View Full Version : Joma kits
11-06-2021, 05:38 AM
My memory might be failing but the badge on the 1960’s scarf I had was quartered. I’m pretty sure it was castle, harp, thistle and ball but I do stand to be corrected
Bottle green with fur like tassels? I’ve got this very scarf in my collection and you’re right. I’ll dig it out,
im sure there may even have been a lion rampant on it too
11-06-2021, 05:49 AM
Of course our heritage is a lot more than being a Scottish football team.
But we play in green and white to show our Irish heritage, have the harp, castle and ship on our badge to symbolise our Irish, Edinburgh and Leith heritage.
So why not add a small thistle, an undeniable symbol of Scotland, to show our Scottish heritage?
Totally harmless and a nice touch in my opinion.
Agree totally how anyone is exercised to this extent by a little thistle is brilliant. Strip is fantastic imo,
11-06-2021, 06:02 AM
I dont want a Celtic badge on the Hibs top, but nor do i want ICT or Partick Thistle badge on a Hibs top.
I want a Hibs top to represent the Hibs club and community, which could, and should have been done by using the ship or the harp. Both are valid, and either will be more or less important to different fans, and thats ok. That is a discourse that has been going on among the Hibs support, and illustrates the difficult and complex identity Hibs have.
Adding another random symbol, which is literally the club crest of at least two other league clubs, is bizarre and odd. Hibs are going to be playing with the Partick Thistle or ICT badge on the back of the shirts, and that is just weird.
Clubs, and branding is supposed to differentiate, so stealing someone else's badge to randomly add to Hibs shirt is even more bizarre.
Ask 10,000 Hibs fans, or fans of any other club in Scotland for emblems they associate with Hibs, and i doubt any would have said a thistle.
Hibs went years of having *****y, meaningless, thoughtless crests, all because someone decided to drop the original crest, the one that the clubs founders chose. For the first time since then, Hibs have something of which the fans (or most fans) are pleased and proud. So use that, not Partick or ICTs badge.
What a lot of drivel. You’re the only person that could have dreamed up that we’ve nicked the badge of Inverness or Partick thistle - each who use a different thistle image to each other, and to the one on the back of our top. Would someone on here be greeting that we’ve taken the badge of Finn Harps in Donegal if the Harp image was stuck on the back? Or that we’ve nicked a ship from Plymouth?
The hibs club and community is represented by the strip and badge, as it is every time we bring out a new shirt. Adding something else on the back doesn’t take away from that. Were you upset when we put a big NHS on the front too?
If you hate the idea that Hibs are Scottish that much, I would suggest following a team that doesn’t play in Scotland.
expresso
11-06-2021, 06:15 AM
You've seen Celtic's crest, right?
Their badge has a clover not shamrock
James Stephen
11-06-2021, 07:34 AM
What a lot of drivel. You’re the only person that could have dreamed up that we’ve nicked the badge of Inverness or Partick thistle - each who use a different thistle image to each other, and to the one on the back of our top. Would someone on here be greeting that we’ve taken the badge of Finn Harps in Donegal if the Harp image was stuck on the back? Or that we’ve nicked a ship from Plymouth?
The hibs club and community is represented by the strip and badge, as it is every time we bring out a new shirt. Adding something else on the back doesn’t take away from that. Were you upset when we put a big NHS on the front too?
If you hate the idea that Hibs are Scottish that much, I would suggest following a team that doesn’t play in Scotland.
I dont hate Hibs being Scottish, nor have i ever, so dont talk pish and put words in my mouth please.
And no, thats an idiotic argument - because Hibernian had the harp as its badge first, it is the Hibs badge. And the ship was added to represent Leith. Both of which are fundamental to Hibs identity. A thistle is not, nor has it ever been representative of Hibs, anymore than a rampant lion, a claymore, or the purple heather, an empty bottle of whisky or a heart of midlothian.
Anyway, this discussion has run its course, and when someone starts telling me to go and support another club, then thats when im out.
11-06-2021, 07:34 AM
Maybe it's because we are a scottish club.
That's been pointed out so many times already to this argument. It has become a circular argument, one poster believes that the club shouldn't have a thistle and he is obviously right whilst everyone else is wrong.
11-06-2021, 07:39 AM
Surprised nobody has created a "thistle out" poll 😉
Said before but it's a classy touch for a club representing Scotland in European competition.
Agree. I'm guessing that's exactly why it's there. Perhaps it was felt that a saltire wouldn't go well with the green. Thistle is perfect.
11-06-2021, 07:40 AM
Not to fussed either way about the Thistle. Although to continue with the Edinburgh theme if they wanted to put a symbol on the back they possibly could have used the Castle.
Greenio
11-06-2021, 07:46 AM
Their badge has a clover not shamrock
Is there a difference?
This thread has gone mental btw!
11-06-2021, 08:01 AM
I dont hate Hibs being Scottish, nor have i ever, so dont talk pish and put words in my mouth please.
And no, thats an idiotic argument - because Hibernian had the harp as its badge first, it is the Hibs badge. And the ship was added to represent Leith. Both of which are fundamental to Hibs identity. A thistle is not, nor has it ever been representative of Hibs, anymore than a rampant lion, a claymore, or the purple heather, an empty bottle of whisky or a heart of midlothian.
Anyway, this discussion has run its course, and when someone starts telling me to go and support another club, then thats when im out.
Turn the argument on its head, you don't think the thistle represents hibs, but hibs are representing Scotland in Europe. It therefore makes sense to a lot of people.
HFC93
11-06-2021, 08:10 AM
I’m enjoying the reaction of Jambos on social media. It has triggered them so the new strip has been a big success already IMO.
11-06-2021, 08:23 AM
https://www.edinburghnews.scotsman.com/sport/football/hibs/how-scott-allan-helped-hibs-secure-a-winning-design-for-new-home-strip-3269171
There you have it!!!!
Scott Allan is responsible for the thistle on the shirt as a tribute to the time he had at Inverness Cally Thistle 🤣🤣🤣
TelaStella
11-06-2021, 08:46 AM
I’m enjoying the reaction of Jambos on social media. It has triggered them so the new strip has been a big success already IMO.
Has it? Their new 3rd kit has already broke their own records according to the EEN. Let them enjoy that and we’ll enjoy ours.
expresso
11-06-2021, 09:40 AM
Is there a difference?
Apart from them being totally different plants?
EI255
11-06-2021, 09:59 AM
Not got an issue with the thistle but it should have just been 'persevere'Yup.
Sent from my LG-H870 using Tapatalk
EI255
11-06-2021, 10:01 AM
No it doesn't. Celtic badge is a four leaf clover, not a shamrock. Shamrock is three leaves, a symbol of Ireland and absolutely nothing to do with Celtic.Correct.
