View Full Version : New stadium for Edinburgh rugby and/or Hearts? (merged)
08-02-2013, 07:16 PM
Dave Anderson, the former Head of City Development in the link below (be careful reading this if you've eaten recently as it is sickening) 'explaining' himself and the council's reasons for looking into a new stadium for Hertz.
http://www.heartsfc.co.uk/articles/20111107/stadium-update_2241384_2508476
After being suspended during investigations into corruption in his department, the same Dave Anderson resigns to pursue consultancy work
http://www.bbc.co.uk/news/uk-scotland-edinburgh-east-fife-20434539
The police then decide there will be no prosecutions, a decision a former leader of the City of Edinburgh Council calls "unbelievable"
http://www.bbc.co.uk/news/uk-scotland-edinburgh-east-fife-20465642
Does anyone still think a council at best incompetent and at worst riddled with corruption wouldn't try to get away with building Hertz a stadium?
Be vigilant :agree:
08-02-2013, 08:13 PM
Would the yam leaning council really bale them out so blatantly with a new stadium ? , surely no ?
You bet your life they would
07hibee
08-02-2013, 08:23 PM
Did it not come to light that there's a rule preventing councils from building facilities that benefit pro sports clubs, the last time this was mentioned?
08-02-2013, 08:31 PM
If this is true why are the council paying thousands ofpounds to replace the existing artificial surface which is being expanded to take in the area which was formerly used as tennis courts during the 1986 Commonwealth Games. They have been working on this for weeks.
Seems strange if they are planning to flatten the area.
Not for this council mate
08-02-2013, 08:44 PM
:agree::agree:
Newhaven
08-02-2013, 09:46 PM
:agree::agree:
Nothing and I mean NOTHING would surprise me with Edinburgh Council's willingness to help them out in anyway possible
Ayrshire Hibee
08-02-2013, 10:02 PM
would be gutted if Meadowbank was flattened!! i scored the best ever goal there (a 40 yard clearence) in 1999 & 2 great gigs pixies & muse
http://www.google.co.uk/url?sa=t&rct=j&q=edinburgh+council+stadium&source=web&cd=5&ved=0CEcQFjAE&url=http%3A%2F%2Fwww.edinburgh.gov.uk%2Fdownload%2 Fmeetings%2Fid%2F34488%2Fitem_11_tynecastle_stadiu m&ei=y5wVUZG4CsHa0QWEwoHoBg&usg=AFQjCNG_xxkQbb8zQGtC4vHEr4yz7DBo9w
found this which is dated 20/12/12 which means the whole thing must still be very much on their agenda.
The tone is very much one of doing everything they can to help Hearts find a suitable new home and their requirements are very important. "Partnership" and "community" are also included frequently. Surprise, surprise.
Surely the date must be wrong and this is from 2011? Have they learned nothing??
http://www.google.co.uk/url?sa=t&rct=j&q=edinburgh+council+stadium&source=web&cd=5&ved=0CEcQFjAE&url=http%3A%2F%2Fwww.edinburgh.gov.uk%2Fdownload%2 Fmeetings%2Fid%2F34488%2Fitem_11_tynecastle_stadiu m&ei=y5wVUZG4CsHa0QWEwoHoBg&usg=AFQjCNG_xxkQbb8zQGtC4vHEr4yz7DBo9w
found this which is dated 20/12/12 which means the whole thing must still be very much on their agenda.
The tone is very much one of doing everything they can to help Hearts find a suitable new home and their requirements are very important. "Partnership" and "community" are also included frequently. Surprise, surprise.
Surely the date must be wrong and this is from 2011? Have they learned nothing??
It has Dave Anderson's name on it and as he's left (ahem) "politics" the date must be wrong. Inept ****s.
Caversham Green
09-02-2013, 07:54 AM
The date is wrong - I have that same report saved on my hard drive - date of saving is 21/12/11 but the document carries the same date as your link.
How far would you trust someone that can't even get the year right on their reports?
09-02-2013, 07:57 AM
Why can't the rugby team build their own stadium :confused:
Green Cabbage 7
09-02-2013, 08:10 AM
The big question is were would we stand! The last time we opposed it but if this were to happen, do we have any legal stance! ie bias towards them considering all the blocks that were put on us on land we owned etc....
09-02-2013, 08:26 AM
As far as I'm aware, this is being looked at. Edinburgh Rugby already on record stating they will not share any sporting facility with HMFC while a certain person owns them.
09-02-2013, 08:28 AM
As far as I'm aware, this is being looked at. Edinburgh Rugby already on record stating they will not share any sporting facility with HMFC while a certain person owns them.
Everyone seems to be quite certain that the council will build them one though.
09-02-2013, 08:55 AM
I've heard a wee rumour that the structure of Scottish Rugby could be changing dramatically within the next few years. As things stand, the Scottish Rugby Union hold all the aces with regard to governance and finances, but from what I hear, there may be plans afoot to devolve some of the powers to a club based structure. If true, this would mean the end of the two professional teams in Scotland (Edinburgh & Glasgow.) No professional team means that there is no need for a new stadium. Time to think again for the Yams but as has already been mentioned, apart from the Cooncil, who would really dare enter into a Partnership with them in any case?
Such a shame really.
I'd have no objection to the council letting them use saughton enclosure.
And they can build them a stand as long as it's wooden and holds no more than 500.
Or they could always go back to the East meadows.
09-02-2013, 09:04 AM
The big question is were would we stand! The last time we opposed it but if this were to happen, do we have any legal stance! ie bias towards them considering all the blocks that were put on us on land we owned etc....
Protest via the media I would think is best bet, sending a carefully worded email/letter would be a start, "they" seem to get away with a heck of a lot that goes unreported in my opinion but they certainly wouldn't get away with this without a fight, I ain't paying no council tax to funds that slimy mob..period
09-02-2013, 09:09 AM
Edinburgh must be one of the only capital cities that doesn't have a quality sports centre or a purpose built concert/arts centre.
GoldenEagle
09-02-2013, 09:18 AM
Edinburgh must be one of the only capital cities that doesn't have a quality sports centre or a purpose built concert/arts centre.
Yet they have had three opportunities to build one in conjunction with Hibernian. One at Leith Academy, one at the Lochend Butterfly and one at the Jack Kane centre.
09-02-2013, 09:19 AM
.....so the festival theatre isn't purpose built?
09-02-2013, 09:22 AM
The date is wrong - I have that same report saved on my hard drive - date of saving is 21/12/11 but the document carries the same date as your link.
How far would you trust someone that can't even get the year right on their reports?
Agree the date is wrong, I printed a copy off at the time and never even noticed the date :confused: must have been the steam coming out of my ears !
Love clause 3.14
" HMFC are prepared to trade and include the land they own at Tynecastle for this purpose "
That will be with the £ 6.8 million security to a soon to be defunct Bank.
itslegaltender
19-02-2013, 04:18 PM
Meanwhile our councillors are looking over this planning proposal which is coming to a vote in the next month. David Murray's Hermiston project which includes a stadium "providing an opportunity of relocation to an Edinburgh sporting institution".
http://www.edinburghsgardendistrict.co.uk/docs/postcharrette.pdf
Get out of Jail free for the Yams?
19-02-2013, 04:28 PM
Meanwhile our councillors are looking over this planning proposal which is coming to a vote in the next month. David Murray's Hermiston project which includes a stadium "providing an opportunity of relocation to an Edinburgh sporting institution".
even if it got agreed it wouldn't be built for years, they won't be about by then
also part 3 states, if a stadium isn't required we can use the land for other purposes
Might also be for Edinburgh Rugby
19-02-2013, 04:30 PM
even if it got agreed it wouldn't be built for years, they won't be about by then
also part 3 states, if a stadium isn't required we can use the land for other purposes
Might also be for Edinburgh Rugby
Could be although I understand that plans are afoot which could radically change the face of Scottish Rugby.
M6hibee
19-02-2013, 04:52 PM
If that does transpire it stinks. The Yams tae get a new stadium fae the council, unbelievably biased
19-02-2013, 05:04 PM
If the council have their say, they'll almost certainly make sure the Jambos benefit from it. There's nothing you can do about legal corruption except through the ballot box.
19-02-2013, 06:04 PM
If that does transpire it stinks. The Yams tae get a new stadium fae the council, unbelievably biased
:bitchy: Would be utterly scandalous if allowed to proceed - only way it would even approach being justifiable would be if Hibs were gifted c£30m from the Edinburgh tax payers' purse as well to counter the advantage given to the Yams
Here we go.
No doubt many councilors will insist on a football stadium being shoehorned in. How much council money will be sunk into this while meadowbank is left to rot? Don't even mention Leith waterworld.
This absolutely stinks.
19-02-2013, 06:17 PM
the new pink wongadome will be called "the cardownie Arena"
I'm afraid you don't get to choose the name.
Your only input will be paying for it.
