View Full Version : Countdown to 3rd place thread

Pages : [1] 2 3 4 5

wallpaperman
13-02-2021, 05:26 PM
While I am by no means taking anything for granted it is undeniable that we are firmly in the driving seat. So, with each of the three challengers having a nice round 10 games left, I thought it a good time for a countdown thread.

30 points up for grabs. Instead of looking at the maximum each team can achieve, it’s easier just to countdown the way. I’m not taking our better goal difference into account either at this stage.

Aberdeen: 4 points behind us, so we need a maximum of 27 points assuming they win every game. Any points gained by Hibs or dropped by Aberdeen will of course reduce this total.

Livingston: 10 points behind us, so we need a maximum of 21 points assuming they win every game to better Livi (this also assumes that Aberdeen don’t go on a crazy winning streak). Same criteria that any points gained by Hibs or dropped by them reduces the total.

Can we do it? :flag:

13-02-2021, 05:30 PM
I was sceptical after the St Johnstone game but looking at the next 5 games it's ours to lose. We've a great shot at achieving something remarkable this year.

13-02-2021, 05:30 PM
Aberdeen got some horrible fixtures before the split.

Celtic away during the week, I think they’ll drop points to Killie next weekend and got Celtic away again after that.

They’ve then got Hamilton at home where you’d expect them to win and Dundee Utd at tannadice which won’t be easy for them now Utd have found a bit form again..

I think Livingston are too far behind at this stage and I think we will extend our gap over Aberdeen in the next couple of weeks.

wallpaperman
13-02-2021, 05:34 PM

Celtic away during the week, I think they’ll drop points to Killie next weekend and got Celtic away again after that.

They’ve then got Hamilton at home where you’d expect them to win and Dundee Utd at tannadice which won’t be easy for them now Utd have found a bit form again..

I think Livingston are too far behind at this stage and I think we will extend our gap over Aberdeen in the next couple of weeks.

Yes, someone on another thread pointed out that Aberdeen have 40% of their fixtures left against the old firm. I never thought of it in percentage terms. Even though 3 of the 4 are against Celtic, that is tough going.

13-02-2021, 05:39 PM
Yes, someone on another thread pointed out that Aberdeen have 40% of their fixtures left against the old firm. I never thought of it in percentage terms. Even though 3 of the 4 are against Celtic, that is tough going.

I think it’s entirely feasible that if we lost all our remaining games up to the split (we won’t), Aberdeen still wouldn’t over take us.

If they can keep the gap at 4 points between us and them I think that would be a good result for them.

13-02-2021, 05:42 PM
I don't think people understand how massive 3rd would be. Hibs in the groupstages of Europe would be absolutely amazing. I think we're gonna do it and we're gonna benefit massively from it next season.

13-02-2021, 05:46 PM
I hate these threads.

13-02-2021, 05:53 PM
I hate these threads.

Don’t be so negative, try to think positively for once.

😉

Paul1642
13-02-2021, 05:58 PM
If us and Aberdeen take equal points from the old firm (they have 2 extra old firm games) I make it 14 points from the remainder for us to get 3rd. That’s assuming Aberdeen take max points from there other 6 games which includes us and Livi.

3rd is ours unless mess it up big time.

13-02-2021, 06:09 PM
Get to 15 points ahead going into the split then I'll start believing. Been there, seen it, worn the egg...

13-02-2021, 06:18 PM
Livi's good form seem to have taken a bit of a downturn.

Thanks goodness :-)

Wakeyhibee
13-02-2021, 06:24 PM

Celtic will throw the second game to Aberdeen so Rangers dont win the title on OF derby day

13-02-2021, 06:28 PM
Is it completely impossible for us to have guaranteed 3rd before the split?

If we can get 10 ahead then we could lose every single game and Aberdeen would need to beat one of the OF whilst also winning against Livi, us and the last top 6 team.

13-02-2021, 06:31 PM

If we can get 10 ahead then we could lose every single game and Aberdeen would need to beat one of the OF whilst also winning against Livi, us and the last top 6 team.

We're four clear at present, so there is the theoretical possibility that if we get 12 points more than Aberdeen from the five pre-split fixtures that we'd have third sewn up.

For context, there's also a theoretical possibility that fans will be allowed back to watch those games.

13-02-2021, 06:33 PM
If we can win our next two, against Accies and Well at home, I think we'll be seven points ahead with a game in hand. And that's assuming the Sheep beat Killie (not expecting them to get anything from two games at Darkheid).

SJNB Hibby
13-02-2021, 06:34 PM

If we win all five, Aberdeen need 4 points just to make it mathematically possible to catch us
I would like to see them get 4tb just to have stronger Scottish presence in Europe and help with the old, dare I say it, coefficient

13-02-2021, 06:55 PM
Don’t be so negative, try to think positively for once.

[emoji6]OK. I positively hate these threads. [emoji6]

Magpie
13-02-2021, 06:56 PM
We’re all going on a European tour.

Covid pending.

allmodcons
13-02-2021, 06:57 PM
Hamilton have been very good the last couple of games. We will have to treat them with the utmost respect. Cliche but one game at a time.

13-02-2021, 07:09 PM
I thought Livi would be past us by now. 😂😂

13-02-2021, 07:10 PM
I thought Livi would be past us by now. 😂😂

Aye but you thought Fraser Hornby was good so it just shows how wrong people can be sometimes.

13-02-2021, 07:15 PM
I hate these threads.

Kinda get ,where your coming from . Can remember a how many points will we get ( next 6 ) thread at Xmas time ( think we got 1 )
One game at a time 🤞

13-02-2021, 07:16 PM
I don't think people understand how massive 3rd would be. Hibs in the groupstages of Europe would be absolutely amazing. I think we're gonna do it and we're gonna benefit massively from it next season.

European football up to xmas would be something else, we might have to wait a long time to get the opportunity again so lets kick on increase the gap so it doesnt go to the wire

13-02-2021, 07:18 PM
That's it cursed then

13-02-2021, 07:19 PM
Is 3rd guaranteed the group stages?

Magpie
13-02-2021, 07:23 PM

Conference League yes as long as us or the Old Firm win the Scottish Cup.

13-02-2021, 07:31 PM
Yes, we get one shot at the Europa League playoffs and if we lose we go into the conference league.

13-02-2021, 07:37 PM

I didn't realise that. Exciting

13-02-2021, 08:19 PM
After losing to Livi at new year we were 3 behind and they had 2 games in hand. It's been a brilliant turnaround. Aberdeen are away to Celtc on Wednesday. You'd like to think a team that's failed to score in 5 games will lose that one. With a home game against Hamilton coming up it's in our own hands. BUT its Hibs, we've seen it all before. Not getting carried away. We've got ourselves into a great position to finish 3rd. Livi seem to have burst their bubble too which helps.

GreyJammies
13-02-2021, 09:26 PM
It was the late and great Ayrton Senna who said that 'being second is to be the first of the ones who lose'.

Being happy with 3rd is not where I imagined our great club would be in 2021 when I got on board the good ship Hibernian as a young man.

I want some day, some day, that we can crush those corrupt pigs in Glasgow and show them what we are capable of.

I hope you are reading this Mr Ron Gordon.

13-02-2021, 09:49 PM
Mind when we were all chatting about holding onto 4th?

Calm yourselves.

13-02-2021, 09:49 PM
Think we need to go into the split with an absolute minimum 8 point gap, which is very much doable when you compare our run-ins. I think we will end up going in 11 points clear, have faith in this squad and Jack Ross. We have nothing to lose and players look up for it.

13-02-2021, 09:54 PM
+10 better GD than aberdeen as well, hope sellick put a bucketload past the not-so-dandy dons....it could be worth a point

13-02-2021, 10:04 PM

It's looking less and less likely that the Scottish Cup will be completed this season, so it would be third that'll get the Europa League qualifier instead.

13-02-2021, 10:11 PM
I was sceptical after the St Johnstone game but looking at the next 5 games it's ours to lose. We've a great shot at achieving something remarkable this year.

Would it be remarkable? I’d rather we had won the league cup tbh

CB Hibs 68
13-02-2021, 10:29 PM
Not so long ago there were folk worried that Livi were going to go above us . Hibs have put themselves in pole position for third place but we are only 4 points ahead of Aberdeen.Let’s ensure we win the next two home games and take it from there.I feel confident we can clinch third but there is a long way to go and as a Hibs fan I take nothing for granted.

