View Full Version : Official hibs.net Summer transfer rumours thread
Skyegreen
29-06-2016, 05:50 PM
It's June 29th, over 2 months left for new signings and then there's still free agents.
McGeouch didn't sign for Hibs until late August.
Yes I know, I'm an impatient bitch at times 😵😜👍
29-06-2016, 05:51 PM
Might be a good signing ..gives the rest of the team
Someone to boot balls at
29-06-2016, 05:51 PM
Play Boyle more regularly?
I'd love to see Boyle and Carmichael play more often next season. Keatings too.
I think some of our solutions may well exist within our current squad and some clever recruits (such as Holt) might see us really get the best out of them.
Skyegreen
29-06-2016, 05:52 PM
We've only made one. Something many folk spent all of last year moaning that we needed.
We've went down the route of having loads of 'nice' footballers and it hasn't got us out the league yet. This gives us something different. Every signing isn't going to be a John McGinn or Scott Allan.
Ye I agree. I'm just an impatient SOB 👅😜
Skyegreen
29-06-2016, 05:55 PM
We need pace. Lots of pace. Laboured all the time last season and couldn't break teams down. Even attacking at a higher tempo.
We could really do with an attacking winger on the left. Stevenson has done great but there are times he struggles to get at teams through lack of confidence. Maybe an option off the bench in the closing third of a game could add to our goal tally this season. Just a thought!
Play Boyle more regularly?
Definitely one option as he always impressed when utilised the right way.
We could really do with an attacking winger on the left. Stevenson has done great but there are times he struggles to get at teams through lack of confidence. Maybe an option off the bench in the closing third of a game could add to our goal tally this season. Just a thought!
Stevenson and Gray should both concentrate on defending IMO they are being asked too much and need an outlet that they never get, especially in this league. Someone to even open up space.
29-06-2016, 06:10 PM
It's a good thought.
Not seen enough of Carmichael to know if he can do this, but we could do with a left sided winger who likes getting paint on his boots, as they say.
The diamond made us too narrow at times.
29-06-2016, 06:12 PM
He wanted a lot of money to stay on at motherwell, so maybe that's the issue?
Maybe he was happy to consider coming to us and then at last minute Motherwell upped the money on offer ,and he opted to stay put . Someone said they had made him captain of team as well , not sure if true but if so they have clearly done everything they can to persuade him to stay and its worked
Skyegreen
29-06-2016, 06:18 PM
Stevenson and Gray should both concentrate on defending IMO they are being asked too much and need an outlet that they never get, especially in this league. Someone to even open up space.
I'm not so sure about Gray as it seems to come more natural to him. Certainly he could do with more help when we're attacking, especially at home.
A left sided attacking full back however are like gold dust.
29-06-2016, 06:26 PM
So, now correct me if I am wrong here, but, Scot McDonald, it is only the Sun saying he has decided to stay put at Motherwell is it not ? THE SUN, not like them to get things wrong/lie now is it ?
29-06-2016, 06:30 PM
So, now correct me if I am wrong here, but, Scot McDonald, it is only the Sun saying he has decided to stay put at Motherwell is it not ? THE SUN, not like them to get things wrong/lie now is it ?
With Kenny Millar around they're not normally too far off the mark in relation to Hibs.
Deal is dead. :agree:
29-06-2016, 06:40 PM
It's not the paper it's who's reporting it. Kenny is usually spot on with his info and if it's dead I'd believe it.
K-Zazu
29-06-2016, 06:58 PM
Deal is dead. :agree:
Why?
29-06-2016, 07:00 PM
It's not the paper it's who's reporting it. Kenny is usually spot on with his info and if it's dead I'd believe it. E
Whilst he is an pretty good forward I would much rather we signed a forward with real pace.
Fans news site aka Andy Gillies saying 3 big announcements tomorrow but said not necessarily a signing.
Unless it's total tosh, I would guess Cummings extension, 10k season tickets or new strip.
Finn2015
29-06-2016, 07:11 PM
Sad if the McDonald deal is dead but hopefully, still looking at other options
Nevi_SOL
29-06-2016, 07:12 PM
Why?
Better option has become available?
Could well be but I was or would have been more than happy with McDonald!
29-06-2016, 07:18 PM
Nope it isn't - it is pretty much spot-on with Hibs news.
29-06-2016, 07:24 PM
Maybe he was happy to consider coming to us and then at last minute Motherwell upped the money on offer ,and he opted to stay put . Someone said they had made him captain of team as well , not sure if true but if so they have clearly done everything they can to persuade him to stay and its worked
Im sure his agent will have been going back and forth between Hibs and Motherwell using both as bargaining tools for more dosh. It's ***** but that's his job. Sounds like Hibs got pissed off with it and told him to bolt. If so then well done. He may still end up at Hibs but I would expect him to now extend his contract with Motherwell spouting the usual pish about never wanting to leave :rolleyes:
29-06-2016, 07:29 PM
Jason. Jordon. New strip.
It's not the paper it's who's reporting it. Kenny is usually spot on with his info and if it's dead I'd believe it.
We need pace. Lots of pace. Laboured all the time last season and couldn't break teams down. Even attacking at a higher tempo.
Laboured all the time last season! Really! Beat Aberdeen, Yams & St J, 2, 3 & 4 in a higher league than us & beat The Rangers 3 times, including a fairly famous game in May. We lost 1 home game & drew 5 all season, 3 to Falkirk where we scored 5 goals & 1 in cup to ICT. It was our away form, where teams actually attacked us more, that let us down, conceding 5 goals at Dumbarton wasn't too clever! Yet another Hibs Net fact that doesn't stand up to scrutiny.
Nah, David Gray. Again :aok:
29-06-2016, 07:35 PM
Laboured all the time last season! Really! Beat Aberdeen, Yams & St J, 2, 3 & 4 in a higher league than us & beat The Rangers 3 times, including a fairly famous game in May. We lost 1 home game & drew 5 all season, 3 to Falkirk where we scored 5 goals & 1 in cup to ICT. It was our away form, where teams actually attacked us more, that let us down, conceding 5 goals at Dumbarton wasn't too clever! Yet another Hibs Net fact that doesn't stand up to scrutiny.
People don't look at facts and stats. They make things up to suit themselves. Same with the pish I read about Stokes being pish nearly every game except the cup final... More *****.
29-06-2016, 07:35 PM
Jordan re-signing is another Danny handling moment for me.
I know a lot of people rate him but I just don't see it, wasn't in our top 4 centre halfs last season, although one of them is gone we should be buying to improve the team not to bulk up the squad numbers.
29-06-2016, 07:37 PM
Jordon?
29-06-2016, 07:37 PM
I know a lot of people rate him but I just don't see it, wasn't in our top 4 centre halfs last season, although one of them is gone we should be buying to improve the team not to bulk up the squad numbers.
This for me too...not at the level of what we had last season...not mobile enough for me....hope he proves me wrong....
29-06-2016, 07:38 PM
I agree. Don't reckon he's good enough.
Agree. Don't rate him.
We agree on something😄
So what you are seriously saying is....
Morton, Dumbarton, Alloa and Queen of the South "actually attacked us more" than Rangers, Hearts, Aberdeen and St Johnstone?
Away and lie down mate :faf:"
We failed to break teams down and they hit us with sucker punches. From top to bottom of the league. The teams you mentioned did attack, leaving space to exploit. Dumbarton and Allloa didn't set out to attack us, neither did Falkirk. :greengrin Even ICT at home was a different proposition, trying to break them down - needing pace to going up there, them attacking and leaving space - hunners of it in fact.
Shocking examples. We need pace to play against teams that sit in. It was our downfall last year.
People don't look at facts and stats. They make things up to suit themselves. Same with the pish I read about Stokes being pish nearly every game except the cup final... More *****.
:faf::faf::faf:
29-06-2016, 07:47 PM
I do rate Jordon and would be pleased to see a home grown centre half aged 22 assimilated back into our squad. I think he has all the physical attributes required to succeed and will improve his game intelligence with more games.
