View Full Version : Little things that give you pleasure

Pages : 1 [2] 3 4

26-06-2020, 12:11 PM
Johnsons baby powder.

26-06-2020, 02:04 PM
Johnsons baby powder.

The asbestos ridden cancer causing variety?

27-06-2020, 01:16 PM
The asbestos ridden cancer causing variety?

I'll use no other.

27-06-2020, 07:18 PM
Has anyone mentioned Leslie Deans yet?

27-06-2020, 07:40 PM
Has anyone mentioned Leslie Deans yet?

“Mr Frodo, Mr Frodo?”

”What is it Sam?”

”Sorry Mr Frodo, it’s just Mr Leslie is here to talk about the mortgage on your hobbit-hole”.

28-06-2020, 07:56 PM
After Union beat Düsseldorf yesterday and in doing so handed Werder Bremen a lifeline to staying in the Bundesliga 1, Bremen fans have been ordering beer and sending it to Union's stadium. As of midday today there were 1678 crates of Becks being delivered to the Alten Försterei. I think there may be a fan friendship there in the making.

28-06-2020, 08:12 PM
“Mr Frodo, Mr Frodo?”

”What is it Sam?”

”Sorry Mr Frodo, it’s just Mr Leslie is here to talk about the mortgage on your hobbit-hole”.

I've heard Deans called a few things before, but that's a new one.

16-07-2020, 05:30 PM
When I’m out on my Vespa and the general etiquette of a nod when passing someone else on a scooter or motorbike. Those on a motorbike seem to do it more than fellow scooter riders which surprised me as thought they might be a bit snobbish when it comes to vehicles.

16-07-2020, 05:40 PM
When I’m out on my Vespa and the general etiquette of a nod when passing someone else on a scooter or motorbike. Those on a motorbike seem to do it more than fellow scooter riders which surprised me as thought they might be a bit snobbish when it comes to vehicles.Whenever I have a motorbike that catches me up I'll hug the side of the road to make it easier/safer for them to overtake me. I don't know if it's done in the UK, but here the biker will "wave" (kick out) his right leg by way of acknowledgement once he's overtaken you.

I love that sort of etiquette.

16-07-2020, 07:00 PM
I'm a waver. Wave to anyone on two wheels and also to anyone who kindly moves over to let me pass. I did notice that in France it is a leg wave from bikers

Saturday Boy
16-07-2020, 07:06 PM
Whenever I have a motorbike that catches me up I'll hug the side of the road to make it easier/safer for them to overtake me. I don't know if it's done in the UK, but here the biker will "wave" (kick out) his right leg by way of acknowledgement once he's overtaken you.

I love that sort of etiquette.

That’s a French thing, the waving legs.

Back in the 80s and 90s when I took my bike to France for my summer hols, us Motards used to make a left handed V sign, sideways off the handlebars. Much easier when you drive on the wrong side of the road. Over here you’d be taking your hand off the throttle. Not smart .

16-07-2020, 07:34 PM
Getting on the bowling green at least three times a week.

26-07-2020, 10:50 AM
Opening a packet of crisps and finding that they have been over seasoned/flavoured and are twice as strong as they should be. It doesn’t happen often but when it does oh yum.

wpj
30-07-2020, 01:25 AM
Good news story https://www.metro.news/app/2094199

30-07-2020, 09:31 AM
Walked over the Forth Road Bridge yesterday with the wife and my youngest daughter. Brilliant.

30-07-2020, 10:52 AM
The feeling of a wee baby, especially one's own, falling asleep on your chest. Unparalleled IMO.

05-08-2020, 07:18 AM
Returning to a restaurant I used to visit regularly 36 years ago to find that the owner is still alive and well and his restaurant has flourished into a successful family business. My favourite dish wasn't on the menu anymore but Davide a now sprightly 86 year old still banged it together for me.

Mixu62
12-09-2020, 07:45 AM
A perfect roast potato. Crunchy outside, maybe a little oily (past caring that it's no good for me). Mmmm.

MagicSwirlingShip
12-09-2020, 07:08 PM
A win for the Hibs come 5pm on a Saturday! A delightful feeling

13-09-2020, 05:59 AM
Preparing to set up and sell at the farmers markets and the like that have returned. Get a real buzz from waking up early and getting ready to meet lots of new people and talk about something I care about and forget the last few months for a few hours.

13-09-2020, 08:02 AM
Preparing to set up and sell at the farmers markets and the like that have returned. Get a real buzz from waking up early and getting ready to meet lots of new people and talk about something I care about and forget the last few months for a few hours.

That's a nice thing to read - hope it goes well and you enjoy it. :aok:

wpj
13-09-2020, 08:23 AM

Given all the mental stuff going on that's a really positive one. Hope it went well for you

13-09-2020, 10:11 AM
Cooking on a Sunday.

During the week eating is quite often a bit of a rush job for us. We eat well but it's often throwing together a pasta dish, a stir fry or boiling some veg and chucking something in the oven after work.

On a Sunday I can take my time and cook something from scratch. Just stuck a piece of brisket in the oven that has been dry rubbed and is sitting in a cooking liquor made from scratch. The bairn is pottering about helping mix spices and handing me things when I ask for them. Will leave that for a few hours then we'll make the sides together.

It's relaxing and it always leaves me feeling content.

pollution
13-09-2020, 11:38 AM

What do you sell and how did it go ?

patch1875
13-09-2020, 11:52 AM
Tomato crisps on well fired rolls.

13-09-2020, 12:22 PM
Cooking on a Sunday.

During the week eating is quite often a bit of a rush job for us. We eat well but it's often throwing together a pasta dish, a stir fry or boiling some veg and chucking something in the oven after work.

On a Sunday I can take my time and cook something from scratch. Just stuck a piece of brisket in the oven that has been dry rubbed and is sitting in a cooking liquor made from scratch. The bairn is pottering about helping mix spices and handing me things when I ask for them. Will leave that for a few hours then we'll make the sides together.

I’m the same (without the kid). I love spending my Sunday cooking - can’t think of a better thing to be doing!

16-09-2020, 07:50 PM
What do you sell and how did it go ?

I work for a distillery - my role has changed quite a bit recently but things like farmers markets bring things closer to normality. I get a real joy from the old fashioned nature of filling a van, driving it to where it needs to be and hoping you’ve got a lot less to load on at the end. I do what I do as I’m passionate about Scottish distilling and although I don’t distill myself to be able to speak to others about it is a joy.

We’ve even started doing virtual corporate tastings over Zoom which is something else that’s been putting the spring back in my step.

16-09-2020, 07:52 PM
Cooking on a Sunday.

Weirdly what’s been a pleasure recently is my partners PT challenged her to go vegan for a week and it’s been great to have to come up with new recipe ideas. I love good food and to almost relearn how to cook without meat as a protein was great. We’re probably only eating meet two or three meals a week since and the meat dishes feel earned and the non meat meals still have some novelty to them.

16-09-2020, 10:47 PM
I work for a distillery - my role has changed quite a bit recently but things like farmers markets bring things closer to normality. I get a real joy from the old fashioned nature of filling a van, driving it to where it needs to be and hoping you’ve got a lot less to load on at the end. I do what I do as I’m passionate about Scottish distilling and although I don’t distill myself to be able to speak to others about it is a joy.

