View Full Version : The Firm
Pages :
[
3]
21-05-2022, 08:39 AM
We've been informed by the bairns nursery that they will be having a jubilee garden party. The kids should dress up and there will be bunting and songs and so on.
I want to keep my daughter off. Of course it's just a party really but it starts an association at an early age that the royals are something to be feted and celebrated. Apparently I'm being unreasonable though and it's not fair to make her miss a party with her friends.
I’m on the militant end of the Republican scale but personally I’d let my little one go to that kind of thing. Harmless fun. Just explain the blood soaked reality of the British Empire afterwards :greengrin
21-05-2022, 09:12 AM
We've been informed by the bairns nursery that they will be having a jubilee garden party. The kids should dress up and there will be bunting and songs and so on.
I want to keep my daughter off. Of course it's just a party really but it starts an association at an early age that the royals are something to be feted and celebrated. Apparently I'm being unreasonable though and it's not fair to make her miss a party with her friends.
It's just a kids party. I was always pretty relaxed about things like this, I trusted my boys to make up their own minds as they grew up. They did alright. :greengrin
Bridge hibs
21-05-2022, 10:17 AM
Dress the wean as Guy Fawkes? Or braveheart 😉When my Daughter was a kid there was a fancy dress party at her school, we at the time couldnt afford to hire a costume for her so I got an old Dyson hoover box from the shed and jazzed it up into a fire works box with pictures of rockets etc and warnings on the box not to let kids near fire works etc and all the dangers
I made her walk to school wearing the box, head out the top, arms out the side and legs sticking out the bottom, poor wee mite was mortified as she clunked down the road and then seeing her friends dressed as Harry Potter etc
By the way, she won prize for best costume, so proud I was 🤣
21-05-2022, 10:23 AM
Let the kid go to the party. We’re atheist as well but when the school do a church thing I let my kids go to that no problem. My eldest is an atheist now but one of his favourite subjects is religious, moral and philosophical studies. It’s good for kids to understand the society the grow up in.
Stairway 2 7
21-05-2022, 11:48 AM
Let the kid go to the party. We’re atheist as well but when the school do a church thing I let my kids go to that no problem. My eldest is an atheist now but one of his favourite subjects is religious, moral and philosophical studies. It’s good for kids to understand the society the grow up in.
I'm an atheist.at school got constant fairy stories about guys walking on water and women having kids without getting their Nat King, also constantly sung all the songs and had the parties ect. Obviously doesn't sink in to a kid.
22-05-2022, 07:36 PM
Dress her as Prince Andrew.
Dress her as Prince Andrew.Dress her as Prince. Dress her as Sid Vicious. Join in with the pageantry. Diana should be popular. Edward VIII and his mort, a half and half suit. Richard III. Oliver Cromwell. Oliver. The auld queen mum, with actual popcorn for teeth. Jane Asher. Geoffrey Epstein. The Kaiser. Fergie, not the manager. Koo Stark. Zombie Prince Albert. .
Sent from my SM-A528B using Tapatalk
23-05-2022, 05:54 AM
24-05-2022, 08:59 AM
I just moved house, and we've just had an invitation through the door to a street party for the Queens jubilee. I'm wondering if I can mock up a Prince Andrew mugshot t-shirt, with "I blame the parents" written above it
The Tubs
24-05-2022, 10:31 AM
I just moved house, and we've just had an invitation through the door to a street party for the Queens jubilee. I'm wondering if I can mock up a Prince Andrew mugshot t-shirt, with "I blame the parents" written above it
Do it!
25-05-2022, 03:27 PM
various cities/towns in England and Scotland(Glasgow and Dundee)
https://assets.nationbuilder.com/republic/mailings/166/attachments/original/FTmev2wWAAI5egf.jpg?1653486929
https://assets.nationbuilder.com/republic/mailings/166/attachments/original/FTmev2xWIAACRDt.jpg?1653486908
25-05-2022, 04:02 PM
https://news.stv.tv/world/nation-asked-to-sing-england-football-anthem-sweet-caroline-for-queens-platinum-jubilee
What the actual....
25-05-2022, 04:16 PM
https://news.stv.tv/world/nation-asked-to-sing-england-football-anthem-sweet-caroline-for-queens-platinum-jubilee
What the actual....
It’s about people having fun. And after two years of Covid I wouldn’t grudge anybody an excuse to party. It’s definitely not my thing but I hope all those who do want to use this as an excuse for a street party have a great time. Live and let live.
25-05-2022, 04:33 PM
It’s about people having fun. And after two years of Covid I wouldn’t grudge anybody an excuse to party. It’s definitely not my thing but I hope all those who do want to use this as an excuse for a street party have a great time. Live and let live.
More to do with the choice of song. Im not sure lillibet will know the words. 😉
https://news.stv.tv/sport/rangers-postpone-season-ticket-renewal-deadline-in-recognition-of-the-queens-platinum-jubilee
That on the other hand was a major cock up by the club, trying to reign on her parade 😂
25-05-2022, 05:03 PM
More to do with the choice of song.
For all we know Caroline might be one of The Queen's 13 or 14 middle names. Perhaps even a secret one, like the contents of royal wills, which are not for us subjects to know or worry our heads about.
25-05-2022, 05:35 PM
70% off.... i can't make my mind up
https://scontent.fman1-1.fna.fbcdn.net/v/t45.1600-4/280344024_23851472943330543_8075574812417779812_n. jpg?stp=cp0_dst-jpg_p526x296_q75_spS444&_nc_cat=110&ccb=1-7&_nc_sid=e84a38&_nc_ohc=jStKIFl8uFUAX8Ih3m5&_nc_ht=scontent.fman1-1.fna&oh=00_AT90r16euIeNbilJmLCvD3qGqu9DJ1XaHuAAznoGr7zu Fw&oe=62928322
aye ******* right
25-05-2022, 05:48 PM
What the actual....
"F... the queen" fits quite nicely into those 3 notes after the "Sweet Caroline" part of the chorus though.
like the contents of royal wills, which are not for us subjects to know or worry our heads about.
...mainly cos we will be getting f all from it.
25-05-2022, 05:59 PM
What the actual....
As if we haven't had enough of it...football, darts, betting ads. Just happens to be a song I've despised since it was released when I was in primary 6!
27-05-2022, 12:45 PM
Found this and thought of you 😉
When your daughter’s school is making them dress as royalty… https://t.co/csMKisf1HO
MKHIBEE
27-05-2022, 01:17 PM
How do they cope with kids whose parents are Jehovah’s Witnesses?
27-05-2022, 01:35 PM
You've not just moved to Dunbar have you? My parents got one through the door that went swiftly in the bin.
27-05-2022, 10:44 PM
http://assets.nationbuilder.com/republic/sites/1/meta_images/original/mainlogo_wbg.png?1601303067
54% of people in Britain are not interested in the Platinum Jubilee. That’s according to a YouGov poll commissioned by Republic earlier this week.
The poll showed 54% were ‘not very’ (29%) or ‘not at all’ (25%) interested in the event, with just 11% 'very interested'.
A majority were not interested in all nations and regions, with Scotland showing the least interest.
There was also a majority not interested in the Jubilee in all age groups except the over-65s.
The findings come despite widespread favourable coverage of the Jubilee over the past few weeks.
The royals have clearly failed to inspire much interest in the jubilee, despite the enthusiastic support of large sections of the media. Rather than being a national celebration, the jubilee is a minority interest. The lack of interest across the country and all age groups under 65 shows the monarchy's future is in serious doubt.
This shouldn't come as a surprise, particularly at the moment while so many are struggling to put food on the table or to pay their energy bills. But this public indifference to the royals goes beyond current crises, this is a long-term crisis of legitimacy for the monarchy.
We already know from a recent poll that support for the monarchy has fallen sharply over the past ten years, from 75% to 60%, while support for abolition has jumped to more than 1 in 4.
The Queen is by far the most popular royal. If this is the public response to a celebration of her reign, then the monarchy will be in serious trouble when Charles ascends to the throne.
A Great Conference Line-upFormer Jamaican ambassador Curtis Ward, Green Party Australian senator Mehreen Faruqi and Professor Jenny Hocking will be joined by Norman Baker, Tommy Sheppard MP and many more great speakers at the very first International Anti-Monarchy Conference on June 4.
28-05-2022, 12:56 PM
https://www.irishtimes.com/culture/tv-radio-web/harry-and-meghan-the-union-of-two-great-houses-the-windsors-and-the-celebrities-is-complete-1.4504502
A great read.
28-05-2022, 04:06 PM
https://www.irishtimes.com/culture/tv-radio-web/harry-and-meghan-the-union-of-two-great-houses-the-windsors-and-the-celebrities-is-complete-1.4504502
A great read.
More about events 15 months ago than now, but the clown metaphor dump was brilliant.
28-05-2022, 04:59 PM
Just got asked if it's okay to put some flags up on our lamp post, haven't actually got a lamp post but told the guy it belongs to the council and I'd prefer if he didn't enter my property to access it. Was asked how else I thought he was going to be able to get it up.
Maybe the dog will help.He is German as well.[emoji16]
https://uploads.tapatalk-cdn.com/20220528/0f30a4718a96c59cf56a19a3ffd1c243.jpg
28-05-2022, 06:20 PM
Just got asked if it's okay to put some flags up on our lamp post, haven't actually got a lamp post but told the guy it belongs to the council and I'd prefer if he didn't enter my property to access it. Was asked how else I thought he was going to be able to get it up.
https://uploads.tapatalk-cdn.com/20220528/0f30a4718a96c59cf56a19a3ffd1c243.jpgHe's looking particularly helpful in that pic if you ask me! :greengrin
28-05-2022, 08:26 PM
He's looking particularly helpful in that pic if you ask me! :greengrinNae loyalist monarchist running dogs in my family[emoji6]
28-05-2022, 08:44 PM
https://uploads.tapatalk-cdn.com/20220528/0f30a4718a96c59cf56a19a3ffd1c243.jpg
He’s a cracker! What’s he called?
