View Full Version : Transfer rumours (Hibs only)
Pages :
[
2]
19-01-2018, 03:12 PM
Would take McGowan.
The Leith Dutch
19-01-2018, 03:13 PM
I think it’s funny how people give him absolute dogs abuse but whenever he gives a bit stick back folk go absolutely bonkers.
Classic football fan stuff - spend the game riding a player from the stand about every aspect real and rumoured from his private life then express horror & outrage and start demanding the Police get involved when he flicks the V's at the crowd while being subbed.
Delboy4
19-01-2018, 03:17 PM
Originally Posted by lgnsh70 http://www.hibs.net/images/hibsnet/buttons/viewpost-right.png (http://www.hibs.net/showthread.php?p=5282478#post5282478)
Not at all.
There's so many other good footballers out there that would jump at the chance to sign for us that didn't spend their best years at the piggery.
Two days before a derby a poster with an age of 51 starts this rumour.
Madness.
In my opinion.
Mon the Cabbage!!!
Aye, he was a Hibs fan last year when he was 50, but now he’s 51 he’s a Hearts ****. Good spot Sherlock.
Aye, and I'm 52 the day after the derby match SO when we **** the Maroon Baboons I'll be pi$$hed in the pub and then get more pi$$hed at midnight celebrating my birthday!!! Now go and think of something relevant
to say Ignsh70 !!!!
19-01-2018, 03:17 PM
Dont care who he played for previously could do a job as cover. Would probably prefer the young guy from Dunfermline though never seen him play.
Jim, for a whole range of reasons we shouldn't sign McGowan. He's a really decent lad but his maroon colours are firmly nailed to the mast, he's one their cup final heroes, he's on social media regularly supporting them (rightly so given his past), and he didn't set the heather on fire at United if honest.
He's also on a hiding to nothing - makes a mistake, misplaces a pass, at fault for a goal - the torrents of abuse from the stand would be escalated because of his footballing past with our rivals. Our support have been really really positive the last three seasons, really behind the boys - a signing like this could go the other way and make things very uncomfortable (for him as a player too). Much better players out there for us to sign.
19-01-2018, 03:18 PM
I agree with you but then we're of an age before social media, when Hibs/Hearts players were best friends & when we had an annual Edinburgh select game. For the avoidance of doubt I loathe Hawrts & particularly what they've become but I would sign anyone if they would improve our team.
Agree with every word.No fools like old (or not so old in your case)fools no doubt:greengrin
Tornadoes70
19-01-2018, 03:23 PM
Originally Posted by lgnsh70 http://www.hibs.net/images/hibsnet/buttons/viewpost-right.png (http://www.hibs.net/showthread.php?p=5282478#post5282478)
Not at all.
There's so many other good footballers out there that would jump at the chance to sign for us that didn't spend their best years at the piggery.
Two days before a derby a poster with an age of 51 starts this rumour.
Madness.
In my opinion.
Mon the Cabbage!!!
Aye, and I'm 52 the day after the derby match SO when we **** the Maroon Baboons I'll be pi$$hed in the pub and then get more pi$$hed at midnight celebrating my birthday!!! Now go and think of something relevant
to say Ignsh70 !!!!
Hey, Happy Birthday when if comes then and here's hoping we're all celebrating come Monday morning. Sounds as if I jumped the gun a wee bit. Just on edge you know with everything thats being said and the derby coming up.
Apologies.
Mon the Cabbage!!!
19-01-2018, 03:29 PM
Ryan McGowan is brutal. He played at the back in the worst Dundee United side i've ever seen at Easter Road. He's also been practically semi-retired the last few years playing in diddy leagues with his only concern being his wage. Oh and he's a hertz c***.
Firestarter
19-01-2018, 03:33 PM
Ryan McGowan is brutal. He played at the back in the worst Dundee United side i've ever seen at Easter Road. He's also been practically semi-retired the last few years playing in diddy leagues with his only concern being his wage. Oh and he's a hertz ****.
Mostly this. If he was coming to us it would be because his beloved doesn't want him and to get himself noticed for the WC. That wouldn't sit right with me and I would doubt he would even give 90% never mind 100. It's up there with Billy Beown becoming assistant. I would rather have Tam Mcmanus at right back or Alen Orman.
Delboy4
19-01-2018, 03:35 PM
Hey, Happy Birthday when if comes then and here's hoping we're all celebrating come Monday morning. Sounds as if I jumped the gun a wee bit. Just on edge you know with everything thats being said and the derby coming up.
Apologies.
Mon the Cabbage!!!
No problem mate.
You know, after all the crap years I've had following Hibs whilst playing the Yams ESP the 80's, not being able to buy a win, getting cuffed in the final etc...
I used to be very nervous about facing them but I feel so up beat now because we have a team of footballers who play FOOTBALL where they have nothing! If we turn up on the day, we will
take a few off them, easy! I feel very positive AND as we say...
...KEEP THE FAITH :agree:
19-01-2018, 03:38 PM
Jim, for a whole range of reasons we shouldn't sign McGowan. He's a really decent lad but his maroon colours are firmly nailed to the mast, he's one their cup final heroes, he's on social media regularly supporting them (rightly so given his past), and he didn't set the heather on fire at United if honest.
He's also on a hiding to nothing - makes a mistake, misplaces a pass, at fault for a goal - the torrents of abuse from the stand would be escalated because of his footballing past with our rivals. Our support have been really really positive the last three seasons, really behind the boys - a signing like this could go the other way and make things very uncomfortable (for him as a player too). Much better players out there for us to sign.
Probably makes sense.
19-01-2018, 03:40 PM
No problem mate.
You know, after all the crap years I've had following Hibs whilst playing the Yams ESP the 80's, not being able to buy a win, getting cuffed in the final etc...
I used to be very nervous about facing them but I feel so up beat now because we have a team of footballers who play FOOTBALL where they have nothing! If we turn up on the day, we will
Said it before on this thread but i reckon this team will win 2-0 or 2-1
Marciano
Efe, McGregor, Hanlon, Lewis
Marv
McGeough, McGinn (due a goal in this fixture)
Boyle, MacLaren, Simon Murray
with Oli Shaw coming off the bench c.60min for MacLaren, plus the likes of Slivka, Porteous (who I rate highly) and Bain in reserve.
:flag::nlgwa:flag:
Tornadoes70
19-01-2018, 03:44 PM
No problem mate.
Great post.
The pressure is all on the yams to try to prevent ten in a row.
Mon the Cabbage!!!
19-01-2018, 03:45 PM
To be fair,I heard the McGowan rumour a week or so a go from an Arab, but I just thought it was usual chatter.
JimboHibs
19-01-2018, 03:46 PM
Agree though can see it happening,on the plus side he'll be 100% fit and ready to go ......
19-01-2018, 03:47 PM
Plays CB & RB just what we need at the moment whilst Whitty and SDG are out
I agree with that...and he would be an OK acquisition for me..but wouldn't Niklas Gunnarson give us the same...I'd prefer we went for him....
SonOfDavidFrancey
19-01-2018, 03:50 PM
To be fair,I heard the McGowan rumour a week or so a go from an Arab, but I just thought it was usual chatter.
An Arab from Dubai, or an Arab from Dundee?
19-01-2018, 03:56 PM
I agree with that...and he would be an OK acquisition for me..but wouldn't Niklas Gunnarson give us the same...I'd prefer we went for him....
I miss the big guy, was a class defender :aok:
19-01-2018, 03:59 PM
Stanton to stay with Dundee United permanently Take it Hibs have just released him from his contract allowing United to sign him on a permanent deal
Hibee Ryan
19-01-2018, 04:02 PM
Ryan McGowan just recently bought a new build house out at Loanhead. So could be looking to move back to Scotland as his girlfriend still lives here. Contract expired with the Chinese team he was at recently.
Not saying I have any inside knowledge about transfer but facts do back this one up as having potential.
19-01-2018, 04:09 PM
Ryan McGowan just recently bought a new build house out an Loanhead. So could be looking to move back to Scotland as his girlfriend still lives here. Contract expired with the Chinese team he was at recently.
Not saying I have any inside knowledge about transfer but facts do back this one up as having potential.
Recently bought a new build house out an Loanhead. So could be looking to move back to Scotland as his girlfriend still lives here. Contract expired with the Chinese team he was at recently. Not saying I have any inside knowledge about transfer but facts do back this one up as having potentialRecently bought a new build house out an Loanhead. So could be looking to move back to Scotland as his girlfriend still lives here. Contract expired with the Chinese team he was at recently. Not saying I have any inside knowledge about transfer but facts do back this one up as having potential
That's three times I have heard that rumour recently :-)
19-01-2018, 04:17 PM
lol
19-01-2018, 04:29 PM
Must have made a few quid to be able to buy so many houses in loanhead
Hibee Ryan
19-01-2018, 04:31 PM
No idea how I've managed that! Whoops
19-01-2018, 04:52 PM
No problem mate.