19-02-2013, 06:23 PM
I'm afraid you don't get to choose the name.
Your only input will be paying for it.
not quite, i'm a west lothian council tax payer :greengrin mind you though, if they groundshare with livi :hmmm:
19-02-2013, 06:47 PM
http://www.scotsman.com/news/scottish-news/top-stories/arts-hub-plan-is-binned-over-cash-shortfall-1-2799015
If the Council even suggest building a Yam Stadium after cancelling the Art Hub that has been promised for 20 years the Hoi-Poli will be revolting. :greengrin
19-02-2013, 07:12 PM
This was definitely for Edinburgh Rugby at the time.
I would also call into question Murrays ability to pull this deal off (financially) in any event. Remember his companies were skint at the time the Huns were going under.
No matter how much the council love in with hearts is true - they cant push this through / build a stadium for them in anything less than a year or so. Their chickens are coming home to roost a lot sooner.
ho ho
M6hibee
19-02-2013, 07:14 PM
Well like someone said earlier we should vehemently question any move tae shoe horn them in tae a new stadium at the tax payers wxpense
19-02-2013, 07:23 PM
If the council have their say, they'll almost certainly make sure the Jambos benefit from it. There's nothing you can do about legal corruption except through the ballot box.
I would also call into question Murrays ability to pull this deal off (financially) in any event. Remember his companies were skint at the time the Huns were going under.
No matter how much the council love in with hearts is true - they cant push this through / build a stadium for them in anything less than a year or so. Their chickens are coming home to roost a lot sooner.
ho ho
:agree: 100% GD...
I have to say I'm relaxed about this one if I'm honest. IF, and it's a huge if, CEC even try this one on it will cause mayhem within Edinburgh's tax payers, so much more needed in the city without this nonsense.... :aok:
19-02-2013, 07:32 PM
There is absolutely no chance whatsoever that the Council will be building them a new stadium. This is a body needing to find well in excess of £100 million of savings, never mind any additional expenditure, and it is accountable to Audit Scotland for what it does in an age of unparallelled transparency with Freedom of Information.
All of the traditional Edinburgh establishment 'Get Out of Jail Free' cards the Yams could have played in years past are now worthless. The Council is skint, Bank of Scotland is a wreck and not Edinburgh run or owned and wealthy Edinburgh businessmen are a) few and far between and b) cannot cope with the scale of cost implicit here.
Hearts are now those guys you see sitting in scruffy huddles next to Edinburgh ATMs with hand written cards saying 'homeless'. They just don't realise it yet.
oregonhibby
19-02-2013, 07:34 PM
There is a perfectly good stadium owned by a cash strapped outfit close by. Murrayfield. We do not need anymore stadia in Edinburgh! ER is international compliant and Murrayfield could also be used for the other form of Rugby. Doubt we need an arts hub either. Weekly bin collections would be a better use of council money in my view.
As for Tynecastle it is of limited value. Not enough land for big houses and more likely flats which have limited value for developers. Also I think i read somewhere that there is some form of factory near by that needs a blast zone that actually limits the housing potential at Tynecastle. Might be wrong!
19-02-2013, 07:41 PM
I've been told in days gone by, that HMFC pay £300,000 insurance just for the old stand!...... :shocked:
green glory
19-02-2013, 07:48 PM
No way the Yams are setting up down the road from me. Can you register an objection?
19-02-2013, 07:54 PM
There is absolutely no chance whatsoever that the Council will be building them a new stadium. This is a body needing to find well in excess of £100 million of savings, never mind any additional expenditure, and it is accountable to Audit Scotland for what it does in an age of unparallelled transparency with Freedom of Information.
All of the traditional Edinburgh establishment 'Get Out of Jail Free' cards the Yams could have played in years past are now worthless. The Council is skint, Bank of Scotland is a wreck and not Edinburgh run or owned and wealthy Edinburgh businessmen are a) few and far between and b) cannot cope with the scale of cost implicit here.
Hearts are now those guys you see sitting in scruffy huddles next to Edinburgh ATMs with hand written cards saying 'homeless'. They just don't realise it yet.
I don't know how these things work but would it be feasible for them to borrow the money but hearts to pay it back in the form of rent, would mean a regular income without it costing the taxpayer anything?
Would be a pish deal for hearts in the long run just trying to think of ways hearts could wriggle out of this.
Fat Penlon
19-02-2013, 08:01 PM
Yet they are due the council at least 58k in unpaid overdue business rates. You or I wouldnt be allowed to be so far behind but they are? They also signed Wilson and Ngoo thus choosing to spend money on additional player wages rather than pay any of this debt to the council. In my book they are clearly being helped by the council!!!!!!!!
19-02-2013, 08:04 PM
I don't know how these things work but would it be feasible for them to borrow the money but hearts to pay it back in the form of rent, would mean a regular income without it costing the taxpayer anything?
Would be a pish deal for hearts in the long run just trying to think of ways hearts could wriggle out of this.
The Council has a limited amount of borrowing capacity, regardless of who is paying a rent.
Local authority borrowing all counts against PSBR - which affects the credit worthiness of UK plc (unless it is PFI/PPP which transfers risk off the public sector books but which the present SNP administration is against - it is how Labour built a vast slice of their hospitals and schools). So every pound that the Council borrows to finance the capital cost of a new stadium for the Homeless, under your scenario, is a pound it cannot borrow to put into funding a whole queue of other public sector projects - eg new schools, roads, bridges, more tram lines, major city centre projects etc.
I wouldn't like to be the Edinburgh politicians taking THAT proposal to the Edinburgh public.
19-02-2013, 08:07 PM
Yet they are due the council at least 58k in unpaid overdue business rates. You or I wouldnt be allowed to be so far behind but they are? They also signed Wilson and Ngoo thus choosing to spend money on additional player wages rather than pay any of this debt to the council. In my book they are clearly being helped by the council!!!!!!!!
Big difference between being in Council Tax arrears and having a new stadium built for you. To try and be objective for a moment - the Edinburgh Council that made itself the body that put either Hearts or Hibs out of business for that amount of Council Tax arrears would face an awful lot of negative PR.
They will show tolerance, but only up to a point.
Fat Penlon
19-02-2013, 08:19 PM
Big difference between being in Council Tax arrears and having a new stadium built for you. To try and be objective for a moment - the Edinburgh Council that made itself the body that put either Hearts or Hibs out of business for that amount of Council Tax arrears would face an awful lot of negative PR.
They will show tolerance, but only up to a point.
There lies the problem. This line will be the most used by management at hearts just now. Scare people into what might happen if they are seen to be asking for the money they are due which could be the straw that breaks the camels back. This is why they are getting away with it for so long imo.
19-02-2013, 08:30 PM
There lies the problem. This line will be the most used by management at hearts just now. Scare people into what might happen if they are seen to be asking for the money they are due which could be the straw that breaks the camels back. This is why they are getting away with it for so long imo.
Except that ONLY works with the Council and only for chicken feed. And in the context of the sums the Council deals with (a revenue budget in excess of £1 billion) £58,000 is chicken feed.
Believe me, there is no escape from the financial noose for the Yams via the Council.
Fat Penlon
19-02-2013, 08:41 PM
Except that ONLY works with the Council and only for chicken feed. And in the context of the sums the Council deals with (a revenue budget in excess of £1 billion) £58,000 is chicken feed.
Believe me, there is no escape from the financial noose for the Yams via the Council.
Any council has a statutory duty to collect all taxes due no matter how small they seem when compared to the overall budget. If i didnt pay my £200 next month they would soon be in touch to threaten me and collect it. £200 is no different to £58,000. I'm not suggesting the council will let them away with it all together but there must be a nudge and a wink involved for them to be allowed to be so much in arrears.
Hibeesforever
19-02-2013, 09:04 PM
Any council has a statutory duty to collect all taxes due no matter how small they seem when compared to the overall budget. If i didnt pay my £200 next month they would soon be in touch to threaten me and collect it. £200 is no different to £58,000. I'm not suggesting the council will let them away with it all together but there must be a nudge and a wink involved for them to be allowed to be so much in arrears.
There are indeed. Statutes are in place that obligate the civil servants to enforce and put in place the appropriate legal collection orders if bills remain overdue for set periods of time.
I am sure your peers are monitoring, via Freedom of Information requests, the actions of*those council employees charged with making sure the local authority does not miss out on due revenue.
It would be tragic and unfortunate if it was an Edinburgh City Council winding up order that put Hearts out of business but as was shown when the team formally known as Rangers went bust, even the Police declined to guarantee to turn up unless their over due cash was settled.
The East of Scotland scenario is no different.
19-02-2013, 09:07 PM
There are indeed. Statutes are in place that obligate the civil servants to enforce and put in place the appropriate legal collection orders if bills remain overdue for set periods of time.
I am sure your peers are monitoring, via Freedom of Information requests, the actions of*those council employees charged with making sure the local authority does not miss out on due revenue.
