View Full Version : Little things that give you pleasure
19-12-2021, 07:46 AM
Get her one of these babies and she'll be putty in your hands.
https://www.otto.de/p/tefal-buegelsystem-qt2020-ixeo-power-2170-w-C1102190179/#variationId=1102190485
Does it have wheels? She should be able to do the ironing no matter where she is.
19-12-2021, 08:15 AM
I just bought a house with period features.
My girlfriend hates that nickname.
19-12-2021, 08:48 PM
Listening to the radio.
It's almost like something from a bygone age with access to pretty much any TV you want on demand 24/7 but I love it.
Out of Doors on Radio Scotland is 90 minutes of pure joy. It shouldn't work because it's a show largely about scenery and landscape on the radio but it just does. Other favourites are Craig Charles, Don Lett and Cillian Murphy on Radio 6 and Witness on Radio 4.
I think it's because there is no visual stimulus it requires concentration. It's too easy to get distracted watching the TV, when you are listening to something you really have to be immersed to enjoy it.
You've nailed it there.
Babyshamble
21-12-2021, 01:44 AM
Listening to Hancocks half hour.
Tony Hancock was a legend.
24-12-2021, 09:19 PM
Listening to non British born immigrants who speak a mixture of English with their own and a Scottish accent. It just makes me feel a bit proud and makes me smile.
25-12-2021, 11:02 AM
Roasting your Chestnuts in front of an open fire.
Especially if it's really cold outside.
27-12-2021, 01:06 PM
Leftovers on sandwiches.
Really thinly sliced turkey, some thinly sliced stuffing balls, cranberry sauce and some sliced pickled gherkins between 2 slices of seeded bread.
Also made some roasted pork today and an apple, cider, cream and mustard sauce. Already looking forward to that on a sandwich tomorrow with some horseradish and chives.
pollution
27-12-2021, 06:22 PM
The unbridled appreciation of the family of foxes we feed every night. Ten years' worth of cub after cub after cub.
They live in the fields around our house and are safe from traffic and other people. This reflects in their behaviour, so relaxed.
27-12-2021, 06:45 PM
The perfect pint of draught Guinness I had in Winstons today.
28-12-2021, 06:22 AM
A perfectly timed cup of tea.
28-12-2021, 03:21 PM
The perfect pint of draught Guinness I had in Winstons today.
Very satisfying.
29-12-2021, 01:22 AM
A perfectly timed cup of tea.
Without trying to be well, pedantic, what would make it perfectly timed?
29-12-2021, 09:45 AM
When you judge an evening out absolutely perfectly. Went out last evening, had a few pints - enough to have a good time and feel like I've had a night out, but got the last bus home and got home at a sensible time so got a decent nights sleep, had water, had a milk thistle capsule and hadn't had too much so don't have a hangover or any of the blues that come with drinking this morning.
29-12-2021, 01:50 PM
Crossed in from the kitchen just as you arrive at the couch
Just had an ice pole, delicious…
patch1875
29-12-2021, 04:05 PM
Been on Skye for the last week unfortunately we had to come back.
30-12-2021, 08:23 AM
Not so much the quality of the brew, more perfectly timed in the sense when all around you is calm and you take that first sip and realise that all is well with the world and that tea tastes fantastic.
I’m generally a 3 cups of coffee before 9.30 kind of guy, I don’t often have tea. So if you make one and time it just right, kicking back and taking a sip is enough to make you tumescent.
I know I’m odd, you don’t need to point it out 😊
01-01-2022, 12:54 PM
Did my first ever New Years Dook today and it was glorious. Always wanted to but never got round to it and so glad I did.
Piped into and out of the water, a crowd of good people, a sense of tradition and raised a bit for CCLG as well. Now in jammies, slippers and a cosy dressing gown preparing New Years Dinner.
Good times.
01-01-2022, 02:58 PM
Cooking for other people.
Didn't get to do it at Christmas this year bit having people for lunch tomorrow. I love just pottering about the kitchen, prepping stuff, tasting as I go and the like.
I know some people find it stressful but I love cooking for loads of people, feeding them and appreciate their feedback.
Cooking for other people.
Didn't get to do it at Christmas this year bit having people for lunch tomorrow. I love just pottering about the kitchen, prepping stuff, tasting as I go and the like.
I know some people find it stressful but I love cooking for loads of people, feeding them and appreciate their feedback.
On that same note, I do all the cooking and when doing a fancy complicated meal I'll have about a dozen things to do at different times but the satisfaction I get when it all comes together perfectly, taste wise and time wise.
12-01-2022, 10:16 PM
Clipping your toenails then putting fresh socks on.
13-01-2022, 01:21 PM
Wordle.
speedy_gonzales
13-01-2022, 06:28 PM
Clipping your toenails then putting fresh socks on.
I initially thought "what a weird-o", but I thought about it, and you're actually bang in the money!
14-01-2022, 07:57 AM
Wordle.
I seen people sharing their scores on twitter with a grid of squares... I feel like I'm playing it wrong as I get no such thing.
14-01-2022, 10:11 AM
I seen people sharing their scores on twitter with a grid of squares... I feel like I'm playing it wrong as I get no such thing.
Click the share link you get at the end, then copy it and you can paste it in …
Wordle 209 4/6
⬛⬛🟨⬛🟨
🟩🟩⬛⬛🟨
🟩🟩⬛🟨🟩
🟩🟩🟩🟩🟩
14-01-2022, 12:29 PM
Click the share link you get at the end, then copy it and you can paste it in …
Wordle 209 4/6
⬛⬛🟨⬛🟨
🟩🟩⬛⬛🟨
🟩🟩⬛🟨🟩
🟩🟩🟩🟩🟩
I've been playing the wrong game...
:doh:
14-01-2022, 04:55 PM
The feeling of taking your socks off at the end of a long day and letting the air get to your feet and ankles!
15-01-2022, 02:01 PM
Popping into the pub with the dug for a swift pint or two when out for a walk. In fact we both love it, she gets attention from the regulars, I get a beer. Perfect.
15-01-2022, 02:06 PM
Popping into the pub with the dug for a swift pint or two when out for a walk. In fact we both love it, she gets attention from the regulars, I get a beer. Perfect.
A pint on my own is probably my favourite selfish thing in the world.
I was down at my soon to be father in laws last week. His village has a population of about 100 and a great old school country pub. Opens 12 until 2 midweek then reopens at 6, wooden beams, fire, well kept beer and a hardy band of regulars. Timed my walk or run every day so that I could nip in got a lunchtime pint. Bliss.
15-01-2022, 02:38 PM
A pint on my own is probably my favourite selfish thing in the world. Bliss.
Seriously underrated, watching the world go by is a fine pastime, particularly when sitting outside the pub or house with a beer in hand.
15-01-2022, 05:50 PM
Just blame the dug always works
18-01-2022, 11:15 AM
Salad cream. Magically delicious. Makes any sandwich or wrap that little bit better. I know there are some people who can't stand them but they're completely wrong and I'd ban them from food altogether and they just get to eat plain porridge. Without the milk. Can't be trusted if you don't like salad cream.
19-01-2022, 08:39 PM
Salad cream. Magically delicious. Makes any sandwich or wrap that little bit better. I know there are some people who can't stand them but they're completely wrong and I'd ban them from food altogether and they just get to eat plain porridge. Without the milk. Can't be trusted if you don't like salad cream.
I'll raise you a Scottish morning roll with butter and lashings of Heinz Sandwich Spread. And a packet of cheese and onion crisps.
Unbeatable.
19-01-2022, 09:32 PM
I'll raise you a Scottish morning roll with butter and lashings of Heinz Sandwich Spread. And a packet of cheese and onion crisps.
Unbeatable.
Well fired roll, butter and Salt and Vinegar crisps, takes me back to my youth, perfect. Possibly with an English Test Match going on on the BBC. 😀
20-01-2022, 08:50 AM
Well fired roll, butter and Salt and Vinegar crisps, takes me back to my youth, perfect. Possibly with an English Test Match going on on the BBC. 😀
I can hear the cricket theme tune as I read that 😀
MKHIBEE
23-01-2022, 03:26 PM
Garners Pickled Onions do it for me, I wish they done them in Balsamic vinegar
24-01-2022, 08:26 AM
Garners Pickled Onions do it for me, I wish they done them in Balsamic vinegar
Could always make your own, pickling pretty much anything is dead easy.
