View Full Version : Little things that give you pleasure

Pages : [1] 2 3 4

08-07-2019, 07:52 PM
I’m on holiday in turkey and there’s a guy that goes around in roller skates taking orders for drinks and handing out ice lollies. I could easygo and order this myself, but it makes me happy when the guy comes round in his roller skates.
What are the little things in life that make you happy.

08-07-2019, 08:04 PM
I’m on holiday in turkey and there’s a guy that goes around in roller skates taking orders for drinks and handing out ice lollies. I could easygo and order this myself, but it makes me happy when the guy comes round in his roller skates.

Is he wearing particularly tight shorts and a muscle shirt?

08-07-2019, 08:09 PM
Is he wearing particularly tight shorts and a muscle shirt?

**** aye. That’s part of the pleasure.

patch1875
08-07-2019, 08:21 PM
I’m in Turkey also no roller skates but love this place.

08-07-2019, 08:26 PM
**** aye. That’s part of the pleasure.

Fair enough:greengrin

08-07-2019, 08:27 PM
My *****.

08-07-2019, 09:09 PM
When a random animal or bird interacts without fear or trepidation out the blue. Pretty much how I became a cat ‘owner’.

Saturday Boy
08-07-2019, 11:12 PM
When a random animal or bird interacts without fear or trepidation out the blue. Pretty much how I became a cat ‘owner’.

I always wondered why he stopped posting.

Now I know 😂

09-07-2019, 02:24 AM
I’m in Turkey also no roller skates but love this place.
It’s a fantastic place to holiday. I’d never been before until last year as I’d heard mixed reports from people who had gone, but I absolutely love it. It reminds me of being on holiday as a child in places like Greece or Spain before the EU imposed all their laws on everything. There’s an absolute overkill of of staff doing every job and they’re super friendly. British people are also in the minority in our hotel which is really nice as you don’t have to listen to folk complaining about the food :greengrin

09-07-2019, 08:00 AM
My wee granddaughter Matilda, she's 11months and her face lights up with a huge smile whenever I see her 😁

09-07-2019, 09:00 AM
I always wondered why he stopped posting.

Now I know 😂

Worry not, he’s being well looked after 😹

patch1875
09-07-2019, 12:26 PM
It’s a fantastic place to holiday. I’d never been before until last year as I’d heard mixed reports from people who had gone, but I absolutely love it. It reminds me of being on holiday as a child in places like Greece or Spain before the EU imposed all their laws on everything. There’s an absolute overkill of of staff doing every job and they’re super friendly. British people are also in the minority in our hotel which is really nice as you don’t have to listen to folk complaining about the food :greengrin

Turkish bath today, went on a boat trip a couple of days ago ended up booking a boat tonourselves(7 of us) as it was so cheap think we are in a slightly more expensive area but it’s so cheap.

09-07-2019, 02:25 PM
Turkish bath today, went on a boat trip a couple of days ago ended up booking a boat tonourselves(7 of us) as it was so cheap think we are in a slightly more expensive area but it’s so cheap.

We were really wanting to go for a Turkish bath, but the wee one is having none of it. It looks amazing as well.

09-07-2019, 02:39 PM
The ocean.

09-07-2019, 02:54 PM
The ocean.

Little? :confused:

09-07-2019, 03:14 PM

You should see his other one.

09-07-2019, 03:16 PM
Acknowledgement with a smile.

09-07-2019, 03:51 PM
When a random person smiles at me or says good morning, hello etc. If I make eye contact with people in public I've started always trying to acknowledge them. It's amazing how much happier and friendlier everyone seems when you engage with them in even the briefest of ways.

Also dogs in pubs. I know there was a whole thing on the pet peeves thread about dogs in public places but I love being in a pub and seeing a dog just enjoying themselves with their owner.

09-07-2019, 04:41 PM
When a random person smiles at me or says good morning, hello etc. If I make eye contact with people in public I've started always trying to acknowledge them. It's amazing how much happier and friendlier everyone seems when you engage with them in even the briefest of ways.

Also dogs in pubs. I know there was a whole thing on the pet peeves thread about dogs in public places but I love being in a pub and seeing a dog just enjoying themselves with their owner.
There used to be a guy that came into my local wth a Great Dane. It was absolutely huge and as soon as it came in everyone used to go to the bar and buy a packet of plain crisps. You just put them in his mouth and he would drop them to the floor and stand on them with his paw to burst them open, before eating them all. He was quite old and so gentle, I really miss him coming in.

09-07-2019, 05:23 PM
bubble wrap

09-07-2019, 05:28 PM

Billy? 😂

Bangkok Hibby
09-07-2019, 07:10 PM
The thing that makes me happiest is being able to do something, big or small, that makes someone else happy. I don't need thanks, just knowing I've made a wee difference to someone else is enough.

09-07-2019, 10:05 PM
A smile from my 7 month old daughter, nothing better than when she sees me and gives a a big smile.

A cat having a snooze in the sun.

09-07-2019, 10:14 PM
Inadvertently stumbling across a porn scene that you loved from yesteryear and had completely forgot about.

“Does anyone need the toilet before I go for a bath” 😏

09-07-2019, 10:22 PM
Somebody else’s child kicking off on a plane.

09-07-2019, 10:40 PM
The cold side of the pillow

09-07-2019, 10:42 PM
The daylight when you have a broad bank of dark cloud next to sunshine. It is exquisite.

Im sure we have had a thread like this before!

Caversham Green
10-07-2019, 08:37 AM
Home grown tomatoes straight off the vine. They taste so much better than the shop-bought ones and give off a lovely, almost aphrodisiac scent when you pick them.

Actually pretty much all home grown fruit and veg are better, but especially tomatoes.

mmmmm.

10-07-2019, 10:24 AM
The way you can hear the actual sound of the ball hitting the netting in this (turn the sound up):

https://youtu.be/OcLhUiYrZhA?t=340

10-07-2019, 10:38 AM
Home grown tomatoes straight off the vine. They taste so much better than the shop-bought ones and give off a lovely, almost aphrodisiac scent when you pick them.

Actually pretty much all home grown fruit and veg are better, but especially tomatoes.

mmmmm.

That takes me right back to childhood - the smell of tomatoes as you open the door of my grandad's greenhouse.

He used to grow peas in his garden as well, they were our favourites. We'd plant them with him then "help him" with them until they were ready to be eaten.

The first taste of the pea pods when they were finally ready to be eaten.............

The smell of my gran cooking jam, roughly the same time of year, roughly this time of year iirc.........

What exactly am I doing living in a 5th floor flat in Leith?

10-07-2019, 11:33 AM
That sizzling noise when I put a steak into my very hot pan

10-07-2019, 12:04 PM
A dog scratching/dragging its arse along the pub carpet. I said i would love to try that.. hence the permanent barring from the bozzer

10-07-2019, 12:49 PM
Putting shrinkwrap seals on bottles at work. You get a seal, slip it over the cork, apply a couple of seconds to a heat gun to it and shrivels around the top of the bottle.

It's so, so satisfying.

10-07-2019, 07:03 PM
Getting the house to myself, even for a couple of hours. Apparently I’ll miss the noise when all the kids have moved out and that but for now, the odd time when there’s no wife and no kids in, is bliss.

10-07-2019, 07:04 PM
Also, getting eggs just right - poached, boiled, scrambled, fried, or an omelette, when they’re just right they’re fantastic.

10-07-2019, 07:09 PM
Those couple of hours on weekend mornings when everyone else stays in bed and I have the house, tv and coffee to myself.

10-07-2019, 07:14 PM
Those couple of hours on weekend mornings when everyone else stays in bed and I have the house, tv and coffee to myself.Same, up at 0600, dug out for a 30 minute walk, feed the dug, grab a coffee and we both snuggle up on the couch, Wife will surface at 10am and nip my heid 😆

10-07-2019, 07:21 PM
Getting the house to myself, even for a couple of hours. Apparently I’ll miss the noise when all the kids have moved out and that but for now, the odd time when there’s no wife and no kids in, is bliss.

