View Full Version : Match Updates St Johnstone v Hibernian Scottish Cup Final Saturday 22nd May 2021
22-05-2021, 11:56 AM
Didn’t see an official match thread, and as I started the semi final one, thought I’d open this up
22-05-2021, 11:59 AM
To all the hibbys all over the world let's hope we all have a good day. Let's do this Hibs!
Green Reaper
22-05-2021, 12:01 PM
Mon the Hibees, play to your best and we will win, Time for Heroes Again!
22-05-2021, 12:01 PM
Macey, Hanlon, Porteous, McGinn, Doidge, Boyle, Newell, Gogic, Nisbet, Doig, Irvine.
♻ Marciano, Gray, Magennis, Wright, Stevenson, Murphy, Hallberg, Mcgregor
Allez Hibs
22-05-2021, 12:02 PM
Are Hibs only playing with 10 Players?......
Who does the comms?
22-05-2021, 12:03 PM
Mon the hibees
22-05-2021, 12:04 PM
St J quite a strong team when you look at their starting 11. Their bench is also really strong, a lot more options to bring on than us
22-05-2021, 12:04 PM
Are Hibs only playing with 10 Players?......
Who does the comms?Somebody that made a wee mistake and has since corrected it with the addition of Boyle.
22-05-2021, 12:05 PM
Was hoping to see big Daz in that starting 11 , hopefully Porto plays a blinder
22-05-2021, 12:06 PM
Huge call going for Porteous over Daz considering form.
Lets hope Porteous has a stormer.
mayo hibee
22-05-2021, 12:07 PM
Do we not have a 20th player around the club who could sit on the bench or is every other player either injured or out on loan?
22-05-2021, 12:08 PM
Come on Hibernian. GGTTH.
22-05-2021, 12:09 PM
Saints
Clark
Rooney Kerr Gordon mccart Booth
Bryson Wotherspoon McCann Middleton
Kane
Subs
Parish
Brown
Tanser
Craig
Davidson
Conway
Melamed
May
O’Halloran
Bangkok Hibby
22-05-2021, 12:17 PM
To all the hibbys all over the world let's hope we all have a good day. Let's do this Hibs!
🙏🏻🇹🇭 🇳🇬🇳🇬🇳🇬
SJNB Hibby
22-05-2021, 12:20 PM
When does the broadcast start on Hibs TV for International viewers? They were doing a countdown to "going Live" for 1300, but nothing yet
22-05-2021, 12:21 PM
I have no doubt Porteous will shut a few people up today. Very good young player and will be better suited to the fast front 3 of St Johnstone.
Think we’ll line up as a 442 to nullify their threat.
The 3 forwards they play against our back 3 in recent games has allowed them all to press us and stop us playing it forward.
Also the front 3 are good at combining with their wing backs to stop Doig and Boyle.
442 allows us more space and time on the ball and enables us to pop it around them a bit more.
Gogic and Newell will take care of McCann and Bryson.
Nisbet will drop in if there’s an extra man.
We’re winning this and will get an early goal.
Magpie
22-05-2021, 12:25 PM
Come on the Hibees!!! Let’s ****ing do it boys.
cocteautwin
22-05-2021, 12:26 PM
When does the broadcast start on Hibs TV for International viewers? They were doing a countdown to "going Live" for 1300, but nothing yet
I thought it was 1pm start with some build up but nothing started yet it seems.
OtleyHibs
22-05-2021, 12:29 PM
Nervous excitement has me really restless here, can barely sit still!
Though I've watched the 2016 final so many times it stupid I still can't quite get my head round the fact that we have a real chance at a second Scottish Cup in 5 years, a trophy that not so long ago I genuinely believed I never thought I'd see us win.
Let's do this Hibernian, get on the front foot early, play at our best and we bring this cup home
22-05-2021, 12:30 PM
Back to the future bud 😀
22-05-2021, 12:31 PM
Nervous excitement has me really restless here, can barely sit still!
Though I've watched the 2026 final so many times it stupid I still can't quite get my head round the fact that we have a real chance at a second Scottish Cup in 5 years, a trophy that not so long ago I genuinely believed I never thought I'd see us win.
