View Full Version : Match Updates Scotland V Czech Republic
14-06-2021, 02:14 PM
Some finish but Hendry taking the shot on was madness when you look at the players Scotland had available. He was always leaving us vulnerable if it was blocked or saved and released quickly.
Ach well the dream was fun whilst it lasted, a group stage exit beckons again.
This. Shocking awareness.
raeburnhibs
that is why Jack Hendry isn't good enough (yet?) at this level. Marshall looking Peter McCloyesque at Wembley there
Evans done more in his first 30 seconds than Dykes has in the whole game.
Bizarre team selection which has clearly cost us. Czech team are no great shakes.
We've seen it all before sadly.
14-06-2021, 02:15 PM
Im not trolling pal. But thanks for reminding me why i dont post on here much these days. Place is dying on its arse.
So is your patter.
14-06-2021, 02:16 PM
Boyle could have run riot against this lot, well done McLeish
Don’t think you can blame the manager for Hendry shooting but he did select him after all so maybe you can
It's amazing what a good forward, instead of just one who runs about, can actually do for a side.
Schick has been great
14-06-2021, 02:17 PM
Goal was fantastic but all on Hendry, not Marshall....
14-06-2021, 02:17 PM
Whats a "boogie"?
14-06-2021, 02:18 PM
Boyle could have run riot against this lot, well done McLeish
No he couldn't. Did you watch the cup final?
H18S NX
14-06-2021, 02:18 PM
Let's be honest we are a bang average team,it disnae help when you hear the likes of Craig Brown saying he think's we can go all the way to the final,a little reality does'nt go amiss.
14-06-2021, 02:19 PM
I thought the same but just seen an image that shows Marshall practically at the halfway line when the ball breaks. Mental.
14-06-2021, 02:19 PM
One game and let’s sack him 😂
I wanted Clarke out before we qualified. Getting passed Serbia bought him some goodwill by getting us here, and patched over a lot of the inadequacies. His tactics and selection have exposed him here today.
If we finish bottom without winning a game, then it’s a valid conversation IMO.
14-06-2021, 02:20 PM
Why was Marshall so far out though?
sorrow sorrow
14-06-2021, 02:20 PM
Marshall Hanley O’Donnell Hendry Cooper Robertson all set up not to lose a goal.
Must win game and Clarke goes with the most defensive set up he can.
Straight out the levein school of management
Totally different game. Czechs way more open that St J.
14-06-2021, 02:21 PM
You feel there is a goal in this for Scotland, their keeper has made a couple of excellent saves and when we move it quickly we look quite threatening. The issue is it wouldn't surprise anyone if they scored another 1 or 2 as well.
Hibeesforever
Marshall at fault, not Hendry, pictures show him at the centre circle...crazy positioning
People going on about our midfielders being poor without mentioning McGinn, he's been missing all game. He's done nothing all game but because he's an ex Hibs player he's getting a free ride today, he should be off the pitch and get someone on who's going to contribute.
We're knocking on the door.
Totally different game. Czechs way more open that St J.
Why aren't much better players like Adams or Mcginn running riot then?
Boyle would be easily managed here
So many chances.
This ref is an officious prick.
Dykes just isn't good enough for this level, poor touch and headless chicken comes to mind, Adams a far better option. We just don't seem to produce good strikers nowadays.
JXM73
14-06-2021, 02:22 PM
Oh great here comes macgregor... gilmour injured?
Get Dykes to ****
Ah well see you again in 2046. 🙄
Saint Hibee
Adams is at least injecting a bit of ambition.
14-06-2021, 02:23 PM
Can we please get that lump Dykes to ****.
He puts in a shift but he has the technical ability and coordination of my 3 year old daughter.
You’re having a laugh
good save their keeper again
**** sake what a chance
Mr Grieves
****ing hell,what a chance
Bringing McGregor instead of Nisbet
Aye, Boyle would have done a much better job than O'Donnell in this game, I would prefer to see us on the front foot
Magpie
Their keeper has been brilliant.
banchoryhibs
14-06-2021, 02:24 PM
Surely Dykes should be substituted, he's missed too many chances now. Just not good enough
Let's be honest we are a bang average team,it disnae help when you hear the likes of Craig Brown saying he think's we can go all the way to the final,a little reality does'nt go amiss.
I thought I had misheard that earlier. I think Craig had forgotten to take his medication when he said that. Scotland to get to the Euro Final, FFS. 😄
What a chance
Dykes should never play for Scotland ever again he’s utterly dreadful.
Nisbet finishes that.
McGregor FFS. So negative from Clarke.
EI255
Get Dykes off. Nisbet on.
Sent from my LG-H870 using Tapatalk
Goalie is having a worldie unfortunately.
for the 47th time i say....Livi hit the jackpot getting a million + for Dykes
AliboyFC
Get nisbet on ffs
Aye, Boyle would have done a much better job than O'Donnell in this game, I would prefer to see us on the front foot
Here's a quick winger now in Fraser, let's see
People going on about our midfielders being poor without mentioning McGinn, he's been missing all game. He's done nothing all game but because he's an ex Hibs player he's getting a free ride today, he should be off the pitch and get someone on who's going to contribute.
Give it a ****ing rest, replace Newell with McGinn. :rolleyes:
JXM73
14-06-2021, 02:25 PM
Clarke using bingo balls for his substitutions?
Abysmal from Dykes.
We could have 4 or 5 😭
EI255
for the 47th time i say....Livi hit the jackpot getting a million + for Dykes100% correct. He's probably average, at best.
Hopefully McGregor's been hypnotised to think he's playing for Celtic.
Chorley Hibee
14-06-2021, 02:26 PM
McGregor FFS, you're 2-0 down in your most winnable game Clarke!