We’ve even started doing virtual corporate tastings over Zoom which is something else that’s been putting the spring back in my step.I recently did a Glenfarclas zoom, well recommended, I didn't think I would, but I really enjoyed it.

16-09-2020, 10:53 PM
Filling the fuel tank to the brim and then washing or having the car washed and hoovered inside, always makes me feel good. I hate the fuel going below half a tank and only ever do so if on a long motorway journey😁

16-09-2020, 11:08 PM
:smokin

17-09-2020, 06:54 AM
I recently did a Glenfarclas zoom, well recommended, I didn't think I would, but I really enjoyed it.

The weirdest thing about them is everyone likes to throw in a little joke or one liner in a tasting, but because of zoom connections it takes a second or two to get a response to them. When you’re in your rhythm it feels normal but that seconds pause it completely breaks it. Very weird to transition to presenting normal tastings to a zoom one, but still a lot of fun.

17-09-2020, 07:06 AM
Popping the bubbles on bubble wrap...no idea why it is so satisfying , but it is .....

25-09-2020, 12:21 PM
Closing time at 10pm. It's like the good old days.

25-09-2020, 02:12 PM
Closing time at 10pm. It's like the good old days.

Perfection. Can get back home in time for the England-Bulgaria highlights. Just need to avoid hearing the score :greengrin

25-09-2020, 03:06 PM
Perfection. Can get back home in time for the England-Bulgaria highlights. Just need to avoid hearing the score :greengrin

Keep out the way of that Flint :greengrin:wink:

25-09-2020, 05:52 PM
Keep out the way of that Flint :greengrin:wink:

25-09-2020, 06:18 PM
Pickled onion vinegar on chips

25-09-2020, 07:45 PM
A packet of Percy Pigs and the living room to myself.

29-09-2020, 06:40 PM
A bag of liquorice allsorts

29-09-2020, 06:57 PM
Everyone in and the door locked.

29-09-2020, 09:50 PM
Everyone in and the door locked.

Slopping out must be a blast too.

29-09-2020, 11:23 PM
A bag of liquorice allsorts

I like liquorice all sorts, but I picked up a bag of Lions Football Gums (the original Sports Mixtures) at Tesco last week, they were only 80p. Picked out the black ones first, absolutely love them. Want another bag now.

30-09-2020, 09:28 PM
Slopping out must be a blast too.

c31
30-09-2020, 09:43 PM
New sheets and new duvet cover on the bed waiting for me after a long hot bath.....

03-10-2020, 11:21 AM
Sky News weather girl just gave a yellow rain warning. Made me s******.

speedy_gonzales
03-10-2020, 02:43 PM
Sky News weather girl just gave a yellow rain warning. Made me s******.

That swear filter is something else, what other safe word can you use for "childish suppressed laugh"?

03-10-2020, 02:47 PM
That swear filter is something else, what other safe word can you use for "childish suppressed laugh"?

***ter?

03-10-2020, 06:53 PM
***ter?

Try ***tering and s******ing in S****horpe

03-10-2020, 08:17 PM
Got some nice cheese, some chilli jam, some sea salt crackers and a G&T. Quiet night in.

03-10-2020, 10:26 PM

19-10-2020, 03:16 PM
When I'm really cold, getting into a hot shower, and feeling the tingling sensation of slowly warming up, and continung to turn up the hot water and getting hotter

21-10-2020, 12:27 PM
I had the downright ****tiest day yesterday - got caught in the pouring rain delivering a few boxes which was a favour, then something else went wrong, then managed to drop a box on my finger busting it open and also giving a lovely blood blister, then did a delivery on the way home that I usually do but the lift at a shopping centre I deliver to broke down so I had to carry everything down a flight of stairs to be able to do the delivery, then got back to my car to find that I'd driven over a screw.

I'm doing a couple of hours work this evening but so far today made eggs benedict, watched GBBO, went to take photos of my cars wheel locking nut pattern as when I bought it both the previous owner and I had thought it had been lost - found a wee hidden secret compartment at the back of a car with a nice shiny wheel locking nut key in the back which saves me £40 and also managed to find a suitable replacement tyre (and a decent one at that) for £60.

Even better, my partner has worked a lot of overtime recently so took a half day to come home and have lunch with me as a surprise.

I love "comeback" days - the ones that just seem destined to go well as a rebound from a day of bad fortune.

22-10-2020, 08:57 PM
Apologies because this is disgusting...

But my dog has a wee infection just now and is getting a lot of gunk around his eyes mainly when he wakes up - pretty much feels exactly like a bogey.

Picking it out the corner of his eye and watching it peel off his actual eyeball is very satisfying and tbh, I’m actually very jealous of how good it must feel :greengrin

22-10-2020, 09:19 PM

Hows that working out for you now? :greengrin

22-10-2020, 10:04 PM
Hows that working out for you now? :greengrin

Can I say smart arse?

Ohhh.... clearly I can.

But not smart ****.....

😁

23-10-2020, 07:32 AM
Charity shop hunting.

Last week found a lovely digital camera with a very impressive optical lense for £35 - on Amazon Marketplace it’s about £160 and even the worst examples on eBay are nearing £100.

26-10-2020, 05:07 PM
Making an omelette just right. Had a 3 egg one earlier on and honestly reckon it was the best one I've had.

26-10-2020, 07:39 PM
Autumn watch starting tomorrow night. It will be the best hour of the day!!

26-10-2020, 08:13 PM
Golden Wonder Smokey bacon crisps.

26-10-2020, 09:25 PM
Baking bread.

Someone at work gave me a sourdough starter and it's a total rabbit hole when you get into it. A lot of trial and error but when you get it right it's a proper feeling of achievement. The discard is brilliant for things like English muffins, pancakes and Yorkshire puddings too.

27-10-2020, 12:44 PM
Baking bread.

Someone at work gave me a sourdough starter and it's a total rabbit hole when you get into it. A lot of trial and error but when you get it right it's a proper feeling of achievement. The discard is brilliant for things like English muffins, pancakes and Yorkshire puddings too.

Funnily enough I’ve started making kombucha and it’s got a similar thing about it. Lots of trial and error, quite frustrating but cool when it works out. Also planning to use some of the starter liquid with the bacteria and wild yeast to try to combine with some ale or champagne yeast to see if that would make a home brewed sour beer.

27-10-2020, 06:52 PM
Golden Wonder Smokey bacon crisps.

28-10-2020, 07:44 AM
I've said it before and I'll say it again. Autumn watch. The best hour of the day.

29-10-2020, 02:26 PM
Placing a vinyl copy of AC/DC Back in Black on to the turntable and shaking my imaginary hair to some of the best three chord rock and roll ever recorded.

