View Full Version : Beast from the East

Pages : 1 2 [3] 4 5

28-02-2018, 11:08 AM
Gilmerton Primary for me, just up the road from you lads - I cant remember wearing shorts apart from at PE - was that just a weird Moredun thing :greengrin:greengrin

p.s. Blizzard now in EH9

Haha I never wore grey short maybe before my time. In fact that’s a lie I had them on in the pic of my first day but can’t mind wearing them again. Remember doing P.E. In my pants when I forgot my stuff.

28-02-2018, 11:10 AM
First ever red alert for snow. Getting home is going to be a mare

Say nae mare. :greengrin

The beast from the east is worse than the pest from the west.

Halmyre Hibee
28-02-2018, 11:10 AM
Gilmerton Primary for me, just up the road from you lads - I cant remember wearing shorts apart from at PE - was that just a weird Moredun thing :greengrin:greengrin

p.s. Blizzard now in EH9

Just the swinging 60's fashion (1965). Soon got a pair of long trousers with duffel coat wooden buttons and various colours of balaclavas knitted by my aunties (even a red one). No fashion police then.

28-02-2018, 11:13 AM
Snow absolutely hammering it down just now in South East Edinburgh.

28-02-2018, 11:21 AM
https://uploads.tapatalk-cdn.com/20180228/51adaf3b1c26b8e42bb253cc10fc8c53.jpg

Picturesque in Broxburn atm

28-02-2018, 11:27 AM
Definitely looking a bit more beastly now.

Eaststand
28-02-2018, 11:28 AM

p.s. Blizzard now in EH9

Softies the lot of yez :-0
At Gracemount Primary we sat outside for lessons, with our pet penguins when the weather was like this :-)

28-02-2018, 11:29 AM
Heavy snow now in East Edinburgh.

Just shows how localised the snow is. Still no new snow coverings “doon by the watter” here in Leith.
Maybe it’s on its way.:confused:

28-02-2018, 11:30 AM
It’s a bit wintery up here. Not that unusual but Lots of drifting.:snowman

28-02-2018, 11:35 AM
Slightly off topic but who remembers when it snowed mid June? Around 74/75? Got let away early from school that day. Magic!!

28-02-2018, 11:37 AM
Slightly off topic but who remembers when it snowed mid June? Around 74/75? Got let away early from school that day. Magic!!

Was it not mis summers day the week before the holidays? Thought it was earlier than 74 though.

son of haggart
28-02-2018, 11:37 AM

My first year at Uni. Think it would therefore be summer 1975.After a heavy sesssion came out of our flat near the Rag Doll in Stockbridge at about 10am (getting up time for students) and opened the door to a snowstorm . I looked behind me to see if I wasn’t still in bed and dreaming. A very bizarre feeling.

28-02-2018, 11:40 AM
blizzards again in Dunfermline. Tesco delivery van just got stuck in the street for a wee while there. Son's gone out the back garden with a football and his Hibs top on. Ball is now in neighbour's snow-covered garden.

LustForLeith
28-02-2018, 11:41 AM
Glad it’s off but I was looking forward to “What are people wearing tonight” thread

28-02-2018, 11:41 AM
At Gracemount Primary we sat outside for lessons, with our pet penguins when the weather was like this :-)

Always thought that was a school for special children:wink:

28-02-2018, 11:43 AM
My first year at Uni. Think it would therefore be summer 1975.After a heavy sesssion came out of our flat near the Rag Doll in Stockbridge at about 10am (getting up time for students) and opened the door to a snowstorm . I looked behind me to see if I wasn’t still in bed and dreaming. A very bizarre feeling.

If Summer 75 was your first year at Uni, then you are telling porkies about your age on your profile :greengrin:greengrin

28-02-2018, 11:46 AM
Anxiously waiting for my work to send us all home.

GreenProfessor
28-02-2018, 11:46 AM

It snowed on 2nd June in Edinburgh in 1975...I was born the day after...:greengrin

28-02-2018, 11:50 AM
Midlothian schools now closed tomorrow as well.

28-02-2018, 11:52 AM
blizzards again in Dunfermline. Tesco delivery van just got stuck in the street for a wee while there. Son's gone out the back garden with a football and his Hibs top on. Ball is now in neighbour's snow-covered garden.

He'll get a game for Hearts then.

28-02-2018, 11:53 AM
If Summer 75 was your first year at Uni, then you are telling porkies about your age on your profile :greengrin:greengrin

As with most Hearts fans on here, I think you'll find that his date of birth is 1st January 1973 :wink:

Eaststand
28-02-2018, 11:55 AM
Always thought that was a school for special children:wink:

Ha ha, very good.. i think that was the one next door though Altho, the lassies from Gilmerton usually did say we were a bit special compared to the Gilmerton lads ;-)

28-02-2018, 11:57 AM
As with most Hearts fans on here, I think you'll find that his date of birth is 1st January 1973 :wink:

That makes more sense !

I have no idea where the DoB bit is, but thats probably user error due to my age !

28-02-2018, 11:57 AM

no undersoil heating? at least ask him to clear the lines.

28-02-2018, 11:58 AM
Can't see the Pentlands from my Burdiehouse Road viewpoint 🏢 the beast has def arrived now.

28-02-2018, 11:59 AM
Radge blizzard in East Edinburgh (Willowbrae) now

28-02-2018, 12:00 PM
I'm laughing at the pictures from Edinburgh with snow....... YOU CALL THAT SNOW😂😂😂

That's just a dusting over here!

28-02-2018, 12:01 PM
Could have played in this.

Orange ball, pair of gloves......what’s the problem??!!!

28-02-2018, 12:02 PM
Can't see the Pentlands from my Burdiehouse Road viewpoint 🏢 the beast has def arrived now.

I live beside the stadium and can’t see St Clair Street from my window!

Glad it’s off but I was looking forward to “What are people wearing tonight” thread

I've not been much of a hat wearer in the past, but I have just been given my first proper "bunnet" like my grandad used to wear.

I was quite looking forward to it getting its first outing.

Mr Grieves
Edinburgh council staff have been told to go home now and not come back until the red warning has been lifted, whichis 10AM tomorrow. I reckon the schools will be closed tomorrow too.

