View Full Version : Match Updates New Year Derby 2021 - Hibs v Livingston

Pages : 1 2 3 [4] 5

02-01-2021, 03:29 PM
Ken what? Livi look like they want a win bonus. They probably need it. Ours guys look soft as ***** and are probably not worried about their next contract.

02-01-2021, 03:29 PM
I would be raging at losing 3-0 to Livingston any time but it's the manner of it. The performance level is shocking. So many misplaced passes, shambolic defending, midfield not at the races, no shots on target. I'm usually in the happy clapper camp but this is totally unacceptable

02-01-2021, 03:30 PM
Yep. We bypass midfield Al the time. Crap

I’m not disagreeing but our midfield just lose the ball anyway and aren’t showing for the ball. Team is a shambles back to front right now and needs a big refresh.

How can they be knackered?!!

If you read my first line, I stated that I’m not saying they should be knackered.

I was simply pointing out that our position in the league doesn’t really have a bearing on whether we’re in need of rest or not.

My living room one wasn't as hot as normal recently but being a keen DIY enthusiast a quick check on YouTube told me to bleed it.

Worked a treat.

What I don't understand is, how can there be a big air gap if water is constantly going through it?

Have a missed anything of note in the game? Still getting humped?

A build up of nasty sludge in your pipes can create hydrogen accumulation.

Today is indefensible for Ross and the players. No reaction to the pish we watched during the week, it’s actually been worse. Big improvement needed or Celtc will take 6/7 off us playing like this.

We play better away from home now so look out you Celts!

02-01-2021, 03:31 PM
At least we are no longer favourites doe the league cup. Might have a chance now..

In a 'takes away the fear of conceding' kind of a way?

Our best passing has been kamikaze passing over our own box, then HOOF, they head it clear or we foul and repeat.

The team who won the cup got beat 3-0 by Morton at home for example. We have had a poor week but talk of punting Ross is ludicrous. We have a small squad due to COVID pressures which I think is affecting us this season but I can understand the decision making behind that.

We have 9 days off after this to try and build some confidence. Unless we go the rest of the season without winning a game calling this team butcheresque is just daft.

None of that is an excuse to get pumped from Ross county then livi

How do you build confidence during your time off? Surely building confidence is by winning games?

We might have a small squad but it should be more than good enough to be Ross county and livi & if you don’t agree I suggest you get your head out the sand

Why take so long to make changes? Livingston are decidedly average but they've made us look worse.

That Bartley guy is running the midfield. We could with someone like that.

Doig doing well

If you read my first line, I stated that I’m not saying they should be knackered.

I was simply pointing out that our position in the league doesn’t really have a bearing on whether we’re in need of rest or not.

I didn’t mean you had said it, just wondered how it was possible

02-01-2021, 03:32 PM
Surely that is us at the bottom of the barrel now. Team full of no hopers.
Today's nightmare, we have no leaders on the park, not one imposter is playing anywhere near good enough. No pride/passion/skill/fight/leadership. Absolutely nothing.
Happens every season, get to heavy pitches, cold weather & our bottle crashes. Rubbish is too good a description for them.

I think it’s safe to assume that Celtic won’t come in for Ross if Lennon gets his jotters

Livingstons name on the cup

At least we are no longer favourites doe the league cup. Might have a chance now..

We are still favourites though (odds on at that). And will remain favourites whatever happens on our games between now and the semi.

02-01-2021, 03:33 PM
Doss that header count as an effort on target?

Today is indefensible for Ross and the players. No reaction to the pish we watched during the week, it’s actually been worse. Big improvement needed or Celtc will take 6/7 off us playing like this.

You do remember we played Ross County.

No chance we win at Celtic Park.

My living room one wasn't as hot as normal recently but being a keen DIY enthusiast a quick check on YouTube told me to bleed it.

Worked a treat.

What I don't understand is, how can there be a big air gap if water is constantly going through it?

Have a missed anything of note in the game? Still getting humped?There's a few causes but a common one is a bit like Hibs really, a lot of unwanted sludge builds up and the longer you just let it lie there the more likely a lot of unwanted gas can be allowed to accumulate.

Flushing out the crap is often the answer.

Gullan is NOT the answer up front

The team who won the cup got beat 3-0 by Morton at home for example. We have had a poor week but talk of punting Ross is ludicrous. We have a small squad due to COVID pressures which I think is affecting us this season but I can understand the decision making behind that.

We have 9 days off after this to try and build some confidence. Unless we go the rest of the season without winning a game calling this team butcheresque is just daft.

How big are the Ross County and Livi squads?

Inconsequential
02-01-2021, 03:34 PM
He did have a lot of time to study tactics right enough? He did indeed! Maybe Jack Ross will get the jail after this performance and come back a wiser manager. Might be worth a try. :greengrin

Robbo6-2
Serious question what is Livingstons budget compared to ours?

scottish_sleepy
You've got to wonder if some of our players are just tactically inept. We can all see lumping balls into the box has been pointless for the entire game yet we keep doing the same thing. That and big diagonal balls that we never win. Absolute garbage.

There's a few causes but a common one is a bit like Hibs really, a lot of unwanted sludge builds up and the longer you just let it lie there the more likely a lot of unwanted gas can be allowed to accumulate.

Flushing out the crap is often the answer.