The 'Level Playing-field' has worked wonders for all Hibees - Jambos not that keen on it, tho !
19-01-2018, 05:04 PM
I don't think the tone of this interview is of somebody who is about to sign for Hibs
http://www.deadlinenews.co.uk/2018/01/16/ex-hearts-defender-ryan-mcgowan-fears-socceroos-pal-jamie-maclaren-could-put-old-side-to-the-sword-in-scottish-cup-edinburgh-derby/
McIntosh
19-01-2018, 05:12 PM
I don't think the tone of this interview is of somebody who is about to sign for Hibs
http://www.deadlinenews.co.uk/2018/01/16/ex-hearts-defender-ryan-mcgowan-fears-socceroos-pal-jamie-maclaren-could-put-old-side-to-the-sword-in-scottish-cup-edinburgh-derby/
Agreed but I think more importantly he signed for Al - Sharjah in August.
Firestarter
19-01-2018, 05:18 PM
Worryingly he's not that unfriendly re Hibs. He's still brutal though.
huggie1875
19-01-2018, 06:05 PM
McGowan would be a step backwards I think we have better
McGowan will not be joining Hibs. 100% no way.
Classic football fan stuff - spend the game riding a player from the stand about every aspect real and rumoured from his private life then express horror & outrage and start demanding the Police get involved when he flicks the V's at the crowd while being subbed.
That would be an impressive feat.
Northern Hibby
19-01-2018, 06:53 PM
Aye, he was a Hibs fan last year when he was 50, but now he’s 51 he’s a Hearts ****. Good spot Sherlock.
Changed my d.o.b on Facebook says I'm 52, to many jambos ready to pounce 😳
19-01-2018, 06:54 PM
Changed my d.o.b on Facebook says I'm 52, to many jambos ready to pounce 😳
I've changed mine to 70.
Tornadoes70
19-01-2018, 07:05 PM
Changed my d.o.b on Facebook says I'm 52, to many jambos ready to pounce
Way wide of the mark.
I apologised to Delboy who accepted the apology. No need for smartass wisecracks from others.
Mon the Cabbage!!!
GreenOnions
19-01-2018, 09:34 PM
Typical Saturday for some :cb
19-01-2018, 09:35 PM
100% this
Please don't be true
19-01-2018, 09:56 PM
McGowan can go take a flying one :agree:
has anyone actually fallen for this pretty p@sh wind up
Dons to bid for McGeouch according to Daily Express.
Stokesy's on fire
20-01-2018, 07:24 AM
The sheep can get stuffed!
20-01-2018, 07:27 AM
Thats worrying, might have indicated his interest in going.
Stokesy's on fire
20-01-2018, 07:30 AM
Thats worrying, might have indicated his interest in going.
I really hope we retain him. I wish the club would get this one sorted out so we can at least know one of our best players will be staying.
20-01-2018, 07:30 AM
Been doing the rounds for a wee while this one Whats keeping them They could snap him up for nothing on a Pre Contract so they must be worried about The Rangers influx if players You would think given they sold McLean this window , they would have had someone lined up ti replace him
If true i would imagine they can offer him more money than us and still not signed his new contract
20-01-2018, 07:32 AM
The sheep can get stuffed!
Think this was discussed on the PM board a while back but you’ll struggle to find a bigger fan of Mcgeouch than me, I think he’s a tremendous player and I’d much rather keep him than not..........
However something has to change in our midfield, we really need to find a way of getting goals from the middle of the park and that’s clearly never going to happen from Mcgeouch. If he was to leave and we were to replace him with someone that pitches in with 5-10 goals from midfield it might not end up being the worst thing in the world.
In terms of ball retention and building possession there’s not many better in Scottish football IMO.
Stokesy's on fire
20-01-2018, 07:36 AM
Think this was discussed on the PM board a while back but you’ll struggle to find a bigger fan of Mcgeouch than me, I think he’s a tremendous player and I’d much rather keep him than not..........
However something has to change in our midfield, we really need to find a way of getting goals from the middle of the park and that’s clearly never going to happen from Mcgeouch. If he was to leave and we were to replace him with someone that pitches in with 5-10 goals from midfield it might not end up being the worst thing in the world.
In terms of ball retention and building possession there’s not many better in Scottish football IMO.
I expect McGinn to leave this window and it worrys me that we could be without Dylan and JM. Slivka hasnt been that great for us so far so we can't really count on him to step up.
For what its worth i would welcome back Andrew Shinnie for his assists.
20-01-2018, 07:42 AM
I expect McGinn to leave this window and it worrys me that we could be without Dylan and JM. Slivka hasnt been that great for us so far so we can't really count on him to step up.
For what its worth i would welcome back Andrew Shinnie for his assists.
Of course that’s the very worst case scenario however if they were to leave you’d need to assume they’d be replaced.
FWIW I don’t think there’s any chance he’ll be sold this window, the amount of money required to make it worthwhile for us wouldn’t be worth it for Aberdeen.
20-01-2018, 08:02 AM
My one concern is 3 players that Lennon signed in summer of rumours are to be believed...are being punted. Big Dave, Stokes and Swanson. Now before someone jumps down my throat I am a fan of Lennon, but his recruitment so far as been very questionable and that concerns me with the Stubbs team starting to break up. There have been too many poor/ineffective signings and this record needs to improve for us to continue to succeed and progress on the park. I do wonder sometimes if Lennon is struggling a bit with recruitment at our level of budget.
20-01-2018, 08:08 AM
Problem is McGeogh and Bartley are both defensive midfielders. Different types obviously, McGeogh is the ‘QB Pirlo’ type while Bartley is the ‘Makalele break play, play easy ball’ type. Most teams have one or the other, we have both. It means we only have one midfielder driving forward with the ball in the final third. Teams know that if they can mark McGinn then we create a lot less in that area.
20-01-2018, 08:23 AM
They have already. Express is weeks late with that.
20-01-2018, 08:26 AM
My one concern is 3 players that Lennon signed in summer of rumours are to be believed...are being punted. Big Dave, Stokes and Swanson. Now before someone jumps down my throat I am a fan of Lennon, but his recruitment so far as been very questionable and that concerns me with the Stubbs team starting to break up. There have been too many poor/ineffective signings and this record needs to improve for us to continue to succeed and progress on the park. I do wonder sometimes if Lennon is struggling a bit with recruitment at our level of budget.
I thought Stubbs did well given we were in the Championship and expected once promoted we would see a further improvement
For me the jury is still out and will see what happens in the Summer
But big Dave hasn't been considered good enough to get game time and we may not even be able to offload him
The other Lithuanian has dropped down the pecking order after a promising start
Danny has been unfortunate but we haven't seen the best of him
Rocky has been in and out of form
Whittaker was injured when we signed him and again we this has meant we haven't seen him fully fit
Barker on form has won us games with his assists and is still learning the game and should get better as Season progresses
Effie we knew what we were getting and mistakes apart has been a good acquisition
Stokes if you take his penalties away has been as prolific as i thought Played great at home v Ross County recently but hasn't done that enough
Bain will be fine as cover and McLaren we will need to wait and see
So tend to agree there is room for improvement
20-01-2018, 08:33 AM
Big Dave, Swanson and Whittaker have been recruitment failures, no doubt about it and that is the three positions we most urgently needed to fill this window.
20-01-2018, 08:34 AM
Been doing the rounds for a wee while this one Whats keeping them They could snap him up for nothing on a Pre Contract so they must be worried about The Rangers influx if players You would think given they sold McLean this window , they would have had someone lined up ti replace him
If true i would imagine they can offer him more money than us and still not signed his new contract
They are certainly being backed financially up there that’s for sure
Stokesy's on fire
20-01-2018, 08:35 AM
Yet they have no idea who is going to fund their new stadium...
20-01-2018, 08:37 AM
Big Dave, Swanson and Whittaker have been recruitment failures, no doubt about it and that is the three positions we most urgently needed to fill this window.
Sadly don’t think there’s any chance of three signings now. Lennon said the other day we are looking for one more but it’s not a disaster if it doesn’t happen.
