View Full Version : Official hibs.net Summer transfer rumours thread

Pages : 1 2 3 [4] 5 6

28-06-2016, 12:38 AM
If he does sign for Tranent, it will be a belter :wink:
And I'm sure Macmerry folk will think it's a blast.

28-06-2016, 12:44 AM
Back of sun saying grant holt ex norwich being lined up on one year deal. 35 years old. Good player in his day.

If he has one year in him them maybe Lennon thinks he's worth a punt. If so I hope he's right!
It's all about getting up this season because those tasked with doing it the last two seasons have failed in that respect.

Finn2015
28-06-2016, 01:12 AM
Back of sun saying grant holt ex norwich being lined up on one year deal. 35 years old. Good player in his day.

Hope that's not a case of instead of McDonald

28-06-2016, 03:12 AM
Think holt lives in Carlisle

28-06-2016, 03:38 AM

Well this won't increase the ST numbers.

28-06-2016, 04:03 AM

Maybe it will maybe it will not. I do not know but Holt is the type of player we need. He may be 35 but his game has never been about pace. He is the big bustling striker that is great in the air and at holding the ball up that many people want to see here next season. His experience could prove a huge asset. So long as his physical condition is good and he still has desire then I think this could be a fantastic signing and I would be delighted with it.

MacGruber
28-06-2016, 05:07 AM
The names we've been linked with so far (exception of Commons) are leaving me feeling more worried about our prospects next year than at the end of the season. Who knows what is only rumour though. Holts day has been and gone just like Heskey - IMO

MacGruber
28-06-2016, 05:11 AM
Also feel McDonald would be a useful signing for a year or 2 if Cummings is away, which I feel isn't the case

28-06-2016, 05:12 AM
The names we've been linked with so far (exception of Commons) are leaving me feeling more worried about our prospects next year than at the end of the season. Who knows what is only rumour though. Holts day has been and gone just like Heskey - IMO

I've got my reservations about Holt but trying to be positive I think we'd have benefited loads from a big experienced lump up top last season that just hung about the box taking chances. Too often we had Cummings and Stokes dropping deep or popping up on the wings. We need a presence up top that brings midfielders into the game so hopefully he's still able to do that.

I hope that covers us on the experienced front though and other signings are a bit younger and pacier.

28-06-2016, 05:27 AM
And I'm sure Macmerry folk will think it's a blast.

👍

MacGruber
28-06-2016, 05:30 AM
I've got my reservations about Holt but trying to be positive I think we'd have benefited loads from a big experienced lump up top last season that just hung about the box taking chances. Too often we had Cummings and Stokes dropping deep or popping up on the wings. We need a presence up top that brings midfielders into the game so hopefully he's still able to do that.

I hope that covers us on the experienced front though and other signings are a bit younger and pacier.

Yeah agreed, big lump target man sorely required. I it's to be Holt for a year I hope he's still got the same desire as in the EPL years ago.

MacGruber
28-06-2016, 05:40 AM
Coming accross as Mr Cheery now but since 2013 Holt has scored 7 goals for 5 clubs and been out for 9 months during that time with a knee injury at the age of 34.

28-06-2016, 06:12 AM

Grant Holt is an excellent player and would score a bucket load in championship even at 35.

28-06-2016, 06:13 AM
I won't pretend that a few of these names have thrilled me by any means, but I think it's important that we trust the new management team and back the side going forward.

Being honest, the reason most of us are hesitant is because of the age of these players and moreover, because we've heard of them. I had no idea who Marvin Bartley, Liam Fontaine or Conrad Logan were - I certainly hadn't heard of Niklas Gunnarsson before he came here. On the flip side, I thought a player like Farid El Alagui was an excellent signing, but things didn't work out in retrospect, we can never know what will happen with certain players at certain clubs.

In light of these reasons, I'm going to try my absolute best to remain reserved in judgement of our signings until I've seen what they do for us, and unless we make moves to bring Shefki Kuqi out of retirement, I implore you to do the same. If our hesitations turn out to be well-founded, fair enough, but in the mean time, I think it's only best we show some faith.

P.S. I'm aware that Grant wasn't received well by the Wigan fans, but in terms of his physical presence and hold up play, the prospect of him playing in the Scottish Championship is something rather different. As far as I was aware, he wants to pick up coaching, so it might not even be a full time basis. I know plenty of Norwich fans, like, a whole lot, who still want him back. This is largely sentimental, like us with Riordan in years gone by, but ability certainly comes into the fact too.

28-06-2016, 06:17 AM
Should've got an England call up a few years ago when he was scoring for fun in the premier league for Norwich. If he's fit I'd take him in a heartbeat

28-06-2016, 06:26 AM
Think holt lives in Carlisle

Pretty certain he stays in Norwich. It's actually part of the reason I would be surprised by this, he's very settled in Norwich and has his 3 daughters with him there, although that hasn't stopped him before.

28-06-2016, 06:28 AM
Should've got an England call up a few years ago when he was scoring for fun in the premier league for Norwich. If he's fit I'd take him in a heartbeat

Been doing plenty of his own fitness work seemingly. Sun (http://www.thescottishsun.co.uk/scotsol/homepage/sport/spl/hibernian/7205372/Hibs-boss-Neil-Lennon-is-after-Grant-Holt.html) seem pretty sure!

28-06-2016, 06:34 AM
He doesn't strike me as someone that ever had pace so getting old and losing it shouldn't cause him too many problems. I don't know him too well so I maybe talking rubbish but I always had him down as a good physical team player which is exactly what we've needed for a while.

Anyone know how old mixu was when we signed him?

28-06-2016, 06:40 AM
He doesn't strike me as someone that ever had pace so getting old and losing it shouldn't cause him too many problems. I don't know him too well so I maybe talking rubbish but I always had him down as a good physical team player which is exactly what we've needed for a while.

Anyone know how old mixu was when we signed him?

You're right about Holt, think he could definitely do us a turn if he stays fit. Think Mixu was 31, but 35 the second time.

28-06-2016, 06:51 AM
Coming accross as Mr Cheery now but since 2013 Holt has scored 7 goals for 5 clubs and been out for 9 months during that time with a knee injury at the age of 34.

Not great stats but on the positive side he is four years younger than Husky
What is clear is that a big target man with experience is Lennon s priority up top so he will have been sussing out who is available and who is tempted to come to the Scottish Championship fpr the money we can pay
We were never going to get someone in their prime so its going to be someone at the later end of their career and fitness and desire will be key

28-06-2016, 06:56 AM
Wouldn't be too impressed tbh

28-06-2016, 07:04 AM
Not great stats but on the positive side he is four years younger than Husky
What is clear is that a big target man with experience is Lennon s priority up top so he will have been sussing out who is available and who is tempted to come to the Scottish Championship fpr the money we can pay
We were never going to get someone in their prime so its going to be someone at the later end of their career and fitness and desire will be key

Let's just hope he has the wingers lined up to supply one.

Marco G
28-06-2016, 07:05 AM
Wouldn't be too impressed tbh
Do you have any other suggestions for a striker who has played at the top level and wants to sign for us (we think)?

Sent from my SM-T713 using Tapatalk

28-06-2016, 07:08 AM
Do you have any other suggestions for a striker who has played at the top level and wants to sign for us (we think)?

Sent from my SM-T713 using Tapatalk

No I'm not a Hibs scout that's not my job. I could probably throw some random names out there though.

28-06-2016, 07:20 AM
What age was Brewster when we signed him?

28-06-2016, 07:27 AM
What age was Brewster when we signed him?

He was in his early seventies IIRC.

28-06-2016, 07:28 AM
Just spoke to one of my Norwich supporting pals who said we would absolutely love him.

28-06-2016, 07:29 AM
Times have changed. Players arent finished by 32/33 now.Fitness training has improved massively recently.

28-06-2016, 07:29 AM
He was in his early seventies IIRC.

28-06-2016, 07:32 AM

A mostly ignored observation. Those stats speak volumes and it's a massive no thanks from me!

MacGruber
28-06-2016, 07:39 AM
Although it's a no for me, if he signs then as soon as the ink is dry he gets my full support.
Only thing is we will probably need another target man option as Holt will unlikely be fit to go a full season.