I stick by everything I said in my earlier post.
100% correct. He's probably average, at best.
Only 7 or 8 times better than McBurnie.
EI255
Dykes clearly out his depth at this level.
God help that lot at Wumblee
Abysmal from Dykes.
Really bad, no composure. Not sure it would’ve counted since it bounced off of McGinn’s arm anyway.
Callum McGregor on to change the game, tremendous.
McGregor on and his first instinct is to go backwards. Bizarre sub when you see O'Donnell toiling out there.
14-06-2021, 02:27 PM
Hopefully McGregor's been hypnotised to think he's playing for Celtic.
he's been Rank for them as well most of the season
EI255
14-06-2021, 02:28 PM
Get LG on, he's sitting in the stand. Surely better than LD
14-06-2021, 02:28 PM
What a shambles
EI255
14-06-2021, 02:29 PM
McGregor on and his first instinct is to go backwards. Bizarre sub when you see O'Donnell toiling out there.A Motherwell player. Enough said really.
I know he has had his issue but this is exactly the situation in which you want Griffiths in the squad. No danger he misses the chance that Dykes did. He might not bustle about as much but give him a chance like that and he's smashing it home 9 times out of 10.
Dykes is awful. Gave us a bit of a lift when he first came in but he’s not a good finisher.
Game looks like it’s over
O’Donnells never international level either
14-06-2021, 02:30 PM
Root a Toot Toot i'm afraid we are OOT
Duck egg points out of nine it shall be
How is Dykes still on? 72 mins and counting, does he have photos of Clarke?
hibee
14-06-2021, 02:31 PM
Dykes looks like a central defender that’s been pushed up front for the last 10 minutes, need to get Nisbet on now.
EI255
14-06-2021, 02:32 PM
We persist with Dykes only because of his physical stature. Typical Scottish attitude. And the reason other nations succeed where we don't. Give others a chance, FFS.
Damag limitation against England then hope we can somehow beat Croatia and qualify as one of the best 3rd place teams. In my dreams.
I know he has had his issue but this is exactly the situation in which you want Griffiths in the squad. No danger he misses the chance that Dykes did. He might not bustle about as much but give him a chance like that and he's smashing it home 9 times out of 10.
Just said the exact same thing to my pals
14-06-2021, 02:33 PM
Got so say both excellent goals by the Czechs. They have quality to make the difference in a tight game.
EI255
QPR, FFS!!!!!
Motherwell, FFS!!!!
Hibeesforever
Looks like our poor finishing and weak defending is the story now...we should win at home against the Czech's
EI255
14-06-2021, 02:34 PM
Damag limitation against England then hope we can somehow beat Croatia and qualify as one of the best 3rd place teams. In my dreams.We'll probably beat England then go out against the Croats!
14-06-2021, 02:35 PM
Nisbet scores that too.
Mon Nizzy
Nisbet coming on to change the game.
EI255
Too many players just don't bring their A game to the national side.
Nizzy coming on. Aboute time too!
AliboyFC
Nizzy wizzy coming on
nisbet and forrest coming on
Too late for Nisbet. Should have been on 15 mins ago.
14-06-2021, 02:36 PM
Nisbet to conquer his Hampden hoodoo!
EI255
Forrest too. Bout time too
Nisbet to score a hatrick and instantly push his value up past the £20 million mark :wink:
78 mins to make a positive attacking sub.
14-06-2021, 02:37 PM
78 mins to make a positive attacking sub.
45 actually
2 goals in 12 minutes from Nisbet and extra few pounds on the transfer fee please.
Give it a ****ing rest, replace Newell with McGinn. :rolleyes:
What the **** are you on about, he's been pish all game?
14-06-2021, 02:38 PM
Come on Kev:flag:
shoulda been 3
EI255
Nisbet to score a hatrick and instantly push his value up past the £20 million mark :wink:What whiskey you drinking? [emoji1787]
14-06-2021, 02:39 PM
I'm with you. He's been a bit like Dykes. Ran about a lot, shoved his arse at people but been largely ineffective. Part of a collective midfield 3 that have either frozen on the day or been shown up as not as good as we want them to be.
14-06-2021, 02:40 PM
Imagine being a Scottish Hibs fan, I feel sorry for us.
EI255
14-06-2021, 02:41 PM
I knew Dykes would get shown up on this stage. He's been average at QPR all season. Unfortunately it's no great surprise.
14-06-2021, 02:41 PM
Imagine being a Scottish Hibs fan, I feel sorry for us.
We are truly special. :rolleyes:
Just_Jimmy
14-06-2021, 02:42 PM
Imagine being a Scottish Hibs fan, I feel sorry for us.who lives in England and is dreading Friday night...
Sent from my Pixel 3a using Tapatalk
14-06-2021, 02:42 PM
Not ****ing good enough across the board. Decent collective of individual players turned into a poor excuse of a team.
Clarke is right to be criticised here.
Enjoying the sun and bevvy today I see.
McGinn is one player today who has done what he had to do by working hard and breaking up play in the middle. McTominay has been far worse as has Dykes.
14-06-2021, 02:43 PM
Ffs Forrest
Not ****ing good enough across the board. Decent collective of individual players turned into a poor excuse of a team.
Clarke is right to be criticised here.
I’ll take back what i said earlier 👀
EI255
who lives in England and is dreading Friday night...
Sent from my Pixel 3a using TapatalkI'm dreading watching it in Scotland, never mind England!
C'mon Forrest stick your foot through the ball.:confused:
Saint Hibee
Nisbet and Adams have got to start the next game.
14-06-2021, 02:44 PM
McGinn is one player today who has done what he had to do by working hard and breaking up play in the middle. McTominay has been far worse as has Dykes.
