View Full Version : Greggs Transfers - Watmore, Haynes & Boateng IN - NO More Pics/Videos On This Thread Please

Pages : 1 2 3 [4] 5 6 7 8

machibby
24-01-2014, 08:05 AM
If Vincent was to sign is he fit?. I'm sure I read he had been out with an injury. Has he played recently?

Returned to play as a sub for last 15 minutes against the dons on saturday

24-01-2014, 08:16 AM
If they were interested it would be as a proven striker in Scotland and he wouldn't be guaranteed stating place. Lennon would know he isn't what they need for Europe

But they don't need anyone for Scotland - they're already skooshing it here?

24-01-2014, 08:25 AM
I haven't seen much about Vincent at all tbh but I do listen to a podcast called The Terrace Scottish Football podcast and they rave about Vincent quite a bit. Say he is a similar player to Andrew Shinnie. So if he is a player in that mould I would be more than happy with this signing

24-01-2014, 08:35 AM
To counter the ballhocks on here that we weren't actually in for Rooney, Rooney is in the press this morning saying he had three offers from the Sheep, Arabs and us. He turned down us and the Arabs because he reckoned that the sheep were a bigger club with bigger potential (translation: he got offered more money)

Also notice Kenny Jackett saying that Spanky has told him he really wants to sign for Celtic.

nribs
24-01-2014, 08:37 AM
To counter the ballhocks on here that we weren't actually in for Rooney, Rooney is in the press this morning saying he had three offers from the Sheep, Arabs and us. He turned down us and the Arabs because he reckoned that the sheep were a bigger club with bigger potential (translation: he got offered more money)

Also notice Kenny Jackett saying that Spanky has told him he really wants to sign for Celtic.
Spanky :)

24-01-2014, 08:44 AM
Nice to see Rooney showing faith in his former manager.

khib70
24-01-2014, 08:47 AM

Carl Macar wants to sign for Celtc???????:slipper:

24-01-2014, 09:01 AM
Tbh Aberdeen are good for a cup and 2nd where this season we are looking for a top 6 place if you had no preference as a player your always going to go for the team that's in more form. Not only that they probably did offer more money. But I see no reason why this time next season we won't be in a similar position as them. They did most of there work in the summer and it's changed the whole way clubs look at Aberdeen. I live in Aberdeen and the buzz that this city has this season is well for a hibee sickening. We will do it in the summer.

24-01-2014, 09:09 AM
Twitter rumour is Alan Hutton until the end of season on loan ....sorry if posted elsewhere ...

24-01-2014, 09:12 AM
Twitter rumour is Alan Hutton until the end of season on loan ....sorry if posted elsewhere ...

Colin Clason ‏@cclason84 (https://twitter.com/cclason84) 3m (https://twitter.com/cclason84/status/426657380865425408)
Just been told Alan Hutton is about to sign for Hibs until the end of the season, good move for him and hibs if it's true

saw the above on twitter would be great for us if true.

24-01-2014, 09:12 AM
Still remember his diagonal ball across almost the length of the pitch, dropping it bang on whoever was on our wing, setting up the first goal against the Yams.

Think it was a fletcher Header or something.

Everyone should remember that goal because the final cross came from AOB!! His only contribution, oh & it came off Fletch's shoulder & looped in, even better!!

24-01-2014, 09:14 AM
Yup. Was a half volley if I remember correctly over to Alan O'Brien (!) who crossed over a ball that Fletcher managed to misjudge quite spectacularly - the ball hit his shoulder and still went in.

I'll always remember that goal because it was the first time I saw Hibs beat Hearts.

Oops sorry, just posted almost identical!! :agree:

Purehibee_MYB
24-01-2014, 09:26 AM
Alan Hutton? I'll believe it when I see it

Sent from my C1505 using Tapatalk

24-01-2014, 09:29 AM
Colin Clason ‏@cclason84 (https://twitter.com/cclason84) 3m (https://twitter.com/cclason84/status/426657380865425408)
Just been told Alan Hutton is about to sign for Hibs until the end of the season, good move for him and hibs if it's true

Who is this guy tweeting?

24-01-2014, 09:30 AM

Would be amazed!

Today's telegraph -

Meanwhile, Alan Hutton is facing an anxious wait to discover if he can bring his struggles at Villa Park to an end.
The Scotland international is the only remaining member of Lambert’s ‘Bomb Squad’ of players he has sidelined and Villa are keen to shift his £30,000-a-week salary to free up funds for new signings.
The 29-year-old has not mad a single appearance under Lambert and is understood to be training with the development squad, but Villa have received no firm offers.
Hutton impressed on loan at Real Majorca last year, yet has made more appearances for Scotland this season than at club level.
Lambert is prepared to let him leave either on loan or permanently.

They will be looking for a fair chunk towards his wages. We would offer 10% of that at a maximum!

Tom Hart RIP
24-01-2014, 09:32 AM
Fulham Norwich and West Ham interested in Hutton according to Sky

24-01-2014, 09:33 AM

can't see it if this is true:-

http://www1.skysports.com/football/news/11677/9123308/transfer-news-three-premier-league-clubs-are-tracking-aston-villas-alan-hutton

24-01-2014, 09:37 AM
But they don't need anyone for Scotland - they're already skooshing it here?

Thats why I started with if they were interested. .There was talk of some Celtic players wanting away samaras was one of them and stokes goals dried up for a while and he tends to do that score in a few games then have a drought .Personally don't think Lennon would want him , but you never know in football

Dobosz83
24-01-2014, 09:37 AM
I heard Hutton on loan around Christmas time but the source wasn't exactly full proof so I dismissed it as slavering pub pish.

Based on the snippets about Premiership clubs having an interest, I think it's safe to say it can be ruled out completely and confined to the dustbin!

24-01-2014, 09:52 AM
I heard Hutton on loan around Christmas time but the source wasn't exactly full proof so I dismissed it as slavering pub pish. Based on the snippets about Premiership clubs having an interest, I think it's safe to say it can be ruled out completely and confined to the dustbin!

That was on the football rumours website which is full of very good info .... NOT!

Gordy M
24-01-2014, 09:58 AM
The thing with hutton is that maybe he is looking to play somewhere for 6 months to put homself on the shop window, and get fit? When is is contract up?

LioNeilMessi
24-01-2014, 10:03 AM
Alan Hutton? I'll believe it when I see it

Sounds about as believable as Denis Suarez to the Yams.. :wink:

24-01-2014, 10:04 AM
Hutton? No danger!

24-01-2014, 10:08 AM
a completely nonsense rumour, is that all we're being treated to today?

'mon the Hibees - cheer us up with some good news

Inch Hibs
24-01-2014, 10:21 AM
Anyone heard anything about us being in for a former Motherwell striker playin down South just now?

Purehibee_MYB
24-01-2014, 10:23 AM
Sounds about as believable as Denis Suarez to the Yams.. :wink:

If Neil says it, it's true... :cb

nribs
24-01-2014, 10:24 AM
Anyone heard anything about us being in for a former Motherwell striker playin down South just now?
Jamie Murphy?

Purehibee_MYB
24-01-2014, 10:24 AM

We were in for Jamie Murphy but he picked up form and is now getting games for Sheffield Utd...

24-01-2014, 10:29 AM
Nice to see Rooney showing faith in his former manager.

Look at their crowds at present,they feel they are on the right track and some more quality signings will confirm that they probably are . A possible league cup to be won and they have every chance of winning it and second in league which if they pull it off will cement them in top three next season I think so why wouldn't he choose them .its a no brainier. We can't even be sure of top six ,are clearly struggling for cash to bring players in and crowds averaging 10 000 .we are aspiring to get to where they are ,but we are starting from a low base due to previous poor decisions made and we are paying a heavy price for that . we are confident Butcher will take us where we want to be but persuading more experienced players to come to us might not be as easy as we think at this early stage

andrew70
24-01-2014, 10:33 AM

David Clarkson?

nribs
24-01-2014, 10:34 AM
David Clarkson?

Good shout been rumoured before

Gustavo Fring
24-01-2014, 10:35 AM
to be honest id rather see cummings get a run in the team than pay a fortune to bring in rooney , if cummings doesnt cut it then strikers of rooneys quality or better will be available in the summer

that said iv got a feeling rooney is goin to start bangin in the goals for them , and if the yams make the final id be happy to see rooney crush their dreams of lifting the 'wee diddy' cup

24-01-2014, 10:36 AM
No idea who started Hutton chat but there hasn't been any contact at all for him.