It would be tragic and unfortunate if it was an Edinburgh City Council winding up order that put Hearts out of business but as was shown when the team formally known as Rangers went bust, even the Police declined to guarantee to turn up unless their over due cash was settled.
The East of Scotland scenario is no different.
tragic? unfortunate? I was thinking more "it would be just".
19-02-2013, 09:21 PM
ho ho
Murray offered the stadium as a sweetener to persude the Council to give planning permission for housing on green belt land over the A8 from the airport. It was never going to happen. There is no way that a housing scheme out there would be viable in the current economic climate anyway. Even that assumes that Murray has the money or the credit worthiness to even think about it.
I think that the chickens have already re-established themselves in the roost.
TrinityHibs
19-02-2013, 09:56 PM
I might regret this but the Gorgie "Opportunity Site" has limited value. Tesco are not buying sites and will not be buying sites for the forseeable future. Asda will not be interested due to the store at Chesser. (They just dont do canibilisation), Sainsburys have a Gorgie store which leaves Morrisons. They have/had a requirement for the west of Edinburgh and have looked at the BT building on Gorgie Road. But they need a site of around 6 acres with FRONTAGE... ie you can see the front of the shop. Not the PBS. They did the hidden one in Granton which is their worst trading shop in Scotland. They are also concentrating on the SE of England. Aldi would pay about £1M for a bit of the site but they might already be next to Mcdonalds (cannot remember) and Lidl are on Dalry Road. Its not a great place for another Waitrose which leaves the Co-op who mght just take an acre with frontage (Thats worth about £0.5M).
South Murayfield is not prime resi land and the housebulders are not buying dog sites to land bank unless they are owned by companies controlled by the banks who need to transfer ownership from one part of the bank to another. Thats what Cala and Miller are doing just now. Buying sites from HBOS basket cases funded by Lloyds/HBOS. Its got something to do with where the money comes from in HBOS and what account it ends up in.
David Murrays planning application is a paper exercise. He is burst and inebted to..................Lloyds/HBOS. They have some toxic MIM/PPG assets that they can improve value on by changing the land use. So Davie Boy's old company has a field which on paper is worth £5000 an acre. PPG get a consent on behalf of their paymasters Lloyds/HBOS and remarkably the PPG assets increase in value ON PAPER because housing land is worth more than a field s the bank is not so badly off. The stadium is plannng gain to get the resi consent. BUT and its a big BUT it doesnt matter if its Green Belt, underhand or just madness as it will not happen in a time frame that works for the walking dead.
I for one am very happy that there is not a property solution that will dig Maroonco out of the mire they are in.
The big however is that the Council may build a community stadium and at some time in the future a football club may rent it. It might be Spartans or some lesser glorified pub team but I can live with that right now.
19-02-2013, 10:20 PM
I might regret this but the Gorgie "Opportunity Site" has limited value. Tesco are not buying sites and will not be buying sites for the forseeable future. Asda will not be interested due to the store at Chesser. (They just dont do canibilisation), Sainsburys have a Gorgie store which leaves Morrisons. They have/had a requirement for the west of Edinburgh and have looked at the BT building on Gorgie Road. But they need a site of around 6 acres with FRONTAGE... ie you can see the front of the shop. Not the PBS. They did the hidden one in Granton which is their worst trading shop in Scotland. They are also concentrating on the SE of England. Aldi would pay about £1M for a bit of the site but they might already be next to Mcdonalds (cannot remember) and Lidl are on Dalry Road. Its not a great place for another Waitrose which leaves the Co-op who mght just take an acre with frontage (Thats worth about £0.5M).
South Murayfield is not prime resi land and the housebulders are not buying dog sites to land bank unless they are owned by companies controlled by the banks who need to transfer ownership from one part of the bank to another. Thats what Cala and Miller are doing just now. Buying sites from HBOS basket cases funded by Lloyds/HBOS. Its got something to do with where the money comes from in HBOS and what account it ends up in.
David Murrays planning application is a paper exercise. He is burst and inebted to..................Lloyds/HBOS. They have some toxic MIM/PPG assets that they can improve value on by changing the land use. So Davie Boy's old company has a field which on paper is worth £5000 an acre. PPG get a consent on behalf of their paymasters Lloyds/HBOS and remarkably the PPG assets increase in value ON PAPER because housing land is worth more than a field s the bank is not so badly off. The stadium is plannng gain to get the resi consent. BUT and its a big BUT it doesnt matter if its Green Belt, underhand or just madness as it will not happen in a time frame that works for the walking dead.
I for one am very happy that there is not a property solution that will dig Maroonco out of the mire they are in.
The big however is that the Council may build a community stadium and at some time in the future a football club may rent it. It might be Spartans or some lesser glorified pub team but I can live with that right now.
Woah
19-02-2013, 10:33 PM
I might regret this but ...
Excellent, informative stuff.
Thanks for that.
20-02-2013, 05:47 AM
South Murrayfield :tee hee: is not prime resi land and the housebulders are not buying dog sites to land bank unless they are owned by companies controlled by the banks who need to transfer ownership from one part of the bank to another. Thats what Cala and Miller are doing just now. Buying sites from HBOS basket cases funded by Lloyds/HBOS. Its got something to do with where the money comes from in HBOS and what account it ends up in.
Thanks.:aok:
Gingertosser
20-02-2013, 08:51 AM
My take :
The council will stump up approx £4m to take over Tynecastle.
They will then rent it to Hearts & Edinburgh Rugby.
They will also redevelop the main stand at a cost of £6m (it will be basic)
They can then tell us they have saved money by not building a new £20m stadium, and the land at Sighthill is now available for low rent housing which will be paid for using the £10m saved.
The only uncertainty would be who rents Tynecastle from the council....Vlad ??
20-02-2013, 09:03 AM
My take :
They can then tell us they have saved money by not building a new £20m stadium, and the land at Sighthill is now available for low rent housing which will be paid for using the £10m saved.
Another good reason not to do drugs...
TrickyNicky
20-02-2013, 09:09 AM
http://www.hibs.net/images/hibsnet/misc/quote_icon.png Originally Posted by Gingertosser http://www.hibs.net/images/hibsnet/buttons/viewpost-right.png (http://www.hibs.net/showthread.php?p=3510905#post3510905)
My take :
Or just, don't do them all at once!:greengrin
20-02-2013, 09:14 AM
My take :
Not even on Kickback have I seen such an optimistic assessment of the likely outcome for Hearts.
Bighoose
20-02-2013, 09:26 AM
My take :
With a one lane running track?
Gingertosser
20-02-2013, 09:27 AM
optimistic. ???
or maybe I'm just more of a realist.....after the shennanigans with Sevco over the summer, the reality is that a lot of groups/organisations/people will do whatever they want to stop a largish club from dying, no matter the consequences....
optimistic is hoping they dissappear overnight, unfortunately it won't happen :rolleyes:
20-02-2013, 09:32 AM
???
or maybe I'm just more of a realist.....after the shennanigans with Sevco over the summer, the reality is that a lot of groups/organisations/people will do whatever they want to stop a largish club from dying, no matter the consequences....
optimistic is hoping they dissappear overnight, unfortunately it won't happen :rolleyes:
The fact is no matter what spin the Scottish press or Green put on it, Rangers did die. A new company was formed which is the reason they had to apply to join the Scottish League. If they hadn't died they would have stayed in SPL. The new club is called The Rangers.
20-02-2013, 09:42 AM
My take :
Did you get that straight from one of the deluded on Kickback?
20-02-2013, 09:47 AM
My take :
I think you should leave the Ginger out of your username :agree:
20-02-2013, 09:48 AM
My take :
The only uncertainty would be who rents Tynecastle from the council....Vlad ??:faf:
The roasters on keech boak couldnae even dream that fantasy up
20-02-2013, 11:35 AM
Superb! :-D
magpie1892
20-02-2013, 11:38 AM
My take :
I'll give your proposal credit for originality, if nothing else.
20-02-2013, 12:12 PM
Don't say he didn't warn you ...
Twiglet
20-02-2013, 12:42 PM
My take :
A groundshare of a redeveloped tynecastle wouldn't work. Pitch is too small. For RU the pitch needs to be as close to 100m between try lines and have run off behind which is still part of the playing field.
Tynecastle is about 107yds and no run off.
20-02-2013, 12:44 PM
A groundshare of a redeveloped tynecastle wouldn't work. Pitch is too small. For RU the pitch needs to be as close to 100m between try lines and have run off behind which is still part of the playing field.
Tynecastle is about 107yds and no run off.
Which is about 98m. :aok:
20-02-2013, 03:57 PM
Serious question-
Is there anyone who would want Hibs to rent Easter Road to Hearts for a season whilst they found permanent digs?
