View Full Version : The Firm
Pages :
[
4]
05-06-2022, 05:24 PM
I can't imagine that Germans, for example, would have been able to organise a concert efficiently.
…and whatever you say about the French, us Brits can’t hold a right royal candle to them in the public disorder stakes.
05-06-2022, 05:27 PM
The DUP will be going berserk. Flegs!! :hilarious :lolrangers:
https://youtu.be/cBDZFH5h_Ys
05-06-2022, 06:08 PM
Explain. Do other countries not know how to do this?
To be fair to the OP, I don't think he's said anything of the sort.
Stairway 2 7
05-06-2022, 06:21 PM
Yep he said when Britain puts on a show its world class, that means up there with other nations surely.
05-06-2022, 06:23 PM
Well, he/she was highlighting Britain being especially good at it. Otherwise why mention it? Seems a bit odd to me, I was just wondering if other nations are also good at celebrating and having a party. Off the top of my head the Turks and the Chinese are also famed for a good old knees up also. An Irish wake leaves the Church of England service far behind in the fun stakes, for example.
05-06-2022, 06:28 PM
Yep he said when Britain puts on a show its world class, that means up there with other nations surely.
:faf: that’s an interesting way to look at it. You could take that further and say ‘world class’ is a pejorative because it actually means ‘just like a load of other countries’.
Let’s be honest, I’m not really bothered either way, I didn’t see any of it, not even the Paddington bit, so it could all have been ****ing marvellous, I’ve no idea.
05-06-2022, 06:34 PM
Well, he/she was highlighting Britain being especially good at it. Otherwise why mention it? Seems a bit odd to me, I was just wondering if other nations are also good at celebrating and having a party. Off the top of my head the Turks and the Chinese are also famed for a good old knees up also. An Irish wake leaves the Church of England service far behind in the fun stakes, for example.
I've not seen it either other than some stills, but I've read some of the feedback and it seems to have gone down very well. I'll probably actively hunt out snippets over the coming week on the back of that.
The OP clearly feels it met the standards of world class - that's not to say Britain is unique in doing so and no other country could compare.
Stairway 2 7
05-06-2022, 06:45 PM
:faf: that’s an interesting way to look at it. You could take that further and say ‘world class’ is a pejorative because it actually means ‘just like a load of other countries’.
Let’s be honest, I’m not really bothered either way, I didn’t see any of it, not even the Paddington bit, so it could all have been ****ing marvellous, I’ve no idea.
I'd say it wasn't anything to be proud about. I'm sure they have similar pish in many countries and all will be equally vacuous cheesy rubbish. The US love it superbowl ect, absolute dug meat
05-06-2022, 07:12 PM
I didn’t see any of it live, just picked up snippets elsewhere. Looked very well put together, esp the stage setting from last night. It seemed that those who like this sort of thing loved it, those who aren’t fussed about it liked it and those who hate it spent a fair bit of time on this thread posting a lot to show how much they weren’t bothered by it. Something for everyone then.
05-06-2022, 07:29 PM
The UK has always been up there with the best at organising Music events, and we don't need a jubilee, or any other hyped up excuse for doing it.
Our leaders currently have a need to find something to be world beating, world class, best at everything, better than Johnny Foreigner etc at doing it, that's our problem as we search for something, anything to be best at.
05-06-2022, 07:47 PM
How did we manage to have a Jubilee, when theirs a war on.
05-06-2022, 08:28 PM
The UK has always been up there with the best at organising Music events, and we don't need a jubilee, or any other hyped up excuse for doing it.
Our leaders currently have a need to find something to be world beating, world class, best at everything, better than Johnny Foreigner etc at doing it, that's our problem as we search for something, anything to be best at.
Pretty sure we're the best in the world at Platinum Jubilees. I don't think anyone's ever put on a Platinum Jubilee like what we put on.
05-06-2022, 08:36 PM
Me and my missus have spent the evening putting the world to rights. Is it over yet?
Stairway 2 7
05-06-2022, 08:41 PM
Princes Street Gardens was heaving when I went passed today. Although loads could have been tourists. Thought the huns were in town when I saw all the union Jacks
05-06-2022, 09:03 PM
Pretty sure we're the best in the world at Platinum Jubilees. I don't think anyone's ever put on a Platinum Jubilee like what we put on.We should sell them to all those remaining commonwealth members whilst the market is still there.
World beating etc etc...
He's here!
05-06-2022, 09:06 PM
Princes Street Gardens was heaving when I went passed today. Although loads could have been tourists. Thought the huns were in town when I saw all the union Jacks
Jubilee picnic and carnival parade:
Scotland's sunny jubilee weekend ends with picnics and parties - BBC News (https://www.bbc.co.uk/news/uk-scotland-61695523)
05-06-2022, 09:27 PM
Yes that sounds like a perfectly reasonable qualification to for taking part in a national celebration, whether you've used a food bank recently or not.
FWIW you might be surprised as participants came from all walks of British life, including NHS key workers and primary school kids from all parts of the UK.
Rather baffling why so many royal bashers on here seem to feel compelled to tune in to the Jubilee events. Give it a miss if it riles you so much surely?
Personally I thought it was all brilliantly pulled together.
You’d be doing well to escape from it.
Why would that fact be surprising? It’s great, I hope they had a fantastic day.
How much did this all cost during the worst cost of living crises in a generation?
05-06-2022, 09:59 PM
Just watched the Rod Stewart bit 🤣🤣🤣
He should stick to doing football cup draws I think. Absolutely awful. And he looked like a lion king costume with nobody inside.
05-06-2022, 10:55 PM
You’d be doing well to escape from it.
Why would that fact be surprising? It’s great, I hope they had a fantastic day.
How much did this all cost during the worst cost of living crises in a generation?
Upwards of £28 million
06-06-2022, 06:26 AM
I thought the Queen looked lovely yesterday, although long white gloves would have finished that outfit off. :wink:
06-06-2022, 06:54 AM
Upwards of £28 million
Everyone having a couple of days off work fully paid cost a lot more than that. It will likely tip us into recession.
06-06-2022, 10:26 AM
Everyone having a couple of days off work fully paid cost a lot more than that. It will likely tip us into recession.
I'm actually really struggling to catch up with work because of the days off, a lot of people im speaking to are saying the same, whatever line of work they're in. If you were busy anyway you've got even more of a backlog, and if you were struggling for work/sales to come in you've got even more of an uphill task than before.
06-06-2022, 10:48 AM
I thought the Queen looked lovely yesterday, although long white gloves would have finished that outfit off. :wink:
I'm not quite sure she got the Turnbull's Tornadoes shade, but a commendable effort. 8/10
06-06-2022, 11:22 AM
Scenes of "Normal people".
https://twitter.com/edcmpbl/status/1532061580744982528
Jesus H Christ.
06-06-2022, 11:29 AM
How did we manage to have a Jubilee, when theirs a war on.
The war's just on telly though, isn't it?
Jesus H Christ.Check this though, the dance equivalent of Stanley Unwin talking.
https://twitter.com/scottygb/status/1533454583153971208?t=WeLK06vVm5t2XVjOAse7-Q&s=19
Sent from my SM-A528B using Tapatalk
06-06-2022, 12:27 PM
Jesus H Christ.
I thought the poor guy talking about platinum sandwiches was craziest, then big Sasha fae Ulster, replete in orange t-shirt, turns up :hilarious
06-06-2022, 01:21 PM
We all have blue blood when it's de-oxygenated; that's why our veins are blue.
Nope, deoxygenated blood is darker but it's still red. Veins appear blue for a number of other reasons: https://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/List_of_common_misconceptions#Human_body_and_healt h
Human blood in veins is not actually blue. Blood is red due to the presence of hemoglobin; deoxygenated blood (in veins) has a deep red color, and oxygenated blood (in arteries) has a light cherry-red color. Veins below the skin can appear blue or green due to subsurface scattering of light through the skin, and aspects of human color perception. Many medical diagrams also use blue to show veins, and red to show arteries, which contributes to this misconception.
06-06-2022, 02:44 PM
The war's just on telly though, isn't it?
No Boos Nadine, thinks differently. We seem to be at war with Ukraine, according to her. :wink:
https://twitter.com/indy_swim/status/1533809182897582082
06-06-2022, 04:33 PM
No Boos Nadine, thinks differently. We seem to be at war with Ukraine, according to her. :wink:
https://twitter.com/indy_swim/status/1533809182897582082
06-06-2022, 07:21 PM
Pretty sure we're the best in the world at Platinum Jubilees. I don't think anyone's ever put on a Platinum Jubilee like what we put on.
