View Full Version : Horse Racing (General)

Pages : 1 2 3 4 [5]

17-08-2022, 03:32 PM
If they run him in the Arc he might even be as good as Sea The Stars.

17-08-2022, 03:54 PM
If they run him in the Arc he might even be as good as Sea The Stars.

Decent :greengrin

I'm sure Baaeed would get the trip, given the way he tanked through 1m 2 today. It would be great to see.

02-10-2022, 06:48 PM
Well that's the Arc over for another year. Alpinista won by half a length. Well done to the horse and anyone that backed him, but I'm not and never have been a fan of the trainer who's an outspoken supporter of hare coursing, hunting, bullfighting and cockfighting. But the horse has done nothing wrong, and has amassed a number of wins at the highest level. I think it went off at about 7/2 unless you took an early price.

02-10-2022, 07:19 PM
Well that's the Arc over for another year. Alpinista won by half a length. Well done to the horse and anyone that backed him, but I'm not and never have been a fan of the trainer who's an outspoken supporter of hare coursing, hunting, bullfighting and cockfighting. But the horse has done nothing wrong, and has amassed a number of wins at the highest level. I think it went off at about 7/2 unless you took an early price.

Yep I'm the same. Not a huge Luke Morris fan either with all the bumping up and down and flashing his whip everywhere but give him credit, he rode a brilliant race today. And that was a jockey who was riding a 125/1 shot at Wolverhampton the other day.

03-10-2022, 09:23 AM

I got 6/1 on Betfair in the morning, happy days. 🍺

27-10-2022, 07:35 PM
Aw naw, you hate to see it

https://youtu.be/ySxN9OABSTk

helenm
20-12-2022, 10:17 AM
What a performance from Trueshan in the Northumberland Plate, giving away at least 19 pounds to the rest of the field!

Exactly , Performance was outstanding

20-12-2022, 11:35 AM
Some big announcements over the last couple of days with Davy Russell retiring with immediate effect and Frankie Dettori set to retire at the end of the 2023 flat season.

06-02-2023, 11:34 AM
Just back from Leopardstown festival, what a great weekend.

Way cheaper than expected (€6 a pint). Weekend ticket cost €35, purchasing at early bird stage. Transport to and from city centre and airport bang on. Queues looked big on face of it, but went down rapid. 15k there the Sat, 21k the Sun. Lovely course and great racing. People couldn’t have been friendlier and do enough for you.

Comparing that to Cheltenham where prices are higher, ball ache to get to, horrendous queues and pints restricted to certain areas I can’t see me being back there in a hurry.

Luckily avoided bets on Blue Lord, Lossie and Vega. Mighty Potter, Gaelic Warrior and Fun Fun Fun left the weekend profitable, along with a silly pick on The Goffer at 25/1 on Sat morning before it won at 10/1 yesterday.

The atmosphere when Rachel rode down to the start on Honeysuckle was electric. Some comedy shortly after with Stateman getting booed🤣.

Wouldn’t write off Vega/Lossie in their next races. You’ll get good value now.

Can’t see past GDC in Cheltenham GC now.

As one of the Mullins connections said at the course yesterday, the Leopardstown festival is no longer a Cheltenham warm up. It’s a fantastic festival in it’s own right.

06-02-2023, 06:25 PM
Just back from Leopardstown festival, what a great weekend.

Way cheaper than expected (€6 a pint). Weekend ticket cost €35, purchasing at early bird stage. Transport to and from city centre and airport bang on. Queues looked big on face of it, but went down rapid. 15k there the Sat, 21k the Sun. Lovely course and great racing. People couldn’t have been friendlier and do enough for you.

Comparing that to Cheltenham where prices are higher, ball ache to get to, horrendous queues and pints restricted to certain areas I can’t see me being back there in a hurry.

Luckily avoided bets on Blue Lord, Lossie and Vega. Mighty Potter, Gaelic Warrior and Fun Fun Fun left the weekend profitable, along with a silly pick on The Goffer at 25/1 on Sat morning before it won at 10/1 yesterday.

The atmosphere when Rachel rode down to the start on Honeysuckle was electric. Some comedy shortly after with Stateman getting booed🤣.

Wouldn’t write off Vega/Lossie in their next races. You’ll get good value now.

Can’t see past GDC in Cheltenham GC now.

As one of the Mullins connections said at the course yesterday, the Leopardstown festival is no longer a Cheltenham warm up. It’s a fantastic festival in it’s own right.

I thought Facile Vega's run was just odd. Set off at a lightning pace and ended up in a duel for the lead. No way he was seeing that out and Paul Townend knew it, barely asked the horse for anything down the straight.

State Man v Constitution Hill should be a good race at Cheltenham albeit I think the latter will be a good bit too strong.

Must try Leopardstown. I've been to Punchestown and Fairyhouse but it's one that's missing from my CV.

06-02-2023, 07:10 PM
I thought Facile Vega's run was just odd. Set off at a lightning pace and ended up in a duel for the lead. No way he was seeing that out and Paul Townend knew it, barely asked the horse for anything down the straight.

State Man v Constitution Hill should be a good race at Cheltenham albeit I think the latter will be a good bit too strong.

Must try Leopardstown. I've been to Punchestown and Fairyhouse but it's one that's missing from my CV.

Agreed re Vega - went off too fast. Won’t make that mistake again.

CH different league to SM I feel - can’t see past it.

10-04-2023, 12:11 PM
Clan Des Obeaux retired from racing. Very good horse.

13-04-2023, 10:56 AM
Tremendous days racing ahead to kick off the grand national meeting, pity Bravemansgame is a non-runner.

13-04-2023, 11:11 AM
Got as treble and a double today:

1.45 - Stage Star
2.55 - Ahoy Senor
3.30 - Constitution Hill

and

4.05 - Dento des Obeaux
4.40 - Douglas Talking

26-04-2023, 06:00 PM
What a result for Martin Brassil in the Punchestown Gold Cup. He'd had 7 winners under rules all season until today then sends out Fastorslow to turn over Galopin Des Champs and Bravemansgame.

27-04-2023, 01:10 AM
What a result for Martin Brassil in the Punchestown Gold Cup. He'd had 7 winners under rules all season until today then sends out Fastorslow to turn over Galopin Des Champs and Bravemansgame.

Never saw it, certainly a bit of a shock though.

27-04-2023, 03:50 PM
Gambling review announcement.

https://www.racingpost.com/news/gambling-review/government-announces-frictionless-financial-risk-checks-in-long-awaited-white-paper-atlTq9I4o0FE/

27-04-2023, 09:14 PM
Gambling review announcement.

https://www.racingpost.com/news/gambling-review/government-announces-frictionless-financial-risk-checks-in-long-awaited-white-paper-atlTq9I4o0FE/

I don't bet online at all. Largely as a control mechanism, if I bet in a shop it's real cash which can sometimes be lost online.

I'm assuming this will lead to everyone having to sign up to one of the loyalty cards so the bookies can keep track of your spend and intervene when required? Such checks seem easy enough online but in a shop or a betting ring I can't see how it's enforceable without such a system to track every bet placed by every punter.

28-04-2023, 05:26 AM
I don't bet online at all. Largely as a control mechanism, if I bet in a shop it's real cash which can sometimes be lost online.

I'm assuming this will lead to everyone having to sign up to one of the loyalty cards so the bookies can keep track of your spend and intervene when required? Such checks seem easy enough online but in a shop or a betting ring I can't see how it's enforceable without such a system to track every bet placed by every punter.

I only really use Betfair so, there is potential for problems somewhere down the line. 🤔

21-06-2023, 04:23 PM
Congrats to anybody who bet Mostadhaf (10/1) in the Prince of Wales at Royal Ascot, scooted up comfortably against a good field. But to put it into perspective, Equinox absolutely hammered him and everybody else in Dubai the race bfore that.

21-06-2023, 06:45 PM
Whats Musselburgh races like? Im not a great race fan i must admit but probably do a meet once every 2 or 3 years. Was thinking of combining it over a long weekend with a visit to Easter Road.

21-06-2023, 08:43 PM
Whats Musselburgh races like? Im not a great race fan i must admit but probably do a meet once every 2 or 3 years. Was thinking of combining it over a long weekend with a visit to Easter Road.

It depends what time of year you go really, LH. You've missed the Cheltenham trials, but they also have some good evening meets, or they used to, I don't live in East Lothian anymore.

22-06-2023, 08:16 PM
Any tips for Musselburgh tomorrow?