28-02-2018, 12:03 PM
All schools in Edinburgh closed tomorrow also.....

28-02-2018, 12:04 PM
Edinburgh council staff have been told to go home now and not come back until the red warning has been lifted, whichis 10AM tomorrow. I reckon the schools will be closed tomorrow too.

...and Edinburgh Leisure have just said they are shutting all their facilities from 2.00. Government are telling people to avoid all travel tomorrow in East and Central Scotland.

28-02-2018, 12:04 PM

stand up.:agree:

28-02-2018, 12:07 PM
All Edinburgh schools closed tomorrow.

28-02-2018, 12:08 PM
Work shutting at 2pm. Interesting drive home from Dundee ahead

28-02-2018, 12:08 PM
All Edinburgh schools closed tomorrow.

Is that confirmed? Can’t see anything on twitter etc yet

28-02-2018, 12:10 PM

I'm in my office and literally can't see my keyboard for snow as I type.

28-02-2018, 12:10 PM

Never mind, it’s there now :greengrin

28-02-2018, 12:11 PM

My missus just got the text, I’m sure it’ll be on social media or the radio soon if not already.

28-02-2018, 12:14 PM
stand up.:agree:

Ah that’s where I was going wrong! :greengrin

28-02-2018, 12:15 PM
Ah that’s where I was going wrong! :greengrin

I was going to follow that up with 'use a box' but thought that was a 'step' too far :greengrin

28-02-2018, 12:16 PM
Hope my fellow Hibbys get home safe 👍

28-02-2018, 12:16 PM
These are Tweets from Scotrail:
🔴 In areas where the RED weather warning applies, customers should head for home NOW. There will be NO train services in the RED weather warning area tonight, or first thing tomorrow morning.

🔴 As a result of the Met Office warning, services in the RED area will begin to wind down this afternoon in the best interests of our customers and staff. Safety is central to this decision.

28-02-2018, 12:18 PM

Pah, that's nothing. At St Catherine's we sat outside for lessons, ate snow for lunch AND spent our time dodging ariel bombardment of stone filled snowballs from Gracemount thugs...

28-02-2018, 12:23 PM
My work shut at 1 pm woohoo!

28-02-2018, 12:24 PM
I am officially an idiot. My boss, looking out the window goes, "you better just head home now, in case your bus is stopped."

I go, "nah they never cancel the buses, they even ran in 2010 in the bad snow" :brickwall:brickwall:brickwall

I am going to have to go with the red alert angle and see if I can get away early. I wish I could engage my brain before my mouth starts :rolleyes:

28-02-2018, 12:25 PM
Pah, that's nothing. At St Catherine's we sat outside for lessons, ate snow for lunch AND spent our time dodging ariel bombardment of stone filled snowballs from Gracemount thugs...

You were allowed to sit? Luxury.

28-02-2018, 12:26 PM
Midlothian schools now closed tomorrow as well.

Has Mrs DH got home safely.

Eaststand
28-02-2018, 12:31 PM

:-) Ahh the memories. I was telling somebody recently about the daft things that went on, simply because we had different School 'colours'

That wee lane/gate next to the toilet block that separated our Schools wasn't too safe a place to go when it was snowing eh!!

28-02-2018, 12:31 PM
West Lothian Council Message
All West Lothian Council schools and nurseries will remain closed on Thursday 1 March. Further updates will be provided tomorrow.

28-02-2018, 12:32 PM

She should be home soon, she’s just left mine!

Eaststand
28-02-2018, 12:34 PM

I remember one quite cold winter, it was forecast to drop to around -10 that week, so we were advised to wear long sleeve shirts instead of short sleeves the following day ;-)

son of haggart
28-02-2018, 12:35 PM

One of the admins thought it would be a good joke to make Hearts fans birthdays a certain fateful New Year.

Was born in 56

28-02-2018, 12:38 PM
The worst from the beast is still to come..

Gregor
28-02-2018, 12:42 PM

Correct, 2nd June 1975.

https://www.metoffice.gov.uk/binaries/content/assets/mohippo/pdf/s/l/snow_in_june_-_2_june_1975.pdf

28-02-2018, 12:43 PM
One of the admins thought it would be a good joke to make Hearts fans birthdays a certain fateful New Year.

Was born in 56

That is funny :faf::faf:

Crazyhorse
28-02-2018, 12:43 PM
Could have played in this.

Orange ball, pair of gloves......what’s the problem??!!!

Exactly scrape the snow of the lines and get on with it. Would still be a better surface than Killie's pitch or Tiny's mud wrestling pit.

28-02-2018, 12:45 PM
I'm laughing at the pictures from Edinburgh with snow....... YOU CALL THAT SNOW😂😂😂

That's just a dusting over here!

True LOL moment :greengrin

28-02-2018, 12:54 PM

Was born in 56

It is still nice and sunny at SWT Loch of the Lowes, not long until the residents return

28-02-2018, 12:55 PM
Good job they closed the schools.

telford hibbee
28-02-2018, 01:02 PM
Buses stopping at 3pm someone is seeing something that’s not here yet

28-02-2018, 01:06 PM

Not according to Lothian Buses twitter

The red warning kicks off at 3pm, thats when its due to go tonto.

I just saw a picture of a bus struggling to get up Frederick St.

28-02-2018, 01:09 PM

Was born in 56
You should have lied and said 51 :tin hat:

28-02-2018, 01:12 PM
It's a white out on the m8 , glad I decided to finish when I did.

And to think some people were saying its no too bad and the game should be going ahead :faf:

Can you imagine a game of fitba in this :rolleyes:

son of haggart
It is still nice and sunny at SWT Loch of the Lowes, not long until the residents return

Yes - it’s sunny outside my window in Birnam, 3 miles away (and light snow)

28-02-2018, 01:15 PM
Yes - it’s sunny outside my window in Birnam, 3 miles away (and light snow)

I'll have to pop in for a coffee on my way home :wink:

28-02-2018, 01:16 PM
Not according to Lothian Buses twitter

The red warning kicks off at 3pm, thats when its due to go tonto.

I just saw a picture of a bus struggling to get up Frederick St.

The 31 goes up Kirk Brae at Liberton. That road has been closed to buses already. I have been on the bus for 65 mins already and I am about half way back to Bonnyrigg.