20-01-2018, 08:46 AM
Milne has had his critics at times and their Stadium is do piecemeal it now looks out of place
But they clearly are attracting financial backers Which makes Mcinness lack of Silverware standout He has opted to stay , but if he goes another few Seasons without winning anything he is in danger of being punted They have gone out their way to stick by him So he has to Deliver something tangible by way of Cup Success
20-01-2018, 09:09 AM
It's not sounding too positive re mcgeouch. Worries me more if we'd have a replacement lined up. Been our best player this season
Didn't think I'd see the day we were losing our best players to Aberdeen
Stokesy's on fire
20-01-2018, 09:11 AM
Milne has had his critics at times and their Stadium is do piecemeal it now looks out of place
But they clearly are attracting financial backers Which makes Mcinness lack of Silverware standout He has opted to stay , but if he goes another few Seasons without winning anything he is in danger of being punted They have gone out their way to stick by him So he has to Deliver something tangible by way of Cup Success
They are stuck in the past and have achieved nothing for 40 years. Vile club with deluded fans
davidgray210516
20-01-2018, 09:18 AM
They are stuck in the past and have achieved nothing for 40 years. Vile club with deluded fans
They won the league cup 4 years ago and finished 2nd the past 3 seasons. Wouldn’t mind achieving nothing if that’s the case 😂
20-01-2018, 09:21 AM
That's quite strong. I Don't mind them. Try to play football and their fans have a bit if humour about them at times. Certainly rather deal with them that the sectarian nonsense of the old firm and yams.
Stokesy's on fire
20-01-2018, 09:24 AM
That's quite strong. I Don't mind them. Try to play football and their fans have a bit if humour about them at times. Certainly rather deal with them that the sectarian nonsense of the old firm and yams.
Their fans are as deluded as the jambos and trust me they dont have a sense of humour. Aberdeen away is like a trip to a library.
Stokesy's on fire
20-01-2018, 09:25 AM
They won the league cup 4 years ago and finished 2nd the past 3 seasons. Wouldn’t mind achieving nothing if that’s the case 😂
They did well in a league that didnt include hibs,hearts and Rangers....lets see how this season ends for the Sheep.
davidgray210516
20-01-2018, 09:29 AM
They did well in a league that didnt include hibs,hearts and Rangers....lets see how this season ends for the Sheep.
Had hearts n rangers last year. This year they’ve beaten us twice? Hope they do crumble this season but a bit harsh saying they haven’t achieved anything in 40 years. Got to give credit when credits due, they’ve done well recently.
Again going to agree, I started off Jan with great hopes of 2 or 3 new signings to complement a settled and successful team, unfortunately all rapidly going pear shaped with rumours of misbehavior players leaving etc and a cup game againts hearts tomorrow. Give me strength.
20-01-2018, 09:34 AM
It's not sounding too positive re mcgeouch. Worries me more if we'd have a replacement lined up. Been our best player this season
Didn't think I'd see the day we were losing our best players to Aberdeen
We are not are going too. It's just a speculative enquiry which they are doing. He won't go in the transfer window. If he let's his contract run down then it's up to him where he goes. This transfer window is all about slight adjustments to the squad. The summer window will see a lot more changes. Remember we lost Jason and said we'd struggle. Mcgeoch will be a big miss for us if he goes but hibs are tracking a few midfielders so let's just wait and see what happens. Lennon has hinted at movement in a couple of players so let's wait and see I would think nothing will happen until after next weekend as we have a midweek game to deal with first. If it goes to a replay then any transfers will be even trickier to get a over the line. This winter break leaves lots of time for peoples imagination to run wild.
20-01-2018, 09:37 AM
Again going to agree, I started off Jan with great hopes of 2 or 3 new signings to complement a settled and successful team, unfortunately all rapidly going pear shaped with rumours of misbehavior players leaving etc and a cup game againts hearts tomorrow. Give me strength.We r making a habit of agreeing with each other these days Lago lol...it's a concern so far not been the best window for us at all...and of the summer signings only Efe and Murray have been a success..needs to be better
20-01-2018, 09:40 AM
Again going to agree, I started off Jan with great hopes of 2 or 3 new signings to complement a settled and successful team, unfortunately all rapidly going pear shaped with rumours of misbehavior players leaving etc and a cup game againts hearts tomorrow. Give me strength.
Pear shaped?. Bain and mclaren and that's pear shaped. Pretty decent I'd say. Too many people believing speculation over fact yet again. The main loss is grays injury and Whittaker being out too. If stokes goes and we get another player in that's hardly a bad window. We are 4th in the league as far as I can see as well. Ah well let's not let facts ruin a good bit of speculation. Seems the way these days. Fake news is the only news in town. D trump has a lot to answer for.
We r making a habit of agreeing with each other these days Lago lol...it's a concern so far not been the best window for us at all...and of the summer signings only Efe and Murray have been a success..needs to be better
Bromance:greengrin
20-01-2018, 09:43 AM
Well said my man. Is pat mcginlay still fit enough. How we could do with a player like him. One of the most underated players ever to play for us.
20-01-2018, 10:10 AM
Well said my man. Is pat mcginlay still fit enough. How we could do with a player like him. One of the most underated players ever to play for us.
I'm not sure how McGinlay was underrated as he was very much a fan favourite. I agree that we could do with a similar player in the current squad though.
Sorry never underated when I was watching him, or by those around me at ER, really can't remember him in that contex.
GreenOnions
20-01-2018, 10:22 AM
I don't agree re Whittaker at all.
I think too many are judging him based on how he performed against Celtic at Easter Road in December when he was very poor.
However, I think that is extremely unfair. He had been out injured for a good while and, as most folk accept, was clearly nowhere near fit. He was put in for his first game back because we had no other fit right back and NL thought his experience against Sinclair would be helpful. It didn't work at all. One example of this was his lack of pace in that game. He's not as quick as he used to be but he's certainly not as slow as he appeared against Celtic that day. Further evidence of this is that he was subbed and has been out injured ever since.
He came back from injury too soon to help the team and it's cost him IMHO.
He started the season very well I thought although I'd accept his form dipped before his injury. He's still a class act though and, if fit, I think he'd be straight back into the team.
Pear shaped?. Bain and mclaren and that's pear shaped. Pretty decent I'd say. Too many people believing speculation over fact yet again. The main loss is grays injury and Whittaker being out too. If stokes goes and we get another player in that's hardly a bad window. We are 4th in the league as far as I can see as well. Ah well let's not let facts ruin a good bit of speculation. Seems the way these days. Fake news is the only news in town. D trump has a lot to answer for.
Stokes, Swanson,Big Dave going or gone, McGeough re signing in doubt, Gray, Whittaker injured. Nothing fake in there wish it was, still there's always if we get this or that player or if.... I'll stop there with the ifs.
20-01-2018, 10:50 AM
As of this moment nobody gone. Time to talk about it is if/when players go. I repeat its speculation. I don't see why people don't understand this. Three joy of social media.
20-01-2018, 10:52 AM
Both Bain and MacLaren are loan signings for six months.
Bain may hang about but MacLaren will definitely be off at the end...and it may well be we are happy to see him go.
20-01-2018, 10:58 AM
For all the great interviews George Craig talks he must take part responsibility with the big failure in the past window along with scouts.
Whittaker. 3 years contract for a 33 year old seems bizarre.
Stokes. On-going
Swanson - For me this was the one that gets me. 100% I sympathize with Swanson for what has been a year from hell. From hibs point of view they must have done their homework and realised this case was due to be heard this year and the effect it would have on the boy.
Big Dave. Failed
Slivka. Hasn't played.
Very disappointed that with all those signings there has been very little promise shown by any of them. Stokes scores goals but if he's a petulant child off the pitch for the past 12 years was it ever going to magically change?
Recruitment, George Craig need to redeem themselves.
Stokesy's on fire
20-01-2018, 11:02 AM
For all the great interviews George Craig talks he must take part responsibility with the big failure in the past window along with scouts.
Stokes. On-going
Swanson - For me this was the one that gets me. 100% I sympathize with Swanson for what has been a year from hell. From hibs point of view they must have done their homework and realised this case was due to be heard this year and the effect it would have on the boy.
Big Dave. Failed
Slivka. Hasn't played.
Very disappointed that with all those signings there has been very little promise shown by any of them. Stokes scores goals but if he's a petulant child off the pitch for the past 12 years was it ever going to magically change?
If he scores goals and wins us games then for me he can stay. Suarez bites people....and Barca love him. So he is also a bit of a child yet he is very good at his job as is Stokes.
20-01-2018, 11:06 AM
Stokes. On-going
Big Dave. Failed
Slivka. Hasn't played.
Big failure?
20-01-2018, 11:08 AM
Stokes. On-going
Big Dave. Failed
Slivka. Hasn't played.
Why is a 3 year contract for a 33 year old bizarre? Look at the number of players who look after themselves playing at a high level until their 37/38.
Stokes is 1 goal every 2 games this season and is proven quality at this level. He's admitted himself his form can be better, and he was a consummate professional at Celtic and last time he was here.
Swanson, injuries and off field has restricted his impact but that's not to say he's finished at Hibs.