Source, his agent!!

24-01-2014, 10:36 AM

I would be surprised by that! The bar has set a lot higher than I thought. Total quality if true!

24-01-2014, 10:39 AM
We were in for Jamie Murphy but he picked up form and is now getting games for Sheffield Utd...

Yep. He heard Hibs were interested in him, so he thought he better pick up his game, lol

24-01-2014, 10:41 AM

David Clarkson, 28, 4 goals for Bristol Rovers this season.

Chris Porter, 30, Sheff Utd but already been out on loan this season.

Jamie Murphy - just starting to find form at Sheff Utd.

There was a guy with an Eastern European surname that ended up at Middlesbrough - Lukas ??

24-01-2014, 10:43 AM

There was a guy with an Eastern European surname that ended up at Middlesbrough - Lukas ??

Lukas Jutkiewicz

24-01-2014, 10:46 AM
Lukas Jutkiewicz

he scored the 6th in the 6-6 game from what I remember............arrrgghh.... the painful memories of supporting hibs.....

24-01-2014, 10:51 AM
he scored the 6th in the 6-6 game from what I remember............arrrgghh.... the painful memories of supporting hibs.....

that was a strange night..... Nish got a hattrick!!

24-01-2014, 10:55 AM
It will be largely ignored because of what went on at the other end of the park later on, but Nish was absolutely outstanding that night......

Purehibee_MYB
24-01-2014, 10:55 AM

Not only did Nish get a hattrick but he got it in the first half IIRC...

24-01-2014, 10:57 AM
I would be surprised by that! The bar has set a lot higher than I thought. Total quality if true!
Maybe he fancies a short term challenge and butcher is man to keep international career alive so strangely this one could be a flier hence only one or two in if that level of quality.but like others will believe it when I hear it's official

Inch Hibs
24-01-2014, 11:04 AM
David Clarkson?

Yup :agree:

Inch Hibs
24-01-2014, 11:05 AM

Clarkson, wasn't sure if he'd been rumored before.

andrew70
24-01-2014, 11:12 AM
Yup :agree:

We've been rumoured to be interested before. Would Butcher have worked with him at Fir Park? Played well for Motherwell without doing so good down south but theres been plenty like that before him. Would hope we'll get 2 or 3 in before next Friday's deadline.

24-01-2014, 11:14 AM
Re Rooney. Hibs were offering a loan deal until summer, Aberdeen offered a permanent deal.

If you were him or Oldham (who wanted shot of him) which deal would you choose?

Have to wonder why we only offered loan deal though.

Inch Hibs
24-01-2014, 11:17 AM
We've been rumoured to be interested before. Would Butcher have worked with him at Fir Park? Played well for Motherwell without doing so good down south but theres been plenty like that before him. Would hope we'll get 2 or 3 in before next Friday's deadline.

Butcher gave him his debut and was the reason he got a Scotland call up when Burley was national boss. :agree:

Inch Hibs
24-01-2014, 11:18 AM
Re Rooney. Hibs were offering a loan deal until summer, Aberdeen offered a permanent deal.

If you were him or Oldham (who wanted shot of him) which deal would you choose?

Have to wonder why we only offered loan deal though.

Or if you where Rooney who would you choose?

I would guess that Butcher would want to assess any player for the next 6 months before assembling a squad next season. I'm happy with this, not just singing a player because he's available for the sake of it.

24-01-2014, 11:22 AM
Clarkson, wasn't sure if he'd been rumored before.
Yes he was but am sure he preferred Murphy but that is a non flier so we obviously are back looking at players further down the priority list .Keep an open mind on this one but not sure would want him on a permanent contract

Inch Hibs
24-01-2014, 11:25 AM
Yes he was but am sure he preferred Murphy but that is a non flier so we obviously are back looking at players further down the priority list .Keep an open mind on this one but not sure would want him on a permanent contract

It would obviously be a loan signing as Butcher has stated this is the market we are in until the summer :wink:

24-01-2014, 11:25 AM
David Clarkson?

Comes up every window. Jeremy Clarkson would score more than him.

Hibstrooper
24-01-2014, 11:35 AM
http://www.heraldscotland.com/sport/football/butcher-players-do-want-to-come-to-hibs.23259183

"We're quite a way down the road with one or two so hopefully we can get that over the line soon"

Sounds promising

24-01-2014, 11:53 AM
Comes up every window. Jeremy Clarkson would score more than him.

:agree: Indeed.

People have to bear in mind how utterly woeful Bristol Rovers are. You really have to be pants to get a game for them.

24-01-2014, 12:00 PM
:agree: Indeed.

People have to bear in mind how utterly woeful Bristol Rovers are. You really have to be pants to get a game for them.

I can't get a stirring smiley on my phone. I think one would be appropriate here.

Twa Cairpets
24-01-2014, 12:02 PM
Look at their crowds at present,they feel they are on the right track and some more quality signings will confirm that they probably are . A possible league cup to be won and they have every chance of winning it and second in league which if they pull it off will cement them in top three next season I think so why wouldn't he choose them .its a no brainier. We can't even be sure of top six ,are clearly struggling for cash to bring players in and crowds averaging 10 000 .we are aspiring to get to where they are ,but we are starting from a low base due to previous poor decisions made and we are paying a heavy price for that . we are confident Butcher will take us where we want to be but persuading more experienced players to come to us might not be as easy as we think at this early stage

And you base this on what? The throwaway comment on the Oldham website on Rooney? Aston villa would struggle for the cash to but, say Torres. Stenhousemuir would struggle for the cash to bring in Rowan Vine
We'll have a budget, Butcher will have known what this is when he joined.

As for aspiring to get where they are? Aye right. They're having a good season. Short-term one of us will be better than the other, and over the last few years there's been seasons where the Sheep would have loved to have been us. In the long term, we should and will, roughly be on a par.

24-01-2014, 12:04 PM
I can't get a stirring smiley on my phone. I think one would be appropriate here.

I'm not stirring in the slightest. Rovers are hopeless.

I seriously hope we never, ever look to them as a source of playing staff.

Unless, of course, it's an up and coming starlet, who no-one else has noticed yet...

24-01-2014, 12:12 PM

I heard Clarkson when Butcher first came - had him at Motherwell and apparently tried to get him a couple of times for ICT.

I mentioned Scott McDonald here (post #91) on this thread yesterday. It wasn't so much of a rumour just a suggestion of someone who 1. is the type of player (style and experience) that we need, 2. Terry and Maurice have first hand knowledge of what he is all about and 3. might be realistically available and open to a move.

Maybe we are looking at him. would rather see us get McDonald but Clarkson is the more likely former Motherwell striker in question.

Others it could be - Chris Porter maybe? Think the Jamie Murphy move has gone due to his form improving, unless he wants up the road.

24-01-2014, 12:16 PM

Deeks and Stokes also scored that night .
Spoiled for strikers back then . Up 6-2 and hung on for a draw . Only Hibs eh .

Inch Hibs
24-01-2014, 12:27 PM
Deeks and Stokes also scored that night .
Spoiled for strikers back then . Up 6-2 and hung on for a draw . Only Hibs eh .

Graeme Smith gave the worst goalkeeping display I've ever whitnessed - then saved a pen then they scored a complete belter.

Radge night!

Gustavo Fring
24-01-2014, 12:31 PM
Graeme Smith gave the worst goalkeeping display I've ever whitnessed - then saved a pen then they scored a complete belter.

Radge night!

puttin a jambo in goals for hibs was never gonna have a good outcome

24-01-2014, 12:48 PM
And you base this on what? The throwaway comment on the Oldham website on Rooney? Aston villa would struggle for the cash to but, say Torres. Stenhousemuir would struggle for the cash to bring in Rowan Vine
We'll have a budget, Butcher will have known what this is when he joined.

As for aspiring to get where they are? Aye right. They're having a good season. Short-term one of us will be better than the other, and over the last few years there's been seasons where the Sheep would have loved to have been us. In the long term, we should and will, roughly be on a par.

