View Full Version : Horse Racing (General)

Pages : 1 2 3 [4] 5

08-04-2021, 03:02 PM
Need Billaway for £630 of a £20 treble.

Cash out has jumped from £120 to £153 to £178 in the last 5 minutes. Going to let it ride though.

08-04-2021, 03:03 PM
Need Billaway for £630 of a £20 treble.

Cash out has jumped from £120 to £153 to £178 in the last 5 minutes. Going to let it ride though.

Good luck

08-04-2021, 03:14 PM
Ran on well and another couple of furlongs and I think he was winning that. Made an awful mistake at the fence before Bechers I think and another couple later on which cost him. Some horses just don't take to those fences.

08-04-2021, 11:53 PM
Clan des Obeaux.

Great nap call, mate :aok:

Mikey_1875
09-04-2021, 07:25 AM
Only taking a couple today. Opposing Chantry House in the 2:50 and going with Fiddler on the roof. Also taking an e/w chance on Bothwell Bridge in the Sefton as well. Good luck for anyone betting today

09-04-2021, 10:38 AM
I'm all over Ajero in the 2.20 today. He's got better every time he has run and his limited form is all on flat, pacy courses. He has a big race in him and I think it could be this one.

09-04-2021, 11:24 AM
I'm all over Ajero in the 2.20 today. He's got better every time he has run and his limited form is all on flat, pacy courses. He has a big race in him and I think it could be this one.

Yep me too although this meeting is always a disaster for me :greengrin

Mikey_1875
09-04-2021, 11:41 AM
Skybet offering money back as cash up to a tenner for 2nd or 3rd in the 2:20 so will have a nibble at it (No Pressure :greengrin)

09-04-2021, 11:49 AM

Yep me too although this meeting is always a disaster for me :greengrin

He's a big drifter, for some reason. Currently 15/2 from 7/2 yesterday.

09-04-2021, 11:59 AM
Silly question, my wife puts a bet on for the National
Presume all the shops are shut😀

09-04-2021, 12:07 PM
Silly question, my wife puts a bet on for the National
Presume all the shops are shut😀

Online account is easy to set up :wink:

https://m.skybet.com/lp/new-customer-guide

09-04-2021, 12:17 PM
Aintree coverage moved to ITV4 😏

09-04-2021, 12:57 PM
I stuck an each way on one of my old favourites, Pink Eyed Pedro, in the 4:05 at 33/1 this morning (six places) and he's now at 20/1. A place would be nice there. He will like the good ground.

09-04-2021, 01:27 PM
I think the lesson from that race is that Belfast Banters win at Cheltenham was no fluke.

09-04-2021, 01:43 PM
Kevin Blake Just napped Chantry House in the next

09-04-2021, 01:48 PM

I thought at Cheltenham staying looked his destiny, he looks like a 3 miler. Whether Aintree is just a bit sharp for him is the only question. Shan Blue should guarantee it's a test of stamina though, he'll tear away at the start.

09-04-2021, 01:59 PM
Chantry House takes full advantage of the fall, he was being ridden but think he might just have got there anyway. No idea what David Bass was thinking on the faller, horse had jumped perfectly and he changed what he had been asking him to do with such success.

09-04-2021, 02:02 PM

Get in ! 😃

09-04-2021, 02:11 PM
Get in ! 😃

I'm not giving him that at 11/8 fav. When Blake backs a 150/1 winner in a National we'll talk :greengrin

09-04-2021, 03:03 PM
I'm not giving him that at 11/8 fav. When Blake backs a 150/1 winner in a National we'll talk :greengrin

He did give us a 500/1 treble at Cheltenham

09-04-2021, 03:18 PM
I stuck an each way on one of my old favourites, Pink Eyed Pedro, in the 4:05 at 33/1 this morning (six places) and he's now at 20/1. A place would be nice there. He will like the good ground.

Second. £25 EW at 33/1 returns £190 :aok:

09-04-2021, 03:40 PM
Second. £25 EW at 33/1 returns £190 :aok:

Shout

09-04-2021, 04:17 PM
Online account is easy to set up :wink:

https://m.skybet.com/lp/new-customer-guide

Thanks

09-04-2021, 09:22 PM
Thanks

I would recommend doing bet 365 instead. They’re giving you half your stake back for each way bets.. and it’s up to enough to get all the family’s on and save a few quid.

And skybet are now shunning folk out of best odds guaranteed when offering extra places (which they are for the National)

10-04-2021, 08:01 AM
I would recommend doing bet 365 instead. They’re giving you half your stake back for each way bets.. and it’s up to enough to get all the family’s on and save a few quid.

And skybet are now shunning folk out of best odds guaranteed when offering extra places (which they are for the National)

Just thought skybet would be easiest for a beginner. Have to say I've never used Bet365 for years, having multiple accounts used to be my downfall.

10-04-2021, 08:07 AM
Anyway... Farclas is my National bet. It's about time a 7 year old won and it's also about time I won...had a bet on it most years since the early 80s and yet to pick a winner ☹️

10-04-2021, 10:19 AM
Avoid Discorama in the National as I’ve backed it.

10-04-2021, 10:58 AM
I've taken Jett at a big price in the National. At his best he's better than an 80/1 shot albeit his best hasn't been seen this season. There's not many jockeys I'd rather have on a horse over those fences than Sam Waley Cohen either. His record is very decent.

Also got a few quid on Takingrisks and the bairn is on Burrows Saint because she likes the Ricci colours.

Mikey_1875
10-04-2021, 11:21 AM
I like the look of Dreal deal in the 14:25 and Happy Go Lucky in the 16:15, although I’ve not picked a winner all week! I think Cloth Cap will be hard to beat in the big one but will be taking bigger prices on Kimberlite Candy, Talk is cheap and Class Conti.

10-04-2021, 11:48 AM
Class Conti - 66/1

Partially for the name being similar to old amadou, also in part because he has similar age and weight to the favourites but you win a lot more at 66/1... :dunno:

And nothing to do with the fact the jockey is in all green. :greengrin

10-04-2021, 12:04 PM
Class Conti - 66/1

Partially for the name being similar to old amadou, also in part because he has similar age and weight to the favourites but you win a lot more at 66/1... :dunno:

And nothing to do with the fact the jockey is in all green. :greengrin

Cloth Cap is proven over the marathon trip. Class Conti has never run further than 3m1f before. The fav also won 2 and placed in 1 good race(s) this season. In saying that Class Conti has placed in a few decent Irish races and looks lime he could be a bit of a stayer over longer so it's worth a couple of pound at the odds.

10-04-2021, 01:34 PM
Superb stuff from My Drogo.

10-04-2021, 01:40 PM

I think in him and Monmiral we have seen 2 star chasers of the future this week.

10-04-2021, 01:43 PM
I think in him and Monmiral we have seen 2 star chasers of the future this week.

Very likely. I don't think I'll take Shishkin at 1/9 in the next :greengrin

10-04-2021, 02:07 PM
Very likely. I don't think I'll take Shishkin at 1/9 in the next :greengrin

I took the EW on Funambule Sivola at 14/1. He ran really well and kept Shishkin honest.

Mikey_1875
10-04-2021, 02:07 PM
Impressive run from second place there, don’t think Shishkin was at his best but maybe a horse to keep an eye on.

10-04-2021, 02:13 PM
Cloth Cap is proven over the marathon trip. Class Conti has never run further than 3m1f before. The fav also won 2 and placed in 1 good race(s) this season. In saying that Class Conti has placed in a few decent Irish races and looks lime he could be a bit of a stayer over longer so it's worth a couple of pound at the odds.

I appreciate cloth cap will surely be the better horse given the odds and that my age/weight method isn't the best but it's all I've got. :greengrin

Thyme hill at 3:35 looks to have a lovely jersey. If it wasn't the favourite I'd be going for that.

10-04-2021, 02:27 PM
I'm going to have a wee wager of Roksana in the next. That's based on Thyme Hill maybe not being 100% and Paisley Park having had a hard race at Cheltenham.

