View Full Version : Match Updates Aberdeen 2 - 0 Hibs

Pages : 1 [2] 3 4

06-11-2020, 07:20 PM
My worry last week was that a defeat to Hearts could see our season unravel

i ******* hate when a professional footballer can't get past the first man taking a corner

The worst thing about this result is this place will be full of hysterical pish for another week

Hysterical or concerned?

We are rank rotten... again.

MikeyS
Not sure if he is acting out of instruction or instinct but Boyle needs to stop this coming inside to get involved. He isnt a good enough or smart enough footballer to be in that area. Get wide and run at the full back!!!

And rightly so.

Huge questions about the players and manager IMO.Huge questions? We've had the best start to a season in about a billion years

Who'd be a football manager eh

Sent from my VOG-L29 using Tapatalk

06-11-2020, 07:21 PM
No, you’re still talking *****.

Aye no bother... :clapper:

I think if I had not paid 13 quid. I'd go to sleep now.

Awful so far.

Are we playing bad generally? Flash scores saying we've had more of the ball and more attacks and from what I'm hearing both goals were stupid individual mistakes

A bit better last 5-10 maybe, but we've been all over the place generally.

You'd maybe say we were settling into a performance if it was 0-0 but that's not the point. They're comfortable and letting us have it knowing they can comfortably deal with what we have to throw at them.

They're comfortably better than us, quite frighteningly so imo.

Don’t see what the game plan here is. Every time we are limping it forward. Just don’t seem to have any ideas. Too easy for them with 4 in midfield

06-11-2020, 07:22 PM
We need a player who can retain and recycle the ball. I've said it since week 1 and I'm still saying it now. The midfield totally lacks a player who can take it from the defence, put a foot on it and build something.

We lurch from ponderous to a hundred miles an hour.

To be fair to the players they have steadied the ship. We’ve now a platform to build from.

I was fearing a 5-0 10 mins ago.

Shot on target.

:hyper

Keep saying it, championship player at best. Believe me now?

No he isn’t he’s clearly low on confidence though.

His final ball is shocking mind you.

I fancy us for a draw for some reason.

What is wrong with Gullan, Mallan and Hallberg not starting, we've been rank for a while and thee guys still can't get a game, dos Ross have his favourites and refuse to play them, add Mackie into that too, young Doig looking a wee bit out his depth right now.

Huge questions? We've had the best start to a season in about a billion years

Aye huge questions.

Another big game and another dreadful performance so far.

06-11-2020, 07:23 PM
This is when going with a smaller squad bites us in the arse because you don’t have the ability to make big changes to the team and set up depending on who you’re playing.

We knew we’d need more grit in the team for games like this and we just don’t have it

Questions are being asked because it’s another game playing a team of equal or better quality that we aren’t going to win

Huge questions? We've had the best start to a season in about a billion years

And just been papped out the cup by our rivals and are getting shown up by our main competition in the league....

Can’t find a stream so I’m watching some Indian guy commentating over a bet356 overlay of the game.

He keeps calling Porteous “Potoreous”

Still better than OAM.

To be fair to the players they have steadied the ship. We’ve now a platform to build from.

I was fearing a 5-0 10 mins ago.

Not sure we have steadied anything. This is typical Aberdeen now. They have the lead so they will allow us on the ball and just stifle us.

NC1875
06-11-2020, 07:24 PM
Keep saying it, championship player at best. Believe me now?

People saying he’d end up at Celtic 😂 I’m all for supporting our players but some of them are just not good enough or as good as some people think they are.

We need a player who can retain and recycle the ball. I've said it since week 1 and I'm still saying it now. The midfield totally lacks a player who can take it from the defence, put a foot on it and build something.

Yeah it’s plain to see.

What is wrong with Gullan, Mallan and Hallberg not starting, we've been rank for a while and thee guys still can't get a game, dos Ross have his favourites and refuse to play them, add Mackie into that too, young Doig looking a wee bit out his depth right now.

Mallan should be starting.

06-11-2020, 07:25 PM
Bit better last 10 mins. Doig been the only positive getting forward.

I was just thinking that Doig was having a decent-ish game.

Not sure we have steadied anything. This is typical Aberdeen now. They have the lead so they will allow us on the ball and just stifle us.

Let me reword it then. We look less likely to be getting pumped 5-0 than we did 15 mins ago.

The worst thing about this result is this place will be full of hysterical pish for another week

ha it's full of hysterical pisch most of the time so whats ****in new!

Classic game v Aberdeen when they score early. They'll see it out and bore everyone to tears and we'll cling on to the fact it wasn't a total pumping as a sign of improved performance.

And just been papped out the cup by our rivals and are getting shown up by our main competition in the league....1 and a quarter games doenst override the first quarter of the season

Its over reacting for me to be talking about huge questions of our manager etc

Saint Hibee
Josh Doig at least has some attacking intent.