23-06-2023, 09:05 PM

Largely depends on the day you go.

New Year's Day and Ladies Day tend to be a non racing crowd and are pretty overcrowded and there are always a few drunken bams determined to spoil it. Same is somewhat true of the Edinburgh Cup day.

Cheltenham Trials is a good weekend. Knowledgeable racing crowds and the likes of Nicky Henderson and Paul Nicholls usually send a few horses up. On the flat the Scottish Sprint Cup is a good day as is the Queen's Cup early in the season.

On the whole the facilities are decent. Plenty bars and bookies with pop up food vans and bars supplementing the fixed facilities.

24-06-2023, 10:25 AM
Largely depends on the day you go.

New Year's Day and Ladies Day tend to be a non racing crowd and are pretty overcrowded and there are always a few drunken bams determined to spoil it. Same is somewhat true of the Edinburgh Cup day.

Cheltenham Trials is a good weekend. Knowledgeable racing crowds and the likes of Nicky Henderson and Paul Nicholls usually send a few horses up. On the flat the Scottish Sprint Cup is a good day as is the Queen's Cup early in the season.

On the whole the facilities are decent. Plenty bars and bookies with pop up food vans and bars supplementing the fixed facilities.

Must admit I was a tad awestruck the time I saw a Godolphin horsebox in Musselburgh Tesco car park :greengrin

24-06-2023, 10:30 AM
Should add that Shaquille's run yesterday in the Commonwealth Cup was incredible. Missed the break by rearing up in the stalls, pulled hard yet somehow managed to get past Little Big Bear the odds-on favourite. Will be interesting to see how the horse fares next time although it was a pretty average field.

25-06-2023, 10:38 AM
Quite an emotional read. 😢

https://www.racingpost.com/news/features/the-big-read/pain-and-fear-dominate-my-thoughts.-i-cant-get-up.-nothing-is-responding-to-my-mental-commands-im-ignored-by-my-own-body-aiRw68S2OdQr

13-07-2023, 01:34 PM
That seemed to be a thoroughly impressive performance from Jasour in The July Stakes, Crowley was happy to sit in last place, he even took a pull coming out the stalls, and then swept through the field with the minimum of effort. One to keep an eye on methinks.

12-10-2023, 12:41 PM
Field reduced to 34 for 2024 Grand National, starting line moved, standing start and time brought forward. Seems sensible.

12-10-2023, 03:11 PM
That seemed to be a thoroughly impressive performance from Jasour in The July Stakes, Crowley was happy to sit in last place, he even took a pull coming out the stalls, and then swept through the field with the minimum of effort. One to keep an eye on methinks.

Finished 2nd last and last in its subsequent runs this season, most odd. 🤔

Possibly not the Grp 1 horse that it looked like.

14-11-2023, 06:34 PM
150/1 & 125/1 winners at Lingfield today, mental! 😳

28-11-2023, 05:54 PM
What are people fancying for The King George next month, the weekends results have certainly muddied the waters a tad.

I don't think I could have Bravemansgame at 11/4 after his first couple of runs this season.

Money has piled on Allaho over the last couple of days.

29-11-2023, 10:50 AM
What are people fancying for The King George next month, the weekends results have certainly muddied the waters a tad.

I don't think I could have Bravemansgame at 11/4 after his first couple of runs this season.

Money has piled on Alaho over the last couple of days.

I quite like Gerri Colombe even at the price. Elliot seems to be suggesting it's a real possibility he comes over for it.

He's really done everything asked of him so far. Only one blip on his record and that was a staying on 2nd at Cheltenham when he would have got up with another few yards. He's stayed 3+ miles at Cheltenham and won at a faster, tighter track at Aintree and over a sharp 2m4f at Sandown. Seems to go both left and right handed as well.

It's pretty wide open though and there are plenty questions about almost all the entries.

29-11-2023, 01:46 PM
I quite like Gerri Colombe even at the price. Elliot seems to be suggesting it's a real possibility he comes over for it.

He's really done everything asked of him so far. Only one blip on his record and that was a staying on 2nd at Cheltenham when he would have got up with another few yards. He's stayed 3+ miles at Cheltenham and won at a faster, tighter track at Aintree and over a sharp 2m4f at Sandown. Seems to go both left and right handed as well.

It's pretty wide open though and there are plenty questions about almost all the entries.

I think it's probably best to wait and see what Ireland's big two trainers decide to do, quite intriguing though.

29-11-2023, 02:04 PM
I think it's probably best to wait and see what Ireland's big two trainers decide to do, quite intriguing though.

Definitely.

No surprise at all if Elliot and Mullins send their big guns to Leopardstown at Christmas.

15-12-2023, 09:51 AM

In to just over 11/4 FAV on Betfair.

16-12-2023, 11:54 PM
Did anyone else see Henry Brooke's interview after he won on White Rhino? It would've brought a tear to a glass eye. His horse (Gesskille) had to be put down after sustaining an injury in the previous race. It's a tough old game.

19-12-2023, 08:35 AM

Allaho in to 15/8 Favourite, looks like Gerri may well run at home.

19-12-2023, 10:04 AM
Allaho in to 15/8 Favourite, looks like Gerri may well run at home.

Seems that way.

Tbh I don't blame Elliot for running him in the Savill's at Leopardstown if the ground there is more suitable. He's proven on good to soft or better. No point in having him travel only to be a non runner due to the ground if there is a comparable Grade 1 race at home for him to run in. He should get his preferred ground at Cheltenham.

19-12-2023, 11:19 AM
Seems that way.

Tbh I don't blame Elliot for running him in the Savill's at Leopardstown if the ground there is more suitable. He's proven on good to soft or better. No point in having him travel only to be a non runner due to the ground if there is a comparable Grade 1 race at home for him to run in. He should get his preferred ground at Cheltenham.

I concur.

22-12-2023, 02:27 PM
Seems that way.

Elliot has now confirmed it.

22-12-2023, 03:49 PM
Elliot has now confirmed it.

Fair enough.

With Galopin Does Champs and Fastorslow entered it's a better field at Leopardstown imo.

22-12-2023, 03:55 PM
Fair enough.

With Galopin Does Champs and Fastorslow entered it's a better field at Leopardstown imo.

Aye, should be some race

26-12-2023, 02:06 PM
Will shishkin backers ever get a break? Done me for 2.5k today 😩

26-12-2023, 06:50 PM
Will shishkin backers ever get a break? Done me for 2.5k today 😩

Ouch, decided not to get involved, couldn't decide between the front 3 in the betting.

27-12-2023, 05:43 AM
Il Est Francais was unbelievable.

27-12-2023, 07:48 AM

Yip, tremendous performance.

27-12-2023, 10:32 AM

Aye, and constitution hill was,,,, constitution hill. The horse is a freak of nature; wonder if we’ll ever see it over fences?

27-12-2023, 10:56 AM
Aye, and constitution hill was,,,, constitution hill. The horse is a freak of nature; wonder if we’ll ever see it over fences?

The way he skipped over the last 2... contemptuous!

27-12-2023, 11:19 AM

I wonder where they go next with him. He took to 3 miles easily.

I wonder if there is a temptation to aim him at the Denman Chase at Newbury and if he does well there to have a shot at the Gold Cup? That was the route Coneygree took when he won the GC as a novice. It's easy to get carried away but that was awesome yesterday.

27-12-2023, 04:58 PM
I wonder where they go next with him. He took to 3 miles easily.

I wonder if there is a temptation to aim him at the Denman Chase at Newbury and if he does well there to have a shot at the Gold Cup? That was the route Coneygree took when he won the GC as a novice. It's easy to get carried away but that was awesome yesterday.

They said that they were heading for the French Gold Cup this season.

Hibs1972
27-12-2023, 05:03 PM
They said that they were heading for the French Gold Cup this season.
Yeah, the French aren’t obsessed with the festival like the press are over here, looks an absolute beast to be honest, he’ll take some stopping in King George next year.

28-12-2023, 01:36 PM
Fair enough.

Brilliant performance from Galopin Des Champs, never put a foot wrong. 👏

Hibernianrus
28-12-2023, 01:48 PM
Aye, should be some race

Gallopin destroyed the field there .

28-12-2023, 02:15 PM
Very impressive from Galopin Des Champs.

I was all over him from early doors for the GC last year and got some half decent prices. Won't get anything like that again this year but I don't see many reasons why he shouldn't win again. Best priced 11/8 currently.

