View Full Version : Greggs Transfers - Watmore, Haynes & Boateng IN - NO More Pics/Videos On This Thread Please
Pages :
[
3]
nribs
22-01-2014, 11:03 AM
[QUOTE=Hibbibri;3879151]Just heard that there are 3 unknown players with their agents at East Mains today :agree:[/QU
Must have been a surprise to TB then :greengrin
22-01-2014, 11:05 AM
Just heard that there are 3 unknown players with their agents at East Mains today :agree:
Typical Petrie, unknown, so he can leave the shirts blank on the back and save money!
Hibbibri
22-01-2014, 11:06 AM
[QUOTE=Hibbibri;3879151]Just heard that there are 3 unknown players with their agents at East Mains today :agree:[/QU
Must have been a surprise to TB then :greengrin
cunny funt....LOL though I suppose I lined myself up for that one :na na:
I meant the lad who told me didn't recognise any of the players :aok:
Gustavo Fring
22-01-2014, 11:10 AM
[QUOTE=nribs;3879160]
cunny funt....LOL though I suppose I lined myself up for that one :na na:
I meant the lad who told me didn't recognise any of the players :aok:
hopefully we'll find out who they are this afternoon
22-01-2014, 11:31 AM
I take it Callum Booth has no future at the club otherwise we would cancel his loan deal, left back problem solved.
Can't be recalled.
Dr Jimmy
22-01-2014, 11:33 AM
It's fine if we don't get Rooney, we need pace. A player like Adam Campbell who St Mirren go on loan from Newcastle is the sort of player we need IMO
Judging by Saturday's performance he has a decent pair of hands as well.........:brickwall
Gustavo Fring
22-01-2014, 11:42 AM
apparently St Johnstone are interested in taking over Hibs duo Kevin Thomson & Rowan Vine's contract, Thomson wants a bigger club at the moment
22-01-2014, 11:45 AM
3 new signings :thumbsup:
http://www.hibernianfc.co.uk/news/20140122/ladies-gearing-up-for-new-season_2262950_3632544
Leishy1995
22-01-2014, 11:46 AM
apparently St Johnstone are interested in taking over Hibs duo Kevin Thomson & Rowan Vine's contract, Thomson wants a bigger club at the moment
Is it just waiting to be rubber stamped?
22-01-2014, 11:47 AM
http://www.hibernianfc.co.uk/news/20140122/ladies-gearing-up-for-new-season_2262950_3632544
-.-
Gustavo Fring
22-01-2014, 11:51 AM
Is it just waiting to be rubber stamped?
think theyre just thrashing out how much we have to pay st johnstone to take vine back :cb
22-01-2014, 11:53 AM
I would ban you for that!
Hibs History
22-01-2014, 12:05 PM
Kieran Agard (ex Killie) being heavily rumoured on that fantastic source of information Facebook.....
22-01-2014, 12:09 PM
Bassa!
green.and.white
22-01-2014, 12:58 PM
Butcher on SSN there saying he hopes to get at least one in before Sunday, he is daein his best
22-01-2014, 02:21 PM
Jason Scotland signs for Hamilton: -
http://www.bbc.co.uk/sport/0/football/25848565
22-01-2014, 02:28 PM
Why do we always get outbid by smaller teams?
22-01-2014, 02:34 PM
Good signing for them.
22-01-2014, 02:39 PM
Just spoke to a Rotherham fan about Agard and reckoned he'd do well. Fast, stays in the game for the full 90 but reckons he's a bit of a big time Charlie.
22-01-2014, 02:42 PM
We weren't in for him.
22-01-2014, 02:49 PM
Just spoke to a Rotherham fan about Agard and reckoned he'd do well. Fast, stays in the game for the full 90 but reckons he's a bit of a big time Charlie.
I thought he looked good when he was at Killie.
22-01-2014, 02:49 PM
22-01-2014, 02:55 PM
Tom Hateley is off to sign for some Polish outfit.
WestEndHibee
22-01-2014, 03:40 PM
Mainly because their chairman doesn't waste all their transfer income on a stadium and a training ground...
22-01-2014, 03:43 PM
We weren't in for him.
Whoosh moment Rodney?
22-01-2014, 03:53 PM
Mainly because their chairman doesn't waste all their transfer income on a stadium and a training ground...
If you honestly believe that I feel genuinely sorry for you :cb
Inch Hibs
22-01-2014, 04:13 PM
http://m.bbc.co.uk/sport/football/25849959
22-01-2014, 04:23 PM
Straight from Hertz Rumours website:
I llook forward to seeing Rudi smashing in 30 odd goals next season. Bruno & Driver might be back as well. happy days indeed.
Bolts got a deal down south Ryan abroad and Wilson has a get out clause which he has enforced can't blame him really
The FOH want Craig levein as the next manager, fact.
Surprising that it is so quiet on their website. I would have thought it would have been full of world class stars.
Up The Bracket
22-01-2014, 04:44 PM
http://m.bbc.co.uk/sport/football/25849959
Gutted to see us being outbid by another club yet again.
Petrie has to walk now, surely
Straight from Hertz Rumours website: Surprising that it is so quiet on their website. I would have thought it would have been full of world class stars.
Deluded deluded roasters. Believing their own hype.
Inch Hibs
22-01-2014, 04:49 PM
Gutted to see us being outbid by another club yet again.
Petrie has to walk now, surely
:)
WestEndHibee
22-01-2014, 04:51 PM
If you honestly believe that I feel genuinely sorry for you :cb
Yeh I don't believe it (I'm actually a big fan of Petrie's investments) but you can feel sorry for me on the lack of bites :greengrin :fishin:.
22-01-2014, 07:16 PM
A fair few posting that we need experienced players brought in and I can understand why. We should bear in mind however that TB, through Marsella recommendations, brought some bloody good players to Inverness who wouldn't fall into that category. A couple of those are being named now as players we'd like to see at ER.
I guess what I'm trying to say, in a roundabout way, is if we sign a couple of players who don't have lots of experience we need to see what they can do before posting 'really disappointed' 'who's he' 'nae experience' type comments :wink:
22-01-2014, 07:23 PM
A fair few posting that we need experienced players brought in and I can understand why. We should bear in mind however that TB, through Marsella recommendations, brought some bloody good players to Inverness who wouldn't fall into that category. A couple of those are being named now as players we'd like to see at ER.
I guess what I'm trying to say, in a roundabout way, is if we sign a couple of players who don't have lots of experience we need to see what they can do before posting 'really disappointed' 'who's he' 'nae experience' type comments :wink:
It'll be absolute carnage on here when we sign our first player from the English conference or such like. Guaranteed to be written off within 5 minutes.
