View Full Version : Match Updates St Johnstone v Hibernian Scottish Cup Final Saturday 22nd May 2021

Pages : 1 2 [3] 4

22-05-2021, 02:27 PM
Always slowest to the second balls

22-05-2021, 02:27 PM
Ross out

Out of where ? Davidson's back pocket

22-05-2021, 02:28 PM
We are about to lose a cup final. Look at Newell and Irvine. Terrible. No pressing and just jog into position then walk.

Newell looks like he’s won a competition to play. So one paced it’s unreal.

So bad.

No passion , nothing , most of them look like there thinking about there holiday

shamo9
Come on Hibs! Still time. Doesn't have to be pretty, just score a goal.

We need some of our biggest players, who have been somewhere between abysmal and meh so far to stand up now.

Boyle, Nisbet, Doidge, Newell, Irvine - it’s over to you.

Looks like there’s joy to be had down our left though, Murphy looking like he really fancies it.

They look more likely to score. Doig looks done.

Magpie
Any more attackers on the bench or did we not bother in January?

Liam6270
This is horrendous now, 20 mins to go and nobody is busting a gut

This has been too comfortable for St Johnstone.

If I was a St J fan I’d be pretty chilled right now.

Losing every single 2nd ball.

This sub should have been made earlier.

22-05-2021, 02:29 PM
Newell off and about ****ing time

Hallberg on for Newell

This is so depressing

Torto7
Why are our players blowing out of their *****? This is woeful.

StockholmHibs
We're going to lose this aren't we?

Totally

I thought Newell has been our best player! Not that that’s saying much.

CloudSquall
Zander Clark could have rolled up today in a pair of slippers with a paper and cigar, touched away Irvine's shot straight at him, and then went back to his paper and lit up another cigar.

blaikie
This is like a training game, no desire, passion or forward thinking.

We need a leader out there, get Daz on.

PiemanP
I’d have Stevenson on for Doig. Looks like his legs have gone and no quality so far.

Doig looks absolutely exhausted so the threat will come from that side for them. We have the players to run at that defence of theirs but were just pissing about with the ball in the final third. Absolutely toothless upfront.

22-05-2021, 02:30 PM
So ******* easy for the Saints.

GreyJammies
Come on MellBerg !!

Get a goal...

18 mins remaining to make a 2nd sub to try change things

St Johnstone penalty.

Pen them

st johnstone penalty

freakin McGinn terrible game for him

**** off Hibs. *****.

tonyrougier123
Needed hallberg and gogic from start newell might have been decent to bring on

Penalty conceded

Pen saints, ****ing brutal.

Well done Porto.

HendoDelivered
Oh well maybe next year

That’s it game gone

Ffs, game over. Embarrassing.

edit: redacted!

Torto7
Well done bunch of losers.

Time to change the movie Hibs cmon.

Magpie
Bottled it again. Jack Bottlejob?

jellybean
Omg

Porteous. Wtf

22-05-2021, 02:31 PM
Get Ryan Porteous to ****.

You could see this coming a ****ing mile away. Scandalous decision to start him ahead of McGregor.

And Ryan sells the shirt. Useless.

Porteous mistake again

Aye well done Porto.

Ryan ****ing Porteous. What is he thinking?

OtleyHibs
I thought Newell has been our best player! Not that that’s saying much.

Not for me, frustrating, slows us down and too many sideways and backwards passing.
Should have offered us much more today

jellybean
Yas!

Great save

Double save Macey.

Macey

Fantastic double save

**** me Macey

We just don’t look like scoring ffs

double save macey well freakin done man

blaikie
****ed it

****ing Macey. Get in. At least one player has shown up today.

What a save.

The lack of urgency is sickening.

Like it’s an end of season dead rubber league game.

Gutted.

Not one player willing to get the ball and do something with it.

All over now. FFS.

Well done goalie

Porteous is a shambles. Get McGregor on

jellybean
Well done Macey

Macey the superman.

Get David gray on

We have had a complete nightmare but we’ve done nothing to avoid it.

And folk wonder why we wanted mcgregor on from the start, great save from macey 👏

Brilliant Macey!

