View Full Version : Match Updates Hibs 0 - 1 Aberdeen

Pages : [1] 2 3 4

30-08-2020, 02:19 PM
🆕 Good afternoon, Hibees!

📋 Jack Ross has named his starting line-up for today's Premiership head to head with Aberdeen.

🍕 Delivered by @VittoriaEd.

Murphy on the bench Halberg and Allan start

30-08-2020, 02:21 PM
So Gogic was the player that had the inconclusive test.

30-08-2020, 02:21 PM
That is one weak looking midfield. Hopefully we click passing the ball because we aren't winning any battle.

30-08-2020, 02:23 PM
That is one weak looking midfield. Hopefully we click passing the ball because we aren't winning any battle.

Didn't the same midfield rip them to bits last season at home?

30-08-2020, 02:25 PM
Horgan missing too

30-08-2020, 02:25 PM
Gogic farce...Aberdeen win.

30-08-2020, 02:26 PM
Didn't the same midfield rip them to bits last season at home?

No. Drey Wright only signed in the summer.

All it takes is 2/3 absences and we look weak again.

No. Drey Wright only signed in the summer.

Well. Hallberg, Allan and Mallan were the trio in the middle when we done them easily last season. Slightly different today but no need for the negativity IMO.

30-08-2020, 02:27 PM
Out football them. Big chance for Hallberg to stand up and put in a big performance.

Is Horgan injured or on his way?

30-08-2020, 02:27 PM
We didn't need Gogic to scud them at ER last season. Come on Hibs

badabing67
30-08-2020, 02:28 PM
Has anyone got the line up to post please. Thanx in advance

30-08-2020, 02:29 PM
Well. Hallberg, Allan and Mallan were the trio in the middle when we done them easily last season. Slightly different today but no need for the negativity IMO.

What was negative about what I said?

I made an observation that I hoped we clicked passing the ball as if we get dragged into a battle as Aberdeen like to do it won't suit the personnel we have on the park.

Stop searching for conflict at every opportunity ffs. It's tiresome.

30-08-2020, 02:29 PM
Having looked at the team, I would take a point right now.

30-08-2020, 02:30 PM
Out football them. Big chance for Hallberg to stand up and put in a big performance.

Is Horgan injured or on his way?

Really wanted him to be given a chance along side Gogic, he’s going to be asked to be a defensive midfielder today and that’s not his position I don’t think.

I’m hoping Horgan will be on his way.

PH91
30-08-2020, 02:30 PM
So Gogic out. Might have more of the ball now but clean sheet will be more difficult. Potentially won't be as boring as recent games though.

30-08-2020, 02:31 PM

I made an observation that I hoped we clicked passing the ball as if we get dragged into a battle as Aberdeen like to do it won't suit the personnel we have on the park.

Well said, cause an argument in an empty house.

30-08-2020, 02:32 PM
451? Or 352 with Boyle up top?

https://scontent-lhr8-1.xx.fbcdn.net/v/t1.0-9/118696696_3152433171522389_4354224066446417027_n.j pg?_nc_cat=104&_nc_sid=8bfeb9&_nc_ohc=JN4qbrxbSaQAX8G_9ES&_nc_ht=scontent-lhr8-1.xx&oh=7dcb94e213710737e970f1f3bf685cf7&oe=5F6FDBEC

''We aren't winning any battle'' is quite negtive IMO.

Funny how you have an option or make an observation but I'm looking for conflict. Laughable stuff. I have no intention of looking for conflict, I'm just replying to you.

Games like today where we need Boyle to show us he’s the main man

30-08-2020, 02:34 PM
Gonna be Hallbergs day to shine.......Wright first scorer,scuffy goal but they all count & take us on to a 2-0 win...Well done Hibs #manifestationtime :wink:

Kaff
30-08-2020, 02:34 PM
The positive I take from it is that JR has not mucked about by putting someone like Hanlon in as a defensive mid and thereby having to make adjustments all through the team.
Trusts the squad and Hallberg got a big afternoon ahead of him to deliver on that trust, I'd imagine we will play a little more cautiously but for me I'm happy with this team in the circumstances.

30-08-2020, 02:35 PM

I reckon 3-5-2 with Boyle up top. Get at their slow as **** back three.