28-12-2023, 07:35 PM
Has anyone else seen the altercation between Patrick and Danny Mullins at Limerick today?

Patrick won the race but immediately after the line there was a bit of finger pointing and a clear disagreement. Post race PM was asked about it and said:

"I tried to drop my lad, get him back a bit and get a breather into him. I told Danny going out that there will be a gap down my inside at the second-last, do not come for it. He hasn't listened to me. Luckily he hasn't got the two of us beat, but it didn't matter."

That seems more than a bit dodgy to me. A horse in the colours of one of your flasghip owners (Ricci) and his jockey telling another he isn't allowed to try and exploit a gap. The stewards certainly wanted an explanation and were dissatisfied with the one given so have referred it for further investigation.

07-01-2024, 07:20 PM
Incredible ride by Joe Anderson on Transmission at Plumpton today. Almost fell off after a mistake, unbelievable recovery to stay on, made it over 3 or 4 fences without his irons and managed to win. Well done son.

https://x.com/tonymullins84/status/1744007944688042163

03-02-2024, 08:08 PM
Very impressive from Galopin Des Champs.

I was all over him from early doors for the GC last year and got some half decent prices. Won't get anything like that again this year but I don't see many reasons why he shouldn't win again. Best priced 11/8 currently.

Collect your dough, what a machine.

04-02-2024, 10:54 AM
Collect your dough, what a machine.

Aye he looked bang on yesterday.

When Fastorslow came to challenge just after 2 out you thought he was maybe in a bit trouble but when Townend closed the door on the gap it was game over. He's not a particularly flashy sort but he's the type I like because he just knows his job. An inch of rein let out and the jockey getting a wee bit lower in the saddle and he was away. Won comfortably being ridden out with hands and heels. He's undoubtedly the one to beat in March.

04-02-2024, 01:57 PM
State Man just took good in the Irish Champion Hurdle.

Nicholls and Cobden 3 from 3 at Musselburgh today and will fancy their chances in the next as well. Having a wee dabble at 9/1.

04-02-2024, 02:06 PM
Not even close, all but pulled up.

04-02-2024, 05:31 PM
Getagin broke down on the line in the last race when winning ,horrible sight.

04-02-2024, 05:42 PM
Getagin broke down on the line in the last race when winning ,horrible sight.

I think Elliott's horse went wrong in an earlier race as well.

That home straight did look like a ploughed field after the first couple of races which always increases the risk of a horse landing wrong or taking a misstep.

04-02-2024, 06:00 PM
I think Elliott's horse went wrong in an earlier race as well.

That home straight did look like a ploughed field after the first couple of races which always increases the risk of a horse landing wrong or taking a misstep.

Backed them both, feel like the grim reaper!!Both of them on the flat as well , thought elliot’s had just pulled up at the time. Course doesn’t look like it can take two days racing tbh

04-02-2024, 06:56 PM
Backed them both, feel like the grim reaper!!Both of them on the flat as well , thought elliot’s had just pulled up at the time. Course doesn’t look like it can take two days racing tbh

I drove past when the last was on, it looked awful.

04-02-2024, 07:55 PM
Awful news from Charing Point to point today as well. Jockey Keagan Kirkby, who rode for Paul Nicholls, was killed after his horse ran through the wing of a fence. 25 years old.

It's a really difficult sport to love sometimes.

04-02-2024, 08:16 PM
Awful news from Charing Point to point today as well. Jockey Keagan Kirkby, who rode for Paul Nicholls, was killed after his horse ran through the wing of a fence. 25 years old.

It's a really difficult sport to love sometimes.

Brutal. And Hermes Allen gone yesterday.

27-02-2024, 07:06 PM
According to The Racing Post Constitution Hill is a major doubt for the Champion Hurdle.

29-02-2024, 07:13 PM
According to The Racing Post Constitution Hill is a major doubt for the Champion Hurdle.

Getting another blood test on Monday. Time running out, surely won't run.

01-03-2024, 06:33 AM
Getting another blood test on Monday. Time running out, surely won't run.

Can't imagine they will take any chances with that. Assume some excellent value ante post bets for the runners that do run if doesn't make it

01-03-2024, 08:33 AM
State Man now 2/1 on for the Champion Hurdle. Lossiemouth at 4/1 and Irish Point at 5/1.

Constitution Hill between 8/11 and 4/5 pretty much across the board. Couple of the exchanges you can get odds against at 21/10.

The market was suspended pretty quickly after news of the Kempton gallop broke whilst they sorted it out.

03-03-2024, 10:14 AM
I was reading that Mark Bradstock has died aged only 66. For a guy who only ever had a dozen horses in training at a time he punched well above his weight.

He, along with Lord Oakesy, bred both Carruthers and Coneygree from a mare who cost just over £3000. The latter winning the Gold Cup as a novice.

04-03-2024, 11:39 AM
Can't imagine they will take any chances with that. Assume some excellent value ante post bets for the runners that do run if doesn't make it

Confirmed by Henderson - not running.

06-03-2024, 07:25 AM
I was reading that Mark Bradstock has died aged only 66. For a guy who only ever had a dozen horses in training at a time he punched well above his weight.

He, along with Lord Oakesy, bred both Carruthers and Coneygree from a mare who cost just over £3000. The latter winning the Gold Cup as a novice.
Followed his stable with interest as a former work colleague had a connection and tipped me King Harald when it won the Jewson's at Cheltenham at a tasty price.
He trained more donkeys than good uns but for such a small outfit he had more than his fair share of high level wins.
To get Coneygree back after two serious injuries was a magnificent feat of nurtured caring training. I recall sitting with my stopwatch clocking the split times fence to fence in his Kauto Star win at Kempton (eased down), long before you got furlong split times on screen, and they compared more than favourably with the King George run over the exact same distance later in the day. Earmarked him then as a real GC contender and my pocket benefited as a result.
It would be a fairy tale if Mr Vango was to win the National Hunt Novices marathon at Cheltenham next Tuesday. Can't see it, although soft going might help and the racing game is rife with such fairy tales. I'll not be the only one having a few shillings on him each way in the hope of another one.

11-03-2024, 04:31 PM
Lucky 15: State Man, Lossiemouth, Ballyburn, El Fabiolo.

Do I dare add Galopin Des Champs for the Lucky 31? Big outlay there.

11-03-2024, 06:08 PM
Lucky 15: State Man, Lossiemouth, Ballyburn, El Fabiolo.

Do I dare add Galopin Des Champs for the Lucky 31? Big outlay there.
There's nothing lucky about selecting such heavy odds-on favourites! But if you end up with a tidy sum riding on El Fab I hope he stands up for you. I read that Edwardstone is going to make it a fast run race. That will test El Fab's scratchy jumping especially if he is more used to the typical Irish race pattern of steadied pace then sprint from two out. I'd venture to suggest that in a fast run race at Cheltenham, he is longer odds than 1/2 to stay on his feet, never mind win. And given Jonbon's last outing, Edwardstone EW at 15/2 in an 8-runner field and places 1-2-3 is the best value bet .

11-03-2024, 06:36 PM
Using one of the free bets on the Supreme Novices on Jeriko Du Reponet. Would be nice to see the Irish applecart being upset.

Nothing standing out apart from the obvious Lossiemouth and State Man tomorrow unless anyone has any tips :greengrin

11-03-2024, 07:01 PM
There's nothing lucky about selecting such heavy odds-on favourites! But if you end up with a tidy sum riding on El Fab I hope he stands up for you. I read that Edwardstone is going to make it a fast run race. That will test El Fab's scratchy jumping especially if he is more used to the typical Irish race pattern of steadied pace then sprint from two out. I'd venture to suggest that in a fast run race at Cheltenham, he is longer odds than 1/2 to stay on his feet, never mind win. And given Jonbon's last outing, Edwardstone EW at 15/2 in an 8-runner field and places 1-2-3 is the best value bet .

Some good points there. Jonbon cost me a tidy sum accumulator in his last race. I will never forgive him. I think he was around 2/7 and by far the shortest price in the bet. I couldn’t believe it. I think/hope El Fabiolo’s class will tell, but you just never know in jump racing.

The Supreme Novice looks a cracking race to kick things off. EW only for me I think.

12-03-2024, 10:12 AM
Any good tips for watching Cheltenham in City centre pubs? Prefer being able to hear commentary etc.

12-03-2024, 10:52 AM
Any good tips for watching Cheltenham in City centre pubs? Prefer being able to hear commentary etc.