28-05-2022, 08:44 PM
Nae loyalist monarchist running dogs in my family[emoji6]
Sent from my SM-A750FN using TapatalkHa ha.. Still think he's looking particularly helpful at ensuring any flags will only be put without recourse of entry to.yer garden :greengrin
28-05-2022, 08:46 PM
He’s a cracker! What’s he called?Hooper, hes the son's dug but is equally at home wherever[emoji16]
28-05-2022, 10:43 PM
He’s a cracker! What’s he called?
He is, tae! Good boy!
28-05-2022, 10:56 PM
Go Bristol :agree:
Bristol pubs announce 'F*** the Jubilee' three day punk festival - Bristol Live (bristolpost.co.uk) (https://www.bristolpost.co.uk/whats-on/bristol-pubs-announce-f-jubilee-7087590?fbclid=IwAR2trG-w2U1Y-TfvgFWyNq6sb_gnbtz-Qpd0XLptfNXtOc20-FhhNuyvyaU)
While much of the UK will be celebrating the 70th anniversary of the reign of Queen Elizabeth II, people in one corner of Bristol will be holding an alternative event entitled ‘F*** The Jubilee’.
The festival event takes place across three different pub venues on three different days and evenings in Easton from Thursday June 2 to Saturday June 4. The three-day festival kicks off (https://fb.me/e/1HuV3tFK8) at the Lion pub on the Thursday, with punk bands including Social Experiment, Drunken Marksman and Mutilated State.
On the Friday, the Easton Punk Festival moves to the Chelsea Inn, where Disorder, Money and Cocaine are performing. And on the Saturday, there’s an ‘all-dayer’ at The Plough, from 4pm to 2am with DJs and bands and music acts from the Rita Lynch Band to Kiss Me Killer and Hierarchy.
The Easton Punk Festival follows in a long tradition of punk protesting against the celebrations of monarchy. The Queen’s Silver Jubilee was marked by the release of The Sex Pistols’ alternative national anthem God Save The Queen, complete with an image of Queen Elizabeth with her nose pierced.
Surely if this was the case, they wouldn't be treating the 3rd as a public holiday? They would go to their places of work if employed, force entry if necessary and insist on doing a normal day's work :confused:
Soinds like a paid Friday off in June trumps some folk's self-professed rejection of societal norms :greengrin
28-05-2022, 11:15 PM
Surely if this was the case, they wouldn't be treating the 3rd as a public holiday? They would go to their places of work if employed, force entry if necessary and insist on doing a normal day's work :confused:
Soinds like a paid Friday off in June trumps some folk's self-professed rejection of societal norms :greengrinThat makes absolutely no sense
They would/should break into there work places and likley be fired coz they object to the monarchy?
Sent from my VOG-L29 using Tapatalk
28-05-2022, 11:42 PM
That makes absolutely no sense
They would/should break into there work places and likley be fired coz they object to the monarchy?
Steady. The quote was how punks supposedly protested against celebrations of the monarchy. The public holiday is intrinsic in allowing people to do so, so why not protest aginst that?
Anyway, it was tongue-in-cheek as well you know, I imagine.
29-05-2022, 08:49 AM
I for one can’t wait for the imminent return of the old measurements. Get this metric nonsense tae **** I say. ‘A Hogshead of IPA please barman, and I’ll take an ell of vodka tonic for the wife’, ‘That’ll be three thousand duckets please’. That’s if we’re not all speaking Russian by then, thanks to Prime Minister Corbyn and his close connection with non German speaking oligarchs. Nurse?!
29-05-2022, 09:03 AM
I for one can’t wait for the imminent return of the old measurements. Get this metric nonsense tae **** I say. ‘A Hogshead of IPA please barman, and I’ll take an ell of vodka tonic for the wife’, ‘That’ll be three thousand duckets please’. That’s if we’re not all speaking Russian by then, thanks to Prime Minister Corbyn and his close connection with non German speaking oligarchs. Nurse?!Will Rees Mogg be required to set a maximum height for small boys going up chimneys?
29-05-2022, 10:02 AM
I for one can’t wait for the imminent return of the old measurements. Get this metric nonsense tae **** I say. ‘A Hogshead of IPA please barman, and I’ll take an ell of vodka tonic for the wife’, ‘That’ll be three thousand duckets please’. That’s if we’re not all speaking Russian by then, thanks to Prime Minister Corbyn and his close connection with non German speaking oligarchs. Nurse?!
Making it compulsory to stand up for GSTQ will help weed out those malingering disabled spongers.
29-05-2022, 10:36 AM
Some chancer closely connected to a cabinet minister will undertake this review into imperial measurements. They'll make a lot of (public) money, recommend shops can display both (which they can already) then we'll hear no more about it.
My parents are both in their early 60s and were taught metric measurements at school. It's just another bizarre obsession with a non existent golden age.
29-05-2022, 11:16 AM
Some chancer closely connected to a cabinet minister will undertake this review into imperial measurements. They'll make a lot of (public) money, recommend shops can display both (which they can already) then we'll hear no more about it.
My parents are both in their early 60s and were taught metric measurements at school. It's just another bizarre obsession with a non existent golden age.
Or 'taking back control' and 'getting brexit done' by 'showing them foreigners' 'how to party' and '*uck the plebs'
Stairway 2 7
29-05-2022, 12:04 PM
Nigel says it would be a show of control taking back imperial measurements, that most of the population haven't been taught at school
29-05-2022, 12:18 PM
Nigel says it would be a show of control taking back imperial measurements, that most of the population haven't been taught at school
The thing is we still use imperial in everyday life without thinking about it.
Miles per hour for speed limits, I always say I'm 6'3" if asked and not whatever that is in metres, my weight I can do in both pounds and KGs, when I run I measure in kms up to 10K but anything longer is miles and my running watch is programed to do both, we still order pints rather than 568ml in pubs, most butchers will still know what a pound of something equates to in grams, my other big spectator sport is horse racing and that's still measured in furlongs.....
The review is just nonsensical. Another sop to the 'taking back control' brigade and their manufactured grudges.
Stairway 2 7
29-05-2022, 12:20 PM
The thing is we still use imperial in everyday life without thinking about it.
Miles per hour for speed limits, I always say I'm 6'3" if asked and not whatever that is in metres, my weight I can do in both pounds and KGs, when I run I measure in kms up to 10K but anything longer is miles and my running watch is programed to do both, we still order pints rather than 568ml in pubs, most butchers will still know what a pound of something equates to in grams, my other big spectator sport is horse racing and that's still measured in furlongs.....
The review is just nonsensical. Another sop to the 'taking back control' brigade and their manufactured grudges.
We obviously do in loads of other things too. Nothing will change its desperate stuff
We obviously do in loads of other things too. Nothing will change its desperate stuffDesperate is the word. They have nothing. The keeness to return time and again to fighting brexit battles; Northern Ireland, Rwanda, weights and measures - there is nothing they have to take the country forward to any kind of actual improvements. Everything is a reaction to that weeks calamities.
BTW I got a new passport for my daughter through the post yesterday. Its blue. It could have been blue all along. It could have been purple with pink spots for all I care. This is however, portrayed as one the brexit benefits. Absolute weirdos swallow this guff.
29-05-2022, 01:22 PM
My wife works in the old Honeywell building and has been told they're planning on having flags, bunting, etc in the office this coming week for the 'Jubilee'.
Then on Friday her Team Lead said that all the girls would be wearing a Tiara to work, and would she mind doing the same.
I don't know the full details of my wife's response but I understand the second word used was 'Off'.
29-05-2022, 01:27 PM
I think this version of the National Anthem should be played everywhere this week.
https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=yqrAPOZxgzU
https://twitter.com/MattHighton/status/1530914477083963393?t=VtQpvOjgr9-wMKq2YHHOoA&s=19
Someone put googly eyes on William's hat.
I think this version of the National Anthem should be played everywhere this week.
https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=yqrAPOZxgzUNeat, tidy, tight and to the point.
29-05-2022, 05:40 PM
25897The standard issue 25lb British twat hat seems to have been restored for the occasion as well.
30-05-2022, 05:57 AM
Things will look cheaper priced in pounds instead of kilos.
Wait until they display the price of petrol in gallons, they might decide it's a bad idea.
30-05-2022, 07:47 AM
Things will look cheaper priced in pounds instead of kilos.
Wait until they display the price of petrol in gallons, they might decide it's a bad idea.Can't see that being a problem, just rename gallons as Corbyns, Wokes, or remoaners and stick it on the side of a bus or into the hands of the media, job done.
Now we have taken back control we should be renaming pets as well, nice fluffy ones can be called Bozo, Jacob, Francois, Nigel, Pritti etc...never mind shouting about border controls, rampant inflation, food poverty and the like when we have real issues like this to sort out.
30-05-2022, 09:06 AM
Can we take back control of the cost of energy please
30-05-2022, 10:19 AM
Can't see that being a problem, just rename gallons as Corbyns, Wokes, or remoaners and stick it on the side of a bus or into the hands of the media, job done.
Now we have taken back control we should be renaming pets as well, nice fluffy ones can be called Bozo, Jacob, Francois, Nigel, Pritti etc...never mind shouting about border controls, rampant inflation, food poverty and the like when we have real issues like this to sort out.
Might just price it in pints, so much cheaper than a litre.
Stairway 2 7
30-05-2022, 10:41 AM
My old man said alot of places took the mick when they changed from old money to new in the 70s. They would definitely do the same if we changed to imperial
01-06-2022, 04:57 PM
Members of the Scottish Green Party boycott a debate at which MSPs congratulated the Queen on her platinum jubilee https://t.co/ij0RZpSdXY
Funny thing's it appears below comedy central on twitter. 😂
01-06-2022, 05:28 PM
Members of the Scottish Green Party boycott a debate at which MSPs congratulated the Queen on her platinum jubilee https://t.co/ij0RZpSdXY
Funny thing's it appears below comedy central on twitter.
they've got my respect
01-06-2022, 10:06 PM
Funny thing's it appears below comedy central on twitter. 😂
It's upset that total trumpet Murdo Fraser which means it's fine by me.
It's upset that total trumpet Murdo Fraser which means it's fine by me.Faux upset.