13-02-2021, 10:30 PM

Calm yourselves.

Did many folk really think that though?

Even now, I still don’t think it’s a really good Hibs team. But I think it’s better than most of the league. I never thought we’d get caught in fourth. I now don’t think we’ll get caught in third.

13-02-2021, 10:34 PM

Normally I'd agree that winning a cup takes president over a European spot but giving that we wouldn't be there to see the cup won but we MIGHT be there to experience games home and away in Europe then I think 3rd place and Europe could actually be better than winning the League Cup.

13-02-2021, 10:37 PM
Normally I'd agree that winning a cup takes president over a European spot but giving that we wouldn't be there to see the cup won but we MIGHT be there to experience games home and away in Europe then I think 3rd place and Europe could actually be better than winning the League Cup.

Actually a valid point this.

Hibs don’t win cups very often so the semi finals hurt. But Hibs winning a cup and nobody being there to see it and there being no real celebration is a strange thought.

Magpie
13-02-2021, 10:38 PM

Yeah that’s where I’m at now too tbh. If it was just the usual three or four qualifiers we had to play to even have a chance of the group stages I would prefer a cup absolutely. Now that we actually have a chance of watching Hibs play against clubs over Europe for several months with the financial benefit which comes with that I would prefer a 3rd place finish this season.

13-02-2021, 10:50 PM
Some folk seem to have an odd idea of how a countdown works...one game at a time for those missing the point [emoji1787]

Weirdly exciting times with a team that’s not exactly excited overly often.

Will be quite a turnaround if Aberdeen lose on Wed and are 4 behind with us having the game in hand...they always seem to be in front with extra games to be played.

That in itself is a warning though, things can change relatively quickly.

Anyway I’m looking forward to the count down being updated on Wed after Celtic pap Aberdeen by 3 or 4...

Brummie_Hibs
13-02-2021, 11:07 PM
Bugger looking behind us, I'm wondering what needs to happen for us to catch Celtic.

55% of their remaining games are against Aberdeen, Rangers and us.

Magpie
13-02-2021, 11:13 PM
There are many pundits out there who would hate to see us finish 3rd.

majorhibs
13-02-2021, 11:16 PM
While I am by no means taking anything for granted it is undeniable that we are firmly in the driving seat. So, with each of the three challengers having a nice round 10 games left, I thought it a good time for a countdown thread.

30 points up for grabs. Instead of looking at the maximum each team can achieve, it’s easier just to countdown the way. I’m not taking our better goal difference into account either at this stage.

Aberdeen: 4 points behind us, so we need a maximum of 27 points assuming they win every game. Any points gained by Hibs or dropped by Aberdeen will of course reduce this total.

Livingston: 10 points behind us, so we need a maximum of 21 points assuming they win every game to better Livi (this also assumes that Aberdeen don’t go on a crazy winning streak). Same criteria that any points gained by Hibs or dropped by them reduces the total.

Can we do it? :flag:

Don’t need else. Just dinnae.

13-02-2021, 11:24 PM

Would be our best league finish since 2005 and get us group stage European football for the first time ever (maybe?).

In my eyes that's a lot better than a league cup, and also a lot more impressive considering we would have won it without playing Celtic rangers hearts or Aberdeen.

hibby rae
13-02-2021, 11:36 PM
Correct me if I'm wrong, but if we win our remaining games before the split, even if the County game takes place after, are we not guaranteed at least 4th spot?

13-02-2021, 11:37 PM

Correct, it doesn’t fit in with the Aberdeen love in on Radio jambo.

Finishing 3rd should be realistic every season for Hibs. Going to the next level of splitting the OF will be tough but it is certainly possible if the fans and club share that ambition. Not sure we believe enough at present but with the right leadership the sky is the limit for Hibs.

13-02-2021, 11:51 PM
it's weird how (assuming either the OF or us win the cup) 3rd place would probably give us a better hand next season in europe than coming 2nd, as assuming (reasonably) that we'd get papped out the champions league, we'd have two rounds of the Europa league to navigate before the groups - if we lost the first of these, we'd go into the playoff for the europa conference, so wouldn't be guaranteed group stage football.

14-02-2021, 12:09 AM
Correct me if I'm wrong, but if we win our remaining games before the split, even if the County game takes place after, are we not guaranteed at least 4th spot?

Not quite I don't think.

If we win all of our pre-split games (which will include Livingston) then we'll be on 64 points but Livingston could still get to 66 points assuming they win every other pre-split game except against us.

Realistically though if we win our next 5 games we'll finish 3rd, not just 4th.

147lothian
14-02-2021, 12:32 AM
If we finish third, do folk think that more clubs down south will be looking at our players and how much higher will be the price tag we are able to attach them be, than if we were a just scrapping top six team?

14-02-2021, 12:45 AM
I’d say right now we have the best manager outwirh Gerrard this Season. Top for me would be SG, JR, JG, DM, CD, Lennon has had a nightmare as has McInnes

14-02-2021, 01:02 AM

Wow did not realize that. That is massive.

Robbo6-2
14-02-2021, 04:58 AM

Do we not need to still get into a play off first?
Sure that will be against a tough side so maybe jumping ahead with that shout

hibee316
14-02-2021, 05:08 AM
It was the late and great Ayrton Senna who said that 'being second is to be the first of the ones who lose'.

Being happy with 3rd is not where I imagined our great club would be in 2021 when I got on board the good ship Hibernian as a young man.

I want some day, some day, that we can crush those corrupt pigs in Glasgow and show them what we are capable of.

I hope you are reading this Mr Ron Gordon.

I'm a bit more realistic.

The Baldmans Comb
14-02-2021, 05:42 AM

There are some fortunately not many supporters who would hate this as well.

Its only a few weeks ago that around 40% of the participants wanted the manager sacked according to the "Should Jack Ross stay poll".

14-02-2021, 06:20 AM

No. Its been explained already. We will at least be in the europa league 2 group stage.

14-02-2021, 06:32 AM

..and enjoy every minute at our collapse under the weight of expectation.

Franck Le God
14-02-2021, 07:31 AM

Assuming the Scottish isn't played then 3rd in the league gets a shot at the europa league play off. Lose that and you're automatically in the group stages of the new, smaller European tournament.

scotiaf
14-02-2021, 08:03 AM
We should end 3rd, but that could easily change in 2 games. We were on a terrible run prior to the last 3 games. Aberdeen will pick up at some point I’d imagine.

14-02-2021, 08:51 AM
Thankfully Aberdeen have a tougher run in but at this stage of the season there won't be many easy games

Speaking of Aberdeen, that's FIVE games in a row without a goal now, horrific stat

Paul1642
14-02-2021, 09:08 AM
Bookies has as at 1/6 to finish 3rd. All those with serious doubts get some money lumped on Aberdeen at 3/1

14-02-2021, 09:20 AM
If you’d given me a choice between the Scottish Cup, League Cup or 3rd place start of this season, I would have said third place. Europa League (or at worst Europa Conference League) group stage football is absolutely massive for Hibs. It would be the biggest cash injection to our club probably ever and the thought of getting to see us against multiple European opponents right up until Christmas is mouthwatering. I really hope we can do it, would make Jack Ross a huge success in toppling Aberdeen in his first season. We aren’t far off Celtic either.

14-02-2021, 09:25 AM
There are some fortunately not many supporters who would hate this as well.

Its only a few weeks ago that around 40% of the participants wanted the manager sacked according to the "Should Jack Ross stay poll".
Your first sentence is 100% tosh.

14-02-2021, 09:27 AM
If you’d given me a choice between the Scottish Cup, League Cup or 3rd place start of this season, I would have said third place. Europa League (or at worst Europa Conference League) group stage football is absolutely massive for Hibs. It would be the biggest cash injection to our club probably ever and the thought of getting to see us against multiple European opponents right up until Christmas is mouthwatering. I really hope we can do it, would make Jack Ross a huge success in toppling Aberdeen in his first season. We aren’t far off Celtic either.

Do we know what the value of getting to the group stages of either competition is?

