View Full Version : Match Updates Hibs 0 - 1 Aberdeen
30-08-2020, 05:21 PM
They really are a horrible team to watch. Sat in from 32 mins to go
I'd take that any day. We've been horrible to watch most of the season as well.
Think Aberdeen had a tougher game midweek in Europe.
On the plus side all the members of the Aberdeen 8 that are playing are dealing ok with the draconian SFA sanction on their shoulders.
Atrocious display Hibs.
Allan (who doesn’t appear to be the same player he once was), Newell, Mallan & Hallberg. There’s no combination in there to support Gogic that is good enough for 3rd IMO, certainly not to consistently finish 3rd.
4 midfielders that aren’t bad players in their own right but too much quantity over quality and tough decisions need made in terms of moving them on and finally getting the spine of the team right.
Drey Wright. Cockney Rhyming Slang.
30-08-2020, 05:22 PM
Ft
Think Aberdeen had a tougher game midweek in Europe.
On the plus side all the members of the Aberdeen 8 that are playing are dealing ok with the draconian SFA sanction on their shoulders.
Atrocious display Hibs.
They won 6-0 didn't they [emoji23][emoji23][emoji23]
Sent from my VOG-L29 using Tapatalk
This thread has been Hibs net at its very best.
Mikey_1875
30-08-2020, 05:23 PM
This result almost looked accepted by all at the 60 minute mark. Without Gogic and Nisbet its essentially the same shell as last season which we all knew wouldn’t be good enough. Think two up top needs to be essential going forward
HendoDelivered
That was a disgrace 🤮
Just_Jimmy
Absolute dross. We're ***** but Aberdeen are so anti football. It's absolutely vile.
Sent from my Pixel 3a using Tapatalk
Still Smiling
Simply awful in midfield
Need to take your chances.
My old man
Long season ahead
We've done absolutely ****ing nothing this half and Aberdeen have been in complete control. Every match we've played like we're a diddy away team - sitting back, counter attacking, hoof ball merchants
we're not easy on the eye are we and it's been like that since day one...livingston game the only
exception
imo
That was absolutely awful, Aberdeen have got a pretty strong squad. Bringing on McGinn, Main and McGeouch shows they have a bit more quality.
Hopefully we are looking for someone similar to Mccrorie for the middle of the park.
Agreed, and not give away silly penalties.
Deserved defeat unfortunately. 2nd all over the park to everything. Hate to say it but Ross McCrorie would have been a very good addition to this Hibs team. Aberdeen have got themselves a very good player.
30-08-2020, 05:24 PM
That was absolutely Drey Wright
That was really really poor we looked beat from the minute they scored the pen.
Weve sorted the defence out but middle to front needing an awful lot of work done - I think we need another 2 centre midfielders and empty Newell and Hallberg with Allan not a starter
It’s was far from awful. Some utter tripe on here. Dons will be the main fav for 3rd. We must get a strong midfielder in there.
Just not as good as Aberdeen.
Not much else to say
It was fairly even, we gifted them a goal stupidly and that was game over.
Didn't play bad and in fact defence were solid. Aberdeen a very hard team to break down when they get in front.
No need for the doom and gloom
Sent from my SM-G973F using Tapatalk
Deserved defeat unfortunately. 2nd all over the park to everything. Hate to say it but Ross McCrorie would have been a very good addiction this Hibs team.
He did look good. Hopefully our next target for that role can be as good.
They won 6-0 didn't they [emoji23][emoji23][emoji23]
Wee bit of sarcasn for you there.
Feeble response & no other outcome likely after the penalty calamity. No where near good enough.
Martin Boyle threw the game with that rediculous foul
30-08-2020, 05:25 PM
What chances?
tonyrougier123
Predictable guff today,no gogic and Horgan really showed how bad the midfield is,Mallan,Hallberg,Wright ,Murphy and possibly Newell not good enough for me.
sean04
Wasn’t the best but if we took our chances it’s a different game. Huge chances for Boyle, doidge and Wright. Beat by a stupid penalty
Really disappointing. We created chances, especially first half, but did we play well? Not for me. Again the midfield was inept and failed to impose themselves on the opposition. A bizarre penalty the difference, Aberdeen are very average too.
Could have played until this time next week and not scored.
Similar level of performance to our previous 3 games. We were up against a better team than those that we have faced previously though.
I said yesterday I would be pretty happy with 7 points from our next 5 games. I think 6 is the best we can hope for now.
Bright_Hibee
Doidge was very poor today. There's a reason he's not in the Wales squad and we have seen it today
jakedance
Decent but wasteful before the penalty. Piss poor after that. A lesson from Aberdeen in how to win games in this league. They’re well organised, good shape and everyone puts in a shift.
This thread has been Hibs net at its very best.