What with all the money people are always claiming that the UK makes in tourism because it has a monarchy, it makes me wonder how other countries without a Monarchy, like Germany, cope financially.
06-06-2022, 08:21 PM
What with all the money people are always claiming that the UK makes in tourism because it has a monarchy, it makes me wonder how other countries without a Monarchy, like Germany, cope financially.
France and the US haven't had a tourist between them since the late 18th century.
06-06-2022, 10:44 PM
What with all the money people are always claiming that the UK makes in tourism because it has a monarchy, it makes me wonder how other countries without a Monarchy, like Germany, cope financially.Palace of Versailles does very nicely on tourist numbers.
If by any chance we removed Britain's monarchy in a similar fashion just think how many more visitors Buckingham palace and similar would get when unlimited access to all areas we helped pay for was given to all.
https://www2.b3ta.com/host/creative/88928/1654381955/q1.png
Heading home after a fantastic long weekend in London. We know how to put on a party. The atmosphere here was superb. We got invited to street parties just walking down the street . St James park for the concert was rocking. Loved it.
Berwickhibby
07-06-2022, 12:57 PM
Heading home after a fantastic long weekend in London. We know how to put on a party. The atmosphere here was superb. We got invited to street parties just walking down the street . St James park for the concert was rocking. Loved it.
Sounds like you had a fantastic time …. :aok:
07-06-2022, 01:05 PM
Glad you had a good time and I'm not against celeb lovers into the queen stuff enjoying themselves. I think you should pay for it yourselves though. Similar to a Glasto weekend maybe?
07-06-2022, 02:11 PM
Glad you had a good time and I'm not against celeb lovers into the queen stuff enjoying themselves. I think you should pay for it yourselves though. Similar to a Glasto weekend maybe?
Taxpayer funded music festivals, that’s a policy to capture the youth vote.
07-06-2022, 05:43 PM
France and the US haven't had a tourist between them since the late 18th century.
True.
Tommy75
07-06-2022, 10:48 PM
Are the people of those countries better off financially for not having a monarchy?
Fair doos to anyone who is against having a monarchy but do folk really think we would individually be better off financially if the monarchy was abolished?
07-06-2022, 11:36 PM
Are the people of those countries better off financially for not having a monarchy?
Fair doos to anyone who is against having a monarchy but do folk really think we would individually be better off financially if the monarchy was abolished?
The people of those countries are richer than people here. Whether that’s down to the monarchy?
Stairway 2 7
08-06-2022, 04:15 AM
The people of those countries are richer than people here. Whether that’s down to the monarchy?
Scandi countries have a good living whilst having a monarchy, certainly compared to Eastern Europe without.
How much does she cost each year. Would be probably impossible to work out. I suppose its like free advertising worldwide to important markets like US and China who seem to lap up the nonsense
08-06-2022, 06:18 AM
Scandi countries have a good living whilst having a monarchy, certainly compared to Eastern Europe without.
How much does she cost each year. Would be probably impossible to work out. I suppose its like free advertising worldwide to important markets like US and China who seem to lap up the nonsense
I don't think it's easy to directly compare between countries who do/don't have a monarchy. You'd need to compare the UK with (currently) against the UK without (unknown).
Other countries do seem to lap it up and it's undoubtedly a part of British historical culture which can be appealing to others, how much it generates in tourism is impossible to quantify though - I don't think it does the pro-monarchy side any favours when it's tallied up that every visitor to any royal attraction is only there because of the current existence of the RF.
I thought Macron's words were interesting last week. Spoke very highly of the diplomatic job the Queen has done over the years to strengthen ties between countries. I'm sure that's a compliment that would be replicated many times over the world too.
Stairway 2 7
08-06-2022, 06:51 AM
I don't think it's easy to directly compare between countries who do/don't have a monarchy. You'd need to compare the UK with (currently) against the UK without (unknown).
Other countries do seem to lap it up and it's undoubtedly a part of British historical culture which can be appealing to others, how much it generates in tourism is impossible to quantify though - I don't think it does the pro-monarchy side any favours when it's tallied up that every visitor to any royal attraction is only there because of the current existence of the RF.
I thought Macron's words were interesting last week. Spoke very highly of the diplomatic job the Queen has done over the years to strengthen ties between countries. I'm sure that's a compliment that would be replicated many times over the world too.
Yeah monarchy or no monarchy guide to how wealthy a country is in any way. I'm sure we'll do fine without, people would still flock to the palaces. But to say it doesn't bring in millions is ridiculous also. A worldwide advertising campaign that we get for free with their daft weddings and ceremonies, would be massive. I know mates that go to Kings day in Amsterdam each year, but that much orange gives me the boak
08-06-2022, 06:58 AM
Yeah monarchy or no monarchy guide to how wealthy a country is in any way. I'm sure we'll do fine without, people would still flock to the palaces. But to say it doesn't bring in millions is ridiculous also. A worldwide advertising campaign that we get for free with their daft weddings and ceremonies, would be massive. I know mates that go to Kings day in Amsterdam each year, but that much orange gives me the boak
Why do you keep saying it's free? :confused:
Stairway 2 7
08-06-2022, 07:29 AM
Why do you keep saying it's free? :confused:
Well how much do we pay them vs media attention around the world. Both would be in the millions. You can dislike the monarchy and still say the blindingly obvious in that they do bring in some money.
08-06-2022, 07:39 AM
I noticed over the last few months the royals going to all parts of their colonial kingdom. I wonder who drew the short straw and got the Malvinas?
Possibly Paddington, as he used to live close by.
08-06-2022, 08:58 AM
In straightforward current costs terms, there is a minimal saving to be made.
However, I would argue that the monarchy is the ultimate underpinning of Britain's class system which is a large part of the reason we get completely incompetent ********s like Johnson elevated way above any position they'd get to on merit alone. That "lions led by donkeys" deference is, imo, one of the key reasons for Britain's relative dysfunction vs comparable countries. That makes us all poorer, ultimately.
Stairway 2 7
08-06-2022, 09:10 AM
In straightforward current costs terms, there is a minimal saving to be made.
However, I would argue that the monarchy is the ultimate underpinning of Britain's class system which is a large part of the reason we get completely incompetent ********s like Johnson elevated way above any position they'd get to on merit alone. That "lions led by donkeys" deference is, imo, one of the key reasons for Britain's relative dysfunction vs comparable countries. That makes us all poorer, ultimately.
Think that's the same as most nations we notice it because its our country. France is a **** show of violence from having a choice between nazi le pen and thacherite Macron. Poland has a right wing nutter whose alighted with the church. Spain and Greece have higher than 13% unemployment compared to our 4.4, youth unemployment is above 30% in both! France and Italy aren't far behind them.
Uk is a ****ing mess no doubt, but ********s usually lead countries.
I'd get rid of the monarchy tomorrow right enough though
08-06-2022, 09:30 AM
Think that's the same as most nations we notice it because its our country. France is a **** show of violence from having a choice between nazi le pen and thacherite Macron. Poland has a right wing nutter whose alighted with the church. Spain and Greece have higher than 13% unemployment compared to our 4.4, youth unemployment is above 30% in both! France and Italy aren't far behind them.
Uk is a ****ing mess no doubt, but ********s usually lead countries.
I'd get rid of the monarchy tomorrow right enough though
Is our unemployment really 4.4? Read an article the other day which was saying that the govt is hiding a lot of unemployment by putting people on different benefits?
Stairway 2 7
08-06-2022, 09:42 AM
Is our unemployment really 4.4? Read an article the other day which was saying that the govt is hiding a lot of unemployment by putting people on different benefits?
Was it the spectator article. Said along the lines of there is also a big number on incapacity benefits and universal credit. It also said brexit can't be blamed for staff shortages as immigration has continued to rise and is at record numbers since brexit happened
Sent from my iPhone using TapatalkIf you work 1 hour per week on a zero hours contract you are counted as employed.
08-06-2022, 10:05 AM
I just heard David Attenborough is being given a supersized double knighthood, like a McDonalds order.
Santa Cruz
08-06-2022, 10:12 AM
Used to be if you claimed Incapacity (now ESA) you were not counted as unemployed. Unemployed stats included people fit and available for work. Incapacity claimants were not included for this reason.
He's here!
08-06-2022, 06:22 PM
https://www.bbc.co.uk/news/uk-scotland-tayside-central-61738011
Congratulations to Eve Muirhead. Well deserved recognition for one of Scotland's finest sporting ambassadors.
Or should she just have told them to 'ram it'?
He's here!
08-06-2022, 06:25 PM
I just heard David Attenborough is being given a supersized double knighthood, like a McDonalds order.
https://www.bbc.co.uk/news/entertainment-arts-61728977
Hard to quibble with that, although I'm sure someone will.
