View Full Version : Beast from the East

Pages : 1 2 3 4 [5]

02-03-2018, 07:51 AM
Off work again today with a 4 year old with tonsilitis and a 6 year old thats addicted to you tube on the tv 🙄 going to have to try and get my car out. Anyone know if Asda Straiton is open?

Gregor
02-03-2018, 07:55 AM
Which village is that?

Look at the profile, it's Narnia :D

02-03-2018, 07:56 AM
I’m technically unemployed at the moment, it’s a great time not to be working.

Ditto - not sure if I am unemployed or retired, either way I am a layabout !!

This weather is just interfering with my usual trips to the gym. Mind you, shovelling all that snow and walking to the sledging is pretty good exercise.

02-03-2018, 08:01 AM
Off work again today with a 4 year old with tonsilitis and a 6 year old thats addicted to you tube on the tv 🙄 going to have to try and get my car out. Anyone know if Asda Straiton is open?

It was open yesterday as I took a walk up myself so no reason why it won't be open now. Not sure if they've had any new deliveries today. There was no bread yesterday afternoon.

02-03-2018, 08:05 AM
It was open yesterday as I took a walk up myself so no reason why it won't be open now. Not sure if they've had any new deliveries today. There was no bread yesterday afternoon.

👍

02-03-2018, 08:05 AM

There was a Warburtons and Grahams Milk truck heading to Asda at the Jewel this morning. If anyone is desperate then that's an option.

02-03-2018, 08:07 AM
Well I would double check as I walked to my local Aldi and Tesco last night and both were shut. Bloody annoying.

Running out of food, alcohol and toilet paper so I’ll need to find somewhere. ☹️

02-03-2018, 08:10 AM
Ditto - not sure if I am unemployed or retired, either way I am a layabout !!

This weather is just interfering with my usual trips to the gym. Mind you, shovelling all that snow and walking to the sledging is pretty good exercise.
The sledging is definitely good exercise, I was knackered yesterday when I got home.

02-03-2018, 08:16 AM
Well I would double check as I walked to my local Aldi and Tesco last night and both were shut. Bloody annoying.

Running out of food, alcohol and toilet paper so I’ll need to find somewhere. ☹️

The wife got a food shop on Wednesday just before the red warning came into effect and I managed to get a few things from a couple of local shops yesterday morning. What neither of us realised though, was that the stash of bog roll that we both though was in the bedroom cupboard was finished. I’m hoping the shops haven’t run out of bog roll like they have bread and milk.

Out of interest, what is the issue that is preventing the buses from running? Is it lack of staff? The main roads looked like they’d be OK for buses.

02-03-2018, 08:19 AM
Which village is that?
Auchengray in South Lanarkshire. I’m glad I rationed the bread and milk. Reckon I’ll be here till the wind dies down.

02-03-2018, 08:20 AM
What neither of us realised though, was that the stash of bog roll that we both though was in the bedroom cupboard was finished. I’m hoping the shops haven’t run out of bog roll like they have bread and milk.

You must have an odd sock or two you could use :dunno:

02-03-2018, 08:24 AM
We’re a bit worried about the snow melting actually. Our living room has a bay window which has a flat roof which acts as a sort of balcony at our bedroom upstairs (you wouldn’t really go out on it though - you would have to climb through our window). There is a **** tonne of snow on the roof of the window. It reaches the bottom of the bedroom window and goes past the midway point of the balcony railing. We’re a bit worried about getting a leak when it melts due to the weight and volume of the amount of snow. We can’t really see a way of getting rid of it safely before it melts.

It will thaw slowly so it should drain as normal.

Check to make sure your house insurance is valid, just in case.

02-03-2018, 08:30 AM
Auchengray in South Lanarkshire. I’m glad I rationed the bread and milk. Reckon I’ll be here till the wind dies down.

I'll be making bread at my next 'tea break' from 'working from home' :wink:

02-03-2018, 08:30 AM
The wife got a food shop on Wednesday just before the red warning came into effect and I managed to get a few things from a couple of local shops yesterday morning. What neither of us realised though, was that the stash of bog roll that we both though was in the bedroom cupboard was finished. I’m hoping the shops haven’t run out of bog roll like they have bread and milk.

Out of interest, what is the issue that is preventing the buses from running? Is it lack of staff? The main roads looked like they’d be OK for buses.

Lack of staff and erring on the side of caution might be the issue as far as Lothian is concerned. Buses are actually easier to drive than cars in this weather but if you lose control of one it can do real damage. I think they are reviewing the situation constantly though.

02-03-2018, 08:32 AM

or a toilet brush.

02-03-2018, 08:36 AM

or a toilet brush.

Any leftover lettuce leaves? :dunno:

02-03-2018, 08:39 AM
Just returned from the shops with bread and eggs. I’ll be honest, the fact that I wasn’t treated like a legend and showered with eternal gratitude when I returned is still irritating me.

02-03-2018, 08:40 AM
Just returned from the shops with bread and eggs. I’ll be honest, the fact that I wasn’t treated like a legend and showered with eternal gratitude when I returned is still irritating me.

Maybe it’s because you forgot the toilet roll.

02-03-2018, 08:41 AM

...you may have forgotten to let your offspring out from under the stairs.

02-03-2018, 08:42 AM
or a toilet brush.

That smarts a bit. Too sharp.

BS44
02-03-2018, 08:43 AM
Lack of staff and erring on the side of caution might be the issue as far as Lothian is concerned. Buses are actually easier to drive than cars in this weather but if you lose control of one it can do real damage. I think they are reviewing the situation constantly though.

Should be buses heading out shortly, Sunday Service.

02-03-2018, 08:44 AM
...you may have forgotten to let your offspring out from under the stairs.

I had let him out but his “no milk?” upon my return means that he’s back under there. Mrs Beefster is on a final warning for “did you get beans?”.

Jay
02-03-2018, 08:47 AM
Still no buses or trains in West Lothian. I need to get into Edinburgh for a nightshift somehow. I dont get why theyve not cleared the bus routes. Its a bit of a hike for me!

02-03-2018, 08:49 AM

or a toilet brush.

Or you could waddle over to the shower and use it as a makeshift bidet.

02-03-2018, 08:50 AM
I had let him out but his “no milk?” upon my return means that he’s back under there. Mrs Beefster is on a final warning for “did you get beans?”.

I need to follow your example and impose discipline. I tried to punish my youngest for being a wee prick yesterday and he ended up persuading me to buy him 'xbox live'.

02-03-2018, 09:04 AM
I need to follow your example and impose discipline. I tried to punish my youngest for being a wee prick yesterday and he ended up persuading me to buy him 'xbox live'.

He's just showing you tough love.

02-03-2018, 09:08 AM
That smarts a bit. Too sharp.