11-06-2021, 10:18 AM
Correct.
Celtic's badge prior to them switching to the four leaf clover was a shamrock.
expresso
11-06-2021, 10:34 AM
Is there a difference?
Apart from them being totally different plants?
But we play in green and white to show our Irish heritage, have the harp, castle and ship on our badge to symbolise our Irish, Edinburgh and Leith heritage.
So why not add a small thistle, an undeniable symbol of Scotland, to show our Scottish heritage?
:applause::top marks
11-06-2021, 11:17 AM
I dont want a Celtic badge on the Hibs top, but nor do i want ICT or Partick Thistle badge on a Hibs top.
I want a Hibs top to represent the Hibs club and community, which could, and should have been done by using the ship or the harp. Both are valid, and either will be more or less important to different fans, and thats ok. That is a discourse that has been going on among the Hibs support, and illustrates the difficult and complex identity Hibs have.
Adding another random symbol, which is literally the club crest of at least two other league clubs, is bizarre and odd. Hibs are going to be playing with the Partick Thistle or ICT badge on the back of the shirts, and that is just weird.
Clubs, and branding is supposed to differentiate, so stealing someone else's badge to randomly add to Hibs shirt is even more bizarre.
Ask 10,000 Hibs fans, or fans of any other club in Scotland for emblems they associate with Hibs, and i doubt any would have said a thistle.
Hibs went years of having *****y, meaningless, thoughtless crests, all because someone decided to drop the original crest, the one that the clubs founders chose. For the first time since then, Hibs have something of which the fans (or most fans) are pleased and proud. So use that, not Partick or ICTs badge.
A few years back Hearts played with a small Saltire on the back of their shirts. That flag doesn't belong to Hearts even though it does feature in the Heart of Midlothian, but has been far more of a feature of Ayr United's badge ( and I dare say other Scottish clubs ) for many years, I never heard any Hearts fans complaining about it because of that. If you want to argue the toss about thistles you could say the Scottish rugby team has first dibs on it. Anyway, the last time I looked thistles are green and purple, both colours Hibs can claim to have been the first in Scotland to use :greengrin
As for 'representing the community' .... Whether you are a Leith Hibby, an Edinburgh Hibby, a Borders Hibby like me, or a Hibby from anywhere else in the country chances are you are Scottish and bloody proud of it, so what's the problem with having a Scottish emblem on the shirts, especially in a season where we will be representing our league in Europe. We rightly have a harp on our badge to acknowledge the clubs founders and the emblem they originally chose to represent it and their Irish origins. 99% of the people who support Hibs are Scottish and most probably have little or no connection to Ireland, so it's beyond me why anybody would have a problem with having a tiny wee thistle on the back of the club's shirt for one season, an emblem far more identifiable as Scottish than the Saltire or wee red lions.
11-06-2021, 11:24 AM
Is there a difference?
Shamrock is a generic description of the 3 leafed plant trifolium.
Trifolium is the Latin name for clover.
Guess what, the shamrock and clover is the same plant.
11-06-2021, 11:36 AM
FFS ... Reading this thread I swear there's 1% of this clubs supporters who wont be happy until the club's badge is two crossed shillelaghs underneath a Leprechaun and the ticket office staff are forced to answer the phone with 'Hoibernian football club, top o' the mornin' to you' :faf:
11-06-2021, 11:47 AM
FFS ... Reading this thread I swear there's 1% of this clubs supporters who wont be happy until the club's badge is two crossed shillelaghs underneath a Leprechaun and the ticket office staff are forced to answer the phone with 'Hoibernian football club, top o' the mornin' to you' :faf:
Not really. Far more comments that give the impression there’s still a lot of anti Irish feeling about, for some reason.
11-06-2021, 11:48 AM
Id buy that.😅.Could be a big seller over here..I know for a fact everyone in the Strandhill supporters club would get one.
11-06-2021, 12:14 PM
Not really. Far more comments that give the impression there’s still a lot of anti Irish feeling about, for some reason.
EI255
11-06-2021, 12:20 PM
Celtic's badge prior to them switching to the four leaf clover was a shamrock.Panathanikos and Greuther Fürth both have shamrocks.
What's the problem?
EI255
11-06-2021, 12:21 PM
Not really. Far more comments that give the impression there’s still a lot of anti Irish feeling about, for some reason.Yup and it's sad to see people on this forum are part of that group. Definite anti Irish stuff. The Celtic nonsense is just a cover.
EI255
11-06-2021, 12:25 PM
Shamrock is a generic description of the 3 leafed plant trifolium.
Trifolium is the Latin name for clover.
Guess what, the shamrock and clover is the same plant.Well googled.
So what.
No one owns the shamrock. Guess what, not even Eire! If some Hibbies think it'd look good on our shirts then I don't see how people can be so offended.
EI255
FFS ... Reading this thread I swear there's 1% of this clubs supporters who wont be happy until the club's badge is two crossed shillelaghs underneath a Leprechaun and the ticket office staff are forced to answer the phone with 'Hoibernian football club, top o' the mornin' to you' :faf:Get a grip man
Panathanikos and Greuther Fürth both have shamrocks.
What's the problem?
Why would there be a problem?
You responded to a post saying correct that the shamrock has absolutely nothing to do with Celtic. I'm just pointing out it is part of their history as it was previously their badge.
EI255
11-06-2021, 12:27 PM
Why would there be a problem?
You responded to a post saying correct that the shamrock has absolutely nothing to do with Celtic. I'm just pointing out it is part of their history as it was previously their badge.No. The whole direction changed when someone mentioned the C word. I don't personally see the link between them. Bring on the shamrock!
11-06-2021, 12:30 PM
Press release from the Club
All badges will be removed from the new strip due to bickering on Hibs.net :wink:
11-06-2021, 12:34 PM
I don't disagree with your points. I've supported and followed both Hibs and the Scottish football team since I was a kid and they are the only 2 football teams I have any interest in.
For me though, the thistle, as cracking a symbol as it is, is a national emblem of Scotland and therefore is more appropriate to represent a national sport/association/organisation (obvious exceptions would be ICT, Partick Thistle, etc.). As you elude to, Hibs identity is already perfectly depicted by the harp, ship and castle and I don't think there is any need to add to that.
Again though, it's just a matter of preference and I don't see it as a big deal. Looking through the thread I don't see anyone getting their knickers in a twist over the subject, but it does go to show that there's wide range of differing views across the Hibs support with regard to the club's identity.
