View Full Version : Match Updates St Johnstone v Hibernian Scottish Cup Final Saturday 22nd May 2021

Pages : 1 2 3 [4]

22-05-2021, 02:53 PM
No complaints from me. Utterly woeful performance and deserved nothing from that display!

Ach well, there's always next year

Callum Davidson continues to urge his team on from the side and doing a great job of it.

Deary me once again Hibs.

jakedance
Terrible performance. Barely won a first ball. Never won a second ball. Frontline utterly anonymous.

Pathetic. One of our worst performances of the season. Got exactly what we deserved, nothing at all.

They absolutely shat it.

HibeesGal
What a ****ing embarrassment!! Players never even turned up, pathetic, utterly pathetic, should be ashamed of themselves.

Ducking shambles. Embarrassing doesn't even come close to it.

Not sure what Boyle ****ing find funny

I know that was very very odd.

Saints did to us what they did to Livi. Solid defensive performance and took their best chance.

Superb season for them. Despite the 3rd place finish, questions to be asked of Jack Ross.

Crazyhorse
So lame. Pathetic performance Hibs

Yep pathetic stuff for 95 minutes. Macey the only Hibs player who showed up today.
Congratulations St J but what a stroll in the park.

There's a reason we've only won this cup 3 times in 146 years.....st ****in johnstone....we are a boy band.

I don’t know how we went from the last two performances to that. Chalk and cheese, gutted.

percy veer
Absolute wasters well done . You've let everyone down

Saint Hibee
22-05-2021, 02:54 PM
We showed more passion in 2012.

NC1875
Jack Ross Cant Gtf after that. Thinks he is something he’s not. Another massive game and pumped. Absolute bottle merchants and that all stems from the serial loser in the dugout

Absolute garbage.

Calidad
Absolutely woeful. Beyond disappointing.

Woeful performance. Up there with the worst. Not helped by wrong team selection and inept tactics.

Well deserved St Johnstone.

Mr Grieves
St Johnstone won't have a more comfortable game, utterly pathetic stuff. I really do not care if we lose any of these players or manager

What was that then , 2 shots on target maybe? 3rd place means nothing really, trophies aren’t given out for 3rd place. Days like this where we could win a cup are what it’s all about and yet again in big games, terrible performance.

That’s ***** Hibs no covering up that NON-Performance.

Ross you STILL have to answer that question over big games that’s 6 this season FFS.

Hibbyhoff
Why did we look so knackered in that second half? They won every ball.

Certainly wasn’t from the amount of effort we were putting in

An utter disgrace of a performance, bar the goalkeeper I wouldn’t give a single one of them 1/10. **** the lot of them. Silverware and winning trophies is what it’s all about.

Ross is safe, pragmatic and doesn't get emotional. Today we needed fire and leaders. Every one to one battle we lost and it was obvious from the start we weren't winning today.

22-05-2021, 02:55 PM
Shower of ****ing piss.

Every single one of you are spineless ********s.

As bad a performance as I can remember in terms of effort and desire.

**** off.

Torto7
Shower of pathetic ***** and an embarrassment to the club. Actually worse than the 3 nil. Ross has had a weak Aberdeen and no Hearts as well as favourable cup runs. Third was the bare minimum this season. I'm scunnered.

Good for them. Deserved. Felt it was going to go that way. Have had the better of us all season and should've been favourites.

Less said about Hibs the better. Embarrassing display of Football.

wallpaperman
Based on the importance of the game, that has to be the most pitiful performance in our history. No urgency, no guile, little effort. Disgraceful.

Abysmal performance.

Totally predictable.

Congratulations Saint Johnstone, it’s hard to take but what a season for them !

Absolutely pathetic from each and every one of them, from Jack Ross to Martin Boyle. His needed to turn up, and they were posted missing. Horrible.

Congratulation St Johnstone.

Had enough.

3rd place great but he’s bottled three out of four at Hampden and that’s undefendable.

I honestly couldn't care less if we never see some of these players in a hibs shirt again, newell, Irvine, Nisbet, Hallberg were all pish and showed they won't perform when absolutely needed JR is in a league of his own in this respect and can **** off as far as I'm concerned.

22-05-2021, 02:56 PM
The wrong call to play porteous, he is awful and destabilizes the whole defence.

We just played the same way we do against them every time and didn't change anything, the players should do better regardless of how the manager set us up, it's on them. Boyle and Nisbet were anonymous and may as well have not been on the pitch.

HibeesLA
What was the game plan today? Zero service up front, poor defending, poor choices. I would t mind if we were going for it and got caught on a counter, but damn did we even make their keeper make a save?? That was pathetic, gutless, spineless. I don’t want to see any player or manager interviews on the site because there will be nothing they can say that explains anything about that game. Again, pathetic.

We were lucky to get the nil!

A Hibs team nowhere near being good enough to win the Cup unfortunately. No, ideas at all game over at 1-0.

Manager set the tone by starting Porteous. Astonishing decision.

So, so poor.

This squad should hang their heads in shame. 1 chance and 1 shot on target in a final. Barely won a 2nd ball. Outfought, out thought and out played. Disgusting.
Poor from the of, never looked up for it, St. Johnstone defence were never troubled. I'd take a decent offer for 1 or 2 of our players, even Boyle.

Rancid.

Poor starting line up and downhill from there.

Hope it hurts the players - as for some that was embarrassing and abject effort

hibee62
While we were poor and probably deserved to lose, it’s an absolute disgrace that the referee blew full time in that situation given the time lost to that striker feigning injury and given we were in possession.

hfcok
What a game for the team not to turn up, had to be nerves, or tactics ??. I’m afraid to say Jack, made a mistake not playing Daz.

mcfly
Complete utter bottlers.

What a chance to be heroes and never laid a glove.

Utterly disgusting

Saint Hibee
Just listening to Stubbs talk before kick off about how he’d motivated the team for 2016, I knew we weren’t winning this.

22-05-2021, 02:57 PM
That is a total ****ing embarrassment.

That whole squad and manager need to take a look at themselves. They’ve delivered a ridiculous amount of ****ing abominations this season.

auldhibby
We showed more passion in 2012.
What an aimless toothless gutless performance no pass marks anywhere on the pitch , yet again we aspire to the heavens and end up in hell

Have to agree.. downhill from there too

Green-Hibee-7
Honestly, would take the first offer for Nisbet and Porteous.

At the end of the day that was a game that could have went either way. They are a no bad outfit, well drilled. Boys at the back are outstanding. But to lose it in the powderpuff way we did is a really hard thing to take. Some of them need to take a good look at themselves. None more so than the manager. They have done that to us every game this season.