Let's do this Hibernian, get on the front foot early, play at our best and we bring this cup home
Do we win in 2026?! I can’t bare the suspense! :greengrin
Nerves well and truly settled in. Onto beer number 3 already.
OtleyHibs
22-05-2021, 12:31 PM
Back to the future bud 😀
My exuberance kicked in too early this time 😁
Edited last post as we obviously haven't won the 2026 Cup.....yet
SJNB Hibby
22-05-2021, 12:32 PM
I thought it was 1pm start with some build up but nothing started yet it seems.
I've sent a message
22-05-2021, 12:32 PM
Callum Davidson is a fanny.
SJNB Hibby
22-05-2021, 12:38 PM
I've sent a message
They got back to me---prematch starts at 1340:aok:
cocteautwin
22-05-2021, 12:42 PM
The reassuring tones of Cliff Pike have just started
22-05-2021, 12:44 PM
Nisbet comes across exceptionally well
Man Down Under
22-05-2021, 12:47 PM
Thought I missed a good chunck of the first half here in NZ. Supposed to be a social night with some friends. It's going to be an antisocial night on HibsTV for me.
Sent from my SM-A205GN using Tapatalk
jellybean
22-05-2021, 12:47 PM
Why is time moving so slowly.....😂
JXM73
22-05-2021, 12:48 PM
Callum Davidson is a fanny.
Wears a fanny's hat...
Why is time moving so slowly.....😂
12 mins to kick off.
Felt like today has lasted forever!
22-05-2021, 12:52 PM
Let’s finish the season on a high with another Scottish Cup.
CloudSquall
22-05-2021, 12:52 PM
Down here in Buenos Aires I have wine in my coffee cup and have my phone strategically placed to ensure non stop viewing while I wing it through some English classes on my laptop, mon the Hibs :flag::flag:
Shelley on but without the mullet
22-05-2021, 12:53 PM
mon the cabbage:flag::flag::flag:
22-05-2021, 12:54 PM
First beer sunk, hot dogs eaten, flags and scarf hanging from window, pre match nerves intact. Gaun the Hibs
pollution
22-05-2021, 12:54 PM
Shelley on but without the mullet
The voice ! Her English !!
22-05-2021, 12:55 PM
Moan the Hibees [emoji172][emoji171]
Magpie
22-05-2021, 12:55 PM
Stubbsy getting me emotional.
22-05-2021, 12:56 PM
Stubbs saying he knew we would win in 2016 the morning he woke up :greengrin
The voice ! Her English !!
It grates
22-05-2021, 12:57 PM
shelley says a hibs win so stfu ;)
22-05-2021, 12:58 PM
Every pundit going for a St J win it seems.
Pah. They know nothing.
zitelli62
Cmon my bonny boys.
Time for heroes
C'mon the hibees
22-05-2021, 12:59 PM
Time for Heroes banner is at Hampden 🇳🇬🇳🇬🇳🇬
No fans is an absolute disgrace
22-05-2021, 01:00 PM
Right Hibs lets do this.
22-05-2021, 01:01 PM
Mon the Cabbage
Paul Hanlon first hibs player to start in 4 Scottish Cup finals for us
1979 doesn't count :wink:
Come on Hibs!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!
Badabing
22-05-2021, 01:02 PM
All 5 pundits on Sportsound tipping St Johnstone. Unbelievable.
shamo9
22-05-2021, 01:02 PM
Come on Hibs :flag::flag::flag:
pollution
22-05-2021, 01:03 PM
All 5 pundits on Sportscene tipping St Johnstone. Unbelievable.
Quick goal Hibs !!
22-05-2021, 01:09 PM
All 5 pundits on Sportscene tipping St Johnstone. Unbelievable.
:confused: As in BBC1 sportscene :confused:
22-05-2021, 01:09 PM
[QUOTE=Badabing;6573163]All 5 pundits on Sportscene tipping St Johnstone. Unbelievable.[/QUOTE
Lets prove em wrong
22-05-2021, 01:10 PM
Decent chance for the Saints
22-05-2021, 01:12 PM
Quick goal Hibs !!
The Sportscene pundits were tipping Hibs.
2 out of 3 of them anyway.
