View Full Version : Celtic away moved to Monday night/Celtic player tests positive

Pages : 1 2 3 4 5 [6] 7

11-01-2021, 04:40 PM
Why the reluctance to test again? Surely you'd agree that is in the best interests of everyone involved?

You'd think so.

The SPFL have taken Celtc's side with this, again.

11-01-2021, 04:41 PM
I'm not defending them. Not for one second.

What I find incredible is that people think that we make up the rules as we go along. There are protocols in place and precedents that have been set (but could change on Thursday).

For me things appear to be being dealt with correctly. No amount of outrage on here will change the rules.

Celtic’s own assistant manager has admitted those protocols have not been followed though, and we have photographic evidence that strongly suggests that’s the case.

They've broken the rules here so they are the ones that need to be held to account.

https://twitter.com/JimDelahunt/status/1348678520810196993?s=19

State of this ****ing rocket. All hibs fault apparently

Jim's a betting man, someone ask him what the odds are of a Hibs player or member of staff getting Covid if they play tonight :cb

3 points for a game of football versus public health, mitigating spread of a deadly virus, and safeguarding players, staff, and families they come into contact with..........it's a very very easy decision Jim.......any reasonable person knows that and should be absolutely hanging Celtic out to dry for their immoral and selfish stance towards travelling to a training camp in a country that has spikes in Covid :aok: there's a reason his surname is always changed to a more rather apt and rude pseudonym :agree::aok:

Celtic v Hibs goes ahead. Easter Road club expressed concerns over the safety of their players but SPFL refused Hibees request for Celtic players to be retested and insisted match must be played tonight or points docked.

SPFL can go **** theirselves.

11-01-2021, 04:42 PM
Aye but what I think people are alluding to is you’re putting your trust in Celtic actually following the protocols correctly and to the best of their knowledge.

I’d hazard a guess that they absolutely haven’t done that both over there and whilst travellingWe could say that about any club, even Hibs.

Every single one of us is having to live with this and take the appropriate measures. How many of us haven't had the odd wee absence when it comes to distancing, etc.? I know I have.

Celtic were stupid to go to Dubai, nobody is questioning that, but you'd think they were all infected with the bubonic plague or something going by some of the over reaction on here.

Why the reluctance to test again? Surely you'd agree that is in the best interests of everyone involved?I've no idea.

Why the reluctance to test again? Surely you'd agree that is in the best interests of everyone involved?

You’d think it would be very much in Celtic’s interest.

They could potentially get a full-strength team out and strip us of any gripes we might have.

There is no good reason for them not to test - unless they believe we’re going to walk into the trap of forfeiting the game.

11-01-2021, 04:43 PM
So, for the benefit who don't have Twitter, what did Delahunt say?

Celtic’s own assistant manager has admitted those protocols have not been followed though, and we have photographic evidence that strongly suggests that’s the case.

They've broken the rules here so they are the ones that need to be held to account.

Which is why they have 13 players sitting out.

We could say that about any club, even Hibs.

Every single one of us is having to live with this and take the appropriate measures. How many of us haven't had the odd wee absence when it comes to distancing, etc.? I know I have.

Celtic were stupid to go to Dubai, nobody is questioning that, but you'd think they were all infected with the bubonic plague or something going by some of the over reaction on here.

I think your final sentence sums up your complete disregard into how serious a matter this is.

11-01-2021, 04:44 PM

They were quick enough to jump to find Killie guilty of breaches protocols yet nothing said about Celtic, even after their own admittance!

Doesn’t surprise me though.

Serious situation but if Hibs pull out of this game tonight, we can kiss goodbye to Scottish football. Hope they're thinking this through.

I think your final sentence sums up your complete disregard into how serious a matter this is.You can think that if you want.

11-01-2021, 04:45 PM
No worries here's the tweet

Serious situation but if Hibs pull out of this game tonight, we can kiss goodbye to Scottish football. Hope they're thinking this through.

I dont have twitter either mate but just click on one of the links above in previous posts. The replies are more interesting than his tweet to be honest.

but you'd think they were all infected with the bubonic plague or something going by some of the over reaction on here.

Aye, it’s just a different deadly global pandemic we’re wanting to safeguard our players from by getting them to do another round of testing. How silly of me.

Anyway, who’s in goals for us tonight?

Gordy M
Which is why they have 13 players sitting out.

But they ALL sat in a plane with someone who possibly had covid at that time. If that was a plane full of public, they would ALL have to isolate. Thats the difference between this situation and previous outbreaks at other teams.

They were quick enough to jump to find Killie guilty of breaches protocols yet nothing said about Celtic, even after their own admittance!

Sent from my iPhone using TapatalkThe difference is that Celtic are fulfilling the fixture.

11-01-2021, 04:46 PM
The difference is that Celtic are fulfilling the fixture.

Ok.

11-01-2021, 04:47 PM

I'm one who became complacent towards Covid until very recently when a good friend lost his wife to Covid before Christmas, and a family member of mine passed this month with Covid.............please don't take this lightly, it's a very serious virus and has tragic and distressing consequences for many. I'd now much rather safeguard anyone who could come into contact with it :aok:

11-01-2021, 04:48 PM
Begs the question as to when the Celtic players were last tested, if they are refusing a test today.

11-01-2021, 04:49 PM
But they ALL sat in a plane with someone who possibly had covid at that time. If that was a plane full of public, they would ALL have to isolate. Thats the difference between this situation and previous outbreaks at other teams.

Sure we had Porteous sitting on a plane with people who tested positive but didn’t have to isolate on his return. No defending Celtic here, but just for a bit of balance.

Any players don’t want to play, that’s up to them. Hopefully the rest aren’t too distracted by it all.

Scottish Football is now officially a joke, the FM now looking at shutting down the game, easy move for them to make now and nothing to do wi Hibs this one is on a pandemic not helped by the covidiots around darkheid.
Walk away now.
:cb

The Scottish Govt need to take their share of the blame. They gave the go ahead for the trip to take place.

We’ve now been threatened that the match must be played tonight or we’ll have the points docked.

