View Full Version : Countdown to 3rd place thread

Pages : 1 [2] 3 4 5

21-02-2021, 09:19 AM
I know how we’ve done historically comes up quite a bit but I think you can only really judge on what we’ve seen this season. I think we’ve got an advantage over most of the league this year with the way we’ve invested in the team in a way that others haven’t or can’t. It’s not that he doesn’t deserve any credit for getting top four secured early doors, I just think it’s the minimum requirement this year. Going on to get third moves it from a decent season to a good season for me. And it also gets him some credit back, from me at least, that he lost with the cup disappointments.

How often do we ever hit our minimum target, yet when we do reach our target and at the moment bettering it, we have grudging compliments like yours.

Unless we are struggling big time, so you and others can really go to town on the team, it must be very boring for you supporting Hibs.

21-02-2021, 09:20 AM
Very close to third now. It hasn't been pretty at times but we have done a great job picking up 3 points in the games we should be winning. There are also flashes in games where we move the ball really well which is hopefully a glimpse of where we are headed. Two more wins will be enough for third imo and I think we could get them in the next couple of fixtures

21-02-2021, 09:28 AM
IF we win our game in hand, Aberdeen will likely need to win 3 more games than we do over the 8 remaining games.

Not just, win 3 of the remaining 8, which would prove difficult considering post split fixtures, but win 3 more than us.

The game in hand is massive.

21-02-2021, 09:30 AM
How often do we ever hit our minimum target, yet when we do reach our target and at the moment bettering it, we have grudging compliments like yours.

Unless we are struggling big time, so you and others can really go to town on the team, it must be very boring for you supporting Hibs.

I’ve just said finishing third would be a good season. It’s not a grudging compliment, it’s giving credit where I think it’s due.

Your last sentence is utter nonsense, certainly in terms of my thinking towards supporting Hibs. I have no desire to simply moan about how we’re doing, I’d much rather get some enjoyment out of watching us for the money I spend to do so.

wallpaperman
21-02-2021, 09:37 AM
Aberdeen can now take a maximum of 24 points ( - 4 point gap at present ) means 20 points from 9 games takes 3rd for Hibs. That’s before you take into account Aberdeen’s 3 old firm games and any other dropped points :)

See my post 238, technically we need 21 points.

if Aberdeen win all their games they would be on 72 points, if we get 20 points we would also be on 72 points, so you have to say that for absolutes we need 21 points maximum.

Goal difference not taken into account of course. :wink:

21-02-2021, 09:43 AM
IF we win our game in hand, Aberdeen will likely need to win 3 more games than we do over the 8 remaining games.

Not just, win 3 of the remaining 8, which would prove difficult considering post split fixtures, but win 3 more than us.

The game in hand is massive.

We have 2 games before that game in hand. Next week is far more important than the game in hand considering Aberdeen are at Celtic park. Two results go our way next weekend then it’s 3 more wins than us from just 7 games for the sheep.

21-02-2021, 09:49 AM
I know how we’ve done historically comes up quite a bit but I think you can only really judge on what we’ve seen this season. I think we’ve got an advantage over most of the league this year with the way we’ve invested in the team in a way that others haven’t or can’t. It’s not that he doesn’t deserve any credit for getting top four secured early doors, I just think it’s the minimum requirement this year. Going on to get third moves it from a decent season to a good season for me. And it also gets him some credit back, from me at least, that he lost with the cup disappointments.

That's where I am at the moment too.

21-02-2021, 09:53 AM

I’d say third is an absolutely magnificent season. The European payoff for Third Place has never been higher in any of our lifetimes and we’ve only finished there once in what, two decades? Third would be absolutely huge and JR would deserve massive credit. All of the bedwetters wanting him gone at Christmas/January hopefully don’t have the gall to show up to our European games.

21-02-2021, 10:02 AM
I think it's just from the PC.

Though I have a really crap mobile, so it's hard to tell if it works on a decent one.

nope it works on my IPhone (don’t seem to have seen it on previous models - I have an Iphone11

21-02-2021, 10:27 AM
I still think it would have been a better idea to start with a countdown to fourth place thread.

I hate taking stuff like this for granted.

21-02-2021, 10:41 AM
Difficult to criticize Ross for finishing 3rd as that slot has been few and far between for us. We should be challenging for it (with A’deen and Hearts) every single season. So well done to him. Even with A’deen imploding financially and Hearts relegated, the games don’t win themselves.

But those cup semi defeats -against vastly inferior sides who just wanted it more- will continue to leave a bad taste until he shows he can build a hungry outfit as well as a consistent one.

Like it or not, while the status of the club my be defined by league standing and European fixtures, any glory we are likely to enjoy will come from domestic cup tournaments. Our record here has to improve.

21-02-2021, 10:44 AM
Difficult to criticize Ross for finishing 3rd as that slot has been few and far between for us. We should be challenging for it (with A’deen and Hearts) every single season. So well done to him. Even with A’deen imploding financially and Hearts relegated, the games don’t win themselves.

But those cup semi defeats -against vastly inferior sides who just wanted it more- will continue to leave a bad taste until he shows he can build a hungry outfit as well as a consistent one.

Like it or not, while the status of the club my be defined by league standing and European fixtures, any glory we are likely to enjoy will come from domestic cup tournaments. Our record here has to improve.

‘Vastly inferior’ - St Johnstone have lost twice in months, both against the old firm. Without going over old ground, we were favourites and should’ve won, but let’s not pretend it was Queens Park or Stenhousemuir we were playing.

jonny
21-02-2021, 10:50 AM
I’d say third is an absolutely magnificent season. The European payoff for Third Place has never been higher in any of our lifetimes and we’ve only finished there once in what, two decades? Third would be absolutely huge and JR would deserve massive credit. All of the bedwetters wanting him gone at Christmas/January hopefully don’t have the gall to show up to our European games.

100% agree. Given the prize of European football till Xmas that is now highly likely to come with 3rd makes it huge. In my lifetime (I'm 40) I've never seen a season where we've had more than a few games in Europe, mostly against poor opposition. To get into the group stage of European competition is for me a really exciting prospect. That's purely from a footballing side of things. The financial rewards that come with it will also go a long way to balancing the books after what has been a difficult financial period for all clubs in Scotland.
Yes we've underperformed in a couple of semi finals but I can't remember ever seeing a Hibs team as resilient as this one. Many of the narrow 1-0's and 2-1's would've been draws in previous years.
Jack Ross has done a fantastic job as far as I'm concerned.

21-02-2021, 10:55 AM
Without going over old ground, third place and reaching a semi final would, in virtually every other season i have watched Hibs (Championship seasons aside), have been considered a great season.

21-02-2021, 11:03 AM
Finishing third would obviously be massive.

I know that guarantees (probably, Scottish Cup pending) us group stages of the new Europa Conference League, which is good, but it's one play off win away from Europa League group stages! Which is massive!

Really think we'll finish third, said so a month or so ago too. And being someone who's criticised Ross in the past, he deserves huge credit if we do finish third.

21-02-2021, 11:19 AM
European group stage football, especially the Europa League would benefit the club and Ron's plans to overhaul the commercial side of the club massively. Could be a game changer.

21-02-2021, 11:28 AM
See my post 238, technically we need 21 points.

if Aberdeen win all their games they would be on 72 points, if we get 20 points we would also be on 72 points, so you have to say that for absolutes we need 21 points maximum.

Goal difference not taken into account of course. :wink:

If we can beat Aberdeen at Pittodrie it would be a massive step.

21-02-2021, 11:36 AM
Current Form

https://i.ibb.co/kcFK0GL/Screenshot-20210221-123544-com-android-chrome.jpg (https://ibb.co/bdn1L64)
image uploader (https://imgbb.com/)

Next weekend is huge. You have to think they won’t get a win at park head so if we manage to beat Motherwell that’s 7 points with a game in hand against the bottom of the league.
Doesn’t matter what Aberdeen do after that, they ain’t catching us if we have a 10 point lead with 7 games to go each.

Key West
Third place has become a real possibility as Aberdeen for me have become weaker this season due to the loss of McKenna and Cosgrove in particular. Hibs have been boosted by the signings of Cadden and Irvine and the excellent recent form of McGregor and Boyle. The whole team has been given a boost.

21-02-2021, 11:38 AM

3rd would be an excellent season...good is a wee bit understated...weve only finished 3rd 4 times in like 40 years

21-02-2021, 11:59 AM
3rd would be an excellent season...good is a wee bit understated...weve only finished 3rd 4 times in like 40 years

For me, it’s just the disappointment of the missed opportunities in the cup that prevent it from feeling like an excellent season. It probably feels less excellent because I’m not there either, I’m never going to look back or have any real memories of this season.

As I say, if we get third (which I think we will) Ross gets a fair bit of goodwill from me that wasn’t there not so long ago.

21-02-2021, 12:59 PM
If we finish 3rd and had won either of the cups it would have been one of the best seasons in the clubs history and we'd have found it difficult to hold on to the manager. I think we'll be even stronger next season and will be able to dangle the carrot of European football in front of potential signings. We could always still win this season's SC right enough.

21-02-2021, 01:15 PM
Supporting Hibs is finished now, expectations have gone through the roof with nothing to back it up, and remember we were playing diddy league football 5 minutes ago for 3 years.

21-02-2021, 01:24 PM
Supporting Hibs is finished now, expectations have gone through the roof with nothing to back it up, and remember we were playing diddy league football 5 minutes ago for 3 years.

What expectations are you seeing that are through the roof?

21-02-2021, 01:31 PM
What expectations are you seeing that are through the roof?

Winning cups and 4th place finishes expected as normal.

21-02-2021, 01:34 PM

When you’re down to a last 4 of us, Livi, St Johnstone snd St Mirren is it unrealistic to expect us to win it?

I don’t think the expectations to win trophies are there when the old firm are still involved.

21-02-2021, 01:37 PM

For most of my time supporting Hibs, any manager not delivering along those lines have found themselves out the door. Don’t think expectations have changed really. Possibly been higher this season due to the positions we’ve found ourselves in.

I think you’re reading what you want to read and ignoring the parts where folk are saying anything positive, so you can have a moan at them for moaning (even when they’re not really moaning).

21-02-2021, 01:37 PM
When you’re down to a last 4 of us, Livi, St Johnstone snd St Mirren is it unrealistic to expect us to win it?

I don’t think the expectations to win trophies are there when the old firm are still involved.

I thought we had a chance, but i did not for one minute expect us to win it as a given.

21-02-2021, 01:42 PM
For me, it’s just the disappointment of the missed opportunities in the cup that prevent it from feeling like an excellent season. It probably feels less excellent because I’m not there either, I’m never going to look back or have any real memories of this season.

As I say, if we get third (which I think we will) Ross gets a fair bit of goodwill from me that wasn’t there not so long ago.

This for me. All things considered it's been a good season but it's essentially a 2 horse race for 3rd so good to achieve that but blowing huge opportunities in both cups means it's more 'good' than 'excellent' imo.

21-02-2021, 01:44 PM
This for me. All things considered it's been a good season but it's essentially a 2 horse race for 3rd so good to achieve that but blowing huge opportunities in both cups means it's more 'good' than 'excellent' imo.
3 weeks ago there were folk howling at the moon, and wanting everyone sacked bar the tea lady.