28-02-2018, 01:19 PM
And to think some people were saying its no too bad and the game should be going ahead :faf:

Jumpers for goalposts. Everyone to the park for a 3pm kick off.

28-02-2018, 01:20 PM

Back of 1. She looks knackered.

28-02-2018, 01:22 PM
The 31 goes up Kirk Brae at Liberton. That road has been closed to buses already. I have been on the bus for 65 mins already and I am about half way back to Bonnyrigg.

Good luck. The snow is terrible is pretty bad in Midlothian.

28-02-2018, 01:23 PM
Hibs.net sledging meet up at Hanlon Hill anyone?

28-02-2018, 01:23 PM
Morningside Road is blocked solid, not moving anywhere. I could be on the number 11 bus for a while.

28-02-2018, 01:24 PM
Dundas Street is carnage atm. Vehicles struggling to get up the road. Got my last bus (according to the driver) home. He had to swap his route to avoid Broughton Road as it’s too slippy.

28-02-2018, 01:27 PM

https://www.metoffice.gov.uk/mobile/forecast/gcvwr3zrw#?date=2018-02-28

son of haggart
28-02-2018, 01:28 PM
I'll have to pop in for a coffee on my way home :wink:

You’re welcome anytime - just message me

28-02-2018, 01:34 PM
I just read on twitter that if there is a red weather warning you are not covered by insurance. Full comp apparently you are, third party you aren’t. Anyone know if that’s true?

28-02-2018, 01:35 PM

Ist of June around the middle of that decade. Happened just a few a years ago too, same date.

28-02-2018, 01:37 PM
I just read on twitter that if there is a red weather warning you are not covered by insurance. Full comp apparently you are, third party you aren’t. Anyone know if that’s true?

Stop being hysterical. :wink:

28-02-2018, 01:37 PM

😁 touché

28-02-2018, 01:38 PM
Dundas Street is carnage atm. Vehicles struggling to get up the road. Got my last bus (according to the driver) home. He had to swap his route to avoid Broughton Road as it’s too slippy.

That’s where I work and indeed it was complete mayhem! One of the buses got stuck going up the road.

Our office shut at 1.15pm. Don’t know if it’ll be open tomorrow but I seriously doubt it

28-02-2018, 01:40 PM
Good job they closed the schools.

Yep - School day finished and the snow still hasn't hit yet.

Yes, I am fed up watching the lego movie, playing lego worlds and reading ninjago books
Worst is - Wednesday is homework day. We could even do that today.

Never mind

https://youtu.be/aQUlA8Hcv4s

Pinkie
28-02-2018, 01:40 PM

Indeed. Got off my bus in Broughton as it was going nowhere. 40 minute walk home along the bus route. Just in. There are going to be a lot of people struggling out there soon.

28-02-2018, 01:41 PM
White out in parts of west lothian

28-02-2018, 01:42 PM

Might have been a child prodigy?

28-02-2018, 01:47 PM

:top marks Radgeworks
:greengrin:top marks

28-02-2018, 01:48 PM
Got some pretty cool thundersnow here. Sounds mad.

28-02-2018, 01:48 PM

In what? We’re lucky if we’ve had half an inch of snow. It may well get worse, but it’s a normal winter day so far.

28-02-2018, 01:52 PM
In what? We’re lucky if we’ve had half an inch of snow. It may well get worse, but it’s a normal winter day so far.

The roads are chaos, the trains are stopped at 2pm, buses are being diverted all over the place. Not a normal winters day!

28-02-2018, 01:53 PM

Maybe at the shore, it's a very different story in other parts of town though

Gregor
28-02-2018, 01:55 PM

Pretty much constant snowfall + drifting down here in the Borders. Been at it since yesterday evening. A brief lull around 1145 then back to full-on radge dumping from 1215. Another lull due around 2000hrs and then continuous snowfall from 0200 in the morning until 1900 Thursday night.

Jan 2011 was the last time we had this much of the white *****. Storm-bound for 3 days.

28-02-2018, 01:56 PM
The roads are chaos, the trains are stopping at 2pm, buses are being diverted all over the place. Not a normal winters day!
The pitch at Easter Road will be perfectly playable tonight. I agree the game should be cancelled due to the warnings from the met office, but this isn’t even a quarter as bad as it was in 2010. Services are being cancelled due to the warnings, not for what we already have.

I've been trying to find this out as well, I have no plans to travel but just out of interest.

Jay
Yep - School day finished and the snow still hasn't hit yet.

Yes, I am fed up watching the lego movie, playing lego worlds and reading ninjago books
Worst is - Wednesday is homework day. We could even do that today.

Never mind

https://youtu.be/aQUlA8Hcv4s

You dont have snow??? Its nearly up to my knees here!!!

28-02-2018, 01:57 PM
Pretty much constant snowfall + drifting down here in the Borders. Been at it since yesterday evening. A brief lull around 1145 then back to full-on radge dumping from 1215. Another lull due around 2000hrs and then continuous snowfall from 0200 in the morning until 1900 Thursday night.

Jan 2011 was the last time we had this much of the white *****. Storm-bound for 3 days.
I was talking about Edinburgh. I fully understand it will be worse down there.

28-02-2018, 01:58 PM
The pitch at Easter Road will be perfectly playable tonight. I agree the game should be cancelled due to the warnings from the met office, but this isn’t even a quarter as bad as it was in 2010. Services are being cancelled due to the warnings, not for what we already have.

The weather in 2010 went on for weeks.

28-02-2018, 02:00 PM
I've been trying to find this out as well, I have no plans to travel but just out of interest.

Yep same as me. I’m fully comp but want to know if this is rubbish or actually true.

28-02-2018, 02:00 PM

Started in Nov and lasted till March was unreal.

28-02-2018, 02:01 PM
I know I remember it well. The weather today might end up being worse than that, but so far it isn’t anything out of the ordinary. The red warnings are why everything is shutting down(rightly so) not the weather we have had.

28-02-2018, 02:02 PM
Yep same as me. I’m fully comp but want to know if this is rubbish or actually true.

https://www.pistonheads.com/gassing/topic.asp?t=1242627
Load of rubbish apparently.

Jay
28-02-2018, 02:03 PM
Started in Nov and lasted till March was unreal.