10-04-2021, 02:42 PM
I appreciate cloth cap will surely be the better horse given the odds and that my age/weight method isn't the best but it's all I've got. :greengrin

Thyme hill at 3:35 looks to have a lovely jersey. If it wasn't the favourite I'd be going for that.

Tell us you backed it!

10-04-2021, 02:43 PM
I'm going to have a wee wager of Roksana in the next. That's based on Thyme Hill maybe not being 100% and Paisley Park having had a hard race at Cheltenham.

I thought she had it. Would have won but for clattering the last hurdle, which cost her a bit of momentum.

10-04-2021, 02:44 PM
I thought she had it. Would have won but for clattering the last hurdle, which cost her a bit of momentum.

Hard to say. She ran a blinder bar that last hurdle but O'Brien always looked quite happy on Thyme Hill.

10-04-2021, 02:54 PM
I'm still yet to place my National bets. Not sure.

10-04-2021, 03:11 PM

I backed that too, did well to avoid the faller, never in much doubt after that.

10-04-2021, 03:14 PM
Kimberlite Candy and Blackmore's horse ew for me.

10-04-2021, 03:18 PM
Tell us you backed it!

Nope.

Typical, it'll be the only winner I pick and I picked it for fashion rather than to bet on... :rolleyes:

10-04-2021, 03:30 PM

Yala Enki £10 EW at 40/1

Lord Du Mesnil £10 EW at 66/1

Ruby Walsh's five to complete the race, £10 at 8/1

Fifty quid and that's it. I don't go big on the National, where anything can happen.

10-04-2021, 03:32 PM
Nope.

Typical, it'll be the only winner I pick and I picked it for fashion rather than to bet on... :rolleyes:

Aw man. That was a golden opportunity.

10-04-2021, 04:08 PM
Aw man. That was a golden opportunity.

It was the favourite - barely got your money back. :greengrin

Class Conti is where the action is...

Mr Grieves
10-04-2021, 04:09 PM
£5 Mister Malarkey and £5 ew Jett for me.

10-04-2021, 04:14 PM
I should have been there today, carried over from last year.

Maybe next year!

10-04-2021, 04:27 PM
I had Jett at 100/1 - clearly tired but what a lead he had/blew!

10-04-2021, 04:27 PM
The best in the business does it again.

Jett gave me a good spin for my money at a price.

10-04-2021, 04:28 PM
I had Jett at 100/1 - clearly tired but what a lead he had/blew!

Some bookies were paying 7or 8 places so you might still get a payout. I was on with SkyBet so will get something.

Mikey_1875
Well deserved after a fantastic season for Blackmore. Cemented in the history books now.

Well done, mate. Fantastic moment for Rachael and for the sport. She really is a talent.

10-04-2021, 04:30 PM
My horse tanked but absolutely delighted to see Blackmore win. Brilliant.

10-04-2021, 04:35 PM
Have they confirmed all the horses got home safe yet? I did see the screens go up on the 2nd circuit but looked like it was for a jockey (who I obviously hope is OK as well).

10-04-2021, 04:37 PM
Some bookies were paying 7or 8 places so you might still get a payout. I was on with SkyBet so will get something.

I think 365 only went to 5 as standard. They were offering up to 10 but at lower prices.

I didn't realise the jockey on the winner was the woman who done so well at Cheltenham.

10-04-2021, 04:38 PM
Had a fiver on Blackmore. :aok:

10-04-2021, 04:44 PM
Have they confirmed all the horses got home safe yet? I did see the screens go up on the 2nd circuit but looked like it was for a jockey (who I obviously hope is OK as well).

I saw a badly injured horse at the back on the 2nd circuit.

Had a fiver on Blackmore. :aok:

Iconic moment for sport. Well done Rachel Blackmore.

10-04-2021, 04:46 PM
Iconic moment for sport. Well done Rachel Blackmore.

Tremendous moment.

What a run from Balko Des Flos at 100/1 for a second, too.

10-04-2021, 04:47 PM
I saw a badly injured horse at the back on the 2nd circuit.

Just read on Twitter that The Long Mile broke a hind leg.

Confirmed now on ITV. Bryony Frost taken to hospital as well.

10-04-2021, 04:50 PM
Fantastic story. Well done Rachel. The horse was always thereabouts.

10-04-2021, 04:52 PM

I assume he's been put down? :no way:

10-04-2021, 04:53 PM

Yeah looked bad, just caught a glimpse. What a shame.

10-04-2021, 07:25 PM
I've just watched a few grand Nationals from the 1970s and the 1980s on You Tube. The fences really were extreme; on firm ground there was enormous danger. In addition, the qualifying criteria was lower, hence you had 500/1 no hopers being put at terrible risk. It had to change for welfare reasons.

10-04-2021, 07:59 PM
On to the Scottish National next Saturday. What do we all fancy?

11-04-2021, 10:44 AM

Doubtful that it will go ahead now I would imagine.

11-04-2021, 04:59 PM
Doubtful that it will go ahead now I would imagine.

It’s been moved to the Sunday

11-04-2021, 07:42 PM
It’s been moved to the Sunday

It's what he would have wanted :greengrin

12-04-2021, 05:40 AM

Soldier of Love looks interesting off 11st 1lb if there is no mention of soft in the going.

12-04-2021, 08:24 AM
Have to say I'm not a fan of these other "Grand Nationals" which are just 4 mile races on the same tracks over the same fences as usual. Interesting if you get a big field but that's about it.

12-04-2021, 10:13 AM
Have to say I'm not a fan of these other "Grand Nationals" which are just 4 mile races on the same tracks over the same fences as usual. Interesting if you get a big field but that's about it.

You're not wrong.

12-04-2021, 06:33 PM
Great stuff

https://youtu.be/rHAjfBMK45I

12-04-2021, 07:11 PM

I don't mind the Irish, Welsh and Scottish Nationals which have a heritage similar to the English race.

Some of them are just ridiculous though. Musselburgh have hosted the 'Edinburgh National' the last few years and it's an awful spectacle. Tired horses trudging through heavy ground in early February round the same circuit nearly 4 times.

12-04-2021, 08:59 PM
Great stuff

https://youtu.be/rHAjfBMK45I

That was unreal. It's the first time that John Bridger has won with a first time out 2 year old in his career and he's nearly 80!

12-04-2021, 09:13 PM
I don't mind the Irish, Welsh and Scottish Nationals which have a heritage similar to the English race.

Some of them are just ridiculous though. Musselburgh have hosted the 'Edinburgh National' the last few years and it's an awful spectacle. Tired horses trudging through heavy ground in early February round the same circuit nearly 4 times.

Aye that was absolutely brutal.

12-04-2021, 09:13 PM
That was unreal. It's the first time that John Bridger has won with a first time out 2 year old in his career and he's nearly 80!

Aye, and no doubt that was a factor in the massive price. It's a great story.

18-04-2021, 02:49 PM
After me rubbishing the Edinburgh National a few days ago the winner just won the Scottish National very comfortably. He was also 2nd in the Midlands National, only caught in the last 100 yards. He may well have a high enough mark to get a run at Aintree next year now.

18-04-2021, 04:25 PM
After me rubbishing the Edinburgh National a few days ago the winner just won the Scottish National very comfortably. He was also 2nd in the Midlands National, only caught in the last 100 yards. He may well have a high enough mark to get a run at Aintree next year now.

You think he won comfortably? He won by 3/4 of length from the long time leader (and favourite).

18-04-2021, 05:57 PM
Soldier of Love looks interesting off 11st 1lb if there is no mention of soft in the going.

Oh well, Alcohol Free (which doesnae happen very often) covered my bets for the day.

18-04-2021, 06:38 PM
You think he won comfortably? He won by 3/4 of length from the long time leader (and favourite).

I thought it was comfortable enough. From the 2nd last I was relatively sure he was winning. He picked up well after hitting a flat spot coming out of the back straight and needing a few reminders. The leader was paddling and was very tired in his jumping at the last couple of fences albeit he rallied well after he has headed.

18-04-2021, 09:06 PM
I didn't bother with the Scottish National in the end. Can't wait for Punchestown, though :thumbsup:

18-04-2021, 10:49 PM
I thought it was comfortable enough. From the 2nd last I was relatively sure he was winning. He picked up well after hitting a flat spot coming out of the back straight and needing a few reminders. The leader was paddling and was very tired in his jumping at the last couple of fences albeit he rallied well after he has headed.