21-02-2021, 01:46 PM

If it’s a two horse race for third, then surely it was a two horse race for the cups that we would never have been in?

wallpaperman
21-02-2021, 02:02 PM
I don't think people understand how massive 3rd would be. Hibs in the groupstages of Europe would be absolutely amazing. I think we're gonna do it and we're gonna benefit massively from it next season.

Could I just check if other people’s understanding is the same as mine?

Just been reading various details about the UEFA Conference League format, and it looks to me that the if we finish 3rd (and just say that the Scottish Cup is not completed or is won by Rangers/Celtic) then this does still not guarantee us a group place in the new UEFA Conference League group stages. This contradicts what a lot of people have been saying that we are guaranteed a place.

From what I have read, we would enter the UEFA Europa League at the 3rd qualifying round, but as far as I can see you then have to negotiate the ‘Play off’ round. And it’s the 10 losers of the Play off round that go straight into the UEFA Conference League, not the losers of the 3rd qualifying round.

Or am I reading this wrong?

21-02-2021, 02:23 PM
3 weeks ago there were folk howling at the moon, and wanting everyone sacked bar the tea lady.

I wanted the tea lady out to be honest. Using Spar own brand when the Tetley ran out was disgusting and cowardly. She can't even make a big pot of tea, always bottles it and makes loads of wee pots instead. Aye she successfully made loads of them but is one big pot too much to ask?

21-02-2021, 02:24 PM
I wanted the tea lady out to be honest. Using Spar own brand when the Tetley ran out was disgusting and cowardly. She can't even make a big pot of tea, always bottles it and makes loads of wee pots instead. Aye she successfully made loads of them but is one big pot too much to ask?

21-02-2021, 02:27 PM
She can't even make a big pot of tea, always bottles it and makes loads of wee pots instead. ?

Wee pots would be handy for all the bedwetters on here to keep bedside. Would save a lot of laundry 😁

21-02-2021, 02:30 PM
Hibs v Juventus under the lights at Easter Road and singing "just a ***** Flo Kamberi" at Ronaldo? I'll have some of that. Can only hope eh.

mayo hibee
21-02-2021, 04:33 PM
Could I just check if other people’s understanding is the same as mine?

Just been reading various details about the UEFA Conference League format, and it looks to me that the if we finish 3rd (and just say that the Scottish Cup is not completed or is won by Rangers/Celtic) then this does still not guarantee us a group place in the new UEFA Conference League group stages. This contradicts what a lot of people have been saying that we are guaranteed a place.

From what I have read, we would enter the UEFA Europa League at the 3rd qualifying round, but as far as I can see you then have to negotiate the ‘Play off’ round. And it’s the 10 losers of the Play off round that go straight into the UEFA Conference League, not the losers of the 3rd qualifying round.

Or am I reading this wrong?

You are reading it wrong. We would go into the playoff round of the Europa League - if we won the playoff we would get Europa League groups, if we lost the playoff we would get Europa Conference groups. Either way we'd be guaranteed group stage football and a minimum of eight European games (two playoff games plus six group games).

Top three from the Europa League groups and top two from the Europa Conference groups qualify to play knockout European football after Christmas so not beyond possibility that we (or whoever the Scottish team that qualifies is) could get more games beyond the guaranteed eight also.

21-02-2021, 04:42 PM
If the Scottish cup is played and we finish 3rd in league but don't win cup what would our route be to the groups.

mayo hibee
21-02-2021, 04:56 PM
If Celtic or Rangers win the cup we would still be guaranteed the groups. If someone else wins the cup and takes the group spot we would have to start from way back in Round 2 of the Europa qualifiers, so little or no chance of much progression from there unfortunately.

21-02-2021, 04:57 PM
‘Vastly inferior’ - St Johnstone have lost twice in months, both against the old firm. Without going over old ground, we were favourites and should’ve won, but let’s not pretend it was Queens Park or Stenhousemuir we were playing.

St Johnstone went into the semi final off the back of 2 wins in 13 matches against top level opposition.

I wouldn't say they were vastly inferior but it was a dreadful result and (second half) performance.

And I say that as someone who is currently happy with where we are in the league and looking forward to the prospect of group stage European football next season but the two semi final results remain pretty big blots on the copybook for me.

21-02-2021, 05:03 PM
If Celtic or Rangers win the cup we would still be guaranteed the groups. If someone else wins the cup and takes the group spot we would have to start from way back in Round 2 of the Europa qualifiers, so little or no chance of much progression from there unfortunately.

21-02-2021, 05:10 PM
St Johnstone went into the semi final off the back of 2 wins in 13 matches against top level opposition.

I wouldn't say they were vastly inferior but it was a dreadful result and (second half) performance.

And I say that as someone who is currently happy with where we are in the league and looking forward to the prospect of group stage European football next season but the two semi final results remain pretty big blots on the copybook for me.

Agree they were always going to be tricky opponents and our record against them isn't great at all however no way on this earth should we have been losing 3 0 and basically throwing the towel in second half.

21-02-2021, 05:14 PM
Agree they were always going to be tricky opponents and our record against them isn't great at all however no way on this earth should we have been losing 3 0 and basically throwing the towel in second half.

Our confidence was a bit shot back then. You just knew when they scored it was game over. Dominating but not scoring/winning was definitely becoming a psychological thing. Credit to the management team for sorting it out.

Our last two semis with St Johnstone I think we were pretty fortune to win so they were probably due that one. Sore as it was.

21-02-2021, 05:21 PM
Our confidence was a bit shot back then. You just knew when they scored it was game over. Dominating but not scoring/winning was definitely becoming a psychological thing. Credit to the management team for sorting it out.

Our last two semis with St Johnstone I think we were pretty fortune to win so they were probably due that one. Sore as it was.

Probably fair enough. Definitely agree done well to turn it round.

wallpaperman
21-02-2021, 06:24 PM
You are reading it wrong. We would go into the playoff round of the Europa League - if we won the playoff we would get Europa League groups, if we lost the playoff we would get Europa Conference groups. Either way we'd be guaranteed group stage football and a minimum of eight European games (two playoff games plus six group games).

Top three from the Europa League groups and top two from the Europa Conference groups qualify to play knockout European football after Christmas so not beyond possibility that we (or whoever the Scottish team that qualifies is) could get more games beyond the guaranteed eight also.

Thanks Mayo. On looking at Wikipedia again, it appears that Russia, Scotland and Denmark have got lucky in that this is the first year of the new tournament.

Normally, where we are, we would have gone into the 3rd qualifying round which guarantees nothing, but Scotland and Denmark have got a bit of a break by going straight to the play off round, guaranteeing at least UEFA Conference League group stages.

This is from Wiki;

In the default access list, the title holders of the UEFA Europa Conference League qualify for the group stage. However, since this berth is not used for this season, the following changes to the access list are made:

The cup winners of association 7 (Russia) enter the group stage instead of the play-off round.
The cup winners of associations 13 (Denmark) and 14 (Scotland) enter the play-off round instead of the third qualifying round.

Phew :thumbsup:

21-02-2021, 06:32 PM

And we went into it with one win, one draw and 3 defeats in our 5 prior to it. They were also unbeaten in 4 prior to it with a win and 3 draws. My point being that St Johnstone have now gone 11 games only losing to Rangers and Celtic. They’re not some gang that was put together that day. We fell to bits which was unacceptable, however taking our chances we would’ve been out of sight. Saying they are ‘vastly inferior’ to us is just wrong.

mayo hibee
21-02-2021, 06:45 PM
Thanks Mayo. On looking at Wikipedia again, it appears that Russia, Scotland and Denmark have got lucky in that this is the first year of the new tournament.

Normally, where we are, we would have gone into the 3rd qualifying round which guarantees nothing, but Scotland and Denmark have got a bit of a break by going straight to the play off round, guaranteeing at least UEFA Conference League group stages.

This is from Wiki;

In the default access list, the title holders of the UEFA Europa Conference League qualify for the group stage. However, since this berth is not used for this season, the following changes to the access list are made:

The cup winners of association 7 (Russia) enter the group stage instead of the play-off round.
The cup winners of associations 13 (Denmark) and 14 (Scotland) enter the play-off round instead of the third qualifying round.

Phew :thumbsup:

Yes, that's right. The other good news is that our country coefficient will be high enough next season that we won't need the favour for the year after, we will be in the top 12 ranked nations so there will be another group spot going for a Scottish team in 2022-23.

21-02-2021, 08:23 PM
I think Sevco winning today means we can't win the league this season. Need to settle for second.

Magpie
21-02-2021, 08:35 PM
So when do we think about changing the title to ‘Countdown to 2nd place’?

21-02-2021, 08:43 PM

Win our game in hand and we’re 9 points behind.

Still a lot and let’s face it, we’re not catching them but I’m going to allow my mind to wander for a bit.

9 points goes to 6 behind when we beat them at home after the split. 6 points goes down to 3 points when they lose to Rangers before the split and we beat Livi on the same day.

3 points is nothing really, can make that up nae bother 😉

21-02-2021, 08:54 PM

Still a lot and let’s face it, we’re not catching them but I’m going to allow my mind to wander for a bit.

9 points goes to 6 behind when we beat them at home after the split. 6 points goes down to 3 points when they lose to Rangers before the split and we beat Livi on the same day.

Hows the goal difference, might be an issue

21-02-2021, 08:55 PM

Until we can't be second?

Magpie
21-02-2021, 08:55 PM

These are the kind of scenarios which make football exciting. Until it’s mathematically impossible I’ll continue to have hope. I will probably still want them to beat Aberdeen next week but if they don’t and we grab a win against Motherwell then it will make things even more exciting.

21-02-2021, 09:02 PM
These are the kind of scenarios which make football exciting. Until it’s mathematically impossible I’ll continue to have hope. I will probably still want them to beat Aberdeen next week but if they don’t and we grab a win against Motherwell then it will make things even more exciting.

I know they’re having a nightmare with Lennon just now but I hope they sack him and they have a total collapse under a caretaker manager like Kennedy until the end of the season.

As long as we beat Motherwell on Saturday, a draw between Aberdeen and a Celtic would be terrific.

21-02-2021, 09:04 PM
I know they’re having a nightmare with Lennon just now but I hope they sack him and they have a total collapse under a caretaker manager like Kennedy until the end of the season.

As long as we beat Motherwell on Saturday, a draw between Aberdeen and a Celtic would be terrific.

Our 4-0 win against Rangers at Easter Road came after they sacked McCoist and had an even worse option on the touchline. What worries me is though that Lennon's management was so bad with us that even Paul Heckingbottom got a huge bounce out of the Hibs team.

21-02-2021, 09:07 PM
Our 4-0 win against Rangers at Easter Road came after they sacked McCoist and had an even worse option on the touchline. What worries me is though that Lennon's management was so bad with us that even Paul Heckingbottom got a huge bounce out of the Hibs team.

Lennon was a weight on the players shoulders. Won our first game in ages under Eddie May after he left. No surprise either.

21-02-2021, 09:08 PM

I think Kennedy is absolutely hopeless, based entirely on a few interviews I’ve heard from him.