Oh yes that’s just bliss. Just sitting back on the couch with the remote control in hand not having to listen to the normal carnage.

10-07-2019, 07:24 PM
Also, getting eggs just right - poached, boiled, scrambled, fried, or an omelette, when they’re just right they’re fantastic.

I do poached eggs to a tee every time and I just love when I cut it open to reveal that beautiful perfectly cooked runny middle :greengrin

10-07-2019, 07:28 PM
As a balance to my moan about litter in the outdoors on the peeves thread:

I occasionally get up about 3am on a Saturday morning and head for the hills. There is really no better feeling than parking up and starting a walk just after, or even before, sunrise. Standing on top of a mountain before most people are out their bed is just brilliant for the soul. You feel like you are the only person in the world and the scale of what's around you makes everything else just seem a bit insignificant for a small while. It's also nice to head back to the car just as others are starting their day and gradually creep back into civilisation with a few words and pleasantries to others.

10-07-2019, 08:03 PM

I occasionally get up about 3am on a Saturday morning and head for the hills. There is really no better feeling than parking up and starting a walk just after, or even before, sunrise. Standing on top of a mountain before most people are out their bed is just brilliant for the soul. You feel like you are the only person in the world and the scale of what's around you makes everything else just seem a bit insignificant for a small while. It's also nice to head back to the car just as others are starting their day and gradually creep back into civilisation with a few words and pleasantries to others.

That sounds fantastic.

wpj
10-07-2019, 08:16 PM
Seeing more bees and butterflies this year than in previous years

10-07-2019, 09:01 PM
Getting into a bed that has freshly laundered bed sheets.

Despite my best efforts the Mrs refuses to launder and change them on a daily basis so if I had the dough that’s one thing I would happily pay for [emoji736]

10-07-2019, 09:06 PM

There is a robin up at my allotment and it often lands right next to me when I’ve been weeding or turning over the ground and goes seeking worms.

It often stops and just looks at me for a few seconds, tilts its wee head back and forward a couple of times then just carries on...literally no more than a foot away.

It’s an amazing wee thing and often makes me stop and watch him for a while as I ponder the wonder of nature. Makes you appreciate life just that wee bit more...before I turn back to the bed and curse that it’s seeming so damn easy to cultivate weeds compared to anything else [emoji2957]

https://uploads.tapatalk-cdn.com/20190710/770269840942aa72b85407f0c43ed9da.jpg

10-07-2019, 09:18 PM
The feeling of going barefoot after your feet have been wrapped in shoes and/or socks for ages

11-07-2019, 12:12 PM
The feeling of going barefoot after your feet have been wrapped in shoes and/or socks for ages

I’m looking forward to that tonight, 6am start-6pm finish in my safety boots then 5’s at 8 o’clock. That feeling of feet freedom tonight will be so so sweet.

11-07-2019, 12:45 PM
The smell of a country when the aeroplane door opens, they're all quite different although I can never sense it when flying back home.

11-07-2019, 12:54 PM

Linked to this, the feeling of jumping in a cold body of water after a day sweating your baws off at work in the heat. It gets properly hot, stiflingly so, here in summer at times and that heat doesn't properly dissipate until much later in the day than at home.

Jumping in the cold river or lake here is absolute bliss. 7 summers in, I keep thinking I'll get blasé about it but every year it's still amazing.

Bangkok Hibby
11-07-2019, 04:07 PM
I'm sitting in arrivals at Glasgow airport and its lovely to see people overjoyed at greeting family members and maybe grandchildren they haven't seen for years.
Its certainly making me smile.

MagicSwirlingShip
12-07-2019, 03:39 AM
A good soundsystem in a club, or a proper Hi-Fi at home.

12-07-2019, 04:17 AM

Great inspiration this ....

Ps. Do you do a solo walk ? Is that more of an experience ?

12-07-2019, 05:38 AM
From working my arse off in a sweat shop of a hospital with no air conditioning, to sitting by the pool in Italy, dipping my toes in as she sun beats down, all whilst sipping an ice cold pint of beer, sheer bliss ☀️

12-07-2019, 07:49 AM
Great inspiration this ....

Ps. Do you do a solo walk ? Is that more of an experience ?

I quite often walk solo. If I'm up for an early start then it's not always easy to persuade people to tag along so I tend to end up on my own. I prefer walking alone anyway although I'll happily walk with others as and when the chance arises.

It's an easy thing to get started doing. The Pentlands has some great walks and is right on our doorstep. If you are after something a bit more adventurous Google 'easiest Munros' or 'Munros for beginners' and there are numerous lists and top 10s. Mountains like Ben Lomond, Schiehallion, Mount Keen, Beinn Ghlas and Ben Lawers are all fairly straightforward walks and within easy access of the central belt. Walking alone obviously requires a bit common sense. Whilst a lot of the easier Munros have clearly identifiable paths knowing how to use a map and compass is a good idea, make sure people know where you are and carry some basic kit so you are prepared if you do have any bother. The weather is unpredicatble even in the summer, I was up Ben Lawers a week past Saturday, I left Edinburgh bathed in early morning sunshine and by the time I was a quarter of the way up the mountain I was in full waterproofs, the wind was gusting at 50mph and I couldn't see more than 6ft in front of me!

12-07-2019, 07:56 AM
I quite often walk solo. If I'm up for an early start then it's not always easy to persuade people to tag along so I tend to end up on my own. I prefer walking alone anyway although I'll happily walk with others as and when the chance arises.

It's an easy thing to get started doing. The Pentlands has some great walks and is right on our doorstep. If you are after something a bit more adventurous Google 'easiest Munros' or 'Munros for beginners' and there are numerous lists and top 10s. Mountains like Ben Lomond, Schiehallion, Mount Keen, Beinn Ghlas and Ben Lawers are all fairly straightforward walks and within easy access of the central belt. Walking alone obviously requires a bit common sense. Whilst a lot of the easier Munros have clearly identifiable paths knowing how to use a map and compass is a good idea, make sure people know where you are and carry some basic kit so you are prepared if you do have any bother. The weather is unpredicatble even in the summer, I was up Ben Lawers a week past Saturday, I left Edinburgh bathed in early morning sunshine and by the time I was a quarter of the way up the mountain I was in full waterproofs, the wind was gusting at 50mph and I couldn't see more than 6ft in front of me!

PB

Thanks for sharing that - inspiring !! [emoji119]

I’m going to give it a go. Love being on the hills .....

12-07-2019, 10:49 AM
The cold side of the pillow

Definitely this.

12-07-2019, 01:18 PM
A good soundsystem in a club, or a proper Hi-Fi at home.

Good shout.

Similarly, I love when there’s something on tv that makes full use of UHD and HDR so you get an amazing picture on it.

13-07-2019, 12:58 PM
When you bite into a pear when it’s just right. Not too hard, not too squishy but that state of perfect ripeness that only happens during a two or three day window.

13-07-2019, 03:07 PM
Asking Alexa to 'fart'

14-07-2019, 12:06 AM

This x1000. I do this all the time. I spent years holidaying in France and everyone says bonjour or bonsoir when you pass them. Everyone. It's brilliant and really makes you happy. I do it all the time in Scotland and it is amazing the looks you get just for being pleasant. We should all do this, honestly it will make everyone feel better!!

14-07-2019, 07:04 AM
My hammock.

14-07-2019, 07:58 AM
Drinking the last of the milk from my cereal straight from the bowl. Drives the missus nuts!

14-07-2019, 02:03 PM
The smell of bacon in the pan, and knowing its going on some fresh uncut bread or a crusty roll liberally spread with anchor butter.

