View Full Version : The Firm

Pages : [1] 2 3 4 5 6 7 8

06-03-2021, 05:27 PM
I am not a royalist by any stretch of the imagination, think they should be abolished.

I am really interested to hear what’s going to come out of the interview this weekend. The hypocrisy and double standards of “the firm” and British media is disgusting (see Patel coverage). The fact this comes out 3 years after, but conveniently 4 days before the interview is so see through. And yet people in this country look up to the royals.

I hope she lights a rocket under their arse.

Thoughts?

06-03-2021, 05:31 PM
The royals are a bunch of utter weirdos.

Remove the money and they would give you at least a week of material for the Jeremy Kyle comeback special.

Nonces, countless extra marital affairs, locking ill cousins away, the whole Charles Tampax affair and that's just for starters. A bunch of deviants, wrong uns, bullies and psychopaths.

06-03-2021, 06:38 PM
I think the French had the right idea.

06-03-2021, 06:59 PM
Germans who rule Britain, who hate the Scots, who don’t serve any actual purpose.

The DOE was given a procedure that normally would never be given to a 98 year old. Or however the **** old he is.

K-Zazu
06-03-2021, 07:42 PM
Why do they all live so long?

06-03-2021, 07:45 PM
Theyre completely irrelevant in this day and age.

06-03-2021, 07:47 PM
Why do they all live so long?

Not as if they've taken much out of themselves with hard graft

07-03-2021, 07:24 AM
Theyre completely irrelevant in this day and age.

They’re there to remind us that some human beings are considered superior to other human beings, in the eyes of the elite.

It’s all a bit of a soap opera, we’re supposed to laugh at their infidelities and lack of chins and funny ears but there’s a dark side.

07-03-2021, 12:59 PM
They’re viable for as long as they remain box office, bring in tourist dollar, play no political role and don’t piss off the public. As soon as the red warning lights come on for some or all of those things it’s danger time.

I’ll take the Queen or even big ears as Head of State over Presidents Farage, Blair or Sturgeon for so long as the scales look at least marginally balanced to that being the better of two evils.

FWIW I’m really enjoying Mr and Mrs Markle pissing off the deeply, deeply ouanquere establishment Daily Mail types.

07-03-2021, 01:05 PM
I’ll take the Queen or even big ears as Head of State over Presidents Farage, Blair or Sturgeon for so long as the scales look at least marginally balanced to that being the better of two evils.

If any of those people was simply fulfilling the role of a ceremonial head of state they wouldn't have any power. And if they are who the electorate chooses for that limited role then that's fine.

07-03-2021, 01:09 PM
Long live the republic, tourists will still come and visit the empty, more accessible palaces we've all paid to maintain.

Just_Jimmy
07-03-2021, 01:25 PM
I've never understand how a single person in this country other than those it serves, thinks someone should be looked up to just because of what they are born into.

mental.

Sent from my Pixel 3a using Tapatalk

07-03-2021, 02:00 PM
They’re viable for as long as they remain box office, bring in tourist dollar, play no political role and don’t piss off the public. As soon as the red warning lights come on for some or all of those things it’s danger time.

FWIW I’m really enjoying Mr and Mrs Markle pissing off the deeply, deeply ouanquere establishment Daily Mail types.

Does the House of Lords not provide that balance? :faf:

07-03-2021, 02:12 PM
Does the House of Lords not provide that balance? :faf:

Two further observations.

I'd take a Scottish House of Lords right now in a heartbeat. Or any kind of second revising chamber that didn't fall prey to party lines.

President Katie Hopkins or President Tommy Robinson. **** me. The notion that one of those jokers - or some of the other possible freaks - couldn't and wouldn't do considerable political/societal/cultural damage in even a defined constitutional role is for the birds.

Describe me a way of having alternatives that aren't a regular plebiscite on which looney tune gets installed and I'm persuadable.

07-03-2021, 02:19 PM
Two further observations.

I'd take a Scottish House of Lords right now in a heartbeat. Or any kind of second revising chamber that didn't fall prey to party lines.

President Katie Hopkins or President Tommy Robinson. **** me. The notion that one of those jokers - or some of the other possible freaks - couldn't and wouldn't do considerable political/societal/cultural damage in even a defined constitutional role is for the birds.

Describe me a way of having alternatives that aren't a regular plebiscite on which looney tune gets installed and I'm persuadable.

Any second chamber would need to be on some sort of voting basis not as per Westminster where it is basically cronyism.

A good way of getting away from the two freaks you mention would of course by independence. Good that you are finally coming round. :greengrin

07-03-2021, 02:55 PM

The question, 'Whos better as head of state, Queenie or Nigel Farage' ignores my central gripe, which is the hereditary principle. It doesnt matter how fitting Liz or isnt for the role, the central evil is she gets it because shes considered genetically superior. We're supposed to be a meritocracy in all other corners of society and just forget it in the case of the Gluxberg Mountbatten Saxe Coburg Windsors or whatever theyre calling themselves these days.

07-03-2021, 03:50 PM
Any second chamber would need to be on some sort of voting basis not as per Westminster where it is basically cronyism.

A good way of getting away from the two freaks you mention would of course by independence. Good that you are finally coming round. :greengrin

President Salmond or Sheridan? I don’t think I’m quite won over yet...

07-03-2021, 03:52 PM
The question, 'Whos better as head of state, Queenie or Nigel Farage' ignores my central gripe, which is the hereditary principle. It doesnt matter how fitting Liz or isnt for the role, the central evil is she gets it because shes considered genetically superior. We're supposed to be a meritocracy in all other corners of society and just forget it in the case of the Gluxberg Mountbatten Saxe Coburg Windsors or whatever theyre calling themselves these days.

With you on the hereditary principle, still unconvinced on the capacity for President Farage the frog-faced ****.

07-03-2021, 03:58 PM
With you on the hereditary principle, still unconvinced on the capacity for President Farage the frog-faced ****.Come the revolution we will need a head on a pike, so it would really only be forward planning in the case of wee Nigel.

07-03-2021, 04:05 PM
Come the revolution we will need a head on a pike, so it would really only be forward planning in the case of wee Nigel.

Come the revolution he should be sent to be the latrines cleaner in a Kent migrant camp.

07-03-2021, 05:21 PM
Come the revolution he should be sent to be the latrines cleaner in a Kent migrant camp.[emoji16]

Any real job would do.

07-03-2021, 05:33 PM
I think. Once the Queen pops her clogs we will see Charles struggle to hold it all together. The reassurance of a monarch we've all known all our lives will disintegrate as today’s instant age of social Media pull the royals all over the place. Their relevance that is propped up by the printed press and tv will wane fairly quickly.

07-03-2021, 05:58 PM
I think. Once the Queen pops her clogs we will see Charles struggle to hold it all together. The reassurance of a monarch we've all known all our lives will disintegrate as today’s instant age of social Media pull the royals all over the place. Their relevance that is propped up by the printed press and tv will wane fairly quickly.

The Guardian piece about what happens when the Queen dies that was posted on the 'Forth Bridge' thread covers that point albeit not in great depth.

The Queen has largely ruled whilst overseeing the decline of the UK as a stand alone global power. Brexit is the death throes of a nation trying to cling to life through trying to recall past glories. By the time the Queen does die it's not at all inconceivable that at least one of the countries of the UK will have departed.

She has been a constant figure for a lot of people and I have to confess even as an ardent republican I sometimes find her continuing presence a little bit comforting (not the right word but I can't think of better). I think there was a feeling that William and Harry would rejuvenate the monarchy but the way they have been driven apart by the weight of tradition and an adherence to such, as their uncle warned about, has blown that belief apart. Charles has spoken about a slimmed down monarchy in the future and I think that will be the 1st steps to change. There will be more nieces and nephews in the mould of Zara and Peter Phillips without titles in the future than there will be those like Andrews with all the bells and whistle they have. Evolution rather than revolution.

Whatever the future of the monarchy I'm quite enjoying the blind panic and mobilisation of the press that is going on to mitigate this Oprah interview. The hard of thinking are falling for it in the same way they did when they turned the guns on Diana all those years ago. The firm are scared of what could be said though and they are making sure to get their retaliation in first.

07-03-2021, 06:41 PM
Genuine question, why is the queen so revered? I’ve seen her described as possibly the greatest monarch we have had. I’ll admit my ignorance and that I don’t know much, or anything, about her. Is it the duration of her monarchy and the fact, as far as I’m aware, she hasn’t had any controversies during her reign? Despite my views on the monarchy, from the outside, she does seem a nice old lady.

07-03-2021, 06:57 PM
Genuine question, why is the queen so revered? I’ve seen her described as possibly the greatest monarch we have had. I’ll admit my ignorance and that I don’t know much, or anything, about her. Is it the duration of her monarchy and the fact, as far as I’m aware, she hasn’t had any controversies during her reign? Despite my views on the monarchy, from the outside, she does seem a nice old lady.

There aren't many controversies because they close rank and slap a gagging order on anyone for anything, only have to have a look at perfect Prince Wills alleged behaviour over the last few years, nothing reported in the British tabloids who love gossip, clearly a injunction was put in place

They are as ruthless as you can get and won't let anything stand on the way of their vast machine

07-03-2021, 08:19 PM
There aren't many controversies because they close rank and slap a gagging order on anyone for anything, only have to have a look at perfect Prince Wills alleged behaviour over the last few years, nothing reported in the British tabloids who love gossip, clearly a injunction was put in place

They are as ruthless as you can get and won't let anything stand on the way of their vast machine

What’s the scope with Wills? I tend not to pay attention to anything royal related....

07-03-2021, 08:31 PM
What’s the scope with Wills? I tend not to pay attention to anything royal related....