I used to always watch in either Mathers on Broughton Street or the Cask & Barrell on the same. The latter certainly still shows albeit it might be stretching city centre to the limit.

12-03-2024, 10:55 AM
Nothing overly controversial from me today:

1.30 - Tullyhill
2.10 - Quilixios (looks a good price to me)
2.50 - Meetingofthewaters

Also a wee acca on the favs in the Grade 1s:

Mystical Power
Gaelic Warrior
State Man
Lossiemouth

12-03-2024, 11:09 AM
Here's a cluedo for the Champion Hurdle.
Colonel Mustard - in the home straight - with a late run for a place.

12-03-2024, 12:43 PM
Nothing overly controversial from me today:

1.30 - Tullyhill
2.10 - Quilixios (looks a good price to me)
2.50 - Meetingofthewaters

Also a wee acca on the favs in the Grade 1s:

Mystical Power
Gaelic Warrior
State Man
Lossiemouth

Tully let me down on first be

Also have Gaelic Warrior, Chianti classico and Stateman on a e/w treble

12-03-2024, 02:15 PM
Tully let me down on first be

Also have Gaelic Warrior, Chianti classico and Stateman on a e/w treble

Looking good!

12-03-2024, 02:16 PM
Here's a cluedo for the Champion Hurdle.
Colonel Mustard - in the home straight - with a late run for a place.

Good call, quite common for an outsider to run on for a place in a race with a clear favourite when the nearest challengers try to go with the favourite.

12-03-2024, 03:07 PM
Looking good!

Aye, wish I stuck more than 2.50 ew on it now though 😂. Still, gives me some change to play with for rest of the week

12-03-2024, 04:31 PM
Had 40 on state man @ev’s with 365 which went on to Lossiemouth 🤙

12-03-2024, 05:42 PM
Good to see some bets coming up. I had Tullyhill EW in the Supreme. He just ran out of petrol in the heavy ground and was disappointing in the end. I had Trelawne EW in the Ultima, only for him to crash out at the second fence. Shame, he would have enjoyed the ground. So, I was £100 down.

My lucky 15 remains in play thanks to State Man and Lossiemouth. I’m really pleased for State Man, he’s a cracking horse; he’s just unlucky to be running at the same time as Constitution Hill. He deserves to be a champion. I also have an accumulator containing those two, so that’s still going. I will put on a few singles tomorrow.

Did anybody else think the Cheltenham atmosphere sounded flat on TV? The weather perhaps? It sounded quiet.

12-03-2024, 05:45 PM
Aye, wish I stuck more than 2.50 ew on it now though 😂. Still, gives me some change to play with for rest of the week

Aye, that treble was a cracking bet. :aok:

12-03-2024, 07:39 PM
Good to see some bets coming up. I had Tullyhill EW in the Supreme. He just ran out of petrol in the heavy ground and was disappointing in the end. I had Trelawne EW in the Ultima, only for him to crash out at the second fence. Shame, he would have enjoyed the ground. So, I was £100 down.

My lucky 15 remains in play thanks to State Man and Lossiemouth. I’m really pleased for State Man, he’s a cracking horse; he’s just unlucky to be running at the same time as Constitution Hill. He deserves to be a champion. I also have an accumulator containing those two, so that’s still going. I will put on a few singles tomorrow.

Did anybody else think the Cheltenham atmosphere sounded flat on TV? The weather perhaps? It sounded quiet.

My boss was there in the Best Mate enclosure and after texting me 'I need help'😂 said he had a cracking day and it was 'jumping'. His first time there though so no idea if it was the usual jumping or a more subdued jumping. He's hospitality tomorrow so I think that might be a bit calmer.

I had a nightmare of a day today. Had Ndaawi each way as a bit of a saver but still down. Definitely going down next year, not been since 2020 and I'm so jealous watching on the box.

13-03-2024, 06:31 AM
I used to always watch in either Mathers on Broughton Street or the Cask & Barrell on the same. The latter certainly still shows albeit it might be stretching city centre to the limit.

Cheers thanks went to Scotties before which was good but stay out of town so anything near station fine.

13-03-2024, 06:35 AM
Not great yesterday only got Corbetts in the last who looked amazing. A couple today Built by Ballymore 250 and the Yellow Clay in bumper.

13-03-2024, 06:51 AM
I'm sticking on the odds on treble:

1.30 - Ballyburn
2.10 - Fact to File
3.30 - El Fabiolo

I think there are more than a few interesting horses at prices today though.

1.30 - Jingko Blue - Stayed on well up the hill at Sandown last time and looks pretty unexposed.
2.10 - American Mike - A race often won by a tough horse rather than a flashy one. Goes well on soft/heavy and open to improvement
2.50 - Lucky Place - Ran well at Cheltenham in January and opening handicap mark seems fair

All of those 3 e/w.

ErinGoBraghHFC
13-03-2024, 07:30 AM

1.30 - Ballyburn
2.10 - Fact to File
3.30 - El Fabiolo

1.30 - Jingko Blue - Stayed on well up the hill at Sandown last time and looks pretty unexposed.
2.10 - American Mike - A race often won by a tough horse rather than a flashy one. Goes well on soft/heavy and open to improvement
2.50 - Lucky Place - Ran well at Cheltenham in January and opening handicap mark seems fair

All of those 3 e/w.

I’ve taken those other three as winners betting without Ballyburn, Fact To File and Sa Majeste with Willy Hill’s free 5er bet. Not my money anyway, worth a punt. Put the odds on treble on yesterday night with my own money mind you[emoji1]

13-03-2024, 09:45 AM

1.30 - Ballyburn
2.10 - Fact to File
3.30 - El Fabiolo

Same for me although I have my doubts if all 3 will come in. Had a good day yesterday.

Western Fold ew in the Coral Cup.

Took BetMGM's bet £10 get £60 in free bets offer. Their site was down almost all day yesterday which was a total farce but thankfully they've fixed it so money is in my bank already and no verification docs required....yet.

13-03-2024, 12:27 PM

1.30 - Ballyburn
2.10 - Fact to File
3.30 - El Fabiolo

All of those 3 e/w.

Aye the treble is my bet today alongside a lucky 15. Well, when I say treble, the first is ev’s on 365, if that wins all of it on the double

13-03-2024, 12:52 PM
Wow!! What an animal that is!!

13-03-2024, 01:56 PM
Now that is a Gold Cup horse in the making if ever I've seen one.

5/1 does look a bit silly mind you.

13-03-2024, 03:08 PM
Well that's a blow.

13-03-2024, 03:15 PM
Well that's a blow.

Aye, bit of a pisser that one!!

13-03-2024, 04:04 PM
That’s a really sair yin. El Fabiolo was 1/2 when I placed the lucky 15. Jonbon doesn’t run, El Fabiolo starts at 2/9 and seemingly just needs to jog around, only for him to make a national hunt of it. His jumping can sometimes be scratchy, and today of all days not even his great ability could get him out of it. Scunnered.

Lucky 15 stake £450. Return £485 (three winners) El Fabiolo cost me about £900 profit. :rolleyes:

13-03-2024, 04:37 PM
I got the winner in the bumper, but only had £20 on at 4/1. Nae consolation, though it puts me in profit overall.

13-03-2024, 05:45 PM
Does anyone follow Irish NH Tips on Twitter?

Writes an excellent and thorough blog - Thursdays thoughts - http://irishnhtips.home.blog/2024/03/13/from-nags-to-riches-day-3-cheltenham-festival-guide/

Profile - https://x.com/irishnhtips?s=21

14-03-2024, 06:29 AM
Todays duds:

1.30 - Iroko (although it's wide open and I fear Facile Vega in particular who looks bred for this trip)
2.10 - Kyntara e/w
2.50 - Stage Star
3.30 - Crambo

ErinGoBraghHFC
14-03-2024, 11:34 AM
13.30 Facile Vega
14.50 Envoi Allen
15.30 Teahupoo

14-03-2024, 11:40 AM
13.30 Facile Vega
14.50 Envoi Allen
15.30 Teahupoo

Got the same, but Cleatus Poolaw on the 14:10 instead of the 13:30 race

14-03-2024, 12:00 PM
Grey Dawning in the first for me.

14-03-2024, 12:28 PM
Facile Vega
Le Milos with Monmiral ew
Banbridge

Teahupoo & Brighterdaysahead douible

14-03-2024, 01:19 PM
Typical, backed Monmiral ew and it comes in at 25/1 😬

14-03-2024, 01:42 PM

You an PB had forecast between you!