Much like Hibs, if your Radiator feels like there’s nothing in the middle or at the top, you have a problem.

percy veer
02-01-2021, 03:35 PM

Big enough to dominate hibs away from home

Green-Hibee-7
Properly horrific.

Goalie - cost us the 2nd goal.

McGinn - crossing been horrific.

Hanlon and Porteous - calamity for the 3rd.

Stevenson - got done for the first, barely found a Hibs player when going forward in the second half.

Gogic - terrible. Canny pass at all.

Newell - ticking over but not been involved and part of a powderpuff midfield.

Mallan - was hearing he has felt hard done by when he has been out the team but it’s a few times now when he’s back in he offers nothing.

Boyle - people have sussed him out I think. Poor.

Nisbet - touch, passing and link up play been poor.

Doidge - Horrific. Constantly offside or giving away stupid fouls. Horrendous finisher. Needs left out.

I don't rate him at all

Probably just as well there no fans allowed at the games.

We’re lucky livi decided to sit in

Could’ve been 5 or 6 if not

Why take so long to make changes? Livingston are decidedly average but they've made us look worse.

We’ve done that all by ourselves.

I’ve defended us, players and manager, but I cannae defend this today. After that Ross County game we should’ve been desperate to make amends. Today has been embarrassing, all over the park we’ve looked like a bunch of uninterested *****.

The very least we should expect is effort. That’s not even been there.

Jack Ross carries the blame today.

Zambernardi1875
least i wont get home at midnight

I think it’s safe to assume that Celtic won’t come in for Ross if Lennon gets his jotters

and they certainly won't come in for boyle either, no matter how much we reduce the asking price

02-01-2021, 03:36 PM
I would be raging at losing 3-0 to Livingston any time but it's the manner of it. The performance level is shocking. So many misplaced passes, shambolic defending, midfield not at the races, no shots on target. I'm usually in the happy clapper camp but this is totally unacceptable

I'm neither a happy clapper nor a bedwetter - happy to call it as I see it.

This has been absolutely abysmal, and anyone calling for perspective needs their head examined. We're 3 down at home, coming off the back of a home defeat to bottom of the league. We've been bossed, we're lucky it hasn't been more and it's impossible to pick out either an individual or a department of the team that has put in anything close to the performance expected of them.

We've done well to pick up the points we have early on this season to put ourselves in a decent position but I just don't get how anyone can watch the past 2 games and not be deeply concerned.

We've all got our scapegoats, the players we just don't fancy but it's hard to know where to start with this one.

Brutal.

Willing to bet Mathie does a runner from the studio before full time

Mcginn also having his worst game for us to date. ****ing woeful

How bad has McGinn been. Absolutely pathetic

Absolutely no excuses for this performance. Five goals lost to nil at home against ANY TEAM is acceptable, let alone Ross County and ****ing Livingston.

Serious questions asked of everyone connected to the club this week.

I’m starting to think we’re not going to get back into this.

02-01-2021, 03:37 PM
You've got to wonder if some of our players are just tactically inept. We can all see lumping balls into the box has been pointless for the entire game yet we keep doing the same thing. That and big diagonal balls that we never win. Absolute garbage.

I’m assuming they’ve been told to do it on this pitch. Poor though.

For as long as I can remember as soon as pitches get messed up so does our season.

That is absolutely shocking. Livi players are trying so much harder than ours. Our players look like they don’t care.

I’d be tempted to maybe have the occasional shot at goal. Has to be worth a try at least.

If you need proof of a vaccine to get into ER I might start reading some more about this Bill Gates microchip theory.

02-01-2021, 03:38 PM
If this is because we’re running on empty then that’s over to Jack to recognise and make the bold decision to freshen up.

They seem to get in behind far too easily, defense and midfield being over run for the 2nd game in a row!!!

I’m starting to think we’re not going to get back into this.

Look, a thing happened!

Wonder if your manager will come out and blow smoke up the players ***** again like he did on Wednesday night

JR doesn’t look like he’s got any ounce of motivation

Have we had a shot at goal today????:confused:

Good play by Doig and Gullan, unfortunately no-one on it

02-01-2021, 03:39 PM
I’m assuming they’ve been told to do it on this pitch. Poor though.

For as long as I can remember as soon as pitches get messed up so does our season.

Yet other players can come and knock the ball about quite well?

That’s an absolute pish excuse from anyone who uses it including our players

Robbo6-2
02-01-2021, 03:40 PM
Gullan has just done more in 10 mins than Diodge has done for months and people calling him out. Disgraceful

JXM73
So bad swutched off to watch calamity jane with the missus....

Lucky for the players and manager

I wonder what would be coming from the stands among all the booing

jackie GTF
or
are you Hecky in disguise

Much like Hibs, if your Radiator feels like there’s nothing in the middle or at the top, you have a problem.

Too hot to touch on the right, it was down the left that was luke warm to cold.

All piping hot now though after getting rid of the hot air :cb

This lot will be glad there’s no fans at ER to witness these 2 last games.

02-01-2021, 03:41 PM
Have we had a shot at goal today????:confused:We're keeping it for the next match.

02-01-2021, 03:41 PM
67% possession and being pumped 3-0 lol

02-01-2021, 03:42 PM
I'm neither a happy clapper nor a bedwetter - happy to call it as I see it.