We make our Irish roots clear with our name, colours and harp on our club badge.
we are a Scottish club playing in Scotland's capital city, representing Scotland in European competition, yet its a problem for some that we place an image highly related to Scotland on our jersey, in a less than prominent position.
it seems to me to be not be an anti Irish issue but an anti Scottish one for some. There’s 3 clear connections to our heritage displayed, yet we’re not supposed to recognise and celebrate our Scottishness with a tiny icon on the back of the jersey. Aye ok
11-06-2021, 12:35 PM
"The most leaves ever found on a single clover stem (Trifolium repens L.) is 56 and was discovered by Shigeo Obara of Hanamaki City, Iwate, Japan, on 10 May 2009."
IMO this gives the Japanese the sole claim on clovers of any type and all Scottish clubs should steer clear.
The Captain....
11-06-2021, 12:36 PM
Im glad its not just me that was seeing that. Same everytime the subject crops on here.
Victor
11-06-2021, 12:38 PM
[emoji16] [emoji1132] [emoji256] [emoji3515]
11-06-2021, 12:48 PM
Don’t suppose anyone knows the sizes of the tops as last seasons large was like a medium.
11-06-2021, 12:50 PM
Perusing the thread I'm struggling to find more than 1 or 2 posts in which anyone has expressed a 'problem' with the thistle.
There are far more people who have taken things of on a tangent to have a rant about Celtic, shamrocks and Ireland using the thistle as a cover for what appears to be some prejudices of their own.
11-06-2021, 12:51 PM
Anyway can we get back on topic far more pressing matters guys. I’ve still no seen what colour the socks are
11-06-2021, 12:56 PM
Anyway can we get back on topic far more pressing matters guys. I’ve still no seen what colour the socks are
White I believe judging by comments on Facebook (with little shamrocks and thistles along the top a pint tennents on the calf and a pint of Guinness on the shin)
Don’t suppose anyone knows the sizes of the tops as last seasons large was like a medium.
They will be small sizes again judging by one if the player comments.
11-06-2021, 01:05 PM
White I believe judging by comments on Facebook (with little shamrocks and thistles along the top a pint tennents on the calf and a pint of Guinness on the shin)
As long as it’s not Irn Bru. If I see a hint of orange on our kit I swear I’ll do time!
Victor
11-06-2021, 01:07 PM
I heard it was a picture of the Pope, on the left foot, and the Duke of Edinburgh, on the right.
11-06-2021, 01:26 PM
Well googled.
So what.
No one owns the shamrock. Guess what, not even Eire! If some Hibbies think it'd look good on our shirts then I don't see how people can be so offended.
As an ecologist, some things you just know, like the Latin name of plants, other things you need to Google, like who has an exclusive use of a symbol. 😉
11-06-2021, 01:27 PM
As long as it’s not Irn Bru. If I see a hint of orange on our kit I swear I’ll do time!
Me too. Next shirt sponsor maybe :greengrin
Which got me thinking, what was the motive for Dundee Hibernian coming up with the brainstorming idea of playing in orange, er, tangerine :rolleyes:
11-06-2021, 01:29 PM
Which got me thinking, what was the motive for Dundee Hibernian coming up with the brainstorming idea of playing in orange, er, tangerine :rolleyes:
I suppose there is orange in the tricolour too, but I think they played in Black and White until the late 60s so it was some shift!
11-06-2021, 01:31 PM
Anyway can we get back on topic far more pressing matters guys. I’ve still no seen what colour the socks areThere are plain white socks at the beginning of the video thing.
https://youtu.be/3jXx29F--TU
11-06-2021, 01:33 PM
There are plain white socks at the beginning of the video thing.
https://youtu.be/3jXx29F--TU
That particular clip looks like Joma stock footage to me, though that's not to say the socks won't be white. Would be a slightly strange inclusion if they're not I suppose!
11-06-2021, 01:35 PM
11-06-2021, 01:47 PM
That particular clip looks quote like Joma stock footage to me, though that's not to say the socks won't be white. Would be a slightly strange inclusion if they're not I suppose!Sock footage surely?
11-06-2021, 01:50 PM
Sock footage surely?
Think that sort of thing belongs on ‘specialist’ sites if I’m honest.
11-06-2021, 02:11 PM
Think that sort of thing belongs on ‘specialist’ sites if I’m honest.
Maybe a typo :greengrin
11-06-2021, 02:15 PM
I was going to wear my thistle handled Sgian Dubh to go with my Hibs tartan kilt at a wedding next week but now i know a thistle has nothing to do with Hibs i'll feel like a complete dugs dinner wearing it.
11-06-2021, 02:21 PM
Bottle green with fur like tassels? I’ve got this very scarf in my collection and you’re right. I’ll dig it out,
ThTs the one, yes. Had the scarf and matching tie. Got lost along the way sadly but still hark back to those days. Cardboard rosettes too 🤗
11-06-2021, 02:23 PM
I'd have liked it if we'd coupled up the "this is our city" with a message stating that we've adopted the thistle in acknowledgment of the roles played by Inverness in Scott Allan's rehabilitation and Partick Thistle's in the development of our international superstar striker Kevin Nisbet, to the extent that we now consider there to be special relationships in existence between our clubs.
11-06-2021, 02:24 PM
I'm not buying it if it doesn't have some reference to the Easter Road seagulls :cb
11-06-2021, 02:49 PM
I’m disappointed if they’re white. It doesn’t look like a proper Hibs kit to me if it’s not green socks. And yes, I know, 2016 etc
11-06-2021, 03:01 PM
They started off playing in green then switched to white but they played in the North American Soccer League as Dallas Tornado in 1967 wearing tangerine shirts and black shorts.
The wife of then manager Jerry Kerr suggested they adopt the same colours and the rest, as they say, is history.
AliboyFC
11-06-2021, 03:11 PM
That was the border of the country no?
I think
11-06-2021, 04:50 PM
I was going to wear my thistle handled Sgian Dubh to go with my Hibs tartan kilt at a wedding next week but now i know a thistle has nothing to do with Hibs i'll feel like a complete dugs dinner wearing it.
You're okay because, even if it never did, IT DOES NOW!
:)
11-06-2021, 05:04 PM
https://t.co/l4SbaHfA1P?amp=1 Dunno if that has copied properly bubba really good interview with Greg McEwan. 3rd most lucrative strip deal in Scotland.
11-06-2021, 05:37 PM
https://t.co/l4SbaHfA1P?amp=1 Dunno if that has copied properly bubba really good interview with Greg McEwan. 3rd most lucrative strip deal in Scotland.It's good to see the change in mindset under Ron Gordon. There seems to be a more aggressive/ambitious culture at board room level.
11-06-2021, 05:41 PM
It's good to see the change in mindset under Ron Gordon. There seems to be a more aggressive/ambitious culture at board room level.