The benefit to us would be a rent on a regular basis (assuming whoever took over HoM was a decent egg) which could reduce our losses and possibly allow us to buy another player. Lets just say Leigh for arguments sake. The humble pie which would be digested by our tenants would be well worth a good gloat. I assume we could take a good cut of any hospitality as well. The lease of advertising, catering etc would rise if Easter Road was used every week.
The downside would be 2 stands occupied by them every second week and the pitch would take a battering.
Are we big enough to rise above it bearing in mind they didn't trash the stadium at their recent semi?
20-02-2013, 03:59 PM
Serious question-
Is there anyone who would want Hibs to rent Easter Road to Hearts for a season whilst they found permanent digs?
The benefit to us would be a rent on a regular basis (assuming whoever took over HoM was a decent egg) which could reduce our losses and possibly allow us to buy another player. Lets just say Leigh for arguments sake. The humble pie which would be digested by our tenants would be well worth a good gloat. I assume we could take a good cut of any hospitality as well. The lease of advertising, catering etc would rise if Easter Road was used every week.
The downside would be 2 stands occupied by them every second week and the pitch would take a battering.
Are we big enough to rise above it bearing in mind they didn't trash the stadium at their recent semi?They can GTF
20-02-2013, 04:01 PM
They can GTF
Don't beat about the bush Dan. Can you make that a bit clearer?
20-02-2013, 04:03 PM
Don't beat about the bush Dan. Can you make that a bit clearer?I cannae really, if I said what I really thought it would come out as a series of *****
20-02-2013, 04:05 PM
I cannae really, if I said what I really thought it would come out as a series of *****
20-02-2013, 04:07 PM
They can GTF
Decisive!
magpie1892
20-02-2013, 04:11 PM
Serious question-
Are we big enough to rise above it bearing in mind they didn't trash the stadium at their recent semi?
Definitely in favour. The financial upsides are massive - and you've not even included televised games.
The surface has never been atrocious but would, I grant you, take a battering if used 4x weekly. There's 'threading' technology of 4G artificial turf + grass blend which would do wonders here and it doesn't take long (or cost much) to returf a couple of pen. boxes a month.
Potential for huge revenue for minimal outlay.
On a psychological basis, the Saviles would never go for it if Murrayfield, Livi or even EEP were options. Which they all are - especially the latter duo. I'd rather watch Hibs (h) at either of the latter mentioned than have the Beastdome as our home venue.
20-02-2013, 04:12 PM
Serious question-
No
20-02-2013, 04:14 PM
Serious question-
:panic:
No friggin chance.
20-02-2013, 04:22 PM
I've done some digging today from very good Greggs-standard sources.
For clarity's sake, the Murray proposal out West contains a sports stadium element to try and make it more attractive/acceptable to the planning committee which will consider it. If Murray gets permission he will likely sell all the land to an actual developer who would do the building and selling of - mostly - housing.
It is not proposed that the Council build the stadium. It is not the case that the Council has funds to build a stadium. There is no new stadium coming to the Yams from this Council.
I think I'll also add an END OF.
At The Edge
20-02-2013, 04:55 PM
on the subject of groundshare, if they did and when the derby came around and we were the 'away' team, sitting in the south would be very weird!
20-02-2013, 05:16 PM
on the subject of groundshare, if they did and when the derby came around and we were the 'away' team, sitting in the south would be very weird!
Exactly. Outnumbeted at the San Siro? It's not on.
20-02-2013, 05:28 PM
Thats the only thing id find hard to accept. The financial benefit for us and the embaresment on their part of needing to rent to rent our stadium would be the pluses
Serious question-
Are we big enough to rise above it bearing in mind they didn't trash the stadium at their recent semi?NO.Never.
Benny Brazil
20-02-2013, 05:40 PM
Serious question-
No No No Never - bad enough having them "visit" twice a season sometimes more dont want them anywhere near ER any more than is necessary
20-02-2013, 05:42 PM
Just make it a condition of the rent that we always get our own seats even in their 'home' derbies.
It's not going to happen though.
20-02-2013, 05:49 PM
But would they even be in our league??
Hibeesforever
20-02-2013, 05:50 PM
Exactly. Outnumbeted at the San Siro? It's not on.
Would we not just write a contract to suit ? Is it just me or is it that by the hour, I feel that the options open to Heart of Midlothian are disappearing.
Good luck to a new stadium on the West of the city, any Edinburgh City or Govt funding would need to be matched with the same contribution to Hibernian F.C.
Confident that Pat Fenlon would spend £30 million a lot more successfully than the ten managers that Hearts have had over the years.
20-02-2013, 05:51 PM
And if it was the other way round would you go to tyncastle every other week to watch hibs.? Don't think I could.
I hope ground sharing would never be an option for them, I'd even,ironically, have a bake sale to raise the lost revenue
20-02-2013, 05:59 PM
They can GTF
I'll second that sir ! :agree:
20-02-2013, 06:01 PM
Serious question-
I'd only go with this if we used it as a chance to bleed them dry.
the pitch would take a battering.
Dare say the Merricks could share Easter Road once Rod has overseen the installation of our new 5G synthetic pitch. :wink: Would be ideal if any possible future rent was to pay for it.
Dinnae want them anywhere near Easter Road to be honest.
20-02-2013, 06:11 PM
But would they even be in our league??
They've never been in our league. :cb
20-02-2013, 08:15 PM
Serious question-
After much consideration of your perfectly reasonable, and probably credible financial argument that'll be a big no from me. A Hibby of my age has too many memories. One team in Edinburgh, just like Wally said.
20-02-2013, 08:33 PM
After much consideration of your perfectly reasonable, and probably credible financial argument that'll be a big no from me. A Hibby of my age has too many memories. One team in Edinburgh, just like Wally said.
Exactly, why would we offer the merrick's anything, they deserve nothing, they would not be able to pay us anyhow.....I wouldn't let them have the steam off my toalie.......
One City one team, they will always wear green:cb
20-02-2013, 08:41 PM
A banner to remind people of the quote from the FTB and Skacels "One team in Edinburgh" wouldnae go amiss.
20-02-2013, 08:47 PM
Exactly, why would we offer the merrick's anything, they deserve nothing, they would not be able to pay us anyhow.....I wouldn't let them have the steam off my toalie.......
And lets be honest, if the shoe was on the other foot there is absolutely no chance they would do anything to help us. So let them wither and die and the sooner the better. I hate their arrogant, bitter insignificant club.
20-02-2013, 09:05 PM
I wouldn't imagine there would be any offers for them to share our ground.
20-02-2013, 09:12 PM
I would let them ground share Easter road for a year. Get the astro stuff in and charge them top whack along with a % of there intake on match days. Get ourselfs some dosh and take money from them sounds good to me I couldn't care if they were in my seat while hibs were playing Motherwell away I'd have a seat in Motherwell.
20-02-2013, 09:17 PM
I would let them ground share Easter road for a year. Get the astro stuff in and charge them top whack along with a % of there intake on match days. Get ourselfs some dosh and take money from them sounds good to me I couldn't care if they were in my seat while hibs were playing Motherwell away I'd have a seat in Motherwell.
Not something I would like to see. My preferred option would be for their horrible, crappy club to die and for their supporters to never, ever come near Easter Road ever again. Fenuck them!!
20-02-2013, 09:20 PM
And lets be honest, if the shoe was on the other foot there is absolutely no chance they would do anything to help us. So let them wither and die and the sooner the better. I hate their arrogant, bitter insignificant club.
Indeed.......
berwickhibee
20-02-2013, 09:21 PM
here here:thumbsup: i hate them more than my mother in law:wink::greengrin
20-02-2013, 09:25 PM
here here:thumbsup: i hate them more than my mother in law:wink::greengrinYour mother in law hates them too?:wink: :greengrin I'm no surprised though, everybody hates them :agree:
20-02-2013, 09:30 PM
Exactly, why would we offer the merrick's anything, they deserve nothing,...I wouldn't let them have the steam off my toalie.......
This :cb
20-02-2013, 10:08 PM
Easter Road is too big for what will soon be a division three pub team.
20-02-2013, 10:17 PM
We could rent them east mains :agree:
Twiglet
20-02-2013, 11:20 PM
Which is about 98m. :aok:
It is. However it would mean someone in the crowd would be squashed every time a try was scored and the ball would end up in row Z with conversions and penalties.:wink::greengrin
HibeeMG
20-02-2013, 11:58 PM
It is. However it would mean someone in the crowd would be squashed every time a try was scored and the ball would end up in row Z with conversions and penalties.:wink::greengrin
If it's the lassie that was hanging out the Romanov banner, I wouldn't fancy the rugby players chances of coming out of that one without injury!
21-02-2013, 12:02 AM
Serious question-
Are we big enough to rise above it bearing in mind they didn't trash the stadium at their recent semi?well Pat, having looked at your possible scenario for a nano second, it flashed through my mind as I looked for a glass o' vino that i'm sure was here a minute ago and thought............this guy's a loony.
legends of 73
21-02-2013, 06:55 AM
Hate is a strong word to use but how about DETEST the horrible manky cants.