We don't even deserve the runners up medals today. Ability means nothing if application and motivation is absent.

Saint Hibee
Well done Spoony, you deserve it.

Been too busy celebrating getting 3rd. Can see some players values going down after this performance

Sell them. If they don’t turn up in cup finals they are of no use to Hibs.

Can’t believe how bad the whole team were collectively. Shocking really. Macey gets pass marks due to the penalty save but rest are 2-3 out of 10 and that’s being kind. Disgusted with that performance, players let themselves, the club and fans down. You have to turn up and be brave. No leaders and all bottlers I’m afraid.

Can’t open up st Johnstone so we resort to hoof ball again, did that work before? Can’t understand how Jack Ross hasn’t tried something else.

We need a clear out. Our midfield is abysmal, no workers with legs and our defence is average. St Johnstone have a better team and squad than us.

Just_Jimmy
a whole season of good work undone in 90 mins.

he'll struggle to win the support back now. utterly gutless performance.

I'm so glad we weren't there to watch that in person today.

if he goes I couldn't care less. I'm past it. I couldn't give a toss about 3rd. they've done a double and finished 5th and they've absolutely owned us all season.

cowards Hibs.

Sent from my Pixel 3a using Tapatalk

We are so boring to watch. No spark, no skill or anything on display.

I'd be taking the money for Nisbet, Doig and Porto. Aberdeen can take Irvine as well.

I'm not actually that bothered about getting back to ER to watch this Hibs team. JR is Alex Miller 2.0.

Team full of losers with a bottle merchant manager who can’t seem to change his tactics

Why play the same team with the same tactics and hope for a different outcome?

Absolutely horrendous stuff and took the shine off the whole season

AlanGF69
22-05-2021, 02:58 PM
That has to go down as our worst ever performance in a Cup final! I mean - even worse than when we lost to Hearts 5-1!! That's just how gutless it was today.

They were out there playing like it was a dead rubber league game or a friendly, and to lose to that garbage is even more mesmerising.

Bitterly disappointed with the players and manager today - no heart, no effort. The only 'slight' plus was the excellent double saved from Macey.

Oh well, who wants to win a trophy in a Covid season anyway!!!!!

Can't describe how angry I am about that - woeful from start to finish.

Our whole gameplan seemed to be hoof for 90 minutes

If shelley kerr says 'cup final' once more i'll kill myself

Sorry Jack Ross has tae go, there will be ho ST this year from me. F,n useless

Yes, in a Cup Final you need leaders and top defenders. Totally the wrong call.

When the goalie gets Man of the Match it's never a good sign. Macey's save should have galvanised Hibs but they don't seem capable of raising themselves. We've all seen it happen a thousand times.

I don't see Ross as a great motivator somehow. Sorry. I know we've come third and all that but we've been a let-down when it mattered.

Dalkeith Boy
Hibs had absolutely no clue how to break down SJ all year....Davidson outsmarted Ross yet again......Hibs have got lots to do to be where they should be......Nisbet, Doidge, Boyle....non existent ...Porteous as usual a disaster...even the boost of Macey's penalty save did nothing to inject Hibs players!!!

7 Up
We learned nothing from the League Cup semi-final.

Forever_Green93
22-05-2021, 02:59 PM
Absolute pish performance. ******* disgraceful.

No urgency what so ever, and we couldn't even get the basics right.

thegaffer12
Absolutely gutted but hope the St Johnstone players enjoy their evening. They deserve it and it obviously means a lot to them. David Wotherspoon deserves that for his efforts.

NC1875
We are so boring to watch. No spark, no skill or anything on display.

I'd be taking the money for Nisbet, Doig and Porto. Aberdeen can take Irvine as well.

I'm not actually that bothered about getting back to ER to watch this Hibs team. JR is Alex Miller 2.0.

Jack Ross is the definition of boring. And it shows.

Sorry Jack Ross has tae go, there will be ho ST this year from me. F,n useless

Bye bye

Yup. Most skillful player on the park and as many Cup wins as our club have managed in my time supporting us.

Saint Hibee
Don’t apologise for your language Spoony, if we’d had players who cared as much as you, we’d have won.

Bangkok Hibby
I never knew players spoke so much until the stadiums have been empty😂😂

Or screamed like little babies

hhibs
Jack Ross completely out thought again !

His team selection was completely c rap ,same old same old.

Porteus,Newall choices were the wrong choice ,he is far too stubborn and wrong again.

As for the team,again no leader on the park ,they were weak,lacked energy,basically did not want it enough.

However hats off to Macey,thanks so much for trying to inspire this turgid lot.

Really hope another club think we’ve been good and take Ross of our hands.

I hate watching his Hibs team and that performance reflected what I think of him today.

Shocking performance from the players and Ross. Huge question marks over Ross tactically and motivationally, big question marks over a number of players desire, attitude and mentality. Actually embarrassed by that team today, more so than the 5-1 against Hearts.

But you can't say it was unexpected...

ozwoody
CD had our number from 1st minute.stop ball getting to front 3 and overload midfield.we have seen it in every game we have played against them, an we knew they would do it.

22-05-2021, 03:00 PM
Team full of losers with a bottle merchant manager who can’t seem to change his tactics

Why play the same team with the same tactics and hope for a different outcome?

Absolutely horrendous stuff and took the shine off the whole season

Folk were claiming that this has been a great success of a season because we finished third. That is ****ing laughable after all these abominations at Hampden.

Montford
Think it’s apparent now Ross isn’t the answer.
Finishing 3rd was an empty achievement as the completion was utterly gash. 4th highest budget (nearly 3x the 5th budget) devalues that achievement.
Any manager capable of producing such an insipid performance should be shown the door..
Hibs didn’t pick up one second ball in the 2nd half.
Player positioning was amateur..
Didn’t have the nous to change what every fan could see was happening
That team won’t be anywhere near top 6 next year..

Congratulations Saintees, better team, better managed, better game plan -best team won and hope they enjoy their weekend. Hibs, players and manager, hang your heads in utter embarrassment as that was one of the most spineless showings in any cup final I’ve seen. That was an utterly horrendous performance.

Got exactly what we deserved, pathetic display

I can't actually describe how angry I am right now.

The players have completely let the club down today.

OtleyHibs
22-05-2021, 03:01 PM
So disappointing, not just the loss but the performance was appalling

What a season for St J, fair play to them, shame we never bothered turning up

Crazyhorse
Congratulations Saint Johnstone, it’s hard to take but what a season for them !

Yep and well done David W. A fine footballer and I wish we had one player today with his emotion, commitment and determination.