Never in a million years a Celtic manager and I suspect a part of the problem there, if they decide to replace Lennon with him until the end of the season I doubt very much there’d be a bounce from him.

Souter96Mac
21-02-2021, 09:39 PM
Reckon Lennon would've been sacked by now of they knew they had someone capable in the backroom staff to takeover until the end of the season. Our next 4 matches will largely dictate whether we'll be battling for 2nd or 3rd. If we can win 3 or 4 of them, then it's game on imo. Rangers will have won the league already, will Celtic players be able to motivate themselves to have to battle for 2nd place?

21-02-2021, 09:44 PM
Would be classic hibs where the one season where third would be guaranteed group stage football in Europe, we finish second :duck:

hibby rae
21-02-2021, 09:47 PM

Then they lose to the huns after the split meanwhile we administer their first defeat of the season as they have nothing to play for 😂😂

Should we now be hoping for a sheep win on saturday? 😂😂

hibby rae
21-02-2021, 09:48 PM
Would be classic hibs where the one season where third would be guaranteed group stage football in Europe, we finish second :duck:

What happens if you finish 2nd in regards to parachuting into other comps?

21-02-2021, 09:52 PM

Start off in the qualifiers of the Champions League then the qualifiers of the Europa League and then the play off of the Conference League.

21-02-2021, 09:53 PM

Enter 2nd qualifying round of champions league.
Lose and we enter 3rd qualifying round of Europa league.
Lose and we enter the play off round of the conference league.

Would be one winning tie away from groups of some form.

21-02-2021, 09:59 PM
What’s our record points total since we’ve had the current 38 game season? We must have a decent chance of beating it?

Looked it up:

2001 - 66 pts
2005 - 61 pts
2018 - 67 pts

Magpie
21-02-2021, 10:01 PM

We would need to win the Champions League 2nd qualifying round to guarantee the Europa Conference League group stage.

21-02-2021, 10:03 PM

As long as we beat Motherwell on Saturday, a draw between Aberdeen and a Celtic would be terrific. More likely a collapse under Lennon imo. He will throws the toys out completely when The Thes have mathematically won and he won't be bothered about next year as he won't be there so will start blaming every component of the team after a defeat. The players may well completely chuck it

21-02-2021, 10:08 PM
More likely a collapse under Lennon imo. He will throws the toys out completely when The Thes have mathematically won and he won't be bothered about next year as he won't be there so will start blaming every component of the team after a defeat. The players may well completely chuck it

Think that’s already happening.

He’s slagging his players off tonight saying some are scared to header a ball.

hibby rae
21-02-2021, 10:09 PM
Enter 2nd qualifying round of champions league.
Lose and we enter 3rd qualifying round of Europa league.
Lose and we enter the play off round of the conference league.

Would be one winning tie away from groups of some form.

I guess it would depend on seeding etc. Might get the Welsh champions or something.

I wonder if playing only three rounds, but one being champs league, would be worth more money than the conference groups?

Juniper Greens
21-02-2021, 10:11 PM
I guess it would depend on seeding etc. Might get the Welsh champions or something.

I wonder if playing only two rounds, but one being champs league, would be worth more money than the conference groups?

Nope. Runners up can only draw other non winners. Champions draw champions in the qualifiers rounds of the CL.

I'd love us to get second, but I could see us then losing all three qualifier rounds to crash out before the groups. Would happily have 3rd place now

21-02-2021, 10:13 PM
Think that’s already happening.

He’s slagging his players off tonight saying some are scared to header a ball.

Michael Stewart slaughtering him on Sportscene the now (and also Laxalt) for taking 70 minutes to notice that changes needed to be made to break Ross County down.

mayo hibee
21-02-2021, 10:24 PM
Nope. Runners up can only draw other non winners. Champions draw champions in the qualifiers rounds of the CL.

I'd love us to get second, but I could see us then losing all three qualifier rounds to crash out before the groups. Would happily have 3rd place now

To give an idea of the standard the teams in that stage this season were Benfica, Dynamo Kiev, Rapid Vienna, AZ Alkmaar, PAOK, Locomotiva, Besiktas, Plzen and Gent.

Nothing easy there. Personally I'd take third and guaranteed European football until December.

King Cosell
21-02-2021, 10:26 PM
If we win our next 4 tough but winnable games we go into the split on 64 pts, if Celtic lose to Rangers and draw with Aberdeen or Dundee Utd they're on 68 pts. Beat them at ER after split and there's 1 pt in it. Far from impossible.

21-02-2021, 10:28 PM

Would be highly likely but worth it for me. We’d still get minimum of 6 games in Europe, increased league prize money, probably a decent whack of European prize money too.

Games would be as follows:
Champions league tie vs runner up from Holland, Turkey, Austria, Denmark or Czech.
If we lost, Europa league tie against either of the other two losers from above, or the Czech cup winner.
If we lost, conference league tie against the other losing team from above, any of the winners from the previous round (lots of smaller nations) or 4th from Portugal, 5th from France, or 6th in any the top 4 leagues.

Now would imagine dropping down like that we would be seeded come the final game but I’ve no idea how that all works at this stage.

21-02-2021, 10:32 PM
To give an idea of the standard the teams in that stage this season were Benfica, Dynamo Kiev, Rapid Vienna, AZ Alkmaar, PAOK, Locomotiva, Besiktas, Plzen and Gent.

Nothing easy there. Personally I'd take third and guaranteed European football until December.

Tbh if there’s a chance of us finishing second in the league when there is both Celtic and Rangers in it, second would be the biggest achievement in my lifetime as a Hibs fan barring 21st May. Considering the chasm between the spending of the top two and the rest, it would be unreal.

21-02-2021, 10:35 PM
If we win our next 4 tough but winnable games we go into the split on 64 pts, if Celtic lose to Rangers and draw with Aberdeen or Dundee Utd they're on 68 pts. Beat them at ER after split and there's 1 pt in it. Far from impossible.

I think the most unlikely thing in amongst all of that is us winning our four games. Would take us to 8 league wins on the spin which would be unbelievable going. Then again, they’re winnable games. If we could manage it, it might give us half a chance after the split because Celtic will definitely drop more points between now and then.

21-02-2021, 10:41 PM
I think the most unlikely thing in amongst all of that is us winning our four games. Would take us to 8 league wins on the spin which would be unbelievable going. Then again, they’re winnable games. If we could manage it, it might give us half a chance after the split because Celtic will definitely drop more points between now and then.

Tend to agree.

Everyone, myself included, is talking as if it’s a banker we will win our game in hand.

The team we play our game in hand against just beat Celtic and pumped us the last time we played them.

In fairness, there’s absolutely no need for this post pishing on everyone’s chips when I think most realise it’s very unlikely, but not impossible.

Nothing wrong with letting our minds wander a bit as long as the players don’t. Also got to hope it helps keep the players minds focused.

21-02-2021, 10:45 PM
Tend to agree.

Everyone, myself included, is talking as if it’s a banker we will win our game in hand.

The team we play our game in hand against just beat Celtic and pumped us the last time we played them.

In fairness, there’s absolutely no need for this post pishing on everyone’s chips when I think most realise it’s very unlikely, but not impossible.

Nothing wrong with letting our minds wander a bit as long as the players don’t. Also got to hope it helps keep the players minds focused.

To be fair folk said the same when we played St Mirren, they’d just played Celtic off the park at parkhead and pumped Dundee United at tannadice. We turn up we most likely win, unfortunately we missed a tonne of chances up there last time and never turned up at home.

21-02-2021, 11:22 PM
What’s our record points total since we’ve had the current 38 game season? We must have a decent chance of beating it?

Looked it up:

2001 - 66 pts
2005 - 61 pts
2018 - 67 pts

We need 5 wins from the last 9 to equal our record total. So setting a new one is certainly possible, if difficult. We’ll need to if we want to grab second place!

21-02-2021, 11:31 PM
So do we want a Celtic win next week to help us finish 3rd but have almost no chance of 2nd or an Aberdeen win to help us get a chance of finishing 2nd but risk dropping down to 4th?

Celtic win every day of the week for me.

I'm already quite excited about seeing us playing in the group stages of Europe even if it is in the Europa Conference League. To be honest I'm more excited about that than the prospect of playing a bunch of qualifiers even if one of those rounds is in the Champions League.

Although it would be very satisfying to finish above Celtic.

I just can't see any way that we pick up 13 more points than Celtic over the last 9 games of the season.

CB Hibs 68
22-02-2021, 12:07 AM
Maybe it is because I have supported Hibs for 40 odd years that I ain't taking anything league position wise for granted. Pretty certain we want be worse than fourth but after we play Motherwell next week we have 3 tricky away matches.St J ,Ross C and Livi none of which will be easy. If my memory served me correct the last time we played these teams we got comprehensively humped.All I am saying is let's not get to carried away as there are still plenty of points up for grabs and if I was an Aberdeen fan as ***** as they are I would fancy their chances against Celtic next week.All said I think this Hibs team are well capable of getting third but I am not going to say so until we are there.

Wakeyhibee
22-02-2021, 12:48 AM

Finishing 2nd is £700k extra up front going off 19/20 prize money for league and CL play off than for 3rd place. That would rise with 2 other qualifiers guaranteed.

3 chances at winning a double header to get ECL group stage.

davhibby
22-02-2021, 01:25 AM
So do we want a Celtic win next week to help us finish 3rd but have almost no chance of 2nd or an Aberdeen win to help us get a chance of finishing 2nd but risk dropping down to 4th?

I'm already quite excited about seeing us playing in the group stages of Europe even if it is in the Europa Conference League. To be honest I'm more excited about that than the prospect of playing a bunch of qualifiers even if one of those rounds is in the Champions League.

I just can't see any way that we pick up 13 more points than Celtic over the last 9 games of the season.

As long as we win a draw at Celtic would be a decent result for us.

I think if we finished 2nd we’d have a good chance of making the groups of a tournament. Wouldn’t be easy games but as we’d be playing teams with higher coefficients we’d at least be seeded for the Conference League Playoff if we ended up there. On the other side of the coin, if we caused an upset in the first tie in the CL we’d get a glamour tie and be guaranteed the Europa League groups.

I do think we’re just a bit too far back to catch them for second now though. If we’d won the game at home to Celtic we’d be 3 points closer to them and we might have had a decent chance

seanshow
22-02-2021, 01:57 AM
Temporary doom monger enters the room....
If you approached a bookmaker and asked for the odds on Hibs finishing 2nd ( - 12 pts to celtic), or finishing 6th ( + 17 pts to St midden) which odds would be higher? :greengrin

houstonhibbee
22-02-2021, 02:09 AM
Temporary doom monger enters the room....
If you approached a bookmaker and asked for the odds on Hibs finishing 2nd ( - 12 pts to celtic), or finishing 6th ( + 17 pts to St midden) which odds would be higher? :greengrin
Yeah and they also made us favorites to win the league cup.......................

Juniper Greens
22-02-2021, 05:44 AM
Would be highly likely but worth it for me. We’d still get minimum of 6 games in Europe, increased league prize money, probably a decent whack of European prize money too.

Games would be as follows:
Champions league tie vs runner up from Holland, Turkey, Austria, Denmark or Czech.
If we lost, Europa league tie against either of the other two losers from above, or the Czech cup winner.
If we lost, conference league tie against the other losing team from above, any of the winners from the previous round (lots of smaller nations) or 4th from Portugal, 5th from France, or 6th in any the top 4 leagues.