This has been absolutely abysmal, and anyone calling for perspective needs their head examined. We're 3 down at home, coming off the back of a home defeat to bottom of the league. We've been bossed, we're lucky it hasn't been more and it's impossible to pick out either an individual or a department of the team that has put in anything close to the performance expected of them.

We've done well to pick up the points we have early on this season to put ourselves in a decent position but I just don't get how anyone can watch the past 2 games and not be deeply concerned.

We've all got our scapegoats, the players we just don't fancy but it's hard to know where to start with this one.

Brutal.

Fair assessment.

Have we had a shot at goal today????:confused:

1 according to my app although I'm struggling to recall it.

Just shows possession means **** all unless you use it to your advantage

NC1875
02-01-2021, 03:43 PM
We really are so soft. No one to grab the game by the scruff of the neck and get there team mates up for it.

A few weeks ago I though we couldn’t possibly finish any lower than 4th but I’m genuinely worried now.

Defence is soft and dreadful. Midfield is non existent and the forwards aren’t scoring. Doidge especially needs 10 chances to take 1.

I’d be tempted to maybe have the occasional shot at goal. Has to be worth a try at least.

Down with that sort of thing.

Liam978
One goal in 4 games, jeezo what is happening here. Some underlying problem or just been found out.

5 shots on goal

2 on target

3 off target

Gullan has just done more in 10 mins than Diodge has done for months and people calling him out. DisgracefulHas he?

Sent from my VOG-L29 using Tapatalk

I'd take the lad Robinson from Livvi, had a decent game today and knows how to put a shift in.

We're very comfortable making lots of pointless passes in our own third - as are our opposition usually.

Gullan has just done more in 10 mins than Diodge has done for months and people calling him out. Disgraceful Totally agree. Gullan nearly always does something positive when he comes on. He has been played on the left and through the middle and has looked lively to me which is far more than can be said for Doidge who has been poor for quite a long time. Playing Gullan and Nisbet may make us try to play some football too. Doidge only wins the occasional flick on and it is rarely directed at a Hibs player

Time to accept that replacing Hibs fans with cardboard hasn't worked out. Replacing some of the players with cutouts might give us better results :cb

02-01-2021, 03:44 PM
I'd take the lad Robinson from Livvi, had a decent game today and knows how to put a shift in.Ex Jambo isn't he?

Maybe they have counted Gullans bullit header.:greengrin

Yet other players can come and knock the ball about quite well?

That’s an absolute pish excuse from anyone who uses it including our players

We’ve always been the same on crap pitches and I don’t know why others play better on them. Maybe because they aren’t ordinarily trying to play football the way we try to.

Not sure other teams come and knock it about. Mainly they are dealing with it by playing it long and defending deep.

We should be able to adapt so not an excuse, more an observation that we’ve never been good on soft and cut up pitches.

Mallan almost broke into a jog there

away sides need to start taking risks at ER and start playing eleven outfield players, goals bring prizes

02-01-2021, 03:45 PM
This is an abomination.

I’d be tempted to maybe have the occasional shot at goal. Has to be worth a try at least.We didn't get to where we are today by having shots at goal.

dchibs
I'm not convinced Ross has control of his own dressing room watching this.

If thats the case then every Hibs player should hang their heads in shame, they should try their all when they pull on a Hibs jersey I include Jack Ross in that as well.

i've never been so happy to lose a link :greengrin

This is an abomination.

Harsh on abominations

Just shows possession means **** all unless you use it to your advantage

possession just means nine tenths of the law means f.all in football unless you use it and score goals.

Gullan has just done more in 10 mins than Diodge has done for months and people calling him out. Disgraceful

A bit dramatic.

02-01-2021, 03:46 PM
Mallan almost broke into a jog there

Small improvements mate. Next week he might break into a sprint.

02-01-2021, 03:46 PM
McGinn MOTM 😂😂

02-01-2021, 03:47 PM
Just over 3 minutes until I can have a right good boo at my screen.

Paul Mcginn motm 😂😂😂😂😂

Giving out MOTM 🤣🤣🤣🤣🤣

McGinn MOTM :faf:

You'd be raging if it was you that sponsored the MOTM award today

Motm!

Who picks the MOM that’s on the Chrystal meth?

A lot of players having their worst ever game for Hibs today. McGinn just been given MOM :confused:

Harsh on abominations

Aye, happy new year from Hibs. Different year, same pish.

McGinn MOTM 😂😂

Someone picked a name out a hat surely?

We might get a draw now Drey's on.

02-01-2021, 03:48 PM
Ex Jambo isn't he?

Yup.

That's how low I'm feeling!!

One goal in 4 games, jeezo what is happening here. Some underlying problem or just been found out.

Nisbet to England, Ross to Celtic, favourites for the League Cup is enough to throw any Hibs team.

I would like to thank Darroch insulation services for providing a laugh.

He isn’t if we refuse to try and play through the midfield to the forwards.

We didn't get to where we are today by having shots at goal.

Neither did Mrs CJ.

I'd have given O'Connor MOTM.

If Drey Wright can put in his usual performance he’ll be by far the best player in green.

Our midfield reminds me of Josh Vela.

I suppose we can't hope to compete with the likes of Livi and Ross County given our meagre resourses.

percy veer

Problem is is hibs fans fork out and always get let down every year

I see Tam had nothing to do with announcing MOTM this week. Took a lot of grief on Twitter last time because he had to choose somebody.