29-06-2016, 07:53 PM
I also rate Jordon - a player who was playing well till he was Injured against Falkirk then was shipped out on loan.
Ok loan suffered a sore injury but still played at Wembley - he has come back with more experience and I am sure a determination to be successful at Hibs.
He knows what the club is about and can play right back or centre back.
29-06-2016, 07:55 PM
Going against the apparent trend here, I will be very happy to see Jordon stay with us. Put in some fantastic performances in big games, was consistently good in Stubbs' first season and very unlucky with injuries. I find it strange that so many don't seem to rate him, what's the opposite of rose tinted goggles? Done very little wrong and a whole lot right in his time with us so far.
29-06-2016, 08:08 PM
Jordan Forster is an excellent player who needs to be playing football to improve.
I'd be delighted to see him do it with us.
Going against the apparent trend here, I will be very happy to see Jordon stay with us. Put in some fantastic performances in big games, was consistently good in Stubbs' first season and very unlucky with injuries. I find it strange that so many don't seem to rate him, what's the opposite of rose tinted goggles? Done very little wrong and a whole lot right in his time with us so far.
Yes that's my view as well. Also seemed to be very dangerous at attacking corners in opposition penalty.
Morton, Dumbarton, Alloa and Queen of the South "actually attacked us more" than Rangers, Hearts, Aberdeen and St Johnstone?
We failed to break teams down and they hit us with sucker punches. From top to bottom of the league. The teams you mentioned did attack, leaving space to exploit. Dumbarton and Allloa didn't set out to attack us, neither did Falkirk. :greengrin Even ICT at home was a different proposition, trying to break them down - needing pace to going up there, them attacking and leaving space - hunners of it in fact.
Shocking examples. We need pace to play against teams that sit in. It was our downfall last year.
A failure to break teams down usually refers to home games. We won 7 of our 8 home games against the 4 teams you mention above, Morton being our only home defeat all season. We scored 3 away goals at Dumbarton but conceded 5. We also lost away at Alloa, Raith, The Rangers x2 & Falkirk in the play off, despite scoring 2. That's not a failure to break teams down, that's a collective failure by the team to address the mental & physical challenges of away games.
Jordan Forster is an excellent player who needs to be playing football to improve.
Me too. He's massive potential. I'm delighted he's back.
He never wanted to leave in the first place and was told there was no future for him at the club. A loan and not a release may just turn out to be the best for all parties considering Stubbs has gone. Derek Adams wanted to keep him also.
29-06-2016, 09:10 PM
All tomorrow
A failure to break teams down usually refers to home games. We won 7 of our 8 home games against the 4 teams you mention above, Morton being our only home defeat all season. We scored 3 away goals at Dumbarton but conceded 5. We also lost away at Alloa, Raith, The Rangers x2 & Falkirk in the play off, despite scoring 2. That's not a failure to break teams down, that's a collective failure by the team to address the mental & physical challenges of away games.
You said we failed away because teams attacked us more, which is completely untrue. There's no way you can argue Alloa away attacked us more than Aberdeen at home. Also Hearts away we didn't lose, nor ICT away nor St Johnstone at the pink shelter, the teams that attack us make it easier to get in behind. We laboured away from home, and sometimes at home especially towards the end of the season because we didn't hit sides at pace when they where there for the taking. You can't seriously say Raith, Falkirk, Morton, QOS, Livi, Alloa played more attacking and came at us when we played them away because it's simply untrue. They had the same plan home and away and unfortunately we couldn't adjust to playing them at their own grounds or possibly it was bad management but no danger at all they all came out and attacked us. Sitting at Palmerson last season on a cold night, we had all possesion, cleared away all night long - one chance, one chance, bang, goal, lose. That isn't the home team attacking, that's us with a laboured lack of imagination against sides who figuared out how to play us in the end.
29-06-2016, 09:25 PM
14/15
Hearts 96 goals
Hibs 70 goals
15/16
Rangers 88 goals
Hibs 59 goals
We averaged less than 2 goals a game both seasons.
You said we failed away because teams attacked us more, which is completely untrue. There's no way you can argue Alloa away attacked us more than Aberdeen at home. Also Hearts away we didn't lose, nor ICT away nor St Johnstone at the pink shelter, the teams that attack us make it easier to get in behind. We laboured away from home, and sometimes at home especially towards the end of the season because we didn't hit sides at pace when they where there for the taking. You can't seriously say Raith, Falkirk, Morton, QOS, Livi, Alloa played more attacking and came at us when we played them away because it's simply untrue. They had the same plan home and away and unfortunately we couldn't adjust to playing them at their own grounds or possibly it was bad management but no danger at all they all came out and attacked us. Sitting at Palmerson last season on a cold night, we had all possesion, cleared away all night long - one chance, one chance, bang, goal, lose. That isn't the home team attacking, that's us with a laboured lack of imagination against sides who figuared out how to play us in the end.
Now you're just making it up. My references to Yams, Aberdeen etc were in response to your statement that "we laboured all season". Hopefully you'll rethink that. Re away games I was comparing the same teams' performances home & away, not Alloa vs Aberdeen, & again I hope you would agree that Dumbarton, Alloa, etc attacked us more at their home games than they did at ER. You say we struggled to break teams down, the facts suggest that's not the case. I think we're almost in violent agreement re our (Hibs) problems, for whatever reason away from home. Like you I got extremely frustrated at us losing games we dominated but it's far too simplistic to blame it all on a failure to break teams down. Poor defending was a major contributory factor in games at Q of S, Alloa, Falkirk & Dumbarton in particular.
Cool mate. It's fair to see we are in agreement in some parts frustrated in others and have a difference of opinion/wires crossed on others plus it's pre seasons so we begin again plus - we won the cup so it doesn't matter 😂 sorry if I was arsey! Back to transfer rumours 👍
Big L
29-06-2016, 09:51 PM
David Goodwillie freed by Dons signed for Plymouth. I would like to have seen him and JC paired up!
29-06-2016, 09:52 PM
When you are scoring close to 3 goals per game, conceding one at the other end rarely hurts. When you average less than 2 goals a game then conceding one the other end does a lot more often.
Last season Hibs and Rangers conceded 34 goals, this suggests to me that our defending wasn't the contributory factor in us finishing miles behind them.
29-06-2016, 09:54 PM
David Goodwillie freed by Dons signed for Plymouth. I would like to have seen him and JC paired up!
Goodwillie is gash, outside a purple patch with Dundee United around 2010 he has failed to deliver wherever he has been. A player who still gets transfers based on the potential shown as a youngster. On top of that he is a total roaster.
29-06-2016, 10:21 PM
:faf::faf::faf:
Good reply. Grow ****in up.
GreenOnions
29-06-2016, 10:38 PM
I agree. I was very surprised we allowed him to go out on loan.
He's been the least experienced of our defenders over the last two or three seasons and rarely let us down despite playing quite frequently at right back and also initially having to learn his trade in a back four including the comedy duo Nelson and McGivern.
I think he has a lot of potential and offers us more physicality and goal threat too.
I certainly hope he signs a new contract with us. Potential future captain IMHO.
Good reply. Grow ****in up.
It's all your post merited.
You started by agreeing with Brog who was stating (in my opinion wrong) that it wasn't down to lack of pace last year, or our strikers but down to our ability to defend (fair enough Brog, I dont agree but your name is in on it)
Then you slate the people who said Stokes wasn't good enough overall.
Then abuse? :faf:
I agree. I was very surprised we allowed him to go out on loan.
He's been the least experienced of our defenders over the last two or three seasons and rarely let us down despite playing quite frequently at right back and also initially having to learn his trade in a back four including the comedy duo Nelson and McGivern.
I think he has a lot of potential and offers us more physicality and goal threat too.
I certainly hope he signs a new contract with us. Potential future captain IMHO.
Stubbs didn't like him. He told him last Aug he had no future at the club. JF decided to stay and fight for a place. January came and got him off the wage bill (plus a bit more) Stubbs just didn't rate him, he has never wanted to leave, ever and he will definitely be with us next year.