Inconsequential
OK, we have a goalkeeper now just to find the rest of the team. No spark, no drive, no desire, nothing.

The players should not need motivated for a cup final, I get that you all think Jack Ross isn't a motivator but at this point it shouldnt even matter. Its a cup final and they are on the pitch and can affect the game yet no one other than Murphy could create an inch of space. Boyle was out played by Callum Booth.

AlanGF69
While we were poor and probably deserved to lose, it’s an absolute disgrace that the referee blew full time in that situation given the time lost to that striker feigning injury and given we were in possession.

Yeah, that Kane is a ****ing piece of ****! Dirty ******* of a player who should have been red-carded after a handful of bad fouls throughout the game!

St Johnstone can go and enjoy their little day - they certainly won't be winning anything for a long, long, long time after this! Pathetic club they are!!

Oranje39
22-05-2021, 03:03 PM
When the goalie gets Man of the Match it's never a good sign. Macey's save should have galvanised Hibs but they don't seem capable of raising themselves. We've all seen it happen a thousand times.

I don't see Ross as a great motivator somehow. Sorry. I know we've come third and all that but we've been a let-down when it mattered.

Wotherspoon was Man of the Match.

Can't think of any pass marks for Hibs.

St Johnstone deserve the cup and all of the plaudits they will get.

Just go Ross. Your tactics and team today was toothless and embarrasing.

Coach Jon
Congratulations to St. Johnstone you were by far the better team, won your battles, Hibs could have played all week and were never going to score, slow pedestrian garbage, no drive from Manager or Captain, changes needed in those positions.

thank goodness i wasn't there to witness that performance from our Girls

hfcok
What a game for the team not to turn up, had to be nerves, or tactics ??. I’m afraid to say Jack, made a mistake not playing Daz.

22-05-2021, 03:04 PM
We can have no complaints today if we get beaten.

We’ve done zero

But the question is why did we put in such a flat performance Why didn’t Daz start a born leader and could of marked Rooney and would of driven team on
Why persist with a front three getting no service and with Boyle getting taken out the game effectively
I couldn’t even get nervous as knew a header from cross would undo us and we would struggle to get back at them
But it was a bit of a non event ffs
Saint s we’re firm team and it was as if we didn’t believe we could get back into it

22-05-2021, 03:05 PM
That was so predictable.

Wrong starting team.

Wrong tactics.

McGregor should have 100% started - he’s been the best player for weeks and has the experience.

Should have gone 3-5-2 and matched them.

Massive opportunity missed.

Montford
Biggest scandal is that a potential Euro league place (and the extra £millions) has been thrown in the gutter..
It’ll be another 20 years before that opportunity is handed to Hibs..

Folk were claiming that this has been a great success of a season because we finished third. That is ****ing laughable after all these abominations at Hampden.

Agreed. I've said this in the past and been shot down, but 3rd place isn’t an achievement, winning the league is an achievement, winning a cup is an achievement, folk saying this is the best season in a generation etc. I don’t get it, we’ve turned up and bent over and let st Johnstone have their way with us.

Should have stuck with McGregor rather than Porto

weedgiehibbie
An utter disgrace of a performance, bar the goalkeeper I wouldn’t give a single one of them 1/10. **** the lot of them. Silverware and winning trophies is what it’s all about.

Totally agree, we could play for another week and not manage a shot on target - for a cup final that is disgraceful.

Well done to St Johnstone though - they did what they do - grab a goal and see things out

Stuarty1875
Feared the game would unfold as it did but was praying Ross had something different up his sleeve today.

Ultimately St Johnstone have exposed the weaknesses in our team once again. The usual bypass midfield and long balls were on show again.

For me the midfield need major surgery as the current group just doesn’t appear to work.

Fair play to saints. What an achievement.

22-05-2021, 03:06 PM
Yeah, that Kane is a ****ing piece of ****! Dirty ******* of a player who should have been red-carded after a handful of bad fouls throughout the game!

St Johnstone can go and enjoy their little day - they certainly won't be winning anything for a long, long, long time after this! Pathetic club they are!!

Mate, they’ve just done the double!!!

londonhibby
Said on Twitter and I'll repeat it here: And we wonder where the phrase 'Hibsed it' comes from... pathetic, weak-minded, weak-kneed, soul-destroying performance from a team with almost three times the salary cost and twice the market value of Saints.

And before anyone comes back with the it's a cup game nonsense... I've been watching Hibs for 48 years and I've been making my living from football for more than half that time, and it's always the same at Hibs. Very, very few clubs would allow this to happen across a near half-century. There's a serious problem with the whole 'winning mentality' ethos at Hibs. It's structural, and only a complete clear-out of the club from top to bottom will stop it.

mcfly
Bye bye

He bottles the big games. Stats don’t lie.

He faces a massive job to get the fans back in his side after that gutless performance.

Porteous over McGregor should haunt him

St Johnstone can go and enjoy their little day - they certainly won't be winning anything for a long, long, lone time after this! Pathetic club they are!!

Their little day?! They just won a cup double. When was the last time a non-OF club did that? They deserve their moment in the sun.

Kane did his job well today. Pathetic club? Nah. Pathetic post though.

I am more dejected than angry. We just didn't seem to show any urgency and, all honesty, barely created any real sustained pressure or chances. We didn't even seem the get the final "chance" that you usually expect from the team chasing the game, largely because it didn't feel like we were chasing the game. The biggest indictment I have is that the pace of the game felt like a pre-season friendly (from a Hibs point of view).

AlanGF69
Mate, they’ve just done the double!!!

Only because the rest of the teams in either competition have been utter garbage.

22-05-2021, 03:08 PM
Only because the rest of the teams in either competition have been utter garbage.

I think you’ll be in the minority with that view. A rubbish team doesn’t win a double.

Shocking performance from the players and Ross. Huge question marks over Ross tactically and motivationally, big question marks over a number of players desire, attitude and mentality. Actually embarrassed by that team today, more so than the 5-1 against Hearts.

When won’t there be question marks over Jack Ross? I’m swaying to getting rid to be honest. Never seen a manager get so many rapid chances to win a cup and then fail because his team don’t turn up in every single one. Being owned by St Johnstone is a disgrace, they’ve got a very decent side but in truth we didn’t really give them a game. They could’ve scored more in the last 20mins especially. St Johnstone strolled it.

Sell Nisbet, Porteous, Hallberg, and forget Irvine. Sell Doig if he wants to go. Seriously consider the manager’s position.

When do we get the “Best of the rest” medals and the 3rd place trophy?

I dont for one second think Jack Ross told the players to play like that, we've seen them play well many times but not a single one of them did today and that's on them. They let us down.

