View Full Version : Beast from the East

Pages : 1 [2] 3 4 5

27-02-2018, 05:58 PM
Is there a chance this is yet another overreaction to the weather that seems to happen quite a lot?

Maybe just a slight chance?

27-02-2018, 06:04 PM
Is there a chance this is yet another overreaction to the weather that seems to happen quite a lot? I am though in the West a very light snowfall earlier though.

Nope. Its going to be worse tomorrow.

27-02-2018, 06:05 PM
Is there a chance this is yet another overreaction to the weather that seems to happen quite a lot? I am though in the West a very light snowfall earlier though.

This was my first thought. It’s the media trying to panic the public as usual it has become very boring! Yes it’s cold yes we may see a flurry but I doubt it’ll be anything like 2010 when that was really bad. The ones who run out and panic buy bread and milk are the worst 😂

McrHibee
27-02-2018, 06:22 PM
If my lift can get a couple of hours extra off work, then I'll be making the journey up. Weather's never stopped us going to a game before and I wouldn't intend to start now. And we're leaving from Warrington.... just hopefully a bit earlier and with an extra few layers, while probably arriving home some time around 5am in the morning as opposed to 3am. Things we do, eh.

DarrenSQH
27-02-2018, 06:22 PM
Thought it was an over reaction until my drive home went from normal to insane in the space of 5 mins. 20 minute journey took 2 hours and the car was stuck in the snow 3 times. Parking and the streets around ER would be chaos if that happens tomorrow in Edinburgh.

27-02-2018, 06:26 PM
If a red weather warning is in force either in Edinburgh or anywhere in the surrounding areas (which is apparently on the cards for tomorrow) then the decision will be made for them.

The definition of such a warning is that a risk to life is likely. Even although you can argue that it's up to the individual to decide whether to travel or not, if a risk to life is described as "likely" I cannot see how the authorities will be able to come to any decision other than to postpone the game.

The exact words from the Transport Minister were "There's a possibility that the amber warning could be upgraded to red in some areas". So it's only a possibility & it's only in some areas. Suggest everyone waits & sees how things develop tomorrow but I suspect M & S will still be open!

27-02-2018, 06:36 PM
All schools in East Renfrewshire Closed tomorrow But my wife works in Renfrewshire where no decision has yet been taken Crazy they are right beside each other So its unlikely one will get bad weather and the other wont

27-02-2018, 06:38 PM
The exact words from the Transport Minister were "There's a possibility that the amber warning could be upgraded to red in some areas". So it's only a possibility & it's only in some areas. Suggest everyone waits & sees how things develop tomorrow but I suspect M & S will still be open!

I realise that. That's why I said IF a red warning is in place.

And the comparison with M&S isn't really relevant. There's no police presence required to allow M&S to stay open meaning that their resources are able to be used in other ways during the worst of the weather and 14-15,000 people won't all descend on one M&S store at the same time.

27-02-2018, 06:41 PM
Just been out to top up my screenwash and it really is bloody freezing now. I only parked up about an hour ago and the windscreen is frozen solid and it's noticeably a lot colder. No snow yet but definitely very cold.

27-02-2018, 06:50 PM
Just been out to top up my screenwash and it really is bloody freezing now. I only parked up about an hour ago and the windscreen is frozen solid and it's noticeably a lot colder. No snow yet but definitely very cold.

Big jessie

27-02-2018, 06:56 PM
Big jessie

Just trying to whip up some hysteria to get the game off because I can’t make it anyway.:greengrin

27-02-2018, 07:13 PM

Advising against travelling, surely the game has to be off if that’s the case? :dunno:

27-02-2018, 07:21 PM
There's been a weather warning in force all day today for Edinburgh. From 00:05 this morning. Heavy snow predicted with 80-90% probability. There's been practically no snow in Edinburgh today.

I was able to make a snowman earlier.

27-02-2018, 07:22 PM
The baby is a big one, all the way through the pregnancy they were measuring a week or 2 ahead of schedule, so "the Beast" may be quite.

A mate used to say to me "big in, big out".

27-02-2018, 07:23 PM
I realise that. That's why I said IF a red warning is in place.

And the comparison with M&S isn't really relevant. There's no police presence required to allow M&S to stay open meaning that their resources are able to be used in other ways during the worst of the weather and 14-15,000 people won't all descend on one M&S store at the same time.

M & S was only an example. The thing is there's dozens of stores like M & S, there's hundreds of pubs, cinemas, restaurants, clubs etc which will attract a lot more than 14k people. No one will be telling them to close. As I said, let's wait & see.

27-02-2018, 07:30 PM
I was able to make a snowman earlier.

Still, what's a snowman - a cubic metre of snow? Edinburgh's 264 square kilometres big.

27-02-2018, 07:35 PM
M & S was only an example. The thing is there's dozens of stores like M & S, there's hundreds of pubs, cinemas, restaurants, clubs etc which will attract a lot more than 14k people. No one will be telling them to close. As I said, let's wait & see.

A police presence isn't required for these places to stay open. For Hibs to play Hamilton tomorrow, there will need to be police officers on duty before, during and after the match. That means taking officers away from other duties for several hours, resources that could be better utilised in other ways during this period of bad weather.

27-02-2018, 07:36 PM
Hibs posted an hour ago, "Hail or snow or thunderstorm I'll go" along with a ticket announcement for tomorrow. Doesn't seem like the club are anticipating a postponement.

27-02-2018, 07:39 PM
Might not go down well but if you live outwith Edinburgh and you can’t get to the game tomorrow then that’s a shame however it comes with the territory of being an out of towner I’m afraid.

People pay a premium to stay in Edinburgh and when the weather gets bad that’s one of the benefits.

Other than the pitch the only other consideration should be whether the Hamilton team bus can get to the ground.

If it can, it should go ahead and imo it will.If I can't make it neither will Hamilton. I live in South Lanarkshire. Most of the away teams at Easter Road are out of towners[emoji23][emoji23]

Sent from my VTR-L09 using Tapatalk

27-02-2018, 07:47 PM
Hibs posted an hour ago, "Hail or snow or thunderstorm I'll go" along with a ticket announcement for tomorrow. Doesn't seem like the club are anticipating a postponement.

Manager and players will want it to go ahead, keep our good run going
However they need to think of the fans

27-02-2018, 07:50 PM
If I can't make it neither will Hamilton. I live in South Lanarkshire. Most of the away teams at Easter Road are out of towners[emoji23][emoji23]

The team will leave a lot earlier than the average fan would though so they’ll have plenty time to get to the ground.

27-02-2018, 08:18 PM
A police presence isn't required for these places to stay open. For Hibs to play Hamilton tomorrow, there will need to be police officers on duty before, during and after the match. That means taking officers away from other duties for several hours, resources that could be better utilised in other ways during this period of bad weather.
In the overall scheme of things the number of police at ER will be tiny. It's snow we're expecting, not the apocalypse.

27-02-2018, 08:21 PM
In the overall scheme of things the number of police at ER will be tiny. It's snow we're expecting, not the apocalypse.

:hilarious:hilarious:hilarious

Well i found that funny :thumbsup:

27-02-2018, 09:00 PM
Might not go down well but if you live outwith Edinburgh and you can’t get to the game tomorrow then that’s a shame however it comes with the territory of being an out of towner I’m afraid.

People pay a premium to stay in Edinburgh and when the weather gets bad that’s one of the benefits.

Other than the pitch the only other consideration should be whether the Hamilton team bus can get to the ground.

If it can, it should go ahead and imo it will.

Possibly the biggest load of pish ever posted on here and that's saying something.

27-02-2018, 09:02 PM
If travel outside of Edinburgh is dangerous that’s nothing to do with hibs, if people choose to ignore travel advice and attend anyway then that’s up to them but they’re not hibs responsibility.

If the weather is so bad busses don’t run in Edinburgh I’d be very surprised, if busses are running then people can get to the ground.