GreenOnions
29-06-2016, 10:49 PM
Stubbs didn't like him. He told him last Aug he had no future at the club. JF decided to stay and fight for a place. January came and got him off the wage bill (plus a bit more) Stubbs just didn't rate him, he has never wanted to leave, ever and he will definitely be with us next year.
Great news IMHO. Gives us four quality central defenders.
It must be where the Fontaine rumours are coming from but Jordon learning from the likes of Darren and Fonts for another year at least will do him good. 2 year deal he's signed also. Delighted for him. :agree:
29-06-2016, 11:45 PM
I'm only glad I bought my ST on the back of the feel good factor and wanting to back the club.
I don't see many buying because they are excited at the new signings tbh 🙄
Neil Lennon is a hell of a signing, he's worth a fair few STs IMO.
30-06-2016, 05:47 AM
Regular scorer for Norwich in the premier league and was near an England call up. Your definition of excellent and mine are obviously different.
6/7 years ago he had a good season, since then im sure he has scored less than 10 goals, so again as i said, he WAS a decent player but to suggest he is excellent is just nonsense
30-06-2016, 06:34 AM
6/7 years ago he had a good season, since then im sure he has scored less than 10 goals, so again as i said, he WAS a decent player but to suggest he is excellent is just nonsense
He had a good season he had a 1 in 2 record in about 4 seasons for Norwich. His career has stuttered since however he has had a cruciate injury in that time however he is undoubtedly played a much higher level than currently at and if we can get him fit he will run riot in our league 35 or not.
MacGruber
30-06-2016, 08:22 AM
He had a good season he had a 1 in 2 record in about 4 seasons for Norwich. His career has stuttered since however he has had a cruciate injury in that time however he is undoubtedly played a much higher level than currently at and if we can get him fit he will run riot in our league 35 or not.
I'm hoping your right.
It's a gamble however in a season we can't afford much of a gamble.
His career hasn't stuttered though - it's winding down.
Doesn't mean he can't still do us a turn for a year though.
The only sentiment on the Rochdale forum is a guy questioning if Lennon has actually scouted him and would have been adtonished if he was given a deal by Rochdale inspite of wages.
Given the nature of the gamble, if it works then Lennon deserves a massive amount of credit for seeing the worth when others couldn't
If it doesn't work Lennon will have a question to answer because it won't be a matter of 'benefit of hindsight' just poor judgement.
Hope Lennon gets the last laugh!
Marco G
30-06-2016, 08:22 AM
Neil Lennon made the point that Holt's time out of the game means that now he is fit again he does not have the other wear and tear of a 35 year old player. So I agree with that and with your comment about Holt being a top notch striker.
Sent from my SM-T713 using Tapatalk
30-06-2016, 08:47 AM
I'm hoping your right.
The only sentiment on the Rochdale forum is a guy questioning if Lennon has actually scouted him and would have been adtonished if he was given a deal by Rochdale inspite of wages.
Given the nature of the gamble, if it works then Lennon deserves a massive amount of credit for seeing the worth when others couldn't
If it doesn't work Lennon will have a question to answer because it won't be a matter of 'benefit of hindsight' just poor judgement.
Out of interest who would you have liked as our target man. Realistic suggestions only 😀
30-06-2016, 08:49 AM
Totally agree.
Out of interest who would you have liked as our target man. Realistic suggestions only 😀
Some where suggesting Nade so this is most definitely a step up. Michael Higdon would have been my shout but god knows where he's ended up.
30-06-2016, 08:51 AM
Rather than slow players who break not very quickly against teams that are attacking us?
30-06-2016, 08:53 AM
Some where suggesting Nade so this is most definitely a step up. Michael Higdon would have been my shout but god knows where he's ended up.
I would have liked to get higdon back in January but my point really is he would be as much a gamble as holt or anyone for that matter
Rather than slow players who break not very quickly against teams that are attacking us?
Teams that attack us leave space which our players find, you don't need pace when the other team allows you this space, you need a solid defence to give your midfield and attack something to build on.
Exactly.
I would have liked to get higdon back in January but my point really is he would be as much a gamble as holt or anyone for that matter
Yep, can't argue with that.
30-06-2016, 09:41 AM
I'm hoping your right.
First of all, I must admit I'm very happy with the signing.
The worry that some of us will have is that on the face of it, it seems Kuqi-esque.
I guess that a lot of this will boil down to how much he's being paid. If we've *****ed our whole budget on him and he's either terrible or permanently injured then it's a disastrous move.
The thing I liked about Kuqi is that by all accounts he was an excellent influence behind the scenes, even if it didn't work out for him on the park. Remember, the year he was here was the year that Griffiths went from strength to strength (although much of the credit for that has gone to Pat Fenlon).We've speculated about the effect that Riordan had on Cummings - Jason's form certainly tailed off when Riordan left.
I know the idea is that Holt is here as a player and that he's here to score goals. But if he's not been too expensive, even if it doesn't work out for him on the park he may have a lot to offer the likes of Cummings in a coaching/ mentoring sense?
If I were in Jason's shoes I'd love to have a guy around who has scored goals against top defenders in the English premier league.
30-06-2016, 10:05 AM
First of all, I must admit I'm very happy with the signing.
The worry that some of us will have is that on the face of it, it seems Kuqi-esque.
I guess that a lot of this will boil down to how much he's being paid. If we've *****ed our whole budget on him and he's either terrible or permanently injured then it's a disastrous move.
The thing I liked about Kuqi is that by all accounts he was an excellent influence behind the scenes, even if it didn't work out for him on the park. Remember, the year he was here was the year that Griffiths went from strength to strength (although much of the credit for that has gone to Pat Fenlon).We've speculated about the effect that Riordan had on Cummings - Jason's form certainly tailed off when Riordan left.
I know the idea is that Holt is here as a player and that he's here to score goals. But if he's not been too expensive, even if it doesn't work out for him on the park he may have a lot to offer the likes of Cummings in a coaching/ mentoring sense?
If I were in Jason's shoes I'd love to have a guy around who has scored goals against top defenders in the English premier league.
Great point a season of learning from someone like Holt in games and on training pitch could be huge for someone as raw as Jason can be.
I agree with that but there's 2 different things, having players with pace, or playing at pace. IMO a perfect illustration was our winning goal in THE CUP FINAL!! Gray rushes to take a throw-in, Fraser rushes to receive the ball, breaks quickly & transfers to Stokes who immediately runs at his man, hits a cross shot earning a corner & the rest is history!! Neither FF or AS could be described as pacy players but they injected real urgency & desire into that move. IMO that's what we need, particularly away from home, rather than just signing players with pace. Both of course would be excellent!!
30-06-2016, 10:45 AM
I agree with that but there's 2 different things, having players with pace, or playing at pace. IMO a perfect illustration was our winning goal in THE CUP FINAL!! Gray rushes to take a throw-in, Fraser rushes to receive the ball, breaks quickly & transfers to Stokes who immediately runs at his man, hits a cross shot earning a corner & the rest is history!! Neither FF or AS could be described as pacy players but they injected real urgency & desire into that move. IMO that's what we need, particularly away from home, rather than just signing players with pace. Both of course would be excellent!!
I agree with your thoughts 100%. Pacey players are at there most effective when there's space in behind, playing direct at pace is what we really need to beat teams in this division. 👍
30-06-2016, 10:45 AM
Something that has been lacking in our play for years and years.
Lethargic play does my head in.
Gray's tackle that forced the error that gave us the shy and the quick throw in were every bit as important as the goals in achieving the win.
The old story about a kingdom being lost because of a missing nail in a horse's shoe comes to mind.
“For the want of a nail the shoe was lost,
For the want of a shoe the horse was lost,
For the want of a horse the rider was lost,
For the want of a rider the battle was lost,
For the want of a battle the kingdom was lost,
And all for the want of a horseshoe-nail.”