Ok I could of worded the phrase you have highlighted In Italics better ,ie we only have a limited budget this transfer window, the rest like it or not speaks for it's self for this season. I wasn't looking back the way , there no point ,we have both been poor apart from us getting to two cup finals in a row and putting them out on route ,but it's not something to shout from the rooftops about as far as I am concerned. You may be right about us being on a par with them in the future but all I was pointing out is that at present ,in the here and now and between now and end of the season they have stolen a March on us ,and if they keep investing and attracting the right players they could be hard to catch . That's my opinion,and threads are all about people voicing there opinions we don't have to agree.

Sanger
24-01-2014, 12:59 PM
Herad he was meeting Petrie this week.

24-01-2014, 01:03 PM
Herad he was meeting Petrie this week.

Is he due back money or something?

Sanger
24-01-2014, 01:05 PM
Is he due back money or something?

This not gospel but Hibs colleague at work who knows his family said he met Petrie on Monday. The guy is reliable and never previously spun a yarn

K-Zazu
24-01-2014, 01:07 PM

Radge night!

Yogi just shrugged his shoulders at the end and started laughing as if to say 'ah well, these things happen eh'.. Was really pissed off after that game.

24-01-2014, 01:09 PM
Yogi just shrugged his shoulders at the end and started laughing as if to say 'ah well, these things happen eh'.. Was really pissed off after that game.

It was the start of the end for him.

Only Hibs could almost lose a game where they'd been 6-2 in front.

24-01-2014, 01:10 PM
puttin a jambo in goals for hibs was never gonna have a good outcome

You obviously didn't see Tony Caig chuck the ball into the net not once but twice in the first 20 minutes against Dunfermline. :greengrin

24-01-2014, 01:10 PM
This not gospel but Hibs colleague at work who knows his family said he met Petrie on Monday. The guy is reliable and never previously spun a yarn

Who was meeting petrie?

Inch Hibs
24-01-2014, 01:12 PM

You obviously didn't see Tony Caig chuck the ball into the net not once but twice in the first 20 minutes against Dunfermline. :greengrin

Shhsh I forgot about that Scottish cup replay :brickwall:brickwall:brickwall

Sanger
24-01-2014, 01:14 PM
Who was meeting petrie?

Leigh!

rab1875
24-01-2014, 01:14 PM
Who was meeting petrie?

keep up

24-01-2014, 01:16 PM
Pace, Creativity, Goals - Sounds like 2 or 3 players needed; or Just one, in Sparky!

Would be too good to be true if he returned.

24-01-2014, 01:20 PM
jesus h ....can we stop it with the LG stuff.

24-01-2014, 01:21 PM

Thanks for that I did and had almost forgotten:grr:

woodyhfc4892
24-01-2014, 01:21 PM
Please please please can we stop with the griffiths returning stuff?! It's getting very boring and we all know he's not coming back anytime soon!

24-01-2014, 01:22 PM
I get the impression that the Jamie Murphy one isnt finished. IMO on a purely selfish basis it wouldnt be bad for us if they got papped out of the FA cup Sunday. At home to Fulham,

nribs
24-01-2014, 01:23 PM
Please please please can we stop with the griffiths returning stuff?! It's getting very boring and we all know he's not coming back anytime soon!Griffiths is coming back you say? Source? :)

Gustavo Fring
24-01-2014, 01:23 PM
griffiths will be 'coming back' every transfer window until the day he retires

WestEndHibee
24-01-2014, 01:25 PM
griffiths will be 'coming back' every transfer window until the day he retires

Source? :confused:

24-01-2014, 01:26 PM
Please please please can we stop with the griffiths returning stuff?! It's getting very boring and we all know he's not coming back anytime soon!

Do we know for sure tho?? Never say never. (It's not gonnae happen but we can live and dream)

He'll be heading west to the only club that can afford to pay the wages he wants!! Shame really.

O well next.

Twa Cairpets
24-01-2014, 01:31 PM
Ok I could of worded the phrase you have highlighted In Italics better ,ie we only have a limited budget this transfer window, the rest like it or not speaks for it's self for this season. I wasn't looking back the way , there no point ,we have both been poor apart from us getting to two cup finals in a row and putting them out on route ,but it's not something to shout from the rooftops about as far as I am concerned. You may be right about us being on a par with them in the future but all I was pointing out is that at present ,in the here and now and between now and end of the season they have stolen a March on us ,and if they keep investing and attracting the right players they could be hard to catch . That's my opinion,and threads are all about people voicing there opinions we don't have to agree.

1) Not in the future as in aspirational, in the future as in we as a club barring weird stuff like a Sheikh coming in, being roughly the same size with roughly the same resource we will be - over any meaningful time-frame of comparison - on average about as successful as they are.
2) "If they keep investing". OK they brought in a couple of decent frees and got a player who could have done a job. They seem to have got a good manager 6 months ahead of us, that's the only march they could claim to have stolen.

Its the short-term approach that you seem to worry about that kills football and is the enemy of any kind of longevity in planning. Should we have burst the bank to try to keep up with Hearts spending over the last 5-10 seasons when they "stole a march"?

Tom Hart RIP
24-01-2014, 01:41 PM
Hibs waiting to hear whether bid for unnamed player is accepted. Hope to hear this afternoon according to TB

24-01-2014, 01:44 PM
At least the Leigh rumours make for excitement.. :wink:

24-01-2014, 01:44 PM
Hibs waiting to hear whether bid for unnamed player is accepted. Hope to hear this afternoon according to TB

Thought TB said we werent buying players and just getting loans?

24-01-2014, 01:46 PM
Sheffield utd sign Stefan Scougall from Livi.

Tom Hart RIP
24-01-2014, 01:47 PM
I think TB said we wouldn't be paying fees for players and not that we wouldn't be signing anyone on permanent deal. Don't know if this offer is a loan or permanent deal but hopefully we will hear soon.

24-01-2014, 01:54 PM
At least the Leigh rumours make for excitement.. :wink:

I get wet.

Inch Hibs
24-01-2014, 01:54 PM
Sheffield utd sign Stefan Scougall from Livi.

Released a few years back from our youth side :rolleyes:

24-01-2014, 01:57 PM
Maybe leigh is doing a mo johnston...

highly doubt it though, not going to bother getting my hopes up.

Think we we will make the right signings. But the serious work will begin in the summer.

green.and.white
24-01-2014, 02:12 PM
According to the reliable source that is AgentScotland, Blackpool want Thomson, anyone else hear that? Probably the usual rubbish from him

24-01-2014, 02:24 PM

Got to assume that'll be for Vincent rather than getting him on a pre contract.

24-01-2014, 02:30 PM

http://img.pandawhale.com/post-32286-Daffy-Duck-jaw-drop-gif-bugs-b-QoMJ.gif

24-01-2014, 02:37 PM
Wonder if its a bid for transfer listed Danny Haynes

24-01-2014, 02:39 PM

http://stream1.gifsoup.com/view1/4392452/the-mask-jaw-drop-o.gif

WestEndHibee
24-01-2014, 02:40 PM

24-01-2014, 02:41 PM
http://stream1.gifsoup.com/view1/4392452/the-mask-jaw-drop-o.gif

http://cdn.overclock.net/a/a7/a7fedf1c_brian-griffin-jaw-drop-o.gif

24-01-2014, 02:45 PM
https://i.chzbgr.com/maxW500/7873458944/hBF1B0344/

24-01-2014, 02:54 PM
Not the hibs way in recent years to announce we have a bid in before it's over the line that in the past has been a way of trying to show we are doing something but bid then fails eg Lyle Taylor bids ..However lets wait and see how it shakes down

24-01-2014, 03:01 PM

Agree it's making us look desperate .:confused:

24-01-2014, 03:11 PM
https://i.chzbgr.com/maxW500/7873458944/hBF1B0344/

Ha ha , quality HR

24-01-2014, 03:20 PM

If only we had 150K :-)

24-01-2014, 03:22 PM
1) Not in the future as in aspirational, in the future as in we as a club barring weird stuff like a Sheikh coming in, being roughly the same size with roughly the same resource we will be - over any meaningful time-frame of comparison - on average about as successful as they are.
2) "If they keep investing". OK they brought in a couple of decent frees and got a player who could have done a job. They seem to have got a good manager 6 months ahead of us, that's the only march they could claim to have stolen.

Its the short-term approach that you seem to worry about that kills football and is the enemy of any kind of longevity in planning. Should we have burst the bank to try to keep up with Hearts spending over the last 5-10 seasons when they "stole a march"?