Add some Dettol and it will sort out any piles too. Bonus.

02-03-2018, 09:30 AM
Are the Hibs players training this week?

I saw that Oriam was shut for last 3 days so I can’t expect Hearts to be doing much at the place they rent - maybe they trained at PBS ?

02-03-2018, 09:36 AM
Are the Hibs players training this week?

I saw that Oriam was shut for last 3 days so I can’t expect Hearts to be doing much at the place they rent - maybe they trained at PBS ?

I doubt the players are in

02-03-2018, 09:39 AM
Still no buses or trains in West Lothian. I need to get into Edinburgh for a nightshift somehow. I dont get why theyve not cleared the bus routes. Its a bit of a hike for me!

Managed to get out the scheme yesterday and the roads were fine but the snow last night have made the roads barely passable.

02-03-2018, 09:40 AM
I doubt the players are in
Ormiston Road just been closed so if they are in they are in.

02-03-2018, 09:42 AM

Happened to me yesterday, at least I got offered a cuppa when I got in though.

I ended up making it myself.

02-03-2018, 10:08 AM
Skins base layer tights, base layer T shirt with moisture guard, long sleeved T shirt, ligh fleece, heavy walking jacket, walking trousers with showerproof protection, base layer socks, thermal socks, walking boots, gloves, snood and hat and I'm ready to go.

Underpants outside the trousers? :-)

02-03-2018, 10:43 AM
No Lee, No Wilco, No Big Figure, No John Sparks, Not even a John Mayo

No real Dr Feelgood for 35 years

No missin' muchYes, you're better off spending your money with Wilko.

https://academymusicgroup.com/o2abcglasgow/events/1070768/wilko-johnson-tickets

Jay
02-03-2018, 10:48 AM
Managed to get out the scheme yesterday and the roads were fine but the snow last night have made the roads barely passable.

Guy with a wee tractor cleared our side road so we can get onto A71. Hoping to convince someone to give me a lift to sighthill and i can try and bus it from there. Twelve mile walk from here. Im.NHS and hearing the army are out in force, might hitch a lift :agree:

02-03-2018, 10:49 AM
Radio Scotland announced the road past me is closed. Must be drifting higher up.

02-03-2018, 10:51 AM
Guy with a wee tractor cleared our side road so we can get onto A71. Hoping to convince someone to give me a lift to sighthill and i can try and bus it from there. Twelve mile walk from here. Im.NHS and hearing the army are out in force, might hitch a lift :agree:

Think buses are now running to Edinburgh

https://www.firstgroup.com/south-east-and-central-scotland/news-and-service-updates/current-issues/update-1020-march-2nd-2018

Jay
02-03-2018, 10:55 AM
Think buses are now running to Edinburgh

https://www.firstgroup.com/south-east-and-central-scotland/news-and-service-updates/current-issues/update-1020-march-2nd-2018

None coming through East Calder, id need to get into Livi Centre. 27 going dedridge straight onto A71. Might be an option to walk there though.

Not even considered how im.getting home in the morning

02-03-2018, 10:56 AM
None coming through East Calder, id need to get into Livi Centre. 27 going dedridge straight onto A71. Might be an option to walk there though.

Not even considered how im.getting home in the morning

Ok didnt realise that. Hopefully more buses and trains start again by tomorrow.

Jay
02-03-2018, 11:02 AM
Ok didnt realise that. Hopefully more buses and trains start again by tomorrow.

Thanks. Im not overly fussed for getting home,im nightshift again tomorrow but i need to get in. Some of our staff have been there for days.

02-03-2018, 11:03 AM
Was going to have to work from home until the neighbourhood army took over and we dug the whole street out to Kaimes Road which was clear. Fantastic effort.

02-03-2018, 11:04 AM
Im.NHS and hearing the army are out in force, might hitch a lift :agree:

Thanks. Im not overly fussed for getting home,im nightshift again tomorrow but i need to get in. Some of our staff have been there for days.

You guys are amazing. Thank you and your colleagues for your dedication.

02-03-2018, 11:09 AM

Wow really appreciate the fantastic service you guys provide. :not worth

02-03-2018, 11:10 AM
It's like Christmas eve in sainsburys. Queuing for 15 mins amongst panicked old ladies clutching bog roll.

02-03-2018, 11:15 AM
Tesco was mad. No bread, milk or rolls and people were queuing for bread at the home bakery bit.

Hardly anyone was driving so it was really busy on foot. Lots of people saying hello, talking to each and helping with bags etc...Nice feel to it.

Good excuse to wear a hibs scarf too.

02-03-2018, 11:19 AM
I’m digging out the deer stalker for my next foray into the wilderness.

Jay
02-03-2018, 11:27 AM
You guys are amazing. Thank you and your colleagues for your dedication.

Today was a good day to read that. Thanks guys.

02-03-2018, 11:59 AM
Out and picked up supplies at Avenue Store (Blackfords). Got a snow shovel for 6.99. Path had about 8" of snow. Cleared in 20 mins. Deserve a beer I think.

02-03-2018, 12:07 PM

Just finished and gave one of my colleagues a lift home to gorebridge, he’d been there (royal infirmary) since Wednesday!! Lots had stayed over in the hospital last night as well.

02-03-2018, 12:09 PM
Really?

3 courses in 40 minutes? I'm surprised they're not sponsored by Gaviscon.

Cricket can last for 8 hours a day. They get 40 minutes for lunch and 2 X 20 minute tea breaks.

Footballers get a 15 minute break after 45 minutes.

Yup.

https://twitter.com/homeofcricket/status/489728189749809152?lang=en

02-03-2018, 12:13 PM
Live from our local Scotmid as a delivery arrives ...

https://previews.agefotostock.com/previewimage/medibigoff/78cbc0a66c02307a086e909874778aa5/fhr-10354-00396-827.jpg

02-03-2018, 12:17 PM
Happened to me yesterday, at least I got offered a cuppa when I got in though.

I ended up making it myself.

I hate that. 'do you want a cup of tea?' 'yes thanks'. Kettle is boiled and nothing else happens. That's not making the tea, you need to actually present the hot cup of tea to the person, with a biscuit on occasion, for it to be actually be 'making the tea'.

02-03-2018, 12:21 PM
Princes Street is busy with well wrapped tourists negotiating very slushy pavements. The crossings are the worst bits. Buses are back. Many shops open.

02-03-2018, 12:22 PM
I have to say- this is my favourite thread ever on here!!!!!

02-03-2018, 12:28 PM
Today was a good day to read that. Thanks guys.

My mum is in the Western General just now and I concur with what the guys said earlier.