Slivka has only been here 6 months, he'll need time and a chance to show what he can do.
Dave, I'll give you that 😂 he's mince tatties.
Tornadoes70
20-01-2018, 11:11 AM
Ally Crawford at Hamilton would be a good fit for a similar type role in my opinion. An industrious box to box player, chips in with a goal now and then and links the play. A good all round player who might be available at the right price. Mark O Hara at Dundee would be a bit of a coup if Dundee were willing to let him go for the right price. Still hoping Dylan will sign on again though as I'm sure the rest of us are. I mean who'd want to swap Hibernian and Edinburgh for the Sheep and the Granite City even for a few hundred a week extra, have to be slightly mad in my opinion.
Mon the Cabbage!!!
Here we go ten in a row.
20-01-2018, 11:15 AM
Why is a 3 year contract for a 33 year old bizarre? Look at the number of players who look after themselves playing at a high level until their 37/38.
Stokes is 1 goal every 2 games this season and is proven quality at this level. He's admitted himself his form can be better, and he was a consummate professional at Celtic and last time he was here.
Swanson, injuries and off field has restricted his impact but that's not to say he's finished at Hibs.
Slivka has only been here 6 months, he'll need time and a chance to show what he can do.
Dave, I'll give you that 😂 he's mince tatties.
I defo find it strange we gave Whitty 3 years considering previous injuries he’s had. 2 year max would have done!
Swanson as well all know had a bad year, but he should be fully focused on playing and doing the best for himself and Hibs. Would he be a loss.. No as we haven’t seen anything from him as it is. I like Swanson but I think a move may suit him.
Stokes.. sorry not near good enough this time round, if he stayed then he needs to up his game hugely. He’s got the talent that’s what annoys me.
But if Lennon thinks he can shift some out and replace with better I’m with him. Hanging onto players hoping they come good isn’t the best thing to do don’t think.
Slivka I think if played through the middle we’d see a good player there!
20-01-2018, 11:17 AM
Stokes. On-going
Big Dave. Failed
Slivka. Hasn't played.
Our signings could have worked out better as a whole but 'big failure'? Behave eh.
20-01-2018, 11:21 AM
I think the biggest thing with our recruitment is half of them haven’t had enough game time to show if they’re good enough, which is a concern in itself.
I honestly believe if we stick with Swanson he will come good and Slivka is getting better and more settled to the game when he plays centrally.
Barker has been good but that was to be expected.
We need more of our recruits to be straight in to or competing with the starting 11.
Also I don’t buy the losing Mcgeouch and replacing him with a 5-10 goal midfielder chat. Possession is key in football and he keeps it very well, there is normally 4/5 players ahead of him on the pitch that should be taking on the responsibility.
20-01-2018, 11:25 AM
I defo find it strange we gave Whitty 3 years considering previous injuries he’s had. 2 year max would have done!
Swanson as well all know had a bad year, but he should be fully focused on playing and doing the best for himself and Hibs. Would he be a loss.. No as we haven’t seen anything from him as it is. I like Swanson but I think a move may suit him.
Stokes.. sorry not near good enough this time round, if he stayed then he needs to up his game hugely. He’s got the talent that’s what annoys me.
But if Lennon thinks he can shift some out and replace with better I’m with him. Hanging onto players hoping they come good isn’t the best thing to do don’t think.
Slivka I think if played through the middle we’d see a good player there!
I wasn't actually meaning Whittaker, just with the statement that a 33 year old shouldn't be signed on that length due to his age. Whittaker, if he can overcome this injury, will come good I feel. Bar Celtic at home and 1 goal against Aberdeen away he's been solid enough despite playing injured.
I'll be first to admit, I'm biased when it comes to stokes. I can see both sides of the argument, I'm just desperate for him to continue to play and score for us. If anyone can get him playing it's the gaffer, but from all accounts it looks like it's time up.
Swanson might benefit from a stint away, who knows. His mitigating circumstances have definitely prevented his impact on the pitch for us.
I think there's definitely correlation between continuity and success in football however in our situation it looks inevitable that a bit of a squad overall is on its way.
Here's hoping the replacements will be up to the task.
mcfly
20-01-2018, 11:27 AM
If Dylan leaves for footballing reasons then so be it but we should never be losing our players to Aberdeen for financial reasons.
Our crowds are bigger we have better stadium and training facilities.
Edinburgh is also a no brainer over Aberdeen as a nicer place to live.
At the moment with average crowds 16-17k, hibs must have money. Let’s see it with quality
Anyhow tomorrow is much more important . Cmon the hibees
If Dylan leaves for footballing reasons then so be it but we should never be losing our players to Aberdeen for financial reasons.
At the moment with average crowds 16-17k, hibs must have money. Let’s see it with quality
It would be worth watching the piece that Hibs did with Daily Hun. Gives more info and details as to why clubs like Aberdeen can offer more in wages.
20-01-2018, 11:56 AM
Totally agree, we should NEVER be losing players to pish poor Aberdeen, if we loose Dylan to them I would seriously question our management set up. He is possibly the best player in our squad and we should be pushing the boat out to keep him.
20-01-2018, 12:08 PM
Aberdeen’s turnover is around £4m more than ours. They can, and do, pay a lot more in wages than us.
I thought we’d offered him a contract? Up to him whether he accepts or not but no way should we be held to ransom or asked to pay more just cause Aberdeen can.
If he goes we’ll replace him and move on.
Gregor
20-01-2018, 12:29 PM
Sorry never underated when I was watching him, or by those around me at ER, really can't remember him in that contex.
Agreed. Can't recall Pat ever being under-rated. Criticised, yes (mostly by Maigret-Hen). But he was an essential player in that team, so if he had a bad game, Hibs had a bad game. The difference between him and others in that position was that he never hid or shirked his responsibility. Could have probably got more international recognition, but it's possible that he shat the bed with the whole Ireland / Celtic move and - Scotland were fairly blessed with recognised, long-term midfield talent back in those days. I think he and a few others got B international caps (Keith Keith Keith and Darren Jackson right a bell).
Am also biased. He was my favourite Hibs player back in the day.
20-01-2018, 12:36 PM
Agreed. Can't recall Pat ever being under-rated. Criticised, yes (mostly by Maigret-Hen). But he was an essential player in that team, so if he had a bad game, Hibs had a bad game. The difference between him and others in that position was that he never hid or shirked his responsibility. Could have probably got more international recognition, but it's possible that he shat the bed with the whole Ireland / Celtic move and - Scotland were fairly blessed with recognised, long-term midfield talent back in those days. I think he and a few others got B international caps (Keith Keith Keith and Darren Jackson right a bell).
Am also biased. He was my favourite Hibs player back in the day.
He certainly wasn't underrated at ER but he probably was at parkhead,great player for us and one we could really use just now
andybev1
20-01-2018, 12:38 PM
I would be downhearted to lose Dylan, we must make him an offer he cannot refuse.
20-01-2018, 12:39 PM
Aberdeen’s turnover is around £4m more than ours. They can, and do, pay a lot more in wages than us.
I thought we’d offered him a contract? Up to him whether he accepts or not but no way should we be held to ransom or asked to pay more just cause Aberdeen can.
The £4m gap was when we were in the championship. The gap now with our far higher crowds will be a quarter of that I'd imagine. We shall see.
20-01-2018, 12:39 PM
Capeesh
FifeHibs
20-01-2018, 12:49 PM
Totally agree, we should NEVER be losing players to pish poor Aberdeen, if we loose Dylan to them I would seriously question our management set up. He is possibly the best player in our squad and we should be pushing the boat out to keep him.
Hibs can't match the wages Aberdeen offer. Stewart Milne funds Rooney £5k per week as well as funding Hayes when he played and McGinn. Allot of money in the last 2 years have been donated to clear debts. A billionaire who sold his Software company for half a billion has joined as a share holder.
Unfortunately players have to make as much money as possible in there careers. If someone was offered treble wages it would be very hard to turn down.
20-01-2018, 12:49 PM
Is it possible to have £4m bigger turn over than Hibs with smaller crowds, are they pimping sheep in hospitality after the game is over or something. Where can they possibly get a £4m bigger turn over than us, just interested to know?
20-01-2018, 12:51 PM
Is it possible to have £4m bigger turn over than Hibs with smaller crowds, are they pimping sheep in hospitality after the game is over or something. Where can they possibly get a £4m bigger turn over than us, just interested to know?
Post above should cover that.
20-01-2018, 12:56 PM
Post above should cover that.
If you mean donations, is that classed as turn over. Surely turn over is money coming into the business through sales, that’s my take on the meaning anyway. I can’t for the life of me fathom how Aberdeen can manage a massive £4m more than Hibs 😳
20-01-2018, 12:59 PM
They do far better with corporate and commercial deals. LD referred to it in a recent interview.