For the record am not and never have advocated spending money to keep up with hearts ,so don't know where you are getting that from They didn't steal a march ,they cheated end of ,and are now paying the price . You seem to be taking offence that I am of the view Aberdeen are currently in a better position than us and that may work to their advantage going into next season the way things are looking . I would be more than happy if next Christmas we are sitting second top and they are seventh. I am as fed up as the anyone with our piece meal patched up teams and agree Butcher has been brought in to possibly do something different.over next few years.. But whatever spin you put on it they are in a position I would like us to be in .so in that sense I have no problem with being aspirational :cheers:

Eternal Hibbie
24-01-2014, 03:25 PM

Maybe we are desperate. :(

24-01-2014, 03:32 PM
If only we had 150K :-)
That old chestnut ,we didn't crack it then and Nae point looking back we all know what could of been :agree:

24-01-2014, 03:38 PM
LG ain't coming back. Give it up desantos.

24-01-2014, 03:44 PM

http://rsmg.pbsrc.com/albums/v305/pathtosomewhere/GIFs/GIFS2/1393.gif~c200

24-01-2014, 03:45 PM
When would any player need to be signed for them to be eligable for Sunday, is it tonight or could we register them tomorrow?

Gustavo Fring
24-01-2014, 03:47 PM
When would any player need to be signed for them to be eligable for Sunday, is it tonight or could we register them tomorrow?

pretty sure it would be tonight

Gustavo Fring
24-01-2014, 03:50 PM
http://sport.stv.tv/football/clubs/hibernian/261636-terry-butcher-remaining-upbeat-despite-hibernian-transfer-disappointments/

24-01-2014, 03:54 PM
http://sport.stv.tv/football/clubs/hibernian/261636-terry-butcher-remaining-upbeat-despite-hibernian-transfer-disappointments/

Wonder who that player was?

green.and.white
24-01-2014, 03:55 PM

Falcao?

24-01-2014, 03:56 PM

Falcao.

24-01-2014, 03:56 PM
Falcao?

Great minds think alike.............at the same time!:greengrin

Hibstrooper
24-01-2014, 03:57 PM
Could we maybe ease up on the gifs and the quoting of gifs for the benefit of those accessing via mobiles? My 3G is slow as it is!

24-01-2014, 03:58 PM
Could we maybe ease up on the gifs and the quoting of gifs for the benefit of those accessing via mobiles? My 3G is slow as it is!

24-01-2014, 04:01 PM
Is there some sort of morality test players have to pass to come to Hibs?

How can our league opponents sign players:

- Faster
- With Less Money
- Still achieve as good or better league position?

Why is it always so hard to bring players to Hibs and require the manager and chairman to 'work tirelessly round the clock' regardless of who those managers are?

Hey Hibs, the other clubs don't have to work round the clock, you're doing something different to them.

24-01-2014, 04:04 PM

“If nothing happens before Sunday’s game then we’ll have players in next week, that’s for sure.”

He guarantees it!

24-01-2014, 04:18 PM
He guarantees it!

Yes and no doubt he will, but the question is how many knock backs have we had and why ,and how far down his list of targets is he and where is Petrie in all this . without facts , it just starts speculation . I think we all expected at least one signing by the Celtic game and now looks like that may not be the case .at all

Tom Hart RIP
24-01-2014, 04:18 PM
The player TB hopes to sign today is not the same player mentioned in the stv article. If the deal can be done in time the player would go into squad for Sunday. I think the timescales was 5pm so unless he has signed by now then he obviously wont. TB refused to even say what position but thought the deal was very close.

24-01-2014, 04:22 PM
how many knock backs have we had and why ,and how far down his list of targets is he and where is Petrie in all this

Why would you imagine you'd/expect to/want to hear all about that?

Twa Cairpets
24-01-2014, 04:22 PM
For the record am not and never have advocated spending money to keep up with hearts ,so don't know where you are getting that from They didn't steal a march ,they cheated end of ,and are now paying the price . You seem to be taking offence that I am of the view Aberdeen are currently in a better position than us and that may work to their advantage going into next season the way things are looking . I would be more than happy if next Christmas we are sitting second top and they are seventh. I am as fed up as the anyone with our piece meal patched up teams and agree Butcher has been brought in to possibly do something different.over next few years.. But whatever spin you put on it they are in a position I would like us to be in .so in that sense I have no problem with being aspirational :cheers:

You're just getting the end of my irritation of people peeing themselves because "oh look, other teams have signed players". Aye. So effing what? We either trust that Butcher came into this eyes open and knew what he wanted to do, or don't. I do. Therefore, the players we want either will or won't fall within our budget. Just because Aberdeen signed a player we wanted doesn't mean lack of ambition. It doesn't mean a sudden lack of funds that Butcher wasnt aware of. It just means that that particular player didn't, in the grand scheme of things, fit into the overall plan. We could maybe have paid Rooney £x'000, which would have reduced the overall budget TB has to work with in the summer.

I dont give a flying weasels turd what other teams are doing. Thats up to them. When we start pissing our britches because freaking Ross County have signed half a dozen journeymen and reserves people need to have have a word.

The Aberdeen thing is incredibly short term.

Gustavo Fring
24-01-2014, 04:28 PM
The player TB hopes to sign today is not the same player mentioned in the stv article. If the deal can be done in time the player would go into squad for Sunday. I think the timescales was 5pm so unless he has signed by now then he obviously wont. TB refused to even say what position but thought the deal was very close.

where/when did he say this ?

Sanger
24-01-2014, 04:34 PM

I am not saying he's coming back just he had a meeting with Petrie. That's from a family friend who I work with.

24-01-2014, 04:34 PM
Aberdeen have assembled a better team than us but as far as Rooney is concerned, if he is only interested in signing for the club paying the best wages then we are well shot of him.

24-01-2014, 04:39 PM
TB has confirmed we only wanted to sign Rooney on loan and both he and his agent weren't interested in that sort of deal. Rooney obviously took the best deal on the table.

Tom Hart RIP
24-01-2014, 04:40 PM
where/when did he say this ?

Today at press conference. Will be in papers tomorrow.

Inch Hibs
24-01-2014, 04:41 PM
Yes and no doubt he will, but the question is how many knock backs have we had and why ,and how far down his list of targets is he and where is Petrie in all this . without facts , it just starts speculation . I think we all expected at least one signing by the Celtic game and now looks like that may not be the case .at all

Change the record Ronald ffs.

Inch Hibs
24-01-2014, 04:42 PM
Aberdeen have assembled a better team than us but as far as Rooney is concerned, if he is only interested in signing for the club paying the best wages then we are well shot of him.

He was interested in signing for a team offering a perm contract hibs weren't one of them!

green.and.white
24-01-2014, 04:43 PM
Great minds think alike.............at the same time!:greengrin

Haha!

24-01-2014, 04:45 PM
Why would you imagine you'd/expect to/want to hear all about that?

Butcher likes his media briefings and as with Murphy was honest enough to come out and say he has started scoring again so deal doesn't look like happening in another couple of potential signings he said they are not likely to happen now as manager has gone so not looking for a lot of detail just basics ?I understand the Rooney situation as he explained we would of taken him on loan but not a permanent contract so precedents have been set and I like that

What I don't like hearing is a statement saying we hope to sign a player then that doesn't happen and we get no info but club have to come out and say it hasn't happened. makes me think it was never going to happen in first place and yes before everyone tells me I am wrong that's fine it's just a viewpoint if they hadn't told us there would of been no expectation.and it's. managing expectation which is causing frustration as can be seem from other posters

24-01-2014, 04:53 PM
[QUOTE=Ronniekirk;3881348]Look at their crowds at present,they feel they are on the right track and some more quality signings will confirm that they probably are .

Aberdeen's crowds at moment are about 1,300 on average higher than our gates. Their most recent home game, a derby after winning 7 out of previous 8 games attracted just over 12k. Their home game against St Mirren just before the holiday period brought in 9.3k, that's less than we had on Saturday against same opposition. That's not to knock Aberdeen, they've always had potential to attact decent crowds. Re their signings I would say the jury's mostly out. This board got a bit upset when they signed Greg Wylde, who they shipped out after half a season & Calvin Zola may even be worse than Akpo Sodje. Robson & Flood are short term signings & I'm really not at all concerned about Adam Rooney. McGinn has been by far their best signing but that was some time ago. We must stop putting Hibs managers under pressure for short term remedies. Lets look at where we & Aberdeen are a year from now & then if we're still trailing far behind it may be time to complain. For now lets support TB & the team.