02-03-2018, 12:33 PM
Live from our local Scotmid as a delivery arrives ...

https://previews.agefotostock.com/previewimage/medibigoff/78cbc0a66c02307a086e909874778aa5/fhr-10354-00396-827.jpg

02-03-2018, 12:34 PM
Still pretty horrendous in Falkirk. Wind's really strong just now, woke up several times because of it.

Again, this could be a post from any day of the year surely?

02-03-2018, 12:36 PM
Our Tesco was absolutely mental.

Again, limited bread, no milk. One large woman actually stormed past me in the eggs/baking ingredient aisle screaming to her pal that there was 'nae bloody UHT!'. There was also a chap with 6 loaves of bread in his trolley, which wasn't well met by the woman clearly aggrieved he'd taken the last of the bread in the shop. "You don't need all that!" vs "You don't know what I need!" went back and forth for a bit.

There's plenty of bread alternatives (bagels, rolls, bake at home baguettes etc), entire shelves of nut milks, powdered milks...and people are queuing with full trolleys like it was Christmas Eve right enough. I feel for these people when nuclear Armageddon befalls them.

02-03-2018, 12:40 PM
https://youtu.be/O_vJvkAhgPM

02-03-2018, 12:51 PM

Again, limited bread, no milk. One large woman actually stormed past me in the eggs/baking ingredient aisle screaming to her pal that there was 'nae bloody UHT!'. There was also a chap with 6 loaves of bread in his trolley, which wasn't well met by the woman clearly aggrieved he'd taken the last of the bread in the shop. "You don't need all that!" vs "You don't know what I need!" went back and forth for a bit.

There's plenty of bread alternatives (bagels, rolls, bake at home baguettes etc), entire shelves of nut milks, powdered milks...and people are queuing with full trolleys like it was Christmas Eve right enough. I feel for these people when nuclear Armageddon befalls them.

I'm beginning to think the scriptwriters for the Walking Dead have understated what the end of days would look like. Less than a week of snow seems to have brought out both the best and the worst in people.

Anyway I planned yesterday afternoon to go sledging on the Braids. So of course I ended up instead being diverted into spending two and a half hours on my sister's garage roof in a howling snow blizzard attempting to defrost and lag an external boiler condensate pipe. It is now beautifully insulated in a ''make-it-up-as-you-go-along' kind of way.

I was bollock freezing, soaked and pretty miserable when I got back home only to be met by the kids and Mrs One Day Soon demanding that we still go sledging. I wasn't having that so I firmly put my foot down. Once I'd finished putting my foot down we immediately set off on foot to go sledging.

Met some hardy souls on the way there and on the way back. Had a great time, got lots of exercise and wired into an excellent M&S port left over from Christmas once back to warm the cockles.

I think we should have an episode of mental snow at least once a year every year. Changes your perspective on things.

02-03-2018, 12:53 PM
Again, this could be a post from any day of the year surely?

Improving picture now in Falkirk. :wink:

02-03-2018, 01:03 PM
Nobody believes you.:greengrin

02-03-2018, 01:07 PM
I'm beginning to think the scriptwriters for the Walking Dead have understated what the end of days would look like. Less than a week of snow seems to have brought out both the best and the worst in people.

Anyway I planned yesterday afternoon to go sledging on the Braids. So of course I ended up instead being diverted into spending two and a half hours on my sister's garage roof in a howling snow blizzard attempting to defrost and lag an external boiler condensate pipe. It is now beautifully insulated in a ''make-it-up-as-you-go-along' kind of way.

I was bollock freezing, soaked and pretty miserable when I got back home only to be met by the kids and Mrs One Day Soon demanding that we still go sledging. I wasn't having that so I firmly put my foot down. Once I'd finished putting my foot down we immediately set off on foot to go sledging.

Met some hardy souls on the way there and on the way back. Had a great time, got lots of exercise and wired into an excellent M&S port left over from Christmas once back to warm the cockles.

I think we should have an episode of mental snow at least once a year every year. Changes your perspective on things.

Happy Days!

02-03-2018, 01:07 PM

I honestly think if this weather lasted more than a few days I'd be a total sociopath. I think I can count on one had ths number of people I haven't hated at some point in the last 3 days.

02-03-2018, 01:14 PM
I honestly think if this weather lasted more than a few days I'd be a total sociopath. I think I can count on one had ths number of people I haven't hated at some point in the last 3 days.

In my case, most of these are family members.

02-03-2018, 01:25 PM

No need to go anywhere near a supermarket.

02-03-2018, 01:28 PM

Looks a wee bit like an offset bum. Maybe its just me...

02-03-2018, 01:31 PM

TBF that's generally my view most of the time when we DON'T have snow...

HibbyDave
02-03-2018, 01:35 PM
Come on Guys ask your elderly neighbours if you can get them anything from the shop or if they need any help with clearing their path etc.
You know it makes you feel better.

02-03-2018, 01:42 PM
Come on Guys ask your elderly neighbours if you can get them anything from the shop or if they need any help with clearing their path etc.

But if you do you’ll be accused buying too much in the shop ;)

Clerie Green
02-03-2018, 01:44 PM
TBF that's generally my view most of the time when we DON'T have snow...
I am a total sociopath, I hate everybody, except the Hibees , some of my family and my dogs !

02-03-2018, 02:11 PM

I take it the town has been levelled then?

Hibeewilly
02-03-2018, 02:13 PM

Well done GF ...that's called using your loaf !!

02-03-2018, 02:13 PM

Not quite. Although if many more shops close down in the town centre, it might as well be levelled.

02-03-2018, 02:21 PM

I've just sent my teenage kids to clear the neighbour's path. I had a warm glow watching from the window. :wink:

02-03-2018, 02:23 PM
, https://uploads.tapatalk-cdn.com/20180302/210ab526fdfc35c8e5461dd62e65b43a.jpg

02-03-2018, 02:28 PM

Double like.

02-03-2018, 02:31 PM
I've just sent my teenage kids to clear the neighbour's path. I had a warm glow watching from the window. :wink:

My 14 year old psychopath, sorry I meant daughter, volunteered to clear our path, the pavement, the neighbour's pavement and the neighbour's path. Then she actually went and did it.

I'm sitting here nervously trying to work out what the hell she's done or is about to do to occasion this behaviour.

02-03-2018, 02:42 PM
Starting to melt now :thumbsup:

02-03-2018, 02:42 PM
Oh dear. Doesn't sound good.

Our posh shop neighbourhood shop has run out of Gigha milk. The boats must be goosed!

Jay
02-03-2018, 02:59 PM

My hubby managed to get to the civic centre to my sons abandoned car and up to carmondean to dig my other son out. Hopefully things are getting better.

02-03-2018, 03:00 PM

Not in my Liberton fastness it's not.