If I stayed out of town I probably wouldn’t go but I wouldn’t expect the game to be called off.
Closely followed by this.

TheCabbage
27-02-2018, 09:06 PM
Live in Hamilton and currently about 1.5 inches of snow on the ground.
If it’s like that here I shudder to think what Harthill will be like so could make travel to/from the match for me a bit iffy to say the least.

27-02-2018, 09:07 PM
Possibly the biggest load of pish ever posted on here and that's saying something.

I’ve posted plenty worse pish this than this thank you very much.

If the game goes ahead tomorrow night despite the weather warnings I’ll be sure to come back and remind you of this as that’s basically what I’m saying will happen.

27-02-2018, 09:16 PM
You are suggesting that a football match should take place on a day where the Scottish Government have advised people not to travel at all.

27-02-2018, 09:17 PM
I’ve posted plenty worse pish this than this thank you very much.

If the game goes ahead tomorrow night despite the weather warnings I’ll be sure to come back and remind you of this as that’s basically what I’m saying will happen.

That’s true but your assertion that the better weather is a reason for Edinburgh’s booming housing market was a belter! :greengrin

As an out of towner I’ll just have to sit and sulk in my reasonably priced mansion while you lot enjoy watching the Hibees. Damn these poor life choices 😭

27-02-2018, 09:19 PM
You are suggesting that a football match should take place on a day where the Scottish Government have advised people not to travel at all.

Have they said that already?

I was edging towards staying in York, but that probably makes my mind up.

27-02-2018, 09:22 PM
Have they said that already?

I was edging towards staying in York, but that probably makes my mind up.

Just read an article in the Scotsman where a government minister is suggesting the weather warning could go to red shortly.

27-02-2018, 09:23 PM
https://twitter.com/policescotland/status/968575252308594690

27-02-2018, 09:25 PM
That’s true but your assertion that the better weather is a reason for Edinburgh’s booming housing market was a belter! :greengrin

As an out of towner I’ll just have to sit and sulk in my reasonably priced mansion while you lot enjoy watching the Hibees. Damn these poor life choices 😭

That’s not what I said?? Or certainly not what I meant.

Buying a house in Edinburgh generally means less travel, which is of most benefit in these weather conditions.

I recently bought a house in Leith, if I’d moved out of town I’d have got a lot more for my money but as going to the hibs games is one of my few social activities I’ve got left I factored that into my decision making as I don’t want to be travelling for miles before and after games. (There were also lots of other factors by the way, not just hibs)

27-02-2018, 09:27 PM

Thanks.

I'm not going by road, but I've seen warnings about possible rail disruption too.

27-02-2018, 09:29 PM

Just to back track a bit I’m not really arsed either way.

If the pitch is fine and the Hamilton team can get through ok I’ll be pleased if it goes ahead. If it gets called off I’ll enjoy sitting in my warm house even more.

caithnesshibee
27-02-2018, 09:39 PM
Myself and my girlfriend have come down from John O Groats for this match. The world has gone soft. In all seriousness hopefully the game is on.

27-02-2018, 09:49 PM
I don’t get this wind chill factor. -2 but feels like - 15. If it feels like -15 it must be bloody -15. :confused:

27-02-2018, 09:52 PM
Myself and my girlfriend have come down from John O Groats for this match. The world has gone soft. In all seriousness hopefully the game is on.

Yup the world has gone soft. A bit of snow and the place falls apart. Dunno how we will survive

27-02-2018, 09:54 PM
I don’t get this wind chill factor. -2 but feels like - 15. If it feels like -15 it must be bloody -15. :confused:

A thermometer wouldn’t show it as -15, it would show it as -2. The feels like figure is the one you really need to worry about though as you’re no a thermometer :greengrin

27-02-2018, 09:58 PM

Oh come on Lex.

You're a golfer. You understand wind chill.

27-02-2018, 10:01 PM

And why don't you crash in to freezing fog :greengrin

27-02-2018, 10:05 PM

Not necessarily.

The air temperature could be -2°C but with the effect that wind speed has on the cooling of the body, when the airflow increases over the skin, more heat is removed so it feels cooler than it actually is.

27-02-2018, 10:07 PM

Will the police detain anyone who dares drive. :greengrin

27-02-2018, 10:10 PM
Resigning myself to the fact that we won't get up from Ayr for the match.

Jim Traynor is preparing an announcement that every Rangers player was snowed on.

So it will feel like -15 but only really be -2, you have nothing to worry about Lex :greengrin

27-02-2018, 10:14 PM
A lot of indifference and bravado about the latest warnings, yet I’ve no doubt the same folk would be the first to complain about being caught up in unforeseen weather conditions. Better safe than sorry where the weather is concerned. If they get it wrong, it’s frustrating and annoying but if they’re correct, a lot of hassle and potential loss of life is avoidable. It’s only a game of football for Christ’s sake.

27-02-2018, 10:20 PM
All Edinburgh schools shut tomorrow. Council Twitter just announced.

Suspect match will be off.

majorhibs
27-02-2018, 10:25 PM
Not necessarily.

The air temperature could be -2°C but with the effect that wind speed has on the cooling of the body, when the airflow increases over the skin, more heat is removed so it feels cooler than it actually is.

Aw they times working up in the Arctic circle, at sea, wind at usual hundreds ae miles an hour & temp well low, splashed by the mega waves, elements against ye- we were clever back in them days! The fact we didnae pay nae attention at school, meant that having grown up real thick,we were insulated against the worst weather the North Sea could fling against us! Dunno if that would work nowadays tho, youngsters nowadays like my son are just too goddam clever & no thick enough like afore! Good accountants though!

27-02-2018, 10:27 PM
I’m heading home south back to the Borders from Fife early tomorrow. Do I take heed of professional warnings and information or do I scoff and dismiss their OTT precautionary advice? :rolleyes:

27-02-2018, 10:29 PM
closing down all the schools in edinburgh is madness.

27-02-2018, 10:31 PM

Suspect they know the amber warning is about to turn red - which means potential danger to life. The council have pretty much no choice in those circumstances.

Day off for my boy!

tanfield
27-02-2018, 10:33 PM

Think they are just following suit with other councils as Fife, Stirling and Falkirk have all declared closures (to name a few) tomorrow.

27-02-2018, 10:33 PM

The teachers don’t always live in the catchment area and some simply won’t be able to make it in.

Better to be safe than sorry.

27-02-2018, 10:39 PM
Drove up St Clair street half an hour ago and it’s like a skating rink. Really can’t see this game being on.

27-02-2018, 10:42 PM
A lot of indifference and bravado about the latest warnings, yet I’ve no doubt the same folk would be the first to complain about being caught up in unforeseen weather conditions. Better safe than sorry where the weather is concerned. If they get it wrong, it’s frustrating and annoying but if they’re correct, a lot of hassle and potential loss of life is avoidable. It’s only a game of football for Christ’s sake.

Lessons have clearly been learn from the 2009/2010 winters and it’s much better safe than sorry. I was sceptical earlier on as to whether this storm would be as bad as was being suggested but after what I’ve seen in Leith in the last hour, I think this is going to be a bad one.

27-02-2018, 10:45 PM
Lessons have clearly been learn from the 2009/2010 winters and it’s much better safe than sorry. I was sceptical earlier on as to whether this storm would be as bad as was being suggested but after what I’ve seen in Leith in the last hour, I think this is going to be a bad one.

Storm? Is that what we're calling 'heavy snowfall' now?

27-02-2018, 10:47 PM
No it really isn't. One day of missed school is irrelevant when road conditions are poor....

27-02-2018, 10:49 PM
No it really isn't. One day of missed school is irrelevant when road conditions are poor....

Agreed I'm happy my wife now won't have to travel to work.

