to be made with one opposition player challenging and the keeper still in play if well off his line. Fantastic finish.

15-06-2021, 01:28 PM
The dafties on here who think it was an easy finish have maybe got it into their heads that it was a free hit from the halfway line with no opposition players in evidence, Soccer AM challenge style. It was a high speed, high pressure situation in a European championship game in which a split second decision had to be made with one opposition player challenging and the keeper still in play if well off his line. Fantastic finish.

People that don’t hold the same opinion as you are dafties? :rolleyes:

As for opposition player challenging, he had nobody within 3 or 4 yards of him. He wasn’t being challenged.

15-06-2021, 01:30 PM
At the end of the day, all the "if only or what if" are only an attempt by Clarke and others to excuse what was a bad team selection and and a poor team performance.

15-06-2021, 01:42 PM
People that don’t hold the same opinion as you are dafties? :rolleyes:

As for opposition player challenging, he had nobody within 3 or 4 yards of him. He wasn’t being challenged.

The whole thing is so daft I honestly don't know why I bothered posting. I'll leave you to get the last word and hopefully you'll be happy with that.

15-06-2021, 02:59 PM
At the end of the day, all the "if only or what if" are only an attempt by Clarke and others to excuse what was a bad team selection and and a poor team performance.

Actually thought the performance was decent however they scored and we didn't.

15-06-2021, 03:08 PM
What I mean is, in our SYSTEM they’re not asked to play that high. Obviously in that exact moment they were high up the pitch.

Wasn't it in Shankly's day in Liverpool that he decided to use a tactics board with subbuteo players to demonstrate various systems.The players gathered round to be educated and then Tommy Smith kicked the board up in the air. Shankly was mad and asked him what he was doing."Opponents just came on the park" said Tommy.

The dalmeny
15-06-2021, 03:16 PM
Marshall is an idiot. Keepers job is to protect the goal, get your angles right. If you cannae get back to your line if someone gets a shot away then you’re too far out. It’s simple. No fannying about.

Quotes like yours show who the idiots are :rolleyes:

15-06-2021, 06:30 PM
Ian Wright the latest to say it was a fantastic goal by the Czech player - there is definitely a theme here

15-06-2021, 06:32 PM
Ian Wright the latest to say it was a fantastic goal by the Czech player - there is definitely a theme here

Another pundit who knows nothing of lowland league football tbqh

15-06-2021, 06:38 PM

Lol

15-06-2021, 06:41 PM
Lol

15-06-2021, 06:41 PM

Is this a whoosh moment but what's the lowland league got to do with it?

15-06-2021, 06:42 PM
Actually thought the performance was decent however they scored and we didn't.
Well they scored twice & we didn't 😔

15-06-2021, 06:43 PM
Is this a whoosh moment but what's the lowland league got to do with it?

Someone suggested i clearly hadn’t played football to any sort of level because of one of my posts. I said I’d played to the lowland league which is higher than most and for some reason that suddenly means I claimed goals like that get scored every week in the lowland league.

It’s absolutely exceptional banter.

15-06-2021, 06:46 PM
Someone suggested i clearly hadn’t played football to any sort of level because of one of my posts. I said I’d played to the lowland league which is higher than most and for some reason that suddenly means I claimed goals like that get scored every week in the lowland league.

It’s absolutely exceptional banter from the same posters over and over.

Ah ok.

The Lowland League is actually a decent standard, the teams like Bonyrigg at the top of it are not far off top League 2 /bottom League 1 standard. Obviously not international but as you say I'd very surprised if more than a handful of folk on this site could play at that level.

15-06-2021, 06:47 PM

It is good craic with calumhibee playing the role of King Canute

15-06-2021, 06:48 PM

Glad you’re taking it well.

15-06-2021, 07:00 PM
Quotes like yours show who the idiots are :rolleyes:

Hahahaha

No bother The Dalmoany.

15-06-2021, 07:00 PM
Glad you’re taking it well.

Its not funny, though.

Having any opinion on here just you grief now. It gets chucked back at you constantly.

15-06-2021, 07:13 PM
Its not funny, though.

Having any opinion on here just you grief now. It gets chucked back at you constantly.

You’re better posting “Cesc Fabregas said it was good so I’ll go with that” rather than actually forming your own opinion.

This is what happens when constant trolling and personal abuse by certain posters gets ignored though.

15-06-2021, 07:17 PM

You’re better posting “Cesc Fabregas said it was good so I’ll go with that” rather than actually forming your own opinion.

This is what happens when constant trolling and personal abuse by certain posters gets ignored though.

We formed our own opinion. It was backed up by those players.

