View Full Version : Match Updates Aberdeen 2 - 0 Hibs

Pages : 1 2 [3] 4

Hibees1973
06-11-2020, 08:14 PM
Aberdeen are just better. Have been for years. Pure and simple. We'll probably finish fourth.

Exactly. And on this showing it will take a few more years to match them.

They just seem to pinch the players we need and have a solid structure at the back. The current format in Scotland means that third is the best we will be and then get to the Europa League group stage.

We are still a fair bit away from that, but thankfully a lot better than we were 6 or 7 years ago.

Lets not forget that.

Very soft. But still a pen

HendoDelivered
Sideways pass, sideways pass, HOOOOOF.

Embarrassing stuff

Another good pen shout not given

Never a pen. Would go nuts if that was given against us.

06-11-2020, 08:15 PM
We’re you expecting people praising a fine performance?

No, of course not. But the (insert player here) is pish is just tiresome.

06-11-2020, 08:16 PM

Ok then, they're all pish!

Soft as **** foul on l Ferguson there

Sent from my VOG-L29 using Tapatalk

Think I did more steps going to the shop tonight than Murphys done tonight.

06-11-2020, 08:17 PM
Foul on Boyle not given then Dons get one after good tackle with Hibs breaking. At least we looked annoyed at the ref

06-11-2020, 08:17 PM
Heckys team battered them at Pittodrie. Somehow managed to draw though

Hecky’s team was normally devoid of ideas in attack. This is very similar. Ross under big pressure for me. Very poor reaction to poor result last weekend, and standard of play is shocking. Hit and hope seems our plan...

HendoDelivered
06-11-2020, 08:18 PM
That Hedges is a player IMO but his barnet is abysmal

Watching this pish every week is becoming tiresome.

We are getting over run in midfield against all but the worst teams in the league. It’s a problem that’s not been solved from last season. That is on Jack Ross.

Mikey_1875
Don’t know if we have it in us but surely just start throwing the kitchen sink now

Some posters are absolutely prolific when we’re not doing quite as well.

I find that more pathetic than anything the team are doing.

We are getting over run in midfield against all but the worst teams in the league. It’s a problem that’s not been solved from last season. That is on Jack Ross.

Sent from my iPhone using TapatalkWhat does that have to do with the post you quoted?

06-11-2020, 08:19 PM

I find that more pathetic than anything the team are doing.Ditto.

Think I did more steps going to the shop tonight than Murphys done tonight.

He’s clearly a “oh Horgan is leaving, who can we go for” signing rather than someone we’ve been after otherwise.

Just keep Horgan ffs.

Saint Hibee
Fenlonesque.

06-11-2020, 08:20 PM
What does that have to do with the post you quoted?

It also has very little to do with tonight as we are not being over run in midfield at all.

Even the corners have been poor tonight.

Things Aberdeen haven't done - made any mistakes at the back, miss glaring chances we've presented to them, lost defensive shape or discipline at any time.

It might not be aesthetically beautiful or edge-of-your-seat entertaining but it has been very efficient.

Yup I'm glad I decided to watch this one, because now there can be no dillusion, we are short of having a squad capable of third place. Not the end of the world at least we know it's inexperience and our mistakes that's costing us against Aberdeen. That's two games against them we don't look like scoring. Now we know.

If we want to try and build any sort of success as a club we can’t keep chasing the manager every time he loses a couple of games. Ross deserves way more time than this.

06-11-2020, 08:21 PM
62% possession and Aberdeen only have the 2 shots on target we gifted them.

06-11-2020, 08:21 PM
What will happen first: Pennsylvania is declared for Biden, or Hibs score a goal against Aberdeen?

06-11-2020, 08:22 PM
What will happen first: Pennsylvania is declared for Biden, or Hibs score a goal against Aberdeen?

Paul Hanlon hitting these long passes is getting on my wick, one in a hundred attempts comes off.

Hanlons trademark 50 yard diagonals usually signal the end of a spell of passing back and forward along the back and immediately hand possession back to the opponents. You are right, it’s bloody awful to watch.

Biden re-elected in 2024. :greengrin

Hecky’s team was normally devoid of ideas in attack. This is very similar. Ross under big pressure for me. Very poor reaction to poor result last weekend, and standard of play is shocking. Hit and hope seems our plan...

Not sure he's under massive pressure. Best start to a season in my lifetime. Last week was dissapointing of course it was but losing to Aberdeen at Pittodrie is usually the outcome. He'll be under pressure if we don't win again before Christmas, we will though.

I find that more pathetic than anything the team are doing.

Some posters are very high and mighty as well......

Hibs players slipping all over the place today.

06-11-2020, 08:23 PM

They will do a recount before we bloody score.

Mallan has made a bit of a difference

HendoDelivered
Mallan always looking for the ball and looking to make w forward pass

62% possession and Aberdeen only have the 2 shots on target we gifted them.

That's the problem with gifting Aberdeen goals though. They'll let us have the ball but see the game out without breaking sweat. As soon as they went 1 up so early it was game over.

06-11-2020, 08:24 PM
Ross hasn’t tried to change anything. Like for like subs. Same thing keeps happening.

He's unlikely to make the difference tonight, but Mallan is looking quite nimble.

A formation that accommodates him in an advanced position might be useful.

I think we're in a position where we're going to struggle to fit in all of Murphy, Boyle, Nisbet and Doidge. We might need to sacrifice one of our better players to end up with something that is greater than the sum of it's parts.

Mallan has made a bit of a difference

He works harder at least.
Man for man though, the Aberdeen team work harder than ours and that’s before you get to the fact they are better players.

Unreal that Boyle has got a full game. We have 4 wingers that don’t seem able to run past a full back.

06-11-2020, 08:25 PM
Good foul there.

If we want to try and build any sort of success as a club we can’t keep chasing the manager every time he loses a couple of games. Ross deserves way more time than this.

Aberdeen twice and Hearts. He’s lost the three most important games we have played so far , games we need to win if we want to progress as a club.