28-06-2016, 07:56 AM
Holt would be a very good signing for us in this division.

28-06-2016, 08:14 AM
Fitbaw folk ken the Holt would be a good signing lol.

28-06-2016, 08:23 AM
Happy enough if he joins but think we'll still need another forward (2 if Jason goes) and a couple of wide players to supply him. Out midfield will also need to be better at getting forward to support the strikers. The likes of McGinn and Mcgeough will need to chip in a few more goals this season IMO

28-06-2016, 08:23 AM
Mixu was a carthorse centre-forward in his thirties with no pace when he joined us.

I still think he was the best and most important signing we have made during my time following Hibs.

If Holt was a Michael Owen type who was all about pace, then I'd be cynical.

He wasn't/ isn't, therefore if he didn't have much pace to lose then he should still be fine.

This one sounds to me like exactly the type of move we should be making at this time.

Get a bit of pace around him, out wide and I honestly don't think we've got much more to do.

My only concern would be how well he's recovered from a serious injury late on in his career.

We could do without a like for like replacement for Farid.

MacGruber
28-06-2016, 08:24 AM
Fitbaw folk ken the Holt would be a good signing lol.

:)
Hopefully the medical folk will Ken tae

28-06-2016, 08:45 AM
The Hibs fans who are underwhelmed or who dont think he would be a good signing need a reality check. He is exactly the foil requiref for keatings and cummings. This would lead me to think that Lennon will be looking to add wide players to the squad as well. A younger Holt wouldnt be anywhere near Hibs because he was too good a player , he will be an excellent addition to the squad if fitness is no issue. He has bags of experience as well.

28-06-2016, 08:59 AM
Mixu was a carthorse centre-forward in his thirties with no pace when he joined us.

I still think he was the best and most important signing we have made during my time following Hibs.

If Holt was a Michael Owen type who was all about pace, then I'd be cynical.

He wasn't/ isn't, therefore if he didn't have much pace to lose then he should still be fine.

This one sounds to me like exactly the type of move we should be making at this time.

Get a bit of pace around him, out wide and I honestly don't think we've got much more to do.

My only concern would be how well he's recovered from a serious injury late on in his career.

We could do without a like for like replacement for Farid.

Hard to argue with much of this, though Hibs have never really been a team for a big hold-up striker with the obvious honourable exceptions of Mixu, The Brewster & possibly Houchy Houchy. My main concern with rumours re incomers ( & it's nice to finally have some rumours ) is they all seem to be of a certain ilk. I agree 100% our priority is promotion but we also need, IMO, a longer term game plan. I'm sure NL knows our promtion priority but I strongly suspect he'll be looking to re-brand himself & possibly move on in the event of a successful campaign. Nothing wrong with that & nothing wrong with signing experience but I'd like to see us balance it out with some signings for a longer term future, another John McG would do nicely! PS, FWIW I think Boyle & Carmichael ( the forgotten man ) have the ability to provide the width & ammo for any target man.

28-06-2016, 09:02 AM
On the subject of target men, John Sutton joins St Mirren from St Johnstone.

28-06-2016, 09:06 AM
The Hibs fans who are underwhelmed or who dont think he would be a good signing need a reality check. He is exactly the foil requiref for keatings and cummings. This would lead me to think that Lennon will be looking to add wide players to the squad as well. A younger Holt wouldnt be anywhere near Hibs because he was too good a player , he will be an excellent addition to the squad if fitness is no issue. He has bags of experience as well.

Did you read the guys stats?

That's what I would call a reality check.

As for comparisons otherbpeople have made with Mixu, big difference between 31and no history of injuryand a 35 year old who has barely kicked a ball for three seasons.

Ir we are going to gamble a wage, perhaps we could find a Scottish based immobile lump, but maybe focus on one who has actually played a wee bit over the past few seasons. The resident experts will know who they are and I don't mean that to be cheeky. Seem to recall a big lmp at Livvy posing a few problems, as an example.

28-06-2016, 09:09 AM

As for comparisons otherbpeople have made with Mixu, big difference between 31and no history of injuryand a 35 year old who has barely kicked a ball for three seasons.

Ir we are going to gamble a wage, perhaps we could find a Scottish based immobile lump, but maybe focus on one who has actually played a wee bit over the past few seasons. The resident experts will know who they are and I don't mean that to be cheeky. Seem to recall a big lmp at Livvy posing a few problems, as an example.

What's Michael Higdon doing nowadays?

28-06-2016, 09:09 AM
Since lennon has joined we have been linked with

Heskey
Dobbie
Mcdonald
Holt

Looking very apparent he is after an older, experienced striker that has played at a high level and doesn't need pace to score goals.

The boy holt is the sort of striker we need against teams like falkirk etc when we can't pass it through them.

I'm staying open minded, I trust neil lennon

Remember people saying u need a team to get out of the championship then a different team for the spl?

I expect neil, knowing Scottish football well, is aware of this and is building a squad to win us the league

28-06-2016, 09:10 AM

If Holt can stay fit he'd be absolutely streets ahead of the boy at Livi.

28-06-2016, 09:11 AM
Could be good or bad hopefully not Shefki

28-06-2016, 09:22 AM

​Jordan White, signed for Wrexham a month or so ago.

28-06-2016, 09:26 AM
A mostly ignored observation. Those stats speak volumes and it's a massive no thanks from me!

Folk think Riordan could do a job but Holt couldn't, I'll let hibs decide and support whoever we bring in.

Enough said
28-06-2016, 09:29 AM

What a stupid post. Rocket

28-06-2016, 09:29 AM
Since lennon has joined we have been linked with

Heskey
Dobbie
Mcdonald
Holt

Looking very apparent he is after an older, experienced striker that has played at a high level and doesn't need pace to score goals.

The boy holt is the sort of striker we need against teams like falkirk etc when we can't pass it through them.

I'm staying open minded, I trust neil lennon

Remember people saying u need a team to get out of the championship then a different team for the spl?

I expect neil, knowing Scottish football well, is aware of this and is building a squad to win us the league

We scored in all 6 games against Falkirk last season including 6 in the last 3, & it would have been more but for incompetent refereeing. Our problem with them was not in scoring but in stopping them scoring from long throw ins, free kicks etc. FWIW if we sign Holt I'll back NL's judgement but I think his value may be more off the pitch than on it.

28-06-2016, 09:38 AM
Folk think Riordan could do a job but Holt couldn't, I'll let hibs decide and support whoever we bring in.

Riordan has no relevance to this situation, but whatever.......

As for supporting who we bring in, that's mostly a given, but it doesn't mean you can't express a view on a fans forum or does it?

28-06-2016, 09:45 AM
Any word of Gunnarsson being signed? I liked what I saw of the big man he had a bit of game. Reckon he would be better suited to a roll sitting in front of the defense. Him n Marv would sweep up everything together. If Hendo has been told he has to find another loan surely there is only one place he will go? Scott McDonald would be a welcome signing, 14 goals for Well last term, he still has a good season in him at least. Shame about El Alagui, I rated him but his knees are gone. Dagnall has never been given a real chance but from anything I have seen he just does not fit in. I would love the Commons rumors to be true but I can't see it.

Role. And do we really need two defensive midfielders sitting in front of the defence? Seems like overkill to me.

28-06-2016, 09:51 AM
What a stupid post. Rocket

What is your problem. 'ROCKET'. I make a statement and just because you don't agree you have to be abusive. Have a word with yourself.

28-06-2016, 09:55 AM
What is your problem. 'ROCKET'. I make a statement and just because you don't agree you have to be abusive. Have a word with yourself.

It's a nonsense statement to be fair.

Our signings should be to improve the team, not season ticket numbers

28-06-2016, 10:03 AM
We scored in all 6 games against Falkirk last season including 6 in the last 3, & it would have been more but for incompetent refereeing. Our problem with them was not in scoring but in stopping them scoring from long throw ins, free kicks etc. FWIW if we sign Holt I'll back NL's judgement but I think his value may be more off the pitch than on it.

Falkirk may of not been the best example.