There is talk that he's played away, if you google it you won't find one bit of British press on the matter, it's all foreign reports :wink:

08-03-2021, 05:52 AM
Piers Morgan reaching heart attack levels of angst in response to the interview. Keep it up Meghan.

08-03-2021, 06:10 AM
It's amazing watching the relish the hacks are displaying over this nonsense. The average Brit couldn't give a monkey's about this pair of spoilt bores.

Crunchie
08-03-2021, 06:18 AM
Piers Morgan reaching heart attack levels of angst in response to the interview. Keep it up Meghan.

That guy cracks me up :faf:, he knows how to get the ratings up though.

On the Meghan-Harry thing? Who cares.

Crunchie
08-03-2021, 06:19 AM
It's amazing watching the relish the hacks are displaying over this nonsense. The average Brit couldn't give a monkey's about this pair of spoilt bores.
:top marks Ain't that the truth.

08-03-2021, 06:19 AM
If Harry is right that Charles has cut him off financially and won’t take his calls then he wouldn’t have much left to lose by checking out his paternity. May be that Charles already knows the answer to that.

08-03-2021, 06:37 AM
If Harry is right that Charles has cut him off financially and won’t take his calls then he wouldn’t have much left to lose by checking out his paternity. May be that Charles already knows the answer to that.

Ah, the age old tradition of keeping royal ******* sons at an arms length.

08-03-2021, 06:50 AM
Piers Morgan reaching heart attack levels of angst in response to the interview. Keep it up Meghan.I reckon they're all cretins. But hes absolutely obsessed beyond belief with them and someone should genuinely get him help.

Santa Cruz
08-03-2021, 06:52 AM

He was the same last week, the bloke's a major hypocrite, it's his co-host I feel sorry for, no idea how she suffers that. I'm not getting the Markle's. they move country to escape the media and then court it via Oprah which they must know is going to lead to even more media attacks. If they want a quiet life, fair do's but why not just go and live one. My daughter wanted me to watch the Harry meets James Corden interview at the weekend. So boring btw.

08-03-2021, 07:10 AM

Her team’s just won the league. Don’t know what the senile auld bag is moaning about.

08-03-2021, 07:17 AM

“The average Brit” probably lies somewhere between the little Englander weirdo who hangs on every Royal word (see Piers Morgan) and the angry republican who’d have them all rounded up and shot.

Plenty of people are interested in them whether we like it or not.

I think it’s strange but there you go.

08-03-2021, 07:23 AM
Who was that insensitive as to question how dark a babies skin might be?

I'd have my fiver on Phil.

08-03-2021, 07:32 AM
They apparently got married in their garden 3 days before Joe public splashed out £30 million on their sham wedding.

I await Douglass Ross and co's condemnation.

08-03-2021, 07:50 AM

I'd have my fiver on Phil.Phil the Greek?

Well known for his respect for different races, maybe even the greeks[emoji6]

08-03-2021, 07:54 AM
Phil the Greek?

Well known for his respect for different races, maybe even the greeks[emoji6]

That's him
Don't know why she mentioned it then said it would be too damaging to name the racist.

08-03-2021, 07:57 AM

The greatest trick the devil ever pulled was convincing the world he didn't exist. :greengrin

Santa Cruz
08-03-2021, 08:14 AM
That's him
Don't know why she mentioned it then said it would be too damaging to name the racist.

Princess Charlotte, aged 5? Cannae prosecute the inquisitive child due to age :cb

Seriously though, quite obvious they're not naming so they can get a part two out of this. He's admitted his Dad's no giving him any dough now and he won't fancy a job much even though he's desperate to be a commoner.

08-03-2021, 08:26 AM
He’d have to change his name to Fitzroy.

08-03-2021, 09:01 AM

I'd have my fiver on Phil.

I’d imagine most of them would have the same concerns, it’s not surprising really. The Royal Family is a white thing, race plays a big part in what it represents.

08-03-2021, 09:32 AM
I’d imagine most of them would have the same concerns, it’s not surprising really. The Royal Family is a white thing, race plays a big part in what it represents.This is borne out with the UK inquest into Diana Spencer's death. A third of the questions at the enquiry concerned whether she was pregnant with Al Fayed's baby or not.

Another aspect, easily forgotten by those who imagine they play no political role, is that Lizzy is the Head of State for a lot of nice, handy Tax Havens. The conduit between them and the City of London is umhampered for those that can indulge.

Sent from my SM-A405FN using Tapatalk

08-03-2021, 09:38 AM
This is borne out with the UK inquest into Diana Spencer's death. A third of the questions at the enquiry concerned whether she was pregnant with Al Fayed's baby or not.

Another aspect, easily forgotten by those who imagine they play no political role, is that Lizzy is the Head of State for a lot of nice, handy Tax Havens. The conduit between them and the City of London is umhampered for those that can indulge.

It would be interesting to find out the 100's of pieces of legislation that she has blocked. So much for not being involved in politics.

08-03-2021, 09:49 AM
I find it hard to have any sympathy for the two attention seekers appearing on Oprah.

So much for wanting to get out of the spotlight.

08-03-2021, 09:53 AM
I find it hard to have any sympathy for the two attention seekers appearing on Oprah.

He'll live off it rather than go out and work

08-03-2021, 09:59 AM

They've got to make a living now they are off the gravy train. I wish more of them would make their own money. I'd rather my taxes weren't facilitating Prince Andrews life of luxury.

08-03-2021, 10:27 AM
He'll live off it rather than go out and work

They've got to make a living now they are off the gravy train. I wish more of them would make their own money. I'd rather my taxes weren't facilitating Prince Andrews life of luxury.

They weren't paid for the interview.

08-03-2021, 10:30 AM
They weren't paid for the interview.

Maybe not directly but there will be benefits

08-03-2021, 10:39 AM

I don’t think they wanted to get out of the spotlight, she’s an actor, he’s a royal, that’s what they do. Promotions. They just wanted away from our toxic press. It would be weird if they just went into self imposed hiding :greengrin

Santa Cruz
08-03-2021, 10:39 AM
Maybe not directly but there will be benefits

Yip. In the Corden interview Netflix is mentioned a few times. As far as I'm aware they have some deal on the go with Netflix.

08-03-2021, 10:40 AM
It would be interesting to find out the 100's of pieces of legislation that she has blocked. So much for not being involved in politics.

It beggars belief that some folk still think they're not political. Suits their agenda I suppose, and as long as the money keeps coming in from the tourists, they'll be happy. 😂

08-03-2021, 10:48 AM
It beggars belief that some folk still think they're not political. Suits their agenda I suppose, and as long as the money keeps coming in from the tourists, they'll be happy. 😂

Does Charles also famously send letters to loads of organisations to try and lobby for his position on certain interests he has?

Santa Cruz
08-03-2021, 10:54 AM

They do directly and indirectly generate economic revenue. Ocean Terminal in normal times would be deserted mid-week without all the tourists visiting the Royal Yacht. I can't remember the figure, but it's huge for a tourist attraction.

08-03-2021, 11:10 AM
Does Charles also famously send letters to loads of organisations to try and lobby for his position on certain interests he has?

Yes, he wastes god knows how much civil service time and money trying to interfere in all sorts of things. Notably, homeopathy on the NHS. If anyone can find a bigger waste of money, good luck to them.

The sooner we're rid of them the better, imo. The whole class/deference thing in Britain stinks. It's part of the reason we end up with ********s like Johnson as PM.

08-03-2021, 11:12 AM
They do directly and indirectly generate economic revenue. Ocean Terminal in normal times would be deserted mid-week without all the tourists visiting the Royal Yacht. I can't remember the figure, but it's huge for a tourist attraction.France must be fuming that they get no tourists.

08-03-2021, 11:12 AM
They do directly and indirectly generate economic revenue. Ocean Terminal in normal times would be deserted mid-week without all the tourists visiting the Royal Yacht. I can't remember the figure, but it's huge for a tourist attraction.

It's of historical interest. So is Discovery at Dundee. Doesn't mean we need current royals. Versailles gets more visitors than B Palace. :wink:

08-03-2021, 11:18 AM
France must be fuming that they get no tourists.

:greengrin :tsk tsk:

Santa Cruz
08-03-2021, 11:20 AM
It's of historical interest. So is Discovery at Dundee. Doesn't mean we need current royals. Versailles gets more visitors than B Palace. :wink:

The royal yacht would be the indirectly I referred to. Apologies for not being clearer in my post.

Santa Cruz
08-03-2021, 11:23 AM
France must be fuming that they get no tourists.

What has that got to do with the example of the Royal Yacht and the revenue it brings directly to Ocean Terminal?

08-03-2021, 11:28 AM

How many Royals are on the Royal Yacht when people go to visit?

How many Royals are in the many German and French castles and palaces that attract millions of visitors every year?

08-03-2021, 11:29 AM
The whole class/deference thing in Britain stinks. It's part of the reason we end up with ********s like Johnson as PM.

Given that fawning sycophancy's a real thing that exists in a fair proportion of the population, if you did away with the Royal Family, Romanov-style or otherwise, wouldn't the fawning sycophancy just be transferred to toffs like Johnson, making him and his like even bolder in their contempt? :dunno:

08-03-2021, 11:38 AM

Do they do a turn on there these days. I thought it was a floating museum.

Santa Cruz
08-03-2021, 11:39 AM
How many Royals are on the Royal Yacht when people go to visit?

How many Royals are in the many German and French castles and palaces that attract millions of visitors every year?

Tourists associate the current royal family with the royal yacht, not kings and queens from hundreds of years ago. They don't see it as historical, they stoat about giving it wow imagine the Queen here etc.

08-03-2021, 11:40 AM

The green ink brigade.