24-01-2014, 04:57 PM
[waffle]
What I don't like hearing is a statement saying we........[weedwhacked]

Looks like tough titty for you then, eh?

Eternal Hibbie
24-01-2014, 04:59 PM

How many footballers would do differently in your opinion ? :confused:

24-01-2014, 05:06 PM
This us turning into the most frustrating window ever...fed up hearing we r close to getting 1 "over the line" and nada happens. Think I preferred the old way of say nothing till they r signed! I do trust TB but he has sounded like a broken record for 3 wks now re transfers

Sent from my GT-I9505 using Tapatalk

24-01-2014, 05:12 PM
Butcher on Hibs TV today made is crystal clear that we were interested in Rooney, but made no bid for him, as we were only interested in a loan deal. The way he talked made it clear that he didn't really consider he wanted Rooney for longer than this season...I took from it that he feels there will be better available than Rooney in the summer for us. Those suggesting that Aberdeen "outbid" us, should take a chill pill. I certainly get a sense that Butcher and co have a better view of what they are after than we have had in recent years....

24-01-2014, 05:25 PM
Aberdeen's crowds at moment are about 1,300 on average higher than our gates. Their most recent home game, a derby after winning 7 out of previous 8 games attracted just over 12k. Their home game against St Mirren just before the holiday period brought in 9.3k, that's less than we had on Saturday against same opposition. That's not to knock Aberdeen, they've always had potential to attact decent crowds. Re their signings I would say the jury's mostly out. This board got a bit upset when they signed Greg Wylde, who they shipped out after half a season & Calvin Zola may even be worse than Akpo Sodje. Robson & Flood are short term signings & I'm really not at all concerned about Adam Rooney. McGinn has been by far their best signing but that was some time ago. We must stop putting Hibs managers under pressure for short term remedies. Lets look at where we & Aberdeen are a year from now & then if we're still trailing far behind it may be time to complain. For now lets support TB & the team.[/QUOTE]

Like this post, agree :agree:

24-01-2014, 05:27 PM
This us turning into the most frustrating window ever...fed up hearing we r close to getting 1 "over the line" and nada happens. Think I preferred the old way of say nothing till they r signed! I do trust TB but he has sounded like a broken record for 3 wks now re transfers

I would prefer a frustrating window and get very little in than the previous busy windows where we have brought in every way and stray on the junk heap if it means we wait and get the right quality in the summer.

24-01-2014, 05:38 PM
Just been told SLG is en route home... To play for the hibees.

When the euromillions ends up in my pocket tonight

Inch Hibs
24-01-2014, 06:00 PM
Nae signing then :(

24-01-2014, 06:02 PM
Nae signing then :(

I hope so

shagpile
24-01-2014, 06:27 PM
[QUOTE=Ronniekirk;3881348]Look at their crowds at present,they feel they are on the right track and some more quality signings will confirm that they probably are .
Aberdeen's crowds at moment are about 1,300 on average higher than our gates. Their most recent home game, a derby after winning 7 out of previous 8 games attracted just over 12k. Their home game against St Mirren just before the holiday period brought in 9.3k, that's less than we had on Saturday against same opposition. That's not to knock Aberdeen, they've always had potential to attact decent crowds. Re their signings I would say the jury's mostly out. This board got a bit upset when they signed Greg Wylde, who they shipped out after half a season & Calvin Zola may even be worse than Akpo Sodje. Robson & Flood are short term signings & I'm really not at all concerned about Adam Rooney. McGinn has been by far their best signing but that was some time ago. We must stop putting Hibs managers under pressure for short term remedies. Lets look at where we & Aberdeen are a year from now & then if we're still trailing far behind it may be time to complain. For now lets support TB & the team.

Aberdeen need a helluva lot more than 12k crowds to make any sizeable dent into their spiralling debt. £15M as we speak. £1.4M loss last year with turnover down by nearly £800k. Wages at 67%.
They seem to be going with the same business model as hertz[unless they know something we don't?]& we know how that ends.
They may well hit two cup finals which will give them much needed income, but in reality will basically pay the interest on their debt/loans etc. It is a dangerous game they play. Be chuffed Hibs are not playing the game.

24-01-2014, 06:30 PM
A really boring and frustrating transfer window.

24-01-2014, 06:32 PM
Change the record Ronald ffs.
Point made record changed:dj:

24-01-2014, 07:44 PM
FFS can those folk who keep posting how slow we are in making signings and believing rubbish written in newspapers when TB has already explained the Rooney situation, understand that most of the bed wetting and speculation is being created by them.

Time, patience and a bit of trust in the manager eh?

24-01-2014, 07:47 PM
FFS can those folk who keep posting how slow we are in making signings and believing rubbish written in newspapers when TB has already explained the Rooney situation, understand that most of the bed wetting and speculation is being created by them.

This post is far too sensible!

24-01-2014, 07:55 PM

What did he say J?!

DownInAlbion
24-01-2014, 07:55 PM
http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=k9ZhSWOwLrg

I think he clears that one up quite nicely :cb

:tbgwa:

24-01-2014, 07:56 PM
What did he say J?!

He said, and I'm paraphrasing but his interview is on the STV sport site, that he offered Rooney a six month deal but Rooney's agent wasn't interested

Edit: Here's the link

24-01-2014, 07:57 PM

To be fair on supporters I feel it is just frustration at the lack of deals being finalised. We have known we need a right back and some pace in the team for years. With the contacts TB and Marsella have I think we had hoped there would be new faces by now.

Just a shame the targets haven't worked out so far.

24-01-2014, 07:57 PM

I don't think you can blame us for being sceptical about our activity in the transfer window. It's the same every transfer window and we always get left with the ****, the longer we go on with no signings the more likely I think we are likely to get the same again.

Maybe once butcher has a couple of successful transfer windows I'll relax a bit, till then I'll continue to worry we're making the same mistakes again.

24-01-2014, 07:59 PM
To be fair on supporters I feel it is just frustration at the lack of deals being finalised. We have known we need a right back and some pace in the team for years. With the contacts TB and Marsella have I think we had hoped there would be new faces by now.

I don't think you can blame us for being sceptical about our activity in the transfer window. It's the same every transfer window and we always get left with the ****, the longer we go on with no signings the more likely I think we are likely to get the same again.

Maybe once butcher has a couple of successful transfer windows I'll relax a bit, till then I'll continue to worry we're making the same mistakes again.

Guys, I understand the skepticism and the frustration and feel both myself. I meant that a lot of hysteria is posted on here and that simply adds to the frustration and skepticism!

24-01-2014, 07:59 PM

How is making the same mistakes?
By only wanting Rooney on a half season loan makes me think that he is long term planning, and not just taking anyone

24-01-2014, 08:02 PM
I personally find it quite refreshing that we are not panicking into making the usual wave of rash signings, these have generally consisted of below average permanent signings and loan players who have either not looked committed or/and have been no better than what we already have..

At the end of the month id be quite happy if we still haven't signed anyone, so long as it means we are biding our time and bringing in better quality in the long run

24-01-2014, 08:05 PM
How is making the same mistakes?
By only wanting Rooney on a half season loan makes me think that he is long term planning, and not just taking anyone

I don't really give a monkey's about Rooney.

I think we are probably down to plan d or plan e now and we are about to get to that stage we make panic signings again as we can't get our top targets.

Once we start getting our top targets in the first week of the window I'll start to have more faith in how we pursue our targets

24-01-2014, 08:08 PM
I personally find it quite refreshing that we are not panicking into making the usual wave of rash signings, these have generally consisted of below average permanent signings and loan players who have either not looked committed or/and have been no better than what we already have..

At the end of the month id be quite happy if we still haven't signed anyone, so long as it means we are biding our time and bringing in better quality in the long run

Panicked, rash signings generally come at the end of the window, not at the start.

24-01-2014, 08:10 PM

Think you make a very valid point there and next week when the signings are announced we will all feel less frustrated and can look forward to the rebuilding job in the summer.

24-01-2014, 08:12 PM
Guys, I understand the skepticism and the frustration and feel both myself. I meant that a lot of hysteria is posted on here and that simply adds to the frustration and skepticism!

