View Full Version : Horse Racing (General)
10-10-2018, 12:21 PM
Enable wins the Arc for the 2nd time, great horse. On this occasion I think she was fortunate, only a head/short head in it. The draw was significant today and Sea of Class would definitely have won in the next stride or 2. Sea of Class had a rotten draw out wide and came late and fast but congrats to Enable anyway.
Get what you're saying although I'm reluctant to call her fortunate. Maybe if the draws were reversed, the race works out differently and Enable wins going away, as opposed to getting to the front and seeing off the late challenge of SOC. I guess we'll never know for sure but regardless, it was both gutsy and classy from the winner.
I did think SOC was the winner with half a furlong to go though, and as you say, another few yards and the result would have been different.
More to come for SOC. And a special horse is Enable.
10-10-2018, 03:04 PM
I backed the 4th ew, decent enough run without ever being in with a chance of winning.
13-10-2018, 03:28 PM
I think we saw a Guineas winner in Too Darn Hot too.
Thinking it even more after the Dewhurst, never backed him but, EVS, what a price! Backed the 3rd ew in The Ces @ 14s, returned 25s, tad annoying.
Mathias
14-10-2018, 10:11 AM
Great discussion, conversation but i wanna just get a answer from here (https://www.virtualpalomarwest.org/sizegenetics-review/) that, does anybody here get genuine tips for horses/greyhound etc
15-10-2018, 12:13 PM
Thinking it even more after the Dewhurst, never backed him but, EVS, what a price! Backed the 3rd ew in The Ces @ 14s, returned 25s, tad annoying.
I was determined to take him on at a shade of odds-on as convinced myself he would hate the ground and was there for the taking. Very taking performance given conditions weren't in favour.
John Ryan saying his Battle of waterloo wins, owners have flown down from Scotland today
3.00 Yarmouth
Now 5-2
John Ryan saying his Battle of waterloo wins, owners have flown down from Scotland today
3.00 Yarmouth
Now 5-2
Edit John Ryan doesn’t know much about his own horses 😂
Magnus
22-11-2018, 01:07 PM
Luca Cumani's last runner today in the 5.30 at Wolverhampton and there seems to be a trend where jockeys or trainers last horse obliges.
Swansdown, also owned by the traner, 2yo daughter of Dubawi into a handicap for the first time, significantly down in grade and upped in trip, Oisin Murphy on board. First time on the Tapeta but opening mark of 63 could be generous. Shade of odds against still available, 11/10 with Bet 365.
If Luca turns up to watch it on a Wednesday night at Wolverhampton that might also be an indicator of the expected result.
Usual caveats apply :wink:
22-11-2018, 09:51 PM
Luca Cumani's last runner today in the 5.30 at Wolverhampton and there seems to be a trend where jockeys or trainers last horse obliges.
Swansdown, also owned by the traner, 2yo daughter of Dubawi into a handicap for the first time, significantly down in grade and upped in trip, Oisin Murphy on board. First time on the Tapeta but opening mark of 63 could be generous. Shade of odds against still available, 11/10 with Bet 365.
If Luca turns up to watch it on a Wednesday night at Wolverhampton that might also be an indicator of the expected result.
Usual caveats apply :wink:
Close but no cigar.
Looking forward to the Betfair Chase on Saturday. Only 5 declared but what a line up:
Bristol De Mai
Clan Des Obeaux
Might Bite
Native River
Thistlecrack
The Cheltenhan Open meeting through the Tingle Creek is when the NH season really comes alive imo. A few of the bigger names have started to show their hands and I start getting tempted to stick my hand in my pocket.
24-11-2018, 08:47 PM
Close but no cigar.
Looking forward to the Betfair Chase on Saturday. Only 5 declared but what a line up:
Bristol De Mai
Clan Des Obeaux
Might Bite
Native River
Thistlecrack
The Cheltenhan Open meeting through the Tingle Creek is when the NH season really comes alive imo. A few of the bigger names have started to show their hands and I start getting tempted to stick my hand in my pocket.
Great performance by Bristol De Mai, won the race pretty comfortably. He does love Haydock. I thought the 2 Tizzard horses both ran really well too. Good race to watch.
Tornadoes70
24-11-2018, 09:18 PM
Great performance by Bristol De Mai, won the race pretty comfortably. He does love Haydock. I thought the 2 Tizzard horses both ran really well too. Good race to watch.
13/2 a cracking price for a horse that coasted to victory in the same race last year. I don't bet on horses now but if still did I would have backed it. Hope a few on here backed it and won a few quid.
25-11-2018, 12:35 PM
BDM looks almost unbeatable at Haydock, he just comes alive there. Native River is very one paced but he'll still be a contender in March as he's durable and will come on for the run. Thistlecrack coasted along but he can't jump fences, especially those as stiff as at Haydock yesterday, he lost ground at almost every obstacle. Clan Des Obeaux and Might Bite both look very tired horses at the end. On good ground I can only assume they needed the run.
27-12-2018, 02:06 PM
Well, that makes a pleasant change, managed to back Elegant Escape, can't remember the last Welsh National winner I managed to back. Got a price boost to 19/4 earlier this morning which was nice.
27-12-2018, 02:33 PM
Well, that makes a pleasant change, managed to back Elegant Escape, can't remember the last Welsh National winner I managed to back. Got a price boost to 19/4 earlier this morning which was nice.
I had the 2nd, would've won bar a mistake at the 3rd last.
27-12-2018, 06:57 PM
Would it aye? 😉
Tornadoes70
27-12-2018, 08:52 PM
Yours ran a great race and made it interesting but I genuinely think the winner had a bit more in hand and would have won anyway. I didn't have a bet but watched it anyway and is a neutral opinion. Unlucky mate.
LustForLeith
09-02-2019, 09:38 AM
What’s the thoughts on the equine flu and Cheltenham? Will it postpone or will the festival be cancelled?
09-02-2019, 11:42 AM
What’s the thoughts on the equine flu and Cheltenham? Will it postpone or will the festival be cancelled?
It's now been confirmed as the same strain that shut Australian racing down for the best part of 6 months. It's not looking promising.
LustForLeith
09-02-2019, 07:57 PM
It's now been confirmed as the same strain that shut Australian racing down for the best part of 6 months. It's not looking promising.
Wow. I was going to start studying for the festival this weekend. Think I’ll wait a bit.
I suppose they need to confirm how serious it is but surely this will have a massive effect on the industry, not just Cheltenham.
Wow. I was going to start studying for the festival this weekend. Think I’ll wait a bit.
I suppose they need to confirm how serious it is but surely this will have a massive effect on the industry, not just Cheltenham.
Watched Luck on sunday today - I think the only danger now is not every horse will get swabbed cause there is a shortage of swabs! By all account 1500 now have came back clear with exception of Donald McCain’s 3 so fingers crossed racing starts again this week
If it rears again though it may well be close
First year in at least a dozen I don’t have anything mate post
11-02-2019, 09:07 AM
Another 4 cases in Newmarket confirmed and a horses confirmed as died elsewhere in Suffolk.
I think the issue isn't going to be within racing. The complete lockdown and the fact Donald McCain reported his cases quickly will have helped massively added to the fact most racehorses should be vaccinated which will limit the effects of the symptoms. The problem is going to be among other horses, ponies, donkeys etc. despite the way it's been reported it's not a racing specific illness. There was at least 4 hunts out over the weekend, there was harness racing, there would be thousand of horses out hacking and so on. If the infection spreads among those animals it will inevitably end up in racing yards.
11-02-2019, 10:55 PM
British racing back on Wednesday.
10-04-2019, 07:36 PM
Too Darn Hot out of Greenham Stakes on Saturday (heat in a leg) and now heads straight to The Guineas.
12-04-2019, 03:14 PM
For those who bet on the horses are there any particular online bookies you'd recommend or are the all much the same?
12-04-2019, 03:19 PM
For those who bet on the horses are there any particular online bookies you'd recommend or are the all much the same?
They are all pretty much the same tbh. I would probably go for William Hill or Paddy Power personally.
12-04-2019, 07:10 PM
I use Bet365 as they generally have pretty good offers on the bigger races.
12-04-2019, 11:06 PM
if you take early prices it makes all the difference shopping around.
17-04-2019, 11:28 AM
Oddschecker always worth a look if you're betting a single. But if it's more about opening one account and sticking with it.. I'd concur with bet365 being among the best.
17-04-2019, 11:41 AM
Betfair Exchange for non favs.
23-04-2019, 03:07 PM
Too Darn Hot out of Greenham Stakes on Saturday (heat in a leg) and now heads straight to The Guineas.
Now been ruled out of The Guineas too.
24-05-2019, 07:17 PM
What a fantastic day ahead.
https://www.racingpost.com/news/saturday-action/the-ultimate-guide-to-a-scorching-saturday-with-too-darn-hot-in-starring-role/382249
24-05-2019, 08:33 PM
What a fantastic day ahead.
https://www.racingpost.com/news/saturday-action/the-ultimate-guide-to-a-scorching-saturday-with-too-darn-hot-in-starring-role/382249
Yes, I was just looking at the Curragh card tomorrow, and there's some fantastic runners and races; even Detorri has been tempted to go over.
Who do you fancy in the Too Darn Hot/Magna Grecia duel?
Calyx already around 1/7 in his four horse race at Haydock! Should be a procession him.
24-05-2019, 08:43 PM
Yes, I was just looking at the Curragh card tomorrow, and there's some fantastic runners and races; even Detorri has been tempted to go over.
Who do you fancy in the Too Darn Hot/Magna Grecia duel?
Calyx already around 1/7 in his four horse race at Haydock! Should be a procession him.
I feel really sorry for Too Darn Hot who could've become the next Frankel, Gosden is trying to steal a classic but, I fear it might harm the long term prospects of the horse,
I've jumped in again ew with Skardu.