But you know what I mean, how many times did we wish we had a big guy in the box that could bully defenders or get on the end of a cross to score.

28-06-2016, 10:05 AM
Funny the whole new signing for season ticket argument.

Anyone remember feruz? Alot of people excited by that and thought he would excel.

Probably played 30 minutes in total for us.

We can't judge players until they play for us.

What will ultimately get fans committing is the board showing intent and by the team producing

28-06-2016, 10:07 AM

Anyone remember feruz? Alot of people excited by that and thought he would excel.

What will ultimately get fans committing is the board showing intent and by the team producing

Tbf by getting in a manager with the calibre of Neil Lennon they've shown huge intent.

Coults1875
28-06-2016, 10:10 AM
According to wikipedia, Holt's already signed :wink:

28-06-2016, 10:11 AM
Hard to argue with much of this, though Hibs have never really been a team for a big hold-up striker with the obvious honourable exceptions of Mixu, The Brewster & possibly Houchy Houchy. My main concern with rumours re incomers ( & it's nice to finally have some rumours ) is they all seem to be of a certain ilk. I agree 100% our priority is promotion but we also need, IMO, a longer term game plan. I'm sure NL knows our promtion priority but I strongly suspect he'll be looking to re-brand himself & possibly move on in the event of a successful campaign. Nothing wrong with that & nothing wrong with signing experience but I'd like to see us balance it out with some signings for a longer term future, another John McG would do nicely! PS, FWIW I think Boyle & Carmichael ( the forgotten man ) have the ability to provide the width & ammo for any target man.

Chris Killen was another big No.9 who did well for us.

Farid had a terrible time with injuries, but could have been great. I think an experienced target man would be a good addition.

28-06-2016, 10:14 AM
When was the last time Holt played? It looks like he's played 10 games in 2 years. I'm not convinced by this signing.

28-06-2016, 10:15 AM

He played 13 games and scored twice with Rochdale since January hardly not kicking a ball. He would be a cracking signing no doubt.

28-06-2016, 10:16 AM
According to wikipedia, Holt's already signed :wink:

And nobody can mess around with Wiki.

28-06-2016, 10:17 AM
Lennon's job is to get a team together that will win this league, that's it. We finished 3rd last year with a team full of nice footballers .

28-06-2016, 10:19 AM
People scoffed when we paid 75k for mixu ....look how that turned out

28-06-2016, 10:20 AM
It's a nonsense statement to be fair.

Our signings should be to improve the team, not season ticket numbers

People when talking about reaching the 10,000 ST target were stating that when we signed quality players it would boost ticket sales. That is why I made the comment.

28-06-2016, 10:29 AM
People when talking about reaching the 10,000 ST target were stating that when we signed quality players it would boost ticket sales. That is why I made the comment.

All very well signing players to boost ticket sales but on the other hand we also need to sign players who the manager feels will get us out the league, they may also be quality but not the marquee signing you are looking for.

28-06-2016, 10:29 AM
Tbf by getting in a manager with the calibre of Neil Lennon they've shown huge intent.

I agree

28-06-2016, 10:33 AM

Indeed. Results will dictate the crowds. Start well and there will be a steady increase. fwiw Holt is just what we need to give opposition defences something else to deal with. Also agree that keeping shut outs are just as important so the goalie and any new defenders need to enhance the squad.

Coults1875
28-06-2016, 10:39 AM
And nobody can mess around with Wiki.

I know that :rolleyes: lighten up!

28-06-2016, 10:41 AM
I know that :rolleyes: lighten up!

Dinnae get yer knickers in a twist, lighten up, I wasn't having a dig ffs. :rolleyes:

28-06-2016, 10:45 AM
Lennon's job is to get a team together that will win this league, that's it. We finished 3rd last year with a team full of nice footballers .

Couldn't agree more.

28-06-2016, 10:58 AM
When was the last time Holt played? It looks like he's played 10 games in 2 years. I'm not convinced by this signing.

He had a knee injury 2014 which kept him out for 9 months. He signed for Wolves in October 15 and played 4 games in teh Championship then moved to Rochdale on loan from February to end of season and played 13 games scoring twice. The fact he played in teh championship then League 1 after his injury would appear to assume he has recovered from it. As a player he would be an excellent signing and a bit of a character and fans favourite also IMO.

Finn2015
28-06-2016, 11:09 AM

Good signing for them

MacGruber
28-06-2016, 11:11 AM
It's a gamble. That's the point being made.
Great pedigree and the type of player we need.
V
Long term injury at 34, not played or scored much last couple of years.
Personally wouldn't want us to take the gamble on what will not doubt be a top earner.
Just worried of another Farid situation.
As for score for fun in this league - brilliant hope he comes in and wins player of the year with a barrow load
Bet Rochdale fans expected more than 2 though.
You can't guarantee anyone's fitness/injuries but on this gamble for me id be looking at recent stats/injury concerns as too much of a calculated risk for the money - just my opinion.
Equally the gamble could pay off and he smashes it. We all hope he does.
It's enough for debate however and 'people needing a reality check comments' are a bit arrogant and churlish for me, sorry.

28-06-2016, 11:31 AM
In his day Holt was a great striker and as others have said he was never one with pace so his age shouldn't make a difference. What worries me is all the things said about holt was said about Kuqi and he was hopeless. Does also worrie me and all the names we are linked with are all at the end of their careers. Time will tell, but I'd never want to see a new signing fail and they will get 100% backing from me.

28-06-2016, 11:33 AM
Dont mind one or two older players. Experience will be worth a fair bit in the championship.

GlasgowHibee
28-06-2016, 11:37 AM
Celtic apparently signing Moussa Dembele from Fulham, that'd be one heck of a signing for them.

nellio
28-06-2016, 11:37 AM
Folk should remember we're in the championship, I personally think Holt would do a job in the Scottish premier league for someone.

28-06-2016, 11:41 AM

We also won the cup & beat 5 top tier teams, including 2nd, 3rd & 4th placed finishers, with a team of nice footballers. I think AS's efforts/achievements over the last 2 years have not been fully appreciated. It was always going to be a tough ask taking over a team in disarray & winning a league ahead of Yams & The Rangers. We were 3rd favs in 2014/15 & 2nd favs last season. We're favourites this season & hopefully we'll earn that tag but the league will almost certainly be won this season with a smaller points total than in the last 2 years. Personally, I think we just liked finishing on 70 points!

28-06-2016, 11:43 AM
All about getting a balance in the squad. Holt type player is something we have missed in the second half of last season.
Experienced forward who can hold the ball up and can lead the line. Certainly think he's a better option than Dagnall.

28-06-2016, 11:48 AM
Thomson and Dagnall oot the official site squad list. Guess they're away.

28-06-2016, 11:50 AM
Has anyone actually seen Holt play in the last 4 years? He was great for Norwich pre Euro 2012 but since then he's amassed a total 8 goals.

28-06-2016, 11:51 AM
He played 13 games and scored twice with Rochdale since January hardly not kicking a ball. He would be a cracking signing no doubt.

I have my doubts.

28-06-2016, 12:23 PM
We also won the cup & beat 5 top tier teams, including 2nd, 3rd & 4th placed finishers, with a team of nice footballers. I think AS's efforts/achievements over the last 2 years have not been fully appreciated. It was always going to be a tough ask taking over a team in disarray & winning a league ahead of Yams & The Rangers. We were 3rd favs in 2014/15 & 2nd favs last season. We're favourites this season & hopefully we'll earn that tag but the league will almost certainly be won this season with a smaller points total than in the last 2 years. Personally, I think we just liked finishing on 70 points!

Stubbsy was a football manager and built a team to play football. It's just a shame that too many teams committed to anti-football. A big target man like Holt or Heskey would be perfect to use as a battering ram when we need it.

28-06-2016, 12:31 PM
I have my doubts.

Ok. :aok:

28-06-2016, 12:39 PM
Lennon has confirmed to sky sports that we have held early talks with holt and skippy

Edson Arantes
28-06-2016, 12:51 PM
Good signing for them

Sutton's crap.

TheMentalHibees
28-06-2016, 12:59 PM
Sutton's crap.