08-03-2021, 11:43 AM
I don’t think they wanted to get out of the spotlight, she’s an actor, he’s a royal, that’s what they do. Promotions. They just wanted away from our toxic press. It would be weird if they just went into self imposed hiding :greengrin

I think that's it. There is a difference between controlling the interviews you give and how much of your self you give to the press and the unsolicited invasive nature of the UK tabloids in particular.

I don't really have any issues with the recent interviews. People can define a real job as they wish but what they are planning to do in the future requires a degree of self promotion. It's no different from an actor appearing on Graham Norton to promote their latest film.

08-03-2021, 11:44 AM
Tourists associate the current royal family with the royal yacht, not kings and queens from hundreds of years ago. They don't see it as historical, they stoat about giving it wow imagine the Queen here etc.

And they would STILL visit all the famous Castles, Palaces and Boats even if the Royal Family was no more, as in the other countries I mentioned.

08-03-2021, 11:45 AM
What has that got to do with the example of the Royal Yacht and the revenue it brings directly to Ocean Terminal?People would still go and see the nice boat if there was no longer a royal family.
Just as they go and see buildings and artifacts that are connected to their non existent monarchy.

I think they do bring in money but dont see that as the be all and end all given the damage done by the way in which the institution underpins a brutal class system.

08-03-2021, 11:52 AM
I think that's it. There is a difference between controlling the interviews you give and how much of your self you give to the press and the unsolicited invasive nature of the UK tabloids in particular.

I don't really have any issues with the recent interviews. People can define a real job as they wish but what they are planning to do in the future requires a degree of self promotion. It's no different from an actor appearing on Graham Norton to promote their latest film.

:agree: It’s also no different to what my kids do on tictok or whatever. It’s hard for auld farts like me to understand but the 21C world is now all about Creating Content. Everyone’s at it. In their world, as a sub metaphor they’ve been trolled and cyber bullied and as a result have set up a new platform for themselves to regain control.

Santa Cruz
08-03-2021, 11:55 AM
People would still go and see the nice boat if there was no longer a royal family.
Just as they go and see buildings and artifacts that are connected to their non existent monarchy.

I think they do bring in money but dont see that as the be all and end all given the damage done by the way in which the institution underpins a brutal class system.

All I was trying to point out was that the tourist attraction quite probably keeps Ocean Terminal afloat, as without the midweek revenue there would be very little footfall. As per, I made a mistake of posting and the usual posters pile in (not you) because the real underlying reason is we don't have the same political views. It's boring now. I'm out of this thread too.

08-03-2021, 11:57 AM
All I was trying to point out was that the tourist attraction quite probably keeps Ocean Terminal afloat, as without the midweek revenue there would be very little footfall. As per, I made a mistake of posting and the usual posters pile in (not you) because the real underlying reason is we don't have the same political views. It's boring now. I'm out of this thread too.

Aren't people allowed to present counter arguments, by way of a reasoned discussion?

08-03-2021, 11:59 AM
TBF to the Royals and Harry/Meghan they've given us something different to disagree about on the Holy Ground other than Salmond/Sturgeon/Independence.

08-03-2021, 12:04 PM
TBF to the Royals and Harry/Meghan they've given us something different to disagree about on the Holy Ground other than Salmond/Sturgeon/Independence.

No they haven't!

08-03-2021, 12:06 PM
No they haven't!

Hardly

08-03-2021, 12:07 PM

No they haven't!

08-03-2021, 12:14 PM
I’m more annoyed that this interview is on tonight which means Unforgotten is delayed till tomorrow. Have they no shame?

08-03-2021, 12:16 PM
Aren't people allowed to present counter arguments, by way of a reasoned discussion?

It seems to be the favoured option of moaning about a pile on when you have an opinion not shared by many others.

Rather than post it, believing what you post and defending it where fit, you just take a flounce and claim to be picked on.

08-03-2021, 12:32 PM
The Royal Family is the only reason people visit Britain. If we became a republic no one would bother. Tourists only visit countries with monarchies, it's the only reason we still have this archaic tradition.

...Right?

08-03-2021, 12:49 PM

No they haven't!

Hardly

Is this the 5 minute argument, or the full half hour? :greengrin

08-03-2021, 12:54 PM
It seems to be the favoured option of moaning about a pile on when you have an opinion not shared by many others.

Rather than post it, believing what you post and defending it where fit, you just take a flounce and claim to be picked on.

It’s a big frustration of mine. You can’t debate without someone claiming you’re bullying them or piling on.

I get it in the house with my kids - you try and let them see the other side of an argument and all you do is make them entrench their views further.

08-03-2021, 12:58 PM
Is this the 5 minute argument, or the full half hour? :greengrin

No, this is contradiction. You want the door at the end of the corridor.

08-03-2021, 01:06 PM
No, this is contradiction. You want the door at the end of the corridor.

Is that the door on the left, or the far-right? :greengrin

08-03-2021, 01:12 PM

She's been paying income tax for nearly thirty years now, so it's only fair that a few dozens or scores of laws should be skewed (or skewered) if she fancies. No taxation without representation and that.

stu in nottingham
08-03-2021, 02:02 PM
I think that abolishing the royal family might have a positive effect on tourism. For instance, more of Buckingham Palace could be opened up to the public.

Imagine the queues to see where the queen's lavvy was? 'And this is the 100ft square bathroom where the queen would have had one of her trusted servants take a *****e for her' type of thing.

08-03-2021, 02:04 PM
Is that the door on the left, or the far-right? :greengrin

To the best of my recollection I don't know...

08-03-2021, 03:23 PM
I think that abolishing the royal family might have a positive effect on tourism. For instance, more of Buckingham Palace could be opened up to the public.

Imagine the queues to see where the queen's lavvy was? 'And this is the 100ft square bathroom where the queen would have had one of her trusted servants take a *****e for her' type of thing.

‘...and on your left, the drawing room in which Prince Philip and Anne opined on which shade of chocolate ‘cappuccino or octoroon, do you think?’ the skin of Harry’s newborn would be’...kind of thing?

08-03-2021, 03:25 PM
I've never been especially interested in the royals and wouldn't consider spending my evening watching an interview with Harry and Meghan (I did think the first two seasons of the Crown were excellent though). Basically I think they're a great source of tourist revenue for the UK and I've always quite liked the Queen.

William and Harry always seemed decent enough and I thought Harry came across as pretty genuine when talking about mental health issues. I have little sympathy for him these days though. Meghan strikes me as a manipulative actress who never wanted to play a minor royal role and has engineered this whole situation to suit herself. Their agenda here seems more about cultivating the Harry and Meghan brand ie remaining famous by keeping themselves in the public eye. Without that fame/infamy what else do they have to offer?

08-03-2021, 03:42 PM
The vitriol aimed at Megan I have seen on social media today is genuinely quite astounding!!

08-03-2021, 03:43 PM
I've never been especially interested in the royals and wouldn't consider spending my evening watching an interview with Harry and Meghan (I did think the first two seasons of the Crown were excellent though). Basically I think they're a great source of tourist revenue for the UK and I've always quite liked the Queen.

William and Harry always seemed decent enough and I thought Harry came across as pretty genuine when talking about mental health issues. I have little sympathy for him these days though. Meghan strikes me as a manipulative actress who never wanted to play a minor royal role and has engineered this whole situation to suit herself. Their agenda here seems more about cultivating the Harry and Meghan brand ie remaining famous by keeping themselves in the public eye. Without that fame/infamy what else do they have to offer?

What exactly are you basing that on??

08-03-2021, 03:47 PM

Bloody hell, Piers, didn't know you had a login here?

08-03-2021, 03:49 PM
The vitriol aimed at Megan I have seen on social media today is genuinely quite astounding!!

It's scary.

Sometimes I find the whole 'it's OK not to be OK' and other sloganeering around mental health issues a bit twee or syrupy. When you read the accusations today that she is 'making it up' or 'at it' or whatever then you see why it is still so important.

Some people are just being manipulated, the royals and their press pals have form for that that. With others it's good old fashioned racism or misogyny. I have no idea if Meghan Markle is a nice person or utterly horrible but some of the rhetoric around her is obscene.

08-03-2021, 03:51 PM
Of course it's really just (yet) another salvo in the culture wars. :rolleyes:

Yougov asked "how much sympathy do you have for Harry & Meghan?"

https://pbs.twimg.com/media/Ev-HT2_XAAQ30GR?format=jpg&name=900x900

stu in nottingham
08-03-2021, 03:55 PM
It's scary.

Sometimes I find the whole 'it's OK not to be OK' and other sloganeering around mental health issues a bit twee or syrupy. When you read the accusations today that she is 'making it up' or 'at it' or whatever then you see why it is still so important.

These are my sentiments. I'm tired of people paying lip service to mental health issues.

Disgusting that a young woman is saying that she had felt like taking her own life and people are doubting her and attacking her in this way.

Despite the slogans, it is very clear to me that it is not okay to not be okay.

08-03-2021, 03:55 PM

Hope not Hate researched the Meghan Twitter abuse; it’s coordinated and 70% comes from just 20 Twitter accounts. As the poll above shows, highly likely to be from ahem those with a right of centre and pro Brexit viewpoint. Oh but I’m sure race isn’t a factor :rolleyes:

08-03-2021, 04:11 PM
Hope not Hate researched the Meghan Twitter abuse; it’s coordinated and 70% comes from just 20 Twitter accounts. As the poll above shows, highly likely to be from ahem those with a right of centre and pro Brexit viewpoint. Oh but I’m sure race isn’t a factor :rolleyes:

Just waiting to see which tabloid calls her "uppity" first. :rolleyes:

Chorley Hibee
08-03-2021, 04:19 PM
These fervent forelock-tugging Royal Correspondents certainly got shown up for what they are:

https://twitter.com/LBC/status/1368900282298609671?s=19

08-03-2021, 04:30 PM
These fervent forelock-tugging Royal Correspondents certainly got shown up for what they are:

https://twitter.com/LBC/status/1368900282298609671?s=19

A bit like Dross demanding Sturgeon resign before she'd spoken to the enquiry. These people are leeches.