Now would imagine dropping down like that we would be seeded come the final game but I’ve no idea how that all works at this stage.

Thats not how the seeding works I'm afraid. I think we would likely be unseeded for all of those ties

22-02-2021, 06:42 AM
Maybe it is because I have supported Hibs for 40 odd years that I ain't taking anything league position wise for granted. Pretty certain we want be worse than fourth but after we play Motherwell next week we have 3 tricky away matches.St J ,Ross C and Livi none of which will be easy. If my memory served me correct the last time we played these teams we got comprehensively humped.All I am saying is let's not get to carried away as there are still plenty of points up for grabs and if I was an Aberdeen fan as ***** as they are I would fancy their chances against Celtic next week.All said I think this Hibs team are well capable of getting third but I am not going to say so until we are there.

Thats true, it was our worst period of the season - but we look like we have turned the corner, and are in great form -

https://i.imgur.com/pqASOJs.png
​

22-02-2021, 06:50 AM
The link below explains the UEFA Conference League and which teams might be in it. I didn't know the Europa League was shrinking from 48 teams to 32 teams so we're still likely to see some decent sides in the Conference League.

Also, according to the guy in the video below teams from the biggest European leagues will also join the Conference League and this is likely to be sides finishing 6th in the strongest leagues. So at the moment that would Dortmund, Villarreal, Juventus and Liverpool.

https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=bsXoFateukw

22-02-2021, 07:02 AM
Thats not how the seeding works I'm afraid. I think we would likely be unseeded for all of those ties

That all depends on when the draws are, if the final draw is before we play our second tie then in the draw we’d take the team we are playing’s seeding for the purposes of the draw.

Wakeyhibee
22-02-2021, 07:54 AM
The link below explains the UEFA Conference League and which teams might be in it. I didn't know the Europa League was shrinking from 48 teams to 32 teams so we're still likely to see some decent sides in the Conference League.

Also, according to the guy in the video below teams from the biggest European leagues will also join the Conference League and this is likely to be sides finishing 6th in the strongest leagues. So at the moment that would Dortmund, Villarreal, Juventus and Liverpool.

https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=bsXoFateukw

I think its 43 teams will end up in the ECL from the EL and CL at some stage. That's on top of the teams you mention that qualify directly.

22-02-2021, 08:18 AM

True they all will be very tough away games in saying that our away form has been sensational. Still a long way to go in the season however we are in a good position however anything can happen.

22-02-2021, 08:21 AM
True they all will be very tough away games in saying that our away form has been sensational. Still a long way to go in the season however we are in a good position however anything can happen.

The two reasons I’m sceptical about this run of games are due to how good our away form has been, if we win those 3 it would be an exceptional away season, and secondly I don’t think we’ve ever gone 8 games winning in a row in the top flight, or haven’t for a long long time.

We would also be on course to smash our top flight record points.

22-02-2021, 08:22 AM
I hope we dont get too close to celtic, as one defeat and the manager will be slaughtered for bottling our best chance of 2nd place since Lennon changed the team when he didnt need to, and that caused us to lose at tynecastle.:wink:

22-02-2021, 08:25 AM
Have we actually guaranteed a top five finish yet?

heid the baw
22-02-2021, 08:26 AM
I agree with this, it just takes one poor result and the gain against Aberdeen vanishes.
I might stick a tenner on Kamberi to score midweek too. Celtic are woeful and if Aberdeen come away with a win in that one, it will boost their confidence to kick on.
Hibs are in great form, but until we get our noses further in front, I won't be counting down to 3rd

22-02-2021, 08:41 AM
Have we actually guaranteed a top five finish yet?

I dont think so. Aberdeen just secured their top 6 status on Saturday, and are just 4 points behind us.

Technically we are not in the title race any more after Rangers win v Arabs.

eta - sorry, thought you said top 4.

Even top 5 is not nailed tho, Livi are 12 behind, with 27 to play for.

22-02-2021, 08:48 AM
Thats true, it was our worst period of the season - but we look like we have turned the corner, and are in great form -

https://i.imgur.com/pqASOJs.png
​

A word of caution.
The above table only highlights that in our last 6 games we have beaten the 5 sides at the bottom of the form table.
Our next run of fixtures is against the sides sitting 4th, 5th, 6th and 7th on current form.

22-02-2021, 08:54 AM
I dont think so. Aberdeen just secured their top 6 status on Saturday, and are just 4 points behind us.

Thanks.

So we're actually still on the countdown to fifth.

22-02-2021, 08:56 AM
A word of caution.
The above table only highlights that in our last 6 games we have beaten the 5 sides at the bottom of the form table.
Our next run of fixtures is against the sides sitting 4th, 5th, 6th and 7th on current form.

OK, well here is a table that shows how we have done season to date against everyone....................:greengrin

https://i.imgur.com/TEGLQH4.png

jonny
22-02-2021, 09:06 AM

To be 5th we only need to finish above the team that's 6th. At the moment that's St Mirren, not Livi. Still not there yet though as St Mirren are 17 behind.

Wakeyhibee
22-02-2021, 09:10 AM
Thanks.

So we're actually still on the countdown to fifth.

Yup still need 11 points or 10 with GD to ensure 5th. When that's done I'll start looking at 4th. ;-)

22-02-2021, 09:27 AM
Yup still need 11 points or 10 with GD to ensure 5th. When that's done I'll start looking at 4th. ;-)

That would surely rely on other teams below us winning all their games which is unlikely.

Life is really crap just now. Come on,let us dream just now.😁 Please.

22-02-2021, 09:32 AM
That would surely rely on other teams below us winning all their games which is unlikely.

Life is really crap just now. Come on,let us dream just now.😁 Please.

Now go and tidy your room or you're grounded!!

22-02-2021, 09:49 AM

Draw

22-02-2021, 10:05 AM

Now go and tidy your room or you're grounded!!

It's not fair. I hate you.

22-02-2021, 10:09 AM
Last few season PPG to finish 3rd.

19/20 1.53 only 30 games played
18/19 1.76 PPG at split 1.75
17/18 1.84 PPG at split 1.88
16/17 1.76 PPG at split 1.76
15/16 1.71 PPG at split 1.82
14/15 1.52 PPG at split 1.75

We are currently tracking 1.79 points per game and Aberdeen 1.6 points oer game.

Not sure what the above tells us 😅

22-02-2021, 10:14 AM
Last few season PPG to finish 3rd.

19/20 1.53 only 30 games played
18/19 1.76 PPG at split 1.75
17/18 1.84 PPG at split 1.88
16/17 1.76 PPG at split 1.76
15/16 1.71 PPG at split 1.82
14/15 1.52 PPG at split 1.75

We are currently tracking 1.79 points per game and Aberdeen 1.6 points oer game.

Not sure what the above tells us 😅

Is that the PPG that the team in third actually achieved, or the PPG that they would have needed to give them one point more than the team in fourth?

22-02-2021, 10:16 AM
I hope we dont get too close to celtic, as one defeat and the manager will be slaughtered for bottling our best chance of 2nd place since Lennon changed the team when he didnt need to, and that caused us to lose at tynecastle.:wink:

:greengrin Spot on.

22-02-2021, 10:18 AM
Is that the PPG that the team in third actually achieved, or the PPG that they would have needed to give them one point more than the team in fourth?
It's what they achieved to finish 3rd.
Only season 17/18 didn the team that was 3rd at the split not finish 3rd at the end of the seson. Rangers were 3rd at the split e points behind Aberdeen but they swapped places come the ens of the season.

22-02-2021, 10:35 AM
As an aside to the main discussion here. The prize money for this years league for 3rd is £2,062,500, the Championship, for the winner is £562,500 meaning we should get in prize money alone £1.5mil more than our city rivals (at current standing). :greengrin

Juniper Greens
22-02-2021, 10:38 AM
That all depends on when the draws are, if the final draw is before we play our second tie then in the draw we’d take the team we are playing’s seeding for the purposes of the draw.

Great point. That might help matters a bit then.

Worth noting that Barry Town, Lithuanian teams and Luxembourg teams all have higher coefficients than hibs at the moment, even after for allowing that we take quarter the total Scottish coefficient as a floor.

rodhibs55
22-02-2021, 10:56 AM
As an aside to the main discussion here. The prize money for this years league for 3rd is £2,062,500, the Championship, for the winner is £562,500 meaning we should get in prize money alone £1.5mil more than our city rivals (at current standing). :greengrin

That's a BIG difference and we know what they think about BIG.

22-02-2021, 11:05 AM
Great point. That might help matters a bit then.

Worth noting that Barry Town, Lithuanian teams and Luxembourg teams all have higher coefficients than hibs at the moment, even after for allowing that we take quarter the total Scottish coefficient as a floor.

Yeah, although Brondby was a class night it was another first round defeat. 2018 helped but we need to be competing regularly to get that coefficient up. Getting into the group stages will certainly help as I think you get an automatic number of points so that you get more than those that got knocked out in the qualifiers.

Wakeyhibee
22-02-2021, 11:12 AM

2019/20 figures, with the new deal (minus rebate) I think the gap maybe bigger than that.

22-02-2021, 11:15 AM

Win our game in hand and beat them in the post split game and suddenly it's only 7 pts.

A Celtc-Sheep 0-0 with plenty of injuries and red cards for me. :greengrin

22-02-2021, 11:40 AM

Since we went to a 12 team league in 00/01 and based on the number of points the 4th placed team got, in order to finish 3rd teams needed the following number of points;

00/01 - 55
01/02 - 56
02/03 - 58
03/04 - 54
04/05 - 61 (3rd and 4th finished on the same points and it was decided on goal difference)
05/06 - 57
06/07 - 62
07/08 - 54
08/09 - 54
09/10 - 55
10/11 - 62
11/12 - 60 (Due to the liquidation of Rangers, all the quaified teams moved up one place so 53 points would have been enough to finish in the top Europa League spot which was 4th)
12/13 - 55
13/14 - 59
14/15 - 58
15/16 - 57
16/17 - 59
17/18 - 68
18/19 - 67 (3rd and 4th finished on the same points and it was decided on goal difference)
19/20 - 58 (season abandoned early - based on the PPG gained by the time the season was finished 58 points would have been enough to finish 3rd)

Rounding things up to the nearest whole number, an average of 59 points is enough to finish 3rd since we have had a 12 team league.

However Aberdeen's currently on track to get around 61 points so 10 points for us should hopefully be enough.

22-02-2021, 11:58 AM
Since we went to a 12 team league in 00/01 and based on the number of points the 4th placed team got, in order to finish 3rd teams needed the following number of points;

00/01 - 55
01/02 - 56
02/03 - 58
03/04 - 54
04/05 - 61 (3rd and 4th finished on the same points and it was decided on goal difference)
05/06 - 57
06/07 - 62
07/08 - 54
08/09 - 54
09/10 - 55
10/11 - 62
11/12 - 60 (Due to the liquidation of Rangers, all the quaified teams moved up one place so 53 points would have been enough to finish in the top Europa League spot which was 4th)
12/13 - 55
13/14 - 59
14/15 - 58
15/16 - 57
16/17 - 59
17/18 - 68
18/19 - 67 (3rd and 4th finished on the same points and it was decided on goal difference)
19/20 - 58 (season abandoned early - based on the PPG gained by the time the season was finished 58 points would have been enough to finish 3rd)

Rounding things up to the nearest whole number, an average of 59 points is enough to finish 3rd since we have had a 12 team league.