Agreed. Couple average seasons at Motherwell but done nothing since. Did the tramps not have him for a bit too?

28-06-2016, 01:01 PM
Agreed. Couple average seasons at Motherwell but done nothing since. Did the tramps not have him for a bit too?

Still makes them stronger though I think

1987kev
28-06-2016, 01:01 PM
Was at the Rochdale game in March he came on with about 20 to go and look over weight .

28-06-2016, 01:02 PM
Sutton's crap.

Holt is about 3 times the player Sutton is.

andrew70
28-06-2016, 01:02 PM
Lennon has confirmed to sky sports that we have held early talks with holt and skippy

It's unlike a manager to discuss players unless they are some way down the road as they don't want to alert other clubs etc. Hopefully we'll start to see more concrete movement soon.

SJM
28-06-2016, 01:04 PM
Happy with Holt and McDonald. Can't see how it can be possibly seen as a negative.

The Captain....
28-06-2016, 01:07 PM
I'm of the train of thought that Holt is coming in on the coaching side rather than a playing contract.

He's 35, was out for the best part of a year with a serious knee injury and committed to doing his coaching badges this Summer. He;s hardly played or scored for the past 3 years. Very concerned if we are looking at him in a playing capacity.

He was certainly a useful, hardworking, handful of a striker in his time but my enduring memory of him is that his game was predominantly built round his running and hard work, he's not going to be able to do that after a serious injury and he's going to be some way short of match sharpness.

28-06-2016, 01:07 PM

Stubb's style was suited to beating upper tier teams. This division can be more easily won with a target man and having strikers pick up scraps - horses for courses and Holt is one huddie that could help us.

livi hibs 1875
28-06-2016, 01:10 PM
Happy with Holt and McDonald. Can't see how it can be possibly seen as a negative.

me too adding experience to our young and still learning team can only be a good thing . commons would do a wonderful job in helping MCGINN and others to become better players to .

28-06-2016, 01:10 PM
Stubb's style was suited to beating upper tier teams. This division can be more easily won with a target man and having strikers pick up scraps - horses for courses and Holt is one huddie that could help us.
Far from a huddie, has played at decent level with a number of clubs.

Eric
28-06-2016, 01:15 PM
Thomson and Dagnall oot the official site squad list. Guess they're away.

Yes interesting that Thomson and Dagnall are off the squad list but Logan is still included. :confused:

28-06-2016, 01:16 PM
If you compare Holt and McDonald to Farid and Dagnall it's a significant upgrade.

28-06-2016, 01:20 PM
If you compare Holt and McDonald to Farid and Dagnall it's a significant upgrade.

Yep, absolutely. :agree:

Finn2015
28-06-2016, 01:21 PM

Well it certainly won't if we get both!

28-06-2016, 01:29 PM
Yes interesting that Thomson and Dagnall are off the squad list but Logan is still included. :confused:

Think Logan was signed until the end of June so he'll be away in a couple of days.

28-06-2016, 01:38 PM

Just a pun, "horses for courses" "huddie". Think he would be great for us.

28-06-2016, 01:39 PM
I'm willing to give Holt a chance, if we sign him, before writing him off. He has played a decent level, and he might well be the sort of striker we've been missing for the most part of the last 2 seasons.

If he was signing for a rival club I've little doubt I'd be calling him a fat huddy who doesn't seem to score many nowadays though...

cookin_on_gaz
28-06-2016, 01:49 PM

This is the way I see it. Stubb's team was very good at beating teams that attacked us, yet poor against teams that parked 11 men behind the ball. A team with two good wingers hitting balls into a big target man, or two, should pick up points against most teams in this division

28-06-2016, 01:52 PM

We bringing Kuqi back?

28-06-2016, 01:56 PM
This is the way I see it. Stubb's team was very good at beating teams that attacked us, yet poor against teams that parked 11 men behind the ball. A team with two good wingers hitting balls into a big target man, or two, should pick up points against most teams in this division

I'd rather see a midfield that were more direct and weren't afraid to shoot. We'd pick up more goals that way than lobbing high balls into the box for a semi retired target man.

28-06-2016, 02:01 PM
We bringing Kuqi back?

I can guarantee Holt is streets ahead of the level Kuqi was when we signed him.

cookin_on_gaz
28-06-2016, 02:03 PM
I'd rather see a midfield that were more direct and weren't afraid to shoot. We'd pick up more goals that way than lobbing high balls into the box for a semi retired target man.

The goals from midfield have been in short supply the last couple of season so I totally agree with that. However, if using wingers of a high quality then hopefully the crosses into the box would be accurate and effective therefore not having to resort to lobbing high balls into the box.

Baw187
28-06-2016, 02:12 PM

We defo need to score more goals from midfield but an old head in the box will also help. We need to be burying teams this year and the lack of goals was telling last season.

Rugy07
28-06-2016, 02:18 PM

I think to say we were poor against teams that sat back against us is a bit harsh. Apart from Rangers and Hearts in the league, every team has sat back against us for the past 2 seasons. We could have been more clinical at times for sure, but we still won a vast majority of these games. I'd personally love to see Holt at ER. I don't think having a big guy up front necessarily makes you play more directly. It works for Germany most of the time.

28-06-2016, 02:21 PM

We defo need to score more goals from midfield but an old head in the box will also help. We need to be burying teams this year and the lack of goals was telling last season.

Having a player like Holt up front would help our midfield score more goals as his hold-up play would allow more time for our midfielders to actually get into or around the box and into good shooting positions.

Baw187
28-06-2016, 02:25 PM
Having a player like Holt up front would help our midfield score more goals as his hold-up play would allow more time for our midfielders to actually get into or around the box and into good shooting positions.

That's a fair point although a few of our midfielders need to be encouraged to take on shots more than they did last year. We seen Falkirk's left back run on to a volley and score in the play off, something nobody in our team would have ever taken on. Sometimes you just need to take these kind of shots on. Even if we score 1 out of every 5 similar chances we get up that end of the park that would help.

cookin_on_gaz
28-06-2016, 02:27 PM
I think to say we were poor against teams that sat back against us is a bit harsh. Apart from Rangers and Hearts in the league, every team has sat back against us for the past 2 seasons. We could have been more clinical at times for sure, but we still won a vast majority of these games. I'd personally love to see Holt at ER. I don't think having a big guy up front necessarily makes you play more directly. It works for Germany most of the time.O

OK maybe "poor" was the wrong choice of word. We were, however, far from prolific against the smaller teams and I cant remember many games that we won by more than two goals. Compare that to Hearts and Rangers who dominated a lot of teams and racked up big scoring wins.

28-06-2016, 02:30 PM

How is he semi retired he was signed for Wigan all last season was loaned out and played almost 20 games 4 of which were in the Championship a league miles better than the one we are in.

28-06-2016, 02:31 PM
I think having a big striker who is good in the air is imperative - think back to beating Hearts 2-0 and the play off game against der hun at ER - Farid was outstanding on both occasions and created havoc in opposition defences. Having someone to fill that role means you always have a useful out ball as well. We have to trust Lennon from the start and I fully expect him to get us out of this league at the first time of asking.

28-06-2016, 02:32 PM
Seems like he wants to bring in an experienced target man and I suppose those guys will be limited in availability for our position.

Not the exciting kind of signing that'd push us towards the 11k though.

Rather we tried to coax Luca Toni outta retirement! :greengrin

28-06-2016, 02:43 PM
Not seen it mentioned but the Holt signing reminds me of the Brewster signing he was round the same age and did a great job for us when he came in!

28-06-2016, 03:07 PM
https://youtu.be/9ZJh7knRxBE

28-06-2016, 03:07 PM
I'd be more concerned about how he has recovered from serious injury than his age but potentially a cracking signing if he's fit.

28-06-2016, 03:09 PM
Personally not keen on signing players on their way back down. For every Craig Brewster there's 20 Shefki Kuqis.

28-06-2016, 03:19 PM
Personally not keen on signing players on their way back down. For every Craig Brewster there's 20 Shefki Kuqis.

Aye but now we've voted out the EU, those 20 Kuqis wouldnae get a work permit 😎

28-06-2016, 03:21 PM

We must have worked through our 20 by now, so we're due another good un.