24-05-2019, 09:02 PM
I feel really sorry for Too Darn Hot who could've become the next Frankel, Gosden is trying to steal a classic but, I fear it might harm the long term prospects of the horse,
I've jumped in again ew with Skardu.
Aye, Skardu looks clearly the best of the rest and represents best value. I'm not sure what to back as yet.
As your link says, there is some tremendous talent running tomorrow at several meets. I might go radge with a Too Darn Hot, Calyx, Leodis Dream, Battaash acca (along with a couple of others) and be done with it :greengrin
24-05-2019, 09:06 PM
Aye, Skardu looks clearly the best of the rest and represents best value. I'm not sure what to back as yet.
As your link says, there is some tremendous talent running tomorrow at several meets. I might go radge with a Too Darn Hot, Calyx, Leodis Dream, Battaash acca (along with a couple of others) and be done with it :greengrin
Is there any point in putting Calyx in there?
24-05-2019, 09:17 PM
Is there any point in putting Calyx in there?
Not really, but a win is a win. It's unthinkable he could lose that race. Very little to be gained though.
24-05-2019, 09:22 PM
Not really, but a win is a win. It's unthinkable he could lose that race. Very little to be gained though.
Exactly my point, good luck though
24-05-2019, 09:24 PM
Exactly my point, good luck though
I'll take another look in the morning and decide what to back. Lots of terrific runners but lots of tough races too.
Bangkok Hibby
25-05-2019, 07:19 AM
Not a tip but something to ponder. Twice in the last week I've heard Aiden O'Brien bring Mohawk into the conversation unprompted when he's been asked about other horses he trains. Each time he said Mohawk ran well in the Dee stakes and didn't mention Circus Maximus who won it. Now it wouldn't be the first time an O'Brien outsider has sprung a shock in a big race so the 33/1 available last night on Betfair for today's Irish 2,000 swung it for me for a wee E/W tickle.
25-05-2019, 02:34 PM
Calyx beaten at 1/7. He was dreadful and would have cost a lot of people a lot of money.
25-05-2019, 02:47 PM
Phoenix of Spain blows away both Too Darn Hot and Magna Grecia. It was billed as a two horse race, but Phoenix of Spain made them both look like they were running through treacle and was running away from them at the finish. Another huge upset on the day at 16/1.
What's happened to Too Darn Hot, he seems to have gone backwards so quickly?
25-05-2019, 05:04 PM
Phoenix of Spain blows away both Too Darn Hot and Magna Grecia. It was billed as a two horse race, but Phoenix of Spain made them both look like they were running through treacle and was running away from them at the finish. Another huge upset on the day at 16/1.
What's happened to Too Darn Hot, he seems to have gone backwards so quickly?
It was a strange decision to run TDH today only a week after York. An unusually poor decision by the normally shrewd John Gosden. Turning a low level handicapper round in that time frame is fine but it's strange to do with a Grade 1 horse with a stud value.
Tbh it's not that unknown for a dominant 2 year old to find life tougher at 3 as some other horses grow into themselves and they maybe don't have as much scope as them to grow up and improve.
30-05-2019, 10:47 AM
Derby day this weekend and I just saw this on Twitter and it's really a quite amazing stat:
Incredibly, all 13 declared runners in the Investec Derby @EpsomRacecourse
are either sons, grandsons or great grandsons of Galileo. That includes Sir Dragonet (Camelot) whose second dam is a full sister to Galileo.
Whatever happens it's a win for Coolmore. Galileo is 21 now so he probably doesn't have too many stud seasons left. His stud fee is private but is rumoured to be €350 000 for a live foal. It wouldn't shock me to see that rise again as he ages and his fertility decreases.
30-05-2019, 08:17 PM
Tomorrow's Oaks
£10ew Maqsad 6/1 (very good value)
£5ew Tarnawa 22/1 (nice wee outsider)
What's everyone backing?
Bangkok Hibby
31-05-2019, 09:32 AM
Tomorrow's Oaks
£10ew Maqsad 6/1 (very good value)
£5ew Tarnawa 22/1 (nice wee outsider)
What's everyone backing?
I backed Medaayih and Sir Dragonet before they were officialy entered. 2 x £40 win singles and a £20 win double at 11/2 and 7/2. Not my usual type of bet at all but was seriously impressed with the way they both won their trials.
01-06-2019, 03:12 PM
Circus Maximus.
01-06-2019, 03:40 PM
That was wide open. Anthony Van Dyke wins. Thought Broome was a good bet but not to be.
01-06-2019, 04:26 PM
i had the Derby winner in an each-way Lucky 15 so quite pleased from that perspective. He seemed to stay the best of all of them, so might be a good bet for the Leger. I thought the fav ran fine, but he's too inexperienced a horse for a race like this IMO, and probably would have preferred softer ground too. A lot of people were talking up Telecaster before the race but he ran a stinker and finished last.
03-06-2019, 02:22 PM
i had the Derby winner in an each-way Lucky 15 so quite pleased from that perspective. He seemed to stay the best of all of them, so might be a good bet for the Leger. I thought the fav ran fine, but he's too inexperienced a horse for a race like this IMO, and probably would have preferred softer ground too. A lot of people were talking up Telecaster before the race but he ran a stinker and finished last.
And there were doubts about ADV's stamina too. Great ride to get him on the inside and give him the rail in the final furlong. Is he down for the St Leger?
03-06-2019, 02:23 PM
Guys, do any of you subscribe to Racing TV. How much is it?
04-06-2019, 10:02 AM
And there were doubts about ADV's stamina too. Great ride to get him on the inside and give him the rail in the final furlong. Is he down for the St Leger?
St Leger betting. (https://www.betfair.com/exchange/horse-racing/event/29274939/market?marketId=1.158595918)
11-06-2019, 02:26 PM
I'm having a wee read of Robin Oakley's 'Britain and Ireland's top 100 racehorses of all time'. I remember Robin as the BBC political editor; it turns out he's a big racing fan, and it's a nice bit of light reading, covering both flat and jumps. His notable horses of rank:
1, Arkle
2, Frankel
3, Brigadier Gerard
4, Sea The Stars
5, Sea Bird
10, Red Rum
13, Nijinsky
14, Flyingbolt
17, Dancing Brave
20,L'Escargot
23, Dawn Run
31, Desert Orchid
32, Shergar
37, Denman
39, Mill House
Well worth a browse, if you haven't already done so.
11-06-2019, 04:18 PM
I'm having a wee read of Robin Oakley's 'Britain and Ireland's top 100 racehorses of all time'. I remember Robin as the BBC political editor; it turns out he's a big racing fan, and it's a nice bit of light reading, covering both flat and jumps. His notable horses of rank:
1, Arkle
2, Frankel
3, Brigadier Gerard
4, Sea The Stars
5, Sea Bird
10, Red Rum
13, Nijinsky
14, Flyingbolt
17, Dancing Brave
20,L'Escargot
23, Dawn Run
31, Desert Orchid
32, Shergar
37, Denman
39, Mill House
Well worth a browse, if you haven't already done so.
His book Sixty Years of Jump Racing is a great read as well.
Personally I've increasingly been persuaded that Sea The Stars may have been a superior horse to Frankel albeit not as visually stunning. I also like that he gives Kauto Star the credit he deserves, there appears a trend amongst some in racing to downplay just how brilliant he was.
By a different author I'd also recommend the book Dream Horse about Dream Alliance; there's a documentary on Netflix of the same name. It's just a great story.
11-06-2019, 04:57 PM
His book Sixty Years of Jump Racing is a great read as well.
Personally I've increasingly been persuaded that Sea The Stars may have been a superior horse to Frankel albeit not as visually stunning. I also like that he gives Kauto Star the credit he deserves, there appears a trend amongst some in racing to downplay just how brilliant he was.
By a different author I'd also recommend the book Dream Horse about Dream Alliance; there's a documentary on Netflix of the same name. It's just a great story.
I will take a look, PB, in addition to Oakley's book on jump racing. :aok:
Talked about the book with my dad, who isn't happy his all time favourite, Nijinsky, is rated thirteenth by Oakley. "If there's ever been a better horse on the flat, I'm a Hearts man" is his view:greengrin, along with "put Frankel up for a triple crown, then we'll talk" :greengrin. He's also miffed that Dessie is ranked 'only' 31. "You're telling me there has been thirty better than the great grey"? :greengrin I think Dessie won him a big wedge over the years, hence the unwavering loyalty.
11-06-2019, 05:57 PM
I will take a look, PB, in addition to Oakley's book on jump racing. :aok:
Talked about the book with my dad, who isn't happy his all time favourite, Nijinsky, is rated thirteenth by Oakley. "If there's ever been a better horse on the flat, I'm a Hearts man" is his view:greengrin, along with "put Frankel up for a triple crown, then we'll talk" :greengrin. He's also miffed that Dessie is ranked 'only' 31. "You're telling me there has been thirty better than the great grey"? :greengrin I think Dessie won him a big wedge over the years, hence the unwavering loyalty.
Tbh I'd rate Dessie higher as well; above both Red Rum and Kauto Star and, as you can maybe tell, I loved Kauto.
Dessie was able to carry huge weights (12 stone 3lbs in the Racing Post Chase and 12 stone in the Irish National) and could win of level weights, won over 2 miles right up to 3 miles 2f and won a Gold Cup on ground he despised. He was my Grandads favourite and we were at Kempton, I was 4 or 5, when he fell in his final race. The winner, The Fellow, got a decent ovation but Dessie got up, after a nasty, tired fall, and raised the roof when he cantered past the stands thinking he had won. I've never seen a reception like it since for a beaten horse.
11-06-2019, 06:44 PM
Tbh I'd rate Dessie higher as well; above both Red Rum and Kauto Star and, as you can maybe tell, I loved Kauto.