Kaiser_Sauzee
22-05-2021, 03:09 PM

We’ll, this is just embarrassing. My face is red for you.

cad
Terrible performance. Barely won a first ball. Never won a second ball. Frontline utterly anonymous.

Offered nothing and I mean nothing 1st ball lost 2nd ball unchallenged, passes incomplete ,continually humping it left and right not winning a percentage of the headers ,50 yards cross field passes 1 gets there in 10 nobody turned up, lack of guile standing off giving St Johnston 5 - 10 yards sometimes to just walk into ,crossing another skill many seem void of, ball control seems another mystery,the keeper gave us a chance with a brilliant double save, we went out like a damp squib I dont think we had a shot on target 2nd half if we did I missed it , its St Johnstone FFS ,deary me that was embarrassing.

hhibs
But the question is why did we put in such a flat performance Why didn’t Daz start a born leader and could of marked Rooney and would of driven team on
Why persist with a front three getting no service and with Boyle getting taken out the game effectively
I couldn’t even get nervous as knew a header from cross would undo us and we would struggle to get back at them
But it was a bit of a non event ffs
Saint s we’re firm team and it was as if we didn’t believe we could get back into it

JR never or is too stubborn to learn,players too soft,no leadership on the park and that is just for starts.

The players should not need motivated for a cup final, I get that you all think Jack Ross isn't a motivator but at this point it shouldnt even matter. Its a cup final and they are on the pitch and can affect the game yet no one other than Murphy could create an inch of space. Boyle was out played by Callum Booth.

Was Boyle playing?

22-05-2021, 03:10 PM
After all the screeds of newsprint in the papers about how much it all means etc etc we get a pathetic show like that.

And I'd be happy if we put the 2016 cup final to bed now. The commentators were still rattling on about it towards the end of today's sorry scene.

Get decent money for Porteous and Nisbet and rebuild the squad.

Yep. And don't buy Irvine.

Ive genuinely never seen so many players having so many bad first touches in a football game in my life. Basic stuff you get taught as a bairn and should come naturally to a professional footballer yet the likes of Irvine in particular couldnt control a ball to save himself.

tomhorn
Their little day?! They just won a cup double. When was the last time a non-OF club did that? They deserve their moment in the sun.

Correct

Crazyhorse

He might as well have given them the cup at half time.

Oranje39

What a prick you are!

They've won more than Hibs in the last ten years.

Dry your eyes.

Stuarty1875
22-05-2021, 03:11 PM
That was so predictable.

Wrong starting team.

Wrong tactics.

McGregor should have 100% started - he’s been the best player for weeks and has the experience.

Should have gone 3-5-2 and matched them.

Massive opportunity missed.

Agree with this. Should have matched them. Thought our best performances this season came playing 352.

Zambernardi1875
No point getting rid of booth wotherspoon craig and Middleton if we aren’t going to bring in anyone better

Biggest scandal is that a potential Euro league place (and the extra £millions) has been thrown in the gutter..
It’ll be another 20 years before that opportunity is handed to Hibs..

That’s secondary for me.

Scottish Cup Final is what matters.

22-05-2021, 03:12 PM
No point getting rid of booth wotherspoon craig and Middleton if we aren’t going to bring in anyone better

We do have better.

Just none of them put in any effort today.

hhibs
Said on Twitter and I'll repeat it here: And we wonder where the phrase 'Hibsed it' comes from... pathetic, weak-minded, weak-kneed, soul-destroying performance from a team with almost three times the salary cost and twice the market value of Saints.

And before anyone comes back with the it's a cup game nonsense... I've been watching Hibs for 48 years and I've been making my living from football for more than half that time, and it's always the same at Hibs. Very, very few clubs would allow this to happen across a near half-century. There's a serious problem with the whole 'winning mentality' ethos at Hibs. It's structural, and only a complete clear-out of the club from top to bottom will stop it.

Completely agree and, for once,I think our new owner ,Ron Gordon may just be the man to get it done .

I dont for one second think Jack Ross told the players to play like that, we've seen them play well many times but not a single one of them did today and that's on them. They let us down.

His job to clear them out then. Doubt he will.

The club have been talking about creating a culture of winning. They’re going about it the wrong way from what I can see, especially if players decide not to turn up in big games.

hibbie63
22-05-2021, 03:13 PM
I can't actually describe how angry I am right now.

The players have completely let the club down today.
the players have let the club and the fans with that gutless spineless showing
they should be hanging there heads in shame jr as well clueless.

\

y

Fifehibby74
22-05-2021, 03:13 PM
Disappointed but not surprised.

hibee62
22-05-2021, 03:14 PM
He might as well have given them the cup at half time.

I always find that sort of comment funny, but I’m probably taking it too literally…

My post is a fairly minor gripe, I thought we’d score eventually but I agree that post-60 minutes there was nothing… still, if the game stops for 60s and then bang on time up the ball falls to an attacker 30 yards from goal, you probably shouldn’t be blowing the whistle.

22-05-2021, 03:14 PM
Rooney has a sore calf, i can only imagine he must have injured himself whilst rolling about p@ssing himself laughing at our wimps

22-05-2021, 03:15 PM
His job to clear them out then. Doubt he will.

The club have been talking about creating a culture of winning. They’re going about it the wrong way from what I can see, especially if players decide not to turn up in big games.

What about the other big games we did turn up in?

Ross would get the same response had we lost literally any cup game.

We are miles better than we were when he came in, but sadly we can also play like that today.

22-05-2021, 03:15 PM

completely agree unfortunately

hhibs
22-05-2021, 03:16 PM

You are right about the players but wrong about the manager,to me JR is incapable of change or learning from obvious mistakes.

Please god get a leader on the park !!

Zambernardi1875
We do have better.

Just none of them put in any effort today.

Belt up you

MKHIBEE
If shelley kerr says 'cup final' once more i'll kill myself
I was thinking that before the kick off, pointless observations

cad
22-05-2021, 03:17 PM
Ive genuinely never seen so many players having so many bad first touches in a football game in my life. Basic stuff you get taught as a bairn and should come naturally to a professional footballer yet the likes of Irvine in particular couldnt control a ball to save himself.

Were Hibs actually there, how do you hide in an empty stadium

You are right about the players but wrong about the manager,to me JR is incapable of change or learning from obvious mistakes.

Please god get a leader on the park !!

Other than McGregor for Porteous I don't think there is anything in our squad that changes the outcome, our bench is dire, we have a very small squad, the starting 11 was about as good as we could get.

He picked the team and gave instructions for tactics.

While we weren’t playing Barcelona we made them look like Barcelona at times.