Also the Europa games made a big difference.
That’s without the involvement of the new shareholder dude that is apparently pumping money in.
Things are looking pretty healthy for them on and off the pitch. It’s up to us to try and catch / match them.
FifeHibs
20-01-2018, 01:03 PM
There was £3.3m of additional investment into the club and to the AFC Community Trust. This represents £2.5m from Dave Cormack and £775,000 from Tom Crotty.
American businessman, Tom Crotty, has made an investment of $1million (£775,000) through the acquisition of shares in the Club.
US-based software entrepreneur and investor, Dave Cormack, has made a substantial investment in Aberdeen through the acquisition of shares and has been appointed to the club’s board as a major shareholder.
20-01-2018, 01:04 PM
Aberdeen accounts 2016/17 shows turnover up to £15.2m
https://www.afc.co.uk/2017/11/25/latest-accounts-show-strong-results-aberdeen-football-club/
Hibs accounts 2016/17 shows turnover up to £7.7m
https://www.afc.co.uk/2017/11/25/latest-accounts-show-strong-results-aberdeen-football-club/
More than double our turnover. We won’t bridge that gap simply by being back in the top flight.
20-01-2018, 01:04 PM
They do far better with corporate and commercial deals. LD referred to it in a recent interview.
Also the Europa games made a big difference.
That’s without the involvement of the new shareholder dude that is apparently pumping money in.
Things are looking pretty healthy for them on and off the pitch. It’s up to us to try and catch / match them.
But £4m, that’s more than they will get in ticket money for a whole season, are they selling drugs or something? I can’t think of any way that Hibs could up their turnover by a massive £4m, that’s just ridiculous!
FifeHibs
20-01-2018, 01:07 PM
Allot of people got very rich of the oil boom from the 1970s and have built up and sold companies are now punting serious cash in the Dons direction.
I have never been to hospitality at Easter Road but know through with the hospitality is full at pittodrie every week.
Most of the Service companies in oil have the boxes behind the goals.
FifeHibs
20-01-2018, 01:11 PM
https://www.google.co.uk/amp/s/www.scotsman.com/sport/football/competitions/premiership/aberdeen-strike-deal-to-clear-debts-of-nearly-15m-1-3602427/amp
The Pittodrie club will wipe out nearly £15 million of debt after husband and wife Willie and Elaine Donald agreed to put up the bulk of the cash.
The Stewart Milne Group is increasing its stake in the club by £4.42m, with the couple, who live just outside Stonehaven, contributing a significant sum to the balance.
The couple want to plough back into the community some of the money they made through local civil engineering firm WD Donald, which they founded in 1977.
20-01-2018, 01:12 PM
Allot of people got very rich of the oil boom from the 1970s and have built up and sold companies are now punting serious cash in the Dons direction.
I have never been to hospitality at Easter Road but know through with the hospitality is full at pittodrie every week.
Most of the Service companies in oil have the boxes behind the goals.
There is no way on Earth that Aberdeen are making £4m more than Hibs from corporate hospitality unless they’ve got their sheep held to ransom. I’d really like to know they manage that?
20-01-2018, 01:15 PM
But £4m, that’s more than they will get in ticket money for a whole season, are they selling drugs or something? I can’t think of any way that Hibs could up their turnover by a massive £4m, that’s just ridiculous!We could increase our turnover by bringing the catering in-house. It wouldn't improve our profitability though.
The real difference is in the corporate income. Aberdeen is a one-club city, whereas we're competing with Hearts and Murrayfield.
Sent from my SM-A510F using Tapatalk
banchoryhibs
20-01-2018, 01:16 PM
If you mean donations, is that classed as turn over. Surely turn over is money coming into the business through sales, that’s my take on the meaning anyway. I can’t for the life of me fathom how Aberdeen can manage a massive £4m more than Hibs 😳
Europa Cup money, 2 cup finals, 2nd in the league, bigger TV pay outs, SPL prize money, bigger and better sponsorship packages (there's still oil money sloshing around in Aberdeen), good crowds, being the only team in a large catchment area provides lots of commercial opportunities. When I lived up there most of the kids in the primary schools had Aberdeen strips - my son stood out in his Hibs kit!
Their fans consider their club to be the 3rd biggest in Scotland and are hugely "prowd" of the 2 European trophies they won under Ferguson. Some justification there to be fair.
Make no mistake though Leeann is fully aware of how they have got into this position and she reaffirmed at the AGM that the Board is determined to not only match the likes of Aberdeen but overtake them. It's work in progress though and will take a couple of seasons.
We're back where we belong, we don't need to pay for a new stadium / stand - we've made a great start, our crowds are tremendous and after gubbing our neighbours tomorrow we'll continue to go onwards and upwards: flag:
20-01-2018, 01:17 PM
I wasn't actually meaning Whittaker, just with the statement that a 33 year old shouldn't be signed on that length due to his age. Whittaker, if he can overcome this injury, will come good I feel. Bar Celtic at home and 1 goal against Aberdeen away he's been solid enough despite playing injured.
I'll be first to admit, I'm biased when it comes to stokes. I can see both sides of the argument, I'm just desperate for him to continue to play and score for us. If anyone can get him playing it's the gaffer, but from all accounts it looks like it's time up.
Swanson might benefit from a stint away, who knows. His mitigating circumstances have definitely prevented his impact on the pitch for us.
I think there's definitely correlation between continuity and success in football however in our situation it looks inevitable that a bit of a squad overall is on its way.
Here's hoping the replacements will be up to the task.
When did Whittaker pick up his injury because he’s been getting rinsed since the first game of the season? His defending has been diabolical. Don’t think he’s tracked his runner once this season.
I don’t think he will be back in the team again, he just no longer good enough.
20-01-2018, 01:18 PM
Did I just see someone describe Aberdeen as “pish poor”. Wow. Wonder what the opinion is of Hibs then.
banchoryhibs
20-01-2018, 01:20 PM
We could increase our turnover by bringing the catering in-house.
I'm pretty sure that we've done that. The club recently advertised for a Food & Beverage GM to oversee all of our catering activities at ER and EM. There's plenty of profit in match day corporate catering and I believe that our function facilities are fairly busy. Room for improvement though.
20-01-2018, 01:22 PM
We could increase our turnover by bringing the catering in-house. It wouldn't improve our profitability though.
The real difference is in the corporate income. Aberdeen is a one-club city, whereas we're competing with Hearts and Murrayfield.
My point though is it’s massive donations they’ getting, not business sales. Hibs could never increase their turnover from £8m to Aberdeen’s £18m by doing better business or by adding 5k more fans for example Aberdeen are relying on donations and not business performance.
20-01-2018, 01:23 PM
Did I just see someone describe Aberdeen as “pish poor”. Wow. Wonder what the opinion is of Hibs then.
Support wise, not their current team.
20-01-2018, 01:23 PM
There is no way on Earth that Aberdeen are making £4m more than Hibs from corporate hospitality unless they’ve got their sheep held to ransom. I’d really like to know they manage that?
Add in that Hearts turnover is substantially more than ours and we can start to see the enormous task that our board has in trying to make us competitive.
If we want to get consistently in the top 4 we’ve got to make sure that we spend our money wisely. As you say, it’s nigh on impossible for us to get to the point where we’re turning over £15m a season.
That would be dreamland for us.
We’ll have a better idea when we see next years accounts but there will still be a massive gap.
20-01-2018, 01:24 PM
Any Hibs player news. No-one on the 26 or buying fish?
20-01-2018, 01:26 PM
I don't see any way McGeouch will leave Hibs to sign for Aberdeen. He might however be interested to get down south, who could blame him for waiting til the summer to weigh up his options.
I think people need to calm down regarding our budget vs our competitors. If the league positions simply reflected who spent the most, we'd have been top 5 for the last 20 years. We're punching our weight NOW and competing just fine with Aberdeen and Hearts.
20-01-2018, 01:43 PM
Stokes. On-going
Big Dave. Failed
Slivka. Hasn't played.
Slivka = 20 appearances, but you say he hasn't played??
20-01-2018, 02:18 PM
Any Hibs player news. No-one on the 26 or buying fish?
I was on the 26 last night. Not a sausage !!!!
20-01-2018, 02:19 PM
Slivka = 20 appearances, but you say he hasn't played??
How many has he started?
GreenOnions
20-01-2018, 02:32 PM
When did Whittaker pick up his injury because he’s been getting rinsed since the first game of the season? His defending has been diabolical. Don’t think he’s tracked his runner once this season.
I don’t think he will be back in the team again, he just no longer good enough. Sent from my iPhone using Tapatalk
Well - it's all about opinions I suppose. Clearly Neil Lennon and the coaching staff didn't agree with you as SW remained our first choice right back throughout the period before his injury (I think he may have been dropped for one game).