14-02-2021, 09:30 AM

Yup, a cup win wouldn't be the same with no fans and no real celebrations back home, aberdeen have declined but as you say it would be a great acheivement for Ross for us to finally better them in his first full season and the potential income from european games is huge

14-02-2021, 09:32 AM
Do we know what the value of getting to the group stages of either competition is?

I don't think UEFA have released that info yet, but in past years the europa league group stage has generally been worth >£3m and that increases with any positive result

14-02-2021, 09:38 AM
Last three 3rd place finishes:
04-05 average points per game 1.60
00-01 average points per game 1.73
94-95 average points per game 1.47

7 points from every 4 games (average 1.75) is usually enough to secure 3rd. We are bang on that at the moment. Hopefully get ahead of that average before the split, leaving a bit of leeway for a slightly lower average after the split.

Stats looking good but still a long way to go.

14-02-2021, 09:50 AM
One game at a time and all that. Hopefully we’ve had our bad injury run. All about results now. It’s in our hands.

14-02-2021, 10:14 AM

Chief executive at Motherwell is in the paper today saying that qualifying for the group stages of the Europa league this season was £2.5m before a ball was kicked, you’d still have sponsorship, tv money, potential gate receipts (remember them?) and money for each point you win on top of that. He also says that figure has been bumped up for next season.

14-02-2021, 10:17 AM
Chief executive at Motherwell is in the paper today saying that qualifying for the group stages of the Europa league this season was £2.5m before a ball was kicked, you’d still have sponsorship, tv money, potential gate receipts (remember them?) and money for each point you win on top of that. He also says that figure has been bumped up for next season.

Very interesting if the figure has been increased for next season, I expected the opposite with the new competition coming in and monetary issues related to covid

wallpaperman
14-02-2021, 11:10 AM
Very interesting if the figure has been increased for next season, I expected the opposite with the new competition coming in and monetary issues related to covid

Getting through the last qualifying round of the Europa League into the group stages could be a tough ask, there will be some good teams in at that round.

I’ll be very interested to see what the financial incentives are for the UEFA Conference group stages when they are released, presumably a level down from what you get in the Europa League group, but still could be a major boost for us.

Just hope that they don’t delay it a year with Covid still hanging about, that would be bloody annoying.

14-02-2021, 11:15 AM
We should end 3rd, but that could easily change in 2 games. We were on a terrible run prior to the last 3 games. Aberdeen will pick up at some point I’d imagine.

4 wins, 1 draw 1 loss from our last 6. Only dropped points against the old firm. We're in great form.

14-02-2021, 11:20 AM

Calm yourselves.

What’s the point of posts like this? The season is fluid and opinions aren’t static, they fluctuate as the season progresses.

14-02-2021, 11:21 AM

Nah, I'd have taken the Scottish cup. Different as it may have been (or may yet still be) to have won it under current circumstances.

If nothing else it would have got the same European place as you've described third place as getting anyway. :greengrin

14-02-2021, 11:59 AM
What’s the point of posts like this? The season is fluid and opinions aren’t static, they fluctuate as the season progresses.

Indeed, or even from game to game

14-02-2021, 12:21 PM
Indeed, or even from game to game
Or even during a game!!

14-02-2021, 12:21 PM

Probably due to the type of posts that state things like ‘we are never getting 4th’ or ‘we are more likely to finish 6th’ that you get after a little bad form.

If you believe we are fundamentally brutal then stick with it.

I think the way that everyone and everything is a disgrace type posts are a bit different to opinions on how we are headed changing game by game. There were a lot of those reactions a few weeks back.

Best to take a bigger picture view on how we are progressing overall rather than reacting and changing your mind after each win or loss.

Wakeyhibee
14-02-2021, 12:45 PM
Getting through the last qualifying round of the Europa League into the group stages could be a tough ask, there will be some good teams in at that round.

I’ll be very interested to see what the financial incentives are for the UEFA Conference group stages when they are released, presumably a level down from what you get in the Europa League group, but still could be a major boost for us.

Just hope that they don’t delay it a year with Covid still hanging about, that would be bloody annoying.

I think it will be. The EL is a much reduced competition so a reduced pot will still go further per team. I'd expect the ECL to be 50% or less than the EL. UEFA do like to funnel the money upwards rather than downwards.

Garymcl
14-02-2021, 03:04 PM
Whatever happens 3rd or 4th kept back a few annual leave days to cover hopefully another memorable away trip so many great memories met so many good hibbys on those trips problem this time could cost me a few bob as wife daughter and granddaughter want to come if we are first of all allowed to travel and don’t get a crazy location (mind you went to Dnipro that was a journey ) but well worth it here’s hoping :flag:

joe t
14-02-2021, 03:16 PM
I think it will be. The EL is a much reduced competition so a reduced pot will still go further per team. I'd expect the ECL to be 50% or less than the EL. UEFA do like to funnel the money upwards rather than downwards.

I’m not convinced that the conference league payments will be less than this years Europa league. You need to remember that the europa is being reduced from 48 to 32 teams at group stage in 2021 also, making it more ‘exclusive’ and with prize money to match. UEFA wouldn’t have wanted the 16 places getting ‘ bumped’ down to the conference league facing reduced prize money.

joe t
14-02-2021, 03:20 PM
Should also say that this conference league will be anything but diddy.

The europa league will be very high quality next season and a play off win would see us facing some serious euro teams.

CallumHibs07
14-02-2021, 03:21 PM
And people were happy with 4th a few weeks ago and I was shot down for daring to suggest we should be aiming higher...

14-02-2021, 03:25 PM
And people were happy with 4th a few weeks ago and I was shot down for daring to suggest we should be aiming higher...

That’s not a very accurate representation of recent discussions.

Magpie
14-02-2021, 03:28 PM
Should also say that this conference league will be anything but diddy.

The europa league will be very high quality next season and a play off win would see us facing some serious euro teams.

6th La Liga
6th Bundesliga
6th Serie A
5th Ligue 1
3rd Eredivisie
3rd & 4th Turkish League
3rd & 4th Russian PL
4th & 5th Portuguese League
Carabao Cup winners in EPL

Plenty of top teams in there. Some enjoyable games.

Wakeyhibee
14-02-2021, 03:33 PM
I’m not convinced that the conference league payments will be less than this years Europa league. You need to remember that the europa is being reduced from 48 to 32 teams at group stage in 2021 also, making it more ‘exclusive’ and with prize money to match. UEFA wouldn’t have wanted the 16 places getting ‘ bumped’ down to the conference league facing reduced prize money.

Unless their pot has gone up? But my understanding is there are are 10-20 teams more teams over the 2 competitions. There's 64 in groups over the 2 instead if 48, and it looks like for 32 of them in the EL it's going up. We'll see but I doubt it will be £2m or above for the groups in the ECL (win/draw bonuses aside).

But I agree its definately not a diddy competition.

Magpie
14-02-2021, 03:36 PM
6th La Liga
6th Bundesliga
6th Serie A
5th Ligue 1
3rd Eredivisie
3rd & 4th Turkish League
3rd & 4th Russian PL
4th & 5th Portuguese League
Carabao Cup winners in EPL

Plenty of top teams in there. Some enjoyable games.

Quick glance through the tables and Dortmund are currently 6th in Bundesliga. Would be some experience playing them.

14-02-2021, 03:59 PM
Quick glance through the tables and Dortmund are currently 6th in Bundesliga. Would be some experience playing them.

Carabao cup finalists are Spurs and Man City, I wonder if that means Spurs will be England’s representative then as Man City will be qualifying for the champions league?

I know I’m getting waaaaay ahead of myself here but given the problems travelling this year, a draw against a good English club would be the dream for me. Trip to the new Spurs stadium would be my preference.

14-02-2021, 04:21 PM
Carabao cup finalists are Spurs and Man City, I wonder if that means Spurs will be England’s representative then as Man City will be qualifying for the champions league?

I know I’m getting waaaaay ahead of myself here but given the problems travelling this year, a draw against a good English club would be the dream for me. Trip to the new Spurs stadium would be my preference.

A trip to London with Hibs, that would be something else. Looks like our trip down to London for the Scotland game is unlikely to happen so an away trip with Hibs would more than make up for it. Appreciate we’re getting ahead of ourselves but how many do you think we’d take to a European game down south?