Hard racing today tbf, I think paisley park looks like good e/w value

14-03-2024, 01:57 PM
Grey Dawning in the first for me.

Well done :aok:

14-03-2024, 01:59 PM
I see Henderson has now withdrawn Sir Gino tomorrow. Has one of the biggest names ever had such a disastrous Cheltenham? You work towards it all year, only for everything to go up in smoke.

14-03-2024, 02:20 PM
I see Henderson has now withdrawn Gino Blue tomorrow. Has one of the biggest names ever had such a disastrous Cheltenham? You work towards it all year, only for everything to go up in smoke.

Probably worth watching a few of those horses at Aintree and Punchestown now.

You often get a shock or 2 at both with tired horses getting turned over, if he can get whatever is ailing his stable cleared up then a few fresh horses could do the business. I think I'll be having a bit of Shiskin in the Aintree Bowl.

14-03-2024, 03:48 PM
Brighterdaysahead to hopefully clear me for today 🤞

14-03-2024, 03:52 PM
You an PB had forecast between you!

Hard racing today tbf, I think paisley park looks like good e/w value

Aye so we did! Good place for tips this :greengrin

14-03-2024, 03:57 PM
Oh well, seconditis today, lucky last hopefully 🤣

14-03-2024, 04:50 PM
Probably worth watching a few of those horses at Aintree and Punchestown now.

You often get a shock or 2 at both with tired horses getting turned over, if he can get whatever is ailing his stable cleared up then a few fresh horses could do the business. I think I'll be having a bit of Shiskin in the Aintree Bowl.

That’s a good point; his horses will be fresh.

14-03-2024, 05:23 PM
Lucky last it was!! Derek O’Connor is a top jock likes

14-03-2024, 06:51 PM

Yeah nightmare :greengrin

14-03-2024, 06:52 PM
Well done :aok:

Cheers doesn't happen very often :aok:

14-03-2024, 07:47 PM
Yeah nightmare :greengrin

🤣🤣

Dmas
15-03-2024, 06:16 AM
Just been using free bets so far this week nothing in couple of 4 folds off the post tues and Wed not even close yesterday, day off today beers in the fridge have a decent crack at it today, all tips welcome!

My fancies so far are it’s on the line and dinoblue double just under 5s

15-03-2024, 07:18 AM
Bruising week so far for me but today is another day and all that.

1.30 - Majborough
2.10 - L'Eau Du Sud
2.50 - Johnnywho
3.30 - Galopin Des Champs

Also gone for the 'Hibs double' (look at the silks) each way:

1.30 Nurburgring
3.30- L'Homme Presse

15-03-2024, 07:55 AM
Well up for the week (first time for years) so happy with that and free bets only today - a couple of pretty mad ones but we shall see

Triumph Hurdle - Salver
Gold Cup - L'Homme Presse

I'll probably take one of PB's as well - he is due a winner :wink:

15-03-2024, 08:05 AM
Well up for the week (first time for years) so happy with that and free bets only today - a couple of pretty mad ones but we shall see

Triumph Hurdle - Salver
Gold Cup - L'Homme Presse

I'll probably take one of PB's as well - he is due a winner :wink:
Would love to see LHP win but I don't think it will stay up the hill. I can't see past Gallopin but the value is 50/1 The Real Whacker, plugging on for a place past tired horses.

15-03-2024, 08:53 AM
Would love to see LHP win but I don't think it will stay up the hill. I can't see past Gallopin but the value is 50/1 The Real Whacker, plugging on for a place past tired horses.

15-03-2024, 09:46 AM
Went for the lucky 15 today

Majborough 1:30
L'eau Du Sud 2:10
Chigorin 2:50
Waterfront Whispers 5:30

Got 2 free £5 bets to use which I will prob stick E/W on a couple of midfielders for the gold cup, ill look again at lunchtime

15-03-2024, 12:37 PM
That's a better start to the day. About ****ing time as well.

Majborough looks a big, staying chaser in the making. He jumped the hurdles impeccably and took ground out of everyone else every time they left the ground.

15-03-2024, 02:39 PM
Get in there Galopin! 👏

15-03-2024, 02:40 PM
What a horse. Never in doubt from about 5 out. Never quite got him at the 12s I got last year but a decent antepost all the same. Couldn't resist another wedge at evens today as well.

11/4 to do it again next year. I'm in.

15-03-2024, 04:30 PM
Get in there Galopin! 👏

What a horse. Never in doubt from about 5 out. Never quite got him at the 12s I got last year but a decent antepost all the same. Couldn't resist another wedge at evens today as well.

11/4 to do it again next year. I'm in.

Well done, PB. I lumped on at 10/11 this morning. I expected him to be shorter by that stage. He jumped and travelled like a dream. I put £50 of that on a double in the next two races: It’s On The Line and Dinoblue - both lost by under a length. There were a few cracking finishes today; I just happened to be on the wrong end of them. Overall I roughly broke even over the four days, no thanks to El Fabiolo, who did a Goshen on me and destroyed my big lucky 15. Such are the fine margins.

25-03-2024, 12:28 AM
Sad to read about the passing of Highfield Princess after picking up an injury in her stall last week.

26-03-2024, 04:47 PM
Booked up for Cheltenham next year.

Early bird prices were the same as this year and with my Rewards4Racing points I got club tickets for the Tuesday and Wednesday worth £173 and only paid £32. Staying in Bristol again. Already looking forward to it.

Off to Musselburgh on Saturday for the start of the flat as well and have an invite to the Friday at the National meeting from a client at work but not sure I'm going to be able to swing that.

30-03-2024, 07:24 AM
Musselburgh abandoned today. Annoying as was looking forward to the day out and it was a decent card.

30-03-2024, 08:37 AM
Musselburgh abandoned today. Annoying as was looking forward to the day out and it was a decent card.

Why is it off? Strange one thought the drainage was always pretty good there

30-03-2024, 08:44 AM
Why is it off? Strange one thought the drainage was always pretty good there

It usually is but apparently it's been above average rainfall all month and the downpour about 5am tipped it.

Tbh it's fair enough. They posted a video and the ground was clearly too deep for racing just outside the racing line. One misstep and you are looking at broken legs and no one wants to see that.

30-03-2024, 08:48 AM
It usually is but apparently it's been above average rainfall all month and the downpour about 5am tipped it.

Tbh it's fair enough. They posted a video and the ground was clearly too deep for racing just outside the racing line. One misstep and you are looking at broken legs and no one wants to see that.

Yep fair enough if that was the case. Just a little surprised it was off at all given it would be fresh ground for the flat.

30-03-2024, 08:53 AM

I walk my dog at the lagoons beside the course. A lot of the area was flooded yesterday and there was no way racing would be going ahead today, worst I've ever seen it apart from that crazy storm Arwen we had at the end of November about 3 years ago where the whole area was basically a loch!

03-04-2024, 08:30 PM
William Hill app has a free £1 bet for the Grand National. Panda Boy. You heard it here first!

12-04-2024, 07:56 AM
Wondering why the National is on at 4 tomorrow as sure i had seen it scheduled for 515 maybe was looking at last season resullt.

Quite like the look of Panda Boy and Kitty Light.

12-04-2024, 08:03 AM
Wondering why the National is on at 4 tomorrow as sure i had seen it scheduled for 515 maybe was looking at last season resullt.

Quite like the look of Panda Boy and Kitty Light.

They brought the time back forward as part of the safety review after last years race. Apparently an earlier start is more likely to give decent ground.

The traditional time was always 3.45 but it was moved a few years back so it started after the 3pm football finished.

I really like Mahler Mission. He was tanking along in the National Hunt Chase at Cheltenham last year and looked every inch the winner until he fell 2 out, a good 2nd at Newbury in December when he lost both his front shoes and he goes on soft. Also going to have an EW on Foxy Jack's for Mouse Morris who I reckon will give a run for my money. Finally Meetingofthewaters who I backed in the Ultima at Cheltenham were he ran a creditable 3rd and again likes heavy and looks to be crying out for a marathon trip. Only worry is he is a bit of a nervy sort so may not take to the crowd.

12-04-2024, 10:46 AM
They brought the time back forward as part of the safety review after last years race. Apparently an earlier start is more likely to give decent ground.

The traditional time was always 3.45 but it was moved a few years back so it started after the 3pm football finished.