Badabing
22-05-2021, 01:12 PM
:confused: As in BBC1 sportscene :confused:
Sorry I meant Sportsound
22-05-2021, 01:14 PM
Pretty cack so far , Everything going up the left . Boyle hasnt even touched the ball yet . were not winning today im afraid
22-05-2021, 01:15 PM
awk stop yer swearing spoony
:)
22-05-2021, 01:17 PM
porteous gifting the ball away up top
22-05-2021, 01:17 PM
Brilliant from Gogic.
Well done Gogic. Some poor defending after RP give the ball away high up the pitch.
22-05-2021, 01:18 PM
Giving the ball away far too much
Both sides looking fairly nervous so far
HendoDelivered
Porto is giving me the fear a bit
22-05-2021, 01:19 PM
Newell could've turned and pushed on there. He slows the team down too much
cameronw-hfc
Honestly this has been dire so far. Hoof ball, hope we pull it together
CloudSquall
Tremendous Gogic track back after Middleton left Hanlon and co on their arse.
22-05-2021, 01:20 PM
Ffs
Andymac85
Been really scrappy so far. We aren’t linking up in the final third at all.
GreyJammies
Porto is giving me the fear a bit
He's alright.
Chill Winston.
22-05-2021, 01:21 PM
They are a difficult team to break down.
22-05-2021, 01:21 PM
poor cross from McGinn
22-05-2021, 01:22 PM
We'll settle...Passed it around nicely there, poor cross...Itll come
Disappointing from hibs so far, St. John better start.
Good play from us just needed a decent cross in by McGinn. Mon Hibs.
Pretty cack so far , Everything going up the left . Boyle hasnt even touched the ball yet . were not winning today im afraid
Yeah been pretty dire so far. Game defo missing a spark. Both teams though, not just us so never say never.
Most of the team havnt bothered to turn up for this . Gogic has but the rest have been shocking
GreyJammies
Wasteful from super Paul McGinn there.
hibee62
Dire? No. Flat? A little. Hoofball? Rubbish… I’d suggest we actually need to move the ball forward a bit quicker.
Bangkok Hibby
22-05-2021, 01:23 PM
Got to be Ross tactics. Ryan hardly passed the ball to his right. Dont understand it but early yet.
22-05-2021, 01:24 PM
corner hibs :clapper:
Better move, good cross by Boyle, well defended by Kerr
And then a poor corner from Boyle
cameronw-hfc
Dire? No. Flat? A little. Hoofball? Rubbish… I’d suggest we actually need to move the ball forward a bit quicker.
Lol im usually a happy camper but just saying we've started a bit crap. It has been pretty bad with long balls not sure what you're watching, but im not trying to say they're all crap lol, just we've started really poor, seem slow and off it so far
Good cross from Boyle, defender had to get or that was a goal
22-05-2021, 01:25 PM
Oot ma seat heading that one lol....
hibee62
22-05-2021, 01:25 PM
Lol im usually a happy camper but just saying we've started a bit crap. It has been pretty bad with long balls not sure what you're watching, but im not trying to say they're all crap lol, just we've started really poor, seem slow and off it so far
I’m watching the game where we’re passing the ball about in midfield and defence too much without pushing on. Ball in the final 3rd has been poor.
Better last couple of minutes.
22-05-2021, 01:26 PM
Did you score???
Think Doig is about to get subbed, something not right with him.
CloudSquall
My head was almost through the laptop:greengrin
shamo9
22-05-2021, 01:27 PM
It was never going to be a classic free flowing match with St Johnstone involved. No need to panic. We've got several match winners in this team. We just need to be clinical when we get a chance and resolute in defence.
22-05-2021, 01:27 PM
Did you score???
I'm almost 60, I don't score very often......
jellybean
22-05-2021, 01:28 PM
Just terrified my daughter yelling then
Andymac85
Irvine should do better there.
Great chance for Irvine, should really have done better
Was there a penalty shout before the shot?
Fired it straight at the keeper
22-05-2021, 01:29 PM
Need to be scoring those chances!
22-05-2021, 01:29 PM
Chance
Bit better now. Created couple half chances.
22-05-2021, 01:30 PM
Thought we were about to get another Gogic screamer there!
Irvine should do better there.