Was this bad in 2001 too. I was about to drop my third baby and couldnt get out the village. Hubby was rather tense for a week or so in case his midwifery skills were needed.

28-02-2018, 02:06 PM
You dont have snow??? Its nearly up to my knees here!!!

Theres some but its hardly worth mentioning. The bins were put out this morning and have a light dusting on them.
The wind blowing it around makes it look worse than it is. If it was rain instead of snow, it wouldn't be getting a mention.

Dunfermline seems to get its own weird weather. perhaps we're missing the worst of it.

28-02-2018, 02:06 PM
https://www.pistonheads.com/gassing/topic.asp?t=1242627
Load of rubbish apparently.

Cheers, did seem a bit strange!

28-02-2018, 02:07 PM
Was this bad in 2001 too. I was about to drop my third baby and couldnt get out the village. Hubby was rather tense for a week or so in case his midwifery skills were needed.

No wonder he was getting tense 😂 I’d have been the same!

28-02-2018, 02:07 PM
My daughter was born at the end of October 2010. We were practically house bound for about a month. The heating broke as well, and it took them 4 days to come out and fix it. We were huddled together in one room with a couple of electric heaters I had went and bought. I’m sure we got compensation from Scottish Gas for it.

28-02-2018, 02:13 PM
Really wild in Falkirk just now.

Jay
28-02-2018, 02:15 PM
No wonder he was getting tense 😂 I’d have been the same!

Acht i wouldnt have needed him, it was number three.
If it hadnt snowed that year hed be in sixth year instead of fifth, he missed the end feb cut off for school. 😁 I was to be induced but it was cancelled.

28-02-2018, 02:15 PM

No change there then :greengrin

28-02-2018, 02:17 PM
There's been a few flurries in Leith but most of the traffic problems seem to be people trying to get home and there being gridlock as opposed to the weather itself. At the moment anyway.

28-02-2018, 02:18 PM
Back of 1. She looks knackered.

Bet she does, she has got about since leaving this morning. :greengrin

28-02-2018, 02:19 PM
Theres some but its hardly worth mentioning. The bins were put out this morning and have a light dusting on them.
The wind blowing it around makes it look worse than it is. If it was rain instead of snow, it wouldn't be getting a mention.

Dunfermline seems to get its own weird weather. perhaps we're missing the worst of it.

What part of Dunfermline are you in? I’m besieged at my son’s in Dunfermline and there’s been about 8 inches at least.:confused:

28-02-2018, 02:25 PM
What part of Dunfermline are you in? I’m besieged at my son’s in Dunfermline and there’s been about 8 inches at least.:confused:

Duloch. It tends to be windy - perhaps its just blowing through. The rooftops aren't covered, stagecoach bus just drove up the road. Its windy more than anything else.

Hulk1875
28-02-2018, 02:29 PM
Couldn't make tonight's if it went ahead and I got away early from work happy days

28-02-2018, 02:30 PM
Blizzards in Livingston with about 15 cm already. This is a day for staying in the house

28-02-2018, 02:35 PM
Blizzards in Livingston with about 15 cm already. This is a day for staying in the house

That last sentence made me think.

If you are out in Glasgow or Edinburgh and see a homeless person in these freezing temperatures PLEASE call Streetwork 08000277466 for Glasgow or 08081782323 for Edinburgh to alert a street team member. You could save a life - please retweet.

28-02-2018, 02:36 PM
Duloch. It tends to be windy - perhaps its just blowing through. The rooftops aren't covered, stagecoach bus just drove up the road. Its windy more than anything else.

I’m at Masterton, barely a mile from you, and it's like the South Pole here.

28-02-2018, 02:36 PM
There's been a few flurries in Leith but most of the traffic problems seem to be people trying to get home and there being gridlock as opposed to the weather itself. At the moment anyway.

:agree: Drove in to Edinburgh from Dalkeith around 2.30 and coming the other way was a slowly crawling queue from Minto Street to Gilmerton. The drivers all had that "I'm so glad the boss sent us all home at 2" look on their faces. A few cyclists gently wheeching past the line.

28-02-2018, 02:48 PM

🤣
Made me laugh

28-02-2018, 02:52 PM

To be fair I don't ACTUALLY stay in Falkirk so I'm ok. :greengrin

28-02-2018, 02:53 PM
We have to remember, though it maybe OK in Edinburgh. For Hamilton coming over it's a different story. Took me an hour to go from Renfrew to Parkhead at 6:30 this morning when it normally takes 20 minutes at that time of day. The M74 was closed and the M8 through the city was scary going. From reports, the East Kilbride and Hamilton areas are virtually no go zones.
I for one was dreading the trip through tonight as the weather's only going to get worse. If the game was still on I probably would have not travelled as there really is no point in risking crashing or being stranded for a game of football.
Just hope it's not played on 14th March as that's the one Wednesday I can't do.
Yep, I stay in EK and it's been horrendous, it's definitely not safe here and nobody should be driving in it at all. Hamilton's the same, I was meant to be going for a job interview at 2pm but the interviewer's from Hamilton and she said not to bother, it'll be rearranged.

To be fair I don't ACTUALLY stay in Falkirk so I'm ok. :greengrin

But your from Falkirk😜

Good luck. The snow is terrible is pretty bad in Midlothian.

90 minutes on and the bus has detoured and heading in the direction of Dobbie’s Garden Centre. Could be a 4 or 5 hour job in total from Shandwick Place to Bonnyrigg.

28-02-2018, 02:55 PM
90 minutes on and the bus has detoured and heading in the direction of Dobbie’s Garden Centre. Could be a 4 or 5 hour job in total from Shandwick Place to Bonnyrigg.

Think the bypass is blocked 3pm, which is having a knock on effect on all the roads around it

28-02-2018, 02:58 PM
But your from Falkirk😜

I was born in Falkirk Royal Infirmary but I have never actually stayed in proper Falkirk. I stay in a wee village about 3 miles outside it. :na na: :greengrin

28-02-2018, 02:59 PM
For all those folk that say its nothing:

Folk that live out of town are having to walk home

A woman my wife knows left work at 1pm in Frederick Street and has just reached Gilmerton Morrison's and still has to walk home to the top end of Bonnyrigg.