02-01-2021, 03:49 PM
These two results are nothing short of an embarrassment. Don't care what Ross says or does I want a reaction on the park.

At least I'm already home. Normally would be lucky to get home for about 6:15. Every cloud and all that

TAHibby
Tam: "hmmmmmmmmmm" x 400

Whoever picked MOTM has had a worse performance than any Hibs Player. [emoji1782][emoji1782][emoji1782]

I'd have given O'Connor MOTM.

Wins it hands down with his f bomb.

My take away from this game is I would take Ambrose back in a heartbeat. Absolutely strolled it today as he did most weeks for us.

Beyond that it's a great big booooooooooooo

02-01-2021, 03:50 PM
At least I'm already home. Normally would be lucky to get home for about 6:15. Every cloud and all that

Did you leave at half time?

My take away from this game is I would take Ambrose back in a heartbeat. Absolutely strolled it today as he did most weeks for us.

Bartley has strolled through this game.

If Drey Wright can put in his usual performance he’ll be by far the best player in green.

:thumbsup: post of the day

Yup. He’d be our best centre half by a mile, as he was when he was here.

Whoever picked MOTM has had a worse performance than any Hibs Player. [emoji1782][emoji1782][emoji1782]

They have to pick one ffs

NC1875
02-01-2021, 03:51 PM
These two results are nothing short of an embarrassment. Don't care what Ross says or does I want a reaction on the park.

Thing is, he won’t say much.

****ing terrible Porteous

Good clearance from Porteous. Could have been 4 if he hadn’t got rid of that.

Brian Clough: "You want bloody shooting" comes to mind.

Liam6270
Aberdeen drawing again, we really have shat the bed

Mikey_1875
Sitter

Yep. Better than either Hanlon or Porteous.

Didn’t someone say hanlon was the best CH we’ve had in 10 years hahaha

02-01-2021, 03:52 PM
Did you leave at half time?

You've no idea how tempting was to switch off at half time!!

Great chance for Porteous to get a consolation but instead he delivers his best clearance of the day

Full time - scudded, again. Ross out

newmarket_hibbee
how the hell did the pick McGinn as mano the match, he must have had his worste game in a hibs jersey

They have to pick one ffs

Give it to Doig or Gullan then. Picking McGinn just make you look like an idiot.

Porteous free header miles off target, absolutely terrible

Scotty Leither
I suppose we can't hope to compete with the likes of Livi and Ross County given our meagre resourses.

Watch yourself...that's the kind of perspective we've been crying out for on here since about quarter past three today.

Makes it even more frustrating

Going on the last 2 games, I’m mighty glad we already have points on the board.

Portos header there husband up the day. Should have scored and didn't even but the target!

02-01-2021, 03:53 PM
Booooooo!

Ambrose smoked a whole packet of Hamlet during those 90 mins, Marv's strip won't need laundered

GRA
Incredibly concerned with how dramatically we've fallen apart in the space of a week. This time last week we were rightly praising the team for being unfortunate to come away from Ibrox with nothing. Night and day compared to the last two performances. Deserved nothing from lower league dross. 9 day break coming at the right time.

They've absolutely pumped us at home today. The entire Hibs team should be ashamed.

Gaz should do an Ian Brown throw his mic down and walk off shouting “effing Amateurs”

This is an abomination.

Was that not a Uriah Heep. Album

Booooooooooooooooooooooooooooooo

Only Celtic next and Rangers at the end of January following our Semi against Saints. Killie after Celtic is now must win territory.

Yep. Better than either Hanlon or Porteous.

Didn’t someone say hanlon was the best CH we’ve had in 10 years hahaha

Maybe they said he's the best CH we've had after 10 beers.

What a pile of dug *****.

Thing is, he won’t say much.

He's got a lot to think about. Which sherry to have with his cheese and biscuits tonight for example.

02-01-2021, 03:54 PM
A disgraceful couple of results.

Disgraceful performance once again, something not quite right at the moment here

Here's Graeme Mathie back to say nothing

Absolute shambles again.

The players are lucky there are no fans in the ground as these performances are a piss take.

Makes it even more frustrating

Dundee Utd could easily catch us. More chance of that than us finishing ahead of the sheep.

02-01-2021, 03:55 PM
Stupid of me to think this team would manage some sort of response from the Ross Co game

Who was swearing in the background 😂

Ambrose was my MOTM in almost every game I saw him play.

We should have pulled out all the stops to bring him back.

5-0 aggregate score at home v Ross County and Livingston is disgraceful.

Booooooo!

Booooooooooooooooooooooooooooooo

Gaz should do an Ian Brown throw his mic down and walk off shouting “effing Amateurs”

He pretty much did just before they cut to him when his mike was still on.

newmarket_hibbee
someone needs to mute the mikes on Hibs TV, quite a few we sweary words before going back into the studio...

Definitely Garry.

Unfortunately after our result I can’t even say that Aberdeen will never challenge for 3rd place drawing at home against the likes of Dundee Utd.

O'Connor again.

Definitely Garry.

Love the bloke 😂

02-01-2021, 03:56 PM
And early shut down of the league might be the only thing that saves our Euro place, and Jack's job.

Ignoring how bad we are, Livingston actually played really well there. What a run they’re on.