- Benjamin Franklin
30-06-2016, 01:39 PM
It's all your post merited.
You started by agreeing with Brog who was stating (in my opinion wrong) that it wasn't down to lack of pace last year, or our strikers but down to our ability to defend (fair enough Brog, I dont agree but your name is in on it)
Then you slate the people who said Stokes wasn't good enough overall.
Then abuse? :faf:
Am I not allowed to agree or disagree with people?! You really are a patronising, irritating little so and so eh?! I posted about Stokes as in my opinion people saying he was crap in nearly every game except the cup final was tosh. All my opinion. Is that ok with you? Or should I run every opinion I have past you first so you can ok it? As I said... Grow up.
Urgency has been a problem for a while and that added to actual pace will destroy nearly every team in this league, our build up play at times was at a snails pace.
30-06-2016, 01:45 PM
Stokes was outstanding in his last ten games for Hibs. Anyone who does not see that does not know footy IMO.
30-06-2016, 01:47 PM
All we need:
New contract for Cummings/to a lesser extent Forster
Another striker
A (left) winger
New goalkeeper (first choice)
Henderson re-signed
Then we can go with the usual (3 creative midfielders in front of Bartley/Fyvie) or switch to a traditional pacey approach against the perennial Championship losers (McGinn and McGeouch in CM with LW and Boyle/Carmichael on the wings). Sorted.
30-06-2016, 01:48 PM
Given that we stated an interest in both Holt and McDonald, is it not possible that there is another striker to come in?
Maybe Jamie Insall is ready to rip up the league?
Tobias Funke
30-06-2016, 01:49 PM
You really are a patronising, irritating little so and so eh?!
I'd go as far as to suggest he should have the orange box/black cross "irritant" symbol as his avatar.
30-06-2016, 01:50 PM
Given that we stated an interest in both Holt and McDonald, is it not possible that there is another striker to come in?
Maybe Jamie Insall is ready to rip up the league?
We should have a backup in case either of those deals fell through. Whether they're any good or not, we'll have to wait and see.
How long does John Baird have left on his contract?
30-06-2016, 01:50 PM
Stokes was outstanding in his last ten games for Hibs. Anyone who does not see that does not know footy IMO.
Ooft... Watch yerself! Wee Mourinho will be along to give you a ticking off for "slating others."
Am I not allowed to agree or disagree with people?! You really are a patronising, irritating little so and so eh?! I posted about Stokes as in my opinion people saying he was crap in nearly every game except the cup final was tosh. All my opinion. Is that ok with you? Or should I run every opinion I have past you first so you can ok it? As I said... Grow up.
You're the one with the insults, not me.
First grow up now patronising and irritating so and so? Am I not allowed my opinion or do I have to see if they are grown up enough in your eyes?
Why would I care what you thought of Stokes?
I think you should chill the beans. It's a football discussion forum on the internet. Stop being so precious.
Ooft... Watch yerself! Wee Mourinho will be along to give you a ticking off for "slating others."
Why would I? I fully agree with both your opinion on Stokes.
Wee Mourinho? I'll take that I've been called a lot worse. 👍
ruthven_raiders
30-06-2016, 05:03 PM
[QUOTE=Ozyhibby;4746863]Stokes was outstanding in his last ten games for Hibs. Anyone who does not see that does not know footy IMO.
Well said.....😊
01-07-2016, 09:06 AM
Liam Henderson watch...
Played 45 mins for Celtic last night as they changed teams at half-time. "Heavily involved", according to their web report, as they came from 2-0 down to get a draw.
01-07-2016, 09:30 AM
#Motherwell striker Scott McDonald has extended his at the club for the 2016/17 season.
Source: Sky Sports News
01-07-2016, 09:43 AM
#Motherwell striker Scott McDonald has extended his at the club for the 2016/17 season.
Source: Sky Sports News
One door shuts, however another will open just as quick.
01-07-2016, 09:43 AM
As quick as today??
01-07-2016, 09:48 AM
Liam Henderson watch...
Played 45 mins for Celtic last night as they changed teams at half-time. "Heavily involved", according to their web report, as they came from 2-0 down to get a draw.
[emoji21]
01-07-2016, 09:49 AM
Liam Henderson watch...
Isn't it great that Celtic are getting him fit for us😄
01-07-2016, 10:00 AM
hahaha don't you just get a sense this guy knows something :)
01-07-2016, 10:01 AM
As quick as today??
Maybe not today guv, there's quick and there's Hibs quick.
Two entirely different things.
01-07-2016, 10:03 AM
Hendo will be a great player for celtic if he's given the chance.....would be interesting to see the welcome the hibs legend gets on his return to easter road
Super_JMcGinn
01-07-2016, 10:21 AM
Hendo will be a great player for celtic if he's given the chance.....would be interesting to see the welcome the hibs legend gets on his return to easter road
i would very much doubt he will be anywhere near their first team, and he will always get a great reception at ER whenever he comes back in whatever colours.
Edinburgh Green
01-07-2016, 10:34 AM
Maybe not today guv, there's quick and there's Hibs quick.
Two entirely different things.
Do you know who the player in question is? And in ur opinion, is it a better option than McDonald?
01-07-2016, 11:01 AM
Do you know who the player in question is? And in ur opinion, is it a better option than McDonald?
I have an inkling, he isn't like for like with McDonald.
Assuming I'm right of course.
01-07-2016, 11:14 AM
Riordan!!!
Stuarty27
01-07-2016, 11:22 AM
Why don't you just say who the player is or is your name Andy Gillies and your just making it up..
01-07-2016, 11:27 AM
Why don't you just say who the player is or is your name Andy Gillies and your just making it up..
Liam Craig is coming back.
01-07-2016, 11:30 AM
Fair enough, I'm Andy Gillies.
01-07-2016, 11:33 AM
No I'm Andy Gillies.
We are all...
01-07-2016, 11:34 AM
Riordan!!!
01-07-2016, 11:42 AM
No I'm Andy Gillies.
We are all...
I am whoever you want me to be.......last time I heard someone say that I went for Anne Widdicombe and it cost me £50.
01-07-2016, 11:50 AM
I am whoever you want me to be.......last time I heard someone say that I went for Anne Widdicombe and it cost me £50.
I know we've been craving a big, ugly, hairy-arsed centre-forward for a while but I'm not sure she's the answer.
01-07-2016, 11:51 AM
I know we've been craving a big, ugly, hairy-arsed centre-forward for a while but I'm not sure she's the answer.
She wasn't that night either. Knew I should have asked for Bella Emberg.
01-07-2016, 11:53 AM
Agreed, legs have definitely gone.
Stuarty27
01-07-2016, 11:54 AM
Good, I think we have missed his Guile and eye for a pass...
01-07-2016, 11:58 AM
Good, I think we have missed his Guile and eye for a pass...
Knew you would be pleased.
cookin_on_gaz
01-07-2016, 11:59 AM
Just had a flashback of Liam Craig trying to be a smart arse, possibly against Hearts, and trying to hit a penalty without looking at the ball and making a total meal of it.
Paloschi
01-07-2016, 12:01 PM
Leigh.
01-07-2016, 12:05 PM
Leigh.
Not yet, I do believe he will return to play for us though nearer the end of his career.
01-07-2016, 12:05 PM
Leigh.
More chance of Vivienne Leigh.
Paloschi
01-07-2016, 12:14 PM
Not yet, I do believe he will return to play for us though nearer the end of his career.
Was a bit tounge and cheek but yeah I think he will come back home one day. FWIW I am hoping it is a player similar to him that can score from outside the box and can drop deep. A mix of Griffiths and Malonga would be ideal :greengrin
01-07-2016, 12:25 PM
A few on here are happy to trust info that comes from Scoopy and also understand that sometimes he can't name names for obvious reasons
01-07-2016, 12:34 PM
I'm Andy Gillies and so's my wife :-)
01-07-2016, 12:36 PM
Trust in scoobs and the cat.They are neverfar out.::aok:
01-07-2016, 12:44 PM
Rumour on twitter that Cummings is going to Charlton with Tony watt heading to us in a player swap.