Admit it, you are not even watching the game.
14-06-2021, 02:44 PM
Nisbet and Adams have got to start the next game.
And Forrest
14-06-2021, 02:45 PM
Czechs bring on John Hartson.
Admit it, you are not even watching the game.
Watching it sober, you?
14-06-2021, 02:46 PM
The chances have been there but we're not clinical enough with them. Been Scotlands problem for as long as I can remember, not got a goalscorer.
I'm dreading watching it in Scotland, never mind England!
We could be bottom of the group with no points and with no goals.
EI255
14-06-2021, 02:46 PM
McGinn is one player today who has done what he had to do by working hard and breaking up play in the middle. McTominay has been far worse as has Dykes.McTominey is the one I referred to not bringing his A game. Great for Man Utd all season, pulls on dark blue and is gash
14-06-2021, 02:47 PM
Thank god we brought on Calum McGregor...what an impact he's had.
14-06-2021, 02:47 PM
Lots of huffing and puffing with no quality end product
A lot of question marks over a number of players and Clarke after this game, far too many just not turning up, like watching Hibs in a certain final recently.
14-06-2021, 02:48 PM
Get lost Adams.
Marshall has actually stopped this being a pumping.... just for when they rip into him for the lob.
Chorley Hibee
I knew Dykes would get shown up on this stage. He's been average at QPR all season. Unfortunately it's no great surprise.
I wouldn't want Lyndon Dykes at Hibs, never mind leading the line for Scotland.
This was the one I think we had to win or at least take a point from.
We probably need 4 points from England and Croatia now. I think even the biggest optimist would have to admit that looks very unlikely.
14-06-2021, 02:49 PM
Thank god we brought on Calum McGregor...what an impact he's had.
He's done nothing but pass it backwards.
Hanley and Robertson get pass marks for me. Thats it.
I think all those players have suffered from being surrounded by similar, workmanlike players.
They’ll run and graft all day but you need more than that.
A lot of question marks over a number of players and Clarke after this game, far too many just not turning up, like watching Hibs in a certain final recently.
These players have had a good go today but are just not good enough. Pretty much the opposite of Hibs.
I wonder if Clarke would sit in for a draw if could do it over again?
EI255
14-06-2021, 02:51 PM
I blame the team basing themselves at Darlington!
14-06-2021, 02:51 PM
When all the doom and gloomsters got hammered into Clarke's team selection, I hoped they were all wrong. Sadly, they were 100% right. It was FAR too defensive/passive a team in our most winnable game in this tournament. Clarke is to blame for today's defeat.
14-06-2021, 02:52 PM
The chances have been there but we're not clinical enough with them. Been Scotlands problem for as long as I can remember, not got a goalscorer.
We do. He's sitting in the stand.
Tournament over, no way we're qualifying now.
Pish
These players have had a good go today but are just not good enough. Pretty much the opposite of Hibs.
I wonder if Clarke would sit in for a draw if could do it over again?
We've had more chances the last 15 mins since he made the 3-4 changes, he set up to not lose and it backfired, the Czech's are decent but not much better than us.
14-06-2021, 02:53 PM
We could be bottom of the group with no points and with no goals.
We are already.
AliboyFC
Shouldn't be getting beat by these tossers.
We do. He's sitting in the stand.
Imagine him in the stand, and that Dykes starting
Mr Grieves
14-06-2021, 02:54 PM
Ah well, looking forward to Euro 2044
Scotland just not good enough, manager's team selection???
Czechs are a better outfit than we were led to believe. Quicker onto the loose ball and more supportive of each other.
Incredibly unlucky, could have easily have been a different game. I think we did well.
Boo.
That was pretty dire.
Poor result, could have scored a few and could have lost even more.
14-06-2021, 02:55 PM
We can moan all day about negative team selections, O'Donnell and Dykes, but 2 of our main players were utterly hopeless today, McTominay and McGinn.
H18S NX
Out with a whimper.
EI255
I honestly don't think Dykes would get a start for the Faroes. Hope we never see him again in a Scotland shirt. He's mince
Czechs are a better outfit than we were led to believe. Quicker onto the loose ball and more supportive of each other.
2 great finishes. Dykes and Robertson probably had the best 2 chances of the game and couldn't take them. That's the difference.
Can we give Dykes back to Australia and take Boyle back please?
Hibeesforever
Pretty embarrassing really for that Team, very poor display at home.
14-06-2021, 02:56 PM
**** sake Jack Ross
No better than us IMO. 2 good finishes from poor defending.
EI255
It's all Shelly Kerrs fault
We can moan all day about negative team selections, O'Donnell and Dykes but 2 of our main players wee utterly hopeless today, McTominay and McGinn.
I absolutely love McGinn. But totally agree, he was really bad today.
Honestly don't think as a team we were bad though. A wee bit more luck on two or three occasions and we could have easily had a few goals.
On to Friday!!
14-06-2021, 02:57 PM
Two class finishes from Schick.
Some poor individual performances throughout the Scotland team.
No luck yet again, some great saves from their keeper.
Poor game really.
And we’re out.
McGinn worst performance I have seen from him in a long time.
Need a result at Wembley.
14-06-2021, 02:58 PM
I blame the Tories.
Jack Ross and Shelly Kerr absolutely sold the jersey.
We were so wasteful. Dykes just isn’t good enough for this level.
EI255
14-06-2021, 02:59 PM
Tiring listening to the same old narratives again and again. "We have the belief". "We have the character", "We have the players..."
Rubbish
EI255
14-06-2021, 03:01 PM
Does Darren Fletcher not see ANY faults in that team?