Out of the two clubs it’s been us threatened with the points deduction. ****ing unbelievable.

11-01-2021, 04:50 PM
We’ve now been threatened that the match must be played tonight or we’ll have the points docked.

Out of the two clubs it’s been us threatened with the points deduction. ****ing unbelievable.

Source?

Begs the question as to when the Celtic players were last tested, if they are refusing a test today.

Friday

davhibby
Watch now as a Celtic player that plays tonight tests positive in the next round of testing alongside at least one of our players who we’ll then be without for the semi. Absolute stick on

11-01-2021, 04:51 PM
Source?

https://twitter.com/robert_grieve/status/1348685196984528901

11-01-2021, 04:52 PM
https://twitter.com/robert_grieve/status/1348685196984528901

What an absolute joke this is.

11-01-2021, 04:53 PM
Friday

If they were tested Friday I don't think it would be unreasonable for celtic to test again today, in fact the spfl should have insisted on it.

Think he means points forfeited.

I'd be absolutely delighted if Hibs took a moral stance here and refused to play. Health comes first.

Chorley Hibee
Friday

So every possibility there are players taking to the field this evening who are incubating the virus, or even positive.

Celtic and the SPFL had opportunity to help allay those fears this afternoon, yet both refused.

Hibs shouldn't be there tonight.

Think he means points forfeited.

I'd be absolutely delighted if Hibs took a moral stance here and refused to play. Health comes first.

And we have a semi final in 2 weeks, that more important than tonight imo.

11-01-2021, 04:54 PM
To be honest if the club want to take a stand and just choose to forfeit the game and back the players who have expressed concern then I will stand with the club on this.

It's an absolute joke of a situation that has been handled poorly from the SPFL and Celtic. If this happened to anyone else or the teams were reversed there would be a far different circumstance being played out.

Wouldn’t surprise me now if Killie snd st Mirren win Thier appeal now

Celtic’s statement earlier on said, “Celtic will, of course, fulfill its fixture against Hibernian this evening”.

A very simple/obvious thing to say but as soon as I read it, in the context of what has happened, my first thought was that it was completely intended to push any decision about the game going ahead on to us or the league so they don’t end up in the **** for it.

NC1875
11-01-2021, 04:56 PM
****** the SPFL and Celtic. Absolute disgrace.

But I wouldn’t expect anything less from the absolute clowns

Gordy M
11-01-2021, 04:56 PM
Sure we had Porteous sitting on a plane with people who tested positive but didn’t have to isolate on his return. No defending Celtic here, but just for a bit of balance.

Any players don’t want to play, that’s up to them. Hopefully the rest aren’t too distracted by it all.

No you are right, apparently its 2 rows either side of the infected person.

11-01-2021, 04:58 PM
If they were tested Friday I don't think it would be unreasonable for celtic to test again today, in fact the spfl should have insisted on it.

Scottish Football is already on thin ice with Holyrood. In light of the fall out of Celtic’s trip away, a belt and braces approach with further testing prior to tonight’s game would at least show that footballing authorities and clubs are taking every precaution. This refusal proves they aren’t, and makes any decision for shutting down all the leagues that hit easier for the Scottish government.

Siralbertkidd
11-01-2021, 04:59 PM
The Scottish Govt need to take their share of the blame. They gave the go ahead for the trip to take place.

No they didnt.
In this pandemic things have changed from day to day as well.
Pulling up something from a joint committee (with no SG representation) 3 months ago as legitimising the holiday is just ludicrous logic.

11-01-2021, 05:00 PM

OFCS the Scottish Government did not approve the trip...words from the FMs own mouth today at 12.35 in her briefing. She called Celtic out and pointed out Celtic were originally planning a training camp elsewhere not Dubai.

Siralbertkidd
Read what the logo says on the front of the jersey Hibs, and dont play tonight.

Scottish Football is already on thin ice with Holyrood. In light of the fall out of Celtic’s trip away, a belt and braces approach with further testing prior to tonight’s game would at least show that footballing authorities and clubs are taking every precaution. This refusal proves they aren’t, and makes any decision for shutting down all the leagues that hit easier for the Scottish government.

Any reasonable action should have been taken, an opportunity missed by the league. :agree:

The latest dig at Hibs is that we were happy to play St Mirren when they had players out.

Very conveniently forgetting that it was three keepers who trained separately from the rest of the squad, not a whole team and back room staff who’d been on the piss on a week long jolly in the sun.

11-01-2021, 05:02 PM
Are we allowed to be angry yet?

11-01-2021, 05:03 PM
Ok Hibs, time a statement of our own now.

11-01-2021, 05:03 PM

I think your last paragraph is ridiculous. Over 80000 people have died in the UK you need to get a grip on reality.

11-01-2021, 05:05 PM
Scunnered with it to be honest. Farcical doesn't come close.

The Rebel
11-01-2021, 05:05 PM
Spoke to a Celtic supporting colleague earlier. Not sure where they get their info from (forum like us?) but he was quoting a starting 11 of (excuse me if any in wrong position) :

Bain

Frimpong
Welsh
Ajer
Laxalt

Christie
Soro
Turnbull
McGregor

Griffiths
Edouard

His view was that he was concerned defensively but aiming to score more than they lose.

Time will tell how accurate the jungle drums are........

Eaststand
11-01-2021, 05:06 PM
[QUOTE=Aldo;6415774]Wonder what Fraser Wishart and the players union have to say about all this

This is it for me, they should be giving our players assurances that they will support any player who chooses to not play at parkhead tonight.
Unfortunately the silence from the players union reps is deafening.

Spoke to a Celtic supporting colleague earlier. Not sure where they get their info from (forum like us?) but he was quoting a starting 11 of (excuse me if any in wrong position) :

Bain

Frimpong
Welsh
Ajer
Laxalt

Christie
Soro
Turnbull
McGregor

Griffiths
Edouard

His view was that he was concerned defensively but aiming to score more than they lose.

That team would still turn us over.

Bain

Frimpong
Welsh
Ajer
Laxalt

Christie
Soro
Turnbull
McGregor

Griffiths
Edouard

Stick a few of them in the wrong positions and that's probably what Lennon would have picked anyway.