A bit of compassion for your fellow man (woman) wouldn't go amiss instead of bleating about how your plans have been altered and the weather is fine your way.

28-02-2018, 03:00 PM
I was born in Falkirk Royal Infirmary but I have never actually stayed in proper Falkirk. I stay in a wee village about 3 miles outside it. :na na: :greengrin

Aye ok, ex FalkirkHibee😜

28-02-2018, 03:05 PM
Aye ok, ex FalkirkHibee😜

It rolled off the tongue a wee bit easier than calling myself "Two and a half miles outside FalkirkHibee".:greengrin

28-02-2018, 03:06 PM

Hallglen :greengrin:wink:

28-02-2018, 03:06 PM
Think the bypass is blocked 3pm, which is having a knock on effect on all the roads around it

Bypass is now closed according to radio forth.

28-02-2018, 03:10 PM
It rolled off the tongue a wee bit easier than calling myself "Two and a half miles outside FalkirkHibee".:greengrin

Wonder if you’d be allowed a username that long on here?
Admins?

28-02-2018, 03:10 PM
Hallglen :greengrin:wink:

Close but no cigar. :greengrin

28-02-2018, 03:11 PM
Bypass is now closed according to radio forth.

FFS, now Wednesday's closed. :faint:

28-02-2018, 03:12 PM

A woman my wife knows left work at 1pm in Frederick Street and has just reached Gilmerton Morrison's and still has to walk home to the top end of Bonnyrigg.

A bit of compassion for your fellow man (woman) wouldn't go amiss instead of bleating about how your plans have been altered and the weather is fine your way.

No-one is saying theres no compassion. I suspect most of us have been at the sharp end of public transport cancellations. I know I'd rather be inside than out.
They are allowed to state facts when the weather they have is far from the impending doom that it was forecast to be.

28-02-2018, 03:13 PM

Why did she walk fom Frederick street to Gilmerton when there are buses running?

28-02-2018, 03:14 PM
Close but no cigar. :greengrin

Maddiston

28-02-2018, 03:18 PM
Still cars and trucks on the bypass now, but that might be the remaining ones that were on it before it was blocked off.

28-02-2018, 03:19 PM
Why did she walk fom Frederick street to Gilmerton when there are buses running?

I am guessing it's because the bus would be moving at a snails pace. I ended up getting off my bus and walking as it was moving 100 feet every 20 minutes.

28-02-2018, 03:20 PM
Maddiston

Getting a wee bit warmer. Probably half way between those two. 😁

28-02-2018, 03:30 PM

And when there are pubs open 😀😀

28-02-2018, 03:32 PM
Just walked back home west to east across Leith Links. Brrrrrrrrr. Proper winter now.

28-02-2018, 03:34 PM

Polmont Young Offenders Institution?

28-02-2018, 03:35 PM
Polmont Young Offenders Institution?

How did you guess?

Believe it or not this is actually the closest guess so far! :faf:

28-02-2018, 03:36 PM
How did you guess?

Brightons then 😁

RossScott1991
28-02-2018, 03:40 PM
2hr 30mins to get from gyle to kirkliston. Madness out there

28-02-2018, 03:43 PM
Brightons then 😁

Wee bit higher up. :wink:

28-02-2018, 03:44 PM
Wee bit higher up. :wink:

Redding ?

2hr 30mins to get from gyle to kirkliston. Madness out there

Saw the traffic round the Gyle on my way home, fortunately I was heading in that way

Redding?

Currently blizzard conditions up in the Woodlands.

Theinsider
[QUOTE=Sir David Gray;5328947]Wee bit higher up. :wink:[/QUOTE

Reddin,reddingmuirhead?

28-02-2018, 03:47 PM
Redding ?

Redding?

Currently blizzard conditions up in the Woodlands.

Reddin,reddingmuirhead?

Oooh Reddingmuirhead is a good guess.

Not quite though. :wink:

28-02-2018, 03:49 PM

Laurieston

28-02-2018, 04:02 PM

My pal's wife has been on a bus for three hours from the centre of town and still only at Gilmerton on her way home to Bonnyrigg. I, on the other hand, am curled up snug at home in my Liberton lair with a hot mug of tea and an unexpectedly early home Mrs One Day Soon...

28-02-2018, 04:05 PM
Hibs.net sledging meet up at Hanlon Hill anyone?

The Livershaker on the Braid Hills?

hibs#1
28-02-2018, 04:07 PM
How did you guess?

Shieldhill?

28-02-2018, 04:08 PM

California.

28-02-2018, 04:08 PM
Laurieston

Nah that's further away.

Shieldhill?

:lips seal:shhhsh!:

hibs#1
28-02-2018, 04:10 PM
Nah that's further away.

:lips seal:shhhsh!:

Woohoo what do I win?

28-02-2018, 04:10 PM
My pal's wife has been on a bus for three hours from the centre of town and still only at Gilmerton on her way home to Bonnyrigg. I, on the other hand, am curled up snug at home in my Liberton lair with a hot mug of tea and an unexpectedly early home Mrs One Day Soon...

Also in Libby home took 3 hours from colinton to liberton . Nightmare

28-02-2018, 04:12 PM

"just now" :faf:

28-02-2018, 04:17 PM
Woohoo what do I win?

A weekend stay in Shieldhill? :greengrin

"just now" :faf:

You're too late with that line. :na na:

28-02-2018, 04:18 PM
Also in Libby home took 3 hours from colinton to liberton . Nightmare

Could've adjourned to the Libby Inn for a pint but it's permanently shut these days...

28-02-2018, 04:19 PM
A weekend stay in Shieldhill? :greengrin

You're too late with that line. :na na:

Did anyone play the Carmina Burana music yet or is that reserved for Dundee?

28-02-2018, 04:20 PM
Seems to be the south and west of Edinburgh getting it worst. I left work in Leith at 3, was in Newcraighall by 3.40. Roads were quiet and with a bit care driving was fine. Currently looking out at a big patch of blue sky and no snow for about an hour. Kids out playing and people walking dogs and so on.

A few miles away they are closing the Bypass and a few folk I know have said it's taken them hours to travel around the Gyle, Colinton, Fairmilehead and so on. I suppose being that bit closer to the sea must make all the difference.