He's a muppet
14-06-2021, 03:01 PM
Forrest, Adams, and Patterson to start at Wembley please. Tierney if fit, of course.
14-06-2021, 03:02 PM
Does Darren Fletcher not see ANY faults in that team?
He's a muppet
The fans were flat, but the players were up for it...apparantly.
Forrest, Adams, and Patterson to start at Wembley please.
And Nisbet
seanshow
At one nil theres a chance,keep it tight in the second half..... the opposition have 2 good chances within a minute of the restart!
and then the goalie sells the jerseys standing 50 yars from the goal for no reason whatsoever. :confused:
Forrest, Adams, and Patterson to start at Wembley please.
and Tierney hopefully
14-06-2021, 03:03 PM
And Nisbet
He scores that Dykes chance, pretty certain about that.
Marshall has actually stopped this being a pumping.... just for when they rip into him for the lob.
No sorry. No excuse fir Marshall being almost in the centre circle. He has to be criticised for that. At 2-0 down the game was lost and his excellent contribution after that becomes pointless.
I know he’s a hero for the save in the qualifier but has to accept his part in today’s failure.
If Forrest squared it, Nisbet gets us back into the game.
14-06-2021, 03:04 PM
“Small margins”…..thought I’d heard the last of that for the summer🤔
Numptie
Although McGinn was poor, he wasn't playing as far forward as he has for Scotland. Not sure if Christie was supposed to do this role - but he didn't. McTominay did nothing good and a lot bad. Dykes might be average but the midfield was very poor and we just went long for most of the game. I had low expectations for this tournament, and they have been met.
EI255
At one nil theres a chance,keep it tight in the second half..... the opposition have 2 good chances within a minute of the restart!
and then the goalie sells the jerseys standing 50 yars from the goal for no reason whatsoever. :confused:I've never understood why keepers see the need to do that. I hope he's embarrassed after that. Mind you, he's a Derby County player. Nuff said
Jack Ross and Shelly Kerr absolutely sold the jersey.
…don’t let Jeremy Corbyn off the hook either.
EI255
14-06-2021, 03:05 PM
No sorry. No excuse fir Marshall being almost in the centre circle. He has to be criticised for that. At 2-0 down the game was lost and his excellent contribution after that becomes pointless.
I know he’s a hero for the save in the qualifier but has to accept his part in today’s failure.100%
…don’t let Jeremy Corbyn off the hook either.
Can we blame Boris and Bono too.
EI255
…don’t let Jeremy Corbyn off the hook either.It's all Belarus' fault
and then the goalie sells the jerseys standing 50 yars from the goal for no reason whatsoever. :confused:
completely agree WTF was Marshall doing there……..:confused:
Had a horrible feeling about the game as soon as I saw the team.
Lack of quality in the final third has killed us.
The tournament was over before it started with the line up and formation Clarke chose.
Playing Dykes and Christie from the start was a joke, keeping Dykes on the pitch as long as he did even more so and playing McGinn so deep was totally counter productive.
McGregor and Fraser have zero chance of impacting any game they're involved in so why waste substitutions on them? Add the fact that our crossing and finishing were sub-standard throughout and we were never at the races.
Another game to add to the long list of poor Scotland performances and another tournament we, no doubt, bow meekly out of with no points or goals! Today's performance shows why it's been 23 years since we last competed at this level ... we're just not good enough.
14-06-2021, 03:06 PM
I've never understood why keepers see the need to do that. I hope he's embarrassed after that. Mind you, he's a Derby County player. Nuff said
If your team plays that way, there is a need to do that.
But we don’t play that way, so there’s no need.
Analytics should pick that up and tell him not to do it, that’s basic coaching :dunno:
hhibs
14-06-2021, 03:06 PM
Indeed,what was that about,nowhere suitable in your home country ?
14-06-2021, 03:07 PM
I don't think you can fault the effort today. No one gave anything less than 100%.
For all the tinkering and changes we make with the development of the game here we still specialise in producing good athletes, good grafters and guys who will hustle and bustle all day tough. What we lack is real quality, the ability to do something really special to dominate or change a game. Their striker had scored as good as a goal every 2 games internationally before today and plays in the Bundesliga. We have a guy in the team who has scored twice in 11 games for Scotland and plays for a team who hovered about mid table in the English 2nd tier. Is it any surprise one of those players ran about a lot and missed a glorious chance whilst the other was a match winner?
CloudSquall
14-06-2021, 03:08 PM
I can imagine we'll get absolutely humped at Wembley and then put in a heroic performance against Croatia with a 1 nil win that puts us out on goal difference.
14-06-2021, 03:09 PM
English media will be salivating at a record scoreline against the plucky, but substandard Jocks.
14-06-2021, 03:09 PM
I can imagine we'll get absolutely humped at Wembley and then put in a heroic performance against Croatia with a 1 nil win that puts us out on goal difference.
1 win 2 defeats could be enough to proceed in this format.
EI255
14-06-2021, 03:10 PM
I think if we escape with a 2-0 loss on Friday we'll be doing well.
EI255
14-06-2021, 03:11 PM
Get Shelly Kerr on on Friday!
EI255
14-06-2021, 03:12 PM
She'd certainly lift the dressing room [emoji6]
14-06-2021, 03:13 PM
Rngland will over confident bow ahead of Friday so sods law after today we win....... If only
hhibs
14-06-2021, 03:13 PM
The tournament was over before it started with the line up and formation Clarke chose.
Playing Dykes and Christie from the start was a joke, keeping Dykes on the pitch as long as he did even more so and playing McGinn so deep was totally counter productive.
McGregor and Fraser have zero chance of impacting any game they're involved in so why waste substitutions on them? Add the fact that our crossing and finishing were sub-standard throughout and we were never at the races.