Anyone got a link to sportsound? Should be in shortly

Chorley Hibee
Can't wait to see Celtic's starting line-up, should be abundantly clear then that Hibs have been shafted.

11-01-2021, 05:07 PM

The rules need to be revisited. Hibs made a reasonable request for the Celtic players to be tested again. Testing has come on a lot. Teams in the situation of Celtic should have to test immediately before a match. It needn't be the type of test that has to be sent to a lab, even just a self-test kit that gives a result in 30 minutes. That should be the bare minimum.

11-01-2021, 05:07 PM
No they didnt.
In this pandemic things have changed from day to day as well.
Pulling up something from a joint committee (with no SG representation) 3 months ago as legitimising the holiday is just ludicrous logic.

Agreed. I drive down a motorway that has a 70 mile speed limit. A couple hours later it's dark and the fog comes in. Do I stick to 70 because that's what the sign said? Or do I use a modicum of common sense and change my behaviour based on the circumstances as they are now?

If I stick at 70 and crash the car I won't get away with pointing to the speed limit.

11-01-2021, 05:08 PM
I'm not defending them. Not for one second.

What I find incredible is that people think that we make up the rules as we go along. There are protocols in place and precedents that have been set (but could change on Thursday).

For me things appear to be being dealt with correctly. No amount of outrage on here will change the rules.

Protocols have not been followed, and as yet no precedent has been set.

Agreed. I drive down a motorway that has a 70 mile speed limit. A couple hours later it's dark and the fog comes in. Do I stick to 70 because that's what the sign said? Or do I use a modicum of common sense and change my behaviour based on the circumstances as they are now?

Crank it up to 90. Get home before it gets worse.

https://www.bbc.co.uk/sport/live/football/55529813

Anyone got a link to sportsound? Should be in shortly

Or Superscoreboard to hear the Celtic / Rangers eejits phoning in.

Are we allowed to be angry yet?

Only once one or two amongst us have got tired with the relentless ping pong. Every glance at Twitter is just making me more pissed off.

11-01-2021, 05:09 PM
Crank it up to 90. Get home before it gets worse.

Hahaha, I like your thinking! 😂😂😂

11-01-2021, 05:11 PM
I think your last paragraph is ridiculous. Over 80000 people have died in the UK you need to get a grip on reality.I don't need you nor anyone else to inform me of the gravity of the situation.

11-01-2021, 05:12 PM
https://www.bbc.co.uk/sport/live/football/55529813

11-01-2021, 05:13 PM
I think your last paragraph is ridiculous. Over 80000 people have died in the UK you need to get a grip on reality.

He/She is best ignored :aok:

Can't wait to see Celtic's starting line-up, should be abundantly clear then that Hibs have been shafted.

Whatever team Celtic field we are now on a hiding to nothing.

Protocols have not been followed, and as yet no precedent has been set.Protocols have been broken and protocols for this have been followed.

Precedents have been set, but they may be superseded by the forthcoming appeals

11-01-2021, 05:15 PM
Pat Bonnar trying to blame the SPFL for allowing them to go.

Remember back Pat, Hibs were the ones that objected, no one else, including you.

EI255
11-01-2021, 05:17 PM
****** the SPFL and Celtic. Absolute disgrace.

But I wouldn’t expect anything less from the absolute clownsDear oh dear, let's hope Hibs don't fall with covid cases.

Sent from my LG-H870 using Tapatalk

11-01-2021, 05:18 PM
Wouldnt surprise me one bit if Celtc were trying to goad Scotgov into stopping the footie. They are already 22 points behind.
Only justice tonight is a Hibs win

Sent from my SM-G973F using Tapatalk

Whatever team Celtic field we are now on a hiding to nothing.

Yup. No win situation for us.

EI255
Protocols have been broken and protocols for this have been followed.

Precedents have been set, but they may be superseded by the forthcoming appealsCeltic say protocols weren't broken.

11-01-2021, 05:19 PM
Yup. No win situation for us.

Unless we win?

NC1875
Dear oh dear, let's hope Hibs don't fall with covid cases.

dear oh dear what ?

https://www.hibernianfc.co.uk/article/club-statement-1

Hibs statement

Anyone know how many players celtic took on that trip?

The Tubs
Could someone stick a poll up to see what we all think about playing or not?

I've tried but I can't find how to set the options. I think we should tell them to do a Mackay Steven and jump in the Clyde, to put it politely.

Celtic say protocols weren't broken. Is there something else you know?

Kennedy has already said they’d been broken, plus there’s pictures of players not socially distancing.

Remember back Pat, Hibs were the ones that objected, no one else, including you.

Is Pat doing the Celtic game tonight? First gig since the last Celtic game - fancy that..

11-01-2021, 05:20 PM
Wouldn't be surprised if Julien is a false positive and nobody actually has it.

11-01-2021, 05:20 PM
Hibs statement - https://www.hibernianfc.co.uk/article/club-statement-1

11-01-2021, 05:21 PM

Hibs statement

Wow. What a set of muppets running the game. Clueless. I'd have rather Hibs do not turn up at the ground. **** the punishment.

11-01-2021, 05:21 PM
Sooner the football starts the better....

11-01-2021, 05:22 PM

Blinkered idiot at the best of times.

11-01-2021, 05:22 PM
Celtic say protocols weren't broken.If they followed protocols to the letter, there probably wouldn't have been 16 close contacts.

11-01-2021, 05:23 PM

I wonder what the reasoning was for refusing tests today?

Lendo

Hibs statement

Reasoned, calm and sensible. How a statement should be. Hope you’re taking notes Dr Mrs Budge.

Paul1642
Sooner the football starts the better....

Sooner it’s paused completely until cases come down a lot the better.

No doubt we will loose by 2 or 3 goals tonight anyway. Seems whenever there is off the park drama pre game we always loose.

Celtic say protocols weren't broken.

Sure ....... their assistant manager is a liar.

h1bs4life
11-01-2021, 05:24 PM
Might have missed it but who decides who should self isolate , are they relying on them deciding who it should be.
Surely all on the trip / plane should self isolate or none.