22-01-2014, 07:24 PM
It'll be absolute carnage on here when we sign our first player from the English conference or such like. Guaranteed to be written off within 5 minutes.
That's a worry and why we may never get the chance to build like Inverness or others have been able to.
22-01-2014, 07:25 PM
That's a worry and why we may never get the chance to build like Inverness or others have been able to.
I hope you're wrong but I hae ma doots
A fair few posting that we need experienced players brought in and I can understand why. We should bear in mind however that TB, through Marsella recommendations, brought some bloody good players to Inverness who wouldn't fall into that category. A couple of those are being named now as players we'd like to see at ER. I guess what I'm trying to say, in a roundabout way, is if we sign a couple of players who don't have lots of experience we need to see what they can do before posting 'really disappointed' 'who's he' 'nae experience' type comments :wink:
JB Regardless who we sign, there are folk on here that will see the negative side without giving them a chance....
Too young, too old, not fast enough, can't score, can't pass and the list goes on.
It'll never change
22-01-2014, 07:35 PM
I trust TB to build a team/squad and we will be punching our weight under him (hopefully already next season). I hope others have patience and trust him too.
Will be back for a few games soon, to cheer on butchers boys
22-01-2014, 07:57 PM
Well we just need to be patient .We got the Management Team we wanted so just need to go with it Petrie will back what T B wants to do . I don't think he will complain too Mutch in this window as he seems to be hinting he is planning for real change in the summer .Was Rooney a target for us , I have no idea .Murphy was. But it's clear why we count get him and he isn't going to Aberdeen so it doesn't matter really what's posted here ias big tell needs time so no point getting on his back .at this point .
22-01-2014, 07:59 PM
Whoosh moment Rodney?
Dunno I never read the previous posts :D
22-01-2014, 08:02 PM
Martin Tyler just said Mata having a medical at Man Utd tomorrow.
I think the fact most of us were delighted Terry was able to bring MM & Marsella with him shows most of us knew what to expect signings wise. As a team they've proven they can spot and nurture / coach talent and I don't doubt they'll do the same here. Happy to trust their judgement, more likely in the summer than this window though.
Inch Hibs
22-01-2014, 08:08 PM
Lee Wallace is on his way to West Ham in the next few days apparently.
Martin Tyler just said Mata having a medical at Man Utd tomorrow.
Will be an excellent signing.
22-01-2014, 08:15 PM
Will be an excellent signing.
40M SSN said earlier, seems excessive?
Chelsea paid just over 23 million for him in 2011. Scored 20 goals last season. He's only 25. Think it would be a very good piece of business even at 40 million.
22-01-2014, 08:20 PM
Chelsea paid just over 23 million for him in 2011. Scored 20 goals last season. He's only 25. Think it would be a very good piece of business even at 40 million.
Suppose, the games gone mental
Indeed just look at what they paid for Fellani and he's been *****
22-01-2014, 08:24 PM
I don't think so - signed for £23.5M a couple of years ago, and has been player of the year in the two full seasons he was there, as well as winning the Champions League and UEFA Cup, not to mention the World Cup and European Championship with Spain. Has scored 34 goals in 116 starts for Chelsea, and has 32 caps and 9 goals for a great Spain team - only 25 as well.
He is exactly the kind of player Utd need right now. BBC quoting £37M and I think that will be great business for Man Utd, especially in Jan. Mind you, they're only getting him as they're out of title contention and still to play all of Chelsea's title rivals again.
22-01-2014, 08:31 PM
You could buy every team in scotland with that amount of money
Barring Smellic probably.
22-01-2014, 09:37 PM
I think the fact most of us were delighted Terry was able to bring MM & Marsella with him shows most of us knew what to expect signings wise. As a team they've proven they can spot and nurture / coach talent and I don't doubt they'll do the same here. Happy to trust their judgement, more likely in the summer than this window though.
All we need to do now is to persuade the 'complainers' :greengrin
22-01-2014, 09:45 PM
All we need to do now is to persuade the 'complainers' :greengrin
Please don't expect me to even attempt to hold my breath, John.
The reaction from some to the St Mirren game was enough to convince me AGAIN that the boo-boys at ER are a major part of our problem.
22-01-2014, 09:53 PM
Aberdeen hoping to sign Adam Rooney and St Johnstone hope to add two very soon according to the BBC , how is it we always seem to be ahint the coos erse in in getting players in when we need them. Why are we not in the running for the likes of Rooney ?.
Manxhibs
22-01-2014, 09:57 PM
In Terry we trust
22-01-2014, 09:59 PM
Aberdeen hoping to sign Adam Rooney and St Johnstone hope to add two very soon according to the BBC , how is it we always seem to be ahint the coos erse in in getting players in when we need them. Why are we not in the running for the likes of Rooney ?.
But the two clubs you have mentioned are "hoping" just like we are hoping so there is no difference.
I predict a signing on Friday.
nribs
22-01-2014, 10:05 PM
But the two clubs you have mentioned are "hoping" just like we are hoping so there is no difference.
Can you predict what position this predicted player may play :)
22-01-2014, 10:12 PM
Maybe TB doesn't want him?
22-01-2014, 10:14 PM
I'd rather we waited and got the right players than panic and bring in *****. Fully trust the management team. But would be good to get one big player in now
22-01-2014, 10:30 PM
The reaction from some to the St Mirren game was enough to convince me AGAIN that the boo-boys at ER are a major part of our problem.
What do you expect when we go 3 down at home in the space of 30 minutes, the lads in section 43 tried there best to keep the atmosphere going but once again the fans are being blamed for another pish poor performance by the the 11 on the pitch, they are the major problem at ER.
Signed
The Complainer :greengrin
22-01-2014, 10:36 PM
I'd rather we waited and got the right players than panic and bring in *****. Fully trust the management team. But would be good to get one big player in now
Suppose we can't have it all ways .if we trust him to bring the right players in and know there isn't a lot of cash to splash unless the Outsiders are assisted to move ,then we really are going to have to be patient He seemed confident he would have one over the line for the weekend so if nothing happened by Monday we can start to think of having a wee panic then
22-01-2014, 10:40 PM
I predict a riot on here if it doesn't happen. :greengrin
22-01-2014, 10:40 PM
Can you predict what position this predicted player may play :)
striker
22-01-2014, 10:41 PM
striker
I'm going for player who can play left wing or striker.
majorhibs
22-01-2014, 11:01 PM
Was it no from you a few months ago that it would never get better at E.R. under the current board, regardless of managers, now it's the fans? This "boo boys" pantomime villainy is tiresome. Which "part of our problem" are you going to favour next week?
22-01-2014, 11:35 PM
I'm going for player who can play left wing or striker.