Another game to add to the long list of poor Scotland performances and another tournament we, no doubt, bow meekly out of with no points or goals! Today's performance shows why it's been 23 years since we last competed at this level ... we're just not good enough.
Well said,blame here to Clark, that team selection and set up was bottle job,Tierney now the big excuse from pundits
Gutted but I wouldn’t right off this team against England.
England have some quality no doubt but we will be so up for it.
14-06-2021, 03:18 PM
That was incredibly poor.
We could play all day and not score.
14-06-2021, 03:20 PM
I don't think you can fault the effort today. No one gave anything less than 100%.
For all the tinkering and changes we make with the development of the game here we still specialise in producing good athletes, good grafters and guys who will hustle and bustle all day tough. What we lack is real quality, the ability to do something really special to dominate or change a game. Their striker had scored as good as a goal every 2 games internationally before today and plays in the Bundesliga. We have a guy in the team who has scored twice in 11 games for Scotland and plays for a team who hovered about mid table in the English 2nd tier. Is it any surprise one of those players ran about a lot and missed a glorious chance whilst the other was a match winner?
Totally agree in regard to the strikers. But thought our midfield really let us down today. Boys that are good players at the highest level who never turned up today.
14-06-2021, 03:20 PM
He didn't score a free header from 6 yards v Gordon at Hampden.
leftfield
14-06-2021, 03:21 PM
Was anybody surprised. I certainly was not. I will be surprised if we even score in the next two games.
14-06-2021, 03:23 PM
McGinn worst performance I have seen from him in a long time.
Need a result at Wembley.
McGinn, was man-marked out of the game by the guy that plays for West Ham, they did their home-work. A few in that team no as good as many may think, as for O'Donnell he should never be near a Scotland defence, the big Check centre was sold for 40mill 4 years ago, Livi got a couple of mill for Dykes, kinda puts things in the game in perspective at least for me in my humble.
Now bring on the English, reckon we may just get our only point in this group off them shower. still a long way away from a reasonable side.
14-06-2021, 03:24 PM
The fans were flat, but the players were up for it...apparantly.
If the UEFA drugs testing guy is still hanging about he could test Darren's pee if that's the case :greengrin Czechs strolled that game, Scotland were nervous, flat, negative and lacked quality in every department other than Marshall (who played well today and stopped it being worse).
Too many players wanting too much time on the ball, an extra touch, playing back rather than forward, or having to compensate for a bad first touch into a tackle - we were, at times, literally all over the place. The second Czech goal was a class finish and sapped everything out of everyone in the ground.
From the little I've seen of Gilmour, we could have done with him as an outlet for the centre halves and allow McGinn - who was simply awful today - to play further forward. SJM was man-marked and couldn't get any time to settle and ultimately didn't know what position he was meant to be playing as the Czech player really got into his head. .
I know plenty are disappointed, hope things do improve (for those that follow the national side closely and avidly) - I just don't get excited at Scotland games anymore - I've not been for a long time. Clarke's sides are very dull, defensive, and try to sneak a win rather than be brave, take a chance, and have a go. We have really good players, but not a manager who will get the best out of them because of his style of play.
14-06-2021, 03:25 PM
Indeed,what was that about,nowhere suitable in your home country ?
Been discussed already. The Czech Republic got the Oriam before we had qualified. Scotland originally was going to Rangers training ground. The camp they are at is roughly half way between London and Glasgow and has superb facilities.
Yup.
Scotland don’t have the depth and quality to actually make a serious impact. They have improved as a team being more organised and a bit more variety but still lacking. How many Scottish players will go onto bigger and better clubs? Not many sadly.
Most Scotland fans would probably be happy if they beat England and don’t qualify ! But expecting England to take Scotland a part if they play like today - Scotland didn’t look comfortable at the back and while Clarke has tried to improve defensively - the opposition can still look dangerous most games.
He didn't score a free header from 6 yards v Gordon at Hampden.
OK. That doesn't change my thinking on the specific chance I'm referring to. He'd just lost his father mind.
14-06-2021, 03:26 PM
Aye. FIFA rankings
Scotland 44
Czech Republic 40
Croatia 14
England 4
Doomed I tell you.
14-06-2021, 03:26 PM
With my Hibs specs off I have to ask why Dykes in ahead of Nisbet at the start of the second half when we are chasing the game? Dykes in the first half was well and truly out of his depth both physically and skilfully against that defence.
hhibs
14-06-2021, 03:28 PM
Clarke joining with the pundits talking ****.
14-06-2021, 03:29 PM
Totally agree in regard to the strikers. But thought our midfield really let us down today. Boys that are good players at the highest level who never turned up today.
The midfield were flooded and tightly marked. The opposition coach obviously saw this as Scotland’s strength.
Instead they let the Scotland back 3 have the ball and not much happened as they are pretty average players.
Forgot about the right wing back O’Donnell as he’s limited and you have Robertson where our best chances came from but this was rare.
Midfield didn’t get on the ball so they sent diagonal ball and long hoofs to strikers - one being Christie who doesn’t suit that style and the ball was often lost very quickly.
14-06-2021, 03:34 PM
If you pick a team with only one real striker it can’t be Dykes at this level.If he had started Adams and
Nisbet we could have won that game. Nisbet is just as good behind the main striker as Christie and much better in front of goal. As it was we lost to poorly allowing a cross in and a freak goal.
Argylehibby
14-06-2021, 03:35 PM
I know he’s a hero for the save in the qualifier but has to accept his part in today’s failure.
You have to ask where was our backs though. Whe Hendry hits the shot which was stupid why are the other defenders not watching the striker rather than being spectators to what's going on up front?