27-02-2018, 10:51 PM
Feel sorry for council and school closures .... they can’t win ... I’d rather people were safe than sorry tho

27-02-2018, 11:16 PM

you can close down individual schools....like they used to if affected. To just decide to close ALL school is madness.

Im in porty....now unless it hammers down with snow over night there is no need to close that school....teaching needs can be covered by local teachers (as their contract states)

Today was supposed to be heavy snow and an amber warning.....well i was still coaching kids in light snow at 730pm. Its just all too easy to cancel everything now.

27-02-2018, 11:21 PM
In southside of Glasgow heavy snow here that may put my travel into work in severe doubt. There is no way this game will be on I would imagine Hamilton isn't any better. It would simply be unfair on everyone travelling.

27-02-2018, 11:24 PM
Poor weather conditions just makes the game more of a lottery. I dont think the game will be on but actually I hope it wont be. We can play this another Wednesday with better weather conditions.

27-02-2018, 11:31 PM
Storm? Is that what we're calling 'heavy snowfall' now?

Thought the storm was after the snowfall.

majorhibs
27-02-2018, 11:38 PM
you can close down individual schools....like they used to if affected. To just decide to close ALL school is madness.

Im in porty....now unless it hammers down with snow over night there is no need to close that school....teaching needs can be covered by local teachers (as their contract states)

Today was supposed to be heavy snow and an amber warning.....well i was still coaching kids in light snow at 730pm. Its just all too easy to cancel everything now.

Yer on it there. Cancel cancel easy, but there’s logistics the other side, before ye start on the slackbacksides who love anything but a days graft.

McrHibee
27-02-2018, 11:59 PM
GAME ON, for me at least hopefully... lift's got a day off work, four-hour minimum each way from Warrington, and we'll be looking forward to a scenic drive with no traffic and no cars on the road cos the Police said so. See you there. Up the Hibees. Football fans - going to football in all sorts of weather since the 1800s....

If anyone's in need of one of the bobbles pictured in my avatar to stay warm (£15), let me know :thumbsup:

28-02-2018, 12:00 AM

Totally agree. Surely each individual school can make a decision. It sets a bad precedent now and this could be repeated again and again. God knows how the east Europeans keep going in - 15 to 20degrees as it is in Poland just now.

McrHibee
28-02-2018, 12:06 AM
If anyone's got a season ticket going spare for the match in the East Stand, when it's on, could you give us a shout before 11am tomorrow via PM ta.

Swap you a hat for it!

28-02-2018, 03:44 AM
If anyone's got a season ticket going spare for the match in the East Stand, when it's on, could you give us a shout before 11am tomorrow via PM ta.

Swap you a hat for it!
You do know that there are plenty tickets available to purchase?

28-02-2018, 04:08 AM
Just drove from Carnwath to Edinburgh for work and it's horrendous. People advised not to travel doesn't work for me, I work in public transport. Roads in Edinburgh a disgrace right now and haven't seen one single gritter

28-02-2018, 05:04 AM
Embarrassing how badly underprepared the country is when is snows a wee bit. It's hardly surprising that it's snowing in February

28-02-2018, 05:07 AM
Hope common sence prevails and the game is called off. Horrendous this morning

28-02-2018, 05:15 AM
Hope common sence prevails and the game is called off. Horrendous this morning

The geniuses at the spl/sfa will wait til the last possible minute to make a decision

28-02-2018, 05:17 AM
Midlothian schools now closed as well.

BlackSheep
28-02-2018, 05:36 AM
Roads in Edinburgh a disgrace right now and haven't seen one single gritter

This is why the schools are being closed etc, it’s cheaper to close schools than run an efficient weather recovery service. Disgraceful.

28-02-2018, 05:38 AM
live in Dalkeith town Centre and no gritters on the road.... saw a car almost slide into a parked car this morning when turning a corner. councils have no idea how to handle it. Mental

28-02-2018, 05:52 AM
I must live in a micro climate. Just got up and my car windscreen isn't covered and I can still see grass in the garden. I can see Arthurs Seat from my window as well and looks like most of the snow missed it as well.

28-02-2018, 05:55 AM
I must live in a micro climate. Just got up and my car windscreen isn't covered and I can still see grass in the garden. I can see Arthurs Seat from my window as well and looks like most of the snow missed it as well.It's not too bad in east Lothian either but remember the Amber warning only kicked in from 6am today mate...there's plenty to come by all accounts during today

28-02-2018, 06:03 AM
I'd be amazed if the game goes ahead. I reckon it will be called off by Noon.

28-02-2018, 06:04 AM

Yesterday was only a yellow warning. Today is the amber warning with most snow forecast to fall today, seems a sensible move - at least for the Midlothian schools. I'm in Bonnyrigg and plenty snow on the ground already with a load more about to be dumped. No chance the game will be on tonight IMO.

28-02-2018, 06:12 AM
Just been out to clear snow off my car. Temp says -5 but jeezo its baltic with that wind.

28-02-2018, 06:18 AM
I must live in a micro climate. Just got up and my car windscreen isn't covered and I can still see grass in the garden. I can see Arthurs Seat from my window as well and looks like most of the snow missed it as well.[emoji301]https://uploads.tapatalk-cdn.com/20180228/5442f77cc1dbcd3477d278313e7e3a39.jpg

Sent from my TA-1020 using Tapatalk

Twiglet
28-02-2018, 06:18 AM
Just drove from Carnwath to Edinburgh for work and it's horrendous. People advised not to travel doesn't work for me, I work in public transport. Roads in Edinburgh a disgrace right now and haven't seen one single gritter

I'm leaving for work shortly. Still haven't decided if I'm driving ot bussing it. What would you say since you've seen the roads?

28-02-2018, 06:32 AM
I'm leaving for work shortly. Still haven't decided if I'm driving ot bussing it. What would you say since you've seen the roads?

I’ve not seen the roads but if in doubt I’d get the bus.

It’s to get a lot worse during the day.

Prof. Shaggy
28-02-2018, 06:32 AM

what part of a teacher's contract states that?

http://www.snct.org.uk/wiki/index.php?title=Table_of_Contents

I'm away back to bed.:aok:

28-02-2018, 06:37 AM
what part of a teacher's contract states that?

http://www.snct.org.uk/wiki/index.php?title=Table_of_Contents

I'm away back to bed.:aok:

I don’t know about Edinburgh Council but I believe Midlothian states you go to the school nearest your house to work, or it’ll be an unpaid day off.

28-02-2018, 06:40 AM
No chance of the game being on, fans safety being the main reason.

28-02-2018, 06:43 AM
I don’t know about Edinburgh Council but I believe Midlothian states you go to the school nearest your house to work, or it’ll be an unpaid day off.

Even when all schools are closed?

28-02-2018, 06:46 AM
No chance of the game being on, fans safety being the main reason.Surely..we have police Scotland tweeting telling us NOT to travel...game should have been called off last night imo https://uploads.tapatalk-cdn.com/20180228/76bf468ece931952636921ebe21a0229.jpg

Fizz
28-02-2018, 06:47 AM
If my school is open but I can’t get to it due to weather conditions then I would have to go to my nearest school to present for work. However if that had been the case today in my school only one teacher lives local and other council staff who would need to present themselves there would have been all admin staff so therefore school would have to be closed. It’s a moot point anyways as Council closed schools so paid day off😁

28-02-2018, 06:47 AM
Heavy snow lying in Livingston but it might be ok later today. That being said I’m going to work from home today

28-02-2018, 06:51 AM
EmbraTrams on but air con blasting cold air - nightmare. Intermittent fault hey never seem to bother fixing.

28-02-2018, 06:54 AM
Attempted the usual commute from just outside Dalkeith to dalkeith road.

Roads were treacherous. Spun out heading onto the A68 and the A1 wasn't easy. Turned round at the fort. It's a day working from home for me

Cannot see the game being on unless there are a dramatic upturn in the conditions. Out of towners just won't get to or from the match

28-02-2018, 06:55 AM

Correct. According to my pal who’s a teacher. Anyway. Hardly a jot of snow in Portobello overnight.
Private nurseries are open. I wonder if private schools are?