02-03-2018, 03:01 PM
Meanwhile, here in Berlin it's -9 and I've just seen the pensioners finish a round of golf and head off to the bar for a nice cold beer.

02-03-2018, 03:02 PM
Not in Kirkcaldy, just had another short snow shower.

02-03-2018, 03:03 PM
My 14 year old psychopath, sorry I meant daughter, volunteered to clear our path, the pavement, the neighbour's pavement and the neighbour's path. Then she actually went and did it.

I'm sitting here nervously trying to work out what the hell she's done or is about to do to occasion this behaviour.

Anyone who has mid teenage daughters will fully understand. They don't do that type of work unless they want something. Whereas boys are just too lazy to bother.

You'll have to wait for the "daaaadddddy....." with those baby blues eyes pleading for you to agree with them. When you say "no", it's amazing how the atmosphere changes.

02-03-2018, 03:08 PM
Anyone who has mid teenage daughters will fully understand. They don't do that type of work unless they want something. Whereas boys are just too lazy to bother.

You'll have to wait for the "daaaadddddy....." with those baby blues eyes pleading for you to agree with them. When you say "no", it's amazing how the atmosphere changes.

Got a cupboardful of tee shirts from that ploy. :agree: :idiot:

02-03-2018, 03:12 PM

To be fair, she also walked up to her Gran's and back this morning with milk for her on a promise of a caramel custard filled doughnut. Actually now that I've remembered that I'm even more concerned.

The boy's happy as Larry, his swimming club training tonight has been cancelled.

02-03-2018, 03:27 PM
Not a drop of milk or a crumb of bread to be seen in the North of Edinburgh, greedy fat runts.

You can only try so many shops before you give up and buy a case of beer instead, morrisons are doing Pringles for a £1, happy days.

02-03-2018, 03:36 PM

........and if they say "No, I can manage that myself", you can always let them do yours as well. It would be the right thing as they obviously enjoy it.

02-03-2018, 03:40 PM
2 bottles of wine, box of Magnums and a half bottle of vodka purchased from Asda.

Just the essentials for me.

02-03-2018, 03:42 PM
Nae milk in Sainsbury’s or Tesco Corstorphine. And some of the panic buying was bizarre. A shelf’s worth of cheese needed aye? When we get extreme weather, the problem’s not the weather,
or the infrastructure, or the funding for gritters. It’s people.

02-03-2018, 03:43 PM
Meanwhile, here in Berlin it's -9 and I've just seen the pensioners finish a round of golf and head off to the bar for a nice cold beer.

I swear to god I saw some dude wearing shorts the other day.

Fife is a bit different sometimes.

02-03-2018, 03:48 PM
2 bottles of wine, box of Magnums and a half bottle of vodka purchased from Asda.

This thread is starting to go a bit "deadline day".

I was in Zizzi in Ocean Terminal yesterday and they played "Fairytale of New York".

What day is it?

Are those MY feet?

02-03-2018, 03:57 PM

I was out in shorts today. Fine for just 5 minutes.
Trainers had no grip though. i was on my erchy at least 3 times :greengrin

02-03-2018, 04:06 PM

I bought a 250g bag of salted peanuts for family snacks and then ate them all myself, felt a bit sick and took to bed for a nap. According to the packet I just consumed contained almost 2000 calories. Which will be useful in my system if we are completely cut off for a month I suppose. Mental health more of a concern however..

02-03-2018, 04:13 PM
Panic buying at the petrol pumps now, apparently.

My taxi driver acquaintance is convinced, 'Ah'm tellin ye, there'll be nane left by the morn.'

Of no consequence to me, the car has gone nowhere for three days and is presently quite happy under a six foot drift.

AltheHibby
02-03-2018, 04:13 PM
Just got home to Brum from Perth. No problems on the roads except some drifting snow by Stirling.

Then I got to Brum. Its as bad as Perth was on Wednesday, but with no gritters in sight.

Stay safe fellow Hibees (and you Yamboids looking in too).

killie-hibby
02-03-2018, 04:14 PM

Wish I had brought my clubs.Arrived Berlin on Sunday.Wall to wall sunshine since.At times seems colder than -9.Amazingly no frost.Grassy areas dry and reasonably soft. Excellent golf conditions.

pollution
02-03-2018, 04:30 PM
Panic buying of milk for my three year old son, I heard a woman say as she bought 6 x 2 litres of milk.

More to the point is that my local has been shut for three days in a row. Some local, you may say.

02-03-2018, 05:29 PM
Not a drop of milk or a crumb of bread to be seen in the North of Edinburgh, greedy fat runts.

You can only try so many shops before you give up and buy a case of beer instead, morrisons are doing Pringles for a £1, happy days.

I was in Morrison's on Ferry Road at 4 45 tbey had loads of milk, just delivered apparently.

02-03-2018, 05:33 PM

Early contender for TDD squad selection there.

02-03-2018, 05:39 PM

If you want to mess up any survey then include a couple of Fifers.

K-Zazu
02-03-2018, 05:44 PM

You not getting any juice to go with the vodka?

02-03-2018, 05:49 PM

I married into Fife outlaws - Kelty specifically. Not so much the Land That Time Forgot as the Land That Time Didn't Dare **** With.

02-03-2018, 05:50 PM

Yup

02-03-2018, 05:58 PM
Wish I had brought my clubs.Arrived Berlin on Sunday.Wall to wall sunshine since.At times seems colder than -9.Amazingly no frost.Grassy areas dry and reasonably soft. Excellent golf conditions.

:greengrin My made damaged his shoulder yesterday when he took a bit too much turf with an iron shot. You're right about the temperature though, my outside weather station was showing -9 but my beer froze in the garden after only being out there 15 minutes. Not good when I have to bring my beer inside.

02-03-2018, 06:11 PM
I married into Fife outlaws - Kelty specifically. Not so much the Land That Time Forgot as the Land That Time Didn't Dare **** With.

They're a stange bunch right enough. Maybe that's why I always spend my holidays there when I'm in Scotland. That said your coastal Fifer is a completely different animal to your coal Fifer.

02-03-2018, 06:14 PM
They're a stange bunch right enough. Maybe that's why I always spend my holidays there when I'm in Scotland. That said your coastal Fifer is a completely different animal to your coal Fifer.I'm a coastal fifer. not right on the coast but close enough. the coal villages are weird even to me. lochgelly and such like... Jesus.

Sent from my SM-A520F using Tapatalk

02-03-2018, 06:17 PM
Famous story from Kelty Ex Servicemens Club.

They had booked Shirley Bassey for a Friday night performance.

Then came the diva demands
Chauffeur driven car Tick
Roses in the dressing room Tick
Her own backing group Tick
Shower facilities Tick
5 star hotel overnight stay Tick
Special lighting effects Tick

Close the bar while her performance was taking place Haud oan a minnit....