All about opinions I suppose. Dingo Dollar had fought off allcomers on different fronts but didn't have enough left to compensate for 2 slow jumps. Didn't look like the winner was anything special, he just plodded on, but obviously I could be proved wrong in the future, it's just my opinion. Good on you if you backed it though.

19-04-2021, 11:20 AM
A terrible tragedy. I know I've heard her name before:

https://www.skysports.com/racing/news/12426/12280120/lorna-brooke-amateur-jockey-dies-in-hospital-after-fall-at-taunton-earlier-this-month

19-04-2021, 03:36 PM
A terrible tragedy. I know I've heard her name before:

https://www.skysports.com/racing/news/12426/12280120/lorna-brooke-amateur-jockey-dies-in-hospital-after-fall-at-taunton-earlier-this-month

Awful. I didn't see the race but the Sky racing team mentioned it the other day and it didn't sound good. Could happen to any jockey of course, this is the other end of the scale to Rachel Blackmore's achievements.

19-04-2021, 06:21 PM
That's just awful news. It's a stark reminder of the risk jockeys takes every single time they saddle up and why the accusations of jumping off and deliberately falling are so ludicrous.

I was at Cheltenham when JT McNamara broke his neck and it was just horrible to witness as it was so obvious something was seriously wrong.

19-04-2021, 06:29 PM
i had two bets on horse racing 40 years ago, then i thought i would stick to footy/rugby, i then had one bet each grand national for the following 5 years and that was it, i don't even watch racing, too much of an animal lover since then but i found this quite interesting, it was set up after Cheltenham in 2007 to register all horse deaths whilst racing

Race Horse Death Watch (http://horsedeathwatch.com/?fbclid=IwAR1xshcRy92l54Zv_2towXeiEJ_WuHe2mv7pikER I-CKzNw3PEOP_bEGBSk)

20-04-2021, 06:56 PM
As I suspected Clan Des Obeaux is going to Punchestown.

Minella Indo also entered. It's a cracking field.

21-04-2021, 07:40 PM
21 day ban for Havlin. Deliberately holds his horse up around the final bend.

https://youtu.be/ojbt37g3wis

21-04-2021, 09:26 PM

Dreadful. Glad I didn't have anything on it.

21-04-2021, 11:41 PM

I just watched that race. Not Havlin's brightest moment and he's got form for doing it before. 21 days isn't nearly long enough IMO.

22-04-2021, 07:51 PM
I just watched that race. Not Havlin's brightest moment and he's got form for doing it before. 21 days isn't nearly long enough IMO.

Well exactly. He's effectively been banned for throwing a race i.e. cheating. Why is that only a 21 day ban? He should be absolutely hammered for race fixing.

22-04-2021, 08:40 PM
Well exactly. He's effectively been banned for throwing a race i.e. cheating. Why is that only a 21 day ban? He should be absolutely hammered for race fixing.

He's come out and said he rode to instruction. He was explicitly told by Gosden not to use the whip, not to give the horse a hard ride and only to ride using hands and heels.

It's obviously not great for punters but it does happen. I know Oliver Sherwood regularly told Leighton Aspell not to be hard on horses on their 1st or 2nd time at a racecourse, particularly in bumpers. He wanted them to enjoy the experience and be eager to return there.

If you take Havlin at close to face value it's arguably not riding the horse to achieve the best possible position and could be seen as public schooling but I'm not sure it's cheating. I don't have too much issue with his action at the turn for home, he was on the heels of the horse in front and held his horse up to take the inside line up the rail and try to get a clear run. The lack of 'effort' inside the final furlong is what the stewards have taken issue with and even if his explanation is understandable, it's unsatisfactory. 3 weeks without work is a pretty hefty punishment.

22-04-2021, 08:50 PM
I see the "trainer's representative" was there, just to make sure he kept his gob shut. Every trainer knows the rules about public schooling, but I would be very interested in another statistic- just how many times has Havlin actually beaten Dettori when they're both riding for the same trainer?

22-04-2021, 09:20 PM
He's come out and said he rode to instruction. He was explicitly told by Gosden not to use the whip, not to give the horse a hard ride and only to ride using hands and heels.

It's obviously not great for punters but it does happen. I know Oliver Sherwood regularly told Leighton Aspell not to be hard on horses on their 1st or 2nd time at a racecourse, particularly in bumpers. He wanted them to enjoy the experience and be eager to return there.

If you take Havlin at close to face value it's arguably not riding the horse to achieve the best possible position and could be seen as public schooling but I'm not sure it's cheating. I don't have too much issue with his action at the turn for home, he was on the heels of the horse in front and held his horse up to take the inside line up the rail and try to get a clear run. The lack of 'effort' inside the final furlong is what the stewards have taken issue with and even if his explanation is understandable, it's unsatisfactory. 3 weeks without work is a pretty hefty punishment.

PB, surely the bottom line is Havlin's horse could have won that race easily, given just a normal ride. Those who backed his horse have been cheated. If the trainers are involved, hammer them as well. 21 days for cheating seems very lenient to me. That was race was basically fixed so Dettori would win.

22-04-2021, 09:34 PM
PB, surely the bottom line is Havlin's horse could have won that race easily, given just a normal ride. Those who backed his horse have been cheated. If the trainers are involved, hammer them as well. 21 days for cheating seems very lenient to me. That was race was basically fixed so Dettori would win.

I don't like it but it's the reality of what goes on. I believe the jockey when he says he was riding to instruction, it's a sad fact that he would probably be less likely to get work in the future if he had defied the instructions and drawn the whip on that horse.

I think Havlins biggest mistake was making it so obvious what he was doing. As said above trainers know the rules about public schooling but they still do it, they usually get awaw with it too.

22-04-2021, 10:28 PM

I was more than happy with his ride on Murhib @ Chelmsford earlier this evening.

22-04-2021, 10:48 PM
Frankel's full sister (Chiasma) runs in the 1610 @ Sandown tomorrow, may be worth keeping an eye on.

23-04-2021, 03:33 PM
Frankel's full sister (Chiasma) runs in the 1610 @ Sandown tomorrow, may be worth keeping an eye on.

Could only finish 3rd.

Mikey_1875
24-04-2021, 02:51 PM
Kittys light robbed there!

24-04-2021, 08:44 PM
Kittys light robbed there!

Yep, best horse in the race. At least the 'winner' was rightly disqualified.

24-04-2021, 11:06 PM
Yep, best horse in the race. At least the 'winner' was rightly disqualified.

Such a daft rule though. Allowing the second placed horse who was never ever winning the race, to win it makes zero sense. If they were adamant without interference that the horse would’ve finished ahead of the culprit, then it should be awarded the race. That would obviously need a rewritten rule, but the current situation is all over the place.

25-04-2021, 03:56 AM
What are we all doing at Punchestown? **** it, I'm going money, hoose and life on Honeysuckle. :greengrin

Hibs1972
25-04-2021, 07:18 PM
I said to the boys when they were around for Cheltenham that I wouldn’t be surprised if Rachel picks up the ride on Envoi Allen, thought it might’ve been next season but on board for Tuesday at Punchestown, this year the Grand National and next season the Gold cup, not bad eh!?:wink:

26-04-2021, 04:14 PM
I said to the boys when they were around for Cheltenham that I wouldn’t be surprised if Rachel picks up the ride on Envoi Allen, thought it might’ve been next season but on board for Tuesday at Punchestown, this year the Grand National and next season the Gold cup, not bad eh!?:wink:

Do you think he'll get the better of Monkfish? What a great clash on the first day.

Hibs1972
26-04-2021, 08:37 PM
Do you think he'll get the better of Monkfish? What a great clash on the first day.
Yes, I can just see Rachel sitting in behind Monkfish and Coolreevy and pounce in between last two fences, race of the year as far as I’m concerned.:cb

27-04-2021, 05:14 PM
Looking forward to this one. Monkfish strong in the betting.