02-06-2022, 06:39 AM
Richest woman in the world, proven this year to have deliberately conspired to get richer at the tax payers expense, who we are now supposed to genuflect in front of in the middle of a world of food banks and worsening poverty.
I think I’ll avoid the telly and get some gardening done.
02-06-2022, 07:40 AM
A guy I sometimes speak to at church and various other things in the community was offered a British Empire Medal in the jubilee honours list for his charity work in Malawi and our local community.
I was delighted to hear he refused it.
02-06-2022, 09:32 AM
Richest woman in the world, proven this year to have deliberately conspired to get richer at the tax payers expense, who we are now supposed to genuflect in front of in the middle of a world of food banks and worsening poverty.
I think I’ll avoid the telly and get some gardening done.
What is that about?
02-06-2022, 09:41 AM
Definitely seems to be many more events than the last jubilee maybe just my imagination or poor memory :greengrin
02-06-2022, 10:23 AM
Is it over yet
02-06-2022, 10:26 AM
Definitely seems to be many more events than the last jubilee maybe just my imagination or poor memory :greengrin
More events but less interest I would say?
Lendo
02-06-2022, 10:37 AM
Not single bit of bunting or Butchers Apron to be seen on my street in Abbeyhill.
Is it over yetWhat would happen if she pegged out tonight?
02-06-2022, 10:57 AM
More events but less interest I would say?
Chatting with people who remember the silver jubilee they suggest it was far more widely marked but far less forced. It's not surprising really, all kinds of institutions don't command the loyalty and respect they once did.
Polling suggests there just isn't that much interest this time around. Even among the 65+ generation interest only hovers at just above 50%, between ages 16 and 24 66% say they are not interested.
The whole thing is just a marketing exercise for brand Windsor. I daresay as the weekend goes on more and more people will take advantage of the days off, crack open a drink and maybe get involved in something going on in their community without being at all enthusiastic about the reason for the events. My wife and bairns are off to some tea party at Newhailes House today without having any real interest in why it's happening. as a real Scrooge about the whole thing I've volunteered to work and left them to it.
02-06-2022, 12:13 PM
Just turned Sky news on, The Mall is totally packed with people watching and celebrating.
Can’t remember the last time we saw scenes like this.
If anything, I think the Queen is more popular now than at any time in recent memory.
02-06-2022, 12:19 PM
What would happen if she pegged out tonight?
It would be really inconsiderate. Tuesday would be better as I go back to work on Wednesday.
02-06-2022, 12:20 PM
Chatting with people who remember the silver jubilee they suggest it was far more widely marked but far less forced. It's not surprising really, all kinds of institutions don't command the loyalty and respect they once did.
Polling suggests there just isn't that much interest this time around. Even among the 65+ generation interest only hovers at just above 50%, between ages 16 and 24 66% say they are not interested.
The whole thing is just a marketing exercise for brand Windsor. I daresay as the weekend goes on more and more people will take advantage of the days off, crack open a drink and maybe get involved in something going on in their community without being at all enthusiastic about the reason for the events. My wife and bairns are off to some tea party at Newhailes House today without having any real interest in why it's happening. as a real Scrooge about the whole thing I've volunteered to work and left them to it.
The silver Jubilee 1977 is the last time I watched a royal event with anything approaching interest or respect. The reason was that in those days the media reacted and reported events as they should instead of controlling and riffing on them as they do know. They've reduced all the mystery and pageantry, which the UK did very well, to a mammoth borefest.
In the same way, the media has ruined Remembrance Day. Instead of quietly relaying events, ghastly celebs and hacks sit on studio couches for weeks before the day with poppies stuck on their stripey shirts and we're supposed to call that respect?
02-06-2022, 12:36 PM
Just turned Sky news on, The Mall is totally packed with people watching and celebrating.
If anything, I think the Queen is more popular now than at any time in recent memory.
Putin can draw a crowd, doesn’t make him universally popular.
02-06-2022, 01:12 PM
After Covid some people are desperate to get out and celebrate something. As a republican it’s not for me but good luck to them, I’d rather see people having fun than listen to the joyless sneering and posturing from the sidelines of others. Live and let live.
Regardless of your view of the Royal Family this is a historic occasion so I’ll watch a wee bit of the pageantry with a clear conscience, I doubt we will ever see another Royal Jubilee after this one.
02-06-2022, 01:17 PM
Putin can draw a crowd, doesn’t make him universally popular.
Yeah but you’ll never see the queen of England invading defenceless countries in bloodthirsty attempts to retain imperial ambitions.
Wait a minute :hmmm:
I'm heading down to London for the long weekend. It wasn't planned to be the Jubilee but covid caused concerts to be moved so we will be there. I was brought up very much a royalist, I'm now in the not fussed either way camp but I'll tell you if I'm there I'm partying, I'll be wearing a union jack hat and drinking every jubilee cocktail i can get my hands on while dancing in the streets with the best of them. Those who fully disapprove and sit grumpy in the corner can get on with it because ultimately the only people who care about their grumps is themselves - ill be too busy making great memories with my pals.
02-06-2022, 02:23 PM
Scenes of "Normal people".
https://twitter.com/edcmpbl/status/1532061580744982528
02-06-2022, 02:29 PM
I like the woman who seems to get given money by her husband (£100 a time) only when she gets a press interview. Seems a funny way of managing the mutual household budget but there you go.
02-06-2022, 02:30 PM
I won't be watching a single second of it but if it makes them happy then good for them. All the hate and sneering from the sidelines is a waste of energy for folk like me.
02-06-2022, 02:32 PM
After Covid some people are desperate to get out and celebrate something. As a republican it’s not for me but good luck to them, I’d rather see people having fun than listen to the joyless sneering and posturing from the sidelines of others. Live and let live.
Regardless of your view of the Royal Family this is a historic occasion so I’ll watch a wee bit of the pageantry with a clear conscience, I doubt we will ever see another Royal Jubilee after this one.
I agree.
This is her celebrating after a couple of hours on the Guinness. :greengrin
https://twitter.com/katiec1314/status/1246742816904171521
02-06-2022, 02:35 PM
I agree.
This is her celebrating after a couple of hours on the Guinness. :greengrin
https://twitter.com/katiec1314/status/1246742816904171521
02-06-2022, 02:37 PM
I won't be watching a single second of it but if it makes them happy then good for them. All the hate and sneering from the sidelines is a waste of energy for folk like me.
Good luck to them. I can't see much hate around to be honest. More people looking in, and thinking about what the Monarchy really stands for these days.
I've been down at Pinkie with my Grandson playing football all day. Great stuff these holidays. :aok:
https://i.ibb.co/JHydQc7/20220602-155148.jpg
02-06-2022, 02:52 PM
I’m sorry but if your the type of person who thinks that people are born to rule over us then I’m going to sneer and mock you. I don’t mind if you get precious about it.
https://twitter.com/PeterGreen1966/status/1532276873752887296?t=lE6Pd-f2yX9G9WBoj-BVBA&s=19
02-06-2022, 03:25 PM
I see Prince Andrew has conveniently caught covid and will miss the celebrations. 🤔
02-06-2022, 03:33 PM
I’m sorry but if your the type of person who thinks that people are born to rule over us then I’m going to sneer and mock you. I don’t mind if you get precious about it.
Yip, I'm with you on that. It's completely crackers and illogical and something I'll never understand.
02-06-2022, 03:33 PM
I'm not knocking the old queen for seventy years as head of state. It is a remarkable thing. Unlike many of her family, she always treated her role with great dignity. However, after she dies I think we should be offered a referendum on abolition of the monarchy. I'm sure the vote to retain it would win, but it gets the issue on the agenda. It can't be right that the people in a so called democracy have no say on who is head of state and who sits in the Upper House of parliament. Things need a radical modernisation for the twenty-first century, with the British class system fully dismantled. Accident of birth shouldn't be a qualification for anything.
02-06-2022, 03:34 PM
Good luck to them. I can't see much hate around to be honest. More people looking in, and thinking about what the Monarchy really stands for these days.
I've been down at Pinkie with my Grandson playing football all day. Great stuff these holidays. :aok:
I've used up far too much negativity with Johnson and his crew so I'm happy to ignore the royals and all who sail in them.
It's my grandson's 1st birthday tomorrow and we've bought him a set of goals so looking forward to that :greengrin
02-06-2022, 03:42 PM
I'm no fan of the Royal Family either, was just surprised to see how popular today's events are.
02-06-2022, 04:17 PM
Prince Andrew can console himself in his Covid bubble that he's climbing the charts in the UK. :greengrin
https://twitter.com/Independent/status/1531995923575873537
02-06-2022, 04:17 PM
Im a republican but mocking and sneering at those who hold a different view point seems a bit nasty and intolerant to me. I don’t think those celebrating will worry about it though, probably having more fun than either of us.
02-06-2022, 04:29 PM
Im a republican but mocking and sneering at those who hold a different view point seems a bit nasty and intolerant to me. I don’t think those celebrating will worry about it though, probably having more fun than either of us.
I’m the same with religious people as well. Always polite but have zero respect for those views.
There are many fine people who are religious or monarchists but I just can’t find it in me to respect that part of them. It will be the same in reverse with my atheism and my preference for democracy but I don’t mind.
Mr Grieves
02-06-2022, 05:14 PM
I'm down York today and the number of Union jack's I've seen is extraordinary. Quite the contrast to Leith this morning.
02-06-2022, 05:36 PM
I see Prince Andrew has conveniently caught covid and will miss the celebrations. 🤔
20+ degrees in London tomorrow.
If he was caught sweating it would be a bad look for mummy and that £12m she gave him......
02-06-2022, 05:44 PM
I'm down York today and the number of Union jack's I've seen is extraordinary. Quite the contrast to Leith this morning.
I’ve seen one house in Corstorphine decked out with the union flag bunting, that’s it.
02-06-2022, 05:51 PM
English deference to their betters is incredibly strong.
02-06-2022, 06:02 PM
I'm heading down to London for the long weekend. It wasn't planned to be the Jubilee but covid caused concerts to be moved so we will be there.
Haha, good cover story.
stu in nottingham
02-06-2022, 06:12 PM
English deference to their betters is incredibly strong.