Even at 1-0 it looked more like Saints scoring a 2nd than us scoring a goal.

Hibs too stubborn today trying to play our nice slick football..it was never going to happen - that for me is poor preparation and meant a very comfortable 1-0 for Saints.

hhibs
22-05-2021, 03:18 PM

We are miles better than we were when he came in, but sadly we can also play like that today.

Ah, May madness ,the happy clapper!

paul_hfc3
22-05-2021, 03:19 PM
Awful performance absolutely pathetic. Paul Hanlon is dog **** and is a *****bag who shouldn't be captain

22-05-2021, 03:19 PM
Full time, well done to St Johnstone. Two cup wins in the one season is some achievement.

Embarrassing performance from Hibs, absolutely pathetic. Disgusted by what I've seen today, completely unacceptable - the game was done after 32 minutes.

hhibs
22-05-2021, 03:20 PM
He picked the team and gave instructions for tactics.

While we weren’t playing Barcelona we made them look like Barcelona at times.

Even at 1-0 it looked more like Saints scoring a 2nd than us scoring a goal.

Hibs too stubborn today trying to play our nice slick football..it was never going to happen - that for me is poor preparation and meant a very comfortable 1-0 for Saints.

Yes and the buck stops with the manager.

mcfly
Jack Ross interview.

Must have watched a different game from me.

Shocking

Sadly there were a few egos out there today that forgot they were professional footballers with a job to do. One thing Jack Ross knows now is that the fans will never accept that kind of bland, insipid football - for his own management sake he needs real gritty leaders in that side, less pony tails and show ponies.

There was not a really bad tackle in the game imho. Kane could and should have been booked for persistent following but let’s not kid ourselves on here. The St J played as a team and Jane was part of it. Each player knew what they were doing and did their job. They showed up and won’t have an easier day!

They deserved their win.

As for little day.... I wouldn’t mind having a couple of little days like they’ve had. Cup double and 5th by any team outwith the ugly sisters is an amazing achievement and very well deserved.

I’m not sure whether you are being serious or trolling??

gaz1875
22-05-2021, 03:21 PM
Never turned up for another final. Brutal performance, 2 centre halves needed for starters. How Gogic was subbed is beyond me.

22-05-2021, 03:22 PM
Fine margins doesn’t cut it any more Jack. DOESNT CUT IT.

2 semis, 1 final. Is that 6 games against the (mighty) St Johnstone?

22-05-2021, 03:23 PM
I thought when Murphy came on, we'd have a go at them, but st Johnstone brought on Murray Davidson to nullify him. Managers making decisions change games. Ours started with Porto starting.

They had our number before we started the game and we needed to change the shape or personnel to win.

cad
22-05-2021, 03:24 PM
Ah, May madness ,the happy clapper!

So true

Im more a players turn up every game kind of supporter ,dont like when guys pick and choose when to show up

22-05-2021, 03:24 PM
Scott Allan would have put in a better performance than most today, playing with his cup final suit and flat shoes on as well

22-05-2021, 03:25 PM

What big games? A league game to finish third? Finishing above Aberdeen looks to be worth £200k extra before player bonuses are subtracted. We are entering Europe at the same stage as Aberdeen so ultimately 3rd place is meaningless.

Miles better? Steady. Better, yes but miles, no. We play the % every match that’s why we’re always on the brink of games like today.

St Johnstone are miles better since Callum Davidson took over. Cup double and have flown up the league with small budget.

tonyrougier123
22-05-2021, 03:25 PM
Huge summer for the club,changes inevitable some forced some natural.Ross really annoyed me there,players needed to hear that was unacceptable for a team representing Hibernian in the showpiece event.

22-05-2021, 03:29 PM
St Johnstone players/staff would have been practising all week celebrating winning the cup, in fairness they probably even started after beating Sevco

hibee62
22-05-2021, 03:29 PM
What big games? A league game to finish third? Finishing above Aberdeen looks to be worth £200k extra before player bonuses are subtracted. We are entering Europe at the same stage as Aberdeen so ultimately 3rd place is meaningless.

Miles better? Steady. Better, yes but miles, no. We play the % every match that’s why we’re always on the brink of games like today.

St Johnstone are miles better since Callum Davidson took over. Cup double and have flown up the league with small budget.

On the league front we have gone from 8th to 3rd and St Johnstone have gone from 6th to 5th under current managers. Their cup performances are obviously outstanding while ours are as they always have been for 20 years.

Also: if we played the way St Johnstone do we’d be getting all the usual stuff about being boring.

Davy Mac
22-05-2021, 03:31 PM
More predictable heartache, brilliant effort this season but why oh why do we lose games likes this in the manner we do.

Weird.

AlanGF69
The 'winning' mentality just doesn't exist for Hibs!

Ross out, and sell half the starting XI today who didn't even look like footballers.

cad
Other than McGregor for Porteous I don't think there is anything in our squad that changes the outcome, our bench is dire, we have a very small squad, the starting 11 was about as good as we could get.

Small squad or not ,good isnt, just isnt acceptable , f me wheres the motivation wheres the leadership wheres the heart ,honestly that just isnt how its done football clubs and fans have passion a belonging a bond that was nowhere to be seen today , dire f/g dire ,if they're sitting in there wondering how it all went wrong give them all a mirror and have a good look at themselves, bar the keeper, nobody got pass marks.

Magpie
Callum Booth and David Wotherspoon made their goal. Two ‘rejects’ of ours.

22-05-2021, 03:33 PM
Huge summer for the club,changes inevitable some forced some natural.Ross really annoyed me there,players needed to hear that was unacceptable for a team representing Hibernian in the showpiece event.

Really annoyed me too but that was the expected PR response to the cameras. You would hope he is saying a lot different in the dressing room.

22-05-2021, 03:34 PM
Callum Booth and David Wotherspoon made their goal. Two ‘rejects’ of ours.

Both rejuvenated and on form, and good players - chuffed for them both, especially Booth as he’s really earned it the hard way.

paul_hfc3
22-05-2021, 03:35 PM
Small squad or not ,good isnt, just isnt acceptable , f me wheres the motivation wheres the leadership wheres the heart ,honestly that just isnt how its done football clubs and fans have passion a belonging a bond that was nowhere to be seen today , dire f/g dire ,if they're sitting in there wondering how it went wrong give them all a mirrors and have a good look at themselves bar the keeper, nobody got pass marks.

H18S NX
22-05-2021, 03:35 PM
Well done St Johnstone,fully deserved their win today.Hibs you were a disgrace today,one half-chance in the first half was all we could muster,surely a clearout is on the horizon,JR included.

norhfc
22-05-2021, 03:36 PM
I had to turn it off at full time, what was Jack Ross saying ?

