View Full Version : The Firm

Pages : 1 2 3 4 5 6 [7] 8

ErinGoBraghHFC
02-05-2023, 09:40 PM
:hilarious i'm sure that's been thought of in Belfast and Harthill/Airdrie/Whitburn

people using foodbanks usually feel they have something in common with them when bullet heid william and wee sweet kate do their wee PR stunts helping out with the penniless, they never think of chucking their royal subjects a tenner now and then though

if only the UK media wasn't 80% Tory-owned and state TV Tory-run

Said it many times but the Russians and the French had the right idea. Parasites, Nazis and Pedophiles.

03-05-2023, 04:54 PM
more cancelled Empires Begin in Tragedy and End in Farce: Coronation Parties Are Being Canceled Because of Lack of Interest | by My Lovely Suque | May, 2023 | Medium (https://medium.com/@MyLovelySuqu/empires-begin-in-tragedy-and-end-in-farce-coronation-parties-are-being-canceled-because-of-lack-of-a75d4627d9dd) oh well

03-05-2023, 05:59 PM
saw this a couple of times over the last several months and always thought it was photo-shopped, turns out they did indeed have it on the side of their building last september :)

https://scontent.fman1-2.fna.fbcdn.net/v/t39.30808-6/344793175_1391853041657308_7098365802812528168_n.j pg?_nc_cat=106&ccb=1-7&_nc_sid=5cd70e&_nc_ohc=gFcjdFJ75aQAX_L34iw&_nc_ht=scontent.fman1-2.fna&oh=00_AfDdDacwglinFo-7pFhInthzej_CX4WjpBgbkp0r7fiEYg&oe=64572C06

TrumpIsAPeado
04-05-2023, 12:49 PM
I see Charles quietly signed off the tories anti-protest bill yesterday. Just in time for the coronation.

04-05-2023, 04:19 PM
I see Charles quietly signed off the tories anti-protest bill yesterday. Just in time for the coronation.Got to keep the subjects in their place, especially the ones who have no desire to be reigned over.

Hopefully the new laws will be rigidly enforced when the time comes where royalists have to take to the streets in response to us having a majority and a mandate for becoming a republic free of birthright based dynasties and other unelected figureheads.

04-05-2023, 05:13 PM
I see Charles quietly signed off the tories anti-protest bill yesterday. Just in time for the coronation.

Yip, long to reign over us. And have us beaten with big batons and thrown in the jail if we show any kind of dissent

04-05-2023, 06:30 PM
First major event since courts/police were given more punitive powers over protesters.

https://www.theguardian.com/politics/2023/may/02/anti-monarchists-receive-intimidatory-home-office-letter-on-new-protest-laws-coronation

"Protesters who block roads, airports and railways could face 12 months behind bars.

Anyone locking on to others, objects or buildings could go to prison for six months and face an unlimited fine.

Police will be able to head off disruption by stopping and searching protesters if they suspect they are setting out to cause chaos."

The money we put into our royals would pay for all the other European royals put together three times over.

****ing weird country this.

Sent from my SM-A528B using Tapatalk

Chorley Hibee
04-05-2023, 07:07 PM
Yip, long to reign over us. And have us beaten with big batons and thrown in the jail if we show any kind of dissent

As this sinister message from the Brownshirts (sorry, I meant Metropolitan Police) proves:

https://twitter.com/metpoliceuk/status/1653745710724968448?t=-kniYMiAym6IbACUZht5YA&s=19

04-05-2023, 07:11 PM
As this sinister message from the Brownshirts (sorry, I meant Metropolitan Police) proves:

https://twitter.com/metpoliceuk/status/1653745710724968448?t=-kniYMiAym6IbACUZht5YA&s=19Who knows, maybe they'll make a better job of this than, say, protecting innocent members of the public from the Met?

Chorley Hibee
04-05-2023, 07:13 PM
The bootlickers bootleg:

https://twitter.com/RangersFC/status/1654078426452488196?t=TKd3cdAVW0s05FOzKcG7UQ&s=19

Berwickhibby
04-05-2023, 07:16 PM

https://twitter.com/metpoliceuk/status/1653745710724968448?t=-kniYMiAym6IbACUZht5YA&s=19

Does your mouth bleed every 28days…what a ridiculous comment

04-05-2023, 07:25 PM

It's a horrible tweet from the met and being rounded on by many.

Does the met have levels of tolerance and what evils do they dish out?

Berwickhibby
04-05-2023, 07:29 PM
It's a horrible tweet from the met and being rounded on by many.

Does the met have levels of tolerance and what evils do they dish out?

I object strongly with the brown shirt comment

04-05-2023, 07:32 PM

I'm asking about the tweet. Do you have a view?

Chorley Hibee
04-05-2023, 07:33 PM

Enlighten me as to what's ridiculous then?

This quasi fascist regime have no legal ground to stop anyone from "undermining a celebration" nor do they have the legal right to use facial recognition on legitimate protesters either.

Their language is sinister and deeply concerning, and should have everyone worried about what kind of state police force we're in danger of accepting.

ErinGoBraghHFC
04-05-2023, 07:33 PM

Do they protect an unelected head of state that can’t be voted out of power? [emoji2371]

Berwickhibby
04-05-2023, 07:34 PM
I'm asking about the tweet. Do you have a view?

Tweet is overbearing at best ..threatening at worst…not a good idea imho

Berwickhibby
04-05-2023, 07:35 PM
Do they protect an unelected head of state that can’t be voted out of power? [emoji2371]

So that makes the Nazis …

04-05-2023, 07:36 PM
Tweet is overbearing at best ..threatening at worst…not a good idea imho

So the Met threatening the public. Things have moved fast under the new commissioner.

ErinGoBraghHFC
04-05-2023, 07:36 PM
So that makes the Nazis …

Well their track record for their treatment of ethnic minorities would certainly justify that position

Berwickhibby
04-05-2023, 07:39 PM
Enlighten me as to what's ridiculous then?

This quasi fascist regime have no legal ground to stop anyone from "undermining a celebration" nor do they have the legal right to use facial recognition on legitimate protesters either.

Their language is sinister and deeply concerning, and should have everyone worried about what kind of state police force we're in danger of accepting.

Quasi facist regime …your really are a clueless idiot if you believe that

Berwickhibby
04-05-2023, 07:40 PM
Well their track record for their treatment of ethnic minorities would certainly justify that position

Another clueless idiot …

ErinGoBraghHFC
04-05-2023, 07:46 PM
Another clueless idiot …

Educate me then rather than slinging around personal insults, eh. Unless you only want people who agree with you to voice their opinion and not have to justify it. Then again, that does sound a little bit Fascistic.

Berwickhibby
04-05-2023, 07:56 PM
Educate me then rather than slinging around personal insults, eh. Unless you only want people who agree with you to voice their opinion and not have to justify it. Then again, that does sound a little bit Fascistic.

Ok the Met deal with the worst in society, I am an ex Met officer, I have had to deal with murder, honour murdered sisters in suitcases, female genitalia mutilation, incest, rape, domestic violence, paedophellia, mental health issues the list goes on within ethnic communities and being a daft wee laddie from Muirhouse did my best to provide the best service possible. My colleagues were all mostly working class lads and lassies trying to do their best. The constant abuse received from the public was hard. To be tarred as a Nazi of facist is absolutely unacceptable to me … however should something serious happens to someone you care about you will call the police.

ErinGoBraghHFC
04-05-2023, 08:04 PM
Ok the Met deal with the worst in society, I am an ex Met officer, I have had to deal with murder, honour murdered sisters in suitcases, female genitalia mutilation, incest, rape, domestic violence, paedophellia, mental health issues the list goes on within ethnic communities and being a daft wee laddie from Muirhouse did my best to provide the best service possible. My colleagues were all mostly working class lads and lassies trying to do their best. The constant abuse received from the public was hard. To be tarred as a Nazi of facist is absolutely unacceptable to me … however should something serious happens to someone you care about you will call the police.

That was really interesting BH thanks for that, much better than branding me an idiot straight off the bat is it not? I have no doubt whatsoever that being a police officer is hard work and that must have been brutal to witness, I do hope you’re doing alright. I also would concede most are attracted to the job to serve and protect the public. What I cannot see past is that the police force is, in very simple terms, an armed (with the law) wing of the government. They serve the status quo unquestionably, it doesn’t sit very well with a lot of people who feel ostracised by the government for that reason. Add into that Orgreave, Hillsborough and the statistics for stop and searches carried out on ethnic minorities compared to that of white British people and it’s easy to see why a significant number of people do not trust the police, whether it’s the Met Police or the rural police.

Berwickhibby
04-05-2023, 08:18 PM
That was really interesting BH thanks for that, much better than branding me an idiot straight off the bat is it not? I have no doubt whatsoever that being a police officer is hard work and that must have been brutal to witness, I do hope you’re doing alright. I also would concede most are attracted to the job to serve and protect the public. What I cannot see past is that the police force is, in very simple terms, an armed (with the law) wing of the government. They serve the status quo unquestionably, it doesn’t sit very well with a lot of people who feel ostracised by the government for that reason. Add into that Orgreave, Hillsborough and the statistics for stop and searches carried out on ethnic minorities compared to that of white British people and it’s easy to see why a significant number of people do not trust the police, whether it’s the Met Police or the rural police.