Been all Hibs last ten minutes.

Can’t find a stream so I’m watching some Indian guy commentating over a bet356 overlay of the game.

He keeps calling Porteous “Potoreous”

Still better than OAM.
Potoreous is still in the jail in South Africa is he no?

hibIBZ
JR needs to do some arse kicking at half time. We look slow, and clueless

06-11-2020, 07:26 PM
Doing ok now.

Andymac85

It has, we haven’t had a shot though.

It’s a bit of a confidence boost but at the same clever games management by them.

All Hibs lately but we aren't really causing them any problems are we ?

SJNB Hibby
Took half an hour, but we're starting to show an interest

06-11-2020, 07:27 PM

Without carving a clear cut chance. Aberdeen will take that all night.

All Hibs lately but we aren't really causing them any problems are we ...

The run from Murphy caused them a problem to be fair.

beensaidbefore
1 and a quarter games doenst override the first quarter of the season

I think that's the opinion of the silent majority tbh. 👍🏻

06-11-2020, 07:28 PM
A bit better last 5-10 maybe, but we've been all over the place generally.

You'd maybe say we were settling into a performance if it was 0-0 but that's not the point. They're comfortable and letting us have it knowing they can comfortably deal with what we have to throw at them.

They're comfortably better than us, quite frighteningly so imo.

Fair enough, people talk about Ross' record in big games but theres not much he can do about the mistakes that led to the goals tonight

What the **** did he do after last weeks game, surely the arse kicking was done then to get them up for this game.

NC1875

He needs his own arse kicked.

Yet again, a big game and we’re passengers. Same story with him at Sunderland. Never comes across as very inspiring.

What the **** did he do after last weeks game, surely the arse kicking was done then to get them up for this game.

He's too nice it would seem. Has he got a hairdryer in him?

06-11-2020, 07:29 PM

I'm not really questioning the manager.

I can understand why it is happening though whether I agree with it or not. Walking away from this week with 2 defeats was always going to provoke one hell of a reaction.

06-11-2020, 07:29 PM
He's too nice it would seem. Has he got a hairdryer in him?

Talks a good game it seems.

06-11-2020, 07:30 PM
Fair enough, people talk about Ross' record in big games but theres not much he can do about the mistakes that led to the goals tonight

It's up to him to prepare them physically and mentally, if they keep making mistakes, then drop them.

PH91

Gogic should be the man to do it but he is absolutely cr*p.

Just what they want to try and pick us off on the counter because they know we need to push for it now. I ****ing hate Aberdeen!!!

yonder1875
06-11-2020, 07:31 PM

This is very true.

hibIBZ
Murphy off
Boyle off

Mallan on
Wright on

3-5-2 and

Josh Doig at least has some attacking intent.

As we saw last week, it doesn’t matter unless we actually put the leather thing in the net.

Sent from my iPhone using Tapatalk Pro

06-11-2020, 07:32 PM
Took half an hour, but we're starting to show an interest

I’m afraid I’ve lost interest.

Just what they want to try and pick us off on the counter because they know we need to push for it now. I ****ing hate Aberdeen!!!
Boring and predictable but let's face it, it is usually effective, esp against us. Still wouldn't want to be a Sheep supporter though.

Note to Ron and Jack - January, get experience in the side please, leaders preferably, and ones with some character :aok:

06-11-2020, 07:33 PM
Note to Ron and Jack - January, get experience in the side please, leaders preferably, and ones with some character :aok:

Bin Boyle and Doidge for starters.

And don’t just let Aberdeen sign players we want because we take an age to get the deal done.

K-Zazu
Aberdeen must love playing us

06-11-2020, 07:34 PM

Gogic is a spoiler, it's not his job to spray passes about, Mallan does that.

skyhibs

The first 1/4 of the season apart from two games we have been utter ****.... we have been fortunate to win most of the games we won.... manger doesn’t inspire me with confidence... he can’t inspire his team either... Boyle, newel, and porteous have been ****

Aberdeen have done nothing here and have a two goal lead. Absolutely atrocious from Hibs.

06-11-2020, 07:35 PM
The first 1/4 of the season apart from two games we have been utter ****.... we have been fortunate to win most of the games we won.... manger doesn’t inspire me with confidence... he can’t inspire his team either... Boyle, newel, and porteous have been ****Right.

The first 1/4 of the season apart from two games we have been utter ****.... we have been fortunate to win most of the games we won.... manger doesn’t inspire me with confidence... he can’t inspire his team either... Boyle, newel, and porteous have been ****

What would you do? Call to sack him? Invest during the next window?

noz
need to stay positive, theyre only ahead because of two mistakes, we can only play better second half

Boyle off at half time for Wright.

06-11-2020, 07:36 PM

Funny, Aberdeen don’t seem to need a spoiler.