14-06-2021, 03:41 PM
OK. That doesn't change my thinking on the specific chance I'm referring to. He'd just lost his father mind.
I know and it was a great save. I didn't think Dykes miss was that bad tbh, and it was also a great save. It was hardly an Iwelumo moment.
14-06-2021, 03:42 PM
I thought Clarke got the team and formation wrong. Dykes and Christie starting up front was just wrong. Christie has been poor all season and Dykes is just not good enough. Why Adams did not not start is baffling.
O’Donnell is playing for Motherwell for a reason, he played well at Kilmarnock but no decent team came in for him again for a reason. Patterson may be raw but has pace and potential. The Dutch had a youngster (Timber) playing who only got his Ajax debut in January and has made 35 professional appearances. Clarke has too be a bit more ambitious in his selections. If Patterson had played he’d have gained great experience and it would help Scotland in the future.
The midfield was so narrow, we relied on Robertson to create everything. McGinn, McTominay and Armstrong did nothing in the game. The team had no balance to it.
I was never overly confident in Scotland doing well but today was the easiest game in the group. I worry we will get smelled on Friday and then barely get a kick off the ball against Croatia. But then again it’s Scotland so there bound to be at least one twist in this tale.
14-06-2021, 03:45 PM
Where were the 2000 missing fans?
14-06-2021, 03:47 PM
That’s the tournament as good as over already.
England will comfortably beat us with the talent they’ve got at their disposal and Croatia aren’t far behind them.
3 defeats, 0 goals scored is my prediction.
You have to ask where was our backs though. Whe Hendry hits the shot which was stupid why are the other defenders not watching the striker rather than being spectators to what's going on up front?
If Hendry plays the percentages and makes the pass wide right, instead on trying a shot that was never on, then the 2nd goal would have been avoided and would have presented Scotland with the opportunity of an uncontested cross into the box. Instead, we find ourselves 2 down and it's game over five seconds later!
The Pointer
14-06-2021, 03:48 PM
If you listen to Stuart Armstrong being interviewed after the game, he says Marshall was where he was to be closer for any passbacks and this was normal, but Schick also mentioned he'd noted where Marshall was standing earlier in the game.
My view is we performed decently and with pace but were obviously not clinical enough in front of goal given the chances we created. I wonder if Steve Clarke will start Nisbet for the England game or leave it until the Croatia match? The issue now is to move quickly on mentally and concentrate on winning the next game.
14-06-2021, 03:48 PM
Was that the first time Hanley Cooper and Henry have played together ?
Jim_in_Canada
14-06-2021, 03:56 PM
Was that the first time Hanley Cooper and Henry have played together ?
Don't know, but it has to be the last !!!
Hibiza
14-06-2021, 03:56 PM
Can anyone recall the long range ( half way line ) goal that Chic Charnley scored for us . Apologies if already been discussed.
14-06-2021, 03:57 PM
Can anyone recall the long range ( half way line ) goal that Chic Charnley scored for us . Apologies if already been discussed.
Aye and didn’t Pat McGinlay score one as well from halfway?
14-06-2021, 04:07 PM
If you listen to Stuart Armstrong being interviewed after the game, he says Marshall was where he was to be closer for any passbacks and this was normal, but Schick also mentioned he'd noted where Marshall was standing earlier in the game.
My view is we performed decently and with pace but were obviously not clinical enough in front of goal given the chances we created. I wonder if Steve Clarke will start Nisbet for the England game or leave it until the Croatia match? The issue now is to move quickly on mentally and concentrate on winning the next game.
Agree with you. I’m finding it difficult to be too critical of Clarke… a few key moments went against us and we lost 2-0. First Czech goal against the run of play, the second… well.
JGS56
14-06-2021, 04:07 PM
He scored a long range effort against Kilmarnock - Hibs won 4 - 1. The lad sitting in front of me was a nervous wreck with 10 minutes to go as he had the first scorer and the score correct and we were shouting for anybody to score, but he won his bet for £100.
14-06-2021, 04:08 PM
I thought Clarke got the team and formation wrong. Dykes and Christie starting up front was just wrong. Christie has been poor all season and Dykes is just not good enough. Why Adams did not not start is baffling.
O’Donnell is playing for Motherwell for a reason, he played well at Kilmarnock but no decent team came in for him again for a reason. Patterson may be raw but has pace and potential. The Dutch had a youngster (Timber) playing who only got his Ajax debut in January and has made 35 professional appearances. Clarke has too be a bit more ambitious in his selections. If Patterson had played he’d have gained great experience and it would help Scotland in the future.
The midfield was so narrow, we relied on Robertson to create everything. McGinn, McTominay and Armstrong did nothing in the game. The team had no balance to it.
I was never overly confident in Scotland doing well but today was the easiest game in the group. I worry we will get smelled on Friday and then barely get a kick off the ball against Croatia. But then again it’s Scotland so there bound to be at least one twist in this tale.
No-one wants that :paranoid:
14-06-2021, 04:10 PM
Consecutive home games I think. Charnley in league cup v Alloa, McGinlay in league v Killie.
14-06-2021, 04:12 PM
It's not Clarke's fault. We didn't take our chances and the goalie was very good. The second goal was a killer. The Czechs were well organised.
14-06-2021, 04:13 PM
Thought we played OK and didn't deserve to lose. I would definitely have started Adams instead of Christie and he made a difference when he came on.
O'donnell had a nightmare from start to finish and shouldn't play against England. Poor goals to lose but the 2nd is a wonderful piece of skill. Although WTF Hendry was doing shooting from 35 yards is anyones guess. Million to one shot at best, play it wide and get back into position!!