28-02-2018, 06:57 AM
Correct. According to my pal who’s a teacher. Anyway. Hardly a jot of snow in Portobello overnight.
Private nurseries are open. I wonder if private schools are?

George Watson’s is open, think most of the others are closed.

I for one am more than happy there’s no school today, doing the school run in that weather just isn’t fun and it’s not even for my own child! :greengrin

28-02-2018, 06:59 AM
Need to give consideration to the 10 accies fans who will
travel mind.

28-02-2018, 07:02 AM
George Watson’s is open, think most of the others are closed.

I for one am more than happy there’s no school today, doing the school run in that weather just isn’t fun and it’s not even for my own child! :greengrin

That's because the otherworldly Watsons kids roost overnight upside down like bats, and don't have to travel in.

28-02-2018, 07:04 AM
That's because the otherworldly Watsons kids roost overnight upside down like bats, and don't have to travel in.

Apparently the parents kicked up a stink after the schools were closed in 2010 so they’ve made the decision this time to be the only school in the city to open.

It’s the kids I feel sorry for, they’ll probably still get sent wearing shorts.

28-02-2018, 07:14 AM
Even when all schools are closed?

So I’m told.

28-02-2018, 07:15 AM
Just read an article in the Scotsman where a government minister is suggesting the weather warning could go to red shortly.

I just heard him on the radio & he's still saying the same as before. There's a possibility some areas may go to red. That's a long way from some of the comments on here. I'm old enough to remember 1963 when snow was on the ground for 3 months. Not only were schools open but instead of footy training at pe we were sent for runs along Ferry Rd through the frozen snowdrifts! I'm all for H & S but we need to avoid some of the histeria that surrounds every unusual occurrence these days. IMO it's almost a case of too much information.

I just passed ER about 15 minutes ago and the streets around the ground are ok at the minute. There's sbow lying but it's not really deep. Driving on St Clair Street was admittedly a bit tricky. There was 2 Policemen in conversation with a guy in a Hibs tracksuit behind the FF so maybe a decision is imminent?

So I’m told.

Where do they go if all schools are shut? It is for when only individual schools are shut and some are open.

28-02-2018, 07:16 AM
Where do they go if all schools are shut? It is for when only individual schools are shut and some are open.

They’re only supposed to be shut for pupils I think. Staff can get in.

28-02-2018, 07:19 AM
I just heard him on the radio & he's still saying the same as before. There's a possibility some areas may go to red. That's a long way from some of the comments on here. I'm old enough to remember 1963 when snow was on the ground for 3 months. Not only were schools open but instead of footy training at pe we were sent for runs along Ferry Rd through the frozen snowdrifts! I'm all for H & S but we need to avoid some of the histeria that surrounds every unusual occurrence these days. IMO it's almost a case of too much information.

:agree: The 1962-63 season would still be going on now if hibs.net had been up and running then.

28-02-2018, 07:20 AM

All schools are shut no staff go in.

28-02-2018, 07:20 AM

Staff are off today too. I look after teachers children and they are off

28-02-2018, 07:21 AM
All schools are shut no staff go in.

Wonder where my wife just went then?... :hilarious

28-02-2018, 07:21 AM

Not in Midlothian. My wife is a teacher there and been told not to go in.

28-02-2018, 07:24 AM
Media have overhyped this imo, most streets in city are fine and snow is powdery.

Fizz
28-02-2018, 07:24 AM
To clarify - IF the school I work in is open BUT I can’t get there due to weather conditions I have to present to my local school to work AND if I can’t do that for some reason and stay at home it will be unpaid. Today the schools are closed to all staff and pupils so therefore paid day. You need to let Edinburgh Council know in advance what your local school is and they check if you’ve been there. Our school is not in one of Edinburgh’s most salubrious areas so we can only muster up one local teacher out of 30 who usually work there sure other areas in the city could produce 3 per class 😁

28-02-2018, 07:26 AM
Not in Midlothian. My wife is a teacher there and been told not to go in.

It’s midlothian I’m talking about mate. Policy states staff should be in or go to nearest school. If not it’s unpaid. HTs don’t run their own budget it’s the Council HO and they’re in the middle of loads of cuts just now so I’d think it unlikely they’d pay wages when they don’t have to.

28-02-2018, 07:27 AM
Roads here are terrible. I live on Burdiehouse Road and from window the roads look dangerous. Will be doing my 10 min drive to work shortly which I am not looking forward to.

28-02-2018, 07:29 AM
I just passed ER about 15 minutes ago and the streets around the ground are ok at the minute. There's sbow lying but it's not really deep. Driving on St Clair Street was admittedly a bit tricky. There was 2 Policemen in conversation with a guy in a Hibs tracksuit behind the FF so maybe a decision is imminent?

If the game goes ahead they need to grit the pavements and roads before and during the game so when we come out it’s safe to walk and not an ice rink like the last cold Wednesday Match

28-02-2018, 07:33 AM
Lot of snow in west lothian.Will see how weather goes before deciding whether to go or not tonight.

28-02-2018, 07:34 AM
Wonder where my wife just went then?... :hilarious

Away to the shops. :greengrin

28-02-2018, 07:36 AM
Looking at forecast sites, doesn't look as bad as yesterday seemed to be saying. Game might be on I think.

28-02-2018, 07:38 AM
Theres not much on the ground in Dunfermline to suggest Armageddon. I guess it must be arriving before lunchtime.

28-02-2018, 07:39 AM
If the game goes ahead they need to grit the pavements and roads before and during the game so when we come out it’s safe to walk and not an ice rink like the last cold Wednesday Match

Was that the Rangers game? There was a game recently when it was like walking on an ice rink.

28-02-2018, 07:40 AM
As per usual media over react, there has been some snow but all this “Beast from the east” crap is laughable. I’ve seen Edinburgh hit by far worse so I really don’t know what the panic was about. Then again the met office can’t seem to actually predict the weather best just looking out the window.

28-02-2018, 07:40 AM
This is why the schools are being closed etc, it’s cheaper to close schools than run an efficient weather recovery service. Disgraceful.

It's currently -4, with windchill -12.

Roads and pavements can be salted, but may not make any difference as the salt is less effective at those temperatures.

28-02-2018, 07:42 AM
As per usual media over react, there has been some snow but all this “Beast from the east” crap is laughable. I’ve seen Edinburgh hit by far worse so I really don’t know what the panic was about. Then again the met office can’t seem to actually predict the weather best just looking out the window.

I’m assuming the snow is to get a lot worse.

28-02-2018, 07:42 AM
Media have overhyped this imo, most streets in city are fine and snow is powdery.Try telling people currently stuck on motorways that...

28-02-2018, 07:44 AM
I’m assuming the snow is to get a lot worse.

Wasn’t it meant to get worse through the night? Then again at 6 in the morning? It’s now sunny!!

My walk to work was a bit snowy underfoot but with hat, scarf, and gloves on it wasn't even cold. Cars were going slow down hills but everything else seemed to be business as usual.

Think the morning weather could go a long way to dictating if the game goes ahead or not.

Try telling people currently stuck on motorways that...

That’s standard, try the bypass every morning around 8 😁

The Pointer
28-02-2018, 07:45 AM
Sheep from the East. No snow in West Argyll, although you can see the clouds over Kilfinan and Arran.

28-02-2018, 07:47 AM
The weather in Falkirk was very bad overnight. Not snowing at the moment but several inches are lying on the ground.

If the game's on tonight, I won't be there. Fingers crossed it's off.