However Aberdeen's currently on track to get around 61 points so 10 points for us should hopefully be enough.

Good work SDG, helps put some perspective on how well we have performed thus far.

22-02-2021, 02:20 PM
Tend to agree.

The manager and players will take it a game at a time, our players aren't under the pressure that Celtc players are, the more games we win the more confident our players will get and I think we are seeing that, even when not playing that well we are getting the 3 points, I hope our players are thinking that 2nd is a possibility as well and not thinking we need to hold on to 3rd.

22-02-2021, 02:23 PM

A Dons win, let's see what our team is made off while under a bit pressure, if our players are up for it they will relish the challenge, let's look up rather than down.

22-02-2021, 02:26 PM
A Dons win, let's see what our team is made off while under a bit pressure, if our players are up for it they will relish the challenge, let's look up rather than down.

I'm the opposite Silv, I want a comfortable third place and therefore a Celtic win on Saturday will do me nicely.

I've a gut feeling Aberdeen will get something from Parkhead on Saturday.

22-02-2021, 02:35 PM
I'm the opposite Silv, I want a comfortable third place and therefore a Celtic win on Saturday will do me nicely.

We ain't finishing second unless Celtic stop playing games. Just keep Aberdeen away from us please.

22-02-2021, 03:02 PM

For the size of this club we should be in this position every year Scoops, this is the kind of pressure you want the players to be under, they should relish it, the manager brought in some good additions in the January window and it looks like they are gelling well, we shouldn't be feared of any team in this league just now the form we are in, winning can only breed confidence within the squad, if Aberdeen take something from Celtc and we beat a poor Motherwell side on Saturday then the clubs under more pressure will be Celtc and still Aberdeen and we just keep going about our business and win games and see where it takes us, this has been a strange season and anything can happen, we won't ever get a better chance of splitting the top 2, I mean who would have thought that the Rangers would run a way with the league this season and Celtc to go in to absolute meltdown, 3rd would be great for the club, 2nd would be even better and for as long as it's possible the players should be going for it.

Stay safe Scoops. :aok:

22-02-2021, 03:02 PM

Got to be realistic about it. Far more chance of Aberdeen catching us than us catching Celtic. Celtic had won five on the bounce before last night. Celtic to batter Aberdeen and increase our goal difference is what I want.

SJNB Hibby
22-02-2021, 03:18 PM
Got to be realistic about it. Far more chance of Aberdeen catching us than us catching Celtic. Celtic had won five on the bounce before last night. Celtic to batter Aberdeen and increase our goal difference is what I want.

We beat motherwell.. the other result is a win-win

22-02-2021, 03:42 PM

Absolutely.

I'm always happy when a team is at least two wins away from catching us as Aberdeen are at the moment.

Obviously if we keep winning then it won't matter but if Aberdeen win on Saturday it gives them a huge boost and one bad result for us puts us under pressure again.

With the best will in the world we're almost certainly not catching Celtic - we would probably need to win practically all of our remaining matches to do so.

I'm more than happy for Aberdeen to get pumped rotten on Saturday.

22-02-2021, 03:44 PM
For the size of this club we should be in this position every year Scoops, this is the kind of pressure you want the players to be under, they should relish it, the manager brought in some good additions in the January window and it looks like they are gelling well, we shouldn't be feared of any team in this league just now the form we are in, winning can only breed confidence within the squad, if Aberdeen take something from Celtc and we beat a poor Motherwell side on Saturday then the clubs under more pressure will be Celtc and still Aberdeen and we just keep going about our business and win games and see where it takes us, this has been a strange season and anything can happen, we won't ever get a better chance of splitting the top 2, I mean who would have thought that the Rangers would run a way with the league this season and Celtc to go in to absolute meltdown, 3rd would be great for the club, 2nd would be even better and for as long as it's possible the players should be going for it.

Stay safe Scoops. :aok:

I get what your saying Silv and can't really argue with it, not that I would want to anyway:greengrin

I just think that to finish third is huge this season with the prospect of a lengthy European campaign.

My fear is we slip up against Motherwell and Aberdeen win at Parkhead as it would be a huge physcological swing in their favour and I don't want that.

In a pontoon scenario its almost stick or twist, I would stick with what I have and you would twist which is fair enough.

Stay safe Silv:aok:

22-02-2021, 04:04 PM
It'd be nice if (apart from against us) Livingston found their feet again. It'd be nice for Aberdeen to be looking over their shoulders at them than at us. Far easier to do the chasing than being chased IMO

22-02-2021, 05:10 PM
It'd be nice if (apart from against us) Livingston found their feet again. It'd be nice for Aberdeen to be looking over their shoulders at them than at us. Far easier to do the chasing than being chased IMO

They will find form again soon, as they are finishing 4th ahead of us.

22-02-2021, 06:37 PM
If top 6 remains as is, anyone figured out our likely home / away games ?

22-02-2021, 06:38 PM
Good work SDG, helps put some perspective on how well we have performed thus far.

According to 538 (which take current form into account too) aberdeen are on track to get 57 while we are predicted to get 65

22-02-2021, 06:42 PM
If top 6 remains as is, anyone figured out our likely home / away games ?

We’re due 3 home 2 away.
Home - livi, Celtic, st mirren
Away - Rangers, Aberdeen

22-02-2021, 06:44 PM
According to 538 (which take current form into account too) aberdeen are on track to get 57 while we are predicted to get 65

Aberdeen only with a 7% chance of finishing third according to them.

22-02-2021, 06:48 PM
Aberdeen only with a 7% chance of finishing third according to them.

The same 7% Ross County had of beating Celtic last might 😁

22-02-2021, 06:55 PM
We’re due 3 home 2 away.
Home - livi, Celtic, st mirren
Away - Rangers, Aberdeen

Thanks. That's not bad. Celtic will be turmoil, looking to rebuild with a new manager to find. The Rangers will have the league wrapped up and proclaimed themselves Masters of the Football Universe, just a they did in May 2016.

22-02-2021, 07:05 PM
Thanks. That's not bad. Celtic will be turmoil, looking to rebuild with a new manager to find. The Rangers will have the league wrapped up and proclaimed themselves Masters of the Football Universe, just a they did in May 2016.

Problem with Rangers is we will potentially be the last game of the season, trophy day. They’ll want to put on a show then. Certainly won’t be the Celtic game so 50/50 chance it’ll be us. Although Rangers’ fixtures are a bit more complicated, they’ll be due us, Aberdeen, Livi and Celtic at home.

22-02-2021, 07:06 PM
The same 7% Ross County had of beating Celtic last might 😁

Interestingly only a 1% chance of us finishing second, but it essentially it still puts is in with the smallest of shots as no hopers come up as less than 1%.

Makes it look like we need to keep the heid in the next few weeks and keep it steady.

22-02-2021, 07:23 PM
Split could end up a mess.

Our fixtures work out fine, as does Aberdeen and St Mirren’s, Celtic would be due an extra home game and Livingston one less home game, so I’d imagine that game would be switched. That would mean everyone bar Rangers would have 19 home and 19 away.

That leaves the rangers anomaly. They are due 3 home and 2 away, but are due to have 4 of the sides visit them for a second time. If they move one of their home games away, it then throws off someone else’s fixtures. As the title will be wrapped up I’d imagine they’d leave their fixtures as is.

Not even looked to see what would happen if St Johnstone or United replaced st Mirren.

Magpie
22-02-2021, 08:05 PM
Saturday 17 April, 2021

Saturday 24 April, 2021

Saturday 1 May, 2021

Wednesday 12 May, 2021

Saturday 15 May, 2021

They are the post split fixture dates for anyone who may have been curious.

Kaff
22-02-2021, 09:33 PM
I agree with Silver, when you're 3rd in the league you must look up if there's a chance to take a higher place.
It was mentioned earlier but we missed a chance to be 3pts closer after the Dubai carry on, although a point at Parkhead is always decent we should have been at their throats from the off but I felt we were too passive and let them settle in the game.
I do think JR is just a bit too cautious but it was quite soon after the semi and some poor results so steadying the ship was important and no one can argue with the results since then as a defeat could have really got everyone very agitated.
All I ask is that the team play like we did in the last game vs Aberdeen and if we do then I'll accept gladly whatever position we have. It will at least be 3rd I'm sure of it but let's keep the dream alive of 2nd.
If Rangers build on this season and Celtic can come up with a new Brendan Rodgers then it could be a long time till we have the chance again, we're worried about not being able to sign Jackson Irvine next year, I'd say 2nd place, the extra prize money and glamour games could finance players of his quality or better?

22-02-2021, 09:45 PM
We ain't finishing second unless Celtic stop playing games. Just keep Aberdeen away from us please.

Agree Aberdeen are the threat as we won't catch Celtic.

22-02-2021, 09:51 PM
Best odds at oddschecker just now on Hibs to finish in the top 3 is 1/9. Surprised how short those odds are. Plenty of games still to play.

23-02-2021, 08:53 AM
Best odds at oddschecker just now on Hibs to finish in the top 3 is 1/9. Surprised how short those odds are. Plenty of games still to play.

That seems ridiculously short. As you say loads to do though looking good at present. Actually think Dundee United may get top 6.

Just_Jimmy
23-02-2021, 09:13 AM
the split is still stupid.

any format where teams play more home than away or vice versa is ridiculous.

we'll cruise to third.

Sent from my Pixel 3a using Tapatalk

23-02-2021, 09:17 AM
This weekend could almost settle it, if we do the necessary against a woeful Motherwell and Aberdeen do what they normally do against the old firm.

I can’t see them overhauling a 7 point gap between us, and us with a game in hand too. I think it’s more likely they’ll be looking over their shoulders to Livy

23-02-2021, 09:28 AM
Saturday 17 April, 2021

Saturday 24 April, 2021

Saturday 1 May, 2021

Wednesday 12 May, 2021

Saturday 15 May, 2021

They are the post split fixture dates for anyone who may have been curious.

Is there a protocol for who plays who on what date?
If we are going to be away to the Sheep - a "six pointer" - when would folk want this scheduled?
First match up and it gives them the early chance they will want to close the gap and gain some impetus. But it would also give us the chance to widen the gap and maintain our advantage, maybe even put 3rd place to bed.
Last up and it could turn out to be a one-off 3rd place decider at their dung heap which at the moment I would not be confident of winning.

Wakeyhibee
23-02-2021, 09:47 AM
Is there a protocol for who plays who on what date?
If we are going to be away to the Sheep - a "six pointer" - when would folk want this scheduled?
First match up and it gives them the early chance they will want to close the gap and gain some impetus. But it would also give us the chance to widen the gap and maintain our advantage, maybe even put 3rd place to bed.
Last up and it could turn out to be a one-off 3rd place decider at their dung heap which at the moment I would not be confident of winning.

I think itll be scheduled early, there wont be an OF derby game of any consequence by then (unless we are on their heels).