15-07-2019, 06:47 AM
Managing to slice roast beef properly with and old fashioned carving knife.

MagicSwirlingShip
15-07-2019, 07:21 AM
Drinking the last of the milk from my cereal straight from the bowl. Drives the missus nuts!

Ohhhhh yes!

15-07-2019, 09:57 AM
A perfectly ripe peach or nectarine. Not rock hard and not too squishy so there's brown bits and the juice goes absolutely everywhere, but just right.

One of summer's most orgasmic food experiences IMO :greengrin

15-07-2019, 06:33 PM

Substitute “good idea” with “absolutely essential.”

24-07-2019, 02:11 PM
There is a guy named Nirmal Purja who was a Ghurka and in the SBS he is current trying to climb all 14 of the 8000m peaks of the world in 7 months, he has just got no 10 after successfully doing K2, seeing this guy doing so well just cheers me up for some reason

27-07-2019, 11:24 AM
I went into the bookies last night to put a scorecast on the Hibs game. The lady behind the counter asked if she could see some ID. I'm 33.

As ridiculous as it was, I'll take the compliment.

27-07-2019, 02:12 PM
Hearts getting beat is always a wee thing that makes me happy.

27-07-2019, 04:51 PM
Being up really early and watching the world come too, similar to PB and his mountain climbing. Being up sharp for tractor work and the roads being absolutely dead then seeing the traffic get busier and busier is oddly satisfying. Having a break at 10am knowing you’ve already been at the graft for 5 hours. Its weird but satisfying.

29-07-2019, 11:08 AM
A really good pint of Guinness. You rarely get one this side of the Irish Channel.
Biddy Mulligans in the Grassmarket and The Abbotsford in Rose St are top quality. Not cheap at £4.70 but I'd rather pay that than a pound less for sour or tasteless stuff.
The research continues......

29-07-2019, 11:14 AM
Boiling an egg to perfection, being soft and runny so it spreads nicely onto my toast soldiers.

29-07-2019, 11:36 AM
A really good pint of Guinness. You rarely get one this side of the Irish Channel.
Biddy Mulligans in the Grassmarket and The Abbotsford in Rose St are top quality. Not cheap at £4.70 but I'd rather pay that than a pound less for sour or tasteless stuff.
The research continues......

Talking of the Abbotsford I'll add another:

Pubs that still serve cask beer using Aitken tall founts. The Abbotsford still has a few and it's so much better than the hand pull system if the bar and cellar staff know what they are doing. They used to be the norm in Scotland but are harder and harder to find.

29-07-2019, 12:28 PM
My wife of 40 years 😁

29-07-2019, 10:41 PM
Being diabetic and sorely missing the ‘sweeter things’ in life, I can’t describe the pleasure of a portion of 85% dark chocolate with a cup of really strong, good quality coffee before going to bed............. and no, doesn’t keep me awake all night. :yum yum::coffee:

30-07-2019, 12:00 PM
When one of my favourite films is on TV, even though I have the DVD.

Discovering during first wipe that this particular sh**e doesn't require ANY wiping.

That smell of Easter Road when I haven't been at a game in a while. The smell itself isn't very nice... but I always recognise it.

21-10-2019, 05:02 PM
The simplicity of kids/babies. Collected my daughter from nursery earlier and on the walk home she found her tongue. We were sticking our tongues out at each other and she thought it was the funniest thing ever 😀

21-10-2019, 05:31 PM
Wife and I driving past Tynecastle on the Western approach road when my Daughters were toddlers, oldest piped up “ooh whats that horrible smell” its Tynecastle I said, then we sung Tynecastles a piggery, for many years after we done the same.

Daughters now 28 and 26, last week same journey, same song, it never ages, sat with a grin, thats ma bairns 😆

c31
21-10-2019, 07:09 PM
I got on the Eurostar train going to Paris last week and my seat was changed to Coach 18 Seat 75. Gave me a wee smile and it was a great seat as well...

21-10-2019, 08:04 PM
I got on the Eurostar train going to Paris last week and my seat was changed to Coach 18 Seat 75. Gave me a wee smile and it was a great seat as well...

Similar to that, my old phone number at work ended in 6270.

wpj
21-10-2019, 08:07 PM
The simplicity of kids/babies. Collected my daughter from nursery earlier and on the walk home she found her tongue. We were sticking our tongues out at each other and she thought it was the funniest thing ever 😀

My wee girl is four, her fits of giggling and laughing are so funny

21-10-2019, 09:06 PM
Wife and I driving past Tynecastle on the Western approach road when my Daughters were toddlers, oldest piped up “ooh whats that horrible smell” its Tynecastle I said, then we sung Tynecastles a piggery, for many years after we done the same.

Daughters now 28 and 26, last week same journey, same song, it never ages, sat with a grin, thats ma bairns 😆

My son asked the same when he was about 3 or 4 (nearly 8 now), and I responded it was the hearts, pointed out the stadium and from that moment on, we always hold our breath when driving the western approach. Poor wee guy nearly fainted with the lights that are there the now 😂

21-10-2019, 09:22 PM
My son asked the same when he was about 3 or 4 (nearly 8 now), and I responded it was the hearts, pointed out the stadium and from that moment on, we always hold our breath when driving the western approach. Poor wee guy nearly fainted with the lights that are there the now 😂Its brilliant eh 😆 I never could tell them that it was just a wee pong wafting from Tynie, and it was mostly from the distillery and chemical factory, they still believe its Tynie 😆

21-10-2019, 09:32 PM
I bought a set of Hibs Russian dolls when I was pished in Prague many years ago. They're pretty ugly things that sat on a shelf untouched for more than a decade until my 19 month old daughter decided she wanted to have a shot of them a few weeks back.

They are now absolutely her favourite thing. I've taught her their names, and I get a wee shiver of delight even just thinking about her wee voice saying the names "Gaz, Deek, Zibi, Boozy, and Ivan" when I ask her who they are.

21-10-2019, 09:35 PM
I bought a set of Hibs Russian dolls when I was pished in Prague many years ago. They're pretty ugly things that sat on a shelf untouched for more than a decade until my 19 month old daughter decided she wanted to have a shot of them a few weeks back.

They are now absolutely her favourite thing. I've taught her their names, and I get a wee shiver of delight even just thinking about her wee voice saying the names "Gaz, Deek, Zibi, Boozy, and Ivan" when I ask her who they are.

Brilliant 👍

21-10-2019, 10:40 PM

Ive got those!

I got mine a couple of years ago, so they are an updated version! Lewis is in there, woulld have to check who all else there is. Hanlon definitely but can’t remember who else.

22-10-2019, 06:48 AM
My wee girl is four, her fits of giggling and laughing are so funny

My wee one is six months and making her laugh is one of the best things.

22-10-2019, 08:03 AM

I've never seen them I don't think - never mind in Prague! Great find!

22-10-2019, 08:17 AM

I vaguely remember a photo of them being posted either here or on one of the Facebook groups and everyone thinking how bizarre it was. Do either of the two posters who have them have a picture of them? :thumbsup:

22-10-2019, 10:17 AM

What, no Hecky? :greengrin

22-10-2019, 12:59 PM
I vaguely remember a photo of them being posted either here or on one of the Facebook groups and everyone thinking how bizarre it was. Do either of the two posters who have them have a picture of them? :thumbsup:

I am on holiday but will try and put up a couple of pictures when I get back.

22-10-2019, 01:26 PM
When I inadvertently get the luxury of time alone to waste at home doing absolutely nothing without wife or kids because of some accident of organisation or dis-organisation. I call it 'stolen time' because it wasn't meant to happen.

22-10-2019, 01:47 PM
Doing the weekly shop on my own.