? 2nd half was awful and simply not good enough.
What chances?
I assume you missed the game.
Andymac85
It was fairly even, we gifted them a goal stupidly and that was game over.
I don’t know what game you were watching if you think that was fairly even.
I’m no sure how that can be described as anything but awful? Could’ve played until midnight and not came close to scoring.
sean04
What chances?
Boyle after 30seconda is a huge chance, doidge should score and Wright in the 2nd half
30-08-2020, 05:26 PM
Martin Boyle threw the game with that rediculous foulAnd a ridiculous miss
All Newells fault though
Newell and hallberg didn't do enough to let Allan get space to work
They look a better team, which is disappointing with the players we have brought in.
Missed Gogic big time today.
What chances?
Doidge, Wright and Boyle all had good chances.
An absolute disgrace that performance. The luck has run out and we’re terrible. Players can’t even pass 10 yards and gave up at half time.
A squad lacking any type of character and will let us down on the big occasion, such as the semi final
Davy Mac
Midfield are all to similar, rather than attempt to win the ball they just foul. No creativity either. Glad we've racked up a few points already, I think we will need them.
Sent from my SM-G955F using Tapatalk
I assume you missed the game.
I wish.
Didn't play bad and in fact defence were solid. Aberdeen a very hard team to break down when they get in front.
Didn't play bad? You have to be joking.
30-08-2020, 05:27 PM
Aberdeen's not a great side but they have the nous and game management to get them back into 3rd again.
So frustrating but I think we're still about 3 or 4 players away from challenging for top 3.
Impressive first 35 minutes, we wasted too many good chances, and gave away a stupid goal and then we had nothing to offer. We have serious fitness issues at this club - physically and mentally - they looked fitter despite a midweek game, and they were more more up for it. Their subs helped them, our subs didn't help us at all - really disappointing to loose so meekly.
LeithMike
Allan (who doesn’t appear to be the same player he once was), Newell, Mallan & Hallberg. There’s no combination in there to support Gogic that is good enough for 3rd IMO, certainly not to consistently finish 3rd.
4 midfielders that aren’t bad players in their own right but too much quantity over quality and tough decisions need made in terms of moving them on and finally getting the spine of the team right.All of those players just want to sit on the ball and make passes - not much use when there is nobody else left in midfield to run into space to collect a pass . A badly balanced midfield ain't going to take you far and to be fair a lot of fans have identified the weakness. Why not the management team?
Sent from my SM-N960F using Tapatalk
Silversand
Aberdeen look to have a better team than us just now, but we're only in August, so long way to go.
Didn't play bad? You have to be joking.No. I'm not
An absolute disgrace that performance. The luck has run out and we’re terrible. Players can’t even pass 10 yards and gave up at half time.
A squad lacking any type of character and will let us down on the big occasion, such as the semi final
**** me
Well played the keeper and McGinn, Hanlon and Porteous. Other than that utterly eye bleeding all over.
Disappointing.
Gave them a daft pent and Aberdeen just did what they do best, defend deep and not give any space away. I was impressed by Ferguson and mcrorrie but it's a shame that such a talented squad are being asked to play nullifying football.
Our 'big' players should be disappointed today, Boyle and Allan didn't offer enough. Our wide players didn't get forward enough to get crosses in and too often doidge was left without any support.
I'd like to see more of gullan if nisbet is still injured after the international break.
Murphy looked like he will take some adjusting to not playing for rangers, I'm afraid we don't get whatever we want off the ref Jamie lad!
McInnes has our number, we need to offer more going forward.
30-08-2020, 05:28 PM
That’s pretty much it but we also need to finish better when we get the chance.
When we get Nisbet and Gogic in and Wright, Mallan and Murphy with more game time I think our balance and attacking play will improve.
This is what Aberdeen do. They’ve been building this for the past 8 years.
When we lost the first goal, a 1-0 defeat was probably the best result we were likely to achieve.
We're a country mile off being able to challenge for 3rd place.
2 central midfielders to slot straight in as starters required, otherwise it's another season trying to scrape into the top 6.
We're crying out for solid all-round players to play in midfield instead of having to try to cobble together a unit from a bunch of one trick ponies and the odd jack of all trades master of none.
Wright and Murphy very poor and anonymous.
Poor day at the office but it was always going to be a big ask to get anything else.
It had 1-0 Aberdeen written all over it from when we were slack in front of their goal in the first minute to them having the cigars and slippers out for the last half hour.
Much work ahead.
But we already knew that. Right?
Today shows why Aberdeen will be top 4 and we won't. They are the epitome of efficient, Hibs are huff and puff who'll win some and lose others.
Aberdeen are horrible to watch, but Hibs created nothing in the 2nd half. The only shots on target came from Aberdeen.
Looking forward to getting Nesbitt back.