Maybe it's geographically or class-driven. I can't think of one single friend here who supports the Royal Family. Quite the contrary. :dunno:
The area I live in has around 2,000 population - just two street parties are happening.
(Possibly none as it's forecast to pish it down on Sunday afternoon). :wink:
Haha, good cover story.
Queen and Adam Lambert moved from June 2020. :greengrin
Why would you sneer and mock someone for their beliefs? What makes you a cut above ? I find that more odd than anything. By all means disagree but to sneer and mock people is weird.
Stairway 2 7
02-06-2022, 06:35 PM
https://www.google.com/amp/s/www.edinburghlive.co.uk/news/edinburgh-streets-being-closed-queens-24130938.amp
Council spending 30 grand on events. Similar amount of events to 2012. Bunting, big screens and bell ends in the gardens on Sunday
02-06-2022, 07:03 PM
I'm not knocking the old queen for seventy years as head of state. It is a remarkable thing. Unlike many of her family, she always treated her role with great dignity. However, after she dies I think we should be offered a referendum on abolition of the monarchy. I'm sure the vote to retain it would win, but it gets the issue on the agenda. It can't be right that the people in a so called democracy have no say on who is head of state and who sits in the Upper House of parliament. Things need a radical modernisation for the twenty-first century, with the British class system fully dismantled. Accident of birth shouldn't be a qualification for anything.
Unfortunately this sort of sensible thinking seems a bit outdated nowadays.
02-06-2022, 07:30 PM
Betty taking a day off from tomorrow's celebrations, probably off to Pizza Express with Andy! 😀
02-06-2022, 08:22 PM
English deference to their betters is incredibly strong.I live in one of the solider Tory seats in the country and I've got to say theres far fewer union Jack's and jubilee paraphernalia than I expected but I think that's down to pensioners going to bed earlier and the rest of the loyalist types being out the country on foreign holidays
02-06-2022, 08:28 PM
Queen and Adam Lambert moved from June 2020. :greengrin
Sure :wink:
02-06-2022, 08:36 PM
If there are any people out there that genuinely think a small group of people are our superiors through an accident of birth, then I'm honestly not surprised people mock and sneer.
The whole concept is so ludicrous I sometimes have trouble believing that it's still happening in the 21st century.
02-06-2022, 08:42 PM
If there are any people out there that genuinely think a small group of people are our superiors through an accident of birth, then I'm honestly not surprised people mock and sneer.
Would quite like to know what proportion of Royal lovers do genuinely think that their blood is a different colour from commoners' blood.
The whole concept is so ludicrous I sometimes have trouble believing that it's still happening in the 21st century.
My mother's a massive royalist and I don't think she's ever described the royals to me as superior. More privileged through birth than anything but she loves the pomp and circumstances and the ceremony of it all and thinks the Queen has done something special in the last 70 years. Anybody who wants mock or sneer at my 80 year old mother needs to take a good look at themselves.
Santa Cruz
02-06-2022, 09:09 PM
It's not even that Keith, small part I caught today was the flypast which was amazing. Then you think how hard must it be for the countless families in this county watching who have had their dignity ripped from them by being subjected to being reliant on foodbanks and they're watching all these public funds being blootered. There are more foodbanks in the UK than MacDonalds now. If anyone affected in that way wants to be grumpy they have my sympathies. There but for the grace of god....could happen to any of us.
Re: 21st Century, for the love of God can they not dress they boys like they belong in it, let them be children fgs, so embarrassing.
02-06-2022, 09:16 PM
My mother's a massive royalist and I don't think she's ever described the royals to me as superior. More privileged through birth than anything but she loves the pomp and circumstances and the ceremony of it all and thinks the Queen has done something special in the last 70 years. Anybody who wants mock or sneer at my 80 year old mother needs to take a good look at themselves.
Does she not have even the teensiest problem with the privileged bit? £12m legal settlements with the wave of a wand? :dunno:
02-06-2022, 09:17 PM
Not sure what Liz has done which is special? A life of total priveldge which can't have been that difficult or she would have chucked it years ago. But then, it would have meant a life lived in with the peasants and one can't have that.
The deference is absurd. Whether you are 8 or 80, but if it ticks a box for you both then crack on (as I'm sure you are 🙂 🇬🇧)
02-06-2022, 09:37 PM
Would quite like to know what proportion of Royal lovers do genuinely think that their blood is a different colour from commoners' blood.
We all have blue blood when it's de-oxygenated; that's why our veins are blue. But kings and queens don't poo; that's a confirmed FACT.
Not sure what Liz has done which is special? A life of total priveldge which can't have been that difficult or she would have chucked it years ago. But then, it would have meant a life lived in with the peasants and one can't have that.
The deference is absurd. Whether you are 8 or 80, but if it ticks a box for you both then crack on (as I'm sure you are 🙂 🇬🇧)
I am thanks . Me and my absurdness will be loving some jubilee cocktails and having a great time while you lot sit and grump and sneer at people (which seems more absurd to me) the people who revel in misery blow my brain. Lifes way too short
James310
02-06-2022, 09:41 PM
Maybe the first time some of you have disagreed with Nicola Sturgeon.
"But this occasion of the Platinum Jubilee is not just about an institution. It is above all about the life and service of an extraordinary woman, someone who had no more choice than any of us do about the circumstances into which she was born- but someone who has given a lifetime of dedicated service.
“We should all pay tribute to that.
“And so it is absolutely right that we celebrate the Platinum Jubilee of Her Majesty Queen Elizabeth.
Let us congratulate her warmly or a reign of unprecedented length and let us acknowledge with deep gratitude and respect her dedication to duty.”
02-06-2022, 09:56 PM
"But this occasion of the Platinum Jubilee is not just about an institution. It is above all about the life and service of an extraordinary woman, someone who had no more choice than any of us do about the circumstances into which she was born- but someone who has given a lifetime of dedicated service.
“And so it is absolutely right that we celebrate the Platinum Jubilee of Her Majesty Queen Elizabeth.
Let us congratulate her warmly or a reign of unprecedented length and let us acknowledge with deep gratitude and respect her dedication to duty.”
I find the SNP's devotion to the monarchy absolutely baffling.
He's here!
02-06-2022, 10:14 PM
I'm with your mum on that. Loved the Trooping of the Colour as a kid and enjoyed watching it today for the first time in ages. The flypast was superb and it's clear when listening to the members of the armed forces taking part how much it means to them.
Always respected the Queen and I think she's been a massive asset to the country.
He's here!
02-06-2022, 10:16 PM
One of the few times I agree with her :-)
02-06-2022, 10:20 PM
:agree: a commitment to Republicanism would make it easier for me to vote for them.
Stairway 2 7
02-06-2022, 10:30 PM
Probably is thanks to centuries of inbreeding
He's here!
02-06-2022, 11:02 PM
I’ve seen one house in Corstorphine decked out with the union flag bunting, that’s it.
32 street parties being held across Edinburgh over the weekend (and those are just the ones which have applied for a licence) :
https://www.edinburghlive.co.uk/news/edinburgh-streets-being-closed-queens-24130938
02-06-2022, 11:06 PM
32 street parties being held across Edinburgh over the weekend (and those are just the ones which have applied for a licence) :
https://www.edinburghlive.co.uk/news/edinburgh-streets-being-closed-queens-24130938
Tiny, isn’t it. At the silver jubilee I bet that figure would have been many times higher. The UK is changing.
03-06-2022, 06:44 AM
My street is closed to traffic for a street party every year (covid permitting) on the first weekend in June as part of the Big Lunch Project. It’s included on that list but ours has nothing to do with the Jubilee and would still be happening if it wasn’t a jubilee year. The Official Jubilee organisers have incorporated the Big Lunch project into their plans this year so there will no doubt be many other annual non-Jubilee street parties swelling their official street party numbers just like mine is. https://www.edenprojectcommunities.com/the-big-lunch/faqs
03-06-2022, 07:07 AM
Tiny, isn’t it. At the silver jubilee I bet that figure would have been many times higher. The UK is changing.
East End of Glasgow here.
There's red, white n blue bunting and Union flags in plenty gardens all year round 🤮
03-06-2022, 07:30 AM
Arlene Foster has been made a dame? Is that right?
If so it’s proof that all you have to do is exist in public life for long enough and you’ll get one.
03-06-2022, 07:50 AM
I am thanks . Me and my absurdness will be loving some jubilee cocktails and having a great time while you lot sit and grump and sneer at people (which seems more absurd to me) the people who revel in misery blow my brain. Lifes way too short
I spent all day in the garden enjoying the sun, then played a bit of tennis. The post I made took 10 seconds - minimal time spent grumping (unusual for me I know 😂)
03-06-2022, 08:11 AM
Sturgeon is a diplomat, and may not represent every member of the SNP when asked about the Royal family. Imagine the outrage from the mail or telegraph had she said what others think of the waste of money that they are. 😉
03-06-2022, 08:11 AM
Thats the buntin up now.25912
03-06-2022, 08:15 AM
I saw that, just a bit of fun. I put bunting up around the front of my studio yesterday, saltire bunting 🏴🏴🏴
03-06-2022, 08:26 AM
The biggest ally to republicanism is the passage of time. The dissolution of the monarchy will be evolution rather then revolution and the process is already well under way.
The Queen is head of state of around 50% fewer countries now than she was 70 years ago, that number will shrink further in the next few years as several Caribbean and African nations become more comfortable with their own independent identity and make that final break with their imperial past. Barbados, Sri Lanka, Pakistan, Uganda, Nigeria, South Africa, Trinidad & Tobago and a whole host of others have moved on in those 7 decades. The likes of the Bahamas, Grenada, Jamaica and Saint Lucia are preparing to follow suit. What will be left is a collection of predominantly white countries with their foundations rooted in British conquest and immigration. Canada, Australia, New Zealand and of course Great Britain and Northern Ireland itself. The Queens reign has been typified by the terminal decline of both the monarchy and the UK as a world force. It's arguable the remaining popularity the monarchy enjoys is because of the constant that is the Queen. Of course the Queen isn't responsible for that decline, the world is changing at a rate of knots. I'd suggest the kind of soft diplomacy the royal pageantry provides is of ever increasing importance hence why it's ever more front and centre.