You weren’t slow when you thought Alan Shearer said something to back your view.

15-06-2021, 07:20 PM
We formed our own opinion. It was backed up by those players.

You weren’t slow when you thought Alan Shearer said something to back your view.

We? Do you speak for everyone?

I formed my opinion a long time before Alan Shearer came out with his and I’d have thought the same regardless of what he said thanks.

15-06-2021, 07:25 PM

Wait, I said that about Cesc? Whats wrong with that :greengrin

Really though, its just boring. I hate that patter. Should be entitled to your own thoughts without hearing about it at every bit of evidence to the opposite.

15-06-2021, 07:27 PM
I used to play 5s at the Tartan Club but I'm big enough to admit that the game's changed since back then.

15-06-2021, 07:27 PM
Wait, I said that about Cesc? Whats wrong with that :greengrin

Really though, its just boring. I hate that patter. Should be entitled to your own thoughts without hearing about it at every bit of evidence to the opposite.

To be fair plenty others have said it as well.

15-06-2021, 07:32 PM

I formed my opinion a long time before Alan Shearer came out with his and I’d have thought the same regardless of what he said thanks.

And others formed their opinion watching the goal live. You brought up the Fabregas thing to suggest that’s where people were getting their opinions.

You aren’t being victimised. When you post a pretty out there opinion, write A LOT to defend it then you can expect a lot of people to disagree.

It’s also not really surprising that bringing up playing in the lowland league was going to lead to a bit of ribbing.

15-06-2021, 07:34 PM

I formed my opinion a long time before Alan Shearer came out with his thanks.

Still think you’ve got a point CalumH. No pressure on the Czech player taking that pop. They were leading and our keeper had gone walkabout, gifting him the chance to have a go. The ball could have gone anywhere but it didn’t and he caught it just sweet. On a given day, in those circumstances, any half decent pro could have executed that attempt and had a fair chance of success. The fact it went in somehow gives him legendary status and we need to talk about it forever.
Interesting that the French reaction we’ve seen is to ridicule Marshall with the Spider-Man net thing. The author of that knew it had more to do with poor defending and a keeper error than some incredible skill on the part of the scorer.
I, along with most others on hear I expect, wish I’d reached Lowland League standard football and playing at that level certainly gives you a different insight. Your detractors are more likely to resemble the Sunday league wannabes who try to score from kickoff every week.

15-06-2021, 07:37 PM
Ah ok.

The Lowland League is actually a decent standard, the teams like Bonyrigg at the top of it are not far off top League 2 /bottom League 1 standard. Obviously not international but as you say I'd very surprised if more than a handful of folk on this site could play at that level.

But that depends on whether the poster involved was rocking the lowland league with Latapyesque performances every week, or if he got on in the last 7 minutes of a meaningless cup game, once. Or somewhere in between.

Or maybe this is all babyish self obsessed nonsense and folk need to learn to step away from the keys.

15-06-2021, 07:42 PM
Still think you’ve got a point CalumH. No pressure on the Czech player taking that pop. They were leading and our keeper had gone walkabout, gifting him the chance to have a go. The ball could have gone anywhere but it didn’t and he caught it just sweet. On a given day, in those circumstances, any half decent pro could have executed that attempt and had a fair chance of success. The fact it went in somehow gives him legendary status and we need to talk about it forever.
Interesting that the French reaction we’ve seen is to ridicule Marshall with the Spider-Man net thing. The author of that knew it had more to do with poor defending and a keeper error than some incredible skill on the part of the scorer.
I, along with most others on hear I expect, wish I’d reached Lowland League standard football and playing at that level certainly gives you a different insight. Your detractors are more likely to resemble the Sunday league wannabes who try to score from kickoff every week.

So it ‘could’ have gone ‘anywhere’, a half decent pro ‘could’ have executed it There was a ‘fair’ chance of success.

This is pretty much the point. It didn’t go anywhere. It was executed perfectly. Getting it right given the vague chance of success you’ve highlighted makes it a top class finish.

Nah, there is no different perspective from someone who played lowland league. We heard from some top players including a World Cup winner. A little perspective required.

15-06-2021, 07:45 PM
I think this forum would be better if people took themselves less seriously. Before anyone questions my credentials I’ve ran a lowland league forum in the past.

15-06-2021, 07:48 PM
I think this forum would be better if people took themselves less seriously. Before anyone questions my credentials I’ve ran a lowland league forum in the past.

Well Ive got a HND in Marine telecommunications and Electronics. The thread has turned into bollux. We all have the right to an opinion the boards would be pointless without it.

15-06-2021, 07:56 PM
So it ‘could’ have gone ‘anywhere’, a half decent pro ‘could’ have executed it There was a ‘fair’ chance of success.