You do realise that for stop and search there must be reasonable grounds and a full record completed. The problem which is not mentioned is that grounds normally come from someone telling the police that he saw this person with a weapon etc… anything found in an unlawful search is inadmissible. Depending what part of London you are in the majority of the residents are ethnic

Chorley Hibee
04-05-2023, 08:35 PM
You do realise that for stop and search there must be reasonable grounds and a full record completed. The problem which is not mentioned is that grounds normally come from someone telling the police that he saw this person with a weapon etc… anything found in an unlawful search is inadmissible. Depending what part of London you are in the majority of the residents are ethnic

Yet the Casey Report suggested a "fundamental reset" of Stop and Search and that in 2019 over half of searches were 'self generated' (meaning initiated spontaneously by an officer) and that only 9% of searches were carried out due to previous intelligence.

The same report found that stop and search is “deeply embedded in the Met’s culture”, along with a lack of transparency and a tendency towards racism, sexism and homophobia. It also said it should accept an earlier report from 2021 that the force was "institutionally corrupt".

Fairly damning condemnation of a force that's pretty much out of control.

04-05-2023, 08:52 PM

This bit of the tweet is particularly worrying and rightly draws comparisons to a Police state.

“Our tolerance for any disruption, whether through protest or otherwise, will be low.

We will deal robustly with anyone intent on undermining this celebration.”

Our tolerance for ANY disruption, will be low. Let that sink in.

No protest will be tolerated. How does that square the circle of living in a democracy where protest is at the cornerstone of our freedoms.

Protesting at the time of the State and religious ceremony for the changing of power seems absolutely the right time to protest that institution.

If not, Saturday when will the Mets “tolerance” be lower?

Berwickhibby
04-05-2023, 08:54 PM
Yet the Casey Report suggested a "fundamental reset" of Stop and Search and that in 2019 over half of searches were 'self generated' (meaning initiated spontaneously by an officer) and that only 9% of searches were carried out due to previous intelligence.

The same report found that stop and search is “deeply embedded in the Met’s culture”, along with a lack of transparency and a tendency towards racism, sexism and homophobia. It also said it should accept an earlier report from 2021 that the force was "institutionally corrupt".

Fairly damning condemnation of a force that's pretty much out of control.

Again utter drivel imho …every search is recorded on Body cam … the rules of Police and Criminal Evidence Act 1984 must be adhered to …but reality is obviously different to people complaining

Berwickhibby
04-05-2023, 08:56 PM
This bit of the tweet is particularly worrying and rightly draws comparisons to a Police state.

“Our tolerance for any disruption, whether through protest or otherwise, will be low.

We will deal robustly with anyone intent on undermining this celebration.”

Our tolerance for ANY disruption, will be low. Let that sink in.

No protest will be tolerated. How does that square the circle of living in a democracy where protest is at the cornerstone of our freedoms.

Protesting at the time of the State and religious ceremony for the changing of power seems absolutely the right time to protest that institution.

If not, Saturday when will the Mets “tolerance” be lower?

Read my earlier post ..I do not agree with the tweet.

Chorley Hibee
04-05-2023, 09:02 PM
Again utter drivel imho …every search is recorded on Body cam … the rules of Police and Criminal Evidence Act 1984 must be adhered to …but reality is obviously different to people complaining

And that's how it continues isn't it.

Call another report into the Met "utter drivel" and continue acting as a law unto yourself.

It'll never change.

04-05-2023, 09:04 PM
I object strongly with the brown shirt commentHow long ago was it you were in the polis? You realise there is info coming out about the low bar for employment by them over the last decade?

04-05-2023, 09:05 PM
I thought one of the British values was tolerance and another was free speech.

Chorley Hibee
04-05-2023, 09:08 PM
I thought one of the British values was tolerance and another was free speech.

It was always a lie.

Berwickhibby
04-05-2023, 09:09 PM
And that's how it continues isn't it.

Call another report into the Met "utter drivel" and continue acting as a law unto yourself.

It'll never change.

Who writes the reports, obviously nobody who has pulled on a uniform and done 24 hour shifts dealing with the public, your law onto yourself quote is laughable… you simply do not know what your talking about and your anti police rhetoric stands out. Because guess what and this might come as a shock …people lie..people have agendas …and the police get the blame the majority of the time. There have been some shocking cases involving police officers and they deserve every bit of punishment they receive.

Berwickhibby
04-05-2023, 09:13 PM
How long ago was it you were in the polis? You realise there is info coming out about the low bar for employment by them over the last decade?

Still object to the brown shirt Facist/Nazi term

Chorley Hibee
04-05-2023, 09:19 PM
Who writes the reports, obviously nobody who has pulled on a uniform and done 24 hour shifts dealing with the public, your law onto yourself quote is laughable… you simply do not know what your talking about and your anti police rhetoric stands out. Because guess what and this might come as a shock …people lie..people have agendas …and the police get the blame the majority of the time. There have been some shocking cases involving police officers and they deserve every bit of punishment they receive.

Who do you suggest write the reports?

Perhaps we could have the Police investigate themselves, that's worked out well in the past...

TrumpIsAPeado
04-05-2023, 09:22 PM

I have family in the police force and even they accept that there are deep rooted institutional problems within it. Just because being a police officer can be hard, doesn't negate the fact that there are problems. This might come as a shock, but those that make up the MET are also people and therefore prone to lying and having their own agendas.

04-05-2023, 09:23 PM
It was always a lie.Shucks!

Berwickhibby
04-05-2023, 09:30 PM
Who do you suggest write the reports?

Perhaps we could have the Police investigate themselves, that's worked out well in the past...

Someone with at least some real knowledge on the subject, who can actually investigate and does not accept things on face value. It’s amazing the amount of complaints about unlawful searching, rudeness, police assaults etc reduced to near 0% on the introduction of body cams. Do you think the cams were the reason, no officers continued as they always had but now they have proof that the complaints are fictitious. In 1997 I was part of a pilot where we placed a covert camera in the van, there was 18 complaints of assault in the van during the 4 weeks. Guess the number there were, that’s right 0 all recorded. Oh and the camera was covert so the arresting officers did not know it was there.

Berwickhibby
04-05-2023, 09:32 PM
I have family in the police force and even they accept that there are deep rooted institutional problems within it. Just because being a police officer can be hard, doesn't negate the fact that there are problems. This might come as a shock, but those that make up the MET are also people and therefore prone to lying and having their own agendas.

So that makes it ok to call them Nazi Brown shirts

TrumpIsAPeado
04-05-2023, 09:33 PM
So that makes it ok to call them Nazi Brown shirts

If they know it's nonsense, then they have nothing to worry about.

04-05-2023, 09:34 PM
So that makes it ok to call them Nazi Brown shirtsMaybe if they stopped being racist people wouldn't call them awful names.

Berwickhibby
04-05-2023, 09:41 PM
Maybe if they stopped being racist people wouldn't call them awful names.

Normally I agree with a lot you post, but you’re a posting utter pish ….

Steven79
04-05-2023, 09:43 PM
Ok the SNP are Snazi’s …well their leadership wanted to side with HitlerRoyal family are German and wanted to side with the Nazis...

Sent from my SM-G973F using Tapatalk

04-05-2023, 09:44 PM
Normally I agree with a lot you post, but you’re a posting utter pish ….Well that's me convinced.

Berwickhibby
04-05-2023, 09:48 PM
Well that's me convinced.

Job done :aok: :faf::faf:

TrumpIsAPeado
04-05-2023, 09:55 PM
Ok the SNP are Snazi’s …well their leadership wanted to side with Hitler

And the SNP know it's nonsense, so they have nothing to worry about.

TrumpIsAPeado
04-05-2023, 10:02 PM
We will see when I continue to use the term how upset others get …. I know it’s offensive to others, but hey 🤷*♂️

Upset? Or do they just provide evidence of the link the Royals and British State had with Adolf Hitler before they became targets as well?

Berwickhibby
04-05-2023, 10:04 PM
Upset? Or do they just provide evidence of the link the Royals and British State had with Adolf Hitler before they became targets as well?

No trust me …they get upset

ErinGoBraghHFC
04-05-2023, 10:13 PM
No trust me …they get upset

Who does? You seem to be the only one that’s upset?

Berwickhibby
04-05-2023, 10:17 PM
Who does? You seem to be the only one that’s upset?

I used that term once before and there were lots gripes trust me. But I won’t, deleted my post…. Still object to the Brown Shirt comment

05-05-2023, 04:50 AM

The man who calls SNP voters Snazis objects to Black Shirts jibe. Boo hoo.

05-05-2023, 04:55 AM
And the SNP know it's nonsense, so they have nothing to worry about.

Beat me to it.

05-05-2023, 06:00 AM
Just seen on the news that a specially recorded message from Charlie and the queen consort will be played on train station platforms today.

They've gone full North Korea. 😂

05-05-2023, 07:28 AM
Got to say I'm pleasantly surprised that this utter nonsense isn't affecting the football and is only on TV on Saturday morning. I originally assumed it would be a whole weekend event with all sport cancelled going by the English media frenzy.