28-02-2018, 07:47 AM
That’s standard, try the bypass every morning around 8 [emoji16]Unfortunately I do most mornings...more like a car park than a bypass

28-02-2018, 07:49 AM
EmbraTrams on but air con blasting cold air - nightmare. Intermittent fault hey never seem to bother fixing.Manc trams are the same. I don't complain. I'm just happy a) when they turn up b) I can actually fit onto them c) I don't need to be near some scrote blasting crap music or shouting into their phone.

Sent from my SM-A520F using Tapatalk

The Pointer
28-02-2018, 07:50 AM
Mind walking to school at King's Park Primary from Eskbank in deep snow. When school loused there were about 150 bairns in the park pelting every vehicle that went by with snow balls until someone chased us. Great fun!

Later on when I worked in Edinburgh, I mind seeing a guy skiing down Bruntsfield to Tolcross.

28-02-2018, 07:50 AM
Met office app says heavy snow from 1pm until 8pm tonight, if that’s the case the game will be off

28-02-2018, 07:51 AM

Was that conversation not in relation to the ‘ongoing investigation’ about the pitch invasion of May 2016?

28-02-2018, 07:51 AM
Unfortunately I do most mornings...more like a car park than a bypass

It’s unreal eh, you’d think when they built it it would be 3 lanes. Just can’t cope with the volume of traffic and if there is a breakdown or crash game over!!

28-02-2018, 07:53 AM
Wasn’t it meant to get worse through the night? Then again at 6 in the morning? It’s now sunny!!

Sometimes things are supposed to happen and things just change / fall through though.

28-02-2018, 07:55 AM
It’s unreal eh, you’d think when they built it it would be 3 lanes. Just can’t cope with the volume of traffic and if there is a breakdown or crash game over!!It's a shambles mate...fortunately I travel for work so can leave it till after 9 some mornings as anytime between 7 and 9 forget it...you could walk faster

28-02-2018, 07:56 AM
It’s midlothian I’m talking about mate. Policy states staff should be in or go to nearest school. If not it’s unpaid. HTs don’t run their own budget it’s the Council HO and they’re in the middle of loads of cuts just now so I’d think it unlikely they’d pay wages when they don’t have to.

That is only if schools are attempting to stay open. They are all closed today for both staff and students. Teachers are expected to work from home and will be paid as normal. There would be a closed door waiting for them if they did appear at their local school today.

28-02-2018, 07:57 AM

I know how school budgets work thanks very much, I used to work in local authority education finance and HTs do by and large run their own budgets with some exceptions, it’s called Devolved School Management.

Anyway, that’s not really the issue. All the staff at my wife’s school were shown a Midlothian policy yesterday that said if the schools were all closed the staff should not report for work. The HT has emailed them all this morning reminding them of the Midlothian policy that they should not report for work and she is going in to turn away any pupils or staff that do show up.

28-02-2018, 07:57 AM
Sometimes things are supposed to happen and things just change / fall through though.

Very good I see what you did there!!

28-02-2018, 07:59 AM
I don’t mind if it’s off - dodgy weather could help Hamilton and its an important 3 points so let’s wait and see.

Saying that I will be going if it’s on - just need several layers !

28-02-2018, 08:03 AM
I've just been out for 15 minutes and it's as cold as I can remember. There's no danger I'm sitting out in that for 2 hours tonight.

28-02-2018, 08:05 AM
I know how school budgets work thanks very much, I used to work in local authority education finance and HTs do by and large run their own budgets with some exceptions, it’s called Devolved School Management.

Anyway, that’s not really the issue. All the staff at my wife’s school were shown a Midlothian policy yesterday that said if the schools were all closed the staff should not report for work. The HT has emailed them all this morning reminding them of the Midlothian policy that they should not report for work and she is going in to turn away any pupils or staff that do show up.

Interesting tone you’ve taken with this post.

What’s the HT doing in if the school’s closed?!

28-02-2018, 08:06 AM
Very good I see what you did there!!

:hilarious :aok:

Hoping Hearts cup game is off Sunday which means they would need to play Tuesday then derby Friday.

Wonder when they would reschedule this game for if it’s called off ?

Steviep73

What’s the HT doing in if the school’s closed?!Game off tonight

28-02-2018, 08:08 AM
Just popped into ER reception - was advised that a decision on whether the game will go ahead will be taken at around 09:45 this morning.

Steviep73
28-02-2018, 08:09 AM
Just popped into ER reception - was advised that a decision on whether the game will go ahead will be taken at around 09:45 this morning.Definitely off on radio forth

TheSouthMoroccan
Just said on Forth FM that the game is off

Boogie on the radio just said the game was off

28-02-2018, 08:13 AM
Game off - not the worst thing..

Extra rest for players / avoids dodgy conditions to suit hamilton and saves fans turning up in crazy weather.

Wonder when it will be played now ?

BlackSheep
28-02-2018, 08:15 AM

Extra rest for players / avoids dodgy conditions to suit hamilton and saves fans turning up in crazy weather.

Hopefully a free Saturday

28-02-2018, 08:17 AM

Bats DO NOT roost overnight, they are nocturnal and therefore are at their most active between dusk and dawn. Having said that, due to low temperatures at this time of year they will be hibernating in the bat cave.

Sauzee16
28-02-2018, 08:17 AM

More supporters through the gates also as well as corporate guests.

Is the Scottish cup semi weekend Pre-Split?

28-02-2018, 08:22 AM
I'm leaving for work shortly. Still haven't decided if I'm driving ot bussing it. What would you say since you've seen the roads?Sorry mate. Just saw this. Bus best imo

28-02-2018, 08:29 AM

I don’t think it’ll matter about the split as the result of our game won’t have any bearing on the outcomes of who is top / bottom 6.

28-02-2018, 08:33 AM

she is going in to turn away any pupils or staff that do show up.

28-02-2018, 08:35 AM

Tonight's match against Hamilton Accies has been postponed due to the current adverse weather conditions.
The SPFL have made the decision to postpone all fixtures due to be played on Wednesday night, with travel warnings in place and weather causing major disruptions across the country.
A new date will be announced in due course. Tickets for tonight's match will be valid for the rearranged fixture.
The Hibernian commercial offices will now be closed for the rest of today. The Ticket Office and Clubstore will also be closed today

28-02-2018, 08:36 AM

Turning away pupils and staff that for some reason do show up, like I said.

28-02-2018, 08:46 AM
Unfortunately I do most mornings...more like a car park than a bypass

Can you imagine what Edinburgh would be like if the by-pass hadn't been built!

28-02-2018, 08:47 AM

The semis are played the weekend after the final round of pre-split fixtures.

28-02-2018, 09:01 AM
I just want to know where Danderhall Hibs's wife has gone to

28-02-2018, 09:03 AM

I'm worried sick.

28-02-2018, 09:04 AM

Says she’s at work. I’m just about to track her phone though.

28-02-2018, 09:06 AM
Turning away pupils and staff that for some reason do show up, like I said.

If they can get there they’d be as well doing a bit of graft.

28-02-2018, 09:07 AM
Says she’s at work. I’m just about to track her phone though.

I'll let you know when she gets here! :wink:

28-02-2018, 09:11 AM

Was meant to be from 6am Wednesday through to Thursday evening, so I'm not sure how you can dismiss the panic without seeing what's coming, unless you have some sort of mode of time travel... :greengrin

28-02-2018, 09:16 AM
Was meant to be from 6am Wednesday through to Thursday evening, so I'm not sure how you can dismiss the panic without seeing what's coming, unless you have some sort of mode of time travel... :greengrin

Aye, but, look out the window Matty - blue skys and I can still see the grass through the snow.
I even put the bins out in, wait for it, jeans and t-shirt, and survived!

The postie is out and about. Bin men are flying around as per normal.
I'll pencil in the 'day after tomorrow' for, erm, the day after tomorrow.

(and it's not even proper snow flakes - just daft little snow balls that blow about the place.)

28-02-2018, 09:17 AM

Someone should start a thread about that.

Says on my bbc weather app the heavy snow is to start around 1pm and go on till about 5pm.