22-10-2019, 08:45 PM

My phone is out of action, so I'll need to get one on Mrs Smartie's phone. She's away tonight and will be back tomorrow so once I've rounded up all the half dolls from my daughter's favourite hiding places I'll post a couple of snaps of the 2006 (est) vintage.

23-10-2019, 07:26 AM

There's a particular shop in Prague, which must be where these were purchased, that does fairly tourist tatty Russian dolls of all sorts of teams. The ones you'd expect plus several you wouldn't, including Hibs.

Back on topic, a midweek day off

23-10-2019, 11:56 AM
Doing the weekly shop on my own.

:aok: Any time my wife comes with me it costs more, but at least she knows to leave me at the checkout so I can pack things the way they are meant to be packed. :wink:

23-10-2019, 12:41 PM
How do I post a photo?

23-10-2019, 03:16 PM
How do I post a photo?

Put it in an envelope, address the envelope, don't forget the stamp. :wink:

23-10-2019, 09:11 PM
In keeping with the children posts 😊

seeing the smile and face lighting up on my 15 week old daughter’s face when she wakes up in the morning and sees me or my wife, and when I come home from work

watching her gaining more and more muscle control every day, and working out how to do new things

23-10-2019, 09:21 PM
How do I post a photo?

Click on ‘reply to message’. In the bar at the top there is a small icon that looks like a framed picture of a tree. If you click on that you should get a message box. Click on ‘choose file’ and it should take you to your folders. Select the image or images you want then you should get the option to upload them.

Not done it for a while and not since I switched to Apple, but hopefully that sees you right.

EDIT -I am not sure if it is still the case but some of that functionality used to be available only to Private Members? Don’t know if that is still true.

MagicSwirlingShip
23-10-2019, 11:44 PM
I love the way a new pair of quality denim jeans make me feel.

Magic :agree:

24-10-2019, 01:47 AM
I work away a lot most weeks for a couple of days at a time and love when my 19 month old lad runs to me when I walk in the door after my shift.

24-10-2019, 08:44 AM
In keeping with the children posts 😊

seeing the smile and face lighting up on my 15 week old daughter’s face when she wakes up in the morning and sees me or my wife, and when I come home from work

watching her gaining more and more muscle control every day, and working out how to do new things
I have that with my 15 month granddaughter, cute as a button, walking and talking (babbling with a few words in amongst it). I had a 5 min conversation with her on Monday, not a clue what she was on about but off she toddled with a big smile on her face happy that whatever she was on about, she'd told me. Love all 3 of my granddaughters, all at different stages in growing up, 11, 7 and 15 months but all equally make my day when I see them.

24-10-2019, 10:38 AM
How do I post a photo?

You need to be using the main, default style.

Then, follow the steps Mibbes Aye has outlined. Use the wee frame next to the icon of a reel of film. (That's for videos).

I prefer to upload my photos to Post Image
https://postimages.org/ and use the "Direct Link" to post in the "use URL". Remember to uncheck the "retrieve remote file" box.

It's much easier than it sounds.

25-10-2019, 08:04 AM
Making bagels. Takes hours but when you’ve proved it twice and drop it into the boiling water it’s ultra satisfying to watch it puff up if it’s worked.

Bloody frustrating if it doesn’t though.

25-10-2019, 09:35 PM
Making a cup of tea that really hits the spot. It only happens about 30% of the time. Maybe 25%.

It's not like coffee. Tea is mercurial.

25-10-2019, 10:35 PM
Making a cup of tea that really hits the spot. It only happens about 30% of the time. Maybe 25%.

It's not like coffee. Tea is mercurial.

This is true.

Obviously the cup should be heated before water on the boil is poured on the tea bag, but I think it's the size of sip you take that effects the enjoyment.

Try scoofing a larger than usual amount and see what you think.

A good cup of tea is very, very good.

26-10-2019, 01:48 AM
Making bagels. Takes hours but when you’ve proved it twice and drop it into the boiling water it’s ultra satisfying to watch it puff up if it’s worked.

I used to be a baker and making bagels is a skill that takes a bit of perfecting. The vast majority of bagels on sale in shops today sadly aren’t made using the proper process that you describe, they’re made just like normal bread rolls and coated with an egg glaze.

26-10-2019, 09:23 AM
I used to be a baker and making bagels is a skill that takes a bit of perfecting. The vast majority of bagels on sale in shops today sadly aren’t made using the proper process that you describe, they’re made just like normal bread rolls and coated with an egg glaze.

I like posts like this. They give you a little bit of insight into something you probably wouldn’t have thought about :aok:

29-10-2019, 04:20 PM
There is a guy named Nirmal Purja who was a Ghurka and in the SBS he is current trying to climb all 14 of the 8000m peaks of the world in 7 months, he has just got no 10 after successfully doing K2, seeing this guy doing so well just cheers me up for some reason

My dude completed it today, all 14 8000m peaks in 6 month and 6 days, the previous record for completing them all was 7 years and 10 months!! He also rescued 4 other climbers while he was it at

He had to quit the millitary as the MoD deemed it to much of a risk so he remortgaged his house and crowd funded to get it done

30-10-2019, 08:36 AM

Made them once , they taste so much better but im banned from making them again due to the mess i made of the kitchen

30-10-2019, 09:24 AM
Making the solid disk of coffee grounds from my espresso machine disintegrate with my finger is a joy.

Or, watching them disintegrate in running water without me touching them and then disappearing down the plug.

Both can raise my spirits, twice daily.

30-10-2019, 10:56 AM
Digging out an old coat you haven't worn for months and finding a tenner in the pocket.

30-10-2019, 12:02 PM
Digging out an old coat you haven't worn for months and finding a tenner in the pocket.Many years back I used to empty the notes from my pockets after a night on the beer as I knew my Daughters will do a raid in the morning, must have stashed £50 on top of the fridge as its nice and high. Two years later moving the fridge and the dosh fell onto the floor, bonus time because I was skint 😆

30-10-2019, 04:33 PM

As promised

30-10-2019, 05:38 PM
As promised

How very strange!

wpj
30-10-2019, 05:58 PM
Making the solid disk of coffee grounds from my espresso machine disintegrate with my finger is a joy.

Or, watching them disintegrate in running water without me touching them and then disappearing down the plug.

Both can raise my spirits, twice daily.

Coffee grounds make a good face scrub

30-10-2019, 06:06 PM

How very strange!

We have several sets now :greengrin NHL, Czech football and hockey teams and the Scotland national rugby team. They are bizarre.

30-10-2019, 06:08 PM
Coffee grounds make a good face scrub

And they block sinks.

wpj
30-10-2019, 09:04 PM
And they block sinks.

I remove the filter paper first 😎

30-10-2019, 10:30 PM
As promised

Fantastic - thanks. :aok:

30-10-2019, 10:53 PM
I don’t seem to be able to post my photos on this forum.

Might stick them on the main board over the next few days and start a thread about odd Hibs memorabilia.

30-10-2019, 11:12 PM
And they block sinks.

Lavazza grounds don't.

In fact, I've drunk all different types of coffee, espresso machine, stove top, cafetierre, Taylor's, Tesco's finest Lavazza etc, and I've never had a blocked sink.

30-10-2019, 11:22 PM
I don’t seem to be able to post my photos on this forum.

Might stick them on the main board over the next few days and start a thread about odd Hibs memorabilia.

It might be because you are not a private member. Feel free to try PMing me with them and I will see if I can put them up. It will be interesting to see whether they are much different from the season I got mine :greengrin

On a related note, the photos I posted aren’t great despite being taken with an iPad Air, which is a decent enough camera. Having said that the photos themselves aren’t great, it is more the ability to increase size and definition.

I have posted photos on here in the past from a laptop synced to an Android phone which showed up much, much better, so I am surprised that Apple isn’t an improvement given they like to ensure the camera is good.