Also why bring on McGregor? I'm not sure he actually played a single forward pass even when in acres of space. On another day we could have had a couple of goals.SJM didn't have his best game but I thought they man marked him and did a good job of it, although it looked like Clark was playing him deeper than normal for some reason.
Dykes I'm afraid will never be the level we need, he works hard but so would I if I was playing for Scotland.
Draw with engerlund and beat Croatia and we'll qualify. Easy peasy!!
14-06-2021, 04:14 PM
Consecutive home games I think. Charnley in league cup v Alloa, McGinlay in league v Killie.
Thanks. That’s sort of the way I remember it as we didn’t think the Chic goal could be repeated and Pat did it right after!
Why is every team I support utterly ***** at hampden
14-06-2021, 04:27 PM
I hope it's a do or die performance at Wembley. Even if they lose they should know they've given their all.
Actually I don't think England are that good to be honest.
Argylehibby
14-06-2021, 04:28 PM
If Hendry plays the percentages and makes the pass wide right, instead on trying a shot that was never on, then the 2nd goal would have been avoided and would have presented Scotland with the opportunity of an uncontested cross into the box. Instead, we find ourselves 2 down and it's game over five seconds later!
I agree with that but having made the wrong choice I question why the forward was able to run onto the rebound unchallenged, where was the defensive cover I.e Hanley / Cooper. Czechs didn't have 3 men up there so they were not outnumbered, our defence was sleeping when the ball came out.
First mistake was taking the shot second was not being close enough to the forward when the shot was blocked.
If you can bear to watch again about 44 seconds in on this. http://https://www.bbc.co.uk/sport/av/football/57475435
He's here!
14-06-2021, 04:29 PM
Might be wrong but I think they were both in the same season.
Argylehibby
14-06-2021, 04:31 PM
Remember Pat trying to show his shot was from further out too.
14-06-2021, 04:38 PM
O’Donnell and dykes were a disgrace
Clarke should have had backed the young boy Patterson or god forbid be forward thinking and play Forrest as right wing back
Not often in tournaments you’ll get two home game, unless your England off course
Clarke for me the jury’s out
Couldn’t beat Israel in 18 attempts and snuck in through the back door
***** being a Scottish Hibs fan
I agree with that but having made the wrong choice I question why the forward was able to run onto the rebound unchallenged, where was the defensive cover I.e Hanley / Cooper. Czechs didn't have 3 men up there so they were not outnumbered, our defence was sleeping when the ball came out.
First mistake was taking the shot second was not being close enough to the forward when the shot was blocked.Marshall was 100% to blame. Most international players would have a good chance of hitting the target from their own half with the keeper 40yds+ off his line.
People shouldn't be frightened to shoot from distance in case their keeper's standing just behind them.
If Marshall hadn't been in such a ridiculous position, the defence would have had the time it takes to run 30-40yds with the ball to get back in shape.
I hope it's a do or die performance at Wembley. Even if they lose they should know they've given their all.
Actually I don't think England are that good to be honest.
I think you’re right. Scotland could do well at Wembley if they turn up with a bit of swagger.
Clarke will most likely play some daft ultra conservative team and we’ll lose 2-0.
14-06-2021, 04:39 PM
Remember Pat trying to show his shot was from further out too.Pat's was up the slope was it not?
He's here!
14-06-2021, 04:42 PM
Disappointing result but hand on heart was anyone REALLY that surprised? For all the justified delight at us actually being part of a major tournament for the first time in nearly quarter of a century, I thought it masked the fact that we kind of got there as a sort of lucky loser via that other mini tournament whose name escapes me at present and whose purpose I have yet to fully understand. In the qualifying proper we were miles off it. Of course after so long in the wilderness you take anything you can get, but it was something that was always at the back of my mind.
Because of that it was quite hard to discern how we would measure up at this level and I did worry that we might find ourselves a bit exposed. The fact this was generally accepted to be our 'easiest' game probably confirms that.
In saying all that we'll maybe go out and beat England now :wink:
greenlad
14-06-2021, 04:42 PM
Not often in tournaments you’ll get two home game, unless your England off course.
If Scotland had qualified through the groups like England did it was a 50-50 coin toss whether the game Vs England was to be at Wembley or at Hampden. So nothing stopping Scotland having 3 home games.
14-06-2021, 04:44 PM
Goals change games, and if we’d scored 1st, would have probably gone onto win the game
Wasn’t the worst performance, but we need to take our chances on Friday.
He's here!
14-06-2021, 04:45 PM
Pat's was up the slope was it not?
No, definitely down the slope. I was there. Don't think Chic's was televised so I can't be sure about that one.
He's here!
14-06-2021, 04:48 PM
Marshall was 100% to blame. Most international players would have a good chance of hitting the target from their own half with the keeper 40yds+ off his line.
People shouldn't be frightened to shoot from distance in case their keeper's standing just behind them.
If Marshall hadn't been in such a ridiculous position, the defence would have had the time it takes to run 30-40yds with the ball to get back in shape.
I also thought he should have just got the head down and sprinted back to his line without constantly trying to check where the ball was. Not saying he would have got there but it might have given him a better chance.
Pat's was up the slope was it not?
No they were both downhill. McGinlay's from just inside our half, Chic's a bit further back but still in the centre circle.
No, definitely down the slope. I was there. Don't think Chic's was televised so I can't be sure about that one.I was there for both. It was Chic's that was up the slope then.
14-06-2021, 04:49 PM
No they were both downhill. McGinlay's from just inside our half, Chic's a bit further back but still in the centre circle.I must be losing the plot in that case.
14-06-2021, 04:50 PM
Difference in quality at either end of the pitch.
Their striker scores two brilliant goals, we’ve got Dykes.