Mr Grieves
22-05-2021, 02:32 PM
Both central defenders have laid it on for Saint Johnstone shots

If that fantastic double save doesn’t give them desire to win then nothing will

After this Porto is welcome to **** off to Milwall. Barely broken out of a light jog.

****ing superb Macey

Mr Grieves
Well done Macey

Come on Hibs - don't waste this

What a double MM!!

Excellent Macey. Saved Porto there. Right decision to sub Doig.

Step up Porteous, thanks mate.

C'Mon!

Magpie
****ing come on

mcfly
22-05-2021, 02:33 PM
How is porteous in this team.

Mistake after mistake.

Awful

I love you Matt Macey :hug:

Torto7
McGinn awful.

AliboyFC
😓😓😓

Mistake after mistake.

Awful

Green-Hibee-7
Honestly deserve to be beat. The application has been a shambles.

McGinn awful.

Hardly he had to do something

jellybean
If that fantastic double save doesn’t give them desire to win then nothing will

So true!

And folk wonder why we wanted mcgregor on from the start, great save from macey 👏

I am so reluctant to criticise Ross for this but picking Porteous over McGregor was a huge call and the wrong one.

The rest of this is on the players. So passive. So timid and so ovewhlemed.

Come on ya bunch of jokers. FFS. Come on Hibs.

Mistake after mistake.

Awful

Get him sold in the summer while we can.

22-05-2021, 02:34 PM
Lost a cup but found a keeper it seems.

Porteous again ffs Macey saves his blushes

Great double save but how typical is it of today that we were 2nd to the rebound?

Not one player willing to get the ball and do something with it.

All over now. FFS.

Missed it :greengrin maybe the wee boost we need to go on to get a goal back.

22-05-2021, 02:35 PM
Porteous has been poor but McGinn has been worse, mistake for the 1st and poor most of the game.

Mistake after mistake.

Awful

Jack showing too much loyalty to him when its been proved that mcgregor is solid, cool calm and collective and would have been the better choice

If the penalty save doesn’t get them up for it then we are doomed

Hardly he had to do something

Took a shockingly lazy foul throw as well.

22-05-2021, 02:36 PM
I don't think anyone is going to be throwing huge money at us for Nibset or Porto on the basis of today.

tonyrougier123
Starting lineup done us here,hope we find some inspiration but it’s grim thank god macey kept it alive

Porteous has been poor but McGinn has been worse, mistake for the 1st and poor most of the game.

I agree with this. I'm not a great Hanlon fan but he's been the best of a bad bunch today defensively.

Crazyhorse
22-05-2021, 02:37 PM
I am so reluctant to criticise Ross for this but picking Porteous over McGregor was a huge call and the wrong one.

The rest of this is on the players. So passive. So timid and so ovewhlemed.

Agree.

I don't think anyone is going to be throwing huge money at us for Nibset or Porto on the basis of today.

If anyone overs us £1m+ for Porteous I’d take it in a heart beat.

He’s really not that good and has regressed from when he broke through.

Front 3 have barely touched the ball.

This has been as grim as it could have been. Total let down.

Nisbet has been f’n anonymous the entire game.

22-05-2021, 02:38 PM
total lack of respect every St Johnstone player strutting about with cigars in their mouths

Torto7
22-05-2021, 02:38 PM
Porteous getting bullied again.

one day maybe...
22-05-2021, 02:39 PM
Come on Hibs you've got 13 mins to take this into extra time :flag:

Getting exactly what we deserve here. Been poor all game.

Nisbet has been f’n anonymous the entire game.

To be fair he hasn’t had much to work with

NC1875
McGregor should have played today. Everyone Could see that

Porteous might be one of the stupidest footballers I've seen.

tonyrougier123
I think the hibs gin I’m keeping for an occasion may get exhumed in another century to be enjoyed.my stream on bbc player clearly minute behind can someone put me out my misery early plz.😒

The right side has been utterly pathetic. McGinn and Boyle non existant. Brutal against a load of crap.

Hakim Sar
I’d take a can of irn Bru and a packet of haribo for porteous. He is minging.