Any advice gratefully received.

30-10-2019, 11:37 PM
There's a particular shop in Prague, which must be where these were purchased, that does fairly tourist tatty Russian dolls of all sorts of teams. The ones you'd expect plus several you wouldn't, including Hibs.

Back on topic, a midweek day off

I hoped you meant touristy rather than tourist tatty but can understand if it was the latter :greengrin

For anyone visiting Prague, it is on a street called Melantrichova, I think. Dead easy to find, essentially it leads from the top of Wenceslas Square to Old Town Square, past Mustek Metro station. If you find yourself at the Museum of Sex Machines then I think you have gone too far, if you get my meaning.

You seriously can’t miss it though, a lot of dolls are outside on display and there are scores and scores of teams inside, including Aussie Rules, tons of NHL, NFL, NBA and baseball, rugby and pretty much all the European top-flight football teams and international sides.

And the owner/manager is a nice enough guy. Friendly and personable.

01-11-2019, 06:47 AM
Waking up on the 1st of November and still being a UK/EU citizen.

02-11-2019, 01:22 AM
Digging out an old coat you haven't worn for months and finding a tenner in the pocket.
Oh yes that happened to me last week. It was one of the old tenners though, I gave it to a guy who was being an absolute prick in the taxi in his change for a twenty.

02-11-2019, 11:34 PM
Oh yes that happened to me last week. It was one of the old tenners though, I gave it to a guy who was being an absolute prick in the taxi in his change for a twenty.

Aha that made me laugh [emoji23]

As an aside you can still take them to a bank and get £10 for them...same with the old pound coins.

Which came in handy for me recently when I decided the golf bag was finally due a clear out as it was getting a bit heavy, only to find I had been carrying around a huge pile of change accumulated over years in every bloomin’ pocket on the thing!

02-11-2019, 11:38 PM
Watching Glen Campbell videos

https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=xUICxv_0VV4

03-11-2019, 12:35 AM
Watching Glen Campbell videos

https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=xUICxv_0VV4

I should stop skim reading, I thought you said Glen Michael 😁. I've never heard of Glen Campbell but I'd wager he's not half as good as Glen Michael 😁

03-11-2019, 12:37 AM
Glen Michael

03-11-2019, 02:01 AM
I should stop skim reading, I thought you said Glen Michael 😁. I've never heard of Glen Campbell but I'd wager he's not half as good as Glen Michael 😁

I loved Glen Michael an'all? Great with the cartoons and that.

03-11-2019, 09:07 AM
Hearing a real coal fire crackle.

03-11-2019, 09:13 AM
The Stones

https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=B51A6bcMeDY

03-11-2019, 09:16 AM
The sound of running water in the garden, my Dad used to have a waterfall affect feature on his pond, loved sitting in the garden alone just listening to it.

03-11-2019, 09:39 AM
Running/walking or cycling through the woods when its moist.

It's good to reconnect with nature now and again but the extra smells you get after it's been raining...very therapeutic.

06-11-2019, 09:18 AM
Hearing a real coal fire crackle.

An everyday occurrence in my house - there is something wonderful about fire.

patch1875
06-11-2019, 01:05 PM
Glen Michael

Still going strong at 93 wonder what paladin is up too?

06-11-2019, 04:15 PM
An everyday occurrence in my house - there is something wonderful about fire.

I was at a bonfire last Saturday and it was the first time I'd felt the strong heat from a real fire on my face for a number of years.

There must be something primal about the pleasure we get from fire - the smell, the sound, the feeling of heat from it.

Lovely.

I spent a lot of time at my grandparents' house when I was wee, my grandad was a miner and they had a coal fire. Everything to do with a coal fire takes me back to happy place (I've never had to clean up after one though, which I'm led to believe is a messy nightmare).

06-11-2019, 09:27 PM
I was at a bonfire last Saturday and it was the first time I'd felt the strong heat from a real fire on my face for a number of years.

There must be something primal about the pleasure we get from fire - the smell, the sound, the feeling of heat from it.

Lovely.

I spent a lot of time at my grandparents' house when I was wee, my grandad was a miner and they had a coal fire. Everything to do with a coal fire takes me back to happy place (I've never had to clean up after one though, which I'm led to believe is a messy nightmare).
I too remember a coal fire. It was a truly wonderful thing, the heat, the noise and mostly the memories it brings back. I remember the coal man used to drive along the street shouting coal and my mum leaning out the window to order a sack. The guy used to come up the stair absolutely filthy and empty the coal into the cupboard. A coal fire crackling away on Christmas morning when we got up as kids was magical.

07-11-2019, 10:12 PM
When you’ve been playing 5’s for years with a guy who you’ve decided is a total prick, and then one week he turns up in a Hearts top......

08-11-2019, 03:15 PM
I used to live in Clerwood. My house backed on to Fox Covert primary school playing fields.

I used to love watching the children jump up and down and run around screaming and yelling.

They didn't know I was firing blanks.

08-11-2019, 03:58 PM
I used to live in Clerwood. My house backed on to Fox Covert primary school playing fields.

I used to love watching the children jump up and down and run around screaming and yelling.

😲

beensaidbefore
08-11-2019, 04:10 PM

Eh... Is that an intentional play on words? 🤣🤣

08-11-2019, 05:06 PM
😲

© Emo Phillips

08-11-2019, 05:23 PM
A website that runs like clockwork 😉

08-11-2019, 09:31 PM
Gary Larson cartoons

08-11-2019, 09:38 PM
Gary Larson cartoons[emoji106]

Genius. Read them again and again, which is worrying as some of the best ones are just visual.

10-11-2019, 08:14 AM
That wee glow you carry the day after a win. Braw.

patch1875
15-11-2019, 01:44 PM
Cadbury’s Mini Rolls

19-11-2019, 09:33 PM
My bairns not well just now. Nothing serious, just a heavy cold. She's feeling a bit sorry for herself and just keeps coming to me for cuddles, wanting to curl up on my knee and wanting me to tuck her up in bed at night. From the minute I get home from work to when she goes to bed she won't let me out her sight.

It's quite nice knowing someone thinks you can sort out all their problems and make them better.

21-11-2019, 06:43 PM
Eating something you’ve not had in ages. Had potato waffles tonight for the first time in I don’t know how long and they were so good!

22-11-2019, 09:28 AM
The problem pages in both The Telegraph and The Guardian. One revels in it's banality, the other is amazingly weird. Both are, at times, hilarious.

The Telegraph:

'Dear....

I'm a fabulously middle class lady who has a fabulously middle class life. Young Poppy and Hugo enjoy a wonderful education at our local independent school, it's Ofsted rating is simply marvellous. My husband is a very caring man who always makes sure I am always kitted out in all the latest fashion trends so I'm not out of place at the ladies lunch club. We holiday in the spring, summer and then enjoy hitting the slopes in the winter months. We have an excellent group of friends and to the outside world our marriage is a perfect one.

However I have a dark secret. Our sex life has always been satisfactory and we still enjoy our Wednesday evenings, Saturdays (only after a bottle of wine) and birthdays routine. In recent months I have been exchanging flirty glances with a rather rakish coloured chap who works in the village. Last week things went a step further when we said hello and he asked for my number. Since then we have exchanged a few texts and I even thought about him briefly whilst partaking in Wednesday coitous.

I'm absolutely racked with guilt and don't want to ruin my perfect marriage. Please help.'

The Guardian:

'Dear Sir....

I am University lecturer in Political Sciences. I have a wonderful life partner and we have 2 children to whom we have chosen not to assign a gender. We live a fabulous life and enjoy holidaying abroad and hitting the slopes in the winter. We are of course racked with guilt about this so pay for carbon offsetting and make our own compost. Our relationship has always been a happy one and we enjoy a range of ethical adventures together. As a lover I am tender, caring and ensure I put my equal partners needs before mine.