Dessie was able to carry huge weights (12 stone 3lbs in the Racing Post Chase and 12 stone in the Irish National) and could win of level weights, won over 2 miles right up to 3 miles 2f and won a Gold Cup on ground he despised. He was my Grandads favourite and we were at Kempton, I was 4 or 5, when he fell in his final race. The winner, The Fellow, got a decent ovation but Dessie got up, after a nasty, tired fall, and raised the roof when he cantered past the stands thinking he had won. I've never seen a reception like it since for a beaten horse.
Very few (perhaps only Red Rum) ever enjoyed the love of the public in the way Desert Orchid did. His last race, which you mention. The old boy was past his best but still adored and cheered the most:
https://youtu.be/KxAPRQzP5yI
11-06-2019, 09:42 PM
Very few (perhaps only Red Rum) ever enjoyed the love of the public in the way Desert Orchid did. His last race, which you mention. The old boy was past his best but still adored and cheered the most:
https://youtu.be/KxAPRQzP5yI
I never witnessed that but, I've mentioned it before, the reception Persian Punch used to get at York was amazing for a flat horse. There's something special about being at a racecourse when a horse doesn't win but, you can feel the love flowing down from the stands. Non punters just won't get it.
13-06-2019, 08:54 PM
I never witnessed that but, I've mentioned it before, the reception Persian Punch used to get at York was amazing for a flat horse. There's something special about being at a racecourse when a horse doesn't win but, you can feel the love flowing down from the stands. Non punters just won't get it.
I've just watched a few of his races on You Tube. He really was a crowd favourite, and it's as if the cheers got him across the line on a couple of occasions! Desert Orchid seems incomparable to me in terms of public adoration in my lifetime, as Red Rum was before my time. Perhaps Altior or Tiger Roll are next in line for that title? However, not even Tiger Roll, with his back-to-back Nationals seems to captivate the public as Rummy and Dessie did. I remember my dad being genuinely moved when the death of each was announced, as if an old friend had passed on. As you said, you probably have to be a racing fan to understand.
19-06-2019, 09:37 PM
It's always interesting to hear different peoples opinions about horse racing, whether it's flat or jumps. The 2 best flat horses, for me, were Ribot, the brilliant unbeaten Italian horse who won the King George and the Arc amongst other Grade 1 races, and Secretariat, the legendary American horse who was almost a freak of nature.
Over the jumps I would have chosen Moscow Flyer and Sprinter Sacre, for different reasons.
All about opinions, it's fascinating reading others opinions even if they don't agree with mine!
20-06-2019, 03:59 PM
Dettori is going through the card at Ascot today. Four so far including the Gold Cup.
The people who present ITV racing are total prats unfortunately!
20-06-2019, 08:09 PM
Dettori is going through the card at Ascot today. Four so far including the Gold Cup.
The people who present ITV racing are total prats unfortunately!
You can't say that about Francesca! Ed Chamberlain is a right royal sycophant and throbber, though.
22-06-2019, 12:34 PM
You can't say that about Francesca! Ed Chamberlain is a right royal sycophant and throbber, though.
I find the programme completely cringe-making. Great sport though!
22-06-2019, 12:44 PM
You can't say that about Francesca!
She knows her stuff too, easier to forgive than Big Mac when she gets it wrong! 😍
Bangkok Hibby
22-06-2019, 02:55 PM
It's always interesting to hear different peoples opinions about horse racing, whether it's flat or jumps. The 2 best flat horses, for me, were Ribot, the brilliant unbeaten Italian horse who won the King George and the Arc amongst other Grade 1 races, and Secretariat, the legendary American horse who was almost a freak of nature.
Over the jumps I would have chosen Moscow Flyer and Sprinter Sacre, for different reasons.
All about opinions, it's fascinating reading others opinions even if they don't agree with mine!
For me I have great memories of two horses in particular. Istabraq for his 3 Champion hurdle victories, and Arazi for his 1991 Breeders cup juvenile success. For those of you who haven't seen it I urge you to have a look on youtube. It's like something from a Hollywood movie.
22-06-2019, 04:36 PM
For me I have great memories of two horses in particular. Istabraq for his 3 Champion hurdle victories, and Arazi for his 1991 Breeders cup juvenile success. For those of you who haven't seen it I urge you to have a look on youtube. It's like something from a Hollywood movie.
Istabraq was magnificent, I remember being in the pub for its final Champion Hurdle, I said to my mate after 1 flight it wouldn't get round, it was an unpleasant watch.
22-06-2019, 06:21 PM
Istabraq was magnificent, I remember being in the pub for its final Champion Hurdle, I said to my mate after 1 flight it wouldn't get round, it was an unpleasant watch.
Charlie Swan looked after him that day and pulled him up pretty quickly, 2 or 3 hurdles iiirc. He almost certainly would have won 4 CHs had it not been for foot and mouth cancelling the Festival in 2001.
If anyone does Facebook there is an account for Istabraq with a few pictures and updates from his retirement. He lives with J P McManus at Martinstown stud.
22-06-2019, 08:32 PM
Charlie Swan looked after him that day and pulled him up pretty quickly, 2 or 3 hurdles iiirc
That's what happened, still a great shame that he couldn't go down on his sword. IIRC the course broke out into a round of applause, NH racing down to a tee.
22-06-2019, 08:39 PM
That's what happened, still a great shame that he couldn't go down on his sword. IIRC the course broke out into a round of applause, NH racing down to a tee.
Yes
https://youtu.be/Yn2l1UmwFO4
Was he just over the hill at this point, or was something wrong?
22-06-2019, 09:48 PM
Yes
PB might have more details, I Cannae really remember, after 1 hurdle I thought something was wrong though.
23-06-2019, 06:41 AM
Yes
He'd won the Festive Hurdle at Leopardstown in the December prior to the Festival. However his form in the calendar year read F1F1 and then pulled up at Cheltenham so he was likely on the downward curve.
You can often find old BHA stewards reports online and the one for that race states the jockey reported Istabraq 'lost action after the 1st and never travelled' and a veterinary exam found 'the horse to be lame in the back and a further exam reveled stretched back muscles'.
23-06-2019, 10:54 AM
And there we have it, sometimes my memory still functions correctly! 😁
23-06-2019, 06:34 PM
What is the next big meeting?
23-06-2019, 06:52 PM
What is the next big meeting?
The Eclipse meeting @ Sandown.
23-06-2019, 06:56 PM
The Eclipse meeting @ Sandown.
How many days is that meeting?
Do you think Enable will be just as good again? If so, I don't see how she is beaten.
23-06-2019, 08:39 PM
How many days is that meeting?
Do you think Enable will be just as good again? If so, I don't see how she is beaten.
5-6 July. She must have every chance, amazingly she's rated a pound below Too Darn Hot (as is Crystal Ocean) which is hard to believe.
23-06-2019, 09:16 PM
5-6 July. She must have every chance, amazingly she's rated a pound below Too Darn Hot (as is Crystal Ocean) which is hard to believe.
She's currently 11/4 with Betfair, which I think I will take, in the hope she is just as strong as last year. I'd like to take Anthony Van Dyke each way, given I backed him in the Derby and previously, but I think 1m 2f might be too short a trip for him at this level.
23-06-2019, 11:37 PM
She's currently 11/4 with Betfair, which I think I will take, in the hope she is just as strong as last year. I'd like to take Anthony Van Dyke each way, given I backed him in the Derby and previously, but I think 1m 2f might be too short a trip for him at this level.
7/2 @ Bet365.
23-06-2019, 11:41 PM
The only race she has ever lost was over 10f, worth considering.
24-06-2019, 08:14 PM
The only race she has ever lost was over 10f, worth considering.
Right cheers. As she hasn't raced since last November, there's always that element of doubt. Hopefully she's as good as in 2018.
25-06-2019, 11:27 AM
Sad to read that Blue Point has been retired to stud, some horse.
25-06-2019, 02:24 PM
Sad to read that Blue Point has been retired to stud, some horse.
Yes, superb sprint double at Ascot then he's off. I guess that's just the way it goes with the best flat horses: you just don't get to see much of them as it's a brief career.
27-06-2019, 01:28 PM
An interesting read.
www.racingpost.com/news/latest/scouting-for-talent-why-you-must-not-miss-the-curragh-s-irish-derby-meeting/387565
27-06-2019, 05:26 PM
Just watched the 1815 @ The Curragh, Odds on FAV won for O'Brien despite trouble in running, Armory, get your notebook out.
28-06-2019, 10:04 AM
Irish Derby tomorrow, with only eight runners. Can Anthony Van Dyck complete the double? He's the current favourite in the betting. It's also the Northumberland Plate at Newcastle. Any thoughts?
01-07-2019, 01:22 PM
I backed Crystal Ocean, now a non runner, ouch! 😡
01-07-2019, 03:36 PM
I backed Crystal Ocean, now a non runner, ouch!
Aye. Enable now at around evens; I'm glad I went on earlier.
05-07-2019, 10:56 AM
RIP big John McCririck. Mad as a box of frogs, but a TV legend.
05-07-2019, 11:14 AM
Aye. Enable now at around evens; I'm glad I went on earlier.
There's every chance she'll win, 1992 was the last time a filly won the race though.
05-07-2019, 11:39 AM
There's every chance she'll win, 1992 was the last time a filly won the race though.
I got on at 7/2, thanks to your info at the time :wink:. The only question, I think, is the long lay off. Some of the others are more race fit. If she's as good as last year, she can win it.
Anyway, I have £50 on 7/2. Fingers crossed.
05-07-2019, 11:43 AM
I got on at 7/2, thanks to your info at the time :wink:. The only question, I think, is the long lay off. Some of the others are more race fit. If she's as good as last year, she can win it.
Anyway, I have £50 on 7/2. Fingers crossed.
Aye, it was a very decent bet at that price.
05-07-2019, 04:23 PM
RIP big John McCririck. Mad as a box of frogs, but a TV legend.
Thoroughly offensive person.
05-07-2019, 06:01 PM
I never knew where John McCirick the character ended and the person began.