22-05-2021, 03:38 PM
On the league front we have gone from 8th to 3rd and St Johnstone have gone from 6th to 5th under current managers. Their cup performances are obviously outstanding while ours are as they always have been for 20 years.

We should never be 8th though. Finishing above 5th should be a minimum. People are saying achievement finishing 3rd. We’ve done it during COVID (no fans), a poor Aberdeen team, and no Hearts. Based on this teams performances in cup competitions I can almost safely say we will be worse when fans get back to ER. We have no grit and fight and yet seem to want to sign more players with no grit and fight.

They’ll be booed at ER with the sideways passes while losing followed by desperate hoofball in last 20mins.

This squad needs major changes and I really hope 3rd place doesn’t fool people to think otherwise. We’re still a weak club mentally. Cannot fathom a whole team sleepwalking through a final, no leadership through shouting or by example. Spectators were allowed into Hampden after all.

22-05-2021, 03:39 PM

same here

cad
22-05-2021, 03:40 PM

If you turned of you got the best bit ,really dont care what he has to say ,totally pee`d of yet again a chance to shine bites the dust

22-05-2021, 03:41 PM
Sadly there were a few egos out there today that forgot they were professional footballers with a job to do. One thing Jack Ross knows now is that the fans will never accept that kind of bland, insipid football - for his own management sake he needs real gritty leaders in that side, less pony tails and show ponies.

I’m signing off Hibs.net for a while, for the sake of my own mental health.

But Jack Ross has questions to answer after that. He picked the players and he decided the set up. Very poor.

Of course the league campaign was very decent but we benefited from Aberdeen’s post new year implosion.

Our manager obviously knows his stuff but it seems he’s not able to inspire the team to go above and beyond when it’s really needed.

StockholmHibs
22-05-2021, 03:43 PM
This has been Jack Ross-tastic as far as do or die game performances go. Still, I’m sure we’ll ‘learn things’ from this.

Didn't learn from thec3 previous occasions, why learn now?

hibee62
22-05-2021, 03:43 PM
We should never be 8th though. Finishing above 5th should be a minimum. People are saying achievement finishing 3rd. We’ve done it during COVID (no fans), a poor Aberdeen team, and no Hearts. Based on this teams performances in cup competitions I can almost safely say we will be worse when fans get back to ER. We have no grit and fight and yet seem to want to sign more players with no grit and fight.

They’ll be booed at ER with the sideways passes while losing followed by desperate hoofball in last 20mins.

This squad needs major changes and I really hope 3rd place doesn’t fool people to think otherwise. We’re still a weak club mentally. Cannot fathom a whole team sleepwalking through a final, no leadership through shouting or by example. Spectators were allowed into Hampden after all.

You are right about today’s performance but the idea that 3rd should be downplayed is ludicrous. You only beat what’s put in front of you and the points total is similar to previous years in that position.

Again, you only work from the hand you’re dealt and jack Ross has improved us massively from the point when he came in. If he falls back now then he will be judged accordingly.

The team should be improved as it should be every season, we look to do better again, but it now seems like he is going to be fighting from below with some fans despite doing an excellent job and I find that grossly unfair.

Davy Mac
22-05-2021, 03:44 PM
The love in for St J is equally galling.

22-05-2021, 03:45 PM
In hindsight, we should have started with 2 wide players. By the time we made the changes, they could sit with a back 5 and 2 screening midfielders and smother everything.

St Johnstone are very good at what they do and it happens to be our achilles heel.

Great achievement for the Perth club.

StockholmHibs
22-05-2021, 03:45 PM

Should have started with mcgregor yhen, naw?

bythecringe
22-05-2021, 03:46 PM
Another shambolic, sedentary performance from Hibs in a cup final. Once again my dogs had a better cup final day than me. Much excitement for them finding a dead decayed seal on the foreshore at Cramond. In retrospect it was an omen for the performance Hibs would give today.

hibee62
22-05-2021, 03:47 PM

Absolutely, they play the exact way Aberdeen have for years and if we played like that the manager would be slaughtered. They are effective and successful.

loanheadhibby
22-05-2021, 03:50 PM

You go girl.

22-05-2021, 03:51 PM
Should have started with mcgregor yhen, naw?

Absolutely- wouldn’t have had Newell in the side starting either (for me).

StockholmHibs
22-05-2021, 03:52 PM
And for anyone who is under any illusion about the Scottish cup...... It is far more av an achievement than finishing third in the league without hearts.
Awful Hibs just Awful.

22-05-2021, 03:53 PM

Slavering away sounding like a jambo wi his fav green cardi on, never even looked angry perhaps it was different in the dressing room but I dont think so, give me a manager who perhaps even wins a wee bit less but gives us an entertaining team to watch one that gives us hope and is good to go an watch, I just re-newed ma season as well, so its no just the players that can make poor choices.

22-05-2021, 03:54 PM
You are right about today’s performance but the idea that 3rd should be downplayed is ludicrous. You only beat what’s put in front of you and the points total is similar to previous years in that position.

Again, you only work from the hand you’re dealt and jack Ross has improved us massively from the point when he came in. If he falls back now then he will be judged accordingly.

The team should be improved as it should be every season, we look to do better again, but it now seems like he is going to be fighting from below with some fans despite doing an excellent job and I find that grossly unfair.

How do Hibs create a winning culture if finishing 3rd in one season while being beaten in the cups with relative ease is seen as a manager doing an “excellent job”? He’s doing a decent job but next season will be his true test. Based on his signings and staff changes though I think he’s getting his pals in more than anything. If he finishes 3rd next season and we do well in Europe and compete in the cups that’d be an excellent job.

I’m happy to give him time but based on our standard of play I think even positive fans can see that this can easily go the same way as Heckingbottom once ER has fans back.

Do I trust Jack Ross to reform this squad in the necessary manner? Not sure. Big summer ahead, think we need 7-8 in with 5-6 leaving (if not more).

StockholmHibs
22-05-2021, 03:54 PM

Fine margins? Could have played to Christmas without scoring

The Pointer
22-05-2021, 03:55 PM

I agree to a certain extent, but we scraped through the semi-final and they should have been told then. St Johnstone's semi performance was infinitely better than ours.

22-05-2021, 03:57 PM
Absolutely, they play the exact way Aberdeen have for years and if we played like that the manager would be slaughtered. They are effective and successful.

Total disservice to St Johnstone tbh, Ali McCann, Wotherspoon and Bryson are tidy players with great work rates. Their 3 centre backs would walk into our team. They are mobile, strong and win almost all headers.