This is pretty much the point. It didn’t go anywhere. It was executed perfectly. Getting it right given the vague chance of success you’ve highlighted makes it a top class finish.

Nah, there is no different perspective from someone who played lowland league. We heard from some top players including a World Cup winner. A little perspective required.

Aye okay. But in a discussion where we talk about forming our own opinions mine is it was a shot to nothing and he got lucky and he’ll be talked about for years to come.

15-06-2021, 07:57 PM
I literally cannot play football but I did score from one yard once in a two-a-side. Do I get an opinion?

15-06-2021, 07:59 PM
I literally cannot play football but I did score from one yard once in a two-a-side. Do I get an opinion?

Opinion ?? Mate, you get a game !!

15-06-2021, 08:00 PM
Aye okay. But in a discussion where we talk about forming our own opinions mine is it was a shot to nothing and he got lucky and he’ll be talked about for years to come.

Wasn’t really a shot to nothing. He didn’t punt it, it was a perfectly flighted finish that curved and dipped exactly the way it needed to to score.

We might as well say everything in football is luck because you can either execute what you were trying or not. Some of the best strikes in history could easily have gone ‘anywhere’ had they actually not!

15-06-2021, 08:01 PM

No. Can I recommend a site called KickBack? :greengrin

Football elite here only. Lowland League and above.

15-06-2021, 08:02 PM
The majority of professional players should be expected to hit the goal from that range.

Fewer could do it on the run.

Fewer still could do it in a match situation, let alone in a tournament as big as the Euros.

Fewer still could hit the target in that situation with the right pace and height on the ball to keep it out the keeper’s reach until it drops into the net.

All these factors contribute to it being an exceptional moment of skill from the player.

Loads of players could thump the ball towards the goal and over or under hit it, or put it wide. To score from there, in that situation, is brilliant.

Andy Robertson, a world class full back, ran onto a ball and shot from the edge of the box and hit the keeper, we’ve watched loads of games where players try shots from much closer and miss the target - never mind from that far out - so I think it’s really, really harsh to dismiss the goal as being nothing special.

15-06-2021, 08:09 PM
Just out of interest has anyone even suggested the player will be remembered for years to come or the goal will be legendary, apart from those trying to argue that it was “nothing special”. (FWIW it’s goal of the tournament so far for me and will be hard pressed to get beat)

I think the general consensus is that it was a superb strike, albeit Marshall should not have been caught that far up. I think one poster has over reacted a little and got himself in a tangle trying to make a point that it technically wasn’t all that.

Seems a bizarre lengthy argument but I guess this is what happens without either a closed thread or someone giving up.

Do carry on 😁

15-06-2021, 08:12 PM
Just out of interest has anyone even suggested the player will be remembered for years to come or the goal will be legendary, apart from those trying to argue that it was “nothing special”. (FWIW it’s goal of the tournament so far for me and will be hard pressed to get beat)

I think the general consensus is that it was a superb strike, albeit Marshall should not have been caught that far up. I think one poster has over reacted a little and got himself in a tangle trying to make a point that it technically wasn’t all that.

Seems a bizarre lengthy argument but I guess this is what happens without either a closed thread or someone giving up.

Do carry on 😁
It’s pre-season, it’s almost an anti-climax if a thread doesn’t descend into farce for no good reason.

15-06-2021, 08:12 PM

Do carry on 😁

No tangle from me. I’m quite clear as to why I don’t think it was the incredible feat of footballing technique it’s being made out to be.

15-06-2021, 08:14 PM
But that depends on whether the poster involved was rocking the lowland league with Latapyesque performances every week, or if he got on in the last 7 minutes of a meaningless cup game, once. Or somewhere in between.

Or maybe this is all babyish self obsessed nonsense and folk need to learn to step away from the keys.

Can’t believe I’m letting myself get involved in the lowland league chat, but you’re right. I know a few guys who struggled to get a game in mediocre amateur teams that suddenly were in lowland league squads because of how badly teams were struggling and who their mates are.

Anyway, more importantly, I agree with your final sentence.

15-06-2021, 08:14 PM
No tangle from me. I’m quite clear as to why I don’t think it was the incredible feat of footballing technique it’s being made out to be.

Run that by me Calum :greengrin:wink::greengrin:wink:

ffs i was joking.

15-06-2021, 08:20 PM
Wasn’t really a shot to nothing. He didn’t punt it, it was a perfectly flighted finish that curved and dipped exactly the way it needed to to score.

We might as well say everything in football is luck because you can either execute what you were trying or not. Some of the best strikes in history could easily have gone ‘anywhere’ had they actually not!