28-06-2016, 03:25 PM
O

OK maybe "poor" was the wrong choice of word. We were, however, far from prolific against the smaller teams and I cant remember many games that we won by more than two goals. Compare that to Hearts and Rangers who dominated a lot of teams and racked up big scoring wins.

This....scoring big against teams puts fear into your future opponents heads and confidence into those of your own players...not to mention a healthy goal difference.

28-06-2016, 03:35 PM

Are there 20 Shefki Kuqis on the planet? I'm actually prepared to wager that there are more Craig Brewsters :greengrin

...not sure how I'd go about proving it though

SJM
28-06-2016, 04:08 PM
Not seen it mentioned but the Holt signing reminds me of the Brewster signing he was round the same age and did a great job for us when he came in!

Brewster was as fit as anyone I've ever seen play for us though.

Holt on paper is a very good, experienced signing though. A perfect foil for McDonald and Cummings too.

28-06-2016, 04:16 PM
I'm not really concerned if he doesn't score any goals but goes out there and bullies defenders into mistakes and sets up his team mates!

We missed that sorted of player the last couple of seasons.

I'd be happy with Holt and McDonald along with Cummings and Keatings!

SJM
28-06-2016, 04:19 PM
I'm not really concerned if he doesn't score any goals but goes out there and bullies defenders into mistakes and sets up his team mates!

We missed that sorted of player the last couple of seasons.

I'd be happy with Holt and McDonald along with Cummings and Keatings!

Yep, someone for the defenders to be unsettled with leading to space for our other strikers is definitely something that's been lacking.

Heedersnvolleys
28-06-2016, 04:43 PM
Sounds like a Michael Chopra type signing

28-06-2016, 04:50 PM
only Hibs fans could complain about having Holt, MacDonald, Cummings, Keatings. :greengrin

28-06-2016, 04:54 PM
only Hibs fans could complain about having Holt, MacDonald, Cummings, Keatings. :greengrin
looks a pretty good front line to me

Nevi_SOL
28-06-2016, 04:55 PM
How late can players be registered for Europa league?

28-06-2016, 05:02 PM
How late can players be registered for Europa league?

A week before the game I think.

28-06-2016, 05:04 PM

Indeed. But they won't when we win the league! With those players playing a pivotal part.

28-06-2016, 05:07 PM

But I'd rather Cummings, keatings, stokes and malonga

28-06-2016, 05:39 PM

I'd rather have Messi, Moratti, Totti and Neymar.

What do you think Stokes is on in Blackburn? I'd suggest it's going to be 5 times what Hibs were paying for him last season, and expect it to be a good bit more.

28-06-2016, 05:44 PM

We were never going to get Stokes back, also they are all a similar type of striker, whereas Holt gives us something different. Perfectly happy to begin the season with attacking options of Holt, Cummings, Keatings and McDonald. That's bloody brilliant for our level, in fact.

28-06-2016, 05:45 PM

I don't think anyone's complaining about the 2 players already here but some, myself partially included, are not overwhelmed at the possibility of these 2 signing. I've no doubt Scotty could do a good job but he's very similar to both JC & JK. Grant Holt was an excellent player & a great pro but is he going to be fit to play 40+ games & if he does play do we alter our playing style to accommodate him? I think these are legitimate concerns as is the fact that of the 3 players we've been strongly linked with, the 2 above plus Heskey, Scotty is the youngest at 32. Let's be honest, if Yams were after these players this board would be ripping them apart.

28-06-2016, 06:27 PM
I don't think anyone's complaining about the 2 players already here but some, myself partially included, are not overwhelmed at the possibility of these 2 signing. I've no doubt Scotty could do a good job but he's very similar to both JC & JK. Grant Holt was an excellent player & a great pro but is he going to be fit to play 40+ games & if he does play do we alter our playing style to accommodate him? I think these are legitimate concerns as is the fact that of the 3 players we've been strongly linked with, the 2 above plus Heskey, Scotty is the youngest at 32. Let's be honest, if Yams were after these players this board would be ripping them apart.

Wasn't the problem in the league last season that our playing style was too predictable.It must be a good thing to be able to switch things around.Players will play less games if there are more to pick from so age shouldn't be a problem particularly in a league with such a poor level of ability.

28-06-2016, 06:29 PM

Yams have signed the boy Sammon who has scored 53 career goals. He's 29. Both McDobald and Holt have triple his career goals each!

We need out of this league so if Lennon thinks Holt and skippy can do a job then we will just have to trust him!

28-06-2016, 06:31 PM
Never thought Sammon was much good. Something a bit fishy about him.

28-06-2016, 06:33 PM
I'm not keen on this signing. I think everyone recognises we need a striker who plays high up on the centre backs. It is probably the most important signing we have to make this summer. By signing a 35 year, we have turned it into a massive gamble.

28-06-2016, 06:35 PM
I'm not keen on this signing. I think everyone recognises we need a striker who plays high up on the centre backs. It is probably the most important signing we have to make this summer. By signing a 35 year, we have turned it into a massive gamble.

No more of a gamble than signing someone that is in their early 20s. Remember James Collins?

28-06-2016, 06:38 PM

I get what you're saying, B BUT McDonald has a wealth of experience in the striker role and will be good for both Jase and Keats I reckon. He also knows how to use his body strength to an advantage, something Jase and Keats have yet to learn :aok:

28-06-2016, 06:39 PM
I'd rather have Messi, Moratti, Totti and Neymar.

What do you think Stokes is on in Blackburn? I'd suggest it's going to be 5 times what Hibs were paying for him last season, and expect it to be a good bit more.

c.£10k plus bonuses

28-06-2016, 07:00 PM
No more of a gamble than signing someone that is in their early 20s. Remember James Collins?

It's always a risk when you sign s**** players that they end up being s****. Collins was exactly that.
A 35 year old who has hardly been playing is just asking for trouble. I would have been ok with it if he had been playing regular but I very much doubt we can get a whole season out of him.

28-06-2016, 07:06 PM
It's always a risk when you sign s**** players that they end up being s****. Collins was exactly that. A 35 year old who has hardly been playing is just asking for trouble. I would have been ok with it if he had been playing regular but I very much doubt we can get a whole season out of him. Sent from my iPhone using Tapatalk

Maybe the plan is not to get a full season out of him? Used sparingly and when the tactics requires could prove to be very useful.

I'll trust Lennons judgement until I see it proven otherwise I think.

28-06-2016, 07:29 PM
holt was a quality player with a good goal scoring record . could be just what we need if he's fit enough .

28-06-2016, 07:30 PM
Maybe the plan is not to get a full season out of him? Used sparingly and when the tactics requires could prove to be very useful.

I'll trust Lennons judgement until I see it proven otherwise I think.

I'm not saying you shouldn't. I'm just a bit concerned with the age of our signing targets so far.

28-06-2016, 07:32 PM
I'm not saying you shouldn't. I'm just a bit concerned with the age of our signing targets so far.

Trust in Lennon no?

Jeez.

28-06-2016, 07:35 PM
Trust in Lennon no?

Jeez.

My concern might be misplaced. Only time will tell.

28-06-2016, 07:37 PM

Me 2 :worried:

28-06-2016, 07:38 PM
c.£10k plus bonuses

I love when we just toss these numbers out there. FFS that is £40k per month. £520k a year. Mind boggling. £40k a year should be more than enough for the average footballer. Crazy money.

28-06-2016, 07:39 PM
If we were to get Holt plus McDonald or Dobbie or even both of them, then who in this league would have a better strike-force than those 3 plus Cummings & Keatings? Dundee Utd? Falkirk? I don't think so.

Neil Lennon looks like he has identified one of our major weaknesses for the past two seasons in this league by targeting strikers. We didn't score enough goals to finish teams off and struggled at times to break down teams who had their whole team behind the ball.

28-06-2016, 07:40 PM
My concern might be misplaced. Only time will tell.