Magpie
14-02-2021, 04:25 PM

If Man City win the Carabao Cup then it would go to 6th place. If the FA Cup winners finish in the top 6 then it would go to 7th place.

14-02-2021, 04:27 PM
If Man City win the Carabao Cup then it would go to 6th place. If the FA Cup winners finish in the top 5 then it would go to 7th place.

Cheers.

Currently West Ham or Everton. Liverpool if teams behind them win their game in hand 😉

Right, probably time to stop thinking about this 😂

14-02-2021, 04:28 PM

Will be our luck to get a proper big draw and we’re not allowed to go.

14-02-2021, 04:28 PM
If Man City win the Carabao Cup then it would go to 6th place. If the FA Cup winners finish in the top 6 then it would go to 7th place.

Could be Villa, Hibs v SJM.....and Grealish🙈😂

Magpie
14-02-2021, 04:30 PM
Could be Villa, Hibs v SJM.....and Grealish🙈😂

That would be brilliant.

hibby rae
14-02-2021, 06:36 PM

****hole though 😉 A Berlin trip is my dream Hibs away day.

14-02-2021, 06:40 PM

That'll be us heading for Tiblisi then:greengrin

Magpie
14-02-2021, 07:01 PM

Would like to avoid Lazio if it came to it. Rome is nice but their fans aren’t so good.

St Pauli Hibee
14-02-2021, 08:12 PM
As it stands we could also get Spartak Moscow or Partizan Belgrade.

Don't fancy a trip to Astana though

Magpie
14-02-2021, 08:44 PM
As it stands we could also get Spartak Moscow or Partizan Belgrade.

Don't fancy a trip to Astana though

Doubt we would come home mate.

hibby rae
14-02-2021, 10:16 PM
Would like to avoid Lazio if it came to it. Rome is nice but their fans aren’t so good.

The state everyone would be in after necking Tennents Super all day as well 😂😂

Cat Stanton
14-02-2021, 10:23 PM

Not a ****hole at all. Have great memories of trips to Dortmund. Nonsense.

hibby rae
14-02-2021, 11:06 PM
Not a ****hole at all. Have great memories of trips to Dortmund. Nonsense.

I found it to be very urban compared to other German cities, especially in that area, like Dusseldorf, Mönchengpadbach, and Cologne. It's not a postcard city.

Good stadium though. Enjoyed the Scotland game there but we based ourselves in other cities nearby.

15-02-2021, 12:09 AM
Nah, I'd have taken the Scottish cup. Different as it may have been (or may yet still be) to have won it under current circumstances.

If nothing else it would have got the same European place as you've described third place as getting anyway. :greengrin

Me too - I'd swap the Scottish for 1st place but that's about it. :cb

15-02-2021, 06:13 PM
both 3rd and 4th place in the league enters the Conference League at the second qualifying round and will have to win through 2nd round, 3rd round & play-off round to reach the group stages.

Scottish Cup winners will initially enter the Europa League qualifying round and have to win that and a play-off round to reach those group stages.
Lose in the qualifying round you would drop into conference league play-off round
Lose in the Europa League play-off round and you would drop into the group stages of the conference league

Winning the scottish cup this season would be the best result in terms of where it would put a team in Europe for next season but finishing third and one of the old firm winning the cup would give us that place instead so there could be a massive difference between third and fourth in that respect depending on how the cup plays out

15-02-2021, 06:42 PM
both 3rd and 4th place in the league enters the Conference League at the second qualifying round and will have to win through 2nd round, 3rd round & play-off round to reach the group stages.

Scottish Cup winners will initially enter the Europa League qualifying round and have to win that and a play-off round to reach those group stages.
Lose in the qualifying round you would drop into conference league play-off round
Lose in the Europa League play-off round and you would drop into the group stages of the conference league

Winning the scottish cup this season would be the best result in terms of where it would put a team in Europe for next season but finishing third and one of the old firm winning the cup would give us that place instead so there could be a massive difference between third and fourth in that respect depending on how the cup plays out

The Scottish cup won’t be finished anytime this side of the Euros so you can forget the winner of that getting a European place.

15-02-2021, 06:44 PM
Is this thread about Hibs or West Ham? 😀

Juniper Greens
15-02-2021, 08:04 PM

As has been said repeatedly, this season the SC winner, or any suitable replacement is getting a bye into the playoff round of the Europa League

16-02-2021, 06:08 AM
Is this thread about Hibs or West Ham? 😀

Double whammy. 1 in the Europa league the other in the champions league

16-02-2021, 07:20 AM

If the Cup does get played to a conclusion with us 3rd in the league, imagine if the final was the Sticky Buns v. anyone other than us or the Tic (assuming Tic finish 2nd).
Would you forego guaranteed European group stage football or support the Stickies for 90 mins for the first time in your life? Dalai Lama.

Juniper Greens
16-02-2021, 07:26 AM
If the Cup does get played to a conclusion with us 3rd in the league, imagine if the final was the Sticky Buns v. anyone other than us or the Tic (assuming Tic finish 2nd).
Would you forego guaranteed European group stage football or support the Stickies for 90 mins for the first time in your life? Dalai Lama.

Yes

Keyser Sauzee
16-02-2021, 07:39 AM
Not read the whole thread but has it been confirmed that 3rd gets the Europa Conference group stages?

16-02-2021, 07:44 AM
Not read the whole thread but has it been confirmed that 3rd gets the Europa Conference group stages?

If they lose the play off for the Europa league they go into the group stages for the conference.....so yes :-)

16-02-2021, 08:23 AM

How is that even a dilemma :rolleyes: if you hate rangers more than you love Hibs then have a word with yourself

16-02-2021, 08:38 AM

More than happy to cheer rangers, or Celtic, on in that situation. :aok:

I've wanted rangers to win before - games against hearts, apart from a couple years ago when we were chasing rangers for 3rd.

16-02-2021, 09:43 AM
How is that even a dilemma :rolleyes: if you hate rangers more than you love Hibs then have a word with yourself

16-02-2021, 10:01 AM

Indeed, strange question to be honest. Every time I've got dough on them I want them to win, it's no biggie.

16-02-2021, 10:09 AM

I'd be more than happy to want Rangers to win in that scenario.

16-02-2021, 10:38 AM

Bingo.

Same goes for the "abandon the league even though we're third so Hearts don't get promoted" pish.

hibby rae
16-02-2021, 10:43 AM
Bingo.

Same goes for the "abandon the league even though we're third so Hearts don't get promoted" pish.

Although in that scenario we would get the best Europa slot like Motherwell did last year 😉

16-02-2021, 10:55 AM
Bingo.

No, it's "end the league just now because we're third but 'promotion and relegation would be unfair'* "

* According to Hearts

Stanton Spence
16-02-2021, 11:31 AM
The state everyone would be in after necking Tennents Super all day as well [emoji23][emoji23]I'm guessing they sell tennents super in Rome? I was over in Milan last year to visit a mate and was shocked to see loads of pubs selling tennents super on draught? It's safe to say not a great seller in the pub I visited. Too strong was my mates opinion of it. I wonder why [emoji848]
My mates an Atalanta fan and its possible for us to get them which thrills me and scares me at the same time

Sent from my G3121 using Tapatalk

hibby rae
16-02-2021, 01:39 PM
I'm guessing they sell tennents super in Rome? I was over in Milan last year to visit a mate and was shocked to see loads of pubs selling tennents super on draught? It's safe to say not a great seller in the pub I visited. Too strong was my mates opinion of it. I wonder why [emoji848]
My mates an Atalanta fan and its possible for us to get them which thrills me and scares me at the same time

Yeah can get it anywhere in Italy. Quite popular. Can get it on draught, and in glass bottles.

Which also seems like a bad idea 😂😂

Wakeyhibee
16-02-2021, 04:35 PM
More than happy to cheer rangers, or Celtic, on in that situation. :aok:

I've wanted rangers to win before - games against hearts, apart from a couple years ago when we were chasing rangers for 3rd.

If Scottish teams dont do well enough and we drop in the overall standings, the EL place is lost. Becomes 1 CL and 3 ECL. So I want Scottish teams to do well for that reason alone.

Souter96Mac
17-02-2021, 07:58 AM
Interesting game tonight that impacts us between Celtic and Aberdeen.