29-10-2020, 07:34 PM
Placing a vinyl copy of AC/DC Back in Black on to the turntable and shaking my imaginary hair to some of the best three chord rock and roll ever recorded.Aw man... that's got me contemplating a trip up into the attic :greengrin

29-10-2020, 07:44 PM
Placing a vinyl copy of AC/DC Back in Black on to the turntable and shaking my imaginary hair to some of the best three chord rock and roll ever recorded.
I have loads of vinyl and it is just so comforting putting it on and hearing that crackle before the needle hits the music. Digital is just so easy to play music but you can't beat putting on a record and turning the dial up to 11 for some proper nostalgia

29-10-2020, 08:04 PM
I have loads of vinyl and it is just so comforting putting it on and hearing that crackle before the needle hits the music. Digital is just so easy to play music but you can't beat putting on a record and turning the dial up to 11 for some proper nostalgia

I always thought that was the case until I started to play my old vinyl albums again. Just didn't do it for me so I sold them all and haven't regretted it. Singles are a different matter though, I could probably recognise a song by it's crackle at the beginning of some of my old punk singles :greengrin

06-11-2020, 05:55 PM
When you bring back your shopping and realise you've judged exactly how much room is left in your freezer like a Tetris master!

06-11-2020, 07:59 PM
When you let your wee nephew have a wee punt on the football and he has £5ew on Che Adams for the first goal for Southampton and you can share the joy as he runs about the living room like a dafty! 👍

09-11-2020, 09:37 AM
When someone's first post is on something random like dog breeds. Don't know why but it always puts a smile on my face. :greengrin

12-11-2020, 09:25 AM
A banana that is slightly over ripe.

MagicSwirlingShip
14-11-2020, 11:42 PM
When my wee boy sneezes he lets out a big long sigh / smile after.

c31
28-11-2020, 04:18 PM
McDonalds Smarties McFlurry.. Best ice cream I've had for ages.

28-11-2020, 05:20 PM
A banana that is slightly over ripe.

Turning completely over-ripe bananas into banana bread. Throw in some candied citrus peel, cinnamon and walnuts and it's a joy.

28-11-2020, 05:23 PM
McDonalds Smarties McFlurry.. Best ice cream I've had for ages.

McDonalds breakfast menu is one hundred times better than anything savoury on their main menu. A double sausage and egg muffin meal and a black coffee can turn any morning into an acceptable one.

28-11-2020, 05:32 PM
I passed a car this morning that was parked in the gap between lanes just outside Clackmannan in the way into Alloa. I'm sure you all know where I mean. Anyway, as I passed it I saw that it was a woman and she had a puncture but looked like she was struggling to get the wheel off. I went to the next roundabout to go back and help, by the time I got back round to her two others had stopped to help. Was heartened that at least three of us were prepared to go and help her out

01-12-2020, 03:02 PM
Turning completely over-ripe bananas into banana bread. Throw in some candied citrus peel, cinnamon and walnuts and it's a joy.

Variation is dried cranberries. The bananas need to be completely over-ripe, like you say.

01-12-2020, 10:45 PM
Porridge. The cereal that keeps on giving.

I eat it most days, 40 grammes of oats made with roughly 150ml of water and 50ml of semi-skimmed milk. I usually add a couple of desert spoonfuls of raisins, but sometimes I chop up 2 or 3 dried dates or eat it sans fruit. Definitely no sugar or salt added. I really love it.

However, it affords me more than just the pleasure of the actual consumption of the porridge in my plate.

Firstly, there's the joy of scraping the bottom of the pot with a spoon and devouring the resultant bounty. This is particularly delightful when the porridge has started to stick.

Then, washing the pot after it has been soaked in cold water for a while is a pleasure everyone should experience.

When you eventually empty the pot to clean it, it has almost magically washed itself. The remaining oats are just poured away along with the water and it requires only the slightest wipe.

Morning happiness.

02-12-2020, 12:19 PM
Listening to folk win the prize money on Radio Forth each day.

02-12-2020, 02:36 PM
Getting to my bed before midnight.

c31
02-12-2020, 02:41 PM
removal of an ingrowing toe nail... the relief is the best feeling I've had in years..

pollution
02-12-2020, 05:35 PM
removal of an ingrowing toe nail... the relief is the best feeling I've had in years..

Did you receive pain relief ?

Asking for a friend...

14-01-2021, 09:02 AM
Just before eating a ripe pear, pretending it's a grenade and pulling the stalk out with my teeth. :greengrin

14-01-2021, 09:22 AM

Amen.

I had total removal of my right big toe nail years ago but it grew back ingrown again, had a partial removal the 2nd time and that done the trick.

Then a couple of years ago the left one went. I left it far too long to get seen to and by the time I did it was in a proper mess. The relief when it was removed made me wonder how I walked about with it for 6 months. That was a total removal and treatment so the nail won't grow back.

14-01-2021, 09:23 AM
Did you receive pain relief ?

Asking for a friend...

The removal is done under local anaesthetic. 2 jags either side of the base of the toe. That's probably the worst part of the whole thing.

Paracetamol does the trick after and you may get antibiotics if there is an infection present.

pollution
14-01-2021, 11:41 AM
The removal is done under local anaesthetic. 2 jags either side of the base of the toe. That's probably the worst part of the whole thing.

Paracetamol does the trick after and you may get antibiotics if there is an infection present.

Thanks, I will tell my friend who has gout in his feet.

14-01-2021, 09:13 PM
Chocolate ovaltine. There's not a problem that can't be fixed by taking five minutes with a mug of malty chocolately goodness to think it over.

15-01-2021, 07:56 AM
The first mouthful of coffee in the morning.

That and a cold shower, I've started having one as cold as I can stand for between 4-6 minutes every morning and it's so invigorating.

15-01-2021, 11:05 AM
Snoozing the alarm a few times before actually getting up. The snoozing time is just so restful. For some reason this annoys my girlfriend no-end as she prefers to just get up when the alarm goes.

15-01-2021, 12:03 PM
Snoozing the alarm a few times before actually getting up. The snoozing time is just so restful. For some reason this annoys my girlfriend no-end as she prefers to just get up when the alarm goes.

Exactly what I do, could never just get up on alarm, I set it at least 30 mins before I want to get up and snooze it continuously.

15-01-2021, 12:20 PM
I have rediscovered Barr’s Cream Soda. Not quite a ginger bottle but the six can pack has become a staple.

15-01-2021, 12:35 PM
Exactly what I do, could never just get up on alarm, I set it at least 30 mins before I want to get up and snooze it continuously.

Same here, weird thing is I have very vivid dreams while snoozing, of reasons why I don't have to get up (for example, work is closed for the day, or it's a Saturday etc) and there's a real subconscious battle between the realisation that it's just a dream and I do need to get up, and the thought that the dream reality is much better so I shouldn't get up.

15-01-2021, 01:14 PM
Doing a DIY job and finding that odd bracket/ clip/fixing etc that you kept in your spares box years ago is just what you need.

15-01-2021, 01:46 PM
Same here, weird thing is I have very vivid dreams while snoozing, of reasons why I don't have to get up (for example, work is closed for the day, or it's a Saturday etc) and there's a real subconscious battle between the realisation that it's just a dream and I do need to get up, and the thought that the dream reality is much better so I shouldn't get up.

Is that not what is called Lucid dreaming where you can train yourself to consciously control your dreams?

I know the feeling though as I set my alarm around an hour to 30 minutes before I get up and snooze every 10 minutes.

15-01-2021, 01:52 PM
Doing a DIY job and finding that odd bracket/ clip/fixing etc that you kept in your spares box years ago is just what you need.True! Only a couple of hundred bits & bobs to go...