However I have a dark secret. For several months I have become obsessed with the idea of having my partner wear a Michael Foot donkey jacket and thrash me with a copy of the Morning Star whilst we watch uncensored footage of Tony Benn's speeches to the house from throughout the 80s. I finally plucked up the courage to suggest this to her but she was appalled. She couldn't believe I could reconcile the disparate views of Benn and Foot into a single fantasy and want's no part in it. However I suspect she has a hidden openness to the idea of light BDSM as when perusing the family tablet recently I discovered she had been viewing videos featuring the speeches of Mrs Thatcher. Please help.'

I could read them for days.

22-11-2019, 10:10 AM
The problem pages in both The Telegraph and The Guardian. One revels in it's banality, the other is amazingly weird. Both are, at times, hilarious.

The Telegraph:

'Dear....

I'm a fabulously middle class lady who has a fabulously middle class life. Young Poppy and Hugo enjoy a wonderful education at our local independent school, it's Ofsted rating is simply marvellous. My husband is a very caring man who always makes sure I am always kitted out in all the latest fashion trends so I'm not out of place at the ladies lunch club. We holiday in the spring, summer and then enjoy hitting the slopes in the winter months. We have an excellent group of friends and to the outside world our marriage is a perfect one.

However I have a dark secret. Our sex life has always been satisfactory and we still enjoy our Wednesday evenings, Saturdays (only after a bottle of wine) and birthdays routine. In recent months I have been exchanging flirty glances with a rather rakish coloured chap who works in the village. Last week things went a step further when we said hello and he asked for my number. Since then we have exchanged a few texts and I even thought about him briefly whilst partaking in Wednesday coitous.

I'm absolutely racked with guilt and don't want to ruin my perfect marriage. Please help.'

The Guardian:

'Dear Sir....

I am University lecturer in Political Sciences. I have a wonderful life partner and we have 2 children to whom we have chosen not to assign a gender. We live a fabulous life and enjoy holidaying abroad and hitting the slopes in the winter. We are of course racked with guilt about this so pay for carbon offsetting and make our own compost. Our relationship has always been a happy one and we enjoy a range of ethical adventures together. As a lover I am tender, caring and ensure I put my equal partners needs before mine.

However I have a dark secret. For several months I have become obsessed with the idea of having my partner wear a Michael Foot donkey jacket and thrash me with a copy of the Morning Star whilst we watch uncensored footage of Tony Benn's speeches to the house from throughout the 80s. I finally plucked up the courage to suggest this to her but she was appalled. She couldn't believe I could reconcile the disparate views of Benn and Foot into a single fantasy and want's no part in it. However I suspect she has a hidden openness to the idea of light BDSM as when perusing the family tablet recently I discovered she had been viewing videos featuring the speeches of Mrs Thatcher. Please help.'

That is ****ing fantastic PB

22-11-2019, 10:13 AM

The Telegraph:

'Dear....

The Guardian:

'Dear Sir....

:faf::faf:

28-11-2019, 12:56 PM
When they killed off Carl in the Walking Dead. He was a massive pain in the arse.

28-11-2019, 01:04 PM
The noise of your car tyres on a wet road surface when you drive with the window open after a downpour.

Or maybe it's just me? :dunno:

patch1875
28-11-2019, 02:24 PM
When they killed off Carl in the Walking Dead. He was a massive pain in the arse.

Ha ha!

Will get pleasure when they kill the whole programme now!

28-11-2019, 02:26 PM
The noise of your car tyres on a wet road surface when you drive with the window open after a downpour.

Or maybe it's just me? :dunno:

Or the sound of your tyres on gravel drive way.sadley I don’t have a gravel driveway so I make do by emptying the kids rice crispies and drive over them and make do

28-11-2019, 04:22 PM
Or the sound of your tyres on gravel drive way.sadley I don’t have a gravel driveway so I make do by emptying the kids rice crispies and drive over them and make do

You have a good therapist? 😁

28-11-2019, 05:15 PM
You have a good therapist? 😁

So they tell me

29-11-2019, 04:18 PM
Cornedbeef sli es mixed wibaked beans and covered in cheese. Oh ma ulcer! 😛😛

05-12-2019, 03:37 PM
When you buy a cheap bottle of wine expecting mediocrity and it turns out to be something special.

06-12-2019, 02:13 PM
Irn-Bru 1901. You can feel your teeth melting with the sugar. Superb.

06-12-2019, 03:41 PM
Being served a perfectly poached runny yolk egg.

06-12-2019, 06:01 PM
When you make home made burgers and they look better than Gordon Ramsays. Tasted immense as well!! :drool:

06-12-2019, 06:23 PM
Irn-Bru 1901. You can feel your teeth melting with the sugar. Superb.

75 dozen bottles in my local shop yesterday, interesting to see how many left tomorrow at 2 quid each?

06-12-2019, 06:59 PM
75 dozen bottles in my local shop yesterday, interesting to see how many left tomorrow at 2 quid each?

It's absolutely genius from Barrs marketing department.

Change a much loved recipe to a hostile reaction and state it's to avoid customers having to pay more because of the sugar tax. Conveniently discover a 'lost' recipe and bang it out at £2 a bottle as a limited edition. Get a very positive reaction. The final part of the plan will be sometime next year:

Release Irn Bru 'classic' at a slightly lower price than the 1901 stuff but more expensive than the current regular bottle.

Passes the sugar tax onto the consumer but avoids an immediate jump in price. Also turns a negative story into a glorious revival.

06-12-2019, 08:25 PM

Its really nice but £2 a glass bottle is steep imo.

06-12-2019, 08:28 PM

Change a much loved recipe to a hostile reaction and state it's to avoid customers having to pay more because of the sugar tax. Conveniently discover a 'lost' recipe and bang it out at £2 a bottle as a limited edition. Get a very positive reaction. The final part of the plan will be sometime next year:

Release Irn Bru 'classic' at a slightly lower price than the 1901 stuff but more expensive than the current regular bottle.

Passes the sugar tax onto the consumer but avoids an immediate jump in price. Also turns a negative story into a glorious revival.

Thats exactly what will happen and amidst the frenzy of the classic bru bottles flying off the shelves the "new" unloved version will slowly be discontinued never to be seen again and punters won't give a toss about the small increase in price because they've got their beloved bru back.

06-12-2019, 08:31 PM
Its really nice but £2 a glass bottle is steep imo.

How much is sugar tax and how much is profiteering? Wouldn't be so bad if they doubled the 30p deposit on the bottle:rolleyes:

wpj
07-12-2019, 02:12 AM
Watching my wee girl in her first nativity play. She couldnt see me and was looking for me the whole time and was looking confused. When I went down to the front after the play and she saw me, that smile will stay with me forever. We had a dignified high five and I think something got in my eyes as I left

07-12-2019, 02:48 AM
Watching my wee girl in her first nativity play. She couldnt see me and was looking for me the whole time and was looking confused. When I went down to the front after the play and she saw me, that smile will stay with me forever. We had a dignified high five and I think something got in my eyes as I left

For any ophthalmologists who post on here, it is probably worth checking out events where fathers are watching their daughters perform, whether nativities, school plays or whatever.

They will find a lot of sudden and reactive moisturising of the tear ducts, involuntary and uncontrollable.

There is a fortune to be made telling us we have a condition that needs treatment. But to be honest, we just have daughters :greengrin

wpj
07-12-2019, 12:49 PM
For any ophthalmologists who post on here, it is probably worth checking out events where fathers are watching their daughters perform, whether nativities, school plays or whatever.

They will find a lot of sudden and reactive moisturising of the tear ducts, involuntary and uncontrollable.