I wouldn't give them the kiss of life if they were on their last breath I'd boot them in the baws to take the last breath away from them. FACT:greengrin
21-02-2013, 06:59 AM
Perfectly put
Berwickhibby
21-02-2013, 07:43 AM
here here:thumbsup: i hate them more than my mother in law:wink::greengrin
You don't have a mother in law :greengrin
21-02-2013, 07:44 AM
well Pat, having looked at your possible scenario for a nano second, it flashed through my mind as I looked for a glass o' vino that i'm sure was here a minute ago and thought............this guy's a loony.
Didn't say I wanted them to share, didn't express any opinion in the op. I was just trying to gauge the feeling amongst the fans. Personally the only time I see them playing there is as Sevco East in the Ramsden Cup final against Sevco West.
Nicest thing you have ever said about me though.
For what it is worth I think Hearts will play in Murrayfield. Think I said it somewhere else in the thread.
21-02-2013, 08:13 AM
Hate is a strong word to use but how about DETEST the horrible manky cants.
I wouldn't give them the kiss of life if they were on their last breath I'd boot them in the baws to take the last breath away from them. FACT:greengrin
Sounds awfy like hate to me :greengrin
josef k
21-04-2013, 11:29 AM
On a different issue, it seems to have gone very quiet on the Hearts supporting councilors trying to get the council to build Hearts a new stadium? There was an article, possibly in the Daily Express or Daily Mail, a couple of months back and I haven't heard anything since. I think we need to keep a very close watch on this one.
steviehibsleith
21-04-2013, 11:55 AM
On a different issue, it seems to have gone very quiet on the Hearts supporting councilors trying to get the council to build Hearts a new stadium? There was an article, possibly in the Daily Express or Daily Mail, a couple of months back and I haven't heard anything since. I think we need to keep a very close watch on this one.
No Need to panic or watch closely with this one - The council are making huge cutbacks with all thier spending. Even a proposal to do this would be shot down.
21-04-2013, 05:27 PM
Even if some of them wanted to, there's no money and all but the most ardent Jambos would be up in arms over such a nonsensical idea.
21-04-2013, 05:36 PM
Absolute non starter for at least 5 years and probably nearer 10 before this would even be mooted as a possibility. Don't worry yourself.
21-04-2013, 05:38 PM
Trust me, it won't happen
21-04-2013, 06:23 PM
Edinburgh may well build a stadium to replace Meadowbank in the the next ten years. This will depend on a recovery in the local housing market to increase the value of the current Meadowbank site to make it financially viable.
The stadium is not exactly going to be a megadome (10,000 max?) and will have an athletics track around it. If Hearts want to rent such a place, then good luck to them. They would be better off at Almondvale or Broadwood.
21-04-2013, 06:50 PM
A sliding doors moment has occurred to me here. If the pieman had got his way and carried on with his plan, selling the wongadome or pink bus shelter as was, and yams had went to Murrayfield. I am sure in the three boom years to the bust of the global credit crunch the council would have shoehorned in a promise/proposal to build a new stadium that would have suited their needs.
Vlad turns up to keep the puddle drinkers at Swynie, talking of Champions League, superbowls and world domination. Council put 'community' stadium on the backburner as there is a wealthy man on the scene. Plans of hotel and space age redevelopment have the council patting each other on the back.
Then subprime...
22-04-2013, 01:33 AM
A sliding doors moment has occurred to me here. If the pieman had got his way and carried on with his plan, selling the wongadome or pink bus shelter as was, and yams had went to Murrayfield. I am sure in the three boom years to the bust of the global credit crunch the council would have shoehorned in a promise/proposal to build a new stadium that would have suited their needs.
It was never going to happen. Rmanov took over Hearts in 2005. The recession started to bite within two years. The planning cycle for a stadium is way beyond that timescale. Aberdeen have been talking about a 'community stadium' for years and no real progress has been made.
The squeeze on Local Government capital spending has been on for twenty years or more. If it was ever going to happen in Edinburgh it would have been for a combined Hibs-Hearts stadium around 1993.
There never was a Yam Council. This is an urban myth perpetuated on this forum with no real evidence. Hearts had a sympathetic Lothian Regional Council around early 1990s (Convenor: Eric Milligan) but this body was wound up in 1996. This was never matched by Edinburgh City Council.
Edinburgh City Council never were going to build a stadium for Hearts and never will. Even if they had the power and the money to do so, the political risks involved would be disastrous. It would annoy all Hibs supporters plus the egg chasing fraternity and those who dislike football not tio mention the 'Old Firm' Edinburgh renegades. Hearts' supporters constitute a small minority of the Edinburgh electorate. Even Steve Cardownie and Eric Milligan are not that stupid.
22-04-2013, 04:28 AM
Even Steve Cardownie and Eric Milligan are not that stupid.
101 things I thought I'd never see on Hibs.net, that pair of self publicising yam clowns getting something positive said about them :wink:
Green Blood
30-04-2013, 12:00 PM
Its inevitable that the wee team in Edinburgh are going to the wall. My hope is that they die completely. It's unlikely they will remain at the Pink Wongadome as this will be sold off to the highest bidder and thats likely to be property developers. Its a well known fact that there is not enough housing and whilst the property market is not buoyant this will not be the case in years to come. When the Pink Wongadome is demolished but they still remain or are not killed off completely they will still need a stadium that meets the criteria to play in. My concern is that the Tache may see this as an financial opportunity and offer them the opportunity to groundshare.
Vote now so the Tache is aware that under no circumstances shall we ever groundshare with them
30-04-2013, 12:27 PM
Highly doubt this would ever happen tbh.
But absolutely hell no if it ever was proposed (again). They got themselves into the mess so they can squirm their own way out of it.
30-04-2013, 12:30 PM
they can go and do one :greengrin
30-04-2013, 12:31 PM
Derbies would be a bit surreal if they were the home team, and were sharing Easter Road.....oh wait.
Niffy
30-04-2013, 12:33 PM
For the right price , aye.
Imagine funding a good striker off their money, and watching him score against them...
"You paid for that... you paid for that !!" etc
30-04-2013, 12:37 PM
For the right price , aye.
Imagine funding a good striker off their money, and watching him score against them...
"You paid for that... you paid for that !!" etc
If the price was right - keep them pewrpetually knacked & fund our growth.
darwenhibby
30-04-2013, 12:42 PM
If the price was right - keep them pewrpetually knacked & fund our growth.
Price was right?? They would squirm out of paying the rent. Tell then GTF
30-04-2013, 12:56 PM
I grudged letting them play their semi against caley at ER, couldn't bear the thought of them sitting in our seats every second week
30-04-2013, 01:12 PM
Agree, tie them to a contract and inflate the prices for them to use the stadium we gain a good income from them and use it for the playing squad we continually improve they don't due to lack of funds win win in my eyes
Milandinho
30-04-2013, 01:16 PM
Nah let them go play on the public pitches at Saughton! More suited to the smelly tramps.
If you say yes, your not a hibs fan, okay yes it would mean we have financial control over them (To an extent) But just imagine that manky lot in our seats every other week. Gives me shivers just thinking about it
30-04-2013, 02:18 PM
If you say yes, your not a hibs fan, okay yes it would mean we have financial control over them (To an extent) But just imagine that manky lot in our seats every other week. Gives me shivers just thinking about it
Baws
30-04-2013, 02:28 PM
If I'm honest after all the grief the board get for spending on the stands, it would be pretty sweet to have a very secure future based on that investment, and better still paid for by THEM.
Would I like them sitting in my seat ? No really especially as they would get to sit there without having to listen to the roaster that sits behind me
30-04-2013, 02:32 PM
If I'm honest after all the grief the board get for spending on the stands, it would be pretty sweet to have a very secure future based on that investment, and better still paid for by THEM.
Would I like them sitting in my seat ? No really especially as they would get to sit there without having to listen to the roaster that sits behind me
Believe me there are even more roasters in their support!
30-04-2013, 02:32 PM
I voted for both options purely because I could :greengrin
30-04-2013, 02:41 PM
Let them play at Murrayfield or anywhere that is not Easter Road. Some people will say think of the money but I say **** them.
Dave-O
30-04-2013, 02:42 PM
No
30-04-2013, 02:55 PM
Entitled to your opinion, you are, but don't go telling Hibees they are no' Hibees.
That's very silly.
30-04-2013, 02:57 PM
Not really a poll if you are telling people how to vote is it? :wink:
30-04-2013, 02:58 PM
Absolutely nae ****in' chance.
**** h****s
30-04-2013, 03:04 PM
I'd rather have be ****ing potless than let them play at Easter Road every other week.
**** Hearts and **** their mong followers. That's a no, by the way.
rossi
30-04-2013, 03:21 PM
Don't think they'll need to share with us;
a stadium will be built for them at Riccarton with public money.