01-07-2016, 12:47 PM
You ever thought when people like Scoopyboy, Andy and the cat get info sometimes they can't share it as people may lose their jobs over leaking info?
Bring back King Dom :agree:
01-07-2016, 12:54 PM
Liam Henderson watch...
If we can't get Hendo back how about Scott Allan or Ryan Christie or both ?
Rumour on twitter that Cummings is going to Charlton with Tony watt heading to us in a player swap.
Interesting.
Watt did no bad at Blackburn on loan tail end of last season!
01-07-2016, 12:56 PM
Would take that tbh.
I think JC sees himself as at least a Championship player & there's been a few of those clubs watching him for months now.
Rasta_Hibs
01-07-2016, 01:10 PM
Bring back King Dom :agree:
Great shout! Would have loved to do the Malonga song at the cup final, he missed oot when he left!
01-07-2016, 01:12 PM
Not a signing for us but steven fletcher has signed for sheffield wednesday
01-07-2016, 01:13 PM
Not a signing for us but steven fletcher has signed for sheffield wednesday
I think that could be a good move for Fletch and Sheff Wed.
As much as I like Jason, Watt was a fantastic young player when he broke into Celtics 1st team and was looking superb in the end of 2012 scoring a good few goals, 1 against Barca.
01-07-2016, 01:23 PM
I think that could be a good move for Fletch and Sheff Wed.
Agreed. Norwich were after him. Apparently he's looking for 35k a week, don't think that would be in anyway a stumbling block for Norwich however, so I'm not too sure what has happened. Best of luck to Fletch.
01-07-2016, 01:24 PM
Didn't Watt sign a permanent contract with Blackburn?
Not according to his WIKI, says he returned to Charlton due to an injury on 7th April 2016.
01-07-2016, 01:32 PM
You ever thought when people like Scoopyboy, Andy and the cat get info sometimes they can't share it as people may lose their jobs over leaking info?
These guys are good enough to pass on what they can.
Not all of their tip bear fruit as deals fall through however, they have damn good track records.
I'm grateful that they go to the bother of sharing what they have.
Thanks, you guys. :aok:
01-07-2016, 01:32 PM
Cummings is not going to Charlton.
"Transfer Centre 9 @TransferCentre9 (https://twitter.com/TransferCentre9) 2h (https://twitter.com/TransferCentre9/status/748844993033433089)2 hours ago (https://twitter.com/TransferCentre9/status/748844993033433089)
Charlton Athletic look to make a bid for Hibs striker Jason Cummings and offer a straight swap with Tony Watt going the other way #cafc (https://twitter.com/hashtag/cafc?src=hash)"
That is the extent of the links on Twitter.
01-07-2016, 01:36 PM
"Transfer Centre 9 @TransferCentre9 (https://twitter.com/TransferCentre9) 2h (https://twitter.com/TransferCentre9/status/748844993033433089)2 hours ago (https://twitter.com/TransferCentre9/status/748844993033433089)
Charlton Athletic look to make a bid for Hibs striker Jason Cummings and offer a straight swap with Tony Watt going the other way #cafc (https://twitter.com/hashtag/cafc?src=hash)"
Not going because there's no dosh involved?
Is that what you mean?
01-07-2016, 01:38 PM
Not going because there's no dosh involved?
Is that what you mean?
Because the only thing that comes up when you search 'Jason Cummings charlton' is a bullsh*t transfer rumours account. It would never happen as a straight swap even if there was something on the table.
01-07-2016, 01:43 PM
Agreed. Norwich were after him. Apparently he's looking for 35k a week, don't think that would be in anyway a stumbling block for Norwich however, so I'm not too sure what has happened. Best of luck to Fletch.
He was after £40k, a few clubs were interested but I think only Wed willing to stump up
01-07-2016, 01:51 PM
He was after £40k, a few clubs were interested but I think only Wed willing to stump up
Cool, cheers. :aok:
K-Zazu
01-07-2016, 02:00 PM
£40k a week deary me that's mental
01-07-2016, 02:54 PM
Riordan!!!
:hyper
cookin_on_gaz
01-07-2016, 03:17 PM
£40k a week deary me that's mental
Even with the huge amounts of money that Sky put into the English game, that level of spending is unsustainable. One day this will all come to fruition and the English game will collapse
Finn2015
01-07-2016, 03:40 PM
Jeez hope not
Marco G
01-07-2016, 03:42 PM
Even with the huge amounts of money that Sky put into the English game, that level of spending is unsustainable. One day this will all come to fruition and the English game will collapse
Most of the Championship clubs are in heavy debt trying to reach the Premier League holy grail. Clubs like Norwich will get a parachute payment but may have too many big money players on contract to even think about paying Fletcher that amount. So I think you are spot on, cause all the money goes to pay increased wages for a product that is overhyped.
01-07-2016, 04:21 PM
Wednesday started throwing the cash around a year ago iirc in order to go for promotion. They got into the play offs last season and obviously see Fletcher as a good gamble.
He'll cost them £2m but make them countless more if they go up. I agree, it's insane, but there seems no shortage of people willing to keep throwing money in.
Good luck to Fletcher. He didn't create the market, he's just maximising his return.
01-07-2016, 04:27 PM
Was there not meant to be a triple announcement yesterday 🤔
01-07-2016, 04:39 PM
Sounds like our interest in McDonald was half hearted and instigated before Lennon. I'm happy about that.
Agree think he was using the Hibs interest purely to up the offer from Well.
01-07-2016, 05:00 PM
More chance of Vivienne Leigh.
Olivia de Havilland is 100 today.She used to go like the wind.Do a turn on the wing?
Ardenttwo
01-07-2016, 06:26 PM
Olivia de Havilland is 100 today.She used to go like the wind.Do a turn on the wing?
Should I be worried at our activity on signings. Dundee Utd seem to be adding all I see from us is a 35 year old injury prone journeyman
coco22
01-07-2016, 06:27 PM
Should I be worried at our activity on signings. Dundee Utd seem to be adding all I see from us is a 35 year old injury prone journeyman
No 😒
thebausburst
01-07-2016, 06:34 PM
I'm definitely not, would have McDonald over 35 year old journeyman any day.
In Neil we trust!
I personally think Holt is a superb signing and his goals speak for themselves.
More than 150 career goals.
Not a Haynes or Agogo!
He'll do very very well for us!
01-07-2016, 06:36 PM
I'm definitely not, would have McDonald over 35 year old journeyman any day.
But now that we have Holt I don't want any more players in that age bracket, so happy enough for McDonald to stay at Motherwell.
Yes but their starting point is a rotten squad who got relegated by a distance while we have a squad of legends.
01-07-2016, 06:42 PM
Even with the huge amounts of money that Sky put into the English game, that level of spending is unsustainable. One day this will all come to fruition and the English game will collapse sooner the better
01-07-2016, 06:42 PM
Yes but their starting point is a rotten squad who got relegated by a distance while we have a squad of legends.
Got to agree with this. Although we have failed to gain promotion not once, but twice ultimately we have the nucleus of a very good and well balanced squad in terms of enough players in certain positions. Add another striker plus a winger and I'd be comfortable going in to the season.
As you say Dun Utd are a mess. Rotten to the core so with a new manager coming in they may take a while to gel with lots of new signings. Sometimes people just want us to announce signings for the sake of but I'm happy with where we're at at this stage
"Injury prone 35 year old journeyman".
I'm struggling to see how anyone can be negative about our new signings or the season ahead in any way but surprise surprise, it looks like some have found a way. :rolleyes:
thebausburst
01-07-2016, 06:47 PM
But now that we have Holt I don't want any more players in that age bracket, so happy enough for McDonald to stay at Motherwell.
My point is McDonald is a proven quality player and I would have made him the priority striker signing over Holt.
01-07-2016, 06:49 PM
My point is McDonald is a proven quality player and I would have made him the priority striker signing over Holt.