28-02-2018, 09:17 AM
I'll let you know when she gets here! :wink:

Is she going to you first?

28-02-2018, 09:18 AM
Aye, but, look out the window Matty - blue skys and I can still see the grass through the snow.
I even put the bins out in, wait for it, jeans and t-shirt, and survived!

The postie is out and about. Bin men are flying around as per normal.
I'll pencil in the 'day after tomorrow' for, erm, the day after tomorrow.

(and it's not even proper snow flakes - just daft little snow balls that blow about the place.)

AKA graupel :nerd:

28-02-2018, 09:23 AM

How is it an over reaction?

Have you seen what's happening around the UK? People have already lost their lives because of the weather.

Just because your particular area isn't too badly affected doesn't mean the rest of the country isn't having a hard time.

28-02-2018, 09:24 AM

I'm worried sick.

#prayformrsDH

28-02-2018, 09:27 AM

Have you seen what's happening around the UK? People have already lost their lives because of the weather.

Just because your particular area isn't too badly affected doesn't mean the rest of the country isn't having a hard time.

Its an over reaction to close all schools.

The reporting of it is totally Fox News as per normal. Yes there are areas of the UK that are having issues but the majority have a minor amount of snow and its a wee bit cold. All the kids are out trying to find enough snow to go sledging or have snow balls fights. Its not an emergency situation for the majority of the UK

28-02-2018, 09:28 AM

I like how the Met Office would be better just looking out the window.

Can you imagine the weather reports?

"Weather today looks alright, there's a bit of cloud over the street next to us and the sky looks a bit dark in the distance. Will look out the window in a couple of hours before it's dark and guess what it'll be like through the night."

28-02-2018, 09:29 AM

The reporting of it is totally Fox News as per normal. Yes there are areas of the UK that are having issues but the majority have a minor amount of snow and its a wee bit cold. All the kids are out trying to find enough snow to go sledging or have snow balls fights. Its not an emergency situation for the majority of the UK

This is in Dunfermline presently

And it's still chucking it down as we speak

28-02-2018, 09:30 AM
I like how the Met Office would be better just looking out the window.

Can you imagine the weather reports?

"Weather today looks alright, there's a bit of cloud over the street next to us and the sky looks a bit dark in the distance. Will look out the window in a couple of hours before it's dark and guess what it'll be like through the night."

I think they do that. They just dress the wording up a bit.

28-02-2018, 09:30 AM

They have to go on the information that they have though, predicting the weather isn't an exact science but they're pretty good at it these days.

Just because the roads were ok and it was just a bit of snow this morning, doesn't mean that situation would be the case all day.

I'd rather they took a pragmatic and sensible approach and acted on the information they had rather than going for a 'wait and see' approach that ends up with everyone scunnered.

28-02-2018, 09:31 AM
This is Dunfermline presently

Do you think thats enough to close the school? Looks like a light dusting of snow.

28-02-2018, 09:31 AM
This is Dunfermline presently

And it's still chucking it down as we speak

That's just a wee bit of Dunfermline (in case anyone was wondering :faf:)

It is indeed chucking it down just now, not looking like stopping any time soon either.

28-02-2018, 09:32 AM
I think they do that. They just dress the wording up a bit.

If they're looking out the window on the international space station maybe... :greengrin

28-02-2018, 09:34 AM

Depends where you stay!

Here in the Borders the decision to close all schools was certainly the correct one. All service buses are currently suspended because of the severity of the weather. I've been out clearing snow, there's at least 15 centimetres of lying snow and its still coming down heavily.

28-02-2018, 09:36 AM
Do you think thats enough to close the school? Looks like a light dusting of snow.

It's about 3 inches deepjust now, my wife also drove down that driveway less than an hour ago and her tyre tracks are already gone so it's just going to get worse and worse. By the time we get the 3pm if this continues then it's going to be practically impossible and to get anywhere including to the school to pick up the kids.

So yes I think closing the school is justified, even if it is just a precaution against what might happen later in the day

28-02-2018, 09:39 AM

That's just a wee bit of Dunfermline (in case anyone was wondering :faf:)

It is indeed chucking it down just now, not looking like stopping any time soon either.

28-02-2018, 09:39 AM

10 minute walk from the school. I should know, I live just round the corner :greengrin.

To be fair its started 'snowing' again, but its blowing about more than a heavy fall. Kids are out on sledges and life continues as normal. A kid on a bike has just cycled past (no snow tyres) :greengrin

28-02-2018, 09:40 AM
I think the issue is the weather reports are quite non specific in their geography. There certainly seems to be issues in out of town areas but much of Edinburgh city has minimal snow coverage. Look into the yard at my work and the houses opposite and you wouldn't know we were supposed to be in the grip of something potentially dangerous. There is, quite literally, no snow. My drive to work this morning was on roads that were, for the most part, clear.

As I said on another thread it's in the interests of regional radio and TV stations to whip up a bit hysteria as the more panic they create the more listeners and viewers they get. The forecast for Edinburgh for the rest of the day really doesn't seem as bad as was predicted yesterday:

https://www.bbc.co.uk/weather/0/2650225

Maybe a bit more distinction between Edinburgh and the wider Lothians and surrounding areas in reports would be helpful.

28-02-2018, 09:41 AM
They have to go on the information that they have though, predicting the weather isn't an exact science but they're pretty good at it these days.

Just because the roads were ok and it was just a bit of snow this morning, doesn't mean that situation would be the case all day.

I'd rather they took a pragmatic and sensible approach and acted on the information they had rather than going for a 'wait and see' approach that ends up with everyone scunnered.

But by doing that we could end up closing the country down a dozen times a year.... we had amber wanting for weather loads of times in the last year.

28-02-2018, 09:41 AM

😂 Friday is cold and not to bad, would you like the euro millions numbers?

28-02-2018, 09:43 AM
Depends where you stay!

Here in the Borders the decision to close all schools was certainly the correct one. All service buses are currently suspended because of the severity of the weather. I've been out clearing snow, there's at least 15 centimetres of lying snow and its still coming down heavily.

Yeh thats why i said ALL schools. I totally get remote locations closing down as transport is tough. The city centre though has full running bus service with no issues today.

28-02-2018, 09:44 AM
a quick flick through the traffic cameras passes the time and gives and indication of snowmageddon
http://trafficscotland.org/livetrafficcameras/

Is she going to you first?

Wasn’t a go at you btw, just the met office in general. They were saying it’s going to hit all of Scotland bad. I said it prob wouldn’t be anywhere near as bad as the media like to over hype these things and as it turns out I was right.

Places like the borders and stuff will no doubt be hit hard. Edinburgh though traffic is fine.

28-02-2018, 09:45 AM

I don't know what the criteria is for closing schools, but I'd rather they told kids to stay at home than bring them in when there's a possibility of them getting stuck later.

The school authorities can only go on what the government and the forecasts say and the outlook is for heavy, disruptive snow.

The worst that can happen with the schools closed, is that the kids have a day off. Making them come into school could have much more serious consequences.

There's little point having advance notice of anything if we ignore it until it comes to pass.

28-02-2018, 09:46 AM

The time travel reference was a nod to TheCat's thread on the PM board. :wink:

28-02-2018, 09:47 AM
😂 Friday is cold and not to bad, would you like the euro millions numbers?

No thanks, I'll get them from someone who's right now and again :greengrin

28-02-2018, 09:47 AM
Wasn’t a go at you btw, just the met office in general. They were saying it’s going to hit all of Scotland bad. I said it prob wouldn’t be anywhere near as bad as the media like to over hype these things and as it turns out I was right.

Places like the borders and stuff will no doubt be hit hard. Edinburgh though traffic is fine.

How do you want the national media to report unusual weather?

You should start an Edinburgh only TV station and weather forecasting company.