30-08-2020, 02:36 PM

Neither. 4-4-2 with Boyle up top or 4-4-1-1 as we like to say these days.

30-08-2020, 02:37 PM
Games like today where we need Boyle to show us he’s the main man

100%

Really interested to see how we get on today.

Taking Aberdeen on at football bore fruit last season more than Lennon's "fight fire with fire" ever seemed to do so I'm not unhappy with the team we have.

Our defensive record has been immense though, so it will be interesting to see how much of that is down to Gogic. In my opinion his influence is colossal, and having that defensive one in front of a pair of centre backs is so much more solid than every other combination we can choose. We're losing something by losing Gogic, that's for sure. Set pieces effect on both boxes as well - Aberdeen are strong there and have caught us out before, we could well do without being without one of our more imposing players.

30-08-2020, 02:37 PM
What's the Aberdeen team like? Any of the 8 back in?

badabing67
30-08-2020, 02:38 PM
Really wanted him to be given a chance along side Gogic, he’s going to be asked to be a defensive midfielder today and that’s not his position I don’t think.

I’m hoping Horgan will be on his way.

I agree with what you said about Hallberg and Gogic but have you heard something about Horgan. On a positive i doubt Gogic will be travelling for the Internationals so at least he won't get injured

badabing67
30-08-2020, 02:40 PM
Celtic just scored

30-08-2020, 02:41 PM
Inexplicably, there’s no James in today’s squad either.

30-08-2020, 02:43 PM
Gogic is the absolute worst player to lose for this game.

What's the Aberdeen team like? Any of the 8 back in?

At least 4 of them.

badabing67
Inexplicably, there’s no James in today’s squad either.

Hopefully he has found somewhere where he'll get some game time.

30-08-2020, 02:44 PM
https://www.bbc.co.uk/sport/football/53878258

Line up for both teams.

Paul1642
30-08-2020, 02:46 PM
Don’t write of the staring 11 became we are missing one player. Hallberg has always looked solid to me and I’m confident he will take his chance.

30-08-2020, 02:51 PM
Lets not kid on that Gogic isnt a huge loss. Much better tackler than Hallberg. Hall, Allan, and Newall is missing some steel. Hopefully they can just keep moving the ball quickly and not get pulled into a battle.

30-08-2020, 02:51 PM
Don’t write of the staring 11 became we are missing one player. Hallberg has always looked solid to me and I’m confident he will take his chance.

I would be delighted to watch Hallberg have the kind of game today that would make Jack Ross hesitate between picking him or Gogic in the future.

We really need the back line to have another good game today.

Andymac85
30-08-2020, 02:53 PM
Ross just confirmed Horgan leaving.

30-08-2020, 02:54 PM
James, Nesbit, Gogic, Horgan, Mackie are today’s inactives.

30-08-2020, 02:55 PM

Not upset about that. Thanks for that day at Tynie Daryl.

30-08-2020, 02:56 PM
Ross just confirmed Horgan leaving.Really? Wasn't expecting that one...

Tbh we need better so can see why, especially if it allows us to bring in a centre mid. Wonder where he's off to

Paul1642
30-08-2020, 02:57 PM
Not upset about that. Thanks for that day at Tynie Daryl.

Yeah. He’s been a decent enough player for us and can’t fault his effort, but if we want to be competing for 3rd and in Europe we need a little better.

30-08-2020, 02:57 PM
Really? Wasn't expecting that one...

Tbh we need better so can see why, especially if it allows us to bring in a centre mid. Wonder where he's off to

Down South

Paul1642
30-08-2020, 02:58 PM
Down South

If there really is a fee involved then we haven’t done to bad there.

30-08-2020, 02:58 PM
Disappointed Horgan is leaving

zitelli62
30-08-2020, 02:59 PM
Good luck Daryl tynie will live long in the memory,
Right let's get into them from the 1st minute forget all this negative stuff .

C'mon the hibees.