Only good thing from today is St Johnstone will probably lose most of their players.

22-05-2021, 04:00 PM
Total disservice to St Johnstone tbh, Ali McCann, Wotherspoon and Bryson are tidy players with great work rates. Their 3 centre backs would walk into our team. They are mobile, strong and win almost all headers.

Only good thing from today is St Johnstone will probably lose most of their players.

I’m kind of hoping after today we lose more than a few too !

hibee62
22-05-2021, 04:00 PM
How do Hibs create a winning culture if finishing 3rd in one season while being beaten in the cups with relative ease is seen as a manager doing an “excellent job”? He’s doing a decent job but next season will be his true test. Based on his signings and staff changes though I think he’s getting his pals in more than anything. If he finishes 3rd next season and we do well in Europe and compete in the cups that’d be an excellent job.

I’m happy to give him time but based on our standard of play I think even positive fans can see that this can easily go the same way as Heckingbottom once ER has fans back.

Do I trust Jack Ross to reform this squad in the necessary manner? Not sure. Big summer ahead, think we need 7-8 in with 5-6 leaving (if not more).

Your first statement is very unfair. In the league he can do no more than finish 3rd in all reality and you say we lost easily in the cups but while we went out with a whimper it was in the latter stages. The league cup semi final narrative has also been rewritten to fit some agendas.

Whether you like it or not, finishing 3rd and getting to a semi and a final is an excellent job by the manager. But, in your defence, this is now the base he has to work from, much like his previous base was 8th, and you are right that next season is more of a test. I’m not sure where you’re getting “his pals” from though…?

hhibs
22-05-2021, 04:01 PM

Also: if we played the way St Johnstone do we’d be getting all the usual stuff about being boring.

Gee us peace

That will probably go down as one of the worst Scottish Cup Finals of all time but St Johnstone won't be bothered about that. They didn't even have to break sweat and we could have played till next week and not scored. If I never saw another game of football it wouldn't bother me after watching that dross. Ive renewed for next season out of loyalty but a part of me would be quite happy if Sturgeon and Co keep us locked out for the foreseable. .

Where do you even begin to deconstruct that performance ?

Only Hibs... ONLY Hibs could turn up at Hampden in the Final of the Scottish Cup and put in such a pitiful, insipid performance like that. Too many inflated egos with eyes on bigger wage packets. Big talk, all talk. If Hibs sell a few of these guys for decent money in the summer, that's absolutely fine.

hibee62
22-05-2021, 04:04 PM

I disagree, I don’t mean they are not good at what they do but look at the comments about Ross and our style of play…they play to their strengths and are very good at it.

hibee62
22-05-2021, 04:05 PM
Gee us peace

Eh?

cad
22-05-2021, 04:07 PM

The league game a week or so ago showed Ross all the problems he was going to be up against today, nothing changed, and neither did our tactics or the result ,its St Johnstone FFS.

Scottish football dear god why ,why is it so ***** ,why do fans stroll up to watch this dross, being a Hibby you have to be thick skinned duck and dive a bit when the results dont go our way, we are always looking to tomorrow hoping things will improve , this was the Scottish Cup Final, the big one ,the holy grail up to a few years ago until Sir David supplied that nod, another chance to scratch the Hibs name on a bit of silver ware ,it took over a hundred years to finally get our hands on it ,and then this today ,this effort, this show ,this footballing Picasso,what was this today, what was it that run out in the famous green ,thats not a f/g Hibs team thats a bunch of f/g imposters

22-05-2021, 04:11 PM
Where do you even begin to deconstruct that performance ?

Only Hibs... ONLY Hibs could turn up at Hampden in the Final of the Scottish Cup and put in such a pitiful, insipid performance like that. Too many inflated egos with eyes on bigger wage packets. Big talk, all talk. If Hibs sell a few of these guys for decent money in the summer, that's absolutely fine.

That’s where I’m at sadly - I’m actually embarrassed not just by the team performance, but the fact that’s one of the worst displays I’ve witnessed any cup final side of any team give. Said it weeks ago, need two new centre halves, both leaders, and a midfield with energy. But not in my wildest ‘nightmare’ did I ever think I’d see that kind of showing today. That was leaderless, rudderless, tactically unaware, and bereft of any fight or real desire to win a game of football. Can’t even begin to dissect it. Start to finish it was abject.

22-05-2021, 04:12 PM
Your first statement is very unfair. In the league he can do no more than finish 3rd in all reality and you say we lost easily in the cups but while we went out with a whimper it was in the latter stages. The league cup semi final narrative has also been rewritten to fit some agendas.

Whether you like it or not, finishing 3rd and getting to a semi and a final is an excellent job by the manager. But, in your defence, this is now the base he has to work from, much like his previous base was 8th, and you are right that next season is more of a test. I’m not sure where you’re getting “his pals” from though…?

Latter stages is again the minimum unless you are drawn against Celtic or Rangers. 3rd was maximum and minimum. May be unfair but that’s what managing a big club outside the old firm is like. If Jack Ross has us 3rd or 4th he’ll go the way of McInnes eventually because in truth it means nothing without cup wins.

Samson, Potter, Magennis, McGinn (x2), Liam Fox (presumably from his time at Hearts). Our new kit man…

Thought the “his pals” was fairly obvious tbh. Especially seeing as we have a tiny squad. Could almost put a bet on us signing someone from St Mirren in the summer.

Davy Mac
22-05-2021, 04:14 PM
The league game a week or so ago showed Ross all the problems he was going to be up against today, nothing changed, and neither did our tactics or the result ,its St Johnstone FFS.

Scottish football dear god why ,why is it so ***** ,why do fans stroll up to watch this dross, being a Hibby you have to be thick skinned duck and dive a bit when the results dont go our way, we are always looking to tomorrow hoping things will improve , this was the Scottish Cup Final, the big one ,the holy grail up to a few years ago until Sir David supplied that nod, another chance to scratch the Hibs name on a bit of silver ware ,it took over a hundred years to finally get our hands on it ,and then this today ,this effort, this show ,this footballing Picasso,what was this today, what was it that run out in the famous green ,thats not a f/g Hibs team thats a bunch of f/g impostors

100%.

Imposters? - sadly you are spot on.

22-05-2021, 04:15 PM
I disagree, I don’t mean they are not good at what they do but look at the comments about Ross and our style of play…they play to their strengths and are very good at it.

Why don’t we play to our strengths? What are our strengths? Counter attack is all I can think of and that’s being kind as it’s only really Boyle that poses the threat.

hibee62
22-05-2021, 04:17 PM
Latter stages is again the minimum unless you are drawn against Celtic or Rangers. 3rd was maximum and minimum. May be unfair but that’s what managing a big club outside the old firm is like. If Jack Ross has us 3rd or 4th he’ll go the way of McInnes eventually because in truth it means nothing without cup wins.