08-03-2021, 04:32 PM
The vitriol aimed at Megan I have seen on social media today is genuinely quite astounding!!I never liked her in "Suits". I thought her character was crap as was her sickly sweet acting.

I've not paid much attention to anything she's done since.

08-03-2021, 04:33 PM
Meghan strikes me as a manipulative actress who never wanted to play a minor royal role and has engineered this whole situation to suit herself.

Strange that she seems like this to you just as the editors of The Daily Mail/Express describe her as such. Anyone would think you allow these papers to form your opinion for you.

08-03-2021, 04:34 PM

How exactly?

08-03-2021, 04:35 PM
I have no idea if Meghan Markle is a nice person or utterly horrible but some of the rhetoric around her is obscene.

Exactly.

Rumble de Thump
08-03-2021, 04:38 PM
Her own family members don't seem to like her and I imagine her in-laws won't be too keen on her either now. But, if she's is reading this thread, I wish her well.

08-03-2021, 04:40 PM
Why is there an H in Meghan? Is she a soap dodger or something?

08-03-2021, 04:43 PM
**** me, Harry isn't suing for peace here:

The friend of the editors told him: "You need to understand that the UK is very bigoted." But the duke responded: "The UK is not bigoted, the UK press is bigoted, specifically the tabloids."

08-03-2021, 04:43 PM

The friend of the editors told him: "You need to understand that the UK is very bigoted." But the duke responded: "The UK is not bigoted, the UK press is bigoted, specifically the tabloids."He's not entirely wrong.

08-03-2021, 04:48 PM

The friend of the editors told him: "You need to understand that the UK is very bigoted." But the duke responded: "The UK is not bigoted, the UK press is bigoted, specifically the tabloids."

He's smarter than I gave him credit for it seems.

08-03-2021, 04:51 PM

The friend of the editors told him: "You need to understand that the UK is very bigoted." But the duke responded: "The UK is not bigoted, the UK press is bigoted, specifically the tabloids."Must be Meghan manipulating him into thinking these things and not the decades of racism, bigotry and divisiveness from the UK tabloids.

08-03-2021, 04:52 PM
He's not entirely wrong.

No he is not. I think he's more in tune with the real word than the rest of them (to the extent that any of them are in tune with the real world) and their media savvy will run rings round the Royal court.

08-03-2021, 04:53 PM

Is Harry the Duke? Why are some Princes dukes and some not? Actually, wgaf? Their heads all roll the same way off the guillotine. :aok::devil:

08-03-2021, 05:43 PM
Strange that she seems like this to you just as the editors of The Daily Mail/Express describe her as such. Anyone would think you allow these papers to form your opinion for you.

I think you'd struggle to find posts of mine where I've linked to either of those papers (I stand corrected if wrong though). I've got online subscriptions to the Telegraph and Guardian as they both contain quality writing, but the Express and Mail are more like comics.

Based on the extracts of the interview I've just watched it's not hard to form an opinion of Meghan all by myself. This is a savvy career woman who was in her late 30s when she married into the royal family yet she's trying to equate herself to the hopelessly naive teenage Diana who genuinely WAS abominably treated.

Comparing her plight to that of the Little Mermaid who lost her voice....nauseating, manufactured nonsense. 'Speak your truth' Oprah comes across as only marginally less irritating. Still, I guess if Americans believed the garbage Trump used to come out with they'll lap this up. It's certainly making sensational global headlines which I guess was the brand plan all along.

08-03-2021, 05:58 PM
I wonder why they left. (https://www.buzzfeednews.com/article/ellievhall/meghan-markle-kate-middleton-double-standards-royal?fbclid=IwAR2UgLzHVdIydZ7G-QW2dkMF3RCjyS1YDfF77oND0rqRiJSxjOBtpClBDqg)

08-03-2021, 06:17 PM
I think you'd struggle to find posts of mine where I've linked to either of those papers (I stand corrected if wrong though). I've got online subscriptions to the Telegraph and Guardian as they both contain quality writing, but the Express and Mail are more like comics.

Based on the extracts of the interview I've just watched it's not hard to form an opinion of Meghan all by myself. This is a savvy career woman who was in her late 30s when she married into the royal family yet she's trying to equate herself to the hopelessly naive teenage Diana who genuinely WAS abominably treated.

Comparing her plight to that of the Little Mermaid who lost her voice....nauseating, manufactured nonsense. 'Speak your truth' Oprah comes across as only marginally less irritating. Still, I guess if Americans believed the garbage Trump used to come out with they'll lap this up. It's certainly making sensational global headlines which I guess was the brand plan all along.Oh, I didnt say you read them, just that it is a coincidence that you hold exactly the same views as them.

I won't be watching, so won't be able to make my mind up about lies and motives based on a TV interview.

08-03-2021, 06:56 PM

:agree: It’s also no different to what my kids do on tictok or whatever. It’s hard for auld farts like me to understand but the 21C world is now all about Creating Content. Everyone’s at it. In their world, as a sub metaphor they’ve been trolled and cyber bullied and as a result have set up a new platform for themselves to regain control.

Well done guys hibsbollah delivers the punchlines "the 21C world is now all about creating content" and "they've been trolled and cyber bullied and as a result have set up a new platform for themselves to regain control"

:top marksThanks for helping to educate this old fart in the ways of the modern world

08-03-2021, 06:58 PM
oohhh, personally i can't stand either group...but as a huge anti-royal, go the team without twa**ish privileged titles

that shilton is a right banger btw

https://scontent.fman1-1.fna.fbcdn.net/v/t1.0-9/158579581_3719307198162214_4454089134923919986_o.j pg?_nc_cat=111&ccb=1-3&_nc_sid=8bfeb9&_nc_ohc=929ydidJTqwAX_gICQ3&_nc_ht=scontent.fman1-1.fna&oh=200bc689241f131ac14731e9d663fe36&oe=606C18F7

08-03-2021, 07:06 PM
https://twitter.com/mindcharity/status/1369003597103529985?s=21

08-03-2021, 07:22 PM
https://twitter.com/mindcharity/status/1369003597103529985?s=21

Go Mind.

Just shows how far we have to go.

08-03-2021, 07:26 PM
The snippet that did make me laugh was Oprah getting shown round the couple's $12 million dollar mansion and being told they have a chicken coop because "it's important to get back to basics".

08-03-2021, 07:36 PM
The snippet that did make me laugh was Oprah getting shown round the couple's $12 million dollar mansion and being told they have a chicken coop because "it's important to get back to basics".That's is ridiculous. Its Charles Windsor growing all his vegetables which is daft given he owns Cornwall.

08-03-2021, 08:44 PM
I used to despise the royals but at my age it's not good to have so much hate in your life what with the Tories, the right wing media, The Rangers etc. so I try to ignore them now.

08-03-2021, 08:51 PM
Some of the memes tonight on social media about this :faf:

08-03-2021, 09:09 PM
Tell you what, anyone looking to escape institutionalised racism like Harry has identified here should follow his lead and move to the racially tolerant United States.

08-03-2021, 09:38 PM
Tell you what, anyone looking to escape institutionalised racism like Harry has identified here should follow his lead and move to the racially tolerant United States.

The institution he is moving from doesn’t exist there so surely that’s a good idea?

08-03-2021, 09:38 PM

For someone not interested you seem to have a very strident view. Think Meghan and Harry seem quite likeable and a bit more normal than the collection of weirdos they have left behind.

08-03-2021, 09:41 PM
I never liked her in "Suits". I thought her character was crap as was her sickly sweet acting.

I've not paid much attention to anything she's done since.

Thought she was good in suits. Opinions eh

08-03-2021, 09:43 PM
The institution he is moving from doesn’t exist there so surely that’s a good idea?

Sent from my iPhone using TapatalkSo long as the good old US of A's many institutions are free of institutional racism it looks like hes made a great move.[emoji6]

08-03-2021, 09:47 PM
oohhh, personally i can't stand either group...but as a huge anti-royal, go the team without twa**ish privileged titles

that shilton is a right banger btw

https://scontent.fman1-1.fna.fbcdn.net/v/t1.0-9/158579581_3719307198162214_4454089134923919986_o.j pg?_nc_cat=111&ccb=1-3&_nc_sid=8bfeb9&_nc_ohc=929ydidJTqwAX_gICQ3&_nc_ht=scontent.fman1-1.fna&oh=200bc689241f131ac14731e9d663fe36&oe=606C18F7

What a knob Shilton is but what a brilliant response. :greengrin

From what I seen Harry and Meghan were full of praise for the queen.

08-03-2021, 10:03 PM
Black marks for the establishment after that interview.

08-03-2021, 10:10 PM
Black marks for the establishment after that interview.

How dark are those black marks though?

09-03-2021, 05:54 AM
How dark are those black marks though?

Important point. :greengrin

09-03-2021, 06:02 AM

But this is their choice, on their terms. Hounded by the press isn’t.

09-03-2021, 06:12 AM
Do people actually care though? The media are all over this like it's some kind of a shock that the monarchy is inflexible and old-fashioned and elitist?

Supposed at least it's dislodged sevco winning their first ever top division off the headlines...

Mr Grieves
09-03-2021, 06:14 AM
Piers Morgan has just walked off his own show :faf:

https://twitter.com/RinoTheBeagle/status/1369176814258712577?s=19

09-03-2021, 06:15 AM
Piers Morgan has just walked off his own show :faf:

https://twitter.com/RinoTheBeagle/status/1369176814258712577?s=19

Hope he doesn’t comeback

09-03-2021, 06:20 AM
At the end of the day it'll make no great difference to the Crown.