Hanlon a lucky laddie.

06-11-2020, 08:26 PM
Defending there was howling. Halon lucky not to see red.

Ross hasn’t tried to change anything. Like for like subs. Same thing keeps happening.

Not worked for 75 mins, does he change it, does he ****.

Saint Hibee
Hanlon lucky.

MikeyS
That's the problem with gifting Aberdeen goals though. They'll let us have the ball but see the game out without breaking sweat. As soon as they went 1 up so early it was game over.

I'd wager that 50% of that possession is wee passes between Hanlon, Rocky & Porteous too. Absolutely no threat to Aberdeen

Pressure will build regardless of any chasing. Poor results in derbies can be difficult to recover from. We had perfect game to bounce back in and we’ve not turned up (as yet). If we play like this against any team in the league we’d struggle. Slow, ponderous and in my opinion some of the players look like they’ve resigned to losing this game.

If this is start of a poor run then Ross will be under big pressure. He doesn’t have players to swap in for poor performers.

Thought Hanlon was lucky there but the fact it was out wide has probably saved him from a red card.

northern-hibee
06-11-2020, 08:27 PM
Utterly pathetic performance

I'd wager that 50% of that possession is wee passes between Hanlon, Rocky & Porteous too. Absolutely no threat to Aberdeen

Exactly. They even still look the most dangerous here while not having to get out of second gear.

bringbackbenny
Defending there was howling. Halon lucky not to see red.

Nope, booking yes but never a goal scoring opportunity. But of course that doesn't fit your agenda.

Doig headers the ball out for a throw in that's a definite goal kick. Where's the communication, Hanlon, Marciano?

So many mistakes tonight it's unbelievable.

06-11-2020, 08:28 PM
Embarrassing we can’t even give them a game

More time. Not sure about way more time.

We talked about this game being huge and a chance to right the wrongs from Saturday. So far it's been less than convincing.

Not one attempt on goal is really poor.

Loads of possession, just all in front of Aberdeen. Seems if Boyle doesn’t play well, then the whole team doesn’t.

Derek McInnes has used the same strategy against Hibs for almost four years and we've beaten him twice.

Embarrassing we can’t even give them a gameI'm not embarrassed by tonight.

2 mistakes is the difference.

Mikey_1875
06-11-2020, 08:29 PM
Cant understand why the comms keep saying there’s nothing in the game. We can’t lay a glove on them at all and they are two nil up, always at arms length

I wouldn’t like to be betting my house on it that’s for sure.

This is absolutely chronic

Yep, predictable isn't it.

Chorley Hibee

That's really pissed me off too. Continuing to persist with the same style/formation that has produced absolutely nothing the whole game.

Abysmal performance, Aberdeen players won't need to wash their shirts after this.

Saint Hibee
Is this side really any better than Heckingbottom or Fenlon sides?

06-11-2020, 08:30 PM
No shots on target?

That was absolutely scandalous stuff at the back there. Embarrassing.

Magpie
Defence is a bombscare

We’ve not had a shot on goal in 83 minutes.

We’re meant to be a good team going forward......

yonder1875
I'm not embarrassed by tonight.

This is a very easy take on tonight’s game, they went two up early doors and knew they didn’t have to break sweat afterwards because they are good at seeing games out and we’ve not threatened their goal once.

The league table would suggest so

Nope, booking yes but never a goal scoring opportunity. But of course that doesn't fit your agenda.

If he passes Hanlon he's in on goal...:confused:

dmc1875
06-11-2020, 08:31 PM
We’re actually pretty garbage in a lot of games. Aberdeen are what they are but they are streets ahead of us as they know how to grind out games.

We get better results than Heckingbottom was getting. We don’t really play any better though. We came away from plenty games last season under PH wondering how we got beat. This season I’ve came away from a good few wondering how we’ve won.

That's really pissed me off too. Continuing to persist with the same style/formation that has produced absolutely nothing the whole game.

Abysmal performance, Aberdeen players won't need to wash their shirts after this.

What team in the world plays 2 in CM these days

some aberdeen players walking about smoking cigars

Andymac85
I hope the manager doesn’t come out and make excuses for this. It’s not been good enough and that’s what he needs to say.

I'd go as far to say this has been Aberdeen's easiest game of the season.

What an embarrassingly meek performance, players need a rocket after that, not one of them looked like they wanted to make a game of it.

If the incentive of going 2nd in the league wasn't enough for our players tonight we are in trouble.

Fine margins again?

This is a very easy take on tonight’s game, they went two up early doors and knew they didn’t have to break sweat afterwards because they are good at seeing games out and we’ve not threatened their goal once.I'm still not embarrassed.

Disappointed yes, but definitely not embarrassed.

06-11-2020, 08:32 PM
Aberdeen twice and Hearts. He’s lost the three most important games we have played so far , games we need to win if we want to progress as a club.

The first game against Aberdeen, we lost a **** pen that lost us the game.

The game against Hearts we missed a pen that would’ve won us the game.

Tonight’s been *****.

We are progressing as a club. Ross hasn’t even had a year.

We’ve no even had a shot on goal.

We have shown absolutely nothing. In any aspect of the game.

This is absolutely chronic

No really we just are not all that good.

That’s nonsense. Aberdeen have been better all over the pitch. They have been in complete control from the first minute to the last.
And it’s lazy to say it’s down to two mistakes. Aberdeen didn’t have players bad enough to make those mistakes. That’s why they are streets ahead of us.

Pressure will build regardless of any chasing. Poor results in derbies can be difficult to recover from. We had perfect game to bounce back in and we’ve not turned up (as yet). If we play like this against any team in the league we’d struggle. Slow, ponderous and in my opinion some of the players look like they’ve resigned to losing this game.

If this is start of a poor run then Ross will be under big pressure. He doesn’t have players to swap in for poor performers.

Well aye, if he takes us on a run of getting pumped and sliding down the league then he’ll deservedly be under big pressure. Losing two games, albeit big ones, doesn’t merit that for me yet.