27-04-2021, 05:40 PM
Looking forward to this one. Monkfish strong in the betting.

How good was Colreevy there! Led from from the first to the last. It looks like she's retiring (currently pregnant) and will finish unbeaten over fences. Envoi Allen had throw in the towel with a couple of fences left, and Monkfish couldn't lay a glove on her. Brilliant performance against two top class rivals.

Mikey_1875
27-04-2021, 05:43 PM
Thought Monkfish looked a clear winner until his stumble but I do wonder if he would have caught Colreevy in the end. Envoi disappointing I don’t think he looked comfortable at all

27-04-2021, 05:46 PM
Thought Monkfish looked a clear winner until his stumble but I do wonder if he would have caught Colreevy in the end. Envoi disappointing I don’t think he looked comfortable at all

I honestly don't think he would; Monkfish looked very tired in the run in. Colreevy galloped them into the ground. The winning margin was eight lengths.

Mikey_1875
27-04-2021, 05:53 PM
I honestly don't think he would; Monkfish looked very tired in the run in. Colreevy galloped them into the ground.

It was certainly a very impressive run regardless! Sad to hear if that does end up her last race

27-04-2021, 06:14 PM
Excellent performance from Chacun Pour Soi today also.

A couple of terrible falls in the cross country race there. The favourite literally did a full flip and landed with legs in the air. Hopefully all are safe and well.

27-04-2021, 06:57 PM
Colreevy has always been a smart mare but that was something special.

It's not uncommon when a mare is in foal, they don't want anyone else near them!

27-04-2021, 08:34 PM
https://www.racenet.com.au/news/report-to-confirm-tragic-top-raider-anthony-van-dyck-showed-signs-of-lameness-before-cups-runs-20210427

This is quite an interesting report coming out of Australia that has been largely overlooked in the UK and Ireland. It will certainly impact trainers looking to go and raid the likes of the Melbourne Cup in future.

27-04-2021, 11:31 PM

I thought 21 days was excessive. I’ve seen far worse rides than that receive no punishment this season already. Not his finest by any means, but was unlucky to be blocked off on the turn, and as PB said only questions to answer (which he apparently has) were in the final furlong. I’m not convinced it would have “won easily” under the whip and there’s reasons the whip aren’t drawn to the same degree on some horses, particularly younger ones and debutants.

I’m not saying he’s blameless or that he shouldn’t have got it up. But I was expecting a lot worse when I heard the length of the ban before seeing the race replay.

Hibs1972
28-04-2021, 06:14 AM
How good was Colreevy there! Led from from the first to the last. It looks like she's retiring (currently pregnant) and will finish unbeaten over fences. Envoi Allen had throw in the towel with a couple of fences left, and Monkfish couldn't lay a glove on her. Brilliant performance against two top class rivals.
Too bad to be true from Envoi Allen there, jumped 1st few fences a bit big but then looked to be travelling well most of way and jumping better, wasn’t surprised when reported it finished lame, ultimately the fall aside its 1 bad run with a legitimate excuse, I’ve certainly not lost the faith, hopefully a summer out in the field and he’ll return to his best next season.

29-04-2021, 10:57 AM
Just watched the Punchestown Gold Cup this morning.

Certainly a worthwhile decision by Nicholls to supplement CDO. Was quite surprised to see him turn in the burners quite early and try to outstay Al Boum Photo but it worked like a treat. He maybe started to tie up a bit in the last 100 yards but he was always winning.

I think it's good to see Cheltenham not being the be all and end all for every horse as well.

29-04-2021, 04:10 PM
Michael's Pick second in the La Touche at 100/1. Had a tenner EW, and he won me a nice EW on day one of the festival at a big price. Turned out again just 48 hours later over four and quarter miles and he ran brilliantly. Only backed him Tuesday because he has my name :greengrin

Not as impressive as Singing Banjo, however, who won the three and a quarter mile cross country on Tuesday then the La Touche today. Remarkable.

Mikey_1875
30-04-2021, 10:59 AM
Hopefully Billaway can pick up a win later, I’ll also be taking a punt on Agusta Gold in the 16:50 too. Quite disappointed not to be seeing Bob Olinger ride again today.

30-04-2021, 12:25 PM
Hopefully Billaway can pick up a win later, I’ll also be taking a punt on Agusta Gold in the 16:50 too. Quite disappointed not to be seeing Bob Olinger ride again today.

I'm scunnered. I had Bob Ollinger, Honeysuckle, Energumene as a treble ante-post. Hopefully Honeysuckle will at least give me the double later.

Mikey_1875
30-04-2021, 04:31 PM
I'm scunnered. I had Bob Ollinger, Honeysuckle, Energumene as a treble ante-post. Hopefully Honeysuckle will at least give me the double later.

Really steadied into the last there but came away well, fantastic horse!

30-04-2021, 04:32 PM
Really steadied into the last there but came away well, fantastic horse!

Absolutely, I got worried at the last, but what a horse she is. She could finish up as one of the all time greats.

30-04-2021, 06:56 PM
Billaway has cost me a fortune twice this year when a beaten favourite. Was tempted to give him another chance but thought better of it. Glad I did.

01-05-2021, 07:19 AM
Any tips for the 2000 Guineas? It looks wide open.

01-05-2021, 07:31 AM
Billaway has cost me a fortune twice this year when a beaten favourite. Was tempted to give him another chance but thought better of it. Glad I did.

It was a great race, though, and a photo finish.

01-05-2021, 08:30 AM
Any tips for the 2000 Guineas? It looks wide open.

I've backed Thunder Moon each way.

Mikey_1875
01-05-2021, 03:06 PM
Jeff Kidder defies the odds again!

01-05-2021, 05:24 PM
Jeff Kidder defies the odds again!

What a blinder he ran. I didn't consider backing him, I must admit.

01-05-2021, 08:16 PM
Brilliant, beating all the big guns at 22/1.

03-05-2021, 05:42 PM
I've backed Thunder Moon each way.

That went well! 😓

04-05-2021, 02:04 PM
Old See Double You, 18 years old and just ran at Ayr in a mud bath. I think I've mentioned him before; what a great old campaigner. A 50/1 shot won it.

04-05-2021, 05:08 PM
Old See Double You, 18 years old and just ran at Ayr in a mud bath. I think I've mentioned him before; what a great old campaigner. A 50/1 shot won it.

Great old horse, it just wasn't his ground today at all.

04-05-2021, 05:11 PM
Great old horse, it just wasn't his ground today at all.

Yes great to see a horse that age still enjoying racing. He must have incredible fitness.

04-05-2021, 09:02 PM
Got my tickets for next year's Guineas today.

£60 a pop for the Premier Enclosure wasn't bad imo considering what you pay for Club at Cheltenham these days.

05-05-2021, 04:15 PM
PB, or anyone else, can you recommend any really good racing books? I've read a couple of Robin Oakley's and enjoyed them. Are there any classic must reads of the genre?

05-05-2021, 05:39 PM
PB, or anyone else, can you recommend any really good racing books? I've read a couple of Robin Oakley's and enjoyed them. Are there any classic must reads of the genre?

McIlvanney on Horseracing although it's a long time since I read it.

There are some great autobiographies as well, Timmy Murphy's is probably my favourite.

05-05-2021, 05:44 PM
McIlvanney on Horseracing although it's a long time since I read it.

There are some great autobiographies as well, Timmy Murphy's is probably my favourite.

Thanks for the suggestions :aok:

05-05-2021, 06:05 PM
AP McCoy's autobiography is a good read. Same with Kieron Fallon, the latter probably the better of the 2.As mentioned above McIlvanney on Horse Racing is a bit of a classic.

The Grey Horse by Richard Burridge about Desert Orchid, Arkle:The Legend of Himself and Horse Racing Heroes by Peter O'Sullevan were all enjoyable reads as well.

05-05-2021, 06:20 PM
AP McCoy's autobiography is a good read. Same with Kieron Fallon, the latter probably the better of the 2.As mentioned above McIlvanney on Horse Racing is a bit of a classic.

The Grey Horse by Richard Burridge about Desert Orchid, Arkle:The Legend of Himself and Horse Racing Heroes by Peter O'Sullevan were all enjoyable reads as well.