05-05-2023, 07:46 AM
Got to say I'm pleasantly surprised that this utter nonsense isn't affecting the football and is only on TV on Saturday morning. I originally assumed it would be a whole weekend event with all sport cancelled going by the English media frenzy.

The final Bath rugby game of the season kicks off at 1600. Believe me, there was much nashing of teeth in the Bath equivalent of Hibs.net.

A sizeable chunk wanted the games played on Sunday.

Steven79
05-05-2023, 07:55 AM
The final Bath rugby game of the season kicks off at 1600. Believe me, there was much nashing of teeth in the Bath equivalent of Hibs.net.

A sizeable chunk wanted the games played on Sunday.

JI can believe that.

My Uncle lived in Bath and now lives in Trowbridge and I expect most in that area will be pledging allegiance in front of their tv"s on Saturday.

05-05-2023, 08:39 AM
I can believe that.

My Uncle lived in Bath and now lives in Trowbridge and I expect most in that area will be pledging allegiance in front of their tv"s on Saturday.

Sent from my SM-G973F using TapatalkI was going to pledge allegiance to my telly as I spend a bit of time with it anyway, so taking the relationship to another level seemed a natural progression.

However on reflection, it's a one way thing, foreign made and only ever costs me money.
A bit like the monarchy so it can stick it's allegiance where the sun doesn't shine.

Steven79
05-05-2023, 08:41 AM
I was going to pledge allegiance to my telly as I spend a bit of time with it anyway, so taking the relationship to another level seemed a natural progression.

However on reflection, it's a one way thing, foreign made and only ever costs me money.
A bit like the monarchy so it can stick it's allegiance where the sun doesn't shine.

Sent from my SM-A750FN using Tapatalk[emoji1787]

The thought of thousands of people standing up and pledging alliegence is something that North Korea or Nazi Germany would be proud of.

05-05-2023, 08:43 AM
https://uploads.tapatalk-cdn.com/20230505/46a1e96671917574c0d447034d8f24d0.jpg

05-05-2023, 08:44 AM
[emoji1787]

The thought of thousands of people standing up and pledging alliegence is something that North Korea or Nazi Germany would be proud of.

Sent from my SM-G973F using TapatalkI wonder if the cops will be round looking in the windows to see if anyone isn't standing in a pledgelike manner in front of their samsung and therefore falling in the low tolerance level category referred to above[emoji6]

Steven79
05-05-2023, 08:46 AM

Sent from my iPhone using TapatalkBut many are claiming we have nothing to worry about.

If we can't protest nor strike then we are affectively living in a dictatorship.

Oh and they have also introduced new laws that restrict people they are unlikely to vote Tory (Mostly the poor) when Voter fraud isn't that much of a problem.

Steven79
05-05-2023, 08:48 AM
I wonder if the cops will be round looking in the windows to see if anyone isn't standing in a pledgelike manner in front of their samsung and therefore falling in the low tolerance level category referred to above[emoji6]

Sent from my SM-A750FN using TapatalkThankfully I will be watching the kid play a football match when this nonsense is on as he's playing in Lenzie then we are getting a train over to Edinburgh.

Apart from the message on the platform ([emoji102]) we will miss pretty much all of it.https://uploads.tapatalk-cdn.com/20230505/f0b93932940faa9035e272e2d10c27e7.jpg

05-05-2023, 08:51 AM
Thankfully I will be watching the kid play a football match when this nonsense is on as he's playing in Lenzie then we are getting a train over to Edinburgh.

Apart from the message on the platform ([emoji102]) we will miss pretty much all of it.https://uploads.tapatalk-cdn.com/20230505/f0b93932940faa9035e272e2d10c27e7.jpg

Sent from my SM-G973F using TapatalkSimilar, we have found pub that has decided to swerve the occasion and carry on as normal so quite a few are boycotting our over exuberant local and having a normal session.

05-05-2023, 10:26 AM
I'm down in Liverpool this weekend so hopefully no sign of any royal pish

TrumpIsAPeado
05-05-2023, 11:32 AM

Their whole twitter page is just full of stenchy staunchness. They honestly think the whole world will be watching and pledging their allegiance and if not, the batons will be out. :sick:

TrumpIsAPeado
05-05-2023, 12:00 PM
Tell me they're not brainwashed without telling me they're not brainwashed.
https://twitter.com/TimesRadio/status/1654150771103920130?ref_src=twsrc%5Etfw%7Ctwcamp%5 Etweetembed%7Ctwterm%5E1654150771103920130%7Ctwgr% 5E6fefdefbeb3c681a7a1f92f1799011e12ffdab62%7Ctwcon %5Es1_&ref_url=https%3A%2F%2Fwww.pieandbovril.com%2Fforum %2Findex.php%3Fapp%3Dcoremodule%3Dsystemcontroller %3Dembedurl%3Dhttps%3A%2F%2Ftwitter.com%2FTimesRad io%2Fstatus%2F1654150771103920130%3Ft%3D6xA8SfmCXR bufgp6ybUrKw26s%3D19

05-05-2023, 12:04 PM

I am actually stunned by that.

05-05-2023, 12:08 PM
https://twitter.com/TimesRadio/status/1654150771103920130?ref_src=twsrc%5Etfw%7Ctwcamp%5 Etweetembed%7Ctwterm%5E1654150771103920130%7Ctwgr% 5E6fefdefbeb3c681a7a1f92f1799011e12ffdab62%7Ctwcon %5Es1_&ref_url=https%3A%2F%2Fwww.pieandbovril.com%2Fforum %2Findex.php%3Fapp%3Dcoremodule%3Dsystemcontroller %3Dembedurl%3Dhttps%3A%2F%2Ftwitter.com%2FTimesRad io%2Fstatus%2F1654150771103920130%3Ft%3D6xA8SfmCXR bufgp6ybUrKw26s%3D19

https://twitter.com/i/status/1654150771103920130

I watched that yesterday and couldn't quite believe it was true. However, after seeing the propaganda increase as the weeks have ticked down. The gullible have succumbed to the Con a nation.

05-05-2023, 12:12 PM
https://twitter.com/TimesRadio/status/1654150771103920130?ref_src=twsrc%5Etfw%7Ctwcamp%5 Etweetembed%7Ctwterm%5E1654150771103920130%7Ctwgr% 5E6fefdefbeb3c681a7a1f92f1799011e12ffdab62%7Ctwcon %5Es1_&ref_url=https%3A%2F%2Fwww.pieandbovril.com%2Fforum %2Findex.php%3Fapp%3Dcoremodule%3Dsystemcontroller %3Dembedurl%3Dhttps%3A%2F%2Ftwitter.com%2FTimesRad io%2Fstatus%2F1654150771103920130%3Ft%3D6xA8SfmCXR bufgp6ybUrKw26s%3D19Wow.

The guy that said it's the modern media that has hampered Andrew and he was born in the wrong era is correct. In the past there wouldn't be any scrutiny, no photographs with his pedophile friend and he would have been able to rape trafficked girls with impunity. The modern media's really at fault there......

Jay
05-05-2023, 12:23 PM
Well I'm going to enjoy it. I'm watching with my 80 Yr old mum who is really looking forward to it. She watched the Queens coronation and has watched Charles grow up alongside her waiting to be King. If she wants me to wave a wee flag then I will. I've got cakes and scones and a tin of biscuits with Charles' coupon on it and we will have tea from the posh cups and saucers . We will enjoy the pomp and ceremony , the military marches and the flyovers. I'm taking my big TV up so she can see it in its full splendour.

I detest the sneering from people on pedestals having a go at people like my mum. Let people have their day. Shouting your disgust the loudest doesn't make you a better person imo.

TrumpIsAPeado
05-05-2023, 12:32 PM
Well I'm going to enjoy it. I'm watching with my 80 Yr old mum who is really looking forward to it. She watched the Queens coronation and has watched Charles grow up alongside her waiting to be King. If she wants me to wave a wee flag then I will. I've got cakes and scones and a tin of biscuits with Charles' coupon on it and we will have tea from the posh cups and saucers . We will enjoy the pomp and ceremony , the military marches and the flyovers. I'm taking my big TV up so she can see it in its full splendour.

I detest the sneering from people on pedestals having a go at people like my mum. Let people have their day. Shouting your disgust the loudest doesn't make you a better person imo.

Nobody is "having a go" at your mum. I'm glad she has somebody to care for her like you do. Not everybody in the UK has that privilege though. There's a lot of hard up people out there in this economy who are basically being told to bend the knee to someone who get's to wear a jewel crown and ride a golden carriage, not because they've really done anything great in their life to earn it, but because the blood they were born with is apparently "superior" to your own.

Santa Cruz
05-05-2023, 12:33 PM

You should apply to take your mum to the garden party at Holyrood, if you haven't been already. Cakes are braw btw.

05-05-2023, 12:34 PM
Woke Dotnetterati In Sneering At Jays 80 year old Mum Outrage

Jay
05-05-2023, 12:37 PM
Woke Dotnetterati In Sneering At Jays 80 year old Mum Outrage

Great post, one to be proud of :aok:

Jay
05-05-2023, 12:38 PM
You should apply to take your mum to the garden party at Holyrood, if you haven't been already. Cakes are braw btw.

Step too far for me :greengrin she's not fit for that tbh but thanks for the suggestion

05-05-2023, 12:40 PM
Great post, one to be proud of :aok:

Well you’re being daft. No one’s mocking your mum.