Sort of makes the discussion academic 🤣
https://youtu.be/ZU_phzsNoUk

1875Sean
16-06-2021, 09:18 PM
I just heard there Scott brown and souness will be a part of the itv coverage, does anyone know who is on stv for the game on Friday? I remember I read Raman will be hosting the coverage on that channel

16-06-2021, 10:41 PM

Do you then dismiss all goals from similar distance as not incredible feats?

17-06-2021, 07:42 AM

I imagine he doesn’t as not every goal like that is scored with the keeper so far out of position as to have no chance whatsoever of making an intervention.

17-06-2021, 07:46 AM

I’m not quite following why I would do that? :confused:

A one on one from 12 yards most likely isn’t an incredible feat. It doesn’t mean Gareth bales CL final overhead kick wasn’t because it was also from 12 yards.

I’ve actually posted a link to a goal by Stankovic from a similar distance that I would call an incredible feat because it was infinitely more difficult to execute from a technical point of view.

I just don’t think it’s an incredible feat because I don’t think it required a huge amount of skill to execute it. It’s that simple really. Imo everything fell into place perfectly for the guy including the way the ball sat for him to hit it, regardless of whether Cesc Fabregas thinks the ball didn’t sit nicely for him.

17-06-2021, 07:55 AM
I imagine he doesn’t as not every goal like that is scored with the keeper so far out of position as to have no chance whatsoever of making an intervention.

I think he is more interested in the direction of the ball in relation to the goal scorer 😉

Spudster
17-06-2021, 07:59 AM

Can’t think of many if any goals from that distance with the keeper in position!

17-06-2021, 08:29 AM
I’m not quite following why I would do that? :confused:

A one on one from 12 yards most likely isn’t an incredible feat. It doesn’t mean Gareth bales CL final overhead kick wasn’t because it was also from 12 yards.

I’ve actually posted a link to a goal by Stankovic from a similar distance that I would call an incredible feat because it was infinitely more difficult to execute from a technical point of view.

I just don’t think it’s an incredible feat because I don’t think it required a huge amount of skill to execute it. It’s that simple really. Imo everything fell into place perfectly for the guy including the way the ball sat for him to hit it, regardless of whether Cesc Fabregas thinks the ball didn’t sit nicely for him.

Well you've indicated on several different occasions that you don't think hitting the target from the half way line is not that difficult, so I was just wondering how you felt about other goals from similar positions.

17-06-2021, 08:31 AM
Well you've indicated on several different occasions that you don't think hitting the target from the half way line is not that difficult, so I was just wondering how you felt about other goals from similar positions.

I don’t think it’s all that difficult when you’re running onto it and the balls sat nicely for you, no.

However there’s almost always a lot more to a goal than just hitting the target. For this goal though, that was pretty much it.

17-06-2021, 08:31 AM

I don't see many goals like that scored with the keeper in a position where they can expect the shot.

In fact, I don't see many goalkeepers get as close to saving it as Marshall did either.

17-06-2021, 08:32 AM
I don’t think it’s all that difficult when you’re running onto it and the balls sat nicely for you, no.

However there’s almost always a lot more to a goal than just hitting the target. For this goal though, that was pretty much it.

So, David Beckhams classic then? Great piece of skill or..?

Hibdan12
17-06-2021, 08:39 AM
I just heard there Scott brown and souness will be a part of the itv coverage, does anyone know who is on stv for the game on Friday? I remember I read Raman will be hosting the coverage on that channel

David moyes doing all the scotland games for stv

17-06-2021, 09:32 AM

Another Scotland goalkeeper that day.

17-06-2021, 09:36 AM

The goalkeeper was in the middle of his box, somewhere around the penalty spot. It was certainly harder to execute with that in mind that’s for sure.

17-06-2021, 09:38 AM
The goalkeeper was in the middle of his box, somewhere around the penalty spot. It was certainly harder to execute with that in mind that’s for sure.

Are you still arguing about this. Give it up ffs

17-06-2021, 09:40 AM
Are you still arguing about this. Give it up ffs

Someone asked me a question about what I thought about Beckhams goal so I replied. That’s how a forum works. I never brought the thread back up.

17-06-2021, 09:42 AM

David Seaman was on the penalty spot when he was lobbed.

Argylehibby
17-06-2021, 09:49 AM
And in other news Scotlands hopes receive a major boost ahead of their next game..

http://https://www.bbc.co.uk/sport/football/57505830

Wakeyhibee
17-06-2021, 10:26 AM
Can’t think of many if any goals from that distance with the keeper in position!

Now that would be terrible goalkeeping surely?