It’s was far from awful. Some utter tripe on here. Dons will be the main fav for 3rd. We must get a strong midfielder in there.
It's not just today though. Bar the Livi game we have played very poor football. I've watched the last 4 games and they have been Hearts levels of entertainment.
We're probably still the 4th best team in the league but I don't find myself enjoying watching this Hibs team. We need a few players in.
Only big plus for me is our defence is very solid.
Other than Gogic there isn't CM i'd be bothered to see the back of. And this isn't a knee jerk reaction to a defeat.
Aberdeen did what they do and we allowed them to do it very well.
We knew what they would do and we did very little to nothing to stop them doing it.
We didn't play that badly for most of the match but we arguably didn't do the right thing with the right players using the right tactics.
Over to you Jack Ross.
Onwards and upwards please.:greengrin
SideBurns
30-08-2020, 05:29 PM
We need to start actually playing well, instead of relying on the defence to bail us out every week. They still haven't lost a goal in open play, and would've kept a clean sheet today were it not for a ridiculous mistake from a winger.
This one up top with 2 wingers supporting is crap. Aberdeen defenders deal with that all day. Build up far too pedestrian as it was last week
Curried
Thought we played OK in the first half, but showed no urgency to move the ball quickly in the second half when we really needed to up the tempo.
30-08-2020, 05:30 PM
Disagree. Utterly insipid, predictable and poor performance from Hibs there. Aberdeen very comfortable in the second half.
Hibs defence comfortable enough today as well but midfielf forward pretty dreadful to a man.
30-08-2020, 05:31 PM
Never laid a glove on them second half. You can credit them with that but that’s just not good enough from Hibs.
Today shows why Aberdeen will be top 4 and we won't. They are the epitome of efficient, Hibs are huff and puff who'll win some and lose others.
Aberdeen are horrible to watch, but Hibs created nothing in the 2nd half. The only shots on target came from Aberdeen.
Wright had a great chance when he was through one on one with the keeper, only he knows why he elected to blast it into no mans land rather than shooting at the goal or passing to a Hibs player.
Could have done with a player like McCrorie in our midfield today.
30-08-2020, 05:32 PM
**** me
Do you disagree? Didn’t have a shot on goal in the second half, passing the ball out the park, offside constantly. Poor poor team with little quality
What chances?
the one where doidge should have burst the net, or the one where boyle could have at least chipped it towards goal instead of passing it to the keeper :dunno:
hhibs
We are powderpuff.
Aberdeen were stronger,faster,fitter and more determined than Hibs .................again.
We MUST get some strength in midfield,Gogic alone is nowhere near enough , we are not nearly fit nor strong enough.
Is there something in our clubs DNA that we always seem weak or is there an inherient probllem in our training regime(s)?
Are Lennlon "Boy Band " and John Collins views so wrong ?
30-08-2020, 05:33 PM
Still not conceded from open play.
SideBurns
Aberdeen did what they do and we allowed them to do it very well.
We knew what they would do and we did very little to nothing to stop them doing it.
We didn't play that badly for most of the match but we arguably didn't do the right thing with the right players using the right tactics.
Over to you Jack Ross.
Onwards and upwards please.:greengrin
If Hibs performed at Pittodrie the way Aberdeen played at ER today I'd be delighted. Completely deserved victory.
Yepp, he was the missing man today. Warning shot for the board and transfer team. Money talks but I would’ve taken him with the hun clause on today’s performance.
You could have seen that result coming weeks ago, we are woefully weak in midfield and the manager buys another winger ! this does not bode well and i'm having grave doubts about the managers judgment. He has had plenty of time to stamp his own tactics and change a few faces but to me it looks that same as when Hecky was in charge.
hibIBZ
30-08-2020, 05:34 PM
Disappointing, huge error from Boyle ends up being the difference when I don't think there was much between the side.
Equally as bad were the misses in the first half. Can't afford to pass up chances in the box against a team that has consistently finished above us for a decade.
Back line and keeper looked reasonably solid again.
Doidge up against 3 cart horses that are allowed to push and hold him was always a tough ask.
Centre of midfield is the big issue. Without gogic we lack any energy and ball winning. Newell and hallbergs work rate is very poor for me. If Allan plays we need players willing to do the running for him. Drey Wright so far for me is meh, can't believe we are letting Horgan go in favour of him
That will be the title challenge over then 😢
Im starting to relate to what Sunderland fans were saying.
When we lost the first goal, a 1-0 defeat was probably the best result we were likely to achieve.
We're a country mile off being able to challenge for 3rd place.
2 central midfielders to slot straight in as starters required, otherwise it's another season trying to scrape into the top 6.
We're crying out for solid all-round players to play in midfield instead of having to try to cobble together a unit from a bunch of one trick ponies and the odd jack of all trades master of none.