Sent from my iPhone using Tapatalk Pro

Magpie
Hoof

Just pish!

yerauldda
As easy a win that Aberdeen could have hoped for. Pathetic performance from every single player.

Clarence
Sort of gone back to the early ish Hecky days when we were pretty consistent against the bottom 6 but didn’t get much against any decent team.

Half time - pish.

06-11-2020, 07:37 PM

Yep, been saying it for 3 seasons now, since Mcgeouch left.

But we are now not keeping clean sheets and not scoring many goals Something has changed and we aren’t managing to get back to that early season form

Gogic has turned from a ball winner into a fouler. Not his fault tonight of course.

HT Aberdeen 2 Hibs crap.

yonder1875
When does it ever change with us!

Sort of gone back to the early ish Hecky days when we were pretty consistent against the bottom 6 but didn’t get much against any decent team.

I think that is where we are at in reality - 5th or 6th in the league quality.

Capable or 1/4 or 1/2 of a cup.

ehf
06-11-2020, 07:38 PM
Boyle needs hooked.

Please drop Boyle

villahibs
Infuriating with 20 seconds to go and you knock it about on the halfway line. Lump it in the box and see if you can pick something up....

Pretty pisch and we are making things hard giving them just what they could wish for, we are lacking quality which I have said for a long while now, quality takes money......we also lack some real leaders on that park.

Gogic has turned from a ball winner into a fouler. Not his fault tonight of course.

To be fair, he could do with someone in midfield beside him.

hibIBZ
I like what gogic can bring to the team, but he can't play in a two man midfield. It has to be a 3 in a triangle or 4 in a diamond. He is an offensive passenger which would be fine because rod his defensive work if we had that extra man in there

Mallan is absolutely not the answer to any of our problems here.

If he's stuck into the midfield and is pressed in the same way as Aberdeen pressed us here then we'll lose by 5 or 6.

We're dead and buried, the solutions to today's problems do not lie within our current squad of players.

I don't think I've ever felt as beaten with no chance of getting back into the game as I do here.

Just seen too many of these games between these 2 teams.

TheCabbage

Has Gogix even touched the ball? Seems to be passing him by

Bin Boyle and Doidge for starters.

I'd certainly be looking to clear the decks next season and letting Lewy, Hanlon, SDG, and Daz go (sadly). Not based on this or last week's result, just think the club needs to move players on who offer less and less as years go by and bring in fresh talent. Loyalty only goes so far.

06-11-2020, 07:39 PM
2 wingers and 2 strikers away from home against a tough opponent. Crazy

Nowhere near good enough in that first half. Played ok for ten minutes but created nothing.

Shocking defending for the goals. Really disappointed with that performance.

Huge 45 minutes for Jack Ross. Individual mistakes aren't his fault but he now needs to show he can motivate and push his team when our backs are against the wall.

I was disappointed in how little we pushed Hearts after we went 2-1 down. Tonight we have 45 minutes to turn it around. Over to you Jack.

The only difference between tonight and the drab football we've been playing all season is giving away 2 crazy goals which we haven't been doing. We're not really any better or worse in our play in general.

Hibees1973
06-11-2020, 07:40 PM
The international break has come at the right time for us.

After last weekend an away trip to Aberdeen was always going to be tough. Hope there is not a meltdown after going 2 down.

We have come through a lot of tight games in the league so far this season with a good points total so the breaks will even themselves out.

When Boyle is not at it we do lack a bit of pace in the side. Ross needs younger legs in the midfield which should be our priority in the next transfer window. The likes of Mallan and Hallberg need to be shipped out as they are not putting enough pressure on our current midfield starters.

Ross has only been here just over a year and needs another couple of windows to shape a more faster/energetic midfield similar to the one Aberdeen have.

NC1875
I'd certainly be looking to clear the decks next season and letting Lewy, Hanlon, SDG, and Daz go (sadly). Not based on this or last week's result, just think the club needs to move players on who offer less and less as years go by and bring in fresh talent. Loyalty only goes so far.

You’ll be slated for that.

This is correct.

06-11-2020, 07:41 PM
Poor team performance all round for most of the game, no pass marks for anybody - the only time we tested their goalie was when they did it for us ...

Boyle off at half time for Wright.

I don’t think that will change much.

I would take Murphy off for McGregor and play 541 now.

Doidge for Mallan.

Mikey_1875

Hanlon has been superb this season

That's not the reason we are losing

I don’t think that will change much.

I would take Murphy off for McGregor and play 541 now.

Doidge for Mallan.

Stop it.

MikeyS

If he's stuck into the midfield and is pressed in the same way as Aberdeen pressed us here then we'll lose by 5 or 6.

We're dead and buried, the solutions to today's problems do not lie within our current squad of players.

I don't think I've ever felt as beaten with no chance of getting back into the game as I do here.

He could be if swapped with Boyle and we change to a diamond. Boyle is drifting inside anyway and contributing next to nowt again.