A comfortable win for Celtic by a couple goals to nil would be perfect for us, cementing the 4 point gap, whilst reducing Aberdeen's GD even further essentially making it a 5 point gap, with us having a game in hand.

hibee316
17-02-2021, 08:04 AM
Yeah can get it anywhere in Italy. Quite popular. Can get it on draught, and in glass bottles.

Which also seems like a bad idea 😂😂

It was the funniest thing I saw in Italy.

Italian hipsters in shades sipping "jakey juice."

17-02-2021, 08:13 AM

A comfortable win for Celtic by a couple goals to nil would be perfect for us, cementing the 4 point gap, whilst reducing Aberdeen's GD even further essentially making it a 5 point gap, with us having a game in hand.

Or a win for Aberdeen gives us the opportunity to go 9 behind a floundering Celtic in the hunt for champions league action... :greengrin

17-02-2021, 08:26 AM

:agree: Several goals for Celtic tonight please.

17-02-2021, 08:47 AM

Ideally Aberdeen leave both their upcoming visits to Celtic Park with nothing.
No guarantees but on paper you would have to say the gap between us is likely to get bigger by the split.

17-02-2021, 08:50 AM
Supporting Hibs for over 50 years, i'm maybe a bit of a pessimist, the amount of times i've been kicked in the knackers. I wont be counting on Euro football up till Christmas till it happens.

Now here's a far out thought, if the huns were to do something silly like win the Europa League, how would that work out. Huns into Champ league as winners, would the SPFL still have 2 Champ league places.

17-02-2021, 08:54 AM
Supporting Hibs for over 50 years, i'm maybe a bit of a pessimist, the amount of times i've been kicked in the knackers. I wont be counting on Euro football up till Christmas till it happens.

Now here's a far out thought, if the huns were to do something silly like win the Europa League, how would that work out. Huns into Champ league as winners, would the SPFL still have 2 Champ league places.
:hilarious The pessimist with one eye on how Hibs can sneak into the Champions League :greengrin Now we're talking.

I think as a few have said, we are actually better off finishing with the rewards of 3rd in terms of guaranteed group stage football. Rather than finishing second (or inheriting their spot), losing a qualifier or two and ending up with nothing.

17-02-2021, 08:56 AM
A Celtic win for me every day of the week on this occasion. A tense game for two managers with squeaky bums.

17-02-2021, 09:05 AM

Interesting question. Maybe 3rd would get Champions League... I've always liked the sticky buns hope they do well :wink:

17-02-2021, 09:09 AM

I wouldn't worry about that. The line-up for the EL knockout stages looks extremely strong.

17-02-2021, 09:13 AM
I wouldn't worry about that. The line-up for the EL knockout stages looks extremely strong.

Oh i'm not overly worried but in these strange times. I'm more than happy to be finishing 3rd and a better chance of the conference league group stages.

17-02-2021, 09:19 AM
Or a win for Aberdeen gives us the opportunity to go 9 behind a floundering Celtic in the hunt for champions league action... :greengrin

Celtic aren't as good a team as they were the last few seasons and they've had a bad run but I can't see us making up 9 points on them unfortunately. For that reason I'd prefer Aberdeen to lose tonight.

Keeps them further behind us and doesn't give them any new found confidence going in to their other games. I'd have bitten your hand off for third and a chance at the cups when the season began so I'm not going to get greedy (yet).

Third place, a win over Celtic and a run in the Scottish (if it happens) and I'd say that is a great end to the season rather than convincing myself 2nd is possible and ending up disappointed as I did in 2018.

17-02-2021, 09:25 AM
Aberdeen and Celtc in a goalless draw would suit me just fine.

17-02-2021, 09:27 AM

No, why would we want Aberdeen to get a point? 3rd place is important. 2nd is fantasy.

17-02-2021, 09:29 AM
No, why would we want Aberdeen to get a point? 3rd place is important. 2nd is fantasy.

It's attitudes like yours that have kept Hibs back from ever achieving anything!

:tsk tsk:

17-02-2021, 09:31 AM
A totally demoralising 5-0 humping for the Sheep would suit me just fine. Let their downward spiral deepen with more unrest and pressure on the fud McInnes.
A good run for the Tic and a stuttering Sticky Buns might also liven up the run-in. A wee bit.

17-02-2021, 09:36 AM
I'm guessing they sell tennents super in Rome? I was over in Milan last year to visit a mate and was shocked to see loads of pubs selling tennents super on draught? It's safe to say not a great seller in the pub I visited. Too strong was my mates opinion of it. I wonder why [emoji848]

It's really odd. I was at a friend's wedding in a tiny town (only a couple hundred people) about 2 hours south of Rome a few years ago and Tenners Super was one of the few beers available at the local bar/cafe/restaurant/shop. I thought they had ordered it especially but apparently its all over Italy!

hibby rae
17-02-2021, 09:38 AM

Inclined to agree. There's what? 10 games left in the season?

And we would have to win about 4 games more than Celtic to take 2nd. Which is highly unlikely, they're still beatable but they appear to be have picked up on their form again.

If this was the start of the year I'd think we might have a chance, but I don't think there are enough games left for that to happen.

17-02-2021, 09:39 AM

Yeah, too many good teams left in it for the huns to win. Just from the EPL there is Man U, Arsenal, Tottenham and Leicester. Napoli, Roma and Milan from Serie a. Huns will maybe get through this round given their opponent's current squad size but they wont get further.

17-02-2021, 09:49 AM

If the dons don't score that would be pretty amazing, would be the first time they've ever gone 6 games without a goal

After they somehow managed to convince themseleves they were getting it up us by signing the 3 strikers in january that would be extremely sweet

17-02-2021, 09:50 AM
A trip to London with Hibs, that would be something else. Looks like our trip down to London for the Scotland game is unlikely to happen so an away trip with Hibs would more than make up for it. Appreciate we’re getting ahead of ourselves but how many do you think we’d take to a European game down south?
7-8000 easy

17-02-2021, 09:59 AM
:hilarious The pessimist with one eye on how Hibs can sneak into the Champions League :greengrin Now we're talking.

I think as a few have said, we are actually better off finishing with the rewards of 3rd in terms of guaranteed group stage football. Rather than finishing second (or inheriting their spot), losing a qualifier or two and ending up with nothing.

I think Rangers’ league champions league spot goes to another country (next on the coefficient list). Don’t think it impacts Scottish football at all unfortunately.

17-02-2021, 10:04 AM
All it will take will be for Hibs to have another couple of bad results and this thread will be replaced with one asking if we can still finish in the top six*

* We're guaranteed a top six finish now, but that won't stop some people.

Paul1642
17-02-2021, 10:12 AM
We haven’t come 3rd since 04-05. There are plenty of teenage Hibees who can’t remember that, yet a lot of people on here hoping that Aberdeen, our only remaining competitor for 3rd take a point tonight. We will not be catching Celtic and coming second, period.

Hope Celtic Skelp them.

17-02-2021, 10:15 AM
We haven’t come 3rd since 04-05. There are plenty of teenage Hibees who can’t remember that, yet a lot of people on here hoping that Aberdeen, our only remaining competitor for 3rd take a point tonight. We will not be catching Celtic and coming second, period.

Hope Celtic Skelp them.

I'm in two minds. If Celtic put four or five past them then I do think that McInnes will be in trouble and if they were able to get a decent replacement in to the end of the season they may get a bit of a run going. McInnes and the team look bereft of confidence just now and I think that tonight a battling display to a draw or a loss - a 2-1 or 2-2 - may be good to give their fans hope they've turned a corner but not enough to get the pitchforks out.

Paul1642
17-02-2021, 10:20 AM
I'm in two minds. If Celtic put four or five past them then I do think that McInnes will be in trouble and if they were able to get a decent replacement in to the end of the season they may get a bit of a run going. McInnes and the team look bereft of confidence just now and I think that tonight a battling display to a draw or a loss - a 2-1 or 2-2 - may be good to give their fans hope they've turned a corner but not enough to get the pitchforks out.

I would expect McInnes has enough goodwill to see out the season. Agree perhaps not a hammering then however definitely don’t want them to take a point. It could very well come down to the wire.