Even within royal circles it's recognised. Both the 1st and 2nd in line to the throne regularly talk about streamlining and slimming down the royal family. They know this bloated beast with a lot of people who don't seem to do very much will become far less palatable when the Queen passes, not immediately of course as emotion will shape peoples thinking but over time. As I said in an earlier post interest in the jubilee is low among the under 40s and particularly among the under 25s. It's not to say the younger generation are all ardent republicans and the older all fawning sycophants but it's a pattern. I think education and awareness that the empire wasn't as rewarding for the countries conquered and ruled as we were once taught is cross generational. That's a good thing.
With regards the jubilee itself I think it's too easy to tar everyone there with the same brush. When we won the cup in 2016 150K took to the streets. Only a fool would suggest all of those people were die hard Hibs fans, if they were we would be playing in a stadium the size of Wembley and competing with Rangers and Celtic every season. The crowd was diverse. My group comprised 4 ST holders, 3 semi regular walk up fans, 5 who nominally support Hibs but rarely attend games, 4 who are not really interested in football but from Leith and wanted to be involved in the party on their doorstep and a solitary Hearts fan there with his Hibs supporting wife. Aside form the Hearts fans I'd wager a lot of the groups present had similar compositions. The jubilee will be the same. Some die hard royalists in the vein of those who give up their Christmas morning to gawk at the Queen going to church, some people who quite like the monarchy and the ceremony and some who want an excuse for a piss up. The latter are a bit like the people who suddenly remember they are rugby fans every February and March or tennis fans every summer then forget about it again as quickly as they remembered. A lot of the pomp and ceremony is undoubtedly visually impressive (if nowhere near as ancient as some would have you believe, much of it barely predates Victoria and was borne out of a frustration that the now republics of France and Germany did it better). A sunny day, a beer in hand and a pipe band, soldiers marching or whatever; if you are into that then I'm sure you'll have fun.
I can't see the appeal myself. I've got a great weekend planned and don't feel like I'm missing out on anything, I'll even have time for a good bit of enjoyable moaning and some rewarding fishing on social media. The majority of the people in London or at the handful of street parties in Edinburgh aren't doing me any harm. The future of the monarchy isn't going to be shaped by how many people take to the streets this weekend, far more people just won't bother at all. Within a decade or 2 it will be a question that is on the table though. The countries who have moved on in the last 70 years are evidence of that.
03-06-2022, 08:29 AM
Gotta admire the determination of someone going to the lengths of drilling a hole in a piece of metal and then going up a ladder to hang it, just to make a visual play on the Scots language/dialect.
Marginally less admiration, but still well done, if it's photoshopped.
03-06-2022, 08:49 AM
Sturgeon is a diplomat, and may not represent every member of the SNP when asked about the Royal family. Imagine the outrage from the mail or telegraph had she said what others think of the waste of money that they are. 😉
Exactly this
Stairway 2 7
03-06-2022, 09:07 AM
She shouldn't do anything to appease the daily mail. But she is a politician and needs pro monarchy voters for an independence win.
He's here!
03-06-2022, 09:16 AM
https://i.ibb.co/JHydQc7/20220602-155148.jpg
John Lydon 'really proud of the Queen':
https://www.nme.com/news/music/john-lydon-says-he-is-actually-really-proud-of-the-queen-for-surviving-and-doing-so-well-3226571
Berwickhibby
03-06-2022, 09:17 AM
She shouldn't do anything to appease the daily mail. But she is a politician and needs pro monarchy voters for an independence win.
Are you suggesting that she is not telling the truth and that she really does not want the monarchy should Scotland separate from the UK
Stairway 2 7
03-06-2022, 09:20 AM
Are you suggesting that she is not telling the truth and that she really does not want the monarchy should Scotland separate from the UK
I've no idea what her personal opinion is. But she's head of state so has to speak in a certain way. Added to that it would be mental to lose a chunk of voters by saying she wants rid. Get independence and that debate can be had easier
03-06-2022, 09:27 AM
It's ultimately not really up to Nicola Sturgeon.
When Scotland becomes independent it will be for the people of the country to decide on the constitutional make up. Much like all the countries I mentioned in my earlier posts did when they became independent. Some continue with a sovereign as head of state, others are now fully fledged republics.
If I was to guess I'd say there would be a decade or so with a continuation of the status quo (much of that time would be taken up thrashing out the details of independence anyway) before a country increasingly finding it's own identity would look to ask the question of it's citizens.
For now Sturgeon has to play the diplomacy game. Her true feelings are largely irrelevant.
James310
03-06-2022, 10:00 AM
I've no idea what her personal opinion is. But she's head of state so has to speak in a certain way. Added to that it would be mental to lose a chunk of voters by saying she wants rid. Get independence and that debate can be had easier
She is a great actress if she thinks differently, talks to the BBC about her "deep respect" for the Queen today. Nicola Sturgeon talks with real warmth so I suspect it's genuine.
"But I think it is fair to say that that opportunity to talk with her, to benefit from her knowledge, her wisdom and perhaps above all the completely unique perspective she has on modern world history, is something that I deeply value and will always really treasure."
I can imagine it would be super interesting talking to someone who has seen and done so much, someone who can remember weekly chats with Winston Churchill etc.
https://www.bbc.co.uk/news/uk-scotland-scotland-politics-61676157
He's here!
03-06-2022, 10:02 AM
I find it hard to believe her opinions stated here are anything other than her true feelings. Deep respect for the Queen and a desire to retain the monarchy:
That's the thing about the Queen. She brings the nation together in a way no politician can.
Stairway 2 7
03-06-2022, 10:02 AM
She is a great actress if she thinks differently, talks to the BBC about her "deep respect" for the Queen today. Nicola Sturgeon talks with real warmth so I suspect it's genuine.
"But I think it is fair to say that that opportunity to talk with her, to benefit from her knowledge, her wisdom and perhaps above all the completely unique perspective she has on modern world history, is something that I deeply value and will always really treasure."
I can imagine it would be super interesting talking to someone who has seen and done so much, someone who can remember weekly chats with Winston Churchill etc.
I've no idea or care if she thinks differently to be honest. It's a debate post independence. Even if the majority of Scots wanted her to stay post independence, I'd disagree but would be happy with the will of the people
03-06-2022, 10:04 AM
I find it hard to believe her opinions stated here are anything other than her true feelings. Deep respect for the Queen and a desire to retain the monarchy:
That's the thing about the Queen. She brings the nation together in a way no politician can.
I give you David Attenborough as a more cohesive, undivisive National figure.
And he’s far less expensive.
03-06-2022, 10:11 AM
She doesn't even bring hibs.net together.
He's here!
03-06-2022, 10:11 AM
Just pointing out it's significantly more than 'one house in Corstorphine'.
Big difference between now and 1977 (aside from the fact it was nearly half a century ago) is that the Queen was young and active enough to tour the length and breadth of the UK, including spending several days in Edinburgh. I remember it being a massive deal, with street parties everywhere. Here's some great footage of one in Niddrie:
https://www.edinburghlive.co.uk/news/history/rare-edinburgh-footage-shows-1977-24119875.amp
Charles not so much but I reckon if William and Kate embarked on a similar tour they'd pull in the crowds too.
03-06-2022, 10:13 AM
I think 95% are fairly united on the subject. Not including multiple username posters of course.
03-06-2022, 10:14 AM
Gotta admire the determination of someone going to the lengths of drilling a hole in a piece of metal and then going up a ladder to hang it, just to make a visual play on the Scots language/dialect.
Marginally less admiration, but still well done, if it's photoshopped.
I never understood what it represented until I read your post! 🤔
I blame looking at my phone before fully waking up! 😀
He's here!
03-06-2022, 10:14 AM
Not a bad shout. I'd be happy with Sir David as head of state.
03-06-2022, 10:18 AM
Not a bad shout. I'd be happy with Sir David as head of state.
:agree: Now you’re talking.
03-06-2022, 10:19 AM
:agree: Now you’re talking.
Like the idea. Unfortunately, he’s about the same age as the queen …who’s next in line Does Martin Boyle have to come back ?
03-06-2022, 10:21 AM
Like the idea. Unfortunately, he’s about the same age as the queen …who’s next in line Does Martin Boyle have to come back ?
As long as Sir David’s son isn’t the successor we have broken the whole problematic bloodline’ succession system, and a quiet revolution has occurred. It’s a plan.
03-06-2022, 10:28 AM
Just pointing out it's significantly more than 'one house in Corstorphine'.
Big difference between now and 1977 (aside from the fact it was nearly half a century ago) is that the Queen was young and active enough to tour the length and breadth of the UK, including spending several days in Edinburgh. I remember it being a massive deal, with street parties everywhere. Here's some great footage of one in Niddrie:
https://www.edinburghlive.co.uk/news/history/rare-edinburgh-footage-shows-1977-24119875.amp
Charles not so much but I reckon if William and Kate embarked on a similar tour they'd pull in the crowds too.
Nowadays I'm ambivalent about the Royal family, most are hangers-on but the length of time the Queen has been around is cause for a bit of celebration, but I think the media coverage now, compared to 1977 is what causes people to rail against them.
In 1977 I was working in the city Chambers. The day the silver jubilee procession went from holyrood Palace to St Giles I had grandstand seats right opposite the entrance to St Giles and took lots of photos, if I had the chance today I doubt I would bother.
John Lydon 'really proud of the Queen':
https://www.nme.com/news/music/john-lydon-says-he-is-actually-really-proud-of-the-queen-for-surviving-and-doing-so-well-3226571That's Jamie Reid's art in the post you quoted, not Lydon's.
Yes, I don't think it's anything to do with the actual people. It's always been about the institution, which creates our class system and helps the myth that layers of people have a place in an imaginary hierarchy.
I don't mind Liz myself. We could have done a hell of a lot worse if her Nazi Uncle had been allowed to stay on the throne. Good timing getting that one out and the rest were wise enough to keep schtum after that.
A billion and a half spent "celebrating" all this p*sh though. She's not worth that with other human beings in the country on their uppers. I can't see how the institution is an asset to anyone other than the slightly lower down parasites who benefit.