06-11-2020, 07:42 PM

Hanlon is offering the same good quality he has for years. I'd be binning plenty before him.

I know I'm going to get pelters here but, apart from 2 mistakes, I don't think we've been that bad.

We've had a lot of possession in their half and have been probing away without managing the killer pass.

I know Aberdeen tend to sit in but apart from our mistakes they've created nothing.

People are still giving Gogic stick I see but for me his distribution has been fine.

If we avoid the daft mistakes (which we have been doing this season) I think we look the more likely to score.

It'll be interesting to see how JR changes things.

Gifted them 2 goals.

Porteous needs to stop thinking he’s Sauzee, every game he makes dodgy passes and tonight it got too punished.

We are very slow and ponderous going forward and we just keep knocking it about the back 4.

Sorely missing a number 10 in there to dictate the game and create chances.

I can’t say since the goal we’ve played well because Aberdeen have sat off and are quite happy to defend there lead and counter us.

Of course there will be a thread on Ross after this and how bad a manager he was - Two individual errors have cost us. Not the formation, tactics or anything else. Just awful awful play.

skyhibs
What would you do? Call to sack him? Invest during the next window?

Don’t know what can be done but I would never have hired him in the first place..... he looks and talks so soft and obviously does nothing to inspire the team.... maybe I expect too much but we have to get some inspired players in that have a bit of fight and ambition... I don’t see that on the park or on the side lines....

To be fair, he could do with someone in midfield beside him.

Newell is great when we're holding a lead but not so great when we're behind.

Has Mallan suddenly got better, as he's just as bad as anyone he'd replace.

06-11-2020, 07:43 PM
No composure anywhere on the pitch, passes are rushed, Doidge running about like a headless chicken, Porteous with schoolboy stuff, Newell doing his best invisible man trick, Boyle needs dropped been very poor, Gogic can't pass and Nisbet looks out of sorts which is understandable in his circumstances.

Still trying to see what we are trying to do as a team, the players look like they've just bumped into each other tonight, little cohesion.

Another very long season by the looks of things, not impressed with Ross or his tactics so far, maybe the Sunderland fans knew what they were saying about him but we chose to ignore them.

Two or three weeks ago I’m saying on here I’d like Newell on a new contract as a matter of urgency. Now I’m thinking is he going to push us on to 3rd or 4th in the league based on the games against the clubs out-with the crap.

Stop it.

Doig looks better going forward and toiling at the back. They win everything in the air and we are slow and ponderous, hoofball panic merchants with Doidge up top.

I quite like Mallan but agree completely here. We've seen plenty of Mallan and he's got many good qualities but he hasn't really shown in his time at Hibs that he can win us really big games by owning the midfield.

The game was over after 15 mins, we don't have the players to turn this around.

Our only hope is to throw caution to the wind bring Mallan and Gullan on, maybe even take Gogic off for one of them as if there was 5 to play.

That being said I have very little confidence those players would change a thing, but I can't see anything else working.

06-11-2020, 07:44 PM
Probably not but he can at least pass the ball, something no one in this team seems capable of, can't be any bloody worse.

MikeyS
I know I'm going to get pelters here but, apart from 2 mistakes, I don't think we've been that bad.

We've had a lot of possession in their half and have been probing away without managing the killer pass.

I know Aberdeen tend to sit in but apart from our mistakes they've created nothing.

People are still giving Gogic stick I see but for me his distribution has been fine.

If we avoid the daft mistakes (which we have been doing this season) I think we look the more likely to score.

We haven't been terrible but are behind due to 2 terrible errors. Still haven't troubled the goalie though. It looks like Aberdeen are quite satisfied to let us have it in front of them and aren't looking to build on that lead.

Because they don’t need to create anything now. Aberdeen will be absolutley delighted to defend the lead and hit us on the counter, add in chances they’ll get from set pieces.

I don’t think we look like scoring whatsoever.

Nisbet very poor by his own standards

Boyle has been poor as he had most the season.

Doidge has contributed nothing.

NC1875
Newell and Gogic
Ferguson and McCrorie

Aberdeen haven't needed to create any chances, we've created them for them.

Zambernardi1875
06-11-2020, 07:45 PM
Yep, been saying it for 3 seasons now, since Mcgeouch left.

Absolutely , been glaringly obvious since then

Scotty Leither
The international break has come at the right time for us.

After last weekend an away trip to Aberdeen was always going to be tough. Hope there is not a meltdown after going 2 down.

We have come through a lot of tight games in the league so far this season with a good points total so the breaks will even themselves out.

When Boyle is not at it we do lack a bit of pace in the side. Ross needs younger legs in the midfield which should be our priority in the next transfer window. The likes of Mallan and Hallberg need to be shipped out as they are not putting enough pressure on our current midfield starters.