24-01-2022, 10:02 AM
Dividing a jar of piccalilli into two jars and adding a decent spoon of Colmans English mustard into each jar, the prefect ham and piccalilli sandwich that follows.
Bridge hibs
24-01-2022, 11:31 AM
When removing our very high fridge freezer to replace it and having two £20 notes falling onto my head. I remember years ago my kids used to dip my pockets when I came home drunk from the pub and used to take all my smash
I think they or my Wife would have advanced onto the notes before long so on occasion I chucked notes up on top of the fridge, they were all height challenged and would never find it, neither did I obviously. Wonder if its still legal tender 😁
MKHIBEE
26-01-2022, 11:21 AM
Could always make your own, pickling pretty much anything is dead easy.
I know but having just given up being a chef after 42 years I’m enjoying having nothing to do with cooking
patch1875
26-01-2022, 11:31 AM
My new Rega System One
26-01-2022, 12:25 PM
Coffee, toast and marmalade
27-01-2022, 09:20 PM
Apple crumble and custard.
Had it at the weekend, or apple crumble and a big scoop of vanilla ice cream on top.
28-01-2022, 08:32 AM
Passing a car travelling in the opposite direction with some fud behind the wheel hurtling along at 40+ in a 20mph zone knowing he is going to find himself stuck in a traffic jam in about a minutes time.
MKHIBEE
28-01-2022, 11:40 AM
A negative LFT test on Saturday and sunday would be brilliant, I could get back to work then
28-01-2022, 01:21 PM
Had it at the weekend, or apple crumble and a big scoop of vanilla ice cream on top.
It's just good for the soul. As is sticky toffee pudding.
30-01-2022, 03:50 PM
Can't mind if I've posted this before, but playing fetch with the dog. Go on a decent walk to a local park, find a big stick, throw big stick around for ages and enjoy watching the woofer run back and forth wagging her tail like crazy. Go back home for a cup of coffee and some nice peace and quiet.
01-02-2022, 10:37 PM
Fresh start for me today, weighed myself yesterday and a pound of 16 stone, stopped smoking about 6 months a go but gave in at Xmas time and was puffing again, stopped a few week a go again and have just craved food food and more food, got up this morning stripped the bed washed everything and put it out to dry, then went for a nice walk, not had one for about 8 weeks, no shorts today :greengrin, done 7 miles came in got the bedding back on bed had a shower and had my tea and settled down for the game, that was just superb, now got to pop out and drop the lad of and can’t wait to get in to my bed later on, having a wee bowl of nuts and raisins just now.
Hope to get 10 miles done tomorrow and continue with that and get a grip of my eating, strange that I’m craving a smoke of late but have being substituting it with crappy food, so done well today and hope to continue with this new routine and maybe in a few months time wil join a gym. GGTTH. :thumbsup:
02-02-2022, 08:26 AM
Fresh start for me today, weighed myself yesterday and a pound of 16 stone, stopped smoking about 6 months a go but gave in at Xmas time and was puffing again, stopped a few week a go again and have just craved food food and more food, got up this morning stripped the bed washed everything and put it out to dry, then went for a nice walk, not had one for about 8 weeks, no shorts today :greengrin, done 7 miles came in got the bedding back on bed had a shower and had my tea and settled down for the game, that was just superb, now got to pop out and drop the lad of and can’t wait to get in to my bed later on, having a wee bowl of nuts and raisins just now.
Hope to get 10 miles done tomorrow and continue with that and get a grip of my eating, strange that I’m craving a smoke of late but have being substituting it with crappy food, so done well today and hope to continue with this new routine and maybe in a few months time wil join a gym. GGTTH. :thumbsup:
You have to remember that junk food and processed food is designed to be addictive. The high sugar, high salt, MSG and other additives are all designed to create an illusion of fullness that then leaves you craving more a short time later. It takes some time to get over those cravings, same as giving up nicotine, alcohol, caffeine or whatever else you may indulge in :greengrin
Invest a bit of time each week batch cooking good, home made food. It makes financial sense as it's cheaper to cook in bulk in the medium to long term and you will soon have a freezer full of decent food all portioned up and ready to go. I spend 2 or 3 hours ever second Sunday making soups, stews, casseroles, pasta sauces and the like and it's so worth it. Saves loads of time cooking midweek too when you only have to stick on some veg or another side and heat up what you have already cooked. You can also chop up loads of onions, peppers etc and freeze them ready to use when they are needed.
I'd say that wee bit time spent cooking is something I genuinely enjoy and the Dominos, microwave lasagnes and pot noodle lunches are a thing of the past. I'm not sure I've lost a huge amount of weight but I feel a million times better and that's the main thing really.
The food section of the BBC website is great for recipes and you can set different parameters to narrow down the search. Well worth 43p a day........
02-02-2022, 05:13 PM
You have to remember that junk food and processed food is designed to be addictive. The high sugar, high salt, MSG and other additives are all designed to create an illusion of fullness that then leaves you craving more a short time later. It takes some time to get over those cravings, same as giving up nicotine, alcohol, caffeine or whatever else you may indulge in :greengrin
Invest a bit of time each week batch cooking good, home made food. It makes financial sense as it's cheaper to cook in bulk in the medium to long term and you will soon have a freezer full of decent food all portioned up and ready to go. I spend 2 or 3 hours ever second Sunday making soups, stews, casseroles, pasta sauces and the like and it's so worth it. Saves loads of time cooking midweek too when you only have to stick on some veg or another side and heat up what you have already cooked. You can also chop up loads of onions, peppers etc and freeze them ready to use when they are needed.
I'd say that wee bit time spent cooking is something I genuinely enjoy and the Dominos, microwave lasagnes and pot noodle lunches are a thing of the past. I'm not sure I've lost a huge amount of weight but I feel a million times better and that's the main thing really.
The food section of the BBC website is great for recipes and you can set different parameters to narrow down the search. Well worth 43p a day........
My main meals are freshly made food, no meats, mainly vegan meals, it’s bread rolls biscuits that’s my problem, haven’t really had a drink for about 3 years now, I have one cup of coffee in the morning and water for the rest of the day, smoked since I was about 13, never liked smoking cigarettes they are disgusting, but by 18 I was a habitual cannabis smoker until last year, yes I know, but hopefully in the past now, had another nice walk today but still waiting for the feel better bit to kick in :greengrin thanks for the advice. :thumbsup:
MagicSwirlingShip
02-02-2022, 06:37 PM
My main meals are freshly made food, no meats, mainly vegan meals, it’s bread rolls biscuits that’s my problem, haven’t really had a drink for about 3 years now, I have one cup of coffee in the morning and water for the rest of the day, smoked since I was about 13, never liked smoking cigarettes they are disgusting, but by 18 I was a habitual cannabis smoker until last year, yes I know, but hopefully in the past now, had another nice walk today but still waiting for the feel better bit to kick in :greengrin thanks for the advice. :thumbsup:
Do you drive Silver? I’ve been taking to jumping in the car for 15 minutes then going an hours walk when I’ve parked up somewhere. Good to get out the local area, hits differently!
02-02-2022, 07:23 PM
Do you drive Silver? I’ve been taking to jumping in the car for 15 minutes then going an hours walk when I’ve parked up somewhere. Good to get out the local area, hits differently!
I do, my plan is to drive to different areas and park the car and post flyers through doors for a couple of hours each day. :aok:
MagicSwirlingShip
02-02-2022, 07:42 PM
I do, my plan is to drive to different areas and park the car and post flyers through doors for a couple of hours each day. :aok:
Nice one, remember plenty healthy snacks for the walk. Fell victim to a bottle of juice and sweets many time! Loads of recipies online for energy bars with nuts , fruit and peanut butter which are easy to make and much better than a Snickers! Problem with my house is they go just as fast as the biscuits…
02-02-2022, 08:53 PM
Nice one, remember plenty healthy snacks for the walk. Fell victim to a bottle of juice and sweets many time! Loads of recipies online for energy bars with nuts , fruit and peanut butter which are easy to make and much better than a Snickers! Problem with my house is they go just as fast as the biscuits…
A bottle of water will do me, sitting here with a wee bowl of nuts and raisins. Happy days. :thumbsup:
Thanks for advice :aok:
I too have to get my finger out, I have spin bike which is acting as a clothes horse, need to get back on it, been a lazy sod this past 6 months.