08-06-2022, 06:28 PM
Congratulations to Eve Muirhead. Well deserved recognition for one of Scotland's finest sporting ambassadors.
Depends on your outlook on such things, Bowie told them to ram it twice
08-06-2022, 06:29 PM
https://www.bbc.co.uk/news/entertainment-arts-61728977
Hard to quibble with that, although I'm sure someone will.
Absolutely ridiculous that David A has two knighthoods and David G still hasn't had his one.
davy67 +
08-06-2022, 07:01 PM
If you accept an honour then you become part of the establishment, if you're part of the establishment you can't criticise it
08-06-2022, 07:40 PM
Well how much do we pay them vs media attention around the world. Both would be in the millions. You can dislike the monarchy and still say the blindingly obvious in that they do bring in some money.
Until I feel the positive effects of the tourist pound they can do one.
08-06-2022, 07:44 PM
You can dislike the monarchy and still say the blindingly obvious in that they do bring in some money.
I know you're not a monarchist, but that's a lazy line. Unless we can show what the hit on national income would be if we were a republic, it can't really be said at all. Monarchists trot it out, but don't have any proof to back it up.
Stairway 2 7
08-06-2022, 07:55 PM
I know you're not a monarchist, but that's a lazy line. Unless we can show what the hit on national income would be if we were a republic, it can't really be said at all. Monarchists trot it out, but don't have any proof to back it up.
I don't mean it's a net positive they bring, but there is some money. The free advertising, the people that come to try and see her from abroad do spend money. Its just a fact they do bring in some money whether it's more or less than if they were beheaded well never know.
The money aspect isn't the reason we should get rid its the whole concept. I'm sure bullfighting brings money to cities in Spain that have them or far right rallies might bring money to the economy of the town they are in...
We should get rip because it goes against the ideals of a true democracy. Soldiers pledging allegiance to someone born to be above others. Turn Buckingham and hollyrood Palace to a Disney land style tourist attraction
08-06-2022, 07:57 PM
I don't mean it's a net positive they bring, but there is some money. The free advertising, the people that come to try and see her from abroad do spend money. Its just a fact they do bring in some money whether it's more or less than if they were beheaded well never know.
The money aspect isn't the reason we should get rid its the whole concept. I'm sure bullfighting brings money to cities in Spain that have them or far right rallies might bring money to the economy of the town they are in...
We should get rip because it goes against the ideals of a true democracy. Soldiers pledging allegiance to someone born to be above others. Turn Buckingham and hollyrood Palace to a Disney land style tourist attraction
Agree with all that [thumbs up emoji]
08-06-2022, 08:00 PM
In the extremely unlikely event that I'd been offered a similar award, I would have told them to stick it.
However, it's up to each individual if they want to accept awards bestowed on them by an anachronistic, medieval institution, where said awards have been sullied by being bought and paid for, or given as rewards for questionable favours by dodgy characters
Or where some of those awards refer to a now defunct Empire that used and abused many other countries around the world.
But as I said, that's entirely their choice, and who am I to criticise them if they're happy with all that.
08-06-2022, 08:58 PM
In the extremely unlikely event that I'd been offered a similar award, I would have told them to stick it.
However, it's up to each individual if they want to accept awards bestowed on them by an anachronistic, medieval institution, where said awards have been sullied by being bought and paid for, or given as rewards for questionable favours by dodgy characters
Or where some of those awards refer to a now defunct Empire that used and abused many other countries around the world.
But as I said, that's entirely their choice, and who am I to criticise them if they're happy with all that.
Great post :agree:
10-06-2022, 08:37 PM
oh dear, more embarrassment for the wee sweet old lady's favourite pervert son
‘Absolute fool’: Prince Andrew embroiled in another debt battle, this time over £1.6m (msn.com) (https://www.msn.com/en-gb/money/other/absolute-fool-prince-andrew-embroiled-in-another-debt-battle-this-time-over-1-6m/ar-AAYjzZx?ocid=msedgntp)
Mr Grieves
26-06-2022, 07:56 AM
https://www.bbc.co.uk/news/uk-61941113
Our future king received millions of €s in a holdall and carrier bags from a qatari sheikh :rolleyes:
26-06-2022, 03:24 PM
Our future king received millions of €s in a holdall and carrier bags from a qatari sheikh :rolleyes:
He should run for FIFA President.
26-06-2022, 03:24 PM
He should run for FIFA President.
26-06-2022, 03:48 PM
I agree completely. No chance I would ever get any type of award but I would never take one. No surprise that most of those who I am aware of that knock back Royal recognition are folk I already I admire.
26-06-2022, 08:28 PM
I agree completely. No chance I would ever get any type of award but I would never take one. No surprise that most of those who I am aware of that knock back Royal recognition are folk I already I admire.
There really should be a knock back list posted the same day as those receiving their awards. Just for balance.
In other news,
Major Tory donor put in charge of handing out honours - a post that is meant to be independent and non-partisan. Totally normal and not corrupt at all, in Johnson’s 2022 Britain.
https://twitter.com/sturdyAlex/status/1540825907035881472
26-06-2022, 11:21 PM
This is a really disturbing story and should be right up the headlines.
27-06-2022, 03:14 PM
Not as bad as being a sweaty nonce, but just as bad as taking posh bags full of cash. It shouldn't be happening and let's hope it doesn't if/when Scotland goes its own way.
https://www.theguardian.com/uk-news/2022/jun/27/queen-secret-influence-laws-revealed-scottish-government-memo
27-06-2022, 03:54 PM
Not as bad as being a sweaty nonce, but just as bad as taking posh bags full of cash. It shouldn't be happening and let's hope it doesn't if/when Scotland goes its own way.
https://www.theguardian.com/uk-news/2022/jun/27/queen-secret-influence-laws-revealed-scottish-government-memo
And people actually think we are a democracy. No wonder they think they can ignore Scottish election results.
27-06-2022, 03:57 PM
https://www.theguardian.com/uk-news/2022/jun/27/queen-secret-influence-laws-revealed-scottish-government-memoIt does make you wonder what it is the party handing over said bags full of cash wanted or was promised in return, or if we will ever know.
27-06-2022, 04:04 PM
It does make you wonder what it is the party handing over said bags full of cash wanted or was promised in return, or if we will ever know.
I'd have said it was just a regular charitable donation, but the last time I tried to give cash to a charity they wouldn't take it, only wanted to deal by direct debit. Probably just that direct debits are harder to set up in Qatar, with it being so hot and all, and nothing suspicious at all.
27-06-2022, 04:40 PM
I'd have said it was just a regular charitable donation, but the last time I tried to give cash to a charity they wouldn't take it, only wanted to deal by direct debit. Probably just that direct debits are harder to set up in Qatar, with it being so hot and all, and nothing suspicious at all.Handy that it was euros then, and not all that hot sweaty qatari currency
Stairway 2 7
27-06-2022, 05:11 PM
No sure I'm having this idea
alanferrier
·
7h
I hold absolutely no candle for Prince Charles, but I do find it rather coincidental that a week or so after he criticises the government's Rwanda policy the Murdoch rags print a story about him accepting €1M in dodgy cash. In 2015. How long have they been sitting on that one?
And people actually think we are a democracy. No wonder they think they can ignore Scottish election results.
Which Scottish election results were ignored?
27-06-2022, 05:50 PM
Which Scottish election results were ignored?
2021 is about to be ignored when the parly votes to request a referendum and it will be denied by the UK govt.
So that’s none
27-06-2022, 06:07 PM
So that’s none
But they are promising to ignore it.
I must have missed that promise as well. Do you have a link
PS. You may well turn out to be right tomorrow or in the coming days but wait until things happens before claiming them as fact !!
27-06-2022, 06:19 PM
I must have missed that promise as well. Do you have a link
PS. You may well turn out to be right tomorrow or in the coming days but wait until things happens before claiming them as fact !!
Fact??
27-06-2022, 07:10 PM
It does make you wonder what it is the party handing over said bags full of cash wanted or was promised in return, or if we will ever know.
Nothing underhand he felt sorry for this country and wanted to help out a worthy cause.
27-06-2022, 07:24 PM
Nothing underhand he felt sorry for this country and wanted to help out a worthy cause.
Some folk used to believe they didn't bring any money into the country. This proves it for me. Pity the exchange rate is pants.
27-06-2022, 08:36 PM
Some folk used to believe they didn't bring any money into the country. This proves it for me. Pity the exchange rate is pants.