Can they not turn the damn lights on, Tanner sitting in the shadows there. Looks crap.

just when you start thinking that it cannot get much worse for your team it ****ing does, we are as poor in the last 2 games as we have been in any relegation season I can remember, dont fancy we will get much from any of the cups as we just dont look very good even when sneaking one goal wins. Some big football problems at Easter Road and it will take big things to happen for it to change.
Only good thing about the day was GOC being truthful and honest and then Hibs T.V. conked out around 82mins, thank ****.

Here's Graeme Mathie back to say nothing

His job is to 'take the emotion out of it'. **** off Graeme, we want some ****ing emotion put into it.

02-01-2021, 03:57 PM
That's a couple of very, very poor results in a row now.

Ross and the players need to step up. We still have a lot to play for but can't afford many more performances like that.

Livi equal their 0-3 wins at ER in 2001 and 2005, congrats to them their players showed pride...ours, nah not one bit

NC1875
Ignoring how bad we are, Livingston actually played really well there. What a run they’re on.

Hard work, organisation and a bit of fight.

Something we’re seriously lacking

Wull
Doc the starting 11 wages', freaking boy band right enough

5-0 aggregate score at home v Ross County and Livingston is disgraceful.

Embarrassing and if we had any ambition we would sack him.

Can they not turn the damn lights on, Tanner sitting in the shadows there. Looks crap.

He does his best work in the shadows so I am told.

02-01-2021, 03:58 PM
Desperate.

we could be heading for massive disappointment in the league cup

02-01-2021, 03:58 PM
someone needs to mute the mikes on Hibs TV, quite a few we sweary words before going back into the studio...

Could be wrong but I thought it was Gary ‘noting’ his disagreement of being guided on what to say🤔

02-01-2021, 03:59 PM
A sporting director that takes the emotions out of things and a head coach that seems to do the same. Sounds like an easy ride for players, a garbage player at Hibs is a “project” under current regime.

I'd love to accuse you of bedwetting nonsense but you're spot on here unfortunately.

I was thinking it's looking very similar to Heckingbottom's time here, some decent results but crap performances followed by crap results to go with the crap performances!

We're just horrible to watch again.

A lot of Heckingbottoms games saw us inexplicably lose games that we actually played OK in.

This is much more Terry Butcher than Heckingbottom imo.

Heckingbottom’s Hibs were in 10th with 9 points from 33 (27%). Ross’ Hibs are in 4th with 36 from 66 (55%). I’m not even going to waste my time finding out Butcher’s stats.

But aye, other than that, it’s exactly the same or worse than Heckingbottom.

PS I’m not arguing either of the last two results are acceptable btw. You don’t sack a manager doing generally fine for two really bad results though.

His job is to 'take the emotion out of it'. **** off Graeme, we want some ****ing emotion put into it.

Part of the problem then, too many technical thinking people going on about expected goals and how much a player runs during a game while we get pumped off a team doing the basics well.

Take the emotion out of football ffs.

Utterly woeful and spineless.

2 new CH’s, a LB, a winger and a CF!

Not sure our budget will stretch to that but wow we were never at the races.

Livi were a team. We looked like JR had went into the street and picked 11 ransoms and asked if they could play.

snedzuk
02-01-2021, 04:00 PM

Not so much how big as how much do they cost

You can go back to Tynecastle you rat.

Sorry Jack, I shouldn't criticise you.

A sporting director that takes the emotions out of things and a head coach that seems to do the same. Sounds like an easy ride for players, a garbage player at Hibs is a “project” under current regime.

Exactly

02-01-2021, 04:01 PM
Sorry Jack, I shouldn't criticise you.

Brave of you to assume Jack Ross would put as much emotion into his post :greengrin

EI255
02-01-2021, 04:01 PM
Oh dear.

Oh dear Mr Ross [emoji7]

Sent from my LG-H870 using Tapatalk

The Captain....
02-01-2021, 04:02 PM
Same old Hibs...same old problems regardless of manager, owner, etc. I thought we were generally heading in the right direction but serious doubts creeping in over the players mentality and managers ability to change the course of a match after the last couple of abysmal performances.

Dont know how we solve it as there doesnt seem to be any easy answers in terms of bringing in players on the bench who will make a difference. Maybe get a couple of decent loans in to go straight in the first team. A centre forward and a centre half if budget allows.

Wouldnt give a toss if they just announced the season was abandoned tbh..rapidly losing interest.

TheCabbage
02-01-2021, 04:03 PM
I wouldn’t trust the recruitment team to pick the the players unfortunately even if we had the budget

Livi were a team. We looked like JR had went into the street and picked 11 ransoms and asked if they could play.

Take the emotion out of it?!? That’s the ****ing problem at Hibs. No emotion, no passion, no tempo.

As for David Tanner, he’s absolutely atrocious. Takes an age to complete a sentence. I hope he’s never fancied a go at speed dating because he’d end up leaving without a phone number. Get him replaced as well.

EI255
Top six please MR AMERICAN MAN!!!

WTF??

02-01-2021, 04:04 PM
Oh dear.

Oh dear Mr Ross [emoji7]

You’re not really a Hibs fan are you?

02-01-2021, 04:05 PM
Given a lesson in how to play on a difficult pitch. Always pass in front of a player-always make a defence turn-make your runs from deep-don't always take the ball with your back to the way you want to go. Not rocket science.