AltheHibby
11-02-2022, 07:56 PM
Letting my Jack Russell Cross pups off the lead today in a safe field and watching them have the time of their lives.
13-02-2022, 11:09 PM
Axe throwing this morning, a great laugh with family and friends.
speedy_gonzales
14-02-2022, 09:53 AM
Was that at the "Black Axe" place at Summerhall?
Had a shot at it last year and was surprised how much fun we had. My daughter was an absolute demon with some of the more technical throws but not good enough to wrestle the double edged golden axe from my grasp 😉
14-02-2022, 12:01 PM
Was that at the "Black Axe" place at Summerhall?
Had a shot at it last year and was surprised how much fun we had. My daughter was an absolute demon with some of the more technical throws but not good enough to wrestle the double edged golden axe from my grasp 😉
Yes that’s the place.
patch1875
18-02-2022, 11:07 AM
Big jet tv just now from Heathrow
18-02-2022, 11:47 AM
We had a go at that earlier this month, we absolutely loved it. For once in my life it was something I was naturally pretty decent at too!
18-02-2022, 11:55 AM
… Qatar 380 next up, third attempt. (things you never thought you would type)
18-02-2022, 12:03 PM
I've got loads of stuff to do, but I'm gripped... :worried: :hyper
patch1875
18-02-2022, 12:32 PM
… Qatar 380 next up, third attempt. (things you never thought you would type)
Very impressive skills from them all the BA pilots seems to have a better success rate.
18-02-2022, 02:56 PM
I'm 42 and should know better but at least once a day I have a slide on the laminate flooring in my socks
18-02-2022, 03:01 PM
Back in the day before festivals saw sense and started installing showering facilities, getting back from T in the Park back in the day and having the first shower in three days was always incredible.
18-02-2022, 05:06 PM
Watching the kids playing. Totally different ages and stages, totally different activities, but they are literally back to back doing their own thing and I can sit with a pint and just observe.
Tip for new parents: NEVER INTERVENE when they’re playing nicely.
18-02-2022, 05:10 PM
I'm 42 and should know better but at least once a day I have a slide on the laminate flooring in my socks
We don't stop playing because we get old. We get old when we stop playing 😁😁
18-02-2022, 06:40 PM
We don't stop playing because we get old. We get old when we stop playing 😁😁
Magic! 🖒
19-02-2022, 05:40 PM
Carlsberg football weekends.
19-02-2022, 07:09 PM
A post match meal in La Favourita in LeithWalk. There’s better restaurants in Edinburgh, but just after a game it’s the perfect place to have something to eat.
19-02-2022, 07:17 PM
Malky Mackay’s tears
19-02-2022, 07:43 PM
Liverpool reeling Citeh in
20-02-2022, 09:10 AM
A post match meal in La Favourita in LeithWalk. There’s better restaurants in Edinburgh, but just after a game it’s the perfect place to have something to eat.
I'd tend to go to Vittoria's but would agree that both are the quintessential pre/post football dining experience.
Hits that sweet spot between casual and quality and is remarkably consistent with great service. Plus you get 20% off!
20-02-2022, 09:17 AM
I couldn't see any recent threads on the quality of catering at Easter road so I'll pop it here - I thoroughly enjoyed my first taste of ER food for quite some time.
The macaroni pie was lovely. Very cheesy and a well baked pastry. The chips (if that's what they are - v-shaped hollowed wedges) were also a big step up and enjoyable.
I'd forgotten ST holders got a discount but the girl promoted it from me and when I flashed my card the price for both items came down to £4.86 which I think is great value.
Eating them in the sunshine was the highlight of the first half.
02-03-2022, 09:34 AM
Seeing the result of hard work and trying to improve.
In an attempt to shift a bit of timber I signed up to one of the Man Vs. Fat football leagues a few months back. The league hasn't started yet as the training grounds we're playing on are undergoing redevelopment so we've started playing fives on a Tuesday evening. Hadn't played in over ten years so when I first went and was embarrassed to how far I'd regressed. No first touch, couldn't finish a fish supper (scuffed into the keepers hands or blasted miles over), passing awful, cardio awful, defending awful - no redeeming qualities whatsoever.
Injured myself second week in (partially torn calf) and was out for a few weeks. Back three weeks, groin pull. Back two weeks, turned my ankle.
Been combining jogging with cold water swimming to strengthen my cardio and started off with being better at closing people down, putting in more unseen work in the Matty Jack role :greengrin and seen an improvement that way.
Started watching a lot of YouTube videos on drills I could try to improve on first touch and passing. Started seeing an improvement in two touch passing. One touch stuff still a bit iffy but will work on that soon.
Bought a ball from the shops and gone down to the local park with goalposts in the evening when it's dark and practised shooting and getting both power and placement. Took my partner's hula hoop down a couple of nights and practised longer passing.
I'm still in no way a good footballer (I was half decent at centre back at schools level but that was a couple of decades ago and quite a few stones ago as well) but gone from being by a mile the worst footballer there to somewhere approaching the middle of the pack, despite three injuries.
Left last night with a genuine feeling of excitement, a bit of pride and buzzing for next week. Love seeing the work at quite frankly anything pay off.
02-03-2022, 10:11 AM
Injured myself second week in (partially torn calf) and was out for a few weeks. Back three weeks, groin pull. Back two weeks, turned my ankle.
Carry that on & you'll get a deal with Hibs in no time!
02-03-2022, 10:41 AM
When you buy a book about your old army unit and find you've got a mention.https://uploads.tapatalk-cdn.com/20220302/8ff525bf739bb0ea5f2827cda25a3016.jpghttps://uploads.tapatalk-cdn.com/20220302/8e937e6175ce25924f9e799841e8d625.jpg
Sent from my SM-A505FN using Tapatalk
02-03-2022, 03:41 PM
I'd tend to go to Vittoria's but would agree that both are the quintessential pre/post football dining experience.
Hits that sweet spot between casual and quality and is remarkably consistent with great service. Plus you get 20% off!
Sorry to interrupt the thread but what's the 20% for - being a season ticket holder?
I'm thinking of going in for a meal for the first time in quite a while so was just curious.
02-03-2022, 03:46 PM
Sorry to interrupt the thread but what's the 20% for - being a season ticket holder?
I'm thinking of going in for a meal for the first time in quite a while so was just curious.
Aye you get 20% of the food at Vittoria’s and La Favourita.
02-03-2022, 03:50 PM
Aye you get 20% of the food at Vittoria’s and La Favourita.
Thanks - I'm merely a walk-up punter :greengrin so not one I'll be benefitting from, but a good incentive all the same :aok:
02-03-2022, 04:07 PM
When you buy a book about your old army unit and find you've got a mention.https://uploads.tapatalk-cdn.com/20220302/8ff525bf739bb0ea5f2827cda25a3016.jpghttps://uploads.tapatalk-cdn.com/20220302/8e937e6175ce25924f9e799841e8d625.jpg
That's pretty cool :aok:
02-03-2022, 04:15 PM
Brilliant. Anti gravitational training looks a lot like falling off the roof of a van.
02-03-2022, 04:25 PM
Carry that on & you'll get a deal with Hibs in no time!
If it helps, as well as being perma-injured I'm also ***** at scoring goals :greengrin
02-03-2022, 05:14 PM
That's pretty cool :aok:Thanks, it was a nice wee surprise, put a well needed smile on my face.
02-03-2022, 05:15 PM
Brilliant. Anti gravitational training looks a lot like falling off the roof of a van.You sussed us out, we were hoping to scare the Soviets a wee bit. :wink:
02-03-2022, 07:07 PM
You sussed us out, we were hoping to scare the Soviets a wee bit. :wink:
I thought it was Aussie troops doing manoeuvres! 😉
that’s brilliant mate :greengrin
Eaststand
03-03-2022, 10:17 AM
You sussed us out, we were hoping to scare the Soviets a wee bit. :wink:
Very good.
It reminds me of reading about David Stirling's special forces guys during the second world war leaping from the back of a fast moving lorry onto hard stoney ground during paratroop training to simulate a hard parachute landing. Lots of broken bones and sore bits, but it worked 😬
Ps, you must be quite an auld fella if those pics of you are in black and white,before colour photography was invented 🤔
😁👍
03-03-2022, 04:38 PM
I thought it was Aussie troops doing manoeuvres! [emoji6]:greengrin
03-03-2022, 04:39 PM
that’s brilliant mate :greengrinOne for the scrapbook.