I have to confess I was one of the doubters but this is 100% proof of how wrong I was
27-06-2022, 09:26 PM
Some folk used to believe they didn't bring any money into the country. This proves it for me. Pity the exchange rate is pants.Charlie has impeccable environmental credentials, except when jetting all over the world doing "duties" so hopefully the cash was in recyclable bags to make this whole affair look completely above board.
28-06-2022, 06:59 PM
Maxwell sentenced to 20 years. Proving beyond all reasonable doubt that you can't escape the consequences of your criminal behaviour just by being rich and powerful.
28-06-2022, 07:05 PM
Maxwell sentenced to 20 years. Proving beyond all reasonable doubt that you can't escape the consequences of your criminal behaviour just by being rich and powerful.
Not sure if that was tongue in cheek but there are a whole load of rich powerful MEN who are doing justbthat in this particular case
29-06-2022, 06:57 AM
Not sure if that was tongue in cheek but there are a whole load of rich powerful MEN who are doing justbthat in this particular case
Pretty sure that WAS tongue in cheek.
The first of these offenses took place in 1996, so that’s around a quarter of a century in which Epstein and Maxwell were running a paedophile ring, solely for the rich and famous. They weren’t letting just anyone in. Bearing in mind the victims described ‘regular’ sex parties with multiple unnamed individuals over this time period, you can only guess how many abusers were involved and have escaped any sort of justice. There were also be multiple (dozens? Hundreds? of victims who will never come to light. It’s really disgusting but limiting the media debate to merely talking about the 2 individuals who got caught and closing the book on the story is what will now happen, I’m assuming.
29-06-2022, 07:39 AM
Hurrah! He's done more for the public image of gorillas than any man in history.
30-06-2022, 02:59 PM
https://twitter.com/theipaper/status/1542407310613553154
Thank goodness, I was worried she'd be feeling the pinch what with the price of heating the 7 royal residences!!
30-06-2022, 03:34 PM
Thank goodness, I was worried she'd be feeling the pinch what with the price of heating the 7 royal residences!!
That's Sweaty-Nonce-Boy's damages covered then. :rolleyes:
30-06-2022, 05:17 PM
Surely now is the time for the royals to modernise by changing their outdated work practices. There are also far too many of them. Modernisation would involve some redundancies but hopefully that could be done on a voluntary basis but no organisation can guarantee that.
Longer hours will be necessary. Snipping a bit of ribbon with a scissors doesn't cut it any more, this isn't the 1970s.
Thank goodness, I was worried she'd be feeling the pinch what with the price of heating the 7 royal residences!!Perfectly normal. They born to take that role, like in a fairy tale for small children, so as long as adults are cool with this part of the status quo it's normal.
30-06-2022, 07:44 PM
Surely now is the time for the royals to modernise by changing their outdated work practices. There are also far too many of them. Modernisation would involve some redundancies but hopefully that could be done on a voluntary basis but no organisation can guarantee that.
Longer hours will be necessary. Snipping a bit of ribbon with a scissors doesn't cut it any more, this isn't the 1970s.Are we talking getting a job here?
Lots of opportunities in post Brexit Britain
Longer hours will be necessary. Snipping a bit of ribbon with a scissors doesn't cut it any more, this isn't the 1970s.
True. You'd think they'd have learned a song or how to give a turn on an accordion or something by now. Arrive, wave, bore on, piss off. Dull as.
01-07-2022, 08:01 AM
True. You'd think they'd have learned a song or how to give a turn on an accordion or something by now. Arrive, wave, bore on, piss off. Dull as.
Sent from my SM-A528B using TapatalkA latter day version of the Bonzo dog doo dah band just flashed before me when I read your post.
But a street entertainer version now that Wet Willie is a bona fide Big Issue seller.
15-07-2022, 08:00 AM
Reasons for Scotland to go its own way and become a 21st century democratic republic #2956982:
https://www.theguardian.com/uk-news/2022/jul/15/sandringham-estate-police-barred-investigating-wildlife-crime
18-07-2022, 11:01 AM
So any rumours as to what the shocking photo of Prince Andrew contains 😂
18-07-2022, 11:35 AM
So any rumours as to what the shocking photo of Prince Andrew contains 😂
sweat?
18-07-2022, 12:55 PM
sweat?
Dripping onto his Pollo ad Astra
18-07-2022, 02:41 PM
I was hoping it was a pic of him reading Razzle before his interview with Emily Maitlis
CyberSauzee
19-07-2022, 08:51 PM
sweat?
That was my thought and the more I think about it it's the most obvious and likely one.
19-07-2022, 08:55 PM
https://uploads.tapatalk-cdn.com/20220719/490a8e19c1edd4b99ae7978b05ef0cca.jpg
stu in nottingham
19-07-2022, 09:04 PM
The sweating thing was my first thought too. However, what he actually said (very unconvincingly imho) is the below. I thought he was hastily adjusting his story as he went along to possibly acommodate that he does not still have that condition.
'There's a slight problem with the sweating because I have a peculiar medical condition which is that I don't sweat or I didn't sweat at the time and that was… was it… yes, I didn't sweat at the time because I had suffered what I would describe as an overdose of adrenalin in the Falkland's War when I was shot at...'
With that in mind, I'm going for the Razzle theory.
19-07-2022, 09:08 PM
The sweating thing was my first thought too. However, what he actually said (very unconvincingly imho) is the below. I thought he was hastily adjusting his story as he went along to possibly acommodate that he does not still have that condition.
'There's a slight problem with the sweating because I have a peculiar medical condition which is that I don't sweat or I didn't sweat at the time and that was… was it… yes, I didn't sweat at the time because I had suffered what I would describe as an overdose of adrenalin in the Falkland's War when I was shot at...'
With that in mind, I'm going for the Razzle theory.
He should have just come right out and made it clear that he only suffered from the condition for one night, the night it was suggested that he was sweating.
stu in nottingham
19-07-2022, 09:12 PM
He should have just come right out and made it clear that he only suffered from the condition for one night, the night it was suggested that he was sweating.
I want to know if there was any sweating over his dough balls in Woking Pizza Express though.
LewysGot2
23-07-2022, 09:38 PM
Dripping onto his Pollo ad Astra
That's my favourite Pizza Express pizza.
Or it used to be! 😂🙈
Firms stuff, firms rules.
https://twitter.com/BFBSRadioHQ/status/1551930724621733890?t=zGZWhGgTBcZ57PS5OGQbHg&s=19
27-07-2022, 07:00 PM
https://twitter.com/BFBSRadioHQ/status/1551930724621733890?t=zGZWhGgTBcZ57PS5OGQbHg&s=19
I thought he showed reasonable restraint considering the circumstances. It's not a petting zoo.
27-07-2022, 07:01 PM
Sent from my SM-A528B using TapatalkMy views on monarchy, it's weird customs and hangers on are well documented on this thread, but having been around horses occasionally, a stranger messing about with the reins isn't the brightest thing to allow.
28-07-2022, 12:27 PM
Broad minded twitter users might like to check what's trending on Wills today then see this tweet from those japesters at Ryanair. :greengrin
https://twitter.com/Ryanair/status/1552604254996766720?s=20&t=fp00NsLy3vvZj3tMi06YBw
28-07-2022, 12:30 PM
Broad minded twitter users might like to check what's trending on Wills today then see this tweet from those japesters at Ryanair. :greengrin
https://twitter.com/Ryanair/status/1552604254996766720?s=20&t=fp00NsLy3vvZj3tMi06YBw
Someone is going to have to explain it to me. 🙄
28-07-2022, 12:36 PM
Me too
28-07-2022, 01:03 PM
Acid House
Boab gets chucked out of his mum and dad's (happy howden) house, fly's back to see mum and dad engaging in a act.
28-07-2022, 05:01 PM
https://mobile.twitter.com/TheDuchessBoom/status/1552675131851431937
I suspect a few people will be requiring an explanation.
28-07-2022, 07:10 PM
This is up there with Gary Locke in my absolute favourite almost certainly fabricated kinks of someone famous (relatively in the case of GL) list.
Renfrew_Hibby
28-07-2022, 07:15 PM
😝 Hilarious, lube firms will be battling it out for that 'by appointment of HRH' endorsement.
28-07-2022, 10:16 PM
You're an awfy man Boab Coyle.
I'm waiting on someone replacing their faces on a video clip.
29-07-2022, 06:08 AM
You're an awfy man Boab Coyle.
I'm waiting on someone replacing their faces on a video clip.
With Wills reciting all our glorious Kings and Queens instead of the Tornadoes....
30-07-2022, 05:22 PM
https://twitter.com/gabriel_pogrund/status/1553426899963092992?s=21&t=tVAgGXtT4Zm6eW7yqDBfyA
Charles taking money from the Bin Ladens.