I think we will borrow a defender for a month :agree:
23-01-2014, 01:27 AM
Any ideas who:wink:
Tom Hart RIP
23-01-2014, 04:59 AM
TB says Adam Rooney looking for permanent move and will cost money. We are looking at loans
23-01-2014, 05:42 AM
I predict a riot on here if it doesn't happen. :greengrin
I predict a riot if it does :cb
23-01-2014, 06:07 AM
Not sure that is allowed in the top flight.
23-01-2014, 06:19 AM
Was it no from you a few months ago that it would never get better at E.R. under the current board, regardless of managers, now it's the fans? This "boo boys" pantomime villainy is tiresome. Which "part of our problem" are you going to favour next week?
I'm sure he said that he didn't go to watch Hibs as he refused to give Petrie any cash in some kind of protest, so not really sure how he is able to make comment about "boo boys" at Easter Road? I would say the fans have been terrific towards Terry Butcher and the team since his arrival.
gorgie greens
23-01-2014, 06:38 AM
I'm sure he said that he didn't go to watch Hibs as he refused to give Petrie any cash in some kind of protest, so not really sure how he is able to make comment about "boo boys" at Easter Road? I would say the fans have been terrific towards Terry Butcher and the team since his arrival.
After the dross and disgracefull games we have had to endure before TB came here,you are bound to get the odd blib as its still the same team that was serving the dross,and i feel under TB there is certainly a feel good factor at Easter Road and feel Butcher needs time to bring in his own players and hopefully the boo boys will boo no more (wishfull thinking eh)
23-01-2014, 07:19 AM
Im gona predict one today, just a guess tho :greengrin
23-01-2014, 07:19 AM
After the dross and disgracefull games we have had to endure before TB came here,you are bound to get the odd blib as its still the same team that was serving the dross,and i feel under TB there is certainly a feel good factor at Easter Road and feel Butcher needs time to bring in his own players and hopefully the boo boys will boo no more (wishfull thinking eh)
Think we need to differentiate between fans choosing to boo the team off after a particularly inept performance at half time and those that look for any excuse and boo during the games.and single ot players.Can you honestly say that any other team in the top flight could of put in that performance and not got booed off.How else can you record your frustration..Think we are being unrealistic .
nribs
23-01-2014, 07:37 AM
Im gona predict one today, just a guess tho :greengrin
Ohhh ohhhh what position do you predict this predicted player will fill :) do you predict .net happiness or .net doom and gloom :)
23-01-2014, 07:50 AM
Ohhh ohhhh what position do you predict this predicted player will fill :) do you predict .net happiness or .net doom and gloom :)
I also predict a striker, as for the second part, come on its .net your talking about.......even Ronaldo would have some people underwhelmed :cb :greengrin
23-01-2014, 08:17 AM
I heard that we were after boyd but his agent says he rather go down south.........came from a member of the back ground staff
I also predict a striker, as for the second part, come on its .net your talking about.......even Ronaldo would have some people underwhelmed :cb :greengrin
Your no far wrong with the last part SMAXXA. Regardless of who we sign there will be folk that are no happy.
23-01-2014, 08:39 AM
Not if it was Leigh Griffiths.
23-01-2014, 08:42 AM
What do you get if you cross Nade with Tidy?
23-01-2014, 08:46 AM
Tade? :wink:
Last Minute
23-01-2014, 08:47 AM
tade :wink:
23-01-2014, 08:49 AM
Bill Nighy?
yerauldda
23-01-2014, 08:50 AM
tade :wink:
I seriously hope not. He would add nothing to our squad.
Blocks Biloxi
23-01-2014, 08:53 AM
Bill Nighy?
Not Hibs Class
23-01-2014, 08:53 AM
Bill Nighy?
Correct.
23-01-2014, 08:56 AM
I seriously hope not. He would add nothing to our squad.
Your no far wrong with the last part SMAXXA. Regardless of who we sign there will be folk that are no happy.
There you go, Aldo :wink:
Didnae take long! I shake my head. ;-)
nribs
23-01-2014, 09:00 AM
http://www.soccerbase.com/players/player.sd?player_id=46804
yerauldda
23-01-2014, 09:01 AM
Didnae take long! I shake my head. ;-)
Do you think he would? I always give our players time but his record for scoring goals, which we desperately need, is quite poor. He was decent enough at St.Johnstone, Inverness and Raith Rovers. He is not the kind of player we need at the minute.
23-01-2014, 09:09 AM
Do you think he would? I always give our players time but his record for scoring goals, which we desperately need, is quite poor. He was decent enough at St.Johnstone, Inverness and Raith Rovers. He is not the kind of player we need at the minute.
He's fast and will run at players.
Seems like exactly what we need at the moment.
I trust TB's judgement with who he brings in. I was being more general in the fact that over the years this place has been full if negativity regardless of who we sign.
We are just going to have to wait and see who, if anyone, we sign and take it from there.
Your slating Tade and it's not even happened. This is what grips ma ***** about this place at times.
What do you expect when we go 3 down at home in the space of 30 minutes, the lads in section 43 tried there best to keep the atmosphere going but once again the fans are being blamed for another pish poor performance by the the 11 on the pitch, they are the major problem at ER.
Signed
The Complainer :greengrin
Even TB came out and slated them afterwards, said he now sees that there are a few who are not good enough, or words to that effect. It's always the same here, one step forwards two back, just when you think we've turned a corner the players put in an abject performance to remind us all we're Hibs and that's how it goes.
I wonder if TB was hoping to get through the season without buying this window and doing it all in the summer, but since the St Mirren result, it's pushed the signings forward a few months.
23-01-2014, 09:14 AM
Fairly sure he gets a game for Cluj and he signed a 3 year deal with them in the summer.
He's of the headless chicken variety most of the time but it can work for him!
Inch Hibs
23-01-2014, 09:15 AM
If he's going to play on the wing fair dos we need a goalscorer though.
23-01-2014, 09:15 AM
I trust TB's judgement with who he brings in. I was being more general in the fact that over the years this place has been full if negativity regardless of who we sign.
We are just going to have to wait and see who, if anyone, we sign and take it from there.
Your slating Tade and it's not even happened. This is what grips ma ***** about this place at times.
I think making comment on a messageboard about whether anyone might do a job or not is a bit different from the real issue of being very quick to judge the players when they do arrive and then being openly hostile towards them to make sure it just gets worse from there!
23-01-2014, 09:19 AM
never thought he was fast - turns out he is
http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=Y3m1W8Ez90A
nribs
23-01-2014, 09:24 AM
Can't wait to hear his name sung out round the stands. He's worse than Made he's Greggory Tade :) for the hard of thinking I am joking
23-01-2014, 09:26 AM
Tis a good video, thought his final ball in was poor but when you look at his positioning to take the ball, his burst of speed, power, close control and finishing, looking forward to seeing him in a hibs top! :)
yerauldda
23-01-2014, 09:31 AM
Personally I think he's more of a provider than a goalscorer or a winger. I think James Collins does the job he would do. I don't think he's a bad player, just not what our team needs.