I don't agree with you either but NL opinion carries weight.
20-01-2018, 02:36 PM
No idea why we have taken a Left sided defender on loan.... :confused:
20-01-2018, 02:38 PM
is this the same guy who was apparently useless at hertz
20-01-2018, 02:39 PM
We only have one left back so makes sense to me.
Out of the blue signing. Do we have an injury we don't know about Underscore??
Going to have to tryst NL on this.
Wonder if he thinks this guy can play WB better than Lewis??
berwickhibee
20-01-2018, 02:39 PM
We play a dangerous game at left back.with little cover for lewis. Hes a durable wee bugger but if he did get injured,who would play there??
20-01-2018, 02:40 PM
We’ve needed cover or competition for the left back place for ages.
sahpaton
20-01-2018, 02:41 PM
Has played at left back most of career but he is right footed so should be a good option on either side whether as a starter or as cover.
20-01-2018, 02:50 PM
We only have one left back so makes sense to me.
Others are saying he is actually right footed which makes much more sense as we currently have ZERO RBs.
GreenOnions
20-01-2018, 02:57 PM
Others are saying he is actually right footed which makes much more sense as we currently have ZERO RBs.
I reckon he's been signed to play right back
20-01-2018, 02:59 PM
I think he's been brought in as a RB
GillyHibee
20-01-2018, 03:02 PM
We could increase our turnover by bringing the catering in-house. It wouldn't improve our profitability though.
Not to mention the "fans" who travel to Smeltic Park and Mordor every week from Edinburgh.
20-01-2018, 03:22 PM
My point though is it’s massive donations they’ getting, not business sales. Hibs could never increase their turnover from £8m to Aberdeen’s £18m by doing better business or by adding 5k more fans for example Aberdeen are relying on donations and not business performance.The donations aren't turnover.
20-01-2018, 03:23 PM
I'm pretty sure that we've done that. The club recently advertised for a Food & Beverage GM to oversee all of our catering activities at ER and EM. There's plenty of profit in match day corporate catering and I believe that our function facilities are fairly busy. Room for improvement though.We haven't.
The advert was on behalf of the catering company that we use.
Add in that Hearts turnover is substantially more than ours and we can start to see the enormous task that our board has in trying to make us competitive.
If we want to get consistently in the top 4 we’ve got to make sure that we spend our money wisely. As you say, it’s nigh on impossible for us to get to the point where we’re turning over £15m a season.
That would be dreamland for us.
We’ll have a better idea when we see next years accounts but there will still be a massive gap.
so in symplestic terms Hibs will always be behind Dons and hearts financially. Never thought that before.
20-01-2018, 04:49 PM
So we were needing another GK who'd compete for first choice, a poaching goalscorer & cover at RB...we've signed that and people still aren't happy.
Mcpakeisgod
20-01-2018, 04:50 PM
Not sure if it’s been said on here, but been told that we’ve offered terms to Ryan McGowan. It’s between us and a club down south. Gotta say I would be absolutely sickened if this is the case
Not sure if its been said on here, but been told that weve offered terms to Ryan McGowan. Its between us and a club down south. Gotta say I would be absolutely sickened if this is the case
Doubt that'll happen now we've signed a RB just a short time ago
20-01-2018, 08:42 PM
Not sure if it’s been said on here, but been told that we’ve offered terms to Ryan McGowan. It’s between us and a club down south. Gotta say I would be absolutely sickened if this is the case
Interesting
I'd take him, good player
He did love to wind up the hibs fans but nothing wrong with that really
20-01-2018, 08:45 PM
Doubt that'll happen now we've signed a RB just a short time ago
Maybe with next year in mind
Maybe!
20-01-2018, 08:48 PM
Ryan McGowan is absolutely dreadful. Putting his Hearts allegiances aside, as a footballer he was rank rotten at Dundee United. Wouldn’t want us to go near him.
20-01-2018, 08:54 PM
Not read the entire thread (its got a bit long) but I know a few clubs are starting to take notice of Connor Shields at Albion Rovers, anyone know if we are one of them. Looks a good prospect I think hes still not 20, have a friend who supports Albion and he reckons he'll make the big time
K-Zazu
20-01-2018, 09:40 PM
Wouldn’t want McGowan anywhere near Hibs
20-01-2018, 09:46 PM
McGowan is about as welcome as a hang glider pilot with diarrhea.
1875STEVE
20-01-2018, 10:35 PM
20-01-2018, 10:49 PM
Ryan McGowan to Hibs? Ridiculous ......... tell me it’s Jambo trolling.
fife hfc
20-01-2018, 10:53 PM
Talk on Twitter of Templeton. Would be a decent signing.
20-01-2018, 10:55 PM
Would be an excellent signing, nice lad too - where you reading this ?
20-01-2018, 11:05 PM
Not the kind of player we need to move forward.
20-01-2018, 11:08 PM
Really ? A lad who has witnessed the ups and downs of football and this season by his own admission is in love with football again (not the wages). I watched him at Tynecastle v them and he was quite literally running rings round them. Great wee player, good technique, skilful and seems very grounded nowadays - would easily have him at Hibs.
20-01-2018, 11:11 PM
What kind is that and what kind would you say we need to take us forward?
20-01-2018, 11:12 PM
You need to explain that one!
20-01-2018, 11:15 PM
I’d take him to be honest, if Lennon thinks he’d improve us. Need players who are better than what we have m! Not sure he is but worth taking for a squad player if anything.
1875STEVE
20-01-2018, 11:16 PM
i posted this a page back, which seems to have been missed......
20-01-2018, 11:17 PM
I’d sign Templeton! He is a gifted player who likes to play actual football.
20-01-2018, 11:34 PM
3 goals and 6 assists in a limited Hamilton side. Possibly exactly the kind of player we need.
20-01-2018, 11:36 PM
I’d take him to be honest, if Lennon thinks he’d improve us. Need players who are better than what we have m! Not sure he is but worth taking for a squad player if anything.
This is it. Great if he's coming as a useful squad player, perhaps to fill the Swanson role.. But if we want to be matching your Aberdeens we need to be aiming higher.
I'll be the first to admit I'm wrong if he comes in and rips it up, dont think I've watched him in a full game for years.
21-01-2018, 08:55 AM
Really ? A lad who has witnessed the ups and downs of football and this season by his own admission is in love with football again (not the wages). I watched him at Tynecastle v them and he was quite literally running rings round them. Great wee player, good technique, skilful and seems very grounded nowadays - would easily have him at Hibs.
Biggest concern with him would be his injury record
21-01-2018, 08:57 AM
Rherras kept quiet.
Hibs going about their business quietly.
Rumours are just that. No danger of McGowan or Anya coming imo
I'd be happy signing Templeton. Very direct and good technique.
21-01-2018, 09:12 AM
Interview with McGinn in the Sunday Mail,
get the impression he is going nowhere this window and also discusses the possibility of signing a new deal;
https://www.dailyrecord.co.uk/sport/football/football-news/hibs-star-john-mcginn-discusses-11887079
21-01-2018, 09:20 AM
get the impression he is going nowhere this window and also discusses the possibility of signing a new deal;
https://www.dailyrecord.co.uk/sport/football/football-news/hibs-star-john-mcginn-discusses-11887079
Would be great for he signs a new deal so we can get serious £££s. It would help him get a starting spot at the next club too.
21-01-2018, 09:25 AM
Been advocating us signing Templeton for a while. Hope it happens.
Firestarter
21-01-2018, 09:25 AM
I hope it's Templeton, got a feeling it will be his best pal though .
21-01-2018, 09:26 AM
I don't know if I'm just missing it but at no point did he ever suggest he'd sign a new deal in that article. He's in no rush to leave, yes, but no mention of a new deal.
21-01-2018, 09:31 AM
I don't know if I'm just missing it but at no point did he ever suggest he'd sign a new deal in that article. He's in no rush to leave, yes, but no mention of a new deal.
Myself, my agent and my family will sit down at the end of the season and take things
from there.”
Guess that could mean signing an extension to his deal at Hibs
Be surprised tho
21-01-2018, 09:39 AM
Myself, my agent and my family will sit down at the end of the season and take things
from there.”
Guess that could mean signing an extension to his deal at Hibs
Be surprised tho
That’s what I thought. It could mean signing a new deal. It more likely means see what offers come in and decide whether to see out his contract or leave.
ano hibby
21-01-2018, 09:47 AM
It’s a pretty canny interview by McGinn.
Endears him to fans a bit more and I’m delighted he’ll be playing today as had assumed a few weeks ago he might not be.
Bottom line though is he’ll still be off if the offers meet clubs valuation.