Doesn't upset me though. Quite enjoying watching them act all the weird and wonderful traditions out, pretending it actually means anything.
Boris doing the reading and harumphing on about Jesus, truth, honour and commitment. Just genius.
03-06-2022, 10:45 AM
The biggest ally to republicanism is the passage of time. The dissolution of the monarchy will be evolution rather then revolution and the process is already well under way.
The Queen is head of state of around 50% fewer countries now than she was 70 years ago, that number will shrink further in the next few years as several Caribbean and African nations become more comfortable with their own independent identity and make that final break with their imperial past. Barbados, Sri Lanka, Pakistan, Uganda, Nigeria, South Africa, Trinidad & Tobago and a whole host of others have moved on in those 7 decades. The likes of the Bahamas, Grenada, Jamaica and Saint Lucia are preparing to follow suit. What will be left is a collection of predominantly white countries with their foundations rooted in British conquest and immigration. Canada, Australia, New Zealand and of course Great Britain and Northern Ireland itself. The Queens reign has been typified by the terminal decline of both the monarchy and the UK as a world force. It's arguable the remaining popularity the monarchy enjoys is because of the constant that is the Queen. Of course the Queen isn't responsible for that decline, the world is changing at a rate of knots. I'd suggest the kind of soft diplomacy the royal pageantry provides is of ever increasing importance hence why it's ever more front and centre.
Even within royal circles it's recognised. Both the 1st and 2nd in line to the throne regularly talk about streamlining and slimming down the royal family. They know this bloated beast with a lot of people who don't seem to do very much will become far less palatable when the Queen passes, not immediately of course as emotion will shape peoples thinking but over time. As I said in an earlier post interest in the jubilee is low among the under 40s and particularly among the under 25s. It's not to say the younger generation are all ardent republicans and the older all fawning sycophants but it's a pattern. I think education and awareness that the empire wasn't as rewarding for the countries conquered and ruled as we were once taught is cross generational. That's a good thing.
With regards the jubilee itself I think it's too easy to tar everyone there with the same brush. When we won the cup in 2016 150K took to the streets. Only a fool would suggest all of those people were die hard Hibs fans, if they were we would be playing in a stadium the size of Wembley and competing with Rangers and Celtic every season. The crowd was diverse. My group comprised 4 ST holders, 3 semi regular walk up fans, 5 who nominally support Hibs but rarely attend games, 4 who are not really interested in football but from Leith and wanted to be involved in the party on their doorstep and a solitary Hearts fan there with his Hibs supporting wife. Aside form the Hearts fans I'd wager a lot of the groups present had similar compositions. The jubilee will be the same. Some die hard royalists in the vein of those who give up their Christmas morning to gawk at the Queen going to church, some people who quite like the monarchy and the ceremony and some who want an excuse for a piss up. The latter are a bit like the people who suddenly remember they are rugby fans every February and March or tennis fans every summer then forget about it again as quickly as they remembered. A lot of the pomp and ceremony is undoubtedly visually impressive (if nowhere near as ancient as some would have you believe, much of it barely predates Victoria and was borne out of a frustration that the now republics of France and Germany did it better). A sunny day, a beer in hand and a pipe band, soldiers marching or whatever; if you are into that then I'm sure you'll have fun.
I can't see the appeal myself. I've got a great weekend planned and don't feel like I'm missing out on anything, I'll even have time for a good bit of enjoyable moaning and some rewarding fishing on social media. The majority of the people in London or at the handful of street parties in Edinburgh aren't doing me any harm. The future of the monarchy isn't going to be shaped by how many people take to the streets this weekend, far more people just won't bother at all. Within a decade or 2 it will be a question that is on the table though. The countries who have moved on in the last 70 years are evidence of that.
When you put it like that, the only thing she has really been a success at is managing the decline.
One of the blokes who dresses as a wizard up now. Going on about Jesus as well - cos Jesus was all about Kings and Queens and the class system of course.
Now it's just a succession of high up nobodies pretending Jesus would have dug all this dressing up. Music is rubbish too, Diana's funeral had the best tunes.
03-06-2022, 11:12 AM
Now it's just a succession of high up nobodies pretending Jesus would have dug all this dressing up. Music is rubbish too, Diana's funeral had the best tunes.
You are actually watching it?!
You should start a match update thread to keep us up to date 😉🤣
Sitting in house snorting anti-allergy potions. Nowt else on.
Know your enemy, bud.
A Lady Wizard now. "Support the weak". They don't do irony at all.
Rangers songs now.
The wizards getting to leave first. Means first dibs on the buffet as well. Toffs looking confused and hoping the boiled ham doesn't get blooterred before they have a chance for some.
03-06-2022, 11:32 AM
The wizards getting to leave first. Means first dibs on the buffet as well. Toffs looking confused and hoping the boiled ham doesn't get blooterred before they have a chance for some.
That reminds me of a new year when we had 4 teenagers in the house, all the food, baked ham etc was laid out and we said to go and help themselves. Us adults went through and the ham hadn't been touched but all the chipolatas had disappeared! Never gonna do that again!
03-06-2022, 01:05 PM
Reign began 6 February 1952
Coronated 2 June 1953
How is 2 June 2022 the 70th anniversary of anything? :confused:
03-06-2022, 01:08 PM
Yeah, nothing does.
James310
03-06-2022, 01:13 PM
Coronated 2 June 1953
It's 70 year's since the coronation.
Gave us coronation chicken, are you a fan?
03-06-2022, 01:19 PM
It's 70 year's since the coronation.
What?
03-06-2022, 01:38 PM
Coronated 2 June 1953
It can only mean the jubilee marks the beginning of the seventieth year since coronation. That must be the official way of counting each reign.
03-06-2022, 01:48 PM
It can only mean the jubilee marks the beginning of the seventieth year since coronation. That must be the official way of counting each reign.
I know they have made-up birthdays, but didn't realise that their fairy-tale weddings were also the first anniversaries of their fairy-tale weddings.
03-06-2022, 02:01 PM
I know they have made-up birthdays, but didn't realise that their fairy-tale weddings were also the first anniversaries of their fairy-tale weddings.
That way they can have events throughout the year, including Commonwealth visits etc.
03-06-2022, 02:03 PM
That way they can have events throughout the year, including Commonwealth visits etc.
Maybe she couldn't get time off work to mark her actual 70 year reign as queen, which was on 6 Feb 2022.
03-06-2022, 02:22 PM
Quality 😁
I don’t have an awful lot against the queen on a personal level, but I’m certainly not a royalist or in favour of the monarchy. And, ideally, I would want nothing to do with them in an independent Scotland.
It’s a strange suggestion to say she brings the nation together. Only last night a whole car full of us were in agreement that a local bowling club making the weekend friendly competition all royal themed was a divisive move and would put some people off. There will be countless voters who can agree on independence or political parties but be split on the monarchy.
In fact, in Scotland, she’s one of the last figures I would be using to bring the nation together!!!
I did appreciate the two days holiday mind. I’d sooner they were for Attenborough though.
03-06-2022, 02:29 PM
Maybe she couldn't get time off work to mark her actual 70 year reign as queen, which was on 6 Feb 2022.
And isn't expected to last until 2nd June 2023. 🤔
03-06-2022, 02:40 PM
Sadly, it's most unlikely we'll get an Attenborough. Otoh, overwhelmingly likely we'll get a Dick. :wink:
03-06-2022, 05:21 PM
“I just don’t get it…”
- Stacey Solomon. ☕️
#Jubilee
#JubileeWeekend https://t.co/9jYP7ykojQ
🤣🤣🤣
03-06-2022, 06:15 PM
Lots of bitterness on this board.
Just turn it off if it offends.
We went up town. Not a Union Flag in sight. Effing mobbed too.
03-06-2022, 07:27 PM
It seems Mr Bucket in my street must have pissed off more than just me with his pushiness.
Went out about 3.30 today just as his street party was scheduled to start. About 6 households max there (out of about 75 houses). We had a nice evening out, got a bite to eat, had ice cream, met a friend for a wander. Just got home and everything is cleared away and no sign a party ever took place.
In spite of myself I actually feel a bit sorry for him. Other people in the street have organised Halloween parties and Easter egg hunts before and they have always gone down well and a bit community spirit is a nice thing. It can't be nice that virtually no one attended, even if he does largely only have himself to blame.
03-06-2022, 08:49 PM
It seems Mr Bucket in my street must have pissed off more than just me with his pushiness.
Went out about 3.30 today just as his street party was scheduled to start. About 6 households max there (out of about 75 houses). We had a nice evening out, got a bite to eat, had ice cream, met a friend for a wander. Just got home and everything is cleared away and no sign a party ever took place.
In spite of myself I actually feel a bit sorry for him. Other people in the street have organised Halloween parties and Easter egg hunts before and they have always gone down well and a bit community spirit is a nice thing. It can't be nice that virtually no one attended, even if he does largely only have himself to blame.
Ch4 did a piece on the level of Jubilee interest in Glasgow. They found a couple of people to interview in a hun pub, but that was about it.
03-06-2022, 08:52 PM
Scotland now being given the love treatment, most MSM outlets running with stories about how much the queen loves Scotland. It might be true but the cynic in me says it's being politically exaggerated at this point in time.
03-06-2022, 08:58 PM
Saw a couple of gents hanging up some union flags above the gates of D mains bowling club today. That’s been the only evidence of jubilee I seen today. I’ve avoided the tv and radio today though and just listened to podcasts today.
03-06-2022, 08:58 PM
Lots of bitterness on this board.
Just turn it off if it offends.
We went up town. Not a Union Flag in sight. Effing mobbed too.
No bitterness, just ridicule for the British empire, of which we have to pay for like it or not
Spitfires smoking red white and blue won't clear foodbank queues.
He's here!
04-06-2022, 06:55 AM
No bitterness, just ridicule for the British empire, of which we have to pay for like it or not
Spitfires smoking red white and blue won't clear foodbank queues.
It was the Red Arrows display team trailing the red, white and blue colours, not Spitfires. The Arrows entertain millions with their amazing annual displsys around the UK and the world and fund more than 500 UK charities in doing so. Doubtful that those using foodbanks would see grounding them as a priority.