Wasn't being skeptical was just expressing how some supporters are disappointed just now

EastCalderHibby
24-01-2014, 08:14 PM

Has tb not already stated that he wont be bringing in anyone who is no better than what we already have

24-01-2014, 08:15 PM
I don't really give a monkey's about Rooney.

I think we are probably down to plan d or plan e now and we are about to get to that stage we make panic signings again as we can't get our top targets.

Once we start getting our top targets in the first week of the window I'll start to have more faith in how we pursue our targets

Plan A was Jamie Murphy. Hardly Butcher's fault that he went on a scoring spree just as we showed some interest

24-01-2014, 08:15 PM
Panicked, rash signings generally come at the end of the window, not at the start.

Not really correct that though is it? Lots of clubs including ourselves have made crappy signings early in january, normally they are panic buys to get out of the brown stuff

Eternal Hibbie
24-01-2014, 08:17 PM
Has tb not already stated that he wont be bringing in anyone who is no better than what we already have

Yes, but doesn't every manager say the same thing ?

24-01-2014, 08:24 PM

Most recent comment on here would suggest that wouldn't be difficult.

24-01-2014, 08:26 PM
Wasn't being skeptical was just expressing how some supporters are disappointed just now

Sorry K, was answering in general rather than directly :aok:

24-01-2014, 08:31 PM
Sorry K, was answering in general rather than directly :aok:

No problem.

24-01-2014, 08:32 PM

yes he has and i really dont see the point of buying someone if he doesnt improve the team.Id rather we didnt get anyone than buy rubbish,we have had enough of that

24-01-2014, 08:38 PM
I know Butcher has explained the Rooney situation saying that we didn't get outbid as all we really did was enquire. However, he also mentioned earlier this week that a lot of the budget was used at the start of the season. With that in mind we were never going to get much in this month.

i don't think there is a great deal of bed wetting, it's just that the St Mirren result underlined how much we need bodies. Otherwise the rest of the season is going to be pretty miserable with us stuck in that no mans land area of the table.

24-01-2014, 08:46 PM

yes he has and i really dont see the point of buying someone if he doesnt improve the team.Id rather we didnt get anyone than buy rubbish,we have had enough of that

StarMan10
24-01-2014, 09:07 PM
Anyone know who the player that we were in for but he got injured in training was?

Gustavo Fring
24-01-2014, 09:08 PM
Anyone know who the player that we were in for but he got injured in training was?

alot of folk sayin falcao but i heard it was actually theo walcott

E10 Rifle
24-01-2014, 09:11 PM
Wonder what Matt Done's up to nowadays...he should maybe stand by the phone for when we reach plan W

24-01-2014, 09:21 PM
Rumour in pub today was Noel Hunt. Anyone hear that one?

24-01-2014, 09:22 PM
Close the thread, aye we would like to see new players come in but what is the rush ? Apart from top six and maybe just,it is not going to improve us greatly until next season, i would rather wait until the summer.

24-01-2014, 09:25 PM
I know Butcher has explained the Rooney situation saying that we didn't get outbid as all we really did was enquire. However, he also mentioned earlier this week that a lot of the budget was used at the start of the season. With that in mind we were never going to get much in this month.

i don't think there is a great deal of bed wetting, it's just that the St Mirren result underlined how much we need bodies. Otherwise the rest of the season is going to be pretty miserable with us stuck in that no mans land area of the table.

Is there not a chance that, unless we improve the team, we might not even be able to sustain the dubious 'no man's land area of the table' ?

24-01-2014, 09:36 PM
Is there not a chance that, unless we improve the team, we might not even be able to sustain the dubious 'no man's land area of the table' ?

Before we had that decent run of results at Christmas I thought there was a possibility we could get dragged in to something. With what we have I think we will pick up results here and there and things in the league will just peter out resulting in another wasted season. With a couple of additions there is a chance of catching St Jonstone.

Rumour in pub today was Noel Hunt. Anyone hear that one?

Close the thread, aye we would like to see new players come in but what is the rush ? Apart from top six and maybe just,it is not going to improve us greatly until next season, i would rather wait until the summer.

Yeah what's another season?

24-01-2014, 09:51 PM

:agree: Maybe we could wish our lives away till they get round to building a team capable of actually doing something. :rolleyes:

RedHibby
24-01-2014, 09:56 PM
IMHO I don't think he will get to sign anybody on a contract until he moves the wage thieves on. I also think that Butcher will be out of Easter Road toot suite if the board do not back him.

24-01-2014, 09:58 PM
I agree sick of this "lets just right off another season" chat...we r 4 points off top 6...get a couple o decent players in and lets gie it a go ffs

AngusHibby
24-01-2014, 10:04 PM
In Terry we trust. If there isn't a good enough player available, then I'm happy for us to have the same squad. Proper rebuild starts in summer, then we can start to get demanding.

RedHibby
24-01-2014, 10:07 PM
In Terry we trust. If there isn't a good enough player available, then I'm happy for us to have the same squad. Proper rebuild starts in summer, then we can start to get demanding.

Yes makes sense to me.

24-01-2014, 10:10 PM
IMHO I don't think he will get to sign anybody on a contract until he moves the wage thieves on. I also think that Butcher will be out of Easter Road toot suite if the board do not back him.

I really hate the term 'wage thieves'. OK Butcher has decided he doesn't want them but they have signed a contract which works both ways. If I was told by my employer that I was not wanted, I wouldn't be in a great hurry to move on if it was not to my advantage.

24-01-2014, 10:29 PM

Summer:rolleyes:

24-01-2014, 10:42 PM
If we are just going to wait till next season before attempting to compete then we might as well wait till next season till we go back?
All this wait till the summer nonsense is defeatist crap. It's time to start winning now.

Stax
24-01-2014, 10:46 PM
:tumble:
Summer:rolleyes:

24-01-2014, 11:16 PM
If we are just going to wait till next season before attempting to compete then we might as well wait till next season till we go back?
All this wait till the summer nonsense is defeatist crap. It's time to start winning now.

Agree with this. We need to start thinking about now. I agree the proper rebuild starts in the summer but we need to improve between now and then. We need to finish as high as we can in the league to get as much money in the bank as possible. People also need to see something on the pitch that is going to encourage them to buy a season ticket. Otherwise this summer rebuild we are all keen on can't be financed factoring in that we are already losing Hearts gate money next season.

Sadly we aren't going to get much in, I just hope that the one or two we do get really add something. Whoever comes in needs to be a player that goes right into the team and plays every week.

24-01-2014, 11:23 PM

Agree! Why should we have to wait yet again for a decent side if we can sign players now. Fans will just drift away and we are still in the Scottish cup ffs. I'm no bed wetter but gies a break, are there no available players out there who would improve us??

Sent from my iphone

24-01-2014, 11:34 PM

Has anyone said that we won't compete if we dont sign anyone ?
Maybe consider the bigger picture ?

24-01-2014, 11:37 PM

Is this season done with the squad we have?

Frank Moon
24-01-2014, 11:46 PM
Is this season done with the squad we have?

Yip. Not good enough, weak and vulnerable. False dawn with the results over Xmas

25-01-2014, 01:17 AM
Waw some of the comments on here are ridiculous. I believe we will still finish top 6 with this team. TB & MM have got the team scoring goals and bar last weekend things were looking alright. It was one extremely poor half hour guys calm down.

Wailing_Banshee
25-01-2014, 07:03 AM
Of course the other way to look at the lack of signings so far is that the players we are after are so good that they expect bigger clubs than Hibs to come after them, or they are just waiting to see if better offers come in, and will wait until the end of the window before deciding. Maybe its only the dross that are willing to sign for the first club that shows interest.

RedHibby
25-01-2014, 07:42 AM
I really hate the term 'wage thieves'. OK Butcher has decided he doesn't want them but they have signed a contract which works both ways. If I was told by my employer that I was not wanted, I wouldn't be in a great hurry to move on if it was not to my advantage.

Yes I agree a contract works both ways but if you do not perform at work 9 times out of 10 you will be sacked. There will not be a queue lining up to buy the players Butcher does not want because they were not performing when they were on the park.

Twa Cairpets
25-01-2014, 07:42 AM
The amount of dribbling, short-term idiocy on this thread is ridiculous. "ooooohhhh we must get someone in" "ooooh look at the other teams and they doing great" "oooohhhh we can't get anyone in" "oooh we're being outbid by other teams". Man-up and get a grip of yourselves FFS.