Yip should have scored
shamo9
22-05-2021, 01:31 PM
Let's keep the pressure on now and get that vital opening goal. Come on Hibs :aok:
We're definitely the better team. Hopefully the goals will come. Mon Hibs.
GreyJammies
St Johnstone are tricky little buggers but we're gonna gets a goal soon.
I can feels it in me boneses.
You can get a pill for that :greengrin
22-05-2021, 01:32 PM
Boooo
goal st johnstone **** off
Typical
**** off. Dreadful defending
So f’n easy!
1-0 Saints
Ffs
1-0 St Johnstone
It will be hard to come back now.
**** off
HendoDelivered
Knew Doig would struggle against that big ****
1-0 Saints, Game Over
eezyrider
Ffs
EZ
jellybean
22-05-2021, 01:33 PM
Ah bugger
Very poor goal to lose
FFS :bsod:
HibeesGal
****ing typical!!! Just clear the ****ing ball.
**** sake
come out keeper
Carbon copy of his last goal against hibs
Zambernardi1875
Put a tackle in Boyle and mcginn, shat it.
Lucky bloody break of the ball. FFS
Going to be very difficult now.Shop shut
22-05-2021, 01:34 PM
Tempted to switch off now . None of them look like they want to win this , except maybe Gogic .
expresso
Poor defending before the cross
the one freakin thing we had to avoid, stop them scoring first
Defence to a man all over the place then.
Unacceptable.
blaikie
22-05-2021, 01:35 PM
Sitting far too deep!
It was coming, it’s how we react in the next 10 minutes.
Shock - we lose a goal to a header. Massive task for us now.
We’re far superior to them but we’re in their back pocket for some reason.
****ing about by McGinn and Boyle and a mismatch at the back, we've never looked in danger so far but that's a poor poor goal to lose.
Boyle and McGinn both half hearted tackles.
Doing never in the picture.
Irvine's miss looking ever more costly.
McGinn and Boyle both shown up by Booth and then the mismatch at the back.post. Lots of time to get back into this but we need to be more fired uo and energetic.
Lucky bloody break of the ball. FFS
Typical absolutely typical.
On top and looking the better team before losing a spawny goal
That's about the third time Gogic has jumped in to a tackle or block rather than just standing. Amateur stuff like.
AliboyFC
1-0 Saints, Game Over
**** sake don't be like that.
Absolute **** football in a cup final, sideways and backwards. Boyle not in the game at all.
Poor goal to loose, been pretty even I thought up until then
Liam6270
Hope I’m wrong but I just can’t see Hibs scoring, this team has some kind of hoodoo over us
22-05-2021, 01:36 PM
How ****ing simple is it?
Get a cross to the back post Doig too weak, Stevenson too wee.
How many times have we seen this tactic over the years and not one manager has been able to fix it
JXM73
We aint scoring, 4 games in a row against this mob...
Tug Wilson
Like a repeat of the league cup semi
Newell…didn’t realise spectators were allowed. Game is passing him by at the moment.
badabing67
Still confident
jellybean
I'm just not feeling this today, but happy to be wrong.....
****ing wake up Hibs
tonyrougier123
22-05-2021, 01:37 PM
The battles we are losing are obvious,newell has been terrible today.we are not laying a glove on this today unless changes are made.
Andymac85
It’s been pretty pathetic in the final third so far from us. When it gets up there, whoever has the ball looks so isolated.
Defence worried me when I seen it, would have had McGregor in there for the headers …..
Still time tho if we can get in at 1-0 @ half time or even better 1-1
The battles we are losing are obvious,newell has been terrible today.we are not laying a glove on this today unless changes are made.
Newell needs hooked at half time here.
Another headed goal from a cross could of been better defended
22-05-2021, 01:38 PM
And already they have every man back in their half behind the ball.
We need to do more here.
Get gogic off for hallberg now. We are going to have lots of the ball, we need players in the middle who can take it and move it
Shocker of a goal to lose. Ridiculous. One thing we couldn't do was lose a soft **** first goal.
We’re far superior to them but we’re in their back pocket for some reason.
they are proving otherwise whenever they play us
Newell playing is a mistake for me, slows everything down and I still think the 3 of him Gogic and Irvine doesn't work as well.
Just a rerun of the game at ER a few weeks ago so far. Them being 1-0 isn't a shock.