30-04-2013, 03:23 PM
Don't think they'll need to share with us;
a stadium will be built for them at Riccarton with public money.
Better ****ing no be! But wouldn't be surprised if once again Edinburgh council panders to that lot!
They can use Murrayfield. In fact, I don't care where they play as long as it isn't ER.
Nothing to do with it being THEM, it's just that being played on every week would ruin the pitch.
neilmartinrocks
30-04-2013, 03:39 PM
Ground share wi' thae puddle drinkin' *****!!??
over tae you John......
30-04-2013, 03:41 PM
**** no.
happiehibbie
30-04-2013, 03:49 PM
so many people short sighted
ground share is the way forward for us to grow
why would we want hearts to die no edinburgh derby
I cant help but remember the Hands of Hibs campaign i hope they get what the deseve and reep what they sew
but our biggest games are against hearts
30-04-2013, 03:55 PM
Better ****ing no be! But wouldn't be surprised if once again Edinburgh council panders to that lot!
Spot on! If they cannae find the resources to let folk of my generation continue to play indoor bowls in Porty (which is a lifeline for many), then there's no way they can help that lot.
Cardownie will no doubt try though.:titanic:
30-04-2013, 04:01 PM
I'd be very happy to rent out ER to them as long as their fans were only allowed in the South Stand.
It'd still be full price rent, money up front, though.
30-04-2013, 04:04 PM
**** them, they can go pay rent for Murrayfield.
30-04-2013, 04:06 PM
I cant help but remember the Hands of Hibs campaign i hope they get what the deseve and reep what they sew
Eh? You need to explain that one to me.
30-04-2013, 04:10 PM
I wouldn't give them the privilege of playing in my own stool, let alone ER.
30-04-2013, 04:10 PM
What type of money could we see if we did ground share?
Stringer
30-04-2013, 04:12 PM
Sniff sniff! :wink:
30-04-2013, 04:16 PM
What type of money could we see if we did ground share?
You mean renting the stadium as opposed to buying a share in it?
Either way it won't happen, supporters won't stand for it.
TAHibby
30-04-2013, 04:19 PM
No thanks. Should pitch this wonderful idea on kickback, would be a great laugh. :greengrin
30-04-2013, 04:36 PM
You mean renting the stadium as opposed to buying a share in it?
Either way it won't happen, supporters won't stand for it.
It wouldn't bother me, in fact i'd be quite happy for them to fund a new striker every season.
Stringer
30-04-2013, 04:59 PM
We would have to replace the turf half way through the season.
30-04-2013, 05:02 PM
It wouldn't bother me, in fact i'd be quite happy for them to fund a new striker every season.It would bother me. I'd rather not have the money than have that **** at ER.
30-04-2013, 06:45 PM
I could live with it if it was done using a new stadium on a neutral site, but we have no need for a new stadium so that's a non-starter.
Besides, the original question states that this would be after they go to the wall. So why would a newly formed Third Division team need to use a stadium the size of Easter Road when they'll barely have enough fans for one touchline at Saughton Enclosure?
30-04-2013, 06:51 PM
If the rent paid to us was to get us 2 additional quality players each season, we'd have to look at it!
Largshibby
30-04-2013, 06:52 PM
They could have the 10,000 seats we don't use every other week!! :wink:
I would nae share the steam off ma ***** with them let alone our Fifa Grade 2 all seater Stadium.
In a word NO
30-04-2013, 07:39 PM
Gotta love Scottish Football tribalism.
Some of the fiercest rivals in world football share stadia and as a result, reduces outgoings and allows investment to other areas.
The entire thread is a nonsense anyway as it's unlikely to ever come up from either side.
30-04-2013, 07:45 PM
No, never in a million years should we let that bunch of deluded monkeys anywhere near our beautiful ground, stay away Yaks!
And a quick message to the 14 people who have voted yes so far, the van is coming for you soon...
30-04-2013, 07:56 PM
I'm all for ground share for the reasons that have already been given plus I want the rivalry to continue. Imagine every hahahahearts fan waking up every morning knowing that his/her team had to be beholding to Hibs and could only function as our tenant.
30-04-2013, 08:03 PM
Gotta love Scottish Football tribalism.
Some of the fiercest rivals in world football share stadia and as a result, reduces outgoings and allows investment to other areas.
The entire thread is a nonsense anyway as it's unlikely to ever come up from either side.
Aye, yer right. Nae other tribalism in sport anywhere else. :aok:
You want to name these "fiercest rivals" who share their stadia, when one of the fiercest rivals are completely broke wi a brutal death trap stadium and the other has a splendid arena like we have.
Hibernian would have to sell the Holy Ground, the merricks would have to erm, own :confused: their death trap in the first place before they could then sell it.
Then there would need to be a super duper "all edinburgh" stadium built. By the council.
Keep the Holy Ground sparryheid free.
VickMackie
30-04-2013, 08:04 PM
It would depend on the price for me so didn't vote. Cash to be paid for up front out of ther st money.
30-04-2013, 08:15 PM
Aye, yer right. Nae other tribalism in sport anywhere else. :aok:
You want to name these "fiercest rivals" who share their stadia, when one of the fiercest rivals are completely broke wi a brutal death trap stadium and the other has a splendid arena like we have.
Hibernian would have to sell the Holy Ground, the merricks would have to erm, own :confused: their death trap in the first place before they could then sell it.
Then there would need to be a super duper "all edinburgh" stadium built. By the council.
Keep the Holy Ground sparryheid free.
AC/Inter Milan, Lazio/Roma, Bayern/1860 Munich, both New York NFL teams immediately spring to mind.
I agree with your latter point that any such notion would need to be a completely new stadium but as I concluded my last post with, it's utterly incidental as neither half of the city would support it, let alone suggest it.
30-04-2013, 08:15 PM
it'll never happen, but their lot would be equally as miffed as us if this ever happened.
Then they really would become the wee team with no home (tramps become bigger tramps).
30-04-2013, 08:18 PM
I definitely want to see Hertz go to hell. They and their cross eyed supporters can rot there too. Then we can pi55 over their Grave (obviously beside the fat Tory's grave).
VickMackie
30-04-2013, 08:19 PM
We would have to replace the turf half way through the season.
We could make them pay it, 80% or something, or better still get them to pay for the uv lights in the premiership that are about 250k a year!
Time For Heroes
30-04-2013, 09:25 PM
I honestly would give them a pot to piss in!
30-04-2013, 10:11 PM
I would not dismiss the idea of letting them rent the stadium completely. If the lith. admin takes possession of the PBS and puts it up for sale there will be suggestion made that the Council should buy the stadium and rent it to the Yams as they would otherwise have to take their " customers " out of the city to Livi.
If there was an opportunity to ground share at Easter Road that loophole would be closed.
Once the PBS is flattened and the first concrete foundations of a new development are laid we can ......
Kick the itinerants out ! :thumbsup:
30-04-2013, 10:24 PM
They can use Murrayfield. In fact, I don't care where they play as long as it isn't ER.
Nothing to do with it being THEM, it's just that being played on every week would ruin the pitch.I too, don't care where they play as long as it is not Easter Road.and that has a lot to do with who they are!
30-04-2013, 10:35 PM
I'd be very happy to rent out ER to them as long as their fans were only allowed in the South Stand.
It'd still be full price rent, money up front, though.never in a month of Hibernian Sundays! IF it was ever to happen, my ST will go back, and never be purchased again.
30-04-2013, 10:54 PM
**** the H*****, wouldnae receive anything mind blowing in the way of rent, it's got to the stage where I wouldnae piss on them if theyvwere on fire.
Gerard
30-04-2013, 11:37 PM
**** them, they can go pay rent for Murrayfield.
If this gives our club money that can be used on players that we have and better new additions; then yes. Imagine the future where we beat them every time we play them. Imagine the debate of just how many we will beat them by. That is the future I want. They can shove 5-1 were the sun don't shine.
The future is Hibernian green and white:aok:
01-05-2013, 07:36 AM
I'd rather let Jimmy Saville's ghost posses my spare room.
01-05-2013, 07:59 AM
Money up front and and any damage paid for at four times the going rate. Only every allowed to use the visitors dressing rooms
green glory
01-05-2013, 08:15 AM
Money up front and and any damage paid for at four times the going rate. Only every allowed to use the visitors dressing rooms
Crippling rent to keep them as our bitches.
Mind you, the thought of them having to sit in a green and white stadium for their home games would sicken them to the guts.
Smiggy 7-0
01-05-2013, 08:26 AM
Groundshare with that lot G.T.F.
01-05-2013, 08:39 AM
Dont think the pitch would hold upto so many games, as much as I would liike to take every penny from them. It would have to be no.
01-05-2013, 09:04 AM
Dont think the pitch would hold upto so many games, as much as I would liike to take every penny from them. It would have to be no.