Renfrew_Hibby
17-02-2021, 10:42 AM
Surely the Dons will pick up something from Killie at the weekend so we really need Celtic to beat them tonight.
Looking to our game, Accies are comming to ER off the back of a convincing win against Motherwell and a very well deserved hard earned point against the Rangers. Don't forget we allowed Hamilton back into the first game at Easter Road and in the end were happy to hear the final whistle so it's really important that Aberdeen pick up zero points in the games they are expected to lose like tonights.

17-02-2021, 10:46 AM
Surely the Dons will pick up something from Killie at the weekend so we really need Celtic to beat them tonight.
Looking to our game, Accies are comming to ER off the back of a convincing win against Motherwell and a very well deserved hard earned point against the Rangers. Don't forget we allowed Hamilton back into the first game at Easter Road and in the end were happy to hear the final whistle so it's really important that Aberdeen pick up zero points in the games they are expected to lose like tonights.

Yeah it's not a good time to be playing Accies. Thankfully they play St Mirren today in what might be a tough game. Also take solace in the fact that we have scored 7 goals against them this season so far

17-02-2021, 11:07 AM
Hopefully Celtic smash Aberdeen tonight. The goal difference is already significantly in our favour +10), cannae do any harm to see that grow. Plus I've grown to enjoy seeing McInnes's dejected coupon in the post match interviews. I strongly dislike his teams approach to football.

17-02-2021, 11:08 AM

Definitely want Aberdeen to get hammered.

With the best will in the world, we're not making up a 12 points gap over the last 10 games.

17-02-2021, 11:18 AM

I don’t think it’s a given Aberdeen will beat Killie.

Tommy Wright will have spent every minute since taking over on making them tighter at the back and hard to beat.

That is probably the last type of team Aberdeen want to come up against just now when they have been struggling for goals.

Paul1642
17-02-2021, 11:21 AM
They will lucky to take 7 points post split. We are in a good position to go into split with more than that clear unless we go on a bad run.

17-02-2021, 11:22 AM

They’re not getting someone in that’s going to turn their season around within a week. McInnes won’t get sacked anyway, but chances are even if he did he’d be replaced by someone already there and the games don’t get any easier just because they’ve changed the manager. After tonight they only have 9 games to go, 4 before the split and 1 of those is Celtic. Regardless of who the manager is they’ll find it very tough and they’ll struggle after the split as well. We are probably 2/3 wins away from guaranteeing top 3 finish.

17-02-2021, 11:49 AM
It's attitudes like yours that have kept Hibs back from ever achieving anything!

:tsk tsk:

There’s a basic flaw in your argument. The fans’ pre match attitude or predictions have no effect on the outcome of the game. I think the players might have something to do with the result. :greengrin

17-02-2021, 11:51 AM
They will lucky to take 7 points post split. We are in a good position to go into split with more than that clear unless we go on a bad run.

Think you are right. 3 wins from our next 5 games (very doable) I think would see us leaving too much for Aberdeen to handle, assuming they lose both of their games to Celtic. If we can go into the split with a minimum of 7 points between us an superior GD, I reckon that would even be just about enough.

17-02-2021, 11:52 AM
There’s a basic flaw in your argument. The fans’ pre match attitude or predictions have no effect on the outcome of the game. I think the players might have something to do with the result. :greengrin

Nah, I'm sure a few people on here would disagree with that.

davhibby
17-02-2021, 11:54 AM
Definitely want Aberdeen to get hammered.

With the best will in the world, we're not making up a 12 points gap over the last 10 games.

A couple of weeks ago second could definitely have been a possibility with the run celtic were on but they’ve managed to get a few wins and that’s just put it beyond us. If Aberdeen and Livi keep dropping points and we can keep our good form going we could almost have 3rd sewn up by the split

Magpie
17-02-2021, 01:16 PM
The more goals Aberdeen concede the better IMO, as long as they don’t score more than they concede 😅

17-02-2021, 02:19 PM
Sheep to get pumped rotten this evening please. Zero points and goal difference taking a hammering is all to our benefit

Wakeyhibee
17-02-2021, 03:13 PM
1-0 Aberdeen. Kamberi to score 87th minute then does his version of the aeroplane right up to the Celtic bench. Lennon to trip him up as he passes and then a 20 man brawl ensues resulting in the game being abandoned, the SFA awarding a 3-0 home win to Celtic with at least 3 players from each side suspended long term for their part in the fiasco.

Is that too much to ask?

17-02-2021, 04:19 PM
1-0 Aberdeen. Kamberi to score 87th minute then does his version of the aeroplane right up to the Celtic bench. Lennon to trip him up as he passes and then a 20 man brawl ensues resulting in the game being abandoned, the SFA awarding a 3-0 home win to Celtic with at least 3 players from each side suspended long term for their part in the fiasco.

Is that too much to ask?

Both sides deducted 20 points.

Then The Rangers deducted 40 points for their latest Covid debacle.

17-02-2021, 04:50 PM
Want nothing else than a battering for the sheep.

17-02-2021, 04:54 PM

A good ramming!

147lothian
17-02-2021, 04:56 PM
It would be a dream come true for me as much as anyone else to hear the Champions league tune played at Easter Road, but I can't really see us catching celtic so for me the best result tonight would be Aberdeen getting beat, the more goals against them the better, it makes the chances of them catching us all the slimmer and gives us European football upto Christmas.

17-02-2021, 04:56 PM
A good ramming!

Ewe are correct

17-02-2021, 05:43 PM
Ewe are correct
Your spelling is a bit woolly.

17-02-2021, 05:48 PM
FFS, ram yer puns!

17-02-2021, 06:00 PM

A good ramming!

Ewe are correct

Your spelling is a bit woolly.

..... in other words ‘ a right good lambasting!

17-02-2021, 06:51 PM
..... in other words ‘ a right good lambasting!

I'm not sure wether or not that's a good idea.

17-02-2021, 06:55 PM
Excellent result tonight. All of a sudden it's Hibs who have the game in hand and Aberdeen are no closer.

wallpaperman
17-02-2021, 06:56 PM
With Aberdeen dropping 3 points tonight,
that is our magic number down to 24 points maximum required, without kicking a ball. Lovely.

17-02-2021, 06:59 PM
We could go seven ahead with a game in hand by the end of the week, and ten ahead with a game in hand within a fortnight. One of Aberdeen's games is against Celtic again too.

17-02-2021, 07:00 PM
We could go seven ahead with a game in hand by the end of the week, and ten ahead with a game in hand within a fortnight. One of Aberdeen's games is against Celtic again too.

One game at a time please😀

17-02-2021, 07:03 PM
One game at a time please😀

I think that it shows that Aberdeen need to beat Kilmarnock and quite possibly Celtic too. At the time of the split Aberdeen ideally need to be within three points of us considering they'd need to play us again, otherwise it's out of their hands (and goal difference may mean that it could be less).

When a team gets to the point where they can afford to have a bad game or two, then it becomes difficult for the chasing team. Vital that JR keeps preparing the squad professionally for each upcoming fixture.

17-02-2021, 07:03 PM

Let's no get carried away...we face an inform Access in Sat important we just do our bit and everything else will take care of itself

17-02-2021, 07:06 PM
Let's no get carried away...we face an inform Access in Sat important we just do our bit and everything else will take care of itself

Is Saturday a big game? :greengrin

17-02-2021, 07:08 PM

Just looking ahead - long as we keep professional, prepare well, play well then we're looking into a good place ahead of the split.

If we keep consistent and avoid a slip up we're no longer in the position where it's in Aberdeens hands if they can overtake us. You're right that we shouldn't be taking things for granted and make sure that we take advantage of the games before the split.

17-02-2021, 07:15 PM

Biggest game of the season so far....

17-02-2021, 07:16 PM
Watched about 10 minutes of the first half and I thought Aberdeen played quite well.

Probably unlucky not to score during the spell I watched but I’ve no idea how the rest of the game was.

If they play like that in their games coming up they could start to pick up points again soon, really important we win this Saturday.

17-02-2021, 07:20 PM
Watched about 10 minutes of the first half and I thought Aberdeen played quite well.

Probably unlucky not to score during the spell I watched but I’ve no idea how the rest of the game was.

If they play like that in their games coming up they could start to pick up points again soon, really important we win this Saturday.

Celtic were really poor tonight and I get a feeling that if Hibs, Livi, or even St Mirren were playing them tonight, we'd be celebrating leaving with a point, even with Turnbull's goal early doors. The longer the game went on the more Aberdeen ran out of ideas, the more Kamberi became anonymous after a bright start and the more Aberdeen turned to fouling over and over.