Jay
05-05-2023, 12:42 PM
Well you’re being daft. No one’s mocking your mum.

Your post very much proved my point. I was totally expecting a backlash so it's OK. I felt it would be nice to have a balanced post on the other point of view.

05-05-2023, 12:43 PM
I can believe that.

Funnily enough Bath is quite a Liberal Democrat stronghold.

Loads of liberal arty types.

The surrounding areas are staunch. I live in a wee village in Wiltshire called Derry Hill and there’s Union Jacks and bunting aplenty. Tory MP/Council.

I am actually stunned by that.Don't worry, when the Republicans and anti monarchists take to the streets and are confronted by the combined might of Land of Hope and Glory choirs and assorted Pearly Kings and Queens the Met will be right in there sorting the latter groups out, especially now they seem to have declared their tolerance level is set so low.

TrumpIsAPeado
Step too far for me she's not fit for that tbh but thanks for the suggestion

If we replaced our elected institution with an non-elected one, would that bring it closer to you?

05-05-2023, 12:46 PM
Your post very much proved my point. I was totally expecting a backlash so it's OK. I felt it would be nice to have a balanced post on the other point of view.

Cool, I hope you both enjoy yourselves. A senior person where I work is actually part of the ceremony, he will have a helmet thing on his head with an ostrich feather in it or something. I hope he enjoys himself n aw.

Steven79
05-05-2023, 12:49 PM

The surrounding areas are staunch. I live in a wee village in Wiltshire called Derry Hill and there’s Union Jacks and bunting aplenty. Tory MP/Council.

JIn England aren't Lib Dems just Tory lite to many?

They can't bring themselves to vote Tory but aren't socialist (Not that Labour are actually that anymore) so vote Lib Dem.

Jay
05-05-2023, 12:50 PM
If we replaced our elected institution with an non-elected one, would that bring it closer to you?

Eh? I just don't want to take my mum to a garden party....anywhere..sometimes things are a lot simpler than people think.

05-05-2023, 12:52 PM

I detest the sneering from people on pedestals having a go at people like my mum. Let people have their day. Shouting your disgust the loudest doesn't make you a better person imo.Hope you and your Mum enjoy your day. I seem to have mislaid my pedestal so will be looking for that.

TrumpIsAPeado
05-05-2023, 12:54 PM
Hope you and your Mum enjoy your day. I seem to have mislaid my pedestal so will be looking for that.

Charlie stole it for his ego trip tomorrow. Said he couldn't find one any higher. :wink:

Jay
Hope you and your Mum enjoy your day. I seem to have mislaid my pedestal so will be looking for that.

Enjoy the day you decide to have

Enjoy the day you decide to haveCheers

Jay
05-05-2023, 12:58 PM
Charlie stole it for his ego trip tomorrow. Said he couldn't find one any higher. :wink:

:faf: :faf: :faf: :wink:

05-05-2023, 01:06 PM
In England aren't Lib Dems just Tory lite to many?

They can't bring themselves to vote Tory but aren't socialist (Not that Labour are actually that anymore) so vote Lib Dem.

Sort of yes. I have to vote them because it’s pointless voting Labour. Lib Dems destroyed the Tories in Bath last night.

Bristol and Swindon the exceptions. Voted Labour when I was a student in Bristol and in EU elections.

05-05-2023, 01:07 PM

This was the point I was making earlier. Horrible tweet, and people then wonder why we think we are living in 1930s Germany.

05-05-2023, 01:15 PM
In England aren't Lib Dems just Tory lite to many?

Sent from my SM-G973F using TapatalkYes, you don't have to dig too far back into electoral history to see them as facilitators for Cameron, and what followed in my opinion.

The promise of a few ministerial posts was enough to see liberal Democrat aspirations slipping down Clegg's, and Ed Davey's priority list.

05-05-2023, 01:19 PM
I'm a republican and have been as long as I can remember. I always found the idea of Kings and Queens and people being born 'better' than others odd.

I'll make a confession though and say I quite like a lot of the pomp and ceremony. I'm a bit of a sucker for military marches and the like and the massed pipes and drums always makes the hairs on the back of my neck stand up. I watched parts of the Queens's funeral and found it quite spectacular (at that price so it should have been I hear you cry). I'd go as far as to say that I hope it's not something we lose even if we did reach a point at which abolition of the monarchy became a reality. A cursory glance across the English Channel at France and the show they put on in Paris for Bastille Day would suggest such displays are not the preserve of those persisting with a monarchy so you never know.

When it comes to the coronation I'm fundamentally against it as a point of principle. Whatever it means to the individual, as an act it's the transfer of inherited power and wealth from one person to another and it isn't based on merit or democracy. For me personally it's symbolic of a lot of what is wrong with the UK, the ultimate jobs for the boys and old school tie. As such I won't watch it and these days it really isn't that hard to avoid. It's not the 1950s, there are hundreds of TV and radio channels, streaming services and mountains of online content. A tiny percentage of which will be given over to covering the coronation. I have most of the news pages I visit personalised so it doesn't really intrude on those either. I'm very much each to their own though. If others want to watch it and enjoy it then good for them, they aren't stopping me from doing what I want to do. I'm not going to pretend I don't find it a bit weird that people camp out on the Mall for days in advance or are so invested in other people's lives but that's on them. They probably find it weird that my mood on Saturday night will be in part dictated by 22 men blootering a ball about in the afternoon.

I'd wager a majority of people watching or joining in probably won't be die hard royalists. There will be those wanting to witness a perceived historic moment (again I felt a bit like that with the Queen's funeral as I hadn't really seen anything on such a scale before). Others will just be curious or wanting to use it as an excuse to crack a beer open and make a day of it. I'll reserve my contempt for the institution, I'll do my weekend and let others do theirs.

05-05-2023, 02:03 PM
https://www.independent.co.uk/sport/football/liverpool-fans-national-anthem-coronation-b2333099.html

Looks like the PL forcing clubs to participate

TrumpIsAPeado
05-05-2023, 02:06 PM
https://www.independent.co.uk/sport/football/liverpool-fans-national-anthem-coronation-b2333099.html

It was "some" that were booing the previous time. It won't be some of them this time.

05-05-2023, 02:16 PM

I used to drive through there on my way home from Amesbury when I lived down that way. I can imagine all those red, white and blue English flags as they call them down there.

05-05-2023, 02:32 PM

Can you clarify what the question at the start of your post means?

05-05-2023, 02:39 PM

Well said. We'll be enjoying the bands and the occasion too.

Berwickhibby
05-05-2023, 02:53 PM
Can you clarify what the question at the start of your post means?

I can’t as the filter won’t accept the word

Steven79
05-05-2023, 03:01 PM
I used to drive through there on my way home from Amesbury when I lived down that way. I can imagine all those red, white and blue English flags as they call them down there.Was the same in Bradford as my wife's lot kept mixing up the "British" flag with the English.

Lot of them are brainwashed beyond belief.

05-05-2023, 03:24 PM
Bonnie Prince Bob speaks out

Q-"We’re nearly 50 years on from the Pistols doing God Save The Queen. Why do you think monarchism has been so persistent when other social changes over that time have been huge?

Bob-The monarchy sustains not only because it has historically provided the state with a powerful device of social control and cultural conditioning but more so because the political class love the monarchy. They are sociopaths, aroused by opulence and status. There’s no appetite amongst our public purse parasites to liberate our democracy from this regal perversion.

05-05-2023, 03:27 PM
Hanoverian, Luciferian, Tudor, Windsor ****
Born to rule, a Royal fool, another inbred son
of the Germanic Nazi dynasty *****ed from a lizard's sac
Imperial raping infamy wrapped in a Union Jack.

Your faither was a paedophile, your brother is a nonce
When Michael Fagan ****ged yer ma' he ****ged her mair than once
A mollycoddled imbecile festooned in golden *****
When we drag you to the guillotine the world will be alright!

T'was on a Monday morning, right early in the year
When Charlie came in to our town the crowds began to jeer
Charlie you're my darlin', my darlin', my darlin'
Charlie you're my darlin' what do you have to fear?

We rushed the Royal entourage, the King began to shout
We smashed the carriage windaes in and dragged the ******* out!
Charlie you're my darlin', my darlin', my darlin'
Charlie you're my darlin' what do you have to fear?

Hanoverian, Luciferian, Tudor, Windsor ****
Born to rule, a Royal fool, another inbred son
of the Germanic Nazi dynasty *****ed from a lizard's sac
Imperial raping infamy wrapped in a Union Jack.

Summer hols with Savile and your weekends with Rolf Harris
Diana rode an Arab so you bumped her off in Paris
They say you drink the blood of bairns, I wouldnae be surprised
Your riches come from workers' toil - and that's why your despised!

That's why you're ****ing despised Charlie.
Living off the fat of the land while the people slave!

Shut that **** up for ****s' sake!!
Dinnae worry Charlie, it'll all be over soon.
Get him doon there.
Haud him by the ears.

OFF WITH HIS HEAD!

He's here!
05-05-2023, 03:38 PM
Bonnie Prince Bob speaks out

Q-"We’re nearly 50 years on from the Pistols doing God Save The Queen. Why do you think monarchism has been so persistent when other social changes over that time have been huge?