30-08-2020, 03:08 PM
Big game today - 3 points would be a massive boost - sorry to see Horgan go - he had a decent start to the season, not fully convinced by Gogic myself yet, so good opportunity for Hallberg,
Aberdeen might have "tired legs" after their European jaunt, so maybe a factor in our favour?
If we are to take 3 points today we need massive step-up in the work rate, we need to retain possession better and pass the ball better ... looking forward to the game against one of the better teams in the league - nice to see Rob Jones in the studio for the tv broadcast ..

badabing67
30-08-2020, 03:13 PM
Wonder if we are getting a fee for Horgan

30-08-2020, 03:14 PM
Sorry to see Horgan go but frees up a wage. Wonder if it’s a mutual or a wee undisclosed fee??

30-08-2020, 03:17 PM
Sorry to see Horgan go.

Very hot and cold but he'd started the season well.

I can only imagine that he's one of our higher earners and the move is in Hibs' financial interests.

Explains the desire to bring in Murphy I suppose.

30-08-2020, 03:17 PM
Gogic out is a shanner. Hopefully MH ups his game.

30-08-2020, 03:18 PM

Decent wage, thought he would be better. Good luck to the guy though.

30-08-2020, 03:18 PM
Wonder if we are getting a fee for Horgan

We should he’s under contact

JammyDoidger
30-08-2020, 03:20 PM
Squad isn't much stronger then if it means Horgan is leaving..hopefully still a few more to come in then.

EH54
Anyone having trouble getting into Hibspass?

Worked every other time but now saying invalid username etc

badabing67
We should he’s under contact

We could release him for free. A bit sudden this wonder what is really behind it

30-08-2020, 03:21 PM
Is this correct

Daryl Horgan has signed a 2 year deal with @AberdeenFC (https://twitter.com/AberdeenFC) , Aberdeen will pay Hibs around £150,000 for the Irishman’s services, thanks for everything Daryl

30-08-2020, 03:23 PM
Is this correct

Daryl Horgan has signed a 2 year deal with @AberdeenFC (https://twitter.com/AberdeenFC) , Aberdeen will pay Hibs around £150,000 for the Irishman’s services, thanks for everything Daryl

Where is that from?.

30-08-2020, 03:24 PM
Is this correct

Not unless Aberdeen is in England now.

The sheep can’t pay fees remember.

EH54
30-08-2020, 03:25 PM
Anyone having trouble getting into Hibspass?

Worked every other time but now saying invalid username etc

Never mind I was including the 0 at the front of my reference number 🙈

Disappointed Horgan is leaving

With Murphy, Wright and Boyle I think we are well covered. Makes signing of Murphy seem totally logical, more experience, more goals, hopefully much bigger impact.

Big game for Hallberg. A chance to shed the Slivka MKII comparisons and show what he can offer.

30-08-2020, 03:26 PM
Not unless Aberdeen is in England now.

The sheep can’t pay fees remember.

Just been on a few twitter comments

30-08-2020, 03:27 PM
Right Hibs lets do the sheep today.

30-08-2020, 03:28 PM
Cant stand these arrogant ********s. Lets give them a doing

30-08-2020, 03:28 PM
Newell/Hallberg/Allan......over to you boys.

30-08-2020, 03:29 PM
Did we fit that digital ribbon thing over the summer? That strip in the main stand looks brighter than just advertising boards?

We could release him for free. A bit sudden this wonder what is really behind it

Us getting Murphy is my guess .

Hedges looks like a total helmet

30-08-2020, 03:30 PM
Be interesting to see how mcrorie does with Scott Allan

Sent from my VOG-L29 using Tapatalk

Hodges looks like a total helmetTop cap likes.

[emoji23]

Hodges looks like a total helmet

He does.

30-08-2020, 03:31 PM
mon the cabbage

gie the baw tae reilly

Hope McCrorie has a mare also!!

Paul1642
Is this correct

Absolutely a wind up.

30-08-2020, 03:32 PM
What was Boyle doing there?

Bloody hell

Wtf was that effort all about

Paul1642
Squad isn't much stronger then if it means Horgan is leaving..hopefully still a few more to come in then.

That partially depends on how good Murphy turns out to be.

30-08-2020, 03:33 PM
Great picture but God that sound again😡

Forever_Green93
WTF was that boyle?

poor from boyle there

Get the sound sorted Hibs TV, it can't be that difficult!

30-08-2020, 03:34 PM
Right Hibs lets do the sheep today.