Thanks mate :aok:

07-05-2021, 01:38 PM

Stowell just breezed up at odds on at Ascot when given a proper ride.

Hibs1972
07-05-2021, 07:00 PM
Graham Bradley done his autobiography a good few years ago, call “the wayward lad” highly recommend.:aok:

08-05-2021, 07:04 PM
Graham Bradley done his autobiography a good few years ago, call “the wayward lad” highly recommend.:aok:

Thanks for the recommendation.

16-05-2021, 04:24 PM
40/1 fifteen minutes before the off, then goes off at 10/3

https://youtu.be/wbh4RV52uno

04-06-2021, 03:37 PM
Snowfall wins the Oaks by about 12 lengths. What a performance. The classics are almost impossible to predict now.

Mikey_1875
04-06-2021, 05:23 PM
Superb run from the horse Frankie wont have believed his luck. Got to hand it to Aidan O’Brien he is there time and time again and has a great crack at the derby tomorrow. I’m not as big a follower of the flat but really enjoy Epsom and other tricky courses like Chester and Brighton.

05-06-2021, 05:00 PM
Just watched the derby, the winner won well enough but the form is pretty ****, a maiden was clear 2nd, whoever got the forecast can stop working.

Hibs1972
27-06-2021, 08:41 AM
Just watched the derby, the winner won well enough but the form is pretty ****, a maiden was clear 2nd, whoever got the forecast can stop working.
I managed to get an exacta(forecast)up yesterday in the big race at Newcastle, Nicholas T 33-1 and Hochfeld 2nd at 28-1, 1 of those bets you dream about getting but realistically it very rarely does, including the 10% bonus it was £1,476.31, still can’t believe it.

27-06-2021, 03:26 PM
I managed to get an exacta(forecast)up yesterday in the big race at Newcastle, Nicholas T 33-1 and Hochfeld 2nd at 28-1, 1 of those bets you dream about getting but realistically it very rarely does, including the 10% bonus it was £1,476.31, still can’t believe it.

Great stuff mate, love to hear stories like that.

Hibs1972
27-06-2021, 03:55 PM
Great stuff mate, love to hear stories like that.
Cheers mate, couldn’t hit a cows a**e with a banjo today but not to worry. Money was banked yesterday so very good weekend.

27-06-2021, 06:32 PM

Wow, well done. I actually had Nicholas T ew in my betslip, thought of the last Goldie horse I backed in a big race which bombed then removed it.

02-07-2021, 06:58 PM
I see Euchen Glen won another listed race at Sandown today.

What a horse he has been for Jim Goldie and that's a group 3 and a listed win for him this season.

Hibs1972
10-07-2021, 04:33 PM
The mighty Galileo passed away today at the age of 23, great horse on the track but as a stallion has produced some the best horses, ever!! Frankel obviously the top but sire to no fewer than 5 Derby winners, will never see his like again.

10-07-2021, 04:58 PM
A huge loss to the thoroughbred breeding industry.

Not only a sire of great horses but also a sire of sires. There's only a handful of horses that leave a lasting legacy and really put their stamp on the breed but Galileo was one.

14-07-2021, 06:39 PM
Looks like Hurricane Lane is turning into the latest wonder horse, what a performance on bottomless ground there.

Only defeat was in The Derby when he lost both front shoes, still got placed.

14-07-2021, 06:49 PM

I've only just seen your post, mate. Very well done, that's superb. :top marks:not worth

17-07-2021, 07:06 PM
Anybody see the race at Doncaster this evening - Mark Crehan on Aerion Power in a Class 2? A real mess, as Crehan eased down in the last twenty yards, with the race in the bag? I can only think he misjudged the winning post, as the race was too close for Crehan to think he could ease down and still win. He has some explaining to do.

17-07-2021, 08:14 PM
Crehan banned for 28 days for misjudging the winning post. It certainly doesn't look like cheating; just a very unfortunate error.

https://youtu.be/2dX38u7AJ4E

17-07-2021, 09:39 PM
Crehan banned for 28 days for misjudging the winning post. It certainly doesn't look like cheating; just a very unfortunate error.

https://youtu.be/2dX38u7AJ4E

He can blame the sun all he likes, no excuses!

17-07-2021, 09:53 PM
He can blame the sun all he likes, no excuses!

Yes, a terrible error, but he didn't throw the race. A real shame for him and all who backed the horse.

Block
17-07-2021, 10:23 PM
Yes, a terrible error, but he didn't throw the race. A real shame for him and all who backed the horse.

That looked bent as anything. If you want to comfort blanket yourself, no worries. The jockey threw that, no doubt in my mind looking at the video evidence.

17-07-2021, 10:31 PM
That looked bent as anything. If you want to comfort blanket yourself, no worries. The jockey threw that, no doubt in my mind looking at the video evidence.

What makes you think that? If a jockey wants to cheat, he makes it far less obvious. He had the race won, eased down, realised his error and then tried to go again. I think the evidence shows a clear case of a terrible but unintentional error. No jockey would risk 28 days of no income for a race like that.

Stairway 2 7
17-07-2021, 10:34 PM
What makes you think that? If a jockey wants to cheat, he makes it far less obvious. He had the race won, eased down, realised his error and then tried to go again. I think the evidence shows a clear case of a terrible but unintentional error. No jockey would risk 28 days of no income for a race like that.

Exactly you could lose a lot easier than that and far less obvious

Selkirkhibs
17-07-2021, 11:50 PM
9]What makes you think that[/B]? If a jockey wants to cheat, he makes it far less obvious. He had the race won, eased down, realised his error and then tried to go again. I think the evidence shows a clear case of a terrible but unintentional error. No jockey would risk 28 days of no income for a race like that.

From watching the video. The video is clear that the jockey intentionally cheated. If it is now the norm to tell lies the so be it. I'm not one of those who fabricate lies against truth. Okay?

18-07-2021, 12:06 AM
interesting first post :confused:

18-07-2021, 08:59 AM
It happens. I've seen a jockey miscalculate the finishing post by an entire circuit before. I've seen jockeys take the wrong course and end up on a hurdles course rather than the chase.

Mistake or otherwise it deserves a hefty punishment and 28 days without a riding fee coupled with the reputation damage is a pretty severe punishment. Jockeys have a responsibility to know the course.

18-07-2021, 12:01 PM
From watching the video. The video is clear that the jockey intentionally cheated. If it is now the norm to tell lies the so be it. I'm not one of those who fabricate lies against truth. Okay?

Very strange post....are you and Block the same person?? It's obvious he didn't cheat. That's not how bent jockeys throw races.

18-07-2021, 09:44 PM
interesting first post :confused:

Interesting is one word. WTF? :greengrin

21-07-2021, 02:29 PM
Just finished watching Panorama - the dark side of horse racing, not a pleasant/comfortable watch whatsoever.

21-07-2021, 03:19 PM
Just finished watching Panorama - the dark side of horse racing, not a pleasant/comfortable watch whatsoever.

It definitely wasn't.

I was quite disconcerted to see so many both within racing and as fans refuse to condemn the actions at first. There was a lot of deflection that it was an issue with one specific abattoir and a lot of backslapping about how the majority take great care to rehome their horses well and it only becomes an issue further down the line long after they leave the yard. Thankfully Kim bailey has broken ranks today and said there needs to be a collective responsibility taken and the good guys shouldn't be used to try and exonerate the bad apples.

For me the biggest issue is overbreeding. There are thousands of low pedigree horses bred to run in low quality races for minuscule purses. Everyone hopes to live the fairytale but few do. There are 2 trainers in Ireland who I am aware have been tracked for some time. Every week the IHRB release the names of horses reported as died by their trainers in the preceding week. One of these trainers had 20 horses, all aged 3 or 4 and all with a handful of races under their belt, reported as died within a 2 month period. The other had 7, all with similar backgrounds, in a single week. If a couple of racing fans on the internet noticed that then the IHRB certainly did, yet both still hold licenses.