03-03-2022, 04:45 PM
Very good.
It reminds me of reading about David Stirling's special forces guys during the second world war leaping from the back of a fast moving lorry onto hard stoney ground during paratroop training to simulate a hard parachute landing. Lots of broken bones and sore bits, but it worked [emoji51]
Ps, you must be quite an auld fella if those pics of you are in black and white,before colour photography was invented [emoji848]
[emoji16][emoji106]
GGTTHAncient codger. I used to bore Percy Sugden with military yarns.
Edit: You're probably too young to have a clue about what I'm waffling on about.
Eaststand
03-03-2022, 07:48 PM
ancient codger. I used to bore percy sugden with military yarns.
Edit: You're probably too young to have a clue about what i'm waffling on about.
Sent from my sm-a505fn using tapatalk
👍🙂
Very good.
It reminds me of reading about David Stirling's special forces guys during the second world war leaping from the back of a fast moving lorry onto hard stoney ground during paratroop training to simulate a hard parachute landing. Lots of broken bones and sore bits, but it worked 😬
Ps, you must be quite an auld fella if those pics of you are in black and white,before colour photography was invented 🤔
😁👍
My dad and his mate went for that near the end of the war when they joined up, he told me he watched the guys doing it and thought **** that, ended up at Glencourse in the Royal Scots.
08-03-2022, 03:39 PM
Me and my daughter were in Livingston today to go to St John's to have her bandages and stitches removed from an op she had last week (op No 30!). It was an ear reconstruction op and meant she has had bandages round her head for 9 days now and hasn't been able to have a proper shower or bath. Anyway we were in the Amondvale centre and went into Lush to get her a bath bomb for her bath. So she chose one and when we were paying for it the lady who served us asked her about having a nice bath and my daughter told her the story about the op and no bath etc. The woman asked her if there were any other bath bombs she liked and when she said yes and told her which one the women went over and gave her one of them for free and told her to enjoy her bath. A lovely gesture and almost had me in tears. Always great to see human kindness when uts unexpected
08-03-2022, 04:38 PM
Me and my daughter were in Livingston today to go to St John's to have her bandages and stitches removed from an op she had last week (op No 30!). It was an ear reconstruction op and meant she has had bandages round her head for 9 days now and hasn't been able to have a proper shower or bath. Anyway we were in the Amondvale centre and went into Lush to get her a bath bomb for her bath. So she chose one and when we were paying for it the lady who served us asked her about having a nice bath and my daughter told her the story about the op and no bath etc. The woman asked her if there were any other bath bombs she liked and when she said yes and told her which one the women went over and gave her one of them for free and told her to enjoy her bath. A lovely gesture and almost had me in tears. Always great to see human kindness when uts unexpected
Quality! Sorry to hear your daughter has had such a rough time of it lately, hopefully she now enjoys two well-deserved baths 👍
20-03-2022, 12:45 PM
Was out for a nice walk yesterday, half way through my right side of my foot started to get a bit sore by time I got home I was limping and still am, never went over on it or anything like that and no bruising or swelling just when my foot goes a certain way a nasty pain, is this just wear and tear and heal with a bit rest.
20-03-2022, 11:35 PM
Was out for a nice walk yesterday, half way through my right side of my foot started to get a bit sore by time I got home I was limping and still am, never went over on it or anything like that and no bruising or swelling just when my foot goes a certain way a nasty pain, is this just wear and tear and heal with a bit rest.
And that gave you pleasusre? :confused:
21-03-2022, 09:58 AM
And that gave you pleasusre? :confused:
The nice walk did :greengrin sore foot didn’t :thumbsup:
23-03-2022, 10:33 AM
Did my second weigh in for the weight loss football thing I've been doing last night. Went in a bit nervous that I might not have lost much if anything (I prefer not to weigh myself in between because I'd always rather assume that I need to keep working hard than find myself complacent) but found out I've lost eleven pounds in the last week.
Been on cloud nine all morning. I even felt like I had a lot more running and stamina in me in the space of a week.
15-05-2022, 04:04 PM
A beer in the shower.
16-05-2022, 08:15 PM
A beer in the shower.
😂😂😂😂😂
Paulie Walnuts
17-05-2022, 07:06 AM
A beer in the shower.
Same. Love doing this if I’m getting ready for a night out or on holiday.
17-05-2022, 10:26 AM
A beer in the shower.
I have a friend who does that. I was staying at his place in Glasgow and when I was going for a shower, he offered me a “shower beer”. I thought it sounded good so tried it. Shower water ended up going in the beer. Never again!
17-05-2022, 12:10 PM
I have a friend who does that. I was staying at his place in Glasgow and when I was going for a shower, he offered me a “shower beer”. I thought it sounded good so tried it. Shower water ended up going in the beer. Never again!
Sippy cup? :dunno:
17-05-2022, 01:13 PM
Depends where you place your beer. Nice hot shower, ice cold beer. Needs a bit of logistical work but it’s a treat.
21-05-2022, 05:47 PM
Watching the kids with the lego.
The wee lego men look like Jimmy O'Rourke with the hair and that!
Bridge hibs
21-05-2022, 06:07 PM
Watching my dug strategically pee through a hole in my neighbours fence creating a urine burnt patch in their lovely lawn
I dont like my neighbours
08-06-2022, 06:28 AM
https://twitter.com/jondharvey/status/1534171104629121026
This made me so, so happy. Howling. Nick Clegg's is the best.
08-06-2022, 07:09 AM
The Mrs going to work on a Sunday giving me a whole day with my dog and my PS5 after a long week at work...
12-06-2022, 08:39 AM
Gardening shows. I find them so soothing and satisfying to watch. Not quite enough for the best tv thread 😂😂
13-06-2022, 06:45 PM
Gardening shows. I find them so soothing and satisfying to watch. Not quite enough for the best tv thread 😂😂
I’m like that with cooking shows, and Four in a Bed.
14-06-2022, 03:29 AM
Monty Don is the boss. It'd be great to spend an afternoon in his garden. Nice dog and that.
Getting a 9 letter word on Countdown or getting a really difficult numbers round that only Rachel got.
Yes I know I'm easily pleased 😁
14-06-2022, 10:42 AM
Cutting mitres by hand and getting them spot on first time.
20-06-2022, 07:13 PM
Walking to work on a summers morning when the weather is good. I quite like a crisp winter morning to as long as it's dry but a day like today is just bliss.
Was up and out by 6.15 this morning. Sun shining, hardly a car on the road and 5 miles under the belt before 7.30.
Sets you up for the day.
20-06-2022, 07:46 PM
Walking to work on a summers morning when the weather is good. I quite like a crisp winter morning to as long as it's dry but a day like today is just bliss.
Was up and out by 6.15 this morning. Sun shining, hardly a car on the road and 5 miles under the belt before 7.30.
Sets you up for the day.
Similarly love taking the dog for a walk when the city is just waking up.
I often did that at Glastonbury at about 6am or so, most people in their tents but got to see the site looking almost deserted. Loved it.
Just_Jimmy
21-06-2022, 09:11 PM
Holeing a moster putt on the 18th green for a birdie as all the old boys stand pint in hand on the clubhouse decking watching on in sheer admiration.
Sent from my SM-G991B using Tapatalk
25-06-2022, 01:13 PM
Tracey Ulman.....
https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=-rMo87P-nDc
27-06-2022, 07:48 PM
https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=Vq1WYlQqdQw
06-07-2022, 10:48 PM
When folk on FB post and criticise someone’s grammar or spelling and I point out that they also have mistakes in their post.
07-07-2022, 07:27 AM
When folk on FB post and criticise someone’s grammar or spelling and I point out that they also have mistakes in their post.
That's Muphry's law (https://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Muphry%27s_law).
14-07-2022, 08:33 AM
Sticking random promo codes in when buying something and getting 25% off. :greengrin
23-07-2022, 09:48 AM
Random Twitter fights that are just ridiculous.
I learned last night that there is an 'ultras code' in football and it states that if an opposing group steal your banner you have to disband your own group. There was a whole load of fully grown men, many of them seemingly otherwise well adjusted, arguing about whether the Green Brigade had to disband because they lost a flag in midweek. People getting properly serious and linking to articles and websites stating these rules and other people quoting technicalities because it wasn't their main banner.
Maybe it's just me but the idea of adults writing rules about supporting your football team then getting really defensive about it is as amusing as it is ridiculous.