I’m excited by what’s coming out at board level now.
Despite what our pink chums across the way might think, it would be so very Hearts to put a map of the city in which you reside and deliberately not include your neighbours, therefore not including some of your own fans on the top you want them to buy.
11-06-2021, 06:28 PM
https://t.co/l4SbaHfA1P?amp=1 Dunno if that has copied properly bubba really good interview with Greg McEwan. 3rd most lucrative strip deal in Scotland.
Greg McEwan is certainly impressing in his interim role as CEO. With a background in marketing/comms he may lack the strategic management experience to be the CEO but I wonder if that is so important now we have an owner keen to be involved in driving the strategy of the club.
11-06-2021, 06:39 PM
24797 24796
Thistle dating back to I believe this is late 50’s/ early 60’s, it was a gift to me from a family friend.
11-06-2021, 06:46 PM
24797 24796
Thistle dating back to I believe this is late 50’s/ early 60’s, it was a gift to me from a family friend.
That’s brilliant, great gift 👍
Bridge hibs
11-06-2021, 06:52 PM
24797 24796
Thistle dating back to I believe this is late 50’s/ early 60’s, it was a gift to me from a family friend.Minted mate, what a treasure 👍
11-06-2021, 06:54 PM
24797 24796
I have that very scarf as well. Also have a silk one with the same badge on it
11-06-2021, 06:56 PM
I have that very scarf as well. Also have a silk one with the same badge on it
Do you know much about its history?
11-06-2021, 06:59 PM
Do you know much about its history?
They were given to me by my uncle who was a regular watching Hibs from the early sixties. Don't know much more than that to be honest. He also have me literally hundreds of programmes including all of the big European ones, loads of Scotland ones too.
11-06-2021, 07:58 PM
Don't like the thistle. Not Hibernian.
If anything it should be a shamrock or harp. But that aside, it's a jolly decent kit.
You for real ?
Victor
11-06-2021, 08:29 PM
You for real ?
Don’t. You’ll be accused of being anti-Irish.
You for real ?
I’m late to this thread and think the top looks superb. The only thing that would make it even better is a white collar.
As for the running debate or discussion…. We are a Scottish club with Irish roots. Harp on the badge and thistle on the back. Sorted.
Shamrock has no place whatsoever on our tops! My opinion mind!
12-06-2021, 12:06 AM
24797 24796
Almost brought me to tears. That’s the very scarf and matching tie I had in 1966/67. I so wish I had taken greater care of them. Thanks for the memories.. Thistle and all 😢
Edit: did bring me to genuine tears. So many memories from those and subsequent years. REALLY appreciate that you have saved that
12-06-2021, 01:48 AM
Almost brought me to tears. That’s the very scarf and matching tie I had in 1966/67. I so wish I had taken greater care of them. Thanks for the memories.. Thistle and all 😢
Edit: did bring me to genuine tears. So many memories from those and subsequent years. REALLY appreciate that you have saved that
More than happy to reunite you with it for a bit if you’d like mate :thumbsup:
Unfortunately I’m no longer in touch with the guy who gave me the scarf - I did however (unfortunately for me maybe!) wear it religiously during the period I was home and away every week which embarrassingly enough coincided with my wannabe Paul Weller/ Beady Eye mod without a scooter phase - the pictures are atrocious from maybe late 2010-2014 but it seen plenty Hibs action!
Ive been after a bit of background information regarding the scarf for years. Who made them, if they were popular at the time, where they’d have been sold etc so anything you can help me out with will be very much appreciated! 🇳🇬
He's here!
12-06-2021, 08:10 AM
From a distance I think it looks good (the collar is excellent) although an aesthetic point of view I've never liked designs woven into a strip. I'd prefer it just to be plain green. However, I get the need for marketing gimmicks and this launch has been impressively handled. I think it will sell really well.
12-06-2021, 09:30 AM
More than happy to reunite you with it for a bit if you’d like mate :thumbsup:
Unfortunately I’m no longer in touch with the guy who gave me the scarf - I did however (unfortunately for me maybe!) wear it religiously during the period I was home and away every week which embarrassingly enough coincided with my wannabe Paul Weller/ Beady Eye mod without a scooter phase - the pictures are atrocious from maybe late 2010-2014 but it seen plenty Hibs action!
Ive been after a bit of background information regarding the scarf for years. Who made them, if they were popular at the time, where they’d have been sold etc so anything you can help me out with will be very much appreciated! 🇳🇬
Too many emotional beers for me last night. Must be out of practice 🤣 it’s a long time since a scarf that size would fit me but will always have great memories arriving at ER from the age of 7 in 1966. Bus in from Dalkeith with my brother and older cousin and that walk from the bus station to the ground always seemed longer on the way. The programme sellers that dotted the route from the corner of London Road/Easter Road and the same guy on the post at the end of Crawford Bridge. Then the scarves and rosettes being sold outside. My rosette had to be renewed every time we went despite my best efforts to keep them safe as part of the bedroom wall display. And the ever increasing density of pipe and cigarette smoke the closer you got to the turnstiles.
Through the turnstile (I only ever remember being lifted over once) and a race to our spot at the wall on the centre line. ( hence the name I use on here).
Enjoying the game and checking off the half time scores on the programme.
After the game the walk back to the bus station took just long enough for the Pink News to arrive at the kiosk and the excitement big checking out the report and especially the pictures of the match. Then that endless bus journey on the smoke filled bus back to Dalkeith. All that for less than a pound.
The scarves like yours were readily available in sports shops and with the sellers outside the games. No idea who made them but because the tie also had the same design and badge I’m thinking there must have been some endorsement from the club.
Thanks for the memories and maybe I need to spend less time on the strong ales at Stewarts Brewery on a Friday night. 🤣
12-06-2021, 12:12 PM
Ure joking?
I dont think so, it would look slick.
Bridge hibs
12-06-2021, 01:33 PM
Why the fuss over the thistle, the ball and crown badge depicts the thistle and was on our badge a few years ago, sorry dont know how to do pics
AliboyFC
12-06-2021, 01:48 PM
I’m late to this thread and think the top looks superb. The only thing that would make it even better is a white collar.
As for the running debate or discussion…. We are a Scottish club with Irish roots. Harp on the badge and thistle on the back. Sorted.
Shamrock has no place whatsoever on our tops! My opinion mind!
I agree.
Calmbegbie
12-06-2021, 02:01 PM
Oh no, have hibs instigated another round of what we are again? Can’t we just be a Scottish club with Irish roots? Damn it
Hibs haven’t!
AliboyFC
12-06-2021, 02:36 PM
Wonder when the third and away kit will be shown.