28-02-2018, 04:20 PM
Anyone of our meteorologists able to compare versus the disruption we faced in Embra in 2010? Seemed like a good while before the snow cleared... only day ever I didn’t make it into work - buses were off and t was an icerink our there folks in cross country skis and some bloke skiing off Salisbury crags.

28-02-2018, 04:23 PM
Eddie the Eagle??

hibs#1
28-02-2018, 04:30 PM
[QUOTE=Sir David Gray;5328979]A weekend stay in Shieldhill? :greengrin

I'd like to donate that prize to charity please 😁

28-02-2018, 04:30 PM
Anyone of our meteorologists able to compare versus the disruption we faced in Embra in 2010? Seemed like a good while before the snow cleared... only day ever I didn’t make it into work - buses were off and t was an icerink our there folks in cross country skis and some bloke skiing off Salisbury crags.
Things seem more organised this time. In 2010 it seemed liked they just reacted to the situation when it was too late. This time the warnings have been put out early and everyone has been sent home. It remains to be seen if it was completely necessary or effective.

28-02-2018, 04:31 PM
I drove from Fort Kinnaird to Bollah Towers, Blackford, earlier this afternoon. It took me fourteen hours, I was accosted by three caribou, a pack of wild hunting dogs and a group of ned emperor penguins. There was a water spout, a volcano and a tsunami as well as all the snow. I'm now relaxing with a 1985 Cheval Blanc and a beef bourguignon. I blame the council, it's a disgrace.

Just as an update :aok:

28-02-2018, 04:38 PM
I drove from Fort Kinnaird to Bollah Towers, Blackford, earlier this afternoon. It took me fourteen hours, I was accosted by three caribou, a pack of wild hunting dogs and a group of ned emperor penguins. There was a water spout, a volcano and a tsunami as well as all the snow. I'm now relaxing with a 1985 Cheval Blanc and a beef bourguignon. I blame the council, it's a disgrace.

I don't believe you.

Beef bourguignon? On a school night?

28-02-2018, 04:40 PM
Anyone think the games in danger?

28-02-2018, 04:45 PM
I'd like to donate that prize to charity please 😁

The prize is non-transferable I'm afraid.

28-02-2018, 04:47 PM

If you drive via The Wisp and Danderhall what do you expect?

28-02-2018, 04:48 PM
Livingston shopping centre closed at least until noon tomorrow.

28-02-2018, 04:51 PM
I think the fort is closed as well.

Jay
28-02-2018, 04:53 PM

Police closed the road this afternoon. My son was trying to get home from work. Took an hour to get to asda from the alba centre and had to abandon his car at the civic centre and walk an hour and a half in the blizzards. Normally takes 15 mins to get home.

28-02-2018, 05:02 PM
Pitch inspection at 1830 I am hearing.

28-02-2018, 05:02 PM
Just checked my work email and had an email saying we are closed tomorrow as well.

28-02-2018, 05:04 PM

Collateral damage.
But Stadium being used as a holding pen for folks unable to get home to East Lothian and the Borders (joke*).

* although I did see someone on social media through in the West opening up his gym for folks that are homeless.

I did wonder about the guy in the park at Regents Road presume he got picked up and sheltered (think he was ill recently and kind folks were trying to persuade him to go indoors / get treatment ) I couldn’t quite make out his usual bench that would have been impossible to bear overnight.

Hope he’s safe and sound.

Remember to call in or phone elderly folks to make sure they’re ok and stocked up with supplies...

28-02-2018, 05:07 PM
I had a funeral at warriston at 4pm, but when we left Livingston at 2pm, it didn't take long to realise we were going nowhere....absolute gridlock.
All exits blocked with cars....had to abandon the car and walk home.

28-02-2018, 05:08 PM
Pitch inspection at 1830 I am hearing.

Deserted just now around Easter Road, looks like it will be a really poor crowd.

28-02-2018, 05:08 PM
I'm in Glasgow and our factory will not be open that will be due to the fact we have 30 tankers a day arriving with spirit and trucks with bottles cases etc.

28-02-2018, 05:20 PM
I had a funeral at warriston at 4pm, but when we left Livingston at 2pm, it didn't take long to realise we were going nowhere....absolute gridlock.
All exits blocked with cars....had to abandon the car and walk home.

Livi sounds like carnage! People abandoning cars is pretty extreme how’s that going to play out?

28-02-2018, 05:37 PM
So is this warning only for people using vehicles as transport such as cars buses trains etc or will I be able to tell my work in the morning that I’m no walking to work because the red warning is on until 10? :greengrin

28-02-2018, 05:39 PM
I'm so glad I made the decision to stay at home this morning. Reading some of the stories on here and watching it all on the news really sounds horrendous.

I don't envy anyone who had to make journeys today. If anyone is out just now and is reading this, I hope you get home safely.

28-02-2018, 05:46 PM
Could've adjourned to the Libby Inn for a pint but it's permanently shut these days...

Aww, for it to be open again.......

28-02-2018, 05:46 PM
The advice on the news was not to leave your home if at all possible.

That is just beautiful. Music to my ears. Cheers!

28-02-2018, 05:48 PM
The advice on the news was not to leave your home if at all possible.

I'm throwing rock salt at the pavement from my window, to comply. I don't want to be another statistic at the mortuary,

28-02-2018, 05:52 PM
I wonder if tonights episode of Shetland will still be on? :-)

28-02-2018, 05:54 PM
So is this warning only for people using vehicles as transport such as cars buses trains etc or will I be able to tell my work in the morning that I’m no walking to work because the red warning is on until 10? :greengrin

I was thinking about starting to walk and see how it was. If it was ridiculous I'd turn back.

The more I think about it though the more I think I might be being a bit daft doing that. Not that I see myself in any real danger, I've walked and climbed in worse, but more because I can't see many others being in and the thanks will probably be a bit limited.

28-02-2018, 06:05 PM
Looks like I’ll be walking to the RIE at 6 tomorrow 😩

28-02-2018, 06:07 PM
I don't believe you.

Beef bourguignon? On a school night?

Absolutement. I aced it, slow cooker job. No school tomorrow so I get piled into the rich food and booze. I used the trauma of walking through 'The Beast' as justification to Mrs Bollah.