For years I despaired when he was wheeled out as the 'voice of racing' when the annual Grand National debate occured. He was usually a sole voice against 4 or 5 anti racing people and he never did his cause any favours. Of all the articulate and educated people in the industry I always thought it was very deliberate the media chose someone who was so easily objectionable to present the sports case. In recent years he even flip flopped and started arguing the National should be banned. I can't help but think that points to someone who just wanted to be heard and it didn't matter what he said as long as someone listened.
Whatever his 'failings' as a person he was iconic within racing and beyond. Everyone knew who he was and I'm sure he will be missed by many.
05-07-2019, 09:24 PM
I never knew where John McCirick the character ended and the person began.
For years I despaired when he was wheeled out as the 'voice of racing' when the annual Grand National debate occured. He was usually a sole voice against 4 or 5 anti racing people and he never did his cause any favours. Of all the articulate and educated people in the industry I always thought it was very deliberate the media chose someone who was so easily objectionable to present the sports case. In recent years he even flip flopped and started arguing the National should be banned. I can't help but think that points to someone who just wanted to be heard and it didn't matter what he said as long as someone listened.
Whatever his 'failings' as a person he was iconic within racing and beyond. Everyone knew who he was and I'm sure he will be missed by many.
I must agree, PB. When I was a kid, he was the face of racing, whilst Peter O'Sullivan was the voice. He was nuts, but, even from childhood, I understood he was someone not to take seriously beyond the racecourse. He had to be taken in context, and he knew racing inside out. Not someone I would want as a close friend, but he breathed the sport. I've have nothing in common with him off the racecourse, but I'm sure he isn't unique in that!
07-07-2019, 12:50 PM
Great horse Enable, now has the Eclipse to add to her CV. I do think it was a sub-standard Eclipse, the only other good horse in the race was Magical who she'd already beaten a few times, but you can only beat the horses you're racing against.
07-07-2019, 01:15 PM
Great horse Enable, now has the Eclipse to add to her CV. I do think it was a sub-standard Eclipse, the only other good horse in the race was Magical who she'd already beaten a few times, but you can only beat the horses you're racing against.
And is only around 85 per cent race fit. Incredible really. She should be stronger in the King George.
HibernianJK
08-07-2019, 05:25 AM
And is only around 85 per cent race fit. Incredible really. She should be stronger in the King George.
First race back over a shorter than ideal distance and Frankie didn't even go for the whip which would indicate she won with something in hand.
08-07-2019, 09:19 PM
Fair point, but I suppose it comes down to how people rate Magical really, is she the 'best of the rest'? I see that Sea of Class has been immediately retired because of colic, that horse shouldv'e won the Arc last year IMO. Just hope that the horse survives, colic is serious.
10-07-2019, 11:25 PM
Fair point, but I suppose it comes down to how people rate Magical really, is she the 'best of the rest'? I see that Sea of Class has been immediately retired because of colic, that horse shouldv'e won the Arc last year IMO. Just hope that the horse survives, colic is serious.
Indeed, she is in intensive care. Fingers crossed she pulls through and becomes an excellent brood mare.
16-07-2019, 05:47 PM
What's the oldest horse anyone has seen race? In the first race at Southwell tonight, sixteen year old See Double You came second in a chase. The winner won by twenty lengths, but that's still a fine effort for such an old boy, and I've never seen a sixteen year old before. Can anyone beat that?
16-07-2019, 06:33 PM
What's the oldest horse anyone has seen race? In the first race at Southwell tonight, sixteen year old See Double You came second in a chase. The winner won by twenty lengths, but that's still a fine effort for such an old boy, and I've never seen a sixteen year old before. Can anyone beat that?
I saw Megalala on the flat at Kempton when he was 15, he was retired the following year at 16.
I also saw The Tatling at Bath. He was 14 and retired later that year, bowing out with a win at Wolverhampton. His last trainer, Milton Bradley, said he tried to retire him several times but the horse was just having none of it and used to kick the door of his stable when the vans were being loaded to go racing or the lots went out to the gallops without him.
22-07-2019, 06:15 PM
Sadly Sea of Class lost her battle with colic and died today. It's very sad, she was a brilliant racehorse in her day and I would have loved to see her taking on Enable again. RIP Sea of Class.
22-07-2019, 08:12 PM
On a separate note Matt Chapman is doing his best to outdo McCririck for being an attention-seeking clown and spoiling TV racing coverage. It's bad enough that this tw@t is on Sky but on ITV as well? I end up missing races because I have to switch over to avoid the eejit.
22-07-2019, 09:02 PM
Sadly Sea of Class lost her battle with colic and died today. It's very sad, she was a brilliant racehorse in her day and I would have loved to see her taking on Enable again. RIP Sea of Class.
That is sad news.
05-08-2019, 10:23 PM
The old boy, See Double You, is running in a three mile chase at Roscommon tomorrow. Currently in great nick, he's 2/1F just now. I'm going to put a wee bet on him, just to give him moral support. Sixteen years old, he should be putting his hoofs up now.
05-08-2019, 11:14 PM
Too Darn Hot the latest top horse to be retired due to injury, shame.
06-08-2019, 10:11 AM
Too Darn Hot the latest top horse to be retired due to injury, shame.
That is a shame; he looked to be back on an upward curve. At least he'll make a recovery and go to stud.
07-08-2019, 08:41 AM
The old boy, See Double You, is running in a three mile chase at Roscommon tomorrow. Currently in great nick, he's 2/1F just now. I'm going to put a wee bet on him, just to give him moral support. Sixteen years old, he should be putting his hoofs up now.
He only came fifth. He's given his all; time to let the old boy enjoy his well earned retirement.
In other news, I see Enable is already 1/5 for the Yorkshire Oaks later this month. I was hoping for a bit better value than that, though, without Crystal Ocean there to at least give her a race, it looks a formality.
24-08-2019, 02:52 PM
Current Champion Hurdler Espoir D'Allen put down after suffering injuries when rearing over in the yard a couple of weeks ago.
24-08-2019, 02:58 PM
Current Champion Hurdler Espoir D'Allen put down after suffering injuries when rearing over in the yard a couple of weeks ago.
Roaring Lion put down due to complications from colic yesterday as well.
2 good horses lost.
24-08-2019, 03:02 PM
2 good horses lost.
Don't know how I missed that, one of my recent favourites. 😢
25-08-2019, 12:51 AM
2 good horses lost.
No way, a few good horses have been lost recently, jumps and flat. I had a winner today in an Irish chase, but one of the field took a terrible fall at the last: one of those head over heels falls where you think "oh no" the moment it happens. I was hoping the stream would stay on long enough to give up an update, which, thankfully, it did: the dreaded screens were across the track, but, then, he got up and walked away. I got far more pleasure from that than my winnings :agree:
25-08-2019, 03:05 AM
Just watched the 1815 @ The Curragh, Odds on FAV won for O'Brien despite trouble in running, Armory, get your notebook out.
http://www.racingpost.com/news/classic-contender-armory-presses-2000-guineas-claims-as-obrien-wins-again/396611
25-08-2019, 03:32 AM
http://www.racingpost.com/news/classic-contender-armory-presses-2000-guineas-claims-as-obrien-wins-again/396611
Your thoughts for the St Leger, Hutchy?
25-08-2019, 05:53 AM
Your thoughts for the St Leger, Hutchy?
I backed Broome a while ago, it's a much bigger price now. If Logician turns up its hard to see it getting beat. Wouldnae be surprised if another of O'Briens dark horses was to win though.
28-08-2019, 05:35 PM
Did anybody watch the BBC 2 documentary 'Searching For Shergar' last night? The tragic end of a great horse.
https://www.bbc.co.uk/iplayer/episode/b0b623r9
29-08-2019, 07:44 AM
Did anybody watch the BBC 2 documentary 'Searching For Shergar' last night? The tragic end of a great horse.
https://www.bbc.co.uk/iplayer/episode/b0b623r9
I watched that last year. It was a good watch.
More than a few people in Ballinamore know what happened and where the remains are.
29-08-2019, 10:37 AM
I backed Broome a while ago, it's a much bigger price now. If Logician turns up its hard to see it getting beat. Wouldnae be surprised if another of O'Briens dark horses was to win though.
Broome - n/r
08-09-2019, 02:01 PM
It never ceases to amaze me how you get really curious results at certain courses consistently. The first race at York today underlines that. It's as if the form book just doesn't exist sometimes. York is notorius for daft results as are some other courses such as Chepstow and Redcar.
08-09-2019, 03:19 PM
I hate Chepstow! 😠
08-09-2019, 10:45 PM
St Leger: 20 quid win on Logician at 6/4 and tenner each way on Sir Ron Priestley at 10/1.
14-09-2019, 04:05 PM
St Leger: 20 quid win on Logician at 6/4 and tenner each way on Sir Ron Priestley at 10/1.
15-09-2019, 02:41 PM
Just finished 2nd to Pinatubo over at Leopardstown, I would imagine the winners performance will send him to the head of the market for next year's Guineas.
15-09-2019, 02:48 PM
Just finished 2nd to Pinatubo over at Leopardstown, I would imagine the winners performance will send him to the head of the market for next year's Guineas.
Just posted the same in the Bookie Bashing thread, Hutchy. What a performance that was, to win by that margin over 7f against some good opposition. Pinatubo already as short at 6/4 for the Guineas! Appleby said he might go for the Dewhurst so watch this space.
15-09-2019, 03:21 PM
The filly wins the Irish St Ledger. I was on Kew Gardens, who finished like a train, but Ryan Moore produced him too late. Pish ride:grr:
22-09-2019, 06:40 PM
Can anyone see Enable being beaten in the Arc?
I'm thinking of an Enable (Arc), Pinatubo (Dewhurst) and Stradivarius (Long Distance Cup) treble next month. What do you all think?
25-09-2019, 08:04 AM
Can anyone see Enable being beaten in the Arc?