Samson, Potter, Magennis, McGinn (x2), Liam Fox (presumably from his time at Hearts). Our new kit man…

Thought the “his pals” was fairly obvious tbh. Especially seeing as we have a tiny squad. Could almost put a bet on us signing someone from St Mirren in the summer.

So by his pals you were mostly referring to his back room team plus a couple of players. Very unfair and I doubt you’d find a manager without a similar amount of “pals” in his back room and playing teams. Many would sign more than 2 or 3 players (think S McGinn kind of straddles the 2) from previous clubs.

If we go 8 years with no progress then jack Ross will deservedly leave the club by choice or otherwise, I’d like to think we’d act sooner than that tbh. Fortunately we’ve not had a single year with no progress.

cad
22-05-2021, 04:17 PM
100%.

Imposters? - sadly you are spot on./

knew it was an e but I was in full tonto

22-05-2021, 04:26 PM
St Johnstone played exactly the same way as they have all season, including the last 3 games against us, so there were no surprises today. Any manager worth a **** should have been able to find a way around that style of play after 3 previous goes at it and Jack Ross couldn't.

The brutal truth is St Johnstone kept the ball away from Boyle, Doidge and Nisbet in dangerous areas without breaking sweat, they won 95% of anything played in and around their box and stopped us getting down the flanks with absolute ease ... consequently we created absolutely nothing. Boyle's dive near the end when he could have kept the play going in a dangerous area was nothing short of an embarrassment to him as a player and us as a club.

I will never accuse us of not giving our all, I don't think that was even the case today .... but the skill, guile, game awareness and drive required to win a cup final was missing in absolute spades this afternoon. In short, we knew exactly what we were going to face and had absolutely no answer to it ... an utterly abject performance from a team whose hype and plaudits this season are way in excess of the reality of their ability, the only upside to this is that we won't end up in a European group where this lot would without a doubt drag our European reputation to an all time low.

Blackfordhibby
22-05-2021, 05:06 PM
I spent the day in Blairgowrie at my Mother Inlaws raking dead moss from her lawns. Didn't find out the score until I got back to Dunning at 16:15.

Guess who had the better day? I know what I think.

Mantis Toboggan
22-05-2021, 05:20 PM
I spent the day in Blairgowrie at my Mother Inlaws raking dead moss from her lawns. Didn't find out the score until I got back to Dunning at 16:15.

Guess who had the better day? I know what I think.

That's a little too much detail. But does sound like a better day than most of us have no doubt had.

22-05-2021, 05:29 PM

When we play St Johnstone they often look the better football team despite not really doing anything fancy. They do the basics very well. We looked like we hadn't met and were being introduced to a Mitre. Ross really needs to reflect on what made us play at such a pathetic pace and without desire. He also needs to self reflect on his tactics and his ability to motivate players.

22-05-2021, 05:35 PM
When we play St Johnstone they often look the better football team despite not really doing anything fancy. They do the basics very well. We looked like we hadn't met and were being introduced to a Mitre. Ross really needs to reflect on what made us play at such a pathetic pace and without desire. He also needs to self reflect on his tactics and his ability to motivate players.

They play as a team and work hard for each other. They’re no great shakes but they are organised, have good players and a great manager.

We on the other hand don’t help each other. We pass it to Boyle or Murphy and sit back and watch them struggle to beat 5 men on their own, or hoof it up to Doidge!

22-05-2021, 07:28 PM
They play as a team and work hard for each other. They’re no great shakes but they are organised, have good players and a great manager.

We on the other hand don’t help each other. We pass it to Boyle or Murphy and sit back and watch them struggle to beat 5 men on their own, or hoof it up to Doidge!
Who do we blame for being so stupid the players or the manager ?

This is a horror story that keeps on reoccurring in big games. I just want someone more educated than me to sort this ***** out. :grr:

22-05-2021, 07:36 PM

Totally agree and have just said almost the same on another thread. I used to coach Under 16s and lower and even at that level you would be getting players to play in small patterns to overload the opposition etc. I just can't see any real pattern of play from us and that is shocking given the individuals we have. We rely on brilliance from individuals and that is why our form is so patchy.

Ross has certainly made us better and the players being signed look pretty decent to me. The big question is does he have enough to make those individuals better than the sum of their parts by motivation or tactics or better still both. The Jury is out for me. We finished third because we had very decent players and played in a pretty pragmatic fashion. We lost in the cups because we didn't want it as much as the opposition.

The Captain....
22-05-2021, 07:41 PM
There was a thread caling the players cowards today...it was nearly right...it was another cowardly performance at Hampden..I dont now what else you ould call it...was a diabolical display absolutley lacking in any bottle whatsoever. Disgusted.

Crazyhorse
22-05-2021, 08:29 PM

Agree. I don’t get anyone talking down St J out-with Celtic they are the best team in Scotland in the past 7 years in terms of actually winning trophies.

23-05-2021, 12:16 AM
You could sense trouble early-ish when Boyle got the ball on the right and had acres of space ahead to run into but elected to stop and pass backwards.

23-05-2021, 07:58 AM
I agree to a certain extent, but we scraped through the semi-final and they should have been told then. St Johnstone's semi performance was infinitely better than ours.

Dunno what semi finals you watched. St Mirren missed 3 absolute sitters. St Johnstone were poor in the semi

23-05-2021, 08:01 AM
You could sense trouble early-ish when Boyle got the ball on the right and had acres of space ahead to run into but elected to stop and pass backwards.
He was immediately surrounded by four Saintees who cut off his channel and had our number sussed IIRC

23-05-2021, 08:04 AM
He was immediately surrounded by four Saintees who cut off his channel and had our number sussed IIRC

A good team would have used that to their advantage. Four opposition players in one place means there is space elsewhere.

Unfortunately all we were interested in doing was passing the ball side to side and back the way, particularly Joe Newell.

23-05-2021, 08:28 AM
A good team would have used that to their advantage. Four opposition players in one place means there is space elsewhere.

Unfortunately all we were interested in doing was passing the ball side to side and back the way, particularly Joe Newell.

Agree

Surely any decent Manager worth his salt who has all his badges would have sussed this isn’t working and something will have to change (other than ‘Route 1’ down the throat of their giant defenders).

I know don’t call me Shirley :greengrin

23-05-2021, 08:44 AM

Our square pass game was outstanding yesterday. So was our walking pace game. And our not showing at throw-ins game.