I really like Mahler Mission. He was tanking along in the National Hunt Chase at Cheltenham last year and looked every inch the winner until he fell 2 out, a good 2nd at Newbury in December when he lost both his front shoes and he goes on soft. Also going to have an EW on Foxy Jack's for Mouse Morris who I reckon will give a run for my money. Finally Meetingofthewaters who I backed in the Ultima at Cheltenham were he ran a creditable 3rd and again likes heavy and looks to be crying out for a marathon trip. Only worry is he is a bit of a nervy sort so may not take to the crowd.

Fair enough good summary tend to go for horses under 11 stone but so many chances and likely Mullins will end up favourite. Think Corach Rambler will run well though got to think weight and gold cup will affect though possible each way and did win at Cheltenham last year.

12-04-2024, 10:02 PM
I backed I am Maximus for the race a couple of weeks ago, I backed Mr Incredible when he was going well until his saddle slipped and unseated the rider in last year's race, wouldn't be surprised to see him put in a decent run tomorrow following his 2nd in The Midlands National.

13-04-2024, 03:13 PM
I backed I am Maximus for the race a couple of weeks ago.

That'll do. 🍺

13-04-2024, 03:23 PM
Meetingofthewaters e/w - must have missed out on 6th by a whisker.

Ironically looking for the result and 6th pops up with "aint that a shame" ... yes it is actually. :greengrin

13-04-2024, 06:22 PM
Thought that was a really good race today.

Upwards of 10 horses still in with a chance 3 out is almost unheard of. The standing start definitely made sure they used a wider range on the course which meant less horses being brought down by fallers or unseaters. The reduced field also created space as well.

The race has changed and it's not the challenge it was. A few of those horses piling through the top of the fences would have been found out by the old solid wood cores and stiff birch and Beechers and Valentines are a shadow of what they were. The world changes though and if we want the race to continue at all then there has to be compromise and adaptation.

That was good spectacle today and a good advert for steeplechasing imo.

14-04-2024, 02:27 PM

Upwards of 10 horses still in with a chance 3 out is almost unheard of. The standing start definitely made sure they used a wider range on the course which meant less horses being brought down by fallers or unseaters. The reduced field also created space as well.

The race has changed and it's not the challenge it was. A few of those horses piling through the top of the fences would have been found out by the old solid wood cores and stiff birch and Beechers and Valentines are a shadow of what they were. The world changes though and if we want the race to continue at all then there has to be compromise and adaptation.

No fallers really sums up the way that the fences have changed, much better quality of horses obviously helps too.

14-04-2024, 06:40 PM
Had Delta Work, pretty gutted about that mistake he made on the 1st circuit, went like a dream otherwise and it cost him the race.

14-04-2024, 07:12 PM
Had Delta Work, pretty gutted about that mistake he made on the 1st circuit, went like a dream otherwise and it cost him the race.

I dunno about costing him the race on the first circuit. Delta Work ran an absolute cracker and was ultimately well beat by the best horse on the day. Very rare for any horse to go the whole way round the national without some sort of trouble to overcome. Hard to think that after recovering fine and running a stormer to finish where he did, that a different 1sr circuit would have seen him beat IAM.

But then what do I know.. my interest in the race was over after about 5 seconds 😂

15-04-2024, 01:25 PM
I put £2.50 e/w on glengouly at 100/1. I knew he had no chance and I've fallen foul before of an outsider breaking away (even more so than on saturday) only to then show why they were priced so long when they tire... was still exciting at the time, probably the horse who led the race for the longest time.

15-04-2024, 03:34 PM
I backed I am Maximus for the race a couple of weeks ago, I backed Mr Incredible when he was going well until his saddle slipped and unseated the rider in last year's race, wouldn't be surprised to see him put in a decent run tomorrow following his 2nd in The Midlands National.

Well done won impressively. Glad it won as wife had the second and due to her having it each way now thinks she is a professional tipster and unbearable. Can’t imagine what she would be like if she had won. 😂

15-04-2024, 03:34 PM
I put £2.50 e/w on glengouly at 100/1. I knew he had no chance and I've fallen foul before of an outsider breaking away (even more so than on saturday) only to then show why they were priced so long when they tire... was still exciting at the time, probably the horse who led the race for the longest time.

Yeah ran well for a long way.

15-04-2024, 03:36 PM

Yes was a good race and handicapper would have been smiling with so many having a chance at final bend. Bit of a shame Corach rambler unseated would have been interesting to see how it would have got on.

15-04-2024, 03:38 PM
No fallers really sums up the way that the fences have changed, much better quality of horses obviously helps too.

Was there not a couple of fallers at the chair?

15-04-2024, 04:16 PM

Apparently they were all unseats. Though think I read one horse fell, after it was already unseated. So technically, in form terms, no fallers.

15-04-2024, 06:08 PM
Apparently they were all unseats. Though think I read one horse fell, after it was already unseated. So technically, in form terms, no fallers.

Corach Rambler took a really nasty tumble at the second fence after his unseating at the first. It looked bad on TV and he stayed down for a few seconds. Lucinda Russell reported he had been a wee bit winded but was checked over and cleared to return home.

Mac Tottie was also dismounted quickly after being pulled up and had to be loaded into the horse ambulance. Again trainer confirmed he was checked over and cleared to go home that night.

15-04-2024, 06:11 PM

Mahler Mission, who I backed and thought was just starting to move quite nicely into the race after some poor jumping early on, made a really bad mistake and jerked badly right but kept his feet. He hampered Mr incredible, who my laddie backed, who also unseated.

A great fence for us.......

20-04-2024, 07:15 AM
Really struggling to narrow down the options for The Scottish National, struggling to decide between a handful at the head of the market, Git Maker seems to have been well supported over the last few days.

20-04-2024, 01:38 PM
Plumped for Inis Oirr ew.

20-04-2024, 02:49 PM
Plumped for Inis Oirr ew.

Absolutely cruising then found nowt, oh well. 😥

20-04-2024, 04:47 PM
McDermott with the jockey all in green was a cert! 🤣

21-04-2024, 08:50 AM
Absolutely cruising then found nowt, oh well. 😥

I was watching it in the pub and couldn't hear the commentary, turns out that I was watching the wrong horse! 🙄

21-04-2024, 11:39 AM
I was watching it in the pub and couldn't hear the commentary, turns out that I was watching the wrong horse! 🙄

I made the same mistake watching it on my phone at the Bonnyrigg v Spartans game. It was Whistleinthedark who was prominent, very similar colours.

21-04-2024, 06:36 PM
I made the same mistake watching it on my phone at the Bonnyrigg v Spartans game. It was Whistleinthedark who was prominent, very similar colours.

Aye, that's the one. 😁

22-04-2024, 11:00 AM
Could be something or nothing but Law Degree in the 1.52 at Pontefract opened at 50s this morning and is now 17/2.

22-04-2024, 02:56 PM
Could be something or nothing but Law Degree in the 1.52 at Pontefract opened at 50s this morning and is now 17/2.

Finished 7th, started at 10/1.

22-04-2024, 08:59 PM

You owe me a fiver. 😜

23-04-2024, 10:52 AM
You owe me a fiver. 😜

Me too 😂

23-04-2024, 11:36 AM
Aye I think that definitely fell into the nothing camp:rolleyes:

23-04-2024, 03:23 PM
Aye I think that definitely fell into the nothing camp:rolleyes:

Thanks for sharing it momentarily brightened up a dull working Monday 😄

28-04-2024, 09:07 PM
Nickey Henderson reporting Shiskin has been euthanised today after breaking a leg in his stable.

Sad news. A quirky sort but on his day he was top class.

28-04-2024, 10:56 PM
Nickey Henderson reporting Shiskin has been euthanised today after breaking a leg in his stable.

That's a great shame, I was only just reading this morning about them looking forward to Punchestown with the horse.

30-04-2024, 03:07 PM

Wow Henderson hasn't had his troubles to seek recently recently

02-05-2024, 06:10 PM
I've watched national hunt racing for as long as I can remember and defended it in the face of the criticism it receives. See when you see what just happened to Sire Du Berlais you can see why it's such an easy sport to give a kicking.

12 year old, likely to be retired after today's race, has given his connections some great days and he's just not interested today, never travelled a yard. Why is Mark Walsh working away on him, pushing him along, drawing the whip and desperately looking for something over a mile out? Just pull the horse up and let him retire. Instead he cajoles him to continue and he ends up fatally injured.