30-07-2022, 05:52 PM
https://twitter.com/gabriel_pogrund/status/1553426899963092992?s=21&t=tVAgGXtT4Zm6eW7yqDBfyA
Charles taking money from the Bin Ladens.
Sent from my iPhone using TapatalkMaybe easier to list the dictators and despots he hasn't taken money from? Shame he's too late to stand for Nasty party leader.
01-08-2022, 06:13 PM
Lidia Thorpe giving Auld Queenie the metaphorical finger whilst being sworn into the Aussie parliament.
They're going to become a republic soon enough.
Lidia Thorpe giving Auld Queenie the metaphorical finger whilst being sworn into the Aussie parliament.
They're going to become a republic soon enough.https://twitter.com/isexton/status/1554068888714989569?t=EIfgrw6hey-bkdzBZELc1g&s=09
He's here!
30-08-2022, 06:41 PM
Meghan Markle claims South Africans 'rejoiced in the streets the same way we did when Mandela was freed' when she married Prince Harry:
Nelson Mandela's grandson 'surprised' to hear Meghan Markle comparison | Metro News (https://metro.co.uk/2022/08/30/nelson-mandelas-grandson-surprised-to-hear-meghan-markle-comparison-17268582/?ico=tag-post-strip_item_1_news)
She's unhinged.
30-08-2022, 11:57 PM
Meghan Markle claims South Africans 'rejoiced in the streets the same way we did when Mandela was freed' when she married Prince Harry:
Nelson Mandela's grandson 'surprised' to hear Meghan Markle comparison | Metro News (https://metro.co.uk/2022/08/30/nelson-mandelas-grandson-surprised-to-hear-meghan-markle-comparison-17268582/?ico=tag-post-strip_item_1_news)
She's unhinged.But she didn't say that? Not according to the actual article
Former actress Meghan told The Cut an unnamed Lion King cast member had shared what her joining the British Royal Family meant to him when he pulled her aside at the 2019 London premiere of the live-action version.
She said: ‘He looked at me, and he’s just like light. He said, “I just need you to know: When you married into this family, we rejoiced in the streets the same we did when Mandela was freed from prison.”’
The article went on to note that Meghan – who was the first mixed-race person to marry a senior British royal in centuries – ‘of course, knows she’s no Mandela’.
Sent from my VOG-L29 using Tapatalk
31-08-2022, 05:32 AM
She's unhinged.
The way the media has depicted her has imo been despicable. With a pretty obvious racial sub text in many cases imo. No wonder Harry agreed to leave the country. First his mother now his wife.
31-08-2022, 06:06 AM
Meghan; She's unhinged.
I think you having that conclusion is the intention of the article.
She's unhinged.You can't read properly.
31-08-2022, 06:46 PM
She's unhinged.
30-second documentary about press coverage of Markle. (https://twitter.com/i/status/1367182324291493894)
He's here!
04-09-2022, 10:12 PM
I think you having that conclusion is the intention of the article.
Try reading the full Cut interview the quote is taken from...though I'd caution against it. New extremities of narcissism.
He's here!
04-09-2022, 10:18 PM
The way the media has depicted her has imo been despicable. With a pretty obvious racial sub text in many cases imo. No wonder Harry agreed to leave the country. First his mother now his wife.
The media she claims to so despise is the primary source of her millionaire lifestyle. And the comparisons with Diana are absurd. Diana was an wholly unprepared teenager when she married Charles. Meghan was approaching 40 and had been in the spotlight for many years when she married Harry. Her attempts to portray herself as naive young girl were ridiculous.
04-09-2022, 10:29 PM
Try reading the full Cut interview the quote is taken from...though I'd caution against it. New extremities of narcissism.
I’m not really that interested. She seems pleasant enough, unlike the collection of abusers liars and cheats that her husbands family consists of.
Stairway 2 7
05-09-2022, 05:35 AM
She seems like an ********, married to an ******** who's family are worse inbred ********s from a bizarre ancient line of ceremonial ********s.
Sad that all of the aboves daft lives are news worthy
05-09-2022, 05:50 AM
The media she claims to so despise is the primary source of her millionaire lifestyle. And the comparisons with Diana are absurd. Diana was an wholly unprepared teenager when she married Charles. Meghan was approaching 40 and had been in the spotlight for many years when she married Harry. Her attempts to portray herself as naive young girl were ridiculous.
So you think the press have been fair to her. The rabid right wing red tops have ripped her apart and sounds like Harry's family haven't been much better hence the reason they are in California. Quite a weird class ridden country we live in.
05-09-2022, 06:18 AM
Her attempts to portray herself as naive young girl were ridiculous.
Probably was young and naive in comparison to the hundreds-of-year-old oiled machine that is The Firm.
05-09-2022, 07:53 AM
She seems like an ********, married to an ******** who's family are worse inbred ********s from a bizarre ancient line of ceremonial ********s.
Sad that all of the aboves daft lives are news worthy
I think you need to get off the fence. 😉
05-09-2022, 08:32 AM
I’m not really that interested. She seems pleasant enough, unlike the collection of abusers liars and cheats that her husbands family consists of.
Yup. We have a paedo in the Royal family, who is living off of our taxes.
But look over there, Meghan said something...
But look over there, Meghan said something...They are trying to do to her what they did to her dead mum-in-law, gaslight/label.
05-09-2022, 08:37 AM
But look over there, Meghan said something...
And she’s mixed race.
I wonder what clinical evidence there is for her being a narcissist or "unhinged".
There's the documentary on Trump doing the rounds back by a couple of hundred psychologists pointing out his narcissistic traits and actions.
She doesn't come over like Trump at all.
Seems like because she has fallen out with Saxe-Coburg-Gothe's any label gets chucked at her and their "supporters" are all too ready to parrot them.
05-09-2022, 09:31 AM
I wonder what clinical evidence there is for her being a narcissist or "unhinged".
There's the documentary on Trump doing the rounds back by a couple of hundred psychologists pointing out his narcissistic traits and actions.
She doesn't come over like Trump at all.
Seems like because she has fallen out with Saxe-Coburg-Gothe's any label gets chucked at her and their "supporters" are all too ready to parrot them.
I know a couple of narcissists, undiagnosed. Very hard to be diagnosed because the sufferer is highly unlikely to engage with whoever's doing the diagnosis. Anyway...The NHS says of narcissism;
Exact causes are unknown, but may include:
Parenting style either excessive pampering or criticism
Genetic changes
Changes in the structure or functioning of brain
Risk factors may include:
Family history of mental health disorders
Unpleasant family life during childhood
Conduct disorder during childhood
When you think of the well established lack of genetic diversity in aristocratic families, and the exposure to problematic private school environment, traumatic separation anxieties when young when being packed off to boarding school etc., It wouldn't be surprising if narcissism was indemic in the Royals. Risk factors are all there.
He's here!
05-09-2022, 02:07 PM
And she’s mixed race.
Her ethnicity doesn't prevent her being an eejit.
05-09-2022, 02:51 PM
But it does make her a target for the press
05-09-2022, 03:15 PM
But an element of our society does buy into the theory that people with dark skin are intellectually and culturally inferior due to their Bong Bongo land heritage making it easy to persuade them she is.
08-09-2022, 11:45 AM
https://www.bbc.co.uk/news/uk-62836057
Meeting 2 tory prime ministers in a day doesn't seem like a good idea after all.
08-09-2022, 12:18 PM
Queen Elizabeth the Second is unwell. ‘On her Last legs’ is now trending. Liz Truss, Ed Davey and the last remaining Chuckle Brother have all tweeted variations on the theme of ‘we are deeply concerned as will be the entire nation’.
08-09-2022, 12:18 PM
Prince Charles and Camilla have arrived at Balmoral and Prince William is travelling there.
That's all we need, a month of national mourning!
On the plus side, the telly won't be switched on for the month, helps with the energy saving 😉
08-09-2022, 12:20 PM
Keir Starmer has released a statement saying that in the event of the death of our monarch, all Labour frontbenchers will mourn for a day longer than any other UK political party will mourn for.
08-09-2022, 12:24 PM
Prediction #1- A number of Celtc fans will in some way disrupt or disrespect some remembrance spectacle, or make sick jokes online, which will gather way more media coverage than is necessary, and days of predictable outrage will follow.
08-09-2022, 12:24 PM
Not sounding good at all. Media appear wary of saying how serious it is.
08-09-2022, 12:26 PM
Anyone think Liz Truss put something in her tea? Her anti Royal background is well known.
Steven79
08-09-2022, 12:31 PM
Anyone think Liz Truss put something in her tea? Her anti Royal background is well known.That's why she wanted to be PM!