How long until we blow the 7 point gap between us and Dundee Utd?

sorrow sorrow
Ross is a decent manager for us,his signings have been ok.
Until we start out spending Aberdeen etc 4th/5th is the best we can expect.
We r very average with ZERO creativity and not one player that gets us out or seats.
We r really boring to watch let’s be honest

Porteous is going to need a few weeks out the side. We need to remember he’s young, if this downturn in his game isn’t managed effectively by the manager he’s at risk of becoming a horror show.

Magpie
06-11-2020, 08:33 PM
Celtic will beat us too.

It has players in it that Fenlon would have given his right arm for.

As a team it isn't there yet, but the bones of a side is there.

Decent transfer activity and some difficult decisions lie ahead.

The game was done after 5 minutes. That's a depressing thought.

EVENTUALLY
We're sitting with 62% possession with 5 mins to go and have created nothing. Very poor.

Like for like subs, fair enough as there is not much on the bench but no dynamic alteration to our play.

I'm still not embarrassed.

Disappointed yes, but definitely not embarrassed.

Not embarrassed at all. More embarrassed at the overreaction on here.

And the no attempts on goal?

Well aye, if he takes us on a run of getting pumped and sliding down the league then he’ll deservedly be under big pressure. Losing two games, albeit big ones, doesn’t merit that for me yet.

What about losing several big games over his tenure?

06-11-2020, 08:34 PM
Won't be long before the usual suspects are calling for the managers head, we are not even winning in Europe now. 😂😂

That’s nonsense. Aberdeen have been better all over the pitch. They have been in complete control from the first minute to the last.
And it’s lazy to say it’s down to two mistakes. Aberdeen didn’t have players bad enough to make those mistakes. That’s why they are streets ahead of us.

Sent from my iPhone using TapatalkSo the match hasn't been decided by the 2 mistakes.

Fine.

HendoDelivered
Another season of them pipping us to 3rd or 4th spor

Magpie
Whole defence needs dropped after the last week

Celtic will beat us too.

Anybody will beat us playing like this.

Lacklustre

Honestly? That’s one of the worst comments so far, in a thread with lots of competition for utter drivel.

He’s now lost more of the big games we’ve had than win or draw them.

It’s just completely deflating when all we were after was some reaction to last weeks poor result.

On tonight’s showing HC not very long at all :fuming:

murray26
This has been horrible.. we’ve no chance of 3rd Aberdeen are streets ahead of us..

BegbieHSC
06-11-2020, 08:35 PM
We actually had a shot ?

Don’t think tonight has taught us anything we don’t know. Aberdeen are still a long distance in front of us in terms of squad, know how and consistency. I’m not sure many of our players would get into the Aberdeen team in the cold light of day. We are also a top midfielder short (hopefully that ends up being Mcgennis) and Gogic & Newell need another body in beside them other than against the poorer teams.

Think we’ll be flat track bullies this season. Beat the teams we should. Lose to those better than us. That’s progress from where we were IMO, but not as much orogress as I’d hoped we were making.

noz
poorest performance of the season. We need Boyle,Nisbet Murphy to be in form. to have any chance.

We actually had a shot ?

Nope.

It might be a radical tactic, but I reckon trying the odd shot at goal might be worth a try.

We are miles behind Aberdeen. You just need to look at the strength of squad.

We could play until next Friday and we would never score.

I wish there was a hibs forum that didn’t consist of people taking the piss out of the team

I'm starting to think that we might not win the league now.

06-11-2020, 08:36 PM
And the no attempts on goal?

Yep, not even one pishy shot to count. I can’t remember a game where we haven’t managed one shot even off target. It’s absolutely rank.

Porteous is going to need a few weeks out the side. We need to remember he’s young, if this downturn in his game isn’t managed effectively by the manager he’s at risk of becoming a horror show.
Paul McGinn has looked just as ropey and hasn't been great for a few weeks after a terrific start to the season. We are suffering with a very small squad with nothing on the bench to play up front and 4 or 5 players completely losing form for around a month now.

Andymac85
Not embarrassed at all. More embarrassed at the overreaction on here.

I always find it amusing when those criticising are accused of overreacting or being hysterical. I guess I’m just not particularly satisfied with watching a game where we can’t muster a single shot on target, perhaps you are.

We actually had a shot ?

What’s a shot?

st.johnstone beating killie is a good result for us

st.mirren drawing with dundee utd is a good result for us

Prob not quick enough for you.

Yep, not even one pishy shot to count. I can’t remember a game where we haven’t managed one shot even off target. It’s absolutely rank.There have been a couple of pishy shots that were closed down/blocked.

That started with p and rhymed with fish.

Every time we lose to Aberdeen there is a list of reasons why they were lucky rather than better than us. Last time it was because Gogic was out. How did we do with him in the side tonight? Tonight it's because 'we gifted them 2 goals', how many goals did they gift us?

That game was over after 5 minutes, the last 85+ was just fulfilling an obligation. I'm not for starting a witch hunt against the manager or whatever but there is no point in dressing that up as anything it wasn't. It wasn't a decent performance and/or a case of a mistake being the difference. Aberdeen took their chances then saw the game out as we know they can do, we didn't have an answer to that.

06-11-2020, 08:37 PM
I wish there was a hibs forum that didn’t consist of people taking the piss out of the team

I wish there was a Hibs team that didn't take the pish out us fans.

Nope.

We have had a couple of attempts to be fair, not on target though, but we have had a couple.

Exactly

hibsboy69
Can't wait to see the player ratings for this game !

No pass marks at all.

Abominable.

Magpie

👍🏻

I wish there was a Hibs team that didn't take the pish out us fans.Yeah, because that's what they set out to do...

Shot on target. Wey-hey.

On tonight’s showing HC not very long at all :fuming:

Really? Cos they just drew 0-0 at St Mirren, where we won 3-0 not too long ago.

Chorley Hibee
06-11-2020, 08:38 PM
We had the same spineless performance in Aberdeen after losing to Hearts last season too.