23-01-2014, 09:46 AM
Apparently aberdeen outbid us for rooney but I thought the sheep were struggling cash wise?
Gustavo Fring
23-01-2014, 09:51 AM
Apparently aberdeen outbid us for rooney but I thought the sheep were struggling cash wise?
it sounds like aberdeen have trumped us by some margin too , it begs the question
are aberdeen paying way over the odds or are we making pathetic low-ball offers ?
nribs
23-01-2014, 09:52 AM
Did you hear that they were struggling for money from a Jambo?..Hibs, Aberdeen, Killie and Dundee Utd are just a baws hair away from going into admin don't you know
The Hibee Harp
23-01-2014, 09:52 AM
We seem to have been saying Aberdeen are struggling for cash for years but this is the third or fourth time they have invested heavily in their squad in the last tean years (it just happens to be the first time it appears to have worked). Calderwood, McGhee and Brown were all given funds to sign big-named, established players. Either Aberdeen are receiving investment from somewhere or they are in danger of going down the Rangers/Hearts route...
23-01-2014, 09:59 AM
Either that or the agents are creating the illusion he is fast by setting the highlights to very slow music :greengrin no quite a Russian funeral marching tune but............
23-01-2014, 10:00 AM
Perhaps Rooney isn't a priority right now that we'd want to pay for?
23-01-2014, 10:01 AM
Did you hear that they were struggling for money from a Jambo?..Hibs, Aberdeen, Killie and Dundee Utd are just a baws hair away from going into admin don't you know
I'm sure their debt is around the £15M mark. They were certainly pleading poverty when trying to get the council to give the go ahead for their new stadium.
23-01-2014, 10:06 AM
Errr no I was posing the question that aberdeen were supposedly struggling for cash. Perhaps we didnt think rooney was worth paying more than we need to
23-01-2014, 10:07 AM
I'm sure their debt is around the £15M mark. They were certainly pleading poverty when trying to get the council to give the go ahead for their new stadium.
and threw out a toaster to save money.
Seems they are willing to pay high end and 2nd place + LC might pay it back and some.
Still prefer Hibs to be ran prudently, not sure the dons model is sustainable.
23-01-2014, 10:07 AM
My flat mate is a huge dons fan. He asked me to go with him to the Aberdeen Raith game a few years back. In this game Tade looked amazing. He ran at everyone won every ball in the air and scored to put Aberdeen out. I was very impressed by him. Next year Aberdeen played Raith again in the cup and I went along with my flat again. And once again Tade was a stand out. Fast strong and scored. Raith went out but ask anyone who was at that game they will tell you Tade was outstanding. I watched him play against us for cally and St Johnston and he looked good for them too. So for me after seeing him a few times I would be happy with Tade but I do worry he is a very similar player to Collins. Maybe Tade is faster. But he can play on the wing
23-01-2014, 10:22 AM
So was I but I was ***** at the football bit :greengrin
23-01-2014, 10:28 AM
From Butcher's most recent quotes in the press it seems that we are not willing to pay a transfer fee (not too surprising after out outlay at the start of the season) and others are. Rooney wants a full move, we were looking at a loan deal....
E10 Rifle
23-01-2014, 10:34 AM
In a win for us last season againt St. J he and Hasslebaink were superb upfront and could have scored about 5 against us had they been finishers...but they didn't. That I believe is the lesson here.
23-01-2014, 10:38 AM
From Butcher's most recent quotes in the press it seems that we are not willing to pay a transfer fee (not too surprising after out outlay at the start of the season) and others are. Rooney wants a full move, we were looking at a loan deal....
We won't spend a fee as we would rather use that money on wages to bring in our top targets in the summer
Surprised at his turn of pace and power to match. :greengrin
23-01-2014, 11:26 AM
Rooney signed 2 and a half yr deal.
23-01-2014, 11:33 AM
Rooney signed 2 and a half yr deal.
For Aberdeen, we should add.
23-01-2014, 11:37 AM
For Aberdeen, we should add.
Forgot, that would cause mayhem on here the now!!!!
Aha!
bigstu
23-01-2014, 11:48 AM
sad times when Aberdeen outbid us on wages (TB himself said they did) but I suppose that is the position Aberdeen are in, they don't have a stadium & training centre to pay off. They can also see that a striker is what they needed & with him 2nd place & the league cup is almost a certainty, they are speculating to accumulate & it will probably pay off. Hibs operate in a slightly different way & it's a way that will mean our club is around for the next 100 years but it's not necessarily the way that will see us bag the best players on the market. There are arguments for & against both ways of operating.
23-01-2014, 12:07 PM
sad times when Aberdeen outbid us on wages (TB himself said they did) but I suppose that is the position Aberdeen are in, they don't have a stadium & training centre to pay off. They can also see that a striker is what they needed & with him 2nd place & the league cup is almost a certainty, they are speculating to accumulate & it will probably pay off. Hibs operate in a slightly different way & it's a way that will mean our club is around for the next 100 years but it's not necessarily the way that will see us bag the best players on the market. There are arguments for & against both ways of operating.
I don't think all that is the case - we are just at a point where we used our available spending earlier in the year and they have some left. Who did Aberdeen spend a fee on when we signed Collins for example?
23-01-2014, 12:09 PM
From what I'm told we never wanted Rooney!
23-01-2014, 12:18 PM
St Johnstone have signed Chris Iwelumo on a short term deal until the end of the season
23-01-2014, 12:20 PM
From what I'm told we never wanted Rooney!
At all or from the moment we realised a fee would be involved? Today's Evening news says Butcher was interested in him.
23-01-2014, 12:22 PM
St Johnstone have signed Chris Iwelumo on a short term deal until the end of the season
This could signal the departure of May I take it.
23-01-2014, 12:23 PM
He was a name Butcher had mentioned mate but we never put any bid in. Butcher obviously didn't think he's worth what Dons paid and as I said on another thread we will bring in better. Collins and Rooney are much the same. We need a Pacey striker.
23-01-2014, 12:24 PM
Any ideas who:wink:
No mate , just a thought since we have lost 2
GreenPJ
23-01-2014, 12:28 PM
He was a name Butcher had mentioned mate but we never put any bid in. Butcher obviously didn't think he's worth what Dons paid and as I said on another thread we will bring in better. Collins and Rooney are much the same. We need a Pacey striker.
Could that be Murphy but not until the summer?