In terms of public opinion there seems to be as many "fors" as "againsts".

Harry & Meghan are getting their big bucks in the States and will remain mega A-List.

The royal family have got rid of a prince with probably no Windsor/Saxe-Coburg blood and his American mixed-race wife - they won't be all that bothered.

09-03-2021, 06:36 AM
Well I hope they have got the security detail they wanted now. And stay away from freeway tunnels.

Key West
09-03-2021, 06:58 AM
I used to despise the royals but at my age it's not good to have so much hate in your life what with the Tories, the right wing media, The Rangers etc. so I try to ignore them now.

For me they are just another family, I agree that if things annoy you so much just ignore them, life is far too short as it is, I’m not criticising folk for being interested or having an opinion but if you blank it all it doesn’t bother you.

09-03-2021, 07:57 AM
For me they are just another family, I agree that if things annoy you so much just ignore them, life is far too short as it is, I’m not criticising folk for being interested or having an opinion but if you blank it all it doesn’t bother you.

Agreed. I haven't read one story about all this nonsense. Somehow I continue to survive and even prosper!

09-03-2021, 12:24 PM
Well I hope they have got the security detail they wanted now. And stay away from freeway tunnels.

And don't hire drink drivers.

09-03-2021, 12:25 PM
And don't hire drink drivers.

Especially if they come from Brittany.

09-03-2021, 12:26 PM
But this is their choice, on their terms. Hounded by the press isn’t.

We're seeking a quiet life, away from the glare of the Media... so we're going to go on Oprah and tell the world all about it.

Nah.

09-03-2021, 12:29 PM
We're seeking a quiet life, away from the glare of the Media... so we're going to go on Oprah and tell the world all about it.

Nah.

If we're no longer paying for their lifestyle then something and someone else is going to have to.

Good luck to Hewitt Jr I say.

09-03-2021, 12:33 PM
If we're no longer paying for their lifestyle then something and someone else is going to have to.

Good luck to Hewitt Jr I say.

Or they could just get a job, like real people?

I understand she used to be an actor, so maybe some TV ads or something like that.

Harry could get a job as a... ehm.... well... OK he can be the 'House Husband'.

09-03-2021, 12:50 PM

I understand she used to be an actor, so maybe some TV ads or something like that.

Maybe Harry could set up a security company.

09-03-2021, 12:51 PM

This is their job - they're storytellers, and it is paying them well.

They may be reviled over here and getting a proportionate amount of tabloid grief but they live in California now - there isn't the same sort of tabloid culture over there. They can do a show like this, be handsomely paid and not exactly have a media backlash that they'll have to feel viscerally. I don't feel he's being overly hypocritical.

He needs to milk it for all it's worth whilst he can. If he needs to go doon the pit to put food on the table in a few years then that's what he must do.

I do feel he'll be crawling back here, tail between legs when that marriage goes pear-shaped at some point in the future though. Then he might regret it.

09-03-2021, 12:57 PM
This is their job - they're storytellers, and it is paying them well.

They may be reviled over here and getting a proportionate amount of tabloid grief but they live in California now - there isn't the same sort of tabloid culture over there. They can do a show like this, be handsomely paid and not exactly have a media backlash that they'll have to feel viscerally. I don't feel he's being overly hypocritical.

He needs to milk it for all it's worth whilst he can. If he needs to go doon the pit to put food on the table in a few years then that's what he must do.

I do feel he'll be crawling back here, tail between legs when that marriage goes pear-shaped at some point in the future though. Then he might regret it.

Apparently they weren't paid for the interview. It's Oprah that's quids in.

09-03-2021, 02:07 PM

It's been suggested she could play herself in the next season of the Crown :greengrin

09-03-2021, 02:09 PM
It's been suggested she could play herself in the next season of the Crown :greengrin

They should get a decent actress instead.

09-03-2021, 02:10 PM

Much debate around that rather bizarre wig she was wearing (like something picked up from the Phil Spector estate). I guess she can invest in some better ones now.

09-03-2021, 02:30 PM

Sounds fair enough.

09-03-2021, 02:52 PM
Much debate around that rather bizarre wig she was wearing (like something picked up from the Phil Spector estate). I guess she can invest in some better ones now.

Oprah's worth over $3Billion. She ought to have her pick of the syrups?

09-03-2021, 03:39 PM

Whenever Oprah is mentioned I always think of body counts take on her

https://youtu.be/X9jXnZS3ouU

Sweary Mary content. Lots

09-03-2021, 03:50 PM

It could have been ian Wright in a wig until she spoke.

beensaidbefore
09-03-2021, 04:06 PM
Papers reporting that the question about the potential colour of the baby took place when Megan was pregnant. My understanding from watching Harry last night was he contradicted that and said it was at the beginning of their relationship. I stand to be corrected, but with something so potentially damaging to the reputation of people, you would expect it to be reported accurately in the press.

09-03-2021, 04:21 PM
with something so potentially damaging to the reputation of people, you would expect it to be reported accurately in the press.

lol

09-03-2021, 04:31 PM
Papers reporting that the question about the potential colour of the baby took place when Megan was pregnant. My understanding from watching Harry last night was he contradicted that and said it was at the beginning of their relationship. I stand to be corrected, but with something so potentially damaging to the reputation of people, you would expect it to be reported accurately in the press.

The press will be reporting it in that way to try and make it seem like less of a horrific question from Charles.....sorry, i mean whoever it was that said it :rolleyes:

What they want you to think is that it was a simple question about her pregnancy and the baby that has been misconstrued or blown out of proportion when in reality it sounds like someone has made the comment to Harry when explaining why he shouldn't be considering marrying a mixed-race woman.

What was telling in the interview was Harry saying that the Monarchy are "terrified" of the press and would rather let them print whatever they want without challenging it and even incentivising journalists to write nice things about them. They know fine well that their continued existence in that life of privilege is entirely dependant on favourable public opinion and should the media take a dislike to the royals and start changing public opinion on them then they could realistically see the monarchy abolished.

09-03-2021, 04:52 PM
It could have been ian Wright in a wig until she spoke.

I've seen this a lot on social media, can't say I see the resemblance.

09-03-2021, 04:54 PM
I've seen this a lot on social media, can't say I see the resemblance.

Prince Philip does.

Willis1875
09-03-2021, 05:01 PM
Prince Philip does.

🤣🤣👏🏻👏🏻

09-03-2021, 05:03 PM
Prince Philip does.

Quite remarkable when you think he can tell the difference between white people, for example James Hewitt and a close family member, maybe the penny has finally dropped and that's the real source of all this aggravation.

beensaidbefore
09-03-2021, 05:26 PM
The press will be reporting it in that way to try and make it seem like less of a horrific question from Charles.....sorry, i mean whoever it was that said it :rolleyes:

What they want you to think is that it was a simple question about her pregnancy and the baby that has been misconstrued or blown out of proportion when in reality it sounds like someone has made the comment to Harry when explaining why he shouldn't be considering marrying a mixed-race woman.

What was telling in the interview was Harry saying that the Monarchy are "terrified" of the press and would rather let them print whatever they want without challenging it and even incentivising journalists to write nice things about them. They know fine well that their continued existence in that life of privilege is entirely dependant on favourable public opinion and should the media take a dislike to the royals and start changing public opinion on them then they could realistically see the monarchy abolished.

Interesting points. Hadn't really thought of it like that. :thumbsup:

09-03-2021, 05:40 PM

Yes, as you say Harry confirmed the alleged comment was made before they were married, not when she was pregnant as Meghan tried to imply.

09-03-2021, 05:44 PM
And he's gone.

BBC News - Piers Morgan leaves ITV's Good Morning Britain after row over Meghan remarks
https://www.bbc.co.uk/news/entertainment-arts-56334082

09-03-2021, 05:59 PM
Piers Morgan quits Good Morning Britain after Meghan Markle row - Mirror Online (https://www.mirror.co.uk/tv/tv-news/breaking-piers-morgan-quits-good-23649810?utm_source=facebook.com&utm_medium=social&utm_campaign=mirror_main&fbclid=IwAR1iPH4J31t5ROUAJNd32n7ouYrrq4rZVg3EBZVZm H8poq6tDfUPjGUPbgk)

i very seldom watch mainstream but i saw a clip of him walking out, lol quite funny

he's rubbed shoulders with some vile paedophiles/sexual deviants over the years huh

https://scontent.fman1-1.fna.fbcdn.net/v/t1.0-9/158882891_281114680045028_8866531447784958937_n.jp g?_nc_cat=1&ccb=1-3&_nc_sid=8bfeb9&_nc_ohc=pncg4WTN4dAAX-AylVF&_nc_ht=scontent.fman1-1.fna&oh=24c5fccdccc1b1c175e9455193491c68&oe=606F3E83

09-03-2021, 06:01 PM
And he's gone.

BBC News - Piers Morgan leaves ITV's Good Morning Britain after row over Meghan remarks
https://www.bbc.co.uk/news/entertainment-arts-56334082Thank ****. Hes a hypocritical fat oafish twat.

He will no doubt rock up on that new right wing news channel shouting everyone down who disagrees with him.