Wright and Murphy very poor and anonymous.
Poor day at the office but it was always going to be a big ask to get anything else.
It had 1-0 Aberdeen written all over it from when we were slack in front of their goal in the first minute to them having the cigars and slippers out for the last half hour.
Much work ahead.
But we already knew that. Right?
While I agree with the majority of what you say, I do think we’ll probably finish 4th, although not close to threatening Aberdeen in 3rd. We have improved (not enough IMO, but we all know the midfield problems) but the likes of Motherwell look to have really regressed. I think we’ll almost get 4th by default without having to be anything special ourselves.
Think we’ll beat most teams but fall short of the Old Firm and Aberdeen and not take many points from them.
30-08-2020, 05:35 PM
Very poor performance. I wish we would pick a shape and stick with it. We have very little cohesion with players always needing a touch to look to see where their teammates are. Far too many players not putting a shift in and some are almost anonymous. Boyle and Allan have been very poor and Newall whilst working away needs players to move around him. <br>For all Aberdeen sat in they still forced our keeper to make a good few more saves than theirs. After Lewis looked shaky from the start we failed to put him under any pressure. McCrorie looked far better than any of our midfield and even Dylan looked better when he came on. Interesting to see what the score with Horgan is as I would say he has been better than Boyle and Wright this season. Murphy was very poor but hopefully is just rusty. The rub of the green deserted us today but we have benefited from a bit of luck so far so that will always happen.
30-08-2020, 05:36 PM
Cone on now, it was disappointing but let’s not be starting the manager hounding when sitting second and losing our first game.
McCrorrie deserved the MotM which makes losing out on him even harder to take. Hopefully we’ll bring in someone as without Gogic we look soft and directionless in midfield. A Graeme Shinnie type player would be good.
A poor display against a better team what worries me is this is the 3rd game in a row that apart from a penalty we have not looked like scoring goals, this is getting more and more like watching Hibs from the lex Millar days.
No sure what the answer is but it was getting a bit depressing watching with half an hour still to go. Not very good and only one team there looked like they could end up 3rd in Scotland, clue to this is they were not playing in green.
You could have seen that result coming weeks ago, we are woefully weak in midfield and the manager buys another winger ! this does not bode well and i'm having grave doubts about the managers judgment. He has had plenty of time to stamp his own tactics and change a few faces but to me it looks that same as when Hecky was in charge.
Deary me.
H18S NX
My Hibspass went down at half-time,take it i didn't miss much?
30-08-2020, 05:37 PM
If Hibs performed at Pittodrie the way Aberdeen played at ER today I'd be delighted. Completely deserved victory.
I'm not sure, are you agreeing with me?
Never laid a glove on them second half. You can credit them with that but that’s just not good enough from Hibs.
:agree: sums it up perfectly.
Switched off after the penalty. It was never going to be pretty if Aberdeen went ahead.
30-08-2020, 05:39 PM
Disappointing result. Thought we played well in the first half but once they got the penalty we needed to be far quicker and more direct. Didn't seem willing to take men on in wide areas. Hopefully we learn from it and improve.
30-08-2020, 05:39 PM
His problem at Sunderland was too many draws. Only had 6 from 28 games here, and has a 50% win ratio.
30-08-2020, 05:40 PM
We played well first 20 and could have put the game to bed. Absolutely shocking 2nd half. Wright's decision not to shoot was beyond me. Boyle barely touched the ball 2nd half. Mallan contributed nothing. Newell kept losing the ball. Hallberg blew a big opportunity. We need more than 1 body in the midfield imo. We have zero legs in there. Far too easy to run over the top of us. Gogic is a start but as today shows we cant rely on him every single week.
30-08-2020, 05:42 PM
manager hounding
Less of the hyperbole now.
We were insipid. With a ponderous midfield lacking ideas.
Which is the central complaint the mackems made about his system when it doesn't work.
hibeerealist
30-08-2020, 05:42 PM
I am not sure about JR and have not been since we got him in. Seems to be a "lets not get beat" type of guy rather than "lets go out and win this"! No confidence in him at all.
Once again the midfield are not at the races and he brings on Murphy BEFORE Mallan, run that one by me again eh!!!
Jury out on Ross
30-08-2020, 05:44 PM
When I saw the team sheets I feared a 4-0 today
So I guess a 1-0 we got off lightly
They are more savvy, fitter & quicker in the engine room, and Dylan Mcgeough did more in his first 3 touches than hallberg and drey Wright managed all game.
We are slow and weak by comparison in there
mcfly
30-08-2020, 05:45 PM
What does drey wright offer? Not a lot today. Newell again offered nothing.
Too many players that are too slow and one paced
Hallberg another not good enough to compete v the better teams.