NC1875

WTF??

Someone empty this hearts prick

Livingston deserved all three points, desolate performance from us as a team.
The issues we have as a team have been there for long enough for Ross to deal with them, but it seems he is unable to.

I have to ask, where is David Gray? He's always on the bench but never plays. McGinn is average at best and yet Gray can't get him out the team. If he's finished then go get a new right back because we need someone who has ability to go forward and cause someone problems like Gray used to do. If he's fit and still able to get up and down the park then get him in that squad.

02-01-2021, 04:06 PM
Take the emotion out of it?!? That’s the ****ing problem at Hibs. No emotion, no passion, no tempo.

As for David Tanner, he’s absolutely atrocious. Takes an age to complete a sentence. I hope he’s never fancied a go at speed dating because he’d end up leaving without a phone number. Get him replaced as well.

He genuinely adds nothing. He's been spluttering and mispronouncing words, seems to have no knowledge of or empathy for the club and looks exactly like a paid presenter just phoning in his work. Doesn't create a sense of professionalism in the presentation and neither does he come across as partisan in favour of Hibs, so what's the point?

02-01-2021, 04:06 PM
Brave of you to assume Jack Ross would put as much emotion into his post :greengrin

How stupid of me! :greengrin:greengrin:greengrin:greengrin:greengrin

02-01-2021, 04:07 PM
You’re not really a Hibs fan are you?

Or particularly coherent at this point either apparently...

Heckingbottom’s Hibs were in 10th with 9 points from 33 (27%). Ross’ Hibs are in 4th with 36 from 66 (55%). I’m not even going to waste my time finding out Butcher’s stats.

But aye, other than that, it’s exactly the same or worse than Heckingbottom.

PS I’m not arguing either of the last two results are acceptable btw. You don’t sack a manager doing generally fine for two really bad results though.

I like Jack Ross and haven't come anywhere close to calling for him to go.

I've not talking about points gained, I'm talking about the football we're watching.

It's rank. It's like the football we played under Butcher and Heckingbottom, that's the point I'm making.

I have to ask, where is David Gray? He's always on the bench but never plays. McGinn is average at best and yet Gray can't get him out the team. If he's finished then go get a new right back because we need someone who has ability to go forward and cause someone problems like Gray used to do. If he's fit and still able to get up and down the park then get him in that squad.

Gray is finished. McGinn is steady enough buy having someone like Naismith as well would make a big difference.

Someone empty this hearts prick

I don’t think they’re a hearts fan, I just think they’re pished 😂

Never mind its been a good December.

As much as he was poor today (everyone was) Paul McGinn is not the problem with this squad and is probably the most consistent player we have.

it's the cardboard cut-outs i feel most sorry for

the ones in the stands i mean

02-01-2021, 04:08 PM

What makes you say that? https://emoji.tapatalk-cdn.com/emoji7.png

02-01-2021, 04:09 PM

He’s the same punter that thought Gary Holt was a navy seal or some s**t.

02-01-2021, 04:09 PM
As much as he was poor today (everyone was) Paul McGinn is not the problem with this squad and is probably the most consistent player we have.

Umm...

02-01-2021, 04:10 PM
What makes you say that? https://emoji.tapatalk-cdn.com/emoji7.png

Are you flirting with me? :greengrin

Sorry but that’s unfair on PM. Whilst he, along with the rest of the team I hasten to add, have been poor the last few games, he has been decent prior to our mini collapse!

Bangkok Hibby
Stevenson - pish
Hanlon - pish
Porteous - turning into pish
Doidge - pish
Boyle - pish

Get rid

So disappointed with Porteous as I thought he was really maturing into a good solid player. He may still do. I agree with the rest.

Think it was fairly obvious, and he explained this, that you need to take the immediate emotional response out of decision making and look at the overall circumstances and bigger picture.

That’s exactly what you need when actually making the big decisions for the longer term.

02-01-2021, 04:11 PM
how the hell did the pick McGinn as mano the match, he must have had his worste game in a hibs jersey

Couldn't agree more .... Doig did more in the 20 minutes he was on than practically any Hibs player did in the entire 90 minutes, at least he had the guts to run at them with the bloody ball.

There isn't much more you can say about that game. We were bossed all over the park by two Hibs rejects, one Rangers reject and a bunch of journeymen. I realise Ambrose isn't a reject, but we made no effort to keep him ... no I don't want us to re sign him.

If Jack Ross can't show a bit of anger after 180 minutes of utter dross where we barely mustered a shot on goal and conceded 5 he is in the wrong job.

02-01-2021, 04:11 PM
Umm...

Perhaps the problem with the squad is that, of all the players, Paul McGinn is the most consistent player we've got!

02-01-2021, 04:12 PM
Will we be looking to make signings in January?

Mathie: "It's important to recognise that we already did a lot of work during the summer."

FFS.

02-01-2021, 04:12 PM
Perhaps the problem with the squad is that, of all the players, Paul McGinn is the most consistent player we've got!

I think it may be more of an issue that I was actually describing David Tanner in my post...

02-01-2021, 04:13 PM
I thought Mullin was brilliant for Livingston, particularly in the 1st half. Stevenson works hard but he's too slow and made mistakes, so there wasn't nearly enough pace down the left to put Ambrose under pressure. Doig should have been on at the start IMO. What was most disappointing today was that there was no fluke about the Livingston win, they just looked a better team than us.