They booked Andy Cameron instead!!!

02-03-2018, 06:38 PM
I was in Morrison's on Ferry Road at 4 45 tbey had loads of milk, just delivered apparently.

Got milk at Morrisons at Granton earlier, it was going fast. :aok:

02-03-2018, 06:41 PM
Got milk at Morrisons at Granton earlier, it was going fast. :aok:

Yup.

As soon as you saw it, it was past your eyes d.

02-03-2018, 07:01 PM
Yup.

As soon as you saw it, it was past your eyes d.

You gort to having a laugh

02-03-2018, 07:02 PM
You gort to having a laugh

I've seen milk turn quicker than....

Wait, wrong thread.

02-03-2018, 07:06 PM
Edam pretty cheesed off brie the way

03-03-2018, 12:53 AM
Not trying to be a smartass but i'll have a gloat anyway that many on here etc ....right then Jim. you one of them that I gloated on ? ho ho ho by god to I no half feel so good.:rolleyes:

03-03-2018, 12:56 AM
Asking staff to walk miles to work for me is wrong. Surely they should send out taxis to pick folk up?my goodness.have these taxis all got tyre chains?

03-03-2018, 01:08 AM
Can't help but feel this red warning is a big pass the buck by the powers that be. The fact is the government don't have enough resources to deal with the snow once again.. So they'll just wait for the red warning, don't go anywhere.. So if anything happens it's your fault now.right then. let's spend as much as Sweden does on equipment yearly. Yes, we must. It could happen again in another seven years so lets be prepared.

03-03-2018, 01:21 AM
Airports are a tad different.

There's a few localised cancellations or delays. http://fahrplan.sbb.ch/bin/help.exe/en?tpl=him_feedticker (http://fahrplan.sbb.ch/bin/help.exe/en?tpl=him_feedticker)

Of course, replacement buses will mostly be on and there won't be anyone on a train that breaks down, get turfed out and then find themselves with no other onward public transport option so end up walking 12 miles to their destination as happened to my brother-in-law yesterday.

He was sent home at lunch, got the train back through to GLA where he lives and it broke down in Airdrie and the passengers were left to their own devices.

Let's be honest, the services and authorities in the UK are pathetically under prepared any time any reasonable volume of snow hits.Thankfully, you and other "ex-pats" living in Europe and giving us all this required insight, will soon be returned to your native land, come Brexit.

03-03-2018, 03:10 AM
right then. let's spend as much as Sweden does on equipment yearly. Yes, we must. It could happen again in another seven years so lets be prepared.

I does feel to me like there’s a disconnect between govt and employers and that’s a problem you have he govt say do not travel then you have employers either not saying anything to confirm or they are leaving it up to you but stay safe seems like a real kop out.

It was a farce that some organisations waited until 3pm Wed to close when buses were starting to wind down and rail services stopping at 6pm. That needs to the better “sign-posted”. IMO. Benefit now is we all know what a red warning means. Those that can should work from home. I feel sorry for the folks that are put in a ridiculous position if they are not part of core services of having to somehow make it in when public transport is not running.

Sauzee16
03-03-2018, 03:45 AM
I does feel to me like there’s a disconnect between govt and employers and that’s a problem you have he govt say do not travel then you have employers either not saying anything to confirm or they are leaving it up to you but stay safe seems like a real kop out.

It was a farce that some organisations waited until 3pm Wed to close when buses were starting to wind down and rail services stopping at 6pm. That needs to the better “sign-posted”. IMO. Benefit now is we all know what a red warning means. Those that can should work from home. I feel sorry for the folks that are put in a ridiculous position if they are not part of core services of having to somehow make it in when public transport is not running.

Red warning you stay at home and if your employer is forcing you to come in look for another job or go through a higher level. Nobody should feel obliged to stay at work when that warning has been issued regardless of job. Doctors Nurses midwifes should be looked free going to work that’s about it if the country is to shut down for a couple of days. Thankfully I’m in a position where I was okay to go home on Tuesday prior to the announcement of our match being called off. Massive sympathy with other.

03-03-2018, 07:14 AM
Thankfully, you and other "ex-pats" living in Europe and giving us all this required insight, will soon be returned to your native land, come Brexit.

Won't happen but thanks for your good wishes regarding a situation that for some will be a source of real distress for them and their families.

Tobias Funke
03-03-2018, 07:23 AM
Thankfully, you and other "ex-pats" living in Europe and giving us all this required insight, will soon be returned to your native land, come Brexit.

Clearly alcohol consumption and internet access are not a good combination for you (going by previous nonsense you’ve spouted on here in the early hours).

You should maybe think about giving one of these things up.

03-03-2018, 07:32 AM
my goodness.have these taxis all got tyre chains?

Well my husbands car doesn't and he has been able to work for the last 3 nights.

03-03-2018, 08:06 AM
For those people (mostly those who stay abroad) saying that the Scottish Government should be more prepared and have all the necessary snow clearing equipment - read this, from a Canadian referencing how much it costs Montreal to have snow clearance.

https://mobile.twitter.com/judithflanders/status/958072934396039168

n.b. She makes a mistake at one point, where she says each event costs $1M she corrects it to $15M later.

There would be no point at all in the Scottish councils having this level of infrastructure spend for events that happen once every 10 years or so - and if it did happen, people would then moan that we are prepared for snow, but cant get the bins emptied :greengrin

03-03-2018, 09:55 AM
For those people (mostly those who stay abroad) saying that the Scottish Government should be more prepared and have all the necessary snow clearing equipment - read this, from a Canadian referencing how much it costs Montreal to have snow clearance.

https://mobile.twitter.com/judithflanders/status/958072934396039168

n.b. She makes a mistake at one point, where she says each event costs $1M she corrects it to $15M later.

There would be no point at all in the Scottish councils having this level of infrastructure spend for events that happen once every 10 years or so - and if it did happen, people would then moan that we are prepared for snow, but cant get the bins emptied :greengrin

Prophetic

http://www.pkc.gov.uk/article/18628/Service-disruption-

03-03-2018, 10:25 AM
my goodness.have these taxis all got tyre chains?

No they are just driving around as normal. It’s not the North Pole!

03-03-2018, 10:28 AM
We should have the prisoners out clearing the pavements.

03-03-2018, 10:30 AM
We should have the prisoners out clearing the pavements.

With what equipment and with what supervision?

03-03-2018, 10:46 AM
with their bare hands and supervised by the victims of their crimes obviously

03-03-2018, 10:47 AM

Community Payback. Castle Huntly often work with Local Authorities and provide work parties for community projects. We are not talking about lifers but those that are being prepared to re-enter the community.