Too similar to the strikers we have. Holt brings something different
Seems people are worried that Holt is 35.35 is the new 32, he might just bang in loads for us. Lets get behind him and give him the chance.
Lee Marvin
01-07-2016, 06:54 PM
How many goals has Mcdonald scored in the English premiership?
Behave please
01-07-2016, 06:55 PM
Ibrahimovic is 35 this year
01-07-2016, 06:58 PM
Ibrahimovic is 35 this year
Journeyman.
01-07-2016, 07:15 PM
Dundee United had about 10 players two weeks ago, and have signed 4 players (none of whom would improve our squad imo). They still have a lot of work to do before the season starts.
Keyser Sauzee
01-07-2016, 07:19 PM
Holt may well be classed as a journeyman at the level hes previously been playing at but at the level we are currently playing he is far more than a journeyman, to say that he would be one at the scottish championship level is just silly.
01-07-2016, 07:22 PM
What is the activity on signings that you may be worried about? Do you just think they're doing nothing?
01-07-2016, 07:26 PM
Should I be worried at our activity on signings. Dundee Utd seem to be adding all I see from us is a 35 year old injury prone journeymanThat is because our squad is far better than theirs and we don't need to add that much.
Finn2015
01-07-2016, 07:32 PM
How many goals has Mcdonald scored in the English premiership?
Behave please
Fair point
MacGruber
01-07-2016, 07:36 PM
That is because our squad is far better than theirs and we don't need to add that much.
I think there's just a touch of anxiety and impatience for some (me included) which isn't justified but we just want to get excited about seeing people come in.
Think Dundee Utd are in far worse shape but they might not end up our biggest threat.
We finished 3rd last year allbeit with having played so many games in all comps which cost us second and at this point we are weaker than last year - no doubt.
Players to come in though so plenty time
Finn2015
01-07-2016, 07:40 PM
The club and Lennon have already said there will be new players so we have to trust them and be patient.
Dundee United had about 10 players two weeks ago, and have signed 4 players (none of whom would improve our squad imo). They still have a lot of work to do before the season starts.
Cammy Bell is much better than what we have.
That is because our squad is far better than theirs and we don't need to add that much.
It is? We couldn't beat them in 120 mins In the semi minus stokes and Hendo now too and of course the saviour Conrad.
Tobias Funke
01-07-2016, 07:51 PM
It is? We couldn't beat them in 120 mins In the semi minus stokes and Hendo now too and of course the saviour Conrad.
However we beat them 3-0 (going on 8-0) at Easter Road earlier in the season without two of those players you mention.
A comment probably as pointless as your post but thought I'd stick it in there anyway...
01-07-2016, 07:58 PM
We also have to remember that we need impressive additions because our squad last year finished in a nowhere near good enough 3rd and we have been weakened since then. Obviously the club are hard at work on this but it's understandable people are getting impatient when our first competitive game is a week on Thursday.
Bell is a terrible keeper and just my opinion! I'd rather have Oxley than him!
01-07-2016, 08:11 PM
It is? We couldn't beat them in 120 mins In the semi minus stokes and Hendo now too and of course the saviour Conrad.We beat them 3-0 at Easter Road.
Hanlon, Gray, McGregor, Fyvie, Bartley, McGeouch, Cummings and McGinn would all walk into their team.
01-07-2016, 08:12 PM
Cammy Bell is much better than what we have.Fotheringham isn't better than what we have and Bell couldn't get infront of him.
Ardenttwo
01-07-2016, 08:19 PM
Just remember we are not sure if we have Cummings yet and lost Stokes and Hendo
01-07-2016, 08:22 PM
Cummings is a top keeper right enough.
Finn2015
01-07-2016, 08:22 PM
Got to admit the Cummings situation is my big worry. If he does go we must have someone else of decent enough quality to replace him
Cummings still has a year but if he goes he'll be replaced.
Stokes will be missed as will Hendo but they will be replaced.
Personally think we will skoosh the league
Ardenttwo
01-07-2016, 08:26 PM
Eh!
What's this got to do will a keeper
Ardenttwo
01-07-2016, 08:28 PM
Cummings is a top keeper right enough.
Aye Michael you are a right smart arse but thanks for that priceless info
01-07-2016, 08:34 PM
And since then they have only kept 6 of that squad due to finance
We have a far better squad than them as it stands
CALM DOON
01-07-2016, 08:43 PM
We beat them 3-0 at Easter Road.
Hanlon, Gray, McGregor, Fyvie, Bartley, McGeouch, Cummings and McGinn would all walk into their team.
So would Liam Fontaine , James Keatings , Dan Carmichael and Jordon Forster
mcfly
01-07-2016, 10:00 PM
Sorry if I'm missing something but anyone any idea of who is gonna be 1st choice goalie?
I'm seeing oxley is possibly away to Southend.
Do we have any keepers?
01-07-2016, 10:03 PM
Sorry if I'm missing something but anyone any idea of who is gonna be 1st choice goalie?
I'm seeing oxley is possibly away to Southend.
Do we have any keepers?
Young Finnish goalie on the books but we'll sign at least one, possibly 2 if oxley leaves
01-07-2016, 10:04 PM
Never.
I'd have been gutted if we signed Cammy Bell.
01-07-2016, 10:13 PM
Schoosh the League !! Bold statement Aldo and hope you are right
Haven't looked to see who other Teams have signed as plenty time left for all teams to strengthen
Will wait to see who our other four signings are
01-07-2016, 10:49 PM
Pretty much my views as well. We messed up last season. Personally I think the defeat at Ibrox in December (when we were winning) and the derby win lost us our focus on the league.
With the right signings (only another 2 or 3 needed imo) and as you say we can skoosh the league. Genuinely expect us to have a double digit lead going in to the new year. Raith and Falkirk over achieved last season and dun utd are rebuilding. With the momentum of the Scottish Cup win we're in a good place
Finn2015
02-07-2016, 04:33 AM
And since then they have only kept 6 of that squad due to finance
We have a far better squad than them as it stands
CALM DOON
How many players they lost?
Schoosh the League !! Bold statement Aldo and hope you ate tight Haven't looked to see who other Teams have signed as plenty time left for all trams to strengthen Will wait to see who our other four signings are Sent from my iPhone using Tapatalk
Not bold but confident Ronnie.
We have the nucleus of last years Scottish Cup Winning squad and TBH there are not many players from other teams that would get into our starting 11.
FWIW Ronnie I'm more concerned with us than anyone else. We will be the team to beat and will be a totally different opposition this season so let's go out from the off by beating Falkirk away from home..... That would be a very big statement to the others!
Oxley is utter gash.
We won 3-0 but they got better as the season ended and October is a long way from April, where we struggled and could have lost. We weren't "much better" then.
They have kept who their new manager wanted and have acted swift in the market. It's not going to be easy next season and we must hit the ground running. NO EXCUSES. None. We must go up.
02-07-2016, 06:43 AM
Oxley is utter gash.
We won 3-0 but they got better as the season ended and October is a long way from April, where we struggled and could have lost. We weren't "much better" then.
They have kept who their new manager wanted and have acted swift in the market. It's not going to be easy next season and we must hit the ground running. NO EXCUSES. None. We must go up.
I agree with much of what you say but the opening line is unnecessary. I don't rate Oxley either but he played his part in hibs winning the Scottish cup, for that reason he deserves more respect than that.
Oxley is utter gash.
United are gash. Settle.
Oxley is utter gash. We won 3-0 but they got better as the season ended and October is a long way from April, where we struggled and could have lost. We weren't "much better" then. They have kept who their new manager wanted and have acted swift in the market. It's not going to be easy next season and we must hit the ground running. NO EXCUSES. None. We must go up.
He's not utter gash he's a 'young keeper' with lots to learn.
As others have alluded he's made mistakes but he played his part last season.
Conrad on the whole was good but made some poor decisions and a few mistakes that could have been just as costly!
I'd rather have Oxley than Bell!