Doidge again works v hard - nil help given to him.
30-08-2020, 05:50 PM
The amount of times we scrapped for a ball and Aberdeen came away with it every time was just ridiculous. No one with any dig about them. We need a John McGinn type in the midfield but who could we get in to fill that role??
Duke of Currie
Today showed the problem of having no energy in the midfield and driving the team forward.
Pointless having wide players like Boyle , Murphy and Wright if we are slow to get the ball forward and then pass it backwards and side to side allowing the opposition to set up camp.
Also , highlighted Doidge cannot play up front by himself
If Horgan is on his way out there has to be something in the biscuit tin to pay for a box to box midfielder who can raise the tempo of the team.
Dont know enough of the lower English or Scottish leagues to name players , but are there any box to box players we could afford who wont get bullied in the same way our players did today against Aberdeen
Andymac85
I thought my TV had gone into slow motion whenever Hallberg got the ball.
Doidge shouldn’t escape criticism today, he was awful. His positioning was poor whenever the ball was played into the box, never gambled on any of the balls across goal and seems to just hope a loose ball falls at his feet. When the ball did fall to him in the box in the first half it seemed to catch him by surprise and he fluffed the shot. Cherry on the top was being caught offside from a free kick.
30-08-2020, 05:51 PM
This one up top with 2 wingers supporting is crap. Aberdeen defenders deal with that all day. Build up far too pedestrian as it was last week
30-08-2020, 05:52 PM
Never got the love in for Newell off late, Hallberg has done the square root of hee haw since he joined the club. Jury out on Mallan, only fair to give him some time after his injury. Scott Allan looks way short of the fitness level needed to operate effectively in this league.
gaz1875
30-08-2020, 05:56 PM
We took of Doig to go 3 at the back then Wright dropped back and Gullan moved wide left?? why was Gullan not central supporting Doidge crazy decision As mentioned so many times our midfielder are all the same, slow and gutless, they would rather sit back than run at defenders.
30-08-2020, 05:56 PM
Some of the comments on here are embarrassing!!! Can't wait for the day we are back in the ground and clowns can't get on here because of the **** 4G again!!!
Aye blame the support or people on a message board while abusing people. That will help.
Stokesy's on fire
30-08-2020, 05:57 PM
He was gash
30-08-2020, 05:58 PM
He was gash
Lol. He was the best player on the park by a mile ....
Stokesy's on fire
30-08-2020, 05:59 PM
Na Porto was
30-08-2020, 06:00 PM
Still not conceded from open play.
Yawn.
WillowbraeHibby
30-08-2020, 06:06 PM
Doidge was very poor today. There's a reason he's not in the Wales squad and we have seen it today
30-08-2020, 06:16 PM
While I agree with the majority of what you say, I do think we’ll probably finish 4th, although not close to threatening Aberdeen in 3rd. We have improved (not enough IMO, but we all know the midfield problems) but the likes of Motherwell look to have really regressed. I think we’ll almost get 4th by default without having to be anything special ourselves.
Think we’ll beat most teams but fall short of the Old Firm and Aberdeen and not take many points from them.
I don't totally disagree, and at this stage I'd be surprised if we manage one point from Celtic, Aberdeen and Rangers this season. We're absolutely miles off getting in about them.
So far this season though we've had a decent first half against Killie, an excellent first half against Livi (although now it looks like we've lost the driving force behind that good performance) and the rest has been somewhere between average and totally rubbish.
We've not looked better than Kilmarnock, Dundee United, Motherwell or St Johnstone and looked, to me, far poorer than an uninspiring Aberdeen side that knows how to get the job done.
There's not going to be much between 4th and, frankly, 12th.
What makes me think we'll get 4th is that we'll probably bumble along into about 7th or 8th in January then pull a few of our usual, impressive loan signings out of the bag to patch up the deficiencies in our team that have been present for years and it will look like we're just about achieving what we set out to.
I think that, as a team, we're going absolutely nowhere. I'd be amazed if Wright or Murphy improve us much, and we've got 4 or 5 midfielders there picking up big wages to have serious flaws in their game. I reckon we've now probably got competition between Allan, Mallan, Newell, Murphy, Wright and Fraser Murray for the role behind the strikers, that we might not even play - yet we're crying out for all-round midfielders who can put in a shift for 90 minutes and support our better players.
TBH it's a ****ing shambles. Hibs are a no-mark mid-table side at best - in spite of having a handful of very good players, and they need to get their finger out, big-time.
30-08-2020, 06:17 PM
Na Porto was
Ha! Alright then. Decent shift, but Not sure he was even our best man, let alone MOM...