Ross has only been here just over a year and needs another couple of windows to shape a more faster/energetic midfield similar to the one Aberdeen have.

Younger legs in midfield costs a bit of money. But hey, let's sign Stephen McGinn instead.

Newell and Gogic
Ferguson and McCrorie

Ojo and Mcgeough in reserve too.

Money talks at the end of the day.

sorrow sorrow
It wasn’t so long ago we couldn’t get out the championship for a couple of seasons and that was hard but what a time 2016 was to really kick on,the whole club and support where buzzing but looking at that team tonight there is no way we have kicked on.
Marciano,Nisbet are the only two I could make a case for to get into the 2016 team,that is criminal for a club that galvanised there support to back them in numbers and financially.

Younger legs in midfield costs a bit of money. But hey, let's sign Stephen McGinn instead.

But he's a leader.

Definitely a bizarre signing that will contribute very little

06-11-2020, 07:46 PM
Get the next goal and we are back in it.

coldingham hibs
Aberdeen have done nothing, that’s the worst thing about this.

Don’t know what can be done but I would never have hired him in the first place..... he looks and talks so soft and obviously does nothing to inspire the team.... maybe I expect too much but we have to get some inspired players in that have a bit of fight and ambition... I don’t see that on the park or on the side lines....

I’m not contradicting you deliberately here but he inspired Alloa to promotion. St Mirren to avoid relegation. St Mirren to promotion. Sunderland to a final then picked up the Sunderland team after failing to win promotion to get to the play off final. I’m not convinced he fails to inspire players.

I’d be willing to accept that perhaps he picks the wrong formation vs teams. 4 man midfield vs Aberdeen, of which two are out and out wingers?

Is it inspiration or selection?

Bipolar.net at it's finest.

davhibby
The game was over after we gifted them 2 goals in 10 minutes. There’s not really much(any) point in getting bogged down in the game after that

But he's a leader

Very strange signing. The polar opposite of what we need in midfield.

06-11-2020, 07:47 PM

Kyle Magennis?

Nail on the head

Probably not but he can at least pass the ball, something no one in this team seems capable of, can't be any bloody worse.

He's just like Newell when pressed, gives it away and looks the poor player he is. Never mind we can always put Hallberg on, if I'm still struggling to see what he brings, how the hell will the Don's know. 😂

PH91
06-11-2020, 07:48 PM

I assume by spoiler you mean someone who is good defensively and able to break up opponents attacks. In which case mcrorie is a spoiler, jack, brown, haring, dicker, all spoilers. Difference is they can also actually play football.

I'm sick of watching us have to go direct or newell having to come deeper than gogic to take the ball then run past gogic to try and make something happen at the other end.

Think about it, we have three players from St Mirren on our books and if we want to progress then i suggest we sign players of a better calibre or mediocrity will be the norm for years to come.

The Captain....
Looks like we've managed to beat ourselves yet again.

Get the psychologist back to the training centre.

Saint Hibee
06-11-2020, 07:49 PM
The only difference between tonight and the drab football we've been playing all season is giving away 2 crazy goals which we haven't been doing. We're not really any better or worse in our play in general.

This. We’ve been mediocre all season, even when we win. We’re in a flattering position in the league due to other teams’ games in hand and the fact everybody else is terrible.

Very strange signing. The polar opposite of what we need in midfield.

But he played for St Mirren.:rolleyes:

Hanlon has been superb this season

Not having a go at Paul in particular, just feel we have never really progressed defensively and character-wise. I want Porteous to develop and don't think he will next to Paul I'm afraid. And he's not a 'captain' in my eyes. Off the field, yes very much so, on the field, never. I don't see him losing it or taking a grip of the players.

And Paul has been solid, no doubt. SDG is spent, as is Daz - two large wages we cannot afford to keep at the club - sorry, but true. We're a football team, not a harbour of sentiment. Just being brutally honest bud, not spoiling for an argument.

Tha Cabbage Kid
06-11-2020, 07:50 PM
to be fair mallan might be the answer. the aberdeen defence are very good and have stopped everyting thats been put at them. wouldnt mind seing 3 at the back and getting doig on the left wing. Doig has been the only positive thing in the first half. get boyle off too been very poor!

EVENTUALLY
JR needs to take action

McGregor for Porteous

Gullan for Doidge or Nisbet

Wright for Gogic

Nowhere near good enough 😷

-Jonesy-
06-11-2020, 07:51 PM
Think about it, we have three players from St Mirren on our books and if we want to progress then i suggest we sign players of a better calibre or mediocrity will be the norm for years to come.

That John McGinn was **** eh

Magpie
Don’t think we have anyone on the bench who can offer more than the players on it tbh

noz

Kind of agree here. 60% possesion for us and 2 shots each on target.

It's a typical Hibs Aberdeen game though - you can convince yourself all you want that there's not much between the teams but the gulf is actually massive.