Decent from Newell there. Mon Hibs
Andymac85
Better from Newell there, getting into a bit of space to receive the ball.
22-05-2021, 01:39 PM
Time for heroes....
At least with St Johnstone our bogey team now we might get a few wins against Hearts instead next season.
Glimpses but we are second to every ball it seems!
I'm just not feeling this today, but happy to be wrong.....
Feel the same. Unlike in 2016 when it was clear right from the off we were up for it.
tonyrougier123
Newell needs hooked at half time here.
Should never have started ahead of hallberg
come out keeper
Yup.. 6"7 and didn't come for it?!?
they are proving otherwise whenever they play us
Yup. They have our number based on today and the past 3 games. Manager and players need to show what they are made of now as this game as gone exactly as expected and we seem clueless about what to do.
22-05-2021, 01:40 PM
So easy for them to build up territory. We can’t get past Porteous to Hanlon then hoof…
Do you think so?
I think they are more in control than we are.
I think he means in general over the last 2-3 games.
Hibs far too predictable, cross field passing followed by a big hoof up the park.
This will be them sitting in now, not looking great. Still kicking every ball though !
David Wotherspoon and Callum Booth were never good enough for where we wanted to go apparently.
Where I want to go is up the Hampden steps to lift the cup, but those two created the goal standing in our way right now.
We’re 2nd to every ball, just not good enough.
Why do our big players not show up in these games!
Green-Hibee-7
Wasn’t a spawny goal at all.
They one the two challenges in the lead up. Gogic got absolutely done. Wetherspoon had about 5 minutes to pick his cross and they would have worked on Rooney getting round Doig to finish.
Our front three have been really quiet. Big ask to turn this around.
22-05-2021, 01:41 PM
No press or energy whatsoever. Come on hibs ffs pull the finger out.
Feel the same. Unlike in 2016 when it was clear right from the off we were up for it.
Agree, we don’t look like we are up for it......need to change something
Saint Hibee
We are just not clicking at all.
22-05-2021, 01:42 PM
At least with St Johnstone our bogey team now we might get a few wins against Hearts instead next season.
They’re not a bogey team. They’ve found a foolproof way of playing us.
GreyJammies
Murphy on at half time please.
Attack these fools.
Everything done at a walking pace. So poor.
My old man
We’ve got no ideas
Irvine's effort aside this has been dreadful so far.
22-05-2021, 01:43 PM
First half playing out as I thought it was likely to choosing to play a lopsided 442 with Newell. Slow, no runners, sideways and easily nullified out wide.
Newell is so slow. Just picked up the ball there, no one near him, does a full 360 and plays the ball back.
Andymac85
Have we tried a different shape against them this season?
I’m finding it a bit harsh to pick fault with the goal from our point of view.
It’s all been as per the script so far though.
Stuffy, dull, no creativity, not exactly under pressure but not creating much then losing a goal almost out of nothing.
Long way back from here though.
jellybean
22-05-2021, 01:44 PM
Yep, even though it was Rangers I believed we could do it.
Running straight at their back three is getting us nowhere. Need to get the ball out wide at pace.
Only pace we have is Boyle, take him out the game and we struggle, couple of times he's got past his nan he's put in a good cross, maybe Murphy on the other side to stretch them.
Zambernardi1875
Have we tried a different shape against them this season?
Great point.
22-05-2021, 01:45 PM
St Mirren gave that team a harder game
eezyrider
Lacklustre and no threat. Come on Hibs, get the finger out.
EZ
Newell spins 3 times and then plays it back.
Too many passes backwards and stupid fouls.
Crap half this.
Irvine gets first booking of the match
tonyrougier123
Callum Davidson has tactically outwitted us far to much,why we have reverted back to this line up knowing fine well the trouble st Johnstone possess for us mystifies me.Boyle just can’t get on the ball against this lot
Poor tackle from Irvine.
Irvine off at half time. Murphy on.
Magpie
They will win all the aerial battles. We need something magical. Murphy on.
22-05-2021, 01:46 PM
No urgency in the Hibs play, floating around between St. J players allowing them to pass it by us quite comfortably
Green-Hibee-7
Irvine is wasted out wide. Rooney canny defend he’s just good going forward.