09-03-2021, 06:26 PM
Piers Morgan quits Good Morning Britain after Meghan Markle row - Mirror Online (https://www.mirror.co.uk/tv/tv-news/breaking-piers-morgan-quits-good-23649810?utm_source=facebook.com&utm_medium=social&utm_campaign=mirror_main&fbclid=IwAR1iPH4J31t5ROUAJNd32n7ouYrrq4rZVg3EBZVZm H8poq6tDfUPjGUPbgk)

i very seldom watch mainstream but i saw a clip of him walking out, lol quite funny

he's rubbed shoulders with some vile paedophiles/sexual deviants over the years huh

https://scontent.fman1-1.fna.fbcdn.net/v/t1.0-9/158882891_281114680045028_8866531447784958937_n.jp g?_nc_cat=1&ccb=1-3&_nc_sid=8bfeb9&_nc_ohc=pncg4WTN4dAAX-AylVF&_nc_ht=scontent.fman1-1.fna&oh=24c5fccdccc1b1c175e9455193491c68&oe=606F3E83

... presuming he will head to the GB News channel being set up by Andrew Neil, claim he is no longer shacked and pick up the bumper cheque...

... or am I just being cynical

stu in nottingham
09-03-2021, 06:54 PM
Thank god for that. If he hasn't been, he really needed sacking after his tirade about Meghan Markle on GMB.

This however was a step too far. As far as I am concerned, the challenging and disbelief of any person's suicide ideation is dangerous and totally out of order. I am talking as a person with a late partner who after being discharged as not requiring support by a mental health crisis team, went out and took her own life in a most violent way less than twenty-four hours later.

What a big baby Morgan looked today when flouncing off after being called out by Alex Beresford on the programme this morning. Alex showed a measured dignity, compassion and understanding in talking about the race and mental health issues posed by the Oprah Winfrey interview with Meghan and Harry and shamed blowhard Morgan into fleeing from the studio. This, after all the person abuse he has dished out to anyone unfortunate enough to be in his path over a great number of years. Alex Beresford's calm dismantling of Morgan's aggressive stance showed that Morgan was completely incapable of handling criticism.

Morgan's interviewing of politicians has won him points in various circles throughout the pandemic, let the point be remembered though that the Tory politicians he was showing his faux disgrace at he actually supports and votes for. There remains for me a doubt over the sincerity and purpose of his numerous rants. The man long has form for being a despicable human being and has never essentially changed.

As for Good Morning Britain, I'm not particularly a fan of the programme but each snippet I've set eyes upon resembles a pantomime with Morgan's shouty 'performances', talking over everybody, including his co-presenters being a complete embarrassment. If the TV grew better judgement they could do a lot worse than promoting the excellent Alex Beresford to a more prominent role.

09-03-2021, 07:29 PM
... presuming he will head to the GB News channel being set up by Andrew Neil, claim he is no longer shacked and pick up the bumper cheque...

I’m sure the deal is already done.

09-03-2021, 07:47 PM
Yes, as you say Harry confirmed the alleged comment was made before they were married, not when she was pregnant as Meghan tried to imply.

Oh, that’s ok then.

09-03-2021, 08:11 PM
Having a monarchy next door is a little like having a neighbour who’s really into clowns and has daubed their house with clown murals, displays clown dolls in each window and has an insatiable desire to hear about and discuss clown-related news stories. More specifically, for the Irish, it’s like having a neighbour who’s really into clowns and, also, your grandfather was murdered by a clown.

https://www.irishtimes.com/culture/tv-radio-web/harry-and-meghan-the-union-of-two-great-houses-the-windsors-and-the-celebrities-is-complete-1.4504502

09-03-2021, 08:26 PM

perfectly justified :greengrin

09-03-2021, 08:35 PM
https://www.irishtimes.com/culture/tv-radio-web/harry-and-meghan-the-union-of-two-great-houses-the-windsors-and-the-celebrities-is-complete-1.4504502

What a paragraph that is...

beensaidbefore
09-03-2021, 08:48 PM
Oh, that’s ok then.

It doesn't make it ok, but there is a difference. Given the seriousness of the allegations, it still seems odd that the press are reporting it took place when she was pregnant. What has to be achieved by that, other than winding the situation up?

09-03-2021, 09:03 PM
https://scontent.fman1-1.fna.fbcdn.net/v/t1.0-9/158830915_453880359362726_6111305845361543857_n.jp g?_nc_cat=109&ccb=1-3&_nc_sid=730e14&_nc_ohc=T4LDszal72QAX_o5Aw_&_nc_ht=scontent.fman1-1.fna&oh=5db179ff251c3a087a8d7dc47b121321&oe=606D4FCB

Top 10 Nazi Links To The British Royals - Listverse (https://listverse.com/2019/11/25/nazi-links-british-royals/)

the RF does have a murky past eh, including that sweet little old lady that told the public to stop being selfish... her that is usually adorned with jewellery etc worth millions probably gifted from her saudi arabian friends, markle of course enjoys wearing her freebies from the saudi's as well, pity social media wasn't available a century ago :(

09-03-2021, 09:08 PM
It doesn't make it ok, but there is a difference. Given the seriousness of the allegations, it still seems odd that the press are reporting it took place when she was pregnant. What has to be achieved by that, other than winding the situation up?

It's a long time since I found anything in the British press "odd".

09-03-2021, 09:12 PM
https://scontent.fman1-1.fna.fbcdn.net/v/t1.0-9/158830915_453880359362726_6111305845361543857_n.jp g?_nc_cat=109&ccb=1-3&_nc_sid=730e14&_nc_ohc=T4LDszal72QAX_o5Aw_&_nc_ht=scontent.fman1-1.fna&oh=5db179ff251c3a087a8d7dc47b121321&oe=606D4FCB

I can't quite tell from the photo but which one is William and which one is Charles?

09-03-2021, 09:16 PM
I can't quite tell from the photo but which one is William and which one is Charles?

Philip's the one in the hood.

09-03-2021, 09:48 PM
Philip's the one in the hood.

One of his fave get ups from the old Profumo party days.

09-03-2021, 09:54 PM
Oh, that’s ok then.

I'm not saying it's OK, but as beensaidbefore is pointing out, you'd think they and the press would get their stories straight about such a potentially damaging allegation.

09-03-2021, 10:50 PM
https://scontent.fman1-2.fna.fbcdn.net/v/t1.0-9/158789798_4019303818120058_7759133393348509092_n.j pg?_nc_cat=108&ccb=1-3&_nc_sid=8bfeb9&_nc_ohc=yUT8K9o2klkAX_xg8Vb&_nc_oc=AQk_cf8C-2L6-eEzJXTqYyeAF4V0nySwdJyeUB6tYmy3WTuE6Ig_D7a8R3MqukF KtgE&_nc_ht=scontent.fman1-2.fna&oh=40e5df1bb88030f66ddbe1d46950caf5&oe=606D4180

we know you're still there Andy, hiding under mummys skirt

10-03-2021, 12:27 AM

No such thing as a free lunch as they say here.

10-03-2021, 12:29 AM
Maybe Harry could set up a security company.

Join a PMC, they pay big money for ex military.Especially officers.

10-03-2021, 06:30 AM
Cool reaction from the Palace - recollections may differ.

beensaidbefore
10-03-2021, 07:21 AM
It's a long time since I found anything in the British press "odd".

What would you call it? Spin, lies?

10-03-2021, 07:27 AM
I'm not saying it's OK, but as beensaidbefore is pointing out, you'd think they and the press would get their stories straight about such a potentially damaging allegation.

It’s interesting what you find most relevant to comment on. It is irrelevant whether Charles made the racist comment before or after the pregnancy announcement, it’s equally serious whichever, surely that’s obvious unless you are trying to distract from the serious accusations the couple have made. That’s what 90% of the media coverage has sought to do, which isn’t surprising.

So yesterday the society of editors (I think), the group representing the fat cats of the British press, called the understated claim that there is racism in some elements of the couples press coverage’ (an understated accusation if you look at the evidence), as ‘unacceptable’. Which is just unbelievable. It represents the same rejection of BLM, #metoo, that you see when gammons like Farage or Morgan have their wee on air tantrums, or millwall boo the knee. It offends them because they don’t want to change. Morgan likes bullying a mixed race woman who is reporting a mental health crisis and suicidal thoughts and calling her a liar. When does this become acceptable :dunno:

10-03-2021, 07:50 AM
What would you call it? Spin, lies?To tell the truth how can l call it anything? I've not looked at the press and dont know all the whys and wherefores. I'd have to see the actual quotes or better still see footage of them actually contradicting each other. All I have at the moment to make up my mind is some posts on a football forum.

beensaidbefore
10-03-2021, 09:47 AM
To tell the truth how can l call it anything? I've not looked at the press and dont know all the whys and wherefores. I'd have to see the actual quotes or better still see footage of them actually contradicting each other. All I have at the moment to make up my mind is some posts on a football forum.

Might be worth watching it if you're trying form an opinion of your own.

10-03-2021, 09:59 AM
Might be worth watching it if you're trying form an opinion of your own.Yeah, but am not giving it the time. Just commenting on the veracity of the press in this country. You can put all the trust you want in them, I can choose where to put my trust as well.

beensaidbefore
10-03-2021, 10:05 AM
Yeah, but am not giving it the time. Just commenting on the veracity of the press in this country. You can put all the trust you want in them, I can choose where to put my trust as well.

Fair do's

10-03-2021, 11:45 AM
https://youtu.be/N3mT5hivU9k

10-03-2021, 12:34 PM
https://youtu.be/N3mT5hivU9k

This is pretty much my 4 minute rant yesterday

10-03-2021, 04:53 PM
Probably posted already but 'one' found this rather amusing.

https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=tTdAQAT80aM

10-03-2021, 07:41 PM
https://www.allvipp.com/amp/royals/old-clip-shows-piers-morgan-ghosted-by-meghan-markle-after-date?utm_medium=referral&utm_source=upday.samsung.browser

Piers ghosted by Meghan.

Couldnae care less but, still quite amusing.

10-03-2021, 10:49 PM
https://www.allvipp.com/amp/royals/old-clip-shows-piers-morgan-ghosted-by-meghan-markle-after-date?utm_medium=referral&utm_source=upday.samsung.browser

Piers ghosted by Meghan.