I'm thinking of an Enable (Arc), Pinatubo (Dewhurst) and Stradivarius (Long Distance Cup) treble next month. What do you all think?
For me Japan and Sottsass are the only realistic challengers to Enable. I don't know why the tv pundits keep going on about Magical, it's been beaten by Enable every time they've raced each other. I would have strongly fancied Sea of Class to beat Enable this year but sadly that's not to be.
I think you'll be safe with your treble, but you'll probably need to put big bucks on, they'll all be short.Interesting to hear what price you get for it.
25-09-2019, 09:35 AM
I think you'll be safe with your treble, but you'll probably need to put big bucks on, they'll all be short.Interesting to hear what price you get for it.
That's my thinking too.
25-09-2019, 04:40 PM
For me Japan and Sottsass are the only realistic challengers to Enable. I don't know why the tv pundits keep going on about Magical, it's been beaten by Enable every time they've raced each other. I would have strongly fancied Sea of Class to beat Enable this year but sadly that's not to be.
That's my thinking too.
You're both right. When I did the Enable/Stradivarius double a couple of months ago, I put on £200 at 2/1, which is a huge bet for me :greengrin
For the treble mentioned above, 5/2ish. £200 returns £702. What do you think? You only live wance :greengrin
27-09-2019, 02:46 PM
You're both right. When I did the Enable/Stradivarius double a couple of months ago, I put on £200 at 2/1, which is a huge bet for me :greengrin
For the treble mentioned above, 5/2ish. £200 returns £702. What do you think? You only live wance :greengrin
5/2, on the face of it would be excellent, people would be daft to back against any of those 3. The only slight concern I would have is the form of the Gosden horses at the moment, quite a few well fancied and turned over recently (I know cos I backed them!). That said, when it comes to the big races, IMO there's no better or more knowledgeable trainer than John Gosden. Best of luck, but I don't think you'll need it!
09-10-2019, 05:33 PM
5/2, on the face of it would be excellent, people would be daft to back against any of those 3. The only slight concern I would have is the form of the Gosden horses at the moment, quite a few well fancied and turned over recently (I know cos I backed them!). That said, when it comes to the big races, IMO there's no better or more knowledgeable trainer than John Gosden. Best of luck, but I don't think you'll need it!
Wasn't to be for the great Enable, but what an effort. She has such courage, in addition to natural ability. One of the all time greats surely.
I think the very soft ground did for her in the final furlong, so I want to check the ground before going large on Pinatubo/Stradivarius double. Going to leave it until Friday night, even if that means the prices shorten.
12-10-2019, 08:54 PM
Just wondered what folk thought of Pinatubo's run at Newmarket today. Eventually he won by approx. length and a half. The commentators were bumming up the winner, saying it was emphatic. It wasn't, but he still won and it's a good habit to have. Not convinced Arizona's anything special and he was 2nd. On that, and purely on that race, I'd want to take Pinatubo on pricewise when the 2000 Guineas comes along. On saying that, Pinatubo's won 6 races and it's hard to critisize any horse that's done that. He reminds me of Johannesberg who was the champion 2yr old and won at the Breeders Cup too. Never trained on though. It'll be interesting to see how Pinatubo gets on next season.
By the way that guy Steve Mellish on Attheraces doesnae half talk a lot of pish.
12-10-2019, 09:41 PM
Just wondered what folk thought of Pinatubo's run at Newmarket today. Eventually he won by approx. length and a half. The commentators were bumming up the winner, saying it was emphatic. It wasn't, but he still won and it's a good habit to have. Not convinced Arizona's anything special and he was 2nd. On that, and purely on that race, I'd want to take Pinatubo on pricewise when the 2000 Guineas comes along. On saying that, Pinatubo's won 6 races and it's hard to critisize any horse that's done that. He reminds me of Johannesberg who was the champion 2yr old and won at the Breeders Cup too. Never trained on though. It'll be interesting to see how Pinatubo gets on next season.
By the way that guy Steve Mellish on Attheraces doesnae half talk a lot of pish.
It's a tricky one, looked like he was hating the ground and did all his best work in the final half furlong. If it had been a mile race the victory would have been more emphatic.
After what happened with Too Darn Hot at the start of this season I wouldn't be desperate to back Pinatubo for The Guineas at the moment although if I was being forced to have a bet I wouldn't back anything else. I think there's more to come from Armory, whether he can bridge the gap or not is another matter though.
13-10-2019, 11:32 AM
It's a tricky one, looked like he was hating the ground and did all his best work in the final half furlong. If it had been a mile race the victory would have been more emphatic.
After what happened with Too Darn Hot at the start of this season I wouldn't be desperate to back Pinatubo for The Guineas at the moment although if I was being forced to have a bet I wouldn't back anything else. I think there's more to come from Armory, whether he can bridge the gap or not is another matter though.
Aye, it wasn't his ground at all, but he was pulling away at the finish. Like you say, sometimes a sensational two year old doesn't take the expected step up for whatever reason, as happened with Too Darn Hot. Other horses can develop better. Pinatubo might become a superstar, but only time will tell.
14-10-2019, 12:43 PM
Aye, it wasn't his ground at all, but he was pulling away at the finish. Like you say, sometimes a sensational two year old doesn't take the expected step up for whatever reason, as happened with Too Darn Hot. Other horses can develop better. Pinatubo might become a superstar, but only time will tell.
Yup, that's what I was meaning when I compared him with Johannesberg, the O'Brien colt from a few years back who was unbeaten as a 2 year old winning 7 races including 4 Group 1's. He won the Prix Morny and the Breeders Cup Juvenile amongst them, and got the Cartier Award for 2 year old champion colt. A brilliant 2 year old that never trained on. 3 runs as a 3 year old, all lack lustre and then he was retired. I hope Pinatubo doesn't end up that way, he's been so impressive this season.
14-10-2019, 01:20 PM
Yup, that's what I was meaning when I compared him with Johannesberg, the O'Brien colt from a few years back who was unbeaten as a 2 year old winning 7 races including 4 Group 1's. He won the Prix Morny and the Breeders Cup Juvenile amongst them, and got the Cartier Award for 2 year old champion colt. A brilliant 2 year old that never trained on. 3 runs as a 3 year old, all lack lustre and then he was retired. I hope Pinatubo doesn't end up that way, he's been so impressive this season.
Yes, Pinatubo looks the real deal. It would be great to see him improve again for the Classics next year.
15-10-2019, 10:14 AM
Reminds me of air force blue. Won the dewhurst in superb style didn't train on. Witchita is the one I'd back for the guineas. A huge horse who will be much better as a three year old. Armory looks like anythony van dyck and lacks the pace to win the guineas but wouldn't surprise me if he turns out to be O'Brien's derby horse. Pinatubo looks like the finished article now and he may win the guineas but I think a couple will improve past him. Jason weaver seemed very doubtful hell train on and he's usually a good judge. Btw surely the dewhurst needs moving back a few weeks as that was jumping ground.
15-10-2019, 03:17 PM
Enable to stay in training for next season.
15-10-2019, 07:01 PM
Enable to stay in training for next season.
I really thought we'd seen her for the last time. It will be interesting to see what's planned for her.
27-10-2019, 02:13 PM
Armoury beaten 20 lengths at Longchamp in a match race, not sure they're doing it too many favours running on bottomless ground.
31-10-2019, 08:47 PM
First ever British Group 1 race to be held on the all weather is at Newcastle tomorrow in the 18.00.
01-11-2019, 04:57 AM
I'm off to Ascot this weekend for their 1st jumps meeting of the year.
Ascot is a bit OTT and I'd say I prefer York, Cheltenham and both Newmarket courses to it when it comes to the big guns. However the King Edward VII Enclosure is fantastic; right up on the 4th floor of the grandstand so the view of the track is spectacular. Sodexo Gold Cup is the feature race of the day and it's a decent field. I'd usually look out for the Nicholls horses at the big Saturday meeting but he's had a relatively slow start to the season so I may look elsewhere.
01-11-2019, 06:48 AM
Magical and Ten Sovereigns become the latest big names to be retired.
01-11-2019, 12:51 PM
Ascot is a bit OTT and I'd say I prefer York, Cheltenham and both Newmarket courses to it when it comes to the big guns. However the King Edward VII Enclosure is fantastic; right up on the 4th floor of the grandstand so the view of the track is spectacular. Sodexo Gold Cup is the feature race of the day and it's a decent field. I'd usually look out for the Nicholls horses at the big Saturday meeting but he's had a relatively slow start to the season so I may look elsewhere.
Enjoy and be sure to post any strong tips :aok:
01-11-2019, 04:14 PM
Enjoy and be sure to post any strong tips :aok:
Ecco will be a short price but, I thought it looked like a horse with a big future ahead of it when it won at Wincanton a couple of Thursdays ago. One of PB's Nicholls horses too.
01-11-2019, 04:36 PM
Ecco will be a short price but, I thought it looked like a horse with a big future ahead of it when it won at Wincanton a couple of Thursdays ago. One of PB's Nicholls horses too.
I shall take a look, mate :aok:
01-11-2019, 04:56 PM
I shall take a look, mate :aok:
I see it's odds on, I'll not be bothering.
01-11-2019, 05:10 PM
Might still be worth being part of an acca? A win is a win.
01-11-2019, 05:26 PM
Might still be worth being part of an acca? A win is a win.
I dinnae get involved in racing accas, good luck though.
01-11-2019, 07:05 PM
6/5 on Betfair
Frankhfc
01-11-2019, 08:27 PM
Its worth getting down in amongst the stable hands and those who work with the horses to see if you can glean any information. They're the ones in the know.
I happened to do just that a number of years ago now and after getting into a conversation with one of the stable hands I was told there was a horse that was being prepared for the 1000 guineas set for a few months later that was virtually unbeatable.
The guy seemed brand new and I put a wedge on at 10/1 and won a packet when it galloped home.
These guys know the horses better than anyone.