23-01-2014, 12:29 PM
Rooney was a free signing. Aberdeen paid no fee
23-01-2014, 12:31 PM
WHat we need is someone like mcgowan from st mirren!!
23-01-2014, 12:33 PM
This could signal the departure of May I take it.
Heard last night he wants to stay at Saints till the end of his contract . At least
23-01-2014, 12:33 PM
Rooney was a free signing. Aberdeen paid no fee
Sorry wages and signing on fee. Folk getting worked up over a player Butcher was only half interested in is ridiculous. Just another name of players he's got that we eventually didn't pursue.
23-01-2014, 12:35 PM
Perhaps Rooney isn't a priority right now that we'd want to pay for?
Indeed.
23-01-2014, 12:37 PM
Could that be Murphy but not until the summer?
Honestly don't know mate, but I'd take him before Rooney tbh.
23-01-2014, 12:37 PM
Please no, sorry dont rate him.
23-01-2014, 12:43 PM
it sounds like aberdeen have trumped us by some margin too , it begs the question
are aberdeen paying way over the odds or are we making pathetic low-ball offers ?
Other teams will know we have spend a lot of our budget on management team and those that are in top six will want to stay there as they won't see us as threat at present and if they can strengthen and we can't then yep we may find ourselves in bottom six again .its just where we are and if can't compete properly in market till summer then that's what prudent management means financially.if we get out bid in summer for tells top targets then yes we would be right to worry then
23-01-2014, 12:45 PM
The quality of criminal in our squad has definitely gone downhill since Garry O moved on.
23-01-2014, 12:59 PM
I watch st mirren when I can't get to Hibs games . I wouldn't want him
23-01-2014, 01:00 PM
Honestly don't know mate, but I'd take him before Rooney tbh.
What happened with Kenny mate ?
1875STEVE
23-01-2014, 01:00 PM
We don't have a training centre or stadium to pay off either.
East Mains is paid for.
The East Stand is paid for.
Im pretty sure the Famous Five and South are both paid for.
I think the mortgage is for the West???? Unless someone can correct me??
Have faith, Big Tel will deliver. :flag::thumbsup:
23-01-2014, 01:01 PM
Kilmarnock have signed Brighton defender Vitalijs Maksimenko on loan for the rest of the season
Sorry wages and signing on fee. Folk getting worked up over a player Butcher was only half interested in is ridiculous. Just another name of players he's got that we eventually didn't pursue.
Agreed. As other posters have said Rooney is very similar to Collins in style of play but IMO we have the better player & certainly the one with greater potential & value. I would much rather we kept our money than spend out on people like Sodje or Agogo.
bigstu
23-01-2014, 01:15 PM
I don't think all that is the case - we are just at a point where we used our available spending earlier in the year and they have some left. Who did Aberdeen spend a fee on when we signed Collins for example?
I think we have already established that we didn't pay £200k for Collins, this was a media myth, Petrie apparently laughed when it was suggested we paid that kind of money at a fans meeting.
Aberdeen may have not paid transfer fees but I would suggest players like Anderson, Reynolds, Flood, McGinn, Hayes, Robson, Langfield, Rooney are all on decent wages. I would also expect them to have to pay more for them to persuade them to relocate to Aberdeen too as it's not exactly the desirable city that the likes of Glasgow & Edinburgh are in the eyes of many.
23-01-2014, 01:24 PM
Posh bod £0.5m for Stevie May......
http://localuknews.co.uk/article/posh-make-half-a-million-pound-bid-for-scottish-striker
23-01-2014, 01:24 PM
What happened with Kenny mate ?
Nothing bud, Hibs are aware he'd come on loan but he's not heard anything back so he's back over there as of today.
23-01-2014, 01:27 PM
Nothing bud, Hibs are aware he'd come on loan but he's not heard anything back so he's back over there as of today.
Cheers mate , strange one :confused:
23-01-2014, 01:27 PM
If Aberdeen are paying langfield decent wages more fool them...he is mince!!
Sent from my GT-I9505 using Tapatalk
Weststandwanab
23-01-2014, 01:30 PM
http://localuknews.co.uk/article/posh-make-half-a-million-pound-bid-for-scottish-striker I wonder what David will say to that.
EskbankHibee
23-01-2014, 01:31 PM
We don't have a training centre or stadium to pay off either.
East Mains is paid for.
The East Stand is paid for.
Im pretty sure the Famous Five and South are both paid for.
I think the mortgage is for the West???? Unless someone can correct me??
Have faith, Big Tel will deliver. :flag::thumbsup:
Is the east stand and east mains paid for? Surely that's part of the mortgage?
And FWIW, although a mortgage is technically a debt it is a debt we have taken on an are paying up. I.e we can afford it and are living within our means. A fact some hearts fans cannot understand
I think we have already established that we didn't pay £200k for Collins, this was a media myth, Petrie apparently laughed when it was suggested we paid that kind of money at a fans meeting.
Aberdeen may have not paid transfer fees but I would suggest players like Anderson, Reynolds, Flood, McGinn, Hayes, Robson, Langfield, Rooney are all on decent wages. I would also expect them to have to pay more for them to persuade them to relocate to Aberdeen too as it's not exactly the desirable city that the likes of Glasgow & Edinburgh are in the eyes of many.
I just said a fee, which is what we paid at some level. We've plenty of players ourselves who will be on decent money - Colins, Craig, Robertson, Thomson, Vine, Nelson, McPake, McGivern, Heffernan to name a few.
I don't think there is any great difference in pushing the boat out or ambition, they've just had a more settled period and added to what has gone on before in key areas, and chosen pretty well for the most part.
Thats mental we havent followed up Miller's interest. He is exactly what we need right now.
23-01-2014, 01:33 PM
http://localuknews.co.uk/article/posh-make-half-a-million-pound-bid-for-scottish-striker
Hopefully St Johnstone tell them where to go. Im not the biggest fan of May but hes 21, the leagues top scorer and in terrific form. When you consider they sold Dwight Gayle in the summer for £4.5m it does seem a bit of a joke bid.
23-01-2014, 01:33 PM
Are we after Gregory Tade???
Hopefully St Johnstone tell them where to go. Im not the biggest fan of May but hes 21, the leagues top scorer and in terrific form. When you consider they sold Dwight Gayle in the summer for £4.5m it does seem a bit of a joke bid.
He has 18 months left on his contract too.
23-01-2014, 01:40 PM
Collins has much the same overall career strike rate as Rooney and is much the same build and style.
We've been in the habit of panic buying every time we change managers, which is extravagant and wasteful, and needs to stop.
Butcher isn't just signing players for the sake of it, and for that I for one am grateful.
We won't go down, we won't be in the play-off spot, and we'll strengthen in the summer once TB's had a proper long look at things.