I think we will hit the ground running and our consistency will be the key! We will win the league with plenty time to spare!
02-07-2016, 06:57 AM
Oxley is utter gash.
I really dont get this fear of Dundee United. Looking at their team so far, which of those players theyve either kept or signed has any real quality? It seems a lot of hope is being put on the younger guys like Johnson, Fraser, Smith etc who, whilst theyve shown glimpses of quality, are mostly still unknowns. They also have the majority of a defence that was dreadful last season (conceding 70 goals!), and dont really have a proven goalscorer.
Getting off to a good start is an absolute must for us, but I really dont think we should be worrying what other teams do (particularly when we have a good group of players and a manager with a good reputation).
Marco G
02-07-2016, 07:12 AM
And they got rid of most of them, so they either sign some players or dont have a team to put out! We have most of a Scottish Cup winning team still at ER.
Marco G
02-07-2016, 07:18 AM
Oxley is utter gash.
First sentence is rubbish. We had him to thank for a lot of results last season and we not exactly leaking goals! And the Dundee Utd team you are talking about do not exist now so dont see the relevance of your comparison.
02-07-2016, 07:36 AM
I'm certainly not getting worried yet but I also think we can't be complacent. Yes we won the cup last year, an unforgettable day in our history but we finished 3rd last year and have lost 2 vital members of our squad. The target this year isn't the cup, it's a league where we finished behind Falkirk, a team still in this division. I have no idea really what Dundee United, Falkirk, Raith etc will be like but the Scottish cup victory has no bearing on our chances of winning this league. To me were still around 4-5 players short and they need to be the right kind of signings. If Jason goes we've lost our first choice attackers from last year. I'm optimistic but also concerned were setting ourselves up for a fall here. Based on our current squad (appreciate it's early and we will make signings) we still have plenty of work to do.
HappyHanlon
02-07-2016, 07:41 AM
Oxley is utter gash.
Just stop posting. Your posts are embarrassing.
Oxley is utter gash.
Yes we must go up but theres no need to keep emphithingying it.We should enjoy this season and not put pointless pressure on the club. We have the Scottish cup.
Finn2015
02-07-2016, 08:36 AM
Yes we must go up but theres no need to keep emphithingying it.We should enjoy this season and not put pointless pressure on the club. We have the Scottish cup.
Agreed. The club know what must be achieved and what they need to do as a whole so important we get behind them rather than heaping pressure on the situation. The manager and players know full well what we have to achieve this season
I agree with much of what you say but the opening line is unnecessary. I don't rate Oxley either but he played his part in hibs winning the Scottish cup, for that reason he deserves more respect than that.
Fair point and I take it back. He's still a Scottish cup winning hibee.
That's nice 👍
02-07-2016, 09:35 AM
The squad last season was not good enough. Since then we have lost Henderson and Stokes and gained Holt. We are considerably weaker. We have a lot of work to do before anyone can be confident about our prospects next season.
Tobias Funke
02-07-2016, 09:35 AM
Oxley is utter gash.
They didn't get better as the season ended, they were still gantin and they got relegated as a result. Why don't you ****** off and get a season ticket at Tannadice? You seem to be a huge fan. Better still why don't you sign up to Uniteds .net equivilant? Then we won't have to read utter nonsense on here.
First sentence is rubbish. We had him to thank for a lot of results last season and we not exactly leaking goals! And the Dundee Utd team you are talking about do not exist now so dont see the relevance of your comparison.
Seriously? What games did we have him to thank for?
Please list your lots?
Bell is a much better goalie.
They didn't get better as the season ended, they were still gantin and they got relegated as a result. Why don't you ****** off and get a season ticket at Tannadice? You seem to be a huge fan. Better still why don't you sign up to Uniteds .net equivilant? Then we won't have to read utter nonsense on here.
Aye, I'll go and support Dundee Utd 😂😂
They got relegated, but we had Conrad to thank for not losing to them atHampden and won on Pens in April so we aren't much better.
Pardon me for being worried our main rivals are adding to their squad with a new manager early doors.
02-07-2016, 09:42 AM
02-07-2016, 09:44 AM
The squad last season was not good enough. Since then we have lost Henderson and Stokes and gained Holt. We are considerably weaker. We have a lot of work to do before anyone can be confident about our prospects next season.
Considerably weaker! Total nonsense.
Even if we were weaker the standard of opposition challenging for the league is much much weaker than last season.
It would be great to come on this thread and see some transfer stories but that will happen in good time. In the mean time it's just whiners finding something to panic about.
02-07-2016, 09:45 AM
Aye, I'll go and support Dundee Utd dde02dde02 They got relegated, but we had Conrad to thank for not losing to them atHampden and won on Pens in April so we aren't much better. Pardon me for being worried our main rivals are adding to their squad with a new manager early doors.
Okay so you are basing it on that one game in the semi
We destroyed them at ER and we have a squad that beat the teams that finished 2nd, 3rd and 4th in the league they were bottom of .... By a long way ....
And oh aye won the holy grail
When our far superior squad plays to its potential very few teams in Scotland can live with us
Granted Hendo and Stokes ain't here any more but I'm certain we will bring in replacements of similar quality
You are clearly just trying to court controversy or maybe you are just a panic merchant
Back and trust the team and new management
Okay so you are basing it on that one game in the semi
We destroyed them at ER and we have a squad that beat the teams that finished 2nd, 3rd and 4th in the league they were bottom of .... By a long way ....
And oh aye won the holy grail
When our far superior squad plays to its potential very few teams in Scotland can live with us
Granted Hendo and Stokes ain't here any more but I'm certain we will bring in replacements of similar quality
You are clearly just trying to court controversy or maybe you are just a panic merchant
Back and trust the team and new management
Yet we came behind Falkirk last season.
You can't just blindly back something. Actions speak louder than words and we need to improve from last season and we are minus Stokes and Henderson. That is facts. Winning the Scottish cup won't automatically help us beat Morton, Queens or Dumbarton next year. We need to improve against sides that sit in and so far we have not signed anyone that will help that and we have lost arguably our most creative outlet.
A panic merchant? Is that the new "bed wetter" that could see our eventual downfall when after 3 seasons it ended in relegation and where told "in butcher we trust"?
02-07-2016, 09:53 AM
You can't just blindly back something. Actions speak louder than words and we need to improve from last season and we are minus Stokes and Henderson. That is facts. Winning the Scottish cup won't automatically help us beat Morton, Queens or Dumbarton next year. We need to improve against sides that sit in and so far we have not signed anyone that will help that and we have lost arguably our most creative outlet.
A panic merchant? Is that the new "bed wetter" that could see our eventual downfall when after 3 seasons it ended in relegation and where told "in butcher we trust"?
You don't think the two cup runs contributed to us finishing behind Falkirk (on goal difference) ?
Any chance of any transfer news rather than this interminable squabbling over points/opinions that can never be proved? Or find another thread please.
02-07-2016, 10:00 AM
Thought Danny Rogers was coming on loan As soon as the money for Pearson came in looks like McDonald or agent was greedy Tony watt would be good or Adam Le fondre
02-07-2016, 10:08 AM
I think you're panicking unnecessarily. United had to move early as they needed to beef up a squad that wasn't sufficient enough in numbers to field a team. We will bring in some quality to bolster what is already a fairly strong squad. Just let the manager and the rest of the backroom team get on with it instead of worrying. Your posts do come across in that way and do bring an air of negativity to the place.
02-07-2016, 10:12 AM
When we are talking about getting in signings of the same quality of Stokes and Henderson can we take a minute so we don't set ourselves up to fail? We need signings who will get us out of this league. I would suggest that can be achieved with lesser players than the two mentioned. So if we see unheard ofs and the odd loanee and some old heads we should set the bar as good enough for Lennon then good enough for us.
02-07-2016, 10:20 AM
Dundee Utd are a gang still in bother. Hibs will win the league this season.
There I've said it! Also don't think Utd will finish second.
The Leith Dutch
02-07-2016, 10:31 AM
I think his point is that we have a good squad that is better than any of our rivals.