01-11-2019, 08:36 PM
Today was a great example of why I love horse racing. Turned on Sky Sports Racing, the bumper at Uttoxeter was almost ready to start. Horse's name came up on the screen - Jack Valentine - my old man's name. 8/1, I'd never heard of it and it hadn't raced for over 500 days.
Stuck a fiver on it and it came in :thumbsup:
01-11-2019, 08:38 PM
Today was a great example of why I love horse racing. Turned on Sky Sports Racing, the bumper at Uttoxeter was almost ready to start. Horse's name came up on the screen - Jack Valentine - my old man's name. 8/1, I'd never heard of it and it hadn't raced for over 500 days.
Superb!
Frankhfc
01-11-2019, 08:41 PM
Great stuff mate.
For it to be 8/1 and been out for that length of time it must have had some decent form prior?
01-11-2019, 09:17 PM
Great stuff mate.
For it to be 8/1 and been out for that length of time it must have had some decent form prior?
Had one run in Ireland previously, unplaced. Bought by Venetia Williams' syndicate recently. Never had time to do any research on why it was absent for so long. Was a weak race today.
Frankhfc
01-11-2019, 09:35 PM
Had one run in Ireland previously, unplaced. Bought by Venetia Williams' syndicate recently. Never had time to do any research on why it was absent for so long. Was a weak race today.
Must have been fancied by those in the know with a wee nibble on to be 8/1 with no form and to be out for so long.
But hey just glad you had a few quid on mate.
Well done :aok:
01-11-2019, 10:18 PM
Must have been fancied by those in the know with a wee nibble on to be 8/1 with no form and to be out for so long.
But hey just glad you had a few quid on mate.
Well done :aok:
Cheers 👍
02-11-2019, 07:05 AM
6/5 on Betfair
Continues to drift, almost 6/4 on Betfair now.
02-11-2019, 09:04 PM
Magical and Ten Sovereigns become the latest big names to be retired.
Coolmore is all about breeding stallions. Really annoyed they have been retired though. No reason to retire magical as she's a mare and ten sovereigns could have been superb as a four year old if he got rattling good ground. I'm a huge fan of all things ballydoyle but in this instance no happy at all. Hopefully Japan runs as a four year old as he should be even better than this season as he had a troubled training regime and missed weeks
02-11-2019, 10:59 PM
Continues to drift, almost 6/4 on Betfair now.
Won at nearly 13/8 on Betfair.
Frankhfc
02-11-2019, 11:28 PM
Won at nearly 13/8 on Betfair.
Nice one. You must have had a few quid on?
03-11-2019, 08:56 AM
Nice one. You must have had a few quid on?
Believe it or not, I ended up not backing it! 😠
Frankhfc
03-11-2019, 09:06 AM
Believe it or not, I ended up not backing it!
Fair do's mate. I've done it myself, tipping horses that's subsequently won to others while not personally having a penny on them. Its easy done but hopefully someone on here noted it down and won a few quid.
03-11-2019, 09:26 AM
Fair do's mate. I've done it myself, tipping horses that's subsequently won to others while not personally having a penny on them. Its easy done but hopefully someone on here noted it down and won a few quid.
Aye, my old man!
Frankhfc
03-11-2019, 09:30 AM
Aye, my old man!
Hibs1972
08-11-2019, 11:02 AM
I have to say after watching it’s 1st run over hurdles last weekend I’m feeling quite happy that after last seasons festival I’ve had 27 £5 free bets on at at Skybet on him to win “any race” at next years big meeting.10-1 8-1 and mostly at 6’s,in my opinion it would be a shoe in for the Ballymore but at this stage seems happy to stick to 2m,anyone got any fancy ante post slips on for next year yet?
08-11-2019, 02:32 PM
I have to say after watching it’s 1st run over hurdles last weekend I’m feeling quite happy that after last seasons festival I’ve had 27 £5 free bets on at at Skybet on him to win “any race” at next years big meeting.10-1 8-1 and mostly at 6’s,in my opinion it would be a shoe in for the Ballymore but at this stage seems happy to stick to 2m,anyone got any fancy ante post slips on for next year yet?
Not next year, but I put 100 on Altior for the Boxing Day King George at 5/2.
08-11-2019, 03:56 PM
Which horse?
08-11-2019, 05:25 PM
Which horse?
It's in bold, Hutchy - Envoi Allen :greengrin
Frankhfc
08-11-2019, 05:29 PM
By no means a certainty but it has a definite chance. Hope it wins for you.
08-11-2019, 05:50 PM
By no means a certainty but it has a definite chance. Hope it wins for you.
Nothing is certain, we've seen both Enable and Stradivarius beaten in recent weeks, which cost me a pretty penny. Hopefully the great chaser won't make it a hat-trick of upsets.
08-11-2019, 06:56 PM
It's in bold, Hutchy - Envoi Allen :greengrin
Not on the thread I'm looking at, time and date of post?
I backed that in the Cheltenham Bumper though.
Frankhfc
08-11-2019, 07:00 PM
Nothing is certain, we've seen both Enable and Stradivarius beaten in recent weeks, which cost me a pretty penny. Hopefully the great chaser won't make it a hat-trick of upsets.
Its got a decent chance and could harden slightly in price closer to the off and I think you were right to take 5/2 as even if it does go out it wouldn't be by much. Anything can happen in jump racing though as we've all seen before but you've taken a punt and here's hoping it wins for you.
09-11-2019, 11:18 AM
Its got a decent chance and could harden slightly in price closer to the off and I think you were right to take 5/2 as even if it does go out it wouldn't be by much. Anything can happen in jump racing though as we've all seen before but you've taken a punt and here's hoping it wins for you.
Cheers, let's hope he runs his usual great race.
09-11-2019, 11:31 AM
Hope it wins for you but, 6f further than its ever raced over in its entire career.
09-11-2019, 12:13 PM
Hope it wins for you but, 6f further than its ever raced over in its entire career.
Cheers Hutchy. Yes, he's up in trip, but he really looked like he was ready to step up last season. I think he'll be fine; time will tell.
14-11-2019, 02:16 PM
Douvan won nicely today after his long absence. Beat a couple of nice horses.
Be interesting to see what he has left up in trip.
16-11-2019, 10:48 AM
Hibernian Warrior 12.25 @ Lingfield 13/8
Not a tip just the name 😉
2nd
20-11-2019, 06:52 PM
So Altior v Cyrname at Ascot on Saturday. Who wins?
21-11-2019, 08:14 AM
So Altior v Cyrname at Ascot on Saturday. Who wins?
Altior for me. He looked ripe for the step up in trip at the end of last season and should be fine. There's always that element of risk in these situations, but I doubt Henderson would have stepped him up unless he had full confidence in Altior's ability to make it. I say this with fingers crossed, as I've already put a hundred on Altior to win the king George :greengrin.
23-11-2019, 01:22 PM
A few recalculations going on in the Henderson camp I think. Altior didn't stand out as a stayer there.
Frankhfc
23-11-2019, 02:08 PM
Good run race there taken by Lost in Translation beating the excellent Bristol De Mai into second. Great finish.
23-11-2019, 03:00 PM
Good run race there taken by Lost in Translation beating the excellent Bristol De Mai into second. Great finish.
It will be interesting to see how he is campaigned now. He stayed on nicely there but both his wins at 3 miles or above have been on flat tracks (Aintree and Haydock). He didn't find a lot in the JLT at Cheltenham last season. That was a well run 2 and a half miles though and he plugged along at the end without quickening. Maybe a stiff 3+ round Cheltenham will suit.
You have to think they will be tempted to go for the bonus now.
23-11-2019, 04:54 PM
A few recalculations going on in the Henderson camp I think. Altior didn't stand out as a stayer there.
I watched it on my phone in the pub before the game. I'm gutted for Altior, losing his unbeaten record over jumps. It was a longer trip and very heavy ground, and perhaps those two factors together, plus a very good opponent, were too much for him on the day. As always he gave everything he had and was exhausted at the end, but Cyrname was a worthy winner and he looks to have an exciting future. Altior will bounce back, his talent will make sure of that. It will be interesting to see whether he is kept in the King George or if Henderson takes a different route.
23-11-2019, 05:19 PM
I watched it on my phone in the pub before the game. I'm gutted for Altior, losing his unbeaten record over jumps. It was a longer trip and very heavy ground, and perhaps those two factors together, plus a very good opponent, were too much for him on the day. As always he gave everything he had and was exhausted at the end, but Cyrname was a worthy winner and he looks to have an exciting future. Altior will bounce back, his talent will make sure of that. It will be interesting to see whether he is kept in the King George or if Henderson takes a different route.
I've watched it again and I'm not sure what to make of it. My first reaction was he was outstayed but watching again I'm not so sure. I think he just ran into a good horse running at his optimal distance. He was still plugging on, whilst definitely not quickening, at the end, so they may still fancy a go at the King George. If that doesn't go to plan then the Champion Chase isn't going anywhere.
23-11-2019, 05:27 PM
I've watched it again and I'm not sure what to make of it. My first reaction was he was outstayed but watching again I'm not so sure. I think he just ran into a good horse running at his optimal distance. He was still plugging on, whilst definitely not quickening, at the end, so they may still fancy a go at the King George. If that doesn't go to plan then the Champion Chase isn't going anywhere.
Aye, I think it may have been the combination of ground, trip and opponent which overwhelmed him. Remove any one or two of those factors and he probably would have come through. He looked like a great champion finally vanquished afterwards: physically exhausted and morale broken, head down, knowing he'd finally been beaten. He'll be back in one way or another and I'm sure will put it right.
23-11-2019, 06:00 PM
Aye, I think it may have been the combination of ground, trip and opponent which overwhelmed him. Remove any one or two of those factors and he probably would have come through. He looked like a great champion finally vanquished afterwards: physically exhausted and morale broken, head down, knowing he'd finally been beaten. He'll be back in one way or another and I'm sure will put it right.