As someone mentioned earlier, we had the opportunity to build upon 2016, yet here we are with a side that couldn't lace their boots.

Signings like Stephen McGinn, Drey Wright and Murphy, the usual short term, desperation signings that nearly always appear after failing to acquire what we actually need.

Of course we'll hear about how Aberdeen are awful etc, yet once again they've beaten us without breaking sweat.

Mediocrity remains the default setting at ER.

We lack pace and we don’t play crisply or incisively enough. That and a lack of depth in terms of genuine options off the bench. We can play decent football but we do it far too slowly and we’re not exactly unpredictable in tactics and style.
I thought against Hearts we looked like a team playing within ourselves and I don’t know if that’s to do with confidence, hunger, fitness, balance or leadership. We just don’t look consistently like we’re desperate to get on the pitch and get after the opposition for all 90 minutes.

hibsboy69

Spot on !

noz
not sure what Wrights best position is. Hes not good enough to be centre mid, and hes not a winger either.

Good chance.

Wee Mickey
Porteous isn’t going to get any better than his recent performances. He’s an average centre back at best.

Our quality going forward tonight has been non existent.

There have been a couple of pishy shots that were closed down/blocked.

Hope sportscene have managed to capture these highlights then.

aberdeen keeper makes a save, of sorts

There are different ways that you can lose a game and while you're not happy to lose, you can take something from the performance. Not today.

06-11-2020, 08:39 PM
One of our worst performances under Ross, in my book. We haven't laid a glove on them, our use of the ball has been truly awful. Defence looks the shakiest it has been for months.

We really could have done with showing up tonight to put the Hampden capitulation out of our minds, so this is about as poorly as the game could have gone for us. An absolute walk in the park for the Dons, again.

Still, our league position is strong, our manager has made a good start overall, and we've plenty of capable players who need to refind their form.

As with most things in football, the answer is somewhere between 'ffs we're absolute ****, Ross out' and 'we're going to win the league'.

This is a very easy take on tonight’s game, they went two up early doors and knew they didn’t have to break sweat afterwards because they are good at seeing games out and we’ve not threatened their goal once.

They are good at seeing it out because that's their strength, difficult to see any Hibs strength tonight, definitely not worthy of third going by the last few games. I just hope we are good enough for fourth.

Fraser Fyvie a dons fan to the core eh.

Porteous isn’t going to get any better than his recent performances. He’s an average centre back at best.

He’ll certainly never be Scotland captain as he was touted to be. I’d be surprised if he steps up from us.

Really? Cos they just drew 0-0 at St Mirren, where we won 3-0 not too long ago.
Are you watching tonight’s performance then Easty ?

skyehibee
06-11-2020, 08:40 PM
Disgraceful performance. The most frustrating thing is Aberdeen weren’t actually that good. We are just so bad defensively and our attacking play is laughable.

He’ll not be at Hibs through his own doing. Needs to get team playing football. If he doesn’t and football and results continue in negative trend then he’ll be out. On large we’ve played average football under Ross (at best). He needs to call the players out as well but I think he’ll just say “Mistakes, fine margins, struggled today and we’ll go again”.

Jack Ross must have some amount of sleepless nights when we play Aberdeen, Hearts, Celtic and Rangers.

Magpie
Aberdeen shown tonight why they are the 3rd best team in Scotland with a few injuries too.

A game at Pittodrie against a far superior side was maybe not the best game to play after Saturday.

06-11-2020, 08:41 PM
Boo!

Full time thank God.

Only plus is not wasting petrol going up there.

Well that wasn't very good.

Cliff and Tam constantly saying ‘not a lot between the sides’ is doing my nut in.[emoji23][emoji23][emoji23]

Fine margins, the ref was rubbish, its the fans fault etc

Disgraceful performance. The most frustrating thing is Aberdeen weren’t actually that good. We are just so bad defensively and our attacking play is laughable.

The most frustrating thing is that it was totally predictable.

Saint Hibee
Honestly? That’s one of the worst comments so far, in a thread with lots of competition for utter drivel.

Really? So tell me the difference.

06-11-2020, 08:42 PM
Are you watching tonight’s performance then Easty ?

Nah but away to Aberdeen is never going to be a game we’re guaranteed points. Was more disappointed to lose to them at home.

As previously said at 17 minutes. Game over, no way Aberdeen let that slip.

Sent from my iPhone using Tapatalk Pro

Utter rubbish - not sure what excuses Ross will give for this debacle ...

NC1875

Exactly. And Hanlon spouting his just another game pish last week. Same old same old. We’re the mugs

We're on 24 points after 13 games.

not sure what Wrights best position is. Hes not good enough to be centre mid, and hes not a winger either.

He's not very good - end of.

Hibeesforever
06-11-2020, 08:43 PM
Pathetic, that sums up our performance...players should be embarrassed, shocking display.

Aberdeen are miles ahead of us in terms of squad depth and quality. We need to improve again in January. Still some key areas heavily lacking.

I like JR and think his overall league record since he arrived has been very good. I do think he’s got to shake it up now though, change the formation and give a few a rest.

Got to say I was wrong about Josh pre match. My mom and dont get Gogic bashing. Was close second

Sent from my SM-G973F using Tapatalk

This place is chronic. Unless a manager comes in and has winning every game to nil they need to go. We are 4th in the league and on course for Europe. We were never favourites for this game and 2 individual errors have cost us dear. Some folk on here want to team to lose so they can post about 'how pish we are'.

Maybe it would be an idea to actually get behind the team. The past 2 results have hurt but get over it we have the rest of the season to go and we have made a very good start. 3rd would be a great end to the season but 4th isnt the end of the world as it is progress and a marked improvement on last season

JJP
We still have no idea how to compete with Aberdeen. Gutting.

06-11-2020, 08:44 PM
home to sellick in a fortnight

oh well

Zing.

The Captain....
Aberdeen barely had to break sweat to beat us.

Great reaction from players and management to the Hearts result.