Bob-The monarchy sustains not only because it has historically provided the state with a powerful device of social control and cultural conditioning but more so because the political class love the monarchy. They are sociopaths, aroused by opulence and status. There’s no appetite amongst our public purse parasites to liberate our democracy from this regal perversion.

Maybe because the likes of Johnny Rotten just saw it as a bit of fun and actually quite respected the Queen?

https://www.rollingstone.com/music/music-news/john-lydon-sex-pistols-god-saves-the-queen-elizabeth-ii-tribute-1234589584/

05-05-2023, 03:47 PM
Maybe because the likes of Johnny Rotten just saw it as a bit of fun and actually quite respected the Queen?

https://www.rollingstone.com/music/music-news/john-lydon-sex-pistols-god-saves-the-queen-elizabeth-ii-tribute-1234589584/Well. He says that now as a rich, maga, californian.

TrumpIsAPeado
05-05-2023, 03:54 PM

https://www.rollingstone.com/music/music-news/john-lydon-sex-pistols-god-saves-the-queen-elizabeth-ii-tribute-1234589584/

Not at the time of producing the song he didn't. He just did what most people do as they age, become more Conservative and institutionalised in their views.

05-05-2023, 03:59 PM

Steve Jones continues to not give a ****, thankfully.

05-05-2023, 04:01 PM

Yet another tick in the road to fascism user manual.

05-05-2023, 04:03 PM
Steve Jones continues to not give a ****, thankfully....and it's his band.

Berwickhibby
05-05-2023, 04:09 PM
...and it's his band.

Not according to Paul Cook…he said it was his band and Wally’s band, Steve joined later as a singer but was terrible ��

05-05-2023, 04:14 PM
Not according to Paul Cook…he said it was his band and Wally’s band, Steve joined later as a singer but was terrible ��Where can I read that?

Berwickhibby
05-05-2023, 04:16 PM
Where can I read that?

He told me personally… but I will look online…Paul and Wally Nightingale were playing together before Steve joined. Read Wally’s Wiki

05-05-2023, 04:19 PM
Just seen on the news that a specially recorded message from Charlie and the queen consort will be played on train station platforms today.

They've gone full North Korea. 😂

Apparently Chas reminds us to 'mind the gap' which is quite apt given the lifestyle he leads compared to his followers.

05-05-2023, 04:28 PM
He told me personally… but I will look online…Paul and Wally Nightingale were playing together before Steve joined. Read Wally’s WikiJust did.

Wally suggested to Cook and Jones they should form a band which was The Strand.

He left before the name Sex Pistols existed.

Given Jones acquired their manager, had the veto on Matlock and Lydon joining, acquired all their equipment I'm comfortable with saying the Sex Pistols was his band.

Berwickhibby
05-05-2023, 04:37 PM
Just did.

Wally suggested to Cook and Jones they should form a band which was The Strand.

He left before the name Sex Pistols existed.

Given Jones acquired their manager, had the veto on Matlock and Lydon joining, acquired all their equipment I'm comfortable with saying the Sex Pistols was his band.

As I said, I knew Paul in the 90s and his take was very different, he also hates the punk tag and just wanted to be a rock drummer. Majority of the decisions and hype was orchestrated by Malcolm McLaren but as he paid the wages weekly they all went along.

05-05-2023, 04:58 PM

A wee bit of North Korea in the EPL.

Steven79
05-05-2023, 05:00 PM
A wee bit of North Korea in the EPL.I'm not surprised in the slightest.

Liverpool fans will give it the respect it deserves. [emoji1787]

05-05-2023, 05:17 PM
Why are people sleeping out for days ahead of this just to catch a 30 second glimpse of the gold carriage? It's time someone paused the UK and gave it a spring clean, and a reboot with a good dose of pragmatism and common sense. UK 2.0 is much needed as the original is very outdated and obsolete.

05-05-2023, 05:30 PM
Why are people sleeping out for days ahead of this just to catch a 30 second glimpse of the gold carriage? It's time someone paused the UK and gave it a spring clean, and a reboot with a good dose of pragmatism and common sense. UK 2.0 is much needed as the original is very outdated and obsolete.

I spend whole weekends going down to Edinburgh to watch Hibs play. It really makes no sense to people who don’t get fitba… or Hibs.:greengrin

They’re doing no harm and probably enjoying the company and banter of like minded people. I’ll not judge them, hope they have a brilliant day.

05-05-2023, 05:36 PM
I spend whole weekends going down to Edinburgh to watch Hibs play. It really makes no sense to people who don’t get fitba… or Hibs.:greengrin

They’re doing no harm and probably enjoying the company and banter of like minded people. I’ll not judge them, hope they have a brilliant day.True.. hope there's portaloos!

05-05-2023, 05:38 PM
True.. hope there's portaloos!

That crossed my mind as well. :greengrin

Jay
05-05-2023, 05:57 PM
True.. hope there's portaloos!

I was down for the Jubilee celebrations- by coincidence due to a rescheduled concert from 2020 before anyone thinks here she goes again :greengrin. St James' Park was brilliant , hundreds of portaloos . The atmosphere was buzzing, it was really warm and everybody was partying. Tesco amd I think sainsburys just round the corner so plenty options for drink and snacks. I'd never have thought I'd have enjoyed it as much as I did.

05-05-2023, 06:32 PM

They’re doing no harm and probably enjoying the company and banter of like minded people. I’ll not judge them, hope they have a brilliant day.

I hope it rains 🤣

05-05-2023, 06:36 PM
I hope it rains 🤣

05-05-2023, 07:17 PM
The Netflix series is less fictitious than this.

https://twitter.com/SkyNews/status/1654208554021146625?t=dQksPRpCcjHPpHngHg8zFQ&s=19

Berwickhibby
05-05-2023, 07:54 PM
The Netflix series is less fictitious than this.

https://twitter.com/SkyNews/status/1654208554021146625?t=dQksPRpCcjHPpHngHg8zFQ&s=19

Just DM Glen … his reply was

It was the four of us but Steve and Paul started in the first place…

05-05-2023, 09:25 PM
I was down for the Jubilee celebrations- by coincidence due to a rescheduled concert from 2020 before anyone thinks here she goes again :greengrin. St James' Park was brilliant , hundreds of portaloos . The atmosphere was buzzing, it was really warm and everybody was partying. Tesco amd I think sainsburys just round the corner so plenty options for drink and snacks. I'd never have thought I'd have enjoyed it as much as I did.It was really warm......

I've been at a few gigs / festivals and "warm" is not always a good feeling! Greengrin:

05-05-2023, 10:00 PM

Am just curious as to why people still give a ****?

05-05-2023, 10:09 PM
Am just curious as to why people still give a ****?

Two/three reasons. Either because they like the ceremony but are too stupid to realise or don't care that that family is the mascot of the rule of the privileged in this country, or because they are part of the ruling privileged.

05-05-2023, 10:21 PM
Two/three reasons. Either because they like the ceremony but are too stupid to realise or don't care that that family is the mascot of the rule of the privileged in this country, or because they are part of the ruling privileged.

It just isn't a modern progressive thing!!

06-05-2023, 06:07 AM
https://www.whatscotlandthinks.org/2023/05/another-look-at-attitudes-to-the-monarchy/

Scottish opinions on the monarchy a lot lower than Englands.

TrumpIsAPeado
06-05-2023, 06:32 AM
https://www.whatscotlandthinks.org/2023/05/another-look-at-attitudes-to-the-monarchy/

Scottish opinions on the monarchy a lot lower than Englands.

Still too high though and really goes to show the power of propaganda. There's few things more infuriating than someone who just spews what headlines they read in the papers or whatever comes out of their TV set. They'll defend the monarchy to the hilt, but won't give any coherent logistical reasons as to why.

06-05-2023, 07:10 AM
Still too high though and really goes to show the power of propaganda. There's few things more infuriating than someone who just spews what headlines they read in the papers or whatever comes out of their TV set. They'll defend the monarchy to the hilt, but won't give any coherent logistical reasons as to why.

I know intelligent people who support the monarchy and can make a decent argument as to why. I disagree with them but they certainly aren’t too stupid to see how right I am. :greengrin
If I had time to play devils advocate I’d put one together myself. It’s fitba day though so I’ll be concentrating on that instead.

Chorley Hibee
06-05-2023, 07:50 AM
The 21st century UK Police state.

https://twitter.com/RepublicStaff/status/1654751380060397568?t=3QVboI3fGuidI21nkP4a-w&s=19

Shameful.

06-05-2023, 07:55 AM

I'm certainly no royalist but is a better reason required than "I quite like them"?

Debating the monarchy with the nut jobs who like them just feels like a life shortening experience to me.

I have my opinions and rather than try to convince anyone of the merits of my arguments I'd probably rather just give the telly, Facebook and an infinitesimally small number of people within my social circle a wide berth for a few days.

It'll probably be a while before there will be another event of magnitude - no more coronations, weddings or funerals on the horizon unless they decide that Harry or Andrew need bumped off.

archie
06-05-2023, 07:58 AM

I don't think it's a great look labeling people with different views as 'stupid'. Better to try and understand why people feel that way if you want to convince them.

He's here!
06-05-2023, 08:25 AM
Well said. We'll be enjoying the bands and the occasion too.