Who are you seriously expecting us to sign as a target man in this league? Genuine question cause we all seem to agree we need a big strong forward but not many kicking about who are likely to join us

28-06-2016, 07:40 PM
I get what you're saying, B BUT McDonald has a wealth of experience in the striker role and will be good for both Jase and Keats I reckon. He also knows how to use his body strength to an advantage, something Jase and Keats have yet to learn :aok:

I agree with that John & I also think, as I posted earlier, that Holt's main value may come from him sharing his experience & knowledge with our younger strikers. My main concern is re Holt's role on the pitch. Many posters on here seem to think it's great that we can play a new, more direct style of play now to get us out of this division. That's fine, but if Holt's not up to the job, ability or fitness wise, do we go for another target man or revert to the system that many people on here seem to be criticising?
Personally I would go for Lee Erwin on loan to give us an alternative option up front.

28-06-2016, 07:41 PM

We've lacked major experience in the striking department in the last couple of seasons. Lee Miller still manages to look a wee bit useful in this league and all he does is get in the way and challenge for/sometimes win headers.

stanton_4
28-06-2016, 07:41 PM
Never thought Sammon was much good. Something a bit fishy about him.

28-06-2016, 07:46 PM
I agree with that John & I also think, as I posted earlier, that Holt's main value may come from him sharing his experience & knowledge with our younger strikers. My main concern is re Holt's role on the pitch. Many posters on here seem to think it's great that we can play a new, more direct style of play now to get us out of this division. That's fine, but if Holt's not up to the job, ability or fitness wise, do we go for another target man or revert to the system that many people on here seem to be criticising?
Personally I would go for Lee Erwin on loan to give us an alternative option up front.

Good call :agree:

Finn2015
28-06-2016, 07:54 PM

Got a good leap though

28-06-2016, 08:11 PM
Got a good leap though

He may be spawny and get a contract but for me he's way down the ladder.

(BTW, what happened to the big news for Hibs fans thart was supposed to be in The Sun today? :confused:)

28-06-2016, 08:22 PM
He may be spawny and get a contract but for me he's way down the ladder.

(BTW, what happened to the big news for Hibs fans thart was supposed to be in The Sun today? :confused:)

Was it not the Grant Holt interest?

28-06-2016, 08:34 PM
Was it not the Grant Holt interest?

A-ha.
Thanks, SH.

28-06-2016, 09:05 PM
I love when we just toss these numbers out there. FFS that is £40k per month. £520k a year. Mind boggling. £40k a year should be more than enough for the average footballer. Crazy money.

What are you talking about?

SJM
28-06-2016, 09:10 PM
We've lacked major experience in the striking department in the last couple of seasons. Lee Miller still manages to look a wee bit useful in this league and all he does is get in the way and challenge for/sometimes win headers.

I would call Stokes experienced plus Keattings that took Hamilton and Hearts up.

wills
28-06-2016, 09:58 PM
Maybe I'm being a bit sentimental I would have liked to have seen El Alagui give a month to month contract, I know he had his injury problems but he could have been a game changer for us

28-06-2016, 10:05 PM
Maybe I'm being a bit sentimental I would have liked to have seen El Alagui give a month to month contract, I know he had his injury problems but he could have been a game changer for us

A fair point, he was a good player and a good guy but surely our medical team will know better than anyone what the chances are of him getting fully fit and featuring regularly for anyone?

I can't see them getting this one badly wrong.

Although I was surprised to see McPake feature as much as he did for Dundee.

hibbymark
29-06-2016, 05:04 AM
Whilst I agree that a bigger striker who is good in the air is a option we should have, I'm not convinced about the 'to get us out of this league shout'.
Hearts and Rangers have pretty much coasted to the title in the last 2 years. Who was their big lumbering 35 year lump of wood up front?
I personally haven't noticed this league being much more hoofball and more physical than the top league.
The big guy little guy striker partnership is almost extinct in the game and I can't really think of this kind of partnership at any of the top clubs .
Keatings and Cummings goal scoring record in this division is superb. I'd take McDonald who although he's small is a lot stronger than Cummings and Keatings and clever with his big a**e. He's never bullied by big centre halfs.
Grant Holt is a huge gamble for me at 35 . Back from a knee op at this age whilst playing on bowling greens in England. Wait until he sees the plastic pitches and tattie fields up here.
If we are going to have a target man I'd prefer us to go for the lad Whyte at Livingston . He always looks better than he should with the ball at his feet for a big lad, alongside McDonald's or Keatings experience or to take the physical presume of Cummings he'd be my choice.

29-06-2016, 05:08 AM
Whilst I agree that a bigger striker who is good in the air is a option we should have, I'm not convinced about the 'to get us out of this league shout'.
Hearts and Rangers have pretty much coasted to the title in the last 2 years. Who was their big lumbering 35 year lump of wood up front?
I personally haven't noticed this league being much more hoofball and more physical than the top league.
The big guy little guy striker partnership is almost extinct in the game and I can't really think of this kind of partnership at any of the top clubs .
Keatings and Cummings goal scoring record in this division is superb. I'd take McDonald who although he's small is a lot stronger than Cummings and Keatings and clever with his big a**e. He's never bullied by big centre halfs.
Grant Holt is a huge gamble for me at 35 . Back from a knee op at this age whilst playing on bowling greens in England. Wait until he sees the plastic pitches and tattie fields up here.
If we are going to have a target man I'd prefer us to go for the lad Whyte at Livingston . He always looks better than he should with the ball at his feet for a big lad, alongside McDonald's or Keatings experience or to take the physical presume of Cummings he'd be my choice.

Hearts had zeefuik that was about 36 stone and osman sow who was also a decent target man for them.

Rangers had kenny Miller and although he's not your typical big lump of a target man he is very good at using his experience and linking up play..

I personally thought the boy from livi looked a bit of a huddy.

29-06-2016, 05:23 AM
Hearts had zeefuik that was about 36 stone and osman sow who was also a decent target man for them.

Rangers had kenny Miller and although he's not your typical big lump of a target man he is very good at using his experience and linking up play..

I personally thought the boy from livi looked a bit of a huddy.

Was going to mention this myself. I'm not saying that signing Holt isn't somewhat of a risk, but I'm not sure how much more risky it is than signing pretty much any other player. He will be given a full medical assessment and the player recruitment team should know exactly what they're getting. He was injured at the end of 2014 and has played for Wolves and Rochdale since then without it reoccurring.

29-06-2016, 05:26 AM
Also it would appear that the moves for McDonald and Holt are very likely to be concluded. Lennon has been speaking about them being statements of intent if and when the deals are concluded. Plenty of news outlets covering the story.

29-06-2016, 05:29 AM
Was going to mention this myself. I'm not saying that signing Holt isn't somewhat of a risk, but I'm not sure how much more risky it is than signing pretty much any other player. He will be given a full medical assessment and the player recruitment team should know exactly what they're getting. He was injured at the end of 2014 and has played for Wolves and Rochdale since then without it reoccurring.

Lennon in the evening news today saying a decision will be made after our medical team have a really good look at his physical condition.

Like all signings of course there's a risk but I'm happy to trust our management and medical teams seeing as their judgement will be based on facts and condition of him rather than just his age.

29-06-2016, 05:58 AM

I though i think someone who's good in the air is an advantage, it's not the main reason he's being brought in.

We need some who's able to play with his back to goal and hold the ball up. We really missed that when Dom went and was one of the main failings of the Cummings/Stokes partnership.

29-06-2016, 06:24 AM
We did reasonably well without a big striker over the last two seasons, but there were some games where we were crying out for one.

It wont do us any harm to have a different way to play.

29-06-2016, 06:29 AM
We did reasonably well without a big striker over the last two seasons, but there were some games where we were crying out for one.

It wont do us any harm to have a different way to play.

Agree and Holt is also a decent player on the ground also so not just one dimensional, can link up and score with either foot.

29-06-2016, 06:36 AM
Having seen a fair bit of GH in recent seasons, I have to say I would be more that a little bit perturbed at this potential signing. His movement has been poor, can barely get off ground when challenging for the ball in the air. The service to his feet has to be precise, otherwise he is not chasing it. He has been like this for several seasons, and although we are in Scottish Football's 2nd tier I'm not convinced he is what we need.

29-06-2016, 07:28 AM
Grant Holt is an excellent player and would score a bucket load in championship even at 35.