I'm sure that's illegal.

Mcrorie playing slide rule passes

[emoji15]

Good chance early doors from a keepers mistake.

Marciano got a bit lucky there

Absolutely a wind up.

Cheers, any way more important things to concentrate on now.

doesn't happen very often but shooting towards the FF first half

30-08-2020, 03:35 PM
Cant wait for joe lewis to take half an hour to kick the ball 70 yards all game

FFS get the sound sorted!

JXM73
Wright seems to be playing up top?

30-08-2020, 03:36 PM
Marciano got a bit lucky there

When did Matty Kennedy join them? Good player for Saints.

Wright up top doesnt say much for Gullan. :confused:

Cliff pike sounds like he is on a phone call from Australia, terrible quality

PH91
352 with wright up front.

Boyle at wing back will hopefully see him at his best again.

Hero76
Jee whiz man get the sound sorted

30-08-2020, 03:37 PM
When did Matty Kennedy join them? Good player for Saints.Pre contract I believe

Wright seems to be playing up top?

Looks like a 352 with him up top with Doidge.

30-08-2020, 03:38 PM
Lovely ball by drey Wright

Boyle will be there to watch out for Hayes

30-08-2020, 03:38 PM
Gorgeous ball from Wright with no takers.

30-08-2020, 03:39 PM
Good ball across, but nae takers.

30-08-2020, 03:39 PM
Beautiful ball that from Wright. Not a bad start.

30-08-2020, 03:40 PM
Wright looks a player

Last January

Nice play Scott allan

Brilliant run from Allan

30-08-2020, 03:41 PM
Cliff! Take the microphone out of your pocket!:rolleyes:

Started well. Passing it about well.

OtleyHibs
Great effort from Doig there, unlucky

Rasper from Doig.

wow what a shot from doig. saved

Good shot by Doig, shame that it curled right towards the keeper

January.

Good effort from Doig.

30-08-2020, 03:42 PM
Beautiful ball that from Wright. Not a bad start.

Which means it has 1-0 Aberdeen written all over it!

dalkeith stu
How the **** is that not a foul against Hanlon??!!

What a shot from Doig!

30-08-2020, 03:43 PM
I've switched to Sky, I like Cliffs commentary but that's awful quality.

30-08-2020, 03:43 PM
watched the first 10 mins on red tv before realising it's on Sky, duh

30-08-2020, 03:44 PM
That was an awful attempt at a corner.

I hate the way they line up waiting for the ball to arrive.

30-08-2020, 03:45 PM
It's been a decent start tempo wise

I'll be doing the same unless it improves.

The picture quality's been brilliant so far but the sound is horrific.

We are all over them. Need a goal while on top

30-08-2020, 03:46 PM
We've create a few chances and I'm worried we're going to regret not taking them.

This sound problem must only be a set up problem, we can hear them so the kit is ok but the balance and quality is off on Cliff's mic only.

Hannah_hfc

Same here. Happy to switch back if it gets any better but it sounds like the commentary team are on a bad zoom call connection.

30-08-2020, 03:47 PM
Is Aberdeen's signing policy only guys over 6ft 2?

Drey Wright has a first touch like David Murphy.

Greenfly
C'mon Hibs - gotta take one of these.

Super move, another good shot this time by Boyle, but again straight at the keeper

30-08-2020, 03:48 PM
Save Rocky!

Big save Marciano

And now a smart save by Marciano

Drey Wright a really tidy wee player.

Cut open far too easily

Why is sky crowd noise just Aberdeen songs on repeat

Bossing them here. Got a flukey sheep win all over it

That was an excellent attacking move from Aberdeen there.

30-08-2020, 03:49 PM
Thought we’ve played quite well so far and actually been quite a good game to watch.

Good save from Rocky. Hibs midfield far to static... just wrong footed Newall and left him behind.

Cut open far too easily

Yes, went right through us there and should have scored.

We've started quite well here.

Cue aberdeen goal.

i take it sky are playing soundtrack from an aberdeen home game :rolleyes:

30-08-2020, 03:50 PM
For the first time this season I feel like I'm watching an entertaining game of football (missed the livi game)

We are all over them. Need a goal while on top

Thinking similar, hope we don't regret missing these chances later.