Their goalie has an unbelievable save, ours is wandering away up the pitch a couple of minutes later.
The dalmeny
14-06-2021, 04:50 PM
Clarke will have told him to play there, lots of reasons today wasn’t good that wasn’t one of them.
He's here!
14-06-2021, 04:51 PM
O’Donnell and dykes were a disgrace
Clarke should have had backed the young boy Patterson or god forbid be forward thinking and play Forrest as right wing back
Not often in tournaments you’ll get two home game, unless your England off course
Clarke for me the jury’s out
Couldn’t beat Israel in 18 attempts and snuck in through the back door
I didn't put it quite as bluntly, but apart from Serbia (who were no great shakes) we definitely didn't have to beat much to get there.
14-06-2021, 04:52 PM
Aye. FIFA rankings
Scotland 44
Czech Republic 40
Croatia 14
England 4
Doomed I tell you.
Probably. I thought that, apart from two superb finishes, today was a level game between two teams who won't be more than a nuisance to any of the serious contenders.
14-06-2021, 04:53 PM
I must be losing the plot in that case.
Nah, probably me. I was at the Killie game but I didn't see the Charnley one. I've got 2nd hand Alzheimer's. :greengrin
Should have taken Leigh. Better than any of the strikers in the squad. Clarke has loyalty to too many average players who just happened to scrape past Serbia ffs.
14-06-2021, 04:57 PM
I must be losing the plot in that case.
Chic's was definitely up the slope
14-06-2021, 04:57 PM
Should have taken Leigh. Better than any of the strikers in the squad. Clarke has loyalty to too many average players who just happened to scrape past Serbia ffs.
Not having him in the squad is an awful decision imo.
Far too much emphasis gets put on getting guys who will run about a bit and are a handful physically on the pitch ahead of actual ability.
14-06-2021, 04:58 PM
The second Czech goal was a worldie which required pinpoint accuracy. Nothing you can do about a goal like that. I thought we played okay, our problem being an inability to take our chances, which is the difference at this level. We won't beat England at Wembley, and Croatia are a good side, so we're probably toast already, but I hope we can at least get a couple of goals.
14-06-2021, 05:00 PM
The second Czech goal was a worldie which required pinpoint accuracy. Nothing you can do about a goal like that. I thought we played okay, our problem being an inability to take our chances, which is the difference at this level. We won't beat England at Wembley, and Croatia are a good side, so we're probably toast already, but I hope we can at least get a couple of goals.
The finish for the goal was unbelievable. But if the goalie is in the right position it doesn’t happen.
14-06-2021, 05:00 PM
Might be wrong but I think they were both in the same season.
Correct. Only a few weeks apart
14-06-2021, 05:03 PM
Czech boy took the goal well, fair play to him but why Hendry thought it was a good idea to strike it from 35 yards I'll never know. Was always a chance it could ricochet with all our defenders up
14-06-2021, 05:10 PM
Disappointing result but hand on heart was anyone REALLY that surprised? For all the justified delight at us actually being part of a major tournament for the first time in nearly quarter of a century, I thought it masked the fact that we kind of got there as a sort of lucky loser via that other mini tournament whose name escapes me at present and whose purpose I have yet to fully understand. In the qualifying proper we were miles off it. Of course after so long in the wilderness you take anything you can get, but it was something that was always at the back of my mind.
Because of that it was quite hard to discern how we would measure up at this level and I did worry that we might find ourselves a bit exposed. The fact this was generally accepted to be our 'easiest' game probably confirms that.
In saying all that we'll maybe go out and beat England now :wink:
I was thinking of putting a big bet on them, we were 15/8 and they were 2/1 apparently, and with Tierney out i thought 2/1 was a great price that i did not take in the end. :crazy:
The second Czech goal was a worldie which required pinpoint accuracy. Nothing you can do about a goal like that. I thought we played okay, our problem being an inability to take our chances, which is the difference at this level. We won't beat England at Wembley, and Croatia are a good side, so we're probably toast already, but I hope we can at least get a couple of goals.Not quite pin point. He had the whole goal to aim at as the keeper wasnt there.
Sent from my SM-A405FN using Tapatalk
I was there for both. It was Chic's that was up the slope then.
Yes it was
Largshibby
14-06-2021, 05:14 PM
[QUOTE=Hibernia&Alba;6594367]The second Czech goal was a worldie which required pinpoint accuracy. Nothing you can do about a goal like that. I thought we played okay, our problem being an inability to take our chances, which is the difference at this level. We won't beat England at Wembley, and Croatia are a good side, so we're probably toast already, but I hope we can at least get a couple of goals.[/
I think there’s plenty you can do about it. It was a “worldie” because our keepers start position was virtually on the half way line. If Marshall’s in his goal like he should be then the guy doesn’t even take it on.
14-06-2021, 05:15 PM
The finish for the goal was unbelievable. But if the goalie is in the right position it doesn’t happen.
The defenders were in the wrong at least as much. Two of then standing miles away from their most forward player. If they are in position the scorer can't turn and Marshall has loads of time to get back. The other defender tried a shot that was the wrong option barring the one in a thousand times it flies in the top corner
greenlad
Chic's was definitely up the slope
Absolutely it was up the slope. Into the end sparsely populated with Alloa fans. Goalkeeper Mike Monaghan.
Just before halftime it made it 2-0 and a minute into the 2nd half McGinlay made it 3-0 with a powerful strike from the edge of the box (but not his halfway line goal which came in the 90th minute of a 4-0 win Vs Kilmarnock, and was downhill)
It’s not even that great a finish. Essentially it’s an open goal which you’ve got to hit from 50 yards. Great vision, not all that difficult to execute. Hit it high, hit it hard and hit the target.