06-11-2020, 08:45 PM
Aberdeen are miles ahead of us in terms of squad depth and quality. We need to improve again in January. Still some key areas heavily lacking.

I like JR and think his overall league record since he arrived has been very good. I do think he’s got to shake it up now though, change the formation and give a few a rest.

We do need to improve our centre mid. Need to stop weakening ourselves as well though. Replacing Horgan with Murphy was a shocking decision.

pollution
To what avail Hibs, to what avail.

This place is chronic. Unless a manager comes in and has winning every game to nil they need to go. We are 4th in the league and on course for Europe. We were never favourites for this game and 2 individual errors have cost us dear. Some folk on here want to team to lose so they can post about 'how pish we are'.

Maybe it would be an idea to actually get behind the team. The past 2 results have hurt but get over it we have the rest of the season to go and we have made a very good start. 3rd would be a great end to the season but 4th isnt the end of the world as it is progress and a marked improvement on last season

Nice to see a sensible post.

Nah. Just having a game plan and getting shots on goal would be a great start....

How do you do that without fans being at games?

That started with p and rhymed with fish.

Every time we lose to Aberdeen there is a list of reasons why they were lucky rather than better than us. Last time it was because Gogic was out. How did we do with him in the side tonight? Tonight it's because 'we gifted them 2 goals', how many goals did they gift us?

That game was over after 5 minutes, the last 85+ was just fulfilling an obligation. I'm not for starting a witch hunt against the manager or whatever but there is no point in dressing that up as anything it wasn't. It wasn't a decent performance and/or a case of a mistake being the difference. Aberdeen took their chances then saw the game out as we know they can do, we didn't have an answer to that.

Yep. I'm not sure how it can be dressed up in any other way to be honest.

06-11-2020, 08:46 PM
[QUOTE=

Great reaction from players and management to the Hearts result.[/QUOTE]

They didn't react to the kick off whistle against Hearts,so I think you're expecting way too much of them!

I’m no sure we can though which is the problem of going with a smaller squad

NC1875

Get behind the team ? You having a laugh ? Maybe it’s time the players gave us a performance to merit the support. Too many passengers as usual and we the fans get called bedwetters etc for demanding more.

Aye ok then

BegbieHSC
We’ve put a lot of poor performances in against Aberdeen, but that one tops the lot from what I can remember.

No fight, or even care today. These players are not playing with commitment, desire or passion right now. Same last week.

In recent years, we’ve been up for it against the bigger teams, but inconsistent against the *****, which held us back. Seems to be reversed now.

Saint Hibee
06-11-2020, 08:47 PM
We're on 24 points after 13 games.

And we had a similar record at this stage in the season under Fenlon ...

we are no very good and to get much better would take much more cash than we have or can throw at the club.

Wasted 12.99 tonight for sure and it's ironic that the cash will go to the sheep.........

Fans don’t mind getting beat if we show a bit drive and a bit of quality. We never seemed in that game, zero quality, silly mistakes and no real attempts to impose ourselves in that game tactically. that’s what fans hate.

that was utter guff.

Can people please realised this was down to two individual errors costing goals within the first 12 minutes. The game was done then and Aberdeen were never going to let that lead slip.

They had the same against Motherwell earlier in the season when they were 3 down in 20 minutes.

Players trying to be fancy in the wrong area of the pitch.

06-11-2020, 08:48 PM
We’ve put a lot of poor performances in against Aberdeen, but that one tops the lot from what I can remember.

No fight, or even care today. These players are not playing with commitment, desire or passion right now. Same last week.

In recent years, we’ve been up for it against the bigger teams, but inconsistent against the *****, which held us back. Seems to be reversed now.

The 4-1 pumping under Heckingbottom will take some beating to be honest. That was a long 90 minutes.

He's not very good - end of.

I thought he was our most composed player when entering the game.

I’m no sure we can though which is the problem of going with a smaller squad

Well hopefully there’s something left for January. We have nothing in reserve to change up the side. Drey Wright has been a hopeless signing, offered nothing.

Aberdeen barely had to break sweat to beat us.

Great reaction from players and management to the Hearts result.

That’s something that shouldn’t be forgotten either. After getting beat in the derby, there should have been a big reaction, there wasn’t.

2-0 that early then you have no chance against Aberdeen. 2 silly mistakes ruin the game.

Get behind the team ? You having a laugh ? Maybe it’s time the players gave us a performance to merit the support. Too many passengers as usual and we the fans get called bedwetters etc for demanding more.

Aye ok then

Do you think the players are playing badly on purpose? Just to get at us supporters? Or maybe they enjoy losing?

Get behind the team? It's what being a supporter is about

6 points lost against Aberdeen and all 3 goals completely our own fault with no creativity required from the Dons to score them. Pressurise our midfield and defence and we are shockingly bad. Mallan and Wright should replace Murphy and Doidge for me. Play Nisbet up front with Wright, Boyle and Mallan all instructed to try and get close to him. He needs to change the way we play because teams just outnumber us in the middle.

dchibs
06-11-2020, 08:49 PM

Think motherwell are picking up a few points now,

Can people please realised this was down to two individual errors costing goals within the first 12 minutes. The game was done then and Aberdeen were never going to let that lead slip.

They had the same against Motherwell earlier in the season when they were 3 down in 20 minutes.

Even if it was nil nil after 12 minutes there wasn’t anything on show to suggest hibs could have won it. Aberdeen were in cruise control

Coach is pretty average to say the least. Our players arent bad players but he isn't getting the best out of them. What's he done to Ryan Porteous the last few games his errors are not worthy of getting picked time after time, but he doesn't have anyone else better appreciated. I wasn't a big fan of JR at the start, I don't see much in the way of gyle (is that the right spelling). Hibs going for coaches who look alright and say the right things but football savvy, doesn't seem it. I guess folk will argue look where we are compared with previous, but look what we've spent compared with previous, maybe arguing with myself I don't know. He took the job brought the players in and so it's up to him to pull something out of the bag. Closest we came to scoring Jamie Gullan was involved, didn't the coach know the lad's readiness and willingness compared to others. Does JR have the motivational skills? Does he have the savvy to turn Ryan around when he's gone back to school boy standards? He's got a long enough contract to turn it around. Lucky no fans at ER, for him that is maybe for some players too, could see the fans getting right on their backs.