12-06-2021, 02:38 PM
The map of Dublin should be good 😉
AliboyFC
12-06-2021, 02:51 PM
The map of Dublin should be good 😉
With erin go bragh in big writing on the back. :wink:
12-06-2021, 02:53 PM
With erin go bragh in big writing on the back. :wink:
Under the 4 leafed clover 🍀😉
12-06-2021, 04:09 PM
It’s a Google maps screenshot of the route from Edinburgh to Dublin.
12-06-2021, 04:47 PM
It’s a Google maps screenshot of the route from Edinburgh to Dublin.Green white & gold hoops with FTQ embroidered between the shoulder blades.
Calmbegbie
12-06-2021, 05:40 PM
Hibs haven’t!
I meant inadvertently
12-06-2021, 05:44 PM
I meant inadvertently
I really wouldn't worry about it. One person took umbrage at the thistle and, IMHO has been put in their place.
I meant inadvertently
[emoji1303].
Calmbegbie
12-06-2021, 08:40 PM
I really wouldn't worry about it. One person took umbrage at the thistle and, IMHO has been put in their place.
Aye hasn’t worried me mate and I’m new to this board but come across it before and it’s more infuriating than worrying. Don’t see the big fuss about it tbh and I think the club overall, as well as the vast majority of the support, seem to have a common sense approach and appreciation of what we are, a Scottish club with Irish roots. Yet there are always the odd ones who have to make a big deal about it for reasons only known to them 🤷*♂️
Mr Grieves
12-06-2021, 09:09 PM
I love it, unique and it looks superb.
expresso
14-06-2021, 11:48 AM
Any word on the colour of the socks yet?
AliboyFC
14-06-2021, 12:04 PM
No
14-06-2021, 04:35 PM
If they’re not green I’ll be very cross
BlackSheep
16-06-2021, 09:21 AM
Pre-orders online for the home top now...
...Anyone have info on when the away will be released?
16-06-2021, 09:23 AM
They’re green according to the description on this, still no image though.
https://www.hiberniandirect.co.uk//replica0/21-22-home-sock-snr
BlackSheep
16-06-2021, 10:55 AM
They’re green according to the description on this, still no image though.
https://www.hiberniandirect.co.uk//replica0/21-22-home-sock-snr
They have a placeholder image on there now too... bottle green socks, which i like... nice contrast.
16-06-2021, 11:23 AM
I’d like to pre-order, but absolutely no ideas about how sizing compares to Macron. Anyone got any ideas?
16-06-2021, 11:29 AM
I’d like to pre-order, but absolutely no ideas about how sizing compares to Macron. Anyone got any ideas?
From one quote on the release date they said it was a good fit and felt like a football top so I assumed it was back to normal sizes.
Renfrew_Hibby
16-06-2021, 11:39 AM
So glad we have no sponsors on the back, makes it look so much better. I'm guessing the deal with utilita more than compensates for any lost revenues. Also how many years since we had neither a betting firm or an alcoholic beverage on our tops?
16-06-2021, 11:40 AM
So glad we have no sponsors on the back, makes it look so much better. I'm guessing the deal with utilita more than compensates for any lost revenues. Also how many years since we had neither a betting firm or an alcoholic beverage on our tops?
It wouldn't surprise me if additional sponsors are added over the next couple of months.
16-06-2021, 12:11 PM
It wouldn't surprise me if additional sponsors are added over the next couple of months.
I hope not to be honest, think it ruins the top a little. Last years felt a bit overcrowded.
I get it on the players kits a bit but surely the replicas could be made without back of shirt advertising?
16-06-2021, 12:16 PM
From one quote on the release date they said it was a good fit and felt like a football top so I assumed it was back to normal sizes.
Now purchased in large, so we’ll see!
Also possible to pay for Hibs store stuff via Amex via Paypal now.
skankomcphee
16-06-2021, 12:18 PM
Now purchased in large, so we’ll see!
Also possible to pay for Hibs store stuff via Amex via Paypal now.
Seems that payments in the club store online now go to a Provan Sports Limited. A look on Companies House doesn’t really ring any bells in terms of the directors. Anyone know anything about this?
From the Hiberanian Direct website:
This website is owned by Hibernian Direct, a trading name of Provan Sports Limited (hereafter “Business”) , a company registered in Scotland (company number SC306073), whose registered office is c/o Douglas McDonald CA, 2 Octavia Buildings, Kilmacolm, PA13 4AE. Our VAT registration number is GB 293 2552 48.
ABOUT US
Hibernian Direct are the official retailer to Hibernian FC supplying replica kits and merchandise. Replica and trainingwear are provided by Spanish-based sports clothing manufacturer Joma with added Training and Leisurewear supplied by Hibernian Direct.
Looks like Hibernian Direct is set up as it's own separate entity which is run by Provan Sports on behalf of the club.
16-06-2021, 12:24 PM
I hope not to be honest, think it ruins the top a little. Last years felt a bit overcrowded.
I get it on the players kits a bit but surely the replicas could be made without back of shirt advertising?
To be honest I've no idea how it works - what rights differents sponsors have in respect of replica strips, etc. But in the past different sponsorships have been announced at different times and IIRC the Beep Beep shorts deal was announced during the season.
16-06-2021, 12:25 PM
From the Hiberanian Direct website:
This website is owned by Hibernian Direct, a trading name of Provan Sports Limited (hereafter “Business”) , a company registered in Scotland (company number SC306073), whose registered office is c/o Douglas McDonald CA, 2 Octavia Buildings, Kilmacolm, PA13 4AE. Our VAT registration number is GB 293 2552 48.
Ponzi scheme!
16-06-2021, 12:28 PM
Ponzi scheme!
I think the jury is out but I expect a not Provan verdict 😉
Jamie Murphy said his shirt felt like it was a small fit. So this means that may not be the case.
16-06-2021, 04:10 PM
Jamie Murphy said his shirt felt like it was a small fit. So this means that may not be the case.Isn't he likely to have a player issue shirt rather than one of the replicas sold to us plebs?
16-06-2021, 08:28 PM
Jamie Murphy said his shirt felt like it was a small fit. So this means that may not be the case.
Maybe they gave him a small when he usually wears a medium?
17-06-2021, 03:59 AM
Provan Sports have operated the club shop for the past 2 or 3 years under a licence agreement from Hibs.
I think they have a couple of years remaining before the licence is up for renewal.
Maybe they gave him a small when he usually wears a medium?
Think he said his was a medium and it was a small fit.
It was on twitter so you can have a look, if still there.