15-01-2021, 02:05 PM

Your girlfriend is right to be annoyed. Surely uninterrupted sleep is even more restful.

15-01-2021, 03:51 PM
Your girlfriend is right to be annoyed. Surely uninterrupted sleep is even more restful.

Nope, not for me. It feels like getting up for an early morning flight otherwise.

16-01-2021, 08:48 AM
The first mouthful of coffee in the morning.

That and a cold shower, I've started having one as cold as I can stand for between 4-6 minutes every morning and it's so invigorating.

I like a cold shower, but only if I'm exiting it into a warm room.

17-01-2021, 12:54 PM
Finding out that the UKIP candidate for London Mayor is called Peter Gammons.

18-01-2021, 06:56 AM
Finding out that the UKIP candidate for London Mayor is called Peter Gammons.

He doesn't stand a chance against the Liberal Party's Gabriel Snowflake. :greengrin

MagicSwirlingShip
18-01-2021, 12:00 PM
A full nights uninterrupted deep sleep. Not easy to come by with a 5 month old baby in the house. But when it happens! Joyous

alhibby
18-01-2021, 01:19 PM
The first spoonful of Heinz Tomato Soup, gets me everytime, always has,

19-01-2021, 08:30 PM
Ramen noodles - particularly ones that have loads of chilli heat in them. Had a pack of Korean noodles that are lovely and hot but found that on the internet a 2x hot version is available. That arrived today so will have a pack tomorrow.

Chili heat releases serotonin and it defo works for me - love really hot food and have chilli or hot sauce on most things I eat. Looking forward to trying the extra hot noodles.

19-01-2021, 10:39 PM
Ramen noodles - particularly ones that have loads of chilli heat in them. Had a pack of Korean noodles that are lovely and hot but found that on the internet a 2x hot version is available. That arrived today so will have a pack tomorrow.

Chili heat releases serotonin and it defo works for me - love really hot food and have chilli or hot sauce on most things I eat. Looking forward to trying the extra hot noodles.

You should try Nong Shim Shin Pot Noodles, very spicy.

Casey1875
19-01-2021, 11:19 PM
I have rediscovered Barr’s Cream Soda. Not quite a ginger bottle but the six can pack has become a staple.

Scotmid do the glass bottles, you can't beat them.

20-01-2021, 03:16 PM
I like a cold shower, but only if I'm exiting it into a warm room.

Fanny :greengrin

I found a new level of cold on my shower the other day, putting it from sport to eco. Before I'd have it between 1 & 2 so it was cold but not straight out the tap cold. Got a bit of a fright when I found this new setting :snowman

20-01-2021, 05:34 PM
Pineapple upside down cake. Getting the caramel nice and dark too, adding a splash of rum to it. Splash of pouring cream on it, nothing else.

26-01-2021, 12:07 PM
The Word Association Thread. At first I thought it was just a sleekit plan for undercover Yams to get their post count up but now I'm enjoying it by playing 3 little games within the game:

1. Find a word that's unusual or at least a little challenging to associate another with.

2. Try and anticipate what associated words the next poster will use.

3. Tee up a jibe at Hearts, the Tories or similar parasites.

26-01-2021, 12:46 PM
Haggis. How ****ing good is Haggis? Add in turnip mashed with some butter and cream and it is a delicacy!

26-01-2021, 01:16 PM
Making jokes about... or jibes aimed at... Germans.

e.g.

Q - How many Germans does it take to change a light bulb?

A - Just the one, because they're extremely efficient but not very funny.

26-01-2021, 08:27 PM
Haggis. How ****ing good is Haggis? Add in turnip mashed with some butter and cream and it is a delicacy!

I made Balmoral chicken yesterday. Crumbled a little extra haggis into the mashed potatoes too.

This morning took the leftover haggis that didn't go into the chicken and fried it up with an egg for breakfast. Dash of hot sauce on the top.

All of it delicious and just shows how versatile haggis is. Love it.

08-02-2021, 09:49 AM
Sitting in the house with the heating on level toast and a nice hot cuppa, watching a swirling snowstorm at -11c in the garden.

13-02-2021, 12:49 PM
My colleagues - my supervisor was clearing out his flat and came across a hipflask in presentation box from Lewis Stevenson's testimonial and knew that as a Hibs fan, I'd appreciate it more than him.

Turns out that a lot of my colleague's friends growing up are the same as Lewis's friends, and Lewis asked him for a selfie to send to his mates. My colleague isn't a football fan, had been working at the dinner and received the hipflask so it perked up his evening a fair bit :greengrin

24-03-2021, 08:00 AM
Going on to Twitter this morning and being suggested this as a funny tweet I might enjoy:

24-03-2021, 12:10 PM
Going on to Twitter this morning and being suggested this as a funny tweet I might enjoy:

I just posted this on the main board, but it's even more appropriate for this thread;

The thought of Brora Rangers player getting up this morning at 4.00am to get ready for his day job on the fishing boats having just played in, and won, a Scottish Cup tie against the Gorgie Galacticos, knowing that in all probability, they're not home yet.

26-03-2021, 01:55 AM
One off the wrist in the shower (no offence)

27-03-2021, 07:06 PM
Toyah and Robert’s Sunday Lunch.

Search for it on YouTube. :wink:

speedy_gonzales
27-03-2021, 07:15 PM

Happened across their videos a few months back, thought she'd had a wardrobe malfunction the first time, then I twigged she's just an exhibitionist.
To be fair, at 60+ years old, she's maintained her assets well 🙄

27-03-2021, 07:58 PM
Happened across their videos a few months back, thought she'd had a wardrobe malfunction the first time, then I twigged she's just an exhibitionist.
To be fair, at 60+ years old, she's maintained her assets well 🙄

Wondering if she will equally outstanding when the cold weather wears off.

28-03-2021, 02:08 PM
Discovering something that is almost on your doorstep that you had no clue was there by accident.

I was out a walk the other day and came across the Craignetinny Marbles. About a 15 minute walk from my house in a city I have lived in for the vast majority of my life and I had never seen it before. It's an impressive structure and is a visual example of the urbanisation of Edinburgh. When it was built it would have been in acres of land, now it's hidden from the main road by hundreds of houses.

29-03-2021, 10:06 PM

He was really struggling with his depression and was furious as he thought Toyah was trying to make him look like a clown. She said that was the point, to not take things so seriously and apparently they’ve helped.

I really like them.

30-03-2021, 10:25 PM
Seeing our new business named as one of the top Chippys in Edinburgh
by Edinburgh Evening news readers.

30-03-2021, 10:47 PM

Congratulations, where are you? I'll make it a priority to pay you a visit next time I'm back. I normally have fish n chips for the first 4-5 days when back in Edinburgh.

30-03-2021, 10:50 PM
Congratulations, where are you? I'll make it a priority to pay you a visit next time I'm back. I normally have fish n chips for the first 4-5 days when back in Edinburgh.

Broughton Street, don’t forget to introduce yourself 😁

30-03-2021, 10:58 PM

Definitely. Mouths watering now just thinking about it. :greengrin

31-03-2021, 09:41 AM

Congratulations, that's some achievement in such a short space of time!