I'd be amazed if we managed one shot on target in the second half, let alone two, let alone score twice. We'll have the ball, we'll make some pretty passes, we might chuck the odd cross into the box, we might take the odd shot from 30 yards - the truth is we won't really threaten them.

You just can't afford to start a game like that because we are too far behind them in terms of quality to get back into the match, and it's delusional to think that we're going to get anything from the game, even if we might have the ball in their half a bit.

Ross has a thin squad and 8 or 9 decent players. He's kind of had to play this way today but realistically you're never going to get anything at Pittodrie playing 2 up front, 2 out wide and very light in the middle.

Newell and Gogic
Ferguson and McCrorie

It’s almost like Aberdeen realise that centre mid is an important area of the field and you don’t scrimp in your recruitment there.

He's just like Newell when pressed, gives it away and looks the poor player he is. Never mind we can always put Hallberg on, if I'm still struggling to see what he brings, how the hell will the Don's know. 😂

:rotflmao:

Doig looks better going forward and toiling at the back. They win everything in the air and we are slow and ponderous, hoofball panic merchants with Doidge up top.

McGregor will offer nothing though. He only comes on for Porto. Put and extra man in the middle and actually get Boyle out wide. Him and Murphy keep coming inside and are providing nothing.

mal

Think about it some more; John McGinn was a St Mirren player.

Newell and Gogic
Ferguson and McCrorie

I see what your saying but that isn't the only or major problem is it. The problem is selection firstly, Murphy hasn't given us anything at all but handed Aberdeen their first goal, the coach should be brining him on when opposition are tiring not starting him. Once again Ryan Porteous has shown his school boy football like he did giving the corner away against Hearts for no reason and also the own goal he scored at ER, both no need and pointless. Centre back with the whole pitch in front of him and he kicks it straight in to the back of an Aberdeen player. If we are all honest about it then we'd all be saying the lad deserves dropped but Jackson went and we didn't probably couldn't bring in a centre back who would be happy playing cover. SDG and DM have had their day and wouldn't provide us with anything better on the park. It's sad really to see inexperience and lack of games cause us to shoot ourselves in the foot. We created three chances in that first half two for Aberdeen and one for ourselves. Stevie Mallan isn't the man to unlock them and those who have said we don't have someone who can are spot on. It's an opportunity to try something out maybe Jamie Gullan could get some experience having a go at a very stuffy side, so stuffy it's going to be difficult for anyone but at least here is an opportunity for a bit of practice. We don't look like getting anything from this game so we may aswell use this have to try something completetely different.

HendoDelivered
06-11-2020, 07:52 PM
Gogic is pretty knickers, I think cause we were quite soft last year, we’’ve over hyped him, average footballer

06-11-2020, 07:53 PM
Kyle Magennis?

We have been playing him on the left have we not?

Tam on Hibs TV has put on his negative trousers tonight. He keeps going on about the team being affected by last week but he seems to have been hit harder.

Think about it some more; John McGinn was a St Mirren player.John Mcginn
Kenny McLean
Jon Obika.

Agree. Complete lunacy, especially when Aberdeen are so strong in midfield. Tactical nativity similar to our game against them at Easter Road.

Gogic is pretty knickers, I think cause we were quite soft last year, we’’ve over hyped him, average footballer

Hoofs it in whatever direction he's facing.

06-11-2020, 07:54 PM
We have been playing him on the left have we not?

That appeared to be due to necessity rather than anything else. Ross is going to need to change his formation soon and lose the two up front.

Come on Hibs.

Hoofs it in whatever direction he's facing.That's total nonsense. Try watching for a change instead of just moaning.

I assume by spoiler you mean someone who is good defensively and able to break up opponents attacks. In which case mcrorie is a spoiler, jack, brown, haring, dicker, all spoilers. Difference is they can also actually play football.

I'm sick of watching us have to go direct or newell having to come deeper than gogic to take the ball then run past gogic to try and make something happen at the other end.

We're going direct because as you say Gogic can't pass, Newell doesn't lead and we think by going with 2 wide men against a well organised Aberdeen team who play 3 in the middle will work, we go long because we have no one to control the middle.

Scotty Leither
06-11-2020, 07:55 PM
Kyle Magennis?

Younger legs that are fit, then. There are players in that team that need unceremoniously dropped such as Porteous, and Boyle, but we have absolutely nothing to replace them with or offer some competition and the new signings are either not up to speed fitness wise, or in the case of Wright have shown nothing when they have come in.

Ron Gordon wants a smaller squad with better "quality". Trouble is when the "quality" players we have don't perform, then we're mid-table at best again. Not that there'll be any pressure on Jack to win matches consistently, that pressure only comes if he drops into the nether regions of the table and the Directors/Owner starts getting it in the neck.

06-11-2020, 07:55 PM

He's not. Yet another negative nonsense post for the sake of it.