11-01-2021, 05:24 PM
So if anything arises from playing tonight the semi final can be postponed? I’d like to see st J’s argument against that. Giving out they kind of assurances doesn’t fill me with confidence that the spfl are sure their won’t be any detrimental effects from playing tonight’s match

11-01-2021, 05:25 PM

Hibs statementExcellent statement from Hibs. I don't think they could have done much more (short of forfeiting the match)

Because its not in the protocols...

Superb statement from Hibs. Coming out of this with a lot of support. Also reassuring regarding the SF

If they got a second positive test they’d be absolutely ****ed?

Robbo6-2
11-01-2021, 05:26 PM
So it seems the Semi is more important than the health of our players .

Its either safe to play or not. If we genuinely consider this to be unsafe we should not be playing.

11-01-2021, 05:27 PM
Severe consequences i'd imagine thats everything that goes with bringing the game into disrupt

Good statement. Important we put the semi final decision on record so there is no backtracking from the SPFL

h1bs4life

Very good statement as usual from us.

Let's get stuck into these soap dodging bar stewards :flag:

11-01-2021, 05:28 PM
Protocols have been broken and protocols for this have been followed.

Precedents have been set, but they may be superseded by the forthcoming appeals

It's only a precedent if it's an example to be followed. NY (proposed) action against St Mirren and co. will be suitably ignored if it doesn't suit.

So if anything arises from playing tonight the semi final can be postponed? I’d like to see st J’s argument against that. Giving out they kind of assurances doesn’t fill me with confidence that the spfl are sure their won’t be any detrimental effects from playing tonight’s match

So what are the SPL going to do if a Hibs player or a member of their family becomes seriously ill? Not sure a postponement of a semi final does much for that. Hibs should refuse to play

Hibs statement

Unreal.

To make life easier for the ‘unlucky’ victims.

11-01-2021, 05:29 PM
Unless we win?

Aye but, Covid blah blah blah.

11-01-2021, 05:30 PM

Celtic worried they find more players with Covid. After the way Hibs have been messed about, for Celtic to refuse providing their opponents with some added reassurance is pathetic and in keeping with the arrogance of Celtic.

Hibs need to hand out the punishment to SellickFootballClub this evening.

11-01-2021, 05:30 PM
So it seems the Semi is more important than the health of our players .

Its either safe to play or not. If we genuinely consider this to be unsafe we should not be playing.

I’d imagine it’s the semi final that is of concern for our players to be honest.

Power
11-01-2021, 05:31 PM
Thanks for your patience and support on this one - kept the club informed of supporters voices as we went through it - lots of moving parts right up to the last on this disappointing situation.

The club has been put in an awkward situation regarding player duty of care.

The club has future assurances as a minimum.

Get right behind the team tonight.

Celtic say protocols weren't broken.

John Kennedy admitted at the press conference on Saturday that they didn't always follow the rules whilst away. Sportsound just replayed it.

No Boyle tonight.

Paul1642
Starting XI: Macey, P. McGinn, Porteous, Hanlon ©, Doig, Hallberg, Gogic, Wright, Newell, Murphy, Nisbet.

Substitutes: Dabrowski, Gray, McGregor, Stevenson, S. McGinn, Mallan, Bradley, Gullan, Doidge.

11-01-2021, 05:32 PM
It's only a precedent if it's an example to be followed. NY (proposed) action against St Mirren and co. will be suitably ignored if it doesn't suit.And if the appeals fail then the precedent remains.

Sheep_Nae_Mair
As a matter of interest, who's carrying out Leanne's role currently?

it's pleasing a large majority of sellick fans appear to be putting the boot into their own club over this dubai holidaybob

Dr budge's fancyman tom english. and mikey stewart, would also like to know why sellick wouldn't do retesting

Andymac85
11-01-2021, 05:33 PM
What possible reason could the SPFL have to turn down the request for further tests?

https://twitter.com/CelticFC/status/1348699183549702147?s=20

it's pleasing a large majority of sellick fans appear to be putting the boot into their own club over this dubai holidaybobGood!

No Boyle in the squad fot this evening

11-01-2021, 05:34 PM
We should play an U20’s squad and leave our first team at home. Highlight how ****ing farcical this is

They’re a bunch of self entitled *****

Or not turn up at all

Finally .....Lennon finds a way to win games

So what are the SPL going to do if a Hibs player or a member of their family becomes seriously ill? Not sure a postponement of a semi final does much for that. Hibs should refuse to play

For the SPFL to threaten Hibs with punishment under these circumstances is outrageous. Hibs will go ahead, but any and all health consequences should land squarely on the SPFL. They better pray everyone comes through this ok.

So the league are willing to postpone the semi final if Hibs players get sick tonight, but not do anything about tonight’s game?!

Celtic

Hazard

Duffy
Soro
Turnbull
Rogic
Johnston
Frimpong
McGregor
Harper
Welsh
Laxalt

The Captain....
11-01-2021, 05:35 PM
Pretty much Hibs have asked for extra reassurance thru further testing , league refuse and start issuing all sorts of threats and sanctions. League run for the benefit of Celtic and Rangers right enough in case anyone was in any doubt.

Id love Hibs to have called the leagues bluff here and refused to play...the league this year is a farce anyway so what difference would it make. Ron could pay any fines out his loose change!:greengrin

11-01-2021, 05:35 PM
Still a half decent Celtic team

11-01-2021, 05:36 PM
it's pleasing a large majority of sellick fans appear to be putting the boot into their own club over this dubai holidaybob

They, like most other fans of clubs across Scotland, continued to pay for their season tickets to help cover the costs of the unusual situation we all find ourselves in. And they've watched their club charter a plane and fly halfway around the world for a jolly, and brought Covid back and jeopardised the continuity of the competition with their reckless disregard for an ongoing global pandemic. I'd be furious too if I were them (which, thank **** I'm not).

Chorley Hibee

There is no acceptable reason, and for the SPFL and Celtic to refuse the request is frankly beyond belief.

The governing body and Celtic FC have deliberately endangered Hibs players and staff this evening.