The only protocol I know of is the H/A rule whereby if theres an anomaly the lowest team from last season loses out I believe.

23-02-2021, 07:33 PM
Split could end up a mess.

Our fixtures work out fine, as does Aberdeen and St Mirren’s, Celtic would be due an extra home game and Livingston one less home game, so I’d imagine that game would be switched. That would mean everyone bar Rangers would have 19 home and 19 away.

That leaves the rangers anomaly. They are due 3 home and 2 away, but are due to have 4 of the sides visit them for a second time. If they move one of their home games away, it then throws off someone else’s fixtures. As the title will be wrapped up I’d imagine they’d leave their fixtures as is.

Not even looked to see what would happen if St Johnstone or United replaced st Mirren.

If everyone gets an even split apart from Rangers then they should just accept that. They will have won the league anyway and there will be minimal lost revenue due to them not playing at home in front of a crowd.

23-02-2021, 07:47 PM
If everyone gets an even split apart from Rangers then they should just accept that. They will have won the league anyway and there will be minimal lost revenue due to them not playing at home in front of a crowd.

They would score out of it I think, would have 20 home 18 away in my scenario. To try and even it out at the top and make the lowest ranked side lose out would result in multiple teams having to go to other venues three times.

23-02-2021, 08:17 PM
They would score out of it I think, would have 20 home 18 away in my scenario. To try and even it out at the top and make the lowest ranked side lose out would result in multiple teams having to go to other venues three times.

Ah I see. That's not really fair on the team that has to play at Ibrox unless it's the last game and theres nothing left to play for

23-02-2021, 08:33 PM
Ah I see. That's not really fair on the team that has to play at Ibrox unless it's the last game and theres nothing left to play for

If they have Rangers with 20/18 and the rest 19/19 then every team that go to ibrox will be doing so for the second time, no one will have to go for a third time. Just the way it works out, they are due home games against everyone bar St Mirren/Dundee United.

The fact we were bottom 6 last year, along with st Mirren or Dundee United has skewed the seedings.

Only team losing out would be Livi having to go to Celtic park for a third time but that would even both them out.

Wonder how it would affect the relegation teams,

23-02-2021, 08:42 PM
As mentioned in the Coronavirus thread, today's Scottish Government announcement pretty much puts an end to lower league footy this season and therefore the Scottish Cup.

mayo hibee
23-02-2021, 08:51 PM
Might be time to rename this thread "Countdown to the Europa groups" then.

23-02-2021, 09:33 PM
https://www.thescottishsun.co.uk/sport/football/6729158/lennon-leave-celtic-next-24-hours-kennedy-interim-charge/

Lennon being sacked within the next 24 hours.

23-02-2021, 09:41 PM
https://www.thescottishsun.co.uk/sport/football/6729158/lennon-leave-celtic-next-24-hours-kennedy-interim-charge/

Lennon being sacked within the next 24 hours.

Just so long as they don’t come calling for Jack Ross

23-02-2021, 09:42 PM

They can have Ross Jack from Elgin.

23-02-2021, 09:45 PM

Steve Clarke is the favourite for the Celtic job.

Wonder who Scotland will want if they go for him? Jack Ross previously said the Scotland job was his dream job.

I love a bit manager speculation, I’m a real weirdo that way.

23-02-2021, 09:47 PM
Steve Clarke is the favourite for the Celtic job.

Wonder who Scotland will want if they go for him? Jack Ross previously said the Scotland job was his dream job.

I love a bit manager speculation, I’m a real weirdo that way.

Can't see Clarke at Celtic personally. Even if he goes he'll stay in charge of Scotland for the Euros I hope

23-02-2021, 09:50 PM
Can't see Clarke at Celtic personally. Even if he goes he'll stay in charge of Scotland for the Euros I hope

Definitely.

The fact Celtic have left it so long does make me wonder if there might be something in it though.

If they’d gone for Clarke 4 or 5 games ago the Celtic fans would have wanted him in right away to try and get the 10 in a row, Clarke will undoubtedly want to manage the team at the euros though.

23-02-2021, 09:53 PM
In terms of the race for 2nd or 3rd, I think replacing him with Kennedy until the end of the season is potentially crazy.

Genuinely think he’ll be a hopeless manager for them, fully expect him to be part of the problem there.

23-02-2021, 09:53 PM
Definitely.

The fact Celtic have left it so long does make me wonder if there might be something in it though.

If they’d gone for Clarke 4 or 5 games ago the Celtic fans would have wanted him in right away to try and get the 10 in a row, Clarke will undoubtedly want to manage the team at the euros though.

I think with the change at the top in progress they haven’t wanted to make a change this season, it’s only Lennon getting worse and worse that’s forced their hand,

Fully expect it’ll be Kennedy till the end of the season then the new Chief Exec can appoint his own man.

23-02-2021, 10:21 PM
In terms of the race for 2nd or 3rd, I think replacing him with Kennedy until the end of the season is potentially crazy.

Genuinely think he’ll be a hopeless manager for them, fully expect him to be part of the problem there.

Said similar. As bad as Lennon has been, he would’ve won a few games between now and the end. He just won 5 on the bounce before Sunday. Kennedy is useless. He may win a few games, but there is a risk that he might not. Serious pressure if they lose 2 before the split.

Chances have gone from extremely slim to slim tonight.

They should’ve spent the money to get their new CEO in now to prepare for next season, structure in place, manager/staff in place to judge players and do business early. As it is, he doesn’t start until the end of June, no time at all to make all those appointments.

23-02-2021, 10:26 PM
Said similar. As bad as Lennon has been, he would’ve won a few games between now and the end. He just won 5 on the bounce before Sunday. Kennedy is useless. He may win a few games, but there is a risk that he might not. Serious pressure if they lose 2 before the split.

Chances have gone from extremely slim to slim tonight.

They should’ve spent the money to get their new CEO in now to prepare for next season, structure in place, manager/staff in place to judge players and do business early. As it is, he doesn’t start until the end of June, no time at all to make all those appointments.

Somebody smarter than me mentioned the similarities when Rangers sacked McCoist, they replaced him with someone worse in Graham Murty and we pumped them 4 nil.

Kennedy won’t get the full time managers job there so the players aren’t going to take him seriously, especially when he’s been part of a management team that’s failed all season.

If Celtic weren’t going to replace Lennon immediately, they should have just announced he’s leaving at the end of the season. That would have pacified the masses to an extent.

23-02-2021, 10:29 PM
Somebody smarter than me mentioned the similarities when Rangers sacked McCoist, they replaced him with someone worse in Graham Murty and we pumped them 4 nil.

Kennedy won’t get the full time managers job there so the players aren’t going to take him seriously, especially when he’s been part of a management team that’s failed all season.

If Celtic weren’t going to replace Lennon immediately, they should have just announced he’s leaving at the end of the season. That would have pacified the masses to an extent.

Kennedy vs Gerrard will be like Murty vs Rodgers. They’ll be hoping they lose to Aberdeen as there is absolutely no chance of them beating Rangers at Celtic park under Kennedy to stop them winning the league.

Magpie
23-02-2021, 10:31 PM
Kennedy vs Gerrard will be like Murty vs Rodgers. They’ll be hoping they lose to Aberdeen as there is absolutely no chance of them beating Rangers at Celtic park under Kennedy to stop them winning the league.

Celtic play Rangers 12pm on the Sunday three days after Rangers will likely be playing the 2nd leg of the Europa League last 16. Rangers will still be favourites but it might swing in Celtic’s favour.

23-02-2021, 10:36 PM
Celtic play Rangers 12pm on the Sunday three days after Rangers will likely be playing the 2nd leg of the Europa League last 16. Rangers will still be favourites but it might swing in Celtic’s favour.

Rangers will only need a point to win the league though, when the players have chucked it it’s very difficult to get them up even for a derby. Listened to Andy Little yesterday talk about when Celtic had the chance to win the title at ibrox a few years back, and although Rangers were ***** and the boardroom was a mess, the club from fans to staff to players were United and they got a result, whereas Celtic are in turmoil just now and couldn’t look less United.

23-02-2021, 11:46 PM
Rangers will only need a point to win the league though, when the players have chucked it it’s very difficult to get them up even for a derby. Listened to Andy Little yesterday talk about when Celtic had the chance to win the title at ibrox a few years back, and although Rangers were ***** and the boardroom was a mess, the club from fans to staff to players were United and they got a result, whereas Celtic are in turmoil just now and couldn’t look less United.I said at the start of the season 2nd was a possibility using almost exactly the scenario you describe although with Celtc and The Rangers positions reversed (which I dont actually care about). One half of the OF was always going to go to pot once the other had the League sown up.

Sent from my SM-A405FN using Tapatalk

24-02-2021, 06:03 AM
Hopefully Kennedy can’t do any worse than Lennon and they beat Aberdeen on Saturday. It’s highly doubtful that we’re going to win all of our games before the split so I’d like Aberdeen to keep dropping points to keep that gap intact, 2nd is gone.

24-02-2021, 06:04 AM

Think the players will just be delighted it isn't Lennon and will be good enough to spark into form with all pressure off.

24-02-2021, 06:07 AM

It was Kenny McDowell who was in charge of 4 0 game. Murty did semi ok from what I remember.

24-02-2021, 06:08 AM
Hopefully Kennedy can’t do any worse than Lennon and they beat Aberdeen on Saturday. It’s highly doubtful that we’re going to win all of our games before the split so I’d like Aberdeen to keep dropping points to keep that gap intact, 2nd is gone.

Agree

24-02-2021, 07:13 AM

Yup, we’ve absolutely no chance of 2nd place so hopefully Celtic pump them.

Seeing as we’re not going to win every single remaining game we’d probably be looking at Celtic having to lose around 5 or 6, maybe even more of their remaining 8 games. It’s not going to happen. We’ll more than likely end up further behind them, never mind closer.

24-02-2021, 07:23 AM
Yup, we’ve absolutely no chance of 2nd place so hopefully Celtic pump them.

Seeing as we’re not going to win every single remaining game we’d probably be looking at Celtic having to lose around 5 or 6, maybe even more of their remaining 8 games. It’s not going to happen. We’ll more than likely end up further behind them, never mind closer.

You’d be needing them to lose to Rangers twice and us once. Not inconceivable that could happen plus another 2 defeats somewhere else in there if they have a complete collapse.

That said, you’re right, no way we will win all of our games, as long as we keep winning though uo to the split I’ll allow my mind to wander as I don’t think it’s impossible Celtic could have a complete disaster under Kennedy.

24-02-2021, 07:53 AM
You’d be needing them to lose to Rangers twice and us once. Not inconceivable that could happen plus another 2 defeats somewhere else in there if they have a complete collapse.

That said, you’re right, no way we will win all of our games, as long as we keep winning though uo to the split I’ll allow my mind to wander as I don’t think it’s impossible Celtic could have a complete disaster under Kennedy.

I think the reverse will happen and they will play with the shackles off. If we were level on points with them it might be possible. The thought we might catch them from the current position is ridiculous.

24-02-2021, 08:00 AM
I think the reverse will happen and they will play with the shackles off. If we were level on points with them it might be possible. The thought we might catch them from the current position is ridiculous.