06-11-2020, 07:56 PM
He's not. Yet another negative nonsense post for the sake of it.Correct. Far too much of it on here.

There was a huge clamour to sign him on here before we did.

It's a typical Hibs Aberdeen game though - you can convince yourself all you want that there's not much between the teams but the gulf is actually massive.

I'd be amazed if we managed one shot on target in the second half, let alone two, let alone score twice. We'll have the ball, we'll make some pretty passes, we might chuck the odd cross into the box, we might take the odd shot from 30 yards - the truth is we won't really threaten them.

You just can't afford to start a game like that because we are too far behind them in terms of quality to get back into the match, and it's delusional to think that we're going to get anything from the game, even if we might have the ball in their half a bit.

Ross has a thin squad and 8 or 9 decent players. He's kind of had to play this way today but realistically you're never going to get anything at Pittodrie playing 2 up front, 2 out wide and very light in the middle.

Absolutely this.

Everyone runs Aberdeen down, and they are brutal to watch at times, but they are a demonstrably better side than us.

06-11-2020, 07:57 PM
Hoof!

Absolutely this.

Everyone runs Aberdeen down, and they are brutal to watch at times, but they are a demonstrably better side than us.They might be, but I couldn't be bothered watching that every week.

Newell is rotten tonight. One good game every 5.

Newell is rotten tonight. One good game every 5.Nonsense!

06-11-2020, 07:58 PM
Jamie Murphy has won an absolute watch getting his full rangers pay this season then an undoubtedly good salary from hibs next season.

Absolutely this.

Everyone runs Aberdeen down, and they are brutal to watch at times, but they are a demonstrably better side than us.

“I wouldn’t want to watch that every week” is a common saying when it comes to them. They are a good, effective team.

Can’t see where a goal is coming from, we don’t look at all like scoring.

06-11-2020, 07:59 PM
Nonsense!

It's really not.

They don’t have to

Magpie
Don’t think the mentality is there to get anything.

It's really not.1 game in 5? Nonsense.

06-11-2020, 08:00 PM
Nonsense!

He has been rotten tonight.

Absolutely this.

Just idiot fans wanting to feel better about their team. Happens every time they beat us. Pages of people on here saying ‘glad I don’t have to watch them every week’ or ‘all they do is foul’ etc etc.

coco22
Hold on tight...positive comment. Superb tackles from Gogic and Porto

They might be, but I couldn't be bothered watching that every week.

Every team is brutal to watch most weeks in Scotland, I'd take their brutal over ours.

They look a team devoid of ideas.

We’ve been like that for a while. Devoid of any real creativeness

Boyle looks like he’s just not bothered. Really odd performance.

Wee flurry from Hibs there.

We are awful to watch.

06-11-2020, 08:01 PM
They might be, but I couldn't be bothered watching that every week.

No one can say that we have been good to watch despite the good results.

06-11-2020, 08:01 PM
That Hedges lassie is getting on my tits someone should take clippers to that Barnet.

06-11-2020, 08:02 PM
They look a team devoid of ideas.

It's the lack of urgency or tempo that is pissing me off. Just lazy as anything.

Hibs upping the tempo now.

No one can say that we have been good to watch despite the good results.I didn't say that either, but we at least want something better.

We have absolutely no idea what to do once we get forward.

06-11-2020, 08:03 PM
Doidge looks like he needs a rest. Lead in his boots at the moment

06-11-2020, 08:03 PM
Has Doidge won a header yet?

06-11-2020, 08:04 PM
Struggle to string two passes together. Passing is *****. Movement is *****. Decision making is *****. Shooting would probably be ***** anaw if we're ever too see it. Just all around *****. Plenty of possession though so there's that... Only serves to exacerbate how bad we are though.

HibeesLA
We have absolutely no idea what to do once we get forward.

The execution of any forward pass is abysmal at the moment.

Aberdeen are just better. Have been for years. Pure and simple. We'll probably finish fourth.

We're ***** and we know we are 😁

Has Doidge won a header yet?

Has Boyle touched the ball?

06-11-2020, 08:05 PM
Get the next goal and we are back in it.

I don’t think we could score two against them on this form Hope am wrong

Has Boyle touched the ball?

Is Gogic a footballer?

Pauls having a good game, our man of the match so far, that's why we haven't scored.

18Craig75
Really lacking in desire and mental strength. If there’s two teams you need to have those in spades it’s Aberdeen and Hearts.

06-11-2020, 08:06 PM
Is Gogic a footballer?

Nope. :greengrin

Absolutely this.

Absolutely. However, if we did what they do, there would still be folk on here complaining, probably that the football wasn’t good enough. Not “Hibs class”.

I’ve nae idea what other fans sites are like, but this place is absolutely teeming with misery, almost all the time.

Everyone’s *****. Players aren’t interested. There’s nae plan. Cannae handle pressure,

Except we’re actually doing pretty well. Jack Ross record (points gained) since he came in is pretty good. We’re pretty much where I expect us to be in the table.