We need a clear out. Has anybody told Ron Gordon the budget difference between St Johnstone and Hibs?

I’d swap our entire midfield for theirs. Probably swap the entire defence as well.

22-05-2021, 02:40 PM
How the **** did Ross not play McGregor. It will haunt him forever more.

So predictable today. Created very very little!

Front 3 have been pretty anonymous.

I’m just really really disappointed today. So many players just haven’t turned up

Just_Jimmy
long ball pish. we've be utterly pathetic for the full game

Sent from my Pixel 3a using Tapatalk

total lack of respect every St Johnstone player strutting about with cigars in their mouths

Poor from Hibs and not for the first time but hats off to St J they no what to do to win. Sadly we dont.

We're into hoofball time now.

2 short passes on there but we hump a diagonal ball that was so easy to defend.

Hope I eat my words but this is horrible

Keep playing the high ball and Saints defenders say thanks very much!

Ffs Hibs 1 nil down and were beat!!!!! Experience over rookie. Jack has some reflection to do. Is Daz injured glaring mistake.

Torto7
Try a hoof to Doidge for a change.:brickwall:brickwall:brickwall

Liam6270
This is actually disgusting

Zambernardi1875
Jack Ross has got it all wrong again and learnt nothing from previous games.

Irvine been poor

22-05-2021, 02:41 PM
Transfer value of a number of Hibs players has plummeted 😊

Can’t see a way back now, just never had the upper hand in this game

CloudSquall
Rooney has played Porteous like an absolute fiddle.

Will be another 114 years at this rate

How many times do we need to lose 1-0 to this lot before Ross tries something different FFS.

Getting exactly what we developed here.Zilch

Will be another 114 years at this rate

Oh **** off

mcfly
It’s clear jack Ross has learnt nothing from the prev 4 defeats from st Johnstone

No clue at all.

What a lame way to perform in a Scottish cup final.

Utter disgrace

22-05-2021, 02:42 PM
Transfer value of a number of Hibs players has plummeted 😊

I’d get rid anyway. Wouldn’t waste money on Irvine either.

blaikie
Lack of fight here is a concern, Inaant to switch off but I can’t!

Game over. Bull****.

We haven't deserved to take anything from this, haven't turned up and st Johnstone schooling us again

We need a clear out. Has anybody told Ron Gordon the budget difference between St Johnstone and Hibs?

I’d swap our entire midfield for theirs. Probably swap the entire defence as well.

The worry for me isn't just that they are well organised, work hard and determined.

They are actually a decent attacking team. They have passed the ball better than us and the likes of Middleton and Wotherspoon have been more dangerous than our forward players.

Torto7
Just Dumb play again.

Manager got this all wrong. Once again.
Finishing third, great, fantastic. But nothing beats winning a trophy, and we’ll never have a better chance for years and years.

Bottled it.

OK we are crap today but a lot of nonsense is being spouted on here.

Jack Ross has got it all wrong again and learnt nothing from previous games.

It's not Ross's fault. Players have been poor. Can't even do the basics right.

Lith
Not one pass mark today…. They should hang their heads in shame… Ross has no inspiration in him and we can’t beat this shower of ***** and that’s tactical

Only ourselves to ******g blame. Makes it harder to take

Can’t see a way back now, just never had the upper hand in this game

It’s over for us, we look lost.

This is actually disgusting

It really has been

NC1875
And that’s why Jack Ross isn’t backed by the whole support. Piss poor in a massive game again

Wow.
Only the keeper has proven to be good enough today, McGregor wouldn’t have filled the void left by the others.

He would have organised the defence better.

Just like the game at ER, they could have played their reserves today as well :rolleyes:

22-05-2021, 02:43 PM
So lame. Pathetic performance Hibs

Porto struggling with an injury

Get Macey up front.

This has been utterly disgusting for a cup final performance.

A carbon copy of several games v St Johnstone. Nowhere near good enough from the players. That saying about repeating the same things and expecting different results springs to mind.....

Not a clue, have rarely threatened at all.

Not even sure the Saints keeper has had a save to make

mcfly
Rooney has played Porteous like an absolute fiddle.