Ultimately racing is a livetstock industry in which animals are bred for profit. In any livestock industry there will be 'wastage'. However racing is judged to a different standard, largely because people like horses more than cows or sheep but it goes deeper than that. As such racing has a responsibility to ensure the highest welfare for the horse from birth to death. If a horse is euthanised at 3 solely because they aren't winning low grade races then racing has failed the animal, if a healthy horse suitable for retaining or rehoming ends up being shot at distance in an abattoir then racing has also failed.

I understand why some racing fans would have an aversion to anything produced with the input of Animal Aid. Nothing will satisfy them short of as complete ban on all equine sports and they can't be reasoned or negotiated with. In this instance though they have shown something wholly unsavoury and racing as an industry and we as fans have to condemn it.

21-07-2021, 03:24 PM

I didn't see it, but assume it's on i-player? Sounds interesting.

21-07-2021, 03:27 PM
It definitely wasn't.

I was quite disconcerted to see so many both within racing and as fans refuse to condemn the actions at first. There was a lot of deflection that it was an issue with one specific abattoir and a lot of backslapping about how the majority take great care to rehome their horses well and it only becomes an issue further down the line long after they leave the yard. Thankfully Kim bailey has broken ranks today and said there needs to be a collective responsibility taken and the good guys shouldn't be used to try and exonerate the bad apples.

For me the biggest issue is overbreeding. There are thousands of low pedigree horses bred to run in low quality races for minuscule purses. Everyone hopes to live the fairytale but few do. There are 2 trainers in Ireland who I am aware have been tracked for some time. Every week the IHRB release the names of horses reported as died by their trainers in the preceding week. One of these trainers had 20 horses, all aged 3 or 4 and all with a handful of races under their belt, reported as died within a 2 month period. The other had 7, all with similar backgrounds, in a single week. If a couple of racing fans on the internet noticed that then the IHRB certainly did, yet both still hold licenses.

Ultimately racing is a livetstock industry in which animals are bred for profit. In any livestock industry there will be 'wastage'. However racing is judged to a different standard, largely because people like horses more than cows or sheep but it goes deeper than that. As such racing has a responsibility to ensure the highest welfare for the horse from birth to death. If a horse is euthanised at 3 solely because they aren't winning low grade races then racing has failed the animal, if a healthy horse suitable for retaining or rehoming ends up being shot at distance in an abattoir then racing has also failed.

I understand why some racing fans would have an aversion to anything produced with the input of Animal Aid. Nothing will satisfy them short of as complete ban on all equine sports and they can't be reasoned or negotiated with. In this instance though they have shown something wholly unsavoury and racing as an industry and we as fans have to condemn it.

Yes, I'm not an expert, but I do know there is far more racing now than in the past. Is it really necessary to have seven races at Bath of an evening, with almost all horses rated below 55? What purpose does this serve?

21-07-2021, 03:42 PM
Yes, I'm not an expert, but I do know there is far more racing now than in the past. Is it really necessary to have seven races at Bath of an evening, with almost all horses rated below 55? What purpose does this serve?

Betting turnover will be the answer to that one.I try to limit myself to punting on the top level races these days but, and I used to do it myself, some folk will bet on anything.

Block
21-07-2021, 11:20 PM

It doesn't serve anybody bar the very few heavily addicted who will bet theirs and their families assets until said assets are gone and the family doesn't realise until its way too late. The betting industry is too large and too devastating to those at the sharp end. Its time to reign it in before its too late to save it and those who suffer from it. Itv racing coverage is a step too far also that seeks to seem glamorous and harmless while all the time trying to suck the weak and gormless into the betting cesspit.

30-07-2021, 01:25 PM
Going to mussy tonight, anyone got some info ?

McSwanky
30-07-2021, 02:30 PM
Going to mussy tonight, anyone got some info ?

Yep, if you're coming from Edinburgh, go straight along the High Street, past Lucas on your right and it's about 500 yards on from there on your left. You can't miss it.

30-07-2021, 03:06 PM
Yep, if you're coming from Edinburgh, go straight along the High Street, past Lucas on your right and it's about 500 yards on from there on your left. You can't miss it.

Knew that was coming!!

McSwanky
30-07-2021, 03:41 PM
Knew that was coming!!

What, that's not what you meant? :greengrin

OK, so my advice is to keep your well earned in your pocket... but if you must have a flutter, here's what I'm reliably (or otherwise) informed is least likely to see you go home empty handed:

Out of Breath 5:40
Mokaman 7:52
Clarendon House 8:22

Don't shoot the messenger!

30-07-2021, 08:01 PM
What, that's not what you meant? :greengrin

OK, so my advice is to keep your well earned in your pocket... but if you must have a flutter, here's what I'm reliably (or otherwise) informed is least likely to see you go home empty handed:

Out of Breath 5:40
Mokaman 7:52
Clarendon House 8:22

Don't shoot the messenger!

I was swithering about Clarendon House as the last leg of my treble but you persuaded me....cheers!

28-08-2021, 08:19 PM
Ever seen anything like this? :greengrin

https://youtu.be/ogW_eXSLyGA

19-09-2021, 05:18 PM
The great Altior retired this week. What a horse, one of the all time great two mile chasers, he won me some cash in his career. He had that magical combination of supreme talent and determination to win. Put those together and you have an exceptional horse.

Enjoy your retirement old boy, you deserve it.

21-09-2021, 07:21 PM
Min retired today as well.

That wasn't a bad Supreme Novices they came 1st and 2nd in. Bellshill, Petit Mouchir, Buveur D'Air, Charbel and Supasundae to name a few.

21-09-2021, 07:43 PM
The great Altior retired this week. What a horse, one of the all time great two mile chasers, he won me some cash in his career. He had that magical combination of supreme talent and determination to win. Put those together and you have an exceptional horse.

He's off to live with Mick Fitzgerald so I daresay he'll have a good retirement. I think he'll probably do a bit of retraining stuff to keep him busy but he'll want for nothing there.

30-09-2021, 04:43 PM

Great wee horse who had his quirks but was still a top class jumps horse. Thoroughly deserves a happy retirement.

03-10-2021, 02:28 PM
Wow, 80/1 winner of the Arc, beating all the well fancied horses.

Hibs1972
15-10-2021, 07:11 PM
Jump season back in full swing again shortly, much prefer the jumps, let’s hope Envoi Allen fulfils his potential this season, due to run at end of month at down royal so hopefully onwards and upwards from there!:aok:

JimboHibs
16-10-2021, 09:23 AM
Carnage at Fakenham yesterday with loose horse , suppose if you were on the Fav it was welcome carnage.

16-10-2021, 11:25 AM
Carnage at Fakenham yesterday with loose horse , suppose if you were on the Fav it was welcome carnage.

That was unreal, it was as if the loose horse did it on purpose!

Hibs1972
29-10-2021, 05:15 AM
The time has come for Envoi Allen to spring back into action tomorrow at Down Royal 3.25, not a back-able price but the main thing is he gets round in one piece and hopefully puts down a marker for the season ahead, Rachel back on board as Elliot insists Davy Russell rides his horse.:cb

30-10-2021, 03:40 PM
What was Harry Skelton doing on Shan Blue? 20 lengths clear, race in the bag and absolutely threw the horse at the fence. I was half way to the counter to pick up my winnings. Thankfully the horse got up OK because it was a very heavy fall.

Frodon softened the blow somewhat. Always worth a bet in a race like that early in the season and 3/1 was generous.

31-10-2021, 03:20 PM
Two fatalities at Huntingdon today, both Skelton trained horses. A tragic day for the yard.

06-11-2021, 04:10 PM
Breeders Cup yesterday and today. For me, if she handles the track Tarnawa is a certainty on form and at about 2/1 American prices is a really good bet. I'm also back Knicks Go in the last.

07-11-2021, 11:33 AM
Well money talks in flat racing. Knicks Go easily won the Breeders Cup Classic but all the trainer could do is go on about his other horse, Essential Quality the Godolphin one that finished 3rd.

07-11-2021, 02:35 PM
Just seen an horrendous fall at Navan, with the Gordon Elliot horse Wide Receiver. They didn't show the replay, which is always a bad sign. I think it might be another fatality. I love watching the racing, but it gets to me every time.