Fizz
03-03-2018, 11:01 AM

Wish everyone was so grateful my daughter in law as has just finished a 12 hour night shift as a nurse and got stuck at top of her road in snow after driving from Western to West Lothian and was subjected to torrent of appalling verbal abuse by couple in car behind her - thanks to other drivers who intervened but she was very scared - coward disappeared pronto when her partner arrived on scene

03-03-2018, 11:23 AM
right then. let's spend as much as Sweden does on equipment yearly. Yes, we must. It could happen again in another seven years so lets be prepared.
I wonder how much this has cost businesses in lost productivity. Shops in lost sales. Self employed in lost earnings etc etc? Ultimately the government in lost revenue. If this was offset against having the equipment available it might not be that much a waste. I guess folk more intelligent than me have done sums.

03-03-2018, 12:15 PM
Famous story from Kelty Ex Servicemens Club.

They had booked Shirley Bassey for a Friday night performance.

Then came the diva demands
Chauffeur driven car Tick
Roses in the dressing room Tick
Her own backing group Tick
Shower facilities Tick
5 star hotel overnight stay Tick
Special lighting effects Tick

Close the bar while her performance was taking place Haud oan a minnit....

They booked Andy Cameron instead!!!

The Bee Gees played that club.

03-03-2018, 12:28 PM
Glad it seems to be done now, im the manager of a logistics dept within the nhs and my staff have been out delivering meals to various hospitals and sites in horrendous weather the last few days, glad to have a good team of staff at times like this

Jim Herriot
03-03-2018, 12:34 PM
No they are just driving around as normal. It’s not the North Pole!

Curiously enough, at the North Pole there's been a bit of a heatwave - if you can call 'going above freezing point' a 'heatwave'. Which you can't.

https://www.washingtonpost.com/news/capital-weather-gang/wp/2018/02/26/north-pole-surges-above-freezing-in-the-dead-of-winter-stunning-scientists/?utm_term=.f4b56cf09904

03-03-2018, 12:36 PM
Curiously enough, at the North Pole there's been a bit of a heatwave - if you can call 'going above freezing point' a 'heatwave'. Which you can't.

https://www.washingtonpost.com/news/capital-weather-gang/wp/2018/02/26/north-pole-surges-above-freezing-in-the-dead-of-winter-stunning-scientists/?utm_term=.f4b56cf09904

I like reading about things like this. That’s mad it’s 20 degrees higher than normal.

03-03-2018, 12:37 PM

Another absolute early morning belter from you, showing a feeble grasp on the reality of the situation. 😂😂😂

How are things? Seems like EDI airport is back online unlike those down south.

03-03-2018, 12:45 PM

So do we solve this problem by -

a - problem? There is no problem. Move along.

or

b - giving the North Pole a load of guns?

I think I'm getting the hang of this.

03-03-2018, 12:46 PM

Heavens above, man. 🙈🙈

03-03-2018, 12:50 PM
I like reading about things like this. That’s mad it’s 20 degrees higher than normal.

Pretty obvious really. With all the cold is here in Scotland and there's not enough left for the North Pole. Duh!

03-03-2018, 12:54 PM
Pretty obvious really. With all the cold is here in Scotland and there's not enough left for the North Pole. Duh!

😁 Right enough we are hogging the cold weather, i should have known that.

03-03-2018, 01:23 PM

It actually not that far p off the mark. A huge 50 degree spike in tremoerature at the North Pole a fortnight ago pushed the jet stream south resulting in much colder weather swinging round a huge High pressure over Scandinavia.

03-03-2018, 02:11 PM
It actually that tariff the mark. A huge 50 degree spike in tremoerature at the North Pole a fortnight ago pushed the jet stream south resulting in much colder weather swinging round a huge High pressure over Scandinavia.

Sean Batty was bang on the money, he spoke about this event a week before it struck us and predicted what we have seen.

The guy is a darling.

03-03-2018, 02:18 PM
Sean Batty was bang on the money, he spoke about this event a week before it struck us and predicted what we have seen.

The guy is a darling.
Indeed. He knows his polar vortexes from his jet streams.

03-03-2018, 02:31 PM

The guy is a darling.

The guy Windy Wilson on Facebook predicted the bad weather a month before it happened. He is worth a follow!

Ricky Bobby
03-03-2018, 02:49 PM
Has the documentary about how the famous Heart of Midlothian saved the country by clearing all the snow away been on yet?
Soon to be followed by the new memorial garden.

03-03-2018, 04:05 PM
The guy Windy Wilson on Facebook predicted the bad weather a month before it happened. He is worth a follow!

Hibbyradge has been predicting it for years🤣

03-03-2018, 06:11 PM
I had to queue for bread in Asda earlier. I half expected Nicolae Ceausesco to appear on the checkout.

03-03-2018, 08:29 PM
I had to queue for bread in Asda earlier. I half expected Nicolae Ceausesco to appear on the checkout.

Nicolae Ceautesco surely?

03-03-2018, 08:33 PM
Hibbyradge has been predicting it for years🤣

Was I wrong?

Well, was I? Well?

I 💚 Daily Express.

03-03-2018, 09:40 PM
Nicolae Ceautesco surely?Asda be said.

Sent from my SM-A510F using Tapatalk

majorhibs
03-03-2018, 11:29 PM

Thankfully, this is public & therefore all can observe your allegiances & ignorance.

04-03-2018, 12:39 AM
Won't happen but thanks for your good wishes regarding a situation that for some will be a source of real distress for them and their families.you have confused me. It wont happen , and yet the distress ? do expand.

04-03-2018, 12:44 AM
Thankfully, this is public & therefore all can observe your allegiances & ignorance.ok it's public, because I mention it on here. my alllegiencesdont come into this particular conversation. Ignorance? well I might not be fully up to speed as to what shall happen come the final brexit deal but do be assured, there are thousands of people working in this country who are very concerned as to what could happen if they are told to go hame. European countrys may take the same stance. It's all looking quite straightforward eh?

Sauzee16
04-03-2018, 12:58 AM
My logic is the *****r the winter the better the summer it will be for many years of **** summers starting about April for a couple of weeks. Hope I’m right. Last good summer was about 2010 the same year there was **** loads of snow I’m sure.

04-03-2018, 01:06 AM
2010 was indeed a bad weather year. we had snaw for 3 solid weeks. It would just not go away.

04-03-2018, 01:14 AM
2010 was indeed a bad weather year. we had snaw for 3 solid weeks. It would just not go away.

a bit like sevco

04-03-2018, 05:55 AM
Asda be said.

It's a fair co-op. You have me.

04-03-2018, 06:09 AM
I love these pun threads, I could read them Aldi.