On a similar level, it just takes a flukey deflection or a penalty incorrectly awarded to get a striker back on the hunt for goals though so it could be a spot of luck that gives Horby, Hendery or Kamberi a bit of confidence again so you're right, really important we keep good form on the go.

vuefrom1875
17-02-2021, 07:27 PM

Yes very academic. 😉

17-02-2021, 07:27 PM
so, after 33 games we will have played

H-16
A-17

so we should get 3 home games and 2 away after the split

A-Sevco
A-Aberdeen

H-Sellick
H-Livingston

and last home game v either...

st.johnstone
Dundee utd
st.mirren

i think :)

17-02-2021, 07:34 PM
I listened to most of the first half travelling home from work and watched the second half and thought Aberdeen done well.

They will beat Kilmarnock on Saturday so we need to take points to make sure we keep the gap.

17-02-2021, 07:38 PM
They will beat Kilmarnock on Saturday so we need to take points to make sure we keep the gap.

You do realise that they need to score a goal to do that, yeah? :greengrin

17-02-2021, 07:42 PM
You do realise that they need to score a goal to do that, yeah? :greengrin

Maybe an own goal or two.:greengrin

They have to score eventually unfortunately, Killie in danger of the automatic relegation spot.

17-02-2021, 07:45 PM
Maybe an own goal or two.:greengrin

They have to score eventually unfortunately, Killie in danger of the automatic relegation spot.

Wouldn't be surprised if it's a 0-0.

hibby rae
17-02-2021, 08:13 PM
Wouldn't be surprised if it's a 0-0.

Yeah that's what I'm thinking. Apparently Wright has got the Killie defence looking better but they haven't beat Aberdeen in over a decade.

17-02-2021, 08:32 PM
Yeah that's what I'm thinking. Apparently Wright has got the Killie defence looking better but they haven't beat Aberdeen in over a decade.

law of averages ...they are due a win against the sheep ! Kamberi own goal hopefully :greengrin

17-02-2021, 08:47 PM
I can see the dons killie being a draw. Killie were decent at Ibrox so can see getting something on Saturday.

17-02-2021, 08:48 PM
looks quite healthy for us.

Just_Jimmy
17-02-2021, 08:52 PM
Is Saturday a big game? :greengrindon't tell Jack Ross FFS [emoji23]

Sent from my Pixel 3a using Tapatalk

17-02-2021, 08:54 PM
looks quite healthy for us.
Obviously no one can make that picture out. When is this site going to be updated to have things like embedded links? The bounce has had it for years and they’ve got two men and a dug viewing their site. Maybe some of the money being sent out could be used to make the user experience a bit better, it’s like living in the dark ages.

17-02-2021, 08:57 PM
Obviously no one can make that picture out. When is this site going to be updated to have things like embedded links? The bounce has had it for years and they’ve got two men and a dug viewing their site. Maybe some of the money being sent out could be used to make the user experience a bit better, it’s like living in the dark ages.

I cant attach anything in other than miniscule either. I've tried.

17-02-2021, 09:01 PM
... so your partner's claims are well founded then😉

17-02-2021, 09:10 PM

Pie and Bovril has a good format, you can embed tweets, gifs, see when you get a reply etc.

Has annoying adverts though..................

17-02-2021, 09:11 PM
... so your partner's claims are well founded then😉

Nice. Nice use of 'partner' there too. Very metro, considered, non-sexist, un-homophobic and non-infractious jibing. Love it so much I can't see the screen for my tumescence. :wink:

17-02-2021, 09:15 PM
It’s unacceptable. It’s 2021 and you can’t post a photo from your phone! Surely it isn’t that hard? Other sites seem to manage it with a fraction of the posters we have on here.

17-02-2021, 09:17 PM
Pie and Bovril has a good format, you can embed tweets, gifs, see when you get a reply etc.

Has annoying adverts though..................
I know, but the private membership stops the adverts on here. An upgrade is long overdue.

17-02-2021, 09:24 PM
It’s unacceptable. It’s 2021 and you can’t post a photo from your phone! Surely it isn’t that hard? Other sites seem to manage it with a fraction of the posters we have on here.

I've tried putting some historic things up recently, some in response to the 'Day In History' thread but it's not easy. How do other posters manage it? I've tried on PC and Apple device, nothing changes.

17-02-2021, 09:37 PM
I've tried putting some historic things up recently, some in response to the 'Day In History' thread but it's not easy. How do other posters manage it? I've tried on PC and Apple device, nothing changes.

Upload your pic to https://imgbb.com

When upload complete, choose “BBCode Full Linked” from the drop down Embed Codes and copy and paste the result into your post here.

17-02-2021, 09:39 PM
I use Tapatalk on my android phone and posting photos is really easy. However I've noticed over the last couple of months that some photos don't display on Tapatalk (whatever their size) and I have to open the thread in a browser if I want to see them.

It must be a nightmare for the admins when things that have been fine for years stop working all of a sudden - it's obviously not them that are changing stuff for the sake of it.

https://uploads.tapatalk-cdn.com/20210217/d8aad899e382871c0afca62e9c47a66c.jpg

17-02-2021, 09:54 PM

When upload complete, choose “BBCode Full Linked” from the drop down Embed Codes and copy and paste the result into your post here.

Done all that, how’s this look?

https://i.ibb.co/nPybrhK/0-C62-A872-64-DE-4-DFA-A04-D-4-B052232-B0-EE.jpg (https://ibb.co/LNy8S4s)
television emojis (https://emoticoncentral.com/category/television)

17-02-2021, 09:56 PM
****ing brilliant! Top man JMS.
**** knows how I’ll remember what I did there though.

17-02-2021, 09:57 PM
In the bag. Bigger question is who will finish 4th. Would prefer St Mirren myself

17-02-2021, 09:57 PM

https://i.ibb.co/nPybrhK/0-C62-A872-64-DE-4-DFA-A04-D-4-B052232-B0-EE.jpg (https://ibb.co/LNy8S4s)

Either Ambrose or the stadium is upside down, but I'm not sure which.

Full size though.

17-02-2021, 10:01 PM

Thought I'd test this as well 😁

https://i.ibb.co/z68K424/08-05-99-SFL-DIV-1-HIBERNIAN-v-FALKIRK-2-1-EASTER-ROAD-STADIUM-EDINBURGHFranck-Sauzee-left-is-congra.jpg (https://ibb.co/GHsg5M5)

17-02-2021, 10:01 PM
****ing brilliant! Top man JMS.
**** knows how I’ll remember what I did there though.

17-02-2021, 10:03 PM
Here’s another just so I know

https://i.ibb.co/BfR3Sk2/3242-FF76-109-B-464-F-AE73-5-F78771689-D0.jpg (https://ibb.co/D1nWSdf)

17-02-2021, 10:03 PM
Nice. Nice use of 'partner' there too. Very metro, considered, non-sexist, un-homophobic and non-infractious jibing. Love it so much I can't see the screen for my tumescence. :wink:
not often you get a thread on dotnet with vascular congestion being banded about so openly.:rolleyes:

17-02-2021, 10:04 PM
FFS JMS you’ve made my day.

17-02-2021, 10:10 PM
Bugger it, here’s another
https://i.ibb.co/hdYgvLV/96481-DB6-2-C57-4-B4-C-ABEE-5-CEAB0-FE251-F.jpg (https://ibb.co/M1BgLZ7)

17-02-2021, 10:22 PM
Great, now can we get rid of that blue privacy button

17-02-2021, 10:30 PM

What is the blue botton you refer to?

18-02-2021, 07:11 AM
What is the blue botton you refer to?

Sits on the right side of Lite mode. Gets in the way of writing posts.

dchibs
18-02-2021, 08:41 AM

I get that as well.

18-02-2021, 08:47 AM

Use the default site, bud.

18-02-2021, 09:19 AM

Killie have lost last 7 in a row !

Aberdeen haven’t won in 6!

Would take a draw or Killie win ideally!

Hibs need to focus on just getting points on the board with wins. Continuing this run before the split would take some pressure off and put us in the driving seat.