17-06-2021, 10:59 AM
This is apparently our new away top.
https://www.toffs.com/media/catalog/product/cache/adf5fb7457292abc63289fcf17a3a187/2/0/2065.jpg
17-06-2021, 11:35 AM
This is apparently our new away top.
https://www.toffs.com/media/catalog/product/cache/adf5fb7457292abc63289fcf17a3a187/2/0/2065.jpg
So long as there is a harp on the back, according to some 😉
Away kit imminent
https://twitter.com/hibernianfc/status/1407983081399586824?s=21
Greenio
24-06-2021, 08:58 AM
Away kit imminent
https://twitter.com/hibernianfc/status/1407983081399586824?s=21
Edinburgh rock ?
Hibdan12
24-06-2021, 09:00 AM
Hopefully not a grey kit
OOft.....that's a cracking kit but cant help be a little disappointed they haven't gone with the green sleeves
It’s a beauty.
Dunno how to link pictures, maybe someone else can.
https://twitter.com/hibernianfc/status/1407986861767790600?s=21
There’s the Twitter reveal
24-06-2021, 09:02 AM
Yous still greeting about Joma aye 😂😂😂😂😂😂
Absolutely beautiful 😍
I love it.
That’s braw
24-06-2021, 09:04 AM
For those without Twitter
Hibdan12
24-06-2021, 09:04 AM
Shorts are belters
24-06-2021, 09:05 AM
That’s braw
Looks smart enough. White top, green shorts, white socks.
I do get that Dunfermline home top vibe from it though.
HibeesGal
24-06-2021, 09:06 AM
Loving the away top.
24-06-2021, 09:07 AM
Thats stunning. Love it.
24-06-2021, 09:08 AM
It’s quite a nice looking shirt but got a bit of a “bottom six” look about it. Not blown away on the pinstripes.
Home kit is a comfortable top four though.
jakedance
Gorgeous. I’ve always like kits with a pin stripe.
That's tidy, I wonder why the home kit goes to 4xl and the away 3xl.
24-06-2021, 09:09 AM
i’m not sure if i like the pinstripes or not but i wanted a white away kit so can’t complain :greengrin
overall another cracking effort. love the green used for the shorts.
24-06-2021, 09:09 AM
An absolute cracker.
24-06-2021, 09:10 AM
I love that, looks brilliant - very retro but also very new for Hibs.
First away strip in a while I've really liked.
Looks smart enough. White top, green shorts, white socks.
I do get that Dunfermline home top vibe from it though.
That well known bottle green Dunfermline home top
Tbf that’s like saying any team who has a pinstriped white shirt is a knock off dunfermline home top
That's tidy, I wonder why the home kit goes to 4xl and the away 3xl.
Pinstripes are not for fat boys. :greengrin:greengrin
24-06-2021, 09:11 AM
Much prefer the away! Think I'll get that
24-06-2021, 09:11 AM
That’s good.
24-06-2021, 09:13 AM
Love that.
Expected to come on here for a fight as I wasn’t sure it would be everyone’s cup of tea but delighted to see it’s going down well.
Well played Joma. My expectations were low but I’m delighted with what they’ve done.
24-06-2021, 09:13 AM
Tbf that’s like saying any team who has a pinstriped white shirt is a knock off dunfermline home top
Wrong. It’s a Celtic away top according to some zoomers on Facebook 😂
24-06-2021, 09:14 AM
The top is white mate, not bottle green. They historically have white tops with pin stripes so yeah the similarity is there. If you don't see it then fine.
24-06-2021, 09:14 AM
Wrong. It’s a Celtic away top according to some zoomers on Facebook 😂
They’re a strange bunch
24-06-2021, 09:15 AM
As an overweight 52 year old who will never wear a football strip again, I love it. Really smart effort from Joma and Hibs
EI255
24-06-2021, 09:16 AM
It’s a beauty.
Dunno how to link pictures, maybe someone else can.
https://twitter.com/hibernianfc/status/1407986861767790600?s=21
There’s the Twitter revealOooft, that is absolutely stunning!!!! Best away in YEARS!
Very early 80's looking.
24-06-2021, 09:16 AM
Really liking the away kit, simple but really nice
Allez Hibs
24-06-2021, 09:17 AM
Whilst both kits are very nice it does make you wonder that they are actively ripping off the fans, as they can't wear either the home or away kits v Celtic - the only other team in the league we really need an away kit for.
mcohibs
24-06-2021, 09:17 AM
Well played Joma. Superb
Joma and the club have nailed it for me!
That’s a cracking strip!
24-06-2021, 09:18 AM
Not a fan I'm afraid.
Home top is spot on. Don't like the away.
24-06-2021, 09:19 AM
For those without Twitter
That's an excellent strip 👌
Whilst both kits are very nice it does make you wonder that they are actively ripping off the fans, as they can't wear either the home or away kits v Celtic - the only other team in the league we really need an away kit for.
Do people really calculate the value of a replica kit based on how much the team wear it? I buy the tops I like and don't buy the others – it's a simple system but it works for me.
We don't NEED an away kit against anyone. We managed for the best part of a century playing celtic without changing our strip. It's all about cash and making as much as possible. You could look at it and say clubs are ripping of fans, or just giving them a choice in strios to wear. I expect the 3rd kit to be purple now after seeing that strip
24-06-2021, 09:21 AM
How is a potential kit clash ripping off fans?
That’s partly the reason we usually have a 3rd kit as well.
24-06-2021, 09:21 AM
I’m way past the age where wearing a replica strip is acceptable but stuff it, I’m buying that one. :greengrin
duffers
24-06-2021, 09:22 AM
Add me to the disappointed list. Was hoping for a bit of a shanner to save me forking out on another top, but I absolutely love it and will be handing over another £60 to the club. Let’s hope the 3rds pretty average as I’m no sure my bank balance could handle another belter
24-06-2021, 09:23 AM
We don't NEED an away kit against anyone. We managed for the best part of a century playing celtic without changing our strip. It's all about cash and making as much as possible. You could look at it and say clubs are ripping of fans, or just giving them a choice in strios to wear. I expect the 3rd kit to be purple now after seeing that strip
Unless we draw a team in green in Europe!
24-06-2021, 09:27 AM
Not a fan I'm afraid.
You need to stop gaslighting us all PB. It's literally impossible not to like that kit.:wink:
24-06-2021, 09:27 AM
That away kit is a future classic - amazing!
24-06-2021, 09:29 AM
Unless we draw a team in green in Europe!
I'm reasonably sure uefa rules require teams to have 3 choices of kit before they're allowed to compete in European ties.
24-06-2021, 09:33 AM
If that kit had the same collar as the home top it would be an all time classic.
It's still a great kit though. Nice work Joma.