07-11-2021, 03:04 PM
Just seen an horrendous fall at Navan, with the Gordon Elliot horse Wide Receiver. They didn't show the replay, which is always a bad sign. I think it might be another fatality. I love watching the racing, but it gets to me every time.

Confirmed as fatally injured.

07-11-2021, 04:09 PM
Confirmed as fatally injured.

Very sad news. It was a sickening fall which left him thrashing around on the ground. RIP boy.

20-11-2021, 02:08 PM
Betfair Chase was very messy.

Bristol De Mai and Royal Pagaille at the front jumped like novices. Waiting Pateintly was never involved.

A Plus Tard looks every inch the superstar though. King George must be on the agenda unless they run him at Leopardstown.

21-11-2021, 07:43 AM
Betfair Chase was very messy.

Bristol De Mai and Royal Pagaille at the front jumped like novices. Waiting Pateintly was never involved.

A Plus Tard looks every inch the superstar though. King George must be on the agenda unless they run him at Leopardstown.

I think he's going for The Savills Chase.

28-11-2021, 01:51 PM
What a horse Honeysuckle is - 13 wins and unbeaten. She shredded a very good field today. Latest Exhibition was pulled up with a terrible injury, which sounds like it could be fatal at this early stage. Such a shame, he's a fine horse.

02-12-2021, 06:40 PM
Is anyone else following the whole Robbie Dunne and Bryony Frost story?

It's pretty disturbing reading. 2 things stand out for me. The first is that Dunne admits and apologises for every incident when there is a witness, when one is lacking (or he has believed that to the the case) he has denied it.

The 2nd thing is the hierarchical structure in the weighing room and the code of silence that exists. One apprentice jockey admitted he was ready to testify as a witness but backed down because he knew it would mean his career was over before it started. Another female conditional quit because of the behaviour of Dunne towards her and the lack of action from other jockeys. It seems everyone is a part of a culture of fear. The claims that Dunne exposed himself are where it takes a sinister turn, a bit shouting and swearing is one thing but if proven that is grim.

One person who does come out of it all well is Paul Nicholls. He trusts Frost implicitly and continues to use her on some of his best horses. I believe he is on the list of potential witnesses. If he is called and speaks out it could well be a turning point.

02-12-2021, 06:46 PM

It's pretty disturbing reading. 2 things stand out for me. The first is that Dunne admits and apologises for every incident when there is a witness, when one is lacking (or he has believed that to the the case) he has denied it.

The 2nd thing is the hierarchical structure in the weighing room and the code of silence that exists. One apprentice jockey admitted he was ready to testify as a witness but backed down because he knew it would mean his career was over before it started. Another female conditional quit because of the behaviour of Dunne towards her and the lack of action from other jockeys. It seems everyone is a part of a culture of fear. The claims that Dunne exposed himself are where it takes a sinister turn, a bit shouting and swearing is one thing but if proven that is grim.

One person who does come out of it all well is Paul Nicholls. He trusts Frost implicitly and continues to use her on some of his best horses. I believe he is on the list of potential witnesses. If he is called and speaks out it could well be a turning point.

Yep I've been following it. It's been depressing hearing about the weighing room closed shop. We're talking about a female jockey and there are plenty of them. You shudder to think about how black or gay jockeys might be treated. I love racing but there is an awful lot about it that is really out of order.

02-12-2021, 08:57 PM

Also following the Tylicki/Gibbons tribunal which is interesting.

03-12-2021, 07:53 AM

Also following the Tylicki/Gibbons tribunal which is interesting.

Very interesting.

Gibbons has always struck me as a dodgy sort. He was involved in the urine tampering incident a few years ago.

I remember wathcing the race at the time and thinking it was a bit careless but I'm not sure if careless extends to negligent and dangerous. I haven't watched it since so could well be totally wrong though.

The outcome could certainly set a precedent though.

04-12-2021, 07:29 PM
A clean sweep for Gordon Elliot today at Navan - all seven winners.

Chacun Pour Soi bombed in the Tingle Creek, finishing a distant last.

04-12-2021, 07:33 PM

Must admit I had no idea about this. What has Dunne had to say in relation to Frost? It's disturbing stuff. Don't male and female jockeys have different changing rooms? They should do.

Hibs1972
04-12-2021, 08:03 PM
A clean sweep for Gordon Elliot today at Navan - all seven winners.

Chacun Pour Soi bombed in the Tingle Creek, finishing a distant last.
It was 7 out of 8 as he didn’t train the 1st winner. Big day tomorrow for Envoi Allen, Allaho is obviously the main danger but a few of Willies big guns have been needing a run so hopefully Envoi will show his class, fingers crossed anyway!:cb

04-12-2021, 08:37 PM

Of course Nicholls will back her up, she's one of his stable jockeys. If all of this is true then Dunne has a lot to answer for and should have his licence taken away. Originally I wasn't sure what to believe, just because she's with a big stable doesn't mean that her word should be listened to over any other female jockey that has had to go through what seems like a really nasty and grotesque experience, but I changed my mind when she stuck by her guns and spoke out again and again, good on her and hope this will help to expose at least part of the corruption and croney-ism that has existed in horse racing for centuries.

05-12-2021, 11:30 AM
Oooft, Kilcruit well beaten into second on his hurdling debut at Cork, after going off at 1/14! You just never know.

09-12-2021, 03:16 PM
Robbie Dunne found guilty and banned for 18 mths!

27-12-2021, 04:30 PM
Easy 28/1 winner of the King George, the only threat seeemed to be his stablemate who unseated at the last.

27-12-2021, 04:48 PM
Easy 28/1 winner of the King George, the only threat seeemed to be his stablemate who unseated at the last.

I had a punt on Asterion Forlonge but I always suspected staying on his feet would be the problem. Horse has bags of talent but is an absolute psychopath in the air and isn't learning at all. Same issue in the John Durkan a few weeks back, was going better than anything in the race, awful error 3 out and unseated. He's lucky to walk way from a fall like yesterday unscathed.

I'm far from convinced he was getting past the winner anyway. I'll be keeping an eye on Clan Des Obeaux again late this season, he'll pick up some nice races in the spring.

27-12-2021, 05:09 PM
I had a punt on Asterion Forlonge but I always suspected staying on his feet would be the problem. Horse has bags of talent but is an absolute psychopath in the air and isn't learning at all. Same issue in the John Durkan a few weeks back, was going better than anything in the race, awful error 3 out and unseated. He's lucky to walk way from a fall like yesterday unscathed.

I'm far from convinced he was getting past the winner anyway. I'll be keeping an eye on Clan Des Obeaux again late this season, he'll pick up some nice races in the spring.

I backed CDO yesterday, can't decide if it was lack of a run or the going went against him, thought I was on the winner half way round the home turn.

27-12-2021, 05:34 PM

Thanks for letting us know, I was on Asterion Forlonges in that other race, and thought surely to God he'd learned from that so stuck a cautionery £25 on him in the King George. He might not have learned from it but I'm bloody sure I have!