Sent from my SM-G960F using Tapatalk
08-09-2022, 12:33 PM
That's why she wanted to be PM!
Sent from my SM-G960F using Tapatalk
MI5 need to get involved
McSwanky
08-09-2022, 12:34 PM
Anyone think Liz Truss put something in her tea? Her anti Royal background is well known.
Probably got said substance in a wee brown envelope from Prince Charles.
See all this "deeply concerned" stuff from the various party leaders? Why do they feel the need to say that? She's a 90 something year old woman, she's going to disappear soon anyway, and it's really not going to have any bearing on the country. Am I being callous?
08-09-2022, 12:34 PM
Not sounding good at all. Media appear wary of saying how serious it is.
Aye, the BBC have just spent 45 minutes telling us what happened 2 days ago.
Breaking news.
08-09-2022, 12:36 PM
Those Salisbury Russians will be easy to spot, they'll be in Liz's car.
McSwanky
08-09-2022, 12:38 PM
Charles already there, William on his way up. FIGHT!
Been some week for the Huns [emoji1787]
See all this "deeply concerned" stuff from the various party leaders? Why do they feel the need to say that? She's a 90 something year old woman, she's going to disappear soon anyway, and it's really not going to have any bearing on the country. Am I being callous?
David Cameron is ‘deeply concerned’
Starmer Is ‘deeply worried’
Nicola is ‘profoundly concerned’ (deeper than just deeply? Does she beat the other two?
Mark Drakeford merely ‘concerned’
Speechwriters trying to outdo themselves.
08-09-2022, 12:40 PM
Charles already there, William on his way up. FIGHT!
More Germans in Balmoral than at the Eintracht game last night…
McSwanky
08-09-2022, 12:43 PM
More Germans in Balmoral than at the Eintracht game last night…
08-09-2022, 12:46 PM
People are brilliant, I've just watched a lady with a couple of dogs on the BBC News walk up to get her photo taken at the gates of Balmoral
Suppose it's as good a time as any :faf:
Logie Green
08-09-2022, 12:54 PM
David Cameron is ‘deeply concerned’
Starmer Is ‘deeply worried’
Nicola is ‘profoundly concerned’ (deeper than just deeply? Does she beat the other two?
Mark Drakeford merely ‘concerned’
Speechwriters trying to outdo themselves.
Prefab Sprout were ‘deeply concerned’ in Cars and Girls.
08-09-2022, 01:14 PM
Stairway 2 7
08-09-2022, 01:17 PM
I've zero interest in a woman who's had a good long life passing away. But people who gloat ect or say good are very weird. She's no an evil politician ect. Just a lucky woman who was born into a weird system. Apparently a nice enough person. But as I say who cares, unless we get an extra days holiday that is 👍
McSwanky
08-09-2022, 01:21 PM
Thought so. Thanks for the confirmation though. :aok:
OldEast
08-09-2022, 01:40 PM
No not at all. The party leaders probably don't give a flying one, same as most of us but they feel they have to come out with this or risk the entire British media attacking them for their supposed callousness.
08-09-2022, 01:41 PM
The party leaders probably don't give a flying one ...You think?
08-09-2022, 01:41 PM
People are brilliant, I've just watched a lady with a couple of dogs on the BBC News walk up to get her photo taken at the gates of Balmoral
Suppose it's as good a time as any :faf:
Next it will be some Scottish guy going up to the reporter live on air: "Whit's gaun oan, pal. Whose hoose is this?"
OldEast
08-09-2022, 01:49 PM
You think?
I do yes. Why would they care any more or less than the average Joe?
Anyway whether they do or don't the question was about why they feel they have to come out with statements of concern. To which I gave my opinion.
08-09-2022, 01:53 PM
Anyway whether they do or don't the question was about why they feel they have to come out with statements of concern. To which I gave my opinion.
Yes you did.
Renfrew_Hibby
08-09-2022, 01:53 PM
The curse of Truss?
08-09-2022, 01:57 PM
The curse of Truss?
Truck-curse. Truckers.
Whichever, shes certainly got her prints all over this.
Stairway 2 7
08-09-2022, 01:59 PM
They will have met her multiple times, Nicola Sturgeon will have dealt with her loads. I'm sure she is sincere when she speaks so fondly of her often
08-09-2022, 02:02 PM
Maybe, just maybe they come out with statements of concern because it’s the decent thing to do.
08-09-2022, 02:18 PM
Whichever, shes certainly got her prints all over this.
She took over from a World King seamlessly. No reason why she couldn't do the same from an actual Queen. She probably needs to start the cosplaying right away though, to ensure she's taken seriously for the role.
08-09-2022, 02:55 PM
She took over from a World King seamlessly. No reason why she couldn't do the same from an actual Queen. She probably needs to start the cosplaying right away though, to ensure she's taken seriously for the role.
More on the alleged Truss involvement…
“but there had been a state of heightened anxiety in Westminster over the Queen’s health since she cancelled a privy council meeting shortly after looking frail after meeting Truss at Balmoral” the guardian.
08-09-2022, 03:07 PM
I sorta agree with 'bollah, I reckon Lizzie Truss has played the long game, called for the abolition of the monarchy as a teenaged Liberal, wangled her way to the top job, meets the queen and next days she's at deaths door, I reckon she's slipped her a mickey :agree:
McSwanky
08-09-2022, 03:08 PM
I sorta agree with 'bollah, I reckon Lizzie Truss has played the long game, called for the abolition of the monarchy as a teenaged Liberal, wangled her way to the top job, meets the queen and next days she's at deaths door, I reckon she's slipped her a mickey :agree:
Question is, has she booby trapped Balmoral so she kills all those pesky heirs off as well? It would be poor planning not to have planted some sort of remote controlled explosive somewhere for when they all arrive...
08-09-2022, 03:13 PM
News presenters wearing black already. Isn't that jumping the gun a wee bit.
08-09-2022, 03:14 PM
Question is, has she booby trapped Balmoral so she kills all those pesky heirs off as well? It would be poor planning not to have planted some sort of remote controlled explosive somewhere for when they all arrive...
I was going to type 'we can but hope' but then I thought it would be a ruin of a good castle!
Sorry, not sorry! :greengrin
08-09-2022, 03:15 PM
Bloody goths, they get everywhere
McSwanky
08-09-2022, 03:19 PM
Witchell's no.... In the know, or wishful thinking? :confused:
08-09-2022, 03:23 PM
Witchell's no.... In the know, or wishful thinking? :confused:
Wardrobe malfunction :greengrin
08-09-2022, 03:25 PM
Not even the focus story on Radio Scotland, all energy bills.
Those expecting an announcement today will be 'disappointed' imo.
Stairway 2 7
08-09-2022, 03:30 PM
Families car didn't seem to be going that fast to get, could just be gravely ill, no idea
hibby rae
08-09-2022, 03:42 PM
Even when she does go that should still be the case. Far more important impact on the lives of the population.
08-09-2022, 03:49 PM
Even when she does go that should still be the case. Far more important impact on the lives of the population.
The speed the Ukrainians are running through Russian defences, the energy crisis could be over soon as well.
Families car didn't seem to be going that fast to get, could just be gravely ill, no idea
Roads in that area are not great at the best of times and with the weather and tourists it’ll take that bit longer. 45 mins to an hour!
08-09-2022, 04:31 PM
Of course, there is zero chance it will happen, but a change of monarch after seventy years should be the perfect moment to have a serious debate about the future of the monarchy. It's a different world, and the UK is a very different country than it was in 1952. Deference to the aristocracy has gone; why, in 2022, does the public have zero input upon who the next head of state should be? It's unacceptable.
Between now and the coronation of Charles there should be a national debate about a referendum on the monarchy.
08-09-2022, 04:40 PM
Of course, there is zero chance it will happen, but a change of monarch after seventy years should be the perfect moment to have a serious debate about the future of the monarchy. It's a different world, and the UK is a very different country than it was in 1952. Deference to the aristocracy has gone; why, in 2022, does the public have zero input upon who the next head of state should be? It's unacceptable.
Between now and the coronation of Charles there should be a national debate about a referendum on the monarchy.
From a republican point of view I think it would be about the worst time to try and win a referendum. As I said on the other thread there will be a wave of grief filled nostalgia and the pomp and ceremony of a state funeral and coronation will likely see a wave of support for the monarchy. 'It's what the Queen would have wanted'.
After 4 or 5 years of King Charles and with memories of the Queen dimming on the other hand......
08-09-2022, 04:45 PM
Le Monde.fr - Actualités et Infos en France et dans le monde (https://www.lemonde.fr/)
Its the main item in the French media, i find the interest baffling. A country with a highly charged historical relationship with royalty, a republican constitution, a left leaning newspaper...