In the meantime he's working at securing our best youngsters for the future.
23-01-2014, 01:43 PM
Collins has much the same overall career strike rate as Rooney and is much the same build and style.
We've been in the habit of panic buying every time we change managers, which is extravagant and wasteful, and needs to stop.
Butcher isn't just signing players for the sake of it, and for that I for one am grateful.
We won't go down, we won't be in the play-off spot, and we'll strengthen in the summer once TB's had a proper long look at things.
In the meantime he's working at securing our best youngsters for the future.
I was surprised and disappointed we were linked with him.
We've got Collins and Heff who should get some time to play together.
What we need is a different option or two with pace and some ability to create for others.
23-01-2014, 01:44 PM
If im honest i didnt want Rooney anyway.
23-01-2014, 03:05 PM
In a win for us last season againt St. J he and Hasslebaink were superb upfront and could have scored about 5 against us had they been finishers...but they didn't. That I believe is the lesson here.
:agree: Tade playing against us has had everything bar the composure to stick the ball in the net ... but if he had that and the pace, power, skill etc he wouldn't be coming anywhere near Hibs ...
23-01-2014, 03:11 PM
:agree: Tade playing against us has had everything bar the composure to stick the ball in the net ... but if he had that and the pace, power, skill etc he wouldn't be coming anywhere near Hibs ...
Are we in for him then?
calumb
23-01-2014, 03:28 PM
I was surprised and disappointed we were linked with him.
We've got Collins and Heff who should get some time to play together.
What we need is a different option or two with pace and some ability to create for others.
I agree with this, Rooney is far too similar to what we already have and lets face it the reason we are in the mess we are in is down to the previous manager signing players that were too similar to what was already there.
23-01-2014, 03:32 PM
Who was the guy who played the main character in Airwolf?
23-01-2014, 03:32 PM
I just said a fee, which is what we paid at some level. We've plenty of players ourselves who will be on decent money - Colins, Craig, Robertson, Thomson, Vine, Nelson, McPake, McGivern, Heffernan to name a few.
I don't think there is any great difference in pushing the boat out or ambition, they've just had a more settled period and added to what has gone on before in key areas, and chosen pretty well for the most part.
Given where we picked them up from I wouldn't have thought Nelson, Vine or Heff would be on megabucks?
The Hibee Harp
23-01-2014, 03:36 PM
Interesting exchange between Griffiths and Clancy on Twitter thar reads to me that Leigh's move to Celtic is as good as done.
sven nil
23-01-2014, 03:37 PM
Please no, sorry dont rate him.Glad your not a Scout,
23-01-2014, 03:37 PM
Interesting exchange between Griffiths and Clancy on Twitter thar reads to me that Leigh's move to Celtic is as good as done.
:boo hoo:
23-01-2014, 03:42 PM
Glad your not a Scout,
Ok thanks. He wouldnt still be at Saints if he was improving. Some potential however to me his career is on the wane as evidenced by his recent off field nonsense. Also a complete tube on the pitch IMO.
When was the last time he kicked anything as hard as the two policeman he attacked a couple of weeks back. :greengrin
23-01-2014, 03:45 PM
Debut at the weekend then....
23-01-2014, 03:46 PM
You aiming at Kane Hemmings here?
23-01-2014, 03:46 PM
"@aaliyahclancy: Hope @Leighgriff09 does get a move to the Celtic!he would score more goals than their whole strikers combined if played in every game."
"@Leighgriff09: @aaliyahclancy appreciate it mate, seems there's a LOT of people who don't want me there! #opinions."
andrew70
23-01-2014, 03:48 PM
You aiming at Kane Hemmings here?
James Vincent, I think.
23-01-2014, 03:52 PM
http://blog.zap2it.com/pop2it/star-wars-darth-vader-no.gif
23-01-2014, 03:55 PM
http://blog.zap2it.com/pop2it/star-wars-darth-vader-no.gif
Yes Steve!
Cracker
23-01-2014, 03:55 PM
Jan Michael Vincent😁
23-01-2014, 04:04 PM
"@aaliyahclancy: Hope @Leighgriff09 does get a move to the Celtic!he would score more goals than their whole strikers combined if played in every game."
"@Leighgriff09: @aaliyahclancy appreciate it mate, seems there's a LOT of people who don't want me there! #opinions."
I was expecting worse tbh when I heard "pretty much confirms his move to Celtic"
Ps Clancy, you should be touting him for Hibs not Celtic you ****ing goon
23-01-2014, 04:08 PM
Really hope we can do something decent in the window. It is obviously limited. But you can only imagine the season petering out with the current squad
23-01-2014, 04:12 PM
I was expecting worse tbh when I heard "pretty much confirms his move to Celtic"
Clancy seems to have a view on everthing except hibs....
23-01-2014, 04:14 PM
Has he been to the stadium yet?
Reads the other way to me. I think LG is saying someone at Celtc does not fancy him!
The Hibee Harp
23-01-2014, 04:15 PM
Clancy then replies to say the only opinion that matters is the manager (lennon) and he wants Leigh.
The Hibee Harp
23-01-2014, 04:17 PM
Reads the other way to me. I think LG is saying someone at Celtc does not fancy him!
Possibly, I took it to mean the Celtic fans aren't keen on him as they want a bigger name.
GoldenEagle
23-01-2014, 04:18 PM
I think Clancy could win the 'Biggest Welt to Play for Hibs' title if he keeps going.
Horrendous injury prone footballer IMO and a welt.
23-01-2014, 04:22 PM
Clancy then replies to say the only opinion that matters is the manager (lennon) and he wants Leigh.
It's up to Griffiths though, not Clancy.
Does Clancy still play for us actually? If so convincing a player to sign for one of our rivals seems a bit odd.
Leishy1995
23-01-2014, 04:39 PM
Search Leigh's name on twitter it's all Celtic fans ripping him.
I think Clancy could win the 'Biggest Welt to Play for Hibs' title if he keeps going. Horrendous injury prone footballer IMO and a welt.
Can I correct you please GE..... He thinks he's injury... I think there is a slight difference. He's just not up for a fight and is scared to rip his tights. Wage thief of the highest order.
Can I also add if he was any sort of half decent guy he would leave by mutual consent without a payoff but from what I have read about him he will only be interested on sitting on his arse and getting paid for it.
23-01-2014, 04:45 PM
Are we after Gregory Tade???
Please no . Couldn't hit a cows arse with a banjo springs to mind .
Inch Hibs
23-01-2014, 05:06 PM
Anyone heard any more on James Vincent? Apparently a pre contract will be announced tomorrow?
23-01-2014, 05:22 PM
Anyone heard any more on James Vincent? Apparently a pre contract will be announced tomorrow?