I’m gutted about the semi final, but it doesn’t define our season. We’ve loads to play for.

Passing is very very lazy and done with absolutely no care. This is terrible.

We’ve not even had an attempt on goal yet.

Young Doig caught yards out of position, got way with that.

Most play is Newell comes deep and gets the ball, passes back to Hanlon who passes to Porteous, back to Hanlon, onto Newell back to Hanlon and then a lump upto Doidge who can't jump.

06-11-2020, 08:07 PM
Really lacking in desire and mental strength. If there’s two teams you need to have those in spades it’s Aberdeen and Hearts.I disagree. It's skill/form that's missing.

Aberdeen are just better. Have been for years. Pure and simple. We'll probably finish fourth.

I'd be really unhappy if we finish below 4th given the lead we currently have.

PH91
No shot on goal as yet. Its time to change it. 352, get someone in behind the front 2. Boyle should see more of the ball if he drops to wingback.

Mallan on for Newell.

H18S NX
Hibs finding Aberdeen players with great accuracy

Newell off for Mallan. He was miles off it tonight.

06-11-2020, 08:08 PM
Poor substitution in my view, hope they prove me wrong. I don't think Aberdeen will be worried about Mallan coming on.

Hibs finding Aberdeen players with great accuracy

haha ha, at least we can still laugh.

Things Aberdeen haven't done - made any mistakes at the back, miss glaring chances we've presented to them, lost defensive shape or discipline at any time.

It might not be aesthetically beautiful or edge-of-your-seat entertaining but it has been very efficient.

Poor substitution in my view, hope they prove me wrong. I don't think Aberdeen will be worried about Mallan coming on.

Who would Aberdeen worry about us bringing on?

Surely we change formation.

06-11-2020, 08:09 PM
Why wait till now to change it, should've been done at half time.

Mallan for Newell, so it's not working what do we do, nothing just change personnel WTF.

Magpie
Hanlon playing 50 yard passes every time he gets the ball

There's not much else we can do, who else on the bench would they be worried about?

hibIBZ
Getting out numbered in midfield so we sub on a even less combative midfielder for our most creative player

Newell off for Mallan. He was miles off it tonight.

Tonight?[emoji23][emoji23][emoji23]

06-11-2020, 08:10 PM
Boyle making run which leads to nowhere.

We need to stop trying to play two in the middle of the park. They’re not good enough for it.

Chorley Hibee
Absolutely zero chance of getting back into this game.

Ponderous pish as usual.

Boyle making run which leads to nowhere.Are you criticising him for trying now?

Getting quite depressed now after such a promising start to the season

If he puts his foot on the ball and plays a short five yard pass its an improvement.

Usually with Joe you can tell within 20 mins what kind of night hes going to have.

Saying that everyone has been brutal,

I thought I was negative in my view of Hibs but some the moaning gits on this thread are just doing my nut in.

Time to take a break from here and leave the miserable *******s to it.

06-11-2020, 08:11 PM
Can't even blame the pitch this week either

Santa Cruz
Calm down. We’re just giving them a start. 3-2 Hibs

We need to stop trying to play two in the middle of the park. They’re not good enough for it.

I agree. Would drop Doidge and give him a rest.

This looks identical to a Hecky team...

06-11-2020, 08:12 PM

I've been saying it all season so far but hordes on here seem to want 2 up top so 442 it is.

Aberdeen could play with 10 men and still cruise this, we are so easy to play against.

Scotty Leither
Have we worked this goalie yet?

Paul Hanlon hitting these long passes is getting on my wick, one in a hundred attempts comes off.

Absolutely zero chance of getting back into this game.

Ponderous pish as usual.

I could have told you that after 5 minutes.

Saint Hibee
More importantly, what the hell’s happened to Stevie Mallan’s eyebrows?

He's caught a couple of crosses.

Magpie
06-11-2020, 08:13 PM
2-0 down and 0 shots on target after 66 minutes

Kano Kirsty
Ever the optimist, we’re getting 3 late goals here.....

Another good pen shout not given

More importantly, what the hell’s happened to Stevie Mallan’s eyebrows?

Think he's had them threaded 😂

Penalty? Not that players are interested in arguing the case. So ****ing meek.

No. And we won’t.

This looks identical to a Hecky team...

Heckys team battered them at Pittodrie. Somehow managed to draw though

I thought I was negative in my view of Hibs but some the moaning gits on this thread are just doing my nut in.

Time to take a break from here and leave the miserable *******s to it.

We’re you expecting people praising a fine performance?

Another good pen shout not givenVery soft, although Hearts got countless fouls like that last week.

06-11-2020, 08:14 PM
Drey Wright on. Yay.

06-11-2020, 08:14 PM
Pen denied . Looked straight forward enough .😡