04-06-2022, 07:09 AM
. https://uploads.tapatalk-cdn.com/20220604/32ba715ba56fbc61168d85a92b72274a.jpg
04-06-2022, 08:31 AM
Caught a few bits on the BBC News this morning and each person stated it was a "remarkable achievement" so effectively saying well done on not being dead yet
McSwanky
04-06-2022, 08:44 AM
Caught a few bits on the BBC News this morning and each person stated it was a "remarkable achievement" so effectively saying well done on not being dead yetGive her a break, it's not as if she will have had the absolute best doctors on call at the drop of a hat or anything....
04-06-2022, 09:05 AM
https://www.bbc.co.uk/news/uk-scotland-61685855?at_medium=custom7&at_custom1=%5Bpost+type%5D&at_custom3=%40BBCScotlandNews&at_custom4=B61E8636-E3E2-11EC-A9C2-BDB4923C408C&at_campaign=64&at_custom2=twitter
Article on why Scotland seems to be ignoring the jubilee.
04-06-2022, 09:06 AM
https://twitter.com/tuomosuni/status/1532690674704957440?s=21&t=trz88TjjGXsMjKCM_uQrHA
BBC censor Johnson’s boos.
Stairway 2 7
04-06-2022, 09:11 AM
Tories don't mind the government hurting the rif raf, but they took the piss out of the nation when they partied. When the nutters that camp outside of a church to see a glimpse of a royal, boo a tory leader, he should know he's in trouble
04-06-2022, 09:27 AM
Caught a few bits on the BBC News this morning and each person stated it was a "remarkable achievement" so effectively saying well done on not being dead yet
Grandad Hibsbollah lived till age 98 and smoked probably 80 a day. Now THATS a remarkable achievement.
He's here!
04-06-2022, 10:45 AM
I find myself at Ocean Terminal this morning for a kids party. What a white elephant this place has become. A shame as I remember liking it when it opened.
However, it's very much sunshine on Leith and the HMS Albion is berthed here as part of the Jubilee weekend. The crew are hosting tours of the ship and various other activities if anyone's in the vicinity and at a loose end.
04-06-2022, 10:47 AM
I find myself at Ocean Terminal this morning for a kids party. What a white elephant this place has become. A shame as I remember liking it when it opened.
However, it's very much sunshine on Leith and the HMS Albion is berthed here as part of the Jubilee weekend. The crew are hosting tours of the ship and various other activities if anyone's in the vicinity and at a loose end.
I think it’s just about to get a massive renovation?
04-06-2022, 10:57 AM
https://twitter.com/no1_nicola/status/1532802492597256192?s=21&t=trz88TjjGXsMjKCM_uQrHA
Tweet and replies on the massive crowds in Scotland for the jubilee events.[emoji23]
04-06-2022, 11:00 AM
Party at the village hall today, a lot of bunting around, mostly individual red white and blue triangles on fences and walls of houses, except for the union flag bunting on the house that always has big Conservative banners at election time.
04-06-2022, 11:03 AM
https://www.bbc.co.uk/news/uk-england-london-61683840
That's tragic. Go out to a jubilee party and get attacked
It was the Red Arrows display team trailing the red, white and blue colours, not Spitfires. The Arrows entertain millions with their amazing annual displsys around the UK and the world and fund more than 500 UK charities in doing so. Doubtful that those using foodbanks would see grounding them as a priority.A bit damaging to the environment all those needless flights, no?
04-06-2022, 01:39 PM
I hope so. The place is depressing and the car park is a nightmare.
Santa Cruz
04-06-2022, 01:54 PM
It wasn't when it first opened. We only had the Kirkgate down that way up until that point. Really important for that end of town, just needs a major revamp with bigger units to entice larger retailers.
Sorry for derailing the thread.
04-06-2022, 02:32 PM
the only Royalty that mattered today in Bathgate....and the 1st Saturday in June every year :wink:
https://scontent.fman1-2.fna.fbcdn.net/v/t31.18172-8/18839859_518284081895550_7952724572337536575_o.jpg ?_nc_cat=108&ccb=1-7&_nc_sid=cdbe9c&_nc_ohc=QiI4Rdor2dIAX9xq8kK&_nc_ht=scontent.fman1-2.fna&oh=00_AT-klW0CS-HO4C6TIZIXeljHYrQT7qsNgIP0Khtqut93TQ&oe=62C1271B
With the exception of Robert The Bruce, children of primary and secondary school age who attend a Bathgate school or live in Bathgate are invited to take part in the pageant as the principal and supporting characters.
King Robert The Bruce’s eldest child, Marjorie was married to Walter Lord High Steward, 6th Steward of Scotland. Part of the dowry included the Barony of Bathgate and the Key to Bathgate Castle. The castle was in the grounds of today’s Bathgate Golf Club, but unfortunately there are no remains.
The re-enactment begins with the Captain of the Guard leading the Royal Guards in forming a guard of honour. The Flower Queen and Rainbow Queens lead their girls through the guard and the Lady of the Court leads the Bower Girls to form a passageway up the stairs. The Heralds announce the arrival of the Royal Party, with Lord Lyon reading his Proclamation welcoming everyone. King Robert the Bruce thanks the people of Bathgate and with the help of the Keeper of the Keys, gives Marjorie and Walter the key to Bathgate Castle. The Earl of Moray introduces the Queens, Lady of the Court and invited guests to Marjorie and Walter.
04-06-2022, 03:57 PM
Herzlichste Grüße von Ihrer Majestät, Königin Elizabeth Saxe-Coburg Gotha
https://www.crossed-flag-pins.com/animated-flag-gif/gifs/Germany_240-animated-flag-gifs.gif
04-06-2022, 05:01 PM
Herzlichste Grüße von Ihrer Majestät, Königin Elizabeth Saxe-Coburg Gotha
https://www.crossed-flag-pins.com/animated-flag-gif/gifs/Germany_240-animated-flag-gifs.gif
:greengrin**** off and leave us real Germans out of this, you Angles and Saxons have made your bed. :wink:
Sent from my SM-A505FN using Tapatalk
Stairway 2 7
04-06-2022, 05:09 PM
Do the other European nations with monarchies have the same pish and constant events. I know Amsterdam turns orange on King's day and that its quite wild. But I've not heard much about the rest.
Thailand is the craziest I've seen. Posters billboards and portraits ******g everywhere of the King. Jail sentence if your found mocking him. He's actually a top ****ger and a wild man, which is causing concern
04-06-2022, 05:15 PM
I use Ocean Terminal fairly regularly. What’s wrong with the car park in your opinion?
Scotty Leither
04-06-2022, 05:27 PM
Rod Stewart among the turns at Lizzie’s do at Buck House tonight. I thought he was a massive Sellick fan?
He's here!
04-06-2022, 05:34 PM
They're knocking down the old Debenhams plus the car park at that end. Think it's being replaced by flats/hotel. Tram lines appear to be laid but look a long way from being operational.
He's here!
04-06-2022, 05:37 PM
I use Ocean Terminal fairly regularly. What’s wrong with the car park in your opinion?
Yes, it's free! Always thought that was Ocean Terminal's biggest asset.
04-06-2022, 05:37 PM
Rod Stewart among the turns at Lizzie’s do at Buck House tonight. I thought he was a massive Sellick fan?Free booze might be a factor?[emoji6][emoji16]
He's here!
04-06-2022, 05:40 PM
Yes, it's free! Always thought that was Ocean Terminal's biggest asset.
Adam Lambert, who sings with Queen these days, will be worth checking out. Incredible voice. Brian May also planning to trump his guitar solo on top of the palace apparently.
Was never a Queen fan back in the day but they have a hell of a back catalogue and are top notch live performers.
04-06-2022, 06:21 PM
Tinto day today in Symington. Not a union flag, jubilee banner or any other assorted *****. Blissful. An absolute scorcher as well.
04-06-2022, 07:04 PM
I'm watching something about a giant lizard like tyrant who is ruthless and sees nothing wrong with a bit of bloodshed when it suits.
Enough of the jubilee concert though, time for Jurassic World on STV.
Santa Cruz
04-06-2022, 07:52 PM
I'm watching something about a giant lizard like tyrant who is ruthless and sees nothing wrong with a bit of bloodshed when it suits.
Enough of the jubilee concert though, time for Jurassic World on STV.
I'm watching an Alex Ferguson docu on Ch4. Forgot about the concert, will turn over now, massive Neil Diamond fan.:aok:
04-06-2022, 08:01 PM
I'm watching an Alex Ferguson docu on Ch4. Forgot about the concert, will turn over now, massive Neil Diamond fan.:aok:
It is very very good
Santa Cruz
04-06-2022, 08:12 PM
It is very very good
I timed that well...goan yerself Rod!
04-06-2022, 08:17 PM
I'm not a Royalist by any means but I think the concert is very good.
I have no interest in taking part in any street parties etc but if this is giving people a bit of positivity after an absolutely pish 2 years then good for them.
04-06-2022, 08:27 PM
I'm not a Royalist by any means but I think the concert is very good.
I have no interest in taking part in any street parties etc but if this is giving people a bit of positivity after an absolutely pish 2 years then good for them.
100%. When Britain puts on a show it is world class.
04-06-2022, 08:29 PM
04-06-2022, 08:52 PM
Flicked over a while back and to my horror, Elbow were on. Never put Guy Garvey down as a royalist. There last album was crap as well so I'll not be playing them for a bit :greengrin
James310
04-06-2022, 09:17 PM
Some anger directed at Nicola Sturgeon on Twitter for being in the Royal Box tonight. She is there as FM though, not as the leader of the SNP.
Although I wonder if she joined in with God save the Queen? 🤣
Santa Cruz
04-06-2022, 09:21 PM
Diana Ross - Tune!!