31-03-2021, 10:23 AM

brilliant mate, congratulations :thumbsup:

31-03-2021, 10:31 AM
Discovering something that is almost on your doorstep that you had no clue was there by accident.

I was out a walk the other day and came across the Craignetinny Marbles. About a 15 minute walk from my house in a city I have lived in for the vast majority of my life and I had never seen it before. It's an impressive structure and is a visual example of the urbanisation of Edinburgh. When it was built it would have been in acres of land, now it's hidden from the main road by hundreds of houses.

My aunt and uncle live close by, so I've always taken it for granted. My wife walked past it recently and thought it was very impressive. There's loads in Edinburgh that I should appreciate more.

31-03-2021, 07:31 PM
In the mornings, getting the time for a proper lazy poo. Newspaper, check social media, get a bit of music on, pins and needles in your legs but time that is completely your own.

01-04-2021, 03:52 PM
Tv shows like the repair shop. Just a good honest programme that doesn’t try and be something it’s not and makes you smile watching it.

01-04-2021, 04:21 PM
Tv shows like the repair shop. Just a good honest programme that doesn’t try and be something it’s not and makes you smile watching it.

Great programme and quite emotional at times when something very sentimental to the owner has been restored.

01-04-2021, 04:53 PM
Saying totally outrageous things just to provoke a reaction from my partner. I wouldn't repeat any of them in public,I don't believe any of them and she knows that but if I get it just dead pan enough it still shocks her.

01-04-2021, 04:55 PM

Never knew the official title.

01-04-2021, 05:08 PM

I've amazed a few passers-by by showing them the interior of St Bernards Well (via Internet images), a hidden marvel of the capital.

01-04-2021, 05:44 PM

What’s the name of your place mate? I’m working on Dundas St now, so will be sure to try it out.

01-04-2021, 05:57 PM
I posted this on the wrong thread last night so I'll repatriate it to here.

One of my cousins who stays in darkest Englandshire has an 18 year old daughter, Ella, who has Down syndrome.

He often shares stories about her exploits on Facebook, where we laugh (a lot) with her - not at her.

Here's last night's episode.

"I like this song I might do it on my karaoke Saturday.....what is it???"

"Well Ella, it's the Polish national anthem [emoji2369][emoji15]"

01-04-2021, 06:11 PM
In the mornings, getting the time for a proper lazy poo. Newspaper, check social media, get a bit of music on, pins and needles in your legs but time that is completely your own.

That’s a good one!

01-04-2021, 07:15 PM
Great programme and quite emotional at times when something very sentimental to the owner has been restored.
Absolutely. Watching the restorers at work is brilliant as well. If that was done in America you’d have people shouting and swearing in order to make it more edgy.

03-04-2021, 08:55 AM

Delighted to hear that.

03-04-2021, 09:00 AM
Cleaning my Fridge Magnets.

(that's not all of them, some were still on the fridge)

03-04-2021, 07:56 PM
I repaired my washing machine today. The carbon bridges needed replaced, apparently.

YouTube, e-bay for parts, then had a bash at doing it myself, and it worked.

I was going to just replace it, so saved myself a good few hundred quid by repairing it.

I’m not very good at DIY stuff, so am well pleased with myself! :faf:

03-04-2021, 08:04 PM
Sunshine. It just makes everything feel better.

I took the bairn down to Musselburgh today and we watched a bit of the racing from the hedge at the side of the course. Watched the horses going down, watched them loading and saw them briefly pass as the jockeys got to work at the 2f marker.

There were a few people about. A small group with plastic glasses, Prosecco and sandwiches, a few guys on their own, a few families and a few couples. Everyone gave each other space, everyone was good natured, everyone was polite and everyone was smiling. Obviously the fact we were all doing something we enjoy helped but it would still have been miserable in the rain. The sun made it a good day.

StevesFamau5
03-04-2021, 08:08 PM
I repaired my washing machine today. The carbon bridges needed replaced, apparently.

I was going to just replace it, so saved myself a good few hundred quid by repairing it.

I’m not very good at DIY stuff, so am well pleased with myself! :faf:Well done mate.

Although you can't share the secrets haha you'll put me out of business..

Always a good idea to repair than replace

Sent from my VOG-L09 using Tapatalk

03-04-2021, 08:49 PM

I’m not very good at DIY stuff, so am well pleased with myself! :faf:

Nice one mate 👍🏻

I managed to fix the fan on our boiler yesterday which was on the blink.

I had the advice of a plumber though, don’t go in blind 😂

03-04-2021, 08:56 PM
Our work have been doing virtual tastings all through lockdown and for some reason, you get a massive buzz at the end when they go well. You go home and feel ready for a beer and that beer, whilst winding down, somehow always tastes amazing.

05-04-2021, 09:03 AM
Sitting in the barbers waiting for my first proper haircut in months.

05-04-2021, 09:37 AM

Booked in next Wednesday, i took the clippers to my head a good few weeks back thinking it would grow in enough for the barber to do something with it when they opened.

I mis-timed it by a couple of weeks, if I’d waited 2 weeks I’d have gotten away with it, as it is though i have hair that’s all equally too long at the same length all over my head.

It’s not a good look.

05-04-2021, 09:51 AM
Booked in next Wednesday, i took the clippers to my head a good few weeks back thinking it would grow in enough for the barber to do something with it when they opened.

I mis-timed it by a couple of weeks, if I’d waited 2 weeks I’d have gotten away with it, as it is though i have hair that’s all equally too long at the same length all over my head.

It’s not a good look.

Next Wednesday for me too. Can’t wait.

05-04-2021, 09:51 AM

It’s not a good look.

Yeah I too done an at home clipper job, today was perfect timing for the barber to sort out the mess! He’ was telling me his first available appointment as of today is 15 April, glad I got in early,.

Jay
05-04-2021, 10:30 AM
Hairdressers on sat for me. Itll feel like I'm on my holidays :greengrin chatting to a different person and looking at a different view for a couple of hours sounds like bliss.

05-04-2021, 10:32 AM
When you bump into an old collegue from England and they say that they Still keep an eye out for the Hibs results.

05-04-2021, 10:43 AM

I was a day late to get my usual guy when they opened up the bookings, got to wait till thursday now, the wife used to be a hairdresser and she's given me a wee haircut a couple of times but it's scissors over comb and takes about 20 mins.

05-04-2021, 11:06 AM
Cleaning my Fridge Magnets.

(that's not all of them, some were still on the fridge)

I'm like that with pin badges :)

Nice collection!

pollution
05-04-2021, 11:28 AM
Hairdressers on sat for me. Itll feel like I'm on my holidays :greengrin chatting to a different person and looking at a different view for a couple of hours sounds like bliss.

Lucky you. It takes my barber ten minutes and that's stretching it !

05-04-2021, 11:56 AM

10?

Last time I was in, one play of Insomnia by Faithless (the radio version) and boom....

05-04-2021, 12:34 PM
Little things that give you pleasure

Actually, I think I'll let my wife be the judge of that....

Jay
05-04-2021, 01:10 PM

:greengrin I'm getting my grey covered and that's a big job! I normally go every 6 weeks but not been since before christmas.