23-07-2022, 10:59 AM
Random Twitter fights that are just ridiculous.
I learned last night that there is an 'ultras code' in football and it states that if an opposing group steal your banner you have to disband your own group. There was a whole load of fully grown men, many of them seemingly otherwise well adjusted, arguing about whether the Green Brigade had to disband because they lost a flag in midweek. People getting properly serious and linking to articles and websites stating these rules and other people quoting technicalities because it wasn't their main banner.
Maybe it's just me but the idea of adults writing rules about supporting your football team then getting really defensive about it is as amusing as it is ridiculous.
Seems to be quite serious in Eastern Europe, ridiculous as you say though.
stuart-farquhar
23-07-2022, 10:04 PM
Keith floyd programmes. Just daft but something about them. I suppose Rick Stein took on the genre and much as I like him the anarchy of Floyd was so much better.
24-07-2022, 06:38 AM
Keith floyd programmes. Just daft but something about them. I suppose Rick Stein took on the genre and much as I like him the anarchy of Floyd was so much better.
Rick Stein would be a contribution to the Pet Peeves thread for me. He just seems to spend all his time moaning. We get it Rick, markets in France, Thailand, India etc are more exciting than one in Hull.
Agree about Keith Floyd, his shows always seem a bit chaotic but you can zone out and get a bit lost in them.
14-08-2022, 08:44 PM
We’ve got a really stroppy player on our football team - decent player but very greedy on the ball.
Had a go at me for not taking a quick corner short to him.
Took two steps back and delivered a millimetre perfect Henderson-esque corner that our striker just had to stick his toe out to knock in.
Couldn’t get it so perfect again if I had a hundred attempts I don’t think!
21-08-2022, 07:01 PM
The first couple of bites of buttered toast before the butter has fully melted.
22-08-2022, 11:35 PM
Sticking random promo codes in when buying something and getting 25% off. :greengrin
You just make them up?
23-08-2022, 07:21 PM
You just make them up?
Logical guesses... That was an escape room (so I felt like they'd appreciate the endeavour) and "ESCAPE25" worked. :greengrin
24-08-2022, 02:56 PM
Sitting at the bus stop after a rubbish day at work, peed off at the world. Wee dug who's owner was sitting next to me hops up on her hind legs, front legs on my knee and gives me a wee lick. Smiled and gave her a big clap. Totally changed my mood and ended up having a decent evening where normally I would have sat a stewed on the things that had bothered me that day. Non human animals are way better than us.
HibbyDave
27-08-2022, 09:22 AM
So who loves you more? The dog or your partner??
Lock them both in the boot of your car for a couple of hours and when you open it see who really is happy to meet you again😂
27-08-2022, 11:13 AM
So who loves you more? The dog or your partner??
Lock them both in the boot of your car for a couple of hours and when you open it see who really is happy to meet you again😂
So, what was the result?
27-08-2022, 11:17 AM
I've probably posted this before, but...
The fact that my wife can't pronounce the word Tinnitus and it always sounds more like Tittyness.
I know, I'm so childish...
😊
01-09-2022, 03:39 PM
Travelling to work on the train and when it stops at a station and the doors open, you get a nice cool breeze rather than a pyroclastic surge.
30-09-2022, 07:15 AM
Applied for a new passport last Friday, sent off my old one on Monday, received my new one this morning at 7.47.
I don't need it all that urgently but had heard some horror stories over the last few weeks and months so pleasantly surprised, and delighted, with the service.
Applied for a new passport last Friday, sent off my old one on Monday, received my new one this morning at 7.47.
I don't need it all that urgently but had heard some horror stories over the last few weeks and months so pleasantly surprised, and delighted, with the service.
Nice one I was pretty much 10 weeks. Crazy how there is such a difference!
30-09-2022, 12:46 PM
Getting a TOIL day-off on the Friday to add to the bank holiday Monday. 😎
30-09-2022, 07:07 PM
The end theme tune to Emerdale and Coronation Street.
(The inlaws are here this weekend.)
30-09-2022, 07:27 PM
The end theme tune to Emerdale and Coronation Street.
(The inlaws are here this weekend.)
What a Shambles! 😉
30-09-2022, 07:56 PM
What a Shambles! 😉
Coronation Street is an hour long. FFS!
17-10-2022, 07:15 AM
My recent discovery that there is a South Korean airline called Air Seoul.
18-10-2022, 10:36 PM
My recent discovery that there is a South Korean airline called Air Seoul.
😁
20-10-2022, 07:03 PM
Mushy peas. They're just great.
21-10-2022, 12:43 PM
Discovering last.fm website. It’s got an excellent section where you can search for an artist and it will suggest about 100 similar artists. Most suggestions aren’t the usual mainstream artists. It’s a real treasure trove of discovering new bands.
I’ve spent a lot of time down that rabbit hole. The cold hard manual search for music is something I really enjoy. I get a buzz after trawling through lots of bands to find someone new I like. It’s an expensive pastime though as I’ve added loads of CD’s to the collection recently.
22-10-2022, 01:37 PM
Putting the heating on.
22-10-2022, 02:42 PM
Waking up early, looking at clock and realising there’s still two hours before alarm is due to go off.
You call that a pleasure, I hate that.
30-10-2022, 04:38 PM
Watching "Allo Allo" with my German wife, Helga*
* OK, the name is wishful thinking, but the rest is true :greengrin
30-10-2022, 07:23 PM
When you make a dish out of leftovers, it ends up a bit of a "put it together and see how it works out" in method, and it turns out to be delicious.
Ended up with a creamy ham and crispy shallot pasta tonight that was absolutely fantastic. Couldn't recreate it if I tried though I don't think.
01-11-2022, 01:54 PM
Putting empty sweetie wrappers back in the box knowing it’s going to drive the next person to go in for one absolutely mental.
Something I enjoy more than I probably should.
01-11-2022, 02:22 PM
Putting empty sweetie wrappers back in the box knowing it’s going to drive the next person to go in for one absolutely mental.
Tunnocks caramel wafers are good for this – really easy to fold the wrapper back into its original shape.
Bridge hibs
01-11-2022, 02:50 PM
Pongy guy used to sit in seat in front of me every morning on bus for months, I enjoyed scrunching my ticket up and chucking it into his hood, he probably collected 15 to 20 tickets🫣
10-11-2022, 07:18 PM
Tunnocks caramel wafers are good for this – really easy to fold the wrapper back into its original shape.
I'm glad it's not just me
FWIW, I've mastered peeling an orange to such an extent that I could put the peel back in the fruit bowl and it looks like it's been untouched.
12-06-2023, 07:07 PM
Didn't realise this thread had been dormant for so long. Anyway.......
Just my children in general. I honestly can't believe I worried so much when I was younger that my own parents were really angry at me. I spend about 90% of my time trying to suppress laughter when I am telling them off as they are just hillarious. Particularly my daughter, even when she does something wrong there is literally no malice in her and I can't keep up any pretence of being angry at her for more than a few minutes.
It surely can't just be me. Is parenting really just about doing the right thing and telling a child off whilst secretly finding their actions funny?
Bridge hibs
12-06-2023, 07:19 PM
Just my children in general. I honestly can't believe I worried so much when I was younger that my own parents were really angry at me. I spend about 90% of my time trying to suppress laughter when I am telling them off as they are just hillarious. Particularly my daughter, even when she does something wrong there is literally no malice in her and I can't keep up any pretence of being angry at her for more than a few minutes.
It surely can't just be me. Is parenting really just about doing the right thing and telling a child off whilst secretly finding their actions funny?
My Daughters had a completely different upbringing from me, without going into detail it was miserable up until I chose to leave home at 15 to sleep in stairwells or if I was very lucky, a mates floor.
We didnt have tech in those days nor could afford a good camera so many of my memories of my children are locked in my brain. Of course we were strict but it never entailed a “skelp” a grounding or the threat of a grounding would suffice
Like you say though, regardless of how serious you want to be just one look at their faces and I had to turn around and face the wall or walk out the room pissing myself laughing
I well remember a time my oldest found a way to climb onto the kitchen worktop to raid the cupboards, in typical older Sister scenario she obviously blamed the youngest. Basically opened the washing machine door and used it as a step up to the worktop, only however to grab a bottle of brown sauce and plaster it all over their faces and arms, only they will know why they done it 🤣🤣
:agree::greengrin
my wife and I can generally be found trying desperately not to s****** too loudly if the other is giving our daughter a telling off
Donegal Hibby
12-06-2023, 08:38 PM
Wearing my Hibs top in the summer when the Glasgow visitors are coming over , always get some coming up to me in a bewildered sort of way asking " Are you a Hibee ? " 😂😂😂
13-06-2023, 06:07 PM
I vividly remember finding my son, who was about two years old at the time, in his bedroom with the talcum powder bottle he'd nicked from the bathroom. He'd discovered that banging it on the floor caused big puffs of powder to spurt out the top of the bottle.