Have they not got any crowd noise from hibs? It’s all Aberdeen songs.

The Producer's an Aberdeen Fan?

i take it sky are playing soundtrack from an aberdeen home game :rolleyes:Was about to post the same [emoji32]

Sent from my SM-G973F using Tapatalk

30-08-2020, 03:51 PM
Scott Allan is like a little mascot getting to run around on the pitch with the big boys.

It really shouldn't annoy me but it does

Have they not got any crowd noise from hibs? It’s all Aberdeen songs.

I don’t know how anyone tells this. Just sounds like nondescript noise to me.

JXM73
30-08-2020, 03:52 PM
Scott Allan is like a little mascot getting to run around on the pitch with the big boys.

Bit harsh...wee boys at least would show some effort

I don’t know how anyone tells this. Just sounds like nondescript noise to me.

I can hear Aberdeen songs

Where are the pheckin strikers?!?!?

Another beautiful ball looking for a tap in.

For the first time this season I feel like I'm watching an entertaining game of football (missed the livi game)
Funny I just said can't get into this no fans football

We had started well, but we have conceded the midfield in the last 5 minutes.

🙄

30-08-2020, 03:53 PM

Behave. Allan is playing well and getting stuck in.

30-08-2020, 03:53 PM
Good work again....Doig just needs to have a look but i like him playing wide in a 352.

30-08-2020, 03:54 PM
It's actually a good competive game of football here

badabing67
Doing is having a really good game

Pushing the “help” button on the Sky remote and turning “Audio Description” to ON will turn off the crowd noise.

Don’t think I’ve ever heard them sing a song so no idea.

I'm about to be slaughtered.

This is third match this s a son where I have watched Scott Allan pull out of tackles. I love watching him being a baller but not happy with his defensive input.

Behave. Allan is playing well and getting stuck in.

Agreed - nothing wrong with allan in the first 20 mins.

30-08-2020, 03:55 PM
Ffs Allan needs to do better there.

Hope HTV sound improves, think I'd prefer mute to Andy Walker/Aberdeen song mix

How many times will an aberdeen player be allowed to pull the top off a hibs player before we get a foul?

even andy walker disagrees with you

Pushing the “help” button on the Sky remote and turning “Audio Description” to ON will turn off the crowd noise.Top tip [emoji106]

30-08-2020, 03:56 PM
Good from Boyle and Wright there.

C’mon Doidge 🤦🏻*♂️

Doidge, goodness

Nice move too

30-08-2020, 03:57 PM
Another good chance for us, but poor effort by Doidge

We could be 3 up here.

Horrible from Doidge. :greengrin

Suburban Hibby
Horrible miss

I'm still fuming about Gogic missing out because if a false positive and missing out on his 1st international call up. Meanwhile 8 Aberdeen players break the rules and get away with what amounts to no more than a telling off. Plus that pr**k McInnes had the cheek to have a go at Ron Gordon about comments he didn't actually make. I'll no be happy if we drop points today.

Doidge has to do better with that chance

Top tip [emoji106]

Just remember to turn it back off after the game or you’ll be sat wondering why someone is telling you what’s going on in the film you’re watching tonight 😂

HendoDelivered
Got to be getting that on target at least.

We could be out of reach if we were clinical enough...

Should be about 3-1 up now.

30-08-2020, 03:58 PM
Not playing too well at the moment.

Aw Doidge, that should have been a goal

Doidge should be doing better there.

How often do we need to learn the lesson of being clinical in games like this?

CropleyisGod
30-08-2020, 03:59 PM

Are they playing at ****todrie or have they brought the wrong mp3?

Greenfly
Pushing the “help” button on the Sky remote and turning “Audio Description” to ON will turn off the crowd noise.
Thanks - that's a relief.

You on the right channel? Decent game up to now.

This is feeling like one of these horrible games where we dominate and lose to a last minute penalty

it's not too bad a game

30-08-2020, 04:00 PM
Just a thought but why does that **** McInnes always makes us play the wrong way when they win the toss, no one else seems to do it.

30-08-2020, 04:00 PM
This is feeling like one of these horrible games where we dominate and lose to a last minute penalty

They've had 75% possession in the last 5 minutes... were not dominating?