Done deal.
Inch Hibs
23-01-2014, 05:23 PM
Done deal.
Excellent :) great addition to the squad!
23-01-2014, 05:27 PM
Would rather have him now!
23-01-2014, 05:35 PM
Can see us getting him on a cut price deal now that he's signed the pre contract, especially if we manage to move one or two on? (Taiwo, Clancy?)
Inch Hibs
23-01-2014, 05:39 PM
;3880567']Can see us getting him on a cut price deal now that he's signed the pre contract, especially if we manage to move one or two on? (Taiwo, Clancy?)
That's what I'm hoping.
Leishy1995
23-01-2014, 05:39 PM
My mate from down South is a notts county fan and has just told me we are after Danny Haynes from them. I remember on Fm07 he was an absolute pace whore and a good striker, never realised he still played!
23-01-2014, 06:07 PM
This transfer window is as exciting as a wet sock. :zzzzz!:
23-01-2014, 06:09 PM
This transfer window is as exciting as a wet sock. :zzzzz!:
Football or trainer?
Hibdan12
23-01-2014, 06:13 PM
Big rumours gathering now on twitter that vincent is confirmed pre contract :thumbsup:
davhibby
23-01-2014, 06:17 PM
Done deal.
Great news
23-01-2014, 06:18 PM
Search Leigh's name on twitter it's all Celtic fans ripping him.
Had a we look on Kerrydale St and Sparky ain't going down well with the gfitw, they would rather sign May from St Johnstone.
Gustavo Fring
23-01-2014, 06:37 PM
Big rumours gathering now on twitter that vincent is confirmed pre contract :thumbsup:
sorry to pi55 on the bonfire but vincents agent is saying otherwise
Hibs Transfer News @HFCTransferNews (https://twitter.com/HFCTransferNews) 50m (https://twitter.com/HFCTransferNews/status/426425314223595520)
I can confirm James Vincent has signed on a pre-contract from Inverness, will hopefully be announced tomorrow!
Rob Shield @MancAgent (https://twitter.com/MancAgent) 21m (https://twitter.com/MancAgent/status/426432580502966272)
@HFCTransferNews (https://twitter.com/HFCTransferNews) @Grant_Pringle (https://twitter.com/Grant_Pringle) I can confirm 200% this is not the case.
23-01-2014, 06:41 PM
Whos Clancy !!!
El wage thief!!
23-01-2014, 06:52 PM
Possibly, I took it to mean the Celtic fans aren't keen on him as they want a bigger name.
And they would be right. I love Leigh and really rate him but if Celtic sign him they are as good as conceding they are at best a fourth rate team in European terms.
Inch Hibs
23-01-2014, 07:03 PM
El wage thief!!
Not really the guys fault he was played at full back by Fenlon after an outstanding season for Motherwell at centre half then got injured. I would play him in the middle on Sunday and put Jordon back to full back.
23-01-2014, 07:05 PM
Not really the guys fault he was played at full back by Fenlon after an outstanding season for Motherwell at centre half then got injured. I would play him in the middle on Sunday and put Jordon back to full back.
He's injured.
He played at FB and did pretty well. He can play either position. I would be surprised if he plays again tbh
Inch Hibs
23-01-2014, 07:08 PM
He's injured.
Ok fair dos. Probably why he's still at the club in that case.
Inch Hibs
23-01-2014, 07:09 PM
He played at FB and did pretty well. He can play either position. I would be surprised if he plays again tbh
I thought his lack of pace at full back was glaringly obvious. Yeah I think he will be released this window. Thought he was off to Ireland?
I just think he looked disinterested.... Especially in the SF of the Scottish cup last season. Aye I thought Derry City were in for him. Obviously not offering him enough.
23-01-2014, 07:16 PM
sorry to pi55 on the bonfire but vincents agent is saying otherwise
Hibs Transfer News @HFCTransferNews (https://twitter.com/HFCTransferNews) 50m (https://twitter.com/HFCTransferNews/status/426425314223595520)
I can confirm James Vincent has signed on a pre-contract from Inverness, will hopefully be announced tomorrow!
Rob Shield @MancAgent (https://twitter.com/MancAgent) 21m (https://twitter.com/MancAgent/status/426432580502966272)
@HFCTransferNews (https://twitter.com/HFCTransferNews) @Grant_Pringle (https://twitter.com/Grant_Pringle) I can confirm 200% this is not the case.
Nice of the guy to divulge his fee rate :wink:
Can't remember if I said on this thread or elsewhere - given his track record, don't people think that TB will only sign players that improve the team?
23-01-2014, 07:17 PM
And they would be right. I love Leigh and really rate him but if Celtic sign him they are as good as conceding they are at best a fourth rate team in European terms.
If they were interested it would be as a proven striker in Scotland and he wouldn't be guaranteed stating place. Lennon would know he isn't what they need for Europe
23-01-2014, 07:22 PM
I just think he looked disinterested.... Especially in the SF of the Scottish cup last season. Aye I thought Derry City were in for him. Obviously not offering him enough.
Until we have to offer him a severance package to punt yet another dud. Is it any wonder there is no money to bring in new players we have to pay to get rid of old crocks.
Clancy looked promising, scoring at Darkheid but he's built of glass and the slightest knock and he's out.
Big big disappointed in him and has done pretty much nowt for me.
patch1875
23-01-2014, 07:27 PM
He's injured.
He's not
23-01-2014, 07:29 PM
He's not
He's not fit then.
23-01-2014, 07:43 PM
He's not fit then.
He's not injured & he's not fit because he thinks he's injured and is a wage thief
23-01-2014, 07:44 PM
Inverness sign Slovak international:grr: How did we miss out again?
http://www.bbc.co.uk/news/uk-scotland-highlands-islands-25669573
St Johnstone sign Iwelumo :rolleyes:
http://www.bbc.co.uk/sport/0/football/25865614
23-01-2014, 07:45 PM
He's not injured & he's not fit because he thinks he's injured and is a wage thief
Described it better than I could but that's what I was getting at
23-01-2014, 07:47 PM
Anyone heard any more on James Vincent? Apparently a pre contract will be announced tomorrow?'' I dohnt know much about James Vincent is he quick?
23-01-2014, 07:48 PM
He's not fit then.
He is certainly not fit to play for us ,his time has come and gone
23-01-2014, 07:53 PM
Inverness sign Slovak international:grr: How did we miss out again?
http://www.bbc.co.uk/news/uk-scotland-highlands-islands-25669573
St Johnstone sign Iwelumo :rolleyes:
http://www.bbc.co.uk/sport/0/football/25865614
Wonder if the Slovak was already in the pipeline before tell left ? One thing is certain it's our dish that's probably bankrolled it as crowds are still poor.
st Johnstone are welcome to the big fella Apart from May they seem to specialise in signing strikers with a low goal return .