Assuming that squad plays to it's potential then we're clear favourites for the league.
If the squad plays significantly below it's potential then who we sign is pretty much irrelevant and we'll struggle.
We finished behind Falkirk last season not because of the players we had but because of how they played in February and March.
02-07-2016, 10:34 AM
Did you not say that last season as well though?
I seem to follow a few Dundee Utd supporting journalists on Twitter for some reason and I've been impressed by what I've seen of McKinnon so far. Obviously a balls not been kicked yet but he seems to be doing a lot to improve relations with the fans, which after last season for them could be important.
I think he'll do a good job and they won't be the walk over many are suggesting.
02-07-2016, 10:35 AM
Any chance of any transfer news rather than this interminable squabbling over points/opinions that can never be proved? Or find another thread please.
Big90inOz
02-07-2016, 10:45 AM
Agree
Finn2015
02-07-2016, 11:02 AM
Falkirk still worry me
02-07-2016, 11:06 AM
02-07-2016, 11:32 AM
100% Agree. Well said!
02-07-2016, 11:39 AM
If we can shore up the defence we should win the league, hopefully lennon will see us win a few more ugly games rather than draw or lose them which was stubbs downfall last season.
02-07-2016, 11:54 AM
We need a striker who can take the ball back to goal, turn and get the shot away, or put it on a plate for Keats or JC.
A midfielder that is dangerous outside the box would force defenders to step up a bit and leave space in behind too.
I really think Stanton has the latter, hopefully Holt is the former.
Beyond that, someone with a really strong delivery from set pieces and wide.
02-07-2016, 11:59 AM
Please list your lots?
Just off the top of my head, the first league game against rangers at Easter Road that we won. He made a few saves that day which are easily forgotten. Same again the Aberdeen game in the league cup. I don't particularly rate the Ox highly but do believe he gets a hard time not only on here, but at the games as well. If I were him I'd be bricking it every time the ball came near me with the boo boys ready to jump on him at any chance.
He is imo a better keeper than Cammy Bell. He has a lot to learn but sometimes, I think hibs fans think we are some sort of machine that should never make mistakes. Let's not forget that in DDG's 1st couple of seasons at man utd he struggled
vercol36
02-07-2016, 01:08 PM
We need a striker who can take the ball back to goal, turn and get the shot away.
Robson-Kanu still without a club...
02-07-2016, 01:11 PM
If we can shore up the defence we should win the league, hopefully lennon will see us win a few more ugly games rather than draw or lose them which was stubbs downfall last season.
Defense was never the issue as we conceded the same amount of goals as Rangers and Falkirk.
We were lacking tactically and guile required to score enough against teams with 10/11 behind the ball.
Sorry to interupt this debate but is there any news on any new signings?
Sent from my SM-A500F using Tapatalk
02-07-2016, 01:54 PM
Sorry to interupt this debate but is there any news on any new signings?
Sent from my SM-A500F using Tapatalk
👍🏼😀
02-07-2016, 03:08 PM
Just off the top of my head, the first league game against rangers at Easter Road that we won. He made a few saves that day which are easily forgotten. Same again the Aberdeen game in the league cup. I don't particularly rate the Ox highly but do believe he gets a hard time not only on here, but at the games as well. If I were him I'd be bricking it every time the ball came near me with the boo boys ready to jump on him at any chance.
He is imo a better keeper than Cammy Bell. He has a lot to learn but sometimes, I think hibs fans think we are some sort of machine that should never make mistakes. Let's not forget that in DDG's 1st couple of seasons at man utd he struggled
Joe Hart's two mistakes at the Euros shows that no keeper is immune, Peter Cech also had a high profile howler at that tournament in 2008. Arsenal fans rightly we're delighted with his signing last season and yet he cost them both goals in their 2-0 defeat at home to West Ham in his first game.
David De Gea, as you mention, is a great example of a great keeper who had to endure a good few bad moments. Curtios was dropped by Chelsea last year - the list goes on.
Oxley has been good for us - even more so when you consider some of the truly dreadful goalkeepers we have had in the last decade or so. I truly cannot get my head round how so many posters dismiss him as 'gash' etc.
I've said numerous times on here that I don't believe our outcomes would have been any better had we had a different goalkeeper for the last two years, and I stand by that.
02-07-2016, 03:43 PM
Joe Hart's two mistakes at the Euros shows that no keeper is immune, Peter Cech also had a high profile howler at that tournament in 2008. Arsenal fans rightly we're delighted with his signing last season and yet he cost them both goals in their 2-0 defeat at home to West Ham in his first game.
David De Gea, as you mention, is a great example of a great keeper who had to endure a good few bad moments. Curtios was dropped by Chelsea last year - the list goes on.
Oxley has been good for us - even more so when you consider some of the truly dreadful goalkeepers we have had in the last decade or so. I truly cannot get my head round how so many posters dismiss him as 'gash' etc.
I've said numerous times on here that I don't believe our outcomes would have been any better had we had a different goalkeeper for the last two years, and I stand by that.
👏👏👏👏 well said mate
I've had a few discussions wi folk at games that give him pelters. As you say some of the keepers we've had over the last few years have been horrendous and quite frankly that's being mild.
Over the last 2 years we've had incredible stats defensively and goals conceded in games. Surely at some point he's touched the ball in these games?
If he does go then all the best to him he's only 25 so still got at least 10 years to make a decent career for himself. Been a key part of what's been an enjoyable couple of years following hibs home and away. I'm interested to see what Lennon does either way
02-07-2016, 05:29 PM
Ryan dow I've been told.
I'd be quite happy with that. He's lost his way a bit but looked a real talent a couple of years ago.
02-07-2016, 06:50 PM
Ryan dow I've been told.
I hope not. I've been happy with the names been linked with like McDonald before it fell through and I'm happy with Holt as I think it's a good signing, but Ryan Dow has done nowt. I hope we've got a better forward lined up than him.
02-07-2016, 06:54 PM
I think we'd have conceded goals against Dundee Utd in the semi final if Oxley had been in goals that day instead of Logan.
02-07-2016, 07:00 PM
Please list your lots?
Gies a list of the times Bell was good then? For counter balance.
Bell is diddy.
02-07-2016, 07:01 PM
I think we'd have conceded goals against Dundee Utd in the semi final if Oxley had been in goals that day instead of Logan.
We might have aye.
If Oxley was in goals in the playoffs we'd have beat Falkirk.
02-07-2016, 07:02 PM
I don't think we'd have conceded an equaliser against Falkirk in the home play off game if Oxley was in goals. Swings & roundabouts. Both played their part in contributing to our season
02-07-2016, 07:02 PM
We might have aye.
Cant argue with that. :agree:
02-07-2016, 07:06 PM
We might have aye.
Beat me to it! Ha I've already answered SJM wi a couple of games where Oxley played well. Yet to hear back on that so wouldn't hold your breath on the list of games where Bell was good.
Juice-Terry
02-07-2016, 07:08 PM
This is the transfer rumours thread, aye?
02-07-2016, 07:12 PM
This is the transfer rumours thread, aye?
Nae rumours so folk are discussing previous rumours and whether we have better.
Tbh if Oxley does go then GK is the only position that will need urgently filled. Happy for Lennon to bide his time to get the right players in elsewhere
02-07-2016, 07:13 PM
I don't think we'd have conceded an equaliser against Falkirk in the home play off game if Oxley was in goals. Swings & roundabouts. Both played their part in contributing to our season
The post i answered did say (I've said numerous times on here that I don't believe our outcomes would have been any better had we had a different goalkeeper for the last two years, and I stand by that.)
I dont believe we'd have won the semi against Dundee Utd, so i disagree about the outcomes not being any better.
02-07-2016, 10:01 PM
Paul Rachubka
02-07-2016, 10:03 PM
Paul Rachubka
He was at Bolton with Lennon? Must be a fair age
02-07-2016, 10:04 PM
Paul Rachubka
Rather keep Logan.