I often wonder how much of an impact confidence has on horses. They are naturally hierarchical animals and I think getting beat does impact them. I always think of Thistlecrack who was absolutely broken by Many Clouds when they eyeballed each other at Cheltenham. Of course Clouds paid the ultimate price that day but he just outbattled his opponent and Thistlecrack was never the same horse after that even allowing for the injury he suffered.
23-11-2019, 06:22 PM
I often wonder how much of an impact confidence has on horses. They are naturally hierarchical animals and I think getting beat does impact them. I always think of Thistlecrack who was absolutely broken by Many Clouds when they eyeballed each other at Cheltenham. Of course Clouds paid the ultimate price that day but he just outbattled his opponent and Thistlecrack was never the same horse after that even allowing for the injury he suffered.
It's an interesting phenomenon; they seem to know when they have won or lost a race, and I don't think that's just a sentimental human perspective. Altior seemed to know another horse had crossed the finish line before him as he trudged away with head scraping the turf. I watched a You Tube documentary about Arkle a few months back, and the trainer and jockey of the great Mill House were adamant he was never the same after Arkle had beaten him and was psychologically beaten when the two next met.
23-11-2019, 08:35 PM
Although I can see where you're coming from, I'm sure you would agree that isn't always the case, just sometimes. If that were the case it would be pointless backing any horse that had been beaten by another horse if they raced again. Imperial Commander got beaten in a really close finish by Kauto Star at Haydock but still beat him in the Gold Cup, on the flat Giants Causeway was notorius for fighting to the very end of the race when ever a horse got close to him (eyeballed), so in the QE2 Gosden made sure the horse he fielded against him Observatory kept wide of Giants Causeway towards the end of the race and won it by half a length.
The race between Altior and Cyrname was great to watch, but it seemed to be more a case of Altior just not quite staying the distance. Saying that, Cyrname had put up an excellent performance previous to that when beating Waiting Patiently by 17 lengths at the same course. That was vastly immproved form on anything he'd done before that in terms of opposition, so we'll see how he performs in the King George.
Frankhfc
23-11-2019, 08:41 PM
It will be interesting to see how he is campaigned now. He stayed on nicely there but both his wins at 3 miles or above have been on flat tracks (Aintree and Haydock). He didn't find a lot in the JLT at Cheltenham last season. That was a well run 2 and a half miles though and he plugged along at the end without quickening. Maybe a stiff 3+ round Cheltenham will suit.
You have to think they will be tempted to go for the bonus now.
I only caught the final half of the race and it was a cracking finish but I got the impression that there was more to come from Bristol De Mai than Lostintranslation. I felt that Lostintranslation was just about all out at the finish whereas Bristol De Mai could have kept at if for a good deal longer. Interesting race.
24-11-2019, 06:40 PM
Although I can see where you're coming from, I'm sure you would agree that isn't always the case, just sometimes. If that were the case it would be pointless backing any horse that had been beaten by another horse if they raced again. Imperial Commander got beaten in a really close finish by Kauto Star at Haydock but still beat him in the Gold Cup, on the flat Giants Causeway was notorius for fighting to the very end of the race when ever a horse got close to him (eyeballed), so in the QE2 Gosden made sure the horse he fielded against him Observatory kept wide of Giants Causeway towards the end of the race and won it by half a length.
The race between Altior and Cyrname was great to watch, but it seemed to be more a case of Altior just not quite staying the distance. Saying that, Cyrname had put up an excellent performance previous to that when beating Waiting Patiently by 17 lengths at the same course. That was vastly immproved form on anything he'd done before that in terms of opposition, so we'll see how he performs in the King George.
Yeah of course it's only one factor and probably down the list when compared to ground, luck in running, distance and a range of other things. I do think it plays a part in a horses character though. The good ones tend to know they are good.
On a totally different topic I see Donnacha O'brien has announced his retirement from riding at 21 to begin a training career. Like his brother he's very tall for a flat jockey and I can only assume the battle with the weight has got too much for him.
25-11-2019, 05:37 PM
Yeah of course it's only one factor and probably down the list when compared to ground, luck in running, distance and a range of other things. I do think it plays a part in a horses character though. The good ones tend to know they are good.
On a totally different topic I see Donnacha O'brien has announced his retirement from riding at 21 to begin a training career. Like his brother he's very tall for a flat jockey and I can only assume the battle with the weight has got too much for him.
Wow, I guess that must be the reason, he's not been riding that many years (good jockey though). Joseph's already made a good start to his training career, no doubt Donnacha will do the same. But I totally understand why you prefer NH, nowadays on the flat pretty well all you can bet on is handicaps, most of the group races are monopolized by Coolmore and Godolphin. Obviously that's not the only reason, but the NH is a hell of a lot more competitive, the prices are better most of the time, and it's a better atmosphere. That's my take on it anyway.
Hibs1972
01-12-2019, 03:30 PM
Long way to go until Cheltenham yet but my boy is looking good at the moment,fingers crossed he stays in one piece! Whatever race they opt for in the end I can see him scaring a lot of good horses away on the day. Bring it on!!
07-12-2019, 01:50 PM
Couple of very early Grand National pointers today.
Walk In The Mill winning the Becher Chase well whilst Native River looked very good in the Many Clouds Chase. Jumped like a stag from the front and was relentless. Not sure what the official distance was but 'half the track' should cover it.
08-12-2019, 09:34 PM
Sad news for me, an old favourite of mine, Houblon Des Obeaux suffered a heart attack in the veterans race at Sandown which lead to the race being declared void. RIP old boy.
HibernianJK
09-12-2019, 11:54 PM
Can’t explain how much I’ve been waiting for Native River to run in the national, since he ran a blinder in the NH chase at Cheltenham at 5 or 6. I’m praying this is the year.
Also big shout out to Top Notch, a great horse and won on Sunday a fair bit more comfy than the end result states.
12-12-2019, 03:22 PM
King George in a fortnight, what are we thinking?
I'm going to be a Lostintraslation man, jumps well, stamina guaranteed, can see him passing Cyrname on the run in. The softer the ground the more confident I'll become, although that could bring Native River into it.
14-12-2019, 11:45 AM
I'm going to be a Lostintraslation man, jumps well, stamina guaranteed, can see him passing Cyrname on the run in. The softer the ground the more confident I'll become, although that could bring Native River into it.
I'm sticking with Altior. He's out to 7/1 now, but with that first run over the longer distance under his belt, I'm taking him to improve, particularly if it's better ground than when Cyrname beat him. A great champion responds to defeat.
14-12-2019, 01:20 PM
I'm sticking with Altior. He's out to 7/1 now, but with that first run over the longer distance under his belt, I'm taking him to improve, particularly if it's better ground than when Cyrname beat him. A great champion responds to defeat.
I'm not convinced we'll see Altior on Boxing Day. Since 2002 14/17 winners had won a chase over 3m before.
14-12-2019, 02:07 PM
https://www.sportinglife.com/racing/news/altior-unlikely-for-king-george/175139
14-12-2019, 06:02 PM
Just noticed Native River isn't amongst the Decs so, that won't be happening!
14-12-2019, 11:23 PM
https://www.sportinglife.com/racing/news/altior-unlikely-for-king-george/175139
That's a shame, but they know best.
Not sure who I'll go with now. I will take a closer look in the coming days.
15-12-2019, 08:21 AM
Just noticed Native River isn't amongst the Decs so, that won't be happening!
He's entered in the Welsh National on the 27th. Not sure if he'll run or if they will just skip and go straight to the GC. When he won it he was pretty lightly campaigned so maybe thinking he will go better fresh.
I still think his ultimate target will end up being the national though.
15-12-2019, 10:26 AM
He's entered in the Welsh National on the 27th. Not sure if he'll run or if they will just skip and go straight to the GC. When he won it he was pretty lightly campaigned so maybe thinking he will go better fresh.
I still think his ultimate target will end up being the national though.
I wonder if Native River has been entered to keep a lot of horses out of the handicap for Elegant Escape.
15-12-2019, 11:11 AM
Andy Dufresne beaten at Navan at 1/3. There goes my acca :rolleyes:
22-12-2019, 06:43 AM
I've gone with Lostintranslation too, though I think Cyrname is the one to beat.
Anyone got a good tip for the Welsh National?
22-12-2019, 08:45 AM
I've gone with Lostintranslation too, though I think Cyrname is the one to beat.
Anyone got a good tip for the Welsh National?
Cannae see past Elegant Escape again.
22-12-2019, 11:48 AM
I really think any of the top 3 in the betting could win the King George, it's a very competitive race. I wouldn't even totally rule Footpad out either.
Elegant Escape looks a good thing in the Welsh National, I might have a small ew on Yala Enki as well.
22-12-2019, 02:00 PM
Personally I can't see past Cyrname in the KG, small field, likes to make it from the front and kick, ground and distance should be fine. Dissapointing tournout for such a prestigous race. I like Lostintranslation too, but it'd be great to see old Thistlecrack get his old form back, he'd beat the lot of them if he did.
22-12-2019, 07:19 PM
Personally I can't see past Cyrname in the KG, small field, likes to make it from the front and kick, ground and distance should be fine. Dissapointing tournout for such a prestigous race. I like Lostintranslation too, but it'd be great to see old Thistlecrack get his old form back, he'd beat the lot of them if he did.
The old boy still has all the heart in the world, even if the legs aren't what they once were. Very few can match him for courage.
26-12-2019, 08:26 AM
Thistlecrack a non runner. Bruised foot.
26-12-2019, 02:15 PM
Clan Des Obeaux pissed it. He's about 10lbs of a better horse at Kempton than anywhere else. Cyrname looked like he may have over extended 4 out but not sure he was staying anyway, Cobdne was already throwing out warning signals by that point.