1) Butcher is trying to get the right type of player in for what he wants. The market is much smaller in winter than summer. DO you want us to just get someone for the sake of it?
2) The underlying assumption seems to be that no signings as of right now means nothing is being done by TB et al. Do you really think this is the case?

Does my nut.

Oh, and the reek of undercover yam fud on this thread is overpowering. At least I hope they are because if they're Hibbies they should away and seek some counselling for terminal dim-bulb syndrome.

25-01-2014, 08:05 AM
The amount of dribbling, short-term idiocy on this thread is ridiculous. "ooooohhhh we must get someone in" "ooooh look at the other teams and they doing great" "oooohhhh we can't get anyone in" "oooh we're being outbid by other teams". Man-up and get a grip of yourselves FFS. 1) Butcher is trying to get the right type of player in for what he wants. The market is much smaller in winter than summer. DO you want us to just get someone for the sake of it? 2) The underlying assumption seems to be that no signings as of right now means nothing is being done by TB et al. Do you really think this is the case? Does my nut. Oh, and the reek of undercover yam fud on this thread is overpowering. At least I hope they are because if they're Hibbies they should away and seek some counselling for terminal dim-bulb syndrome.

Well said. Top Marks. TC

And I also agreed about there being a few undercover roasters on this thread.

Gordy M
25-01-2014, 08:10 AM
The amount of dribbling, short-term idiocy on this thread is ridiculous. "ooooohhhh we must get someone in" "ooooh look at the other teams and they doing great" "oooohhhh we can't get anyone in" "oooh we're being outbid by other teams". Man-up and get a grip of yourselves FFS.

1) Butcher is trying to get the right type of player in for what he wants. The market is much smaller in winter than summer. DO you want us to just get someone for the sake of it?
2) The underlying assumption seems to be that no signings as of right now means nothing is being done by TB et al. Do you really think this is the case?

Does my nut.

Oh, and the reek of undercover yam fud on this thread is overpowering. At least I hope they are because if they're Hibbies they should away and seek some counselling for terminal dim-bulb syndrome.

Absolutely spot on. When rooney was mentioned earlier in the window folk on here werent that bothered about us signing him. As soon as he is off to aberdeen folk start getting upset.

As soon as we are linked with anyone folk are on here telling us how they are no good, then as soon as they sign for another team, we have missed out!? Its like children always wanting what the other kids have!!

I trust tb to make the right signings. Its clear that tb only rated rooney for a loan and then see what happened in the summer, im fine with that, he didnt exactly set the heather on fire down south. maybe tb has another signing in the pipeline who is better than rooney? Folk need to calm down a bit, at least until the window is over!!?

25-01-2014, 08:33 AM

Does my nut.

I wondered what the aroma was on here this morning!

McKenzie
25-01-2014, 08:35 AM
I see on sky sports paper talk that Swansea are prepared to battle Celtic for Sparky...that would be a great move for the wee man.

25-01-2014, 08:37 AM
I see on sky sports paper talk that Swansea are prepared to battle Celtic for Sparky...that would be a great move for the wee man.

I think going to Swansea would improve him as a player however it would mean he's even further away from his family.... Which I think maybe the deciding factor.

I hope I am wrong but I think LG would jump at the chance to move closer to his family.

25-01-2014, 08:46 AM
I think going to Swansea would improve him as a player however it would mean he's even further away from his family.... Which I think maybe the deciding factor.

I hope I am wrong but I think LG would jump at the chance to move closer to his family.

If true, hope he makes the right choice.

I am sure that Deeks was offered a deal from Cardiff, when they were a Championship side, but turned it down. He later made the poor decision to move to Celtic. If Deeks had his time again, I wonder if he would have made the same decisions.

25-01-2014, 08:49 AM

A serious lack of ambition if true. South Wales to Edinburgh - 4 hour journey door to door by train perhaps

25-01-2014, 08:50 AM
If true, hope he makes the right choice. I am sure that Deeks was offered a deal from Cardiff, when they were a Championship side, but turned it down. He later made the poor decision to move to Celtic. If Deeks had his time again, I wonder if he would have made the same decisions.

The calibre of players at Swansea is far superior as is the manager. However if he wants to be closer to his family there is only going to be one winner. You cannot criticise him for that.

Inch Hibs
25-01-2014, 08:57 AM
Why would Swansea want Leigh? Mental rumour.

25-01-2014, 08:58 AM
Seems TB isn't the only one frustrated at efforts to get the right players

http://www.bbc.co.uk/sport/0/football/25885550

Also, it seems LG ain't Glasgow bound after all

25-01-2014, 09:03 AM

Why wouldn't they? Maybe this is exactly what he needs. Cannot see it myself as I have said too far away from his family.

Inch Hibs
25-01-2014, 09:05 AM
Why wouldn't they? Maybe this is exactly what he needs. Cannot see it myself as I have said too far away from his family.

He's not in the first team at wolves in league one, can't see a premiership side fancying him with all the resources they have.

25-01-2014, 09:06 AM
He's not in the first team at wolves in league one, can't see a premiership side fancying him with all the resources they have.

He's their top scorer but from what I've read has had a falling out with Jackett. Never say never eh!!

Fwiw if it becomes a choice there will only be one winner and that'll be the lesser greens along the road.

Inch Hibs
25-01-2014, 09:14 AM
He's their top scorer but from what I've read has had a falling out with Jackett. Never say never eh!!

Fwiw if it becomes a choice there will only be one winner and that'll be the lesser greens along the road.
Fair play I just can't see Leigh being the replacement for Michu.

And definitely. I'm still lingering hope he will be back on loan here till the summer.

25-01-2014, 09:15 AM

Does my nut.

Well said.

25-01-2014, 09:28 AM

Does my nut.

Come on we all know score. We dont do business till the last moment so RP can save on wages

Sanger
25-01-2014, 09:31 AM
Fair play I just can't see Leigh being the replacement for Michu.

And definitely. I'm still lingering hope he will be back on loan here till the summer.

Maybe the loan deal he was discussing with Petrie. Makes sense - feels at home, bashes in a few goals and becomes more marketable for Wolves to sell on.

25-01-2014, 09:40 AM
Come on we all know score. We dont do business till the last moment so RP can save on wages

FACT! :agree:

Inch Hibs
25-01-2014, 09:52 AM
Maybe the loan deal he was discussing with Petrie. Makes sense - feels at home, bashes in a few goals and becomes more marketable for Wolves to sell on.

That's what I was thinking too mate.

25-01-2014, 09:55 AM

Does my nut.

Spot on the smell of Yam fuddery is overpowering, why can't they just concentrate on saving their own club from the cludgie? :tbgwa:

Inch Hibs
25-01-2014, 10:01 AM
Spot on the smell of Yam fuddery is overpowering, why can't they just concentrate on saving their own club from the cludgie? :tbgwa:

Why does everyone have to be a Jambo if you have a difference of opinion? Paranoia central.

cam75
25-01-2014, 10:04 AM

Does my nut.

Well said,TB has a good record with lower league players don't think that will stop now he is at hibs,if not now then summer but hope we can get 2 in b4 end off January !!!

25-01-2014, 10:11 AM

No sweat, Leigh would soon have a family in Swansea!! :wink:

25-01-2014, 10:17 AM
No sweat, Leigh would soon have a family in Swansea!! :wink:

Indeed he would. He just needs to look at a lassie and she gets Keith cheggars. ;-)

25-01-2014, 10:24 AM
That's what I was thinking too mate.

You all need to lay of the pop. LG IS NOT COMING BACK TO HIBS.

jakeshibs
25-01-2014, 10:25 AM

Does my nut.

well said !

25-01-2014, 10:25 AM
Has anyone stopped to consider if any of the players signed by other clubs already are players that we would have wanted? Rooney was on the radar but as a loan to fill a gap for 6 months not as a permanent first team addition. Eremenko going to killie would be the only transfer I've seen this window that I would be envious of.

As transfers get completed higher up the food chain towards the end of the window more players are likely to become available and with butcher and Marsellas contacts in the game I can't see us not getting a couple of players in next week

Inch Hibs
25-01-2014, 10:30 AM
You all need to lay of the pop. LG IS NOT COMING BACK TO HIBS.

Never say never.