You can imagine my face when I walked into his bedroom, finding this two year old with the biggest smile on his face and the whole room covered in talcum powder. I had to go downstairs to hide my laughter and told his mum to go up and give him a telling off, because I was incapable of doing so.
FWIW, she couldn't manage it either.
1875godsgift
13-06-2023, 10:31 PM
I remember bursting out laughing when telling my 6 year old daughter that 'crap' wasn't a very nice word and she probably shouldn't use it at school.
"It's not as bad as **** though is it, daddy?" was her unexpected reply.
Another one was when no-one was looking, my son put half a bottle of bubble bath in the jacuzzi of a holiday cottage we were renting....!
ErinGoBraghHFC
13-06-2023, 10:45 PM
I know this isn’t what most folk would say but my job, I absolutely love what I do and I feel very lucky to do it for a living. Run my own business doing something I’m passionate about, I’ve absolutely no complaints.
14-06-2023, 08:11 AM
I know this isn’t what most folk would say but my job, I absolutely love what I do and I feel very lucky to do it for a living. Run my own business doing something I’m passionate about, I’ve absolutely no complaints.
What kinda business do you own?
14-06-2023, 08:17 AM
I run into work on a Wednesday and Thursday and rather than just taking the most direct route I've started taking wee detours to try and always keep a bit of water or greenery in site.
It's just such a nice way to start the day and I still get a thrill when I see birds, foxes, deer etc just going about their business. I'm out and about by about 6.20 so it's quiet and on days like today you can see and feel the cloud cover breaking.
14-06-2023, 08:22 AM
It's something I have wrestled with for a while. I've had an idea of what I'd like to do for ages and I've taken a couple of courses to get a bit more knowledge about it.
The issue I keep coming back to is that it would be seasonal and with a young family I'm just not brave enough to walk away from a decent guaranteed wage every month, particularly as my wife only works part time. I'm increasingly thinking of taking it on as a 'side hustle' (I hate that phrase) to see how viable it is but that's still a big step.
I don't hate my job but the thought of doing it for the next 25 years isn't all that appealing.
I love what I do, enjoy the vast majority of the various elements of it, and get a lot of personal value from it.
the challenges I have are that where I work have moved the goal posts so many times it’s unreal (although I have a verbal offer from another organisation), and also that I don’t really want to move up the chain so to speak. I love what I do, I really enjoy helping others in their journey in the same space, but I don’t think I want to give much of that up to become a manager, although it seems it’s just expected that you will.
ErinGoBraghHFC
14-06-2023, 09:59 AM
I run my own pet care business specialising in cats and cat behaviour, it started off as a “side hustle” (also hate that term, annoying) but I gave up my 9-5 about a year ago when we really blew up and it’s been the best decision I’ve ever made tbh. So much happier, I get paid to meet folks pets pretty much, much less stressful
14-06-2023, 10:58 AM
I run into work on a Wednesday and Thursday and rather than just taking the most direct route I've started taking wee detours to try and always keep a bit of water or greenery in site.
It's just such a nice way to start the day and I still get a thrill when I see birds, foxes, deer etc just going about their business. I'm out and about by about 6.20 so it's quiet and on days like today you can see and feel the cloud cover breaking.
It took me until lockdown to really appreciate nature, can't get enough of it now. 🙂
On my way to sit at the weir beside St Marks Park before heading up to Princes Street Gardens to meet my brother for some al fresco cans!
14-06-2023, 11:25 AM
I run my own pet care business specialising in cats and cat behaviour, it started off as a “side hustle” (also hate that term, annoying) but I gave up my 9-5 about a year ago when we really blew up and it’s been the best decision I’ve ever made tbh. So much happier, I get paid to meet folks pets pretty much, much less stressful
My mate done this, except with dogs. He had his own plumbing business before lockdown and was doing alright for himself. He is now a full time dog trainer and raking it in. He always been good with dogs but has had no formal training or qualifications or anything yet is having to turn customers away he's got that much work on. He loves it.
14-06-2023, 11:28 AM
Early dog walk down Musselburgh lagoons on a day like this, bit of a haar, sun just breaking through, peaceful, calm and still.
14-06-2023, 11:34 AM
My two are at an age that they play away together and my daughter makes my son giggle away, theres no better sound.
For all they can do your box in, they give it back tenfold.
14-06-2023, 12:02 PM
Wednesdays, my only day off, had no holidays for nearly three years so Wednesday is a day that gives me great pleasure. On the bowling green at 09.39 today, now in Corstorphine enjoying a couple of cold ones before heading home ready to go out tonight for dinner with the wife, a typical Wednesday and just about keeps me sane!
ErinGoBraghHFC
14-06-2023, 12:23 PM
My mate done this, except with dogs. He had his own plumbing business before lockdown and was doing alright for himself. He is now a full time dog trainer and raking it in. He always been good with dogs but has had no formal training or qualifications or anything yet is having to turn customers away he's got that much work on. He loves it.
I’m the same mate I’m fully booked until September at the minute, hard to make sure I’m taking time off with the demand though. I went and got all my qualifications a few years ago when I was getting a bit fed up of talking about insurance to angry men from middle England all day and haven’t looked back.
14-06-2023, 12:42 PM
Wednesdays, my only day off, had no holidays for nearly three years so Wednesday is a day that gives me great pleasure. On the bowling green at 09.39 today, now in Corstorphine enjoying a couple of cold ones before heading home ready to go out tonight for dinner with the wife, a typical Wednesday and just about keeps me sane!
I don't work Fridays and that's exactly how I feel about them, I couldn't give up my free Fridays now!
14-06-2023, 12:47 PM
My two are at an age that they play away together and my daughter makes my son giggle away, theres no better sound.
For all they can do your box in, they give it back tenfold.
I think the sound of your child proper belly laughing when they're in another room, doing something or other either on their own or with someone else, is the single best sound you can hear.
You don't need to know anything about what is going on but it's impossible not to smile, if not laugh yourself.
14-06-2023, 01:29 PM
I think the sound of your child proper belly laughing when they're in another room, doing something or other either on their own or with someone else, is the single best sound you can hear.
You don't need to know anything about what is going on but it's impossible not to smile, if not laugh yourself.
I get that with my son. He's 20 months and his talking isn't quite there yet but you know he's happy when you just hear this proper belly laugh every so often, that and him shouting 'yay' at the top of his voice when he is enjoying himself.
I'm on my own with both kids 3 nights a week and I love putting my daughter to bed then about 10 minutes later you hear the feet coming through, she'll appear at the door, I'll do the 'get back to bed' and I'll get 'but I just want to snuggle with you' before she comes over, climbs on the couch next to me and cuddles in before dozing off and I carry her to bed. Like I said I always say 'go back to bed' but secretly I'm delighted when she comes through and dread the day she tells me she's too old.
Donegal Hibby
14-06-2023, 01:48 PM
A cool beer on a warm day😃
14-06-2023, 03:37 PM
It took me until lockdown to really appreciate nature, can't get enough of it now. 🙂
On my way to sit at the weir beside St Marks Park before heading up to Princes Street Gardens to meet my brother for some al fresco cans!
PSG bound, happy days 🍺
ErinGoBraghHFC
14-06-2023, 05:07 PM
PSG bound, happy days [emoji481]
Enjoy, al fresco bevvying is only allowed in your garden or a beer garden in my part of the world [emoji3525] still, a few cans of Sierra Nevada’s California IPA in the sun is tough to beat [emoji481]
MagicSwirlingShip
14-06-2023, 05:50 PM
Coming home from work to food prepped for the BBQ. Straight out the back garden to get er lit with a few cold beers! Nice
14-06-2023, 09:56 PM
A cool beer on a warm day😃
Funnily enough, I was away to say going for a swim on a hot day. The feeling of knowing it's baking, but you're nice and cool.