Porteous makes the same recurrent mistakes

However the whole team haven’t turned up.

Front 3 anonymous- just embarrassing

Porto. Again. Wtf

Paul1642
At no point in this entire game have i felt a Hibs goal was coming :(. Not holding out much hope now

This is an absolute disgrace for a cup final.

22-05-2021, 02:44 PM
Really don't think we'll miss porteous if he goes

We're going to lose this aren't we?

This could probably have been posted as soon as they scored.

Torto7
Hoof to Doidge then counter then Porteous charging in like a halfwit. Just *****.

tonyrougier123
Today’s lineup everything I was dreading here tbh,we got what we put out,Murphy for gogic game gone Stevenson a defensive sub chasing shadows

Boyle booked for diving.

Macey and Gogic aside i hope to never clap eyes on any of this lot in a Hibs shirt ever again . Utter garbage

**** off Boyle. Utterly embarrassing.

away yi go boyle

Zambernardi1875
It's not Ross's fault. Players have been poor. Can't even do the basics right.

Playing the same team and formation against a team that have our number is very amateur

Boyle deservedly booked for diving

22-05-2021, 02:45 PM
Boyle dived.

Only Macey gets pass marks today. Right now we are getting back what we have put into the game.

Hakim Sar
Martin Boyle is a diver. He is embarrassing.

Andymac85
This is exactly how Davidson would have wanted the game to go.

jellybean
This is just embarrassing now

**** off Boyle.

blaikie
Boyle booked for diving.

Forgot he was playing

Boyle diving again.

Devonhibs
Embarrasing dive from Boyle

Torto7
Boyle.:brickwall

Not a clue, have rarely threatened at all.

First half save from Irvine is the only one I can think of...

**** off Boyle. Utterly embarrassing.

The icing on the dugsheeeite-flavoured cake

Saint Hibee
Predictably hopeless.

Just_Jimmy
all the good work this season undone in one game. this performance has been absolutely woeful.

Sent from my Pixel 3a using Tapatalk

OK we are crap today but a lot of nonsense is being spouted on here.

I could accept losing but we’ve hardly threatened them. Marcy is only player with pass mark.

This has been really hard to watch

BBC make Wotherspoon MOTM - well deserved

22-05-2021, 02:46 PM
Pathetic again in a cup final. Used to it though so not as disappointed as before.

CloudSquall
How many people does Level 2 allow for in a "****ING BOOOOOOOOO" congregation at Easter Road?

Get decent money for Porteous and Nisbet and rebuild the squad.

What kind of ****ing corner was that later in the game?

Front 3 have barely touched the ball.

This has been as grim as it could have been. Total let down.

And yet they have all stayed on the pitch when it’s been clear it’s not working

5 minutes added time.

Boyle booked for diving, just sums up an embarrassing performance.

e2los
Only thing in the whole game to cheer for was Macey.
Come on ffs..

Gone without even a whimper.
if you don’t compete you don’t win.
Spineless.
No McGregor was criminal.
Jack you’ve a mountain to climb - what a waste.

Five minutes injury time

22-05-2021, 02:47 PM
5 minutes added time.

We could play for another 30 and not score

Have we won a header up front this game? Has there keeper had a save to make?

We can have no complaints today if we get beaten.

We’ve done zero

MKHIBEE
You couldn’t have dreamed up a worse performance from Hibs, a dreadful, insipid, uninspiring display. Deserve nothing from the game

StockholmHibs
Been looking forwards to seeing this gamefor weeks.
Depressing stuff

22-05-2021, 02:48 PM
We’ve learned **** all from playing them 5 times this season.

****ing shambolic. Keep doing the same thing and keep getting the same ****ing result.

For all the people saying it’s not Jack Ross’ fault, he certainly takes a huge chunk of the blame. We set up the same way every time we play St J and we keep getting our ***** handed to us. ****ing disgraceful.

Porto struggling with injury

Saint Hibee
Porteous clearly injured

percy veer
Utter utter crap ... disgusting let everyone down all of you

Liam6270
22-05-2021, 02:49 PM
We’ve learned **** all from playing them 5 times this season.