17-06-2021, 10:45 AM
Now that would be terrible goalkeeping surely?

You have obviously not seen pretty boy in goals. 😂

Magpie
17-06-2021, 12:43 PM
Predictions for tomorrow?

17-06-2021, 12:47 PM

3-0 England.

17-06-2021, 12:48 PM

2-0 England.

Can’t see us scoring and I don’t think they’ll need to get out of second gear unfortunately. They have great players going forward but aren’t the best defensively. Unfortunately I don’t think we have the attacking players to capitalise on that.

17-06-2021, 12:48 PM

I think we’ll be better than we were against the Czechs, but it won’t be enough. 2-0 England.

17-06-2021, 01:10 PM
1-1. And then we will be winning 1-0 against Croatia with 5 to go and they will then equalise. Seen that script many many times

17-06-2021, 01:28 PM
A legendary 1-0 backs against the wall triumph. Che Adams the scorer.

17-06-2021, 09:45 PM
5-3 England, Kev scores a hatrick then secures a £50 million move to PSG :wink:

17-06-2021, 09:47 PM
6-5 scotland, kev scores all 6 scotland goals then secures a £100 million move to psg :wink:

ftfy

17-06-2021, 09:49 PM
ftfy

Must have been p1ssed when i posted that :greengrin

17-06-2021, 10:28 PM
3-0 England.

That's my prediction, sadly.

Work hard, but not take our chances then gift them a couple of easy goals.

18-06-2021, 04:54 AM
3-0 England.

Absolutely no chance.

18-06-2021, 05:28 AM
3-0 England.

3-0 is my prediction too. If we'd won on Monday I'd have fancied us but I just can't see it now sadly.

18-06-2021, 06:21 AM
SJM to score a screener from outside the box.
Someone who played highland league will say something like "Its a piece of pee. No skill in that at all".
We will all debate it until the Croatia game.

Well that's my prediction anyways 😉.

18-06-2021, 06:46 AM
Absolutely no chance.

4-0?

18-06-2021, 06:59 AM
Would be happy with a draw but think 2-0 England

18-06-2021, 07:37 AM
4-0?

Think England will get a consolation goal.

18-06-2021, 07:40 AM
A legendary 1-0 backs against the wall triumph. Che Adams the scorer.

John McGinn to score the only goal with his arse.

18-06-2021, 07:42 AM
England 0-1 Scotland.

In about these knee booing brexit voting statue defending nigel farage *****

18-06-2021, 08:41 AM
3-0 England. I can’t see us scoring in the tournament at all.

18-06-2021, 08:48 AM
England by at least two goals.

KingPat4
18-06-2021, 08:49 AM
England 3, Scotland 1.

Two goal lead, we get one back then caught on the break.

18-06-2021, 09:01 AM
I can't see anything other than Scotland being swept aside like an annoying fly. God I hope I'm wrong though and will happily take a flukey 1-0 win.

18-06-2021, 09:05 AM
I can't see anything other than Scotland being swept aside like an annoying fly. God I hope I'm wrong though and will happily take a flukey 1-0 win.

I've gone for 2-1 Scotland in my work's prediction league thing. Definitely a case of heart ruling head, but we can always hope...

Argylehibby
18-06-2021, 09:06 AM
England 3, Scotland 1.

Two goal lead, we get one back then caught on the break.

Sounds about right but you forgot the Scotland miss a penalty at 2-1

18-06-2021, 09:09 AM
We're probably getting caned 3 or 4 nil. Or we succeed in turning it into a derby in which case I could see us getting a draw or even a 1 nil win. We need to score first for that to happen though.

The likelihood is that for most, if not all, of these Scotland players this will be the biggest international match of their careers. And for us this game is our final. If that means we get 100% from everyone all game then you just never know, even though pound for pound they outclass us massively. Though I think their midfield lacks pace, quickness of thought and guile.

18-06-2021, 09:13 AM
We're probably getting caned 3 or 4 nil. Or we succeed in turning it into a derby in which case I could see us getting a draw or even a 1 nil win. We need to score first for that to happen though.

The likelihood is that for most, if not all, of these Scotland players this will be the biggest international match of their careers. And for us this game is our final. If that means we get 100% from everyone all game then you just never know, even though pound for pound they outclass us massively. Though I think their midfield lacks pace, quickness of thought and guile.

Word-for-word, that's almost the exact conversation that I had with a workmate this morning.

I'm not sure about scoring first though - conceding early removes the fear etc.

18-06-2021, 09:31 AM
I've gone for 2-1 Scotland in my work's prediction league thing. Definitely a case of heart ruling head, but we can always hope...

Hope you're the new oracle.