Bridge hibs
15-06-2023, 02:40 PM
Carnation milk, used to drink it straight out of the tin. Can you still buy it ?
15-06-2023, 03:19 PM
Coming home from work to food prepped for the BBQ. Straight out the back garden to get er lit with a few cold beers! Nice
I absolutely love BBQ's.
Doing them, eating them, the weather and everything associated with them.
I even like cleaning my BBQ.
Bridge hibs
15-06-2023, 06:27 PM
My Toolstation magazine, its my version of a scuddy mag. I just love power tools, you name it, Ive got it 🤣
I even took one on holiday to read 🫣
19-06-2023, 11:13 AM
Payday coinciding with the opening day of Royal Ascot.
Even money this appears in Pet peeves thread by tea time tomorrow.
19-06-2023, 11:39 AM
A juice ice lolly.
To use it’s proper Liverpool name, I love a lolly ice.
ErinGoBraghHFC
19-06-2023, 11:59 AM
A bacon roll with lashings of gold star brown sauce, unbeatable
Trinity Hibee
19-06-2023, 01:54 PM
A cup of tea. Usually tetleys
The first drink of cold water 1st thing in the morning.
22-06-2023, 12:56 PM
Just walking in the sunshine with great tunes in your headphones makes me so happy.
Also a cola Calippo on a hot day
22-06-2023, 05:55 PM
Going to the cafe and the wife actually pays.
Such a little thing but also such a rare occurrence that it pleases me immensely when it happens.
22-06-2023, 09:00 PM
The fact that most British Weather Girls are of a more mature semester compared to their American/European counterparts.
25-06-2023, 06:03 PM
We stayed away with friends for a night last night, with all of our kids in to the bargain.
It was a ****ing nightmare and took 2.5 hours to get a four and two year old to sleep, meaning we pushed dinner back to about 9:30 and the night was just not as good.
We left late morning, got home and we’ve had such a nice, chilled afternoon. Just when they push you to the edge they’re charming and funny and get you under their spell again.
25-06-2023, 06:04 PM
The fact that most British Weather Girls are of a more mature semester compared to their American/European counterparts.
Laura from ITV, she’s excellent.
And it helps she’s easy on the eye.
26-06-2023, 10:47 PM
Went out a walk yesterday evening to collect the car as had been at friends drinking the night before and walked past an elderly gentleman, probably late 70s carrying a small suitcase which I found somewhat intriguing
Anyway collected the car and nipped to shop for some hangover irn bru. Lo and behold, the old geezer was packing his weekly shop in to the suitcase, and off he went wheeling it away
Innovation at that age. Really put a smile on my face
Bridge hibs
27-06-2023, 06:13 AM
Clipping my toe nails without the need to wear safety goggles
27-06-2023, 11:31 AM
A clean wipe.
30-06-2023, 05:59 AM
Routines. After having worked 40+ in jobs with little or no routine and now in a job that is essentially Monday to Friday I've become obsessed with routine. Getting the same train every morning, knowing what carriage to get on so I can exit the train door at exactly the right place where the escalator starts, sit on the left side to avoid direct sunlight on the way to work and on the right on the way back. Bliss
speedy_gonzales
30-06-2023, 06:56 AM
Routines. After having worked 40+ in jobs with little or no routine and now in a job that is essentially Monday to Friday I've become obsessed with routine. Getting the same train every morning, knowing what carriage to get on so I can exit the train door at exactly the right place where the escalator starts, sit on the left side to avoid direct sunlight on the way to work and on the right on the way back. Bliss
Dunno why, but this is giving me Omeonga vibes 🤔
30-06-2023, 08:45 AM
Some people take it to the extreme, I once got on a train, I was the only person in the carriage, I sat back and was listening to music until I got a tap on a shoulder from a couple, they said you are sat in our seat, I goes sorry I didn't know it was ticketed, she says it isn't but we always sit in the same seat, I looked about and we were still the only folk on the train, I just started laughing and said not today you don't, bit of a dickish move by me but it was about half 6 in the morning and I couldn't be arsed moving
I was going to sit in the same seat the next day just to annoy them even more but it seems like they got up extra early so they could claim "their" seat
30-06-2023, 09:55 AM
I'm always making lists at work.
I'll make a to do list every day, leave spaces so I can add priority stuff nearer the top and then move on what's not completed to the next day. I like the satisfaction of scoring stuff off and seeing the progression.
My job is quite reactive so it's easy to forget things if you aren't organised and set in how you work through it.
30-06-2023, 12:39 PM
I travelled to Liverpool every Friday night from Waverley for about a year when my Dad was ill. I booked the same train, carriage and seat for every outward journey to Wigan where I changed trains. The return journey was the same. I just loved the routine of same place every week. Even the Virgin train managers got to know me and commented on the fact that I was always in the same seat.
30-06-2023, 02:52 PM
Some people take it to the extreme, I once got on a train, I was the only person in the carriage, I sat back and was listening to music until I got a tap on a shoulder from a couple, they said you are sat in our seat, I goes sorry I didn't know it was ticketed, she says it isn't but we always sit in the same seat, I looked about and we were still the only folk on the train, I just started laughing and said not today you don't, bit of a dickish move by me but it was about half 6 in the morning and I couldn't be arsed moving
I was going to sit in the same seat the next day just to annoy them even more but it seems like they got up extra early so they could claim "their" seat
I'm always making lists at work.
I'll make a to do list every day, leave spaces so I can add priority stuff nearer the top and then move on what's not completed to the next day. I like the satisfaction of scoring stuff off and seeing the progression.
My job is quite reactive so it's easy to forget things if you aren't organised and set in how you work through it.
I travelled to Liverpool every Friday night from Waverley for about a year when my Dad was ill. I booked the same train, carriage and seat for every outward journey to Wigan where I changed trains. The return journey was the same. I just loved the routine of same place every week. Even the Virgin train managers got to know me and commented on the fact that I was always in the same seat.
Glad I'm not the only weirdo! :greengrin
30-06-2023, 05:44 PM
Moving out of Glasgow after five years...and finally rediscovering soap
02-07-2023, 08:41 PM
Heinz lentil soup.
Donegal Hibby
02-07-2023, 09:51 PM
A walk on Mulaghderg beach with my two collie's Which I do every day 😃
https://youtu.be/VTwyGZVeIkA
ErinGoBraghHFC
06-07-2023, 12:58 AM
Today I was in a shop in Glasgow and an American tourist was near me and mentioned something about her “fanny pack”. I of course laughed, because I’m a fully grown man. She then laughed and joked about how she keeps forgetting it’s not called that here and a fanny is not the same as what a fanny is in the states etc etc. I then managed to convince this American lady that in Glasgow they don’t call them bum bags, but “fud pouches”. Very proud of this. I hope hers malfunctions in some way and she has to ask a Glaswegian shop assistant if they have any fud pouches.
06-07-2023, 08:01 AM
Today I was in a shop in Glasgow and an American tourist was near me and mentioned something about her “fanny pack”. I of course laughed, because I’m a fully grown man. She then laughed and joked about how she keeps forgetting it’s not called that here and a fanny is not the same as what a fanny is in the states etc etc. I then managed to convince this American lady that in Glasgow they don’t call them bum bags, but “fud pouches”. Very proud of this. I hope hers malfunctions in some way and she has to ask a Glaswegian shop assistant if they have any fud pouches.
When I was about 11 we were in Florida, it was 1990 so pretty much the height of the bum bag craze, we were in a shopping mall and my dad caught me and my brother pissing ourselves laughing at something, it was a poster in the window of a shop for a fanny pack, fast forward a couple of minutes to my dad having to explain that's what they call an erky in the states
06-07-2023, 08:12 AM
When I was about 11 we were in Florida, it was 1990 so pretty much the height of the bum bag craze, we were in a shopping mall and my dad caught me and my brother pissing ourselves laughing at something, it was a poster in the window of a shop for a fanny pack, fast forward a couple of minutes to my dad having to explain that's what they call an erky in the states
Up there with finding out what a douchebag actually is 🤣.
MagicSwirlingShip
06-07-2023, 02:53 PM
Coming out a job interview knowing you’ve smashed it 💯
09-07-2023, 11:50 AM
A head massage (no laughing at the back) or scratch from my wife. Instantly chills me out and I can fall asleep easily during it.
I’ve been for professional head massages and they just aren’t the same with a random.