18-02-2021, 09:26 AM

When you upload a photo, it's initially in a really tiny preview size. But if you double-click the image before you click the 'Submit Reply' button, there's a kind of pop-up dialogue that appears where you can resize the picture first.

(it should look something like this)

That way you don't have to upload it to some external website first...

18-02-2021, 09:34 AM
When you upload a photo, it's initially in a really tiny preview size. But if you double-click the image before you click the 'Submit Reply' button, there's a kind of pop-up dialogue that appears where you can resize the picture first.

(it should look something like this)

That way you don't have to upload it to some external website first...

Can you do it like that on a mobile, or just the default site on PC?

18-02-2021, 09:42 AM
Killie have lost last 7 in a row !

Aberdeen haven’t won in 6!

Would take a draw or Killie win ideally!

Hibs need to focus on just getting points on the board with wins. Continuing this run before the split would take some pressure off and put us in the driving seat.

Killie would be delighted with a draw.

Either a nil nil or first goal the winner would be my bet.

18-02-2021, 09:50 AM
Can you do it like that on a mobile, or just the default site on PC?

I think it's just from the PC.

Though I have a really crap mobile, so it's hard to tell if it works on a decent one.

Paul1642
18-02-2021, 10:50 AM
Despite their lack of goals Aberdeen defence is still fairly reliable. 7 conceded in 7 games isn’t too bad going considering that included trips to Easter Road, Celtic Park and Livingston. I don’t see Killmarnock scoring so 1 goal will kick it for Aberdeen.

18-02-2021, 11:06 AM

https://i.ibb.co/BfR3Sk2/3242-FF76-109-B-464-F-AE73-5-F78771689-D0.jpg (https://ibb.co/D1nWSdf)

I have no idea how to post photos. Have wondered for years, tbh.

Sweet Left Peg
18-02-2021, 11:28 AM
Bugger it, here’s another
https://i.ibb.co/hdYgvLV/96481-DB6-2-C57-4-B4-C-ABEE-5-CEAB0-FE251-F.jpg (https://ibb.co/M1BgLZ7)

Oh, Yes!

18-02-2021, 12:05 PM
https://i.ibb.co/D1tMndQ/AA20-F6-A9-7-EB5-4511-A254-C7-E6-E1-EF9-C11.png (https://ibb.co/S6PmpSB)
This is the picture I was initially trying to post.

18-02-2021, 12:06 PM
JMS you’re a genius. I’ve been trying to do that for years.

18-02-2021, 12:47 PM
https://i.ibb.co/D1tMndQ/AA20-F6-A9-7-EB5-4511-A254-C7-E6-E1-EF9-C11.png (https://ibb.co/S6PmpSB)
This is the picture I was initially trying to post.

Cannae see it - or any of Iggy's except the 1st one

18-02-2021, 02:08 PM
FFS JMS you’ve made my day.

JMS you’re a genius. I’ve been trying to do that for years.

You're welcome. :greengrin

Keith may be even more geniusish, I haven't tried his method yet.

18-02-2021, 04:43 PM

18-02-2021, 04:59 PM
You're welcome. :greengrin

Keith may be even more geniusish, I haven't tried his method yet.

TBF, I've been posting on here for 18 years and only found out about this fairly recently

18-02-2021, 05:01 PM
Flustered Admins, f*** they've figured out how to post pics.

18-02-2021, 05:51 PM
This is like when someone pointed out the
https://i.ibb.co/58Dbp0j/Screenshot-20210218-184732-Chrome.jpg (https://ibb.co/d298CTp)

18-02-2021, 06:00 PM
https://i.ibb.co/58Dbp0j/Screenshot-20210218-184732-Chrome.jpg (https://ibb.co/d298CTp)
Definitely. I remember that day well.

18-02-2021, 06:13 PM

Westandwannab took that function to a pandemic.

SJNB Hibby
18-02-2021, 09:53 PM
Despite their lack of goals Aberdeen defence is still fairly reliable. 7 conceded in 7 games isn’t too bad going considering that included trips to Easter Road, Celtic Park and Livingston. I don’t see Killmarnock scoring so 1 goal will kick it for Aberdeen.

In their recent run of 7 losses, killie have scored 2...in the same game. Both sides likely happy with a score draw but you feel the Don's need a won, especially if we are winning late on

wallpaperman
20-02-2021, 04:12 PM
Update on the number of points needed;

Aberdeen: With both teams winning, the number drops by 3 to 21 points needed.

Livingston: With Livi dropping two points today, the number drops by 5 to 16 points needed.

Probably don’t need to really include Livingston in the update as things stand.

mayo hibee
20-02-2021, 04:14 PM
Ross has taken some heavy criticism at times this season, but 12 points clear of fifth with 9 games to go is some going.

20-02-2021, 04:46 PM
I wonder if they’ll bring the post split fixtures forward
Our last game pre split against Livvi is on Saturday 20th
The game already pencilled for 3rd v Hamilton was played today
1st spilt fixture as it stands is not due to be played until 17th April, that’s a month gap between games
3rd April is now free, and we also have a Scottish cup semi final date on 10th April

mcohibs
20-02-2021, 04:58 PM

https://i.ibb.co/FH3YZsm/4531086.jpg (https://imgbb.com/)

20-02-2021, 05:04 PM
Ross has taken some heavy criticism at times this season, but 12 points clear of fifth with 9 games to go is some going.

To be honest, I’m not that impressed that he’s clear off fifth given the quality of the rest. I never thought fourth was in danger and we have a strong squad. I do think he deserve credit for having pretty comfortable advantage in third though, I didn’t think that’s be the case a few weeks back.

20-02-2021, 05:28 PM
To be honest, I’m not that impressed that he’s clear off fifth given the quality of the rest. I never thought fourth was in danger and we have a strong squad. I do think he deserve credit for having pretty comfortable advantage in third though, I didn’t think that’s be the case a few weeks back.

After that abject LC Semi, would have expected Hibs to struggle, but Ross and the players have managed to regroup and go again. 4 straight wins is excellent form, with a huge prize at the end if they can push on to 3rd place. The way we're going, we're forcing Aberdeen to win every game - love it, given the way they sat in the wings and bought up many of our top targets.

3rd place finish would look good on Jack Ross' CV.

20-02-2021, 06:18 PM

Anyone for a trip to Anfield? 😉

Paul1642
21-02-2021, 08:34 AM
Aberdeen can now take a maximum of 24 points ( - 4 point gap at present ) means 20 points from 9 games takes 3rd for Hibs. That’s before you take into account Aberdeen’s 3 old firm games and any other dropped points :)

mayo hibee
21-02-2021, 08:44 AM
I think three more wins will do it for us. If we win three of our remaining nine games Aberdeen need to win five of their remaining eight to overtake us, and three of those eight are against Celtic and Rangers.

Our most winnable games are this side of the split and we're playing ok at the moment so we've a great chance to wrap this up early in the next few weeks if we can maintain our current form.

21-02-2021, 08:44 AM

There's a compliment in there somewhere.

mayo hibee
21-02-2021, 08:55 AM

In the 20 years or so of the current league system I doubt we've ever had top four as good as wrapped up this early. Even in our better seasons we have always had a tendancy to throw away points against teams we should be beating.

We're playing well this season but it's easy to forget that for much of the last 20 years we've been poor, so I think Ross deserves a lot of credit for delivering the relative consistency we have shown in the league this season.

21-02-2021, 09:06 AM
In the 20 years or so of the current league system I doubt we've ever had top four as good as wrapped up this early. Even in our better seasons we have always had a tendancy to throw away points against teams we should be beating.

We're playing well this season but it's easy to forget that for much of the last 20 years we've been poor, so I think Ross deserves a lot of credit for delivering the relative consistency we have shown in the league this season.

I know how we’ve done historically comes up quite a bit but I think you can only really judge on what we’ve seen this season. I think we’ve got an advantage over most of the league this year with the way we’ve invested in the team in a way that others haven’t or can’t. It’s not that he doesn’t deserve any credit for getting top four secured early doors, I just think it’s the minimum requirement this year. Going on to get third moves it from a decent season to a good season for me. And it also gets him some credit back, from me at least, that he lost with the cup disappointments.

21-02-2021, 09:09 AM
If we win our game in hand it's going to be difficult for Aberdeen. They'll need three more wins than us given our much better goal difference.