Couldnae care less but, still quite amusing.

Hilarious that Piers Morgan has been calling folk snowflakes for ages and then he does his because someone hurt his feelings.

11-03-2021, 06:04 AM
Hilarious that Piers Morgan has been calling folk snowflakes for ages and then he does his because someone hurt his feelings.

Did he really expect a close relationship with a royal?

11-03-2021, 06:12 AM
Did he really expect a close relationship with a royal?

From what I understand it was Meghan that befriended Morgan online while she was still appearing in Suits - obviously having him as a contact suited her. Apparently immediately after she met Harry she immediately blanked Morgan and plenty other showbiz connections.

Speaks volumes if true.

11-03-2021, 06:23 AM
I'm not keeping up with this story. What colours did the baby eventually turn out to have? In particular, does he have red hair like his grandfather? :dunno:

11-03-2021, 07:00 AM
From what I understand it was Meghan that befriended Morgan online while she was still appearing in Suits - obviously having him as a contact suited her. Apparently immediately after she met Harry she immediately blanked Morgan and plenty other showbiz connections.

Speaks volumes if true.

Not sure there is much if true. Is "befriended" the right word? Were they really friends at any point I wonder? Or was this a mutually beneficial commercial relationship? Piers is extremely naive to think they'd continue this connection when she became a royal.

I'm also sure he had other reasons for "befriending" her - I doubt he just wanted to someone to go to the pub with. He will have seen this is a professional relationship to gain from, just like Trump, and is now having a tantrum as this person has eclipsed him in importance and dared to cut off contact with him.

This whole thing has been orchestrated imo just to give him an excuse to joint the new right wing news channel coming along.

11-03-2021, 07:13 AM
Not sure there is much if true. Is "befriended" the right word? Were they really friends at any point I wonder? Or was this a mutually beneficial commercial relationship? Piers is extremely naive to think they'd continue this connection when she became a royal.

I'm also sure he had other reasons for "befriending" her - I doubt he just wanted to someone to go to the pub with. He will have seen this is a professional relationship to gain from, just like Trump, and is now having a tantrum as this person has eclipsed him in importance and dared to cut off contact with him.

This whole thing has been orchestrated imo just to give him an excuse to joint the new right wing news channel coming along.

Possibly.

I don't like Morgan, I'm indifferent to the royal family and I don't trust Meghan either.

I do think it's daft how everything has been blow out of proportion.

An ex tabloid editor turned daytime TV presenter takes the hump and it's national news while certain media are questioning whether this is the end of the monarchy.

It's not like there are more important things happening in the world.

11-03-2021, 07:25 AM

Speaks volumes if true.

It only speaks to the fact that she’s well out of the slimy comebuckets league. Piers Morgan? Please. He’s enough to turn Marc Almond to heterosexuality.

11-03-2021, 08:13 AM
Possibly.

I don't like Morgan, I'm indifferent to the royal family and I don't trust Meghan either.

I do think it's daft how everything has been blow out of proportion.

An ex tabloid editor turned daytime TV presenter takes the hump and it's national news while certain media are questioning whether this is the end of the monarchy.

It's not like there are more important things happening in the world.

I'd be more than happy to done with Morgan and the Royals as well. Actually, my biggest gripe is how quickly the press have forgotten the mountains of evidence that Prince Andrew is a sexual predator and pedophile. Now that is a story worth investigating and continually focusing on.

11-03-2021, 08:16 AM
Actually, my biggest gripe is how quickly the press have forgotten the mountains of evidence that Prince Andrew is a sexual predator and pedophile. Now that is a story worth investigating and continually focusing on.

What on earth are you hinting at? That a foreigner is being used as some sort of distraction/scapegoat? In England? Shirley not. :tsk tsk:

11-03-2021, 10:22 AM

Speaks volumes if true.

Not necessarily. Morgan was editor of the Mirror when they were involved in phone hacking and (probably, would need to check the timeline) Diana hounding. Harry has a deep seated hatred of the press by all accounts because of his mum. I'd imagine that might create difficulties for an ongoing Megan/Morgan connection.

Suspect Morgan's real beef with the whole thing is anything getting in the way of the cosy symbiosis between press and royals. There's a metaphor in there somewhere if I could think of it: wonder if hyenas get leeches? :hmmm:

11-03-2021, 10:59 AM
https://uploads.tapatalk-cdn.com/20210311/b2f53a31910b93910f423b868ea264a4.png

12-03-2021, 01:01 PM
What a mad, crazy island-and-a-bit this place is

https://mobile.twitter.com/BritainElects/status/1370340976640811008

12-03-2021, 01:14 PM

Getting shot of them is not something that enters many people's heads. Asking the question is akin to treason.

12-03-2021, 01:20 PM

Mostly because of the lack of imagination that's resulted in the only alternative in the public mind being a retired politician everyone now hates. :rolleyes:

12-03-2021, 03:07 PM
The press are to blame for this whole nonsense.
They build people up and knock them down.
The Queen knows this and she'll just carry on. I hope Prince William has her stickability too. He's going to need it.

12-03-2021, 04:35 PM
What was the result of the poll on the monarchy in Scotland?

12-03-2021, 08:13 PM
What was the result of the poll on the monarchy in Scotland?

It was a Scotsman poll so they forgot to weight it for people who give a **** but it was 51% in favour of Meghan.

13-03-2021, 08:47 AM
It was a Scotsman poll so they forgot to weight it for people who give a **** but it was 51% in favour of Meghan.

15-03-2021, 09:54 AM
I wonder how the media would react to Meghan Markle having been paying her respects without a mask on

13-09-2021, 07:03 AM
As a lifelong Republican, I just don’t understand the continuing popularity.

This weekend we have alleged rapist Andrew with a taste for very young girls, holed up in Balmarol with his mother the Queen, who has been linked with lobbying to have her properties made exempt from expensive climate change mitigation policies. Boris and Carrie Symonds have joined them up there. More government figures and donors than ever the beneficiaries of the honours system. Meanwhile the Times’ publishing stories today about Charles’ accepting six figure sums from a Russian businessman looking for a British passport. This money is then moved between different charities without apparent oversight. Theres a stench of corruption, money peddling influence. across a range of activities. The Meghan affair hasn’t long blown over, and a time when deference to all sorts of other authority seems to be at an all time low, the Firm seems to be exempt from being in anyone’s firing line. Certainly there’s no organised political discussion about it.

14-09-2021, 09:31 AM
As a lifelong Republican, I just don’t understand the continuing popularity.

This weekend we have alleged rapist Andrew with a taste for very young girls, holed up in Balmarol with his mother the Queen, who has been linked with lobbying to have her properties made exempt from expensive climate change mitigation policies. Boris and Carrie Symonds have joined them up there. More government figures and donors than ever the beneficiaries of the honours system. Meanwhile the Times’ publishing stories today about Charles’ accepting six figure sums from a Russian businessman looking for a British passport. This money is then moved between different charities without apparent oversight. Theres a stench of corruption, money peddling influence. across a range of activities. The Meghan affair hasn’t long blown over, and a time when deference to all sorts of other authority seems to be at an all time low, the Firm seems to be exempt from being in anyone’s firing line. Certainly there’s no organised political discussion about it.

Eyes on the prize. Independence first.

Republic next.

I’d go further and nationalise their land.

The rich and powerful have been pinching land since Norman times, when a spear and a sword got you land and title.

Archaic.

14-09-2021, 09:37 AM
There’s massive advertising boards in Asda with andrews face on them and the words, no one is above the law. There was another one but I didn’t catch what it said.

14-09-2021, 09:43 AM
There’s massive advertising boards in Asda with andrews face on them and the words, no one is above the law. There was another one but I didn’t catch what it said.https://www.thenational.scot/news/19574628.virginia-giuffre-case-prince-andrew-billboards-appear-outside-edinburgh-asda/

https://www.google.co.uk/amp/s/www.express.co.uk/news/royal/1468834/royal-family-news-republic-billboard-campaign-anti-monarchy-prince-charles-queen-elizabeth/amp

14-09-2021, 09:45 AM
https://www.thenational.scot/news/19574628.virginia-giuffre-case-prince-andrew-billboards-appear-outside-edinburgh-asda/

https://www.google.co.uk/amp/s/www.express.co.uk/news/royal/1468834/royal-family-news-republic-billboard-campaign-anti-monarchy-prince-charles-queen-elizabeth/amp

That’s the ones I saw. It’s the Asda at the jewel.

14-09-2021, 09:52 AM
https://twitter.com/STVNews/status/1437672005231419394?s=19

Sent from my VOG-L29 using Tapatalk

14-09-2021, 10:05 AM

Weird, I could have sworn he said he has no recollection of ever meeting this young lady, now his defence claim they can serve signed documents from her that will exonerate him.

14-09-2021, 10:05 AM

When does Ghislaine Maxwell come to trial? He'll be sweating* over that for sure.

* metaphorically.

14-09-2021, 10:06 AM
Weird, I could have sworn he said he has no recollection of ever meeting this young lady, now his defence claim they can serve signed documents from her that will exonerate him.

"I've never met you but here's a large wodge of cash to shut up about it."

Entirely plausible, I'm sure.

14-09-2021, 10:53 AM

That wasn't how I interpreted what was being said. I took it to mean that his lawyers were arguing that whatever previous legal agreement she had made included some kind of catch all clause that meant no-one else could be pursued. Whether he is guilty or innocent would then make no difference because he is included in the catch all 'no-one else'. Different if it was a criminal case but this is a civil one and in a foreign jurisdiction so little is like to come of it anyway, though our resident .net m'luds (there must be some legal eagles on here surely?) may be able to advise differently.