The 4-1 pumping under Heckingbottom will take some beating to be honest. That was a long 90 minutes.
Was that not Lennon

06-11-2020, 08:50 PM
Yep. I'm not sure how it can be dressed up in any other way to be honest.

People love dressing it up, changing stats to reflect it isn’t that bad then use it to say posters annoyed are talking *****.

2-0 that early then you have no chance against Aberdeen. 2 silly mistakes ruin the game.

No shots on goal or attacking threat from Boyle or Doidge doesn't help either.

Was that not Lennon

Might have been, I canny mind but it was an absolute pisser of a day.

06-11-2020, 08:51 PM
We've not played well for weeks now with too many players taking a dip in form.

Ross needs to make changes for the next game although our options are limited with such a small squad. I think Boyle needs a spell on the bench and Mallan deserves a start.

Apart from the last few games, the defence has been solid this season but mistakes are creeping into Porteous' game. Ross needs to consider bringing in McGregor as his aggresion and effort may be the spur we need. Everything is flat just now and we need inspiration from somewhere.

murray26
It’s hard to put into words how disappointing that was but what do you expect when your always behind Aberdeen and hearts in the queue for signings.. I’m actually glad there’s no fans this season blessing in disguise.

Didnt see the game tonight so I'll take everyones opinion (or vast majority of opinions) that it was pretty poor, but as bad as the 4-1 horror show of a couple of seasons ago? That particular game we were shocking.

The difference between this team and Pat Fenlons team? Do I really have to point them out? Do you just not remember Fenlons team? Mind...the cup final? Mind that European game? Remember Pat Fenlon, who lost more games than he won?

There’s no comparison.

NC1875
Do you think the players are playing badly on purpose? Just to get at us supporters? Or maybe they enjoy losing?

Get behind the team? It's what being a supporter is about

You can play badly and give 110%. Did you see the majority of that team tonight giving 110% ? I don’t think so

Mr. Wonderful
06-11-2020, 08:52 PM
Dreadfully bad.

The side isn't set up to break teams down its set up to take leads and hold them and counter.

Badly exposed technically today in many areas... this isn't how I wanted my first post to go.

EVENTUALLY
06-11-2020, 08:52 PM
6 points lost against Aberdeen and all 3 goals completely our own fault with no creativity required from the Dons to score them. Pressurise our midfield and defence and we are shockingly bad. Mallan and Wright should replace Murphy and Doidge for me. Play Nisbet up front with Wright, Boyle and Mallan all instructed to try and get close to him. He needs to change the way we play because teams just outnumber us in the middle.

The manager needs to get his finger out.

06-11-2020, 08:53 PM
That’s something that shouldn’t be forgotten either. After getting beat in the derby, there should have been a big reaction, there wasn’t.

An early mistake like we made kind of knocks the stuffing out of you. Then we do it again. Aberdeen don’t tend to let you do anything too creative.

We’ve had 61% possession and 5 shots. They let you have the ball in certain areas and leave you no space to attack. Their only shots were the ones we supplied them.

Before the game people wanted another midfielder in. Would have made no odds when we had that domination of the ball.

The mistakes were our fault but overall it was not a game that deserves in any way to go down as embarrassing or shocking.

06-11-2020, 08:53 PM

We had 78 minutes to respond. It’s no asking too much to create a chance here or there.

Shocking stuff.

06-11-2020, 08:54 PM

And what did we create after that? We had 78 minutes to get ourselves back in the game and we did nothing.

I'm not expecting to pump Aberdeen every game but they aren't Liverpool. Did the manager motivate the team after half time to go out and push to get back in the game?

Sorry but we've been poor in the last two games where we've had some pressure on us.

gaz1875
we are no very good and to get much better would take much more cash than we have or can throw at the club.

Wasted 12.99 tonight for sure and it's ironic that the cash will go to the sheep.........

That's why I never took the game and listened on the radio. I won't pay to watch Aberdeen, Celtic or Rangers all other teams I will and have.

Think motherwell are picking up a few points now,

Motherwell are a decent team who just made a really bad start, I'm still confident we'll finish above them but they will end up in the top 6 no problem.

Mr. Wonderful
06-11-2020, 08:56 PM
An early mistake like we made kind of knocks the stuffing out of you. Then we do it again. Aberdeen don’t tend to let you do anything too creative.

We’ve had 61% possession and 5 shots. They let you have the ball in certain areas and leave you no space to attack. Their only shots were the ones we supplied them.

Before the game people wanted another midfielder in. Would have made no odds when we had that domination of the ball.

The mistakes were our fault but overall it was not a game that deserves in any way to go down as embarrassing or shocking.

agree with this, not embarrassing as such but maybe embarrassing not to see any reaction from last weekend. A big of a reminder of where we are these last two games

We've not played well for weeks now with too many players taking a dip in form.

Ross needs to make changes for the next game although our options are limited with such a small squad. I think Boyle needs a spell on the bench and Mallan deserves a start.

Apart from the last few games, the defence has been solid this season but mistakes are creeping into Porteous' game. Ross needs to consider bringing in McGregor as his aggresion and effort may be the spur we need. Everything is flat just now and we need inspiration from somewhere.

McGregor is probably the player who has missed out during the past 2 games that I'd have liked to have seen picked.

I think he might struggle in a back 2 now, but on the right of a 3 I think he might still have something to offer.

I don't fancy the 4-4-2 and I don't think this combination of players makes an effective unit at all. We might need to keep 2 or 3 back on the bench to give u options later in the game and we might yet stumble upon a team where squad players end up being part of a better team unit than trying to wedge all our best players in.

2 very poor results in a row and we need to be careful not to get all the confidence and belief drained from us.