30-08-2020, 06:17 PM
Didn’t have much to feed off today.....one great chance where he should have at least hit the target
Ps I thought his work rate was excellent
Flanny boy
30-08-2020, 06:20 PM
We played well first 20 and could have put the game to bed. Absolutely shocking 2nd half. Wright's decision not to shoot was beyond me. Boyle barely touched the ball 2nd half. Mallan contributed nothing. Newell kept losing the ball. Hallberg blew a big opportunity. We need more than 1 body in the midfield imo. We have zero legs in there. Far too easy to run over the top of us. Gogic is a start but as today shows we cant rely on him every single week.
💯 correct nothing in midfield and still can’t believe Wright didn’t shoot when through on goal
30-08-2020, 06:23 PM
I don't totally disagree, and at this stage I'd be surprised if we manage one point from Celtic, Aberdeen and Rangers this season. We're absolutely miles off getting in about them.
So far this season though we've had a decent first half against Killie, an excellent first half against Livi (although now it looks like we've lost the driving force behind that good performance) and the rest has been somewhere between average and totally rubbish.
We've not looked better than Kilmarnock, Dundee United, Motherwell or St Johnstone and looked, to me, far poorer than an uninspiring Aberdeen side that knows how to get the job done.
What makes me think we'll get 4th is that we'll probably bumble along into about 7th or 8th in January then pull a few of our usual, impressive loan signings out of the bag to patch up the deficiencies in our team that have been present for years and it will look like we're just about achieving what we set out to.
I think that, as a team, we're going absolutely nowhere. I'd be amazed if Wright or Murphy improve us much, and we've got 4 or 5 midfielders there picking up big wages to have serious flaws in their game. I reckon we've now probably got competition between Allan, Mallan, Newell, Murphy, Wright and Fraser Murray for the role behind the strikers, that we might not even play - yet we're crying out for all-round midfielders who can put in a shift for 90 minutes and support our better players.
TBH it's a ****ing shambles. Hibs are a no-mark mid-table side at best - in spite of having a handful of very good players, and they need to get their finger out, big-time.
Agree with the vast majority of what you always say. I’ve felt the team has been unbalanced after our first season back and it doesn’t look like it is going to be fixed anytime soon.
Players like Newell, Hallberg, Wright are not the answer and not going to improve us
30-08-2020, 06:28 PM
We've too many classy looking players who actually contribute the square root of zero.
Duke of Currie
30-08-2020, 06:29 PM
This quote could have been applied to Hibs for a number of years in the top division. Keep reading on this site about how we describe other teams over-acheiving , like Livingston, Motherwell or St Johnstone , when in actual fact , its good management putting together good teams , not a collection of good individuals , where they all demonstrate a great work ethic often on a low budget.
Am not saying sack the management but why is it for years most other teams have higher work rates and look fitter and have a leader on the park ? We keep banging on about playing the Hibs way but its meaningless when you are known to be too soft , have players knackered after 50 minutes and theres very few who are prepared to get their hands dirty on the pitch.
Keep playing like this and its another mid table finish
30-08-2020, 06:29 PM
Would throw money at 4 mcgeouch & mcrorie & gogic level midfielders instead of the 9 we have
Murray
Murray
Hallberg
Wright
Allan
Mallan
Murphy
Newell
Horgan
Duke of Currie
30-08-2020, 06:33 PM
Murray
Murray
Hallberg
Wright
Allan
Mallan
Murphy
Newell
Horgan
Is this our version of the Trumpton Fire Service
30-08-2020, 06:38 PM
Boyle's chance in the 2nd min should have been buried not passed back to their keeper ffs!
WillowbraeHibby
30-08-2020, 06:39 PM
Pretty fair assessment to be honest..
Insipid performance today, too many players going through the motions and many are simply not good enough. Totally understand why Ross wanted McCrorie as he was the best player on the park, we'll win the square root of zilch with Newell and Hallberg as our 2 holding midfielders, unfortunately getting rid of players isn't that easy but we need at least 3 new midfielders similar to McCrorie and Ferguson for Aberdeen who had bags of energy. I'm not convinced Ross can get it right and at the moment I'm questioning if he's got what it takes to make us better, I'm still confused what shape and tactics we play as it chops and changes from 442 to 451 to 4231 to 352, how can you get consistency when the shape changes game to game and in game.
30-08-2020, 06:40 PM
This quote could have been applied to Hibs for a number of years in the top division. Keep reading on this site about how we describe other teams over-acheiving , like Livingston, Motherwell or St Johnstone , when in actual fact , its good management putting together good teams , not a collection of good individuals , where they all demonstrate a great work ethic often on a low budget.
Am not saying sack the management but why is it for years most other teams have higher work rates and look fitter and have a leader on the park ? We keep banging on about playing the Hibs way but its meaningless when you are known to be too soft , have players knackered after 50 minutes and theres very few who are prepared to get their hands dirty on the pitch.