21-01-2018, 09:51 AM
Swiss striker on trial...3 goals in 31 games. 6ft 2in.
Neil Lennon is casting his eye over Swiss striker Florian Kamberi after handing the Grasshoppers player a trial.
The 22-year-old spent last season on loan at Karlsruher in the German second tier.
Hibs could be his next destination is he impresses Lennon who looks likely to be offloading frontman Anthony Stokes soon.
The Irishman has been frozen out after Lennon’s patience finally snapped when a string of disciplinary breaches came to a head, the most recent when he breached a curfew on the winter training camp in Portugal.
Charlton are understood to lead the race for Stokes, ahead of interest from Poland,.
Neil Lennon is casting his eye over Swiss striker Florian Kamberi after handing the Grasshoppers player a trial.
The 22-year-old spent last season on loan at Karlsruher in the German second tier.
Hibs could be his next destination is he impresses Lennon who looks likely to be offloading frontman Anthony Stokes soon.
The Irishman has been frozen out after Lennon’s patience finally snapped when a string of disciplinary breaches came to a head, the most recent when he breached a curfew on the winter training camp in Portugal.
Charlton are understood to lead the race for Stokes, ahead of interest from Poland,.
6'2" Striker, big Dave's replacement.
21-01-2018, 10:06 AM
Can only be Templeton.
21-01-2018, 10:12 AM
Would make the most sense. Surprised Big Dave is still here tbh.
Mcpakeisgod
21-01-2018, 10:51 AM
Can only be Templeton.
Not necessarily , there’s no two ways about it, we’ve offered Ryan McGowan a deal. He told his sons mum a few days ago. Us and a team down south
thebausburst
21-01-2018, 11:00 AM
Goal scoring record up there with big daves (just a joke!)
21-01-2018, 11:12 AM
Goal scoring record up there with big daves (just a joke!)
Its what you get in the January Window You have to assume he wont get a deal if Lennon doesn't think he can do a job Nae point in bringing in another tall striker that gets no game time
21-01-2018, 11:12 AM
Not necessarily , there’s no two ways about it, we’ve offered Ryan McGowan a deal. He told his sons mum a few days ago. Us and a team down south
No danger
21-01-2018, 11:13 AM
I really hope not
Firestarter
21-01-2018, 11:15 AM
For what it's worth I reckon Templeton will be a cracking signing.
21-01-2018, 11:17 AM
Templeton...yes please
Lee Marvin
21-01-2018, 11:38 AM
McGowan can GTF. I'll be apoplectic if he ever signs. My confide in lennon would evaporate instantly
21-01-2018, 11:40 AM
McGowan can GTF. I'll be apoplectic if he ever signs. My confide in lennon would evaporate instantly
Same
21-01-2018, 11:47 AM
I would prefer Alistair McGowan. He does a good impression David Beckham.
Mcpakeisgod
21-01-2018, 11:47 AM
I genuinely wish I was joking lol
Souter96Mac
21-01-2018, 11:52 AM
Templeton yes, McGowan please no
Reaper
21-01-2018, 12:16 PM
i agree totally. I'm never fussed and never have been about signing ex-hearts players but I believe there is a limit. McGowan was a member of the 5-1 team that were responsible for many Hibs fans worst ever day following the club BUT more importantly he was a member of a team that defined that lot as a club.......overpaid players of a better quality than they could realistically afford meanwhile robbing businesses of money and other clubs of success as a result. He was also one of the players that took great pride in gloating about it.
NO ONE from that team should be near our club. EVER.
RossScott1991
22-01-2018, 11:32 AM
Been told at work by a Jambo that Ryan McGowan to hibs is a done deal..
22-01-2018, 11:37 AM
Uncharacteristically quiet on the Twitter yesterday..
22-01-2018, 11:41 AM
We just signed a fullback and we have plenty centre backs...so why would we be after McGowan? Not to mention he's not very good.
K-Zazu
22-01-2018, 11:43 AM
Wow that must be true then
hibs#1
22-01-2018, 11:45 AM
Doesn't really help with creating or scoring goals.if he does sign.
22-01-2018, 11:47 AM
I’ve no problem with signing ex yams, even McGowan. My problem is that isn’t he a right back? Haven’t we just signed one of them? Don’t we also already have two ageing injury prone right backs at the club? How many do we need? Where is the squad planning? And if he’s a right centre half then that’s even worse because we have three of them and they are all fit.
I doubt it’s happening but if it is then my faith that Lennon is the right man for the job will take a big hit.
We need an attacking midfielder and a centre forward.
RossScott1991
22-01-2018, 11:48 AM
Wow that must be true then
thanks for your input.
we will see. he was quiet on twitter yesterday unusually for a derby. and tam McManus tweet other day when we signed Rherras was very interesting.
22-01-2018, 11:50 AM
Doesn't really help with creating or scoring goals.if he does sign.
Well not for us anyway.
Lee Marvin
22-01-2018, 11:55 AM
If we sign McGowan it would be the most pointless, ridiculous, anger-inducing, confidence losing signing from hibs in my time as a fan.
I don't believe it, but if true lennon has made a monumental error
22-01-2018, 11:57 AM
I wonder if Efe will be away. He's made no secret that he was here for Visa purposes, and that's past now.
22-01-2018, 11:58 AM
Wow that must be true thenI was told by a jambo they were self sufficient just before they put themselves into administration and published an incredible list of creditors who had been bumped for tens of millions.
Firestarter
22-01-2018, 11:59 AM
I wonder if Efe will be away. He's made no secret that he was here for Visa purposes, and that's past now.
Replacing Ambrose with that dick McGowan is asking for the sack
mcfly
22-01-2018, 11:59 AM
I can’t see this happening....
I’ve always backed a managers signings in the past but I’d find it hard to stomach this one if true.
I hope ur wrong
22-01-2018, 12:00 PM
He has also said that he's very happy at Hibs and feels at home.
Eaststandee
22-01-2018, 12:02 PM
If we sign McGowan it would be the most pointless, ridiculous, anger-inducing, confidence losing signing from hibs in my time as a fan.
I don't believe it, but if true lennon has made a monumental error
It would make no sense whatsoever.
22-01-2018, 12:04 PM
1 poor touch will get a terrible reaction from the ER faithful. I can see this happening unfortunately, we need a RB at the moment and I can see it as a short term deal until the summer. Whittaker and Gray are finished. Both long term casualties. Whittaker should go into coaching role now.
22-01-2018, 12:04 PM
I cant believe the hysteria on here, folk getting there knickers in a twist over something that has not happened.
I'm hanging myself if we replace John McGinn with Rudi the big nosed reindeer, there i said it, i will also bathe in a bathful of beans first.
Lee Marvin
22-01-2018, 12:06 PM
1 poor touch will get a terrible reaction from the ER faithful. I can see this happening unfortunately, we need a RB at the moment and I can see it as a short term deal until the summer. Whittaker and Gray are finished. Both long term casualties. Whittaker should go into coaching role now.
Just signed a right/left back. We now have three right backs and 2 makeshift.
22-01-2018, 12:08 PM
Just signed a right/left back. We now have three right backs and 2 makeshift.
Rherras is a left back.
We have 2 injured right backs. Playing players out of position is stupid long term.
22-01-2018, 12:11 PM
Rherras is a left back.
We have 2 injured right backs. Playing players out of position is stupid long term.
a right footed left back?
seems sensible that he could be a right back too
Lee Marvin
22-01-2018, 12:12 PM
Rherras is a left back.
Rherras is right footed.
22-01-2018, 12:13 PM
I’ve no problem with signing ex yams, even McGowan. My problem is that isn’t he a right back? Haven’t we just signed one of them? Don’t we also already have two ageing injury prone right backs at the club? How many do we need? Where is the squad planning? And if he’s a right centre half then that’s even worse because we have three of them and they are all fit.
I doubt it’s happening but if it is then my faith that Lennon is the right man for the job will take a big hit.
We need an attacking midfielder and a centre forward.
Squad planning - as set out by Leeann when she joined the club - is that if our first two right backs aren’t available there should be a development player in place to step up.
One of my biggest frustrations is that our young players just don’t seem to get the opportunities to play in the first team. Are they really not good enough?
Rherras is a left back.
Been playing right back for his Belgian club.
Rherras is a left back.
Why would we sign him if he’s a left back? Stevenson hasn’t even had a runny nose in ten years. And Rherras isn’t goo enough to replace him.
22-01-2018, 12:19 PM
a right footed left back?
seems sensible that he could be a right back too
Sensible yes but this is football we are talking about. No idea how you become a right footed left back anyway...
22-01-2018, 12:19 PM
Sensible yes but this is football we are talking about. No idea how you become a right footed left back anyway...