I mentioned in a post earlier in the week about the Aberdeen game and i thought this game would give an indication where we are as a team and i think the performance says it it all ? Seems once more we never turned up as a team so has to go down as a managerial fail, looks like we have another on the list of mediocre failures in charge of the club. Along season of garbage to come by the looks of it.

BegbieHSC
06-11-2020, 08:57 PM
Didnt see the game tonight so I'll take everyones opinion (or vast majority of opinions) that it was pretty poor, but as bad as the 4-1 horror show of a couple of seasons ago? That particular game we were shocking.

Tbh, I thought that team at least looked angry at getting beat.

This one didn’t look like it gave a toss to me, making it worse.

allmodcons
06-11-2020, 08:57 PM
Terrible performance.

Slow out of the blocks, losing two early goals allowing Aberdeen to suffocate the play and we have nothing to offer.

Lethargic, no tempo and passing at times was horrendous. No one touch football always touch, touch, pass.

Really disappointed with what we offered tonight (i.e. - nothing).

I think Porto's call up hasn't helped his game. Thought he was poor last week and his attempted 'pass' for their second goal tonight, which effectively finished the game, was nothing short of shocking.

06-11-2020, 08:58 PM
Can anyone look at the league table this season v same date last season
Obviously not enjoyed tonight, but we are making progress

Maybe it would be an idea to actually get behind the team. The past 2 results have hurt but get over it we have the rest of the season to go and we have made a very good start. 3rd would be a great end to the season but 4th isnt the end of the world as it is progress and a marked improvement on last seasonAgree 100%

Robbo6-2
Only player that got pass Mark's was Doig.

The rest, one word Awful.

Special mention to Diodge and Newell. Terrible

06-11-2020, 08:59 PM
Aberdeen’s best start for 10 years too.

Teams go behind to mistakes all the time, if that isn’t something the team and manager should account for then we are in real trouble. So your reckoning is that having loads of the ball means that adding another midfielder won’t change anything? Put another midfielder on that has something different to offer, try and get more players breaking the line from deep.

They have been doing it for lots of games now, punting the ball forward to doidge. Game plan was wrong today and lack of trying to change that game plan from going behind.

Must be nice living in your world where hibs do no wrong.

Might have been, I canny mind but it was an absolute pisser of a day.
If it was the one Efe had a shocker and Gary McKay Stevens ran us ragged it was Lennon. Long drive for a game that was over very quickly. At least we were saved that tonight

06-11-2020, 09:00 PM
That's why I never took the game and listened on the radio. I won't pay to watch Aberdeen, Celtic or Rangers all other teams I will and have.

With you 100%. At least when we pay to get in to their grounds we get to play a part in cheering the team on. Paying our main rivals to watch on telly is just gifting them cash.

06-11-2020, 09:01 PM

I agree that it's not embarrassing or shocking, and that some of the hyperbole is uncalled for.

That's probably the team nearest to us though and any team should be looking to close the gap on the team straight above them.

If not shocking or embarrassing do you not feel that it is a bit depressing that there is such a gulf between us and the team above us - and that team is neither Rangers or Celtic?

It's a bleak evening and a bit of a kick in the nuts. We'd started the season well but 7 days feel like they have totally changed the complexion of the whole season.

06-11-2020, 09:03 PM
Teams go behind to mistakes all the time, if that isn’t something the team and manager should account for then we are in real trouble. So your reckoning is that having loads of the ball means that adding another midfielder won’t change anything? Put another midfielder on that has something different to offer, try and get more players breaking the line from deep.

They have been doing it for lots of games now, punting the ball forward to doidge. Game plan was wrong today and lack of trying to change that game plan from going behind.

Must be nice living in your world where hibs do no wrong.

Your last sentence I think illustrates the extremes some of you need to go to all the time.

We were poor, we made terrible mistakes. That’s about it. It wasn’t a disgrace and it doesn’t mean we need to question everyone at the club.

06-11-2020, 09:05 PM
Your last sentence I think illustrates the extremes some of you need to go to all the time.

We were poor, we made terrible mistakes. That’s about it. It wasn’t a disgrace and it doesn’t mean we need to question everyone at the club.

Correct

James Stephen
06-11-2020, 09:05 PM

You are the voice of reason this evening sir.

Silky
06-11-2020, 09:06 PM
Lucky no fans at ER, for him that is maybe for some players too, could see the fans getting right on their backs.

Which helps the team no end! What's the point in "getting on their backs"? From my experience it achieves far less than getting behind them and urging them on through a bad spell.

06-11-2020, 09:07 PM
Jack Ross is 'going to be hard on them tonight'

ok. :)

Tully
06-11-2020, 09:07 PM
Until hibs find a nasty streak and stop accepting results like this I'm afraid we'll be having the same debate and thread after thread after every result like this, just watch the players when they make a mistake they just accept it, been like this for years and never been addressed why is this

06-11-2020, 09:08 PM
Tough enough game without handing over two goals. Aberdeen can suffocate games when they are one up, never mind two. Aberdeen are still a level above us. Take it on the chin and move on.

06-11-2020, 09:08 PM

I agree about the extremes, been a chore reading through a lot of this thread.

There is a debate to be had though. Tonight isn’t a one of but a consistent pattern against Aberdeen over a number of years. Why is it the same script and the same mistakes continue to play out. It’s still early days for Ross and I think the progress he has made to date is fine. There is a question about what it is Aberdeen do differently to is and why we haven’t learnt from whatever it is they are doing right.

06-11-2020, 09:09 PM

Who is questioning everyone at the club. You like calling out posters that seem to call out our failings, perhaps more vocally than others. You do seem to go out your way to take the high and mighty against these posters.

Nice way to put things ‘some of you....’ we are all fans here.

I bet you work in a bank or a financial institution where pointing out issues is not the done thing unless it’s balanced out by more positives, even if those positives are clutching at straws and fairly meaningless.