28-02-2018, 09:48 AM

pretty much this, the media made it headline news saying how bad the weather would be the likes we haven’t seen in years. Sorry but that’s rubbish. It’s no where near 2010 levels and everything seems fine.

Unless that changes and all of Scotland (like the met office said and media) get hammered then this whole thing has been blown out of proportion.

28-02-2018, 09:49 AM
Never knew we had so many meteorologists on Hibs.net :greengrin

28-02-2018, 09:50 AM
pretty much this, the media made it headline news saying how bad the weather would be the likes we haven’t seen in years. Sorry but that’s rubbish. It’s no where near 2010 levels and everything seems fine.

Unless that changes and all of Scotland (like the met office said and media) get hammered then this whole thing has been blown out of proportion.

The media said, quite clearly, that it would be the coldest week for 5 years.

It is.

28-02-2018, 09:51 AM

Haha it’s not just Edinburgh though lots of Scotland haven’t had much snow. I’ll happily take Sean Batty’s job though and tell people to stock up on milk and bread as this snow is so bad 😜

28-02-2018, 09:51 AM
No thanks, I'll get them from someone who's right now and again :greengrin

Ohhhh you went there!!!! 😁

28-02-2018, 09:52 AM
The kids may all be able to walk it but can't get the teachers in, many who will live outside city limits.

They also have to consider getting 10s of thousands of staff and pupils home safely. Met office predicting worsening conditions as day progresses. I've heard of cars sliding around and if the buses go off then it's mayhem.

Above all that the police are upgrading their warnings.

So a straightforward call really.

28-02-2018, 09:52 AM
Never knew we had so many meteorologists on Hibs.net :greengrin

90% of meteorologists stay in Dunfermline.

28-02-2018, 09:54 AM

They could just say we may have some snow while other parts will be fine. Do you honestly think there was any need for the mass hysteria the media made of this? If you do then we’ll agree to disagree.

28-02-2018, 09:59 AM
They could just say we may have some snow while other parts will be fine. Do you honestly think there was any need for the mass hysteria the media made of this? If you do then we’ll agree to disagree.

I certainly disagree with your definition of mass hysteria.

The meteorological companies see unusually severe weather approaching. They tell us it's coming and the media report it.

Nothing much going on in the centre of Edinburgh.

90% of meteorologists stay in Dunfermline.

But they are moving south, with a band of low pressure...

Yeh thats why i said ALL schools. I totally get remote locations closing down as transport is tough. The city centre though has full running bus service with no issues today.

The decision to close Schools are made by individual Local Authorities so I suspect that "all schools" throughout Scotland are not in fact closed. But maybe I'm being pedantic.

28-02-2018, 10:00 AM
There was absolutely no reason to shut the schools in East Edinburgh, but I suppose they’re better to be safe than sorry. I feel sorry for parents who don’t have employers who are understanding in these situations.
The decisions made to close schools and call off football matches seems to have been made a bit prematurely imo. The weather in this area is nothing out of the ordinary, in fact it’s been worse already this winter.

28-02-2018, 10:04 AM

They could report it the same way they report other news.

'A stabbing took place across the east of Scotland', 'There was a new baby panda born near to the Midlothian area', 'A car crash occurred between the Borders and Angus'.

None of that would happen so I don't see why the weather is different. It's surely not that hard to report that the worst of the conditions are outwith the city. I was hearing stories on the radio this morning of treacherous conditions on roads that I was driving on at that moment and they had been gritted and were clear.

28-02-2018, 10:05 AM
The decision to close Schools are made by individual Local Authorities so I suspect that "all schools" throughout Scotland are not in fact closed. But maybe I'm being pedantic.

All council schools are closed..... Fife, Borders, Edinburgh, all lothian, glasgow.... no idea about up north.

All the schools in Edinburgh as served by running bus services so no reason for them to be closed. They can be staffed by local teachers as per the norm in these situations.

28-02-2018, 10:08 AM

Just because your particular area isn't too badly affected doesn't mean the rest of the country isn't having a hard time.Exactly this there is a lot of centre of Edinburgh snobbery on this thread mate regarding the weather

28-02-2018, 10:08 AM
They could report it the same way they report other news.

'A stabbing took place across the east of Scotland', 'There was a new baby panda born near to the Midlothian area', 'A car crash occurred between the Borders and Angus'.

None of that would happen so I don't see why the weather is different. It's surely not that hard to report that the worst of the conditions are outwith the city. I was hearing stories on the radio this morning of treacherous conditions on roads that I was driving on at that moment and they had been gritted and were clear.

Meteorology isn’t an exact science, and when severe weather can end up in risk to life it’s best to err on the side of caution surely.

28-02-2018, 10:13 AM
Meteorology isn’t an exact science, and when severe weather can end up in risk to life it’s best to err on the side of caution surely.

I don't have an issue with the forecasts or the warnings. It's the continuing drivel on the news that all of Edinburgh is buried under mountains of snow. As it stands it's just not true.

It's surely not that hard to state that whilst, as an example, the Borders is seeing 'extreme' weather much of Edinburgh has thus far escaped the worst of it. You can still add that a warning remains in place so remain vigilant or whatever.

28-02-2018, 10:17 AM
I don't have an issue with the forecasts or the warnings. It's the continuing drivel on the news that all of Edinburgh is buried under mountains of snow. As it stands it's just not true.

It's surely not that hard to state that whilst, as an example, the Borders is seeing 'extreme' weather much of Edinburgh has thus far escaped the worst of it.

Bang on, my point exactly!

28-02-2018, 10:18 AM
Just got a notification on my phone to say it’s a red warning from this afternoon

28-02-2018, 10:21 AM
I think the issue is the weather reports are quite non specific in their geography. There certainly seems to be issues in out of town areas but much of Edinburgh city has minimal snow coverage. Look into the yard at my work and the houses opposite and you wouldn't know we were supposed to be in the grip of something potentially dangerous. There is, quite literally, no snow. My drive to work this morning was on roads that were, for the most part, clear.

As I said on another thread it's in the interests of regional radio and TV stations to whip up a bit hysteria as the more panic they create the more listeners and viewers they get. The forecast for Edinburgh for the rest of the day really doesn't seem as bad as was predicted yesterday:

https://www.bbc.co.uk/weather/0/2650225

Maybe a bit more distinction between Edinburgh and the wider Lothians and surrounding areas in reports would be helpful.

A few weeks ago my wife was panicking because there was an Amber warning for snow to hit Central, Tayside and Fife. The map on the Met Office website had a tiny sliver of Central (about Slammanan) with Amber the rest of the region was yellow or nothing at all.

28-02-2018, 10:21 AM
I did the drive from Falkirk to Eurocentral at 1am when you couldn't see the motorway.

The journey back at 9am was better as the gritters had caught up. I got the benefit of the lack of school traffic also.

The roads are grim and it is sensible to keep people off them.

Local roads through Falkirk are passable but the schemes haven't been plowed or gritted. I can understand the schools being shut near me.

I didn't have to dig myself a parking space when i got home so it isn't as bad as 2010. At least not yet.

28-02-2018, 10:23 AM
Just returned from Drum Brae hub which is a council run library and my grand daughter enjoyed the singing session along with all the other toddlers who braved the pretty average conditions. But I can't risk life and limb to go to the football. Snowflakes indeed.

28-02-2018, 10:24 AM

It's surely not that hard to state that whilst, as an example, the Borders is seeing 'extreme' weather much of Edinburgh has thus far escaped the worst of it.

What does it really matter though?

If they come across as blasé about the weather, it will encourage people to venture out unnecessarily. Some people have zero common sense. Even though the weather reporting has been extensive, there were still several people saying things like"man up" and "it was worse in 1963" etc.

I wouldn't like to think about how would they behave if the severity was understated.