05-04-2021, 05:14 PM
:greengrin I'm getting my grey covered and that's a big job! I normally go every 6 weeks but not been since before christmas.

You should post a photo

09-04-2021, 10:16 AM
We're getting a puppy! It's been something we've considered for a long time but felt that the time is right; we've both had bereavements in the last twelve months and lots of stresses that the world has made it difficult to move on from, but as well as being able to offer the attention and love now that a dog needs and deserves, it's moving onto a new chapter in life. We met her for the first time last night and she's adorable. A two week old pointador that we're getting in six to eight weeks time.

09-04-2021, 11:16 PM
We're getting a puppy! It's been something we've considered for a long time but felt that the time is right; we've both had bereavements in the last twelve months and lots of stresses that the world has made it difficult to move on from, but as well as being able to offer the attention and love now that a dog needs and deserves, it's moving onto a new chapter in life. We met her for the first time last night and she's adorable. A two week old pointador that we're getting in six to eight weeks time.

Great but remember you'll have to exercise her a lot. I hope you are not in your eighties!

10-04-2021, 06:08 PM
Great but remember you'll have to exercise her a lot. I hope you are not in your eighties!

Oh no, much younger and spend a lot of time outdoors.

11-04-2021, 08:03 PM
Watching the Masters coverage with the Mrs and shouting "doh" everytime Simpson miss hits a shot. Yes, there is alcohol involved.

12-04-2021, 10:45 AM

My lovely new pin badge arrived today. I'll take great pleasure in wearing it everywhere I go alongside my Hibs and music related ones :agree:

23-04-2021, 10:08 AM
Can't stop laughing. Is this for real? How come I've never heard of it. :confused:

https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=2VbupHLwQ5U

25-04-2021, 10:12 AM
Driving in bus lanes at the weekend and watching people who can't read road signs getting all worked up and shouty.

25-04-2021, 10:31 AM
Driving in bus lanes at the weekend and watching people who can't read road signs getting all worked up and shouty.

Not just the weekends, I use them during the week and you get the same response from idiots who can’t read.

25-04-2021, 03:16 PM

I certainly don't get worked up and shouty as I'm generally aware of when you can/can't drive on them but I imagine I'm probably someone's pet peeve as I'll happily drive on the non-bus lane side even when I'm allowed on either.

On a related note, what's up with the tiny streak of bus lane leading up to the Cameron toll roundabout coming from peffermill road? I reckon that one is asking to cause accidents if people wait until after it (when they're joining the roundabout queue) before getting in lane.

25-04-2021, 10:08 PM
I imagine I'm probably someone's pet peeve as I'll happily drive on the non-bus lane side even when I'm allowed on either.

The Highway Code :rules:

26-04-2021, 04:52 AM
Watching the Huns get pumped, even if it might have an adverse effect on Hibs.

30-04-2021, 10:22 AM
The National Trust properties have (partially) re-opened and I went to Greenbank Garden the other day with my wife It doesn't sound much but I haven't been well recently and it was nice to get out.

The place was quite full of families with pre-school age kids and it was a real laugh watching them all running round the rotating garden hose.

There was one, about 18 months old, that kept running away from the water toward where we were sitting, saw my wife and immediately ran back in the direction of the hose. Presumably he decided the water was the least terrifying option :wink:

Then there was a wee girl (about the same age) walking past with her big brother who saw my wife eating an ice-cream and just froze on the spot, staring. No matter what we or her parents said, she just stood staring enviously at the ice-cream.

As I said, it doesn't sound a particularly eventful day but it really cheered us up.

CloudSquall
10-05-2021, 10:41 AM
Youtube channel History Matters: https://www.youtube.com/channel/UC22BdTgxefuvUivrjesETjg

Short videos of around 3 or 4 minutes explaining different historical events, I've went down the Youtube rabbit hole a few times with this channel.

10-05-2021, 12:30 PM
I just spent a night in the same hotel as RB Leipzig Ladies Team*

It might not mean much to you young 'uns, but at my age that's quite exciting

* Or Women's Team, if you prefer

10-05-2021, 06:52 PM
I just spent a night in the same hotel as RB Leipzig Ladies Team*

It might not mean much to you young 'uns, but at my age that's quite exciting

* Or Women's Team, if you prefer

That explains the "location" on your profile. :greengrin

11-05-2021, 08:41 AM

Genau

😁

11-05-2021, 09:48 AM

11-05-2021, 05:05 PM
Youtube channel History Matters: https://www.youtube.com/channel/UC22BdTgxefuvUivrjesETjg

Short videos of around 3 or 4 minutes explaining different historical events, I've went down the Youtube rabbit hole a few times with this channel.

I subscribe to a few YouTube channels.

There's a lot of hate aimed at YouTubers and vloggers and so on but some of them produce great content. It's basically opened up a world in which every niche interest can be catered for and if it isn't someone can do it themselves.

I watch videos of a guy who carries a GoPro when he runs, reviews shoes and talks about his training (Ben Parkes) , another guy who reviews planes and airports (Noel Philips) and a channel that is just full of random stuff that is weird and wonderful (Atomic Shrimp).

patch1875
11-05-2021, 05:31 PM
On the anniversary of his death listening to Bob Marley.

11-05-2021, 06:41 PM
Overtaking another lorry on the Autobahn at exactly 80kmh. Just to be on the safe side I like to pull into the outside lane about 250m before overtaking then back in 50m after overtaking.

11-05-2021, 06:43 PM
My phone upgrade arrived today and I'm loving trying out the new features and seeing what's improved from my old phone. Always get a bit of a giddy thrill with new gadgets and tech.

11-05-2021, 07:27 PM
My phone upgrade arrived today and I'm loving trying out the new features and seeing what's improved from my old phone. Always get a bit of a giddy thrill with new gadgets and tech.

Can you still make calls from it

12-05-2021, 08:39 AM
Overtaking another lorry on the Autobahn at exactly 80kmh. Just to be on the safe side I like to pull into the outside lane about 250m before overtaking then back in 50m after overtaking.

Was that you on the E14 just south of Magdeburg?

If so, we were in the Astra with the GB plates trying to overtake for about 15 minutes... and the missus did not appreciate the rude hand signal!

:cool2:

12-05-2021, 09:17 AM
Can you still make calls from it

Our wee boy has just turned one and I don't think he's ever seen us hold a phone to our ears. One of his grannies did that with his toy phone recently and he looked at her like she was crazy. :greengrin

12-05-2021, 09:44 AM
Was that you on the E14 just south of Magdeburg?

If so, we were in the Astra with the GB plates trying to overtake for about 15 minutes... and the missus did not appreciate the rude hand signal!

:cool2:

Restricted to the A10 at the minute. But as we like to say in Germany "Berlin today, tomorrow zee world".

P.S. I was only replying to her hand signal, thought they'd gone out of fashion around 1945. :wink:

12-05-2021, 11:22 AM
The Highway Code :rules:

I'll admit to doing a bit of both.

Depends how many landmines have been detonated in the bus lanes, there's normally a few

AltheHibby
12-05-2021, 11:44 AM
Not just the weekends, I use them during the week and you get the same response from idiots who can’t read.

That gives me immense pleasure. Along with using the hard shoulder on smart motorways and passing all the middle lane and normally speedy types as I do so.🤭

Edit: but only when they are being used as running lanes.