Yorkshire HFC
Michael Stewart very good on the radio at the moment. Sounds very sensible to me.

Whatever the rules are, Celtic and the SPFL have totally mis-read the room on this issue.

11-01-2021, 05:37 PM
Michael Stewart very good on the radio at the moment. Sounds very sensible to me.

Whatever the rules are, Celtic and the SPFL have totally mis-read the room on this issue.

He usually is to be fair.

11-01-2021, 05:38 PM

Wheras Daryl Broadfoot is being a bellend again

11-01-2021, 05:38 PM
Watch us get an early red card to even things out a bit

Paul1642
11-01-2021, 05:39 PM

Yep. No way is tonight’s ref being balanced. Call me paranoid 🙄

hibbytam
11-01-2021, 05:40 PM
There is no acceptable reason, and for the SPFL and Celtic to refuse the request is frankly beyond belief.

The governing body and Celtic FC have deliberately endangered Hibs players and staff this evening.

The only reason not to test is if you don't want to find out the result.

11-01-2021, 05:41 PM
Ridiculous we are being forced to play this. Hibs haven't done anything wrong and to refuse what is a reasonable request by us to have Celtic players and staff re-tested is just farcical. Here's hoping for 3 points and no outbreak in our club.

11-01-2021, 05:41 PM

Even things out? Think they still have a stronger team than we do!

11-01-2021, 05:42 PM
So the league are willing to postpone the semi final if Hibs players get sick tonight, but not do anything about tonight’s game?!

If any of our players get sick in the next few days, who’s to say it was because of playing Celtic? This will be their claim and the semi final won’t be cancelled. Forked tongues as usual. Bending over backwards to accommodate and protect the Old Firm.

Yorkshire HFC
11-01-2021, 05:43 PM
Wheras Daryl Broadfoot is being a bellend again

Totally - can't believe the nonsense he's coming out with.

Hibees1973
11-01-2021, 05:44 PM
Yup as I thought....only 2 Celtic players I have't heard of.....all the rest regular 1st teamers.

The Captain....
11-01-2021, 05:44 PM
Michael Stewart superb on Sportsound...Broadfoot defending the indefensible

Humber Hibby
11-01-2021, 05:45 PM
If I was a celtc player I would want the whole team tested again.

Broadfoot just shouting over everyone. Prick.

Pretty much Hibs have asked for extra reassurance thru further testing , league refuse and start issuing all sorts of threats and sanctions. League run for the benefit of Celtic and Rangers right enough in case anyone was in any doubt.

Id love Hibs to have called the leagues bluff here and refused to play...the league this year is a farce anyway so what difference would it make. Ron could pay any fines out his loose change!:greengrin

Can you ever imagine the situation in reverse ? Hibs force Celtic to move the game so we can swan off on a foreign holiday, then refuse to provide some reassurance to Celtic by having the players tested ? No chance.

Totally - can't believe the nonsense he's coming out with.

What did he say?

11-01-2021, 05:46 PM
One of the BBC pundits claiming that the clinical advice was not to test the Celtic players.

Dollars to doughnuts that anyone in the medical profession was that it would be a bad idea to do some testing. They may have decided it wasn't necessary, but I'd bet that they never said not to test them.

11-01-2021, 05:47 PM

I agree with your sentiments entirely, our team has had bouts of covid and another maybe upcoming passed on by the other teams players?
As for the SPFL/SFA to refuse further tests as an assurance to another team is terrible, but to compound it with draconian punishments if we don't carry out playing the game is dual standards!
Both Aberdeen and Celtic were caught out before and games were cancelled because of it, St Mirren and Kilmarnock are waiting to see if point deductions are to be overturned for missing games???
It seems to me that our governing body is fast making up rules as they go along, but it seems that its only really to protect the Old Firm????

Paul1642
11-01-2021, 05:47 PM
Broadfoots point about the results possibly not being back in time for kick of is irrelevant. I would rather find out that the player that I was marking for 90 mins was Covid positive a few hours after kick off rather than a few days later.

Also starting to think that Tom English isn’t all that awful when not speaking about Heats.

11-01-2021, 05:48 PM
Can you ever imagine the situation in reverse ? Hibs force Celtic to move the game so we can swan off on a foreign holiday, then refuse to provide some reassurance to Celtic by having the players tested ? No chance.

It’s that ridiculous a situation that it’s actually quite funny when you read it like that.

Which is quite sad really.

11-01-2021, 05:49 PM
Even things out? Think they still have a stronger team than we do!Thats the spirit.

The Captain....
11-01-2021, 05:50 PM
Lets face it the reason they didnt want to do further tests was in case there were more positives.

Absolute farce this game has gone ahead..players should walk off after game kicks off and give the Celtic Board the finger on their way off the park:greengrin

11-01-2021, 05:51 PM
That Celtic team's undoubtedly weakened but I'm not convinced it's weak enough for us to win.

We'll definitely need to play much better than we did in our last two matches if we're going to win.

Chorley Hibee
https://www.glasgowtimes.co.uk/news/19003247.sfa-chief-ian-maxwell-defends-celtics-dubai-trip/

Now Ian Maxwell defends Celtic trip.

I don't know why I even bother with the game in this country anymore, it's rigged to high heaven.

Thats the spirit.

Just reality, still full of millions of pounds worth of international quality players.

11-01-2021, 05:52 PM

Hibs statement

Last paragraph.
Gates, horses, bolts.

wow, dude that's hosting sportsound appears to be getting ratty all the others saying sellick very much in the blame

ex FM McLeish fully backin present FM, sellick should have the grace to at least apologise

Still a half decent Celtic team

8 of the first 11 are first team regulars.

11-01-2021, 05:55 PM
Duffy starts...

11-01-2021, 05:57 PM
wow, dude that's hosting sportsound appears to be getting ratty all the others saying sellick very much in the blame

ex FM McLeish fully backin present FM, sellick should have the grace to at least apologise
feel like giving him a standing ovation from the living room getting stuck right in go on :top marks

11-01-2021, 05:58 PM
https://www.glasgowtimes.co.uk/news/19003247.sfa-chief-ian-maxwell-defends-celtics-dubai-trip/

Now Ian Maxwell defends Celtic trip.