06-11-2020, 09:09 PM
bbc team think it should have been a penalty :agree:

houstonhibbee
06-11-2020, 09:10 PM
I thought that performance was pathetic. No drive or desire from anywhere. Woefully lacking in any skill.
Hibs TV commentary said the only difference between the two teams were the two schoolboy errors. To me that is completely wrong. Aberdeen played well within themselves and were never in any danger whereas Hibs were totally unable to make any impression on the game and were utterly inept.
In a word s***e

06-11-2020, 09:13 PM
Jack Ross is 'going to be hard on them tonight'

ok. :)

So far I haven’t listened to his post match comments after the semi and I won’t be listening after this defeat either. It will just be the usual stuff. “ pleased with certain aspects of the match etc etc etc”

06-11-2020, 09:14 PM
We’re all right if we get the first goal and teams need to open up a bit against us.

We’re apparently a good team going forward. I don’t see it though. There is very little goal threat in the majority of that team.

I won’t go as far as saying we are lucky to have as many points as we do. But we had quite a few things goi our way in the early part of the season, which undoubtedly helped.

06-11-2020, 09:14 PM
So far I haven’t listened to his post match comments after the semi and I won’t be listening after this defeat either. It will just be the usual stuff. “ pleased with certain aspects of the match etc etc etc”

You’re wrong.

06-11-2020, 09:16 PM
It's not rocket science. We just don't have enough quality, as in players who are comfortable on the ball. We've sacrificed that side of it for workmanlike players and it's been successful up to a point. Boring as hell to watch but we were grinding out results. Now that's gone pear shaped we look forward to Plan B....

fiolex1
06-11-2020, 09:17 PM
Aberdeen got their tactics spot on and stopped us playing. They were happy to give us the ball and put us under pressure at the back with the high press and it worked for them.

06-11-2020, 09:17 PM
Hibernian head coach Jack Ross: "It was nowhere near good enough where we want to be as a club to be competitive.
"We gave away too ridiculously soft goals. We huffed and puffed after that but didn't do nearly enough to trouble Joe Lewis in goal.
"I praise the players a lot, praise and protect them, but I'll be hard on them tonight because I want to keep pushing them."
Regarding Hibs' call for a penalty and a free-kick claim on the edge of the Dons box moments later, he added: "Tonight, we were poor. I was poor and my team were poor, but equally the referee was poor."

Thankfully he agrees that it was nowhere near good enough regardless of what a small minority on here say :agree:

06-11-2020, 09:18 PM
He’ll certainly never be Scotland captain as he was touted to be. I’d be surprised if he steps up from us.

Fraser Fyvie a dons fan to the core eh.he is still a legend tho

06-11-2020, 09:18 PM

Absolutely agree with this. To get anywhere we need to stick by the club and our manager for a prolonged period of time, I think Ross might be one to stick with.

We’ve already had a thread questioning the board tonight, this is in a season where we’ve made a very good start which has been damaged over the last two games. No need to meltdown just yet for me.

06-11-2020, 09:19 PM
Hibernian head coach Jack Ross: "It was nowhere near good enough where we want to be as a club to be competitive.
"We gave away too ridiculously soft goals. We huffed and puffed after that but didn't do nearly enough to trouble Joe Lewis in goal.
"I praise the players a lot, praise and protect them, but I'll be hard on them tonight because I want to keep pushing them."
Regarding Hibs' call for a penalty and a free-kick claim on the edge of the Dons box moments later, he added: "Tonight, we were poor. I was poor and my team were poor, but equally the referee was poor."

Thankfully he agrees that it was nowhere near good enough regardless of what a small minority on here say :agree:

I like that from Ross there. That’s a reaction and he isn’t the type that panders to what the fans want to hear.

06-11-2020, 09:20 PM
It's not rocket science. We just don't have enough quality, as in players who are comfortable on the ball. We've sacrificed that side of it for workmanlike players and it's been successful up to a point. Boring as hell to watch but we were grinding out results. Now that's gone pear shaped we look forward to Plan B....

The Scott Allan situation obviously doesn’t help on that front.

I wouldn’t call Murphy a workmanlike signing and I think we have to give Magennis some time after not playing much after an ACL. Wright is supposed to be creative but he is disappointing so far.

We are in the right half of the league which we can’t always say and I’m happy we build from her rather than expecting to be the finished article already.

06-11-2020, 09:22 PM
I like that from Ross there. That’s a reaction and he isn’t the type that panders to what the fans want to hear.

Me too 100%. We need to stick with him. It's not been good enough this week or imo a lot of games this season we've been fortunate in but I still believe his the guy, with the correct recruitment team, to take us forward.

Scotty Leither
06-11-2020, 09:23 PM
Until hibs find a nasty streak and stop accepting results like this I'm afraid we'll be having the same debate and thread after thread after every result like this, just watch the players when they make a mistake they just accept it, been like this for years and never been addressed why is this

Nailed it. Some hard asses in the Boardroom demanding better in a results-driven business wouldn't go amiss either.

06-11-2020, 09:30 PM

Hard to argue with that.

It's now vital that we win next week v Dundee and finish top of our group. Anything less will really start the alarm bells ringing.

06-11-2020, 09:31 PM

Good to see Ross resisting the urge to sugarcoat it.

I'm not a fan of managers going after players in public but after the last couple of results he doesn't have much choice. It wasn't good enough and he acknowledges as much.

06-11-2020, 09:32 PM
Hard to argue with that.

It's now vital that we win next week v Dundee and finish top of our group. Anything less will really start the alarm bells ringing.

:agree: although if we don't excuses will be made ie no Marciano for Dundee who lost to Alloa tonight.

06-11-2020, 09:33 PM
Hard to see us make progress when we're signing boys from the likes of St mirren, Hamilton and St Johnstone.

You get what you pay for.....and before anyone says, I don't expect Messi, but I do expect our recruitment team to ID better than that lot

Magpie
06-11-2020, 09:35 PM
Ross needs results after the international break otherwise whatever he says to the media means nothing.

06-11-2020, 09:36 PM
Ross needs results after the international break otherwise whatever he says to the media means nothing.

Remember we don’t have a break.