12-05-2021, 03:04 PM
Restricted to the A10 at the m
e. But as we like to say in Germany "Berlin today, tomorrow zee world".

P.S. I was only replying to her hand signal, thought they'd gone out of fashion around 1945. :wink:

She just wanted to clarify that it was THIS salute she was making...

http://eastgermany.info/yp.jpg

12-05-2021, 06:32 PM
She just wanted to clarify that it was THIS salute she was making...

http://eastgermany.info/yp.jpg

Oops, my mistake. Please offer her my sincerest socialist apologies and give her my regards and a "Freundschaft" greeting.

12-05-2021, 06:38 PM
Been in the garage to change the oil and filter on my bike, some pretty loud heavy rock and metal playing in the background. Had a truly awful last fortnight so good to just switch off from everything and get my hands dirty.

20-05-2021, 11:25 AM
Buying old bangers of cars. I spend around £500-600 on a car and run it for as long as it goes and I love finding cars with character or a back story.

Just got a Suzuki Wagon R that was previously owned by a member of the Barbarians team of 2009 that beat the All Blacks (not a rugby fan so can’t remember the name). White alloys fitted, and had been behind it in a queue on the way into a music festival two years ago because I thought that it’s a car not deserving of cool alloys at the time 😂

10 months Mot, new exhaust and clutch, Bluetooth stereo and regularly serviced, almost immaculate bodywork, £600.

Terrible car, genuine joy from the story of it.

Bangkok Hibby
06-06-2021, 09:15 AM
Nothing much on today so lying on the couch, headphones on, watching old concert footage of my favourite bands. Oh the nostalgia, the wishing I was there again, tears, smiles, every emotion going. Absolutely loving it.

Edit...maybe you have to be my age to fully understand. Not saying youngsters dont enjoy music but us oldies know our times have long gone hence the nostalgia kick. Well for me anyway.

CloudSquall
23-06-2021, 02:40 PM
Cracking my knuckles and elbow.

23-06-2021, 06:07 PM
Cracking my knuckles and elbow.That's one of my pet peeves!

Sent from my SM-G977B using Tapatalk

CloudSquall
23-06-2021, 08:52 PM
That's one of my pet peeves!

Sent from my SM-G977B using Tapatalk

I try to do it alone :greengrin

01-08-2021, 09:51 PM
Outdoor swimming. We get up early on a Sunday morning and pick a local reservoir to have a swim. Get to see lots of picturesque places, very few people about and very refreshing. Sets you up for the day.

We always take a doughnut and have that before being dried or changed and it always tastes amazing.

17-10-2021, 07:40 AM
Posting something sarcastic on social media and a bunch of daft racists liking the comment thinking you are being serious.

17-10-2021, 08:27 AM
The smell when you walk past a decent bacon butty van and you aren’t expecting it.

17-10-2021, 06:24 PM
A well timed cup of tea with complementary Rich Tea biscuits.

17-10-2021, 08:28 PM
Stovies. Partner was training for a stone lifting competition and whilst she did her thing I walked the dog in the drizzling rain. Soaked through and frozen but used some pigeon sausages in the freezer to make stovies and irrelevant of your day, stovies make everything just fine.

17-10-2021, 08:38 PM
Reading the phrase "pigeon sausages" and the mental images it conjures up.

17-10-2021, 08:55 PM
Reading the phrase "pigeon sausages" and the mental images it conjures up.

I got them in a bundle from a local farm shop 😂

They make fantastic stovies

18-10-2021, 02:30 AM
My 12 year old has finally caught the golf bug. He took part in a golf camp during the autumn break and is now spending nearly all his free time on the golf course. Not only is it great to have him out in the fresh air away from his gaming console, but it makes it much easier organising family short holidays.

27-10-2021, 10:16 AM
Went for my morning swim today. Seen a heron and two dolphins quite comfy for me to be there. Great morning.

27-10-2021, 11:00 AM
Autumn watch. The best hour or so of the day and the mindfulness minute is the best minute of that hour. When it came on last night, I had my kids and two dogs causing havoc so I paused it and threw them all out of the room so I could watch that minute in total peace and quiet. Brilliant

allyh1bs
27-10-2021, 09:31 PM
Went for my morning swim today. Seen a heron and two dolphins quite comfy for me to be there. Great morning.

Aye the Commie Pool’s fair come on since they refurbished it[emoji1787]

27-10-2021, 09:33 PM

Where was that out of interest ..sounds magic

27-10-2021, 09:54 PM
Where was that out of interest ..sounds magic

East Sands beach in St Andrews. I go before work three times a week but got really lucky today.

27-10-2021, 09:55 PM
East Sands beach in St Andrews. I go before work three times a week but got really lucky today.

Sounds brilliant NH. Love a wild swim ….

28-10-2021, 09:28 AM
My wife does a bit of wild swimming when she can. Lovesit and really relaxes her

28-10-2021, 04:30 PM
My wife does a bit of wild swimming when she can. Lovesit and really relaxes her

I managed a partial calf tear at football a few weeks back but one got me hobbling and limping, then another got me to walking with a slight limp.

The benefits I feel mentally and personally from cold water are amazing. I deal with stress so much better too.

28-10-2021, 07:42 PM
Seeing kids playing conkers, chalking the streets and kicking a ball about in the road.

There's a wee group of kids in my street who are out playing all the time and I love seeing them.

29-10-2021, 11:14 AM
I managed a partial calf tear at football a few weeks back but one got me hobbling and limping, then another got me to walking with a slight limp.

The benefits I feel mentally and personally from cold water are amazing. I deal with stress so much better too.

Im lucky having a few beaches within 10 mins walk. 10mins a day 5 days a week is what I aim for. Now its getting colder again I'll try & get back to daily. Even managed a full moon skinny dip at the weekend :greengrin

In terms of small things that give you pleasure. Todays was not realising the tide was out which gave loads of space for my pup to run himself knackered (oh yeah & complete blue sky when the forecast was for the usual torrential rain)

30-10-2021, 08:00 PM

In the River Devon?

Wild paddling, surely!

01-11-2021, 02:35 PM
Going for a nice walk everyday

02-11-2021, 10:52 AM
Cooking with spinach. Add an overflowing mound to a pasta sauce you’re making and beyond all logic it ends up with the perfect amount. Satisfying.

02-11-2021, 02:55 PM
Cooking with spinach. Add an overflowing mound to a pasta sauce you’re making and beyond all logic it ends up with the perfect amount. Satisfying.

Spinach is my pet peeve for the same reason. Where does it go?!? It's like the vegetable version of the angels share. :greengrin

I now tend to use less than the recipe says and keep some spare to put on my plate raw.

02-11-2021, 09:29 PM
Unexpected early finished from work

03-11-2021, 06:33 PM
Seeing kids playing conkers, chalking the streets and kicking a ball about in the road.

There's a wee group of kids in my street who are out playing all the time and I love seeing them.

Totally agree, seeing kids having fun really brings a smile to my face as well. I was on holiday in Dresden a few years back and there was some kids chalking loads of pictures all over one of the pavements near our B&B, so I dropped a few coins for the 'Pavement Artists'.