04-06-2022, 09:25 PM
the only Royalty that mattered today in Bathgate....and the 1st Saturday in June every year :wink:
https://scontent.fman1-2.fna.fbcdn.net/v/t31.18172-8/18839859_518284081895550_7952724572337536575_o.jpg ?_nc_cat=108&ccb=1-7&_nc_sid=cdbe9c&_nc_ohc=QiI4Rdor2dIAX9xq8kK&_nc_ht=scontent.fman1-2.fna&oh=00_AT-klW0CS-HO4C6TIZIXeljHYrQT7qsNgIP0Khtqut93TQ&oe=62C1271B
With the exception of Robert The Bruce, children of primary and secondary school age who attend a Bathgate school or live in Bathgate are invited to take part in the pageant as the principal and supporting characters.
King Robert The Bruce’s eldest child, Marjorie was married to Walter Lord High Steward, 6th Steward of Scotland. Part of the dowry included the Barony of Bathgate and the Key to Bathgate Castle. The castle was in the grounds of today’s Bathgate Golf Club, but unfortunately there are no remains.
The re-enactment begins with the Captain of the Guard leading the Royal Guards in forming a guard of honour. The Flower Queen and Rainbow Queens lead their girls through the guard and the Lady of the Court leads the Bower Girls to form a passageway up the stairs. The Heralds announce the arrival of the Royal Party, with Lord Lyon reading his Proclamation welcoming everyone. King Robert the Bruce thanks the people of Bathgate and with the help of the Keeper of the Keys, gives Marjorie and Walter the key to Bathgate Castle. The Earl of Moray introduces the Queens, Lady of the Court and invited guests to Marjorie and Walter.
Was a cracking day for it, havent stayed in bathgate for about 20 years now but all the family stay there and being a bathgage bairn i go to the gala day every year
Scotty Leither
04-06-2022, 09:26 PM
Some anger directed at Nicola Sturgeon on Twitter for being in the Royal Box tonight. She is there as FM though, not as the leader of the SNP.
Although I wonder if she joined in with God save the Queen? 🤣
She could have pulled a sickie - like wot Andy did?
04-06-2022, 09:28 PM
She could have pulled a sickie - like wot Andy did?
You spelt “schoolie” wrong.
04-06-2022, 09:30 PM
Presumably it’s gone on for so long that Diana Ross has been brought on in preparation for it going to penalties?
Santa Cruz
04-06-2022, 09:33 PM
Cheers PB for the heads up on the concert. Fair cheered me up, have been in bed with a swollen jaw/extreme lethargy. Found the strength to have a wee jig there :greengrin
04-06-2022, 09:36 PM
Is it safe to switch the telly on again?
04-06-2022, 09:40 PM
Just watched Charles doing his stand-up show, don't give up yer day job, whatever that is.
Is it safe to switch the telly on again?It's followed by the news then Gary Oldman doing his Churchill in "Darkest Hour".
Hungry v England footy highlights on Channel 4 +1
04-06-2022, 10:04 PM
The highlight was the drone corgi. Worst was a tossup between that guy from Diversity, Craig David constantly touching his balls and Elton John ****ting it to sing live.
Also felt sorry for the wee Royals,
"get dressed George you're going to a gig, get your best suit and tie on."
"But mummy can't I wear my Sex Pistols God Save the Queen t-shirt?"
Santa Cruz
04-06-2022, 10:15 PM
The highlight was the drone corgi. Worst was a tossup between that guy from Diversity, Craig David constantly touching his balls and Elton John ****ting it to sing live.
Also felt sorry for the wee Royals,
"get dressed George you're going to a gig, get your best suit and tie on."
"But mummy can't I wear my Sex Pistols God Save the Queen t-shirt?"
They should do more to keep them out of the spotlight, they never look comfortable with the attention. Should just let them be kids, i.e. ditch the suits.
05-06-2022, 12:17 AM
Mummy? :faf:
Get a grip of yourself, Chuck, man.
05-06-2022, 01:26 AM
Definetely not. Im avoiding tv totally until tuesday. Great fun catching up on sports ive taped and my poor wee puppy knackered hes getting so many walks. Other half taping the concert so will be walking my wee man yet again when shes watching that.🤣 Quite blissful not hearing any mention of the ****** jubilee.
05-06-2022, 07:24 AM
Not if you're in Germany, they're totally obsessed with "Betty and her Brood".
It's totally spoiled Tagesschau for me this week. :rolleyes:
05-06-2022, 07:32 AM
Not if you're in Germany, they're totally obsessed with "Betty and her Brood".
It's totally spoiled Tagesschau for me this week. :rolleyes:
I suppose they are German after all. Saxe Coburg Gotha was their surname until WW1…
05-06-2022, 07:34 AM
Definetely not. Im avoiding tv totally until tuesday. Great fun catching up on sports ive taped and my poor wee puppy knackered hes getting so many walks. Other half taping the concert so will be walking my wee man yet again when shes watching that. Quite blissful not hearing any mention of the ****** jubilee.
Are you living in 1970 when we only had three channels? You should look at these fancy new satellite packages, gives you loads of choice without any Jubilee coverage. :greengrin
05-06-2022, 07:34 AM
I suppose they are German after all. Saxe Coburg Gotha was their surname until WW1…
https://www.hibs.net/showthread.php?351030-The-Firm&p=6982825&viewfull=1#post6982825
05-06-2022, 07:51 AM
Just saw 'highlights' of Rod Stewart singing Sweet Caroline. Jeezo, I knew he was past it but that was painful.
I know Neil Diamond can't really perform live anymore due to his illness but neither can Stewart.
05-06-2022, 08:02 AM
Also disappointed the Lion Kind cast didn't sing I just Can't Wait To Be King. That would have been wonderfully awkward.
05-06-2022, 09:04 AM
Our local flaghugger says todays events cancelled due to bad weather and lack of public support, not really clear what events he was on about and surely a bit of rain isn't going to get in the way of a true patriotic monarchist?
Reality seems to be that there were 3 houses out of around 50 in the street area with jubilee stuff on display so public support looks to have been the winner.
Pub was rammed yesterday when the weather was good, live music but not a lot of union jackery on show.
05-06-2022, 09:04 AM
Just saw 'highlights' of Rod Stewart singing Sweet Caroline. Jeezo, I knew he was past it but that was painful.
I know Neil Diamond can't really perform live anymore due to his illness but neither can Stewart.
Younger folk just laugh at me when I say what a privilege it was to see Elton and Rod live back in 1976/77. Yes they've both been pish for 45 years but they were great once, honest kids :greengrin
He's here!
05-06-2022, 10:15 AM
Agreed. It was an impressively slick production. Brilliant staging to move so quickly between acts and the lighting was phenomenal. Some really clever sections highlighting Britain's cultural/musical/sporting contribution to the world. Not necessarily my cup of tea musically (and obviously Rod Stewart and Diana Ross can no longer sing) but the likes of Alicia Keys were superb and it was a lot of fun overall. The Paddington sketch was brilliant.
05-06-2022, 10:32 AM
Agreed. It was an impressively slick production. Brilliant staging to move so quickly between acts and the lighting was phenomenal. Some really clever sections highlighting Britain's cultural/musical/sporting contribution to the world. Not necessarily my cup of tea musically (and obviously Rod Stewart and Diana Ross can no longer sing) but the likes of Alicia Keys were superb and it was a lot of fun overall. The Paddington sketch was brilliant.
I must admit the Paddington thing did allow me to raise a bit of a smile. Can't comment on the rest as only stumbled across the Paddington thing on some news stream.
05-06-2022, 02:59 PM
Also disappointed the Lion Kind cast didn't sing I just Can't Wait To Be King. That would have been wonderfully awkward.
😂😂😂
05-06-2022, 03:00 PM
It’s the “look at all the cultures we slaughtered” parade now.
I wonder how many of the participants of this parade have used a food bank in the last few months.
05-06-2022, 03:15 PM
Couldny sell all their tickets.
05-06-2022, 03:28 PM
Is queenie nursing a 2 day hangover or something? I hope she’s watching it on the telly in her jammies with a big **** off gin or a can of super.
The biggest laugh the whole weekend has been Lord So-and-So or the Right Honourable Such-and-Such insisting that this over-priced guff has brought the whole country together.
They haven't got a clue.
05-06-2022, 04:10 PM
The biggest laugh the whole weekend has been Lord So-and-So or the Right Honourable Such-and-Such insisting that this over-priced guff has brought the whole country together.
They haven't got a clue.
Too many to mention, but waving at the hologram of Queenie in a million dollar carraige going down the mall today, had to be up there. 😂
05-06-2022, 04:31 PM
Explain. Do other countries not know how to do this?
05-06-2022, 04:42 PM
Is this crap over with yet?
He's here!
05-06-2022, 04:49 PM
It’s the “look at all the cultures we slaughtered” parade now.
I wonder how many of the participants of this parade have used a food bank in the last few months.
Yes that sounds like a perfectly reasonable qualification to for taking part in a national celebration, whether you've used a food bank recently or not.
FWIW you might be surprised as participants came from all walks of British life, including NHS key workers and primary school kids from all parts of the UK.
Rather baffling why so many royal bashers on here seem to feel compelled to tune in to the Jubilee events. Give it a miss if it riles you so much surely?
Personally I thought it was all brilliantly pulled together.
Berwickhibby
05-06-2022, 05:13 PM
Yes that sounds like a perfectly reasonable qualification to for taking part in a national celebration, whether you've used a food bank recently or not.
FWIW you might be surprised as participants came from all walks of British life, including NHS key workers and primary school kids from all parts of the UK.
Rather baffling why so many royal bashers on here seem to feel compelled to tune in to the Jubilee events. Give it a miss if it riles you so much surely?
Personally I thought it was all brilliantly pulled together.
Post of the day :aok:
Personally I thought it was all brilliantly pulled together.I'm paying for it so am entitled to watch it/miss it and say what the **** I want about it.
05-06-2022, 05:17 PM
I'm paying for it so am entitled to watch it/miss it and say what the **** I want about it.
post of the day :aok:
05-06-2022, 05:17 PM
Explain. Do other countries not know how to do this?
I can't imagine that Germans, for example, would have been able to organise a concert efficiently.
05-06-2022, 05:19 PM
I can't imagine that the Germans, for example, would have been able to organise a concert efficiently.
Exactly, and the Americans are notorious for their inability to put on a show.