28-02-2018, 10:24 AM

We have one here in Perthshire :aok:

https://twitter.com/WindyWilson88

IT HAS GONE RED FOR EDINBURGH

https://www.metoffice.gov.uk/public/weather/warnings#?region=ta&date=2018-02-28&regionType=area

28-02-2018, 10:25 AM
I did the drive from Falkirk to Eurocentral at 1am when you couldn't see the motorway.

The journey back at 9am was better as the gritters had caught up. I got the benefit of the lack of school traffic also.

The roads are grim and it is sensible to keep people off them.

Local roads through Falkirk are passable but the schemes haven't been plowed or gritted. I can understand the schools being shut near me.

I didn't have to dig myself a parking space so it isn't as bad as 2010. At least not yet.

Where about in Falkirk are you?

I stay here too and decided not to go into work today as my street is under several inches of snow and I also stay at the top of a hill so driving down and then back up again would be pretty much impossible.

I also drive an automatic which is next to useless in this weather.

28-02-2018, 10:25 AM
Just got a notification on my phone to say it’s a red warning from this afternoon

This is reason the games off and schools are closed. The weather is apparently going to get worse. It’s better to be safe than sorry. I’d rather the game was off than having a minutes applause/silence before the derby because a fellow Hibbie had died on the way to the game.

28-02-2018, 10:26 AM
Leith forecast.

https://www.metoffice.gov.uk/mobile/forecast/gcvwrvzqw#?date=2018-02-28

How should the media report this turn of events?

28-02-2018, 10:28 AM
And were up to red in some parts. Hold on to some of your hats.

28-02-2018, 10:29 AM

Yep, and I cant remember last time that happened. Explains why everything is cancelled and schools are off. Transport Secretary said yesterday it would be on the cusp of Amber to Red for the central belt, and - as thats where so much of the population lives - it makes a lot of sense what they have done.

28-02-2018, 10:30 AM
Yep, and I cant remember last time that happened. Explains why everything is cancelled and schools are off. Transport Secretary said yesterday it would be on the cusp of Amber to Red for the central belt, and - as thats where so much of the population lives - it makes a lot of sense what they have done.

You can’t remember because it’s never happened.

28-02-2018, 10:30 AM
First time ever a red alert has been issued in Scotland according to STV News.

28-02-2018, 10:32 AM
You can’t remember because it’s never happened.

:greengrin Thanks.........Ive just turned 50, I can barely remember things I should know !!

28-02-2018, 10:33 AM
That will be schools off tomorrow also.

28-02-2018, 10:38 AM
:greengrin Thanks.........Ive just turned 50, I can barely remember things I should know !!

The colour coded system was only introduced in 2008 so you have a bit of an excuse!

Mikers110
28-02-2018, 10:40 AM
Blizzard conditions in Penicuik at the moment

28-02-2018, 10:43 AM
All council schools are closed..... Fife, Borders, Edinburgh, all lothian, glasgow.... no idea about up north.

All the schools in Edinburgh as served by running bus services so no reason for them to be closed. They can be staffed by local teachers as per the norm in these situations.

Not all Perth and Kinross Schools are closed :greengrin We are hardy souls.

28-02-2018, 10:44 AM
As far as I know we've never had a red weather alert issued in Edinburgh? Looking more like the game was correctly called off with plenty notice.

28-02-2018, 10:46 AM
As far as I know we've never had a red weather alert issued in Edinburgh? Looking more like the game was correctly called off with plenty notice.

First ever red alert for snow. Getting home is going to be a mare

28-02-2018, 10:47 AM
Blizzard conditions in Penicuik at the moment

There’s blizzard conditions in Penicuik all year round.

28-02-2018, 10:47 AM
There’s blizzard conditions in Penicuik all year round.

Took the words out my mouth 😂

Mikers110
28-02-2018, 10:50 AM
Took the words out my mouth 😂

There's normal Penicuik blizzards and then there are 'Beast from the East' blizzards :greengrin

Renfrew_Hibby
28-02-2018, 10:50 AM
We have to remember, though it maybe OK in Edinburgh. For Hamilton coming over it's a different story. Took me an hour to go from Renfrew to Parkhead at 6:30 this morning when it normally takes 20 minutes at that time of day. The M74 was closed and the M8 through the city was scary going. From reports, the East Kilbride and Hamilton areas are virtually no go zones.
I for one was dreading the trip through tonight as the weather's only going to get worse. If the game was still on I probably would have not travelled as there really is no point in risking crashing or being stranded for a game of football.
Just hope it's not played on 14th March as that's the one Wednesday I can't do.

28-02-2018, 10:51 AM
Snow is bad now.

First ever red alert for snow. Getting home is going to be a mare

I remember a few years ago when there was really bad weather, I had bussed it in instead of cycling, but everything was shutting down on way home - my daft boss at the time decided to drive home to Glasgow (despite having the offer of a room) and got stuck overnight on the M8, horrendous stuff.

Anyway, I buggered off early-ish and managed to sneak on the last train from Edinburgh Park to Waverley (before they shut the line) and then walked home via 2 or 3 pubs (it was cold :wink:) - was the best commute home I have ever had :greengrin:greengrin

There's normal Penicuik blizzards and then there are 'Beast from the East' blizzards :greengrin

Normal snow just a jumper, beast from the east a light jacket!

Halmyre Hibee
28-02-2018, 10:52 AM
First time ever a red alert has been issued in Scotland according to STV News.

Some bad winters when I was a kid. Hated the snow going above my welly line and the welly's rubbing against my legs. We even wore grey shorts with wellies with my Moredun Primary snakebelt holding them up.

Heavy snow in Dalkeith.

Virgin Trains EC‏Verified account @Virgin_TrainsEC 9m9 minutes ago

#VTECUpdate (https://twitter.com/hashtag/VTECUpdate?src=hash) Due to severe weather, following trains will be cancelled: 11:08 Kings Cross to York 11:30 Kings Cross to Edinburgh 12:08 Kings Cross to Newark 12:30 Kings Cross to Newcastle12:35 Kings Cross to Leeds 13:05 Kings Cross to Leeds 14:30 Kings Cross to Newcastle

28-02-2018, 10:53 AM
A friend of mine lost her son when the Biggar School bus crashed. If the council's want the schools closed that's good enough for me.

28-02-2018, 10:57 AM
Some bad winters when I was a kid. Hated the snow going above my welly line and the welly's rubbing against my legs. We even wore grey shorts with wellies with my Moredun Primary snakebelt holding them up.

Same primary as me, although i never wore grey shorts thankfully 😁 I always remember some bad ones as well but seems bar 2010 we don’t get much now. Be good for the kids for sledging, and us big kids too!!

28-02-2018, 10:58 AM
Virgin Trains EC‏Verified account @Virgin_TrainsEC 9m9 minutes ago

#VTECUpdate (https://twitter.com/hashtag/VTECUpdate?src=hash) Due to severe weather, following trains will be cancelled: 11:08 Kings Cross to York 11:30 Kings Cross to Edinburgh 12:08 Kings Cross to Newark 12:30 Kings Cross to Newcastle12:35 Kings Cross to Leeds 13:05 Kings Cross to Leeds 14:30 Kings Cross to Newcastle

I just need Cross Country to follow suit £££

28-02-2018, 10:59 AM

Snake belt that brings back memories

28-02-2018, 11:00 AM
Heavy snow now in East Edinburgh.

28-02-2018, 11:01 AM
Same primary as me, although i never wore grey shorts thankfully �� I always remember some bad ones as well but seems bar 2010 we don’t get much now. Be good for the kids for sledging, and us big kids too!!

Gilmerton Primary for me, just up the road from you lads - I cant remember wearing shorts apart from at PE - was that just a weird Moredun thing :greengrin:greengrin

p.s. Blizzard now in EH9

28-02-2018, 11:04 AM
Lovely sunny day in Perthshire

https://scottishwildlifetrust.org.uk/things-to-do/watch-wildlife-online/loch-of-the-lowes-webcam/

Are you jealous? :greengrin