30-08-2020, 04:01 PM

Opinions.i think we've been a lot better so far.

30 minutes in and just realised Hayes is playing for Aberdeen!

Just a thought but why does that **** McInnes always makes us play the wrong way when they win the toss, no one else seems to do it.

Maybe nobody has told him we flattened the slope!

I'm about to be slaughtered.

This is third match this s a son where I have watched Scott Allan pull out of tackles. I love watching him being a baller but not happy with his defensive input.

It looks like he's been asked to stand 10 yards in front of the defence in anticipation of us winning the ball and to let him initiate a counter attack from deep within our own half.

In the last 5 minutes is key there. What about the other 25? How many chances have they had?

It's a good open game. Reckon we are pretty even in terms of quality as squads.

That’s a push?

How many chances!!!!!!!!!!

Playing at a higher tempo that's for sure.

30-08-2020, 04:02 PM

We are on decent chances.

Fs,should've scored there.

I'm sitting on my couch making 'authentic crowd noise' and the wife's started complaining about the language.

30-08-2020, 04:03 PM
The scoreline would suggest it's been the Hibs v aberdeen game most expected but it's been a very open game with both teams, particularly Hibs, creating good chances.

Hallberg playing well

We look like scoring whenever we go forward. Very fluid attacking so far.

I think Hallbergs been decent. Good dominant start by us, but how often do we say this against Aberdeen...

Jeez, how many chances do we need?

Maybe nobody has told him we flattened the slope!

It's just a traditional thing though, likes to think he's a smart arse.

I think we re playing we just need to find that pass iñ last third. McCrorie playing well

Save again Rocky!

Need to be more clinical. Would like to see Hallberg offering more options and Doig stopping crosses coming in.

Great save

Cmon Hibs take some of these chances. Playing well.

How often do we need to learn the lesson of being clinical in games like this?

I don't think we are deliberately missing chances mate.

30-08-2020, 04:04 PM
Another excellent save by Marciano

good save rocky

2 great saves from rocky so far.

NC1875
The boy hedges looks decent

We need to score first. No iff’s or but’s.

30-08-2020, 04:05 PM
This is a cracking game

Get SA off the pitch.

porteous having a good game

30-08-2020, 04:06 PM
I don't think we are deliberately missing chances mate.

We’re deliberately fannying about rather than being composed and finishing the move.

Get SA off the pitch.

??

Get SA off the pitch.

We’re doing fine, don’t change anything surely :dunno:

I don’t think Doidge is getting his fair share of decisions, he’s been penalised a couple of times but getting nothing when it looks like he’s being fouled

Get SA off the pitch.

Is he gash like 😂

We’re deliberately fannying about rather than being composed and finishing the move.
If only it was that simple.

30-08-2020, 04:07 PM
??

Yeah, that confused me as well

porteous having a good game

The defence as a whole are coping ok but Aberdeen are creeping through here and there.

Hallberg offering nothing and Allan too slow and weak on the ball.

All Aberdeen just now.

JXM73
Get SA off the pitch.

Now now, no allowed to slate the messiah no matter how anonymous he is....

Do you just come in the match thread to make random stupid comments?

30-08-2020, 04:08 PM
The defence as a whole are coping ok but Aberdeen are creeping through here and there.

All Aberdeen just now.Hallberg is fine

We are missing Horgan and his ability to drive us forward.

Now now, no allowed to slate the messiah no matter how anonymous he is....

There's criticism, and then there's comparing him to a child sponsor except with less effort. Don't play the victim.

Allan is a waste of a jersey. Newell seems a bit lost at times. Need to get closer to the forwards

GISALEGEND
My fear with this game & even still now is, would be like the most recent 2 of 3-1/3-0 or a 0-0, 1-0 affair, this was the acid test today for us with how we've been playing.

Playing well against a good team. Enjoyable game.

Could’ve done with Nesbitt being on the end of the chances we’ve created.

TBF, he's good at it.

All Aberdeen just now.

Same Hallberg that's been the best of the midfielders so far?

30-08-2020, 04:09 PM

Do you leave the board for more than a year when you get found out?

Ffs

Ffs

Just_Jimmy
**** off

Sent from my Pixel 3a using Tapatalk