09-07-2023, 02:55 PM
A head massage (no laughing at the back) or scratch from my wife. Instantly chills me out and I can fall asleep easily during it.
I’ve been for professional head massages and they just aren’t the same with a random.
I tend to end up fighting sleep at the barber's. On the plus side, if I'm having trouble sleeping, I just imagine I'm in the barber's chair and I'm off like a baby.
ErinGoBraghHFC
10-07-2023, 06:30 PM
Negotiated my first trade deal for my business today with a fairly big local brand in the industry. Not life changing money, not even close. But very proud of it tbh, for them to ask us to endorse their products is quite a big compliment for us, well chuffed. Would’ve done it for free just to have our business associated with them.
congrats mate, that’s terrific
says a lot that they’ve approached you, sounds like your business is doing really well
ErinGoBraghHFC
10-07-2023, 10:59 PM
congrats mate, that’s terrific
says a lot that they’ve approached you, sounds like your business is doing really well
Thanks very much, it’s been a lot of work and sacrifice to get to this point but starting to pay off I think. We’re doing well at the minute and it’s at the point where demand is outgrowing supply so some big decisions to be made going forward.
12-07-2023, 06:28 AM
We stayed away with friends for a night last night, with all of our kids in to the bargain.
It was a ****ing nightmare and took 2.5 hours to get a four and two year old to sleep, meaning we pushed dinner back to about 9:30 and the night was just not as good.
We left late morning, got home and we’ve had such a nice, chilled afternoon. Just when they push you to the edge they’re charming and funny and get you under their spell again.
My kids are back in Switzerland as of yesterday after a week with the grandparents near Oban.
If there's a better feeling than having your child come pelting through the airport exit doors shouting "daddy" and then giving you a massive hug, I've yet to experience it.
Then, as it was like a furnace here yesterday, my wee girl would not settle whatsoever so I found myself out with her in the pram from 3-4:15 am whilst also carrying a half eaten pot of Greek yoghurt. Absurdity of parenting I guess.
This morning, 1 smile and that's all forgotten in an instant!
12-07-2023, 11:23 AM
Watching the visitors in my back garden...
12-07-2023, 08:17 PM
Bluey.
It's the best children's show ever made.
ErinGoBraghHFC
12-07-2023, 11:02 PM
Bluey.
It’s good, my niece loves it and I’m actually alright with watching it with her.
Not better than the wombles though.
13-07-2023, 09:11 PM
Up there with finding out what a douchebag actually is 🤣.
I just googled that, genuinely didn't know thats what it is!!
17-07-2023, 10:36 AM
When you look at a photo above an article in the Guardian and know they chose that one on purpose...
Yes, I know, I'm childish ;-)
17-07-2023, 10:44 AM
American TV adverts for medicines. Always have a chuckle when they start with the possible side effects 🤣.
17-07-2023, 12:12 PM
Bluey.
Bluey’s dad is the role model for a generation of fathers.
Great show, great characters.
17-07-2023, 02:57 PM
Listening to the radio and the "make me a winner" competition to win a decent chunk of cash. I love listening folk winning it, just makes me happy. Have to admit to having tears in my eyes at sone folk when if they have a back story where they really really deserve it too.
17-07-2023, 07:41 PM
He sure is, the *******. I've had to play about 1000 games of 'dance mode' because of him.
I watched the 'Onesies' episode the other day. It was TV perfection, a kids show absolutely nailed the sensitive topic of someone who is childless not by choice in a way plenty more grown up shows would struggle to.
17-07-2023, 07:49 PM
He sure is, the *******. I've had to play about 1000 games of 'dance mode' because of him.
I watched the 'Onesies' episode the other day. It was TV perfection, a kids show absolutely nailed the sensitive topic of someone who is childless not by choice in a way plenty more grown up shows would struggle to.
In case you didn't know.... :greengrin
https://www.ticketmaster.co.uk/blueys-big-play-festival-theatre-edinburgh-edinburgh-tickets/venueartist/442474/5331670
17-07-2023, 08:05 PM
In case you didn't know.... :greengrin
https://www.ticketmaster.co.uk/blueys-big-play-festival-theatre-edinburgh-edinburgh-tickets/venueartist/442474/5331670
Oh I know😅
We're going to Glasgow in December.
Oh I know😅
We're going to Glasgow in December.
We have tickets for June next year , I'm hoping he still likes Bluey by then!
ErinGoBraghHFC
17-07-2023, 08:59 PM
Booked tickets for Bring Me The Horizon at the Hydro in January for the wife the other day, just her face when I told her. That made me happy. Not my thing at all but I’ll suffer it.
17-07-2023, 10:04 PM
We have tickets for June next year , I'm hoping he still likes Bluey by then!
If he doesn’t I’ll go :greengrin
Bluey is amazing tv.
ErinGoBraghHFC
18-07-2023, 04:02 PM
Homemade tablet, can’t be beat
Paulie Walnuts
18-07-2023, 06:27 PM
My mum used to make amazing home made tablet. Not something that’s crossed my mind for years but now that you say it I miss it.
****ing terrible for you mind you so probably best I’d forgotten :greengrin
18-07-2023, 09:49 PM
I used to love tablet as a kid, as an adult I've perhaps had it 3 or 4 times, couple of bites and I'm wired to the moon it's that much of a sugar high
ErinGoBraghHFC
18-07-2023, 09:55 PM
My mum used to make amazing home made tablet. Not something that’s crossed my mind for years but now that you say it I miss it.
****ing terrible for you mind you so probably best I’d forgotten :greengrin
Nothing better with a cup of tea, maybe a fag comes close but that’s almost definitely worse for you [emoji16]
19-07-2023, 09:38 AM
Booked tickets for Bring Me The Horizon at the Hydro in January for the wife the other day, just her face when I told her. That made me happy. Not my thing at all but I’ll suffer it.
I had a similar experience, but it most definitely is my thing too :greengrin
Hate tablet with a vengeance, may as well pour a cup of sugar down my gob. Add that sugar to chocolate and now we're talking.
ErinGoBraghHFC
19-07-2023, 02:22 PM
I had a similar experience, but it most definitely is my thing too :greengrin
Fair enough mate hope you both enjoy! Don’t fancy having my mrs tag along with yous and I’ll stay in the boozer instead?[emoji23]
ErinGoBraghHFC
19-07-2023, 02:25 PM
Hate tablet with a vengeance, may as well pour a cup of sugar down my gob. Add that sugar to chocolate and now we're talking.
Can take or leave chocolate to be honest, I do like it but not enough that I ever feel like I really want a bar of chocolate. I’d rather have crisps or haribos
19-07-2023, 02:58 PM
My granny smoked about 60 fags a day, her nicotine flavoured tablet was different! 😳
The sugar still won through to be honest. 😊
Bridge hibs
19-07-2023, 04:43 PM
My granny smoked about 60 fags a day, her nicotine flavoured tablet was different! 😳
The sugar still won through to be honest. 😊My Nana was brilliant at making tablet, she always joked she put a special ingredient in to add more texture, she had bad dandruff and very flaky skin 🤢🤮
Ive never eaten tablet since I was 7
25-07-2023, 06:09 AM
White chocolate digestives!!!!
25-07-2023, 08:24 AM
Best biscuits ever made
25-07-2023, 10:59 AM
What where how?
25-07-2023, 11:22 AM
What where how?
It's a total biscuit game changer!! Available now in supermarkets. They are amazing. McVities masterstroke
03-08-2023, 08:48 AM
Listening to people moaning about tourists as if they immediately immerse themselves in the local culture, language and laws prior to spending 2 days visiting somewhere abroad. :faf:
Paulie Walnuts
03-08-2023, 09:05 AM
Listening to people moaning about tourists as if they immediately immerse themselves in the local culture, language and laws prior to spending 2 days visiting somewhere abroad. :faf:
03-08-2023, 01:13 PM
It's a total biscuit game changer!! Available now in supermarkets. They are amazing. McVities masterstroke
They are 😀 On them just now.
ErinGoBraghHFC
03-08-2023, 01:15 PM
They sound delightful. I’m a white chocolate fiend and partial to a digestive with butter, gonna have to try them
03-08-2023, 03:39 PM
Bluey.
We've not fallen down that wormhole yet, currently going through a heavy Paw Patrol phase. It's really quite endearing to see my wee boy get so engaged and then after the telly is off (and subsequent tantrum subsided) he makes all kinds of imaginary Paw Patrol games around the house in his own wee world