The surprised/delighted look on their faces was really funny :greengrin

17-11-2021, 10:01 PM
Scoring a goal - any goal - at fives. Doesn’t matter that the standard is hideous. Watching it slip just inside of the far post will always boost the ego.

I’ll never tire of it.

18-11-2021, 12:39 AM
Lying on the beach , cupping sand in your hand , squeezing it tight and trying to control a slow flow of sand returning to its original state.

18-11-2021, 12:43 AM
Scoring a goal - any goal - at fives. Doesn’t matter that the standard is hideous. Watching it slip just inside of the far post will always boost the ego.

I’ll never tire of it.
I swear i get better at football as i get older.
I can swerve a ball better now than i could in my twenties.

To add to the tread....
Doing keepy uppies amd controlling it with a back heel and continuimg.

18-11-2021, 08:11 AM
I swear i get better at football as i get older.
I can swerve a ball better now than i could in my twenties.

To add to the tread....
Doing keepy uppies amd controlling it with a back heel and continuimg.

I was so one footed when I played back at school but having not played in ten years before a month or two ago, I’ve somehow gained the ability to use both feet. Slid through a Scott Allan-esque through ball on my left foot and it felt even better to be able to use both feet.

18-11-2021, 08:14 AM
Stepping in a puddle & realising how waterproof my new mountain boots are!

Jay
18-11-2021, 08:46 AM
Teaching my 2 year old grandson how to pedal a bike, running alongside him doing the steering. Reminds me of doing it with my kids way back when and the little joys that we lose as they grow up

c31
18-11-2021, 11:07 AM
All the Christmas shopping has been completed...

18-11-2021, 02:55 PM
Hibs players scoring headers at the back post while simultaneously knocking a rangers player out (Doidge, McGregor, and O'Connor all spring to mind).

Actually, just any headed goal against them come to think of it. :greengrin

18-11-2021, 09:54 PM
Calling out racist bigots , telling them they're absolute cretins and leaving their company.

Just done this 5 mins ago in Gran Canaria after getting talking to a couple in a bar. I could not believe what i was hearimg. The full score of P..ies , black bas..... Etc.
Told the bigoted
**** what i thought of him and left.

19-11-2021, 06:00 AM
Walking the dogs at 6 in the morning at this time of year when the weather is so good. Peaceful, quiet, solitary. Brilliant.

19-11-2021, 06:44 AM
All the Christmas shopping has been completed...

Christmas in general.

I love this time of year when lights start going up and the kids start getting excited and asking about Santa.

Christmas is great as long as you are able not to out too much pressure on yourself to have someone else's idea of a perfect Christmas. A Christmas film every Sunday in December, a take away on Christmas Eve, relaxed dinner on Christmas Day and plenty to drink and I'm happy.

20-11-2021, 01:02 AM
Removing masking tape to find that it has left a crisp line and hasn't taken any chunks of paint up with it.

25-11-2021, 09:25 AM
Proper scrambled eggs. Still quite loose, stirred well so no big lumps, plenty butter in there, salt, pepper and on hot buttered toast.

Nothing better in the morning.

25-11-2021, 09:42 AM
Proper scrambled eggs. Still quite loose, stirred well so no big lumps, plenty butter in there, salt, pepper and on hot buttered toast.

Awwww **** sake thats it, I'll have to go and make some now.

25-11-2021, 09:50 AM
Awwww **** sake thats it, I'll have to go and make some now.

Yep :greengrin

Nothing breaks my heart more than American style scrambled eggs, or even worse, microwaved. Heathens.

c31
25-11-2021, 03:33 PM

Add a wee bit brown spicy sauce to make it even better....

26-11-2021, 08:47 AM
Yep :greengrin

Nothing breaks my heart more than American style scrambled eggs, or even worse, microwaved. Heathens.

Dreadful, rubbery nonsense.

I admit to microwaving scrambled eggs at work though. Forgive me.

I sometimes put srircha through mine, adds a real kick. Or put butter and then peanut butter on the toast for a pre-training snack.

26-11-2021, 10:17 AM
Listening to the radio.

It's almost like something from a bygone age with access to pretty much any TV you want on demand 24/7 but I love it.

Out of Doors on Radio Scotland is 90 minutes of pure joy. It shouldn't work because it's a show largely about scenery and landscape on the radio but it just does. Other favourites are Craig Charles, Don Lett and Cillian Murphy on Radio 6 and Witness on Radio 4.

I think it's because there is no visual stimulus it requires concentration. It's too easy to get distracted watching the TV, when you are listening to something you really have to be immersed to enjoy it.

26-11-2021, 02:56 PM
Potato waffles. Done in the toaster - whacked up to the highest setting and given three cycles.

On a day like today they're fluffy on the inside, crispy on the outside and toasty hot.

Like chips that go in multiple directions. Amazing.

28-11-2021, 12:42 AM

Lovely jubblee, like to great some cheese in as well.

28-11-2021, 02:45 PM
Watching Hibs come from 1-0 down to win 2-1 on a freezing day in Perth, then the Missus having lovely hot pizza on the table for me as I get in the front door

28-11-2021, 03:54 PM
Watching Hibs come from 1-0 down to win 2-1 on a freezing day in Perth, then the Missus having lovely hot pizza on the table for me as I get in the front door

Driving down the road listening to Hibs win 2-1 on a freezing day in Perth, getting a poke of chips from the Frites shop by the Usher Hall and then seeing my favourite band for the 26th time :greengrin

28-11-2021, 04:33 PM
Driving down the road listening to Hibs win 2-1 on a freezing day in Perth, getting a poke of chips from the Frites shop by the Usher Hall and then seeing my favourite band for the 26th time :greengrin

Idlewild?

Hanny
28-11-2021, 04:41 PM

Idlewild?

Gig on Friday at Summerhall was amazing.

28-11-2021, 04:57 PM

Idlewild?

Yep!

09-12-2021, 10:04 AM
Dropping something or it falling out a cupboard and catching it before it hits the floor, always makes me feel like I'm the man

14-12-2021, 09:14 PM
Having a good game when you’re in goals. Something deeply satisfying about spoiling other people’s fun.

18-12-2021, 01:10 PM
Got my partner a Hotel Chocolat velvetiser for her birthday as she loves a hot chocolate on a cold day.

I’m not a hot chocolate fan but I think that thing could convert me.

18-12-2021, 02:46 PM
After all these years together, I finally bought my wife a decent vacuum cleaner.

The look on the little woman's face when she unwrapped her birthday present was a joy to behold.

18-12-2021, 08:29 PM
After all these years together, I finally bought my wife a decent vacuum cleaner.

The look on the little woman's face when she unwrapped her birthday present was a joy to behold.

Get her one of these babies and she'll be putty in your hands.

https://www.otto.de/p/tefal-buegelsystem-qt2020-ixeo-power-2170-w-C1102190179/#variationId=1102190485

18-12-2021, 10:45 PM

How do you look now that you’re wearing it 😁

19-12-2021, 07:44 AM
How do you look now that you’re wearing it 😁

Like this.

https://media.4rgos.it/s/Argos/8086071_R_SET?w=270&h=270&qlt=75&fmt.jpeg.interlaced=true