08-09-2022, 04:49 PM
From a republican point of view I think it would be about the worst time to try and win a referendum. As I said on the other thread there will be a wave of grief filled nostalgia and the pomp and ceremony of a state funeral and coronation will likely see a wave of support for the monarchy. 'It's what the Queen would have wanted'.
After 4 or 5 years of King Charles and with memories of the Queen dimming on the other hand......
I mean getting a debate started immediately. When a monarch dies after seventy years, it's appropriate to do some national soul searching: what is the function of the monarchy? What does it represent and who does it benefit in the twenty-first century? We shouldn't just accept that it continues without question; use this change, coming after so long, to ask deep questions about society. Start the debate, then, by the times Charles dies it may have been pre-agreed that he's the last in line. Then we bring it to end quietly and with dignity.
08-09-2022, 04:50 PM
Question though, should that include all the other countries where the British Queen/King is also their monarch?
Mind you they don't pay for it!
08-09-2022, 04:53 PM
Le Monde.fr - Actualités et Infos en France et dans le monde (https://www.lemonde.fr/)
Its the main item in the French media, i find the interest baffling. A country with a highly charged historical relationship with royalty, a republican constitution, a left leaning newspaper...
I think it's just because it's not really something many people can remember happening before. 70 years is generational.
Obviously Presidents of various countries have died in the interim but rarely when in office. The only death, public display of mourning and funeral in relatively recent times that would be comparable in terms of the individual dying in office and there being choreographed pomp and circumstance and global reach would be John Paul II.
The likes of Mandela arguably carried greater cultural and societal significance for what they achieved in life but I'm not sure it has the same resonance in terms of stopping large chunks of the world in it's tracks for a few days.
08-09-2022, 04:54 PM
Question though, should that include all the other countries where the British Queen/King is also their monarch?
Mind you they don't pay for it!
No, the colonials will do as they're told :greengrin
08-09-2022, 05:11 PM
That only ends up going one way
https://cdn.hmv.com/r/w-640/p-webp/hmv/files/5f/5f702f61-1d21-4cc1-9aff-b175d8b5dba5.jpg
08-09-2022, 05:38 PM
She’s dead. Historic news.
King Charles.
08-09-2022, 05:45 PM
She’s dead. Historic news.
King Charles.
Woman in her 90s in death shock.
Absolutely ridiculous all this nonsense the BBC is coming out with about her steering the nation through turbulent times. The Prime Minister of the day did.
08-09-2022, 05:51 PM
STAUNCH. The sentimentality and subservience have gone nuclear :lolrangers:
https://www.followfollow.com/forum/threads/the-queen-is-dead-long-live-the-king.219959/page-5
08-09-2022, 05:53 PM
https://www.followfollow.com/forum/threads/the-queen-is-dead-long-live-the-king.219959/page-5
There’s a guy there that says ‘no TV or internet out of respect’, forgetting that he’s posting on an Internet forum :dunno:
08-09-2022, 05:55 PM
Not going to look in case I'm damaged, but aren't the sharpest among them beginning to salivate since they're now only one accident away from another King William?
08-09-2022, 06:00 PM
There’s a guy there that says ‘no TV or internet out of respect’, forgetting that he’s posting on an Internet forum :dunno:
Not going to look in case I'm damaged, but aren't the sharpest among them beginning to salivate since they're now only one accident away from another King William?
Just wait until The Rangers release their statement. It's going to be tear-stained fawning.
McSwanky
08-09-2022, 06:01 PM
Hearts surely will just stop playing tonight and demand a rematch at the very least? How can they continue after such news?
08-09-2022, 06:04 PM
Hearts surely will just stop playing tonight and demand a rematch at the very least? How can they continue after such news?
Arsenal only had a one-minute silence at half time, and then carried on playing the rest of their game! Can you imagine?
08-09-2022, 06:08 PM
All hail King Charles!
08-09-2022, 06:15 PM
You reminded me to check the score. Here is the BBC scottish football page
https://www.bbc.co.uk/sport/football/scottish
🙄
08-09-2022, 06:36 PM
In all this media coverage, has there been any mention of important practical matters, like Will we have to exchange all existing notes and coins at the bank for notes and coins with Charles's head on? :dunno:
08-09-2022, 06:40 PM
In all this media coverage, has there been any mention of important practical matters, like Will we have to exchange all existing notes and coins at the bank for notes and coins with Charles's head on? :dunno:
Obviously you are’nt old enough to remember our pre-decimal currency.:greengrin
08-09-2022, 06:41 PM
The royal mint will have started printing/pressing the new designs. The old ones will be faded out as they go to banks etc.
08-09-2022, 06:46 PM
Aye of course, and the UK anthem will now change to God Save the King and not Queen.
Prof. Shaggy
08-09-2022, 06:50 PM
Aye of course, and the UK anthem will now change to God Save the King and not Queen.
No. Doesn't fit the rhythm.
08-09-2022, 06:54 PM
No. Doesn't fit the rhythm.
08-09-2022, 06:57 PM
Obviously you are’nt old enough to remember our pre-decimal currency.:greengrin
I remember using a picture of Queen Victoria to gain access to a public toilet in my yoof.
Jeez I've not even thought of that, logistical nightmare.
08-09-2022, 07:08 PM
They did. 😆 They get a rematch in Istanbul.
xyz23jc
08-09-2022, 07:39 PM
They did. 😆 They get a rematch in Istanbul.
Another 'money-spinning replay' then...? :agree::greengrin
08-09-2022, 07:40 PM
Jeez I've not even thought of that, logistical nightmare.
There's a ten year or so old article in the Guardian that details everything to happen. All been planned!
08-09-2022, 09:48 PM
this poor chap is taking it bad
https://scontent.fman1-1.fna.fbcdn.net/v/t39.30808-6/306089984_10225060234307754_7194620668261795853_n. jpg?stp=cp1_dst-jpg&_nc_cat=109&ccb=1-7&_nc_sid=730e14&_nc_ohc=GNtawnEsKvsAX9pHzqZ&_nc_ht=scontent.fman1-1.fna&oh=00_AT-zHrXTSNruE4ZrU_Td51T-atOtNK4FxOYzwzzGR3c7dA&oe=631F14BC
https://scontent.fman1-1.fna.fbcdn.net/v/t39.30808-6/306089984_10225060234307754_7194620668261795853_n. jpg?stp=cp1_dst-jpg&_nc_cat=109&ccb=1-7&_nc_sid=730e14&_nc_ohc=GNtawnEsKvsAX9pHzqZ&_nc_ht=scontent.fman1-1.fna&oh=00_AT-zHrXTSNruE4ZrU_Td51T-atOtNK4FxOYzwzzGR3c7dA&oe=631F14BCHe should be arriving any minute.
09-09-2022, 06:50 AM
https://www.dailymail.co.uk/news/article-11195615/Mystique-aura-majesty-radiated-Majesty-like-electric-force-field.html
Quite an article here. Apparently there’s a force field involved in her power. Must be heavy on the electric bills.
09-09-2022, 07:19 AM
https://www.dailymail.co.uk/news/article-11195615/Mystique-aura-majesty-radiated-Majesty-like-electric-force-field.html
Quite an article here. Apparently there’s a force field involved in her power. Must be heavy on the electric bills.Cracking start to that article
coverage of the Queen’s passing
This may not be easy but . . . spare a thought for*Prince Andrew.
09-09-2022, 07:38 AM
Cracking start to that article
coverage of the Queen’s passing
This may not be easy but . . . spare a thought for*Prince Andrew.
The racism of the writer is evident from the first paragraph; Andrews crimes and Harry’s ‘crimes’ are given equivalence by being compared; the truth is, one son was a serial sexual abuser of young women, and brazenly refused to show remorse, the other son, merely fell in love with and married a non white woman.
09-09-2022, 07:48 AM
The racism of the writer is evident from the first paragraph; Andrews crimes and Harry’s ‘crimes’ are given equivalence by being compared; the truth is, one son was a serial sexual abuser of young women, and brazenly refused to show remorse, the other son, merely fell in love with and married a non white woman.aye but mind Harry said his family were a bit radge
I say Harry, but probably on the sole want of that foreign woman
09-09-2022, 06:18 PM
I’m watching the Kings Speech with the missus. Forgotten what a good film it is and reminds you of the link Elizabeth had to some of the figures of the past century. She’s Queen Victorias granddaughter after all.