I don't know why I even bother with the game in this country anymore, it's rigged to high heaven.

no surprise the game in Scotland has always been fixed, and corrupt with two very vested interests feeding off the rest before they feed off each other, its called a cartel in any other country a religious cartel at that.
I always want Hibs to win but tonight I dont give a ***** and that is pretty sad for me.

11-01-2021, 05:59 PM
feel like giving him a standing ovation from the living room getting stuck right in go on :top marks

the orginisations getting it tight :agree:

i may even stand up myself at the end of the show for a wee clap at the radio :)

Paul1642
11-01-2021, 06:00 PM
Duffy starts...

Interesting. There is a photo is seemingly of Duffy travelling back alone by the same method that you or I would have to use out with any bubble. So why is he not quarantining?

EI255
11-01-2021, 06:00 PM
That Celtic team's undoubtedly weakened but I'm not convinced it's weak enough for us to win.

We'll definitely need to play much better than we did in our last two matches if we're going to win.a draw is no use to either club tonight. Hard to see us winning though

11-01-2021, 06:01 PM
What if one of our players contracts COVID and gets really sick? That is more than a football matter.

St Mirren forfeited a game for what, the guys sitting too close together on a bus?

May as well just outright state they’re too scared to punish Celtic.

BoyledEgg
Interesting. The attached photo is seemingly of Duffy travelling back alone by the same method that you or I would have to use out with any bubble. So why is he not quarantining?

John Kennedy said yesterday Duffy wouldn’t be able to play as he left the clubs bubble.

11-01-2021, 06:02 PM

We'll definitely need to play much better than we did in our last two matches if we're going to win.

we will have to play out of our skin to beat them. 8 of their starters would start for us!

11-01-2021, 06:03 PM
Interesting. There is a photo is seemingly of Duffy travelling back alone by the same method that you or I would have to use out with any bubble. So why is he not quarantining?

The ‘bubbles’ don’t exist.

pedroorange1875
Its already been proven he and Celtic have absolutely no clue whats going on

From the Scot.Gov site

United Arab Emirates, except Dubai (arrivals from Dubai will be required to self-isolate on arrival from 04:00 Monday 11 January 2021. Those passengers that have travelled back to Scotland from Dubai since 3 January 2021 are also being asked to isolate for 10 days, from the date they arrived back in the country)

I think this is what Dr. Bauld on the STV news was on about, Elite sportsmen/women getting different treatment from the rest of us!!!

John Kennedy said yesterday Duffy wouldn’t be able to play as he left the clubs bubble.

Scott McDermott
@scottmcdermott8

'I’m baffled by Shane Duffy’s inclusion in Celtic team. John Kennedy told us categorically on Saturday that he’d miss Hibs game because he’d flown home early and independently from Dubai to see family, so had therefore ‘left the bubble’ and would have to self isolate. Bizarre...'

The Captain....
11-01-2021, 06:04 PM

Glad you confirmed that as I was beginning to think Id imagined reading it somewhere ...how is he suddenly playing now?

11-01-2021, 06:07 PM
Glad you confirmed that as I was beginning to think Id imagined reading it somewhere ...how is he suddenly playing now?

Kennedy was probably wrong when he spoke. There aren’t bubbles to protect sports people, they are just exempt from many of the isolation rules.

If he has tested negative and he was not identified as one of the contacts from the positive test then I don’t see why he shouldn’t be playing just because he came back on a different plane.

11-01-2021, 06:07 PM
So how the ****s Duffy starting tonight if he’d left the bubble?

Yet we’re being told to trust the protocols in place???

11-01-2021, 06:08 PM
https://twitter.com/KerryFail/status/1348706983843659783?s=20

11-01-2021, 06:08 PM

So why is he paying then :confused:

Magpie
11-01-2021, 06:09 PM
Walker ripping into Celtic here.

Andy Walker not pulling his punches. Calling Celtic right out

First time I have ever agreed with Andy Walker

So why is he paying then :confused:

Kennedy was wrong.

The Captain....
11-01-2021, 06:10 PM
Kennedy was probably wrong when he spoke. There aren’t bubbles to protect sports people, they are just exempt from many of the isolation rules.

If he has tested negative and he was not identified as one of the contacts from the positive test then I don’t see why he shouldn’t be playing just because he came back on a different plane.

not sure I agree with you but thanks for trying to give an explanation...if he was outside the party that travelled then how has he not had to quarantine when returning like any other person would? thats the part im not getting.

Paul1642
11-01-2021, 06:12 PM
Kennedy was wrong.

But in what way was what he said wrong.

Duffy appears to have flown back on a standard commercial flight for personal reasons outwith any sort of “elite sport bubble”. If I were on that flight I would be in quarantine right now. So why is he not?

I can’t understand this one.

11-01-2021, 06:12 PM
not sure I agree with you but thanks for trying to give an explanation...if he was outside the party that travelled then how has he not had to quarantine when returning like any other person would? thats the part im not getting.

He’s, now don’t laugh, an elite sports person. Same as when they go abroad for international games. They don’t have to be travelling with every other team member to be exempt.

Think this is just Kennedy talking nonsense. They aren’t in bubbles.

cannastar
11-01-2021, 06:13 PM
give andy walker his due called it for what it is a dubai jolly. never thought id hear him as vocal in criticism of celtic.

11-01-2021, 06:14 PM

Duffy appears to have flown back on a standard commercial flight for personal reasons outwith any sort of “elite sport bubble”. If I were on that flight I would be in quarantine right now. So why is he not?

Forget the bubble thing - there aren’t any. It’s the status of the sport person that matters.

I am assuming here but you might not be an elite footballer?

He’s, now don’t laugh, an elite sports person. Same as when they go abroad for international games. They don’t have to be travelling with every other team member to be exempt.

Surely Kennedy wouldn’t come out and say that in a presser unless he was 100% sure of it?

This is going to end up in disaster and I’d be very surprised if we don’t end up with an outbreak because of it

That’s what I’m not getting either.