Inch Hibs
23-01-2014, 07:57 PM
'' I dohnt know much about James Vincent is he quick?
Not 100% but was Inverness best player this season before injury! Creative midfielder.
nribs
23-01-2014, 07:58 PM
Wonder if the Slovak was already in the pipeline before tell left ? One thing is certain it's our dish that's probably bankrolled it as crowds are still poor.
st Johnstone are welcome to the big fella Apart from May they seem to specialise in signing strikers with a low goal return .did you read the first link :)
23-01-2014, 07:59 PM
Whooooosh! :greengrin
23-01-2014, 08:01 PM
So... Danny Haynes has signed according to someones editing skills on wikipedia:faf:
23-01-2014, 08:04 PM
did you read the first link :)
no but read it there. That will teach me to jump to conclusions before knowing the facts:confused:
23-01-2014, 08:43 PM
Five years ago, the January window served us up Denes Rosa and The Mad Monk.
23-01-2014, 08:46 PM
Two good players who seemed to stay 2 minutes before disappearing again
Inch Hibs
23-01-2014, 09:09 PM
Who signed them? Mixu? Was that the same window we signed JJ?
23-01-2014, 09:19 PM
Goodwillie is off to blackpool.
23-01-2014, 10:21 PM
No really a rumour but I'd like to see us going for we hasslebank from St J. With May now likely to partner iwumolo will Nigel's chances be fleeting. I like the wee guy.
23-01-2014, 10:29 PM
No really a rumour but I'd like to see us going for we hasslebank from St J. With May now likely to partner iwumolo will Nigel's chances be fleeting. I like the wee guy.
Never fulfilled potential I don't think . Goal return not great for someone with his pace suggesting he lacks composure when chances fall to him
23-01-2014, 10:34 PM
Never fulfilled potential I don't think . Goal return not great for someone with his pace suggesting he lacks composure when chances fall to him
Tade anyone :greengrin
23-01-2014, 10:37 PM
Two good players who seemed to stay 2 minutes before disappearing again
Indeed. Szamotulski had injury problems I believe and Rosa was pretty adamant from the start he was here on a short term deal.
23-01-2014, 10:55 PM
Indeed. Szamotulski had injury problems I believe and Rosa was pretty adamant from the start he was here on a short term deal.
The Monk was never sober. :greengrin
bigstu
23-01-2014, 10:59 PM
Does anyone know anything about this lad Vincent, is he any good?
E10 Rifle
23-01-2014, 11:16 PM
The return of Stephen Dobbie, anyone take that as an option?
In a flash :greengrin, Ian holloway wants him at Millwall though, as an aside how many clubs has Ollie had Dobbie at?
23-01-2014, 11:57 PM
I really like the look of this guy I saw him do the job on Celtic and Hearts, he looks like a real handful for defenders and would do well with Collins.
EskbankHibee
24-01-2014, 12:15 AM
I really like the look of this guy I saw him do the job on Celtic and Hearts, he looks like a real handful for defenders and would do well with Collins.
He can run all day long but can't finish. Zero end product
24-01-2014, 12:44 AM
Which one are you talking about?
confused
24-01-2014, 07:09 AM
I had a greyhound like that , lovely dog ! but never hurt anyone .
nribs
24-01-2014, 07:16 AM
Would really like to see someone come in today.
24-01-2014, 07:27 AM
Would really like to see someone come in today.
Im hearing were getting this vincenet dude on a 2 and half year deal. not sure if its a pre or now, however if its 2 and a half year deal I suspect it would be now, otherwise why sign him in the summer with a half in it :thumbsup:
24-01-2014, 07:34 AM
Aberdeen pay out more on wages than Hibs most seasons.
nribs
24-01-2014, 07:41 AM
Im hearing were getting this vincenet dude on a 2 and half year deal. not sure if its a pre or now, however if its 2 and a half year deal I suspect it would be now, otherwise why sign him in the summer with a half in it :thumbsup:
If Vincent was to sign is he fit?. I'm sure I read he had been out with an injury. Has he played recently?
24-01-2014, 07:42 AM
Remember there were rumours that Hearts wanted to sign him but wouldn't sanction the move in January. He was a big favourite of Czsaba Lazlo's from a previous club. The story at the time was that he was signing for Hibs short term and then going to move to Hearts that summer.
He left hibs at the end of the season and was never heard of on these shores again.
24-01-2014, 07:43 AM
Think he has been back since about new year
Really hope we can add someone today - with maybe 2 more next week
24-01-2014, 07:44 AM
Remember there were rumours that Hearts wanted to sign him but wouldn't sanction the move in January. He was a big favourite of Czsaba Lazlo's from a previous club. The story at the time was that he was signing for Hibs short term and then going to move to Hearts that summer.
He left hibs at the end of the season and was never heard of on these shores again.
Still remember his diagonal ball across almost the length of the pitch, dropping it bang on whoever was on our wing, setting up the first goal against the Yams.
Think it was a fletcher Header or something.
24-01-2014, 07:46 AM
Aberdeen pay out more on wages than Hibs most seasons.
:agree: There is a report that comes out detailing squad wage bills and theirs is usually higher than ours. Suspect we may have paid a higher weekly wage for players like Stokes, Liam Miller and Riordan than anything they have ever paid a player but they seem to be more willing to have a higher proportion of players on say 2-3k a week on their wage bill than we do.
Get the impression we have had the odd player on say 4k per week or so with the majority on around no more than 1.5k - 2k if they are lucky.
cam75
24-01-2014, 07:57 AM
The cost lo living is higher than most places in the UK,reason the sheep pay higher wages than Hibs !
24-01-2014, 08:01 AM
:agree: There is a report that comes out detailing squad wage bills and theirs is usually higher than ours. Suspect we may have paid a higher weekly wage for players like Stokes, Liam Miller and Riordan than anything they have ever paid a player but they seem to be more willing to have a higher proportion of players on say 2-3k a week on their wage bill than we do.
Get the impression we have had the odd player on say 4k per week or so with the majority on around no more than 1.5k - 2k if they are lucky.
I'd consider myself extremely lucky if I were on £1.5-£2k per week! :greengrin
24-01-2014, 08:03 AM
Still remember his diagonal ball across almost the length of the pitch, dropping it bang on whoever was on our wing, setting up the first goal against the Yams.
Think it was a fletcher Header or something.
Yup. Was a half volley if I remember correctly over to Alan O'Brien (!) who crossed over a ball that Fletcher managed to misjudge quite spectacularly - the ball hit his shoulder and still went in.
I'll always remember that goal because it was the first time I saw Hibs beat Hearts.