****ing shambolic. Keep doing the same thing and keep getting the same ****ing result.

For all the people saying it’s not Jack Ross’ fault, he certainly takes a huge chunk of the blame. We set up the same way every time we play St J and we keep getting our ***** handed to us. ****ing disgraceful.

Absolutely bang on the money

Most of these ****** are barely even running now. Pathetic.

Worst cup final performance I've seen from us.

No apology is big enough to cover this. pathetic.

Magpie
Embarrassing

Lith
Absolutely Joke of a performance….

22-05-2021, 02:50 PM
Very poor today. Questions have to be asked about Ross. Porteous over McGregor. Newell over Hallberg. Take off Doig for Stevenson? WTF? GTF Ross.

So frustrating too watch. Never in a position to win a second ball.

What a gutless display.

I would happily sell 7 of these players and start again, forget 3rd this is a huge game and they've shat it big time. Same errors from Ross and the players, what do they talk about at team meetings?

Shocking performance today. Failing in the big games again. Embarrassment!

NC1875
Second to every ball. Absolute bottle merchants

What an embrassing cup final from Hibs today. Hang your head in shame the players!!!!!!

Gutless

Sent from my iPhone using Tapatalk Pro

22-05-2021, 02:51 PM
You couldn’t have dreamed up a worse performance from Hibs, a dreadful, insipid, uninspiring display. Deserve nothing from the game

Worst ever final performance. Nothing good to say. Ross you got it all wrong ya dancer.

So, so poor.

This squad should hang their heads in shame. 1 chance and 1 shot on target in a final. Barely won a 2nd ball. Outfought, out thought and out played. Disgusting.

blaikie
**** all of them utter cowards every single one!

They’ve just won 5 balls headers in a row. You couldn’t make this **** up.

Very poor today. Questions have to be asked about Ross. Porteous over McGregor. Newell over Hallberg. Take off Doig for Stevenson? WTF? GTF Ross.

Doig was blowing out his arse.

CloudSquall
At least some of the team in 2012 actually tried.

So frustrating too watch. Never in a position to win a second ball.

****ing Boyle can't even win a ****ing 1st ball...

Hope we have a clear out. Fans deserve a team that at least fights.

tonyrougier123
This game and contest shows the real problems this squad has.summer of crucial recruitment needed

Full time, well done to St Johnstone. Two cup wins in the one season is some achievement.

Embarrassing performance from Hibs, absolutely pathetic. Disgusted by what I've seen today, completely unacceptable - the game was done after 32 minutes.

Pish. Got what we deserved.

Been too busy celebrating getting 3rd. Can see some players values going down after this performance

What an absolute embarrassment. Utterly clueless, no bottle, lumped the ball up to their big defenders all day. Diabolical.

22-05-2021, 02:52 PM
Booooooo

A team with about 10 fans have just won a double.

**** off Hibs.

An utter ****ing disgrace.

We’ve handed St Johnstone a double that we’ve absolutely no excuses for not winning ourselves. ****ing dreadful and third place has done nothing but paper over the cracks.

This has been Jack Ross-tastic as far as do or die game performances go. Still, I’m sure we’ll ‘learn things’ from this.

i ******* hate St Johnstone

but i'm probably just frustrated at our Girls

AliboyFC
**** this ****

Why did we look so knackered in that second half? They won every ball.

Lith
**** off the bottler jack loss

I would happily sell 7 of these players and start again, forget 3rd this is a huge game and they've shat it big time. Same errors from Ross and the players, what do they talk about at team meetings?

If Ross or the team can’t get up for a cup final then they’re not good enough.

e2los
Absolutely **** to watch...

Another bottle job from Ross, another 1-0 defeat to St Johnstone.

He can **** off.

Stuarty1875
Well that was disappointing. So much wrong with the setup today.

Baby I got ur number

Not sure what Boyle ****ing find funny

Drop McGregor and play long balls because that was going to work.

Worst cup final performance I've seen from us.

Me too. That was truly awful from start to finish.

22-05-2021, 02:53 PM
Worst Scottish cup final performance I’ve seen from any club.