24-06-2021, 09:39 AM
It’s fine..Not got the wow factor of the home one for me. Seems i’m in the minority though & hope it sells well.
TelaStella
24-06-2021, 09:42 AM
By far one of the best Hibs tops I think I’ve ever seen. Definitely the first for years I’ll be buying anyway. What a debut this has been for Joma.
Nice kit but why does it have a thistle embroidered on it and not a harp?!
CanonHannon
24-06-2021, 09:44 AM
Not a fan I'm afraid.
I like the away but not the home.
CanonHannon
24-06-2021, 09:45 AM
It’s ok the third kit will be gold ✊🇮🇪😝
Home and now away kits are fantastic. Well done all 👍
24-06-2021, 09:47 AM
Aaahhhhh it's another good one
24-06-2021, 09:48 AM
So glad there's a thistle on the back. :wink:
24-06-2021, 09:49 AM
Looks even nicer up close. Note it looks like different colour pinstripes
24-06-2021, 09:51 AM
The Scottish thistle on the back is great.
24-06-2021, 09:54 AM
Normally i'm a bit meh with every top we bring out, not been that impressed with any over the years since being a kid, but that away top for me is very nice.
If i was 3 stone lighter and 40 years younger i might have bought one. :greengrin
24-06-2021, 09:59 AM
I like it, not into the home, too much going on for me, prefer this cleaner look!
Interested to see what they do with the 3rd kit.
24-06-2021, 09:59 AM
The Scottish thistle on the back is great.
Yes. Especially impressed with that. 🎣
24-06-2021, 10:04 AM
Looks even nicer up close. Note it looks like different colour pinstripes
Aye looks like the 2 different shades of green now I’ve seen it close up
24-06-2021, 10:15 AM
Path is set for a third kit.
Get you wallets open.
24-06-2021, 10:16 AM
The Hibs club shop really could do with measuring out this out in comparison with last seasons top.
If so I’d pre order in a heartbeat.
24-06-2021, 10:21 AM
You need to stop gaslighting us all PB. It's literally impossible not to like that kit.:wink:
I don't like either! 🤷
JXM73
24-06-2021, 10:24 AM
Spent aw the money on the home shirt? prefer plain white top...
24-06-2021, 10:26 AM
Aye looks like the 2 different shades of green now I’ve seen it close up
Green and grey is it not? That would tie in with grey twitter teaser on facebook
24-06-2021, 10:28 AM
Prefer the away one to the home one. That's really nice.
24-06-2021, 10:29 AM
Green and grey is it not? That would tie in with grey twitter teaser on facebook
Looks like emerald and dark green to me. Hibs put a real close up photo on Twitter not long ago and it looks that way to me
Greenio
24-06-2021, 10:31 AM
I think it's a pretty good design.
Certainly retro and a good pairing with the home one which was certainly a very different approach.
Would love for the 3rd to be something very contemporary. Just something you wouldn't expect at all
24-06-2021, 10:33 AM
I’m way past the age where wearing a replica strip is acceptable but stuff it, I’m buying that one. :greengrin
I’m buying both…always do.
Might be different when I grow up though:greengrin
24-06-2021, 10:35 AM
I'm reasonably sure uefa rules require teams to have 3 choices of kit before they're allowed to compete in European ties.
That's true but the poster I replied to implied we didn't really need a second kit never mind a third
James Stephen
24-06-2021, 10:36 AM
Really like the away strip, much better than the home one.
24-06-2021, 10:40 AM
I think it's a pretty good design.
Certainly retro and a good pairing with the home one which was certainly a very different approach.
Would love for the 3rd to be something very contemporary. Just something you wouldn't expect at all
3rd kit will be yellow
24-06-2021, 10:43 AM
3rd kit will be yellow
Or purple?
Sent from my iPhone using Tapatalk Pro
24-06-2021, 10:45 AM
Or purple?
Sent from my iPhone using Tapatalk Pro
I'm pretty certain it will be 'sunshine' yellow.
24-06-2021, 10:46 AM
Nothing to dislike about that kit. Nothing to get too excited about either.
24-06-2021, 10:47 AM
3rd kit will be yellow
Hope it never sees the light of day then-yellow strips are hideous. Away strip is very good although maybe Argentina type stripes would have been better.
24-06-2021, 10:48 AM
I don't like either! 🤷
Pretty sure you never like any of them.
24-06-2021, 10:49 AM
The top on it's own isn't having the same "wow" effect on me that others seem to be experiencing, but I think it's fine.
However I do like the strip in it's entirety with the bottle green shorts and plainish white socks - smert!
Great strips both of them, really like the away strip, but why don’t the club make them available earlier. I would have bought a few for my grandsons to ware on holidays instead of other tee shirts. Time they’re out they’re back at school.
24-06-2021, 11:16 AM
It’s better than that gunmetal effort from last year but still not a fan of the stripes personally
Pretty Green
24-06-2021, 11:17 AM
I don't like it, much prefer the home kit.
Allez Hibs
24-06-2021, 11:18 AM
Do people really calculate the value of a replica kit based on how much the team wear it? I buy the tops I like and don't buy the others – it's a simple system but it works for me.
What's the point in releasing a kit if the team don't wear it?
The inverted white kit with green sleeves hardly got worn?
I'd accept the new away kit as the home kit for a season for something different.
24-06-2021, 11:19 AM
I think it looks great. Very retro looking.
24-06-2021, 11:25 AM
Home and away are a pair of stunners. Some first season from Joma.
24-06-2021, 11:28 AM
I'd accept the new away kit as the home kit for a season for something different.The league rules require two kits. Uefa rules require a third.
Jakhog1
24-06-2021, 11:33 AM
I think Joma have pulled it out the bag, love the home, then they release that beauty of an away strip, very 80s vibe which I have been wanting for years, I will get this although I'm probably too old now for it but reminds me of my childhood being a Hibs fan
leithsansiro
24-06-2021, 11:40 AM
I'm going to admit that I was sceptical about Joma when we announced the deal as I naively judged their lack of "Big Team Pedigree", but I reckon they've pulled it out of the bag and have came up with two good designs that are everything a Hibs strip should be.
If the away one actually was from the 80's, it'd be a collectors items now and would be well sought after.
24-06-2021, 11:53 AM
Pretty sure you never like any of them.
I bought one of the Macron ones, but I miss Le Coq Sportif!
24-06-2021, 12:03 PM
I'm going to admit that I was sceptical about Joma when we announced the deal as I naively judged their lack of "Big Team Pedigree", but I reckon they've pulled it out of the bag and have came up with two good designs that are everything a Hibs strip should be.
If the away one actually was from the 80's, it'd be a collectors items now and would be well sought after.