Holt WAS a decent player, wasnt excellent at his peak so not sure where you think he would score a bucket load from

29-06-2016, 07:33 AM
Sounds like Jason might be staying.

29-06-2016, 08:13 AM

Let's hope so - he's still so young and another year or even two at Hibs can only do him good. No need to chase money at this moment whilst he can still develop further in a happy environment.

the Eve news stories sounds like Holt is pretty much at the medical stage and McDonald advanced talks.

But Cummings, Keatings, Holt and McDonald sounds like a fantastic set of forwards who are all different and will give us various options.

29-06-2016, 08:20 AM
Via Hibernian FC Fans News on Facebook

Hibs are looking to secure the services of Aberdeen goalkeeper Danny Rodgers. He trained last couple days with us and is looking positive

Would be very happy with this

Finn2015
29-06-2016, 08:27 AM

Would be fantastic please stay Jason!

29-06-2016, 08:28 AM
I can guarantee Holt is streets ahead of the level Kuqi was when we signed him.

No you can't.

SJM
29-06-2016, 08:41 AM
No you can't.

He can't be much worse, I've seen pensioners get on the bus after the Barnton roundabout get on faster than he was, he made the Tank look like Billy Elliot.

29-06-2016, 08:43 AM
http://www.scotsman.com/sport/football/competitions/premiership/rumour-mill-rangers-take-onyewu-on-trial-celtic-plan-2m-bid-for-duffy-lennon-eyes-double-swoop-1-4164579

Interesting that Jamie Insall is included as part of first team squad here. Is Oli Shaw in contention too?

Two months to go until transfer window closes though, and a lot can happen in that time.

29-06-2016, 09:27 AM

Hibs are looking to secure the services of Aberdeen goalkeeper Danny Rodgers. He trained last couple days with us and is looking positive

Absolutely!

Neo167
29-06-2016, 10:17 AM

Think this his would be a great signing. Looked commanding and thought he was falkirks best player last season

thebausburst
29-06-2016, 10:20 AM

Never heard of him.

29-06-2016, 10:27 AM
Never heard of him.

Was on loan at Falkirk last season mate :aok:

29-06-2016, 10:33 AM

Any reason why you say this?

29-06-2016, 10:38 AM
Was on loan at Falkirk last season mate :aok:

Maybe he's trying to be smart because you've spelt his name with Rodgers instead of Rogers.

29-06-2016, 10:47 AM
Any reason why you say this?

Was on the radio this morning.

29-06-2016, 11:08 AM
Who is the current Falkirk goalkeeper?

Would be interesting if we got Rogers - Aberdeen not want him ? I know they have Alexander now also.

Falkirk have had some good keepers over the last few seasons..

Krul - Holland Number 1
Schmichael - Demark Number 1
McGovern - Northern Ireland Number 1
Jamie McDonald
Danny Rogers

Paloschi
29-06-2016, 11:10 AM
Hearing a few rumours this morning. Could be rubbish but it is a rumours thread!

Scott Allan to Hearts - from a mate

Callum Paterson to Celtic - from a mate (part of Allan deal) and a boy in the work (no mention of Allan)

McGovern (Hamilton Keeper) - To Southampton

Faysal El Bakhtoui to Motherwell

Lee Hodson to Current Buns....

Nothing from us just that Holt and McDonald are in talks and Danny Rodgers is wanted.

29-06-2016, 11:13 AM
He can't be much worse, I've seen pensioners get on the bus after the Barnton roundabout get on faster than he was, he made the Tank look like Billy Elliot.

There's no a roundabout at Barnton anymore.

29-06-2016, 11:16 AM

Where's the roundabout at Barnton. :greengrin

29-06-2016, 11:28 AM

SJM
29-06-2016, 11:32 AM
Crammond/drum brae turn off area then where they elderly flats have just been built.

29-06-2016, 11:34 AM
Holt WAS a decent player, wasnt excellent at his peak so not sure where you think he would score a bucket load from

Regular scorer for Norwich in the premier league and was near an England call up. Your definition of excellent and mine are obviously different.

29-06-2016, 11:37 AM
Here's what I reckon will happen. We'll sign the following:

Rogers
Holt
McDonald
Laidlaw (as backup for Rogers)

We may sign a backup defender and a winger, and that will be it. Oxley, Fontaine and Logan will be let go. Cummings will stay.

Bring on next season. :aok:

29-06-2016, 11:38 AM
here's what i reckon will happen. We'll sign the following:

Rogers
holt
mcdonald
laidlaw (as backup for rogers)
henderson

we may sign a backup defender and a winger, and that will be it. Oxley, fontaine and logan will be let go. Cummings will stay.

ftfy.

29-06-2016, 11:41 AM

Rogers
Holt
McDonald

We may sign a backup defender and a winger, and that will be it. Oxley, Fontaine and Logan will be let go. Cummings will stay.

If we lose Fontaine, then we'll need more than one defender in - a new centre half and cover at full back. I think Fontaine will stay, though.

The rest of the ins and outs I'd agree with, although I'd maybe add another midfielder in as we've not got Liam Henderson.

Bald Reynard
29-06-2016, 11:41 AM

Rogers
Holt
McDonald

Agree with you about Rogers, Holt (IF he passes a medical - big IF !) and McDonald; possibly Laidlaw (but I don't think he'd make a great back-up). I would also agree that Oxley will be on his way (and Virtanen ?); but, what makes you think that Fontaine will go ?

29-06-2016, 11:44 AM
Apparently holt and mc donald are very close to being signed

SJM
29-06-2016, 11:48 AM
Laidlaw is *****. Please don't sign him even as backup. Lennon had the Celtic goalies spot on, hope it's similar here.

McIntosh
29-06-2016, 11:49 AM

Rogers
Holt
McDonald

Bring on next season. :aok: Logan us leaving. Lennon stated this in his interview.

skyehibee
29-06-2016, 11:51 AM
That Kenny Millar on Twitter -

Contrary to talk here, Danny Rogers isn't training with Hibs. They do like him, he was on a list, but as it stands it won't be happening.

Skyegreen
29-06-2016, 11:52 AM
I'd like to see us sign a new centre half. I think we've been soft at the back in the past. Surely this needs to be one of the first things that needs addressed ?

Bald Reynard
29-06-2016, 11:54 AM
If we lose Fontaine, then we'll need more than one defender in - a new centre half and cover at full back. I think Fontaine will stay, though.

The rest of the ins and outs I'd agree with, although I'd maybe add another midfielder in as we've not got Liam Henderson.
Agree with that.

29-06-2016, 11:54 AM

Kenny Millar ‏@Kenny_Millar 11m (https://twitter.com/Kenny_Millar/status/748119148908142592) Contrary to talk here, Danny Rogers isn't training with Hibs. They do like him, he was on a list, but as it stands it won't be happening.

Tobias Funke
29-06-2016, 11:59 AM
There's no a roundabout at Barnton anymore.

Crammond/drum brae turn off area then where they elderly flats have just been built.

:greengrin:greengrin:greengrin:greengrin

29-06-2016, 12:02 PM
Why would we lose Fontaine?

He's still got another year left.

29-06-2016, 12:06 PM
Kenny Millar ‏@Kenny_Millar 11m (https://twitter.com/Kenny_Millar/status/748119148908142592) Contrary to talk here, Danny Rogers isn't training with Hibs. They do like him, he was on a list, but as it stands it won't be happening.

Its been discussed a few times now. He's not the current target for Lennon.

29-06-2016, 12:06 PM
I'd like to see us sign a new centre half. I think we've been soft at the back in the past. Surely this needs to be one of the first things that needs addressed ?

I disagree.

Even when we were relegated the defence wasn't the problem.

For years we haven't scored enough goals. The challenge for Lennon is to work out how he can get a midfield and wingers to create enough of the kind of chances that our strikers will take. That and increase the number of goals that we score from set-pieces (although we were pretty handy at these towards the end of the season).

Our fullbacks are superb defensively (when they aren't expected to continually hit the bye-line and carry out entire attacking threat) and I have no problems with any of our centre-halves - with Forster back we have 4 excellent centre-halves. Having Gunnarson for extra cover would be ideal.