Really poor horsemanship, the horse owed no one anything and deserved better. It's also a shocking look for racing.

16-05-2024, 06:25 PM
Corach Rambler retired.

He looked bloody miserable at Punchestown earlier this month and he's had a pretty gruelling career over some long trips. Good to see Lucinda Russell do right by him, hopefully he'll have a long retirement.

18-05-2024, 04:52 PM
I've watched national hunt racing for as long as I can remember and defended it in the face of the criticism it receives. See when you see what just happened to Sire Du Berlais you can see why it's such an easy sport to give a kicking.

12 year old, likely to be retired after today's race, has given his connections some great days and he's just not interested today, never travelled a yard. Why is Mark Walsh working away on him, pushing him along, drawing the whip and desperately looking for something over a mile out? Just pull the horse up and let him retire. Instead he cajoles him to continue and he ends up fatally injured.

Really poor horsemanship, the horse owed no one anything and deserved better. It's also a shocking look for racing.

Yeah hated seeing that.

Flat season is going mad, big price winner now in the Lockinge. What's the point of even attempting to work out who'll win the classics. The way things are going City of Troy will be getting seriously opposed for the Derby. It's a lottery!

15-07-2024, 10:21 AM
Have a look at the name of the 1615 race at Newton Abbot, that worked out well. 🤭

25-07-2024, 04:12 PM
Reading today that Istabraq has died aged 32. One of the greatest hurdlers ever, would surely have won 4 Champion Hurdles had it not been for the postponement of the festival due to foot and mouth. Never finished outside the top 2 when completing a race over hurdles (and he only failed to compete 3 times). The spontaneous round of applause when he was pulled up in his final outing says it all, that doesn't happen often.

More importantly he has a brilliant and long retirement. Seemed to be living a great life right to the end.

25-07-2024, 08:53 PM
Reading today that Istabraq has died aged 32. One of the greatest hurdlers ever, would surely have won 4 Champion Hurdles had it not been for the postponement of the festival due to foot and mouth. Never finished outside the top 2 when completing a race over hurdles (and he only failed to compete 3 times). The spontaneous round of applause when he was pulled up in his final outing says it all, that doesn't happen often.

More importantly he has a brilliant and long retirement. Seemed to be living a great life right to the end.

I remember saying to folk in the pub after he jumped the first hurdle in his last race that he would be pulled up, not proud to be correct. What a machine. 👏

27-07-2024, 02:44 PM
Some performance from Goliath in The King George, absolutely cruising from 2 furlongs out.

21-09-2024, 04:50 PM
Franny Norton signing off with one of his easiest winners of his career. Was a top jock!!

01-10-2024, 08:18 PM
I see Sosie is FAV for The L'arc de Triomphe on Sunday, good Hibs name.

06-10-2024, 02:29 PM
I see Sosie is FAV for The L'arc de Triomphe on Sunday, good Hibs name.

Bluestocking wins.

02-11-2024, 10:17 PM
Some strange results from the Breeders Cup, which just seemed to turn out like a group of handicaps. City of Troy nowhere in his race, very hard to make a case for some of the horses that won and were placed. Dunno if that was down to the course or the conditions, but it wasn't particularly soft or anything.

02-11-2024, 10:25 PM
Some strange results from the Breeders Cup, which just seemed to turn out like a group of handicaps. City of Troy nowhere in his race, very hard to make a case for some of the horses that won and were placed. Dunno if that was down to the course or the conditions, but it wasn't particularly soft or anything.

City of Troy seemed to hate the surface although didn't make the best of starts and was staying on at the end. Doubt he'll be seen on dirt again if at all.

03-11-2024, 11:14 AM
City of Troy seemed to hate the surface although didn't make the best of starts and was staying on at the end. Doubt he'll be seen on dirt again if at all.

Never realised it was planned to be his last race beforehand, understandable enough.

03-11-2024, 11:37 AM
City of Troy missed the break then never seemed to travel a yard on the surface.

I've had a weird disdain for the Breeders Cup ever since Rock of Gibraltar got done on the line in the Mile all those years ago. Never really get caught up in it.

06-11-2024, 02:26 PM
Nice wee win @ 3s for I'm on my way in the Chepstow 1455. 🍺

26-11-2024, 02:48 PM
Willie Mullins scratches all his runners from The King George on Boxing Day. Sair yin for antepost punters that one.

27-11-2024, 07:35 AM
Willie Mullins scratches all his runners from The King George on Boxing Day. Sair yin for antepost punters that one.

Not massively surprised. Never really a race he has targeted because of Leopardstown running at the same time.

I thought he might have kept a couple of the 2nd string in but I never really anticipated Gaelic Warrior or Galopin Des Champs travelling on Boxig Day when there is a comparable if not better race at home.

27-11-2024, 07:37 AM
Not massively surprised. Never really a race he has targeted because of Leopardstown running at the same time.

I thought he might have kept a couple of the 2nd string in but I never really anticipated Gaelic Warrior or Galopin Des Champs travelling on Boxig Day when there is a comparable if not better race at home.

Aye, certainly didn't expect them all to be scratched.

03-12-2024, 11:34 AM
A few interesting reappearances at the weekend.

Lossiemouth looked really impressive beating a decent horse in Teahupoo without really being asked for an effort. Mystical power was a no show in the Fighting Fifth but Sir Gino looked good in winning. Jumping looked much improved.

Caldwell Potter done all you would expect him to do at Carlisle but I doubt his owners spent £740K for that to be the limit of their ambitions. Impare Et Passe likewise got the job done in a pretty modest race at Fairyhouse. Both jumped a bit left and whilst that won't be a huge issue at Cheltenham I think both trainers will want their jumping tidied up a bit.

Hibs1972
23-12-2024, 01:38 PM
If Constitution Hill can give 7lbs and a beating to Lossiemouth he is an absolute superstar!! Can’t really see it myself though!! Lossiemouth all the way.🙌🙌

23-12-2024, 01:43 PM
If Constitution Hill can give 7lbs and a beating to Lossiemouth he is an absolute superstar!! Can’t really see it myself though!! Lossiemouth all the way.🙌🙌

Bookies appear to agree, as do I. Race fitness in her favour too. Constitution Hill 15lbs clear on the handicap though.

23-12-2024, 02:56 PM

Disappointing the race has only attracted 4 runners.

I get there are handicap marks to protect with the big festivals here and in Ireland to come but always a bit rubbish seeing a grade 1 become all but a glorified match race.

Hard to know where Constituion Hill is. Didn't look great alongside Sir Gino in his racecourse gallop but then the latter is a smart horse in his own right and won the Fighting Fifth easily so not sure how much you can take from that.

Hibs1972
23-12-2024, 07:28 PM
On the big race of the day, the King George, can’t quite get my head around why Envoi Allen is 16-1 with bet 365, granted he ran stinking in this race 2 years ago but will absolutely love the ground, 3m on a flat track is ideal, would perm:
Envoi Allen
Banbridge
Ile Est Francais in a reverse Exacta, 3 guaranteed to love the drying ground.

Good luck to all.👍

23-12-2024, 08:39 PM
On the big race of the day, the King George, can’t quite get my head around why Envoi Allen is 16-1 with bet 365, granted he ran stinking in this race 2 years ago but will absolutely love the ground, 3m on a flat track is ideal, would perm:
Envoi Allen
Banbridge

Good luck to all.👍

It's quite hard to forget IEF's run at Kempton on Boxing Day last year.

Hibs1972
24-12-2024, 08:22 AM
It's quite hard to forget IEF's run at Kempton on Boxing Day last year.
The only negative for the French raider is the PU last time out, be surprised if any winner of the King George pulled up on its previous run, will love the ground for sure.👍

24-12-2024, 01:39 PM
The only negative for the French raider is the PU last time out, be surprised if any winner of the King George pulled up on its previous run, will love the ground for sure.👍

IIRC the time for the race was quicker than The King George time on the same day. I'm really struggling to make my mind up between 3 or 4 of them though.

25-12-2024, 08:14 PM
Bookies appear to agree, as do I. Race fitness in her favour too. Constitution Hill 15lbs clear on the handicap though.

Constitution Hill FAV now.

26-12-2024, 07:48 AM
I think I'll have a wee nibble on L'Homme Press in the big one. All his best form has come when he's gone fresh.

I'll also be on Spillane's Tower. His 2nd in the John Durkan is solid form when you look at the field and he's the most progressive in the field. I'm not buying that the ground will be too quick for him.