Robbo6-2
That was awful.

You have a sporting director who has all the buzz words but has as much charisma as a wet sponge.

Seriously we are so weak from top to bottom. Including alot of our fan base.

Hibs should never get beat off either Ross County or Livingston. Sad day when some people actually accept that not to mention our sporting director.

I think it may be more of an issue that I was actually describing David Tanner in my post...

Fair enough. Paul McGinn is more worthy of comment though :wink:

Are you flirting with me? :greengrin

Maybe. Or maybe I'm pished. Or a Hearts fan. https://emoji.tapatalk-cdn.com/emoji7.png

02-01-2021, 04:14 PM
Sorry but that’s unfair on PM. Whilst he, along with the rest of the team I hasten to add, have been poor the last few games, he has been decent prior to our mini collapse!

The guy is not a great right back, going forward he's pretty useless. Defensively he's fine and if we're honest he should be on the bench as a back up CB/RB option while someone capable of getting forward and delivering decent crosses and picking passes that actually make it to a green jersey.

Today wasn't his fault, I could go on all day about the rest of them, but my point is mostly on the fact that we have a club captain that is sitting doing absolutely zero while we have a relegation candidate defender at right back ahead of him.

Maybe. Or maybe I'm pished. Or a Hearts fan. https://emoji.tapatalk-cdn.com/emoji7.png

😂😂

I hope there's players swinging in that dressing room. Sadly I don't think there will be. Not enough nastiness in that team.

02-01-2021, 04:15 PM

In summer we need a whole new backline Aldo - I'd shift Hanlon, Daz, SDG and Lewis and rebuild that area.

Four strikers are needed for any club harbouring top 4 - so we need to add two there.

Most important area we need addressed, as we have done last few seasons since losing McGinn and McGeouch, is midfield. No drive, energy or composure in there. Mallan jogging all game today sums him up as a player - can't influence or change the tempo of a game against top league sides.

A bit tired of all these 'slight muscle strains' and the same players regularly taking games out. I'm cynical and can't see many of the injuries being that long term, more that the players are not being pushed to get fitter, quicker. Maybe they need to look at their own physical routines and core conditioning when not training and work hard away from HTC as well :agree:

That was awful.

You have a sporting director who has all the buzz words but has as much charisma as a wet sponge.

Hibs should never get beat off either Ross County or Livingston. Sad day when some people actually accept that not to mention our sporting director.

So what do you do about it? If you’re Mathie right now half an hour after the game what do you want him to say?

That was awful.

Has anyone on here “accepted it” or been happy with today or Ross County? I don’t think Mathie said he was ok with it either.

I’m raging with the performances and results but don’t want us to start sacking people and emptying the club.

Fair enough. Paul McGinn is more worthy of comment though :wink:

He'd probably make a better presenter than Tanner TBF.

That was awful.

You have a sporting director who.....never managed, coached, scouted or made it as a player. He brought in half this ***** and built the unbalanced squad.

Think it was fairly obvious, and he explained this, that you need to take the immediate emotional response out of decision making and look at the overall circumstances and bigger picture.

That’s exactly what you need when actually making the big decisions for the longer term.

And it’s that lack of passion that transcends across the whole club. I’m not one for a knee jerk reaction but those players today, especially on the back of our last game, weren’t exactly busting a gut to right the wrongs.

Still, “they’ll get a few days holiday and hopefully come back better” in the words of our Sporting Director.

Bangkok Hibby
02-01-2021, 04:16 PM
McGinn MOTM :faf:

Made me laugh too

Scotty Leither
02-01-2021, 04:17 PM
That was awful.

Exactly. Another one who is untouchable and refused to be questioned at the AGM about some of the dross that he's brought to the club.

Instead he gets a promotion. Go figure...

Mathie: "It's important to recognise that we already did a lot of work during the summer."

FFS.

Thought he said likely to be two in terms n next eeek or so.

FFS.Have 1 in next week I reckon

02-01-2021, 04:18 PM
In summer we need a whole new backline Aldo - I'd shift Hanlon, Daz, SDG and Lewis and rebuild that area.

Four strikers are needed for any club harbouring top 4 - so we need to add two there.

Most important area we need addressed, as we have done last few seasons since losing McGinn and McGeouch, is midfield. No drive, energy or composure in there. Mallan jogging all game today sums him up as a player - can't influence or change the tempo of a game against top league sides.

A bit tired of all these 'slight muscle strains' and the same players regularly taking games out. I'm cynical and can't see many of the injuries being that long term, more that the players are not being pushed to get fitter, quicker. Maybe they need to look at their own physical routines and core conditioning when not training and work hard away from HTC as well :agree:

Agree.

Plus recruit players which have proven to be robust and not constantly injured.

Go back over last few years and several players have signed and healthy played minutes for us.

NC1875
02-01-2021, 04:19 PM
I mentioned on the transfer thread the other day we were interested in Mathew Millar. A right back on loan at Shrewsbury from Newcastle Jets.

We were offered him in the summer and Mathie said no, has now gone back asking about him but apparently lower half championship clubs sniffing about him now.

Was also told from the same guy we’d been offered a number of players in the summer who’d gone on to do well elsewhere. Says Mathie wasn’t interested and was baffled when we then signed Stephen McGinn

02-01-2021, 04:20 PM
Until we sort the middle of the park things won’t get better. We’re not getting enough/anything from the midfield. Protecting the defence? Nah. Creating/assisting - nah. Chipping in with goals? Nope.