Mikers110
04-03-2018, 07:11 AM

So could I, but after a while they become a Lidl bit annoying.:greengrin

04-03-2018, 08:02 AM
Don't open them then. That's the safe way.

04-03-2018, 08:17 AM

Must admit that they drive me in-Sainsbury’s

04-03-2018, 08:21 AM
:agree: No wan should have to read posts that they don't like, by the way.

I say this not because I'm a weegie, but because I'm looking out at a snowman and it occurred to me that no wan is just snowman with the m&s taken out. When's the fitba back on? We should have played on Wednesday.Patience. It'll be worth the wait....

Rose

04-03-2018, 08:31 AM
Its back ! Snowing hard at mine.

04-03-2018, 08:34 AM

A light flurry in Corstorphine just now.

04-03-2018, 09:13 AM

Just about to go to Leith Asda on my bike. There's no threat to life as the red warning has passed.

04-03-2018, 09:15 AM
Been snowing again for a for a few hours now in East Lothian. I wish it would just **** off now!!

04-03-2018, 09:18 AM
Gonna be a bit of a bummer for Hearts Fans hoping to travel to Motherwell by train today. I think the direct routes are all still blocked.

Still seems weird that whether a game is on or not depends on if it's a League or Cup match.

04-03-2018, 09:34 AM
ok it's public, because I mention it on here. my alllegiencesdont come into this particular conversation. Ignorance? well I might not be fully up to speed as to what shall happen come the final brexit deal but do be assured, there are thousands of people working in this country who are very concerned as to what could happen if they are told to go hame. European countrys may take the same stance. It's all looking quite straightforward eh?
Nocturnal troll.

04-03-2018, 09:55 AM
Gonna be a bit of a bummer for Hearts Fans hoping to travel to Motherwell by train today. I think the direct routes are all still blocked.

Still seems weird that whether a game is on or not depends on if it's a League or Cup match.

The TV money helps clubs pay for clean ups around their stadium. Smaller clubs can not afford this outlay

connerg
04-03-2018, 10:59 AM
Just about to go to Leith Asda on my bike. There's no threat to life as the red warning has passed.

I shop there a lot. Quality Chicken Madras, get it in the chiller not the frozen stuff.

04-03-2018, 11:13 AM
I shop there a lot. Quality Chicken Madras, get it in the chiller not the frozen stuff.

Plenty milk and bread today but didn't check the Chicken Madras. South entrance doors closed "due to adverse weather conditions". :rolleyes:

04-03-2018, 01:29 PM
you have confused me. It wont happen , and yet the distress ? do expand.

Just because in my opinion it won't happen doesn't mean the threat of it doesn't worry people. Simple really.

04-03-2018, 01:35 PM

Nicolae CeauTesco surely?

04-03-2018, 01:36 PM
Nicolae Ceautesco surely?

Ah dammit.

04-03-2018, 02:02 PM
Got the basics on Thursday - Voddie, Prosecco, beer, nuts and crisps.

Think I'll wait til Tuesday to get the luxuries - milk, bread and eggs.

Been drunk for 3 days now. Thank you Mr Beast!!!

04-03-2018, 02:46 PM
Got the basics on Thursday - Voddie, Prosecco, beer, nuts and crisps.

Think I'll wait til Tuesday to get the luxuries - milk, bread and eggs.

Been drunk for 3 days now. Thank you Mr Beast!!!

Folk are starting to get really desperate for bread.

04-03-2018, 03:21 PM
What will they feed the five thousand who went to Fir Park today.

No even any decent crumbs for our Gorgie chums.

Rake in the buckets, right enough.

04-03-2018, 03:39 PM
Folk are starting to get really desperate for bread.

😂😂

04-03-2018, 04:29 PM
😂😂
In the next couple of days gallons of unneeded milk & bread will be getting tossed, absolute unnecessary panic buying been going on.
As an aside looks like thaw has set in here, raining .

seanshow
04-03-2018, 04:39 PM
If only the modern human could crack the huge hadron collider esque mystery of flour + water + yeast + heat = Bread. :rolleyes:

05-03-2018, 05:44 PM
I wonder how much this has cost businesses in lost productivity. Shops in lost sales. Self employed in lost earnings etc etc? Ultimately the government in lost revenue. If this was offset against having the equipment available it might not be that much a waste. I guess folk more intelligent than me have done sums.
300 million seems the first stab at it.

06-03-2018, 05:21 AM
In the next couple of days gallons of unneeded milk & bread will be getting tossed, absolute unnecessary panic buying been going on.
As an aside looks like thaw has set in here, raining .

Freezing milk...
Fat requires a far lower temperature than your -18 degrees freezer to freeze. Whole milk therefore doesn’t freeze as well as semi-skimmed, which has a lower fat content and can last for a month (although it turns a rather off-putting shade of yellow and expands on freezing

06-03-2018, 06:36 AM
Snowing again 🙄

06-03-2018, 07:34 AM
It’s just pissing it down here in the Leith Walk area (with rain) but my wife works in Midlothian and left for work about an hour and 10 minutes ago and has been on the phone to me twice. She’s not moved in the car since 8am at the Hermitage braid due to snow and apparently her boss who lives 5 minutes from their work has been sat in her car for 45 minutes and still nowhere near arriving at work.

My wife has decided to abandon the car and try to get a bus to work.

06-03-2018, 08:27 AM
It’s just pissing it down here in the Leith Walk area (with rain) but my wife works in Midlothian and left for work about an hour and 10 minutes ago and has been on the phone to me twice. She’s not moved in the car since 8am at the Hermitage braid due to snow and apparently her boss who lives 5 minutes from their work has been sat in her car for 45 minutes and still nowhere near arriving at work.

My wife has decided to abandon the car and try to get a bus to work.

Penicuik/Straiton is at a complete standstill. Snowed heavily for about 2 hours earlier and also think there was a bump on the Bypass.

06-03-2018, 08:35 AM
and apparently her boss who lives 5 minutes from their work has been sat in her car for 45 minutes and still nowhere near arriving at work.

Your wife has my sympathy......her boss, however - what a lazy bugger!!!

06-03-2018, 08:45 AM
We had ground temperatures of -12 yesterday and it rained. Turned to sheet ice immediately after hitting the ground. Even winter tyres are of little help in those conditions, thankfully the winter services were on the ball and got the roads sorted before there were too many accidents.

06-03-2018, 08:57 AM
Flooding is sure to be an issue soon. Most supermarkets still without milk and bread all due to panic buying. Bizarre behaviour by loads of punters.

06-03-2018, 09:01 AM
Flooding is sure to be an issue soon. Most supermarkets still without milk and bread all due to panic buying. Bizarre behaviour by loads of punters.

I think the lack of milk must be down to more than just panic buying think there must be supply problems.