Keep playing like this and its another mid table finish
Cause we are a mid-table team if lucky!
30-08-2020, 06:41 PM
You knew we were in trouble when Hallberg and Newell lined up against McCrorie and Ferguson. 2 powder puff central midfielders if ever there was. Depressing.
Stokesy's on fire
30-08-2020, 06:42 PM
A lot of posts on here praising Aberdeen but why? They offered just as little as we did in front of goal. Today was all about the first goal and its one of those what if games. If Boyle scores that early chance then it’s a very different game indeed. We did seem slightly unorganised at times but is that really a shock considering the disruption caused by the covid test? The stage was set for Aberdeen today. The penalty that Boyle gifted Aberdeen helped them 100%. As soon as Aberdeen got that bit of luck they went straight into ultra defend mode and now that we have lost the match some people seem to think that Aberdeen won the game because they were better than us but the truth is they really aren’t that special it just wasn’t our day today. We had more of the ball than Aberdeen and we seemed to be better at spraying it about the park than them. Where we did struggle was we just didn’t deal with the Aberdeens rotational fouling tactic and Drey Wright and Boyle passed up huge chances today. They also commit far more fouls than us and did a hell of a lot more shirt pulling than us..should we complain about it or should we learn from it? Maybe there's a lot to be said about playing anti football tactics it works for them and has done for a few years.
Stokesy's on fire
30-08-2020, 06:45 PM
Ha! Alright then. Decent shift, but Not sure he was even our best man, let alone MOM...
he was quality today. In fact i think he got awarded man of the match by Hibs TV and he deserved it.
30-08-2020, 06:47 PM
he was quality today. In fact i think he got awarded man of the match by Hibs TV and he deserved it.
Good on him...but your post stated that McCrorie was gash...which unless a parody post, is patently ridiculous .
30-08-2020, 06:48 PM
A lot of posts on here praising Aberdeen but why? They offered just as little as we did in front of goal. Today was all about the first goal and its one of those what if games. If Boyle scores that early chance then it’s a very different game indeed. We did seem slightly unorganised at times but is that really a shock considering the disruption caused by the covid test? The stage was set for Aberdeen today. The penalty that Boyle gifted Aberdeen helped them 100%. As soon as Aberdeen got that bit of luck they went straight into ultra defend mode and now that we have lost the match some people seem to think that Aberdeen won the game because they were better than us but the truth is they really aren’t that special it just wasn’t our day today. We had more of the ball than Aberdeen and we seemed to be better at spraying it about the park than them. Where we did struggle was we just didn’t deal with the Aberdeens rotational fouling tactic and Drey Wright and Boyle passed up huge chances today. They also commit far more fouls than us and did a hell of a lot more shirt pulling than us..should we complain about it or should we learn from it? Maybe there's a lot to be said about playing anti football tactics it works for them and has done for a few years.
They had been dominant for 10-15 minutes leading up to the goal, which was coming. They'd stepped up their play and were performing at a level we can't.
It would have been impossible for them to play at that level for 90 minutes but that's just what they do. They get their goal and know that they have more than enough to fend off weaker sides like ours without having to gamble on having much of an attacking threat of their own.
From the goal onwards it was pipe and slippers stuff and it was uncharacteristic of them to allow a chance like the one they allowed Drey "just f*****g hit it man" Wright.
It might not be vintage stuff, but I'll be a happy man any time Hibs go to Pittodrie and play out such a comfortable victory.
We score first and it's a very different game, which is what makes the slackness in front of goal when we were actually playing ok, inexcusable.
30-08-2020, 06:50 PM
Less of the hyperbole now.
We were insipid. With a ponderous midfield lacking ideas.
Which is the central complaint the mackems made about his system when it doesn't work.
I agree with your take on us being insipid, but is that not one of the reasons that he took McGeoch down to Sunderland, to speed up his ponderous midfield.
CloudSquall
30-08-2020, 06:51 PM
We could line up with Messi, Ronaldo, and Neymar with Klopp in the dugout and I'd still bet a mortgage on a Hibs 0 - 1 Aberdeen scoreline.
9 times out of 10 McInnes has our number and it's beyond an embarrassment now.
30-08-2020, 06:58 PM
We could line up with Messi, Ronaldo, and Neymar with Klopp in the dugout and I'd still bet a mortgage on a Hibs 0 - 1 Aberdeen scoreline.
9 times out of 10 McInnes has our number and it's beyond an embarrassment now.