Hibs1972
04-01-2022, 06:18 AM
Only 10 weeks to the Cheltenham festival, I’ll be there hopefully this year, as long as Omicron doesn’t bugger things up! I was trying to find a couple that could look value for money come the day and the first one is Concertista in the mares hurdle on the Tuesday, she’s been running over fences this season but when interviewed in RTV last week Willie Mullins hinted that he thought the mares chase at the festival might be a year too soon and could go to the mares hurdle instead, now at 10-1 that could look cracking value come the day. Second one I looked at was Icare Allen in the triumph on the Friday, JP has a good recent record in this race and Icare Allen did well to win 1st time up as got sandwiched at 1st hurdle then had to switch and made up good ground down far side. Only a juvenile hurdle but I was impressed the way he won in the end. 14-1 at the moment. Anyone got anything else lurking under the radar?:cb

04-01-2022, 11:53 AM
Only 10 weeks to the Cheltenham festival, I’ll be there hopefully this year, as long as Omicron doesn’t bugger things up! I was trying to find a couple that could look value for money come the day and the first one is Concertista in the mares hurdle on the Tuesday, she’s been running over fences this season but when interviewed in RTV last week Willie Mullins hinted that he thought the mares chase at the festival might be a year too soon and could go to the mares hurdle instead, now at 10-1 that could look cracking value come the day. Second one I looked at was Icare Allen in the triumph on the Friday, JP has a good recent record in this race and Icare Allen did well to win 1st time up as got sandwiched at 1st hurdle then had to switch and made up good ground down far side. Only a juvenile hurdle but I was impressed the way he won in the end. 14-1 at the moment. Anyone got anything else lurking under the radar?:cb

No but as usual thanks for the heads up :aok::greengrin

24-01-2022, 12:36 PM
NH Racing is a tough sport and sometimes the unfortunate happens, this is a quite moving tribute to Master Tommytucker who died after racing yesterday.

https://www.racingpost.com/news/latest/read-harry-derhams-tribute-to-handsome-brave-and-bold-master-tommytucker/533861

24-01-2022, 05:07 PM
NH Racing is a tough sport and sometimes the unfortunate happens, this is a quite moving tribute to Master Tommytucker who died after racing yesterday.

https://www.racingpost.com/news/latest/read-harry-derhams-tribute-to-handsome-brave-and-bold-master-tommytucker/533861

I watched the race.....horrible to see.

06-02-2022, 03:19 PM
I know we all like to look for some value for money at Cheltenham, but the Champion Hurdle looks done and dusted already, Honeysuckle looks pretty unbeatable and trading at 4/7 and 1/2.

06-02-2022, 03:38 PM
I was at Musselburgh today and watched Honeysuckle in the betting shop. There was a proper gasp when she eased away on the home turn.

It's going to take a mishap or something very, very special to stop her at Cheltenham.

22-02-2022, 06:36 PM
What a mess Oisin Mutphy has ended up in. Hope he can come back strong from this

https://www.bbc.co.uk/sport/horse-racing/60483237

29-05-2022, 12:08 PM
RIP Lester. The greatest.

30-05-2022, 01:11 PM
Lingfield meet abandoned after just one race today. This is the third or fourth abandonment in a week, and I assume it's the same problem of horses slipping on wet turf.

30-05-2022, 01:55 PM
Racing has resumed at Lingfield, following a break. Must be deemed raceable.

03-06-2022, 03:45 PM
That was a thrilling Oaks. Poor Emily Upjohn beaten by Tuesday by a nose. The favourite had a terrible start then had to go wide into the straight, but it still looked like she would get up. Beaten on the nod. Great race.

04-06-2022, 03:58 PM
That was a top class horse we just witnessed winning The Derby there, put the race to bed in a matter of strides.

04-06-2022, 04:22 PM
At £15K a pop Nathaniel seems remarkably good value as a sire.

05-06-2022, 10:10 PM
The French derby winner was also very impressive and won by 5 or 6 lengths easily, even though he's been put in at 7's for the Arc the trainer says he's not going to run him in that, he'll stick to top mile and a quarter races like the Champion Stakes. Just a heads up, while people can still get a decent price about him.

07-06-2022, 08:04 PM
Melon and Al Boum Photo both retired by Willie Mullins. Off eventing in retirement.

16-06-2022, 03:00 PM
Paul Hanagan with one of the most blatant examples of dangerous riding you'll see in winning the Norfolk Stakes on The Ridler. Didn't change his whip hand when the horse veered sharply to the left and impeded 3 other horses. My horse Brave Nation suffered the worst but Hanagan kept the race as basically no-one knows who would have won it. He'll probably get away with a 5 day ban, scandalous really.

https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=7t7dZdyn0ps

16-06-2022, 03:37 PM
Paul Hanagan with one of the most blatant examples of dangerous riding you'll see in winning the Norfolk Stakes on The Ridler. Didn't change his whip hand when the horse veered sharply to the left and impeded 3 other horses. My horse Brave Nation suffered the worst but Hanagan kept the race as basically no-one knows who would have won it. He'll probably get away with a 5 day ban, scandalous really.

I was watching on my phone at work and didn't realise how bad it actually was. Young horses are always going to run a bit green in a race like that so it's not totally unexpected. The jockey has a responsibility to at least try to correct it though.

I was on Thunder Moor who wasn't really impacted at all and was never competitive so not talking through my wallet either.

16-06-2022, 03:41 PM
Ryan Moore wasn't much better in the Gold Cup. Cut Princess Zoe up good and proper about a furlong out.

16-06-2022, 04:08 PM
Ryan Moore wasn't much better in the Gold Cup. Cut Princess Zoe up good and proper about a furlong out.

Will we see the great Stradivarius again? What a horse he has been, but Father Time catches up with even the very best.

16-06-2022, 04:40 PM
Will we see the great Stradivarius again? What a horse he has been, but Father Time catches up with even the very best.

I think a national hunt stud career beckons.

16-06-2022, 05:16 PM

If that isn't interference, what is? He's cut across the entire field :confused:

and at 50/1!

16-06-2022, 05:56 PM
I was watching on my phone at work and didn't realise how bad it actually was. Young horses are always going to run a bit green in a race like that so it's not totally unexpected. The jockey has a responsibility to at least try to correct it though.

I was on Thunder Moor who wasn't really impacted at all and was never competitive so not talking through my wallet either.

Was the interference that bad think the winner would have won anyway?

16-06-2022, 08:08 PM
10 day ban for Hanagan. He thinks it's harsh....gimme a break. I was raging after that race and not just because my selection was in with a chance then severely hampered - it was seeing Hanagan laughing after the race when his actions could have caused James Doyle a severe injury.

16-06-2022, 09:17 PM
10 day ban for Hanagan. He thinks it's harsh....gimme a break. I was raging after that race and not just because my selection was in with a chance then severely hampered - it was seeing Hanagan laughing after the race when his actions could have caused James Doyle a severe injury.

So he's banned for ten days, but the result stands and the bookies are all smiles. :cb

17-06-2022, 05:16 AM

Aye, I was screaming at the tv. Not going to say it was a winner, but I had a decent e/w on it.

18-06-2022, 05:47 PM
I was watching the racing from Royal Ascot today and now I realize why I prefer National Hunt. There was a race, the Jubilee Handicap, which paid £1 million. That kind of money is a fortune to people in racing syndicates, and to the smaller trainers that train a lot of their horses. But at the end of the day it was Godolphin who won all the money again, it's always either them or Coolmore. Now I like a bet just like lots of other people, but it's getting like football, the people with more money are increasingly becoming the only ones that win anything major. At least in NH there's still a fighting chance for the small man to come good. Apologies to anybody who backed the winner of the Jubilee by the way, that was just my opinion.

25-06-2022, 01:21 PM
What's happened between Dettori and Gosden? Has Frankie been emptied because of his performance at Ascot?

25-06-2022, 01:47 PM
What's happened between Dettori and Gosden? Has Frankie been emptied because of his performance at Ascot?

Aye.

25-06-2022, 03:35 PM
What a performance from Trueshan in the Northumberland Plate, giving away at least 19 pounds to the rest of the field!

25-06-2022, 05:14 PM
What a performance from Trueshan in the Northumberland Plate, giving away at least 19 pounds to the rest of the field!

That was a brilliant performance, well worth the 3/1 on offer, considering how much weight he was carrying too.

25-06-2022, 08:24 PM
That was a brilliant performance, well worth the 3/1 on offer, considering how much weight he was carrying too.

Been out and just caught up with it now, got it at 5/1, what a performance!

25-06-2022, 08:51 PM
Been out and just caught up with it now, got it at 5/1, what a performance!

Well done :aok:

23-07-2022, 04:07 PM
Wow, well done to anybody who backed Pyledriver in the King George (18/1), the only horse to get anywhere near him was the Arc winner Torquado Tasso, the well fancied horses were all beaten out of sight.

26-07-2022, 10:44 PM
What a grand old warrior Stradivarius is, touched off for a 5th win in the Goodwood Cup. Great old horse, and proof that it's not only Dettori that gets the best out of him. The winner is a good horse too though.

17-08-2022, 03:20 PM
What about Baaeed at York today? As good as Frankel? Still unbeaten and looks in a class of his own.