Ask Danny McGrain :greengrin
22-01-2018, 12:20 PM
Rherras is right footed.
Rherras is a right footed left back
stantonsboots
22-01-2018, 12:31 PM
I have it on good authority that we signed two players on Friday rherras being one of them the other has not been announced yet. Don't know who he is though
Lennon said they'll try and bring in someone forward thinking.
22-01-2018, 12:43 PM
Ryan McGowan was awful at United. Signing another right back only makes sense if Whittaker is finished and having to call it a day.
22-01-2018, 12:54 PM
Squad planning - as set out by Leeann when she joined the club - is that if our first two right backs aren’t available there should be a development player in place to step up.
One of my biggest frustrations is that our young players just don’t seem to get the opportunities to play in the first team. Are they really not good enough?
I understood that our two development right backs are both injured at present?
MacGruber
22-01-2018, 01:36 PM
I have it on good authority that we signed two players on Friday rherras being one of them the other has not been announced yet. Don't know who he is though
If that player is Ryan McGowan it's a good job they haven't announced it and they would be better keeping it that way
would be an absolute slap in the face - fortunately it's got to be a wind up.
22-01-2018, 01:38 PM
Swiss forward that's been on trial?
22-01-2018, 01:54 PM
Matter Horn , very very tall !
22-01-2018, 01:57 PM
Matter Horn , very very tall !
Basel Brush, a fox in the box?
22-01-2018, 02:00 PM
Basel Brush, a fox in the box?
Indeed, but he's French not Swiss - think his name is Renard...... :greengrin
stantonsboots
22-01-2018, 02:05 PM
i don't think so the boy who told me couldn't remember the name but did say the swiss boy was on trial at east mains?
22-01-2018, 02:27 PM
Looks awful like we are buying quantity rather than quality, a 22 year old striker whose record is: 47 games & 4 goals
MacGruber
22-01-2018, 02:35 PM
Looks awful like we are buying quantity rather than quality, a 22 year old striker whose record is: 47 games & 4 goals
A striker?
The horse has bolted. Better getting in a locksmith to fix the door.
22-01-2018, 02:41 PM
Rherras is a right footed left back
If you read his article he says he is a right footed right back. He played left back for the *cumbos as they were short in that position at that time.
JDHibs
22-01-2018, 02:43 PM
Better to look at his actual record, not wiki.
97 games, 29 goals.
32 games, 3 goals (3 assists) in Swiss top flight
2 games, 2 goals in Swiss 2nd league
31 games, 20 goals in Swiss 3rd league
Currently got 5 goals in 3 games between Swiss 2nd League and the swiss cup.
By all accounts, not great, but better than some were stating. Ive no idea how good the swiss leagues are either.
22-01-2018, 02:44 PM
97 games, 29 goals.
By all accounts, not great, but better than some were stating. Ive no idea how good the swiss leagues are either.
Why do that when you can just criticise instead?
JDHibs
22-01-2018, 02:45 PM
Why do that when you can just criticise instead?
Very true, its easier that way i suppose....
22-01-2018, 02:57 PM
What Swiss striker?
Edit: Florian Kamberi for anyone wondering
22-01-2018, 03:00 PM
What Swiss striker?
Lindor Blanc
22-01-2018, 03:02 PM
What Swiss striker?
Toble Rone ......decent player....has his ups and downs
RamblingJack
22-01-2018, 03:24 PM
Someone said it's Tag Huer
22-01-2018, 03:33 PM
97 games, 29 goals.
Most of his games are for what are described as junior teams.
A striker with a scoring record in the top league of 1 in 10 and similar for assists.
Grasshoppers play on front of 7,500 crowds and outside their top league attendances are very small.
No problem if it is a loan until summer.
22-01-2018, 03:37 PM
Ryan McGowan was awful at United. Signing another right back only makes sense if Whittaker is finished and having to call it a day.
Whether or not he's calling it a day, as a right back he's finished. Barring a Lazarus-esque improvement once he's back.
22-01-2018, 04:01 PM
Whether or not he's calling it a day, as a right back he's finished. Barring a Lazarus-esque improvement once he's back.
I honestly don’t think he’ll play for us again.
22-01-2018, 04:04 PM
Most of his games are for what are described as junior teams.
A striker with a scoring record in the top league of 1 in 10 and similar for assists.
Grasshoppers play on front of 7,500 crowds and outside their top league attendances are very small.
No problem if it is a loan until summer.
There can be a lot more to a striker than how many goals he scores.
I’ve no idea how good this guy is but looking at his goal scoring stats won’t tell us either.
SonOfDavidFrancey
22-01-2018, 04:07 PM
Very good in a midfield triangle
22-01-2018, 04:08 PM
Been told at work by a Jambo that Ryan McGowan to hibs is a done deal..Way to appease an upset and disappointed support after yesterday if true.
22-01-2018, 04:44 PM
Very good in a midfield triangle
Past his peak, IMO.
K-Zazu
22-01-2018, 04:52 PM
This is pish. Why can’t we bring in some quality players. Where has the money went? Record season ticket sales and we sign an ex Jambo who couldny even get in an Ian Cathro team
We could buy some hypnotherapy for Stokesy.
TheHarpy76
22-01-2018, 04:59 PM
This is pish. Why can’t we bring in some quality players. Where has the money went? Record season ticket sales and we sign an ex Jambo who couldny even get in an Ian Cathro team
Possibly because most teams don’t want to sell their best players half way through the season unless they get silly offers.
22-01-2018, 05:01 PM
Wish we could pull a gem out the bag like zemamma when we got him. Exactly the kind of player me need atm.
Ardenttwo
22-01-2018, 05:02 PM
Totally agree We the fans have been forking out our hard earned cash in Season Tickets,Hospitality etc etc. Been saying this for a while as soon as you get near our stadium it’s money money What have we got in return. Not a lot I say OK we are fourth in a poor league but overall we have not a good team. When last did we win a game convincingly and the signings lately seem very poor.
22-01-2018, 05:03 PM
Clubs will release players from contracts over the next week. It's a bit like yellow labels in asda. They get rid at the last minute.
Need a striker and an attacking mid to become available either for loan or permanent transfer
Paloschi
22-01-2018, 05:06 PM
Totally agree We the fans have been forking out our hard earned cash in Season Tickets,Hospitality etc etc. Been saying this for a while as soon as you get near our stadium it’s money money What have we got in return. Not a lot I say OK we are fourth in a poor league but overall we have not a good team. When last did we win a game convincingly and the signings lately seem very poor.
We needed a right back but I am not sure Rherraa is better than Whittaker never mind Gray!
We really need a forward that can create and score, a bit like Malonga or a Riordan type. Not another poacher. I would also like a winger with end product. Boyle gets in great positions but his final ball or shot is wasteful. Barker, I like but again end product must improve.
Stokesy
Swanson
Efe
Rocky
Whitts
2 Lithuanian internationals
We might not have spent our money very well last summer, but it seems we did spend a bit of money.
We lost 4 strikers off the wage bill too, but signed another 2 players this month. who knows how much budget is left?
By getting something in return do you mean like winning a cup,winning a championship and being 4th in a league after being three years out of it?
22-01-2018, 05:26 PM
We could buy some hypnotherapy for Stokesy.Want my e-mail address? [emoji16]
22-01-2018, 05:26 PM
Clubs will release players from contracts over the next week. It's a bit like yellow labels in asda. They get rid at the last minute.
Need a striker and an attacking mid to become available either for loan or permanent transfer
There lies the problem. How many diamonds do you expect to find in the dross bag?
Ardenttwo
22-01-2018, 05:30 PM
By getting something in return do you mean like winning a cup,winning a championship and being 4th in a league after being three years out of it?
Be surprised if we finished 5th this season. I can see us dropping to 6th. We’ve had an awful turn of form and our squad really isn’t very good...
Rest is fairly positive but let’s not make being 4th at this point of the season a positive. It’s all about where you finish
22-01-2018, 05:38 PM
There lies the problem. How many diamonds do you expect to find in the dross bag?
When your in the bag have look for the key to a defence that doesnt switch off 3 or 4'times every game giving teams guilt edged chances and stupid goals..😵
andybev1
22-01-2018, 06:18 PM
If we could maybe loan a promising 'youngster' of the barker type maybe it would be best rather than trying to sign a player half way through the season - as has been mentioned, any player doing well fir their club would only attract silly money bids. All we can do is support the manager and team with the faith that we will get their eventually while remembering we are a work in progress.
EDIT: ppl writing off the new signings before they have kicked a ball need to chill.
22-01-2018, 06:20 PM
The Cummings money, a paid-for stand and 13,000 season ticket holders should enable us to sign a first-choice striker that is too good for a trial.