26-12-2019, 02:29 PM
Clan Des Obeaux pissed it. He's about 10lbs of a better horse at Kempton than anywhere else. Cyrname looked like he may have over extended 4 out but not sure he was staying anyway, Cobdne was already throwing out warning signals by that point.
Yeh, totally agree with that. His form after his win in last years KG was still decent but he was shown up a bit. Excellent horse round Kempton though, absolutely no argument about that. Great record Nicholls has in this race too, all credit to him. I suppose the only downside, and its a minor one, is that they were probably his 2 best chasers, and unless Cyrname improves again, Nicholls doesn't really have a Gold Cup horse. I thought AP might have made a solid point after the race too, Clan Des Obeaux was running fresh whereas Lostintranslation and Cyrname previously had hard races against top class opposition. Excellent performance all the same though.
26-12-2019, 04:03 PM
I haven't had chance to see it yet. 21 length victory for Clan Des Obeaux. Wow.
26-12-2019, 06:19 PM
Good to see Faugheen enjoying himself again, the switch to chasing has certainly freshened him up.
Not sure if 7s is worth a bet for the JLT Novices but it's just nice to see an old horse get a new lease of life and enjoy their racing again.
27-12-2019, 05:05 AM
I haven't had chance to see it yet. 21 length victory for Clan Des Obeaux. Wow.
Just caught it. Clan Des Obeaux was superb, still full of running as he crossed the line. Cyrname's stamina just gave out in the last couple of furlongs on heavy ground, and it seems Lostintranslation had a breathing problem.
27-12-2019, 05:11 AM
Good to see Faugheen enjoying himself again, the switch to chasing has certainly freshened him up.
Not sure if 7s is worth a bet for the JLT Novices but it's just nice to see an old horse get a new lease of life and enjoy their racing again.
Yes, switched to chasing very late, but seems to love it.
28-12-2019, 02:53 PM
Interesting few days with the Gold Cup in mind.
Kemboy beaten, Presenting Percy beaten, Lostintranslation beaten, Clan Des Obeaux and Delta Work putting themselves in the frame.
It looks wide open at this stage.
28-12-2019, 03:52 PM
Interesting few days with the Gold Cup in mind.
Kemboy beaten, Presenting Percy beaten, Lostintranslation beaten, Clan Des Obeaux and Delta Work putting themselves in the frame.
It looks wide open at this stage.
In Kemboy's race they all finished in a heap. He definitely needed the race. I was quite impressed with Copperhead at Newbury. Could be anything.
07-01-2020, 08:42 PM
https://www.racingpost.com/news/latest/henderson-rules-star-chaser-altior-out-of-saturdays-silviniaco-conti-chase/416849
24-01-2020, 02:25 PM
Horse called bothwell bridge running today. Not a tip, just the name caught my eye, Henderson and Nico though 👍
Hibs1972
25-01-2020, 04:20 PM
Horse called bothwell bridge running today. Not a tip, just the name caught my eye, Henderson and Nico though 👍
Ran a good race to be fair,looks a 3m chaser in the making,1 of the 1st off the bridle but kept going for 2nd.
04-03-2020, 06:17 PM
Cheltenham next week :thumbsup:
Quite fancy Mister Malarky in the Ultima Chase on day 1.
04-03-2020, 09:16 PM
I'm down for the Thursday and Friday. Can't wait.
Thinking about Delta Work for the GC. Every excuse has been made for the horses he has beaten this year but he has won well both times. He'll be close. Beyond that I've not got a lot planned so far.
06-03-2020, 12:56 AM
Thinking about Delta Work for the GC. Every excuse has been made for the horses he has beaten this year but he has won well both times. He'll be close. Beyond that I've not got a lot planned so far.
I’m down for the Thursday Friday as well, I’ve been going for years now but it never gets old. I’ll be in the istabraq bar out on the balcony above the entrance if you fancy a beer :greengrin
06-03-2020, 08:39 AM
Looks like Skybet are only doing cash back up to a tenner if you lose on the Supreme Novices, for the last 2 years they did it for the first race on each day up to £20 I think and must have lost a packet.
09-03-2020, 11:56 AM
I'm very out of touch with jumps racing these days but I think that's where I'm headed for the main event also :agree:
10-03-2020, 08:26 AM
Here we go.....I've got
Abracadabras for the Supreme Novices
Mister Malarky for the Ultima
Pentland Hills for the Champion Hurdle, more in hope than expectation
Good luck all :aok:
MagicSwirlingShip
10-03-2020, 09:22 AM
Only backing two today.
Fakir D’oudairies in the 2.10
Benie Des Dieux for the 4.10
10-03-2020, 10:32 AM
The Champion Hurdle doesn't look a particularly high class race this year, it arguably hasn't been for 2 or 3 years now. I'm tempted by Darver Star at a price. ran a good race at Leopardstown in his last race and looks the type that might enjoy a bit of a grind up the hill. Not particularly swayed by anything in the Arkle, if I had a bet it would tentatively be for Notebook but little confidence behind that. Benie should win the Mares but I wouldn't totally discount Honeysuckle. Supreme looks a good race, it always is as it's a total cavalry charge. Fiddlerontheroof is arguably far from the best horse in the race but he goes on the ground so I think I'll have small something on him.
1.30 - Fiddlerontheroof
3.30 - Darver Star e/w
4.10 - Benie Des Dieux
That's my 3 bets for today.
10-03-2020, 03:28 PM
Small losses for me today .. had Abracadabras and Chantry House e/w .. but lost gains and some on SupaSunday e/w
PETRIE! :grr:
murray26
11-03-2020, 01:08 PM
Any tips today guys..
Frankhfc
12-03-2020, 11:10 AM
Wasn't going to have a bet this year but after seeing the horse named 'Relegate' running in the 2.10 I'm having a tenner on it.
Frankhfc
12-03-2020, 01:20 PM
Had the cheeky wee punt on relegate not 'expecting' to win. However the jockey made sure the horse never got into the race keeping it a long way back second last virtually the whole distance only to make it look a bit better by coming with a wet sail but still finished a distant fourth. A total non trier. Ah well you take your chances and it wasn't to be but the jockey made absolutely sure of that though. Dearie me, no wonder I don't bet very often.
12-03-2020, 07:28 PM
I have to say it’s noticeabley quieter down here. When the first race went off I was looking around and thinking where is everyone. The pubs in town still appear to be busy though.
16-03-2020, 08:00 PM
Grand National cancelled.
Pretty gutted since my brother and I were taking my dad down for his 60th birthday but I was expecting this.
Frankhfc
16-03-2020, 08:22 PM
Grand National cancelled.
Pretty gutted since my brother and I were taking my dad down for his 60th birthday but I was expecting this.
Sorry to hear that you won't be able to take your dad down. Also feel for the local economy of the Merseyside area as it probably pours in a huge amount of money into the local area over the period of the Grand National Aintree meeting. Hoteliers, local businesses, coach companies etc etc will take a huge hit. Dearie me.
16-03-2020, 08:27 PM
How many bookies were operating at Kelso today?
Didn't see anything about on course market and was wondering how an SP can be declared?
16-03-2020, 08:33 PM
Sorry to hear that you won't be able to take your dad down. Also feel for the local economy of the Merseyside area as it probably pours in a huge amount of money into the local area over the period of the Grand National Aintree meeting. Hoteliers, local businesses, coach companies etc etc will take a huge hit. Dearie me.
Yep I've just cancelled a 2 night stay at a local Premier Inn costing over £500. Multiple that by thousands of times and that's an awful lot of money lost.
Frankhfc
16-03-2020, 08:38 PM
Yep I've just cancelled a 2 night stay at a local Premier Inn costing over £500. Multiple that by thousands of times and that's an awful lot of money lost.
Extremely sad state of affairs mate, Who knows what the future holds. We can only hope someone finds a cure to this virus or worst fears aren't realised.
03-04-2020, 05:45 AM
Virtual Grand National Field (http://www.racingpost.com/news/virtual-grand-national-2020-the-full-list-of-the-40-runners-riders-and-odds/430637)
I'll let you guys make up your own minds, in more ways than one!
03-04-2020, 08:25 AM
The virtual race has been remarkably accurate the last 3 or 4 years.
In my house we'll all probably have a couple of pound each on it and watch it for a bit of fun. The money is for charity. The cynic in me would suggest the bonus for the bookies is getting a whole new batch of people signed up to their online platforms.....
03-04-2020, 12:15 PM
The virtual race has been remarkably accurate the last 3 or 4 years.
In my house we'll all probably have a couple of pound each on it and watch it for a bit of fun. The money is for charity. The cynic in me would suggest the bonus for the bookies is getting a whole new batch of people signed up to their online platforms.....
Aye, it should probably be viewed as a piece of much needed light relief.
04-04-2020, 05:02 PM
Virtual Grand National Field (http://www.racingpost.com/news/virtual-grand-national-2020-the-full-list-of-the-40-runners-riders-and-odds/430637)
I'll let you guys make up your own minds, in more ways than one!
I would say it was very realistic as I won hee haw as per!
19-04-2020, 10:05 PM
https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=dpIzPuiDN60
Just look at him go. Peter Bromley's commentary is great!
25-04-2020, 07:44 PM
Discussions and plans being drawn up for behind closed doors racing to start in May. Fields restricted to 12 runners and senior (experienced) jockeys only involved. BHA drawing up a revised fixture list.
25-04-2020, 07:56 PM
Discussions and plans being drawn up for behind closed doors racing to start in May. Fields restricted to 12 runners and senior (experienced) jockeys only involved. BHA drawing up a revised fixture list.
I think there is an inevitability that some racing will resume. The money involved in getting the Classics run will ensure it happens.
05-05-2020, 09:53 AM
French racing starts again on Monday
15-05-2020, 02:52 PM
Racing in Ireland to resume from June 8th
17-05-2020, 12:41 PM
Irish Guineas to be run on the 12th and 13th June.
29-05-2020, 12:01 PM
British racing starting back on Monday with a 10 race card from Newcastle. Great news.