Unless we’re to believe that he flew by private jet...which seems unlikely

No Boyle in the squad fot this evening

On Covid strike😉

The Count
11-01-2021, 06:15 PM
Just thought if Scott Allan was fit in top form and out main man we in all fairnest to his health could not play him tonight.That the posotion Celtic has put all our players.Would you play say your wife was sheilding/pregnant.Answer NO.

The Captain....
11-01-2021, 06:16 PM

:greengrin:greengrin i couldnt help laughing at the absurdity of that rule...my understanding was as much as possible sports people were to limit their contact with others..travelling on a commercial flight seems to me to be one of the least sensible things to do if you are trying to avoid catching anything, let alone at the height of a global pandemic.

Surely Kennedy wouldn’t come out and say that in a presser unless he was 100% sure of it?

This is going to end up in disaster and I’d be very surprised if we don’t end up with an outbreak because of it

Well, he is playing and I think it is very widely understood that there aren’t bubbles and also that sport people are travelling in all sorts of ways for international games etc.

So yes, adds up to him being wrong in what he was saying - or he misunderstood some aspect of him being out with the testing.

Paul1642
Forget the bubble thing - there aren’t any. It’s the status of the sport person that matters.

I am assuming here but you might not be an elite footballer?

I don’t doubt you are technically correct but what a joke. Is he any more resilient to Covid that I am? I was under the impression that athletes could only go overseas as they would remain entirety in a bubble as wild the team they are playing against.

How did they pick the people to be isolated, surely everyone who travelled to Dubai has been compromised and should be isolating?:confused:

The Captain....
11-01-2021, 06:18 PM
Just thought if Scott Allan was fit in top form and out main man we in all fairnest to his health could not play him tonight.That the posotion Celtic has put all our players.Would you play say your wife was sheilding/pregnant.Answer NO.

Fair point...the other thing I was thinking is that players may have family members who are at higher risk if contracting covid..its a very poor position to put the Hibs players in imo.

11-01-2021, 06:18 PM
That’s what I’m not getting either.

Unless we’re to believe that he flew by private jet...which seems unlikely

A local guy in our town is a professional golfer and travels to tournaments on commercial flights. They require testing before leaving and again on return - he will fall into the same elite sports regulations.

cannastar
11-01-2021, 06:19 PM
boyd saying about duffy leaving bubble getting right into celtic questioning why he is playing after celtic said he couldnt be selected demanding answers.

OstKurve Hibs
We should make a stand here and refuse to play the game,if the sfa start their *****, take them to courtx they wont have a leg to stand on

give andy walker his due called it for what it is a dubai jolly. never thought id hear him as vocal in criticism of celtic.
yup he's raging fair play to him

So how the ****s Duffy starting tonight if he’d left the bubble?

Yet we’re being told to trust the protocols in place???

There are no bubbles. If we had them in football our players would leave them every time they go home after training.A real bubble is like they had in the cricket where the hotel is at thr ground and the players never leave.

11-01-2021, 06:20 PM

You want to play someone who has diabetes, one of the highest risk groups who have had a disproportionately high death rate from Covid is about as crazy an idea as I've heard in a long time. Absolutely sgree NO

11-01-2021, 06:20 PM
Kennedy was wrong.

So why are so many folk on tv/media starting to question it.

11-01-2021, 06:21 PM
boyd saying about duffy leaving bubble getting right into celtic questioning why he is playing after celtic said he couldnt be selected demanding answers.

I love that he whapped his phone out as if he was reading right off some tweet a rangers fans sent :hilarious

11-01-2021, 06:22 PM
Would love us to start the game then walk off after 5 mins. See what the SPFL does about that. I am sure we will win any argument.

18Craig75
Well, he is playing and I think it is very widely understood that there aren’t bubbles and also that sport people are travelling in all sorts of ways for international games etc.

So yes, adds up to him being wrong in what he was saying - or he misunderstood some aspect of him being out with the testing.

I believe all elite sports teams and players need to return a positive test before each game.

11-01-2021, 06:23 PM
Strachan says Duffy comes back into the bubble following a negative test...

11-01-2021, 06:25 PM
So why are so many folk on tv/media starting to question it.

Because they aren’t as clued up as they should be? 😉

I’m glad that we’ve been given assurances for the semi final should we have a breakout in the squad...obviously means little when players’ health is on the line mind you

But if the situation occurs and the time comes, will these assurances be followed through? Guess we’ll see

Strachan says Duffy comes back into the bubble following a negative test...

Forget the bubble. He didn’t say that.

11-01-2021, 06:26 PM
You want to play someone who has diabetes, one of the highest risk groups who have had a disproportionately high death rate from Covid is about as crazy an idea as I've heard in a long time. Absolutely sgree NO

That’s the total opposite of what he said :greengrin

11-01-2021, 06:27 PM
I believe all elite sports teams and players need to return a positive test before each game.

No wonder Covid is spreading so fast!

11-01-2021, 06:27 PM
Forget the bubble. He didn’t say that.

If Strachan didn't use the word 'bubble', the interviewer did. One of them said it! :greengrin

11-01-2021, 06:30 PM
So they were happy to test Duffy again but not the rest of them.

Hibs1969
11-01-2021, 06:31 PM
Blinkered idiot at the best of times.
Bonnar was highly critical of Celtic in the portion of the programme I heard. He certainly gave Broadfoot both barrels when he spouted that they were within their rights not to agree to same day testing on the basis that the results might not be back in time.

Andy Walker was even more critical on Sky Sports. I thought he was about to spontaneously combust he was so angry. He’s spot on though, bunch of arrogant w*nks.

11-01-2021, 06:31 PM
So they were happy to test Duffy again but not the rest of them.Great point

11-01-2021, 06:32 PM

It’s an absolute mess. To be fair, I’m thrilled Duffy is playing. But it’s still a shambles.

11-01-2021, 06:32 PM

He’d have been tested with the rest of them.

11-01-2021, 06:34 PM

Ridiculous.