There is a fortune to be made telling us we have a condition that needs treatment. But to be honest, we just have daughters :greengrin

True, sometimes just watching her sleep or concentrate on something makes me greet

07-12-2019, 06:08 PM

Looks like they sold about 60 cases, £1400 worth, in a couple of days.

07-12-2019, 06:18 PM
True, sometimes just watching her sleep or concentrate on something makes me greet

There was a recurring Paul Whitehouse character in the Fast Show whose routine was to find out what somebody did and say, “Aah...hardest game in the world, that is”.

I am pretty much convinced that being a father to a daughter is the hardest game in the world as well as the best game in the world. Life balances itself that way I guess :greengrin

07-12-2019, 06:55 PM
Looks like they sold about 60 cases, £1400 worth, in a couple of days.

It will be brought back for good. Sales in Scotland will always be high.

07-12-2019, 07:20 PM
TUC biscuits.

Not had them for years, Mrs Mibbes bought a packet. I’m like a dog with two tails in seventh heaven who doesn’t know I’m born, and any other metaphors and similes you can think of :greengrin

MagicSwirlingShip
08-12-2019, 04:39 PM
The look on Morelos’s face as he realises he’s just missed another sitter in an Old Firm Derby. I

08-12-2019, 06:34 PM

There is a fortune to be made telling us we have a condition that needs treatment. But to be honest, we just have daughters :greengrinYesterday I played music in a duet with my 10 year old daughter, in public, for the first time. Needless to say that she didn't have the same eye trouble that affected me.

08-12-2019, 07:03 PM
When the same guy that gave me grief last week when I asked if I could help him approached me on Friday,held out his hand and apologised for his behaviour. We then started talking and I helped him out with an issue he had.

09-12-2019, 10:56 AM
TUC biscuits.

Not had them for years, Mrs Mibbes bought a packet. I’m like a dog with two tails in seventh heaven who doesn’t know I’m born, and any other metaphors and similes you can think of :greengrin

TUC biscuits with Primula cheese on them :agree:

09-12-2019, 12:20 PM
TUC biscuits with Primula cheese on them :agree:

Ooft.

18-12-2019, 12:03 PM
I had a satsuma yesterday.

Peeled like a dream, minimal wee white bits and as sweet and delicious as I can ever remember a piece of fruit tasting.

When fruit is good, it is truly outstanding.

18-12-2019, 12:06 PM

Peeled like a dream, minimal wee white bits and as sweet and delicious as I can ever remember a piece of fruit tasting.

Satsuma Dream? Could be a good name for a group... :hmmm:

18-12-2019, 04:40 PM

Nothing worse than getting an easy peeler only to find it covered in the horrible wee white stringy bits of pith, then taking an age to carefully remove it.

18-12-2019, 05:01 PM
Satsuma Dream? Could be a good name for a group... :hmmm:

20-12-2019, 03:07 PM
Nancy Sinatra.

https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=pjsh2j7W6Bo

20-12-2019, 03:10 PM
Golden Wonder Pickled Onion Crisps, they have no equal.

20-12-2019, 03:50 PM
Golden Wonder Pickled Onion Crisps, they have no equal.

:greengrin They're like garlic. As long as everybody's been eating them it's OK. Otherwise, forgeddabuddit!

21-12-2019, 01:06 AM
https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=B51A6bcMeDY

Best of British innit?

21-12-2019, 07:16 AM
:greengrin They're like garlic. As long as everybody's been eating them it's OK. Otherwise, forgeddabuddit!

😁 Nailed it.

21-12-2019, 07:52 AM
Got right into Gerry Raffertys music recently. Some great stuff.

Alfiembra
21-12-2019, 02:35 PM
Got right into Gerry Raffertys music recently. Some great stuff.

Don’t often find myself in agreement with some of your posts but you’ve won me over :aok:
Gerry Rafferty is my all time favourite also his Steelers Wheel stuff just brilliant.

Does this mean I’m stuck in the middle with you?

21-12-2019, 07:31 PM
This could also appear on the pet peeves thread...

I hate niggly cheating footballers who spend the entire match kicking, shoving, sneaky fouling, and throwing themselves to the ground to try to win fouls, always whining at the officials...

... but it’s always brilliant seeing someone visit their actions back on them :greengrin

27-12-2019, 03:55 PM
Due to the fact that I bought a bit of cheese at their deli about a million years ago, Harvey Nicks keep sending me emails.

The mind boggles at the inflated prices but what really boggles is the thought of the beauts who are obviously buying the rubbish. We've all seen them. In fact, some of us may be related to them.

18-01-2020, 01:16 PM
Getting the right light switch first time when there's a choice of two (or more) on the same panel.

18-01-2020, 03:07 PM
Jam piece with a cup of tea.

18-01-2020, 04:05 PM
Getting to the toilet at 4am in the dark without stubbing your toes or whacking your knees against the dressing table.

18-01-2020, 04:43 PM
Being first in the barbers chair at 8am on a Saturday morning.

18-01-2020, 08:15 PM
Getting the right light switch first time when there's a choice of two (or more) on the same panel.

👍

We have a 3 option switch. Even more satisfying. But still get it wrong after 25 years.

goosano
18-01-2020, 09:24 PM
The sunset tonight

18-01-2020, 10:55 PM
Red wine.

CloudSquall
19-01-2020, 02:17 AM
A slightly controversial entry...

Dr Pepper.

19-01-2020, 08:44 PM

Dr Pepper.

Even more controversial!!

The Masked Singer

Absolutely dire, crud tv but has now become my guilty pleasure that I simply can’t miss.:greengrin:thumbsup:

19-01-2020, 08:53 PM
Even more controversial!!

The Masked Singer

Absolutely dire, crud tv but has now become my guilty pleasure that I simply can’t miss.:greengrin:thumbsup:

Very much in the so bad it's good category. I was out one night and came home to find this on, I ended up hooked.

I love how the panel all guess some big A listers and so far it's been a Alan Johnson was home secretary a decade ago, Justin Hawkins from The Darkness when they guessed Idris Elba and Teddy Sheringham when one of them guessed David Beckham. I think they need to reign in their expectations a bit😂

20-01-2020, 12:03 PM
Being one day behind in your mental calendar and realising it's actually Thursday rather than Wednesday. Not so good when it's the other way round.

20-01-2020, 12:28 PM
Being one day behind in your mental calendar and realising it's actually Thursday rather than Wednesday. Not so good when it's the other way round.

I've some bad news for you... it's Monday!

20-01-2020, 12:34 PM
Very much in the so bad it's good category. I was out one night and came home to find this on, I ended up hooked.

I love how the panel all guess some big A listers and so far it's been a Alan Johnson was home secretary a decade ago, Justin Hawkins from The Darkness when they guessed Idris Elba and Teddy Sheringham when one of them guessed David Beckham. I think they need to reign in their expectations a bit😂

LOL
PB - you should have started your reply with “Spoiler Alert” for those that we’ve enticed in to watching.:wink:
BTW - I’m pretty sure I know who Unicorn is!!:greengrin

21-01-2020, 11:23 AM
I've some bad news for you... it's Monday!

You b****d :greengrin

22-01-2020, 12:06 PM

Dr Pepper.

I love Dr Pepper, and discovered a year or 2 back it goes amazingly with a Jack D/Bourbon whiskey. SO my little pleasure is finding the rare pub that actually sells Dr Pepper.

22-01-2020, 12:37 PM
I love Dr Pepper, and discovered a year or 2 back it goes amazingly with a Jack D/Bourbon whiskey. SO my little pleasure is finding the rare pub that actually sells Dr Pepper.

Or pubs that employ bar persons that know their drinks. Was in the cafe royal last week...asked for a black and tan. The look i got from the young ozzy barman was hilarious!!

speedy_gonzales
22-01-2020, 12:59 PM
Or pubs that employ bar persons that know their drinks. Was in the cafe royal last week...asked for a black and tan. The look i got from the young ozzy barman was hilarious!!