That was my initial thought too. I think this one will be a future collectors item. Very smart.
24-06-2021, 12:21 PM
I'd accept the new away kit as the home kit for a season for something different.
The charcoal and purple away kit last season I think got one or two airings. Then it was binned and replaced exclusively by the HSL third kit. Which was annoying as I much preferred the former.
24-06-2021, 12:26 PM
Hearts fan over the road reckons our new kit is “Celtic as f***”
What?
24-06-2021, 12:30 PM
I bought one of the Macron ones, but I miss Le Coq Sportif!
Aye they were crackers.
24-06-2021, 12:32 PM
What?
Inasmuch as it’s green and white, they’ve probably got something of a point. I wonder what colours they think we would use??
Are they aware that we were around, with those colours, long before Celtic were?
Maybe they should reflect on the fact that Celtic’s strip is Hibs as f***
Rich, coming from a supporter of a club that claims origins in 1874 when I understand there is no evidence they were established then. No question they were around ahead of Hibs but no evidence it was before 1875
24-06-2021, 12:34 PM
Pre order site only offers 3XL. What if you're slightly larger :greengrin
24-06-2021, 12:35 PM
What?
They aren't very clever tbh. This can be the only Celtic they are refering to?
https://i.ibb.co/fCvKnqV/Screenshot-2021-06-24-13-32-50-66-260528048de7f2f358f0056f785be619.jpg (https://ibb.co/7G4TRjx)
image uploader (https://imgbb.com/)
24-06-2021, 12:35 PM
Inasmuch as it’s green and white, they’ve probably got something of a point. I wonder what colours they think we would use??
Are they aware that we were around, with those colours, long before Celtic were?
The fact that the beloved hoops were literally a Hibs shirt first.
Talk about “if you know your history”.
24-06-2021, 12:36 PM
Pre order site only offers 3XL. What if you're slightly larger :greengrin
Salad and exercise. (I can say that as a Macron XXL).
24-06-2021, 12:44 PM
What?
He's right, celtic have been using our strip/colours for decades!
24-06-2021, 12:47 PM
He's right, celtic have been using our strip/colours for decades!
133 years!
24-06-2021, 12:54 PM
What?
People in “I’ve just took a dump but I’ve got piles” houses shouldn’t throw stones.
24-06-2021, 12:58 PM
What?
Aye, coz everybody looks at white fitba kits and thinks ... wow, thats Celtic :faf:
Henderson2Del
24-06-2021, 01:04 PM
Be even nicer without a sponsor logo. I know we need the income and have no issue with them but just think this would be stunning with no sponsor
24-06-2021, 01:29 PM
I really like it: very traditional and I like the retro pinstripes. :top marks
24-06-2021, 01:55 PM
Another cracking strip. Joma rock. :greengrin
24-06-2021, 02:25 PM
What?
Or it could literally be a copy of a famous teams top like theirs?
24-06-2021, 03:49 PM
Joma have smashed it out the park
24-06-2021, 04:02 PM
I prefer the home strip but I still think Joma and the club have done a cracking job this year with the strips.
The shorts look really nice on the away kit
24-06-2021, 04:08 PM
It's been posted on the Scottish Football subreddit and the consensus amongst other teams fans is that it's pretty good and possibly the best 21/22 kit so far
AliboyFC
24-06-2021, 04:31 PM
The away top is a belta but I don't know what one to buy now...
mcohibs
24-06-2021, 06:29 PM
Rich, coming from a supporter of a club that claims origins in 1874 when I understand there is no evidence they were established then. No question they were around ahead of Hibs but no evidence it was before 1875
Read this a few times and still not sure what you mean :greengrin
EI255
24-06-2021, 06:55 PM
Wonder if Joma will do a 4th kit?
24-06-2021, 07:12 PM
I really like it. I’m not a fan of the home kit.
24-06-2021, 07:14 PM
I really like it. I’m not a fan of the home kit.
Yeah it’ll age better than the home kit. A bit too much going on there!
24-06-2021, 07:17 PM
Have the shorts got a bit of a textured look? They don’t look straight bottle green.
24-06-2021, 07:28 PM
Have the shorts got a bit of a textured look? They don’t look straight bottle green.
I thought so in the pictures and seemed to match the marble effect on the background to the tweets, but the website for ordering looks like plain green.
24-06-2021, 07:39 PM
I thought so in the pictures and seemed to match the marble effect on the background to the tweets, but the website for ordering looks like plain green.
Cheers Andy
24-06-2021, 08:11 PM
Wonder if Joma will do a 4th kit?
Well if the rumours of Jackson Irvine signing are true , it will be a purple third kit :)
24-06-2021, 08:16 PM
Weren’t they called St Andrew’s or some such and played in blue.
Heart of Midlothian was a swimming club?
Posers.
24-06-2021, 08:38 PM
Baseball cap to follow.
Big Ron is a NY Yankees fan without doubt :greengrin
ozhibs
25-06-2021, 12:54 AM
Posers.
I seriously thought it was a dancing club ,
25-06-2021, 06:58 AM
I seriously thought it was a dancing club ,
That’s my understanding and no evidence of any football club before 1875. I’m no historian but was told this by a historian who is a published author in football history related books and I’ve no reason to doubt the snippet of information. It made me wonder what motives a club would have to backdate their history.
25-06-2021, 07:03 AM
The new away kit is getting a serious amount of love on twitter, mostly from fans of English clubs.
Looks like Joma have hit the spot.
25-06-2021, 07:43 AM
I’ll definitely be getting a couple of both new tops, both will be very desirable.
EI255
25-06-2021, 10:08 AM
Posers.Hibernian had a swimming club at Infirmary Street baths. Right up until the 80's, I think.
25-06-2021, 10:15 AM
What?
I think Hearts kits are all a bit Arbroath
25-06-2021, 11:19 AM
I'm going to get the away one. My laddie will thank me for it in about 20 years time. Classic.
25-06-2021, 11:35 AM
Love both of them. A really good start for Joma.
25-06-2021, 12:10 PM
I've seen a few folk praising Peter Burt (Hibs creative manager) for the two kits - superb from him if I'm reading into it correctly and they've both been designed in-house. That's truly bespoke!
25-06-2021, 12:24 PM
I've seen a few folk praising Peter Burt (Hibs creative manager) for the two kits - superb from him if I'm reading into it correctly and they've both been designed in-house. That's truly bespoke!
Yes, a really good effort.
25-06-2021, 01:08 PM
Peter is a top operator, heavily involved in both strips
25-06-2021, 01:14 PM
Both strips more than decent and a bit of thinking out of the box for the home shirt. I'll probably buy the away shirt.