06-03-2018, 09:39 AM
I think the lack of milk must be down to more than just panic buying think there must be supply problems.

Definitely! I got 4 litres of milk in Pitlochry when there was none to be had in Perth. Some strange things missing from Supermarket Shelves, no Flour, Courgettes, mushrooms or Red Peppers in Tesco Perth, but got them all in the Co-op in Pitlochry.

06-03-2018, 09:44 AM

Milk tankers were unable to get up farm roads to collect the day's output by the cows. Farmers don't have much storage capacity so substantial amounts have been poured away.

06-03-2018, 09:57 AM
Milk tankers were unable to get up farm roads to collect the day's output by the cows. Farmers don't have much storage capacity so substantial amounts have been poured away.

Agree seems to have gone on too long for it to be just panic buying.

06-03-2018, 10:22 AM
Freezing milk...
Fat requires a far lower temperature than your -18 degrees freezer to freeze. Whole milk therefore doesn’t freeze as well as semi-skimmed, which has a lower fat content and can last for a month (although it turns a rather off-putting shade of yellow and expands on freezing

It does turn yellow, but I think it goes back to white on thawing.

I've just taken one out of the freezer so I'll tell you tomorrow 😁

06-03-2018, 01:41 PM
Well at 10.30 this morning no milk in ASDA but plenty in Sainsbury's.

BlackSheep
06-03-2018, 02:36 PM
Well at 10.30 this morning no milk in ASDA but plenty in Sainsbury's.

Popped into the Tesco at Hermiston Gate yesterday and got some milk.... when we asked if they had any milk they looked at us ike we were mad and just shrugged and said yeah, as if there hadn't been an issue!

06-03-2018, 02:37 PM
Starbucks on Leith Walk are out of skimmed milk. Whatever will one do for a skinny latte ;)

06-03-2018, 02:40 PM
Well at 10.30 this morning no milk in ASmilkDA but plenty in Sainsbury's.

There is now mate.:wink:

Sauzee16
06-03-2018, 02:48 PM
Literally had to chuck 4 litres out as the was no space after her indoors panic buyed at the local Tesco. We had loads plus our milk delivered from the local dairies this morning.

06-03-2018, 02:53 PM
not one single drop of milk to be had in Livi Asda...and half a doz loafs of bread, yukky healthy brown stuff

plenty Milk and Bread in Bathgate Tesco :)

06-03-2018, 02:55 PM
Sainsbury’s at Cameron toll had no milk at lunchtime today, thankfully I didn’t need any :greengrin

06-03-2018, 03:12 PM
Literally had to chuck 4 litres out as the was no space after her indoors panic buyed at the local Tesco. We had loads plus our milk delivered from the local dairies this morning.

No elderly neighbours you could have given it to?

I could store a farm load of milk as I live in an old farmhouse and there is a cold larder with 15cm thick concrete shelves in an outhouse for keeping the milk cool

06-03-2018, 03:24 PM
If you'd bathed in it, would it be pasteurised?
(The old ones are the best)

Sauzee16
06-03-2018, 03:50 PM
No elderly neighbours you could have given it to?

I could store a farm load of milk as I live in an old farmhouse and there is a cold larder with 15cm thick concrete shelves in an outhouse for keeping the milk cool

We got theirs when we went shopping too.

06-03-2018, 04:54 PM
Starbucks on Leith Walk are out of skimmed milk. Whatever will one do for a skinny latte ;)

We could only get gold top milk in Bruntsfield.

06-03-2018, 06:39 PM

You won't be alone,the shortage of milk was aided by the panic buying that many folk had no need for.

06-03-2018, 08:52 PM
I've always got a 4 pint of milk and a couple of loaves in the chest freezer, not for when it snows, for when i just happen to run out now and again.

07-03-2018, 01:17 AM
Clearly alcohol consumption and internet access are not a good combination for you (going by previous nonsense you’ve spouted on here in the early hours).

You should maybe think about giving one of these things up.you are obviously one of life's early birds yourself. getting internet access as early as you do, and you certainly don't hold back when accusing people that you don't agree with, having some sort of problem? you some sort of doctor? or just a know it all typea guy?

07-03-2018, 02:53 AM
You won't be alone,the shortage of milk was aided by the panic buying that many folk had no need for.

The shortage was mostly caused by panic buying after weds and Thursday. No surprise to see people having to bin milk. It only has 7to 10 days life so those plonkers buying four to five times their normal amount will be left with out of date milk. The behaviour of some people has been revolting. Absolute idiotic panic buying.

07-03-2018, 03:03 AM
Agree seems to have gone on too long for it to be just panic buying.

All supermarkets struggling due to drivers being limited to what they can do plus certain companies drivers not well looked after so are refusing to do overtime. What a shocking picture of life in 2018 the last 6 days has been. Nobody prepared for the weather yet this has been nowhere near as bad as other bad spells. I'm sure well get the usual political speak that we will learn lessons and then the same thing will happen again. Depressing but true I'm afraid.

07-03-2018, 06:02 AM
All supermarkets struggling due to drivers being limited to what they can do plus certain companies drivers not well looked after so are refusing to do overtime. What a shocking picture of life in 2018 the last 6 days has been. Nobody prepared for the weather yet this has been nowhere near as bad as other bad spells. I'm sure well get the usual political speak that we will learn lessons and then the same thing will happen again. Depressing but true I'm afraid.

I think the messages from the politicians involved have been very clear.

14-03-2018, 06:37 PM
On its way back seemingly
Sleet and snow forecast for Friday

14-03-2018, 06:57 PM

Yellow warning for snow in Perth on Friday. No snow forecast (according to BBC) for Edinburgh or Leith over the weekend but -4 on Sunday night.

14-03-2018, 07:02 PM
It's NOT coming back.

A chilly weekend, nothing out of the ordinary for the time of year, will get back to average temps for March by Monday morning.

14-03-2018, 09:25 PM
It's NOT coming back.

A chilly weekend, nothing out of the ordinary for the time of year, will get back to average temps for March by Monday morning.

I think you're right, but the Express says different :wink:

https://www.express.co.uk/news/weather/931203/Snow-UK-weather-forecast-Beast-From-The-East-part-2-March-2018

14-03-2018, 09:27 PM
It's NOT coming back.

So Perth’s going to be ok on Friday night?

14-03-2018, 09:27 PM

I reckon Putin has arranged this :greengrin

15-03-2018, 05:48 AM
I’ve just been to M&S to hoover up all their milk and bread.

I’ve still got all my canned goods from the last apocalypse a fortnight ago.

15-03-2018, 06:31 AM
So Perth’s going to be ok on Friday night?

Looks like rain assume would be ok.

https://www.bbc.co.uk/weather/2640358