Agreed. We were never catching them, Lennon or nae Lennon. Hopefully they pump Aberdeen and we do the necessary in our game.

24-02-2021, 09:03 AM

Win our game in hand (not a foregone conclusion I know) and the gap is nine points.
If they lose to Aberdeen and the Sticky Buns pre-split, and we beat 'Well, all we need to do is match their points haul in the remaining games pre and post split to have the gap at three points going into our post-split match, and on current form I'd fancy us to beat them. Ok our goal difference is way behind their's so we'd need one more match point than them along the way, but that run of results is not impossible and made me think it was worth checking the updated odds on us finishing 2nd.
Sky have us at 14/1. Was hoping for 20s.
Having said all that I'd still settle for 3rd place and the likelihood of guaranteed group football. But shoot for the stars and all that........

24-02-2021, 09:31 AM
I see Hornby possibly our for the rest of the season. Will they try to play a passing game now. Oops, sorry they have sold their best attacking midfielder and the other one is out for the season. Just means they will be even more awful to watch than before.

24-02-2021, 09:33 AM
I see Hornby possibly our for the rest of the season. Will they try to play a passing game now. Oops, sorry they have sold their best attacking midfielder and the other one is out for the season. Just means they will be even more awful to watch than before.

Got to feel sorry for the young lad Hornby..a chance to kick start his career and injured after 4 games ..what a blow for him ....

24-02-2021, 09:36 AM
I reckon we need 11 or twelve points to be certain of third. Certainly got an easier run in with the dons at home to us and Celtic and away to rangers, Livi and Whoever finishes sixth. With Celtic and Dundee utd away and Hamilton at home before the split they will have to improve markedly to pick a lot of points in their last eight games.

24-02-2021, 09:49 AM
I reckon we need 11 or twelve points to be certain of third. Certainly got an easier run in with the dons at home to us and Celtic and away to rangers, Livi and Whoever finishes sixth. With Celtic and Dundee utd away and Hamilton at home before the split they will have to improve markedly to pick a lot of points in their last eight games.

I’m not sure I could see Aberdeen winning 5 or 6 of their remaining matches looking at their fixtures.

I know it’s not the case mathematically but I think another 3 wins will probably do it.

24-02-2021, 09:53 AM
I’m not sure I could see Aberdeen winning 5 or 6 of their remaining matches looking at their fixtures.

I know it’s not the case mathematically but I think another 3 wins will probably do it.

I would tend to disagree (although I hope you are right) Lots of Aberdeen's losses and draws have been very tight games, if the right deflection falls for them, they get a few decisions go their way (like we did on Sat) they could get a bit of momentum. We need to keep winning.

mayo hibee
24-02-2021, 11:19 AM
I can't see three wins not being enough. Aberdeen would need to win five from their last eight (or four plus a few draws) and they still have to play Celtic twice as well as Rangers after the split. If we win three they would need to beat us and pretty much win all the other non Celtic/Rangers games to turn it around. While their form will probably pick up a bit, I can't see them going on that kind of run.

24-02-2021, 10:20 PM
https://twitter.com/pieandbov/status/1364712386708520962?s=21

Quite an interesting thread.

For those that are saying we are only 3rd because the league is poor (possibly me at some point), probably worth noting that Aberdeen are 3 points better off now than they were this time last season.

We are 15 points better off than the same stage last season.

25-02-2021, 06:01 AM

For those that are saying we are only 3rd because the league is poor (possibly me at some point), probably worth noting that Aberdeen are 3 points better off now than they were this time last season.

Interesting Aberdeen are better off wouldn't have imagined that shows how good a season we are having.

25-02-2021, 06:53 AM

Said this a number of weeks ago. Folk like to say it’s a piss poor league due to Rangers running away with it, and Celtic struggling to keep up, Celtic aren’t a million miles away from where they would normally be points wise (without the two/three games after dubai where they lost half their players) and with a couple of exceptions - 62, 67, 68, 70, 72 is just a few examples of their points totals after 30 games, 64 this year. So taking the top two as a pairing, this is the strongest top 2 we’ve had in a long time, Rangers nearly matching Celtics best season and Celtic bettering any second place teams over that time.

The rest of the league is fairly strong, Aberdeen and ourselves, and then the rest who all have some very good players in their squads. There’s as much quality in the league this season than I can remember for some time.

25-02-2021, 07:04 AM

For as poor as they have been, Aberdeen also seem to have been particularly unlucky with injuries this season.

25-02-2021, 07:16 AM
For as poor as they have been, Aberdeen also seem to have been particularly unlucky with injuries this season.

I was told when Lennon had a horrendous amount of injuries, that all teams get injuries, and it is just part and parcel of the game.

25-02-2021, 07:26 AM

Very true but totally changing your front players on deadline day makes no sense at all. They need time to settle in, time the dons don’t have. We have had just as many injuries but our squad has coped better. Not scoring for over 6 games is much more than just injuries.

25-02-2021, 07:29 AM
All clubs have injuries. Aberdeen have had it to good for a number of years now. We missed Boyle and porteous for large parts under hecky etc.

25-02-2021, 07:29 AM
Said this a number of weeks ago. Folk like to say it’s a piss poor league due to Rangers running away with it, and Celtic struggling to keep up, Celtic aren’t a million miles away from where they would normally be points wise (without the two/three games after dubai where they lost half their players) and with a couple of exceptions - 62, 67, 68, 70, 72 is just a few examples of their points totals after 30 games, 64 this year. So taking the top two as a pairing, this is the strongest top 2 we’ve had in a long time, Rangers nearly matching Celtics best season and Celtic bettering any second place teams over that time.

The rest of the league is fairly strong, Aberdeen and ourselves, and then the rest who all have some very good players in their squads. There’s as much quality in the league this season than I can remember for some time.

Not having Hearts lying down to everyone, just to save themselves for their 4 cup finals against us has done Hibs no harm this season.

25-02-2021, 07:36 AM
Very true but totally changing your front players on deadline day makes no sense at all. They need time to settle in, time the dons don’t have. We have had just as many injuries but our squad has coped better. Not scoring for over 6 games is much more than just injuries.

IMO the worst Aberdeen squad we've seen in years. Their great strength for almost a decade has been digging out victories even when not playing well. They're not doing that now.

cam75
25-02-2021, 07:45 AM
We changed ours when mclaren and kamberi came in and it work out for us👍

25-02-2021, 07:55 AM
I was told when Lennon had a horrendous amount of injuries, that all teams get injuries, and it is just part and parcel of the game.

I think that is fair, we've had some crucial players out this season too so it's not just Aberdeen. Additionally with their budget they should have strength in depth to cope.

I'd have more sympathy with Accies or the like with their smaller squad bemoaning injuries.

25-02-2021, 07:56 AM

Then the following season we had problems when they were both carrying injuries.

25-02-2021, 08:02 AM

Ive a feeling our signings were far better researched and ready to make an impact. None of their three signings were ready to fire straight away.

25-02-2021, 08:04 AM
I think that is fair, we've had some crucial players out this season too so it's not just Aberdeen. Additionally with their budget they should have strength in depth to cope.

I'd have more sympathy with Accies or the like with their smaller squad bemoaning injuries.

I just dont understand how whenever we achieve anything, it has to be because other teams are having injuries, or the worst team in living memory.

When Aberdeen were finishing 2nd or 3rd, we were pish and i certainly wanted to finish as high as they were. It has become trendy to downplay our achievements, as we never get anything right, it's always because someone else failed.

25-02-2021, 08:08 AM
I just dont understand how whenever we achieve anything, it has to be because other teams are having injuries, or the worst team in living memory.

When Aberdeen were finishing 2nd or 3rd, we were pish and i certainly wanted to finish as high as they were. It has become trendy to downplay our achievements, as we never get anything right, it's always because someone else failed.

Especially considering (as Bingo pointed out earlier) that Aberdeen are actually 3 points better off than at the same stage last season.

25-02-2021, 08:09 AM
Especially considering (as Bingo pointed out earlier) that Aberdeen are actually 3 points better off than at the same stage last season.

25-02-2021, 08:21 AM

Sorry I probably wasn't as clear as I should have been, I am not necessarily disagreeing with you.

I don't think for a minute Aberdeen should get to use injuries as an excuse, nor should Hibs in the past. Aberdeen have had problems this season granted but we've missed key players too this season. We're where we are as Ross and co managed to work out how to win l games, or at least get draws, while he had our injury problems. Yes we lost a few that we might not have but that's going to be the same for other clubs.

Only the teams operating on an absolute shoe string get to use the injury to key players and to be honest, it's never clubs like Accies you see talking about that, it's usually the clubs at the top of the table.

We're where we are out of merit. Aberdeen still have plenty good players, they just aren't playing well. For me the injury chat is just a smoke screen for their manager not adapting.

25-02-2021, 09:30 AM
Then the following season we had problems when they were both carrying injuries.

And when we replaced McGinn, McGeouch and Allan with Milligan, Mallan and Hyndman :wink:

25-02-2021, 10:03 AM

Marciano has missed a chunk, Allan missed the whole season, Newell been out for a while. Every team gets injuries, if you can’t deal without players then recruit better or build a bigger squad. Our fan base certainly seems to be the best at telling everyone how ***** the league is or how many injuries Aberdeen had, or how we should be replacing our players with average ones from Livingston because they go on a wee run.

BlackSheep
25-02-2021, 10:37 AM
It has become trendy to downplay our achievements.

It’s age old, expect the worst but hope for the best .

27-02-2021, 10:04 AM
3 points today are a must to hopefully put some more breathing space between us and the Dons.

I keep thinking about what a group stage run would do financially for the club in terms of prize money and gate receipts. That's not including the extra money we could demand from sponsors if these European games are on TV. All this money adds up and it could be the difference between us building a hotel at the NE corner, filling in the rest, adding a tier to the west and putting in big screens and discolights. Sorry got a bit carried away there. .

27-02-2021, 10:14 AM
3 points today are a must to hopefully put some more breathing space between us and the Dons.

I keep thinking about what a group stage run would do financially for the club in terms of prize money and gate receipts. That's not including the extra money we could demand from sponsors if these European games are on TV. All this money adds up and it could be the difference between us building a hotel at the NE corner, filling in the rest, adding a tier to the west and putting in big screens and discolights. Sorry got a bit carried away there. .

You left out the helipad! :rules:

27-02-2021, 10:18 AM
I wonder if we’ll notice any difference when we’re back at ER.

They said they would be doing some work to freshen the place up, even with the COVID restrictions.

I’m not expecting a big screen or such like, but would be nice to see some changes in and around the place.

27-02-2021, 10:19 AM

To be honest, I think the "must win" tag is far more on Aberdeen just now. They have a tough run of games and they're not far off the stage of needing to get something from games against Rangers and Celtic which is a bad place to be.

As long as we don't allow them to claw back ground on us, we're in a good place.

27-02-2021, 10:41 AM
To be honest, I think the "must win" tag is far more on Aberdeen just now. They have a tough run of games and they're not far off the stage of needing to get something from games against Rangers and Celtic which is a bad place to be.

As long as we don't allow them to claw back ground on us, we're in a good place.

Exactly, they’re almost at the point where they have to beat us after the split. Again, not the pressure you want to have going into a game, and that’s almost just to ‘give them a chance’ of catching us.