28-02-2018, 06:10 PM
I had to walk from my house to Asda earlier to buy vodka. It was a harrowing experience. I had to wear a jacket I hadn’t worn for years and the spirit isle in Asda is near the end of the store and I was wearing a woolly Peruvian hat. I was sweating like a hearts fan in a nursery. Super Leigh was in there as well. He wasn’t sweating though as he didn’t have a woolly Peruvian hat on.

28-02-2018, 06:16 PM
The busses are off now. It's a veritable snowageddon.

28-02-2018, 06:16 PM
I was thinking about starting to walk and see how it was. If it was ridiculous I'd turn back.

The more I think about it though the more I think I might be being a bit daft doing that. Not that I see myself in any real danger, I've walked and climbed in worse, but more because I can't see many others being in and the thanks will probably be a bit limited.

Likewise. I usually walk and it takes me about 30 mins. There’s people who live closer than me who would never dream of walking in any conditions. They’ll not be in tomorrow until at least after the alert has been downgraded because they’ll just say they always get the bus and can’t possibly walk to work. So I’ll be doing the same.

28-02-2018, 06:20 PM
Dublin Council have sent workers home until Monday. That's a good employer and for me Public Services should set standards for Public Safety.

28-02-2018, 06:30 PM

If it's off we can just reschedule it for Saturday

28-02-2018, 06:39 PM
If it's off we can just reschedule it for Saturday

Yup

28-02-2018, 06:56 PM
This pie is stone cold and where is everyone?

28-02-2018, 06:59 PM
20270 :offski:

28-02-2018, 07:33 PM
20270 :offski:

Ooft! Coffee all over my phone! ;-)

28-02-2018, 07:48 PM
Any team news?

Santa Cruz
28-02-2018, 07:50 PM
Saps. I'm out the back garden with a can of super and a orange ball.

SideBurns
28-02-2018, 07:58 PM
Dublin Council have sent workers home until Monday. That's a good employer and for me Public Services should set standards for Public Safety.

Once again, I find myself gutted that I'm a generation removed from being able to apply for an Irish passport in the post-Brexit era. Several days of non-stop Guinness to come for the lucky cooncil workers.

TheSouthMoroccan
28-02-2018, 08:08 PM
Last few pages, best laugh for a while on here

stuart-farquhar
28-02-2018, 08:10 PM
Once again, I find myself gutted that I'm a generation removed from being able to apply for an Irish passport in the post-Brexit era. Several days of non-stop Guinness to come for the lucky cooncil workers.

Sounds like a severe punishment drinking that weird pretendy beer or mush!

28-02-2018, 08:11 PM
Lads, lads. None of us are working tomorrow. Unique opportunity for a massive .net snowball fight gathering surely?

28-02-2018, 08:13 PM
Lads, lads. None of us are working tomorrow. Unique opportunity for a massive .net snowball fight gathering surely?

Game of football on the Links. Show these pampered pros that a wee bit snow doesn't stop the real men and women.

28-02-2018, 08:13 PM

They're banned apparently on H&S grounds, at least in some schools down south they are! Seriously.

28-02-2018, 08:28 PM
They're banned apparently on H&S grounds, at least in some schools down south they are! Seriously.

We could maybe organise it somewhere the teachers won't see? :hyper

28-02-2018, 08:39 PM
Still think the VAR decision not to award us our first goal tonight was a shocker. All because they coudnae tell if the white ball had crossed the white goal line. Travesty. Anyone else agree?

28-02-2018, 08:54 PM
Took me nearly 4 hours to get home to Carnwath from Edinburgh

Sent from my VTR-L09 using Tapatalk

StevieT
28-02-2018, 08:55 PM
Still think the VAR decision not to award us our first goal tonight was a shocker. All because they coudnae tell if the white ball had crossed the white goal line. Travesty. Anyone else agree?

I wasn't in my seat in the FF upper so couldn't tell

28-02-2018, 08:57 PM

McLaren should have buried it and we wouldn't be having this conversation.

28-02-2018, 08:57 PM
Took me nearly 4 hours to get home to Carnwath from Edinburgh

Sent from my VTR-L09 using Tapatalk
You go the Lang Whang? What was it like?

28-02-2018, 09:00 PM
Scenting Rix/Romanov/Budge/Trump/Putin’s hand in this nonsense. Notice the Yams game last night was okay? The football authorities should hang their heads in shame.

28-02-2018, 09:01 PM
McLaren should have buried it and we wouldn't be having this conversation.

TBH I missed the disallowed goal altogether. I was still in shock from Lennon fielding Riordan as a triallist. Anyone think he could still do a job for us?

28-02-2018, 09:07 PM
TBH I missed the disallowed goal altogether. I was still in shock from Lennon fielding Riordan as a triallist. Anyone think he could still do a job for us?

He's obviously got something to offer, ODS, but he's never a centre half.

28-02-2018, 09:09 PM

That free kick at the end to win the game was a peach from Deeks, Lennon just speaking to the press and saying that he met Deek up Arthur seat when they were out for a jog, they are both up for a snowball fight, just don't hit Neil.

28-02-2018, 09:13 PM
He's obviously got something to offer, ODS, but he's never a centre half.
You're being too hard on him. Once O'Connor settles into the sweeper role they will make a great pairing and we can get rid of Hanlon and McGregor.......

28-02-2018, 09:13 PM
Scenting Budges hand deep in Putin. The football authorities should hang their heads in shame.

Quite right Bob. Snow joke.

28-02-2018, 09:17 PM
Quite right Bob. Snow joke.

You're going to get a frosty reception for starting puns.

28-02-2018, 09:22 PM
That free kick at the end to win the game was a peach from Deeks, Lennon just speaking to the press and saying that he met Deek up Arthur seat when they were out for a jog, they are both up for a snowball fight, just don't hit Neil.

That goal celebration was brilliant but I'm worried Deeks might get a ban for running up to Neil Lennon and impersonating a referee sending Lennie to the stand. Neil defo should not have done the swearing back at Deeks and sarcastic clapping thing either.

We need at least one of them in the dugout. Lennon just isn't a stand manager and Deeks needs game time, especially if they're going to keep him in that central defensive pairing with Lewis.