11-01-2021, 06:34 PM

They were tested on Friday

11-01-2021, 06:35 PM

I thought Strachan just said he had been tested again. I could be wrong though. :greengrin

11-01-2021, 06:35 PM

Only if he's negative. Can't chance the rest of them not being

11-01-2021, 06:36 PM

No he wasn't, he left Dubai early. The rest of the squad were tested before coming home on Friday.

Zambernardi1875
11-01-2021, 06:37 PM
0-0 on the cards

11-01-2021, 06:38 PM
I thought Strachan just said he had been tested again. I could be wrong though. :greengrin

He did say that..separate test to allow him to rejoin the their “bubble”

11-01-2021, 06:38 PM
Sounds like Jack Ross wanted the game postponed.

11-01-2021, 06:40 PM
No he wasn't, he left Dubai early. The rest of the squad were tested before coming home on Friday.

Fair enough.

11-01-2021, 06:43 PM
There are no bubbles. If we had them in football our players would leave them every time they go home after training.A real bubble is like they had in the cricket where the hotel is at thr ground and the players never leave.

I have to disagree ancient, West Ham sign about them all the time, perhaps they would have been better saying the players are kept in ballons and no bubbles.

11-01-2021, 06:45 PM
Absolute arrogance again from Celtic and the SFA. We aren’t consulted on the fixture change in the first place and then when the implications of their jolly become apparent we’re forced to play.

11-01-2021, 07:08 PM
I am really going to revel in that clubs distraught when they realise they’ve lost “the 10” at the last hurdle. They’ll be heartbroken and it’ll serve them ****ing right.

EI255
11-01-2021, 08:17 PM
Never one for taking in advertising boards, but can't help finding how sad it is when there's vodka and lager ones heavily featured in tonight's game. Not what we should be encouraging.

EI255
11-01-2021, 08:21 PM
Crocker "not quite sure who John McGinn will be supporting tonight"

WTF?

Is he for real?

hhibs
11-01-2021, 09:36 PM
Crocker "not quite sure who John McGinn will be supporting tonight"

WTF?

Is he for real?

Thought that myself,stupid thing to say not withstanding his legend status at Hibs he going to wish his two brothers get beat??

11-01-2021, 09:46 PM
I`m assuming the choice of the HSL yellow shirt tonight was more than deliberate given it doesn`t display the "Thank You NHS" message?

Allez Hibs
11-01-2021, 09:48 PM
I`m assuming the choice of the HSL yellow shirt tonight was more than deliberate given it doesn`t display the "Thank You NHS" message?

Think they should have worn the grey kit with Thank You NHS on it tbf tonight.

11-01-2021, 09:49 PM
Thought that myself,stupid thing to say not withstanding his legend status at Hibs he going to wish his two brothers get beat??

Just a bit of general slavering from Crocker, and the silence by both him and Walker briefly after the nonsensical remark evidence that they both knew it.

Good commentator though.

11-01-2021, 09:52 PM
Think they should have worn the grey kit with Thank You NHS on it tbf tonight.

Maybe given the circus leading up to the fixture, we didn`t think it would be appropriate to wear a message of support to the NHS after expressing our concerns and subsequent statement?

Actually sent out a stronger message of support I thought.

11-01-2021, 09:58 PM
Delighted we’ve hammered the final nail in the coffin of 10IAR

HibeeHibernian4
11-01-2021, 10:00 PM
Delighted we’ve hammered the final nail in the coffin of 10IAR

Now to work on making sure next season it's one and done for Rangers. :greengrin

hibbydog
11-01-2021, 10:02 PM
Absolute arrogance again from Celtic and the SFA. We aren’t consulted on the fixture change in the first place and then when the implications of their jolly become apparent we’re forced to play.

100%

Pains me to say it too, but Andy Walker was bang on the money with his comments tonight.

Despicable arrogant rats. We should have refused to play them.

12-01-2021, 06:27 AM

Chorley Hibee
12-01-2021, 07:58 AM
According to the press this morning Graeme Mathie was less than impressed with the contribution of the PFA.

What is the point of a union that fails to protect its members.

12-01-2021, 11:22 AM
Ian Maxwell confirms pics of Celtic stars in Dubai ARE being looked at by SFA compliance officer

https://t.co/3HPb3nY7xo https://t.co/JP3tWpfVy3

12-01-2021, 11:27 AM
Ian Maxwell confirms pics of Celtic stars in Dubai ARE being looked at by SFA compliance officer

Celtic already have a small suspended fine hanging over them, from the Bolongoli incident

12-01-2021, 11:37 AM

So they were so satisfied with the explanation given by Celtic that they are investigating the pictures anyway? What more are they looking for if the game went ahead? Verruca's?

12-01-2021, 01:36 PM

Think this will be from his interview where he said the compliance officer looks at plenty of things daily and this could be investigated. He was extremely clever avoiding the question, but as the game went ahead I’m going to say there will be no investigation or case to answer.

12-01-2021, 07:04 PM
Neil Lennon has tested positive for Covid.

:shocked:

Where are you seeing that about?

Paul1642
12-01-2021, 07:09 PM
Neil Lennon has tested positive for Covid.

If you saw this on Superscorebord Twitter it’s a fake account.

Magpie
12-01-2021, 07:28 PM
If you saw this on Superscorebord Twitter it’s a fake account.

Ah yeah only just realised! Easily fooled 😂

12-01-2021, 07:59 PM
He did say that..separate test to allow him to rejoin the their “bubble”

Did he not say "re-join them for a bubble"?

13-01-2021, 04:34 PM
A 4 minute video apology from Lawell on Celtic website

13-01-2021, 04:35 PM
Celtic chief exec Peter Lawwell on club’s controversial trip to Dubai: “On reflection..clearly it was a mistake and for that I profusely apologise to our supporters.” https://t.co/cLGfBaW0QX

13-01-2021, 04:39 PM
A 4 minute video apology from Lawell on Celtic website

No much of an apology really. Apologised to their supporters, that’s it. And also managed to get comment in about some of the criticism being unfair.

13-01-2021, 04:49 PM
No much of an apology really. Apologised to their supporters, that’s it. And also managed to get comment in about some of the criticism being unfair.

A wee wee apology😀