02-01-2021, 04:21 PM

I’ve no idea on whether Mathie is doing his job well or not but if he’s no charisma, we should definitely be getting rid.

02-01-2021, 04:21 PM

I don't know what happened there as Im sure I'd quoted Centre Hawfs post but when it posted it had yours! Thought I'd deleted in time but obviously not 😁

Robbo6-2
02-01-2021, 04:22 PM
So what do you do about it? If you’re Mathie right now half an hour after the game what do you want him to say?

I don't want to hear him say his job is to take the emotion out of it ffs!
We have just been spanked 3 nil at home from Livingston. 3 going on 5 or 6.

He must know that this is being broadcast to season ticket holders!

We have just lost two consecutive home games to Ross County and Livingston, quite possibly the worst two results you could imagine. A club of our stature and budget should not be losing to that *****. Its not acceptable. Why the hell was he even on it in the first place.

Shocking

02-01-2021, 04:24 PM
I mentioned on the transfer thread the other day we were interested in Mathew Millar. A right back on loan at Shrewsbury from Newcastle Jets.

We were offered him in the summer and Mathie said no, has now gone back asking about him but apparently lower half championship clubs sniffing about him now.

Was also told from the same guy we’d been offered a number of players in the summer who’d gone on to do well elsewhere. Says Mathie wasn’t interested and was baffled when we then signed Stephen McGinn

The Stephen McGinn signing was a very odd one. Trained with us for months then finally signed. Nothing personally against the guy but it’s not a top 4 / 3 next level signing.

Not having a 3rd keeper worries me too. Don’t rate Barnes and we will never play Samson I hope..

Our bench options are so poor. He obviously doesn’t trust certain players and they are just taking up a spot as he won’t involve any more young players.

He could start by exhibiting some - in fact any - passion about Hibs, his role and the prospects for January and then next Summer.

He could look angry about the result and performance, he could suggest that we have some exciting prospects as targets, he could make it clear that nobody at the club is going to be allowed to perform below par.

He could try to explain how the signings and squad development he has been involved in has or will improve the strength in depth of what is available to us.

He could just show language or body language that suggests he's a bit put out by the result.

WTF??

Much rather be top of the fizzys tbh. :agree:

Until we sort the middle of the park things won’t get better. We’re not getting enough/anything from the midfield. Protecting the defence? Nah. Creating/assisting - nah. Chipping in with goals? Nope.

Yup. The midfield as a unit is very ‘Josh Vela’

02-01-2021, 04:25 PM
We missed Drey Wright today...

We really need a midfielder than can take the ball from defence. This punting it up to capable CBs it’s a total waste of time.

That team isn’t finishing top 4. They’re a disgrace.

Defence all over the place. Midfield may as well just not be there.

02-01-2021, 04:26 PM

Whether or not this is true, we are certainly appear to be paying a number of players who are going to sit on the bench and contribute very little on the park. Every week we have Gray, McGregor and McGinn taking up three places who are simply not going to contribute.

02-01-2021, 04:26 PM

Stop wasting transfer funds on your pals and players you've signed before? :confused:

02-01-2021, 04:28 PM

Every part of the team was wrong today, so wrong it's hard to know where to start, but I still think our biggest problems are in the centre of the midfield.

We need more players who are better at all aspects of the all-round play needed from a central midfielder - energy, tackling ability, passing ability and more.

We simply cannot carry players like Gogic and Mallan who have so many deficiencies in their game.

Mallan turned the Alloa game a couple of weeks ago with an inspired appearance off the bench but he has been part of so many absolutely abject midfield and team performances now it is frightening. Understanding that he's an impact player at best is probably a decent place to start.

Not convinced we have any formations that comfortably accommodate our players either, so we might need to sacrifice one or two of our stronger players to make for a better team.

02-01-2021, 04:28 PM
We missed Drey Wright today...

We missed a Scott Allan and it's maybe time the club come forward with what's happening on that front, balanced with the right of the player himself. We pay good money and I think we do need to know what are the chances of SA playing again. We need creative players in that area, and if it's not to be Scott (in future), be honest with us and we will endeavour to get behind player and club and put money in (as we do) to recruit similar.

Robbo6-2
02-01-2021, 04:29 PM
Porteous doing his Jordan Foster impression again today.

Absolutely terrible performance yet again.

02-01-2021, 04:29 PM
I don't want to hear him say his job is to take the emotion out of it ffs!
We have just been spanked 3 nil at home from Livingston. 3 going on 5 or 6.

He must know that this is being broadcast to season ticket holders!

We have just lost two consecutive home games to Ross County and Livingston, quite possibly the worst two results you could imagine. A club of our stature and budget should not be losing to that *****. Its not acceptable. Why the hell was he even on it in the first place.

Shocking

So you’d expect him to say on Hibs TV that he’s raging and Ross will be getting sacked and all the players will be moved on?

Perhaps that isn’t what will happen and he will continue to work with the manager and coaching staff to ensure we continue to improve.

I don’t know if some of you have people work for you or you work for others but football doesn’t suddenly become a place where being angry and sacking people is the only logical response to what is in the scheme of things a little bit of adversity.