Yep, we've got the breakfast bacon rolls on the go and are sitting down to watch. These events are cracking spectacles and always done brilliantly. Hoping to hear the pipes and drums at some stage. Always a highlight.

No need to watch if you don't fancy it.

Steven79
06-05-2023, 08:30 AM
Worrying times for those in favour of free speech...https://uploads.tapatalk-cdn.com/20230506/3a04c36e4e9a102df68bf84dd4f1ac2e.jpg

06-05-2023, 08:30 AM
https://twitter.com/ShellyAsquith/status/1654737969746522113?t=T6Td_TCR6BwoKQHY89OLxw&s=08

Democracy in action.

06-05-2023, 08:34 AM
Worrying times for those in favour of free speech...https://uploads.tapatalk-cdn.com/20230506/3a04c36e4e9a102df68bf84dd4f1ac2e.jpg

Shameful

TrumpIsAPeado
06-05-2023, 08:37 AM
I'm certainly no royalist but is a better reason required than "I quite like them"?

Yes. I'd like to know what they think there is to like about them. I don't think it's an unreasonable question.

TrumpIsAPeado
06-05-2023, 08:41 AM

This should come as no shock to anybody who knows what the monarchy actually is and why it exists.

Steven79
06-05-2023, 08:42 AM
"Suspicion of breach of the peace"

I smell *****!https://uploads.tapatalk-cdn.com/20230506/207649d0f2c83a4d4c287628945e2a85.jpg

06-05-2023, 08:48 AM
This should come as no shock to anybody who knows what the monarchy actually is and why it exists.

It also tells us what the Met is and why it exists.

They don’t serve Londoners. They pledge an oath to the King NOT the citizens (especially not the black ones).

The Met is rotten to the core and needs disbanding.

Never forget how they acted to assist Johnson around partygate!

TrumpIsAPeado
06-05-2023, 08:53 AM
It also tells us what the Met is and why it exists.

They don’t serve Londoners. They pledge an oath to the King NOT the citizens (especially not the black ones).

The Met is rotten to the core and needs disbanding.

Never forget how they acted to assist Johnson around partygate!

The MET, the forces, Westminster and even the SNP hierarchy pledge their oaths and allegiances to the non-elected family. How can any of them be trusted to serve the people in good faith?

Steven79
06-05-2023, 08:54 AM
The MET, the forces, Westminster and even the SNP hierarchy pledge their oaths and allegiances to the non-elected family. How can any of them be trusted to serve the people in good faith?I don't trust any of them anymore.

It's time the people of Scotland demanded better and forget about the corrupt politicians of all colours.

06-05-2023, 08:54 AM
Unfortunately, if peaceful protest is to be punished then violent protest is the alternative, not no protest.

IMO.

Am I right in thinking that this is just English law for now and not Scottish law?

TrumpIsAPeado
06-05-2023, 09:06 AM
Am I right in thinking that this is just English law for now and not Scottish law?

For now. But don't be surprised if they find a way to pollute our own laws as well.

06-05-2023, 09:08 AM
Unfortunately, if peaceful protest is to be punished then violent protest is the alternative, not no protest.

IMO.

Those castigated for their peaceful protest including this morning's arrests will not be responsible for the violence when it arrives.

That responsibility will rest with the lawmakers in Westminster. They've gone too far.

Hell mend them.

TrumpIsAPeado
06-05-2023, 09:19 AM
https://i.ibb.co/NVkm51K/nazimet.png

Unless you have any questions or concerns regarding the monarchy. In which case, get as far away from the officers as possible to avoid being arrested. :aok:

Santa Cruz
06-05-2023, 09:27 AM
Just found out Lionel Ritchie's in the concert line up, that's a highlight for me. Also love the red arrows, since last night after reading a post I am badly craving a scone.

06-05-2023, 10:02 AM
Where is the BBC "balance" that we had over Brexit. Farage and his cronies got a platform everywhere despite it being obvious they were lying about nearly everything. Where is the republican and anti monarchist views on every TV program and radio station broadcast by the state. We really are travelling down a very worrying path with anti protest and a state broadcaster hell bent on representing the rich and powerful

06-05-2023, 10:02 AM
Nick Cave is attending the Coronation and suddenly nothing makes sense anymore.:greengrin

06-05-2023, 10:14 AM
I don't think it's a great look labeling people with different views as 'stupid'. Better to try and understand why people feel that way if you want to convince them.

I did give a don't care alternative! :-)

06-05-2023, 10:14 AM
Where is the BBC "balance" that we had over Brexit. Farage and his cronies got a platform everywhere despite it being obvious they were lying about nearly everything. Where is the republican and anti monarchist views on every TV program and radio station broadcast by the state. We really are travelling down a very worrying path with anti protest and a state broadcaster hell bent on representing the rich and powerful

You must have been watching it all morning to know if there's not been any. 😃

06-05-2023, 10:15 AM
Turned it on to witness all the hypocrisy in action.

All I can think of is that episode of Blackadder where he wears "real cat".

06-05-2023, 10:17 AM
Nick Cave is attending the Coronation and suddenly nothing makes sense anymore.:greengrin

The article about his attendance on the BBC website is worth a read.

Also the below might come in handy for some:

https://www.bbc.co.uk/news/uk-65456345

06-05-2023, 10:37 AM
The article about his attendance on the BBC website is worth a read.

Also the below might come in handy for some:

https://www.bbc.co.uk/news/uk-65456345

No black or white from Cave, always good to see someone add some texture. The man is always effortlessly cool. :greengrin

06-05-2023, 10:40 AM
Been plenty balanced stuff on 5 Live lately. A platform for all views.

06-05-2023, 10:42 AM

IMO.

I sometimes think that violence is required if they won’t listen.

Worked with the poll tax.

06-05-2023, 10:44 AM
At my Parkrun this morning the race director wore a meghan markle mask and welcomed those with dogs except corgis 😂

Steven79
06-05-2023, 10:45 AM
At my Parkrun this morning the race director wore a meghan markle mask and welcomed those with dogs except corgis [emoji23][emoji1787]

06-05-2023, 10:46 AM
https://uploads.tapatalk-cdn.com/20230506/753be15ed49900fd787954954a7f57d9.jpg

Steven79
06-05-2023, 10:49 AM

Sent from my iPhone using TapatalkMust be keeping it all indoors as I'm not seeing much [emoji1787]

06-05-2023, 10:50 AM

IMO.

Advocating violence. 🤔

06-05-2023, 10:51 AM

Another advocating violence. 🤔

06-05-2023, 10:52 AM
Interesting about the palace controlling what can or cannot be shown. Absolutely bizarre

https://www.theguardian.com/uk-news/2023/may/05/revealed-royal-family-has-power-to-censor-bbc-coronation-coverage

06-05-2023, 10:54 AM
Maybe just me but is it not a bit odd the Archbishop and chairs not facing the congregation not that they can see much anyway given the layout of Westminster abbey

06-05-2023, 10:56 AM
Another advocating violence. 🤔

What is the alternative when peaceful protestors get arrested?

Skol
06-05-2023, 10:56 AM

I saw a piece yesterday where they interviewed people who were mostly indifferent or against todays events. It was from Glasgow but was maybe on sky. They did find one person who was having a wee party and quiet celebration.

I have managed to avoid it mostly so far, but I need to venture to the kitchen for a coffee and my wife and daughter have it on in that room

06-05-2023, 10:59 AM

Was plenty available in the shops I was in yesterday. Another politican lying to the public.

06-05-2023, 11:01 AM
Was plenty available in the shops I was in yesterday. Another politican lying to the public.

Who is Stephen Kerr?

06-05-2023, 11:03 AM
https://uploads.tapatalk-cdn.com/20230506/65b4173ed6788cfada57569f21dce4a6.jpg

Chorley Hibee
06-05-2023, 11:03 AM

It's becoming abundantly clear that is exactly what is required, and I make no apology for saying so either.

06-05-2023, 11:05 AM
What is the alternative when peaceful protestors get arrested?

Not violence. Is that you advocating it too?

06-05-2023, 11:08 AM

I don’t think it will go far beyond the ‘Down with this sort of thing’ stage. :greengrin

06-05-2023, 11:12 AM

What then?

I don’t think it will go far beyond the ‘Down with this sort of thing’ stage. :greengrin

Yes no doubt :greengrin

Advocating violence. 🤔

I abhor violence but accept that it is necessary in the most extreme circumstances.

Such as when peaceful protest is criminalised.

This is a genuinely awful moment for the country.

06-05-2023, 11:14 AM
What then?

Stick within the bounds of the law.

Skol
06-05-2023, 11:15 AM
What kind of violence are we talking about ?

06-05-2023, 11:19 AM
Stick within the bounds of the law.Tell that to the police. Peaceful protest is allowed and protesters were arrested today.

The law is an ass.

What happens when the Tories take us out of the ECHR? The law would be anything they care to make up.

06-05-2023, 11:20 AM
Stick within the bounds of the law.

Problem is, for us to have a social contract and for people to adhere to the law, the law needs to be reasonable.

This nudges us over the “reasonable” line.

What options for protest now exist within the law?

Steven79
06-05-2023, 11:20 AM
Tell that to the police. Peaceful protest is allowed and protesters were arrested today.