09-09-2022, 06:49 PM
https://scontent.fman1-1.fna.fbcdn.net/v/t39.30808-6/306089984_10225060234307754_7194620668261795853_n. jpg?stp=cp1_dst-jpg&_nc_cat=109&ccb=1-7&_nc_sid=730e14&_nc_ohc=GNtawnEsKvsAX9pHzqZ&_nc_ht=scontent.fman1-1.fna&oh=00_AT-zHrXTSNruE4ZrU_Td51T-atOtNK4FxOYzwzzGR3c7dA&oe=631F14BC
Obviously hasn’t been to Ibrox then
09-09-2022, 07:12 PM
Obviously hasn’t been to Ibrox thenThey'll be up, just as soon as him, Baz from the pub darts team and his mate Nige sobers up.
They'll get the coach fare from their mum, sort their carry out from Lidl out and so long as they don't get out at Newcastle by mistake, be afraid.
09-09-2022, 07:50 PM
They'll be up, just as soon as him, Baz from the pub darts team and his mate Nige sobers up.
They'll get the coach fare from their mum, sort their carry out from Lidl out and so long as they don't get out at Newcastle by mistake, be afraid.
I’ll be very disappointed if I have to take time out from injecting deep fried heroin, paid for by the hard work of these pleasant chaps from South of the border, to fight off this invasion.
09-09-2022, 08:01 PM
I’m watching the Kings Speech with the missus. Forgotten what a good film it is and reminds you of the link Elizabeth had to some of the figures of the past century. She’s Queen Victorias granddaughter after all.
This whole business is about the end of a historic link between the 19th, 20th and 21st centuries.
that's what's important about it.
Hold on! I though Elvis Presley was The King.
To save confusion I think we should Charles should just stick with the Queen.
09-09-2022, 08:51 PM
This whole business is about the end of a historic link between the 19th, 20th and 21st centuries.
that's what's important about it.
Yes, I agree. I think the film brings that home really well.
Just_Jimmy
09-09-2022, 09:00 PM
She's Queen Victoria's Great Great Grand daughter.
Victoria
Edward VII
George V
(Edward VIII) George VI
Elizabeth II
However, I agree with you. She links 2022 with the early 1900s, directly. It's fascinating.
Sent from my SM-G991B using Tapatalk
09-09-2022, 09:25 PM
the Daily Heil thinks this is the old girl
https://i.dailymail.co.uk/1s/2022/09/09/10/62237063-11196607-image-a-9_1662716110304.jpg
09-09-2022, 09:26 PM
I thought Charles spoke well in his broadcast. It must have been very difficult to gather the thoughts for a national address the day after losing his mother.
10-09-2022, 06:38 AM
😂😂
10-09-2022, 06:56 AM
Quite an article here. Apparently there’s a force field involved in her power. Must be heavy on the electric bills.
Odious.
This article is encapsulates everything I can't stand about this country.
OldEast
10-09-2022, 07:03 AM
Odious.
Sickening. I couldn't finish it. Could be a parody written by Joe Lycett
10-09-2022, 07:40 AM
Victoria
Edward VII
George V
(Edward VIII) George VI
Elizabeth II
However, I agree with you. She links 2022 with the early 1900s, directly. It's fascinating.
Oops:greengrin
It’s getting to the stage that I call my own children the wrong names, far less remembering the Royal family!
I’m glad you agree about The Kings Speech.
10-09-2022, 09:36 AM
If Charles had died at any point up to the age of 33 ( when he got Diana pregnant) we'd have King Andrew on the throne this week, and as our head of state. Try and get your head round that!!
10-09-2022, 09:49 AM
If Charles had died at any point up to the age of 33 ( when he got Diana pregnant) we'd have King Andrew on the throne this week, and as our head of state. Try and get your head round that!!
I posted an article by Patrick Jephson in the Daily Mail earlier, the one about the Queen having an electric force field around her. He mentions a couple of times the apparently genuine belief he has in ‘Royal blood’ conferring something different and special. People like him genuinely believe that Andrew would be a more suitable head of state because of his ‘bloodline’, despite the whole, you know, sexual predator thing. It’s truly incredible. (Surely, all that ‘bloodline’ actually means is that we are all descended from a group of individuals from the Horn of Africa, we’re all actually a bunch of Ethiopians/Somalis, but that’s possibly Tower Of London talk).
10-09-2022, 12:42 PM
Odious.
I read the headline and stopped there. Oh wow.
10-09-2022, 02:09 PM
I thought Charles spoke well in his broadcast. It must have been very difficult to gather the thoughts for a national address the day after losing his mother.
I find the whole thing quite macabre.
I think deep down even those who love tradition, and I'm quite fascinated by the historical reasoning for some of the stuff we are seeing, know it's all outdated. It begs the question whether all this needs to be done so quickly. It's not 1540 with some pretender trying to take the crown and a quick proclamation is needed to keep order in the realm.
There's a video from ITN of Charles after giving the speech you reference and in the immediate aftermath he's just about in tears and is visibly shaking. A guy who has lost both his parents in under 2 years is having to be front and centre in some ancient pantomime because you can bet if he didn't front up and give these speeches the same people declaring 'God save the King' would be screaming 'he's not fit for the job, give it to William'.
I don't mind a bit tradition but in this day and age having someone who is an old man themselves 'tour the kingdom' to be proclaimed King and assert his authority is just ludicrous. For all his privilege, for all that is wrong with the system, for all I believe all the system shouldn't even exist at all, it still seems ludicrous he isn't left alone to grieve for a few days.
10-09-2022, 02:18 PM
I find the whole thing quite macabre.
I think deep down even those who love tradition, and I'm quite fascinated by the historical reasoning for some of the stuff we are seeing, know it's all outdated. It begs the question whether all this needs to be done so quickly. It's not 1540 with some pretender trying to take the crown and a quick proclamation is needed to keep order in the realm.
There's a video from ITN of Charles after giving the speech you reference and in the immediate aftermath he's just about in tears and is visibly shaking. A guy who has lost both his parents in under 2 years is having to be front and centre in some ancient pantomime because you can bet if he didn't front up and give these speeches the same people declaring 'God save the King' would be screaming 'he's not fit for the job, give it to William'.
I don't mind a bit tradition but in this day and age having someone who is an old man themselves 'tour the kingdom' to be proclaimed King and assert his authority is just ludicrous. For all his privilege, for all that is wrong with the system, for all I believe all the system shouldn't even exist at all, it still seems ludicrous he isn't left alone to grieve for a few days.
Agreed, the whole system is crazy and seems to send part of the population crazy. Those crackpots singing GSTK outside Buckingham Palace yesterday; it's just weird.
10-09-2022, 02:27 PM
I posted an article by Patrick Jephson in the Daily Mail earlier, the one about the Queen having an electric force field around her. He mentions a couple of times the apparently genuine belief he has in ‘Royal blood’ conferring something different and special. People like him genuinely believe that Andrew would be a more suitable head of state because of his ‘bloodline’, despite the whole, you know, sexual predator thing. It’s truly incredible. (Surely, all that ‘bloodline’ actually means is that we are all descended from a group of individuals from the Horn of Africa, we’re all actually a bunch of Ethiopians/Somalis, but that’s possibly Tower Of London talk).
The Queen and her Prince shared the same great, great, great granny in Queen Victoria. They are a wee bit like racing pigeons or race horses. In their case they are bred for longevity and in the past consolidation of power and wealth rather than the ability to run quickly or for long distances. Anyway, to the Tower with us
10-09-2022, 03:05 PM
The Queen and her Prince shared the same great, great, great granny in Queen Victoria. They are a wee bit like racing pigeons or race horses. In their case they are bred for longevity and in the past consolidation of power and wealth rather than the ability to run quickly or for long distances. Anyway, to the Tower with us
Off to the Tower of London, quick smart, courtesy of the Daily Mail Contemporary Barometer of Acceptable Responses to Regal Succession;
Jedward
Shamrock Rovers
Trevor Sinclair
Meghan Markle
Feel free to add.
10-09-2022, 03:10 PM
Off to the Tower of London, quick smart, courtesy of the Daily Mail Contemporary Barometer of Acceptable Responses to Regal Succession;
Jedward
Shamrock Rovers
Trevor Sinclair
Meghan Markle
Feel free to add.
Jimmy Saville(in spirit)
Pack Leading Corgi
Swan with Longest neck
Head footman(guaranteed to be part of the bloodline)
CyberSauzee
10-09-2022, 03:11 PM
Victoria
Edward VII
George V
(Edward VIII) George VI
Elizabeth II
And Prince Phillip is Queen Victoria's great great grandson. They don't like outsiders.
https://en.m.wikipedia.org/wiki/Royal_descendants_of_Queen_Victoria_and_of_King_Ch ristian_IX