Get Gogic or Newell off and move Irvine to the middle. Bring on Murphy to play wide.
So so poor.
Half time - garbage.
22-05-2021, 01:47 PM
Big team talk and changes needed for the second half.
Hibs frustrated already. Wrong team shape.
Irvine's effort aside this has been dreadful so far.
Absolutely. Sadly it's looking to shape up pretty much like the last three games between the sides.
Hibs just don't seem to have an answer to St J's closing down and we're nowhere near quick or creative enough.
TBH, they'd be as well handing them the Cup now.
Well the second half needs to be 100% better. Absolute rubbish so far and Ross has the team talk of his life to deliver in order to turn this around.
Saint Hibee
So many backwards passes.
NC1875
Anonymous against a bang average team AGAIN
What an absolute ***** 1st half, no fight or belief whatsoever!
AL-Qaholik
Pathetic first half.
Utterly unacceptable.
Boyle, McGinn and Gogic all absolutely terrible for that goal. Irvine simply has to score his chance. Awful.
Zambernardi1875
This game will just pass us by. Wakey wakey
So bad. You’d think we’re playing prime juventus the way the team are ****ting themselves when they’re in saints half.
1-0 at half time, really disappointing half, only consolation is we didn’t concede a second, but something needs to change for the second half
Jackson Irvine ****ing hell man. Take that and it's our game
22-05-2021, 01:48 PM
Saved one of our worse performances for the final.
Poor tackle from Irvine.
He's a total waste of a jersey imo. Shows nothing and blows out his erse every game.
Well that wasn't what I was hoping for, the score or the performance......
vercol36
Absolutely. Sadly it's looking to shape up pretty much as the last three games between the sides.
Hibs just don't seem to have an answer to St J's closing down and we're nowhere near quick or creative enough.
TBH, they'd be as well handing them the Cup now.
😂 holy ****
berwickhibee
Boyle too deep.
Doidge non existent.
Poor poor goal to lose.
Boooooooo, **** tactics,**** performance, a replay of the other times we played them. Not looking good for the second half.
They’re not a bogey team. They’ve found a foolproof way of playing us.
Yep, looks like they've got the measure of us.
ionahibby
Porteous been poor, mcgregor needs to come in
Get Murphy on for Newell, go 352 and get runners into the box. We’ve played the same way against St Johnstone as we have all season, with the same issues and deficiencies evident.
It's a hard watch, Hibs players just don't seem up for the game & I just can’t understand a footballer not being up for a cup final.
4-4-2 clearly not working. Why play 2 in CM it’s absolutely baffling
Irvine out left shocking decision, he’s a CM. Hasn’t learnt from his mistakes, did the same to Magennis in last semi-final
GreyJammies
Lets see what you got Mr Jack Ross.
So far this is following exactly the same pattern as the 2 previous league games Vs them. We need to change up otherwise the end result will be the same. Poor and deflating so far.
No way we should be behind against these huddy's. A soft soft goal given away. Come on Hibs your better than these pretenders. Lets get steamed in the second half.
We need to be more positive.
Making it so easy for them. Doidge and Nisbet are totally isolated and I’m not sure they had a dozen touches between them.
We need to step up second have and get the ball down and play
HendoDelivered
We ain’t coming back from this
Helensburghhibs
If we can't get doig forward we either need to allow Boyle to drift both sides or bring on someone like Jamie Murphy to give natural width
thebausburst
22-05-2021, 01:49 PM
Very very predictable, no belief, feels like we’re just going through the motions, only chance here is if someone does something special which as this time looks very unlikely.
I’m afraid that this for me, so far, raises again the question about Jack Ross’ Hibs in big games. Too slow, too unimaginative, not hungry enough.
The players look like it’s a pre season friendly. Absolute garbage.
Disgrace for a cup final.
It's a hard watch, Hibs players just don't seem up for the game & I just can’t understand a footballer not being up for a cup final.
They're up for it just ****ing ourselves from St Johnstone again
Get Newell off and you improve this Hibs team.
I’m afraid that this forme, so far, raises again the question about Jack Ross’ Hibs in big games. Too slow, too unimaginative, not hungry enough.And we're off...
Need to get Murphy on IMO
What a brutal first half. So so pedestrian.