27-02-2021, 11:12 AM
You left out the helipad! :rules:

What about the retractable roof? Will that happen after the second year?

27-02-2021, 11:47 AM
What about the retractable roof? Will that happen after the second year?

It will be soon, that's where the helipad is going.

27-02-2021, 11:48 AM
If we win today I’m confident we will be 3rd.

27-02-2021, 11:54 AM

They said they would be doing some work to freshen the place up, even with the COVID restrictions.

I’m not expecting a big screen or such like, but would be nice to see some changes in and around the place.

I’m fairly certain the sound system has been replaced.

Stanton Spence
27-02-2021, 12:00 PM

I’m not expecting a big screen or such like, but would be nice to see some changes in and around the place.I live behind ER and walk past every day and I've not seen any kind of major works going on bud apart from a bit paint work on the outside of the stands

Sent from my G3121 using Tapatalk

27-02-2021, 12:07 PM
I live behind ER and walk past every day and I've not seen any kind of major works going on bud apart from a bit paint work on the outside of the stands

Sent from my G3121 using Tapatalk

You’re not coming to my party.:greengrin

wallpaperman
27-02-2021, 04:02 PM
Despite today’s shocker, with Aberdeen losing as well, the maximum points we need to finish 3rd drops to 18.

Coach Jon
27-02-2021, 04:37 PM
Threads like this will just make the opposition managers job much easier each week.

27-02-2021, 04:40 PM
Threads like this will just make the opposition managers job much easier each week.

Threads on a fans' forum will make the opposition manager's job easier in what way?

27-02-2021, 04:51 PM
I just don’t get why we couldn’t be bothered today.

There was no fight, passion, creativity. We only woke up when we were running out of time and Motherwell sat back knowing our only out ball was to Boyle and we had zero threat otherwise.

We don’t close opponents down, we looked like we were down to 9 men at points with Well players all over us whilst theirs seemed to have plenty space and time on the ball.

We don’t help each other either. Neither do we seem to be able to get bodies forward when it matters. The odd time we do break we have players jogging forward in support instead of busting a lung.

wallpaperman
27-02-2021, 04:54 PM

You have to be joking, seriously, get a grip.

27-02-2021, 05:00 PM
Another disgrace of a performance. Dread to see that team against a half decent technical footballing European team. At one point in second half three central midfielders for hibs all stood in the right wing area within ten yards of each other. I’d still welcome a change of a fresh managerial approach come summer, to many performances like this.

StockholmHibs
27-02-2021, 05:15 PM
You have to be joking, seriously, get a grip.

I hate these threads too but to suggest it has any influence on the outcome is laughable.
I remember the "Hearts rellegation Derby thread" and we all know how that worked out. Ffs🙄

27-02-2021, 05:19 PM
Another disgrace of a performance. Dread to see that team against a half decent technical footballing European team. At one point in second half three central midfielders for hibs all stood in the right wing area within ten yards of each other. I’d still welcome a change of a fresh managerial approach come summer, to many performances like this.

Do you honestly think if we manage 3rd we’re going to change the manager? Crap performance but hopefully we get back quickly on a run like the one we’ve just been on. Saying that who knows what Hibs will turn up.

wallpaperman
27-02-2021, 05:21 PM
I hate these threads too but to suggest it has any influence on the outcome is laughable.
I remember the "Hearts rellegation Derby thread" and we all know how that worked out. Ffs🙄

It’s a points countdown thread, not slating other teams thread.

I’m not superstitious, if we make it we make it, if we don’t it’s because we don’t deserve to.

27-02-2021, 06:41 PM

Yep, I’m sure all Scottish Premiership managers are scouring Hibs.net looking for motivational material for the pre-match team talk.

hibsboy69
27-02-2021, 09:33 PM

Classic ! :aok::faf:

27-02-2021, 09:45 PM

Yeah let's ban the internet. What a strange post.

27-02-2021, 10:26 PM
Despite today’s shocker, with Aberdeen losing as well, the maximum points we need to finish 3rd drops to 18.

I think Aberdeen’s loss to Celtic was psychologically less harmful than our result. In fact, Aberdeen will take heart from our perennial weakness. On a thread here I said that we could take maximum points from our next five games and honestly believed it. What a difference a week makes. That was a wonderful start today and I honestly don’t have any confidence that we will actually take any points in our next four games now. 3rd place is just a remote possibility if JR can’t get the players up for the challenge.

27-02-2021, 10:36 PM
I think Aberdeen’s loss to Celtic was psychologically less harmful than our result. In fact, Aberdeen will take heart from our perennial weakness. On a thread here I said that we could take maximum points from our next five games and honestly believed it. What a difference a week makes. That was a wonderful start today and I honestly don’t have any confidence that we will actually take any points in our next four games now. 3rd place is just a remote possibility if JR can’t get the players up for the challenge.

I think we're still in pole position but today was a huge opportunity missed and I think you're right in that Aberdeen will take heart from our result today as they'll have been expecting to be 7 points behind us so the fact that it's still only 4 points will likely give them a lift.

It's now a huge weekend next week with Aberdeen likely to get 3 points at home to Hamilton and us away to St Johnstone.

If it goes back to 1 point then it's anybody's.

wallpaperman
27-02-2021, 10:39 PM

A month ago are you really going to say that you wouldn’t have taken 12 points out of 15 in a heartbeat, and been absolutely over the moon with it?

Your post must be the gloomiest I have read on here, and that’s some going.

Aberdeen will be looking at the table and seeing a club 4 points ahead with a game in hand, and not many games left and thinking, not very bloody likely.

Do you realise that Aberdeen have scored 1 goal in their last 8 league games? Yes, 1 goal, and Kilmarnock should have taken at least a point in that game.

27-02-2021, 10:56 PM
A month ago are you really going to say that you wouldn’t have taken 12 points out of 15 in a heartbeat, and been absolutely over the moon with it?

Your post must be the gloomiest I have read on here, and that’s some going.

Aberdeen will be looking at the table and seeing a club 4 points ahead with a game in hand, and not many games left and thinking, not very bloody likely.

Do you realise that Aberdeen have scored 1 goal in their last 8 league games? Yes, 1 goal, and Kilmarnock should have taken at least a point in that game.

Rubbish. You’ve not looked very far.

wallpaperman
27-02-2021, 11:13 PM
Rubbish. You’ve not looked very far.

You have no confidence that we will take a single point in our next 4 games?

When did we last lose 4 games in a row in the league? It was the season we got relegated, in March 2014.

Yeah, I think that must go down as one of the gloomiest posts in recent memory.

28-02-2021, 03:56 AM

3rd place, in your imaginary scenario of us taking no points in our next four, would be a remote possibility. That’s pretty unlikely and would require our worst run of the season.

If you take into consideration our away form then there’s every chance we could get maximum points (or at least no losses) and we consolidate the position we are already in.

28-02-2021, 09:20 AM
https://images.app.goo.gl/usdKsKrccvTDe4Ne6

28-02-2021, 09:23 AM
Disappointed with yesterday's result. But all we need to do is match Aberdeen's results and thirds ours. We did that yesterday.

28-02-2021, 09:31 AM
I think some people were getting a bit carried away, imagining yesterday's game was going to be a walk in the park.

We were outplayed and outfought.

28-02-2021, 09:38 AM
I think some people were getting a bit carried away, imagining yesterday's game was going to be a walk in the park.

We were outplayed and outfought.

Thank God some folk didn't get their wish of Aberdeen avoiding defeat yesterday!

28-02-2021, 11:20 AM
Disappointed with yesterday's result. But all we need to do is match Aberdeen's results and thirds ours. We did that yesterday.

I’m not quite sure I agree with the way you’ve made it sound like we got the job done yesterday :greengrin

I agree though, in terms of final league placing it’s another game ticked off so we’re actually in a good bit better position than we were yesterday morning in terms of trying to finish 3rd.

28-02-2021, 11:29 AM
At least we don't have to play at home in the last 3 games before the split.

28-02-2021, 11:34 AM

Actually thought that to myself near the end of yesterday's game - mad that this is considered a good thing now!

28-02-2021, 12:23 PM
The post split fixture calendar will be interesting.

Always in the back of the mind that I wouldn't want to be in position going up to Pittodrie needing a result - we could really do with increasing the gap before the split to give us that cushion.

28-02-2021, 12:59 PM

Ross needs to work out a new system for home games, where the opposition is set up very differently.

The warning signs were there, albeit very briefly, at the start of last week's game

28-02-2021, 01:55 PM

Ross needs to work out a new system for home games, where the opposition is set up very differently.

The warning signs were there, albeit very briefly, at the start of last week's game

Was having a think on the back of people wanting Gogic to play, and teams playing just one up front against us mostly, 4-4-2 with the diamond in the middle (especially if Boyle is going to play up front.

Got the full backs to play it when Doig plays (they need to be able to attack and both Cadden and Doig can), Gogic can drop back in when we do attack, gets Gogic Newell and Irvine into the team while also keeping that attacking midfielder and also two up front.

Keyser Sauzee
28-02-2021, 03:20 PM
Can see us winning our next 3 games. St J to have a hangover from the final, County need wins and will come out and attack which will suit us on the counter attack and Livi haven’t won in 4 now and don’t think they will recover their form for the remainder of the season.

28-02-2021, 03:24 PM
Aberdeen home to Hamilton and away to Dundee Utd before the split.

Both must win games for them I think.

Magpie
28-02-2021, 03:28 PM
Aberdeen home to Hamilton and away to Dundee Utd before the split.

Both must win games for them I think.

6 points for them I reckon.

28-02-2021, 03:34 PM

Yeah I wouldn’t rule that out, sounds like they played well at Parkhead yesterday so I think we need to expect their form to pick up.

That said, neither game is easy and I wouldn’t be surprised at all if they drop points.

28-02-2021, 04:09 PM

Don't think they will beat United imo. Hamilton not a given either.

CB Hibs 68
28-02-2021, 05:20 PM

If so Hibs need to match them.Third place is entirely in our hands but there are going to be twists and turns all the way to the end of the season.The fact we are away in our next 3 matches maybe a good thing based on our results away from Easter Rd so far this season.

28-02-2021, 05:23 PM
If so Hibs need to match them.Third place is entirely in our hands but there are going to be twists and turns all the way to the end of the season.The fact we are away in our next 3 matches maybe a good thing based on our results away from Easter Rd so far this season.

Good thing is we could lose these 3 games (can’t see it) and Aberdeen could win both (got my doubts) and it would still be in our hands.

28-02-2021, 06:18 PM
Was having a think on the back of people wanting Gogic to play, and teams playing just one up front against us mostly, 4-4-2 with the diamond in the middle (especially if Boyle is going to play up front.

Got the full backs to play it when Doig plays (they need to be able to attack and both Cadden and Doig can), Gogic can drop back in when we do attack, gets Gogic Newell and Irvine into the team while also keeping that attacking midfielder and also two up front.

This could be a good shout actually. If we're pushing for a goal Boyle can always go to the right of the diamond as well.

Some of our best performances last season came playing the diamond.

28-02-2021, 07:24 PM

That's a fair point.

28-02-2021, 08:35 PM

We are closer to finishing third now than we were before the weekend.