28-02-2018, 09:28 PM
Thunder snow in fife.....amazing sight

28-02-2018, 09:31 PM
Hammering down in East Lothian now. A1 and A720 bypass horrendous according to the radio.

28-02-2018, 09:33 PM
Hammering down in East Lothian now. A1 and A720 bypass horrendous according to the radio.

I thought the bypass was shut? Is it doing unseen work?

28-02-2018, 09:34 PM
I thought the bypass was shut? Is it doing unseen work?

Open now seemingly... just.

28-02-2018, 09:46 PM

http://www.bbc.co.uk/news/av/43225661/pupils-versus-teachers-snowball-fight

28-02-2018, 10:06 PM
Going on the traffic Scotland Web site is good for checking road conditions. The M8 and bypass look mental.

28-02-2018, 10:09 PM
Going on the traffic Scotland Web site is good for checking road conditions. The M8 and bypass look mental.

We need to get the Maltese gritting lorries back, permanently this time :agree:

28-02-2018, 10:11 PM
We need to get the Maltese gritting lorries back, permanently this time :agree:

Maybe we could also get some of their weather :greengrin

28-02-2018, 10:24 PM

😲

28-02-2018, 11:23 PM
The undersoil heating will be on, the areas around the stadium are gritted and clear with the main snow fall forecast from 9pm onward on Wednesday with coastal areas of the Forth on the very southern fringe of anticipated snow fall area after 9pm. Edinburgh not due to get the really heavy snow until Thursday.

Game will be on but if you judge the underfoot conditions too risky listen to game on radio.

Bunch of snowflake drama queens on here...😉:na na:

28-02-2018, 11:26 PM
I still think we won’t get much snow in Edinburgh. The amount of amber warnings we have had and nothing happens. If it does happen tonight I’ll be shocked and if the games off I’ll take my son sledging.first time I've heard of a shocked sledger.:rolleyes:

28-02-2018, 11:32 PM
I've never understood why this happens. I've seen games cancelled by the police because of difficult driving conditions on several occasions in Scotland. I've never seen it happen in England. So a game with an expected crowd of say 5k gets cancelled for safety reasons. Meanwhile tens of thousands are going shopping, theatre, pubs etc. The police don't shut M & S down
( nor for rugby ), why is football treated differently?M &S Was shut very early yesterday in the biggest retail park in Scotland . my missus works there, at Kinnaird Park Edin.

28-02-2018, 11:44 PM
I posted much earlier on this thread, about the beast from the east, I said that the forecasters were usually good these days and therefor I would not even think about going to the game, which I predicted was not happening anyway. not trying to be a smartass in any way but I did find it rather silly that many on here were unable to heed the warnings of the weather forecasters. I look out my window now , and see about 5 inches of snow over the vehicles. we new it was coming.a bit hard on those who have lost out in monetary terms and arrangements for travel, hotels etc

JimboHibs
01-03-2018, 12:12 AM
I posted much earlier on this thread, about the beast from the east, I said that the forecasters were usually good these days and therefor I would not even think about going to the game, which I predicted was not happening anyway. not trying to be a smartass in any way but I did find it rather silly that many on here were unable to heed the warnings of the weather forecasters. I look out my window now , and see about 5 inches of snow over the vehicles. we new it was coming.a bit hard on those who have lost out in monetary terms and arrangements for travel, hotels etc

Not trying to be a smartass but i'll have a gloat anyway that many on here etc ....

01-03-2018, 03:37 AM
first time I've heard of a shocked sledger.:rolleyes:

First for everything right?

01-03-2018, 04:07 AM
Just got up for work. Went out to clean the car. I won't be going anywhere today. Absolutely carnage out there. Won't even get out my street.

01-03-2018, 04:41 AM
Same here and the buses are off too!! Wee walk to the rie for me. 😯 #prayforcabbaged

01-03-2018, 05:25 AM
Just got up for work. Went out to clean the car. I won't be going anywhere today. Absolutely carnage out there. Won't even get out my street.

The snow is halfway up the front end of my car, I might be lucky to make work on Monday :greengrin

aljo7-0
01-03-2018, 05:54 AM
Buses off. Snow falling. Boots on. Perfect conditions for a wee walk to work. Just wish I stayed on the East side of town so the wind was behind me!

01-03-2018, 05:56 AM
Same here and the buses are off too!! Wee walk to the rie for me. 😯 #prayforcabbagedLikewise to the RIE, ready to walk to work now 😲

01-03-2018, 06:03 AM
How far are people walking to work?

I’m about 3miles I reckon.

01-03-2018, 06:16 AM

Although it's nowhere near as bad here as in Edinburgh, the roads are slippy enough that I'm going to work from home for the time being then see what it's like as the day goes on - I only have 10 miles to do, but on country roads.

01-03-2018, 06:30 AM

About 6 for me. Half way there now. Left Newcraighall at 6.50, taken in a bit of Niddrie, Bingham, Mountcastle, Northfield and now coming up for Lochend and there's been no snow bar a 2 minute flurry. Few layers, a hat and some gloves and walking in urban areas is a doddle.

Peanut Shaz
01-03-2018, 06:40 AM
About 6 for me. Half way there now. Left Newcraighall at 6.50, taken in a bit of Niddrie, Bingham, Mountcastle, Northfield and now coming up for Lochend and there's been no snow bar a 2 minute flurry. Few layers, a hat and some gloves and walking in urban areas is a doddle.

I've not to go in until 11. Will set off about 0930 if walking. Hopefully buses be back on by then.

01-03-2018, 06:53 AM
Asking staff to walk miles to work for me is wrong. Surely they should send out taxis to pick folk up?

01-03-2018, 06:57 AM
I'm lucky I can easily work from home, but the snowboard is getting removed from the attic today! :greengrin

I've never seen snow like this in the UK before.

01-03-2018, 06:58 AM
Asking staff to walk miles to work for me is wrong. Surely they should send out taxis to pick folk up?

My work sent a text saying make your own decision.

Based on the conditions and the fact I likr walking in the snow I decided to go in. I've not walked anywhere so far where the snow is much more than about 12-15cm, maybe slightly higher where it's drifted. I walk to work at least twice a week anyway so it's no big deal really. It's the people outside the city who I feel sorry for.