The thought of them signing SUNSHINE ON LEITH while doing that twirly thing with their scarves makes me feel physically sick so on that basis alone.... they're out.
gorgie greens
01-05-2013, 09:10 AM
Can they not grab a few benches from Saughton Park then move to Saughton Enclosure,surely the jackies will feel at home on those benches,think 5 benches should cover it,and where we put our names on bricks,they could get one of those nice brass ones,with the words
We won the cup 5-1,but we don't have a pot to piss in
01-05-2013, 09:24 AM
would be funny as, if we were to put the final nail in their coffin, we beat them in the derby and then they are deducted 15 points for administration thus keeping Dundee up. Happy days.
01-05-2013, 09:46 AM
would be funny as, if we were to put the final nail in their coffin, we beat them in the derby and then they are deducted 15 points for administration thus keeping Dundee up. Happy days.18 points :wink:
Green Blood
01-05-2013, 02:22 PM
Over 90% against, thats pleasing! I fear this subject will be raised once they lose their ass(et) the Pink Wongadome.
01-05-2013, 08:13 PM
hell no, dont care how much money we could make,if they move in im off:flag:
hibsmum
01-05-2013, 08:24 PM
And if we did let this happen would they want our training ground as well, don't think so!
01-05-2013, 08:32 PM
Never, they have gone to far with their big team crap, best to rub their noses in it , i remember the Mercer takeover time and i want them to feel the same pain.
It won't happen. They would play at Livi or murrayfield
but if they did it would be great to remind them that they only exist because we allow them to. Imagine the pain of the beasts having to go to ER every 2nd week :agree::na na:
they will have to share with someone though. The PBS days are numbered:agree:
02-05-2013, 12:10 AM
:music: the jambos asked if we would groundshare.....but Rod said NO NO NO
( tune: amy winehouse-Rehab)
02-05-2013, 09:30 AM
Imagine them being the "home" team for a derby at Easter Road. No neither can I but it would make a pleasant change for us to sing "What a *****y home support" They can rot in hell as I wouldn't want their cheating club associated with ours even if it was them just renting ER.
02-05-2013, 09:56 AM
Never, they have gone to far with their big team crap, best to rub their noses in it , i remember the Mercer takeover time and i want them to feel the same pain.
Exactly, too much of their "we are the big team, use are just a wee diddy team" ***** so no they can g.t.f. If they are as huge a club as they have so often told us they are why would they want help from us, the wee diddy, insignificant team eh?
Their "big team" guff is hilarious, shows them for what they really are - deluded, arrogant morons. Hope their death is slow and extremely painful.
Oh its good to be the "wee team" isn't it :flag:
ManBearPig
21-06-2013, 03:07 PM
Could and would hearts be allowed to play home games at ER if they were made to give up Tincastle
21-06-2013, 03:11 PM
We've had countless threads on this. :rolleyes:
Some say aye, some say no.
I'm in the "No. **** them!" camp.
21-06-2013, 03:12 PM
I'm torn between 2 responses..."play at Easter Road? How about you go crawl up your own arse and search for gold" or "play at Easter Road? I'm sure we can come to some kind of arrangement, but we'd need payment up front, and seeing as its the only venue of its kind in our fair city it ain't coming cheap!"
ManBearPig
21-06-2013, 03:17 PM
We've had countless threads on this. :rolleyes:
Some say aye, some say no.
I'm in the "No. **** them!" camp.
Sorry must've missed those thread s a jambo mate basically said he would welcome playing at er
21-06-2013, 03:24 PM
The holy land?
21-06-2013, 03:25 PM
Only if they said a nice pretty please on bended knees and acknowledged us as being the big team.
Of course they would also have to pay us a hefty amount of rent up front so I can't see it happening. :wink:
21-06-2013, 03:47 PM
I think this happened once before. I'll have to check my archives but Hearts did use ER at one point.
I wouldn't see a problem personally but I'd want paid first.
21-06-2013, 03:57 PM
They've cheated for umpteen years and we should accommodate them?
You're havin a laugh surely?!:confused:
21-06-2013, 04:02 PM
In 1956 Hearts were permitted to use ER for floodlit friendly matches against Spurs, Man City and Newcastle. This was part of the Anglo-Scottish Floodlit League. Floodlights were a big deal then.
Dunno who won it but Hibs beat Man Utd 5-0 (Including Edwards and Viollett) along the way so we probably did.
Hibs, Hearts and Partick were the only Scottish teams in it.
21-06-2013, 04:05 PM
The holy land?
I assume the OP meant The Holy Ground.
21-06-2013, 04:38 PM
They've cheated for umpteen years and we should accommodate them?
You're havin a laugh surely?!:confused:
My thoughts exactly. **** them.
21-06-2013, 04:40 PM
Not a chance that we should allow them to play at Easter Road.
Hibs History
21-06-2013, 04:40 PM
Remember the mess they made of the East Stand after the semi final game last year?
Broken seats, smashed bathrooms and 'human' feces smeared on the walls?!
And would we get money from them to repair this - I would doubt it
Its a clear no from me
21-06-2013, 04:53 PM
I would be very happy for hearts to continue in Israel/Palestine so no complaints from me
21-06-2013, 04:58 PM
No - it would be better if they shared with another Lowland League side next season.
21-06-2013, 05:33 PM
Look at the other threads with estimates of the amount of money the Yams have spent over the Romanov era. They could have spent a fraction of that to build a new main stand and kept the club on an even keel too.
Not sure that entitles them to turn the pitch at ER into a quagmire for our players.
ManBearPig
21-06-2013, 05:58 PM
Sorry holy ground I was referring ro leith as a whole ;-)
21-06-2013, 06:15 PM
Why not .......improve our income by £500k per annum
21-06-2013, 06:26 PM
Aye cause they've a spare £500k to pay us up front :rolleyes:.
Duck em, no chance they should be allowed anywhere near ER. They've squandered millions over the years while we've built ER at a cost to our first team. Not a chance.
21-06-2013, 06:42 PM
No was my knee-jerk reaction.
But then I thought about the advantages and disadvantages of sharing a ground with them. I carefully weighed up the positives and the negatives. I considered each side of the argument with great care. I put aside my natural distaste for them so that I could achieve the proper neutrality. And after much deliberation I came to the answer that I knew to be right.
No bleeping chance.
21-06-2013, 06:53 PM
I think this happened once before. I'll have to check my archives but Hearts did use ER at one point.
I wouldn't see a problem personally but I'd want paid first.
What about all the "Bricks" with fans messages in the East - You honestly think those puddle-drinkers wouldn't vandalise them ? As far as I am concerned those in-breds get in twice a season too much as it is. Let them share with Livingston or Dunfermline - certainly not at Easter Road.
davcar
21-06-2013, 06:54 PM
Nope as it could damage the playing surface especially through the winter months!!
21-06-2013, 06:57 PM
I reckon we should ask for for half their ST money in rent, and increase that by 10% every season. So yes, but only under these conditions. Would be nice to see the 'big team' conducting their administrative activities from a portacabin in the car park, and look for public parks to train in as we headed out to East Mains.
Seriously, they wouldn't ask as it would be too humiliating.
Renting from the Docksiders...oh dear.
wearethehibs
22-06-2013, 09:41 PM
Thinking through a purely football brain, would you really want them becoming more comfortable at playing at ER. Also think of the away Derbys. Us in the south and 15 odd thousand of them in the home end. No thanks.
22-06-2013, 09:45 PM
Do you seriously think we would see any of that?
It would probably cost us that amount to make repairs to the stadium after they've been.
Remember their semi v Inverness last season and the photo that was posted on the internet of someone smearing crap all over one of our toilets.
No thank you.
22-06-2013, 10:21 PM
Not in my seat.
Dunderhall
22-06-2013, 10:26 PM
Not for me on a number of levels.
putting aside them using the stadium and all that goes with it, the pitch couldn't handle it.
22-06-2013, 10:28 PM
Could and would hearts be allowed to play home games at ER if they were made to give up Tincastlethey can go and play at the meadows, **** h****s
22-06-2013, 10:56 PM
Share ER? No, I believe they can fling s***e at themselves.
22-06-2013, 11:17 PM
No, idea makes me boak
ManBearPig
23-06-2013, 11:34 AM
Thinking through a purely football brain, would you really want them becoming more comfortable at playing at ER. Also think of the away Derbys. Us in the south and 15 odd thousand of them in the home end. No thanks.
Never thought of above no way would they get my seat!!! That would be sickening
23-06-2013, 11:42 AM
To have them come grovelling to us to help them considering how much they bang on about how they are a huge powerful club and we are just a wee diddy team, would be very funny indeed :greengrin
However, they have got themselves into this mess because of their years of financial doping and therefore cheated us quite a lot. Also the arrogance of their horrible fans makes me completely unwilling to want to help them in any shape or form.