Was it not discussed here a while back, that the name for this drink might be insensitive to some people?
Maybe the Ozzy barman had Irish Republican roots,,,,

22-01-2020, 01:35 PM
Was it not discussed here a while back, that the name for this drink might be insensitive to some people?
Maybe the Ozzy barman had Irish Republican roots,,,,

Dont remember that ....but i think his problem stemmed from being 100% lager drinker..ansnever heard of stout...sweet or otherwise.

....but take your point on offence. Hadnt occurred to me until you raised it 🤔

22-01-2020, 01:45 PM

Wouldn't worry about it.

speedy_gonzales
22-01-2020, 03:48 PM

I was being facetious, I've no doubt you weren't upsetting anybody and agree that a solid ozzy barman knows his way around the lagers and pilsners of the world but little else.

22-01-2020, 04:15 PM
I was being facetious, I've no doubt you weren't upsetting anybody and agree that a solid ozzy barman knows his way around the lagers and pilsners of the world but little else.

😀

23-01-2020, 07:43 PM
Walking out the gym after a hard session. And seeing people walking in not started yet

24-01-2020, 05:34 PM
Walking out the gym after a hard session. And seeing people walking in not started yet

Yes, but at least they can still look forward to updating their Facebook status.

24-01-2020, 08:23 PM
The smell of my 1st cup of coffee in the morning

MagicSwirlingShip
24-01-2020, 09:24 PM
When you order a pint of Guinness at the bar, the barman knocks out another round with another punter then remembers to top your pint up at the perfect time.

29-01-2020, 02:22 PM
Having a long word to type that you're not quite sure how to spell, giving it a go with some keyboard bashing in the right general direction of the letters you want and seeing the Microsoft autocorrect magically transform your ramblings into the intended word.

29-01-2020, 02:35 PM
Having a long word to type that you're not quite sure how to spell, giving it a go with some keyboard bashing in the right general direction of the letters you want and seeing the Microsoft autocorrect magically transform your ramblings into the intended word.

:agree: Indubitably.

29-01-2020, 08:46 PM

I find it more satisfying when it doesn't autocorrect said word.

31-01-2020, 06:32 PM
Mixing two different flavours of crisps into the one bag

31-01-2020, 07:26 PM
Mixing two different flavours of crisps into the one bag

What flavours ?

31-01-2020, 07:56 PM
What flavours ?

As a big crisp fan I have many combinations I enjoy 😁

Prawn Cocktail & Bacon
Steak or Beef & Cheese and Onion
Salt n Vinegar & Chicken

I will try any combination, tonight it’s Prawn Discos and Bacon Wheat Crunchies

01-02-2020, 11:31 AM
As a big crisp fan I have many combinations I enjoy 😁

Prawn Cocktail & Bacon
Steak or Beef & Cheese and Onion
Salt n Vinegar & Chicken

I will try any combination, tonight it’s Prawn Discos and Bacon Wheat Crunchies

😄
Steak and cheese & onion sound not too bad.
Never even thought about that though .

09-06-2020, 04:27 PM
Now that the weather's improving, having the window open when having and coming out the shower.

For years I had an internal bathroom and everything was too steamy. Now I have a wee velux which is plenty to provide a refreshing draft.

12-06-2020, 10:53 AM
Spring watch on BBC2. The best most relaxing hour of the day at the moment

12-06-2020, 11:36 AM
Eating the fresh pork crackling hot out the oven.

13-06-2020, 04:03 PM
Sticking a headcam on my 5 year old granddaughter's head and watching the playback from her perspective. Adults are huge!

14-06-2020, 07:17 PM

Absolutely, it's brilliant viewing and as you say, so relaxing. Never really watched it much until this series and really appreciate it now.

I'm not sure if this is a "little thing" but rediscovering music you haven't listened to for years. I'm on REM just now and I can't believe how good Green, Document and Automatic For the People still sound.

14-06-2020, 09:09 PM

I get the same enjoyment from Work on the Wild Side (Channel 4), really getting into nature programmes during this tough time.

14-06-2020, 09:30 PM
Correcting spelling and grammar errors by EDL types on social media.

15-06-2020, 05:13 PM
Absolutely, it's brilliant viewing and as you say, so relaxing. Never really watched it much until this series and really appreciate it now.

I'm not sure if this is a "little thing" but rediscovering music you haven't listened to for years. I'm on REM just now and I can't believe how good Green, Document and Automatic For the People still sound.

I think that’s a thread in its own right, not the big massive sellers but the ones that you listened to, that still hold strong. Document is a good example, for me Life’s Rich Pageant is the one I rarely revisit but love when I do.

That and the first side of Steve McQueen by Prefab Sprout. For younger viewers this harks back to the day when songs were contained on albums made from vinyl and half the songs were on one side, half the songs on the other :greengrin

15-06-2020, 06:28 PM
I think that’s a thread in its own right, not the big massive sellers but the ones that you listened to, that still hold strong. Document is a good example, for me Life’s Rich Pageant is the one I rarely revisit but love when I do.

That and the first side of Steve McQueen by Prefab Sprout. For younger viewers this harks back to the day when songs were contained on albums made from vinyl and half the songs were on one side, half the songs on the other :greengrin

My mate just doesn't understand why I don't like Prefab Sprout. Made a proper attempt at Steve McQueen a few weeks back but nah, just don't get it!

I'm on Life's Rich Pageant just now, I like it but not as much as the others I mentioned. I have to say Out Of Time was the one that sounded dated (or maybe wasn't that good in the first place) but the much maligned Monster was a pleasant (?!) surprise. New thread....yeah good idea!

16-06-2020, 06:44 PM
Coming onto the forum and seeing new posts in the Pet Peeves and Driving Pet Peeves threads :greengrin

16-06-2020, 07:14 PM
Grapefruit juice (not the 'from concentrate' pish).

16-06-2020, 07:46 PM
Grapefruit juice (not the 'from concentrate' pish).

Grapefruit juice for definite, pink grapefruit freshly squeezed especially.

16-06-2020, 07:47 PM
Ice cold glass of milk.

17-06-2020, 09:29 AM
Getting out for a run at around 5.45am when it's pretty much desserted (even better if it's in a trail in nature). It's a nice feeling having done your run and been back home before the majority of the population are even awake.

17-06-2020, 09:35 AM
Getting out for a run at around 5.45am when it's pretty much desserted (even better if it's in a trail in nature).

:agree: Town's sweet at that time.

17-06-2020, 09:44 AM
Classic FM in the car. Not really a huge classical music fan but it is very relaxing while driving to and from work. Only recently tuned into it out of curiosity but it's really quite giid

G15 Hibs
17-06-2020, 10:33 AM

There's a bloke called Rollerblade Steve who does something similar in the Clapton area of London but not with drinks or ice lollies.

17-06-2020, 05:57 PM
Classic FM in the car. Not really a huge classical music fan but it is very relaxing while driving to and from work. Only recently tuned into it out of curiosity but it's really quite giid

I'm not a big classical music fan but am a big film fan - so whenever the classic fm 'at the movies' stuff comes on I'm in my element :thumbsup:

Franck Le God
19-06-2020, 10:52 PM
Coming onto the forum and seeing new posts in the Pet Peeves and Driving Pet Peeves threads :greengrin

Agreed, two of my favorite threads.

EH6 Hibby
20-06-2020, 01:24 PM
Getting a call through at work from a fellow Hibby at work, makes a nice change from the usual moaning folk I usually get.

patch1875
21-06-2020, 01:49 PM
Cycling around the city centre yesterday morning at 7am like having it all to myself!

wpj
21-06-2020, 05:20 PM
Getting an unexpected video call from my wee girl to wish me a happy Father's Day.