The law is an ass.

What happens when the Tories take us out of the ECHR? The law would be anything they care to make up.

Sent from my SM-A528B using TapatalkWe either stand up for ourselves or...

06-05-2023, 11:23 AM
FWIW I’d be surprised if many within the police will be happy about this as they’ll understand the potential ramifications.

They have enough serious stuff to deal with without having to arrest innocent folk (often dafties) who they’d normally have a word with or move on.

06-05-2023, 11:25 AM
Violence?? FFS I'd be all for violence if it was back in 1977 or whatever and I was a daftie rebellious youth but now I'm a bit more grown up I realise that advocating violence if peaceful protests are banned is utterly ridiculous.

Steven79
06-05-2023, 11:26 AM
Violence?? FFS I'd be all for violence if it was back in 1977 or whatever and I was a daftie rebellious youth but now I'm a bit more grown up I realise that advocating violence if peaceful protests are banned is utterly ridiculous.

What is the alternative?

06-05-2023, 11:28 AM
I abhor violence but accept that it is necessary in the most extreme circumstances.

Such as when peaceful protest is criminalised.

This is a genuinely awful moment for the country.

Go on then, describe what sort of violence is acceptable.

06-05-2023, 11:28 AM
The ringleader of just stop oil drives a funking diesel car . Should be locked up for hypocrisy if nothing else

06-05-2023, 11:32 AM
Maybe just me but is it not a bit odd the Archbishop and chairs not facing the congregation not that they can see much anyway given the layout of Westminster abbey

The Catholic Mass was traditionally said 'ad orientem' or facing away from the people. For all the chat about upholding Protestantism today the high church Anglican liturgy is very similar to the pre 1969 version of the Catholic service. It was so the Priest and servers weren't turning their back on God or the consecrated Eucharist.

The 'proper' way of celebrating Mass is still facing away from the people but there is allowance for that not to be the case and most Priests now face the congregation throughout. I'm not sure what happens week to week in the Anglian churches but I'm guessing because of the solemnity (for those taken with the religious aspect) of the occasion that things are being done properly so to speak.

06-05-2023, 11:32 AM
Go on then, describe what sort of violence is acceptable.

That’s a very vague question and it depends on what situation being described.

Could you please answer my question about what avenues for protest remain within the law?

I guess I could probably start answering my own question by some party sticking in their manifesto for the next election that this law will be revoked ASAP and we can democratically eject this conservative and fascism party at the earliest opportunity.

06-05-2023, 11:40 AM
What is the alternative?

Violence is never acceptable!! Do you want 65 year old me with knackered knee, bad back and osteoarthritic hands to go paggering with some boys from the Met?

Skol
06-05-2023, 11:40 AM

Could you please answer my question about what avenues for protest remain within the law?

I guess I could probably start answering my own question by some party sticking in their manifesto for the next election that this law will be revoked ASAP and we can democratically eject this conservative and fascism party at the earliest opportunity.

It is not really a vague question, and I think if people are proposing violent protests they should be clear on what that means and who or what is the violence against.

The law allows for peaceful protests and should do so. If people have been arrested for peaceful protests then that is absolutely wrong and a backward step for us as a nation

However violence in my view doesn’t make things any better

I have no time for the royals, but I cannot get worked up enough to protest in any way.

ErinGoBraghHFC
06-05-2023, 11:44 AM
Violence is never acceptable!! Do you want 65 year old me with knackered knee, bad back and osteoarthritic hands to go paggering with some boys from the Met?

No one is asking you to do anything

06-05-2023, 11:45 AM

You are saying it's vague because it depends on the situation being described. The situation being described is the one you are saying requires violence so if you don't actually know what the situation being described is then it seems pretty ridiculous to start advocating violence.

In answer to your question, it's not up to me to find out all the alternatives, I am saying violence isn't the answer.

So anyway, what type of violence is acceptable?

06-05-2023, 11:52 AM
It is not really a vague question, and I think if people are proposing violent protests they should be clear on what that means and who or what is the violence against.

The law allows for peaceful protests and should do so. If people have been arrested for peaceful protests then that is absolutely wrong and a backward step for us as a nation

However violence in my view doesn’t make things any better

I have no time for the royals, but I cannot get worked up enough to protest in any way.

What happens when something crops up that you do feel strongly enough about to want to protest?

I don’t love the royal family but can make peace with their existence by knowing that I can mutter to myself, chuckle at other people’s protests and live peacefully alongside something I disagree with.

Personally, I’ve never been much of a protester. I’ve signed the odd petition but never been on strike, never been on a march of any type.

The direction of travel with this government is ominous though and I can imagine that patience being exhausted. The optics of people in the street in numbers or with “down with this sort of thing” placards can bring about change and I value the right we have to do that.

A right that has been taken away down South.

Skol
06-05-2023, 11:56 AM
What happens when something crops up that you do feel strongly enough about to want to protest?

I don’t love the royal family but can make peace with their existence by knowing that I can mutter to myself, chuckle at other people’s protests and live peacefully alongside something I disagree with.

Personally, I’ve never been much of a protester. I’ve signed the odd petition but never been on strike, never been on a march of any type.

The direction of travel with this government is ominous though and I can imagine that patience being exhausted. The optics of people in the street in numbers or with “down with this sort of thing” placards can bring about change and I value the right we have to do that.

A right that has been taken away down South.

In that position i would protest within the law and the bounds of what is reasonable. The only protest I have ever been a part of was the Hands Off Hibs rally.

There are no circumstances where I would consider violence to be acceptable.

ErinGoBraghHFC
06-05-2023, 11:57 AM
In that position i would protest within the law and the bounds of what is reasonable. The only protest I have ever been a part of was the Hands Off Hibs rally.

Even when peaceful protest is punishable by law?

06-05-2023, 12:00 PM
No one is asking you to do anything

Christ I was trying to inject a bit of humour into the ludicrous debate 😂

Chorley Hibee
06-05-2023, 12:01 PM

What happens when the law denies the right to protest?

Skol
06-05-2023, 12:04 PM
Even when peaceful protest is punishable by law?

What happens when the law denies the right to protest?

If I was going be punished or arrested then I wouldn’t do it.

As I say though I cannot get worked up enough about something to actually protest. If I don’t agree with it, I just dont go along with it.

Currently my protest extends to watching the giro ditalia and thinking i fancy a break in Italy. I will head off soon to watch hibs.

06-05-2023, 12:06 PM

So at is never going to happen.

Violence is the ultimate act of diplomacy. Look at Ukraine.

The threat of it keeps people / countries in check. NATO, Americans surrounding China, etc.

So state violence is ok but not non state violence. What happens when the state takes away your right to peacefully protest?

My worry is this law does box people into a corner.

The Government must be thanking god Brits are so docile.

ErinGoBraghHFC
06-05-2023, 12:07 PM
Christ I was trying to inject a bit of humour into the ludicrous debate [emoji23]

Well in that case, yes. That’d be hilarious. Alternatively in event of revolution I’m sure we could sort you out with a rocket launcher or something, to save your knees

06-05-2023, 12:09 PM

As I say though I cannot get worked up enough about something to actually protest. If I don’t agree with it, I just dont go along with it.

Currently my protest extends to watching the giro ditalia and thinking i fancy a break in Italy. I will head off soon to watch hibs.
Your first line there is exactly why this fascist law has been brought in. Don't agree with the government, tough. Speak up and we'll arrest you. It is an absolute disgrace

06-05-2023, 12:11 PM
Christ I was trying to inject a bit of humour into the ludicrous debate 😂
Yoda was way older than 65 and he stood up to the evil empire!! Cmon man get some training done. Voltarol and paracetamol is the way to go

Skol
06-05-2023, 12:12 PM
Your first line there is exactly why this fascist law has been brought in. Don't agree with the government, tough. Speak up and we'll arrest you. It is an absolute disgrace

I agree with that. Doesn’t mean we should have violence though.

I see there has been no outline of what the violence should be. Pagger with a few grannies who have gone to watch the occasion. Battle with the polis. Bit of looting, lob a petrol bomb into Buckingham palace.

06-05-2023, 12:14 PM
Yoda was way older than 65 and he stood up to the evil empire!! Cmon man get some training done. Voltarol and paracetamol is the way to go

I'm adding ibuprofen as well and it seems to be working quite well so I'm almost ready 🤣

ErinGoBraghHFC
06-05-2023, 12:15 PM
lob a petrol bomb into Buckingham palace.

Yeah

06-05-2023, 12:16 PM
I'm adding ibuprofen as well and it seems to be working quite well so I'm almost ready 🤣
Love it, pitchforks and flaming torches are go!!

06-05-2023, 12:23 PM
Helluva amazing advance planning to hide their bad election new in amongst all this pomp to distract people from how badly they did 😁

06-05-2023, 12:29 PM

Sent from my iPhone using TapatalkPlenty available down here, pleasingly there isn't much on show in a staunch tory area, probably as few as 1 in 100 houses have any visible crap up.

06-05-2023, 12:31 PM

You would still win the fight 😁

06-05-2023, 12:33 PM
Plenty available down here, pleasingly there isn't much on show in a staunch tory area, probably as few as 1 in 100 houses have any visible crap up.