I'd ram home the message to the defenders that they need to concentrate during the last 5 minutes of games against Falkirk. We were caught out by them so often I wonder if that might even be a tactical issue, not a personnel one.

But I really don't think we need to look at the defence.

29-06-2016, 12:09 PM
Regular scorer for Norwich in the premier league and was near an England call up. Your definition of excellent and mine are obviously different.

Have you seen his goals tally over the past , say five years?

Puzzled as to why Fontaine would be going and would imagine Oxley will want to stay, as will Virtainen, all of whom have at least a year on their contracts.

Platinum Scotty
29-06-2016, 12:30 PM
:greengrin:greengrin:greengrin:greengrin

there hasn't been a roundabout there for decades!!!!

29-06-2016, 12:31 PM

Yeah that's right, apart from there not being a roundabout. Lots of traffic lights but nothing round that's for sure. :greengrin

29-06-2016, 12:37 PM
Yeah that's right, apart from there not being a roundabout. Lots of traffic lights but nothing round that's for sure. :greengrin

Wheels ? :confused:

SJM
29-06-2016, 01:19 PM

Aye I'm usually done in first time in the morning or last thing back to notice on the bus :greengrin

29-06-2016, 01:58 PM
Dunno where this Fontaine leaving thing has started but it's simply not true.

SJM
29-06-2016, 03:18 PM
Zlatan about to sign for Man Utd.

29-06-2016, 03:40 PM
http://www.thescottishsun.co.uk/scotsol/homepage/sport/7206098/Motherwell-hopeful-Scott-McDonald-will-snub-Hibs-and-STAY-at-Fir-Park.html?CMP=spklr-_-Editorial-_-TWITTER-_-scotsunsport-_-20160629-_-SunScotSport-_-505239274

Pretty silly of Lennon to talk about him if it wasn't a done deal.

Kenny Millar now tweeted saying any possible move to Hibs is now off.

churchie16
29-06-2016, 03:58 PM
Kenny millar just put on Twitter the deal is off for Scott McDonald

29-06-2016, 04:06 PM
Ffs. Hope we have a backup in mind.

29-06-2016, 04:14 PM
I have been trying really hard not to criticise Hibs, but this going for older players, our interest becoming public and then not getting them is making us look stupid

29-06-2016, 04:23 PM
Did the manager discuss these transfer targets with the press before contracts were agreed?

If so, he'll need to be more discreet in future.

Stuarty27
29-06-2016, 04:24 PM
Did the manager discuss these transfer targets with the press before contracts were agreed?

If so, he'll need to be more discreet in future.

Its on the official site!

29-06-2016, 04:24 PM
What a bizarre situation. Hibs are usually good for keeping things quiet until 100% over the line.

29-06-2016, 04:25 PM
http://www.thescottishsun.co.uk/scotsol/homepage/sport/7206098/Motherwell-hopeful-Scott-McDonald-will-snub-Hibs-and-STAY-at-Fir-Park.html?CMP=spklr-_-Editorial-_-TWITTER-_-scotsunsport-_-20160629-_-SunScotSport-_-505239274

Pretty silly of Lennon to talk about him if it wasn't a done deal.

Kenny Millar now tweeted saying any possible move to Hibs is now off.

I thought it was very un-Hibs-like indeed.

Maybe as a former Celtic manager he's used to talking candidly about players who aren't his own in order to keep the press happy?

I was surprised.

Tobias Funke
29-06-2016, 04:27 PM
there hasn't been a roundabout there for decades!!!!

They must have reinstated it pretty damn quickly! :greengrin

29-06-2016, 04:30 PM
Its on the official site!

I'm surprised that the Hibs TV reporter would ask the question or that they were allowed to put that out before anything is signed.. I don't think we can blame Neil Lennon for this.

That is if Miller's tweets are correct.

woodyhfc4892
29-06-2016, 04:31 PM
Starting to worry a little now, this squad wasn't quite good enough last season and needs improved yet we're not really being linked with anyone and the ones we are, are turning us down..

OsloHibs
29-06-2016, 04:32 PM
He wanted a lot of money to stay on at motherwell, so maybe that's the issue?

29-06-2016, 04:34 PM
Well Hibs have just said they expect to announce new players before 10,000 tickets or new strips...

29-06-2016, 04:36 PM
He's pish anyway

29-06-2016, 04:38 PM
Holt confirmed.

29-06-2016, 04:38 PM
He's pish anyway

Agreed - plenty other pish players out there to choose from. :wink:

29-06-2016, 04:39 PM
Starting to worry a little now, this squad wasn't quite good enough last season and needs improved yet we're not really being linked with anyone and the ones we are, are turning us down..

I think the squad was good enough but our manager was not good enough tactically to get us promoted. I would argue our squad last season was as strong, if not stronger, than the Hearts team that won the league at a cantor, scoring 100 goals in the process. Granted, some players have left that we need to replace.

29-06-2016, 04:39 PM
Well grant Holt confirmed

Leith_Hibee
29-06-2016, 04:40 PM
Holy signing is a great bit of business, he offers us an alternative option up top.

AL-Qaholik
29-06-2016, 04:40 PM
Starting to get frustrated now. Our squad was only good enough for third place last year and was, at least partly, propped up by loanees who have left. Need to get some high quality players in very soon if we have any hope of hitting the ground running for once.

29-06-2016, 04:44 PM
Well grant Holt confirmed

https://atouchfarvetched.files.wordpress.com/2011/06/jones_dontpanic_11.jpg?w=450

Skyegreen
29-06-2016, 04:49 PM
What a bizarre situation. Hibs are usually good for keeping things quiet until 100% over the line.

Agreed, very disappointing indeed. I'm not sure if this is to appease Hibs tv or not but I don't like it! Very in-Hibs 🙄

Skyegreen
29-06-2016, 04:52 PM
I'm only glad I bought my ST on the back of the feel good factor and wanting to back the club.

I don't see many buying because they are excited at the new signings tbh 🙄

29-06-2016, 04:53 PM
Holy signing is a great bit of business, he offers us an alternative option up top.

God help us! ;-)

29-06-2016, 04:54 PM

Great a crosses

29-06-2016, 04:57 PM
I have been trying really hard not to criticise Hibs, but this going for older players, our interest becoming public and then not getting them is making us look stupid

Think it's different when the players are free agents and not at other clubs.

29-06-2016, 04:59 PM
I'm only glad I bought my ST on the back of the feel good factor and wanting to back the club.

I don't see many buying because they are excited at the new signings tbh 

It's June 29th, over 2 months left for new signings and then there's still free agents.

McGeouch didn't sign for Hibs until late August.

29-06-2016, 05:00 PM

I don't see many buying because they are excited at the new signings tbh 🙄

We've only made one. Something many folk spent all of last year moaning that we needed.

We've went down the route of having loads of 'nice' footballers and it hasn't got us out the league yet. This gives us something different. Every signing isn't going to be a John McGinn or Scott Allan.

29-06-2016, 05:01 PM
It's June 29th, over 2 months left for new signings and then there's still free agents.

McGeouch didn't sign for Hibs until late August.

I agree that we've time to sign players but hopefully they'll be in before the start of August, not the end. Can't afford to be playing catch up again.

FWIW, I don't think we're far away from having a team that's ready to win the league. Keeper and another striker. Then it's just cover really.

29-06-2016, 05:33 PM
I agree that we've time to sign players but hopefully they'll be in before the start of August, not the end. Can't afford to be playing catch up again.

FWIW, I don't think we're far away from having a team that's ready to win the league. Keeper and another striker. Then it's just cover really.

A keeper to replace Conrad and challenge Oxley.

Get Henderson back.

Hang onto JC.

Another wide player, preferably a quick left winger.

Then I'm perfectly happy with the squad.

SJM
29-06-2016, 05:41 PM
We need pace. Lots of pace. Laboured all the time last season and couldn't break teams down. Even attacking at a higher tempo.

29-06-2016, 05:48 PM
We need pace. Lots of pace. Laboured all the time last season and couldn't break teams down. Even attacking at a higher tempo.

Play Boyle more regularly?