ManBearPig
23-06-2013, 06:08 PM
Ok lets put another spin on it if we were given option of a 30k state of the art seater stadium between hibs hearts and Edinburgh gunners in neutral location and we were allowed to take all funds from selling ER and put towards playing squad amd they still had to put up woth their 'amazing yputhbplayers' would it be worth sacrifice personally would have huge problem with leaving Leith especially whwn it has taken sp many years to build an amazing stadium.
23-06-2013, 06:12 PM
Ok lets put another spin on it if we were given option of a 30k state of the art seater stadium between hibs hearts and Edinburgh gunners in neutral location and we were allowed to take all funds from selling ER and put towards playing squad amd they still had to put up woth their 'amazing yputhbplayers' would it be worth sacrifice personally would have huge problem with leaving Leith especially whwn it has taken sp many years to build an amazing stadium.We have a perfectly good stadium where we are and I doubt we'll ever need a 30k stadium again.
I have absolutely nae interest in sharing anywhere or anything with them, no even the reek o' ma *****.
ManBearPig
23-06-2013, 06:28 PM
Fair enough I love ER and wouldn't want to leave frpm history POV. but from business point of our operating costs for running stadium would be halved if not more so we there could be possibility of going debt free freeing up money to be spent on squad etc ... especially if stadium was joint venture with local authority I saw old nineties video of douglas cromb discussing similar plan many moons ago. The jambos seem to be getting very excited about it like it was filmed two weeks ago
23-06-2013, 06:50 PM
Fair enough I love ER and wouldn't want to leave frpm history POV. but from business point of our operating costs for running stadium would be halved if not more so we there could be possibility of going debt free freeing up money to be spent on squad etc ... especially if stadium was joint venture with local authority I saw old nineties video of douglas cromb discussing similar plan many moons ago. The jambos seem to be getting very excited about it like it was filmed two weeks ago
They would want a joint Athletics / Football stadium. Cant say I would be happy watching the game from miles away.
If we are going to share ER it should be with big name music acts. Many English stadiums do it and I'm sure make a decent wedge as a result. We did it with Elton John years ago when the stadium was smaller and less salubrious than it is now.
I wonder why the board seem to have made no efforts in this are since then?
Though I wouldnt be at all surprised to find the cooncil have found a reason to spike our guns.
23-06-2013, 07:02 PM
Ok lets put another spin on it if we were given option of a 30k state of the art seater stadium between hibs hearts and Edinburgh gunners in neutral location and we were allowed to take all funds from selling ER and put towards playing squad amd they still had to put up woth their 'amazing yputhbplayers' would it be worth sacrifice personally would have huge problem with leaving Leith especially whwn it has taken sp many years to build an amazing stadium.
I have no interest in sharing anything with them, in any way, shape or form.
There is no need for us to leave Easter Road so it's a non-starter as far as I'm concerned.
BVB Hibs
23-06-2013, 07:25 PM
I think this could have potential, provided we insist on a few things before we allow them in. First off, I'd insist on each Derby effectively being a Hibernian home game, and Hibs season ticket holders being allowed to take up their seats on these days. No better way to show them who the "wee team" is than outnumbering them in what is supposed to be their home game.
Going slightly further, I'd insist on the away gate receipts for each game. We all know that they're not going to be able to pay large amounts for rent, so I think this would be a way of having guaranteed income, which could sum up to a considerable amount on Derby days and games vs Celtic etc. I'd also bar the hearts from certain area's of the ground. We all know each club has a select few muppets who are going to wreck an away ground, so I think keeping them away from any of the corporate areas and anything they'd break (i.e the stones on the east stand). An agreement that Hearts have to cover the costs of any breakages would also be a requirement.
Ideally I'd not like to see the yams playing at ER every second weekend. However, there's no doubt that ER adds massively to the operating costs of the club, and if we could offset a decent amount of that we would be in a much nicer situation financially. I think the pitch could be a major issue, as it's in pieces as it is over the winter months, but that that could be sorted without any major expense. I'd like to add too, I'd love to see them doing their business from a portacabin outside ER.
Chris.igoe
23-06-2013, 07:42 PM
The yams have no respect. What happens when they smash the toilets and seats and they can't afford to pay for them to be replaced.
I think this could have potential, provided we insist on a few things before we allow them in. First off, I'd insist on each Derby effectively being a Hibernian home game, and Hibs season ticket holders being allowed to take up their seats on these days. No better way to show them who the "wee team" is than outnumbering them in what is supposed to be their home game.
Going slightly further, I'd insist on the away gate receipts for each game. We all know that they're not going to be able to pay large amounts for rent, so I think this would be a way of having guaranteed income, which could sum up to a considerable amount on Derby days and games vs Celtic etc. I'd also bar the hearts from certain area's of the ground. We all know each club has a select few muppets who are going to wreck an away ground, so I think keeping them away from any of the corporate areas and anything they'd break (i.e the stones on the east stand). An agreement that Hearts have to cover the costs of any breakages would also be a requirement.
Ideally I'd not like to see the yams playing at ER every second weekend. However, there's no doubt that ER adds massively to the operating costs of the club, and if we could offset a decent amount of that we would be in a - much nicer situation financially. I think the pitch could be a major issue, as it's in pieces as it is over the winter months, but that that could be sorted without any major expense. I'd like to add too, I'd love to see them doing their business from a portacabin outside ER.
This Could Work.. but only if we install a top of the range Synthetic Pitch.... :wink:
23-06-2013, 08:14 PM
No
No
No
No
They made their bed, **** them.
BVB Hibs
23-06-2013, 08:21 PM
This Could Work.. but only if we install a top of the range Synthetic Pitch.... :wink:
Well, if the doomsayers on kickback are as accurate as they'd like to think they are, we'll probably both be renting the 3G pitch down at Peffermill in about a month anyway, so maybe this isn't all too far down the line after all!!
In All Fairness.. our debt is or was Slowly rising .. but im not baking any cakes just yet....
The Thought of Them Sharing with us.. actually digusts me and makes me want to puke...
But in the current economic times... having a game at easter road every week would generate quite a bit of money.. :wink:
We can charge them a rent.. even selling the tickets for them.. minus damages and costs etc etc etc = its guaranteed income for Hibs....
The Pitch - well it wouldnt last being played on every week.. and im quite an old fashioned type of guy who prefers to see football played on grass.. ( and i miss smoking at the game :smokin
These new 3g 4g what ever blooming gs they are - are actually quite amazing.....
Groundshare... - I think its the future for a lot of teams btw.. just my opinion..
kdhibees1
23-06-2013, 08:47 PM
I have absolutely nae interest in sharing anywhere or anything with them, no even the reek o' ma *****.
This!!! :agree:
23-06-2013, 09:46 PM
He'll no. I wouldn't tust that lot if they paid us, the last time they were smearing their own ***** on the walls FFS
23-06-2013, 09:56 PM
Used to be non pulsed about it but after all their **** they can bolt
I,d rather eat my own than have them play at Easter Road every couple of weeks
02-07-2013, 06:26 PM
Here we go ... Is this Steve McQueen firing up the motorbike...? Subliminal messages aplenty...
Let this not pas under the radar voters!
http://m.scotsman.com/edinburgh-evening-news/latest-news/firms-get-behind-city-bid-for-athletics-village-1-2985664
Notahappyhibee
02-07-2013, 07:17 PM
Smells like a distillery sometimes, I dont know about the tunnels, never been in the away end.
It's not that long ago it was the home end and it smelt even worse then.
02-07-2013, 11:02 PM
No thanks, for several reasons: the risk of damage, the wear on the pitch and that they manky *******s can have their end and keep it.
However for them to come begging and for Hibs to have the chance to tell them to GTF would amazing :thumbsup:
Miguel
03-07-2013, 10:30 PM
I wouldn't have even let them in for that recent semi. Would have just said to SFL, when it became known they were in it, 'no thanks'. As for sharing. No.
I suspect the council have had a contingency plan for them losing Tynecastle for a long time, back to the Pieman/Mad Vlad changeover period.
I reckon the plan to close Meadowbank around that time was to allow for a new 'athletics' stadium to be built at Saughton, or elsewhere in the west of the city, with egg chasers brought in to share with Hearts as a fig leaf.
Could be revived.
03-07-2013, 11:16 PM
allow pink scarf twirlers into ER every 2nd week...nah, the upwards jump in a class stadium would leave them a tad jealous..and destructive
04-07-2013, 08:39 AM
A newco renting Easter Road would allow us to increase the player budget by about20% while keeping them skint and struggling with no option of ever getting finance for their own stadium.
I could live with that.
04-07-2013, 09:57 AM
Here we go ... Is this Steve McQueen firing up the motorbike...? Subliminal messages aplenty...
Let this not pas under the radar voters!
http://m.scotsman.com/edinburgh-evening-news/latest-news/firms-get-behind-city-bid-for-athletics-village-1-2985664
and so it begins
as for Stewart being a sporting hero, hahahahahaha