26-12-2024, 08:54 AM
I think I'll have a wee nibble on L'Homme Press in the big one. All his best form has come when he's gone fresh.

I'll also be on Spillane's Tower. His 2nd in the John Durkan is solid form when you look at the field and he's the most progressive in the field. I'm not buying that the ground will be too quick for him.

I'm just going to leave it, can't make up my mind. I've usually got one picked out but, can't decide between 3 or 4 of them. You could well be right about the FAV, That Fact to File form looks like the strongest in the race.

Hibs1972
26-12-2024, 10:08 AM
Surprised to see Constitution Hill as fav again, must be some confidence behind it, let’s hope for a cracker!!

Hibs1972
26-12-2024, 01:01 PM
Superstar Constitution Hill

Hibs1972
26-12-2024, 01:40 PM
Envoi Allen
Banbridge

Good luck to all.👍

oh well, wee exacta up!🙌🙌

27-12-2024, 02:37 PM
I was impressed with Sir Gino today, odds on but still impressive. He'll take some beating in the Arkle, Nicky Henderson has produced some of the very best 2 mile chasers over the years and this looks like another on the production line. He could of kept him over hurdles but then he'd have to race against Constitution Hill.

28-12-2024, 07:07 AM
Skeltons have 3 runners at Kelso tomorrow. Expect then to be short prices. Will cover with a trixie.

28-12-2024, 08:02 AM
I was impressed with Sir Gino today, odds on but still impressive. He'll take some beating in the Arkle, Nicky Henderson has produced some of the very best 2 mile chasers over the years and this looks like another on the production line. He could of kept him over hurdles but then he'd have to race against Constitution Hill.

He jumped impeccably. Sometimes you watch these novices and you just know they will crack when their jumping is put under pressure but he hardly put a foot wrong (I think you can excuse the mistake at the 1st).

28-12-2024, 01:43 PM
Good performance from Galopin des Champs, particularly from approaching the last to the line.

28-12-2024, 03:25 PM
I see that The Famous Five won @ 2/1 at Newbury earlier this afternoon.

28-12-2024, 05:17 PM
Good performance from Galopin des Champs, particularly from approaching the last to the line.

The jump at the last was a beauty.

At first I thought he had got a bit high but it was so long over the fence. Put the race to be right there as all the momentum was his.

29-12-2024, 03:24 PM
Some effort from Brighterdaysahead over State Man.

29-12-2024, 03:41 PM
Skeltons have 3 runners at Kelso tomorrow. Expect then to be short prices. Will cover with a trixie.

All 3 won, a couple of decent prices. 8/15, 11/4 & 11/4. 👏

29-12-2024, 08:31 PM
All 3 won, a couple of decent prices. 8/15, 11/4 & 11/4. 👏

Yip - trixie then put another treble on earlier. Delighted!

18-01-2025, 09:33 AM
Is Caldwell Potter Fergie's most expensive mistake since Bebe? Looking that way.

01-02-2025, 02:41 PM
Another exhibition from Galopin Des Champs, just give him The Gold Cup now.

01-02-2025, 06:04 PM
Another exhibition from Galopin Des Champs, just give him The Gold Cup now.

He must be entering the conversation about the best staying chaser ever. Certainly in the modern era. He almost combines the best of Denman and Kauto Star; an absolutely relentless galloper who attacks his fences whilst being a wee bit flashy with it.

02-02-2025, 12:03 PM
He must be entering the conversation about the best staying chaser ever. Certainly in the modern era. He almost combines the best of Denman and Kauto Star; an absolutely relentless galloper who attacks his fences whilst being a wee bit flashy with it.

Mullins said yesterday that he was the best chaser that he had trained.

04-02-2025, 04:18 PM
Plenty to like about Gavin Cromwell's Grand National entries. Let's see what the weights bring next week.

16-02-2025, 08:31 AM
Michael O'Sullivan sadly dies after his fall at Thurles a couple of weeks back.

A sad reminder of just how dangerous a sport NH racing is, these guys put it all on the line every time.

16-02-2025, 09:12 AM
Michael O'Sullivan sadly dies after his fall at Thurles a couple of weeks back.

A sad reminder of just how dangerous a sport NH racing is, these guys put it all on the line every time.

Only 24. Heartbreaking.

21-02-2025, 03:43 PM
Only 24. Heartbreaking.

Yes so sad. Shows how dangerous the sport is and how brave the jump jockeys are. RIP

22-02-2025, 08:13 AM
Quite fancy Hyland in the 1535 at Kempton today, although the form of Henderson's horses is a slight concern. Ran well at the course at Xmas.

28-02-2025, 06:26 AM
I see that The Famous Five won @ 2/1 at Newbury earlier this afternoon.

Runs again today in the 1633 at Newbury.

28-02-2025, 03:39 PM
Runs again today in the 1633 at Newbury.

Caught on the line. 🤬

18-03-2025, 03:26 PM
Plenty to like about Gavin Cromwell's Grand National entries. Let's see what the weights bring next week.
Latest National update is out with the Gold Cup winner and 5/2 fav taken out by Gavin Cromwell along with 10 others. He still has a few to fancy though.
But can anyone explain why penalties don't apply for the GN when the weights are published c.2 months in advance?
Take Mr Vango for example. Raised 9lbs by the handicapper after his Midland GN win on Saturday which would easily guarantee him a run in the big one off 152 (10-11), but as penalties don't apply, he stays on a rating of 143 (10-2) and is 14 places away from getting a run. If he got in, and it was to turn out soft at Aintree, I suspect he would be close to favourite even off 10-11.

cammy1969
18-03-2025, 04:31 PM
Latest National update is out with the Gold Cup winner and 5/2 fav taken out by Gavin Cromwell along with 10 others. He still has a few to fancy though.
But can anyone explain why penalties don't apply for the GN when the weights are published c.2 months in advance?
Take Mr Vango for example. Raised 9lbs by the handicapper after his Midland GN win on Saturday which would easily guarantee him a run in the big one off 152 (10-11), but as penalties don't apply, he stays on a rating of 143 (10-2) and is 14 places away from getting a run. If he got in, and it was to turn out soft at Aintree, I suspect he would be close to favourite even off 10-11.

Gutted had a £10 on the gold cup winner @33/1 [emoji2959]

18-03-2025, 05:14 PM

They started giving the National stand alone weights a few years back to try and attract a higher calibre of horse and in that respect it has worked. There is the massive loophole that can work both ways you have highlighted though.

For what it's worth I quite like Vanillier. I was on him in the Cross Country and he absolutely flew up the hill (allowances made for him passing some tired horses) and if the jockey manages to follow the correct course at Aintree rather than taking another scenic detour then I think he'll go well.

01-04-2025, 09:26 AM
Can’t recall a more competitive National. Loads to fancy. Expect the good going will see a mass of horses in with a chance over the last.

05-04-2025, 06:47 AM
I was having a wee look and my 2 year old said "oh colours, I like that one" and pointed to the green (proud) of Intense Raffles.

Does it have a chance (at 12/1 I assume a reasonable chance)?

05-04-2025, 07:28 AM
I was having a wee look and my 2 year old said "oh colours, I like that one" and pointed to the green (proud) of Intense Raffles.

Does it have a chance (at 12/1 I assume a reasonable chance)?

I know nothing about racing mate. The experts have mentioned this one as a potential winner but it's a lottery!

05-04-2025, 09:17 AM
Vanillier for me.

Ran a blinder at Cheltenham in the Cross Country after a pretty major jockey error (taking the wrong route)dropped him from first to last mid race. He finished like a train up the hill and was a decent 8 lengths 3rd to Stumptown (also running today) in the end. He's run in this before (2nd in 2023) and although he doesn't win a lot of races, he usually gives a run for your money.

Also fancy a wee ew on Fil D'or at a price.

05-04-2025, 10:25 AM
I've backed Meetingofthewaters Ew @ 33s on Betfair.

05-04-2025, 11:11 AM
Tricast: Manilla Indo, Vanillier, Appreciate it - 10,000/1

Mon the horses. :greengrin

05-04-2025, 04:27 PM
I've backed Meetingofthewaters Ew @ 33s on Betfair.

If the race was ran over 2f shorter, it would probably be sitting on 2 wins, oh well, nae harm done.

Pete70
05-04-2025, 09:07 PM
Backed 3 horses all finished. Got paid out for Senior Chief who was 6th, had a whopping £2 ew on it at 33/1