14-09-2021, 11:06 AM
That wasn't how I interpreted what was being said. I took it to mean that his lawyers were arguing that whatever previous legal agreement she had made included some kind of catch all clause that meant no-one else could be pursued. Whether he is guilty or innocent would then make no difference because he is included in the catch all 'no-one else'. Different if it was a criminal case but this is a civil one and in a foreign jurisdiction so little is like to come of it anyway, though our resident .net m'luds (there must be some legal eagles on here surely?) may be able to advise differently.

"There has been a settlement agreement that the plaintiff has entered into in a prior action that releases the duke and others from any and all potential liability."

That suggests that he's been named specifically in the document, which begs the question...

Also the defence of not have been properly served papers when hiding behind his police protection is very bad patter.

14-09-2021, 11:43 AM
"There has been a settlement agreement that the plaintiff has entered into in a prior action that releases the duke and others from any and all potential liability."

That suggests that he's been named specifically in the document, which begs the question...

Also the defence of not have been properly served papers when hiding behind his police protection is very bad patter.

I found this in the Express:

"Madeley explained one of Prince Andrew’s lines of defence was to open up a private agreement which Ms Guiffre reached with the royal's late friend and convicted paedophile, Jeffrey Epstein.

Ms Guiffre agreed to reach a settlement and not go after Epstein or members of his circle she had alleged had assaulted her sexually.

Prince Andrew’s lawyers have asked to see these papers and Madeley asked Mr Roberts if Prince Andrew is mentioned in the document."

His lawyers seem not to know if that settlement gives him a 'get out of jail free' card or not. Presumably that's why they are asking for a copy of it.

I think one of the biggest threats to Prince Andrew in all of this is Prince Andrew. The man's a bona fide idiot. Cannot believe he was allowed to fly helicopters.

14-09-2021, 11:47 AM
I found this in the Express:

"Madeley explained one of Prince Andrew’s lines of defence was to open up a private agreement which Ms Guiffre reached with the royal's late friend and convicted paedophile, Jeffrey Epstein.

Ms Guiffre agreed to reach a settlement and not go after Epstein or members of his circle she had alleged had assaulted her sexually.

Prince Andrew’s lawyers have asked to see these papers and Madeley asked Mr Roberts if Prince Andrew is mentioned in the document."

His lawyers seem not to know if that settlement gives him a 'get out of jail free' card or not. Presumably that's why they are asking for a copy of it.

I think one of the biggest threats to Prince Andrew in all of this is Prince Andrew. The man's a bona fide idiot. Cannot believe he was allowed to fly helicopters.

And the judge won't rule on whether to demand release of this document until it's been decided whether Andrew was correctly served papers.

Just_Jimmy
14-09-2021, 10:36 PM
Let's trade him for Anne Sacoolas and let's have justice for all.

Sent from my SM-G991B using Tapatalk

15-09-2021, 09:08 AM
Let's trade him for Anne Sacoolas and let's have justice for all.

Sent from my SM-G991B using Tapatalk

I'd be happy with that.

15-09-2021, 09:51 AM
I'd be happy with that.To be fair I'd be happy to trade him for a 1988 Ford Fiesta with no MOT.

15-09-2021, 09:53 AM
To be fair I'd be happy to trade him for a 1988 Ford Fiesta with no MOT.

Does Prince Andrew have an MOT?

15-09-2021, 09:59 AM

:dunno:Not fit for purpose I'd say.

15-09-2021, 10:22 AM

He needs a new sweat valve although his ball joints are good, apparently 😉

15-09-2021, 12:01 PM
When does Ghislaine Maxwell come to trial? He'll be sweating* over that for sure.

* metaphorically.

I'm sure it was mentioned on the SKY Documentaries programme a couple of months ago that it's due to start next month.

19-09-2021, 12:19 PM
https://rozenberg.substack.com/p/has-andrew-been-failed-by-his-lawyers?token=eyJ1c2VyX2lkIjoxNDczNzQzOCwicG9zdF9p ZCI6NDE1MTQ1NDEsIl8iOiJxTUJwQiIsImlhdCI6MTYzMjA0MT g1OCwiZXhwIjoxNjMyMDQ1NDU4LCJpc3MiOiJwdWItNzk1MzAi LCJzdWIiOiJwb3N0LXJlYWN0aW9uIn0.7aQZEYG6ZpxB9Ybov4 CwFpT7ls6FK-0TYKSNp0EB3d0

They are going to have to settle out of court at some point. There is no other option for them. And it will be for a lot of money, something that will hurt them more than anything else.

19-09-2021, 12:45 PM
https://rozenberg.substack.com/p/has-andrew-been-failed-by-his-lawyers?token=eyJ1c2VyX2lkIjoxNDczNzQzOCwicG9zdF9p ZCI6NDE1MTQ1NDEsIl8iOiJxTUJwQiIsImlhdCI6MTYzMjA0MT g1OCwiZXhwIjoxNjMyMDQ1NDU4LCJpc3MiOiJwdWItNzk1MzAi LCJzdWIiOiJwb3N0LXJlYWN0aW9uIn0.7aQZEYG6ZpxB9Ybov4 CwFpT7ls6FK-0TYKSNp0EB3d0

They are going to have to settle out of court at some point. There is no other option for them. And it will be for a lot of money, something that will hurt them more than anything else.

It wouldn't hurt them. They have a ready made cash cow in the form of the UK tax-payer to keep them nice and sheltered.

Him going to jail as a nonce would hurt them.

19-09-2021, 12:55 PM
I'm sure it was mentioned on the SKY Documentaries programme a couple of months ago that it's due to start next month.

Better get the popcorn in!

19-09-2021, 10:03 PM
Prince Charles ‘cash-for-honours’ scandal grows with fresh allegations | Prince Charles | The Guardian (https://www.theguardian.com/uk-news/2021/sep/19/prince-charles-cash-for-honours-scandal-grows-with-fresh-allegations?utm_term=Autofeed&CMP=twt_gu&utm_medium&utm_source=Twitter#Echobox=1632072010)

sc*m, the lot of them

Prince Charles “met at least nine times” with William Bortrick, the alleged fixer at the heart of the claims, who is said to have received thousands of pounds to secure an honour for a Saudi billionaire and brokered a personal thank you letter from Charles to a Russian donor, the Sunday Times reported (https://www.thetimes.co.uk/article/prince-charles-met-fixer-nine-times-539nrt7bw).
Clarence House has previously said it had “no knowledge” of the practice of paid intermediaries arranging access to the royal family or honours in exchange for donations to the prince’s charities.

20-09-2021, 08:13 AM
Prince Charles ‘cash-for-honours’ scandal grows with fresh allegations | Prince Charles | The Guardian (https://www.theguardian.com/uk-news/2021/sep/19/prince-charles-cash-for-honours-scandal-grows-with-fresh-allegations?utm_term=Autofeed&CMP=twt_gu&utm_medium&utm_source=Twitter#Echobox=1632072010)

sc*m, the lot of them

Prince Charles “met at least nine times” with William Bortrick, the alleged fixer at the heart of the claims, who is said to have received thousands of pounds to secure an honour for a Saudi billionaire and brokered a personal thank you letter from Charles to a Russian donor, the Sunday Times reported (https://www.thetimes.co.uk/article/prince-charles-met-fixer-nine-times-539nrt7bw).
Clarence House has previously said it had “no knowledge” of the practice of paid intermediaries arranging access to the royal family or honours in exchange for donations to the prince’s charities.

I'm not familiar with the honours system, but I don't think foreign nationals can be given honours. They can be given a version of the OBE, CBE etc but I don't think the full honours are bestowed.

20-09-2021, 08:36 AM
I'm not familiar with the honours system, but I don't think foreign nationals can be given honours. They can be given a version of the OBE, CBE etc but I don't think the full honours are bestowed.

The article mentions honours or citizenship so I'm guessing o e would have followed the other had it not been rumbled?

20-09-2021, 08:44 AM

I think they can get all the above just with the word Honoury before it. That’s enough for some people. The whole honours system is a money making racket. I can’t believe that some honest people still take them. I’d be embarrassed in case people thought I’d bought it.

20-09-2021, 04:32 PM

sc*m, the lot of them

Absolute whack-jobs the people who cow-tow to these gangsters. "Prince", "Lord", "Earl" - medieval trickery to get people to bow to them whilst they milk our wealth.

05-10-2021, 06:45 AM
https://twitter.com/skynews/status/1445145727202697218?s=21

Corrupt to the core.

11-10-2021, 08:48 AM
Job done on Prince Andrew one might say

https://twitter.com/SholaMos1/status/1447335095887699971?t=DtEjSVQ8cIPLE0XefaoEYg&s=19

11-10-2021, 11:16 AM

https://twitter.com/SholaMos1/status/1447335095887699971?t=DtEjSVQ8cIPLE0XefaoEYg&s=19

One arm of the establishment linked to serial sexual abuse declines to go after another arm of the establishment linked to serial sexual abuse.

Quelle surprise.

11-10-2021, 05:27 PM

There was literally zero chance the UK police would ever assist in this investigation.

11-10-2021, 05:57 PM
https://waterfordwhispersnews.com/2021/10/11/royal-mint-unveils-commemorative-prince-andrew-evading-sexual-abuse-charges-coin/

11-10-2021, 08:45 PM
https://twitter.com/skynews/status/1445145727202697218?s=21

Corrupt to the core.

Another Tory caught, the sleaze is becoming standard practice in that party.

29-12-2021, 05:38 PM
https://www.theguardian.com/uk-news/2021/dec/29/prince-andrew-lawyer-seeks-to-halt-us-case-as-accuser-lives-in-australia

The actions of an innocent man?

29-12-2021, 07:28 PM
Some twitter chatter on Prince William being a naughty boy