Tom Hart RIP
25-01-2014, 10:34 AM
http://www.theedinburghreporter.co.uk/2014/01/terry-butcher-sets-record-straight-over-adam-rooney-deal/ (http://www.theedinburghreporter.co.uk/2014/01/terry-butcher-sets-record-straight-over-adam-rooney-deal/)
Terry Butcher says that he is looking at a pre contract signing but refused to name player or position.
He also said he was close to finalising a deal to bring someone to the club before tomorrow but it was out of our hands.
When asked about talks to extend contracts of players already here he said that he won’t be doing so for some time as the players will have to perform well to be offered a new deal at Easter Road.
He wouldn’t be drawn on whether any of the players who are no longer in his plans will leave the club at the end of January or whether they will see out their contract at Hibs.

Twa Cairpets
25-01-2014, 10:38 AM
Why does everyone have to be a Jambo if you have a difference of opinion? Paranoia central.

Didnt say it was you.
Didn't say it was everyone.
But there is an unmistakable air of the deluded and jealous amongst those who are staining themselves a la Foulkes

25-01-2014, 11:04 AM
Didnt say it was you.
But there is an unmistakable air of the deluded and jealous amongst those who are staining themselves a la Foulkes

Opinions Eh, it's a sad day when folk on here want the team improved in the transfer window and you get called a yam !.

25-01-2014, 11:16 AM
Seems TB isn't the only one frustrated at efforts to get the right players

http://www.bbc.co.uk/sport/0/football/25885550

Also, it seems LG ain't Glasgow bound after all

Hes already spent over £2m this window and brought in two players to a squad thats huge given that they arent in Europe, so I find it strange hes after more players.

Inch Hibs
25-01-2014, 11:21 AM
Didnt say it was you.

I never said you said me bud, and it wasn't a personal dig at you either mate it just get thrown about here all the time.

Inch Hibs
25-01-2014, 11:22 AM
http://www.theedinburghreporter.co.uk/2014/01/terry-butcher-sets-record-straight-over-adam-rooney-deal/ (http://www.theedinburghreporter.co.uk/2014/01/terry-butcher-sets-record-straight-over-adam-rooney-deal/)
Terry Butcher says that he is looking at a pre contract signing but refused to name player or position.
He also said he was close to finalising a deal to bring someone to the club before tomorrow but it was out of our hands.
When asked about talks to extend contracts of players already here he said that he won’t be doing so for some time as the players will have to perform well to be offered a new deal at Easter Road.
He wouldn’t be drawn on whether any of the players who are no longer in his plans will leave the club at the end of January or whether they will see out their contract at Hibs.

James Vincent.

25-01-2014, 11:23 AM
I never said you said me bud, and it wasn't a personal dig at you either mate it just get thrown about here all the time.

Always has done and always will do tbh.

25-01-2014, 11:27 AM
I think a lot of us are making the terminal mistake of expecting TB to act like every other manager in our recent history. Things we need to take on board are:

1. TB has put his reputation on the line, he will leave no stone unturned in improving Hibs.
2. The quicker the doors spin at Easter Road getting players in is not directly proportional to the quality on the park.
3. TB is building a team, not shoring up a squad. His moves will be well considered and deliberate. Although that is not to say they will all be 100% correct, he will take a punt to try and unearth a few gems.
4. We will be more competitive regardless of who comes in, TB will not tolerate our players being out-fought or out-thought, he is the part of the best management team in the SPFL.
5. Although he would not publicly say this, TB has his sights set on 1st position on the SPFL, forget 2nd place he could achieve that at ICT. TB know Hibs have the infrastructure to challenge for top honors and one good season, would give him the budget to make us continually competitive at the top of the table (otherwise his move to Hibs makes no sense).
6. TB will not be peddling the 'building for next season rubbish', he is about buiding for the next game, blooding the youngsters and building a team (not just a group of highly paid individuals).
7. There will be no prisoners, he will not be hostage to fortune of any squad players, underlined by the fact he left empty spaces on his bench.

TheBruce
25-01-2014, 11:30 AM
This thread needs deleted and started again for transfers! Then a second thread started for all the fan dans to argue on !!!

eggbamyasi
25-01-2014, 11:32 AM
TERRY Butcher has reacted strongly to comments made by new Aberdeen signing Adam Rooney that appeared to suggest the striker had rejected the chance to work with his former manager again.

“Absolute b*llocks, if you’ll excuse my French,” was the Hibernian manager’s take on things yesterday, as he arrived to preview this weekend’s match with champions Celtic.

In the scotsman today . Article much longer . Just copied first section .

I for one think we have got a good enough squad to finish in top six this season and agree with the posts about people panicing as total nonsense . Chill out please . The summer is when butcher will get who he wants . Most of these players that ross county have got and the other teams imo are panic buying will be good for feb but I bet come march / april only 1/2 of all these signings / loans will actually be any good . Also this omg we couldnt out bid aberdeen rubbish is exactly that ! If TB though rooney was good enough he would have offered him a deal not asked about a loan .trust in terry . I certainly do over derek mcInnes judgement .

Twa Cairpets
25-01-2014, 12:02 PM
Opinions Eh, it's a sad day when folk on here want the team improved in the transfer window and you get called a yam !.

Good selective understanding there chum.

All Hibs fans want the squad to be continuously improved. I don't see a single suggestion of anyone saying otherwise. What is ridiculous is the level of incontinent hand-wringing amongst some posters that it hasn't happened yet this window, or that it may not at all until the summer.

Right now I've a lot of faith in TB. I think most Hibs fans do. It seems odd that many posters on here don't have that same faith.

25-01-2014, 12:12 PM

All Hibs fans want the squad to be continuously improved. I don't see a single suggestion of anyone saying otherwise. What is ridiculous is the level of incontinent hand-wringing amongst some posters that it hasn't happened yet this window, or that it may not at all until the summer.

Right now I've a lot of faith in TB. I think most Hibs fans do. It seems odd that many posters on here don't have that same faith.

Absolutely right, some posters on here having a bit of a dig at Butcher saying (hoping) he would not want to stay if no transfer business done this window, which seems a Yammish tactic to start undermining the new management team.......

25-01-2014, 12:19 PM

To sign him for the future and loan him to us for rest of season.:thumbsup:

25-01-2014, 12:22 PM

Now there is a plan and a very good one at that.

Leishy1995
25-01-2014, 12:32 PM
Leigh's been told he's out of favour at wolves as they want to play a lone striker who's big and strong. Source, family member.

25-01-2014, 12:36 PM

My feeling too! TM did very little during transfer windows - we were all good with that! And, I trust TB to be equally diligent to ensure the right signing!

25-01-2014, 12:37 PM
Leigh's been told he's out of favour at wolves as they want to play a lone striker who's big and strong. Source, family member.

Thought you said a few weeks ago that leigh was away to celtic for 1.25mil and it was a "done deal" ???

Leishy1995
25-01-2014, 12:41 PM
Thought you said a few weeks ago that leigh was away to celtic for 1.25mil and it was a "done deal" ???

Same person told me this. I'm still sure he's heading to Celtic though. As much as I hope it falls through and it wasn't quite done

Inch Hibs
25-01-2014, 01:09 PM

Did I mention my love of Swansea and hate of Cardiff? :greengrin

147lothian
25-01-2014, 01:17 PM
Probably the best thing LG going there, because, once he falls out of favour, I can see him wanting away and it's the only chance we have of him returning to Easter Road, just have to accept it, so i'll not boo him when he turns out against us

25-01-2014, 01:19 PM
LG in a Wolverhampton paper today saying he feels he's outgrown Hibs and needs to join a team like Celtic to fulfil his footballing ambitions.

25-01-2014, 01:27 PM
LG in a Wolverhampton paper today saying he feels he's outgrown Hibs and needs to join a team like Celtic to fulfil his footballing ambitions.

:(

25-01-2014, 01:30 PM

25-01-2014, 02:24 PM

He's on the bench today

Purehibee_MYB
25-01-2014, 02:51 PM

Like a dagger through my heart...

25-01-2014, 02:53 PM

Hope that is just the papers twisting things and not his actual words!! :boo hoo:

25-01-2014, 02:56 PM
Speedway seems to be reeling them in.

25-01-2014, 02:58 PM
Speedway seems to be reeling them in.

Your just hoping there is a totsy wee chance that he could.... Well you know. ;-)

PS don't deny it either!!!