Not just mcInnes, the sheep have done a number on us more times than any other club that I can remember outside of the 2 Glesgie uglies.
roo62
30-08-2020, 07:00 PM
Is this our version of the Trumpton Fire Service
Yip that lot get hosed on every week
1875Sean
30-08-2020, 07:08 PM
We are missing Nesbit, Murphy will take a few games to get up to speed. So far not convinced by Wright, looking at his stats at St Johnstone can see why he lacked of goals, seems low of confidence of reluctant to shoot, thought he was lucky to stay on
30-08-2020, 07:25 PM
I can't think of a more attractive way for Aberdeen to win a game, particularly against us, than for a out of the blue penalty to settle it with basically nothing between the teams.
Games against Hibs are basically a test of strength for them. So well drilled very little effort seems to be required to fend us off, helped by how static and lightweight we are. For all people watch Aberdeen and think they're pish, it's suicide to give them the lead so cheaply - pretty much guaranteed to cost us the game even at that point.
Bright_Hibee
30-08-2020, 07:34 PM
Didn’t have much to feed off today.....one great chance where he should have at least hit the target
Ps I thought his work rate was excellent
He was often working hard outside the box, but was never inside the thing when the ball was played into it. He has poor control of the ball whenever he had it, he struggles to stay onside and read the game at all, and his shooting ability is piss poor too. I'm sorry, but I expect my strikers to be better than he was today and is in general. If a club wants him I'd take the money and then try to get another player in. We can do better
30-08-2020, 07:42 PM
aberdeen have now won 9 out of their last 15 games against us at ER...i missed the first part of the commentator saying aberdeen have beaten hibs more than they've beaten any other team(fill in the blanks?)
we really are their bitc*es
30-08-2020, 08:10 PM
I'm really angry I don't get a single point for the prediction thread.:grr::grr::grr::grr::grr::grr::grr:
Suburban Hibby
30-08-2020, 08:21 PM
Another empty jersey performance from Allan- on fire or missing- no in between.
Boyles penalty error- he got caught out but his second minute miss was inexcusable.
Newell- the king of the backwards pass.
Pass marks to Rocky and the defence- everyone else was below average or worse.
Simply not good enough
30-08-2020, 09:01 PM
Boyles penalty error- he got caught out but his second minute miss was inexcusable.
Simply not good enoughThat pretty much sums it up for me.
30-08-2020, 09:08 PM
Simply not good enough
I’m getting fed up of this constant Allan bashing. We were no better after he went off and had our best spell in the first half hour when he was on. He alone is not the reason we lost today.
30-08-2020, 09:50 PM
We are missing Nesbit, Murphy will take a few games to get up to speed. So far not convinced by Wright, looking at his stats at St Johnstone can see why he lacked of goals, seems low of confidence of reluctant to shoot, thought he was lucky to stay on
Nisbet wouldn’t have made much difference today, the game was lost in the midfield with lack of energy, strength and creativity.
30-08-2020, 09:52 PM
I’m getting fed up of this constant Allan bashing. We were no better after he went off and had our best spell in the first half hour when he was on. He alone is not the reason we lost today.
Allan offers nothing from a defensive point of view so needs to make up with it in creativity going forward. He didn’t today and hasn’t so far this season, the criticism is deserved.
30-08-2020, 10:02 PM
Allan offers nothing from a defensive point of view so needs to make up with it in creativity going forward. He didn’t today and hasn’t so far this season, the criticism is deserved.
Very difficult for Allan today when his game is playing balls into space and in behind. Aberdeen play in a way that they don’t open up and leave any spaces. Very difficult to get them with pace or with passing in behind. There is no behind to play into.
Chorley Hibee
30-08-2020, 10:39 PM
They may not have been special, but yet again they beat us. That is the difference between us and them, and it has been for countless years now.
I see nothing that is going to change that either.
30-08-2020, 10:51 PM
I’m getting fed up of this constant Allan bashing. We were no better after he went off and had our best spell in the first half hour when he was on. He alone is not the reason we lost today.Allan is quite probably our biggest earner
He's not even at that level for a decent amount of time now
He needs to seriously find a solution to the issues he is having
hibeerealist
30-08-2020, 10:52 PM
Second that
30-08-2020, 10:55 PM
Very difficult for Allan today when his game is playing balls into space and in behind. Aberdeen play in a way that they don’t open up and leave any spaces. Very difficult to get them with pace or with passing in behind. There is no behind to play into.
So all Allan needed was Aberdeen to be more welcoming to his style of play? [emoji23]
He’s not good enough just now and if he doesn’t sort it we have a problem.
30-08-2020, 10:58 PM
So all Allan needed was Aberdeen to be more welcoming to his style of play? [emoji23]
He’s not good enough just now and if he doesn’t sort it we have a problem.
Aye it’s as if today’s been his only bad game. He’s been rank rotten when he’s had his chances this season. Which is why he was rightfully dropped.
Chorley Hibee
30-08-2020, 10:59 PM
Second that
Count me in too.
hibeerealist
30-08-2020, 10:59 PM
I
NO he was not