30 houses in my small community, the only one with bunting and a union flag is an old couple in their 80s who moved here 2 years ago from Ballater.

06-05-2023, 12:40 PM
30 houses in my small community, the only one with bunting and a union flag is an old couple in their 80s who moved here 2 years ago from Ballater.We have one guy round here who needs no excuse to get a bit of patriotism on show, he has been known to be verbally aggressive to others who don't share his enthusiasm for street parties, posters etc.....

One day I'm going to tell him what the right way up is for a union Jack.

06-05-2023, 04:03 PM
You are saying it's vague because it depends on the situation being described. The situation being described is the one you are saying requires violence so if you don't actually know what the situation being described is then it seems pretty ridiculous to start advocating violence.

In answer to your question, it's not up to me to find out all the alternatives, I am saying violence isn't the answer.

So anyway, what type of violence is acceptable?

When laws are introduced to restrict the democratic right to protest and those basic democratic rights are then put down with violence then violence to protect those rights against an increasingly fascist state is justified.

TrumpIsAPeado
06-05-2023, 04:06 PM
When laws are introduced to restrict the democratic right to protest and those basic democratic rights are then put down with violence then violence to protect those rights against an increasingly fascist state is justified.

I think some people revel in the idea of a fascist state.

06-05-2023, 04:08 PM

That's exactly the mentality that helped facilitate totalitarian regimes throughout history.

If you only support demonstration against things you feel strongly about rather than the right to demonstrate, by the time it comes round to demonstrating for something you feel strongly about there will be no one left to demonstrate with you.

TrumpIsAPeado
06-05-2023, 04:14 PM
That's exactly the mentality that helped facilitate totalitarian regimes throughout history.

If you only support demonstration against things you feel strongly about rather than the right to demonstrate, by the time it comes round to demonstrating for something you feel strongly about there will be no one left to demonstrate with you.

https://i.ibb.co/QQLcX3L/first.jpg

06-05-2023, 04:19 PM
https://scontent.fman1-2.fna.fbcdn.net/v/t39.30808-6/345434896_237338355562257_5732560749391473472_n.jp g?_nc_cat=107&ccb=1-7&_nc_sid=730e14&_nc_ohc=r5gcb4WScQYAX-n9ihO&_nc_ht=scontent.fman1-2.fna&oh=00_AfBsLvzOnpGmy8ZbYhQU6ZPQOwO0xR0fAT3rU-S7vA1TtA&oe=645B999B

Skol
06-05-2023, 05:05 PM

That’s not what I said though. I said I would be unlikely to feel strongly enough about something to protest. Didn’t say I don’t support them. For example I support any protests there were today, didn’t mean I took part though.

06-05-2023, 05:47 PM

How much violence is acceptable to you?

06-05-2023, 05:48 PM

I think some people revel in the idea of a fascist state.

It seems some revel in the idea of violence. How much violence is acceptable to you?

TrumpIsAPeado
06-05-2023, 05:55 PM
It seems some revel in the idea of violence.

The state certainly does.

How about enough to stop your voice from being silenced?

06-05-2023, 06:08 PM

So no limits if it is deemed necessary?

Skol
06-05-2023, 06:11 PM

Have you been silenced though. A large number at Easter road today were not silenced.

TrumpIsAPeado
06-05-2023, 06:27 PM
So no limits if it is deemed necessary?

Absolutely if necessary.

Have you been silenced though. A large number at Easter road today were not silenced.

Good thing we have our own laws in Scotland. Otherwise anybody in Edinburgh with a less than complimentary sign about the Monarchy could quite easily be sitting in a cell right now.

Chorley Hibee
06-05-2023, 07:08 PM

As much as is necessary to prevent the onset of a fascist state intent upon the removal of both democracy and legitimate protest.

Chorley Hibee
06-05-2023, 07:09 PM

Thankfully, the Met don't police Scotland.

06-05-2023, 07:22 PM
As much as is necessary to prevent the onset of a fascist state intent upon the removal of both democracy and legitimate protest.

So if necessary to prevent that, would storming the houses of parliament and overthrowing the government resulting in the death of few police officers be acceptable?

TrumpIsAPeado
06-05-2023, 07:24 PM
So to prevent that would storming the houses of parliament and overthrowing the government resulting in the death of few police officers be acceptable?

Just how bad does it have to get in your opinion before any form of push back is justifiable?

ErinGoBraghHFC
06-05-2023, 07:31 PM
So if necessary to prevent that, would storming the houses of parliament and overthrowing the government resulting in the death of few police officers be acceptable?

Yes, the death of a few police officers to save the nation from plunging into Fascism and potentially saving countless lives is justified. You have read a history book, yes?

Chorley Hibee
06-05-2023, 07:35 PM

06-05-2023, 07:45 PM
Just how bad does it have to get in your opinion before any form of push back is justifiable?

I didn't say there shouldn't be any push back, I'm saying there shouldn't be violence. Particularly violence without any limits, if in your opinion it is necessary. Your way doesn't sound like a very pleasant alternative.

06-05-2023, 07:47 PM

But we're not yet at the onset of the fascist state you describe?

TrumpIsAPeado
06-05-2023, 07:49 PM
I didn't say there shouldn't be any push back, I'm saying there shouldn't be violence. Particularly violence without any limits, if in your opinion it is necessary. Your way doesn't sound like a very pleasant alternative.

You asked if there should be violence without limits (if deemed necessary). If you create a scenario where violence without limits becomes the only viable option left, then that's what happens. Nobody is saying that it's pleasant. But if it's the only option left, then it's the only option left. By all means, offer a more pleasant alternative.

Chorley Hibee
06-05-2023, 08:02 PM
But we're not yet at the onset of the fascist state you describe?

I'd respectfully disagree.

06-05-2023, 08:05 PM
I'd respectfully disagree.

So by that token you'd be for storming the houses of parliament now.

06-05-2023, 08:10 PM
You asked if there should be violence without limits (if deemed necessary). If you create a scenario where violence without limits becomes the only viable option left, then that's what happens. Nobody is saying that it's pleasant. But if it's the only option left, then it's the only option left. By all means, offer a more pleasant alternative.

You were already advocating violence today as being the only viable option left, I've just followed the subject through and it was only a small step for you to go to violence without limits.

Chorley Hibee
06-05-2023, 08:15 PM
So by that token you'd be for storming the houses of parliament now.

We are at the start of a road towards a fascist state.

Should violence become the only viable vehicle to the removal of such a regime, then I'd have no qualms in it being actioned.

The deaths of a few oppressors would pale in comparison to the death and misery inflicted upon the oppressed of such a regime.

TrumpIsAPeado
06-05-2023, 08:18 PM
You were already advocating violence today as being the only viable option left, I've just followed the subject through and it was only a small step for you to go to violence without limits.

You brought up the subject of "violence without limits" by asking if this should be the case it "deemed necessary". I simply gave you a hypothetical response to your hypothetical question. If you deem that to be a "small step", then you must be thinking that we're somewhere close to that point already.

Berwickhibby
06-05-2023, 08:30 PM
We are at the start of a road towards a fascist state.

Should violence become the only viable vehicle to the removal of such a regime, then I'd have no qualms in it being actioned.

The deaths of a few oppressors would pale in comparison to the death and misery inflicted upon the oppressed of such a regime.

Keyboard warrior 600 miles away wanting violence 🙄

ErinGoBraghHFC
06-05-2023, 08:32 PM
Keyboard warrior 600 miles away wanting violence [emoji849]

Chorley is 224 miles from London, I’d imagine any revolution would spread pretty much nationwide as well, BH. I know you get a stauner for law and order but that can’t take precedence over our right to protest in a democracy.

Berwickhibby
06-05-2023, 08:34 PM
Chorley is 224 miles from London, I’d imagine any revolution would spread pretty much nationwide as well, BH. I know you get a stauner for law and order but that can’t take precedence over our right to protest in a democracy.

He lives in Scotland if I recall correctly

ErinGoBraghHFC
06-05-2023, 08:36 PM

Okay, that means he should shut up and accept our right to protest being eroded?

TrumpIsAPeado
06-05-2023, 08:39 PM

What's the distance got to do with anything? It's the same island and the same Monarchy. :confused:

Berwickhibby
06-05-2023, 08:39 PM
Okay, that means he should shut up and accept our right to protest being eroded?

Advocating violence … never good

TrumpIsAPeado
06-05-2023, 08:40 PM

Unless it's your beloved British state advocating violence against peaceful protest.

ErinGoBraghHFC
06-05-2023, 08:41 PM

Mhmm, Orgreave. Next.

Chorley Hibee
06-05-2023, 08:43 PM

A typical Met copper I see, jumping to conclusions on someone without the evidence to back it up.

I also fail to understand what relevance my distance from London has in regards to the onset of a fascist state. A fascist state would affect us all, not just London, and I'd take part in whatever was necessary to remove it, be it Leith, Chorley or London.

I see your pals are now resorting to arresting members of the Westminster Night Safety Team, a team of volunteers who hand out rape alarms to women.

This is the latest ludicrous piece of **** excuse from the Brownshirts.

https://twitter.com/metpoliceuk/status/1654944860841836545?t=h-xosI6e9gEPQkzHk-qAZw&s=19

06-05-2023, 08:48 PM

Inverness?